The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) Reviews & Opinions


Submit The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I was unaware of the wonderful and almost superhuman life of General Alexander Dumas and its significance during the French Revolution and later the dictator Napoleon's reign. It is a shocking expose of freeing all peoples of color and then after using their spirit of freedom and hope to conquer their opponents are then stripped of that freedom and forced into third class citizenry and slavery again.Dumas is a battle hero! His exploits are written of and celebrated until the end when Napolean turns back the clock and reinforces systematic racism. This is one of the best history books I've read....kept my interest throughout the reading.I would definitely recommend to readers if history..... It was a real eye opener for e most striking thing about this is the likeness to modern day thinking and generally accepted norms. It is unsettling and is obviously not an isolated case. It is shameful history!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This belongs on the needed reading list for students of French history. That a stalwart character of fiction could be brought to such a vivid true person existence is enlightening and entertaining. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas has enjoyed a long life on the reading lists of a lot of students. That story was based on the true life experiences of Alexander’s father, fictionalized as the title character, but this work covers the life and times of The Black Count. The son of a white Frenchman and a black slave mother was an asset during his youth, but with the advent of Napolean, his fortunes dwindled and the equality enjoyed by “men of color” were replaced with a French code too close to our own Jim Crow laws. If I could give it six stars, I would.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I bought this on recommendation of a seller of another product I purchased on Amazon and loved it. It is a very interesting part of history that most people never hear. It is history but it is also woven in to a nice story that I think is enjoyable just in general. I typically read books and then pass them on simply to avoid having stacks and stacks of books. This one I intend to hold and read again at a later time.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) video reviews and related movies:

    See Black Count: Glory, revolution, betrayal and the real Count of Monte Cristo Audiobook on youtube.

     related image

    See Pulitzer winners talk about their work: biography and autobiography, 2004-2014 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Black Count Thomas Alexandre Dumas | Sincere History on youtube.

     related image

    See Black Count: Glory, revolution, betrayal and the real Count of Monte Cristo Audiobook on youtube.

     related image

    See Plenary Session B Building a Bridge lunch included Grand Hall A 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Black Count by Tom Reiss: A 15-minute Summary & Analysis: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    A mate recommended this book to me, and I'm so glad she did. On the plus side, I learned, learned, learned. I had no idea that Dumas was part black, had no idea that his father was the son of a slave and a French aristocrat, no idea just how rotten Napolean could be. I learned more about the French revolution than I ever thought I even wanted to know. I learned info about Marie Antoinette, the French military, the oppression of the revolutionary forces.On the minus side, sometimes the writing was ponderous. I had a hard time keeping track of just what year it was, since the author jumped around a bit in time. I was reading on a kindle, so it was more difficult to go back and check when I realized things were a bit "off", at least in my ever, I do recommend the book. If you have to, skim through the more ponderous sections (for me that would be the military details) and you'll still beautiful much obtain the main point, namely that the Black Count was one hell of a leader, one hell of a fighter, one hell of a husband and father (however briefly he was home) and was royally screwed over by Napolean!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I almost didn't buy this book after reading some of the reviews here on Amazon nitpicking different info or, worse yet, suggesting that the book was overly pre-occupied with race--an immediate turnoff for me. I didn't search that to be real at all. It is a fascinating tale about a relatively unknown and uniquely interesting historical figure. It was also an simple method to learn about a part of history with which I was unfamiliar: the circumstances around the French revolution, the Terror, Robespierre, the guillotine and, of course, Napoleon. They are all here in a well-told story that reads like fiction (albeit it with a lot of detail and backstory). If that sort of detail is too much of a distraction for you, then just read James Patterson or Tom Clancy. If you wish to read a 300 page historical book without a single little error, then read....hmmmm......I don't know what. Otherwise, you won't be disappointed with Black Count.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This book will change your understanding of a lot of things. #afromations Nehesu Nag-Negus El states that this book was so enjoyable that he could not place it down. the history is so rich that he can see why it would create historians upset by its potential classification. This book is more true than fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I'm glad I decided to pick up this book. It an awesome history of a forgotten General of the French Revolution. Mr. Reiss really brought this story to life, I didn't wish to place it down. My only true issue with the book are its lack of pictures, there are some maps but could have been more. I found myself having to stop from time to time to look up photos of people. It could just be my gripe, but when I'm reading about actual happenings and people I like to know that they looked like.I enjoyed reading this book. I have been a fan of Alexandre Dumas books and it was a treat to read about the man who influenced him and the was inspiration for a lot of of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I never knew much about Alexander Dumas, much less anything about his father, and I did not know much about the French Revolution. These happenings create for a fascinating read, and the biographical car gives the history much poignancy. The French Revolution led to a lot of enlightened milestones, including the granting of equal rights to blacks, a breakthrough that belatedly inspired rebellion versus France's extremely cruel system of slavery in its West Indies colonies. It also led to the liberation of the Jews from the ghettos, as well as greater rights for minorities, women and commoners wherever volution spread. At the same time, the revolution featured not good arbitrary cruelty and injustice, especially versus the Christian clergy and the wealthy, as guillotines were erected in towns ruled by the revolutionaries. A lot of innocent people were unjustly murdered. When Napoleon took the reins of power, liberty, equality and fraternity tended to be eclipsed by egomania, rank and empire. Of course, after Waterloo, Europe reverted to its old ways as the republican innovations were rescinded. Through it all, Alex Dumas, son of a slave woman and a white planter, Alexander Dumas's father, shone as a beacon of bravery, military brilliance, and fairness, embodying the ideals of the revolution as they were originally meant to be. His career tended to follow the arc of the revolution, ascending rapidly as revolutionary forces advanced, declining as Napoleon arose and corrupted republican practices, and then coming to a poor end as he was imprisoned for years in Italy on his method back from Napoleon's disastrous Egyptian venture, a stint that broke his health. Alexander Dumas based his popular novels on his father's life. The author demonstrates interesting biographical parallels with these works and is to be commended for his tireless and painstaking research efforts in uncovering the documents that enabled him to write this awesome book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This is a fascinating book both from the broader historical perspective and in its careful and detailed exposition of the life of General Dumas - a man of heroic stature (both literally and figuratively) who rose high and then was felled by those who should have valued him most, - particularly Napoleon Bonaparte. The roller coaster saga of the French handling of racial relations is by itself very interesting - and disturbing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Besides having an exceedingly long title, I think the time was wrong for me to read this book. Wrapped up in other ideas and too much nonfiction reading on my plate, I had a difficult time getting into this book despite the fact that it is actually quite well om the slave-run plantations of Sainte Domingue (now Haiti) through the French Revolution, the Dumas family is traced and linked to every vital episode of the era. The author tells the story of General Dumas and points out happenings that inspired a lot of of the stories later written by his y political problems are thoroughly discussed, from the special French view of slavery to the origination of the terms "left" and "right" when ranking liberals and conservatives. Those who are fans of Alexander Dumas (the younger) and anyone interested in the French Revolution will have fun this deeply researched narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    As a historical fiction novelist, I have unique respect for writers of narrative nonfiction. Not only do they do far more exhaustive research, they show it in a manner that reads like fiction. (Perhaps their only disadvantage is that they can’t create things up!) I’ve long been a fan of Erik Larson’s work and can now add Tom Reiss to the list. He shot to fame with The Orientalist, and The Black Count is that rarity, a sensational sophomore effort. His topic is Thomas-Alexandre Dumas (1762-1806), born in Saint-Domingue (Haiti) to a black slave mother and white father. Dumas became one of the most illustrious and daring generals of his day, amazing enough to attract the envy of Napoleon himself. His story is that of the French Revolution, the fresh Republic, black and mixed-race rights in the eighteenth century (not what you might think), and the rise of Napoleon. Reiss’s vivid recreation of the ill-fated Egyptian campaign created my skin crawl, and reading about the War of the Nile was like watching an action movie. Writers of this genre don’t typically add their voice, but I enjoyed Reiss’s private remarks about his find for the amazing general’s past. Dumas has been called the “real” Count of Monte Cristo as written about by his illustrious son, Alexandre Dumas, but his real-life story is far richer and engaging. It’s also high time it was told.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I like history. Actually, I love history. Anything set in the past gives me that delicious “tell me a story” feeling.Of course, I’m not talking about dry facts and figures, although they can be interesting in little doses. Nope, I’m talking about the amazing stuff. People are what bring history alive for me. What did they want; what did they fear? How were they better than me, and even more delightful, how were they worse? Who did they love? Who hated them? Allow me share in their triumphs and create me dread their disasters. For amazing or ill, create me care that this person lived and died. Create them live again for ’s not too much to ask, is it?Obviously, not for Tom Reiss. In writing The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the True Count of Monte Cristo, he’s succeeded admirably. Don’t just take my word for it; I sure wouldn’t. But if you place any stock in a small prize established by a man named Pulitzer, then you might wish to check this book out. Especially if you know and love the work of General Alex Dumas’ son, Alexandre Dumas (pere). Stories like The Three Musketeers and The Count of Monte Cristo, both of which were inspired by the author’s spectacular father, General Alex ah, I went there. Spectacular is kind of a wimpy word when it comes to General Alex Dumas. He was the original Superman. A man too strong, too principled, too kind, too charismatic, too handsome—too amazing to be true. And yet he was truly that man. Others have complained in their reviews that Reiss’ bias toward his topic was too apparent, but I am amazed that anyone could read of General Alex Dumas’ life and not be besotted by ilty!Read this book. Meet General Alex Dumas. To know him is to love him. Don’t believe me. Believe his son, who immortalized his exploits, his bravery, and his humanity in the best method he knew te Thomas-Alexandre Davy de la Pailleterie, who served his country as General Alex Dumas. I want I would have known him in life, but after reading The Black Count, somehow I feel I do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    A mate recommended this book to me, and I'm so glad she did. On the plus side, I learned, learned, learned. I had no idea that Dumas was part black, had no idea that his father was the son of a slave and a French aristocrat, no idea just how rotten Napolean could be. I learned more about the French revolution than I ever thought I even wanted to know. I learned info about Marie Antoinette, the French military, the oppression of the revolutionary forces.On the minus side, sometimes the writing was ponderous. I had a hard time keeping track of just what year it was, since the author jumped around a bit in time. I was reading on a kindle, so it was more difficult to go back and check when I realized things were a bit "off", at least in my ever, I do recommend the book. If you have to, skim through the more ponderous sections (for me that would be the military details) and you'll still beautiful much obtain the main point, namely that the Black Count was one hell of a leader, one hell of a fighter, one hell of a husband and father (however briefly he was home) and was royally screwed over by Napolean!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I was unaware of the wonderful and almost superhuman life of General Alexander Dumas and its significance during the French Revolution and later the dictator Napoleon's reign. It is a shocking expose of freeing all peoples of color and then after using their spirit of freedom and hope to conquer their opponents are then stripped of that freedom and forced into third class citizenry and slavery again.Dumas is a battle hero! His exploits are written of and celebrated until the end when Napolean turns back the clock and reinforces systematic racism. This is one of the best history books I've read....kept my interest throughout the reading.I would definitely recommend to readers if history..... It was a real eye opener for e most striking thing about this is the likeness to modern day thinking and generally accepted norms. It is unsettling and is obviously not an isolated case. It is shameful history!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    This belongs on the needed reading list for students of French history. That a stalwart character of fiction could be brought to such a vivid true person existence is enlightening and entertaining. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas has enjoyed a long life on the reading lists of a lot of students. That story was based on the true life experiences of Alexander’s father, fictionalized as the title character, but this work covers the life and times of The Black Count. The son of a white Frenchman and a black slave mother was an asset during his youth, but with the advent of Napolean, his fortunes dwindled and the equality enjoyed by “men of color” were replaced with a French code too close to our own Jim Crow laws. If I could give it six stars, I would.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I almost didn't buy this book after reading some of the reviews here on Amazon nitpicking different info or, worse yet, suggesting that the book was overly pre-occupied with race--an immediate turnoff for me. I didn't search that to be real at all. It is a fascinating tale about a relatively unknown and uniquely interesting historical figure. It was also an simple method to learn about a part of history with which I was unfamiliar: the circumstances around the French revolution, the Terror, Robespierre, the guillotine and, of course, Napoleon. They are all here in a well-told story that reads like fiction (albeit it with a lot of detail and backstory). If that sort of detail is too much of a distraction for you, then just read James Patterson or Tom Clancy. If you wish to read a 300 page historical book without a single little error, then read....hmmmm......I don't know what. Otherwise, you won't be disappointed with Black Count.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    This is the awesome real story of Alexander Dumas - but not the Alexander Dumas so popular for writing 'The Man in the Iron Mask' and 'The Count of Monte Cristo. It's about the author's father (of the same name), who's life was the basis for a lot of of his son's most popular novels. [for clarity I will use 'Alex' to refer to the father and 'Alexander' for the son from here on]Alex Dumas was born a black slave in the Dominican Republic, the son of a slave who was used and tossed aside, one of many, by a shiftless French aristocrat who was broke and on the run. This book is the story of how he created his method to France, becoming a towering giant of a man, reputedly so powerful that he could mount a horse, grab an overhead beam in the stable, and lift himself and the horse off the ground.While this is doubtless a myth, it was one that was widely told in his day, and indicates the kind of power and presence that Alex projected as he rose to become one of the most popular French generals of his time, ultimately accompanying Napoleon on his ill fated invasion of Egypt as the General of the though the book is meticulously researched and references historical documents frequently, it still manages to read like a fiction thriller. Author Tom Reiss also uses notes and comments from Alex's son about his father to add a fascinating inter generational reflection on the times and life of Alex is book is an easy, fun read, and I highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in Napoleon, the French Revolution, slavery and abolitionism, or the roots of today's Dominican Republic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I bought this on recommendation of a seller of another product I purchased on Amazon and loved it. It is a very interesting part of history that most people never hear. It is history but it is also woven in to a nice story that I think is enjoyable just in general. I typically read books and then pass them on simply to avoid having stacks and stacks of books. This one I intend to hold and read again at a later time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    This book will change your understanding of a lot of things. #afromations Nehesu Nag-Negus El states that this book was so enjoyable that he could not place it down. the history is so rich that he can see why it would create historians upset by its potential classification. This book is more true than fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo (Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I'm glad I decided to pick up this book. It an awesome history of a forgotten General of the French Revolution. Mr. Reiss really brought this story to life, I didn't wish to place it down. My only true issue with the book are its lack of pictures, there are some maps but could have been more. I found myself having to stop from time to time to look up photos of people. It could just be my gripe, but when I'm reading about actual happenings and people I like to know that they looked like.I enjoyed reading this book. I have been a fan of Alexandre Dumas books and it was a treat to read about the man who influenced him and the was inspiration for a lot of of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Count My Eggs review [App]  2018-1-3 13:9

    Can only go to 9 eggs a day if I know that wouldn't have paid for it I would of got the free application disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Count 'Em Up review [App]  2018-1-18 13:0

    Unbelievable android game by ICE Development. Addicting, fun, and ready to learn. Amazing for the fast study break, street trip, or tournament with friends. Would recommend to all ages!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Counting Us review [App]  2018-1-20 13:7

    Tired of counting your homeless on pen and paper? Aren't we all! Amazing app, and with the fresh formatting adjustments and offline form submissions you just can't go wrong!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Counting Us review [App]  2018-1-20 13:7

    My go-to application for my Point in Time homeless census needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Count Three and Pray review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    The Punching Preacher. Count Three and Pray is directed by George Sherman and written by Herb Meadow. It stars Van Heflin, Joanne Woodward, Raymond Burr, Phillip Carey and Allison Hayes. A CinemaScope/Technicolor production, melody is by George Duning and cinematography by Burnett Guffey. At first glance it appears to be a movie about a poor man finding his faith and coming amazing in the face of adversity, but there are a lot of more strings to this particular bow. Even if it never quite reaches greatness. Story has Heflin as Luke Fargo, a man who before the Civil Battle was something of a hell raiser, he loved women, he loved to drink, and he loved to fight. While serving in the battle he was emotionally scarred by what he witnessed at The War of Vicksburg, he decided then that a change in his life trajectory was required. The bite here is that Fargo, a Southerner, fought for the North because that was the political side he believed in. So upon returning to his Southern hometown, he's persona non grata, a major issue since he wants to spread the gospel and cast off his previous sins. His efforts are further complicated when he locates himself to the derelict - ramshackle - church and parsonage, to search living there is a feisty orphan girl called Lissy (Woodward), a sharpshooting tomboy with fire in her belly. Right from the off we search Fargo having to reach back to his hellfire club days, forced to brawl when confronted with outright hostility that's being instigated by self appointed city leader Yancey Huggins (Burr on splendidly nasty form). Oh there is plenty of God fearing folk in the city who desperately wish to have the church up and running again, they wish to give Luke a chance, but there's the constant feeling that a leopard never changes its spots, something that is further compounded by the attention Luke receives from the city "madam" (Jean Willes). While the fact that Luke is living under the same roof as young Lissy sets tongues a wagging, unhealthily so. Luke valiantly ploughs on, but his unorthodox methods are sure to be used versus him... As the relationship between Lissy and himself develops, you sense quite early on how things are going to pan out, but the by-play between Heflin and Woodward is amazing viewing. Initially you would be forgiven for thinking that Woodward's hero is going to be greatly annoying, but Woodward quickly dispels those fears to deliver a quite unbelievable portrayal of a wastrel who is unaware she herself needs guidance. Heflin also is amazing value, a true mixed bag of emotions, lurching from tough to vulnerable with consummate ease. We could have done with a bit more of Burr's villainy up front and center, while Hayes' (yummy!) treacherous femme comes off as under written, but the main characterisations are powerful enough to help the thematics. Nicely photographed around the Agoura Hills zone of California by ace lensman Guffey, it's a pleasing production visually. Aurally the musical score provided by Duning has the requisite sedate and bluster moments, though fans of the original Star Trek TV present may search themselves suddenly whisked off on the Enterprise, Duning would clearly rework his score here for Kirk and Spock's adventures. Woodward playing a gal 7 years younger than she actually was asks us for some leeway, while the ending is to my mind a stretch too far, but this is an enjoyable experience for Heflin and Woodward fans. There's amazing action with knuckles (on a Sunday no less!) and horse racing, and plenty of breezy humour as well, making this a picture that's not quite a hidden gem, but definitely worthy of consideration by the Oater loving crowd. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Candybots Numbers 123 Counting review [App]  2017-11-21 13:8

    Amazing d remebers the almost all the numbers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hey Duggee: The Counting Badge review [App]  2017-11-27 13:0

    Really lovely fun app. Bit of a glitch when trying to exit - it asks "are you sure?" but when you select yes nothing happens. Also its one continuous android game with various activities. My son isn't quite 3 so can only do some of the primary counting ones. I was expecting you to be able to select various android games so you could pick for your child's abilities ie pick counting for a young kid or adding for an older child. But still fun and well designed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pro Card Counting Academy review [App]  2018-3-8 13:9

    Used it to play online live dealer blackjack. It had paid for itself a lot of times over. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pro Card Counting Academy review [App]  2018-3-8 13:9

    Created so much cash using this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Pro Card Counting Academy review [App]  2018-3-8 13:9

    I've been playing blackjack for 15 years and this application is a android game changer!

    0  


  • 1

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Amazing story - origin of the Black Panther, amazing illustrating by Romita Jr., amazing use of some of Marvel's classic villains. Amazing introduction for thos who don't know the Black Panther & wish to learn about him before the film comes out. The DVD ver is very good. My local library has ordered in the prose novel based on this. Can't wait to read it! Recommend this classic..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This graphic novel was the first Black Panther book I've ever read. I read a 4-issue miniseries a long time ago, but it didn't leave much of an impression on me because I've forgotten what the story was even about(I think it was about someone, a cop I think, named Casper Cole taking on the role of Black Panther and fighting corruption on the roads in America). Needless to say, it was not the classic Black Panther that this story is about. This Black Panther, T'Challa of Wakanda(a little independent country in Africa that is both a tribal and simultaneously more technologically advanced nation than any other in the world), is WAY various and MUCH cooler! I have read books with T'Challa in them before, but never one where he was the central hero of the story. And what a heck of a story it e story is an origin story and a suspenseful, political, action-thriller about revenge and power - those who have it, and those who wish it. I won't go into the info of the plot, so don't worry, no spoilers here. What I will do is comment on the quality of the story in both the writing and the rst, the writing. Reginald Hudlin, coming from the film industry, does a nice job in weaving together a history for both the Black Panther and the nation of Wakanda, while telling an intriguing action-thriller that moves at a quick pace which rarely lets up. His movie-making influence can be felt here in the best possible way. His history makes for an perfect transition into telling this story in a wonderfully cinematic fashion. You could see this as a film quite easily. In fact, Marvel Knights DID create this into an animated movie/motion comic. This leads me to the hn Romita, Jr.(a favorite of mine) contributes heavily to the cinematic look and feel of this book. Although the panel layouts are of the simple, classic kind(there are no panels-within-panels/overlapping panels, or non-square/rectangle panels to be found here), which is typical of JRJR's stuff, there is still that feeling of watching a film unfold before your eyes. I search that this is the case with much of his works(see "Daredevil: The Man Without Fear", "[email protected]#$%", or "The Wonderful Hulk v.1: Return of the Monster"). If you aren't familiar with his style, I would describe it as highly tangible. That is to say, it is clearly intelligible. It isn't elusive in any way. It's very straightforward and simplistic. That doesn't mean that it isn't stylized. You could have 100 artists draw the same page, and I could pick his out with ease. His look is both cartoonish and realistic in nature. And his characters have a somewhat blocky nature to them. I happen to like this aspect and think that it works well for him. The amount of detail in his panels is modest, yet he hits all the right notes to sell the reality of the scene. His close-ups, for example, are typically absent of any background elements entirely(aside from a solitary color). He chooses, rather wisely(for HIS style anyway), to emphasize the main focus of the scene; be it an apologetic yet uneasy expression on the face of a prostitute declining a proposition from a customer to let him to kiss her in exchange for added cash; or the photo of two hands - one, the customer's holding out a wad of hundreds, the other the prostitute's, reluctantly outstretched in acceptance of the money - completing the foreboding transaction of which she had just previously declined. JRJR is a master storyteller. He makes even small things like this palpable. And his action sequences? ere were a couple of things that were drawbacks. One was the fact that beautiful much all of the non-Wakandans in the story tended to be portrayed in a rather negative light. I understand that Hudlin was trying to establish that Wakanda was not only technologically advanced, but also socially and morally advanced as well. You can agree or disagree with this premise, but although I think Hudlin may have pushed a small too hard sometimes in trying to validate this stance, I respect his position and I believe that it makes sense within the sociopolitical context of this book. The other thing that detracted from this book was the fast ending. It seemed to end a small too quick for me. But I can live with these things because the overall story is a fun read, and the artwork is great. In the end, I really enjoyed this book. I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of either JRJR or suspenseful action-thrillers in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I got this because I'm a Black Panther fan, and also because I'm a huge John Romita Jr. fan. Klaus Jansen inks JRJR like no one else can, and for my money, no one else should ink his pencils. The artwork here is very amazing - but lacking something for me. I was trying to figure out why, and I think the book is too dark. Not in storyline, but just in coloring. The older versions if Black Panther have his suit almost a blue color, with lots of massive darks and line work. This gives him a depth and shows off the artistic touches much better than trying to hold him all dark with grays/blacks. JRJR's linework needs to be seen, otherwise his style becomes too blocky and sparse, like cardboard cutouts. The rest of the book is gorgeous, but when it comes to the main character, that's who I wanted to see tricked out in JRJR's e plot was the best in the history of Black Panther yet. It was nice to have him in his country of origin, instead of finding reasons to bring him to huge cities via silly plot twists. I found the tech a small overdone and unexplained, and also the villian was boring and not only named after Inspector Gadget's arch enemy, he had the same gimmicky hand.A solid book for a hero that required it by a amazing team.Look for the animated series on Netflix or DVD - because it's cooler than the book, and I think JRJR's pics came out better in that format. Plus, Captain America's stage figures in much more in the animated series than his too brief treatment here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Group of villians invade Wakanda. The leader, Klaw, has history with Tchalla. Ebony blade falls from the hands of the Black Knight during a war in the sky and remains in Wakanda. The country is somewhat damaged by the intruders.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This collection is a very amazing introduction to the Black Panther and associated aspects of the Marvel universe. Overall it's a fairly straightforward comic tale, but by the end the reader should feel prepared and intrigued to read more stories about Wakanda and the characters introduced here.Fair warning, this is not a Saturday morning cartoon comic. A character's death is the central driver of the story, a handful of other deaths occur along the way, and sometimes the Black Panther values vengeance over virtue. So parents should give it a read before handing it over to young readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a quintessential reboot of the Black Panther Character. This brings Wakanda, and The former avenger to the forefront of political and international intrigue. The books ties the past and show together and shows why T'Challa could be a first string is book could very easily translate into a movie. A fun read for a hero who is so often ignored.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    The Black Panther was made in a late-60s fit of conscience. Marvel Comics writers wanted to add a black character to the roster; they saw a news item about some "Black Panther" group scaring white people in California. Boom: The fresh hero had a name, albeit instead of protesting racism in America, he was the superpowered king of a wealthy African dlin has taken a second-tier hero and created him fascinating. In his fresh Panther mythos, the Panther's Wakanda is constantly under siege from arrogant (white) would-be conquerers. One of them, The Klaw, is trying to avenge the shame of his South African forefather, who tried and failed to defeat the Wakandans. He draws blood. He gives the Panther an epic challenge on his home turf. It's a thrilling story that could be turned into a Will Smith car tomorrow. But maybe they'd blow it! Romita's art elevates the story and the action the method some bland CGI never could.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a well written and very interesting story. Really like seeing the rhino in the story. Watching him running through everything is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Perfect book featuring one of my favorite artists. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Amazing buy. No issues

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I won't go into the plot since everyone will know it. My concern whenever I'm given or purchase a very long book is, "Will it hold me engaged?" and is it worth the weeks it will take me to [email protected]#$%!?"The respond with THE GOLDFINCH is "Yes!" and "Sorta!"To me, the book is divided into sections or novellas--the explosion, living with the wealthy family, moving to Vegas, e brilliant opening section immediately kept me engaged--I think the explosion and Theo's experience and recovery is some of the best writing I've read in e family he moves in with may remind you of THE ROYAL TENENBAUMS or Salinger's Glass family. They are funny, a bit tragic and sort of odd. The father especially--something about his behavior seemed a bit "off" as did his wild dialogue; it didn't seem at all "real" in a novel that's very grounded in reality. (It's revealed later why he behaves this way.)The next--and for me, strongest novella--takes put in Las Vegas where we "live" with Theo's father and girlfriend. The writing is vivid, the characters and plot really move along and it's all terrific.And then, for me, THE GOLDFINCH seems to stall a bit and slightly loses its way. This painting that Theo carries with him seems to be forgotten about and then every 100 pages or so is mentioned again (not that we care.)There's a novella about dealing in art (collection and deception) and our character takes a downward turn, but I found myself losing interest and by page 600 was growing impatient for it to end...or for the plot to kick in again as it did in the first few e amazing thing about this book is that you can set it aside for a few days and pick it up again and not be "lost"--the writing and characters are that strong. The "plot" on the other hand seems to grow thinner and less necessary as you head down the latest 200 plus pages as "big issues" are thoughtfully woven in.I'm sure this will keep a lot of 4 and 5 star ratings, but I'm giving it a very amazing solid 3 since, unfortunately, it seemed to run out of gas toward the end. But those first 600 pages -- great, amazing stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    It has been a while since I've read a novel that was nearly eight hundred pages in length. The Goldfinch, of course, won the Pulitzer, and that's why I was initially drawn into tackling it. First off, I concur with a friend's succinct assessment: There's just too much of it. Ms. Tartt has a penchant for flaunting her knowledge (or researched knowledge) of art, literature, languages, philosophy, and all things arcane--to a degree of overkill that seems obsessive (along with a tedious insistence upon describing in min detail the physical appearance of every character--even if they only appear for one sentence!).That said, Donna Tartt is the most poetic of prose writers I have encountered to date, creating a sumptuous feast of a globe where the courses never stop coming in a tale about a boy, his mother, his best friend, and a centuries-old painting that possesses a timeless, hypnotic appeal. Ms. Tartt is a writer of such fiery brilliance and depth that I can excuse the tangents she sometimes goes off on--she is showing off, like a wide receiver who has just created a spectacular catch dancing in the end zone--just because she can. And that's okay. If you've got it, flaunt it. But I can see why it would be off-putting to some readers, and I say to those who couldn't stick with it...man, you've missed out! There is a reason why this novel won the Pulitzer. It's a piece of art that belongs right up there with the works of the amazing masters in any medium.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    The idea of working a novel around an actual master work of paining is not a fresh idea, but a very amazing one. It interested me enough to look up the painting on the Internet, and copy off said copy on watercolor paper and it is now displayed on our piano.Well written, but a bit long. Concerning the story, I kept hoping the major personage would obtain his act together long before he did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I was disappointed when I finally finished The Goldfinch, and for all the best reasons. This book created me laugh out loud, sigh, and also deeply resonated with me. The narration of Theo is nothing less than brilliant. He is witty and funny, but he ultimately understands that in the end we are all alone in this world, a fact created clear to him by his private loss he experiences in the beginning of the story. Due to these unfortunate events, he is plagued with sadness and loneliness. Theo's hero is in direct contract to his gleeful Russian sidekick Boris, a hero who jumps off the page. If you happen to know any Russians he is even funnier - Tartt is spot on. There are so a lot of amazing quotes in this book and the story is so intricate that I would have to dedicate a long time writing a review that does justice to this novel (which I don't have!) The Goldfinch doesn't flinch from the sometimes miserable and ultimately lonely parts of the human condition, but Tartt is able to transcend this plight and turn it into something beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    A beautifully written first-person story, so psychologically engaging that you feel the author's pain and desperate longing only too real in human nature, in the in-between zone of art, love, and magic that connects us all.Timothy A. Storlie, PhDAuthor of Transformational Daydreaming

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    This is a refreshingly various work of fiction involving orphans and art work, terrorism and antiques, Las Vegas low-lifes and NY society types, loves on a lot of levels and high stakes crime both foreign and domestic. Everything fits together neatly and plausibly, for the most part, with a morally satisfying ending. That's the 4 star part. It's missing one star because I was initially place off and not at all engaged when I first started to read it. It began with a disjointed segment from what was the end of the story. I'm guessing that the intent was to pull you in to learn what was going on. I picked up the book a couple of months later and got past my initial bewilderment to the real beginning of the story which proved to be quite engaging. An 800+ page book has got to be engaging if it's to be read. That being said, I thought that there were a couple of segments that were much lengthier and repetitive than they required to be, particularly the Las Vegas time period and the ending. I found myself thinking "I obtain it already, let's move on".I would highly recommend this book as it is well written, engaging and satisfyingly different.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. I see why the book.won the Pulitzer. The author has a amazing method of telling you about her characters. They begin to feel familiar, like folks you've seen about town. I felt like I wanted to step in and protect Theo, obtain him back on track, especially during the years after his tragic loss. Often, I was frustrated by his choices. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I had high hopes for this Pulitzer winner. The beginning was engaging, but along the way, the transitions seemed abrupt and I kept hoping that this part of his life would move on to something better. Every joyful moment was very quickly countered with an extreme sorrow or disappointment. When he finally seemed satisfied with Kitsey, I knew something was amiss. The descriptions and thoughts of the protagonist were very deep and sometimes disturbing. I think the author may have overdone the lengthly descriptions of his agony and depression. The book did not give much hope for humanity until the end where he talks to the reader like a philosopher. I didn't have fun reading this book. I was glad when I finished it and won't recommend it to my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I was so eager to read this book, but I was disappointed in the end. I was glad to reach the end. I kept wanting to take out my red editing pen and slashing some of the overly long parts, especially the episodes with his "best friend" Boris, who quite frankly spoke at boring length taking pages to obtain to his point. I thought the plot was good, a bomb set off in a museum with a boy taking a painting his mother -- who dies in the explosion -- adored. But this is the story of a boy/man in problem all of his life -- he and his mother were on the method to his school for a disciplinary talk with the headmaster -- diverted to the museum to slay time before the school appointment. They never obtain there, but after the bomb the boy is in one predicament after another -- his father comes to claim him, he loves Pippa but doesn't end up with her, he falsely sells furniture as rare antiques, and uses drugs, drugs and more drugs. I did like discussions about art and paintings, and particularly like the put where Hobie talks about how one particular painting will mean various things to each is end of the story was so phony. Boris discovers The Goldfinch painting in a European apartment that has a trove of stolen art and gets a large reward that he shares with Theo. This relives Theo of the weighty problem of getting the painting he stole years before back to the museum. From the start, I was the one with the issue reading this book. I didn't realize until the end that this was Theo's diary, so this stream of consciousness writing created sense, but it was still too damned long.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) review [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    Prize winning ...whaaat! Verbose and tiresome prose drones on and on and takes us nowhere. Tartt steps right into being a depressed teenager and imbues the lad with all the sensibility of an urban litterary snob.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    I decided to buy this book based on an NPR radio interview with the author that I heard soon after the book's release. He had such a unbelievable speaking voice and delivery that it created me wish to buy the book thinking and hoping that his prose would be as beautiful. It addition, having lost my own father when I was barely 21 (although in much less complicated conditions than the author's), any story about fathers and sons always will catch my the end I couldn't give this a 5-star rating. Something was missing and I couldn't quite place my finger on it. Perhaps it is that, while I can relate to the problem of a lost father and memories, I am not muslim or from the African continent...nor am I a political exile. Therefore, I couldn't relate completely to the author's pain and resolve.What I did obtain was a amazing education on Libya, of which I know only what I've seen in the news for the past 30 years. I learned more than I knew about Qaddafi's brutality and of the life of exiles throughout the continent and Europe. The prose is very nice and simple to read....sometimes too easy. I found myself going back to re-read some passages because I had a feeling I might have missed something attractive or revealing. That was the case more often than I am proud to admit. The author was very successful in putting the reader---at least me---in a situation in which I pictured my father, my family and me in the same situation. It wasn't a pleasant feeling, but it wasn't meant to be. A lot of of us are very lucky just because we were born in a free country. This book will create you think of how lucky those people are indeed and just how un-lucky a lot of others are.Overall, I recommend this book as a pleasant, informative, strong and educational read that will create the reader reflect. It doesn't resolve as clearly as I had hoped, but it is not hard to suppose what happened after the book's end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    Interesting as latest history of Libya but too detailed because things that interest author because his relations etc too much for ordinary reader - weighs the book down. While highly praised and prize winning I felt it didn't say anything fresh about 'returning' everyone who has left their own country and lived elsewhere whether as an exile or as an ex-pat experiences a lot of what Matar experiences. His is intensified by disappearance of his father and not good torturing etc under Gadaffi but probably no worse than what it is like for hundreds of thousands of current refugees. He was lucky because he went to England for an education and had contacts and one assumes was able to create a living. But amazing to read thinking of current stateless people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    This story is autobiographical in the Qaddafi era in Libya but the family live in Egypt. The father is a dissident and spends long periods away from home. On one of these occasions he is kidnapped by the regime. His son, the author of this story grows up through the years of his disappearance, suffers the loss of his father and his mother takes to alcohol to console herself. A lot of members of the extended family are also kidnapped. They, however are eventually released. Not so for the father and the story ends with the conclusion that he must have been shot in the 1996 massacre in Abu Salim jail which was liberated by the rebels. Gaddafi was overthrown in 2011 after 40 years rule. This is a heart felt story, very well written and holds the tension of the find until the latest page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    A wonderfully written book. Satisfied endings are for the films and Libya is not a magical land. Mr. Matar has done his father a amazing service by telling this story so eloquently and poetically. I've recommended this book to a lot of people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    This is one of the best memoirs / historical books I have read in some time. Just majestic in scope and beautifully written. It discusses an zone of the globe (Libya) of which I knew very small but now I know a lot more. I am very grateful that the author wrote this. I feel like a better person having read it. Bravo.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    This is an honest accounting of a sons quest to explore his father's fate. Set in Quaddafis regime it draws you inTo the pain and raw emotion of the incarceration of his family and most especially his father.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    A masterpiece. Matar has written a strong private acc of the tragedy that became the date of Libya since it fell into Ghaddafi's hands. It is beautiful, touching and insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    I thought I'd love this book, and it is written very well. However, I had problem finishing it......too slow moving for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    This is an necessary story that needs to be told to remind us of the injustices in the world. The author crafts an intriguing story, embedded with vivid descriptions and history. The only drawback is that his tendency to paint a picture impacts the flow of the true story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    Beautifully written story. A glimpse into the madness that is Libyan latest history and the pain suffered by so many.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    The truth about huge government's origins.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Perfect in all aspects. The beginning argument that continues today because of George Washington's not good education and not good leadership!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Perfect book. Well written and very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Dilorenzo does another amazing book. Hold up the amazing work. Very amazing at understanding were the founders were coming from. Could have used a small more of John Taylor of Caroline but that is my own bias.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Should be needed reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    A must read. If you wish to fully understand why Ron Paul wants to "Abolish the Fed" read this book. The curse of Hamilton is alive and plaguing us today!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    This book starts with the premise that Hamilton is a "bad guy" and his ideas are the source of a lot of of the issues that the United States currently faces. I think you might expect that, given the title. However, the approach has much to be desired. Instead of working from the facts and towards the premise, DiLorenzo simply asserts the premise, with statements such as "Hamilton wanted to use this centralized power to subsidize business in particular, and the more affluent in general, so as to create them supportive of an ever-growing state." The DiLorenzo tosses facts or quotes (but never both) at the reader that might help such an assertion. It doesn't take a page or two for DiLorenzo to assert that Hamilton was in favor of "an American king." A real argument is providing the precise facts that would almost require the reader to come to the conclusion, leaving no other alternative (perhaps by explaining them away).To understand a lot of of Hamilton's statements cited by DiLorenzo, the national context needs to be understood. First of all, the Articles of Confederation had just failed by leaving the central government without the ability to collect revenue, yet the duty of protecting national security. The entire nation understood this, which is why they called for the Annapolis Convention.I am enamored by the writing style however. It is easy and simple to read. Bold and wild assertions abound, and the use of citations is laughable. The conversation on page 18 about the Supremacy Clause could be used as a amazing example. For background, here is the Supremacy Clause:This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States which shall be created in pursuance thereof; and all treaties made, or which shall be made, under the authority of the United States, shall be the supreme law of the land; and the judges in every state shall be bound thereby, anything in the constitution or laws of any state to the contrary notwithstanding.DiLorenzo's interpretation of this statement is that it primarily serves as a reminder that "the United States" is not a central government but a confederacy of states "that would delegate a few select powers to the central government, primarily for national defense and foreign affairs." Further, that the central government's laws would not necessarily trump state laws, and that the enumerated powers were the only powers. What a reading! Yes, it is real that the Tenth Amendment speaks to the enumerative nature of federal powers, but to attempt to read it into the Supremacy Clause is a stretch to ly, the conservative lens of the book reinforces the lack of neutrality. Within pages, Reagan is touted as believing that "government is usually the problem, not the solution." Just google "federal outlays per capita by president adjusted for inflation" or "annualized growth in federal spending". Explore that Reagan was not the little government character he is lauded to be. The war between Hamilton and Jefferson is in no method a conservative-progressive fight, but a federalist fight. Jefferson didn't much concern himself with the kinds of laws, but their origin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    This book gave me a greater insight to the politics of the time that have created the US that it is today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today review [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Ignore the negative reviews from huge government sychophants and Lincoln worshipers and read Hamilton's Curse.DiLorenzo does a capable job examining the origins of corporate welfare, crony capitalism, Fed counterfeiting and the decline of strict constructionism.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    Amazing read. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    I am planning on selling my home that I've lived in for over 30 years and the 25 Essentials cover all aspects of selling a home from A to Z. The book is well written from a professional point of view, yet simple to read and the concepts are presented clearly. Mike believes in what he does and is very successful in his True Estate Business and in the book he shares what he has learned and what really works in today's True Estate Market. I highly recommend True Commitment, True Results to anyone planning on selling or buying a home or to anyone in the business wanting to obtain to the next level. After reading the 25 Essentials I now have a proven plan to tutorial me through the process of selling my home. Thanks Mike! .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    I have known Mike for a few years and he is very passionnate about his family and friends. I learned thru this book, his passion for his craft. This book puts true energy into the true estate globe which most experience only a few times in their life. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    This book is a must read! I am a fresh agent and found this book very helpful. The 25 rules taught me so a lot of things that i didn’t learn in school. For people trying to sell their house this shows you hints and tricks that will support you sell your house!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market review [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    This is a amazing book. As a non true estate professional, I've learned a lot about the profession from Mike's advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    In January I had a A1C reading of 10.9 and a fasting random glucose reading of 261. I knew I had to do something but what? I've been a vegetarian for more than 30 years, my weight was in the normal range and I went to the gym 3 times a week. After the hysterics I thought maybe my diet required adjusting. Maybe I was eating too much white pasta, baked goods etc. I knew that just being a vegetarian was no assurance my diet was healthy. I found this book on Amazon and started cooking. The meal is delicious and simple to prepare. The only adjustment I had to create was keeping my pantry stocked. The first week I shopped in a lot of various stores to search what I needed. However, as time went by I knew what grocers carried what products and what products I had to order on line. BTW Amazon has a lot of meal stuff you will be using and the delivery isn't bad.I'm loving the meal so much I invited meat eating mates over for the savory roast. After a few jokes I noticed their plates were empty. Two weeks into the diet my random glucose readings were less than 135 and after 30 days my average reading is 125. I will warn you about one thing. Your family and mates will begin expecting you to do all the cooking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    I search that the recipes in this cookbook are okay, but I've also had to omit some of the ingredients. As someone who has eaten whole plant for a number of years, one of the things that eating whole plant is for me is eliminating processed foods. My husband developed diabetes so I required to search how to alter the plant based diet we were currently eating so I purchased this book. I assume I had incorporated too a lot of grains and fruit in our current diet. But to be fair, the author does not actually advocate whole plant, but plant based. There are a lot of processed foods included in these recipes that I refuse to eat. MorningStar products have a lot of artificial ingredients, in fact the list of ingredients are appalling and unhealthy. However if you are fresh to eating plant based this is a amazing method to obtain started and I certainly would not discourage you. Even with the processed foods it is by far healthier than an animal based diet. But at some point in time you may wish to eliminate the process foods that are suggested in these recipes as they are also disease causing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    I should know better than to buy a cookbook with the word miracle in the title - a book that claims to work miracles in 30 days, especially. This book has interesting recipes and amazing information, so it's worthwhile. But for some reason the author of this and other 30 day miracle plans think you need to eat something completely various every day of the 30 days. Perhaps the miracle won't work if you eat the same thing for breakfast twice in 30 days? Of course I understand that I can repeat a food I particularly like in 30 days, and that I don't have to prepare a food if it doesn't sound enticing. And like I said, the recipes look interesting and I will definitely test them, and one can accomplish a lot in 30 days, whether a miracle occurs or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    This book has changed my life! When I found out I was diabetic (Type II), I panicked. In fact, I was so scared I hardly ate anything for two days until I saw my doctor again. Thankfully, someone had sent a copy of this book to the network I work at for review. After they had reviewed it, they place it on my desk (still don't know who that was, but I'm so grateful)!I read it all in one sitting. It's full of the best information, and stays away from all the crazy things that even sometimes doctors tell you (when they don't know much about the disease). I've been able to lose 40 lbs, and stay off any medications besides high blood pressure meds for a whole year. I'm working on losing the rest of the weight, and I feel better than I have in 's simple, but in-depth. And written in a method people like me can understand. THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart! Now I give a copy of the 30-day Diabetes Miracle book and cookbook to each of my mates who are diagnosed with this disease. I just turned 50, and believe me, there are a lot of us who are finding out we're diabetics. Thank God it's not a death sentence if we do something about it!BUY THIS BOOK. I can't urge you more strongly. It can create a difference!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    I purchased this book several months ago and have had plenty of time to create several of the recipes in here and allow me say that I haven't found one I don't like yet. The kicking western chili is fantastic. The cashew burger gravy is really good, especially if you substitute soy "sausage" or, my favorite, soy chorizo for the burger crumbles. The brown gravy is a very satisfying replacement for beef gravy and is very amazing over mashed potatoes. The smoky lentils with caramelized onions is incomprehensibly "meaty" and absolutely delicious. Finally, the Indian red lentil soup is also very tasty and filling, although I like to enhance it with extra Indian seasonings (curry powder, coriander, new ginger). The only complaint I have, and it is very trivial, is the method ingredient quantities are specified. The authors use cup/spoon measurements for everything including things like onion, carrot, celery. I usually ignore their measurements and estimate using whole vegetables, ie, 1/2 cup diced carrot to 1 medium sized carrot, or whatever. The bottom line is if you are trying to up your plant meal intake and are concerned with losing satisfaction then this book will go a long method to helping you search flavor without animal member, you do not need to be a diabetic to have fun these recipes and the health benefits that come along with them. And for those who are diabetic, I believe that this book, and others, will go a long method to helping you beat your disease. I was diagnosed with diabetes in January 2013 and right away created radical changes in my eating habits, combining recommendations from the authors of this book, Neil Barnard, and also Joel Fuhrman. I am currently (February 2014) maintaining my fasting morning blood glucose average at about 100 mg/dL and have been off of all diabetes medications since September.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    Mine is going to be a two-faced review, one from an average outsider's standpoint (which I once was when diagnosed), and the other from a longtime low-carb mostly vegetarian cook (which I now am). I have been around the block more than a lot of on meal regimens and over time have practiced the ideas in Carbohydrate Addicts, Atkins, Zone, Neanderthin, low carb veg cookbooks, as well as low-fat e book's cover tells us it is "From the Gourmet Kitchen and Cooking School at The Lifestyle Center of America." Who? More below. Same people who brought you "The 30-day Diabetes Miracle". Maybe when written in 1990 this was Huge om the outside viewpoint, these recipes/mealplans and methods probably will work reasonably well for weight loss and blood sugar control for diabetics in earlier stages of the disease. Overall, the meals are looking at "carb choices" where 1 carb choice = 15 carbs. The authors believe that we do best with carb consumption heavier at breakfast and lunch (45-75 net carbs), and a bit less at dinner (0-45 net carbs). The recipes by and huge are not difficult, though the embracing of vegan choices will create your shopping list contain stuff like nutritional yeast flakes, a lot of soy products, and lots of beans and oats and MacKay's chicken style instant broth. (The authors must have stock in this company.) If you're going to go for it, hold your mind open, for changes like beans at breakfast, and a huge emphasis on "healthy plant fats". Overall, the book is a bit bloated with items that need not be there, like recipes for different toasted nuts, but worse, it is also packed with pages of unnecessary duplications. A amazing example is the Breakfast Black Beans and the Breakfast Amazing Northern Beans - these are the exact same recipe with the bean the only difference. Ditto the Golden Soy Oat Pancakes and the Golden Soy Oat Waffles - same recipe! Why not just say "You may substitute any of these canned beans as well" or "This batter also may be used to create pancakes" instead of using up another page? Also, in the interest of keeping your consumption within their pre-determined limits, the authors' format is trying to drive you to planning the entire food and not cherry picking recipes, which you may search helpful or cumbersome.I am not a vegetarian, but am married to one, and we are both diabetic, so I cook mostly veg and have for years. If you are looking for new veg or vegan recipes, I don't think there's going to be much fresh here for you. And if, like me, you are not completely vegetarian but are begin to eating more veg (not necessarily vegan) you may search these recipes have cumbersome ingredients with substitutions created to use soy milk or cashew sauce instead of milk/cream or scrambled tofu instead of egg, but if you're already vegan you won't have problem other than that you have probably seen these recipes before.And here's where I kind of climb on my high horse... As a diabetic of 20 years, there is no method I could obtain away with 45-75 net carbs per meal... back when first diagnosed, maybe, but not now. Over 30-40 carbs per food and I will begin to re-gain the weight and the high blood sugar readings I worked so hard to abolish a lot of years ago. My apologies to the more strict vegetarians and vegans out there, but I have honestly found that I can eat darn near anything if I stay under 30 carbs per meal. Your setpoint may be different, but you should play with it and learn it, and then create it your private mandate.And if you are an Atkins or Location or any kind of non-veg low-carber, your experience may mirror mine- that I can eat buckets of fat without gaining weight or affecting my blood sugar, but if I begin eating toast with meals I'm gone, and my triglycerides and cholesterol climb... so it was irritating to me to see the emphasis on cutting fats in the book and promoting the use of, say, Intelligent Balance. I'm no scientist, but the authors sure aren't either. "Most professional health agencies recommend you eat less than 30% of your calories from fat - and they claim it's okay to obtain most of it from "lean meats" like chicken; we strongly disagree." Really, why? If this is their belief as vegetarians, ok, say so, but if it's some nutritional intuition or something, it's just wrong on so a lot of need fat to sustain you, to hold you from getting hungry. Intelligent Balance and 2 tablespoons of olive or canola oil in an entire recipe are just not enough. And fat will not affect your blood sugar nor your triglycerides nor cholesterol. If you know Atkins, I'm preaching to the choir.But the kicker? No snack recipes. "You won't need them."Maybe it's thinking like this that is why "Lifestyle Center of America" in Oklahoma closed. Long story about its beginning as a 7 Day Adventist/health retreat. Go find "Wellness Center Planned in Sulphur" to learn about it going up in 1996, and how it cost $1,500 for a six-day stay to $5,500 for a 19-day stay. No doubt the original intentions were good, but rates like create that Passages Malibu look reasonable. But I digress...The point is, maybe you could eat these recipes for a short stay in a retreat, but bottom line is you need a meal regimen you can stay satisfied with for the long term. Any book with food plans may work, but to really do the job you need to educate yourself so you can do it yourself, and this book is not going to further that goal. Go read some of the books in the first paragraph - even if you do not love any of them, they will teach you about the cycle of carbs and blood sugar and hunger and how to break it, and then you can do it yourself - with plant based approaches or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    I just received my cookbook this morning so I have not had time to test the recipes but I love the method everything is structured and well explained. Most of the recipes sound really, really good. I have been a vegetarian for 20 years so I already have most of the ingredients the recipes call for. I can search them at a larger grocery shop that has a amazing natural foods section. There is one (maybe two) that I will have to go to a specialty meal shop (Like Jungle Jims) but that's ok because it will be worth it. The only thing I am not satisfied with is that the recipes say it makes anywhere from 6 to 11 servings. Its just me and my husband and he will eat some of things in the book but not as much as I will so trying to reduce the recipe to one or two servings will be a challenge. Some of the recipes I can create half the recipe and freeze the rest but there are a lot of that freezing is not an option.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    My husband has been pre-diabetic for a lot of years and in December was diagnosed with Type II diabetes. We had been on a modified protein/fat and low carb diet but that hadn't helped. So I found this book and have been using it since mid-December. I have lost over ten pounds and my husband has lost close to twenty pounds. Being from the Midwest, he has always been a meat and potatoes guy. But he LOVES most of the recipes in this book and says they are not boring. We go to his diabetes doctor this next week so I am looking forward to what he has to say. Additionally, this method of eating is healthier, not just for humans, but for the planet as well not to be eating meat, and it's less expensive too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    I purchased this book after buying The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle. It has a lot of more recipes and the awesome thing is... They are all amazing tasting! We have used a lot of them - our book is well loved! We've created soups, bean waffles -gluten free, if you use gluten free oats-, a cilantro tofu sour cream (great taste even if you don't like cilantro or tofu!), flaxseed cookies... Yummy, yummy and yummy!The only draw back is that few of the recipes take a lot of time, the taste is worth it.If you are making a change in your diet this really is a amazing cook book to begin with, amazing taste has been proven with each recipe from young to old in our house.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The 30-Day Diabetes Miracle Cookbook: Stop Diabetes with an Easy-to-Follow Plant-Based, Carb-Counting Diet review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    This is an perfect resource to tell you how old easy terms how to alleviate your diabetes and any symptoms with it!! The weight-loss is amazing and all the info about diabetes is right on. Improvement for over all the complications is wonderful! This book is a must for anyone and especially diabetics!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    The most valuable commodity in the 21st century is TIME. "The power of time" by Jean Zogby is written with the intentions of providing an insightful look into how we should not attempt to manage time but to use it, in the best method we e book at first begins to discuss our understanding of what time is and how we experience it. Then it moves onto referencing the psychological perception of the discussing matter and how our brains perceive this valuable commodity in me factors influence our time experience, and it is necessary to live in the moment and in a method take control of the situation by discovering what kind of person you are and how to prevent time from slipping away.I really enjoyed the part where the author demonstrates mental time travel. I found the subject to be very novel. The approach and analytical debates within the topic were in perfect standing.Anyone reading this book will have no difficulty following through the steps of creating quality in their life. To create every second count I believe is a hard thing to do especially when you don’t search a second even to stop and create that change. This book, however, assists you in better applying this way and subsequently generating a happier life for the reader.I recommend this book to people that value their existence and seek quality in their life.If you liked this review, please don’t forget to share and like it!Written by Jeyran Main

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    I read this book waiting for the latest chapter. Each chapter I got through seemed to say the same thing in a slightly various way. So a lot of studies and redundant examples really slowed things down. However, in the latest chapter I finally got what I came for. Dozens is the spice of life. Anticipation is often just as pleasurable as the anticipated activity, if not more so. Routine and monotony cause time to seem to slip away. Live in the moment. Stop and smell the roses. Hold learning. Hold growing. Live a full life by making every moment count. Time is not money. Time is much more valuable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Finally, a book about time that is fit for a philosopher or layman! I found this book simple to read, but chalk full of profound insights about how we understand and navigate this uniquely human construction we call “time.” Zogby has really done his homework here. He starts out with a history of time, literally, trying to understand how we have come to understand our perception of how time passes. He proceeds to expertly discover how we sense time moving quickly or slowly, depending on the context in which we search ourselves.But what I found most original and engaging was his discussion of how we can actively “take control” of how we experience time, providing concrete suggestions to support us along the way. For example, Zogby discusses the effects of emotions such as fear, anger, anxiety, on our experiences of time. He suggests that to create the most of our time, we must learn to live in the moment, to pay the most attention to the things that matter, and to revel in feelings of awe in the daily moments of life.Zogby has written a thoughtful and inspiring book – Highly Recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    "The Power of Time Perception" by Jean Paul Zogby is a very interesting book which covers the dynamics of time. Zogby examines time in 4 various ways beginning with how we experience time, factors influencing our perception, how we perceive the past or future and making our finite time count maximally.Zogby tackles the perceptive type questions like where did the summer vacation go? A similar question is where did my life go for an elderly person? He explains our western notions of time which tend to be linear in nature. And so, the past is oftentimes behind us; wherein, the future lies just spite how we view the past or future, there are lessons to be learned from the past. Each of us must ponder what went wrong in the past and take corrective action so that the same undesirable outcomes don't repeat in the future. Learning from the past isn't necessarily reliving the past. To set up a positive portrait for the future, each of us must set forth meritorious goals and work toward achieving them to shape possibilities for a better future.Overall, "The Power of Time Perception" by Zogby makes us more aware of the impact of time on our lives, as well as, opportunities to alter our current trajectory using rational rule structures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Interesting challenge about time. But no exercises are included.Time tends to escape us. We are on a "roller coaster" of life, going too fast...sometimes, and too slow...at other rhaps the author will add exercises on his web page, soon. I hope so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    I found this to be a very interesting book and enjoyed reading about the research on time as well. If you have an interest in time and various thoughts on it, this is an perfect resource and it makes you think!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Thank you. Clear and simple to read. It gave me true insights about the concept of time and the true meaning of ageing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Amazing book and a quick read. The author conveys complex info easily without dumbing down the science. The practical applications are thoughtful. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    This book was full of data and documented studies and stories!! This was a amazing search and a amazing resource. I will be quoting passages from here for a lot of years!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count review [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    I really, really like a amazing history book!Not those ones you never know is some fact is a fact but an author's fiction, but those books, like this one, with lots of arguments for the states the author gives, so you can check it and create your own decision about though there is plenty info in this book since author starts to follow the Iranian nation from its very beginnings, it is not just names and dates, like some history books. Ozias Marcovici really did a amazing job here, mixing historical info with less known things about persons and happenings he mentions in his book, making it very easy-to-read material.When I started to read I wondered what was the connection between the line of rulers, but with every read page, it becomes obvious that existence of one ruler and the method he ruled create a put and possibility for next ruler to come. Which is the thing I've never think about before.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    The author skillfully presents a concise history of the amazing Persian people intertwined with the modern era including the Pahlavi dynasty and “The Forgotten King” and the bloody Iranian Islamic revolution. It is a book that gives you a fascinating perspective - almost behind the scene- of the show situation in Iran and the true threat that the Islamic State represent to the stability in the region and to the world. Amazing Book! Highly Recommended to public in general. I am sure people with interest in political science, will search it very hn H

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    This book is very interesting and in depth representation of Iranian history. it is written in such a method that it is continuously intriguing compelling you to read on and absorb every detail. And there is a lot of details, stories and inner workings that author so skillfully presents. Even if you are not usually interested in middle eastern history this book could be interesting in better understanding the show situation in that part of the world. I liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    What an interesting book! Fascinating, well documented, beautifully written, and utterly hypnotizing. It blends the history of the Persian Empire with its legends, culture, religion, social life, laws, international politics, love, ambition, power, betrayal and profund humanity. It is the story of a fascinating man and the evolution (and involution) of a conflictual and complicated part of the world. This illuminating book written by a superb story-teller historian, will respond a lot of of your questions, and delight you with fresh perspectives and valuable lessons.Highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Paris To Tehran - The Forgotten King: The Fascinating History of Iran, From the Persian Shah to Ayatollah Khomeini's Revolution (Middle Eastern Politics & Biographies) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:0

    It's clear that the author is well aware of the subject and a descent research was made. He also has a bonus to share his knowledge in a easy and interesting e book goes into info of Iranian revolution, collapse of the Pahlavi dynasty and life of Ayatollah Khomeini. The book gives you a clear vision of Persian history and current situation on Iran.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter