The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) Reviews & Opinions

Submit The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I was unaware of the incredible and almost superhuman life of General Alexander Dumas and its significance during the French Revolution and later the dictator Napoleon's reign. It is a shocking expose of freeing all peoples of color and then after using their spirit of freedom and hope to defeat their enemies are then stripped of that freedom and forced into third class citizenry and slavery again.Dumas is a war hero! His exploits are written of and celebrated until the end when Napolean turns back the clock and reinforces systematic racism. This is one of the best history books I've read....kept my interest throughout the reading.I would definitely recommend to readers if history..... It was a true eye opener for e most striking thing about this is the likeness to modern day thinking and generally accepted norms. It is unsettling and is obviously not an isolated case. It is shameful history!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This belongs on the required reading list for students of French history. That a stalwart hero of fiction could be brought to such a vivid real person existence is enlightening and entertaining. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas has enjoyed a long life on the reading lists of many students. That story was based on the real life experiences of Alexander’s father, fictionalized as the title character, but this work covers the life and times of The Black Count. The son of a white Frenchman and a black slave mother was an asset during his youth, but with the advent of Napolean, his fortunes dwindled and the equality enjoyed by “men of color” were replaced with a French code too close to our own Jim Crow laws. If I could give it six stars, I would.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I bought this on recommendation of a seller of another product I purchased on Amazon and loved it. It is a very interesting part of history that most people never hear. It is history but it is also woven in to a nice story that I think is enjoyable just in general. I typically read books and then pass them on simply to avoid having stacks and stacks of books. This one I intend to keep and read again at a later time.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    A friend recommended this book to me, and I'm so glad she did. On the plus side, I learned, learned, learned. I had no idea that Dumas was part black, had no idea that his father was the son of a slave and a French aristocrat, no idea just how rotten Napolean could be. I learned more about the French revolution than I ever thought I even wanted to know. I learned details about Marie Antoinette, the French military, the oppression of the revolutionary forces.On the minus side, sometimes the writing was ponderous. I had a hard time keeping track of just what year it was, since the author jumped around a bit in time. I was reading on a kindle, so it was more difficult to go back and check when I realized things were a bit "off", at least in my ever, I do recommend the book. If you have to, skim through the more ponderous sections (for me that would be the military details) and you'll still pretty much get the main point, namely that the Black Count was one hell of a leader, one hell of a fighter, one hell of a husband and father (however briefly he was home) and was royally screwed over by Napolean!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I almost didn't buy this book after reading some of the reviews here on Amazon nitpicking various details or, worse yet, suggesting that the book was overly pre-occupied with race--an immediate turnoff for me. I didn't find that to be true at all. It is a fascinating tale about a relatively unknown and uniquely interesting historical figure. It was also an easy way to learn about a part of history with which I was unfamiliar: the circumstances around the French revolution, the Terror, Robespierre, the guillotine and, of course, Napoleon. They are all here in a well-told story that reads like fiction (albeit it with a lot of detail and backstory). If that sort of detail is too much of a distraction for you, then just read James Patterson or Tom Clancy. If you want to read a 300 page historical book without a single tiny error, then read....hmmmm......I don't know what. Otherwise, you won't be disappointed with Black Count.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This book will change your understanding of many things. #afromations Nehesu Nag-Negus El states that this book was so enjoyable that he could not put it down. the history is so rich that he can see why it would make historians upset by its potential classification. This book is more real than fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I'm glad I decided to pick up this book. It an amazing history of a forgotten General of the French Revolution. Mr. Reiss really brought this story to life, I didn't want to put it down. My only real problem with the book are its lack of pictures, there are some maps but could have been more. I found myself having to stop from time to time to look up images of people. It could just be my gripe, but when I'm reading about actual events and people I like to know that they looked like.I enjoyed reading this book. I have been a fan of Alexandre Dumas books and it was a treat to read about the man who influenced him and the was inspiration for many of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I never knew much about Alexander Dumas, much less anything about his father, and I did not know much about the French Revolution. These events make for a fascinating read, and the biographical vehicle gives the history much poignancy. The French Revolution led to many enlightened milestones, including the granting of equal rights to blacks, a breakthrough that belatedly inspired rebellion against France's extremely cruel system of slavery in its West Indies colonies. It also led to the liberation of the Jews from the ghettos, as well as greater rights for minorities, women and commoners wherever volution spread. At the same time, the revolution featured terrible arbitrary cruelty and injustice, especially against the Christian clergy and the wealthy, as guillotines were erected in towns ruled by the revolutionaries. Many innocent people were unjustly murdered. When Napoleon took the reins of power, liberty, equality and fraternity tended to be eclipsed by egomania, rank and empire. Of course, after Waterloo, Europe reverted to its old ways as the republican innovations were rescinded. Through it all, Alex Dumas, son of a slave woman and a white planter, Alexander Dumas's father, shone as a beacon of bravery, military brilliance, and fairness, embodying the ideals of the revolution as they were originally meant to be. His career tended to follow the arc of the revolution, ascending rapidly as revolutionary forces advanced, declining as Napoleon arose and corrupted republican practices, and then coming to a bad end as he was imprisoned for years in Italy on his way back from Napoleon's disastrous Egyptian venture, a stint that broke his health. Alexander Dumas based his famous novels on his father's life. The author demonstrates interesting biographical parallels with these works and is to be commended for his tireless and painstaking research efforts in uncovering the documents that enabled him to write this amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This is a fascinating book both from the broader historical perspective and in its careful and detailed exposition of the life of General Dumas - a man of heroic stature (both literally and figuratively) who rose high and then was felled by those who should have valued him most, - particularly Napoleon Bonaparte. The roller coaster saga of the French handling of racial relations is by itself very interesting - and disturbing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo(Pulitzer Prize for Biography) [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Besides having an exceedingly long title, I think the time was wrong for me to read this book. Wrapped up in other ideas and too much nonfiction reading on my plate, I had a difficult time getting into this book despite the fact that it is actually quite well om the slave-run plantations of Sainte Domingue (now Haiti) through the French Revolution, the Dumas family is traced and linked to every vital episode of the era. The author tells the story of General Dumas and points out events that inspired many of the stories later written by his y political issues are thoroughly discussed, from the unique French view of slavery to the origination of the terms "left" and "right" when ranking liberals and conservatives. Those who are fans of Alexander Dumas (the younger) and anyone interested in the French Revolution will enjoy this deeply researched narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Count My Eggs [App]  2018-1-3 13:9

    Can only go to 9 eggs a day if I know that wouldn't have paid for it I would of got the free app disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Count 'Em Up [App]  2018-1-18 13:0

    Fantastic game by ICE Development. Addicting, fun, and ready to learn. Great for the quick study break, road trip, or competition with friends. Would recommend to all ages!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Counting Us [App]  2018-1-20 13:7

    Tired of counting your homeless on pen and paper? Aren't we all! Great app, and with the new formatting adjustments and offline form submissions you just can't go wrong!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Counting Us [App]  2018-1-20 13:7

    My go-to app for my Point in Time homeless census needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Count Three and Pray [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    The Punching Preacher. Count Three and Pray is directed by George Sherman and written by Herb Meadow. It stars Van Heflin, Joanne Woodward, Raymond Burr, Phillip Carey and Allison Hayes. A CinemaScope/Technicolor production, music is by George Duning and cinematography by Burnett Guffey. At first glance it appears to be a film about a bad man finding his faith and coming good in the face of adversity, but there are many more strings to this particular bow. Even if it never quite reaches greatness. Story has Heflin as Luke Fargo, a man who before the Civil War was something of a hell raiser, he loved women, he loved to drink, and he loved to fight. While serving in the war he was emotionally scarred by what he witnessed at The Battle of Vicksburg, he decided then that a change in his life trajectory was required. The bite here is that Fargo, a Southerner, fought for the North because that was the political side he believed in. So upon returning to his Southern hometown, he's persona non grata, a major problem since he wants to spread the gospel and cast off his previous sins. His efforts are further complicated when he locates himself to the derelict - ramshackle - church and parsonage, to find living there is a feisty orphan girl called Lissy (Woodward), a sharpshooting tomboy with fire in her belly. Right from the off we find Fargo having to reach back to his hellfire club days, forced to brawl when confronted with outright hostility that's being instigated by self appointed town leader Yancey Huggins (Burr on splendidly nasty form). Oh there is plenty of God fearing folk in the town who desperately want to have the church up and running again, they want to give Luke a chance, but there's the constant feeling that a leopard never changes its spots, something that is further compounded by the attention Luke receives from the town "madam" (Jean Willes). While the fact that Luke is living under the same roof as young Lissy sets tongues a wagging, unhealthily so. Luke valiantly ploughs on, but his unorthodox methods are sure to be used against him... As the relationship between Lissy and himself develops, you sense quite early on how things are going to pan out, but the by-play between Heflin and Woodward is great viewing. Initially you would be forgiven for thinking that Woodward's character is going to be greatly annoying, but Woodward quickly dispels those fears to deliver a quite wonderful portrayal of a wastrel who is unaware she herself needs guidance. Heflin also is great value, a real mixed bag of emotions, lurching from tough to vulnerable with consummate ease. We could have done with a bit more of Burr's villainy up front and center, while Hayes' (yummy!) treacherous femme comes off as under written, but the main characterisations are strong enough to support the thematics. Nicely photographed around the Agoura Hills area of California by ace lensman Guffey, it's a pleasing production visually. Aurally the musical score provided by Duning has the requisite sedate and bluster moments, though fans of the original Star Trek TV show may find themselves suddenly whisked off on the Enterprise, Duning would clearly rework his score here for Kirk and Spock's adventures. Woodward playing a gal 7 years younger than she actually was asks us for some leeway, while the ending is to my mind a stretch too far, but this is an enjoyable experience for Heflin and Woodward fans. There's good action with knuckles (on a Sunday no less!) and horse racing, and plenty of breezy humour as well, making this a picture that's not quite a hidden gem, but definitely worthy of consideration by the Oater loving crowd. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Candybots Numbers 123 Counting [App]  2017-11-21 13:8

    Good d remebers the almost all the numbers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hey Duggee: The Counting Badge [App]  2017-11-27 13:0

    Really lovely fun app. Bit of a glitch when trying to exit - it asks "are you sure?" but when you select yes nothing happens. Also its one continuous game with different activities. My son isn't quite 3 so can only do some of the basic counting ones. I was expecting you to be able to select different games so you could pick for your child's abilities ie pick counting for a young child or adding for an older child. But still fun and well designed.

    0  


  • 1

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Great story - origin of the Black Panther, great illustrating by Romita Jr., good use of some of Marvel's classic villains. Good introduction for thos who don't know the Black Panther & want to learn about him before the movie comes out. The DVD version is very good. My local library has ordered in the prose novel based on this. Can't wait to read it! Recommend this classic..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This graphic novel was the first Black Panther book I've ever read. I read a 4-issue miniseries a long time ago, but it didn't leave much of an impression on me because I've forgotten what the story was even about(I think it was about someone, a cop I think, named Casper Cole taking on the role of Black Panther and fighting corruption on the streets in America). Needless to say, it was not the classic Black Panther that this story is about. This Black Panther, T'Challa of Wakanda(a small independent country in Africa that is both a tribal and simultaneously more technologically advanced nation than any other in the world), is WAY different and MUCH cooler! I have read books with T'Challa in them before, but never one where he was the central character of the story. And what a heck of a story it e story is an origin story and a suspenseful, political, action-thriller about revenge and power - those who have it, and those who want it. I won't go into the details of the plot, so don't worry, no spoilers here. What I will do is comment on the quality of the story in both the writing and the rst, the writing. Reginald Hudlin, coming from the movie industry, does a nice job in weaving together a history for both the Black Panther and the nation of Wakanda, while telling an intriguing action-thriller that moves at a fast pace which rarely lets up. His movie-making influence can be felt here in the best possible way. His history makes for an excellent transition into telling this story in a wonderfully cinematic fashion. You could see this as a movie quite easily. In fact, Marvel Knights DID make this into an animated movie/motion comic. This leads me to the hn Romita, Jr.(a favorite of mine) contributes heavily to the cinematic look and feel of this book. Although the panel layouts are of the simple, classic kind(there are no panels-within-panels/overlapping panels, or non-square/rectangle panels to be found here), which is typical of JRJR's stuff, there is still that feeling of watching a movie unfold before your eyes. I find that this is the case with much of his works(see "Daredevil: The Man Without Fear", "[email protected]#$%", or "The Incredible Hulk v.1: Return of the Monster"). If you aren't familiar with his style, I would describe it as highly tangible. That is to say, it is clearly intelligible. It isn't elusive in any way. It's very straightforward and simplistic. That doesn't mean that it isn't stylized. You could have 100 artists draw the same page, and I could pick his out with ease. His look is both cartoonish and realistic in nature. And his characters have a somewhat blocky nature to them. I happen to like this aspect and think that it works well for him. The amount of detail in his panels is modest, yet he hits all the right notes to sell the reality of the scene. His close-ups, for example, are typically absent of any background elements entirely(aside from a solitary color). He chooses, rather wisely(for HIS style anyway), to emphasize the main focus of the scene; be it an apologetic yet uneasy expression on the face of a prostitute declining a proposition from a customer to allow him to kiss her in exchange for added cash; or the image of two hands - one, the customer's holding out a wad of hundreds, the other the prostitute's, reluctantly outstretched in acceptance of the cash - completing the foreboding transaction of which she had just previously declined. JRJR is a master storyteller. He makes even little things like this palpable. And his action sequences? ere were a couple of things that were drawbacks. One was the fact that pretty much all of the non-Wakandans in the story tended to be portrayed in a rather negative light. I understand that Hudlin was trying to establish that Wakanda was not only technologically advanced, but also socially and morally advanced as well. You can agree or disagree with this premise, but although I think Hudlin may have pushed a little too hard sometimes in trying to validate this stance, I respect his position and I believe that it makes sense within the sociopolitical context of this book. The other thing that detracted from this book was the quick ending. It seemed to end a little too fast for me. But I can live with these things because the overall story is a fun read, and the artwork is great. In the end, I really enjoyed this book. I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of either JRJR or suspenseful action-thrillers in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I got this because I'm a Black Panther fan, and also because I'm a big John Romita Jr. fan. Klaus Jansen inks JRJR like no one else can, and for my money, no one else should ink his pencils. The artwork here is very good - but lacking something for me. I was trying to figure out why, and I think the book is too dark. Not in storyline, but just in coloring. The older versions if Black Panther have his suit almost a blue color, with lots of heavy darks and line work. This gives him a depth and shows off the artistic touches much better than trying to keep him all dark with grays/blacks. JRJR's linework needs to be seen, otherwise his style becomes too blocky and sparse, like cardboard cutouts. The rest of the book is gorgeous, but when it comes to the main character, that's who I wanted to see tricked out in JRJR's e plot was the best in the history of Black Panther yet. It was nice to have him in his country of origin, instead of finding reasons to bring him to big cities via silly plot twists. I found the tech a little overdone and unexplained, and also the villian was boring and not only named after Inspector Gadget's arch enemy, he had the same gimmicky hand.A solid book for a character that needed it by a good team.Look for the animated series on Netflix or DVD - because it's cooler than the book, and I think JRJR's pics came out better in that format. Plus, Captain America's scene figures in much more in the animated series than his too brief treatment here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Group of villians invade Wakanda. The leader, Klaw, has history with Tchalla. Ebony blade falls from the hands of the Black Knight during a battle in the sky and remains in Wakanda. The country is somewhat damaged by the intruders.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This collection is a very good introduction to the Black Panther and associated aspects of the Marvel universe. Overall it's a fairly straightforward comic tale, but by the end the reader should feel prepared and intrigued to read more stories about Wakanda and the characters introduced here.Fair warning, this is not a Saturday morning cartoon comic. A character's death is the central driver of the story, a handful of other deaths occur along the way, and sometimes the Black Panther values vengeance over virtue. So parents should give it a read before handing it over to young readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a quintessential reboot of the Black Panther Character. This brings Wakanda, and The former avenger to the forefront of political and international intrigue. The books ties the past and present together and shows why T'Challa could be a first string is book could very easily translate into a movie. A fun read for a character who is so often ignored.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    The Black Panther was created in a late-60s fit of conscience. Marvel Comics writers wanted to add a black hero to the roster; they saw a news item about some "Black Panther" group scaring white people in California. Boom: The new character had a name, albeit instead of protesting racism in America, he was the superpowered king of a wealthy African dlin has taken a second-tier character and made him fascinating. In his new Panther mythos, the Panther's Wakanda is constantly under siege from arrogant (white) would-be conquerers. One of them, The Klaw, is trying to avenge the shame of his South African forefather, who tried and failed to conquer the Wakandans. He draws blood. He gives the Panther an epic challenge on his home turf. It's a thrilling story that could be turned into a Will Smith vehicle tomorrow. But maybe they'd blow it! Romita's art elevates the story and the action the way some bland CGI never could.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a well written and very interesting story. Really like seeing the rhino in the story. Watching him running through everything is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Excellent book featuring one of my favorite artists. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? (Black Panther (2005-2008)) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Good buy. No problems

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I won't go into the plot since everyone will know it. My concern whenever I'm given or purchase a very long book is, "Will it keep me engaged?" and is it worth the weeks it will take me to [email protected]#$%!?"The answer with THE GOLDFINCH is "Yes!" and "Sorta!"To me, the book is divided into sections or novellas--the explosion, living with the wealthy family, moving to Vegas, e brilliant opening section immediately kept me engaged--I think the explosion and Theo's experience and recovery is some of the best writing I've read in e family he moves in with may remind you of THE ROYAL TENENBAUMS or Salinger's Glass family. They are funny, a bit tragic and sort of odd. The father especially--something about his behavior seemed a bit "off" as did his wild dialogue; it didn't seem at all "real" in a novel that's very grounded in reality. (It's revealed later why he behaves this way.)The next--and for me, strongest novella--takes place in Las Vegas where we "live" with Theo's father and girlfriend. The writing is vivid, the characters and plot really move along and it's all terrific.And then, for me, THE GOLDFINCH seems to stall a bit and slightly loses its way. This painting that Theo carries with him seems to be forgotten about and then every 100 pages or so is mentioned again (not that we care.)There's a novella about dealing in art (collection and deception) and our hero takes a downward turn, but I found myself losing interest and by page 600 was growing impatient for it to end...or for the plot to kick in again as it did in the first few e great thing about this book is that you can set it aside for a few days and pick it up again and not be "lost"--the writing and characters are that strong. The "plot" on the other hand seems to grow thinner and less important as you head down the last 200 plus pages as "big issues" are thoughtfully woven in.I'm sure this will receive many 4 and 5 star ratings, but I'm giving it a very good solid 3 since, unfortunately, it seemed to run out of gas toward the end. But those first 600 pages -- great, great stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    It has been a while since I've read a novel that was nearly eight hundred pages in length. The Goldfinch, of course, won the Pulitzer, and that's why I was initially drawn into tackling it. First off, I concur with a friend's succinct assessment: There's just too much of it. Ms. Tartt has a penchant for flaunting her knowledge (or researched knowledge) of art, literature, languages, philosophy, and all things arcane--to a degree of overkill that seems obsessive (along with a tedious insistence upon describing in minute detail the physical appearance of every character--even if they only appear for one sentence!).That said, Donna Tartt is the most poetic of prose writers I have encountered to date, creating a sumptuous feast of a world where the courses never stop coming in a tale about a boy, his mother, his best friend, and a centuries-old painting that possesses a timeless, hypnotic appeal. Ms. Tartt is a writer of such fiery brilliance and depth that I can excuse the tangents she sometimes goes off on--she is showing off, like a wide receiver who has just made a spectacular catch dancing in the end zone--just because she can. And that's okay. If you've got it, flaunt it. But I can see why it would be off-putting to some readers, and I say to those who couldn't stick with it...man, you've missed out! There is a reason why this novel won the Pulitzer. It's a piece of art that belongs right up there with the works of the great masters in any medium.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    The idea of working a novel around an actual master work of paining is not a new idea, but a very good one. It interested me enough to look up the painting on the Internet, and copy off said copy on watercolor paper and it is now displayed on our piano.Well written, but a bit long. Concerning the story, I kept hoping the major personage would get his act together long before he did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I was disappointed when I finally finished The Goldfinch, and for all the best reasons. This book made me laugh out loud, sigh, and also deeply resonated with me. The narration of Theo is nothing less than brilliant. He is witty and funny, but he ultimately understands that in the end we are all alone in this world, a fact made clear to him by his personal loss he experiences in the beginning of the story. Due to these unfortunate events, he is plagued with sadness and loneliness. Theo's character is in direct contract to his gleeful Russian sidekick Boris, a character who jumps off the page. If you happen to know any Russians he is even funnier - Tartt is spot on. There are so many great quotes in this book and the story is so intricate that I would have to dedicate a long time writing a review that does justice to this novel (which I don't have!) The Goldfinch doesn't flinch from the sometimes miserable and ultimately lonely parts of the human condition, but Tartt is able to transcend this plight and turn it into something beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    A beautifully written first-person story, so psychologically engaging that you feel the author's pain and desperate longing only too true in human nature, in the in-between space of art, love, and magic that connects us all.Timothy A. Storlie, PhDAuthor of Transformational Daydreaming

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    This is a refreshingly different work of fiction involving orphans and art work, terrorism and antiques, Las Vegas low-lifes and NY society types, loves on many levels and high stakes crime both foreign and domestic. Everything fits together neatly and plausibly, for the most part, with a morally satisfying ending. That's the 4 star part. It's missing one star because I was initially put off and not at all engaged when I first started to read it. It began with a disjointed segment from what was the end of the story. I'm guessing that the intent was to pull you in to learn what was going on. I picked up the book a couple of months later and got past my initial bewilderment to the true beginning of the story which proved to be quite engaging. An 800+ page book has got to be engaging if it's to be read. That being said, I thought that there were a couple of segments that were much lengthier and repetitive than they needed to be, particularly the Las Vegas time period and the ending. I found myself thinking "I get it already, let's move on".I would highly recommend this book as it is well written, engaging and satisfyingly different.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. I see why the book.won the Pulitzer. The author has a great way of telling you about her characters. They start to feel familiar, like folks you've seen about town. I felt like I wanted to step in and protect Theo, get him back on track, especially during the years after his tragic loss. Often, I was frustrated by his choices. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I had high hopes for this Pulitzer winner. The beginning was engaging, but along the way, the transitions seemed abrupt and I kept hoping that this part of his life would move on to something better. Every joyful moment was very quickly countered with an extreme sorrow or disappointment. When he finally seemed happy with Kitsey, I knew something was amiss. The descriptions and thoughts of the protagonist were very deep and sometimes disturbing. I think the author may have overdone the lengthly descriptions of his agony and depression. The book did not give much hope for humanity until the end where he talks to the reader like a philosopher. I didn't enjoy reading this book. I was glad when I finished it and won't recommend it to my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I was so eager to read this book, but I was disappointed in the end. I was glad to reach the end. I kept wanting to take out my red editing pen and slashing some of the overly long parts, especially the episodes with his "best friend" Boris, who quite frankly spoke at boring length taking pages to get to his point. I thought the plot was good, a bomb set off in a museum with a boy taking a painting his mother -- who dies in the explosion -- adored. But this is the story of a boy/man in trouble all of his life -- he and his mother were on the way to his school for a disciplinary talk with the headmaster -- diverted to the museum to kill time before the school appointment. They never get there, but after the bomb the boy is in one predicament after another -- his father comes to claim him, he loves Pippa but doesn't end up with her, he falsely sells furniture as rare antiques, and uses drugs, drugs and more drugs. I did like discussions about art and paintings, and particularly like the place where Hobie talks about how one particular painting will mean different things to each is end of the story was so phony. Boris discovers The Goldfinch painting in a European apartment that has a trove of stolen art and gets a huge reward that he shares with Theo. This relives Theo of the weighty issue of getting the painting he stole years before back to the museum. From the start, I was the one with the problem reading this book. I didn't realize until the end that this was Theo's diary, so this stream of consciousness writing made sense, but it was still too damned long.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    Prize winning ...whaaat! Verbose and tiresome prose drones on and on and takes us nowhere. Tartt steps right into being a depressed teenager and imbues the lad with all the sensibility of an urban litterary snob.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    The truth about big government's origins.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Excellent in all aspects. The beginning argument that continues today because of George Washington's poor education and poor leadership!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Excellent book. Well written and very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Dilorenzo does another great book. Keep up the good work. Very good at understanding were the founders were coming from. Could have used a little more of John Taylor of Caroline but that is my own bias.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Should be required reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    A must read. If you want to fully understand why Ron Paul wants to "Abolish the Fed" read this book. The curse of Hamilton is alive and plaguing us today!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    This book starts with the premise that Hamilton is a "bad guy" and his ideas are the source of many of the problems that the United States currently faces. I think you might expect that, given the title. However, the approach has much to be desired. Instead of working from the facts and towards the premise, DiLorenzo simply asserts the premise, with statements such as "Hamilton wanted to use this centralized power to subsidize business in particular, and the more affluent in general, so as to make them supportive of an ever-growing state." The DiLorenzo tosses facts or quotes (but never both) at the reader that might support such an assertion. It doesn't take a page or two for DiLorenzo to assert that Hamilton was in favor of "an American king." A true argument is providing the precise facts that would almost require the reader to come to the conclusion, leaving no other alternative (perhaps by explaining them away).To understand many of Hamilton's statements cited by DiLorenzo, the national context needs to be understood. First of all, the Articles of Confederation had just failed by leaving the central government without the ability to collect revenue, yet the duty of protecting national security. The entire nation understood this, which is why they called for the Annapolis Convention.I am enamored by the writing style however. It is simple and easy to read. Bold and wild assertions abound, and the use of citations is laughable. The conversation on page 18 about the Supremacy Clause could be used as a good example. For background, here is the Supremacy Clause:This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States which shall be made in pursuance thereof; and all treaties made, or which shall be made, under the authority of the United States, shall be the supreme law of the land; and the judges in every state shall be bound thereby, anything in the constitution or laws of any state to the contrary notwithstanding.DiLorenzo's interpretation of this statement is that it primarily serves as a reminder that "the United States" is not a central government but a confederacy of states "that would delegate a few select powers to the central government, primarily for national defense and foreign affairs." Further, that the central government's laws would not necessarily trump state laws, and that the enumerated powers were the only powers. What a reading! Yes, it is true that the Tenth Amendment speaks to the enumerative nature of federal powers, but to attempt to read it into the Supremacy Clause is a stretch to ly, the conservative lens of the book reinforces the lack of neutrality. Within pages, Reagan is touted as believing that "government is usually the problem, not the solution." Just google "federal outlays per capita by president adjusted for inflation" or "annualized growth in federal spending". Discover that Reagan was not the small government hero he is lauded to be. The fight between Hamilton and Jefferson is in no way a conservative-progressive fight, but a federalist fight. Jefferson didn't much concern himself with the kinds of laws, but their origin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    This book gave me a greater insight to the politics of the time that have made the US that it is today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Arch Enemy Betrayed the American Revolution--and What It Means for Americans Today [Book]  2017-11-16 18:1

    Ignore the negative reviews from big government sychophants and Lincoln worshipers and read Hamilton's Curse.DiLorenzo does a capable job examining the origins of corporate welfare, crony capitalism, Fed counterfeiting and the decline of strict constructionism.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    Great read. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    I am planning on selling my home that I've lived in for over 30 years and the 25 Essentials cover all aspects of selling a home from A to Z. The book is well written from a professional point of view, yet easy to read and the concepts are presented clearly. Mike believes in what he does and is very successful in his Real Estate Business and in the book he shares what he has learned and what really works in today's Real Estate Market. I highly recommend Real Commitment, Real Results to anyone planning on selling or buying a home or to anyone in the business wanting to get to the next level. After reading the 25 Essentials I now have a proven plan to guide me through the process of selling my home. Thanks Mike! .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    I have known Mike for a few years and he is very passionnate about his family and friends. I learned thru this book, his passion for his craft. This book puts real energy into the real estate world which most experience only a few times in their life. Great read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    This book is a must read! I am a new agent and found this book very helpful. The 25 rules taught me so many things that i didn’t learn in school. For people trying to sell their house this shows you tips and tricks that will help you sell your house!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Real Commitment. Real Results.: 25 Essential Rules For Buying & Selling Real Estate in Any Kind of Market [Book]  2017-12-14 18:1

    This is a great book. As a non real estate professional, I've learned a lot about the profession from Mike's advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    The most valuable commodity in the 21st century is TIME. "The power of time" by Jean Zogby is written with the intentions of providing an insightful look into how we should not attempt to manage time but to use it, in the best way we e book at first begins to discuss our understanding of what time is and how we experience it. Then it moves onto referencing the psychological perception of the discussing matter and how our brains perceive this valuable commodity in me factors influence our time experience, and it is important to live in the moment and in a way take control of the situation by discovering what kind of person you are and how to prevent time from slipping away.I really enjoyed the part where the author demonstrates mental time travel. I found the topic to be very novel. The approach and analytical debates within the subject were in excellent standing.Anyone reading this book will have no difficulty following through the steps of creating quality in their life. To make every second count I believe is a hard thing to do especially when you don’t find a second even to stop and make that change. This book, however, assists you in better applying this method and subsequently generating a happier life for the reader.I recommend this book to people that value their existence and seek quality in their life.If you liked this review, please don’t forget to share and like it!Written by Jeyran Main

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    I read this book waiting for the last chapter. Each chapter I got through seemed to say the same thing in a slightly different way. So many studies and redundant examples really slowed things down. However, in the last chapter I finally got what I came for. Variety is the spice of life. Anticipation is often just as pleasurable as the anticipated activity, if not more so. Routine and monotony cause time to seem to slip away. Live in the moment. Stop and smell the roses. Keep learning. Keep growing. Live a full life by making every moment count. Time is not money. Time is much more valuable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Finally, a book about time that is fit for a philosopher or layman! I found this book easy to read, but chalk full of profound insights about how we understand and navigate this uniquely human construction we call “time.” Zogby has really done his homework here. He starts out with a history of time, literally, trying to understand how we have come to understand our perception of how time passes. He proceeds to expertly explore how we sense time moving quickly or slowly, depending on the context in which we find ourselves.But what I found most original and engaging was his discussion of how we can actively “take control” of how we experience time, providing concrete suggestions to help us along the way. For example, Zogby discusses the effects of emotions such as fear, anger, anxiety, on our experiences of time. He suggests that to make the most of our time, we must learn to live in the moment, to pay the most attention to the things that matter, and to revel in feelings of awe in the everyday moments of life.Zogby has written a thoughtful and inspiring book – Highly Recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    "The Power of Time Perception" by Jean Paul Zogby is a very interesting book which covers the dynamics of time. Zogby examines time in 4 different ways beginning with how we experience time, factors influencing our perception, how we perceive the past or future and making our finite time count maximally.Zogby tackles the perceptive type questions like where did the summer vacation go? A related question is where did my life go for an elderly person? He explains our western notions of time which tend to be linear in nature. And so, the past is oftentimes behind us; wherein, the future lies just spite how we view the past or future, there are lessons to be learned from the past. Each of us must ponder what went wrong in the past and take corrective action so that the same undesirable outcomes don't repeat in the future. Learning from the past isn't necessarily reliving the past. To set up a positive portrait for the future, each of us must set forth meritorious goals and work toward achieving them to shape possibilities for a better future.Overall, "The Power of Time Perception" by Zogby makes us more aware of the impact of time on our lives, as well as, opportunities to alter our current trajectory using rational rule structures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Interesting challenge about time. But no exercises are included.Time tends to escape us. We are on a "roller coaster" of life, going too fast...sometimes, and too slow...at other rhaps the author will add exercises on his web page, soon. I hope so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    I found this to be a very interesting book and enjoyed reading about the research on time as well. If you have an interest in time and different thoughts on it, this is an excellent resource and it makes you think!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Thank you. Clear and easy to read. It gave me real insights about the concept of time and the real meaning of ageing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Great book and a fast read. The author conveys complex information easily without dumbing down the science. The practical applications are thoughtful. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    This book was full of data and documented studies and stories!! This was a great find and a good resource. I will be quoting passages from here for many years!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Power of Time Perception: Control the Speed of Time to Slow Down Aging, Live a Long Life, and Make Every Second Count [Book]  2017-10-14 22:23

    Great read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    If you are a NEWBIE to the real estate business like i am this book will enlighten you from a different perspective. It's very informative and easy to comprehend to the point if you're looking to purchase property you will become your own realtor with the information the author writes in details. Also, there are examples that I believe helps a great deal. You will not be disappointed after reading this book. Happy reading...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    While this book has basic helpful tips for beginners, I 100% guarantee there are far better books out there for those interested in investing in real estate. The two main areas that were helpful were the sections on the fha loan and 203k loan which only made up about 1/20 of the entire book. Other than that, the author references his personal website multiple times unnecessarily, tells us how he got his business started by then stating it is near impossible to do the same way because of restructured rules and etc, and lastly SO MANY ERRORS in his writing. Just the fact that nobody cared or took the time to look over this book to fix the errors is enough to tell me it is not worth reading. The mistakes included in the photo were just a few of the multiple that were found

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    It is an easy reading book providing informative advice for real estate investors. You can skip some chapters without missing important information.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    Seller: good customer : clear explanations. Good book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    Very informative on so many ideas on financing your real estate purchases!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    Good book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    Great book that talks about different creative ways to invest with little or no money down. This book covers flips, wholesaling, lease options and much more. I really enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    BiggerPockets does it again with an easy, informational read. Brandon's candid writing style keeps the reader enticed while still teaching many important things about the world of financing. Important read for beginners new and old, large and small.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    Great book……..well written, cut-to-the-chase, and even though I an attorney for 20+ years and real estate broker, I still learned a thing or two….

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Book on Investing In Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    Great Book - a very comprehensive guide to all types of real estate investing. I recommend to anyone looking to get into real estate investing that is unsure of the investment options.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    I wanted to get this review down while it is still fresh in my mind. I started it last night, read it until about 2 AM, woke up at 5 AM thinking about it, and started reading it again. I just could not quit reading is story is a very fast paced story and so suspenseful that it keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering what is going to happen next. Every time it looks as if the hero/heroine is about to have their life ended, something unexpectedly happens that saves them. There are many twists to this story. It is not a mystery, you know who all the bad guys are in the story except for one. The one I was not expecting to be a bad guy left me disappointed.What is so scary about this story is how most of this is very plausible-- and how easy it would be for terrorist to infiltrate our country. As I mentioned to my husband, I hope no terrorist reads this book because it would give them too many ideas! One of the things that the story points out is how unprotected our borders really are. Another thing is how very political a war is, especially to interests groups that will either profit with money or with political e author's writing was so good I felt as if I were right in the story--I could visualize everything as it happened. I didn't notice any grammar errors or any other is story is truly about betrayal, especially at the is is a stand alone story but I am looking forward to more stories about the main characters in this story and hope the author will write more about them. There was no foul language or explicit sex scenes in this story, which is so refreshing. Shows you that good stories can be told and hold your interests without sex and profanity. It is a little graphic at times but when terrorists are involved you expect this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Enjoyed the intrigue as well as the personalities of the characters. Liked the twin connection, liked that love is sometimes disappointing. Appreciate the mostly clean language.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Terrorism at its peak with many entities involved. Tigner knows how to write political thrillers! Insanely paced with major time restraints make this a book you don't want to stop reading. Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Well developed plot, believable characters, gripping writing. Good as any book I have read this year. I started reading BETRAYAL after the 9:00 PM news. Couldn't put it down, so I finished it this am. I will pay for it at work, but it was worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Intriguing juxtaposing with today's political climate. Should ones action be forgiven because of manipulations by a third party or should it be forgiven because it is not ones primary vocation?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    I was locked into this book fron the very beginning and was taken through very creative story that managed the characters and the plot with each turn of a page. At one point I had lost my link to the book by my error and felt I had to find this book as I had to see how things played out. I was able to relocate the book and my bookmarked place and didn't put it down until I finished the book. Needless to say for my first read of this authors work I will be back for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Talk about ratcheting up the tension! The story kept me riveted. Cassi, particularly, had a fascinating set of skills plus intuition (usually) and heart. An unusually intelligent and engrossing thriller.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Wow! I could not put this book down. About the time I would, another twist would happen. Great story with excellent character development.I have found my new author to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Having previously read one of this fine author's other works, I was keen to sample more, so I got this one and I was not disappointed. He skilfully weaves a novel and imaginative plot, introduces and works in his characters in such a way that you gradually get to know them better as the story progresses. Somehow he manages to keep the reader from arriving too early at pre-conceived ideas as to who the characters really are. Not an overly complex work, it is easy to read and easier to enjoy. Highly recommended reading entertainment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Betrayal [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Great read for "thriller" fans. Constant action. It had me from the beginning. The main characters were well developed. The plot was easy to follow and fast paced. LOTS of action.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Friday Deals | Black Friday Offers [App]  2017-11-25 21:9

    Wonderful application, user friendly UI.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Friday Deals | Black Friday Offers [App]  2017-11-25 21:9

    Awesome... Best price to compare

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Friday Deals | Black Friday Offers [App]  2017-11-25 21:9

    Navin bhai jordar jordar

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    3.5 Stars!I started this book not knowing the storyline, or even the author. I was pleasantly surprised! Erin Watts created characters who were flawed, in the way that we all were at the between age, when you’re legally an adult, and have adult responsibilities, but still enough of a kid that you look to others for guidance. (Heck, I still ask adultier adults for advice, and I’m 30!)Ms. Watts’ Vaughn and Oakley are realistically written characters, if not written a bit more mature than 17 and 19, respectively. At first, it threw me off; I didn’t think people of that age would behave and think in that way, but the more of their backstories I got as I read, the more I understood their behavior.Oakley – I think he grew the most for me. His character evolved from a selfish, indulgent little boy to a caring and generous man, and watching the transformation was rewarding and ughn – first off, I love her name! She is as original as her name; she has the best comebacks and snarky, sarcastic remarks. I was laughing out loud at some of the things she said!I liked how this writing duo utilized social media throughout the story, though I feel it could have been executed in a way that made it more realistic, as though you were reading conversations had on Instagram, Twitter, or text messaging.What really held me back from loving the story were two things:It would have been better had the social media aspect been clearer; sometimes it was hard to tell what was a text and what was a thought. It would have been a 5* if the social media had more of a style to set it apart, and if the characters were the age that it felt they were (her 19-20, him 22-23). Those things really pulled me out of the story.I look forward to what Ms. Watts has in store for this family of characters!3.5/5 *-Kendra

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    Anyone that knows me KNOWS that NA is my jam. There is something about it that I adore. The excitement of first love and the angst and passion that comes right along with it. Just sign me up! So when I saw that Erin Watt was writing an Enemies to Lovers type NA/mature YA novel I kind of lost my mind! I absolutely adored their Paper Princess series so to say I was uber excited about about When it's Real is an understatement. This novel was absolutely fabulous. Vaughn and Oakley had great chemistry and banter and I could not get enough. I absolutely loved this novel!Vaughn Bennett is ging through an (almost) quarter life crisis. At 17, she has no idea what she wants to do for the rest of her life and after graduating high school a year early, she's working a dead-end job to help support her family after the sudden death of her parents. But when she agrees to become a Pop Star's fake girlfriend to help revitalize his image and career, FIREWORKS happen. But when boundaries get crossed and emotional walls fall down, what happens when a fake relationship starts to feel more real everyday? I absolutely loved this novel. I found this book to be funny, emotional, so riveting and very honest. Both characters were so relateable where they just wanted to be able to express themselves, be happy and to figure out their place in life. I also loved the twitter and social media references as it made the novel so so realistic. This is another fantastic read from Erin Watt and I can't wait to see what this amazing duo has in store for us in the future. Bravo! ~Ratula, 4 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    ***Great 4 STAR READ***I know readers were expecting another Paper Princess, and while this book had a few similarities (i.e. hot wealthy bratty man and girl who lost her parents), it was a completely different story line. Overall, the book was really well written, the characters were lovable (most of the time) and easily to relate to. The book had alternating points of view between Oakley Ford, Rock God, and Vaughn Bennett, sweet and innocent girl next door. This book did seem a little YA to me because the characters were very immature at times and the only romance scene was not very vivid. Jen Frederick & Elle Kennedy make up the pseudonym Erin Watt and these ladies are romance/erotica authors so I expected the sex scene to be a little hotter but it was definitely toned down. I was also sad to see the story end with a minimal amount of resolution. However, Erin Watt did this to us with Paper Princess & Broken Prince with the cliff hanger ending so maybe they are planning on writing another installment that focuses on Vaughn's sister (HINT HINT ELLE AND JEN)!!!The story starts with Vaughn who took a year off between HS and College (after she graduated early) to take care of her family and save money. Vaughn lives with her older sister and two younger twin brothers. Vaughn carries the weight of her family burden on her shoulders because her parents passed away unexpectedly leaving them in a bit of a financial bind. Vaughn has no clue what she wants to do with her life so she decides that being a school teacher is a solid job even if its not her passion. She refuses to be footloose and fancy free like her parents who she thinks did not plan well financially.Enter Oakley Ford, young and talented rock star. He kind of reminds me of a mix between Justin and Harry... Both of his parents are famous and he did not want to live in their shadows so he had himself emancipated at a young age. However, Oakley is blocked musically and hasn't put out a new record in 2 years. He is begging to work with the industries best, Mr. King but King thinks that Oak is just too immature and too commercial. Oakley has to prove King is story is about a PR set up to tone down Oakley's image in the public eye by dating the girl next door. A normal as Vaughn is called in the industry. Neither Oakley nor Vaughn love this idea or really even like each other but Vaughn needs the money and Oakley needs the reputation revamp. Will it go down in history as one of the great loves or will it go up in flames?This book was not only relevant to todays fast paced twitter / instagram world but also was every girls fantasy of landing a rock star!!!It resonated with me like Paper Princess and it took me a few days to get into another book because I kept thinking about this one. And THAT makes it a good read for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    Erin Watt have wrote another spell-binding truly incredible read. I am so in Love with this book. “When It’s Real” it truly magical and is one of my favorite reads of this year!Oakley Ford is a teen pop star in need of help with his image. He is the party boy and he needs to straighten up his act if he wants to be taken seriously. So his PR team comes up with the plan for him to date Vaughn. Vaughn is normal and he needs her to make a good impression. Vaughn was not what he expected at all. She has a smart mouth and doesn’t think or act like he walks on water like most girls do. She throws him for a loop. She is different form everyone and the more time that they HAVE to spent together the more time he WANTS to spend with her. She inspires him and makes him feel normal. He just needs to get her to feel the same ughn Bennett is living every girls fantasy and she could care less. The last thing she wants to do is spend her time pretend dating a spoiled Pop Star but 20,000 a month is to good of a deal to pass up. So in order to help her family she agrees to fake date Oakley Ford. She cant stand him. She thinks he is a spoiled rich pop star but she can’t seem to help the way her body reacts to him. The more time they spend together the more Oakley opens up and the more Vaughn starts to see through his facade! This was only supposed to be pretend but she cant help but start to fall for real.I am so in Love with this book! This is Fake- Dating trope done right! I Went through ALL the FEELS! It was so cute and sweet and so much fun to read! You Will Fall in Love with Oakley and Vaughn! This is the perfect Young Adult Contemporary book for all ages!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    It's not secret that I've been on some kind of contemporary romance kick lately. Especially when it comes to fake relationship books. And this is probably my favorite of my recent reads so e romance is cute and sweet, and I loved Oak and Vaughn together. The story was definitely typical of the trope, but it wasn't 100% predictable. And I loved seeing the relationship between Vaughn and her siblings. I admit it, I'm a sucker for happy sibling as a struggling family in LA, Vaugh and her older sister are working hard just to make ends meat and send their little brothers to college. So of course when Vaughn gets offered and absurd amount of money to play the girlfriend to obnoxious rock star Oakley Ford, she says yes against her better judgement. But maybe Oakley isn't quite as bad as she initially thought. Even if he is a of the things I loved was that we got to hear from Oakley's POV as well as Vaughn's. I love reading from the male POV in books, and this was no exception. Seeing their relationship blossom was heartwarming, and I would have loved an even longer book or a follow up novel about the two of them. Can't wait to read other things from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    I'm devastated that it's over so soon...why couldn't it be longer?! I want more! I love Erin Watt and the stories that flow through her, although I do wish her books weren't so spaced out...I'm not sure it's because it takes awhile to write and create them, or that she enjoys torturing her readers by making us wait a year for something new?! This appears to be a standalone so I probably won't be waiting for more about Oakley Ford😱, but my pouting about waiting refers to "The Royals" series. I was happy to read this book in a time where I have multiple books I'm waiting to be released, but it just went to fast and ended entirely to quickly...oh well, at least there were no terrible cliffhangers that make you and and impatient for theft installment to pick up where the previous ended. Anyways, I would recommend this book to anyone a fan of Watt's books, or anyone who is a fan of a good book with captivating characters. I am totally an Oakley Ford fangirl! (Even though that would send me to cougar town at my ripe old of 34!) 😘

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    Looking for the perfect summer, beach read? Then When It's Real is IT! This dual POV storytelling was a great refreshing read for me! I love the light, good feeling story that Erin Watt created which is a vast difference from The Royals series (which I also LOVE!).Hot Hollywood relationships are always interesting when you see them working out in matching workout gear and holding hands running (Tom Cruise & Katie Holmes)... It makes you wonder are these pairings fake or real? Erin Watt wrote this perfect Hollywood arranged relationship with Rocker Oakley Ford being forced to romance Ordinary, Girl Next-door, Vaughn Bennett and make sure that their coupling is believable to the world! The hilarious Twitter posts throughout the book are On Point!Travel along through the book as Vaughn navigates being thrust into the paparazzi spotlight and Oakley having to fix his bad-boy rockstar image while pretending to be a couple. "Half the time you open your mouth, you say something that makes me want to punch you. ... But when you sing you make it really hard to hate you." When It's Real gives you all the feels in this refreshing page turner!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    This was my first read by Erin Watt and I was not disappointed. I'd heard so many good things about the writing style that I was excited to dive into When It's Real, let me tell you it did not disappoint. Right from the very beginning of the story I was pulled in by Vaughn and Oak's banter. When characters have witty banter that makes you chuckle, is always a plus for me. Not only that, but Vaughn and her family's story just tugged at my heart strings. Oak and Vaughn were two lost characters, in totally different ways, that though they were forced together, they helped one another through a lot of inner turmoil and grief. A part of me though kept questioning if I was like this at 17/19 years old. It seemed to me that at times, they were a little bit older.If you are a YA lover (mature), I would highly recommend When It's Real by Erin Watt.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    When it's Real is fast paced and easy to connect with. It had really lovable characters, and a plot that will keep you on your toes. I was grateful for the lack of angst and predictability that usually comes along with this type of story. Instead of drama, the book focused on the growing relationship between two very different people. The writing had me hooked from the very first page, and I finished it within a matter of is book is much different from the Royals series, so don't come into it thinking you'll be getting the same kind of angsty plot and characters. This is a much simpler and sweeter story, but it's also amazingly written and so much fun!So go into this novel with an open mind. If you can seperate it from the Royals Series, then I think you're likely to really enjoy it. It has quickly become one of my favorite reads of the year, and I can't wait to see what Erin Watt comes up with next!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    When It's Real [Book]  2017-12-30 18:1

    So for me it was a no brainer I read The Royals and I knew I needed more of the magic that happens with these 2 ( Erin Watt) it's pure magic When it's Real is completely different but the writing is just amazing these 2 have the power to suck you completely in and trapped in a world you don't want to leave and since I was not so patiently twisting my fingers waiting on the next books in The Royals ( which is a definite must read) I had to read this is and I wasn't disappointed it is a YA but it had the feel goods and angst and I was hooked I can't wait to see what these authors come up with next and definitely would NOt mind seeing more of the characters from this book ( like pretty please with a cherry on top) I know it's not supposed to be series but I know I would definitely read and would love love more!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    Bought this as a light read, being familiar with the comic. Very pleasantly surprised! Mr. Holland's work on the individual characters was wonderful. Through each of his characters, he was able to create a great visual picture of the fictional country of Wakanda. I also felt the dialogue that he provided for the people of Wakanda gave them an air of purpose and dignity. Something that the Black Panther comics that the novel was loosely based on did not. I've read Black Panther comics since Jack Kirby created the character waaay back when. I've always felt like T'Challa and his country always represented something noble. For anyone who might be unfamiliar with the Black Panther or might be going to see the new movie from Marvel, this book is an excellent place to jump on board.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    I've read the Reginald Hudlin and John Romita Jr's graphic novel this was based on and I love how Mr. Holland took the story and made it his own, yet the beats and characters rung true to the source material. When Ta-Nahesi Coates finishes his run on the current Black Panther comic, maybe Marvel should hire Jesse Holland to continue the adventures of King T'Challa. He'd be in good hands.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    I ranked this as many stars as I could due to the excellence of this book being able to communicate, in this day & age of racial tension within the U. S., that the only true solution is to break the chains of mental slavery!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    Love it!!! Looking forward toMore from this author !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel [Book]  2018-2-16 18:1

    Good adventure story for any fan of Black Panther.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    spirit runner shrink-your-prostate-and-get-your-life-back check.txt every-other-day-diet make-money-mailing-cheap-little-postcards easy-video-player-alternative bonsai-tree-care-easy online-money-monsoon-2 Cristo Libera app RoadRewards SMART Kodi Setup App - AIO Kodi Setup App Wizard Android Endoscope, EasyCap, USB camera (Extended) Time Master - Time Tracking Fiz : Brewery Management Game Narrows DungeonMemories winswim-swimming-software-2 why-not-fly-free-2 february-2013-calendar car-spray-painting-2'A=0 contestburner life-transformation-guide-advancedlifeskills-com job-crusher-warrior-forum Memes: Apple Memes & Comedy: (Funny Memes Feat. iPads, iPhones Etc - Joke Book L Holocaust Memoirs of a Bergen-Belsen Survivor & Classmate of Anne Frank Summary and Analysis: Joseph Jebelli's In Pursuit of Memory: The Fight Against Alzheimer's Summary of Fire and Fury: The Trump Book Going Off The Grid: The How-To Book Of Simple Living And Happiness (Primal Power Method) The Cruelest Miles: The Heroic Story of Dogs and Men in a Race Against an Epidemic Sharpe Edge (Maycroft Mystery Series Book 2) Against All Grain: Delectable Paleo Recipes to Eat Well & Feel Great Danielle Walker's Against All Grain: Meals Made Simple: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, and Paleo Recipes to Make Anytime Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017) #2 Black Panther Masterworks Vol. 1 (Jungle Action (1973-1976)) Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) City Dog, Country Dog Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin) Warriors #4: Rising Storm (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin) The Science of High Performance: Develop Mental Toughness, Boost Willpower, Master New Skills, and Achieve Your Goals Faster Friendly Fascism: The New Face of Power in America (Forbidden Bookshelf) Design Thinking: Integrating Innovation, Customer Experience, and Brand Value Shooting Victoria: Madness, Mayhem, and the Rebirth of the British Monarchy I Will Not Fear: My Story of a Lifetime of Building Faith under Fire I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings A Writer's Diary (Harvest Book) Broken Crayons Still Color: Based on a True Story Draft No. 4: On the Writing Process Jimmy Buffett: A Good Life All the Way A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated Islands of the Damned: A Marine at War in the Pacific Benjamin Franklin's Bastard: A Novel Sordid: A Novel Craven Manor The Plant-Based Diet Meal Plan: A 3-Week Kick-Start Guide to Eat & Live Your Best Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) Penny: The Story of a Free-Soul Basset Hound Chased 40 Days of Decrease: A Different Kind of Hunger. A Different Kind of Fast. Mindtouch (The Dreamhealers Book 1) Abducted Savage State of Mind 3: For the Love of An ATL Rider Dragon Slayer: A Pulp Fantasy Harem Adventure Patriot Games (A Jack Ryan Novel Book 2) Her Every Fear: A Novel Amazing Gracie Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad, Book 3) Clean (Phone Cleaner & Booster & AppLock) easy-jv-give-away-script fopacoin questions-for-couples-book forex-trend-rider-download online-yoga-teachers-training-and-certification-program ulster-ancestry-co-uk reading-her-body-ebook the-wedding-mc-workbook-2 magical-tactics-page-36 bed-bugs-911 Photos Companion, a Microsoft Garage project Genesis Vision Tournament Bitcoin Paranoid Honor Credit Union Banca Móvil de Oriental Bank Edge - Bitcoin Wallet Video Star - Social Video Network StarTV SL XMX Player sofort-mehr-dates Make Real Money $100 A Day USA Educational Puzzles for Kids: Owle Puzzles Safe School Helpline Resume Formats 2018 Lecture Notes AASA, The School Superinten... Knack - Tutoring Simplified MEDNAX Continuing Education Voxercise Holy Bible NIV Free Chineasy Cards PlanGrid Construction Software

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter