The Devil Reviews & Opinions


Submit The Devil review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Wow, another awesome installment of Joanna’s Devils Riders series. This book had all the feels for me. I throughly enjoyed catching up with everyone, meeting some fun fresh people that I can’t wait to obtain their own story and then of course Callaway and Molly. They are so cute together and it was so much fun to watch Callaway give chase to small innocent Molly. When you know you know I guess and he knew she was his from the start. Molly is a awesome young lady for sure. Then add in Molly’s brother which created it not only emotional but brought a large sense of family to the whole book. The other men and women from the group are so welcoming, fun and loyal that I just adore it. Getting some more of their stories was a added gift for sure. Joanna, she makes me laugh. She writes such descriptive pieces that have me chuckling out loud, emotionally touched and they just create me happy. The characters in this story are awesome and the story is not to be missed. Thank you Joanna for another fabulous piece to this truly amazing series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    This is yet another unbelievable addition to Joanna’s Devils Riders series. I was so satisfied to obtain a glimpse at where past characters were in their lives. The overwhelming sense of family and what that means for the members of mc. This story focuses on Calloway and Molly. He has met his match and I had so much fun reading about how that happens. A definite must read. I received an advance reader copy and I bought it. I am voluntarily leaving my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    I have read all of the books in this series and each one gets better than the one before. Having him take care of his grandma then finding the life of his life in the nursing home watching over her brother where he has his grandma. Only to take care of Molly and her brother. Awesome story

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Devil or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The Devil video reviews and related movies:

    See The History Of The Devil on youtube.

     related image

    See 5 Chilling Cases for the Existence of the Devil on youtube.

     related image

    See Eminem & 2Pac - I'm The Devil (2018) on youtube.

     related image

    See 5 Marks on Earth Supposedly Left by the Devil on youtube.

     related image

    See Rok Nardin - The Devil (Epic Powerful Dark Action) on youtube.

     related image

    See Who Is the Devil? on youtube.

     related image

    See The Devil and You - Child of God - Must Watch on youtube.

     related image

    See Shinedown - "DEVIL" (Official Video) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    This book is a amazing addition to this series. While it is a MC book, it is more of your typical romance without any suspense or action. It also gives you an modernize on the previous characters in the previous books in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Molly did not have a chance. Callaway wanted her and she was just along for the ride. I thought this book was intense, full of chemistry, love and hope. I could not place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Callaway was hilarious and he fell hard for Molly!! Molly required somebody in her life to take care of her. I'm ready for the next book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Such a unbelievable read. This MC romance is well written and has likable characters. This is book #5 in The Devil's Riders series. It can be read as a stand alone but for complete reading enjoyment I would read them all and in order. The characters reappear throughout the series and this method you will know all the info that you might not be aware of otherwise. This book focuses on Calloway. Known as the legendary playboy of the club his exploits are legendary. That is until he gets his first look at Molly. I loved this book. The story was sweet, fun and steamy. It contains a lot of really cute and humorous moments that will create you smile and laugh. You also obtain some deep emotions. Your heart can't support but melt as you witness the love that Calloway has for his Nana, Molly's love for her brother, the love between the brothers and families of the club and the love that blossoms and grows between Molly and Calloway. An perfect addition to this series and an all around five star read. This is my honest, voluntary review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Set in an MC world, but more about the people than club business. Loved the method unassuming Molly captured Calloway's attention without even trying and the over the top method he chased her so sweetly. Big, rough biker but he waited for her, created her life easier, all the while being possessive and growly. Calloway was hot for sure and Molly his sweet innocent. Definite yes! Only thing I missed was actual dialogue between them about their pasts (parents & such) bc it was so central to who they are now. Would've liked to see that connection bc they'd both had loss that made a pull to make a fresh family. Standalone but sooo much better if you read them all bc the one-off chapters from different POVs adds so much. ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    Callaway and Mollie's story is sweet and oh so amazing with added steam for our reading pleasure and I absolutely loved this book.When you have everyone throwing themselves at you it's simple to take the bait but it takes someone unique to turn someone from a player with a wild reputation and create them change especially when you are not even trying ese two were a very amazing combination and seem to blend very well together.I really changed my opinion on Callaway as he's not what I first thought he'd be and it was nice to read him do the things he did for Molly.I really enjoyed reading this book and their story and I highly recommend this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Marked By The Devil (The Devil's Riders Book 5) review [Book]  2018-6-21 18:0

    This is nothing so sweet and satisfying as a reformed poor boy. Callaway has always enjoyed his position in the Devil's Riders. He can have a fresh chick or five in his bed every night. He loves his Gran who raised him and takes care of her but beyond that, he does what he wants when he wants to. One fine day he is visiting his Gran and he is quite suddenly smitten with a gorgeous woman named Molly. Unfortunately for him, Callaway has encountered a woman who doesn't wish to fall into his arms or bed. Suddenly, Callaway wants more out of life then partying. Will Molly give him a chance, or will a lifetime of disappointments and sadness hold her from the one she needs?Joanna Blake is a super safe author, related to Alexa Riley. There is no cheating, definately major insta-love/lust and they are just so much fun! I do not have to worry when I sit down with a Joanna Blake book. I know I am going to relax and enjoy. I loved seeing Callaway obtain brought to his knees by a sweet small lady who is determined and used to relying only on herself. Luckily Callaway is a pack deal with a group of people who are just like family. That is something Molly has in very short supply. I don't wish to spoil anything so just trust me, if you have fun a book that just lets you sit back and watch two people who deserve to have a satisfied ending obtain one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Vol. 4: Girl-Moon (Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-27 18:1

    Book 4 is here and I am enjoying the story of a genius 4th grader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Knot review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    I understand why this movie did not vastly, positively recognized, even though it was taken straight from a really cruel incident. Some viewers mind only the commercial value, forget that one because they're living a useless and careless life about society. And the other reason is there is nothing wrong in performance, direction or in any technical aspect, but the story itself do not fit to be a movie. It should have been documentary instead. Coincidentally, this film was related to the 2011 Koren film 'Children...' which was also based on the real event. About kids who go missing. Both the happenings took put in the early 90s. This silver screen film looks a lot like tv broadcastable item that it should be. There is a documentary trilogy inspired from this story. The motive was to bring the truth out and it was well received according to ratings and reviews. And don't forget the books. ‘‘My son is 8-year-old. He sleeps with a night light on, he did not run away from home.’’ A film must have (1) a story to start with, (2) characters that develop along the story and (3) finally a conclusion whether twist in it or not, satisfied or sad, either method it works. So what's wrong with it? Well, it lacks in development in either of above first two points and extents throughout without nothing while we are expecting a glimpse of something to happen. The fact is, no one knows what really happened, actually those who know are tight lipped because of involvement. I just can't conclude my judgement because of this movie, but give a fair point for anyone who are not familiar with this case. Not focused on a particular character, the most of the perspective in the storytelling was Colin Firth's role which was just an appearance to present I'm there but not in action. You have a couple of choices to rate this movie, one, based on the story which is true and cruel, and another is the film that disappoints as a movie. Like I am always quite satisfied with the product like this, because I got to know what I supposed to learn about this 'West Memphis Three' case. Hope the fresh film do convey well to the cinematic output.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Arithmetic review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Previously I had really enjoyed Donna Deitch's earlier lesbian romance period piece, 'Desert Hearts', and I had found Kirsten Dunst and Brittany Murphy awesome in 'Melancholia' and 'Sin City' respectively, but a TV-movie utilizing time-travel as a plot device for a spoiled Jewish teenager to come to grips with her heritage seemed quite a bold and intriguing cinematic experiment, not to mention being an entirely various can of worms than ever I've been privy to watching. Even though personally I have as small to do with Jewish customs as lesbian issues, like Deitch's earlier work, I was able to appreciate it, though I still prefer her earlier film, if I was held at gunpoint and had to rank the two. It's a crying shame, looking at Deitch's IMDb page, that this talented San Francisco native, now 71, has been relegated to basically doing TV episodes since this came out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ride with the Devil review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    I'd be poor meat – beautiful well rotted to a glob. Ride with the Devil is directed by Ang Lee and adapted to screenplay by James Schamus (also producer) from the novel "Woe to Live On" written by Daniel Woodrell. It stars Tobey Maguire, Skeet Ulrich, Jeffrey Wright, Jonathan Rhys-Meyers, Simon Baker, James Caviezel and Jewel. Melody is by Mychael Danna and cinematography by Frederick Elmes. "On the Western Frontier of Missouri, the American Civil Battle was fought not by armies, but by neighbours. Informal gangs of local Southern Bushwhackers fought a bloody and desperate Guerrilla battle versus the occupying Union Troops and pro-Union Jayhawkers. Allegiance to either side was dangerous. But it was more risky still to search oneself caught in the middle" Made for $38 million and intended to be a sweeping epic for the summer blockbuster crowd, Ride with the Devil was a considerable financial flop. With a limited release both in America and abroad, the financial figures are hardly surprising. More so considering it was given next to no promotion by the distributors. Factor in a small controversy about the happenings featured in the story, some cuts created by the studio (Lee didn't have final cut) and a delay in home release formats because the distributor incredibly wanted Jeffrey Wright's presence removed from the cover art! Well you would be forgiven for thinking that the movie has to be something of a stinker. Not so say I. Part rites of passage drama, part reflective battle movie, Ang Lee's movie is a grand movie viewing experience. Dealing as it does with the often forgotten part of the battle down on the Missouri/Kansas border, where Lee also shoots on location, movie manages to be both savage and lyrical in equal measure. The savagery comes with the fights, bloody, frenetic and high on potency, while the lyricism comes with the human relationships, internal conflicts and the political awareness of the men (boys) fighting for their cause. All given deft treatment by Schamus, whose screenplay includes crisp period dialogue and a narrative correctly showing that this part of the battle was not just driven by racist Dixie's hell bent on revenge, violent lust and political allegiance, but often for family, land and rights. Picture is at pains to allow us know the youth of the main characters, ramming home the point of boys forced to become men, killing machines, very quickly. Case in point, the culmination of the violence in the movie that comes by method of the Lawrence Massacre, a tragic and upsetting slaughter that saw 180 people murdered under the leadership of a vengeful William Quantrill (John Ales). Lee and Schamus aren't interested in showing heroism in this particular war, they present it as futile, nasty and it leaves the taste of bile in the throat. From here the movie slows considerably, as the lead characters withdraw from the action of war, to awakenings and friendships forming. It's here where Lee is at his best. No amazing director of action, as evidenced by the previously mentioned Lawrence Massacre; which lacks the cutting edge to really grab us by the throat and never allow go, but for human interest aspects and bucolic scenes with characters framed within, Lee owes movie fans absolutely nothing. The latter of which he is aided considerably by Elmes' widescreen photography. Ulrich and pop star Jewel nicely handle their parts, he puts a confident swagger into Jack Bull Chiles, she is tender and unassuming in the pivotal female role of Sue Lee Shelley. Caviezel gives Black John Ambrose a brooding menace, while Jonathan Rhys-Meyers is on overdrive as sadistic loony Pitt Mackeson. But it's with Maguire and Wright that the acting plaudits go. Maguire has arguably never been better, he gives Jake Roedel an effective sensitivity as a virginal boy receives a violent initiation into manhood. Wright is sublime, said to be one of his favourite performances, Wright as freed slave Daniel Holt is the heart beat of the film. Conveying most of the amazing traits available to man, Holt wars not just out of loyalty to his mate George Clyde (Baker), but to gain ultimate catharsis in is life. It's a attractive measured turn from Wright, and it deserves more appreciative attention. The latest third of it may be too talky for some, and a couple of dangling narrative threads left unanswered stop it from being a masterpiece. But it's close to being just that, a savage, attractive and lyrical movie. The stupid studio execs had no idea: Putz's. 9/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Race with the Devil review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Obtain your motors running, obtain out on the highway. Because Old Nick is coming to obtain yah! Race with the Devil is directed by Jack Starrett and written by Wes Bishop and Lee Frost. It stars Peter Fonda, Warren Oates, Loretta Swit, Lara Parker and R.G. Armstrong. A Panavision/ DeLuxe Colour production, melody is by Leonard Rosenman and cinematography by Robert Jessop. Two vacationing couples have to flee for their lives when they witness a ritualistic slaying by occultists. Great fun. A raging "B" film for the 70s drive-in crowd that tapped into the decades fresh found taste for the occult and highway speeding. Movie is cloaked with a paranoia vibe as our two frantic couples desperately test to stay out of the clutches of Satanists. Life and death confrontations come and go, and as they are never sure who is in league with the hooded blood drinkers, they have to assume that they alone must war the amazing fight. It all builds to a crescendo of exciting car carnage, which in turn leads to the final denouement, which quite frankly is frustratingly brilliant. Oates and Fonda entertain with brisk and airy performances, though Swit and Parker are really only directed to be screaming banshees waiting to be saved by their burly men. Best served with lashings of Bourbon and Coke, and not designed to be scrutinised for moral or ethical worth, just have fun the ride and test and stay one step ahead of Old Nick. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Daughter review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Old Nick really gets around you know! Little known and under seen, this is an efficient "Devil's Spawn" film that admittedly features stars working for food. Shelley Winters, Joseph Cotten and Diane Ladd head the cast list as a young woman comes to realise that her guardians are devil worshipping nutters! It's all a bit "Rosemary's Baby" lite, but there's a splendid array of off-kilter characters and bizarro abodes. Director Jeannot Szwarc (Jaws 2) is clever enough to use canted angles to enhance the trippy black arts undercurrents, while Winters is having a grand old time of it. The huge telegraph pole pointing the method to the finale is hard to miss, but surprisingly the denouement still packs a worthwhile punch. You would be very mad if you based your Halloween night around this viewing, but as TV Satan Worship films go, it's not half bad. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Brigade review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Teufels Brigade. The Devil’s Brigade is directed by Andrew V. McLaglen and adapted to screenplay by William Roberts from the book of the same name written by Robert H. Adleman and George Walton. It stars William Holden, Cliff Robertson, Vince Edwards, Harry Carey, Claude Akins, Andrew Prine, Richard Jaeckel, Jack Watson and Jeremy Slate. A Panavision/De Luxe Color production, melody is by Alex North and cinematography by William H. Clothier. Based on true people and incidents, movie follows the formation of the 1st Unique Service Force (AKA: The Devil’s Brigade), their training and subsequent mission to seize control of Monte la Difensa, a Nazi stronghold during the Italian Campaign in Globe Battle II. Somewhere along the path of battle film history there was a wind of change that saw the all heroic soldier of sincerity replaced by the anti-hero thug! Where misfits, criminals and troops bums were thrust into missions that gave them the possibility of redemption or a semblance of honour via death. This format reached a pinnacle, arguably, with Robert Aldrich’s Magnificent Macho Movie, The Dirty Dozen (1967). A year later came The Devil’s Brigade, a movie strikingly related to The Dirty Dozen, yet unlike Aldrich’s film is based on facts, it should also be noted that the novel The Devil’s Brigade was written in 1966. McLaglen’s film follows the tried and tested formula, men from all walks of life thrust together and expected to gel as one fighting force. Cue hostilities and suspicions, here in the guise of a crack Canadian troops unit joining forces with a platoon of American wasters. The training is as tough as it gets, the men continuing to test and out macho each other, and then that magical moment occurs when they come together as one and realise they actually can obtain on after all. This comes about in TDB courtesy of a gloriously over the top part of the movie where the Yanks and Canadians brawl with local lumberjacks and the military police. Something which greatly makes their leader, Lt. Col Robert Frederick (Holden), very proud. He of course is straight from the “unconventional” line of military leaders. So it goes, fists fly as much as the jokes, the insults are barbed and the macho posturing never wavers. Frederick butts heads with the suits, his charges forced to prove themselves as an elite fighting force, and then it’s to the huge bang mission, where it’s a time for heroes and we know that not everyone will survive the pyrotechnics. Cast performances are just fine, inevitably with such an ensemble piece a lot of of the characters are not fully fleshed, but the main players impact well on the drama. North’s melody is delightfully boisterous, the blend of national themes most catchy, Clothier’s photography around the Utah and Lazio locales lurches nicely from the screen, while McLaglen, so often derided for some of his directing assignments, does a bang up amazing job for the two action sequences that finalise the movie. It doesn’t break fresh ground, but for this line of formula battle films it comfortably keeps the fires burning. 7.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Brigade review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Being from Windsor, Ontario, Canada, this movie has unique significance, as there are still survivors from the actual 'Devil's Brigade'. This movie was a hoot to watch and greatly enjoyable. Heartily recommended for those enthusiasts of battle movies, and had just enough humour to be endearing rather than off-putting. Would create a fine double bill with the similarly-toned 'Three Kings' or 'Kelly's Heroes'.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beat the Devil review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    The plot of Beat The Devil involves a band of four motley characters intent on stealing uranium from British East Africa for a fast profit, in a land deal brokered by the Bogart character,(named Billy Dannreuther). The story begins in an Italian seaport as Bogie and his wife Maria, played by Gina Lollobrigida, wait on the arrival of the four criminals played by Philip Morley (Peterson), Peter Lorre (Julius O'Hara), Ivor Barnard (Maj. Jack Ross), and Marco Tulli (Ravello). From there they plan to sail to Africa. While waiting they meet a British couple going on the same ship, Edward Underdown and Jennifer Jones (who play Harry and Gwendolyn Chelm). The plot is an afterthought though. The movie is about eccentric behavior. Philip Morley's hero Peterson is a nervous, greedy, bumbling fellow. The two wives develop crushes on each other's husbands. Jennifer Jones as Gwen Chelm is a flighty, happy, imaginative monster of fancy who falls in love with Bogart. The sea captain is a drunkard, and the ship is a rust bucket with a failing oil pump. The steward tells the passengers to return to the lounge. "We're heading to the nearest port, and there seems to be some possibility of our making it" he says smiling. If you have fun relaxed, amusing entertainment, you might like the witty company of this cast of seasoned actors and attractive actresses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sea Devils review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    I was a toiler on the sea. Sea Devils is directed by Raoul Walsh and written by Borden Chase. It stars Rock Hudson, Yvonne De Carlo, Maxwell Reed, Denis O’Dea, Michael Goodlife and Bryan Forbes. Melody is by Richard Addinsell and cinematography by Wilkie Cooper. "Guernsey in the Channel Islands near the coast of France in the year 1800, where fishermen, prevented by battle from following their usual livelihood, turned to other occupations..." That occupation is of course smuggling, which lends one to think that Sea Devils is about to buckle our swash with a tale of derring do on the high seas. Unfortunately it doesn’t pan out that way, for the pic is essentially a spy adventure set partly at sea that involves Hudson and De Carlo going backwards and forwards between England and France. They bicker, they swoon, she looks sexy, he takes his shirt off, he makes dumb decisions (he’s no dashing character type here) and she does her bit for King and Country as she hopes to stop Napoleon in his watery tracks. It’s nicely colourful, the costuming adequate and the cast are fun to watch. But Walsh lets the movie meander at times and it never really amounts to being more than a dressed up time filler of a movie. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Canyon review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Tonight there's gonna be a jailbreak, somewhere in this town… Devil's Canyon is directed by Alfred Werker and collectively written by Frederick Hazlitt Brennan, Harry Essex, Bennett R. Cohen and Norton S. Parker. It stars Dale Robertson, Stephen McNally, Virginia Mayo, Robert Keith, Arthur Hunnicutt, Jay C. Flippen, Whit Bissell and Earl Holliman. Melody is by Daniele Amfitheatrof and cinematography by Nicholas Musuraca. Arizona 1897 and former marshal Billy Reynolds (Robertson) is forced to slay in self defence two brothers of outlaw Jesse Gorman (McNally), the man Billy had previously sent to prison. With fresh people enforcing fresh laws in town, Billy doesn't obtain a fair trial and is sentenced to ten years at the tough Arizona Territorial Prison; home of one Jesse Gorman! When lady outlaw Abby Dixon (Mayo), sweetheart of Gorman, is also sent to the prison, it stirs the already potent hornets nest still further… Originally a 3D production out of RKO, boasting Natural Vision 3 - Dimension no less, Devil's Canyon can now only be viewed in Technicolor flat mode. Upon examination it's hard to believe that even in 3D this tardy Western had anything going for it, unless Mayo's pointy breasts were the selling point, or Robertson's Teddy Boy haircut? (Yes, they must have had Teddy Boy's in Arizona circa 1897!). There's a bunch of reliable Western actors in it, director Werker was always competent and ace cinematographer Musuraca was also on board, yet the promising story is bogged down by a amazing hour of, well, nothingness, as the screenplay has a bunch of sweaty guys talking about items that doesn't advance the plot with any true distinction. Mayo looks gorgeous, but her hero is victim of a preposterous set-up and in spite of the trailer (and some misguided reviews) promising a prison of 500 desperate men in a tizzy over one woman, this really isn't the case at all. It should also be pointed out that Devil's Canyon is where the prison is, it's the unofficial name of the prison, it is not a metaphor for Mayo's personal parts, as some have bizarrely suggested is the case! On the plus side the picture begins and ends with some decent action, with the Gatling Gun coming into play at the finale, which just about lifts the movie out of its stupor. Yet even here it's all very predictable and hard to feel lenient about since the previous hour has been so pointless. The prison is suitably dank and moody, Musuraca doing his best to place a bleak sense of movie noir foreboding on proceedings, while costuming for the boys is of a high standard. Utterly frustrating all told, a waste of idea and personnel, while the print shown on TV these days is scratchy and often washed out in colour. 5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Doorway review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    The law says an Indian ain't got no more rights than a dog. Devil's Doorway is directed by Anthony Mann. It stars Robert Taylor as Lance Poole, a Shoshone Indian who returns home to Medicine-Bow from the American Civil Battle after a three year stint, and a veteran of three major conflicts. Awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor he rightfully expects to be able to retire to a peaceful life back on the family land. However, all his hopes and dreams are shattered by bigotry and greed as fresh laws are ushered in to deprive the Native Indians land rights. Biting and cutting, Devil's Doorway is a Civil Rights Western that, boldly for its time, looks at the injustices done to Native Americans. Very much grim in texture, it's no surprise to see Anthony Mann at the helm for this material. Mann of course would go on to become a Western genre darling for his run of "Adult Westerns" he would do with James Stewart. Prior to this Mann had showed himself to have a keen eye for tough pieces with dark themes in a few well regarded movie noir movies. So this was right up his street, in fact a glance at his output shows him to be something of a master when it comes to showing minority groups sympathetically. MGM were nervous tho, unsure as if taking the Western in this direction was the method to go, they pulled it from release in 1949. But after the impact that Delmer Daves' related themed Broken Arrow created the following year, they ushered it out and the movie promptly got lost amongst the plaudits for the James Stewart starrer. That's a shame because this is fit to sit alongside the best work Mann has done. Filmed in black & white, the movie has attractive landscapes that belie the bleak street the film ultimately turns down. Shot on zone at Aspen and Grand Junction in Colorado (the talented John Alton on cinematography), the movie also manages to rise above its obvious eyebrow raising piece of casting. Robert Taylor always had his critics, hell I'm sometimes one of them, but here as he is cast versus type as a Shoshone Indian, he gives the hero conviction and a stoic nobility that really makes it work. Some of his scenes with the attractive Paula Raymond (playing his lawyer Orrie Masters) are a lesson in maximum impact garnered from emotional restraint. You will be aware of the fluctuating skin pigmentation he has throughout the movie, but honestly look into his eyes and feel the confliction and loyalty and you really will not care. Scripted by Guy Trosper (Birdman of Alcatraz), the screenplay is unflinching in showing how badly the Native Americans were treated. Throw that in with Alton's other gift, that of the dusty barren land shot, and you got a very movie noir feel to the movie. Something which not only is unique, but something that also showed a shift in the Hollywood Oater. We now obtain brains to match the action and aesthetics of the Western movie. Not that this is found wanting for action, Mann doesn't short change here either, with a dynamite led offensive purely adrenaline pumping. A fine fine movie, an necessary film in fact. One that is in desperate need of more exposure. Still awaiting a widespread home format disc release, I quote Orrie Masters from the movie..."It would be too poor if we ever forget".... that applies to both the theme of the piece and the actual film itself. 9/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil Bat review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Imbecile, Bombastic, Ignoramus. The Devil Bat is directed by Jean Yarbrough and written by George Bricker and John T. Neville. It stars Bela Lugosi, Suzanne Kaaren, Dave O’Brien, Donald Kerr and Gary Usher. The Heathville Horror! Straight out of Poverty Row is this PRC production that’s as bonkers as it is fun. Plot sees Lugosi as a fed up cosmetic chemist who decides that the company he provides his inventions for have not done right by him financially. So in his secret laboratory at home he breeds huge assassin bats, bats that he rears to slay anyone wearing the scent of aftershave lotion that he has handed out to the targets of his ire. As the bodies start to mount up and the press whip up a devil bat on the loose storm, journalists Henry Layden (O’Brien) and “One Shot McGuire” close in on the source of the town’s terror. The low budget is often evident, be it props and sets that shouldn’t move etc, but at just over an hour in length this gets in and does its job with a sort of carefree abandon that is to be admired. Lugosi is having fun shifting from borderline mania to crafty dastard with a sense of humour, and of course there are huge scary bats that shriek before homing in for the girl. Result! The flaws are obvious throughout, not least that Lugosi ends up playing second fiddle to the journalists’ blend of bravado and buffoonery, but as time fillers go, and as Lugosi’s Poverty Row Horrors go, this is impossible to dislike and not have a amazing time with. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil Is a Woman review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    Very few aesthetic delights of the post-Code era tantalize and linger long afterwards in the mind as much as movies from the Marlene Dietrich/Josef Von Sternberg partnership, and this, thankfully kept in Dietrich's vault as it was the favourite of her films, is no exception. Though anyone who knows me will readily recall I prefer the twice-Oscar nominated (for 'Morocco' and 'Shanghai Express'), Viennese expert craftsman's silent pictures to those created with the sexpot, this saga of vengeance is also superlative and well worth both purchasing and re-watching. Paramount caved in to pressure by the Spanish government, who hated the method Pierre Louÿs' novel portrayed the Spanish police, and actually destroyed the original print. Thankfully Dietrich's fear that her favourite movie would otherwise be lost meant it was extremely well-preserved, and I saw my copy as part of a superlative DVD boxed set of six of her movies that I've had for a few years now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    This is my favorite Deborah Simmons book. The romance btwn the H/h is one of the sweetest ones I have read in a medieval period. The love scenes added to their relationship and the climax reveals what you see intensifying throughout the novel: their epic love.Heroine is desperate and needs to marry to secure her missing brother's holding. She has been doing a amazing job on her own but that deceitful neighbor is a continuous threat that she can't ignore anymore. He covets both the land and the heroine. She makes decision to see marriage to the most feared knight in hopes protecting her brother's land. I give her amazing credit for her loyalty to her brother. The character agrees as he is loyal to the crown but is not happy. There are secrets he wants to hold and doesn't need the issues that fall on his door to possible reveal these secrets. He lives in shadows to hold these secrets and has loyal servants that hold his secrets. Character at first keeps his distance from heroine but starts to become jelouse of the friendly relationship the heroine develops with his loyal 2nd in command. There is nothing inappropriate but character is at this point becoming increasingly possessive of his wife that others have described to him as beautiful. In a turning point he makes decision to consumate the marriage and take possession of his wife. The heroine is strong, sweet, loyal and honest. Her amazing nature starts releasing the powerful emotions the character struggles to keep in check. That is why he is called Red Knight because in war he is consumed by powerful emotions and becomes a vicious killing machine. By time he is done he is bathing in the blood of his opponents, blood RED. Well those emotions now hold growing toward his wife and the heroine is returning the feelings. They war it internally, more the heroine than the hero, but the pages in the book are hot with the intense sexual chemistry these two omit. What holds heroine back is fear the character is a sorcerer that has bewitched her. There are some nicely written turning points in the book that contains heroine finding out hero's secret. That stage was intense as the character losses control and practically destroys the room, but the scared heroine held her ground and allowed for further growth in their already intense loyal relationship. Character makes more effort to follow his wife's recommendations because by this time the Red Knight is head over heals in love and wants to please his wife. During an outing he almost loses the heroine but he saves her and in turn he regains a part of himself. Their love continues to grow and their loyalty to each other is cemented. However the ugliness that drove the heroine to the character will not cease and character is forced to confront the threat. Unfortunately this starts the chain of happenings that bring the this tale to epic proportions and end in a attractive written is a unbelievable written medieval tale that has pages of intense heat, action and revelations that all accumulate to bring these two to their well deserved satisfied ending. This is a safe read. No OW or OM. Character is heroine's first. The love scenes are rated R and there are numerous throughout the book; character is very physical and emotional in almost everything he does. They are crazy for each other by three quarters of the book and are not afraid to present it. Character is possessive and protective of the heroine. He just wants to see her happy. There are some crazy or funny maybe misunderstandings that add to the belief the character is a sorcerer. It added nicely to the story. I love this book and have read it countless times. Highly recommend this treasure of a book to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    This is an adventure from the times of Knight's and their damsels, in distress or not. The Lady Aisley, having been on her own with no male relative, was needed to choose one of the king's Knight's. She choose Piers, better known as the feared 'Red Knight'. One she had never met, but heard horrible and scary things about. She thought he would refuse to marry her. Thus begins an interesting journey. A white stag appears and the question is, does this mean amazing luck or bad? An enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    This is one of those books when you pick it up you cant place it down. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    Really amazing story! Luv the H & h. The heroine is strong, intelligent and attractive and the character is all MALE! She has a plan to deflect the King's mandate that she marry one of his knights. However her plan does not work out as she hopes and that's where the story takes off. Her chosen knight is.... unique and that's all I'm saying. Read the book its excellent!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    A powerful female lead and a mystery to be solved makes this book good. It was a small long in the middle but the suspense was still there though. The language was at times difficult for me as English is not my mother tongue. But I liked the historical feeling it brought to the conversations. There is always dictionaries!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    I loved this story. I'm attracted to stories where people are forced into a marriage and end up falling in love. I enjoyed the aspect where they were married in total darkness and remained in the dark for a amazing portion of the story, and fell in love by touching each other without seeing what the other looked like. Very intriguing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    I love books based on the Beauty and the Beast theme and this one was that and more. It was wonderfully well written with rich characters and a plot that kept me turning the pages and thoroughly engrossed. I loved both the character and heroine, both very powerful characters with amazing appeal. There were some humorous moments and deeply emotional moments with lots of twists and turns in the plot. I am looking forward to reading the next in the de Laci series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    This was a unbelievable story. The characters and setting were so detailed I felt I knew them and was there with them. The secret of the Red Knight was fantastic. I didn't see that coming!! I could read more of this couple. Even their mundane life interested me. I wish a red knight now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    Was amazing from begin to finish!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Lady review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:0

    What a surprise! I wasn't expecting much when I downloaded this book. I read a lot (too much). This is a well-crafted story that goes beyond the standard "formula". The characters have depth and we aren't inundated with never-ending inner monologues. I will definitely read more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    Loved this book and read it in two days because I couldn't place it down. This guy was a real sociopath in every sense of the word. The havoc he caused to two families is mind boggling and he had no sense of remorse. What was even more surprising is the number of women that fell for him. The Devil really did walk among these families.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    This review includes some storyline spoilers. I found the personality development of Donnie Rudd to be fascinating, but struggled with the fact that Dianne allowed her kids to be exposed to Rudd. Time and time again Rudd revealed his worst traits to Dianne and she had ample evidence to evaluate and determine that he was, at a minimum, potentially risky to her children. She was an extremely smart woman and must have worked very hard at ignoring these facts. To appease Rudd, Dianne moved her four children, the youngest only 11, into an adjoining townhouse where the kids lived alone so Rudd would not be disturbed. What?? That was it for me as far as Dianne being a amazing mother. The authors did a terrific job putting this wonderful story together and it was instructive to read a real crime book written from this perspective. And the authors clearly adored their mother through it all and considered her a wonderful, loving mother in spite of her emotional addiction to Rudd. But this is hard to accept when it seems clear that with only slightly various circumstances, such as there being cash in it for him, Rudd could have easily harmed or killed Dianne's children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    This book did an exceptional job of showing the method a sociopath works: how everything they do, and everything you think you know, is elusive; where up is down; where a sociopath drives you round and round in circles, leaving you not knowing what is the truth. So much of what a sociopath does is hidden, and sorting out the lies and their evil deeds is almost impossible. By the time much of that knowledge is available so much hurt has been done by the sociopath that there is no undoing it. Unless you’ve lived through the carnage from a sociopath, most people simply won’t be able to understand how people obtain in this trap and can‘t extricate themselves from it. This book will be able to give discerning persons a amazing glimpse into the machinations of a cunning is book is a amazing demonstration of how a sociopath often goes their whole life without consequences, while those in relationship to them suffer immensely, or in this case, may lose their life to a sociopath. How a lot of people have died at this man’s hand is unknown at this point. It is NOT so surprising to me that this sociopath still has his avid supporters even at his old age. People are often blind to evil, especially when it comes in the pack of a smooth conniving sociopath.I do believe he killed all the people he is suspected of killing. I believe he will hold things entangled in the courts via paperwork, and will die before he can ever obtain sentenced and go to prison - IF the police even continue to pursue the cases. The system is broken, and often favors the criminals. Sad, but true.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I couldn't place the book down - sorry boys for the lack of dinner! I had heard snippets of the story from others and they couldn't stop talking about it, so had to read it out of curiosity. The story is unlike anything you've read before, and even more so because it's true. The authors bring to life what must have been so difficult, but I thank them for having the courage to share their wonderful family. The story is beyond compelling and could easily be a movie!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, though it broke my heart to read of the malicious hurt one person could do to people in his life. I truly don't understand the charm that kept others in such close and continuing touch with him, especially since they all seemed otherwise to be strong, aware and smart people. My heart goes out to them all.I would have liked to read at the end of the book whether the antagonist had ever been studied to search early life experiences that led to his behavior. His parents and first wife were mentioned but those family dynamics were not shared.I'm surprised that this is the first I've heard of this horror, as I've lived in the zone during the time of the story. Makes you wonder who your neighbors really are.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I also could not place it down and enjoyed the book. It is a amazing story. It is hard to imagine he was able to obtain away with so much and we can only hope he stays in jail for good. I know they love their mother and wanted to protect her, but she was also guilty of doing what she could to support him continue to victimize people, including her own children. At some point you have to do the right thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I couldn't place this book down! It was very well written, much attention to detail without additional fluff. I am a long time reader of Real Crime and am very picky about this genre, and I know what reads well and what doesn't. I highly recommend this book to anyone who read Real Crime. Because of this book, I did a bit of research and was appalled to search out the suspect (in MANY homicides) was actually just released on bail coming up with $500,000! It created me wonder who he suckered in this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    You can read up on Antisocial Personality Disorder in DSM V and assume you understand it, but the lived-experience of being emotionally entangled with a sociopath is an education that sinks into your bones. I purchased this book on the recommendation of a friend, thinking that it would detail the diagnostic indications of the mental disorder with perhaps a few illustrations--cf. Martha Stout's, The Sociopath Next Door, for an perfect example of that type of book. However, Lori Hart's narrative treatment of the irrational, yet methodical cruelty of her step-father gave me a sense of what it would be like to live inside the insanity made and sustained by such a e risk we take in reading Lori Hart's book is that, through it is a faithful portrait of the sinister nature of a disturbed mind, we may realize that someone like this has been admitted into our own circle of family, mates or associates. In which case, either beat a hasty retreat or else create sure you are well-insured--and obtain a helmet. Rarely do I read straight through one book as quickly as I did after turning the first page in Living With the Devil.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I hope the writing of this book has taken all the heartache and sorrow away from all of you and cleansed the evil forced on you. This book is very well written acc of the misery a sociopath can wreak on a family. I felt so poor for the years your mother suffered but she had her family's love above all else. Life has built powerful and loving hero in you for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living With The Devil review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    The story was hard to read in places. My heart ached for the kids growing up in that nnie was a real to life evil man. Diane was a clever woman, in a time where being a stay at home was frowned upon.I'm so glad this family survived!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devils on Campus review [App]  2018-3-17 21:8

    It's not a very amazing application all around. The design is very bad, as you have to go through a lot of menus just to obtain the actual events, but the true flaw is it doesn't have any content. The two options are fall welcome and family weekend. Fall welcome was August 12-19th, so it's super outdated, but even if I wanted to see what happenings did happen that week, they're all gone. It's literally an empty happening category that serves no purpose. The second, family weekend, is coming up around October 15th I believe. I was going to use the application to confirm that date, but you can't actually click on it to see what happenings are coming. It's not a button. So in summary, this application is even worse than I thought, before I just thought it had information on those two things but never looked because they aren't relevant to me, but now I realize it's got 0 content. It has an empty section dedicated to old events, and a section you can't click on and test to plan for. I apologize that this review is unorganized, but as I was writing it I was learning the depths of how poor this application is. Also it loads slowly. TL;DR This application has managed to be not good in almost every method

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devils on Campus review [App]  2018-3-17 21:8

    The app runs fluently, is quite user friendly, and and simple to navigate. Reason being, it doesn't seem to have a lot of 'events' posted. Based on other reviews, students download the application for information on their graduation. This could be used for a lot more in my opinion. Add interactivity, such as student organizations that wish to advertise events? Advertise a bit on the sports? This application is barely used due to its low content. Primary design, and nothing really stands out graphically or content wise, but this is understandable for a free app provided by the university. This would be a amazing opportunity to have some of your student employee's focused on design and tech to have at it, no? Other Notes about the app, from a technical standpoint. The icon is semi-unrelated, and could be more creative (building icon?). The description is broad, although it does effectively address it's target audience. Not-for-profit app, but still has a funding source to provide a useful app. Could vastly improve it's popularity with extra content.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devils on Campus review [App]  2018-3-17 21:8

    Devils on campus application runs very well and the design layout includes plenty of whitespace. It is simple for users to navigate and simple on the eyes. It connects major happenings going on around ASU so a user can see it all in one place. Very innovative. I know students hate having to look at the MyAsu calendar for information so this application helps out a ton. I can tell it is targeting ASU alumni and current students . The main problem is the application does not have enough content. It seems like the moderators don't post enough on it. It could be so much more if the developers continued to work out it. As it stands a lot of people don't use it. It has 5,000 installs. Financially it is a free to use application and that may be the main reason for its lack of content. I also think the icon should be changed to something other than Sparky. You could have him writing down a schedule or something to support tell what the application is. The best bet would be to listen to what students wish by testing the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devils on Campus review [App]  2018-3-17 21:8

    The design is beautiful mediocre but it's gets the job done. Nothing really spectacular with the app. The application includes info on organizations and upcoming events. The info is up to date often. The application is sort of user friendly. The interface is beautiful straightforward, however, they could do a better job. The target audience are people are either students or associated with ASU in some way. This application is "innovative" at pulling info and keeping their application up to date with the recent events. It's not very clear how they create cash from this app, I don't see any ads when using the app. The layout seems easy and organized, meaning there are no ads to harass you or unnecessary information. The application in general let's the user view the recent happening associating with ASU into on place. Nothing really awesome stands out in terms of its design. The concept of gathering info and placing it into one hub seems to be it's advantage. Navigating seems easy enough and the links should placed in the scroll menu (top left corner). I don't see this being popular, this application only serves as a hub for ASU similar happening and organizations associated with ASU.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devils on Campus review [App]  2018-3-17 21:8

    The icon for this app I guess makes sense but it's just a picture of Sparky's head. Nothing specific of the app. It houses various happenings and organization that updates often to always present what's event now and in the future. It's semi-user friendly as I'm still getting lost with this application in general. I don't think it's too user friendly and wished it gave some sort of tutorial. The target audience is of course for anyone affiliated with ASU! It's innovative in which is connect the major happenings and organizations and pulls their info into one application so that people can view one thing rather than multiple places. I don't see how this application would create cash though since I do not see any ads but it is a free application. It's very professional and clean with no crazy jargon or excess links and information. The app overall brings info from multiple websites into one app to allow the user view everything in one place. Nothing major stands out about the design but with the concept, it's amazing to have only one put to view rather multiple. It still isn't that simple to navigate and use honestly. Only 1k to 5k people downloaded so not famous at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devils on Campus review [App]  2018-3-17 21:8

    I found this to be very useful in order to learn about the graduation happenings this year. The uniqueness of this application is incredibly intriguing, as long aa they provide an modernize for each fresh year this application would be incredibly useful for all ASU students. I myself am graduating next year, in order to follow the happenings I will definitely be printing out the happenings schedule, which was very user friendly. This application definitely addresses the need for distributing graduation info to students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devils on Campus review [App]  2018-3-17 21:8

    The application was super helpful with graduation events.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    You guys, I'm going to create this simple. I loved this book! Arrogant Devil is a real slow burn but it doesn't create you wish to stab yourself in the foot. The story building and hero development are top notch, and of course, R.S. Grey's signature comedic timing is excellent as ter suddenly leaving her husband, Meredith Avery finds herself in Texas ready to stay with her sister. After plans fall through, she's forced herself upon her sisters boss Jack McKnight. She needs a job as well as room and board and Jack reluctantly lets her stay. She's going to be gone in a week after all, right?“I should feel guilty about fantasizing about my boss, but part of me is so relieved that I'm even interested in fantasizing about anyone at this point."As I mentioned before, the hero development and story building take a front seat in Arrogant Devil. We obtain to know so much about our character and heroine before they actually obtain comfortable in their relationship and I really loved that about this story. Meredith isn't the town girl we thought she was, Jack isn't the Arrogant Devil either. They are both looking for love and attention and search that in each other.“I wish to know when exactly I allow my guard down enough to fall in love.”Arrogant Devil was a fabulous multi-faceted romantic comedy! So much unbelievable banter, and a lot of sweet moments wrapped up in a excellent blue bow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    “I AM FALLING IN LOVE WITH JACK MCNIGHT!!!!!!!!!”Arrogant Devil is a fun and funny entertaining RomCom with a gruff hero, a quirky heroine and banter for days!“We’ve had a rocky start,” I admit sheepishly.A gleam of interest sparks in his light brown gaze. “I can’t imagine why. You seem sweet enough to me.”I KNOW, RIGHT! Finally someone gets it.“I don’t think I’m the problem…”Underneath the fun of the story is an emotional journey for Meredith. She is learning to stand on her own two feet and pulling herself out of an abusive relationship. Her growth in this story is attractive to watch as she develops into a stronger person.“I was married to a monster, but you? You might have him beat.” I laugh acerbically. “I even search it all a small hilarious—I escape from hell just to run right into the arms of the devil.”Jack McNight is “the excellent cowboy fantasy I never knew I had.” The story is populated with some awesome characters. Including Alfred, a sweet and loyal golden retriever, and Jack’s grandmother, Edith, who schemes not so secretly behind everyone’s backs!I loved this story and didn’t wish it to end! Maybe a few additional epilogues would be nice??-5 Stars!-

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    R.S. Grey is my go-to feel amazing author. I know when I read a Grey novel, I am going to search silly banter, charismatic characters, hilariously funny situations, and passion. By the end I always have a large smile on my face and a warm feeling in my heart. Grey is one of those authors who can do no wrong. (literally…try to convince me otherwise) All of her novels have been a hit with me. Dare I say Grey is the RomCom Queen!Surprise, Surprise, Arrogant Devil is NO different. A slow burn that will have you begging for it. Meredith and Jack begin off rocky, it was not insta-love that is for sure. First impressions and preconceived notations obtain in the method of feelings that are developing between the two. Grey does an awesome job at giving the characters time to always Grey’s writing is always done well! I loved the characters. Jack, the character who could not allow anyone into his heart, because of past tragedies that damage him so deeply. Meredith the girl who is totally done taking everyone’s BS, starting with her useless and sorry excuse for a husband. Meredith moves to Texas to begin over, what she did not know was that Texas has something California didn’t… COWBOYS!!!Arrogant Devil was a such a sweet story. At the core of it, it’s about a boy and a girl who can’t support but bicker, (love it) but underneath burns from passion. The tension and pull between Jack and Meredith was FABULOUS! It had all the feels of a slow burn (my favorite). I was itching for these two to just give it up and boy did Grey create me sweat. When that moment finally happened, I am beautiful sure I could have died. There was a HUGE smile spread across my face. Let’s not forget one of the most necessary characters in the book…. EDITH!!!! Oh my word, EVERYONE needs someone like her in their corner. How hilarious and sly was she? I LOVE HER!!!!!!What’s not to love about this book? Meredith’s ex-husband and sister. Ugh… these two… WHATEVER... besides them… I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!!! Seriously, R.S. Grey has another hit on her hands. Don’t be a fool. Pick this up asap and thank me later!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    I have followed RS from her very first book and I have my set favorites from her and this book is now one of them!Meredith’s story seems so cliche and simple to despise and disregard her, especially based on how her sister portrays her. She stands powerful and tolerates Jack’s bs as he does exactly this to her trying to obtain rid of her.I’m not actually certain why but there are some story lines that actually got my heart and squeezed hard - some with laughter and some with such sadness I actually teared up. Maybe because I have known people in those situations. For that reason, partially, I despise Jack and his behavior. Then you obtain a look into his thoughts and know there is so much more going on than him just being a d-bag.I also absolutely love Edith’s no nonsense behavior towards both Jack and Meredith. Her hero definitely is a amazing 3rd wheel, lol.I literally read this book in one sitting, like most RS books and wanted to turn around and read it again because I loved the angst, anger, banter, stubbornness, and friendships that developed. I didn’t feel like the main characters were one dimensional at all.Well done RS!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    I sure do love R.S Grey she really can do no wrong. My list of my favorite heros of her books (not that I have it written down that would be weird right👈 asking for a friend).#1 Liam Wilder- Scoring Wilder#2 Freddie Archibald- The summer games#3 James Ashwood- The fortunate ones#4 Beau Fortier- The Beau and the Belle#5 Adam Fox- Foxe and the HoundNeedless to say her books are my jam if you have not read any of her books you need to reevaluate what you are doing with you life!Anyway, on to Arrogant Devil this one is a small various than her others there is definitely a slow burn that I was not used to with her writing. That is why I have the half star I like more time with them as a couple. One of the a lot of things that I love about her books is that the female leads are always strong-they never weaken themselves for the man and are willing to allow them go if required instead of sticking around when things aren't great. This book like all the others gives you every emotion as you read and it sucks you in... One min you are laughing the next min you are crying about how attractive the words and feelings are. I also have fun her love scenes it is simple for these authors to create it trashy and use ridiculous words that NEVER happens in her books they are hot/so she gives amazing epilogue so if that is your favorite she knocks it out if the park every yourself a favor and read this then you can begin on my list from above-you're welcome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    RS Grey never disappoints! If you love opponents to lovers, then this will be a huge hit for you! RS Grey makes the most swoon worthiest heros, but I absolutely fell in love with Meredith! Her story broke my heart. I loved reading how she pulled her life together and how slowly her and Jack become mates and eventually lovers. RS Grey's trademark writing shines through with her comedic characters, yes Edith, I'm talking about you, her heartfelt dialogue and a mutt ready to victory over our fearful heroine. It's a solid win!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    AAAHHH R.S. grey writes all these book boyfriends that are so simple to fall in love with! Jack McKnight is no exception!! He’s everything you wish in a broody, alpha male!Spoiled Brat making it on her own this time has a lot to prove not only to those around her but to herself. Meredith could very easily go running back to her old life but pride and determination and lots of stubbornness will her to overcome her gether this two can spark a wildfire if only they can set their fears to the side long enough to trust what they feel is really something special!!One click!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    This is the book that you wish all books to be (and probably, all movies).RS Grey has done it again, completely transfixing me and making me 100% invested in these characters and their story. If you’re looking for a story to reel you in so much that you search it hard to snap back to reality (or wish to), this is the ’ll fall in love with Jack, Edith (my soul mate), Meredith, and of course, ey has mastered the art of flirty banter with her humor and you will literally LOL throughout the book. I laughed, I cried, I became method too emotionally invested.I have been devouring her books and while I love each and every one of them, “A Put In The Sun” has been my absolute favorite so rogant Devil just stole the spot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    I have been an avid R.S. Grey reader for several years, and I think with every fresh release, I search my fresh favorite. Arrogant Devil was no different. I could not place this book down y’all! I stayed up until 4 AM to [email protected]#$%!, and I would totally do it again. The chemistry between Jack and Meredith was off the charts, and the story in general had me laughing out loud on and off for the whole book. It’s been a few days now since I finished it, and honestly I am so tempted to pick it up and read it all again. Please do yourself a favor and grab yourself a copy of this book, you won’t regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Arrogant Devil review [Book]  2018-5-10 18:0

    When it comes to RomCom, nobody does it better than R.S. Grey. Between her quirky characters, their quick-witted banter, and their absolutely winning personalities, it’s a recipe for success. I knew the moment I started Arrogant Devil that this was my kind of read. It screamed HEART and LAUGHS and SWOON and whoa, did it deliver. Meredith and Jack are enchanting as their distaste for each other turns into something so delightfully tender. Grey really infuses her stories with heartfelt emotions, realistic plot-lines, and the best dialogue EVER. Between the laughs, the tears, and the achingly sweet moments, I was won over time and time again, and I simply can’t recommend this romance enough. It’s without a doubt one of the best of the ly gathering the courage, Meredith leaves her horrible husband and miserable life behind. But with no money, no clothes, and absolutely no put to go, she’s in more than a bind. Contacting her step-sister, she ends up in Texas, at Bluestone Ranch. There she meets Jack, the largest a-hole under the sun. Jack’s not thrilled to have Meredith on his ranch. However he owes Helen (Meredith’s stepsister) a favor, and so he gives her a job she desperately needs. However, tainted by preconceived notions of who Meredith is, he’s ready to give this California Princess a run for her money. He wants her to quit and leave him alone. But what Jack has to learn is that Meredith isn’t the woman he thinks she is, and he ends up with something completely unexpected.And boy, is this romance ever swoony. Our powerful willed, optimistic, and thoroughly enchanting heroine slays you. She brings so much heart to the story, maybe even more than our character Jack does, and he brings a lot. Meredith’s like a breath of new air, like rain on a hot summer afternoon, always striving to see the positive in every situation. I loved her spirit, her zest to create her life her own. I found that so endearing, her so funny and so completely charming. Reading these two together was electric and energizing. The back-and-forth that happens, the heated moments, the moments that are packed full of passion and chemistry are sizzling. Jack is a moody hero, and his temperamental personality was out of control sexy, but also frustrating in the best way.Overall, I think this is R.S. Grey’s best work to date. There so much goodness in Arrogant Devil, so much romance packed into such a intelligent and captivating story. With a wicked slowburn, dynamic characters, and a plotline that hits you in the feels, you truly can’t go wrong. It’s the excellent method to spend an evening or afternoon, just losing yourself in the pages of this amazing book. It’ll leave you satisfied and charmed, and there’s simply nothing better than that. This is must read recommendation, a top FAVORITE of 2018 for me! So great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil Wears Prada review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Normally this sort of movie wouldn't interest me, but I was fascinated by the cast (Meryl Streep, Anne Hathaway, Emily Blunt and Stanley Tucci ARE four of my favourite contemporary American actors) AND I liked the three previous movies I've seen about the fashion industry ('Ready to Wear', 'Zoolander' and of course 'Death Want 5: The Face of Death'). I was really happy by the comedy caused by the @#$%!iness, pettiness and downright superficiality of everyone involved, which says SO much about contemporary civilization...and the climax and denouement, are both touching and so fitting. The powerful writing and acting created this much better than it had any reason to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil in a Blue Dress review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Everyone was peeing on my head and telling me it's raining. Devil in a Blue Dress is written and directed by Carl Franklin, who adapts from the book written by Walter Mosley. It stars Denzel Washington, Tom Sizemore, Jennifer Beals, Don Cheadle and Maury Chaykin. Melody is by Elmer Bernstein and cinematography by Tak Fujimoto. Carl Franklin had already laid down a considerable neo-noir marker with his searing 1992 thriller One False Move, here he goes more traditional but garners equally impressive results. Plot has Washington as a WW2 veteran who has lost his job and desperately needs cash to hold keep of his pride and joy - his house. Taking on a job offered by shifty DeWitt Albright (Sizemore), to search a missing woman, Rawlings quickly finds himself in up to his neck in murder and deception, he must turn ace detective to save his skin. Set in late 1940s Los Angeles, what instantly stands out is the period detail. The clothes, the vehicles and the establishments frequented by Simple and company. With voice over narration also provided by Washington, in dry and sardonic tones, it's every inch a loving ode to the movie noir films released at the time the pic is set. There's plenty of neon signs about the place, some [email protected]#$% cops, amazing sex, brandy and sharp suits, smoking and coolness and of course a psychopath in the classic mould (Cheadle excellent). But of course noir dressage is only that if you haven't got a amazing pot boiling plot, thankfully this has one. The story takes unexpected turns, always remaining interesting, the distinctive characterisations breathing heavy, managing to off set the run of the mill stereotypes in the supporting ranks. It can be argued that Beals as the titular femme fatale of the title is under written, but the hero comes with an air of mystery that serves Franklin's atmosphere very well. Tech credits are high, something of a given with Bernstein and Fujimoto on the list, while Washington turns in another classy present of subtlety and believability. Lovers of movie noir should obtain much rewards from Devil in a Blue Dress. 7.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil and Max Devlin review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    With Bill Cosby's life and career in tatters these days with a myriad of past date-rape accusations versus the actor/comedian, I have been intrigued to investigate both his earlier filmic oddities and the comedic albums of his stand-up routines from years gone by. This was a decent, Disney (to add a touch of irony) comedy just before he was going to hit a purple patch in his life with the mega-success of 'The Cosby Show'. I want when I came across them in a London melody shop a few years back, that I had pulled the trigger and bought a pair of jazz albums he had created with Quincy Jones. I have a feeling they would have proved a lot more interesting than this was.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Shake Hands with the Devil review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Loaded Weapon. Shake Hands with the Devil is directed by Michael Anderson and adapted to screenplay by Marian Spitzer from the novel written by Rearden Conner. It stars James Cagney, Don Murray, Dana Wynter, Glynis Johns, Michael Redgrave and Sybil Thorndike. Melody is by William Alywyn and cinematography by Erwin Hillier. It's 1920s Dublin, Ireland, and the Irish Republican Troops are at battle with the British Black & Tans. Into the conflict comes Irish American Kerry O'Shea (Murray), who in spite of being apolitical is drawn into darker waters as the violence rages. Complications arise when a hostage situation unfurls, all while the strings are being pulled by the IRA's fearsome commandant, Sean Lenihan (Cagney), who wants Kerry under his wing. It has always been a tricky topic to film, the so called Irish Troubles, for too a lot of movie makers have either been ignorant of the facts in the name of amazing cinema, or so fuelled by other motives it's difficult to obtain on side with such one sided venom. Michael Anderson's film, whilst itself harbouring dubious political material, deserves plaudits for trying to come at the subject from both sides, embracing the complexities of the problems and never shying away from the violence that tore through parts of Ireland. Even if it ends up being a small confused as to its aims. Filmed on zone predominantly in Dublin, there's almighty strength in the cinematography of Hillier (The Tag of Cain/Chase a Crooked Shadow). The night time shots of damp cobbled roads and gaslights are ethereal, while in daytime the lush landscapes are imposing yet still giving off a depressing hue. On the acting front it's Cagney who dominates, in one of his craziest and most crafty roles, he's a Vesuvius who darts between being the honourable cause man, to that of a psychotic who doesn't believe peace is a viable option. Powerful help comes from Wynter and Johns. Political hot-pot with wrought emotion, and action scenes that impact as Cagney does his stuff, Shake Hands with the Devil leaves a mark. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil Thumbs a Ride review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    The Devil Thumbs a Ride (1947) The Tierney Terror. The Devil Thumbs a Ride is directed and written by Felix E. Feist. It stars Lawrence Tierney, Ted North, Nan Leslie, Betty Lawford, Andrew Tombes, Harry Shannon, Glen Vernon and Marian Carr. Melody is by Paul Sawtell and cinematography by J. Roy Hunt. After just robbing a San Diego theater and killing the manager, Steve Morgan (Tierney) hitches a ride to Los Angeles with Jimmy Ferguson (North), a trusting young salesman. After a stop at a gas station, the two men pick up a couple of dames looking for a ride, and soon Morgan is manipulating everyone so as to stay ahead of the cops looking for him. Compact at just over an hour in length, The Devil Thumbs a Ride thrives on acc of Tierney’s powerful performance. He in turn exudes a charming veneer and a cold hearted darkness that unnerves throughout. The set-up is beautiful thin and even the most forgiving of noir fans will attest that the sheer idiocy of the other passengers beggars belief. No matter what Morgan does, however crazy or evil, he will spin a yarn and the dopes fall for it. While a plot strand that sees the head detective take a member of the public with him in pursuit of Morgan, is pushing it a bit too far. Still, once the four of them reach a beach house belonging to a mate of Ferguson, the picture gathers apace and the drama explodes to reveal its bloody denouement. Amazing noirish characters and Tierney on form ensure it’s never less than entertaining, though the weakness of the writing asks a lot of the audience. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Pitchforks gone but not forgotten

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Application doesn't allow you check in at the event. Even though I had my zone 'ON', application said enable zone to check in..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    It's a amazing idea but the application has bugs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    I like the idea and concept, however have never been able to obtain the check ins to work. I have zone services enabled but it always gives me an error when trying to check in at football android games and tailgates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    The application itself worked fine until the latest update. So while there are now more options for earning rewards, the application doesn't register the points half the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Had a few problems with fresh modernize , but it's all fixed now and customer service was awesome !! Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    It's a amazing application and it's fun to earn pitchforks for rewards, but had a few issues where I had enough points, but couldn't redeem rewards due to having "not enough pitchforks"???

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    There is a root check in the fresh update. Stay away from this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Love the fresh interface, very clean and simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Amazing fresh look and simple to use!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    love this so much! Can't easier for football season to obtain more pitchforks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Awesome app!...Hope the rewards are updated sooner. Same prizes for the longest time create it boring sometimes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    It's always so much fun for me to use Sun Devil Rewards and go to check in on the application whenever I am at events.And the rewards are very cool to obtain on Sun Devil Rewards.And GO DEVILS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Love it!!! Free swag!!! Can't obtain any better than this!!! 🦄🌋🚼

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    This application is very simple to use and understand its functionality. The icon is special to ASU making it simple to search compared to other apps. This application is geared mostly towards ASU students. The main focus being to have students read and share articles and pictures to earn points. These points can be redeemed for rewards but anything worthwhile would take a lot of work to get. This application is free so it makes up for this aspect. All in all this was an ok application but it could be better thus the four star rating. One thing would be having more ways to earn reward points.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    I really like the idea around this. I haven't encountered a lot of problems. One that seems to always happen is the activities will never load. It will load the one where you can choose from 3 boxes but the rest won't. It always says error. Also, I feel like there should be more ways to earn pitchforks rather than spamming my mates with news and events. Other than that, I have fun this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Trying to access via an android device device and the email link takes me to the application in the Google Play store. The application is already open. Guess you guys still haven't fixed the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    The application looks cool bit I can't useit because the application doesn't verify my email... I have attempted multiole times

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Like the idea but I also can't verify my email address to begin the account...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Will not allow me use app. Despite multiple attempts, i am still unable to utilize application because it wont complete the steps for verification.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Won't allow me sign up. Says "Identifier Already Exists" even though I've never made an account. Lame

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    How fun is this! Earn prize while speaking ASU pride

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    This is Isaac telling you that I am a Sun Devil fan!! GO DEVILS!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    I really like this ASU-based APP and it is FREE! This APP is very user­friendly, fun, engaging and aesthetically pleasing. It is really easy to earn Pitchforks. I like how you can link your social media accounts to the APP. This allows a quick and convenient way to earn Pitchforks by quickly sharing ASU news, events, etc. on other social media platforms.  The only issue I ran across was trying to redeem the ASU Gammage coffee table book. I have 250 Pitchforks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Super fun, highly addictive (I need more pitchforks!) unbelievable source for Sun Devil information! 😈

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    this application is not a amazing app. it always logs me out. and the prizes r to expensive. my asu doesn't even work on here. everything needs to be more unified if asu wanna make a community

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    This application is going to be amazing for ASU, and for fans who wish to victory free stuff!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sun Devil Rewards review [App]  2017-12-30 21:8

    Po

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    Dying for a Drink of Water would be a amazing alternate title. Feeling sorrow and understanding for “all” the players in the tragedy. My deepest heartfelt sympathies to the families of those poor, brave men who I️ will need to research and study why citizens of Mexico from these little villages are so not good they risk crossing. Just method too sad. Urrea gives enlightening statistics on correcting the false info about how much it costs to absorb “illegals” into the USA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I purchased this book after a year or so ago reading Urrea's book The Hummingbird's Daughter. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Not only did I search the geographic history to be fascinating but I was also interested to hear the author's narrative on immigration problems from the view of human rights, economics etc. My heart broke for these men and their families.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    A book that hooks you from the start, is well written, and enlightening. Urrea shows how the problem of illegal immigration is both too simplistic (thinking a wall will solve our problems) and too complicated (forgetting the shared humanity) on both sides of the political us book will challenge you long after you finish reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    This book really opened my eyes to 1. Why people come to America illegally, 2. What people will do out of desperation to support their families, and 3. How governments in both Mexico and the US have failed these individuals. This book is sad and sometimes painfully graphic to read, but especially in today’s political climate should be needed reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    This book is better the second time around. It makes you mad and sad; hopeful and despondent. At times you wish to race through it, at other times you just wish to sip and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I received a red paperback ver instead of the blue ver shown in the photo, but it doesn't matter. It's the same book. It was published in 2004, and has approximately 200 pages, not counting the "Afterward", the "Acknowledgement", and the index. There are 16 chapters divided into four parts (Part 1, Part 2, etc).Written in the first person, it's a real story about a group of men who test to cross the border from Mexico to Arizona. Their so-called "guide" is known as a coyote, and he's supposed to support them obtain across. His true name is Jesús Lopez Ramos, but he has given himself the code name Mendez, in honor of his girlfriend, Celia the Border Patrol, Mendez is known as "Rooster Boy", because he has a punk-rock hairstyle with a bunch of red-dyed hair hanging in front of his eyes.Each chapter tells a small more about Mendez, the men in his group, the TERRIBLE climate and desert conditions of Sonoita and Yuma and Ajo and the Sonoran Desert, the men's deteriorating physical and mental condition, the Border Patrol and their everyday activities and the conditions under which they work and the unique terminology they use, miscellaneous poor situations that they have encountered, how the coyotes operate, and other interesting are a few random facts, quotes, and descriptions from the book -1) "Drags" are desert streets made when bundles of tires are dragged by trucks driving in an east-west direction (coyotes and their groups usually head north).2) The Border Patrol is also called by the slang term "La Migra". They have a unit called BORSTAR, which stands for Border Patrol Search, Trauma, and Rescue.3) Sign-cutters and Shadow Wolves (Native American sign-cutters) are trained to "cut sign". A sign-cutter is an expert at reading the tracks, trails, and clues that people leave behind when they're walking.4) At the end of the book, Mendez and the few survivors are all picked up in Arizona by the Border Patrol. They're all sent to the same hospital, where they're all guarded by the Patrol, but for various reasons. Mendez is finished; he has no future. The Patrol guards his hospital bed because he is a criminal; his greed, negligence, and stupidity have resulted in a lot of deaths. The other men, the survivors, are watched because the Patrol wants to ask them a lot of questions about Mendez. Therefore, although the survivors are not actually given official permission to stay in the USA, the American and Mexican governments kind of turn their back on the fact that the men are there, because after all, the men are supplying very valuable information.5) "Today Mendez sits in a cell in the huge prison in Safford, Arizona. He has no visitors. He doesn't respond letters." (p.211)6) "Temperatures soared well over the hundred mark. When the [Dept. of Public Safety] tow truck finally arrived, the squad noted the stench. They pried the trunk open. Two young men lay within. They were twenty-one and sixteen years old. The police reported there was evidence of movement before the young men baked to death." (p.210)7) "The temperature screamed into the nineties before nine o'clock...Their mouths were as dry as the soles of their feet. Their tongues were hard and dense and could not bend. They sucked and sucked at the insides of their mouths, but they couldn't raise any spit." (pp. 157-158).8) Coyotes have a unique word for people who test to cross the desert. They call these people "pollos", for "chicken". However, the author explains the importance of the word: in Spanish, "chicken" is "gallina", but a COOKED chicken is "pollo"!!This is a very hard book to place down. At the end of the book, there is a list of other books on the subjects of illegal immigration, the Border Patrol, etc. I can't wait to read them.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter