The Faith of Donald J. Trump: A Spiritual Biography Reviews & Opinions

Submit The Faith of Donald J. Trump: A Spiritual Biography review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Faith of Donald J. Trump: A Spiritual Biography [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Poorly written and lacking any basis in fact. Harper Collins should axe Broadside Books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Faith of Donald J. Trump: A Spiritual Biography [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This book is false, disgusting and full of untruths. Jesus weeps.David Brody’s way of making a buck; which is also sinful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Faith of Donald J. Trump: A Spiritual Biography [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    It is a great book by a wonderful person.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Faith of Donald J. Trump: A Spiritual Biography or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Faith of Donald J. Trump: A Spiritual Biography [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    LMAO!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Faith of Donald J. Trump: A Spiritual Biography [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This book is largely based on behind the scenes comments made to Christian Leadership in private after he appealed to Evangelical votersMicah 6:8 And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.James 4:6 God resist the proud but gives grace to the humbleJohn 13:35By this all men will know you are my followers. That you love othersJames 2:19 (It is not just enough to believe) Even the Demons believe and Tremble

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donald Trump: Lessons We Can Learn From Donal Trump [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Donald John Trump is an American business magnate, investor, television personality and author. He is the chairman and president of The Trump Organization and the founder of Trump Entertainment anks for this book because I have the opportunity to understand the lessons and reasons behind the success of this man. Thanks for this book.!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donald Trump: Lessons We Can Learn From Donal Trump [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    My Opinion (it always is) says its easy to read, makes good sense. More than casual reading if you want to invest the effort. Some good advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Donald Trump: Lessons We Can Learn From Donal Trump [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Well written and great information placed in a easy to read format.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I am a conservative but try to understand the liberal and progressive point of view. Brian Klaas does an excellent job of explaining the rationale behind his views. I follow him on Twitter which is why I got the book. His book is an in-depth study of concerns about Trump which Fox News doesn't cover. I read it in just a few days, including staying up past midnight. While he has a dark subject, he has a tendency to inject some humor in what he says. For example, he described how University of Michigan researchers got the government to take seriously concerns about election fraud when they "remotely tampered with election machinery so that every time a voter cast a vote, the machine would play the University of Michigan fight song." Sometimes humor is the best way of getting a point across!What I found most interesting in the book was Klaas' comparison of Trump's behavior with the behavior of despots whom Klaas has studied. Does Ivanka Trump, daughter, really belong as a spokesperson for the White House? How it make sense for Trump to be praising people like Duerte or Putin?At the beginning of the book, Klaas said, "Several drivers are accelerating this American polarization. The menu of media options has lengthened considerably in the last few decades, so Americans can now self-select into partisan echo chambers that affirm their beliefs while demonizing their political rivals as enemies." That is exactly the reason why I try to understand the liberal press but have a hard time slogging through name-calling which so clutters liberal media. Case in point is an excerpt from Charles Blow's editorial in this morning's NY Times: "He is mean and surly. He is a bully. He is a pathological liar. He cheats."Klaas doesn't just throw names around. In this book, he very thoroughly details how Trump acts like despots he has studied. It is a disturbing book but also one that alerts me to the danger of our country tolerating some of the man's outrageous behavior.I would love to see Klaas with his own show like the equivalent of "Tucker Carlson" for the right. We need an intellectual exchange of ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Incredibly insightful, but terribly upsetting. Wonderfully written and very readable. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Despot - any person in power who acts tyrannically and doesn't allow people to speak out against them. We're Klaas has nailed it. An informative read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Klaas clearly describes what is happening to American democracy right now. Everyone needs to read this book—before it’s too late.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    [email protected]#$%! previous book The Despot's Accomplice was a sobering wake-up call to the retreat of democracy around the globe and the West's growing apathy and complicity. In The Despot's Apprentice (clever as always) Klaas makes a direct and persuasive connection between this failure to protect and maintain the basic foundations of democracy and the new constitutional crisis at home. Another excellent read from an author that wastes no time or words.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    An essential read for those wanting to more deeply understand attacks on our democracy in the time of Trump. Thought provoking and well written!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    How is Trump a "despot's apprentice"? The term applies because he does harmful, hateful, or just useless things that no ordinary U.S. politician from either major party would ever do. He turns expectations upside-down by sowing distrust of long-respected newspapers while legitimizing small, conspiracy-theorist media. He tells his own obvious, easily debunked lies. He sows distrust of courts, intelligence agencies, science agencies, and the Congressional Budget Office. He shrugs off other countries’ violations of human rights and democracy. He commits nepotism and flaunts major conflicts of interest. He wearies people with the sheer number of onslaughts “because you can't fight 100 battles all at once,” as Klaas puts it.Klaas is an expert in despotism around the world. If he is alarmed, then we should be alarmed.If any Trump supporters are motivated to read the book, I'm curious as to how they process and interact with these arguments which I intuit to be good moral observations with watertight support. In other words, if there are flaws in this book's observations and conclusions, I don't see them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Everyone needs to read this book. In a well written and easy to read fashion, Klass provides a knowledgeable, thoughtful review of what is happening under Trump, and where we might be headed. It is scary to think about the threats to our to our democracy and to our values, and even scarier to think about what that means.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    A well-written, concise, level-headed and thorough critique of Trumpism and the incremental threats it poses for our democracy. No great investigative scoops here for those who follow politics closely, but it puts the whole, sordid phenomenon in frightening context. Read it---and resist! [336 pages. Relatively short read: about 70% of book is text; the rest are notes.]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Despot's Apprentice: Donald Trump's Attack on Democracy [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Just about spot-on perfect description of our current Lunatic-in-Chief

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Wycliffe: Man of Courage (Great By Faith Biography) [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    I wanted to read a bird's eye account of Wycliffe's life. The book is only 110 pages long, is written very well, and highlights the major incidences in Wycliffe's life with quotes from his interrogators, which puts the reader in the moment. I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    John Wycliffe: Man of Courage (Great By Faith Biography) [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    It was informative, well organised material and the product lived up to expectations. It was very enjoyable reading and factually accurate

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Couldn't put it down. I love that, while the author obviously doesn't share Bannon's worldview, to put it mildly, the book isn't polemical -- it gets out of the way of the story. And what a story. My goodness. I suspect that if you hate Trump you'll be horrified and entertained, and if you love Trump you'll be delighted and entertained, and that's very high praise. I didn;t know that the wall wasn't Trump's idea; that's sort of ironic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    I dislike politically-focused books written by authors with a slant. This is not one of those. Instead, it is balanced and quite characterizes Bannon as a brilliant ideologue from the outer-fringe of American politics, and an opportunistic businessman with a great distaste for Hillary. Green contends that DJT's being embarrassed at the 2011 White House Correspondent's Dinner by President Obama and Seth Meyers was the catalyst that put Trump on the path to the White House. Obama zeroed in on the birth-certificate controversy that Trump had endorsed, produced a copy several days prior to the dinner, and then joking proposed to also release a movie of his birth (a Disney jungle tiger cartoon film). Soon afterwards Trump met with a few long-time Clinton haters - one of whom was David Bossie. Bossie asked Bannon to provide informal counsel on a potential Trump presidential bid. Bannon didn't think Trump would run, but this didn't stop Bannon from imparting his hostility to illegal immigration and nnon had been a Naval officer during Carter's disastrous effort to rescue U.S. hostages in Iran. That disgusted Bannon, who went from being a Democrat like the rest of his family, to becoming a hard right Republican, avid Reagan fan, and Islamaphobe. He also realized that it would take forever for him to gain major influence as a Naval officer --> resigned to attend Harvard Business School, then join Goldman Sach'ump thought of running for New York governor in 2014, vs. Cuomo. Kellyann Conway put together a paper suggesting he'd do well, contrary to what the poll data actually showed. Meanwhile, Trump learned from his appearances that anti-immigration provided a strong the time, Bannon was chairman of Breitbart news (lots of Clinton stories, also immigration - including the child migrant crisis at the U.S.-Mexico border in 2014, killing any chance of immigration reform at the time, ISIS, race riots, and 'the collapse of traditional values - drawing about 21 million viewers/month), an alt-right site that would help clear out Trump's 16 Republican competitors. He'd taken that role after the site's founder (Andrew Breitbart, a former Matt Drudge apprentice) unexpectedly died in 2012. Bannon's biggest success to-date had been acquiring a stake in the 'Seinfeld' show. One of Bannon's biggest contribution to the Trump campaign was pitching the 'Clinton Cash' revelations (he'd helped nurture the book's writing) to the mainstream media. Bannon then encouraged Trump to visit the U.S.-Mexico border, created a mutinous frenzy among house conservatives that led to Boehner's resignation, paid trackers to follow Anthony Weiner's Twitter account and eventually intercepted a crotch shot Weiner inadvertently had made 2012 he became founding chairman of Government Accountability Institute, a nonpartisan research organization staffed with lawyers, data scientists, and forensic investigators that helped bring about the 'Clinton Cash' uproar. The focus is on providing rigorous, fact-based indictments against major politicians, then partnering with mainstream media outlets conservatives typically despise to disseminate those findings to the broadest audience. Bannon had previously learned that building stories on facts motivated professional investigative reporters, even though they might have been personally liberal. Their access to the liberal New York Times and Washington Post was seen as invaluable by Bannon. Prior conservative efforts to impugn Hillary (eg. House Oversight Chairman Dan Burton's portrayal of Vince Foster's 1993 suicide as a murder) were seen as killing conservatives' credibility and I published an e-book 'Bush Bucks: How Public Service and Corporations Helped Made Jeb Rich' oo- Florida land deals, corporate board sinecures, and a seven-figure salary with Lehman Brothers. (He'd raked in nearly $30 million in the eight years after leaving the governor's mansion.)In 1990. Bannon and a couple of Goldman colleagues launched Bannon & Co., an investment bank specializing in media. They used VHSs cassette sales and TV ratings to value intellectual property. Then, while serving as the go-between Westinghouse (seeking to unload Castle Rock Entertainment) and Ted Turner, Bannon took an ownership stake in five shows, including Seinfeld. .Hillary added to her problems by refusing to list foreign donors, or release her Wall Street speeches. Various people had been attacking the Clinton's for years, with limited success - Bannon's secret was sticking to what could be documented, and avoiding unnamed sources. Turns out that the set of characters donating to the Clinton Foundation was nothing one would want publicized. When Trump ran into the problem with his off-color comments about women, Bannon countered by having Bill Clinton's former rape accusers sit on the stage with Trump during a ends by posing his sense of why Trump has had so many problems as President:1)Trump assumed that Congress needed him; in fact, they have their own constituencies.2)He ran against Republicans in general, Wall Street, and Paul Ryan - then adopted their agendas.3)His 'agenda' is constantly changing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    I could not put this down--the characters, the humor, the intensity. If you still don't understand how Trump became president against all odds , simply read this book. You may not like the folks you meet in Joshua Green's epic, but you will not soon forget them .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Devil's Bargain is a quick and fascinating read. It is really refreshing as you do not get the sense of a bias from Green as he writes really objectively. This is probably why Bannon has agreed to give him unprecedented access and interviews over the years ( As well as his ability to write very, very well). Green reports events without injecting an opinion and he does it in a way that helped me answer a lot of lingering questions I had about the election. Also Green introduces many new nuggets of "behind the scenes" information that were previously unreported by the media. I could not put this book down. Regardless of your political affiliation I highly recommend this read as it will change your perspective on the events that transpired, especially as it relates to Trump's decision making as he clearly knew what he was doing in hiring Bannon and he pulled off an incredible upset that no one saw coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Fantastic! My saying that doesn’t mean I’m for or against Trump and Bannon. It means I LOVE ALL THE GREAT GOSSIP!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Exhaustive examination of undue influence

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    A lucid and complete portrait of a powerful and dangerous individual. Reads more like a novel than a biography.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Fascinating insight and easy read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Very informative! Great read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    It speaks for itself!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    Couldn't put it down. I love that, while the author obviously doesn't share Bannon's worldview, to put it mildly, the book isn't polemical -- it gets out of the way of the story. And what a story. My goodness. I suspect that if you hate Trump you'll be horrified and entertained, and if you love Trump you'll be delighted and entertained, and that's very high praise. I didn;t know that the wall wasn't Trump's idea; that's sort of ironic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    I dislike politically-focused books written by authors with a slant. This is not one of those. Instead, it is balanced and quite characterizes Bannon as a brilliant ideologue from the outer-fringe of American politics, and an opportunistic businessman with a great distaste for Hillary. Green contends that DJT's being embarrassed at the 2011 White House Correspondent's Dinner by President Obama and Seth Meyers was the catalyst that put Trump on the path to the White House. Obama zeroed in on the birth-certificate controversy that Trump had endorsed, produced a copy several days prior to the dinner, and then joking proposed to also release a movie of his birth (a Disney jungle tiger cartoon film). Soon afterwards Trump met with a few long-time Clinton haters - one of whom was David Bossie. Bossie asked Bannon to provide informal counsel on a potential Trump presidential bid. Bannon didn't think Trump would run, but this didn't stop Bannon from imparting his hostility to illegal immigration and nnon had been a Naval officer during Carter's disastrous effort to rescue U.S. hostages in Iran. That disgusted Bannon, who went from being a Democrat like the rest of his family, to becoming a hard right Republican, avid Reagan fan, and Islamaphobe. He also realized that it would take forever for him to gain major influence as a Naval officer --> resigned to attend Harvard Business School, then join Goldman Sach'ump thought of running for New York governor in 2014, vs. Cuomo. Kellyann Conway put together a paper suggesting he'd do well, contrary to what the poll data actually showed. Meanwhile, Trump learned from his appearances that anti-immigration provided a strong the time, Bannon was chairman of Breitbart news (lots of Clinton stories, also immigration - including the child migrant crisis at the U.S.-Mexico border in 2014, killing any chance of immigration reform at the time, ISIS, race riots, and 'the collapse of traditional values - drawing about 21 million viewers/month), an alt-right site that would help clear out Trump's 16 Republican competitors. He'd taken that role after the site's founder (Andrew Breitbart, a former Matt Drudge apprentice) unexpectedly died in 2012. Bannon's biggest success to-date had been acquiring a stake in the 'Seinfeld' show. One of Bannon's biggest contribution to the Trump campaign was pitching the 'Clinton Cash' revelations (he'd helped nurture the book's writing) to the mainstream media. Bannon then encouraged Trump to visit the U.S.-Mexico border, created a mutinous frenzy among house conservatives that led to Boehner's resignation, paid trackers to follow Anthony Weiner's Twitter account and eventually intercepted a crotch shot Weiner inadvertently had made 2012 he became founding chairman of Government Accountability Institute, a nonpartisan research organization staffed with lawyers, data scientists, and forensic investigators that helped bring about the 'Clinton Cash' uproar. The focus is on providing rigorous, fact-based indictments against major politicians, then partnering with mainstream media outlets conservatives typically despise to disseminate those findings to the broadest audience. Bannon had previously learned that building stories on facts motivated professional investigative reporters, even though they might have been personally liberal. Their access to the liberal New York Times and Washington Post was seen as invaluable by Bannon. Prior conservative efforts to impugn Hillary (eg. House Oversight Chairman Dan Burton's portrayal of Vince Foster's 1993 suicide as a murder) were seen as killing conservatives' credibility and I published an e-book 'Bush Bucks: How Public Service and Corporations Helped Made Jeb Rich' oo- Florida land deals, corporate board sinecures, and a seven-figure salary with Lehman Brothers. (He'd raked in nearly $30 million in the eight years after leaving the governor's mansion.)In 1990. Bannon and a couple of Goldman colleagues launched Bannon & Co., an investment bank specializing in media. They used VHSs cassette sales and TV ratings to value intellectual property. Then, while serving as the go-between Westinghouse (seeking to unload Castle Rock Entertainment) and Ted Turner, Bannon took an ownership stake in five shows, including Seinfeld. .Hillary added to her problems by refusing to list foreign donors, or release her Wall Street speeches. Various people had been attacking the Clinton's for years, with limited success - Bannon's secret was sticking to what could be documented, and avoiding unnamed sources. Turns out that the set of characters donating to the Clinton Foundation was nothing one would want publicized. When Trump ran into the problem with his off-color comments about women, Bannon countered by having Bill Clinton's former rape accusers sit on the stage with Trump during a ends by posing his sense of why Trump has had so many problems as President:1)Trump assumed that Congress needed him; in fact, they have their own constituencies.2)He ran against Republicans in general, Wall Street, and Paul Ryan - then adopted their agendas.3)His 'agenda' is constantly changing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    I could not put this down--the characters, the humor, the intensity. If you still don't understand how Trump became president against all odds , simply read this book. You may not like the folks you meet in Joshua Green's epic, but you will not soon forget them .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    My advice to my BFF who wants to read this book: "Make sure you are emotionally able to tolerate what you will learn." She and I email daily about political news, we read - books, mag's, news outlet posts. We are well informed. Even so, this book made me sick, it made me sad, it made me so furious, had it not been on my old original Kindle, I would have thrown it across the room - several times! From Trump to Bannon to their 'gamer' minions, they are worse than I already knew. And this by their OWN words! Should you read this book? Only if you are not on the verge of giving up hope - really - the words of Trump, Bannon, etal, are so powerful (hence, the 5 stars), in their cruelty you might just give up. However, we must know all we can about people who are trying to take control of OUR lives through OUR government - it is almost a civil duty to know all we can - to try and ascertain their 'ways and means'. But, honestly, if you are a person with sensitive emotions, this book will required you to have a BFF to talk it over.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    This is actually two books in one. In the first part, Green explores the emergence of the alt-right in general and Steve Bannon in particular, and how they waged a guerilla war until they were able to insinuate themselves into a host, the Republican Party, and dominate the 2016 election. The second half is a standard account of the Trump campaign. Nothing new there--hence the four stars rather than five. What I found absolutely fascinating was the way in which Green situated Bannon within a two centuries-old traditionalist Catholic intellectual tradition (Bannon spent his formative years in a conservative Catholic military school). Green describes the intellectual debt Bannon owes to René Guénon, a French Catholic who dabbled in Sufism and Hinduism. Guénon's ideas sound familiar today to anyone watching the news today: The division of the world into civilizational units, the decay of those units when they transgress their "traditional" norms, the period of darkness ("carnage"?) that follows, and the need to embrace the values upon which "Civilization" relies and protect it from existential threats (such as radical Islam). Whereas I just thought the alt-right ideology nutty, its history demonstrates just how dangerous it is: It is part of a deeply entrenched intellectual tradition, one which spawned nineteenth- and twentieth-century European fascism. Bannon became the master manipulator of Trump, of course--an empty vessel with no philosophical moorings of his own. You couldn't make this stuff up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    I had no idea that the hype about big money influencing political elections is so singular in its application. Devil's Bargain was a real eye-opener to me. It made me realize that we "everyday Americans" must get fully involved in politics in order to truly have a government "of the people, by the people, for the people". If we don't head this warning we will just get more of a government run by big money and special interest groups to the detriment of main street America and the good of the country.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    Devil's Bargain is a quick and fascinating read. It is really refreshing as you do not get the sense of a bias from Green as he writes really objectively. This is probably why Bannon has agreed to give him unprecedented access and interviews over the years ( As well as his ability to write very, very well). Green reports events without injecting an opinion and he does it in a way that helped me answer a lot of lingering questions I had about the election. Also Green introduces many new nuggets of "behind the scenes" information that were previously unreported by the media. I could not put this book down. Regardless of your political affiliation I highly recommend this read as it will change your perspective on the events that transpired, especially as it relates to Trump's decision making as he clearly knew what he was doing in hiring Bannon and he pulled off an incredible upset that no one saw coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    Insightful - the varied career of Steve Bannon was never clear to me before. The origins of his restless, never satisfied disdain for bureaucracy and lethargy were enlightening. His honey badger style I now understand. While I can't stand his methods or his end goals I can now appreciate ehere he has come from and his world view.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    As a therapist and being Irish I am inttrigued by the fast bright minds of this world. Growing up working class and pursuing education brought Mr Bannon a wordly education. He was a naval officer and Harvard Business school grad. He spots problems, generates ideas and is a step ahead of most people. Which is one reason many may dislike this brash approach and delivery of a very important message of the dangers in our world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Nationalist Uprising [Book]  2018-2-12 18:0

    Josh Green's summary of the 2016 campaign is not news to political junkies. What is news is his analysis of Steve Bannon's presence on the American political landscape. Bannon had been around long before Trump came down the escalator to declare his candidacy. Green reveals both the depth of Bannon's world view and his commitment to see it through. He's not only fascinating; he's dangerous and scary. The 2018 Senate race(s) should tell the tale of what kind of damage Steve Bannon can inflict on our country. (As if Trump isn't enough ...)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    An incredible analysis of Trump-Russia collusion, expanding on Christopher Steele's findings with fantastic detail. Luke Harding is new to me but I am already a huge fan of his investigative journalism. This book is incredibly well-sourced and reads well. I'd give it nearly five stars just for the content but the writing is captivating and worthy of merit on its own, making this book one of the best non-fiction titles I've read in several years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    Never before has such a thorough accounting for Kremlin interference been made plain despite the swirling allegations in 24/7 media landscape. The facts are laid so bare that this reviewer fully expects the troll farms financed by Russia will immediately bombard this book with fake reviews. A good investigate read which no matter what political stripes you have, will send chills once you realize just how far Putin will go to undermine Americans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    Luke Harding’s Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win, is technically too long to read in one sitting but, I have nearly done it. I couldn’t put it down. The book is only a few days old, but my copy is ragged and coffee stained. I am just now making amends to my significant other, returning to my normal routine of hygiene, reconnecting with life—and preparing myself for a second is is the book you wish, for the sake of humanity, would be a work of fiction written by Le Carre, rather than a work of epic reporting that so disturbingly illustrates the principle that truth is stranger than fiction. Indeed, had Le Carre published this a couple of years ago, critics would have thought the old master had lost his way, for the story, while utterly gripping,even terrifying, is too t, here it all is masterfully reported by one of the great journalists of our time: the shocking, endless ties between Trump, and so many of Trump’s associates and political appointees who are now running our country, and Russia. Here are the secret meetings; the malodorous, international financial transactions; the hackings; strange doings of the candidate and eventual president; the endless, lurid, amoral, corrupt characters that connect Trump and Putin.Of particular interest in this volume, something I haven’t seen anywhere else, are the detailed biographies of the Russians in this strange saga. In the daily media coverage, the backgrounds of the numerous Russian characters are rarely explored in any depth--yet they are crucial to understanding what is happening. Harding, onetime Moscow correspondent for The Guardian, brings all of these characters to life, with their charmed business biographies, and their nearly universal ties to both Putin and Russian intelligence. Particularly harrowing, a nightmarish excursion with a knife edge, is the exploration of the possible fates of Russians who may have been sources for Christopher Steele’s now famous Trump the daily, often simplistic media grind, the background question seems to be: Is their an impeachable offense, a smoking gun? This book, in the depth and scope of its meticulousness reporting, raises a much different and, perhaps, more important question: With or without a provable crime at the hand of the president, is any of this even remotely acceptable? Is it tenable to have a President of the United States with so many corrupt associations? With mysterious, gravity-defying business transactions? With hidden tax returns? With his obsequiousness to a corrupt, brutal foreign leader? With such obvious doubts regarding his fundamental loyalty to the United States of America?This book isn’t about connecting a few dots, this is about our president’s seemingly endless connections to dark forces that fear truth, loathe democracy, worship power and money, and are utterly ruthless in their remarkably successful tactics at home, and around the world. It’s all here in sobering, shocking detail. Read it, then hug your loved ones, and pray for the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    Absolutely Incredible book! The best read on the Russian connections!!! Could Not put it down! As for one reviewer stating that they where perplexed by the book because it didn't stand up to Steel's testimony? Steel hasn't stated Anything under testimony because he's never testified! He just got the info for the dossier! Fabulous book! Highly recommend:) 5 Stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    The book was extremely interesting and I give the author a lot of the credit. He is quite clear in his style. From the first page, I was hooked. Harding moves the reader along quickly and lays his premises and facts in a manner that is easy to grasp. Of course, the content is fascinating. We have John McCain a thank because it was McCain who took it seriously enough very early on to bring this to the FBI. John McCain played a critical role -- Country over Party for him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    I downloaded this to my Kindle on Thursday and finished it last night. I'm not a fast reader, but it's not that long (in print it's about 300 pages) and it's a pretty gripping ke Harding was the Moscow bureau chief of The Guardian from, I think, 2007-11 or about that. He was deported and banned from ever returning because they didn't like some things he wrote about the Putin regime. I read his previous book, A Very Expensive Poison, earlier this year. It's about the murder of Alexander Litvinenko in London using Polonium. It was thoroughly reported and very this book, he opens by talking about Christopher Steele who, despite what Fox and Trump would have you believe, is a highly respected professional with extensive sources in Russia. Steele is also banned from Russia having been outed some years ago as an MI6 agent who started his career under diplomatic cover in Moscow back in the late 80s to early e basic story in the book has been reported elsewhere, but Harding "connects the dots," as they say, and provides significantly more detail about some of the key players, notably Carter Page and Paul Manafort. He also has more detail about Trump's long-standing connections to Russians and various shady figures from Russia and other former Soviet republics. Some of this I've read elsewhere also, but often just as isolated stories (such as a New Yorker article earlier this year that discussed Trump's business dealings in Azerbaijan).In any case, I highly recommend this book. Read it and decide for yourself whether the vast clouds of smoke can be traced to fire in the "fake" Trump-Russia story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    Wow, shocking and deeply informative by a professional Russian expert. A bombshell book. Never knew that Trump was invited by Soviet intelligence to visit in 1987, went and seemed so easily compromised. Trump should read this, if only to jog his memory, see how he was targeted and played, but of course he never will. But a terrific book to send to congressmen and senators, to open their eyes to what they are willing accomplices to.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    American democracy is under threat. This book provides a comprehensive summary of the relationship between Trump and Russia. Russia played a prominent role in getting Trump elected. There is also question of the leverage provided by substantial debt. This book provides a comprehensive of what is currently known.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    This book has a story to tell about each of the characters who played a part in the events that occurred during the 2016 election. It does so using various intelligence/news reports from around the world and brings great attention to what was known by whom and when. Although this could also prove to be a double edged sword for both political parties. It is clear once you finish the book the easy to follow writing gives you a better understanding of the tangled web that was weaved upon the American voters. It may even compel you to want more election protections in the future because one thing is for sure Russia will be back in 2020 to help their candidate get re-elected you need to be armed with the facts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Collusion: Secret Meetings, Dirty Money, and How Russia Helped Donald Trump Win [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    FIVE Stars. Easy read, a must for anyone who values America’s democracy. Writer has connected a complex array of international political events including corruption, money laundering, and murders smoothly enough to flow like a spy novel. Very helpful is the depth of background provided for key players such as Flynn, Manafort, Putin and Trump. Unfortunately, the chronology comes to an unceremoniously abrupt end. Missing is a summation or preparation for the-rest-of-the-story, a sequel: the outcome of treachery surrounding the Trump presidential administration.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    If you enjoyed "Shattered"... you'll Love HACKSI've NEVER been a fan of Donna Brazile... but after reading what feels like a sincere account of what happened behind the scenes, I can't help but feel bad for her... and what those "Political Hacks" did (and are doing) to Donna shares a couple of pretty believable points of view about her leaking questions to HRC during the Primary Debates against Bernie... Points of view I only believe after she shared so many other embarrassing and humiliating accounts of what it was like dealing with "Brooklyn"... Instead of constantly having to say Hillary Clinton, or Clinton Campaign, she uses "Brooklyn" as the catch-all word for all things Hillary.If you, like me, also enjoy a good narration of the book... I must say Donna hits it out of the park. My conservative friends are going to question the sanity of this next statement, but I kind of feel sorry for her and all she had to put up with from her people... Only time will tell, but I think a little part of me now likes Donna.Even though one may be from the way opposite side of Donna's political aisle... I think you'll enjoy reading about Donna's alter-ego and her no-holds barred attitude to "making it happen".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Whenever a nation stands at a crossroads, it is easy to believe that this one is somehow more meaningful or challenging than those we stood at before. Seldom in our history, however, have we stood at so many crossroads all at one time. Globalism, immigration, economic inequity, the threat of nuclear war, racial injustice, the treatment of women, sexual identity rights, gun control, and, of course, the recent horrors rained down on innocent people just going about their lives, all seem to have come together in a perfect storm of fear, agony, and ere is little that our national leaders can say at this juncture that will not be both praised and pilloried by the opposing camps. And this book, one can assume, will suffer a similar fate. It will be extolled by some and vilified by others. It is no wonder, as a result, that those authors of the familiarity and prominence of Donna Brazile might be inclined to parse their words, hedge their opinions for maximum effectiveness among their core supporters, and generally posture their prose to burnish their own at is not, however, what Donna Brazile has done here. This is a candid, no-punch-pulled eyewitness account of the 2016 election and the events surrounding it from one of the main players in the drama. Brazile shares stories that only she could share and she does so in a refreshingly matter of fact way that seems to suggest, to her credit, that her driving and overriding objective is to help the Democratic Party and the country move is is by far the most detailed account of the election that I have found. And that, in part, is the book’s only limitation. It reads, at times, more like a transcript than a thoughtful review. That is undoubtedly by design and does give the book a raw authenticity. I for one, however, would like to know more about Brazile’s take on what it all means at the conceptual level. There is some of that, but not azile does give the reader a much more thorough understanding of the hacking of the DNC. And her account is alarming, to say the least. In the end, moreover, she provides the most concise assessment of what the Russians did that I have seen or heard: “The Russians may not have changed the totals in the voting machines, but they confused us, inflamed our doubts and our worst impulses, and destabilized the Democratic Party, making it an unfair fight.” Thoughtfully stated and frightening, e also exposes the horrifying degree to which she and others quite understandably feared for their personal safety. It is indeed hard to imagine that any among us are capable of such moral and ethical bankruptcy. Hard to fathom, of course, until we open today’s newspaper.I was anxiously looking for Brazile to cast her lot between the competing theories that the Democrats need to re-capture the center or electrify the emerging progressive wing of the party. I, for one, believe when standing at the entrance to so many crossroads, now is not the time to get stuck in the intersection. And, I suspect, that Brazil would agree. There are whiffs of the sentiment but in the end this really is a book about the 2016 election.Whichever course we pursue as a country going forward, we will need leaders of courage, candor, and a sense of our common humanity. And I think Brazile, however inclined you are to be offended or excited by her courageous and candid revelations here, has certainly shown herself to be worthy of a seat at the table of change.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Donna Brazile adds, “I have a right to tell my story.” It is quite a story, made more credible by her illustrious career spanning 40 years as professor, contributor to ABC News and CNN, working in presidential campaigns from 1976 to Hillary Clinton’s in 2016, and as a national PARTS ABOUT THIS MEMOIR are made up by reporters and commentators from excerpts released by the publicist and interviews conducted with the author. It’s been a great publicity stunt, misleading me to believe that there would be damaging revelations about Clinton and her associates and campaign. The few that were “damaging” weren’t that bad, and softened by glowing praises and positive recollections. I have to remove a star in my review because of that E HEART OF THE MEMOIR. The Russian hacking of the Democratic National Committee. More than half the book covers the threats posed by the invasion of DNC’s computer servers, the chosen emails released by Russian hackers through WikiLeaks. Yes, they were damaging. But did Clinton lose the election because of that? Brazile gives much credence to that E DEBATES. Brazile also shares her feelings and conclusions about the Clinton-Trump debates, and they are almost all derogatory against Trump. And that’s fine for they are her honest feelings. But just like Clinton’s book, WHAT HAPPENED, this memoir seems to lay most of the blame for the lost election on outside forces, not on Clinton and her campaign. I’m afraid another lost star.I admire Brazile as the DNC campaign chairperson, taking on by default and personal devotion to Hillary a very tough campaign and doing her best to correct financial, organizational and personnel woes. She is strong, resilient and totally dedicated to this cause. I also like insights into her more personal life, her connections to friends, family, church and her dog Chip. Although not married, she takes care of a friend’s child, Kia. She is a “real” person and writes entertainingly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    I bought this out of curiosity and sympathy for this woman. I admire her taking a stand for herself and her work. I cant agree with all the excuses of why hrc lost. She lost because she was unfit for the position and belongs in jail. I voted for Trump and will proudly vote for him again, and more GOP. For those who want to bring race into this statement, my poor father was blacker than this woman is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    I bought this book but not from my opinion, this tell-all book by Ms. Brazile has washed her clean of all of her past iniquities. Thank you Ms. Brazile for confirming to the US citizens what we all suspected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Early in her campaign, Hillary vowed to rebuild the DNC and raised $61 million to do so using a joint effort that involved 32 state-level committees. But less than 1% stayed in the state parties' coffers, according to a POLITICO analysis of FEC filings. Most of the money went towards expenses that appeared to directly benefit her campaign. FEC filings show that within a day of most transfers from the 'Hillary Victory Fund' identical sums were transferred from the state party accounts to the DNC - which Sanders supporters have accused of functioning as an adjunct of the Clinton campaign. State party officials were said to be reluctant to complain to the DNC out of fear of financial retribution; union-run Amalgamated Bank handled the accounts but did not address complaints about money being transferred without consent of the state party committees. Per Politico, the apparent motive was to allow sidestepping low donation limits on individual candidates, higher limits for political organizations - clearly illegal, as Brazile claims in her ever, on ABC's 'This Week' (11/6/2017) she said there was no evidence of inton's campaign had the right of refusal of who would be the party communications director and would make final decisions on all other staff. The DNC was also required to consult with the campaign about all other staffing, budgeting, data, analytics, and mailings. This control of the DNC had been going on for nearly a year before Brazile became interim chair in July azile reluctantly took over the DNC in July 2016 from Debbie Schultz who had been ousted after WikiLeaks released stolen emails among her and her advisers that showed favoritism for Clinton during the competitive primaries. When Donna Brazile took over the DNC after the convention she promised Bernie Sanders that she would find out whether Hillary's team had rigged the nomination process - a action suggested by the cache of emails stolen by Russian hackers and posted online. Brazile set out by following the money. Her predecessor, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, had not been a strong fundraiser and neither was Obama. Thus, the party was in significant debt - $2 million after the July convention. Hillary's campaign took care of 80% of the party's debt in 2016 (about $10 million), and put the DNC on a strict financial diet - making it dependent on her campaign while she took control of operations. The party still needed another $2 million just after the convention, and the Clinton machine arranged it. At the time Brazile took the reins she wasn't even aware of this. Nearly $20 million was given the party from September until the convention, even more to prepare for the election. About $4 million/month was needed to fund the ually the party chair shrinks staff between presidential election campaigns. Debbie didn't - she and Obama both had stuck lots of consultants on the DNC payroll - one was a $180,000/year pollster for Obama. By September 7 she found proof that Hillary had used her DNC leverage to push Bernie down. Other sorces, however, cite an April 2016 letter to the DNC from Sanders' campaign complaining about the DNC-Clinton fundraising arrangement and suggesting it might violate capaign-finance laws. On the other hand, when Brazile appeared on the 11/6/2017 'This Week' (ABC), she said there was no evidence of nomination rigging. Another bombshell is the Brazile seriously contemplated setting in motion a process to replace Hillary as the party's 2016 presidential nominee - then Vice-President Biden and Senator Booker were the two she felt most certain to win over enough working-class voters to defeat Trump. Brazile saw Clinton as a well-intentioned candidate whose campaign was badly mismanaged and made blunders with 'stiff' and 'stupid' messages. Top aides routinely disrespected her and deprived the DNC of funding for voter turnout operations. The 'trigger' for Brazile considering this replacement was Clinton's collapse as she left a 9/11 memorial azile also acknowledged sending debate topics to Hillary's campaign, saying 'it was a mistake I will forever regret.' WikiLeaks posted emails from Brazile to the Clinton  campaign tipping them off that a woman from Flint, Michigan would ask Clinton about the lead situation there, and that she would be asked about the death penalty in a separate town the time, Brazile was a CNN political analyst. CNN denies supplying Brazile with questions, and there is no evidence it did. Another outcome of the WikiLeaks release was that staff and donors were harassed, the divide between Clinton and Sanders supporters widened, and fundraising fell.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Thanks Donna for telling the world what really happened behind the scenes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    One of the important political reads of the year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Finally a book that tells the truth about what happened in 2016 primary campaign! But it did come a day late and a dollar short. She should have spoke up sooner. You know before Seth Rich had to die. Still she finally admitted it. It should be called "What Really Happened"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Good view from the inside painted by Mrs Brazille. Her account is far more believable than Hillary Clinton’s “What Happened” Book. The DNC and the Clinton Campaign owe this lady an apology and then some.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let Trump Be Trump: The Inside Story of His Rise to the Presidency [Book]  2017-12-5 18:0

    Unbelievably fast and fun read. Corey and Dave should keep writing and the President should keep winning!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let Trump Be Trump: The Inside Story of His Rise to the Presidency [Book]  2017-12-5 18:0

    I was searching for this book and another book mocking President Trump topped the results. I WILL buy this book, but not from Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let Trump Be Trump: The Inside Story of His Rise to the Presidency [Book]  2017-12-5 18:0

    I read it, but like the President's earlier books before he became President and was hungry for success. Now he's just writing about taking advantage of his power and situation which turned me off. I'll be glad to read his next book once he's removed from office.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    Retired, Beaumont is looking for some sleuthing to do and he finds it in a strange place. At the same time, he and his spouse become dog owners. Never a dull moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    Good to see a Beaumont book again. Fast reading and a believable book. Makes you feel like you are a fly on the wall. You are there! This is typical of Jance's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    Another Excellent offering! The primary story arc with JP and supporting regular characters is furthered in believable life events. The core mystery is well thought out and interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    Loved it. Couldn't put it down, in fact I would force myself to put it down so that I wouldn't finish is in one day and then be upset that it was over with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    It felt like I was visiting an old friend. I started reading j A Jance's books when I was stationed in Washington. This is one of the best!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    I own and love every book. They are written beautifully, cleanly and down right enjoyable. Keep up the good work.Looking forward to a J.P. ...P.I. series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    I love J.A. Janice!! She never disappoints! This was a riveting summer reads. Lots of plot twists to satisfy any mystery buff. There are always well developed, interesting characters. For those of us who have the read the complete series, this was such a treat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    I chose this rating as J.A. Jance keeps the readers wanting to keep reading to find out what happens .Jance keeps the readers interested in the e is a wonderful story teller. It is obvious she has done her research, as all her books have a lot of detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    I have enjoyed this series for years. Wish they came more often. It is a great mystery and didn't figure out the bad guys until the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Proof of Life: A J. P. Beaumont Novel (J. P. Beaumont Mysteries) [Book]  2017-12-11 18:0

    It took me a short while to get everyone straight, but this novel is every bit as good as Jane's other books and I highly recommend it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raising Trump [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    There sure is a lot of allure and baggage to the TRUMP name. How does Ivana’s book handle that? VERY WELL, I believe, because she centers mostly on her life and her influence on Donald Trump’s and her three children. This book is well-arranged and easy to follow—which leaves time to absorb all its underlying life lessons.We also gain many insights from her business acumen and her social life. This is a memoir of an unusual and loving child, wife, mother, and business leader. Intriguing too is how she contributed to helping Donald Trump become a powerful enrepreneur.But most of all, we see (and feel) how her love and discipline made Trump’s first three children who they are—in many ways, images of herself—loyal, honest, driven to achieve good in life. As for failures, Ivana does not dwell on “what happened.” Ivana shares the story of her parental family in communist Czechoslovakia, the encouragement and guidance she received from her parents to be accomplished, successful and e “invasion” of Marla Maples is devastating to Ivana and her children. How did Ivana survive such pain? “Through it all, I had faith in myself,” she says. “I was mentally tough and I knew I would survive." She determined to “never show panic in front of the kids, and never speak a bad word about Donald.” How she handled all the sensational tabloid stories is a lesson in inner strength and is book is MEMORABLE and PRACTICAL. Just read how Ivana taught her children “The Value of a Dollar” and “How To Talk to Anyone.” Her section on “ADVANCED PARENTING sums up so well what she learned in raising the Trump children, lessons that can inspire families a bonus, over 45 photos reveal Ivana’s family from her childhood to the childhood of her growing children. These offer a highly personal look into an amazing family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raising Trump [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I will simply plagiarise my favourite review: If you really must read this book, get it from the library and don't encourage the author by buying it. The sooner this family fades from our memory, the better for all of us. There are neither lessons to be learned nor knowledge to be gained from reading about them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raising Trump [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Good kindling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Raising Trump [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Boring. Made me ask WHO CARES? The book reminds me of someone's diary. I feel like I wasted my time and stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I'll risk sounding like a loser and just admit that I wasn't super into Tom Petty before reading this book. Sure, I know (and enjoy) his big hits like anyone else, but not much beyond that. I basically started this book with a clean slate, more curious than anything else, and really just looking to learn.Well, after finishing the biography, I can say with all honesty that I am now a legitimate Tom Petty fan. I have enormous respect for the man. I really had no idea he had been through so much. I never knew his father used to beat the sh*t out of him for years--but then turned around and mooched off of his son's success for the rest of his life. It never registered for me how hard Petty worked to get where he is. Truly, his work ethic is admirable. While it seems that his family life suffered for it, I am still a bit in awe that he has remained so focused and determined to succeed after decades in the business. It's respectable. And yet, despite the fact that he has been so successful, he's also surprisingly humble. He says many times that he was never in it for the money. He always dreamed of living comfortably, sure--paying rent on time, etc., etc.--but he never got sidetracked by a huge payday. His heart was always in the at became even more obvious to me when I went back and really listened to his music. While reading the book, I played most of the tracks author Zanes highlighted in the book. And I felt like I heard something new in these songs. I noticed the layers to the lyrics and the creativity in the sounds of American Girl, Listen to Her Heart, Insider, You Don't Know How It Feels, and others. It was just crazy to me how much I got out of these songs after I knew a bit more about the last thing...I also want to mention how impressed I was by Petty's oldest daughter, Adria. While reading, I could tell that she had experienced a lot of pain, especially after watching her parents divorce and then having to essentially raise her younger sister. But she seemed very strong to me--and surprisingly insightful. I looked forward to hearing her perspective on her dad. She added something special to this any rate, I loved this book. I don't even normally like biographies that much--just because they tend to be so dry, ugh--but Zanes managed to write this one with a lot of heart. I finished it and felt legitimately connected to Petty and his music. It was a wonderful read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    A thoughtful and well-researched work. Added bonus is the author's voice (in audio version) and investiture in and involvement with his subjectA breezy but poignant look at what holds a band together, what drives it apart and the ups and downs of our time's great songcrafters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Quite an insight to the best band in the industry! Some raw times, moments and equal number of high moments!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    interesting story good presentation

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Oh, how I love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Zanes' writing really brings the narrative to life. This is more of a story of what life experiences Petty had as he rose to the top with the Heartbreakers, rather than an in depth look at his music. I'm not a diehard Petty fan, but the book was very enjoyable. If you enjoyed books like Keith Richard's 'Life', you will also enjoy this regardless of your experience with Petty.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Very moving and compelling for me to read. Really like that in a book. Don't know if that experience will happen to everyone who reads it, but, you never know.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I have read this book six times. As Tom a masterpiece, this book is a masterpiece. Each time I've read it, I've felt like I know and love Tom Petty and his family, friends and band much more. Thanks, Warren for the amazing book, and for asking the hard questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Great Book. I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Petty: The Biography [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Great Book what more can i say its Tom Petty getting real and Zanes captures it on paper his life is like reading fiction cant put it down remarkable for a autobiography and seller had it shipped and delivered on time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Twist of Faith [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    I picked this for my January First Read because the book listed as a thriller sounded too gruesome, although generally I would have chosen that one. What a surprise- this book is a mystery thriller. It's a very convoluted story, exciting and with unexpected twists- kept me guessing all the way to the end. I will not inject spoilers into my review, it has highly entertaining characters, and quite a complex plot.I will definitely read more by this author, this was a very surprising, very good book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Twist of Faith [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    For those readers who care about such things, this book contains foul language. Unfortunately the 5-star review does not mention that fact. Had I known in advance, I would have selected another "First Reads" offering.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Drawn from a close review of his extensive diaries, this biography paints a chilling picture of a narcissistic yet brilliant propagandist who was psychologically dependent on Hitler in nearly every respect. I was particularly intrigued by the belief toward the end that a separate peace was achievable in either the west or east but Hitler refused to pursue these opportunities. Well researched and written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Joseph Goebbels is a fascinating figure. He is the man at the helm of one of the largest and most successful mind-control organizations ever developed, and yet as dependent as a puppy to receive praise from his master. Goebbels was a man whose use of mass media was ahead of his time, but his personality was a mix of total evil and the jealousies and needs of a child.=== The Good Stuff ===* This book is almost completely based upon the private diary of Joseph [email protected]#$%!&ler’s Minister of Propaganda. This has its good and bad points. At first, Goebbels is a fairly honest and forthright chronicler of his own life, and is honest about his experiences, successes and shortcomings. He relates details of his own coming-of-age, his thoughts on suicide, and his difficulties as a poor student and romantic. As the book moves into the events of the National Socialists seizing power, and the Second World War, Goebbels becomes much less reliable and self-delusional. Still, the entire journey is a fascinating read.* Peter Longerich edits the diaries with a very light hand- or at least seems to. I suspect that the originals contain many pages of rambling text, but the published version comes across as reasonably precise and well-ordered. Longerich, for the most part, keeps the diary information in chronological order, which unfortunately means that individual threads are often choppy and incomplete. In other words you have to read the book with quite a few active story-lines running concurrently.* Most important of all, the book allows you to glimpse into the mind of Goebbels. For example, the master manipulator of millions of people was himself easy fodder for Hitler’s power and control games. We see Goebbels, who thinks himself a key player in the Third Reich government, regularly being excluded from major decisions-(such as attacking the Soviet Union) and instead, spending his time prioritizing the playlist for state-run radio shows. His descent into denial and an almost fantasy-like state is well captured as he pins hopes for victory on promises that he knows, or should know, are fiction.* The book is very well referenced, so that if you have an interest, you can probably track down Longerich’s chain of thought. The diaries are not presented in Goebbels’ own voice, but are summarized and condensed by the author-which probably makes them slightly less accurate but infinitely more readable for us amateur historians. While the book is quite long, and occasionally overly detailed, it more than held my interest.=== The Not-So-Good Stuff ===* The book is not a stand-alone book. If this is the only book you read on the politics and leadership of the Third Reich, you will come away disappointed. The flip-side of Longerich’s minimal editing is that there are a lot of details left for the reader to fill in. For example, Goebbels presents a very one-sided view of his relations with Albert Speer and Herman Goring. His views don’t track at all with more accepted history and memoirs of these two men. Longerich leaves the reader on his own to understand and sort through these conflicting accounts, and does not provide a lot of guidance or hints at other points-of-view.* My biggest disappointment, though, was with Dr. Goebbels himself. I just expected the man who could influence the thinking of millions of people to be a shrewd judge of character, a penetrating analyst of other people, and a man capable of well-thought out plans with long-term goals. Goebbels comes across as none of these, especially in his later years. Many of his observations border on naïve and Hitler manipulates him quite easily and openly. Goebbels flutters around from one project to the next, often with little to show for it. Much of his “leadership” is really the politics of jealousy and rivalry.=== Summary ===This is a long book, and took me a few days to read- something quite unusual. It was interesting and well-written, so it was easy to pick up-but to really appreciate the book required some “thinking” time between reading sessions.I would recommend this book to anyone who considers themselves a “serious” consumer of WWII history. If you enjoyed other memoirs and histories of WWII, this will make a nice addition to your mental library. If you are a very casual fan of WWII history, I think much of the conflict and drama inherent in the book will pass by you without your noticing.Longerich ends the book with a summary of his own thoughts and observations, which to be honest I skimmed over. I had too much time spent in my own analysis to read someone else’s, at least right now. In a few weeks I will go back and finish the last l things considered, I very much enjoyed the book, and am glad I spent the time to read it. It provides many new avenues for my amateur historian musings on the coming winter nights.=== Disclaimer ===I was able to read an advance copy through the courtesy of Netgalley and the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I was conflicted about whether to give this book 3.5 or 5 stars, and finally opted for a four-star review. Please see my reasoning ason for a five-star review: Longerich has written probably the most comprehensive biography to date of Joseph Goebbels. The author has conducted meticulous research, going through all of Goebbels' diaries and putting together a detailed accounting of the propaganda minister's thoughts and concerns. two aspects of the biography I found most interesting were 1) Goebbels was not as close a confidante of Hitler's as history has led us to believe, and 2) much of his proximity to Hitler resulted from Hitler and Magda (Goebbels' wife) having a very close and possibly intimate relationship. Longerich's book brings Goebbels to life through the man's diaries, and is invaluable for anyone studying the propaganda minister and/or the political machinations within the Nazi ason for a 3.5-star review: While Longerich's book is an excellent scholarly work, it is long and tedious if one is interested in a more leisurely historical read. I found myself skipping over entire chapter segments that went into details about gauleiter gatherings or other such topics. While in no way should this be viewed as a detraction of the book, I do want to warn the readers ahead of time so they are aware.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    This is an excellent book and a real page turner. I also read Heinrich Himmler by the same author. This book really delves into the personality of Goebbels and his relationship with Hitler and how Goebbels sees himself. Fascinating!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I'm enjoying this rather complete biography of Goebels- early years, romantic experiences, political developments and friendship with Hitler. It's well written and very detailed.with many pages still to go.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I am only about one fourth of the way through the book but it is very interesting. Since I have read many books about Hitler and his various evil partners this book, about Goebbels, ties various questions I still had after many readings by different authors over the years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    A very comprehensive study of Goebbels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    One of the great biographys in the trilogy of the Nazi experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Excellent reading on the subject of the Ministry of Propaganda and Enlightenment during the Third Reich era. Great reading for history buffs!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Goebbels: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Definitive book on Goebbels. A very detailed account and I enjoyed it greatly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biography: Alexander Hamilton [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    I enjoyed reading this book as it covers all phases of life of Alexander Hamilton. Everything is explained very clearly in this book. I get knowledge about his education and his way to come in politics. He is one of the founding father of America. As described in this book, his speaking skills were to good on the topic of Need for Revolution. There was great role of Alexander Hamilton in ratifying the constitution. He also greatly contributed in Quasi War. Author also discuss about Jon Jay Treaty.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    seopressor-2 brand-new-february-2013 GHOST STORIES: Compilation of horrifyingly... how-to-beat-fibromyalgia-and-chronic... Love Does%253A Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World how-to-make-money-on-craigslist resale-rights-bootcamp black panther: world of wakanda (2016-2017) the stonekeeper (amulet earn-40 internet-marketing-affiliate-marketing Stylish Name Maker - Name Art Candy Selfie Pro - AR Selfie Beauty Camera 2018 MeshCanvas: Restickable wall canvas & photo board Zoom Hd Camera Pj Catboy Masks Photo Editor Bitcoin BTC Crypto Currency Converter - Learn Bitcoin Price ES Electroneum Faucet The Hope App ES Verge Faucet Survival MoneyBook Bitso SmartBank Mobile Banking BancorpSouth Mobile Venezuela Econ 1Money - expense tracker, money manager, budget South Shore Bank FFCU Cards Westlake MyAccount Brazos Valley Schools CU Stewart Property Profiles Plus Cinema - YouTube TV Video Maker For Youtube, Music, Intro Pigeon Video Star app for Android Advice VideoStar Maker Guide MadLipz New 2018 Reproductor TV Chilena Play TV JS USB OTG Subiaco Academy 100 Famous English Stories Figure - Algebra MySPPS St Paul Schools Geary County Schools Highbrow WSCA Conferences Lake Oswego Schools JSCC Connect LiveCoach Olathe Public Schools EMS Today 2018 Vancouver Public Schools Hillsboro School District Apocalypse City. MCPE map : Furnished Apartments & Rooms Johny Johny Yes Papa Nursery Rhyme - offline Video Shieldren for parents Pregnancy tracker app Barcode to Sheet Icon Extras Automatic Call Recorder Pro Anveo Mobile for Dynamics® NAV Local Services ads by Google Synduit Accurence CNAC SME events app CDS Midwinter Meeting Go Trashy - Junk Removal UCMS Slotomania Slots - Casino Slot Games You Must Build A Boat Speed Antivirus Virus Cleaner & Booster - MAX Antivirus Master Super Fast Booster Viva Blast Tap Roll For It! 100 РIZZА RЕСIРЕS: Mаkе уοur οwn sсrumрtiοus rесiреs'A=0 warrior master-resale-rights-d Thresholds: 7 un-forum-pour-en-finir-vite-avec-les-probleme Warriors: A Vision of Shadows Outline Your Novel: The How To Guide for Structuring and Outlining Your Novel (Writer to Author Book 3) Guilt & Galaxy Cake: A Culinary Cozy Mystery (Comfort Cakes Cozy Mysteries Book 2) Harry's Bar: The Life and Times of the Legendary Venice Landmark Deep Learning, Vol. 1: From Basics to Practice Fence #4 Black Butler #137 (Black Butler Serial) Batman (2016-) #41 Dragon's Curse (Heir of Dragons: Book 2) Whoosh Went the Wind! Rise of the Youpreneur: The Definitive Guide to Becoming the Go-To Leader in Your Industry and Building a Future-Proof Business The Unlimited Mind: Master Critical Thinking, Make Smarter Decisions, And Be In Control Of Your Life The Common Good The Purpose Is Profit: The Truth about Starting and Building Your Own Business David Lynch: The Man from Another Place (Icons) The Food Explorer: The True Adventures of the Globe-Trotting Botanist Who Transformed What America Eats

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter