The Heir of Douglas: The Scandal That Rocked Eighteenth-Century England: A True Story' Reviews & Opinions


Submit The Heir of Douglas: The Scandal That Rocked Eighteenth-Century England: A True Story' review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Heir of Douglas: The Scandal That Rocked Eighteenth-Century England: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    Too repetitive. Confusing to hold up with because author kept going back. I realize she was telling what various people found trying to prove the case for the heir but it bewildered me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Heir of Douglas: The Scandal That Rocked Eighteenth-Century England: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    Was Archibald Douglas Steuwart the rightful Heir of Douglas? The Douglas Cause was one of the greatest civil cases in 18th Century England. Litigation took over seven years, starting in 1761. The legal suit played out over Scotland, England and France, at astounding costs, creating a social feeding frenzy. People chose sides, bets were bald, Duke of Douglas, was jealous of his sister Lady Jane Douglas. The Duke harbored resentment toward her and killed a soldier who showed an interest in her. The Duke and Lady Jane parted ways, Jane now lived on a little stipend provided by the Douglas solicitors. It is no wonder that when Jane married adventurer Colonel John Steuwart, the Duke did not reconcile with his sister. Childless and elderly, the Duke required to settle his fortune. Since Lady Jane birthed twin boys on July 10, 1748 in Paris, the elder son, Archie, was next in line to become Heir of Douglas. Duke Archibald was determined to prevent this occurrence by all means available. The Duke's cousin of Hamilton now had a son, small Lord Douglas Hamilton. Perhaps he could inherit instead.Duke Archibald maintained that despite the fact that Lady Jane was pregnant, at the advanced age of 48, there was sketchy documentation of the delivery of twin boys. He called Lady Jane and Colonel John pretenders and schemers. Gossip circulated that Archie and his sickly brother, Sholto, were "purchased" from poverty stricken parents seeking a better life for their sons. While weaker son Sholto died, Archie thrived. Jane continued to create overtures to her brother, but, still harboring resentment, the Duke refused to see Jane and baby Archie and requests fell upon deaf e Douglas Cause brought forth mind boggling discrepancies and lack of exactness in recording or recalling prior events. Some lost documents were reconstructed from memory where originals were lost. Despite signing affidavits, witnesses misremembered times and places. The Douglas judicial squad jockied for position versus the Hamilton contingent supporting the right of inheritance of Lord Douglas Hamilton. Barristers sifted through a voluminous number of documents. This scandal and its resolution is still questionable today. "The Heir of Douglas: The Scandal That Rocked Eighteenth-Century England: A Real Story" by Lillian de la Torre was a thoroughly researched, detailed treatment of an eighteenth century notorious case.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    This book is a slice of history. It is interesting to note that the book was first published in 1945, and that Mr. Skousen was an FBI agent tasked by J. Edgar Hoover to write a report on the FBI. The original title, "The Story of the Federal bureau of Investigation," has been reprinted and distributed a lot of times e stories involve a lot of of the "big names" in crime, from John Dillinger to "Baby Face" Nelson to the Barker-Karpis Gang. Mr. Skousen also contains a chapter on the Lindbergh Kidnapping. Each story info the crimes as well as the efforts of the FBI to bring each criminal to fascinating aspect of the book is the author's prose. Perhaps it was due to one of Hoover's goals (to teach the youth that it was their job "to clean up America"). The info are written with the flavor of a pulp fiction novel, and the descriptions are filled with the slang terms of the day. For me, this kept the book interesting rather than nothing more than a compilation of dry commended reading for anyone interested in this zone of crime history.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Heir of Douglas: The Scandal That Rocked Eighteenth-Century England: A True Story' or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The Heir of Douglas: The Scandal That Rocked Eighteenth-Century England: A True Story' video reviews and related movies:

    See Michaelrood.tv on youtube.

     related image

    See Did You Know 3 on youtube.

     related image

    See Mansfield Park Audiobook by Jane Austen | Full audiobook with subtitles | P1 of 2 on youtube.

     related image

    See PBS NewsHour full episode February 21, 2018 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Always amazing information. Factual and gives amazing info into crime and what is wrong with the times were are in today as well. History repeats itself and reading this is a amazing example of that phenomena.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Short and to the point......I Liked the book, want the stories was longer but otherwise it was really a amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Kindle book was badly printed. It would have the same passage on the next page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    y and entertaining read. Interesting part of history how and why the FBI was started. Fresh info you won't hear elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Kept reading and waiting for it to obtain better. Blah.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Most enlightening background tales of the 1920's 30's and 40's notorious Chicago crime moguls.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    informative

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Stories from the Files of the FBI: True Stories of John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Machine Gun Kelly and More review [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    Having been raised in the midwest I especially enjoyed learning of several towns and cities I personnally have visited. I'm from Minnespolis and the local history here and in St Paul, Wisconsin, and Kansas Town doesn't cover the period with as much detail!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    All over the place! I am 56% through this book and I am overly annoyed with the back story and beyond of each person, town, newspaper, etc in this book. It's just too much for me. Deleting this book from my kindle and moving on.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Having been in Boston and driving around some of the same roads and areas........haunting. Yet part of me wonders how much poet license was used in some cases in the book? Still loved it though. Couldn't obtain enough. So sorry for the victims and the families. How one man could change the history of Boston.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    This was a amazing portrayal of the story that shook Boston.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    DEADLY GREED BY JOE SHARKEYI received this digital copy from the Publisher: Begin Street Media, Net Galley and Joe Sharkey in exchange for an honest and fair review. I want to extend my thanks to all of the above.I love Joe Sharkey's writing. I recently reviewed Above Suspicion and loved it. I requested this one because on October 23, 1989 I was following the media circus that divided a city. I really admire Joe Sharkey's writing. He wrote a column for The Fresh York Times for nineteen years and also was an assistant editor for The Wall Road Journal. He writes his narratives with a sharp observation for detail. At the time of this crime, I was working in Boston and my colleagues and I were shocked by the outrage of the crime and Charles Stuart had fooled us all. The police, the media and the people of Boston.On October 23, 1989 after leaving Brigham and Women's Hospital where I also gave birth to my youngest son a lot of years later, Charles and Carol Stuart it was reported where robbed at gunpoint. I was working in Boston at this time. Carol who was seven month's pregnant had just left this globe respected hospital after attending prenatal classes to prepare for the birth of their first child, a boy named Christopher who was taken by emergency C-Section following a fatal shooting of Carol. Carol was loved by all who knew her and was a successful tax attorney. Carol dreamed of having a family and was ecstatic to be having her first child. Charles wanted Carol to have an abortion. Charles shot Carol in the head that fateful night. He then was planning to shoot himself, when Carol lunged for him and he was gravely injured when she bumped the gun and the bullet pierced his intestines. Carol did not die immediately and Charles drove to an abandoned zone waiting for Carol to arles told detectives that an African American robbed them then shot Carol and shot Charles last. The time that it took Carol to die, the baby was deprived of oxygen and did not live long. Charles had everybody fooled when he created up a false description of the perpetrator. For six weeks police did not good things to the Black community. Some people didn't believe Charles's story. An armed person is usually going to shoot the husband first. The Media further fed into this lie and there were a lot of Black men falsely accused and it caused racial relations to divide. Charles had the nation convinced that it was somebody else that randomly robbed and killed Carol and the three pound baby.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Having been an avid fan of Joe Sharkey's books, ABOVE SUSPICION and DEATH SENTENCE (and having rated them both five stars), I am extremely disappointed with this recent book, DEADLY GREED: The Riveting Real Story of the Stuart Murder Case. Riveting it is not.Unfortunately, it seems as though Sharkey doesn't have enough true story material to build a book around and uses all kinds of bizarrely similar material as filler. The book even starts out ever, the real crime story the book is based on is interesting and perhaps could have been riveting if written nerally speaking, this author tends to contain a lot of extraneous detail in his books, and he's gone over the top on this r example, at 57 per cent of the method through the book, the murder has just taken place. Yet there's been small substance given to the actual stead, there's a lot of info on the history of Boston and applicable suburbs. Also included is a plethora of newspaper articles, quoted in their entirety, on the escalating crime rate in the town of Boston at that time, as well as background on the local newspapers themselves since their inception. Then once the murder takes place, Sharkey contains the newspaper articles about the crime. By that point the reader starts to feel mentally unhinged.I recognize Sharkey is attempting to convey the racial tensions and escalating violence occurring in Boston during the period preceding and following the crime. Additionally, he's reflecting how the media frenzy fed the arrest of the wrong suspect. However, one or two quoted articles or a brief synopsis would have been sufficient.Even with regard to different book characters' background info Sharkey goes back so a lot of generations that it is simple to lose track of whose history is being en Sharkey presents a long, detailed background on an Afro-American man that finally becomes relevant to the story 3/4ths of the method through the book. So the reader initially gets the impression this person will perhaps end up commiting the crime, which doesn't prove to be the a frequent reader of real crime, all of the meandering storyline and surplus of meaningless info is both frustrating and irritating to wade through, and it greatly diminishes the actual real crime story. In fact, the victims of the story totally obtain lost in the arkey may think all that drivel created a RIVETING story, but it is mind numbing. Unfortunately, he didn't realize that in real crime books like this, "less is more," especially as it pertains to supplemental material.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    In 1989 in Boston, MA, Charles "Chuck" Stuart, a vain, insecure, narcissistic, and superficial man, shot his 8-months-pregnant wife, Carol, to death in the front seat of their car. The motive seems to have been that, wanting to begin a restaurant, Chuck weighed the pros and cons of the loss of his lawyer-wife's income when she quit to stay home with the baby vis-à-vis the loss of his wife and baby while receiving the concomitant payouts from different insurance policies, and chose the insurance. This would additionally let him to continue to drape himself in outrageously expensive clothes and jewelry as well as to buy a fresh car, stuff he felt he deserved and were important to prove to those he wanted to impress that he was "quality".Chuck was not entirely stupid and he planned the murder so that it coincided with a panicked white Bostonian reaction to a dramatic upsurge in drug similar crime in the black community. One night after a birthing class near some housing projects, Chuck (having enlisted some backup support from his stoner brother) drove into the projects, killed his wife, and called the cops and reported that they had been carjacked, robbed, and shot by a black male. He also shot himself as he had planned to, but not very successfully in that he caused serious hurt to his intestinal tract and endured a lengthy hospital e newspapers, meanwhile, hopped all over Chuck's story like flies on a pile of cowflop, bemoaning the senseless violence and demanding that Boston be created once again safe, a concern that somehow seemed less concerning when it was only blacks shooting other blacks. The police rousted up black teenagers and threatened them with prison unless they concocted stories which coincided with the scenario they (the cops) had built around the man they'd decided was responsible and eventually arrested, a violent con named Willie Bennett.Unfortunately for everyone but Carol's family as well as Bennett himself, Stuart's story gradually fell apart, and everyone involved grudgingly and insincerely apologized to Bennett and the black citizens. The story plays out from e book is DEADLY GREED by Joe Sharkey. This is the third - and third perfect - of Sharkey's real crime books I've read, and, as in the others, he proves himself a fine writer and outstanding researcher. There is, importantly, considerable background material on the ere is also an occasional flaw in this one. That is that Sharkey, like so a lot of writers of the genre, too often knows what dead people are saying to each other, what they are thinking, how they are feeling. This is not a constant in this book but in my opinion, the absolute best real crime does not permit this technique at all. And as opposed to the hacks who are untalented enough that they regularly commit omniscience, Sharkey doesn't need to do this. In fact he proves it where, in perhaps the ultimate climactic stage in the book, Sharkey writes that a wrong turn "would definitely have gotten Carol's attention", and that, "Now Carol would have been alarmed." This kind of exposition is so much superior to the other in that Sharkey, rather than stating something he has no method of knowing, relies on well-founded and reasonable conjecture. Unfortunately he then reverts - in the same section - to stating that the reason Chuck created such a mess of shooting himself was that, "Just as he went to pull the trigger, something went terribly wrong. Carol seemed to lunge toward him and the force of her body pushed his elbow forward, causing his hand to shift position just as he fired." Ridiculous! With both participants being dead, Sharkey has absolutely no method of knowing this, and as far as I can see no basis for this kind of conjecture. It feels false and, in an apparent attempt to add drama, actually detracts from the most dramatic stage in the ADLY GREED is still very amazing real crime despite its flaws, and in addition it includes some beautiful interesting racial sociology. It struggles to do so, but I believe it reaches the 5 star level and I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    I remember when it happened and wondered about this tragic story.. will never understand how someone could do something like that. He could've had a attractive life with a attractive family, instead he destroyed the lives around him. Wonderful real sad story. Why? Guess "Deadly Greed" is a fitting title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Very in depth book about the Charles Stuart case. Very engrossing, took you deep inside the lives of Carol, Charles and Willie..I remember when this happened and kept up with it in the news, but there was much more to this story than was known. This is one of the best real crime books I have read. Thanks to Netgalley for the advanced reading copy in return for my honest review ..I highly recommend this book for all real crime fans!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Where was the humanity in this brutal murder. How do a couple live in marriage without a clue portrayed by a spouse of a murderous plot. No remorse and not capable of remorse. Read this to explore the truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deadly Greed: The Riveting True Story of the Stuart Murder Case, Which Rocked Boston and Shocked the Nation review [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    This book was first published in 1991, and now there is a revised and updated Kindle ver that has an epilogue; telling what has happened since 1991 to some of the people involved in the story. Joe Sharkey is a amazing real crime writer, but his story left me wondering. Why? Greed may be part of the reason that Chuck Stuart killed his pregnant wife, but there had to be much deeper psychological type things going on in the man's mind and life, things that should have been explored. Mr. Sharkey did do an perfect job, though, of exploring and explaining how racism in Boston shaped this story; making it not only a murder story, but one of disgraceful discrimination and prejudice.(Note: I received a free e-ARC of this book from NetGalley and the publisher or author.)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    I gave it a 5 star, because the book kept me engrossed. I am still wondering how much more vile can humans be. I blame Gert for instigatinf the vile things done to Silvia, but everyone else is just as guilty. If you wish to know evil, read this book. Amazing writting!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    As a young girl living in Indiana I can remember my mom talking about this case. I can also remember how mad my mom was when she was granted parole. After reading this I can understand why mom was so cautious about allowing my siblings and I to go to houses of people she didn't know. Such a sad and terrifying story. I loved and hated reading it at the same time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    This book was very well written I actually felt like I was inside the house observing what was going on. It was very well researched and the girls story got told.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    The history of this case was very well researched. This book is not for the heavily empathic, though. Mr. Green goes very deeply into the mind of the victim, and what is believed to be what she experienced in her final weeks of life. You have been warned! I wad crying in pain by the time I had finished reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    I have to start with this tale is truly not for the faint of heart. While reading this, you may feel sick to your stomach and wish to slam your choice of reader and never begin this book again.Ryan searches truly searches for real crime in locations we may not have expected. He continues to bring us tales of humans performing horrible acts to our fellow man. His work continues to evolve but what I have fun most, is that he does not have a formula that he follows with each rture Mom is told from the point of view of Jenny and Sylvia who have come to live with Ma - Gertrude Baniszewski by method of carny parents who basically abandon them with Gert for $20 per week. Before meeting Sylvia and Jenny, we learn how Gert begins her journey as an isolated child, segregated from her family by the death of her father, who only finds solitude as she ages in having children. While she may not have experienced the greatest upbringing or marriage life, nothing really points to the torture and abuse she brings upon two young girls that she takes in to “help.” The complete lack of human empathy or the primary knowledge of what is right and wrong is completely thrown out the window when it comes to these two young girls.While I felt for Gert in the beginning, it slowly turns to despise as we start to see everything through the eyes of Sylvia. Sylvia literally becomes Gert’s human torture doll and it is sickening. I became so emotionally involved in this story,I felt like I was there for each tortuous moment, helplessly witnessing every vulgar act to the point where i can feel my stomach turning, pushing everything into my throat to be exiled ide from the lack of responsibility Gert took for her actions to Sylvia and Jenny but her influence amongst the youth that entered her home and brainwashing, these kids were not aware that they too were being abused by a trusted adult.Disappointment may be what truly comes from this tale. Disappointment in our justice system but also for an entire community of people who saw the signs of neglect but turned a blind eye to it all. Ryan does not disappoint with his delivery of Torture Mom, if only Hollywood endings happened in true life though.​

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    This book was irresistible, even though a part of me felt like one of those people who peers at vehicle wrecks and/or wakes the children up at 2 AM to go walk down the road and watch somebody's home burn to the ground. It is beautifully written, but I sure cannot say I "LIKE" it because of the story... the real story, about Sylvia Likens, her too-short life, and the hideous monster who calls herself a woman and dares to take cash for "taking care of children"! I would never call her an "animal" though; why insult animals?!It p1$$ed me off immensely, to the point that I want I had that hateful monster in front of me; I'd be tempted to do a bit of lethal injecting on my own, but instead would send her out and create her serve a FULL life sentence. This book broke my heart, to the point where I had to set it aside for a while and go read a sappy romance novel... but of course I couldn't stay away for more than a couple hours. The book is addicting.I consider this an necessary book! If I could afford to do it I would send copies of it all over... to every PD in every city in my state, to all kid service social workers, teachers, nurses and physicians.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    I believe I saw a ver of this on a TV program. This book is much more detailed but, for me, too subjective. I think that real crime stories should stick to the facts and not contain sections on how the victim felt since no one really knows that for certain. I am sure this girl did suffer during and after the treatment she received who can say exactly how she reacted and how she felt about it. My advice: stick to the facts and show them objectively.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    I was given a free ebook copy of this book in return for an honest me say that truth can be stranger than fiction. This is definitely so in the case of this book, which deals with truths so harrowing, that they are far stranger and painful than fiction to read. The author writes very engagingly, and with added insights into the main characters in this lvia and her sister Jenny Likens are left in the "care" of Gertrude Baniszewski, while their parents work the carnival circuit. The two girls are both normal, average, nice girls. However, it soon becomes obvious that Gertrude has taken a powerful and psychotic dislike to Sylvia. Gertrude does everything in her power to ensure that Sylvia is mercilessly tortured, both physically and mentally. She seems to have an almost hypnotic power over her own kids and the a lot of neighbourhood kids who frequently visit the dilapidated house; she actively encourages them to take part in hurting and humiliating Sylvia. When support does finally arrive, it is, alas, too ing this real acc in such engaging and descriptive words broke my heart. It created me want I had been an angel or a super character back then; so that I could have rescued not good Sylvia and her sister Jenny.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    I am an avid real crime reader and I could not finish this book. It wasn't because it was poorly written, it was because of the detailed description of the torture Sylvia Likens went Green has researched and wrote a book like no other and described in detail the horror of an evil woman and the impact she had on several lives . Gertrude was a sadistic woman who should have suffered the same depths as both the Likens girls , esp Sylvia. To contain your own kids and their mates in such extreme abuse and mutilation of a human being goes beyond anyone I have read about.I believe hell has a reservation for her.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Torture Mom: A Chilling True Story of Confinement, Mutilation and Murder (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    This book really threw me. Allow me begin by saying right up front that I am a large fan of Ryan Green's real crime books, and I have read and thoroughly enjoyed everything he has published. I approached "Torture Mom" with that kind of enthusiastic anticipation. As with all of his other books, I found this to be extremely fast-paced, meticulously researched, and deeply immersive. As usual, he sucks you right in from the first pages and propels you into a wild ride through a literal House of Horrors. Nothing is obscured in the shadows to fly out and startle you like most Horrorhouse rides --- this ride is brightly lit with facts and research, so you are deeply aware the whole time that the creatures are flesh and blood. Before you know it the ride is over and you're blinking in the sudden sunshine with your head spinning and adrenaline coursing through your system, feeling a bizarre desire to take the ride again (or at least to learn more about the things you just experienced). The topic matter in Torture Mom was extremely chilling -- horrifying even -- and Green manages to bring the reader in just close enough to hear the victim's screams and imagine the pain and humiliation she must have felt every moment of those latest weeks and months of her life. There is something in the almost matter-of-fact method he catalogs these horrors that makes you experience them more intensely than you would with the overwrought, drama-enhanced writing you search in some real crime books. As with his other books, I felt every one of these things as I was reading this recent story.But as I read further into the startling acc of the tortures and brutality that were inflicted on this young girl for absolutely no reason at all, I found myself pulling back, which I've never done with his books before. First, the tortures just...kept...going, getting worse and worse on every page, day after hellish day. And it wasn't just the evil, older female antagonist doing it, but then other children --- friends, family, schoolmates, some barely out of single-digits --- started torturing her over and over as well. These were the kind of horrific abuses you read about the Nazis or the Kempeitai doing to prisoners during WWII, and I'm supposed to believe that an old lady and a bunch of American children did this to one of their peers after school, over and over again, day after day? And no one in the community noticed or did anything at all to stop it until after it killed her? The ongoing, ever-escalating nightmare was just so relentless and pervasive that I simply started not believing it. I actually muttered "Oh come on -- there's no way!" a few times out loud as I was reading deeper into this guided tour through hell. The book was losing me, and once that skepticism crept in I found it difficult to read further with an begin mind. I actually place the book down unfinished and was considering starting another.But because I know this writer's work --- and have actually been interested enough in his topics to investigate further into the true life stories they are based on, and found his accounts to be factually on the nose every time -- I started poking around on the internet for the facts of the Torture Mom case instead of starting a fresh book. To my surprise, I found scores of articles, videos, and private accounts of this case and the numerous trials and prison sentences that followed, and quickly realized that the story was not only all real but had actually become quite famous. After learning that all of this really happened in Indianapolis, Indiana precisely the method Green lays it out, I started reading Torture Mom from the beginning, and it was a very various experience. It feels strange to say I "enjoyed" reading a true, detailed acc of one of the most brutal cases of individual torture in US history. But, yeah --- I actually enjoyed reading it from beginning to end this time. If you are interested enough in this topic, author or the real crime genre itself to have read this far into this long review, I hasten to say you might very well have fun it too. It certainly affected and involved me more intensely and in more surprising ways than almost any other book of its kind has in a long time. It is not for the faint of heart -- it'll be hard looking at anyone smoking a cigarette without wincing for a long time afterward -- but if you approach it with the assurance that even the craziest parts are actually true, I think it could obtain under your skin in the best possible way, just like it did with me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    I look forward to a fresh release by Mr. Green because I know I will read a book unlike anyone else has written, and that's what keeps me coming back. I have heard of this psycho but when it is written in a various perspective, it's like reading about something entirely various than what you thought you is man is a real sicko, the fact that he killed & buried bodies where his family lived , played etc is exactly what nightmares are created of. The normalcy of what he portrayed to others is more disgust . This type of murderer should be the most feared.I can't even grasp what this creature thought & here is Mr Green putting his view into what most likely occurred in Herbs head, utterly frightening.Well wrote, thank you again for frightening me just a small , lol.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    Ryan does it again and this is fascinating. Delving into the mind of maybe the most prolific serial assassin in Indiana (they still don't know how a lot of he really killed), Green's research creates a portrait of Herb Baumeister. From his early attempts to his final kills, Baumeister was a wolf in sheep's clothing. Highly respected for his business acumen, he was the latest person a lot of suspected would ever do something like this. Indeed, the idea that he killed in a dozens of ways, moving away from the serial assassin stereotype that they have one way and they stick to it, presents an intriguing aspect to the story. If you like real crime, I believe you will have fun this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    Very well written and captivating was totally immersed in this book very amazing paced and exciting. Well worth your time to read. Highly recommend you obtain this book it will not disappoint! Ryan Green is a very talented author! I have read several of his books and enjoyed it one very much!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    Very interesting read. Contained info I'd not previously heard so well worth the read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    of myself for reading this romantic tribute to a serial killer. I was quite familiar with the case through the media and thought from the high reviews I would be reading something close to what happened. What I got were breathless, sexually charged scenes that NO ONE could substantiate given that all the victims and the murderer are dead. This is the first real crime book I have read in which the author is clearly projecting his own fantasties onto the sadistic murder scenes. Each happening starts out with breathless anticipation not unlike a romance novel only to end after the author has totally exhausted his voyeuristic tendencies and moves on to fantasize about this horrible serial killer's next imagined encounter. This book is not a real crime book ... it is real crime erotica. if you choose to read it have a hot shower and plenty of soap to wash off the grime left behind.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    I LOVE the method Ryan Green writes. He writes unlike any other author I have ever read. He leaves out all the insignificant riff-raff and stays on point. So a lot of of the real crime books I've read (and I've read a LOT) are crammed with "filler" material. I just wish to know the story - from beginning to end, and that's exactly how Ryan tells it. Straight, and to the point. (I also have fun reading a book that has no typos. You don't search that too often. I don't know if he self edits or has an editor, but whoever is editing his books is doing a amazing job.) I have enjoyed all of his books, and the part that excites me the most is that he gets better with every e stories Ryan tells are always fascinating. I can't start to imagine how difficult it must be to test to obtain into the heads of some of the most depraved serial assassins of our time and assume their role. Yet somehow, Ryan does it, and he does it very well. "You Think You Know Me" is the story of Herb Baumeister, from Indiana, who was murdering during the 80s and 90s. Honestly, no one knows how long Herb was active, or how a lot of lives he took. He is definitely one of the most prolific serial assassins of all time. I just thought Ted Bundy was bad. Ted had nothing on Herb. Herb was a real psychopath. A very, very sick, twisted, evil man. The things he thought were "funny", and the things he did "for pleasure" were disgusting, sickening and highly disturbing. I was shocked when I Googled Herb's picture after reading the book. Read it first, then look. You'll be surprised, too.Ryan will grab your interest from the first sentence of the Introduction and keep it until the latest sentence of the Conclusion. (I read this in two sittings. I would've read it in one if I hadn't had to go to work.) Seriously, if you like real crime, or are fascinated by the human psyche, and what makes people tick (as I am), then you should really read the real crime books Ryan Green has written. You will not be disappointed. I can't wait for the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    This reads more like a writing exercise than a piece of nonfiction. It is woefully short on dates and Sources. The book describes scenes and crime in detail that have no evidentiary basis. It’s a factionalized account, not a work that meets any journalistic or investigative standard.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    So disappointing. There's not a not of info available on Herb Baumeister, so I was interested in getting some potentially new, in-depth research. This is mostly a work of fiction. Fanfiction. There are scenes that the author cannot possibly know occurred and they are often sexually graphic in nature.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    Book is really more of an extended "short story" (than a real book length account) of Baumeister's crime spree. Story moves very quick - and author's imagination in reconstructing murder scenes which left no witnesses, actually adds, rather than detracts, to the story. Although such creatvity is normally not an artifice that I appreciate in real crime accounts, it seemed to work here if for no other reason than it at least provided some context and insight into "the manipulation factor" that seems to be so prevalent in successful predators. Although being an avid real crime reader, this book was/is my first exposure to Baumeister that I can recall. I don't know whether this is due to an absence in the marketplace, or my own inattention, but his story has definitely stoked my curiousity to learn more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    You Think You Know Me: The True Story of Herb Baumeister and the Horror at Fox Hollow Farm (True Crime) review [Book]  2018-7-5 18:0

    ​Ryan brings to us the tale of Herb Baumeister, a serial assassin from Indiana. Herb's killing spree spanned almost 20 years into the mid 90's. I searched his name and when I saw his picture after reading Ryan's book, I was very shocked that this was the face of a serial assassin and the founder of Sav-A-Lot which is still in business today.I have read most of Ryan's work short a couple and over that time, his style has truly evolved. This one in particular reads more like a novel with a very fast ending but not so much do his style more so the choice on how Herb decides to end this story.What I really enjoy, is that Ryan picks stories that are not widely publicized, at least I have not seen much on this story but I do believe it stems from the fact that there are so a lot of unknowns or loose ends that remain to be open. Truly how a lot of victims did Herb have?What remains a constant with Ryan's work is that he brings to the reader the first person acc of the killer, in this case Herb Baumeister. As with most crimes of this nature, especially with Herb's decision to destroy evidence and take the simple method out, we close this book with so a lot of questions that will never be answered.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 3: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    I loved this book Ryan it was about crimes I had never heard of before. I was surprised that some of these people could not obtain the support they required until they committed such not good crimes it just goes to present how easily people can fall through the cracks of the mental health system. I look forward to reading your next book when it comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 3: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    Ryan Becker is growing powerful in the literary scene, a handsome young man with a penchant for the gruesome. His list of books to date are SERIAL KILLER: 200 Gruesome yet Fascinating Facts about Serial Killers, Book 1– ROBERT BERDELLA: The Real Story of a Man who Turned his Darkest Fantasies, Book 2 EDMUND KEMPER: The Real Story of the Brutal Co-ed Butcher, JEFFREY DAHMER: The Gruesome Real Story of a Hungry Cannibalistic Rapist and Necrophiliac Serial Killer, TRUE CRIME STORIES VOLUME 1: 12 Terrifying Real Crime Murder Cases, TRUE CRIME STORIES VOLUME 2: 12 Terrifying Real Crime Murder Cases, and now he presents TRE CRIME STORIES VOLUME 3: 12 Terrifying Real Crime Murder Cases. According to the biographical information, Ryan aims to write all the stories he has read and watched and letting himself be taken into the globe of real mysteries and psychological murder crime stories. He also wants to share his experience of his younger days with the readers on how he immersed himself with the dark reality of the world. He loves to tell a real story that will create you solve a puzzle on your mind. He is now living with his wife and two sons. Ideally, Ryan wants to leave a tag on the reader with his dark real crime stories. It is necessary to add that he succeeds!Ryan’s books tend to be more psychological dissections or autopsies of the minds of the murderers he reports. At book's inception he outlines the content - ‘Volume 3 is about assassin cannibals. Most of us could never take the life of another unless it were a situation of self-defense. If most people are incapable of taking the life of another human being, what kind of mind is willing to slay and eat another person? As you read Volume 3, you may be surprised to search out who these people are. In this volume, you will read about: Austin Harrouff: The Florida teenager who went berserk and ate a stranger’s face. Stanley Dean Baker: The hitchhiking hippie who carried human finger bones to chew on. Albert Fentress: The Fresh York teacher who killed a neighborhood boy and ate his body parts. Omaima Aree Nelson: The Egyptian beauty who created a rib dinner out of her American husband. Antron Singleton: The inspiring rapper who killed and ate a Los Angeles woman. Marc Sappington: The Kansas Town youth became known as the Kansas Town Vampire. Alex Kinyua: The brain-eating university student. Otty Sanchez: The Texas woman who’s voices led her to cannibalize her baby. Tyree Lincoln Smith: The Connecticut man who consumed the body of the man who woke him up. Joseph Oberhansley: The deeply troubled man who cooked and ate his girlfriend after she dropped him. Gregory Scott Hale: The depraved Tennessee man who wanted to be the next Night Stalker and took it too far. Joe Metheny: The 450 pound cannibal who served his victim’s flesh to the customers of his barbecue stand.’Very succinctly Ryan introduces these twelve murder cases, leaving no info to the imagination. Grisly but fascinating to read the manner in which Ryan approaches his topic matter. As he states at the end of the reported cases, ‘It’s not to say that using drugs or having mental illness leads to murder and cannibalism. A lot of people who have experienced either of these conditions do not commit such heinous crimes. However, some people have something about them, which when combined with mental illness or drug use, leads to them committing the extreme behavior that was explored in this book.’ And as a gift to the reader, Ryan adds his story about Jeffrey Dahmer - and what an exclamation that gesture offers!Ryan writes very well indeed and has found his niche in books that inform and create us shudder, avoiding ‘the things that go bump in the night.’ He is very rapidly becoming an authority on crime whose insight is exceptional. Grady Harp, November 17

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 3: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    I was provided this book for free for an honest review. This real crime book depicts some of the most evil men and women that exist in this earth, namely cannibals. There are 12 cases in this volume including sadistic, twisted and cruel murderers who then resorted to cannibalism to further defile their victims. Each of the 12 cases is more grotesque than the latest one. Several involve drugs, mental illness and sudden rage including voices in their heads telling them to murder and consume their victims. The majority are men but their were a couple incidences involving female cannibals. All of these cases are told with chilling accuracy by Ryan Becker and the grim info leave you shaking your head in disgust. Another horrifying real crime book from the master, Ryan Becker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 3: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    This is another unbelievable kindle edition concerning real crime, except in this it covers cannibalistic assassins and their victims. Ryan Becker is an perfect story teller in this genre and I recommend anything he writes, his work entices you and guarantees chills. I will look forward to more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 3: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    These stories are unfortunately true! They are unbelievable! I would have liked a small more psychological information! But they are still somewhat disgusting!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 3: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    Wow Real Crime at its best! Amazing writing! I look forward to reading more from Ryan Becker!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 3: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2017-11-19 18:0

    Another chilling read. Never knew there were so a lot of people like that out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Ryan Becker is growing powerful in the literary scene, a handsome young man with a penchant for the gruesome. His list of books to date are SERIAL KILLER: 200 Gruesome yet Fascinating Facts about Serial Killers, Book 1– ROBERT BERDELLA: The Real Story of a Man who Turned his Darkest Fantasies, Book 2 EDMUND KEMPER: The Real Story of the Brutal Co-ed Butcher, JEFFREY DAHMER: The Gruesome Real Story of a Hungry Cannibalistic Rapist and Necrophiliac Serial Killer, TRUE CRIME STORIES VOLUME 1: 12 Terrifying Real Crime Murder Cases, TRUE CRIME STORIES VOLUME 2: 12 Terrifying Real Crime Murder Cases, TRUE CRIME STORIES VOLUME 3: 12 Terrifying Real Crime Murder Cases and now he presents. TRUE CRIME STORIES VOLUME 4: 12 Terrifying Real Crime Murder Cases. According to the biographical information, Ryan aims to write all the stories he has read and watched and letting himself be taken into the globe of real mysteries and psychological murder crime stories. He also wants to share his experience of his younger days with the readers on how he immersed himself with the dark reality of the world. He loves to tell a real story that will create you solve a puzzle on your mind. He is now living with his wife and two sons. Ideally, Ryan wants to leave a tag on the reader with his dark real crime stories. It is necessary to add that he succeeds!Ryan’s books tend to be more psychological dissections or autopsies of the minds of the murderers he reports. At book's inception he outlines the content - ‘Welcome to Volume 4 of the Real Crime Series. In this volume, you will be treated to a look into the globe of spree killers. The U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics defines a spree assassin as someone who kills two or more people in multiple locations. Though their victims may have been killed in various locations, the killings of spree assassins are considered one happening because of the lack of a cooling down period. As in previous volumes of Real Crime, you will obtain the background history of each killer, info of their grisly crimes, and when applicable, info on their trial and sentencing. In this volume, you will read about: Jiverly Antares Wong: The Vietnamese immigrant who’s frustration with his unemployment spilled over, leading him to shoot up the Binghamton’s American Civic Association. Priscilla Ford: The 51-year-old woman who intentionally barreled down a Reno sidewalk in her Lincoln Continental and mowed down a crowd of pedestrians. Adam Lanza: The shooter behind the Sandy Hook Elementary School massacre. Brenda Spencer: The 16-year-old girl who’s nightmarish home environment led her to be the first mass shooter of a U.S. school. Jared Lee Loughner: The Arizona man whose downward spiral into mental illness led him to unleash a barrage of bullets during a political event. Seung Hui Cho: The Korean immigrant whose bizarre behavior at school led him to go on a bloody rampage at Virginia Tech. Charles Joseph Whitman: Whitman went from being an Eagle Scout, altar boy, a Marine, to becoming known as the man who carried out a bloodbath from his perch on top of the turret at the University of Texas. Tag Barton: The day trader, without a conscious, who shot up the financial firms that he worked at after suffering a major financial loss. Jennifer San Marco: One of the few female spree killers. San Marco’s escalatingerratic behavior led her to seek revenge on a neighbor and then at the mail processing center that she worked at. Michael Kenneth McLendon: The little city Alabama man, whose life was going nowhere. His respond to his dilemma was to gun down his family and relatives. Christopher Harper-Mercer: Tormented by his own mind, he entered his writing composition course at Umpqua Community College, and gunned the class down. Dana Ewell: The arrogant and privileged college student who wanted to be a multi-millionaire. When his millionaire father threatened his inheritance, he hired a roommate to execute his family.’Very succinctly Ryan introduces these twelve murder cases, leaving no info to the imagination. Grisly but fascinating to read the manner in which Ryan approaches his topic matter. As he states at the end of the reported cases, ‘Spree assassins are a sub-group of those assassins known as rampage killers, which also contains mass murderers. Characteristics of spree assassins feel they have been rejected by society; that the globe is out to obtain them. They lose their connection with the human family and feel like they are a failure in life; that their life is no longer worth living. A lot of of them develop a love for guns for the power they feel it gives them. They embark on a killing spree to end their own incessant suffering while at the same time fatally lashing out at those who they feel victimized by. It is for this reason that most spree assassins slay themselves when they have accomplished their goal. The reason why spree assassins are usually men is that our traditional societal norms tell us that a true man stands up for themselves. Because most spree assassins go through life feeling like a victim, taking a final stand lets them present the globe they are powerful. All the spree assassins profiled in this book share a common element; they never felt accepted in this world.’ And as a gift to the reader, Ryan adds his book about SERIAL KILLERS – 6 bloody fantasies Volume 1.Ryan writes very well indeed and has found his niche in books that inform and create us shudder, avoiding ‘the things that go bump in the night.’ He is very rapidly becoming an authority on crime whose insight is exceptional. Grady Harp, January 18

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I was provided this book for free for an honest review. Ryan Becker continues to write exceptional real crime books. In this recent book he covers speed assassins who feel that life and certain people have done them wrong. They are usually people who have a sense of low self esteem and wish to obtain back at those they feel have wronged them. Ryan covers several horrible school shootings, a work put shooting and a couple of family obliterations. As per his usual style, Ryan covers these cases with complete details, background Info and these cases create you cringe at the dastardly and diabolical killings. All of these assassins are real sociopaths and it is truly scary to think that there are so a lot of of them out there in the world. This is an perfect real crime book that is well worth reading for the real crime aficionados.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    How do I describe this author ? I don't remember how I had first came across his writings , but I'm certainly glad I did. He writes with his own style and puts into perspective the research he has comprehensively done into writing real crime stories that will hold the reader coming back for more . I am a follower of his & anticipate when his next novel will be out because I know it will be worth the time , & cash spent.He has accumulated once a work of serial spree assassins that I've not been aware of until I have read this book. I couldn't place it down , I had to know who was the next assassin Mr. Becker would emphasize on .Don't take my word, if you like real crime at one of its best , look no further. You will not be disappointed. Thank you again Mr Becker & I look forward to the next novel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I’ve been an avid reader of horrors, but recently begin watching ID and I’m addicted to murder/ crime shows. So, I decided to pick up a couple books in this fresh genre. This book was my very first book, and I can’t place it down. It’s about spree assassins who had a poor life prior to their decisions of shooting innocent people. Ryan starts each chapter of each murderer with their background history, info of the gruesome killings and some of their trial and sentencing. Thanks Ryan for getting me started as a fresh reader of your books. I’ve really have fun this book, and can’t wait to begin up his next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    You know I love these books! This time, however, I need to point out something. If these have been edited, fire that person. I will edit these for you. Yes, I have a college degree. Please let me to do this service for you. I bought this one and will buy them in the future, the fact that I can obtain it free is amazing but someone needs to create money. I believe more people will wish these books, but they need to be edited terribly so.. I had to be honest. It's the only method I know. Please pass this along. Also, I don't work, so I have the time to support you. Christy Riemenschneider.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I'm very addicted to all and everything Ryan Becker writes, his books are definitely worth the price if you don't obtain them free. They're always well written and you can tell he's done amazing research

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I just purchased this book and once i started reading it i wasnt able to place it down I love Ryan Beckers writing style i was amazed at how much detail he could fit into each and every one of these real stories i had never heard of half the serials assassins until reading this book Im proud to add Ryan Becker to my list of favorite authors and mate on fb and being an avid reader of his books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    More stories of true people who took lives for different reasons. Keeps you wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    These twelve stories are about mass murderers/spree assassins which contain some school shootings. They tell about people who have private problems and feel slighted and decide to deal out some payback. Although some of the victims are personal, most of them are strangers who were in the wrong put at the wrong time -- that is, in the path of a killer.26

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories Volume 4: 12 Terrifying True Crime Murder Cases (List of Twelve) review [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Amazing read. Besides a few grammatical and spelling errors, the stories hold you hooked and provides endless reading. Ryan Becker treats his characters like he knows them well and and gives it back to the reader in a concise way. 12 horrific cases in this kindle edition makes it hard to place down

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I just read this book in less than 24 hours, couldn't place it down! Her story is so relatable and well written I just breezed right through it. I loved her journey of love and self-discovery. Her narrative moves quickly and keeps you engaged. I could really relate to her yearning to live her life for herself, not just what she was "supposed" to do. Recently I had also created some decisions that have allowed me to focus my energy on what's truly important. So, I found this book validating and enlightening. I highly recommend this book for anyone looking for a amazing story and spiritual inspiration.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    This author sheds light on the real need for us to be equally yoked with our helpmate. Papa is faithful to provide, but we must place Him first. One simply cannot accept the Holy Spirit without yielding to It's cause, if one wants to live a full life. Thankfully, Mila was able to realize this, and being the Faithful One that Papa is, He gave her the desire of her heart, Wes, once they first opened their hearts to Him and His will. I pray their story doesn't end here! I pray they use the indwelling of the Holy Spirit within them to tell others of His amazing love! I pray they both see how amazing Papa God's love is, and that they spend every day telling others about it! Amazing read! Couldn't place the book down! Read it from cover to cover in one sitting! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    This book deserves 10 stars!! I love that Rebecca wrote this book from her heart and from her gut. I think she expressed just about all of the emotions that a woman can feel in a lifetime. I downloaded this unbelievable book on Friday as a effect of a very boring day at work and finished it Sunday after church. The title caught my eye because my husband uses the phrase "we're gonna be fine", especially when I'm quoting numbers from our bank account!!!! So, I told my him "sorry baby, can't watch golf... I've got to finish this book". I am 62 years old, but I felt like I was in my 20's again!! My heart ached, my feelings were hurt, I was mad for Mila! I love the method she used her trials to reconnect with our Lord. I love that she got her health back, I love that Wes came back to her, and I love that in the end she recognized and accepted the Love from the Greatest One of All...her Papa. A book well written. I am suffering from separation anxiety because of missing Mila and Wes now. Thanks for sharing Rebecca Rose. Blessings to you and your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I will begin with my theory on reading in general which is easy "No Book is for Everyone". That being said this book came at a amazing time in my life. It'll Be Fine is true and inspiring. Some days that phrase is hard to say, allow alone believe. The author was begin and honest about things that maybe some of us didn't wish to read about, but isn't that true life. My dad used to say when asked how he was "I'm amazing if you don't wish details". Well the author shared her details. In doing that she reminded me that life was messy, humbling, scary, and often spinning out of control and that I am not the only one who feels this way. So thanks for that reminder...and mostly that we aren't alone and that if we consistently seek to be a better person and hold the faith, then "It'll Be Fine" is a chance for our lives. I love that she didn't test to tell us it will be perfect...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I loved this book. Rebecca was extremely authentic and vulnerable with her story. She brought me to crushing tears, and then to elation for her. Really glad to have read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    What can I say... the book is a must read!!! I love the authenticity of the author. So a lot of times we test to hide bits and pieces of our life, but she place it all out there, and I like that. Lives are touched and changed when we are real. Can't wait for book #2!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I bought this book and wish to allow everyone know I believe it is a unbelievable book for anyone to read. She did an awesome job and I think it was very thought provoking. It touch me in a lot of ways. So thank you Rebecca rose for sharing your story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I absolutely loved her story. Scary the parallels...I just might buy the book and place it on my nightstand to remind me of the things I need to move up on my to-do list!Thank you so much for sharing your story!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    I love this book! Rebecca Rose's story of finding happiness and peace within is absolutely inspiring. She articulates her feelings so effortlessly and tells a story of her journey that is so honest and genuine. I so easily identified with the author throughout her story, my heart was broken and joyous along with hers. I will never forget this book. I feel like reading it was a catalyst of hope in my life to start my own journey of changing the negativity in my brain software to ultimately live a a life filled with joy, gratitude, hope and love.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    It'll Be Fine: A True Story review [Book]  2017-12-26 18:0

    This attractive book came at just the excellent time for me. In a lot of ways, I felt like I was reading my own story. Raw, honest, and so well-written, I wanted to hug Mila/Rebecca and allow her know, that I too, have started my spiritual journey after so a lot of devastating losses and subsequent bout of depression and anxiety. Rebecca's story has given me hope, that all things work for amazing in this journey we call life. I am so grateful to her for baring her soul in order to support others. I highly recommend this to anyone whose heart is heavy. You will feel the weight lifted from your shoulders by the time you reach the end. Thank you, Rebecca!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    The characters surrounding Henry were well developed but not as well developed for the those surrounding the Rabbi. That was why I was so surprised that that Rabbi would leave something as private as his latest sermon with his care giver. Probably because the book is so short there isn't room for much detail, but there were other related instances that had the same result on me. I really liked the book and have recommended it to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    This is a amazing real story. I bought the DVD for my husband and kids to see. I will buy more of Mitch Album's books. A amazing writer

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    I love Mr. Albom's books and this one is right up there, making me look, again, at my faith and my relationships. Thank you. Always a worthy use of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    not my favorite read transaction unbelievable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    Mitch Albom has written a heart warming story about love and faith that is truly refreshing. Reading this real story restores my "faith" in the fact that there are such unbelievable selfless people in this battered globe

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    This book deeply touched me. There were moments when I was moved to tears and moments when I laughed out loud. Author Mitch Albom knows how to tell a story. This heart warming story of his two mates and their faith inspires me to live my life with excellence.Other books that inspire excellence and well-being are Ariel & Shya Kane's Being Here: Modern Day Tales of Enlightenment,Working on Yourself Doesn't Work: The 3 Easy Ideas That Will Instantaneously Transform Your Life, and How to Make a Magical Relationship: The 3 Easy Ideas that Will Instantaneously Transform Your Love Life. Within the pages of their books, I am reminded that I create a 's so rewarding to take care of people and approach my life with awareness and kindness. As Mitch Albom mentions in his book, "When I give, I get". If you're looking for inspiration & ease with life, check out books by Mitch Albom & the Kanes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    I enjoyed the wisdom of this book immensely.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    I'm a long time Mitch Albom fan and this story was no different. This one is based on a real story and covers the time when the author was asked by his rabbi to be the person who delivered his eulogy. Over the time span of about 8 years, the story tells of his interactions with he rabbi as well as a Christian minister, who has been called to set up a church in the inner city.I found his struggles with his own private faith to be so down to earth and so related to what a lot of go through today. I really love that it's a human story which shows that not everything in Christianity is "easy." It is, however, about believing in something greater than yourself.I plan to share this book with others because I believe the notice is one we all need to hear.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    I would be hard place to choose between Have a Small Faith and Tuesdays with Morrie. They both touched me in ways that couldn't have been foreseen. I had read it once long ago and spent part of the latest two weeks of my sister's life reading it to her. We laughed over it together and cried over it together and thoroughly enjoyed both the content and the memories of our shared childhood that it ere is something in there for everyone. If you already believe in a higher being it shows you how small it matters what form your higher being takes. It is the belief itself that counts and not the form. If you don't believe in a higher being it gives you pause for thought and maybe re-evaluation. Most of all it reminds you that people are people no matter what their background.Well worth reading at least once and more enjoyable second time around.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Have a Little Faith: A True Story review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    "Will you do my eulogy?"Thus begins, Mitch Albom's fresh book "Have a Small Faith." It is a compilation of the eight-year journey from this conversation to the moment of his Rabbi's funeral in which the author gave the eulogy. Written in a collection of short essays, this insightful book follows Mitch through his process as he gets to know his childhood spiritual leader as not only a cleric, but also as a man, a husband, father, neighbor and friend. Through the process Mitch Albom, author of "Tuesdays with Morrie", documents his thoughts and spiritual growth over the years of meetings with Reb, his nickname for Rabbi Albert Lewis. The subjects of conversation range from heaven, forgiveness, God, judging others, marriage, wealth, living in community, the life of congregations, family, and a lot of rallel to these conversations, sermons and the reflections upon them, Mitch tells about a man on the run from drug dealers in the roads of Brooklyn-- one begging to Jesus for support and salvation. How the lives of these two very various men will come together is a mystery for most of the book. In the end, however, the connections become clear as a direct reflection of the author's private growth and openness in response to the "continuing religious education" he is participating in as he prepares for his dear Rabbi's passing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I thought this book was extremely well written and researched as one would expect from Wambaugh. Some have said that the courtroom testimony was too drawn out and technical but that was the nature of the evidence presented. Additionally I was surprised that under California law the prosecutor was allowed to tell the jury of John Orr’s previous guilty pleas to related arson cases during the prosecution of his case. Seems hard to believe a jury could be objective after hearing that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Very well written and researched, as are all of Wambaugh's books. Amazing acc of the really creepy story of an arson inspector who set hundreds of fires and was finally arrested, tried, and convicted after causing a fire that killed several people. A amazing reminder that creatures are walking among us, and we should listen to our intuition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    I fell in love with his writing after reading "The Onion Field" years ago. This tale of a pyromaniac is classic Wambaugh. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Very amazing read! I like all of Wambaugh's books. M

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Completely encompassing. Magnificently researched. A disturbing, but satisfied reminder that Justice can prevail, even long after the fact. Intense read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Wambaugh's first or second best real story. He shows how parochial government agencies still continue to be. Won't they ever learn.....?Great story, amazing read, nice to see it finally in the electronic version.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    James Wambaugh has a long and somewhat successful history of writing both fictional and non-fictional stories. From Onionfield to The Blooding his style remains the same, detailed but fast-paced enough to always hold the reader interested with the feeling that he has been there and done all this before. The greatest criticism of Wambaugh is his sometimes quirky use of syntax, which leaves the reader with the question of what is the meaning of his sentence or paragraph. Putting that aside, as in The Blooding, Wambaugh makes a factual and sometimes boring story come alive for the reader of Fire Lover. He even did quite well in the middle of the book when he had to cover the second trial and all of its detail without being too repetitious and going over all that went on in the first trial. After all there is only so much you can write about a fire and hold the reader's interest alive. In all, I liked the book and give it my recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Mr. Wambaugh does it again only this time it's about firefighters. Very well written and a hard to place down book once you begin it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Sad story. People lost their lives because of this selfish animal who thought nothing of his actions . Any normal person would have known his despicable actions would slay people, but he chose to go with his own selfish feelings . Sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fire Lover: A True Story review [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Fire lover held my interest. It was intriguing but not one of the best books I have every written. Would recommend it. Fast read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    Dying for a Drink of Water would be a amazing alternate title. Feeling sorrow and understanding for “all” the players in the tragedy. My deepest heartfelt sympathies to the families of those poor, brave men who I️ will need to research and study why citizens of Mexico from these little villages are so not good they risk crossing. Just method too sad. Urrea gives enlightening statistics on correcting the false info about how much it costs to absorb “illegals” into the USA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I purchased this book after a year or so ago reading Urrea's book The Hummingbird's Daughter. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Not only did I search the geographic history to be fascinating but I was also interested to hear the author's narrative on immigration problems from the view of human rights, economics etc. My heart broke for these men and their families.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    A book that hooks you from the start, is well written, and enlightening. Urrea shows how the problem of illegal immigration is both too simplistic (thinking a wall will solve our problems) and too complicated (forgetting the shared humanity) on both sides of the political us book will challenge you long after you finish reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    This book really opened my eyes to 1. Why people come to America illegally, 2. What people will do out of desperation to support their families, and 3. How governments in both Mexico and the US have failed these individuals. This book is sad and sometimes painfully graphic to read, but especially in today’s political climate should be needed reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    This book is better the second time around. It makes you mad and sad; hopeful and despondent. At times you wish to race through it, at other times you just wish to sip and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I received a red paperback ver instead of the blue ver shown in the photo, but it doesn't matter. It's the same book. It was published in 2004, and has approximately 200 pages, not counting the "Afterward", the "Acknowledgement", and the index. There are 16 chapters divided into four parts (Part 1, Part 2, etc).Written in the first person, it's a real story about a group of men who test to cross the border from Mexico to Arizona. Their so-called "guide" is known as a coyote, and he's supposed to support them obtain across. His true name is Jesús Lopez Ramos, but he has given himself the code name Mendez, in honor of his girlfriend, Celia the Border Patrol, Mendez is known as "Rooster Boy", because he has a punk-rock hairstyle with a bunch of red-dyed hair hanging in front of his eyes.Each chapter tells a small more about Mendez, the men in his group, the TERRIBLE climate and desert conditions of Sonoita and Yuma and Ajo and the Sonoran Desert, the men's deteriorating physical and mental condition, the Border Patrol and their everyday activities and the conditions under which they work and the unique terminology they use, miscellaneous poor situations that they have encountered, how the coyotes operate, and other interesting are a few random facts, quotes, and descriptions from the book -1) "Drags" are desert streets made when bundles of tires are dragged by trucks driving in an east-west direction (coyotes and their groups usually head north).2) The Border Patrol is also called by the slang term "La Migra". They have a unit called BORSTAR, which stands for Border Patrol Search, Trauma, and Rescue.3) Sign-cutters and Shadow Wolves (Native American sign-cutters) are trained to "cut sign". A sign-cutter is an expert at reading the tracks, trails, and clues that people leave behind when they're walking.4) At the end of the book, Mendez and the few survivors are all picked up in Arizona by the Border Patrol. They're all sent to the same hospital, where they're all guarded by the Patrol, but for various reasons. Mendez is finished; he has no future. The Patrol guards his hospital bed because he is a criminal; his greed, negligence, and stupidity have resulted in a lot of deaths. The other men, the survivors, are watched because the Patrol wants to ask them a lot of questions about Mendez. Therefore, although the survivors are not actually given official permission to stay in the USA, the American and Mexican governments kind of turn their back on the fact that the men are there, because after all, the men are supplying very valuable information.5) "Today Mendez sits in a cell in the huge prison in Safford, Arizona. He has no visitors. He doesn't respond letters." (p.211)6) "Temperatures soared well over the hundred mark. When the [Dept. of Public Safety] tow truck finally arrived, the squad noted the stench. They pried the trunk open. Two young men lay within. They were twenty-one and sixteen years old. The police reported there was evidence of movement before the young men baked to death." (p.210)7) "The temperature screamed into the nineties before nine o'clock...Their mouths were as dry as the soles of their feet. Their tongues were hard and dense and could not bend. They sucked and sucked at the insides of their mouths, but they couldn't raise any spit." (pp. 157-158).8) Coyotes have a unique word for people who test to cross the desert. They call these people "pollos", for "chicken". However, the author explains the importance of the word: in Spanish, "chicken" is "gallina", but a COOKED chicken is "pollo"!!This is a very hard book to place down. At the end of the book, there is a list of other books on the subjects of illegal immigration, the Border Patrol, etc. I can't wait to read them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    An interesting read about a issue that has existed for decades, and no one seems able to fix. Urrea brought to life the lives of the Yuma 14, humanizing the victims and drawing vivid imagery that enables the reader to visualize actually being there with the walkers in that dreaded desert.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    Anyone interested in a better understanding of immigration problems should read this book. The vast majority of people trying to come to the US from Mexico and South and Central America are not rapists and criminals, they are, like the people whose struggle to come here is told in this book are trying to provide for their families. Unfortunately there are a lot of who will take advantage of their dream of a better life and, sadly, that often results in death.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    A new look at the border battles and the Border Patrol. A since of humanity and compassion is deeply embedded in the author and his words. Indeed, what would Jesus do?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Devil's Highway: A True Story review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    Perfect book. Strong personalized story. Described a lot of various aspects of the brutal journey into southern Arizona. Ripped through this book in a few days. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Based on a True Story: Not a Memoir review [Book]  2018-3-20 18:1

    Norm is as amazing at writing as OJ is at murdering wives, but neither gets credit for it. Sometimes life is unfair.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    Pocket Warfare: reviews ProtonVPN – advanced online dr.ess.Aleoklop.<a Href=mailto:[email protected]/info.php?a[]=<a href=http://ace333.gdn/>ace 333</a> reviews Contender | pinepointsolutions.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=918kiss.bid/downloads/219-download-ntc33 reviews ProtonVPN – advanced online e-aacpmas.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=www.poker-sign-up-bonus.com/2018/how-to-navigate-the-casino-app-with-your-mobile-device/ reviews Basic utnecast.net/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=situsdominoqq.net reviews ardenbateman.wixsite.com/erectiestoornis reviews [email protected]/?a[]=<a href=https://918kiss.poker/casino-games/75-sky777>sky777 casino</a> Caramel MurderA=0'A=0 reviews a different class of murder: revised and updated reviews Purchase 8 Ball Coins - reviews Data dunhillmassage.com/삼성안마-집중바디케어/ reviews tramadol-online.com reviews 10x [email protected]/index.php/librodevisitas?a[]=<a href=http://ace333.gdn/index.php/other-games/rollex11/10-rollex11>rollex 11</a> reviews Junkyard Tycoon - 918kiss.poker/casino-games/72-playboy-casino reviews How Not to Die: [email protected]@econom.uu.ru reviews ponte17.co.kr reviews www.taoav88.xyz/go.php?url=https://hcg24.com/ reviews fallen empire: an epic dragon fantasy adventure (empire of... reviews Data [email protected]/?a[]=<a href=https://918kiss.poker/downloads>3win8</a> reviews Data Dr.Ess.Aleoklop.Ahref=mailto:[email protected]/info.php?a[]=<a href=https://918kiss.poker/casino-games/73-mega888>mega888 casino</a> reviews screenbeam config utility reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter