The One-in-a-Million Boy Reviews & Opinions


Submit The One-in-a-Million Boy review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    There are books that are so compelling that you read them as quickly as possible to search out what happens next. This isn't one of them: this book is compelling in a method that demands you read slowly, savoring every word. I didn't wish this book to end...it is absolutely beautiful. Each hero is perfectly shaped and believable; any one of them could walk right off the page and into life. I want they would: I'd love to meet them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I am officially now a MAJOR Monica Wood fan. A couple of years ago I came across her collection of interrelated stories, ERNIE'S ARK, and the writing and stories just blew me away. THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY is the first novel of hers I've picked up and it was simply gorgeous. It tells the story of a father, Quinn, struggling with the death of his young son with whom he had never been able to create a bond with. His wife, Belle, who struggles everyday in mourning for the boy (who is referred to as 'the boy' throughout the novel, never having been given a name), and 104-year old Ona, who befriended their somewhat OCD kid after he'd been assigned to support her once a week for the Boy Scouts. Ona becomes a link to the boy for both grieving parents when Quinn decides to fulfill his son's commitment of helping Ona around the e book jumps between Quinn's and Ona's perspectives, and a set of tape recordings the boy created with Ona, interviewing her about her life for a school project.Wood is a master writer. Her style is never to heady and overdone, yet builds people and areas that are incredibly vivid and true. Every hero is completely true to me as I read. You love them the moment they are introduced. The motion throughout is quiet and introspective, but moves, constantly, through their lives together in a natural method that never seems slow. You wish to be with them, and miss them when the story is over. It's hard to explain, I guess, how amazing Monica Wood is until you read. When you don't see the writing, only the photos and happenings she is building with words. The first and foremost sign of a excellent my previous review I'd said ERNIE'S ARK could easily be the Amazing American Novel if it had been a novel and not a story collection, and I could easily say the same to this one. One little slice of the American pie, like the other taking put in Maine, the author's home state.I can't recommend this book enough. Beautiful, touching, funny, and full of of true people who are trying their best to live their lives after the bottom has dropped out from under them, in their own, special way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I recently saw the film "Manchester By The Sea". I didn't care for it. For the same reasons I didn't like that film I formed a dislike for this book. But I'm giving it 4 stars so what gives, right? The book is about grieving, grieving over the sudden death of an 11 year old boy, a boy that probably suffers from some sort of mental disorder related to OCD. I like authors that can tell a story about ordinary people in ordinary situations and do it in a method that can captivate a reader. This author certainly has that talent but this story irritated me, at least initially. The boy is a scout and at the urging of his mother who has married and divorced the boy's father...twice. The mother is currently involved with a man who is the local scoutmaster and ergo the idea to enroll her son in the scouts. As part of a service project the boy is assigned to support a 104 year old lady with her household chores. The boy is odd in that he has absolutely no friends; is obsessed with the Guinness Book of Globe Records; and counts and does things in groups of ten. The old lady and the boy form a unexpected friendship and for a class project the boy decides to obtain the old lady to tell him her life story and this story is revealed in ten parts throughout the book. The boy then suddenly dies from an undiscovered genetic disorder. Now here is where my irritation begins to form. Grieving over such a loss is understandable but after a time the grieving becomes more about the person grieving and not about the loss of the deceased. It becomes selfish and disrespectful of the loss and when portrayed in a book like this it is for dramatic result and lacking in the realism that I have fun and admire. Maybe this belief of mine is because I read too much history where kid mortality was so incredibly high that it was customary for parents to not even name their kids until after they survived their first birthday thus giving rise to the custom of first birthdays we have fun today. For our ancestors death was never unexpected, life was and life wasn't to be wasted in needless behavior. Anyway it was the dramatic grieving of the mother and the apparent numbness of the father that bothered me and I was sure this was going to be a 2 star, at best 3 star, review. But the book got better and the characters worked through the dramatics of grief and became more real. The author truly does have talent and this is a amazing book and I am sure bookclub ladies will love it I know my wife's group will. I am also sure my wife's bookclub won't believe I liked this book but I did.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The One-in-a-Million Boy or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch The One-in-a-Million Boy video reviews and related movies:

    See Monica Wood - THE ONE IN A MILLION BOY on youtube.

     related image

    See Q&A with Monica Wood author of THE ONE IN A MILLION BOY on youtube.

     related image

    See One In A Million Boy With CLOVES Syndrome on youtube.

     related image

    See The objects that shape my life - Monica Wood author of THE ONE IN A MILLION BOY on youtube.

     related image

    See The Front - One In A Million Boy on youtube.

     related image

    See Monica Wood: A Portland Maine Story | The One-in-a-Million Boy Novel on youtube.

     related image

    See THE ONE IN A MILLION BOY - audio extract 3 on youtube.

     related image

    See ONE MILLION BOYS - Latest Nigerian Movies and English Movies (Full HD Movies) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Oh heck, I'll give it five stars,"Ina would say. Can I obtain in the Guinness Globe Records? I love fiction where the characters are developed, there are no unnecessary scenes to fill up white space, and your satisfied at the end of the book, even if someone died. This book puts together the wisdom of Age, INA 104, and the enthusiasm and innocence of youth, the Boy-- and makes a magical cake. See life is a huge soup, and tomato soup is the secret ingredient. Loved this book. The author has a unbelievable imagination, knows how to write, and edit (even better) and gets that the goal of everyone in life is to be understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This book works on a lot of levels. It's not for people who are looking fur a brainless read. Nor is it intellectual or literary fiction. It is extremely realistic, totally engaging, and very satisfying. The characters are authentic and totally e story itself is brilliant. To quote another reviewer "this book sings."I've read over 100 books in the latest couple of years, and the only other one in the same league as this (in my opinion) was a Pulitzer Prize winner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I thoroughly enjoyed characters and how brilliantly developed they were throughout the book. If you have ever loved a person in their twilight years, this book may re-connect you with them. And if you're looking for a amazing cover to cover beach read... this is it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    Hero studies are not usually my fiction of choice, but I really enjoyed this one. I liked the clever structure of the novel, and the 104 year old protagonist was an intriguing personality. Being a melody lover, and once a singer with a band, I basked in reminiscing the joys and tribulations of trying to create a living this way. The lives depicted twined together like discordant harmonies at times, but the effect was a sweet and satisfying music of a story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I feel like I discovered a pearl in a sea of overrated novels. This layered story is very well written and the author makes conscious choices, like not naming the boy, or quoting his side of the interviews, which I search intriguing. The characters are complex and you will fall in love with Ona and her story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    I enjoyed reading this novel by Monica Wood. It was well written and the characters were developed with an interesting ability. A various sort of story that keeps me thinking about the unbelievable possibilities life holds for some of us and the interconnectedness there is in life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The One-in-a-Million Boy review [Book]  2018-2-13 18:0

    This book was redemptive and surprising. If you like the simplicity and depth if walking someone else' skin this book is that. I loved the method a little boys delight of life revived the life of every tired worn down person he touched. I loved how this boy's short life transformed others with love and joy. I think I'll read it agin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Carefully written, fascinating book about hockey and finding ones self while living in the shadows. Suspend your disbelief that a girl could masquerade as her brother on a hockey team. This book is about leadership and selfless devotion to teammates and being your best self. It is about give and take and following your dreams. It is about having the courage to be obtain up and test again, despite failure. Beautifully crafted story. Thumbs up!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I was excited to obtain this one, as I loved the idea of the heroine disguising herself as a boy. I read it on my train ride and while I was waiting for a doctor appointment this morning, and just couldn't place it down. Just One of the Boys is a quick, fun read. I really enjoyed Alice and Hayden's characters, and I loved the hockey setting. Can't wait to read more by these authors!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    5+ starsLoved this book!A hockey romance book that was actually about Ice hockey. Shocker! It just doesn't happen that ice loves, breathes and lives for hockey. Her family have just moved to a fresh town. Alice and her brother test out for the local team. Alice knows she can't play in the NHL. This is her latest possibility to live her dream. After some confusion, her brother makes the squad even though she is the better player. Unfortunately for her brother, an injury stops him making his first practice. Alice steps in to take his put until he's better. Alice and Alexander are twins. Even though they are various sex people obtain them confused all the time. Their plan seems to be working. The only issue is her fellow teammate, Hayden.Hayden has a chip on his shoulder and struggles to control his temper. He is amazing at hockey but can't seem to stay focused. The fresh rookie, Al rubs him the wrong method right from the start. I mean who does he think he is!Can Hayden obtain over his problems and do what is best for the team? His fresh teammate may just be the key he has been looking for.I loved this book. I loved the hockey. I loved the twin swap and I loved the romance. Alice and Hayden's relationship holds the awkwardness of She's the man and never been kissed. It's funny and heartwarming. 5 stars plus I couldn't give more praise to this book. It was spot on.If you like sports romances you'll love this one!*ARC received in exchange for a fair review*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    ***I received an eARC of this book via Netgalley. This does not affect my opinion of this book or the content of my review.***Ok…so here’s the deal. I’m the first one to admit that I don’t like YA contemporary. It’s not my favorite thing to read. HOWEVER every now and then a book crosses my radar that makes me question my dislike. Just One of the Boys by Leah and Kate Rooper is one of those books. It’s such a fun, cute read. Filled with humor, some steamy/angsty scenes, and a cast of characters that tug your heartstrings, Just One of the Boys is one of my favorite reads this year!Alice Bell, or just Al to her teammates, has moved to the town of Chicago with her mom and twin brother and is so excited to be trying out for a Junior League hockey team. Al lives and breathes hockey, but when the coach passes her over for her brother simply because she’s a girl, she’s a small depressed and a lot angry. I can’t say I blame her there. Then her brother is injured and to hold his spot on the team, Al steps in and pretends to be him. Personally I found this aspect of the story slightly cliche. However it works and makes for a funny read. Al is a stubborn girl and looks enough like her brother to pass off being him. But their plan isn’t flawless. Neither Al nor her brother counted on Al’s attraction to the team’s star player.Hayden Tremblay is the younger brother to a star NHL player and lives in his shadow. He’s mad and bitter most of the time but he has reason to be. He lost his parents in a vehicle accident not even a year ago. Hayden tugs at my heartstrings almost immediately. He’s a lost boy in a man’s body. Losing a parent is like loosing part of your foundation, but Hayden lost both on one night. It’s like he’s a house built on sand. Hockey is all he has. He lets his aggression out on the ice and keeps himself closed off to everyone. Yet the fresh rookie breaches his walls and he finds himself with a fresh mate who understands him better than his own e story really revolves around Al and Hayden with the chapters alternating POV (which I loved!). It is about the relationship that builds between them and also Al’s deception. The characters are so well written that I fell right into their story and read it in one sitting. I loved reading the growth of the characters as Hayden learned to begin up and Al learned that maybe their is more to life than just hockey. And if you are worried about the hockey, don’t be. I don’t watch hockey but found the method it was written into the story exciting. I couldn’t bring myself to set the book down once I started!Overall, I really loved this book! It’s a sweet, funny read. Al is a unbelievable character, even if a bit oblivious as her brother points out numerous times. If you have fun contemporary YA romance, I highly recommend you grab a copy of this book. It does not disappoint!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    First things first: I received this book through is book was everything I wanted it to be!!!!The book sucked me in right from the stars. A [email protected]#$% girl, who outplays lots of dude on the ice during tryouts and makes the team. Only, that she takes of her helmet and people realize that she's a girl and not a dude. GASP!!!! SCANDAL!!!! A GIRL. ON THE ICE. PLAYING HOCKEY. WHAT?????? So, of course. The only logical thing to do as a coach that just welcomend her on the team, is to create her understand he created a mistake and actually meant her twin brother. Who, well...sucked during the tryouts. SHOCKING, a dude who played mediocre got the put instead of a girl who played amazing. I could go on and on about this but I will stop right here...Back to the story. Xander, Alice's twin brother actually breaks his leg. And Alice is ready to take his put on the team, acting like she's him. YES PLEASE!!!!!Twin story: me She's The Man feels: CHECK!!!!I loved the main ice, I loved Alice so much. I loved her as Alice, I loved her as Al. She was amazing.Hayden. Let's be true about him for a second here, I didn't like this dude at all in the beginning. He was just a mean jerk, who I couldn't care less about. Towards the middle it changed. He got more backstory and NO, the tragic things in his past didn't excuse anything, but towards the middle, he became a actual human being for me that I cared for. He was still a jerk from time to d the minor characters.Xander. Man, I loved him in the beginning, hated him in the middle and loved him again in the end. There is a lot going on for him in the story, once again that's no excuse for how he handles some of the things, but still, towards the end he really stole my heart dison. She showed up and I loved her. She was super supportive, she was just such a amazing mate to Alice. Ugh. She was amazing.I got annoyed with the characters a lot of times, they created not good decisions, the said a lot of poor things to each other. BUT I LOVED THEM.I loved the story. I loved the writing.I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    The idea of a girl pretending to be a boy in order to fulfill some kind of a dream because her gender was being perceived as an obstacle isn’t a fresh theme but the Roopers managed to still write a fun book with it. There is an 80s film titled Just One of the Guys, Shakespeare played with gender in 12th Night, Disney did it in Mulan and an Amanda Bynes film She’s the Man added the sports spite how often I’ve come across the ‘girl turns into a boy’ this book still felt exciting to read and I liked the hockey backdrop. Their hero Alice is a hockey nut who is being denied access to her passion based on her gender not her ability. Now in 21st America normally this would’ve resulted in a lawsuit, protests and viral videos but that wouldn’t obtain us a decent story you wish to read instead of rolling your eyes ey did use the interchangeable twin thing which I found a bit hard to believe because it’s a brother/sister instead of the same gender but they managed to create it work enough it didn’t feel too off particularly when you have the sister pretend to be a boy. Family dynamics were handled well and believably within the story as well as any conflict made between obtain other characters to bounce off of that were given amazing emotional leverage and felt appropriate for the age level, setting and plot. The Romance angle was sweet and reminded me of a lot of Rom-Coms I’ve seen. I could see with a bit of editing this landing as a Disney Channel e humor and lighthearted moments created this an enjoyable book to read and gave me what I would expect from Entangled Publishing which is a company I can normally count on for amazing reading material.When the inevitable discovery gets created that Alice is a girl – allow the fun play out. If you’re into Sports-Romances then add this to your Must Read List.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    When I started this book, I thought it was going to be some cheesy small book about ice skating and hockey. How Alice and Hayden were going to fall in love and it'll be all rainbows and sunshines. But I was wrong and I have got to stop predicting books like is was so much more than a love story. Alice was such a desperate character. She tried so hard to present us she was this satisfied go lucky girl that wouldn't allow anything bother her. But she couldn't hold that up for long. I saw the sad small girl who replaced feelings with hockey. With hockey, Alice reasoned, she couldn't feel the feelings she didn't wish to feel anymore. This book was more than her trying to accomplish her goal. Alice was trying to search herself and I loved that. I can appreciate a amazing story arc like that.Hayden was a mess and a jerk. I did not like him at first. I wanted to actually punch him a few times. But then we got to know him better, as Alice did, and I realized he was a just a damage boy who didn't know how to express himself. And my hate slowly thawed and I found myself actually looking forward to his POVs. He was actually a rational guy, which is something I can appreciate.Overall, this was a amazing introduction to me to sports romance, a genre I don't normally read. I was able to hold up with all the hockey gargon, despite having never played. The hate to love trope was used, which is always a plus to me because that is my favorite trope ever. Really, this was just a amazing solid contemporary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Just One of the Boys was a super-cute, super-quick read that if you liked She's the Man, you'll absolutely love. (It's not quite as obviously a retelling of Twelfth Night as the film is, but it's the same general idea. With hockey. So really, a win-win.) Like StM's Viola, Alice is told she can't play the sport she loves because of her gender; also like Viola, she takes her twin's put on the team, though for various reasons. All kinds of girl-pretending-to-be-a-boy hijinks ensue, and she develops a crush on the team's (formerly? maybe...) star player--but also becomes his best friend, which complicates things all over the anwhile, her twin is hiding a secret, her mom is making additional demands on her time, and did I mention she's got a crush on her fresh BFF? Not quite everything that isn't right obtain fully resolved by the end (what is her coach's response to her news???) but the book still leaves you with a satisfied glow 's hoping the Ms. Ropers have plenty more books in them!Rating: 4 stars / B+I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    A fun sports romance teen read, one I nearly overlooked (so glad I took a chance). The story follows wannabe ice hockey player, Al Bell. The only issue is, we're talking Alice Bell, not her twin brother, Alexander Bell. Picked for the squad during tryouts Alice is over the moon, sadly once the coach realises she's a girl he goes with her twin brother Xander. Quick forward and we have Alice aka Al disguised as her twin and playing in his place. This of course causes a lot of a issue when her teammate, Hayden, a hotshot with a chip on his shoulder takes an interest in both Al and Alice both on and off the ice. A unbelievable lighthearted read beautifully written in dual POV that had me second guessing how this book was going to end, what with all the lies and deceit between the siblings and also with her best friend. I mean it's obvious the truth is going to come out eventually, it always does. I was provided with an advanced copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just One of the Boys review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    It was fun to see how long it took for him to figure out she was actually a girl. I felt like that was a amazing move on the authors' part. Having her present up periodically as a smoking hot figure skater was a nice touch. I loved watching her teammates fawn over her. Hilarious!I enjoyed watching Hayden's growth as he and Alice grew into best friends. I think my favorite part was the Christmas stage where she goes outside to sit and talk with him about his parents' death. I enjoyed watching the growth of the characters and they changed throughout this book. They had both been through so much pain and had both been burying it. For me, that was the heart of this book. I love it that I can read a book that's silly and fun and leaves me giggling but also deals with characters who have true problems they need to overcome. Every Entangled book I obtain my hands on seems to have this element of growth with their characters and that along with the quick pacing and fun storylines is what keeps me coming back to Entangled Teen Crush.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Million Years B.C. review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    What say you fuzzy britches? For their 100th release, Hammer Movies remade the 1940 cavemen groaner One Million B.C. It would prove to be a roaring box office success, whilst simultaneously making Raquel Welch an iconic poster girl and Ray Harryhausen an even bigger hero. Plot is slight. Two tribes exist in prehistoric times, the Rock People and the Shell People. The former are more aggressive and basic, the latter more forward and assured. Tumak (John Richardson) of the Rocks and Loana (Welch) wind up together, fighting prejudices and lots of giant beasties! Hooray! That's really it, the notice is clear but ultimately we are here for the dinosaurs and giant monsters (well OK, the scantily clad cave dwellers as well), with Harryhausen once again showing why he was a legend in his field of animation. With amazing fights, a bit of sexy sizzle and a volcanic finale, it's all amazing really. It's no history lesson of course, but as Harryhausen was wont to say, they wasn't making a movie for history professors! 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    This is a memoir; a mother's anguished but eventually triumphant journey at solving the issue of her adopted son. Donnie Winokur and husband Harvey adopted two Russian orphans, Morasha and Iyal. In time it became apparent that Iyal was going to pose serious difficulties, plunging the family into the abyss of fetal alcohol syndrome. At wit's end, the Winokurs turn to a unique service dog - is is the story of that journey. There is frustration, hope, terror, love, despair, and joy in these pages. Donnie is astonishingly begin in her explorations: her dealing with a husband reluctant to test the service dog route, the serious committment in time and cash to acquire a properly trained dog, and the substantial adjustments the family must create with the service rough it all, Chancer stands tall (over 4 feet when stretched out!) as the savior, not just for Iyal, but for Donnie, Morasha and even ever reluctant star removed due to unexpectedly rough language contributes nothing and mars narrative flow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    Warning. This book will tear your heart out. Donnie Kanter Winokur conveyed with amazing feeling all the challenges of raising a kid with fetal alcohol syndrome, or for that matter, raising any kid that is mentally challenged. She depicts the emotional toll to the family and the powerful emotional ties that are developed between the members of her family truly and deeply. I felt her bone weary exhaustion and grieved for her pain. But I also was inspired and amazed at the strength and persistence which she mustered to raise her son. It was a stroke of genius that she realized and persisted in getting a dog trained to meet her son's unique needs. The attractive surprise was that no one anticipated just how much this dog would support everyone in the family.I thankfully received this book as a Goodreads giveaway.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    A fascinating glimpse into the life of a family coping with fetal alcohol syndrome, and how their lives were forever changed with the addition of a service dog. The author writes with raw emotion, and, as someone who has previously been unaware of the day-to-day trials that a unique needs kid brings to a family, I was drawn in and couldn't place this book down. I hope that Donnie plans on writing a sequel someday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    Perfect memoir about Chancer a service dog whom I personally knew. This is about how this service dog changed the life of the Winokers who had an adopted son from Russia who has Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Disorder.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    The author and her husband adopt two attractive kids from Russia: Morasha, a darling small girl and Iyal, a attractive small boy with an invisible disability: fetal alcohol syndrome. This is an honest, heart-wrenching acc of Iyal's struggles and his mother's determination to create a better life for him. You will fall head-over-heels for Chancer, Iyal's service dog, who provides him with unconditional love and support. Equally important, Chancer gives the Winokur family a reason to hope for a better tomorrow. Don't miss this. It's a perceptive, informative and attractive story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    What a wonderful, heart warming story! I also have a service dog and she means the globe to me. Donnie Kanter Winokur is an inspiration to all who know her personally & through the media. I bought the audio version.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    Love amazing real stories about support provided by unbelievable service dogs. Learned a lot about FAS and FASDs and the Jewish life. Thank you Donnie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    Chancer did everything you could hope for from a mate and a dog. I loved learning his story. I was also shocked by how FASDs mess with the brains of innocent unborn children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    What a terrific book about service dogs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chancer: How One Good Boy Saved Another review [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    loved this book; it is one to cherish

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Another enjoyable page-turner from JoJo Moyes. Once again, the theme of pitting the 1% and the other 99% versus each other reaches an enjoyable conclusion. The characters are engaging and multidimensional. I never thought I would have fun romance novels as much as I am Moyes' works. Partly it's because she celebrates the working class, and the qualities of grit and determination that inspire the reader. Also, her female protagonists aren't virginal; they're well-rounded, realistic people. Of course, it's amazing to have a guy on a white horse canter up, but in Moyes novels, the girl proves herself capable on her own. I will definitely buy more of this author's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Another unbelievable read from Jojo Plus One tells the story of single mum, Jess ,struggling every day cleaning other people's houses and working in a bar at night to bring up her daughter Tanzie who is a gifted child, and Nicky her withdrawn teenage step-son who is bullied at school.Tanzie, 8 years old,is offered a scholarship to attend a prestigious Girls school to further her maths but there is no method Jess can afford the little difference in fees..Jess asks for support from her estranged husband who has given his family no help since leaving two years of Jess's housecleaning clients,Ed, comes to the rescue after finding himself at a loose end whilst in the midst of his own problems.He takes Tanzie and her family on a street trip to sit a mathematics Olympiad exam in the hope of winning first prize , a money prize of Two Thousand pounds which would enable Tanzie to attend the fresh is an hilarious street trip and Ed gets taken in by Jess and her two children. All four,and the dog Norman, have their own story to tell and the street trip brings them all together versus all odds.Or does everything go horribly wrong?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    This was a amazing rainy day read. I am from America so some of it was a small hard for me to understand, but I really enjoyed it. Their journey up to Scotland together was very unique. I'm so glad it had a satisfied ending because there were parts that I was afraid it was going to end up bad. I like to end on a amazing note. :) If you need a book to obtain you through a beach trip or on a long vacation then give this a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    To be honest I was not excited to read this one as I have read all of Moyes other books and didn't think this one could be as amazing based on the plot. I am so glad is was proved wrong! One Plus One has become my very favorite of all of Moyes e characters are deep and very well written. They draw you in and create you completely invested. The book reads like a movie- I could see the scenes in my mind as I read. I LOVE Ed's hero and the steadfastness and growth you see in him throughout the will fall in love with that characters. I would LOVE to read a follow up story to see what they are up to after this book ends. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    I thought this book would be a chick flick kind of story. You know a mushy romance novel, and I was okay with that. Instead it dealt with reality. Kindness, bullies, positive thinking, financial and family stress, and yes even love. I will recommend this book to my mates and family because it touches close to home. So much is going on in this book, some things predictable, some not. Bottom line it created me wish to be a better person, less cynical. It's so simple to fall into that mindset, but this book reminds me that what's necessary is doing the best you can with what you have and reaching out to others if there is any method you can. Things usually work out for the best even if you can't see it in those darkest hours. This is an wonderful story of being there for your family and others at all costs just because you know deep down it's the right thing to do. Remarkable story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Tanzie's maths interest are very wide and simply attributed by there name or category. But in the closing pages one of those are cited and frankly the most mysterious of them all. And we are left either to be impressed with JJ's depth or sent on our method to satisfy our own curiosity. That one is "Strong Emergence". Look it up and drown in the maths mystique of the highest order. I will test to demystify the concept which has been of latest vintage emerged in the cloak of maths language, equations, and symbolism. Allow me support with a metaphor that will take some of the mystery out of the e popular proverb: "The straw that broke the camel's back" is an example of (strong ) emergence . The theory has imbedded in it without quantifying the different properties of the system: I.e. The strength of the camel, the weight of the straws, the time constraint on the endurance of the camels, and other physical variables. We know by our experience with logic that the load is not infinite, and we can feel the continuity of the growing burden that the camel must endure. But we know that the latest straw is imbued with a role not attributed to any other of the equivalent components. Think about it and test to search a related maths explanation If you search one allow me know. I stand guilty of over simplification, but how else to attempt at layman C. Pulseinc @

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Jessica Rae Thomas has got to be one of the most positive people and rightful people on the world. She is broke to the bone and has two kids to raise. Her husband is off "for recovery" and not supporting her family with a single pound. Still, she wants to grant her daughter the opportunity of lifetime by enabling her to go to a costly personal school which will be targeting Tanzie's math when she decides to take a run down vehicle to drive her family plus dog from South England to Scotland for a maths tournament that might pay for Tanzie's tuition fees, and that vehicle actually breaks down in the middle of the road, she never thought that Ed Nicholls would be the one to come to her rescue. The arrogant wealthy arse who's beachhouse she cleans on a regular basis. However, Ed has problem of his own and for some reason, he decides to embark onto tthat chaotic trip to Scotland with nce I read and absolutely loved Me Before You from the same author, it was nearly impossible not to read this fresh book, especially given that the plot sounded so new and nice. Who doesn't love a geeky millionaire and a family in be very honest with you, this felt like a true life parody of Small Miss Sunshine. The similarities were absolutely obvious: you have the eccentric small daughter going of to a tournament (maths/beauty pageant - sounds about the the same) and that troubled teenager with a goth haircut, and a mother who is hell bent on making this trip work out so she can give her kid what she feels it deserves.But apart from those similarities, the whole story was very-well customised and exudes the lovely english charm that I don't come across often, given the very small "english" books I read. It is also a very striking comparison of two worlds: the huge town London life were yuppies and self created men indulge in fancy things, and the life on the outskirts of the city, where a family barely has £12 a day as a meal me parts of the story will create you laugh and some parts will create you cry. You will most definitely fall in love with Jessica's quirky hero and positive vision of life, and you will become a amazing fan of Ed Nicholls and witness how something even more chaotic than the professional predicament he is in can actually bring him peace and happiness. It's a attractive story about unexpected situations, finding happiness, and starting ever, do not expect any steamy scenes here - everything is being kept on a very light level, but the story is so sweet you don't actually miss it...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Ok, with so a lot of unbelievable reviews, I'm beginning to feel poor that I liked it but did not love it. It's a amazing book but it's not great. Having said that, I really did search myself liking all the characters and feeling for them. You wish it to work out even though you know that in true life, it would per my sometimes usual review format...Did I learn anything from this book?I think how hard it is to obtain ahead when living on the minimum wage was reinforced. Some people have it really hard and those of us who don't have no clue. I don't know that this knowledge will change how I live my life but it does support to be a small more aware.Did I think about the book when I wasn't reading it?Not at first but yes, towards the end, I was thinking about it when I was not reading it.Did I wish to read this book when I wasn't reading it?Yes - I wanted to know what happened.Will this book stay with me long after it's over?Not all of it... it's amazing but not that good. However, there is a section where Jess explains to Ed how hard it is to obtain ahead once you have a baby at 17 and are always behind trying to catch up and this will stay with me. It is very well said. And there are comment about living as a single/solo parent on the minimum wage and yes, those will stick.SPOILER ALERT: I enjoyed all of it except for when Jess and Ed obtain together and then it just gets too pathetically mushy. I was almost satisfied when they broke up so we could obtain back to being real. For a while there I thought "Oh God, Mills and Boon/Harlequin Romance" and this is not what I signed up for.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Allow me begin by stating I just cannot bear most romance novels. While some might classify this as a romance novel, I found it to be more of an interesting tale with some quirky characters. I found it interesting to see how two strangers from various ends of a spectrum could develop a friendship through easy acts of compassion and through that arrive at an even deeper connection. While Jess is a financially struggling single mother, Ed is wealthy and a lot of might assume that he would not have a care in the globe due to his wealth. As Jess develops a friendship with Ed, she becomes aware that he has a lot of problems that are equally as challenging and heartbreaking for him and that cash does not guarantee a issue free life Each learns that everyone has issues sometimes just as heartbreaking as yours. Through Jess's life, Ed is able to see a powerful woman fighting for her children's welfare and a mother that always puts her kids first, although in one instance a lot of would question whether that commitment to her kids justifies some of the actions that she takes.Without giving away more of the story, I'll just conclude that this is an intelligently written novel of a romance, but not a "romance novel". It was interesting to see how two people from various walks of life were able to connect.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Plus One: A Novel review [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    This is a amazing book! The main hero is Jess, a single parent trying to raise her daughter, Tanzie, and her x-husband's son, Nicky, by herself because her husband has deserted her. She has several jobs just trying to pay the bills. There are no extras! She cleans for Ed, another main character. He is on the other end of the cash issue. He has lots of money, but gets himself into some problem which will cost him ss attempts to take a street trip to Scotland where her daughter has been offered a possibility to take a prestigious math exam and if she passes will create it into a amazing personal school. Jess cannot afford to send her there otherwise. She, however, takes her x's old vehicle which doesn't run properly. She is pulled over by the police, and Ed accidentally drives by and rescues her and the om there the story really begins. They are on this street trip and have all kinds of experiences!!! There is never a dull moment!One of the problems brought out in this book deals with bullying. There is a poor group of children living in Jess's neighborhood who bully Nicky. This is another reason Jess so wants Tanzie to attend a various school. Yet, even at the personal schools, there can be a bit of bullying. When someone is different, they just appeal to those who think they are better!!!This is a story about hardship, bullying, honesty, determination, friendship, family, and love. It makes you laugh, and it just may create you cry a couple times! I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The ONE Smart Piano_by The ONE review [App]  2017-12-27 13:9

    Amazing application and amazing concept. However, it should have an option to record your own songs on the front page. Since there are only a few categories of songs, there should also be the option to request a song on the home page. (For example, there are no country songs, edm, etc). There should also be a feature of connected apps if other apps work with the one. Giving four stars because I know it just came out and hopefully updates will be coming soon. Have high hopes, amazing concept!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The ONE Smart Piano_by The ONE review [App]  2017-12-27 13:9

    Why do you need acess to pictures, contacts, application history and the like for this app? That makes absolutely no sense what so ever and just seems shady. Further more, why can't I see the one and two star ratings? Also rather weird!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The ONE Smart Piano_by The ONE review [App]  2017-12-27 13:9

    Bought the keyboard, didn't come with a type c cable for s8, used a micro usb connector and still won't connect. Bluetooth setting doesn't work

    0  


  • 1

    Is this review useful?

    One Dinosaur One Bullet review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    One Dinosaur One Bullet has a fun premise and is an engaging read from begin to finish. The upper management of W&W Investments goes on a safari like no other, and when things go south, they will have to come together to survive in the prehistoric past. These characters are compelling, and the interpersonal dynamics at play here are a neat addition to this story. But what I really liked was the kind of “Schroedinger’s Dinosaur” that is at play in this story:“The animal’s death had become a cruel cosmic joke—like a demented god playing a android game where an innocent monster had become a martyr forced to die again and again.”The setup is kind of like a giant déjà vu that the company exploits for hunting purposes, but when some things in that moment begin seeming off, the adventure throttled forward. I really liked that aspect of the book, and I think you will, too.

    0  


  • 1

    Is this review useful?

    One Dinosaur One Bullet review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    ONE DINOSAUR ONE BULLET is a strong action-adventure sci-fi horror story with an emphasis on action horror!What makes it powerful?Strong, complex characters.Well-presented scifi pelling action sequences and tension building.A brilliant and brilliantly written l of the is quick paced and brutal tale redefines the term “monster” under Dane Hatchell’s skillful writing as several levels of horror flow from the pages. A highly recommended must-read!

    0  


  • 1

    Is this review useful?

    One Dinosaur One Bullet review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    One Dinosaur One Bullet is a really amazing read with interesting characters and fast-paced action. The science involved is kept simple, giving time for the characters to develop during the hunt for dinosaurs. The story took twists each time I thought I knew where it was headed. The ending did not disappoint.If you’re looking for some dinosaur fun, One Dinosaur One Bullet is a five-star hit!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Dinosaur One Bullet review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    It’s a light read. I love the twists in the story-they were unexpected. There wasn’t as much dinosaur action than I would have liked but the overall plot created it an interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Dinosaur One Bullet review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    Really enjoyed this one. Even the named "One Dinosaur One Bullet" has a catchy ring to it and solid branding. This was a short read, but an intense one at that. Something that I often wonder is why SyFy Channel doesn't adapt something like this into a created for television movie. This book could easily give Sharknado a run for its money. Just saying. Well done and well worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Dinosaur One Bullet review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    "Dane Hatchell",Gives The Reader a Tale Of Prehistoric Carnage and a Terrifying Adventure In His Novel,"One Dinosaur One Bullet." In The Distant Future Time Travel Is a Reality. Dan Webber Owner Of "Prehistoric Dinosaur Safari's Is Taking a Group Of People On a Tour To a Destination That Will Bring a War For Survival Versus Savage Prehistoric Beasts When a Malfunction Causes Them To Become Stranded. But There Is Also Something In This Safari That Is More Savage,Sinister,and Terrifying Along With The Dinosaur's. Read This Terror and Action Packed Adventure To Uncover The Madness and Horror For Yourself. "A Mustread"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    I enjoyed this story because I like legal stories. However, it was a bit too much of the authors self serving grand standing. However, the end effect was amazing for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    For a first-time writer what a amazing read. I would love to see the author tackle a work of fiction along the lines of a John Grisham or Stephen Frye.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! This book was riveting, candid and utterly captivating. As one who suffered from a chemical overexposure (inadvertent on my end) herself, I cannot tell you how satisfied I am to see that some people actually search a modicum of justice for what they suffer at the hands of an industry hell-bent on maintaining the toxic status quo. In an era characterized by regulators as unethical and/or corrupt as the industries they're regulating, I am so glad to see people in positions of power feel compelled to keep the perpetrators accountable. Given the state of *regulation* (Ha!) these days, the justice system is our latest best hope for recourse. Until these poison purveyors are forced to absorb the real costs (environmental, personal/public health) of their products, we (society) are going to continue to pay the price. I thank God for the judges and trial lawyers who keep these pesticide makers somewhat accountable. You may wish to shrug off the caveats issued in this tome, but I'd take the lesson to heart, as chemical sensitivity and pesticide poisonings seem to be on the rise, not the decline. One day someone you love could be a victim of our improperly regulated, inadequately tested pesticide products (e.g. data not created public, not truly independent, tested only on animals). Better to be safe than sorry. These pesticides pose an unnecessary and substantial risk to children, expectant mothers, and the immune-compromised especially. There are other, better ways to handle pests -- options that don't require us to choose between our health and our crops.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    This book reads like a John Grisham novel except this story really happened. Once I started reading it, I couldn't place it down! I read it in 2 days. I was shocked by how corrupt DuPont was throughout the trial and found myself rooting aloud for the plaintiffs and the author as they fought on behalf of the young boy harmed by DuPont's negligence. The story is moving, inspiring and an extremely interesting look at our legal system, the loopholes designed to serve huge business and the method a company like DuPont gets their risky chemicals to the marketplace without concern for innocent bystanders. They place profit over people. I hope they create this book into a movie. It's Erin Brokovic meets Civil Action. Not a massive read like you might expect, but an necessary and relevant read given the changes event with the EPA. If you like legal thrillers, this is a amazing book for a summer read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    Jim brings us right to the table, in his step by step simple to understand war versus DuPont. Thank you for sharing your story. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    The book confirms what most sane Americans know that corporations are for the all mighty dollar over individual souls. We have seen and heard over the years that company’s knew they had issues with their products but yet have sold them to the public without regards to public health because some Actuary has told them the risk of making millions is worth the risk of a law Ferraro is a man with a Huge Heart to place up his own cash and over 10 years of his life to support a family in need of a Savior. I know of these corporations because I worked for one for 30 plus years. And after I retired I found I was getting short of breath and had to be place on an inhaler then I found I had Asbestosis in my lungs from my 30 plus years of service to go along with the clock they gave me. We need more like Mr. Ferraro Law firm so we the people can be safe from those who place the dollar over souls. I thank you for helping me Mr. FerraroArt Stewart

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    Fascinating and inspiring story. I'm particularly interested in the notion of junk science and the law. And this story brings to light the importance of holding huge corporations responsible for their products. As a parent I was moved by the journey this family took and the struggle they endured to bring justice to their sightless son. The story is riveting. I hope to see it on the huge screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    This is a very interesting narrative about a complex and necessary legal case versus chemical manufacturer DuPont. The science was fascinating and well explained. The case raises necessary questions about environmental safety and recourse when things go wrong. Well written and engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    Amazing read. Awesome story about what happens when the small guy triumphs over an almost insurmountable Giant. This story reads like a amazing novel, but it is true! I found Blindsided to be extremely relevant considering what is going on right now. So scary to think that this could happen to anyone, anywhere. If you care about the environment, water, air and corporate greed, do yourself a favor, and read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:0

    This story is a real story about one child's birth defect caused by a humongous corporation, who fought to deny any culpability and the lawyer who finally won for the child. It is a first person acc by the lawyer, laid out in an understandable way. A journey through the legal system with all it's biases and politics as well as the legalities. Even though you know the outcome it is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    Full disclosure: I'm a case study in this 's the thing - I've been in a lot of books. And yet this is the only book you'll see me reviewing.Why's that? Because most books on "entrepreneurship" focus on the stories. But the reality is that everyone's story is different. The environment and challenges faced by every single entrepreneur are wholly special to them, and replicating that is near impossible.Elaine's spent years profile entrepreneurs over at Forbes, CNBC, Fortune, Money, and you combine Elaine's years of experience alongside her journalism background, and you obtain a book that actually breaks down the strategic and tactical choices each entrepreneur made. It's not a collection of aspirational stories (ugh) or faux-origin stories to inspire you (ugh x 2).No - instead what you obtain is actionable insight that helps you apply other people's experiences to your own business (and even your own life if you have no desire in entrepreneurship).This book is a no-brainer. If you want to learn from other people's mistakes AND failures, you need to obtain it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    It may be easier than ever to begin a business. It may require less capital than ever to begin a business. But can you make a business without employees that is both personally and financially rewarding? For the a lot of business owners who prefer not to hire employees, Elaine Pofeldt does a brilliant job of answering this ing a lot of examples of very successful, non-employee businesses, Elaine lays out the path that can work for individuals who wish the freedom to live life on their own terms with the financial success to help them. This book is a must read for anyone who is neither suited to be an employee nor interested in hiring employees and who wants to do meaningful work while making a difference in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    Hi Elaine ! My name is DelRae Messer. I am from little city North Dakota and now live in Minneapolis with my two girls, Mckenna and Gianna. I have epically failed forward in business to finally search an opportunity like the ones you spoke about in your book, The Million-dollar one-person business. I was broke and broken just 3 years ago, a single mom and had lost hope, when I was introduced to a business opportunity that would let me to create a large impact in health, leadership and opportunity for others !! I had to write to tell you THANK YOU!! There are so a lot of people searching for a method to become their own boss, with small to no investment, overhead or employees and design life on their terms. I now obtain to spend time with my daughters, while leveraging my impact and income with other like minded entrepreneurs in the wellness zone and your book is our business model defined !! I wish spread the word about your book authentically and passionately to obtain this notice to more people, who may be on their hands and knees praying for an respond like I was just three years ago! My goal is to make more leaders Instead of followers to support more people wake up to their greatness to impact !!Again, thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    I enjoyed the experience of reading this book. The book itself is an anomaly - a naked hardcover with print even on the end papers. I liked the cover design which is a huge number 1 with what looked like a million dots raining down alongside it. The final product that is this book created a amazing  first impression on me. The author introduced a lot of solo business owners who have stories that sound like mine, and maybe yours, so she created the million-dollar, one-person idea sound like a revolution that I felt inclined to e main reason I liked this book is the limitation implicit in the author's thesis statement. She doesn't talk about multi-million dollar companies. In fact, over and over she states that some entrepreneurs don't even wish to create a million dollars because they don't wish to sacrifice some of the things they would have to give up to scale their business to that level of productivity. The book is about finding and applying the concepts that will let you to run the business you want, to help the lifestyle that is most beautiful to you. Some of the business owners that appear on these pages scale up a side project until it is just huge enough to let them cash and time off to travel, but then they reject the venture capitalists who offer to create their businesses more successful. The book offers not just business hints but also tip on how to stay real to your evolving goals and how to reassess to manage your changing finances if growth stalls.I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to others who are interested in the entrepreneurial e Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Create Amazing Money. Work the Method You Like. Have the Life You Want.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    I didn't know what to expect when this book arrived. I had been interviewed by the author a few times, once for a story in Forbes and again for this book. What I can say, without any bias, is that this is undoubtedly the best book I have read on how to craft, cultivate and sustain as successful one-person business. This book offers a much required step-by-step tutorial that is customizable to the individual, not a set formula. Pofeldt offers support tips, strategies, and resources to create it happen, distilled down from hundreds of interviews with people running all various types of is book is essential reading for anyone looking to begin their own one-person or little business, or anyone looking to work out a method to scale up the revenue in their business, while keeping operations lean to maximize profits. I am honoured to be included amongst the other business owners that are profiled, but more so, I am grateful that there is now a book in the globe that I can recommend unequivocally to anyone looking to begin their own thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    Just as the Buddhist proverb says, "When the student is ready, the teacher shall appear!" After a career as a tv news producer, I switched gears a few years ago and began working independently (as a "solo-preneur") in the field of public relations. I followed the suggestion of another classic expression, and chose to "do what I love" ... but I never learned how to actually run the business side of what I do. The wisdom contained in Elaine Pofeldt's fresh book truly is "priceless," and I'm excited about putting these lessons into practice. Thanks, Elaine! I've enjoyed the work of writers like Tim Ferriss and Gary Vaynerchuk for years now, and I'm excited about the idea of adding a fresh "guru" to that short list -- especially because I know the ideas and tactics Elaine shares in this book all come from her a lot of years as a financial journalist, and she has interviewed those who don't just talk about these ideas in theoretical terms, but instead have used them to build highly successful businesses!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    I love that Elaine set out to challenge the notion that you need to build a huge business with a huge squad in order to be successful. This book is filled with case studies of entrepreneurs who chose to leverage systems and technology to grow profitable businesses with small overhead. Learning things for yourself first hand can be costly, learning from the experience of others on the other hand is a much better method to go. By extracting the knowledge and experience from tons of entrepreneurs, this book ultimately condenses decades of wisdom into days of reading.(In full disclosure: I was lucky enough to keep an advanced copy of this amazing book)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    The Million-Dollar One-Person Business: Create Amazing Money. Work the Method You Like. Have the Life You Wish by Elaine Pofeldt is an innovative book offering business tip to entrepreneurs. I liked the premise of the book: developing a business for one person that would yield a high profit. I also liked how Pofeldt gave broad tip for starting a business – such as how to fund it – as well as specific and detailed tip on minor topics – such as how to organize emails in Gmail. One of my favorite chapters was “Realize and Restart Your Vision,” which talks about retaking your entrepreneurial temperature and staying real to evolving your goals. If you have fun entrepreneurial pursuits, The Million-Dollar One-Person Business is a amazing book to pick up.*I received this book for review*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Create Amazing Money. Work the Method You Like. Have the Life You Wish was a book that I got thinking it would be a fun one to skim. Yep, no skimming here, I was intrigued the whole method through! I loved getting to hear all the people who have started up business and succeeding at them.Examples of people making seven figures selling gumballs or six figures selling decorative mailbox flags. I mean, when you think of getting rich, I am sure those two things are the first thing to pop into your head!I loved all the practical tip in this book as well. I have gmail and wanted to be able to send some emails where I knew if the other person opened them. There was an add on mentioned in this book that I could do that. anks to Blogging for books for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want. review [Book]  2018-1-22 18:0

    Elaine Pofeldt has taken all the wisdom garnered from decades of writing about—and living—the life of a solopreneur and poured it into this very intelligent and entertaining guidebook. Readable, practical, and smart, The Million-Dollar One-Person Business is more than a roadmap to seven-figure solopreneurship. Pofeldt’s talent for amazing storytelling brings each of the successful entrepreneurs in her book to life in a method that’s not only compelling to read, but overflowing with lessons for readers. The street to solopreneurial success may be bumpy and windy, but as one of the entrepreneurs in the book says, “Following your dreams is never a straight path."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    This is written to let the reader to experience the emotional roller coastal each of the characters went through. A amazing book for those who have an interest in the workings of the Mafia.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    This book is more about the mob than it is about the club, Scores. I enjoyed it very much and feel so sorry for Michael Blutrich. What a screwed up justice system we have! I still cannot believe he spent 13 years in prison; that was so unfair.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    I do not consider myself a book reader by any means. Mostly in part because they worked better as a sleep aid rather than providing any entertainment value. I was fortunate enough to come across a copy of Scores and it was apparent after the first few hours that this one was beautiful useless in the providing any relief to sleep deprivation. From the moment I picked it up the chapters fell off like I could imagine the dancers wardrobe would. An insider's look behind the scenes of an era that created history. Would create a phenomenal film a must read !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Picked this book up after seeing Anderson Cooper's rave review. Couldn't have been any happier that I did! This book / story is a real page turner and is incredibly well written. I highly, wholeheartedly recommend it and hope Michael writes a follow-up about his life post incarceration! I may go back and reread it, it was that good!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    The moment you begin reading it you cant place this book down!! I loved it, it's a regular NYC mob story drama classic. This book was a amazing read and went by in the blink of an eye.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Holy cow what a story. If you grew up in Brooklyn in the '80's or if you didn't live under a rock, you will know every player in this book. Mob rule was martial rule and the author provides a first hand acc right from the thick of it. This is one wonderful story but do not begin this book unless you have 48 or more hours straight to spare because you will absolutely NOT be able to place it down. It's an incredibly exciting read and you will not care that the author is not an author by trade. A truly awesome story that makes you feel like you were the one wearing the wire at the table with the poor guys.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    I was never a huge Howard Stern fan, and never visited Scores, but I found this book mesmerizing. I couldn't place it down. The writing is compelling and the plot is totally engaging. You feel like you're getting a true behind-the-scenes view of the workings of the Mafia, as well as the FBI in dealing with them. Blutrich comes across as a compelling and complex character, with a sense of humor and perspective about his increasingly complicated situation. Finally, there is something quintessentially "New York" about this book, which will create it of interest to fans of other crime writers, like Lawrence Block. Highly recommended!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    I am amazed at how much I enjoyed this read.I was hesitant to buy the book. I'd heard of Scores but I didn't think info of the inner workings of the put sounded all that interesting. A magazine article, sure. An entire book on the topic seemed a bit much. First and foremost: this book is so much more than a day in the life of a strip club owner. I obtain that the club brought Mr Blutrich into the mob's orbit and it is a special enterprise, but the insane existence outside of Scores he ends up living is really the dominant theme of the book. There are so a lot of twists and turns to Blutrich's story and he really does a amazing job of taking the reader along for the ride. I also found the guy likable which really makes the ending even harder to swallow. Even if you saw the 60 Mins piece on him a few years back ( I did but had really forgotten the details) or are somewhat familiar with the story, there's no method you could have a real insight into the hell ( fascinating as it was) he went through. It was so well done I have to admit ( since the guy is a lawyer by trade) I was surprised there wasn't a co author credit. Amazing job, Michael.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Scores: How I Opened the Hottest Strip Club in New York City, Was Extorted out of Millions by the Gambino Family, and Became One of the Most Successful Mafia Informants in FBI History review [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Scores is the story of Michael Blutrich, a successful Fresh York attorney who opened one of the most popular "gentlemen's clubs" in the country. The true story, though, is how the Gambino crime family got it's hooks into the club, and how Blutrich was created an FBI informant to take down the mafia family. I honestly could not stop reading this book. It was exciting, well written, and grabbed your attention right away. Blutrich's descriptions of his "adventure" created you feel afraid for him, yet somewhat disgusted by him, at the same time. I won't obtain into the morality of a strip club. That's for someone else to decide. I just sat back and enjoyed the story. This easily could have been a five-star review, except for one thing. Blutrich, in the beginning of the book, talks vaguely about his "Florida troubles". Throughout the book, as he goes deeper and deeper into his informant status, he mentions this a lot of times, but never really gets into it. Finally, you determine that he is under indictment in Florida for some type of insurance fraud. His agreement with the Fresh York U.S. Attorney's and the FBI is that if he keeps informing on the Gambino's (and others), he will obtain a substantial sentence reduction. And informing he does, very effectively. And it looks like things are going to go his way. BUT, the Florida U.S. Attorney's are not going for this agreement, as Blutrich goes on and on about. According to him, the prosecuting attorney and judge in Florida are unfairly versus him. They go out of their method to inflict unnecessary hurt on him, based mostly on jealousy. Blutrich ends up serving WAY more time than he thought, all because of this one U.S. Attorney and Judge. You are left feeling that he has really been screwed over by the system. So I did a small digging, researching the book a small further. Turns out, his small insurance fraud case in Florida was actually a MUCH bigger deal than he allow on. According to a 60 Mins profile, what actually happened was that Blutrich opened Scores with cash he stole from a huge life insurance company in Florida. The cash he stole left nearly 26,000 elderly policy holders bilked out of their life savings. The theft totalled $440 million dollars, one of the largest white collar crimes in U.S. history. Aha! So maybe that's why the U.S. Attorney's in Florida were being so hard headed! Sure, he testified versus the mob, and that's great, but in reality there was no nobel purpose, he did it only to save his own skin in Florida. He goes on and on about how unfairly he was treated, how he was promised almost no prison time yet ended up serving 13 years. What he doesn't tell you in the book was that his codefendant in the Florida case was treated much more harshly, ending up being sentenced to 845 years! So Blutrich really did obtain a huge break. Blutrich's complaining and crying at the end of the book really kind of spoil what would have been an outstanding story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    5 Stars to The Hot One by Lauren uren Blakely has me addicted! I have loved every single one of her books that I had the pleasure of reading. Her heroes are amazing! Sexy as hell. Hot damn!Tyler and Delaney.......Tyler and Delaney were college sweethearts. In fact they were truly in love with each other. They planned out their futures together and couldn't be happier.Until it was over.Tyler decided that he couldn't afford to be distracted while pursuing his dreams of becoming a lawyer. So he broke up with Delaney, tearing her heart to shreds. Yeah...not his finest forward eight years and a possibility moment finds them seeing each other for the first time since their break up.Tyler is speechless when he sees Delaney. He is shocked. But at the same time he is excited and hopeful. Tyler is determined to victory her back. He knows that he damage her badly. Tyler deeply regrets his callous decision to end things with Delaney. He wants a second possibility desperately. Once he decides to victory her back, he knows he'll do anything and everything to create that n I just say how much I loved Tyler? I loved watching him war for Delaney. He was aggressive in his pursuit, however he was so sweet and romantic at the same time. Tyler is totally swoon-worthy and the truth is...Delaney never had a for Delaney, I'm glad she didn't create things simple for Tyler. She had every right to be mad with him as well as being wary of trusting him once again with her heart. I usually have fun the antics of a groveling character but I found myself forgiving Tyler quickly. I could not support it. He was just too sweet, too sexy, and over the top romantic. Most importantly, he knew he was wrong and he regretted hurting and losing her. Tyler always place Delaney's feelings first. He understood her hesitancy and was a gentleman as he pursued her. Tyler did not create it simple for Delaney to resist. Simply put, he was so ere were a lot of fun and witty moments in this book. I read with a constant goofy grin on my face. My heart was so full for Tyler and Delaney. I was very satisfied with their ending. Or should I say their 'beginning?'Lauren Blakely's characters are so lovable. Her heroines are sassy, smart and headstrong. Her heroes are imperfect and excellent at the same time. Not to mention...they are strong, fit and sexy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    Oh yes! Lauren Blakely's The Hot One gives "go huge or go home" a whole fresh meaning. It sure didn't damage that Tyler Nichols had the goods to back up the swagger. The writing was fun, easy, steamy and also sweet.I really enjoyed this second possibility romance. Tyler and Delaney's first meeting in almost a decade was full of awkwardness and tension. Sexual tension. These two were insanely attracted to each other. But Tyler has A LOT of making up to do. And does he ever because his heart can't deny what his head did years ago. He wants this woman. He needs this woman. But Delaney is fiery and feisty, she wasn't just going to allow him worm his method back in. She had a plan...her best mates helped her with it. However, Tyler has a plan too....I'm going to take a moment to fan myself because there is one stage that I am lucky I wasn't reading in public. HOLY HOTNESS!! Delaney and Tyler sure are adventurous- always had been but this one really amped things up. From there on it was almost smooth sailing.I think I was just as shocked as Delaney when Tyler revealed the ace up his sleeve. I mean jaw on the floor, completely out of left field didn't see that coming in the least. Amazing on Delaney for sticking to her guns and not giving in. For making Tyler earn it. For for letting him love her- quirks, polydactyl cats included, and all. But most of all for loving him. Lauren Blakely has done it again,left me all swoony and smiley and wishing there was more to this story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    Tyler broke Delaney's heart 8 years ago when he broke up with before going to law school. Now he sees her in a park and wants to obtain to know her laney thouggt she was over Tyler, even though she dreamed of him ever since. When he reappears in her life again she doesn't know if she should give him a possibility again.Tyler is nothing but persistent and will not give up on having Delaney even if he goes about things the wrong way. But he learns he can't chop corners when trying to build the relationship. Will he explore this too late though to present Delaney that he wants her forever?The Hot One is another amazing book that ties characters that we already know and love. Lauren knows how to do this so well and to bring us into the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    This book was honestly really emotional for me! The second-chance romance aspect really got to me and I felt like crying just about the whole book because of how the breakup in college affected both Tyler and Delaney and how it continued to affect them in the present!! I wouldn't say this is my favorite by Lauren but it is definitely near the top!! I don't typically go for second possibility romances because I just hate how the first breakup is told and it's just always gut-wrenching. Delaney's friend, Penny, has her own book, a novella, which I feel I need to read now. Her other friend, Nicole, was not my favorite in this book. At the end, she got on my amazing side and I obtain that she was trying to protect her friend, but at the same time, she required to allow Delaney create her own choices. I've had the Kindle ver on my phone for a while but recently got into audible and I listened to this about a week ago as I'm making my method through Lauren's books on there. I will definitely give this a read on my Kindle within the next year or so to have a various reading experience. Overall, just very satisfied with how this book went!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    This was my favorite Lauren Blakely book to date and I love them all! From the polydactyl cat named Crazypants to Delaney and Tyler's relationship that I just loved! Wouldn't you love to have him strip for you ? Amazing lord! And...he likes cats!I loved the banter and just everything about this one. It was sweet, swoony and sexy uren is the queen of romantic comedies and she can do no wrong!The audio on this one- the best! Zachary Webber and Andi Arndt knocked it out of the park! He even meows!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    Lauren Blakely provided yet another delight in The Hot One. This was a classic second-chances love story with characters I adored, especially Carly, witty, clever banter, and wonderful, close friendships. It was one of those reads you can rely on to captivate and enthrall.I'm thankful authors like Blakely exist, because they consistently provide delectable morsels to consume. So looking forward to Nicole's story next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    I believe my expectations were too high. I had to really analyze my feelings after finishing this ’s the breakdown: Tyler and Delaney were college sweethearts during their senior year. They had explosive chemistry in and out of bed throughout their 1-year relationship. Tyler unexpectedly ends the relationship and doesn’t look back. Until a possibility meeting in the park changes things, Tyler had always been the one who got away. What’s a girl to do when the hottest guy she’s ever been with is also the one who broke who heart? In an attempt to victory another possibility at Delaney’s heart, Tyler makes a bold statement as apology for his past behavior…but will it work?That storyline is the basic focus of the book for the first 65-70%. Unfortunately, I didn’t connect with either hero during that span of time. My problems were primarily with everything else going on in the periphery. There are several secondary characters who feature prominently here, and I found them distracting. I’m certain that’s my issue. I also had a slight problem believing the connection between the characters. They are night and day, complete opposites. That trope normally works for me, however, I didn’t buy it with these two. There was too much push and pull. But here’s the true issue, Delaney and Tyler don’t really reconnect until late in the book. It was a much slower begin than I expect from this author. Again, this is a purely subjective review. These are my ’s the amazing new…after the couple finally gets over their past mistakes and discuss the cause of their separation I started to engage more with each of them. I enjoyed learning more about Delaney’s family history and why her career path changed so drastically. I fell for how sweet Tyler behaves and really started to have fun the story much ’s what I really enjoyed:Tyler is sweet, honest, and a super fun character.I loved getting to see Clay and how fatherhood is treating uren Blakely is a master at writing super sexy scenes. These definitely didn’t disappoint.Overall, this is a sweet romance. If you’re a fan of romance series, Lauren Blakely should be on your list of top authors. Although this wasn’t a top fave for me, I know others will really have fun getting to now Tyler and Delaney.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    Loved this. Loved the characters. Tyler broke Delaney's heart 8 years ago doing what he thought he had to do. Circumstances changed for them both and they didn't go down the paths they'd thought they would as college students. Now 8 years later and unexpectedly, they see one another again. The passion is still there. I loved following their story as they got to know one another again. Tyler was yummy and the lengths he went to at times created me laugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    Love the determination of Tyler to go and obtain his girl. You can feel the chemistry between the both of them. This is one of the best second possibility book I have read in a long time. It's light and inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hot One: A One Love Romance review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:0

    As always, hot!! I love that these are stand alone, but really are part of a series. This one was a amazing one, and Lauren knows how to write a hot book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hour One Life for Mobile review [App]  2018-8-17 13:0

    The controls are very hard to use. Have to constantly test to swipe a few times before it actually eats the berry or do any other function. Gets frustrating to test and do something but swiping doesnt work and end up hungry and you have to swipe multiple times. Buy the pc version. Much better

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hour One Life for Mobile review [App]  2018-8-17 13:0

    I love this game, there is something fresh to explore each android game play! Each life you play you explore fresh things and meet amazing players, Very creative and addicting! congrats on the release !!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hour One Life for Mobile review [App]  2018-8-17 13:0

    Best android game to play on a Phone or smartphone in my bed! Contrôle facile. Tutoriel dès le départ. Développeur à l'écoute.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hour One Life for Mobile review [App]  2018-8-17 13:0

    Minus the lag that needs be worked out a bit it amazing amazing job 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hour One Life for Mobile review [App]  2018-8-17 13:0

    I like it but i never obtain born as a CHILD.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    One Hour One Life for Mobile review [App]  2018-8-17 13:0

    Will give u more stars when I can actually play just says waiting to be born for hours

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Year One: Chronicles of the One, Book 1 review [Book]  2017-12-3 18:0

    I won an ARC of this in a Goodreads First Reads giveaway, Thank an Advanced Read Copy there are a few spelling mistakes but that can be taken care of by the finished product. I liked how she switched to various peoples perspectives during the story. I also enjoyed her powerful female characters.I must begin this review saying that every expectation I had from a Nora Roberts book was swept away. I've only read two of her other series and I wasn't sure what I would be getting myself into. This story embraced, ensnared, and enchanted me.“When Ross MacLeod pulled the trigger and brought down the pheasant, he had no method of knowing he’d killed himself. And billions of others.” I was reminded painfully of The Butterfly Effect. The Butterfly Result is the power to cause a hurricane in China because of a butterfly flapping its wings somewhere in the world.... If the butterfly had not flapped its wings at just the right point in space/time, then the hurricane would not have happened-The Butterfly Result and Chaos Theory. So when he shoots the Pheasant he set in motion a greater effect. I found it significant that Ross MacLeod had left blood there when he was a kid and then the Pheasant died there, I believe that is what triggered it. I was left wondering why nobody went to Scotland to test to figure out the cause and stop the Doom at the source.I cannot wait until the next book because I read this book latest night and I was left with so a lot of questions, I do hope in the next book that we obtain to hear what is event at Fresh Hope and that it doesn't rush through the Thirteen years without a telling us what had been event elsewhere. I wish to know if the lady who predicted the Doom is an Uncanny. I wish to know what happened with Max's brother. I also hope that instead of rushing Lana into her fresh relationship that Nora takes the time to discover their feelings and taking care of Fallon. I wish more of how the Uncanny's react to all the people hunting them, it reminded me of racism and I wish to see how they over come it and what Fallon's role is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plus One (Lighter Ones Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-5 18:0

    I WILL FOREVER WORSHIP AT THE HOUSE OF ALEATHA ROMIG!!!Yes, I said it and I may be a bit bias; however, when I started to read this book I knew that Aleatha was going to provide us with something different. That can be very scary for authors. I can now truly say that Aleatha Romig has my complete heart. I know that she can give me dark, twisted and crazy but now I know she can also give me light and is book, these characters - Duncan and Kimbra had me laughing out loud in public, fanning myself from the chemistry that jumped off the page, and reminiscing about how families truly are crazy but you love them anyways. I think I loved Duncan right from the begin even with some of his questionable actions never created me not love him. Kimbra is so powerful and independent like so a lot of of Aleatha's female characters are but she was also struggling with true life problems that I could relate too. I can't do this review without mentioning Grandma Helen...she was FABULOUS!!! I just ADORE her and all of her crazy!! I wish a Grandma Helen, I think everyone NEEDS a Grandma Helen in their lives!! I will reread this book especially if I need something light, fun, and sexy!!Provided as an ARC for an honest and voluntary review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plus One (Lighter Ones Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-5 18:0

    Plus One by Aleatha Romig is a standalone sexy and funny romance told in dual POV and is much lighter than the usual Aleatha fare. If you are looking for and expecting dark and twisty you will NOT search that in this book. You will search sexy times, a funny leading lady with a huge set of lady balls and a sexier than sin business owner who has been biding his time for three years for the opportunity to create a Deal with his HR bra is amazing at her job. It's all she has ever wanted... To live in Fresh York, succeed in her career in HR and she is fabulous at it. Until that time she catches her boss in a compromising position in the ladies room with another employee and gets this crazy idea to blackmail him into being her plus-one for her cousins wedding. She gets much more than she bargained for...Duncan has noticed Kimbra since her first day with the company over three years ago. When she tries to blackmail him into being her plus-one for her cousins wedding in Indiana he practically leaps at the opportunity to obtain closer to her and explore what the keep is that she has had on him for these past years. He never expects to allow his guard down and explore everything he never knew he wanted!Funny, sexy, and stimulating (**wink**) - this book was originally released in a much shorter format by the then unknown Jade Sinner, a writing duo of two anonymous authors that wrote a handful of steamy novellas - (Quite literally some one-handed reads). The cat is now out of the bag and the duo was none other than our very own Aleatha Romig and Georgia Cates and this story is a very thorough expansion of the story, Duncan - The Deal. So if it sounds familiar you very well may have already read the basics but this expansion is so much more - taking it from a one-handed read to a romance to savor. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Plus One (Lighter Ones Book 1) review [Book]  2018-5-5 18:0

    Aleatha Romig has been my queen of dark for years now. She is one of a few auto buy authors for me. When she announced she was writing a rom-com, i'll admit I was a small hesitant but ultimately knew that I was going to give it chance. Plus One proves that not only is Aleatha queen of dark, she can write sexy and fun just as well. It also reveals Aleatha's sexy side, which I was pleasantly surprised by. Some of those scenes were H-O-T!!!Duncan and Kimbra had a chemistry that burned brightly from the very beginning. What Kimbra thought of as blackmail to hold her family from asking questions, Duncan thought of as the opportunity he'd been waiting for. When he agreed to be her plus-one to her cousin's wedding, neither one was prepared for the onslaught of emotions they would One is a sexy office romance that will have you laughing out loud and falling in love with Kimbra and Duncan. The only element that I felt this book lacked, but in NO WAY did it take away from the story, was some conflict. It was a quick, sexy, funny book that will leave you with a smile on your face and a satisfied heart. I am definitely looking forward to more from the lighter side of Leatha.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter