The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 Reviews & Opinions

Submit The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    First off, before you read anything else, this is the only English version of this book. If you want to read it, the issues I talk about are just things you're going to have to put up with. I'm giving this 4 stars for the story, not the execution. The execution is horrible. What happens to the main character, how he deals with it, and his unique "dark" take on everything happening around him is what makes or breaks this story. Get past the main character's uniqueness, and everything else is about what readers of the genre (otaku gets thrown into a game/fantasy world) will expect. Aside from that, Aneko Yusagi has some very poor writing habits. Any time there is a detail that they feel the reader needs to know about, but which wasn't mentioned earlier, instead of editing things so that that information shows up where it should, the author just has Naofumi break into whatever else he was doing to say: " By the way, such and such means such and such" or "For your information, I did this other thing earlier." Another thing that really bugs me is that whenever anyone says anything are there ever any direct indicators as to who is saying what. There's no He said,"blah blah blah" or She asked,"What the blah?" You have to infer who is saying what every single time. This is manageable with two people or less, but becomes impossible in most instances where three or more people are so, for some reason the publisher decided every instance of "Naofumi-san" needed to be changed to "Mr. Naofumi", even though the book is rife with Japanese-isms. Also typos. Plenty of them. A quick read-through by a fluent speaker before sending the book to the printers should have caught them. Guess they couldn't be bothered.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    The book appeared in my commic/manga recommendations, which meant I did not pay much attention to it at first. Nothing against comics, but my Kindle is not well-suited for reading them. It took me some time to realize it was a light novel with only a handful of illustrations. A bit of a shame since I do like litRPG, which this light novel belongs e story starts when a typical college student is summoned from Japan as one of four heroes. They are destined to deal with some kind of monster invasion in a world much like a computer game (including leveling, status screens and so on). The man gets the short end of the stick, ending up with what appears to be the worst of the weapons and through it class (the legendary weapon is both a weapon and the source of the wielders special abilities which increase through leveling up). To make matters worse, he ends up being tricked and falsely accused. It angers and embitters him greatly, but he survives and despite his anger and trust issues still turns into something of hero even he himself is blind to e book starts awkward, not sure whether it is the translation or it is simmilar in the original version. After some time though the flow of the story becomes more natural and easier to read. It is an entertaining litRPG story that does not follow the more traditional paths for prophecized heroes. There are some dark elements to the hero, although it is not really all that bad overall. Still, the protagonist buys a slave and helplessly undergoes some pretty bad injustices. Might not be for e side characters are flat and cliche, and everybody has a tendency to react in extremes which in my experience is part and parcel of these kind of light novels, although I have seen worse. The two main characters seem to be developing fine and have more depth to their personalities. I am curious though about how little a professed gamer knows about some of the generic aspects of the game mechanics. For example, part 2 starts with him being surprised by spell and receipt books, which are pretty common aspects of most fantasy RPGs I have played from very early on in game the end, it was a good entertaining read, if a bit short (but I knew that when I bought it), leaving me curious about the next part.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I have been following this series in Japanese for a while and I am thrilled that this series is finally making it to America. This is a terrifically written story that just keeps you wanting more. While a lot of people might think that this is just another run of the mill novel it is anything but that. The characters of Naofumi and Raphtalia are perfect for one another. I would write more but I just don't want to spoil it for anyone so all I will say is that if you pass this one up you are most definitely going to regret it. This is just one of those timeless treasures that only come around once in a great while so do yourselves a favor an pick up a copy.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    If your looking for something different from most light novel/anime/manga hero characters this is your one stop shopping. The whole summoned hero into a fantasy or game like world is deconstructed here as the hero is reviled, the other heroes are obnoxious gamers and the the people he is supposed to help are prejudiced. The other people later in the series who worship him because of past hero's who wielded the shield are also prejudiced but in the opposite direction. No ones hands are clean and the consequences of the actions of hero are examined. Still despite some dark themes there is hoped and redemption sprinkled throughout the series as characters make it back from their lowest points and over come their flaws to become the people they should be. This is one of the few light novels that is deeper than one dimensional characters, thought there are a couple of those, and well worth the money you pay for it. I hope it gets turned into an anime.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    First off, I have already read the manga (online) and I find it fully interesting so I try to read the novel (web version), but it got taken down. So here I am buying this novel (heard it different from the web version a bit). Since I already read the manga, I kind of know what is going on already, but nevertheless, it still is very is one of those stories where the MC (main character) got summon into another world as hero to fight demons. The story at first seems like it is very predictable, but it will make you speechless after a certain event. There are some twists here and there, but it is very stly, this novel is somewhat a HAREM novel so if you don't like HAREM then you best not buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I really enjoyed this. The main character is pretty Jaded. Because he is betrayed after being summoned to this world as a hero he trusts no one and is just an angry guy who doesn't want to be used again. But since he can't level up alone he buys a slave. Not something you expect a good hero to do. But this is actually the best thing he can do because deep at heart he's really a good guy. I really enjoyed seeing Raphtalia and his relationship grow. It was really good and I look forward to volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    This is "Isekai". Protagonist is treated as a villain. This is one of my favorite stories. While it is not written by Shakespear this story has fun tropes animal girls, irredeemable villians, slavery, loli, steady story progression, mostly competent is story features "Video game" mechanics where main characters can grow stronk and learn skills. This mechanic can be a turnoff for some but in the case of this story it does fit. Just roll with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    Unique take on the protagonist for a Japanese work, so interesting that it tips the scales complete in its favor. I found the writing to be subpar, and emotionally charged points could definitely have been better written, but no cons were large enough to upset how much I liked the idea of this protagonist. Though I did think he was rather bland the first couple of chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I love this manga. I read it online, so when I saw it was being released in English. I was excited. I didn't do enough research so I was surprised when it arrived and was a novel, not the manga. But still, I loved the story so am still pleased. I really like the main character. It's nice having a hero that isn't all save the world for the good of the people. He has flaws. He can be selfish. but that just makes me like him all the more. I am a suck for a hero. But while superman and the like are amazing. They always are all about the greater good. Justice will triumph. Self sacrifice and all that jazz. This is more about what if the hero wasn't like that. He is a hero, but he also expects that he shouldn't have to sacrifice alone. Which is nice to see. If you protect people, you want them to also try to defend themselves. I love the people he picks up along the way. They really balance out some of the rough edges he has and show his kinder side.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 01 [Book]  2018-2-13 18:1

    I bought this book on a whim, I have never before read any light novel series but I was fan of both Japanese manga's and anime's that thought I would give this a try. I have to say I am very impressed. If you have never read a light novel before but you like watching anime and such, then this is the book for you. I am not going to try and sum up the story or even talk about the book in this review since their are other reviewers who do it a whole lot better than I ever can. I just wanted to add my review since it was one of those rare books I ended up reading from beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 09 [Book]  2017-11-6 18:1

    There's some things that make me lost my mind when I read it. Please decide whether to use Japanese honorific or not. I can enjoy the book nonetheless.Let's make it short, Naofumi had a fulfilling life trolling another people in Kizuna's world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    I love this series and the fact its the light novel version. The reason is because of the fact that there more detail as the manga glosses over alot of situations or skips some all together. If the manga is important try a manga reader app, but I strongly advise buying the light novels too so you get the full story. I have read both and can safely say they compliment each other. If you only want one version, then go with this one. Thanks for your time and hope I helped out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    I'm gonna review this book as if i had not read the manga online nor do i have read the novel translations either. just go as a fresh reading and riview for people who have read the 1st book and are wondering for the second is books covers a bit less of the mision-at-hand than the last one and instead of a focus on monster wave it goes with Naofumi and co. making friendlier relationships with other people and trying to be better prepared for the next wave with levels and compound you can see in cover we get a new adorable character but just wait until you get to know the odd attitude of this girl.overall the story is quite good and goes pacedly while Naofumi still deals with his lack of trust to other people and we get fighting and levels and only problem with this book is with the work done in st volume also had a bit off typos like a lack of simbols for dialogs, but this one had 1 very annoying mistake i just can't let pass:Page 294, 17th line. They wrote "Raphtalia had dashed... deliver a solid kick to the head". That was not Raphtalia but Filo since Raphtalia was coughing, she was pointing Naofumi to the dragon and furthermore Filo is the one giving kicks e story itself is no problem, but the quality checker for ONE PEACE BOOKS should really do his/her/their job

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    The reasons I'm giving this volume 4 instead of 5 stars: I've read a few of the volumes and this one isn't as intense as most of the others. And of the volumes I've read (1-5), this one has the most grammar/typo errors by far. Or at least the most noticeable errors. One of the new main characters is a female monster bird and they went back and forth calling it he/she for the first quarter of the book, but even after it was stated by another character that it was a she, they still said he a few times. There were also a lot of grammar errors. If any volume needs the most editing so far, it's definitely this one. Still, the series is great and this volume has a few parts that don't show up in the manga version which helped clear up some things. Can't wait for the rest of the volumes to be released on digital.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    This is the third book the of series and I have to say it just keeps getting more and more interesting, if you read the first two and like it, I would recommend getting this book as well, if you haven't read the first two, I would suggest you head on back and get them before diving into this one, since the book picks up right where it left off from the 2nd book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    Got it earliet than expected, great novel, easy to read, recommend it greatly if you like fantasy games and books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    Okay, there are two versions of these books on Amazon. One is the light novel, the other is the manga, but the manga isn't listed when you search for order to view and purchase the manga instead of the light novel, you need to click the arrow that says "See all formats and editions" and then click on the paperback formats. One of those paperbacks will be the manga. It'll have a different cover and say "The Manga Companion" in the e first 3 volumes of the manga are listed this way along with the light novels. I don't know why they have it set up like that, but you can totally buy the manga on Amazon the way, I buy both the manga and novels. The novels go into a lot more detail, and the manga has some really nice artwork.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    Not much more I can say for the sequel that I didn't say for volume one. This is a deconstruct reconstruction of the summoned hero genre. The characters went through bad times and are now trying to build themselves back up from the depths of despair. This volume points out some of the foolish consequences of heroes actions where they weren't careful and didn't think out the consequences of their actions. The special chapters at the end are really good at showing the actions of the other heroes and giving hints of the larger story that is developing. Worth the money to buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    I found this series by happenstance from a recommendation of another book set, and I'm glad I did. Other stories thrust a hero at you that is given everything he or she needs to succeed off the bat. In Rising of the Shield Hero, Naofumi is unwillingly put into the hero spotlight but is stymied at every turn by the kingdom itself--forced to save a country he does not care for while being chastised while he does is second book adds another character to Naofumi's otherwise small party, but adds a neat balance between himself and Raphtalia--Naofumi's other demi-human e only disappointment I have with the series so far is that the other books aren't out yet, leaving me to stare at a pre-order button for a few more months.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    So amazing, the series keeps drawing me in and captivating me. Once i start any of the books in the series I cant put it down until Ive read it all. As always, the shield hero's personality is the life of the story. He keeps steady and his way of thinking and truly makes you laugh or get angry along with him. Motoyasu the shield hero meets a similar fate at the hands of Filo in this book as well, the author somehow made it even more satisfying as book 2. Please buy this and read it, you will not be sorry :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Rising of the Shield Hero Volume 10 [Book]  2018-2-6 18:1

    The story continues and to be honest I see a lot of the character in my daily life because the of the ups and downs and the cleaning up after someone else after they make a wrong decision. But I have to see 👀 how the story unfolds in the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    Really enjoyable novel that offers a unique take on the isekai (other world) genre that you see a lot nowadays. While there were initial problems with the volume when it launched (was only downloading the preview and not the full version) a quick chat with Amazon got it fixed right away. Not sure if this applies to people who order it now but it was a problem for pre-orders and people who bought it early on. Don't be scared of the low star reviews as they are mostly for the above reason. Hopefully those change as people get their books to work because this is a really fun novel. Can;t wait to read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    An excellent, interesting story and well-written. I really like the premise and the writing so far. The full story is now available. For those of you, like me, who downloaded the novel before the author fixed the download problem, the following steps worked:1. Send a help request to Amazon. (they responded within an hour)2. Deregister your device.3. Delete the kindle app.4. Reinstall the kindle ease note that 2-4 did not work without doing 1 first.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    This was a well written piece exploring an angle on the "hero summoned to defeat the demon lord" plot that I had not seen before. Good pacing, decent characters that could use a bit more fleshing out but are still entertaining.When I initially purchased the book it was just the prologue chapter and I was off put by paying $6 and only getting a single chapter, but that has been fixed and you get the full book now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    A kingdom in economic crisis summons a hero to placate an empire at war who demanded either money or a hero. Of course, the summoner gets exactly what the ritual promises: somebody to save their kingdom, not the empire. In this case, that is an administrator with a thorough understanding of modern economics and business management (a student studying such at a university in Japan who always wanted such a position). What follows is the hero's struggle to reform the kingdom through various scenes and situations ending with him having overcome one issue and preparing for the next: other reviewers have stated, it is not an action filled book. The hero is a manager, and that is what he does best in the book. It is not a dry description of problems and sollutions though. Entertaining interactions between the characters, such as for example holding a cooking broadcast to showcase rarely used ingredients, are used to highlight problems and sollutions. The hero not being a jerk, nor naive or constantly abused is also a nice change of pace. I also like the twist on the hero's typical role from a warrior into an administrator and ruler. There is also no self-pity or trouble getting adjusted, which for me is a good thing. Mind you, he does not want to be king, but that is shown more by him calling himself temporary king and not through complaining and anslation feels good, although there are a couple of spots where the book could have used foot notes. Sure, one can expact the reader of a translated light novel to know a bit about Japanese honorifics or at least to understand said discussion when talking about how his translation magic works, but there are limits to such basic knowledge. For example. at one point a city mascot is discussed with references to regions in RL Japan that make little sense to me and it covers several paragraphs.Having said that, at times the story does become a bit boring in spending too much time describing the world or the situation. Do we really need a couple of pages explaining feudalism or that old families look down upon recently appointed nobles? I am also a bit doubtful on some of the hero's so-called modern sollutions (especially the forest management part is grating to me), but considering RL economists don't agree with each other and it is not overly important to the story I can let that aspect gardless, I greatle enjoyed the book and I will definitely read the 2nd one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    This is an entertaining story - a fun afternoon's read. The main character's reaction to being summoned is really what sold me on it, but the rest of the book held up fairly well. There are portions where you have to simply shake your head and laugh, "Oh, Japan" (Let me just say, cooking show. And leave it at that.). In addition, the "pragmaticism" is not always well thought through - the advice given for how to maintain a forest would only apply to a specific kind of forest under specific conditions, for example. At the same time, the characters are likeable, and it's fun to see a hero setting out to save a kingdom bureaucratically! I intend to pick up the next book when I get the chance.If you enjoyed the premise of this book, you may want to take a look at Maoyu, which has a similar theme of saving the world through economics and pragmatic thinking, although it goes far more in depth. To my knowledge, the books haven't been translated to English, but there's an anime series that has.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    If you like fantasy, harem stories, and the super strange isekai civil servant style story, I think you'll enjoy this. The world is decently thought out, the translation is fairly good, so props to whoever worked on that, and the characters are mostly endearing. Overall a win.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    Contacted Amazon and she manually helped re-download and update the book from the 27 page to the full volume. I kindly wish that it was the proper download in the first place

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    Only two chapters NOT the full volume the title needs to be fixed or the volume needs replaced.Ok contacted customer service and no need to reset my kindle just a simple update and problem solved. Review updated to reflect my view of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    Looking at book one. Already see a few good ideas coming forth and such to the point of a fourth General the dark elves as rangers and scouts plus a fifth on intelligence with the sirens ether way bravo can't wait for 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How a Realist Hero Rebuilt the Kingdom: Volume 1 [Book]  2017-10-15 18:0

    I feel this story was very refreshing in a sense of not following the same beaten path of alternate world Overpowered hero who gets summoned. The hero in the story has his quirks and abilities but uses his modern knowledge and experience to help benefit the people. I recommend this book strongly because I feel I am not alone in the fact that this story can also chime with you as well.!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Love, love, love it! Another great hit to be enjoyed by the whole family from Rick Riodan. Shifting points of view allow for a more complete story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    This series is just as exciting as I remember from reading it a couple years ago. It still remains one of my favorite chronologies from Rick Riordan. The feeling of piecing the puzzles together from series to series is indescribable by words.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Love the story line. Bought this as I didn't have the hard cover edition of it yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Very good!!! Super interesting! Most books when adding new characters lose the storyline, but Rick Riordan did a superb job! Every page kept me on my toes and I couldn't put it down! I'm not an action book person, so I was skeptical of buying this, but it was worth every penny :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Oh, how happy I am that Rick Riordan is back with some more Greek mythology stories. I've missed percy Jackson since he finished his quests, saved the gods on Mt. Olympus, and completed his prophecy. Although he is not in THE LOST HERO, other than just his name being mentioned, he still plays an integral role. I loved being taken back to Camp Half Blood, and some familiar characters, as we met three new demigods who we learn are incredibly important to the world as the gods have set it up now. THE LOST HERO has it all: adventure, battles, comedy, friendship, family drama, mythology references, saving the world urgency, excitement, mystery, and a little teen romance thrown in for good measure all in a quick read THE LOST HERO we meet Jason who doesn't remember who he is or where he's from - he just pops up one day on a school field trip. He's sitting next to Piper, who has her own issues because she keeps stealing things to get her famous father's attention and also thinks Jason is her boyfriend. Sitting near them is Leo who brings most of the comic relief to the story. When the monsters attack, we come to find out that Jason can speak Latin and refers to the gods by their Roman names. When the three are rescued and taken to Camp Half Blood, we meet up with lots of familiar characters and hear a new prophecy, and find out the parentage of the three new characters and what their quest will be. Along the way we meet new minor gods and goddesses, lots of mythological animals and people, and go along on their journey to building the friendship of Jason, Piper, and Leo and saving a major e thing I really love about Rick Riordan's writing is that it's pretty straight forward and written at a great middle grades level. That means it will be easily accessible/readable to all of my eighth grade students; however, as Percy's fans have grown, so has the size of the new series of books - this one tops out at 553 pages. The beauty is that because of the excitement and pacing of the story, I never wanted to stop reading it or put it down. Another change that was made for this series, that I really enjoyed, is that it is actually told from three different character's points-of-view. The book is written in third person, but when we first meet the main characters, we're reading from Jason's perspective, then after two chapters we move to Piper's, and then after another two chapters we get Leo's. I liked that the timing of the change was consistent throughout the book allowing me to know what was coming, but also each chapter was titled the character's name from whose perspective it was is book nicely sets up the larger premise for this new series by Rick Riordan - but I won't give that away here because I don't want to spoil the story! Luckily, we'll be getting new Rick Riordan books every six months alternating between The Kane Chronicles series and The Heroes of Olympus series - with the next heroes book, THE SON OF NEPTUNE coming out in a E LOST HERO is a must-read book for everyone who loved the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series: The Lightning Thief, Sea of Monsters, The Titan's Curse, Battle of the Labryinth, and The Last Olympian. You won't be disappointed and will be so happy to be back in this world again. And if you haven't read the others yet, you need to!Review originally posted at Heise Reads & Recommends

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    I read and loved the Percy Jackson series, so I was wondering where Riordan was going to go with this tale. Well, he went straight to the bank with this one; this book bodes well for the new series "Heroes of Olympus".The action starts immediately. Jason is a boy who is suffering from amnesia. He wakes up on a school bus not remembering anything from his past, including anything about who he is. He is sitting next to Piper McLean, a girl who is apparently his girlfriend, and a boy, Leo Valdez, who claims to be Jason's best friend. The bus is taking them, along with the rest of the class at their school, the Wilderness School, on a field trip to the Grand Canyon. The Wilderness School is apparently a school for delinquents.While they are there, they are attacked by `venti' or storm-spirits. Their teacher, Coach Gleeson Hedge, reveals himself to be a satyr, and helps fights the venti. Jason surprises himself by automatically using a sword disguised as a coin to fight off the spirits when he is threatened. Coach Hedge is captured while defending them. At the height of the battle, pegasi (two winged-horses) land next to them, carrying strangers: Annabeth and Butch (who has a rainbow tattoo; he is a son of Iris). Annabeth is angry because she had a vision that she would find a clue to her missing boyfriend, Percy Jackson, at the Grand Canyon. She was told to look for the "boy with the missing shoe". Jason lost a shoe in the battle, but has no memories of his own identity, let alone Percy Jackson's e three students are informed that they are demigods (children of a god and a mortal) and are taken back to Camp Half-Blood where they meet other demigod children like themselves. There, Leo is revealed as a son of Hephaestus, Piper as a daughter of Aphrodite, and Jason as a son of Zeus and the brother of Thalia. He remembers his sister while seeing a picture of her in Cabin One. After scarcely 24 hours of learning about their previously hidden identities, the three set off on a quest to rescue Hera, queen of the gods, who was captured by unnamed is book hits the ground running, and doesn't stop until the end, where Riordan sets you up for the sequel, in classic Riordan style. The action is great, and the monsters are fabulous. There is even a mechanical dragon, which I find to be an interesting idea. I liked this book and will definitely be reading the sequel, The Son of Neptune when it debuts in October for sure!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Just what we wanted but could find at other booksellers and we got it fast!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    Prologue and Disclaimer: Having read books 1-4 of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, with the final book 5 (The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Book 5), which I just received and am reading now, YAY!) on order, and being a completist at heart (yes, I also bought the Tales of Beetle the bard (both versions! The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Collector's Edition (Offered Exclusively by Amazon) and The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition) and the Artemis Fowl Files Artemis Fowl Files, The, I knew that I had to get this companion book for the Percy Jackson series as well. And since I also bought the other short story books, I knew going in that I'd be paying a premium for a hardcover book with less than 200 pages. But hey, it costs about as much as a ticket for a 2 hour movie, and lasted at least that long, so I'm not complaining!So, the book comes with 3 short stories, a few 2-3 page "interviews", 8 color portraits of characters from the book, a crossword puzzle and a wordsearch puzzle, plus about one-third of chapter 1 of book 5.Timelinewise, all 3 short stories occur between books 4 and 5, based on the age and knowledge of the characters e first story involves Clarissa and Percy (a unique pairing, compared with the other books). I liked the dynamic between the two, but wasn't crazy about the way Clarissa seemed so depending on Percy, instead of being able to carry her own weight e second story was with Beckendorf (of Camp Haephestus) and Percy, later joined by Annabeth and Selina of Camp Aphrodite. Without going into too much detail, I wasn't crazy about the plausiblity of this story. I know, it's a fantasy book about greek gods, but the story had one of the characters reattach a mechanical head that was chewed off, back onto it's body, without tools, and get the robot working again, all in about an hour and a e third short story was the best of the bunch, and seemed almost like a missing chapter of book 4, since the repercussions of that story may affect book 5 (I haven't finished book 5 yet, so I don't know if it will). The story revolves around Percy, Thalia, and Nico, so if you know about those characters, you definitely know the significance of those three to the e interviews, color portraits, and puzzles were filler material, interesting to those who look for that e excerpt of book 5, namely, the part of Chapter 1, was short but tantalizingly informative. A budding potential romance, a prelude to war, and a bag of greek fire, what more can you wish for?I still have to say something about the price point for this book. The MSRP of this is a bit steep, even for a hardcover, when you compare it to the other companion/short story books (namely the Tales of Beetle the Bard and Artemis Fowl Files as comparison).Overall, 4 out of 5 stars. I recommend buying it if you are a completist and need to read it before reading book 5 (like me).UPDATE: 05/11/09I've since read book 5 (The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Book 5)), and can unfortunately confirm that the final book makes no reference to the 3 short stories in this book. It's as if these short stories never existed. A shame, really, makes me have to think of the short stories as "what if" scenarios, as opposed to including them into the whole Percy Jackson timeline.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    One of my daughter's favorite lines is "Dad, you got to the party late." That's the way I feel about picking up "The Lost Hero." I happened to be in my local Costco a few months ago and saw "The Mark of Athena" when it was first released. I was intrigued by the title because both of our daughters have Greek names (Athena Nicole and Persephone Alexis). At first glance, I didn't realize that "Mark" was Book Three in 'The Heroes of Olympus' series. I was forced to double back to the beginning, which brings me to this review. I'm enjoying the read but didn't know how popular the series is. I'm a high school English teacher and have been carrying the book around campus, reading whenever I get the chance. I've had so many students excitedly come up to me and ask how I like the book. One student was prepared to loan me his copy of Book Two (which I've already got a copy of). Rick Riordan has truly created a phenomenon among young adult readers. He has also captured the imagination of this middle-aged black man.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) [Book]  2018-1-26 18:1

    I am no stranger to Mr. Riordan's work. I own the Percy Jackson series, The Red Pyramid, and of course The Lost Hero (All of which are excellent books) I was very excited to hear that Rick was returning to Camp Half Blood with a new series involving new prophecies and characters, while keeping many of the old characters that we came to love in the Percy Jackson series. After reading this book, it's evident to say that Rick hasn't lost his touch at weaving a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat. I loved the characters and various subplots that wove together into fun favorite character of the new cast of demigods has to be Leo. What can I say? I'm always partial to the ones who make me laugh in stories. I also liked the fact the backstories of these demigods was darker in nature. Personally, I felt Leo had the roughest time of three and that could have also played a factor into why I loved him so much. Getting the chance to watch him grow over time and develop a sense of friendship and family. Jason's character was a little sketchy at times but that was to be expected considering that he couldn't remember who he was. Piper, well...she was kind of annoying. Her thoughts and feeling were so caught up on Jason but like I said, it was to be expected considering who she represents as a demigod. I look forward to reading The Son of Neptune when it comes out this on to why I gave this book 4 stars instead of 5. Let me just first say that I reviewed every Rick Riordan book I read and gave them all 5 stars because that's what they deserved. With this book, I had take away a star because of the writing. Something with the writing style faltered with me. All of his prior stories were told in the first person and he exceeded at this. This was his first attempt in the third person person perspective, and I'm sorry to say, it showed. I felt it could have been written better considering that he's no stranger to writing books. This is his seventh children's book and he has a couple of adult books under his belt at's the curse of being a sucessful writer, I guess. The fans expect every aspect of the book to be above the bar from its predecessor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Reminiscent of Frank Herbert's "Dune" series... "plans, within plans, within plans... " Indeed!Love the character of tion sequences are very t a big fan of Reaper's self absorption musings fact, I read the series only after Ragnar beat Bombadil in the Cage Match.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    What to say?It starts as a story of class warfare - the protagonist is a "red", with strong correlations to scots miners, and his symbol, as the "reaper" he becomes, is the "slingblade" or scythe. Nevertheless, what it does NOT devolve into is a simplistic Marxist tale of class warfare. It is, in the end, about a struggle for equal rights, or at least equal consideration and opportunity to try, and about justice (whether or not "equality" is truly possible on any axis is an argument for another day - but it's trivial to not that some forms of equality inevitably have lead to tragedy and bloodshed).Darrow is a miner. A red. Living, so he thinks, to extract resources so that mankind can leave a failing earth. He soon learns that he is a de facto slave, in a society that has leapt far beyond Mars, even as it stays in the solar system in order to ensure control.He is "carved" - rebuilt - and is set on the path of revolution by the Sons of is book focuses on his entry to society, where he first goes through the school that allows him to claim the rank of a "peerless scarred" rather than a useless drone of a "pixie" - the upper crust of the highest-class "gold" rulers.Even from the opening, it is poetic, and literary, leaning heavily on references to Roman mythology in particular. Moment after moment pulls at the emotions and the soul, without cheap string-pulling, and the clarity of writing and emotional moments improve throughout the series. The characters come alive, and you feel their pain, their elation, their sorrow, and their contentment. He makes friends, and enemies, that will help and haunt him through the rest of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Darrow is a helldiver for the pioneers on Mars. His job is to gather resources from deep within Mars, an incredibly dangerous task that has forced him to become extremely dexterous and strong. Their eventual goal is to terraform Mars, making is possible for colonisation, at which point the Darrow and his fellow Reds will live as kings among men. The Reds are the lowest class in a society that they have barely glimpsed. The highest cass people a gold, all of whom have engaged in extensive physical modification making them essentially a different (superior) race. The Reds are treated like slaves and while Darrow has accepted his lot in life, content to live with his family and carve out the best possible life he can on this world, his wife Eo refuses to accept this life, and encourages Darrow to do the same. When Eo is sentenced to death after she sings a forbidden song while being whipped, Eo forces Darrow to confront the injustice his class faces. Darrow is then recruited into a group which plans to destroy the golds society from within. Darrow must become Gold, changing his body and mind. Then he will get accepted to the institute that trains Gold soldiers. Here he must distinguish himself in order to raise to the highest rank he can before tearing down the Gold’s society. It is in the institute that the novel finally began to click for me. Here Darrow and a couple hundred other students are put in a large arena, very much like The Hunger Games. Fifty students are in each house, all of which are named after Roman gods, where their goal is to enslave all other houses. Darrow is drafted into House Mars. Their performance in this arena is used by various member of the Gold’s military to find new recruits and apprentices with a lot of potential. I was really put off from the beginning by Eo’s death. She quite literally dies in order to propel forward Darrow, and it felt very unnecessary. If fact the entire first third of the book felt fairly contrived. Everything that was done was done specifically to get Darrow into the arena. And don’t get me wrong, the Arena was where I got over the rather annoying way Eo was treated by the story. It helps that Darrow really considers himself an extension of Eo (or at least her dream) at this point. This part of the book (and it makes up about two-thirds of it) really works. There is just so much going on. Darrow on his mission of revenge and revolution. The other Gold students are fleshed out and become their own characters, and we see them as very human, some we like, some we hate. Servo especially deserves mention as one of the few Golds that Darrow feels he can trust. Cassius is someone who I wouldn’t like, but everything he does makes sense as something his character would do.I’m trying to keep spoilers to a minimum, but there are some aspects of this novel that I would be remiss in not mentioning. One may even consider mentioning these bits a spoiler, so read on with caution. So, about halfway through our time in the arena Darrow dies (for the second time,) and then comes back (for the second time.) Before he was killed, Darrow was acting as the leader of his house, which had been very much divided between two other leaders before he’d managed to force them to work together. When he is revived by a former enemy, Darrow realizes that the way he was leading would never have allowed him to win. He was treating the members of his house that hadn’t originally followed him very poorly, and as a result they had never really grown to trust him as a leader, and more than likely just saw him as a usurper. So he realizes this and learns from it and then starts to rebuild an army out of former slaves. Freeing them (there is an actual mark upon those who’ve been enslaved that can be removed by the house that enslaved them or another house can enslave them and then decide whether or not to free them,) when they’ve proven their loyalty to him and when he has proven his loyalty to them. And this sense is conveyed through the writing itself. Before he had died, I found it difficult to remember all of Darrow’s compadres. Who they were, what they could do for him and so on. But during his second chance as a leader I could actually distinguish some of the more minor characters. Darrow’s personality no longer overpowers all but a few other people. It creates a noticeable difference in the style of Darrow’s command that I really liked. On another note… Titus. It seemed like Titus was meant to parallel Darrow had he given in to his desire for revenge against the Golds. But the sequence didn’t really work for me. It hinges on a character reveal that would have worked much better if there had been more hints prior to right before Titus dies. It is also disappointing because that character reveal makes me want to know more about him, but overall, Darrow is just too different. You never really get the sense that Darrow actually would act in that way, in fact earlier in the story Darrow does end up killing a Gold in a situation where there really was no other way. It’s gruesome, but Darrow is sorrowful and it deeply affects him and his relationship with another student. I also particularly enjoyed the final arc of the book beginning with Darrow being nursed back to life and ending him becoming a god! What a riot! So yeah, Red Rising. I definitely recommend it. There’s a lot more to it than I mentioned here, and I think the novel works very well over all! Give it a looksey if you’re into sci-fi dystopian spy books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I had a sense of Déjà vu when I started Red Rising. At first I was afraid I had stumbled upon a Mistborn (Brandon Sanderson) clone. Yet as I pushed forward I realized this is something much different. Something special.I cannot say exactly that this book is wholly original either. I recognize many other books influence through the pages of Red Rising. Hunger Games and Lord of the Flies also come to mind. Yet it still feels fresh. Most important is how strong of a Main character Darrow is. He is the voice of the book. He is a very proactive is has some elements of YA to it but I never felt as if I was reading a YA novel. It all feels very mature in a way that things like the Hunger Games just didn't to me. So if YA isn't you thing don't biggest compliant I have is there are a lot of side characters. I found it difficult to keep track of them all. Usually in first person books there is less side characters to keep track of. Since we never get a POV from them they can be forgettable. To many times he would be talking to a character and I would be at a loss for who they were exactly. That might be my own memory instead of a fault of the book.I really loved Red Rising. I am excited to start reading book two. If the rest of the series delivers on the promise of this great book then this will be very special indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Pierce Brown's Red Rising was a surprisingly good book, not necessarily because of the quality of the writing (which was good, just nothing outstanding) but because the story was compelling and original enough to feel like fresh 's a fairly distant future science fiction novel, taking place on Mars, but with a solar system that has been thoroughly populated by the time the novel begins. The human population of Red Rising has been divided into very distinct castes, defined by biological and neurological differences that are both technological and evolutionary in nature...and that is at the root of the story.Our protagonist is a "red" who works in deep tunnels below Mars, drilling and harvesting materials in exceedingly hazardous conditions for the noble purpose of terraforming the planet above. It's only after his wife is hanged and he goes proudly to his own death that he finds nothing generations of his people had believed was true. The surface of Mars had been long terraformed and civilized as had essentially every planet or moon in our solar system.He undergoes painful and extensive alterations of all sorts in order to pass for one of the ruling class for the purpose of exacting vengeance and righting the wrong that had been done to his people from within that upper class.I've seen a number of people comparing this trilogy to The Hunger Games, which was one of the reasons I hadn't bothered to read it until now. I didn't care to read what I suspected to be a low-rent clone of a wildly successful series. Upon reading this book, I suspect any of those people comparing it to The Hunger Games haven't read many other books, since the only similarities have to do with a corrupt and decadent ruling culture and a good deal of violence. There is more resemblance to Lord of the Flies and Ender's Game than anything else, with a healthy dose of Roman (and a bit of Greek) mythology to set the stage.I enjoyed this book enough that I plan to read the next two, and I think it's got a fantastic degree of character development that makes it feel more three-dimensional than a lot of young adult fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I have never given a book 5 stars and rarely bother writing reviews for books I read to be honest. I just finished this whole series and I find myself typing furiously on this keyboard with an overwhelming need to spread the word. This book and the series in general is EXCELLENT. If you are questioning whether to purchase this book because you enjoy the genre and are looking for a new fix, do yourself a favor, just STOP READING REVIEWS AND BUY IT. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.I have completed the trilogy and I am telling you, if you are questioning whether this book or this trilogy in general is worth it just look up the last book in the series. The book is called Morning star, it has over 1000 reviews and exactly ZERO of them are one to describe it? Im sure many other reviewers have done a beautiful job at describing the plot so I will just say what I think. The story is original, the characters are believable. They are supposed to be teenagers but behave more like adults because of their circumstances. This, I think is hard to make believable but the author succeeds at it. The book and the whole series really is incredibly dark, its beautiful, its captivating, its is trilogy broke the mold in my opinion. Its a legitimate adult appropiate YA will not regret this decision. Buy it, read it and let me know what you think :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    This series is sort of a Starship Enterprise meets Games of Thrones....I love the dystopian genre. This series is sometimes hard to picture, based on the author's descriptions. I still have no idea what a slingblade looks like. I don't even know if I'm using the right word. Strange Frankensteinian recreations of humans into different "colors". I'm on book 2 and hoping it gets better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I wasn't sure about this at first - maybe too youth oriented - but I kept at it and it quickly turned the corner and became one of the best reads I've had in many years. I have devoured all three books and am impressed with how the author continued to build characters (flaws and all) and expand and deepen his political/social universe philosophies and complications all the while continuing to twist and turn and surprise me constantly with an intricate, tension filled plot. I highly recommend this trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I bought this book looking for something new. What I found is something old that is new again. The book started off great. Characters that are relatable, in a setting that is scarily relatable, and writing that is smart. Buy the end of the book I couldn't believe how much it increased in greatness. I was enraptured in the events that unfolded on the pages before me and , with the most satisfying ending I've read in long a time, I cannot wait to crack the cover of the next book in the series. Enjoy the read, goodman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Red Rising is about a slave in a cast system who dreams of more. After finding out that his people have been lied to Darrow, the main character, sets off on a dangerous mission with a rebel group to rise up against the Gold leaders of the society.I am writing this review after my second time reading this book and I feel like I have a whole new appreciation of the epic scale of this book on the second time through. I honestly cannot fathom this story sometimes because it is so much bigger than the paper and cardboard rectangle it lives in. Pierce Brown has crafted such an amazing novel it is hard to remember sometimes that this is his debut novel. The writing is fantastic and very cinematic in it’s detail especially with the tactical strategies and political intrigue.Darrow goes through a lot to live up to the dream his wife has for him. At each new shift in his situation Darrow reminds himself of his motivations and struggles to stay grounded in them while keeping practically everything about himself a secret. Darrow has to disguise himself as a Gold and attend their Institute where he isn’t taking classes but battling with other students to gain control of the different houses. Lots of crazy antics ensue and Darrow finds that he can create bonds with these Golds whether it is of necessity or even true friendship to help him gain a favorable position in the game and in Society. Darrow’s friends: Mustang, Pax, Sevro, Roque, Quinn, Leah, and Cassius are all so intense and well developed characters that they don’t fade into the background. They make their presence known and are just so fantastic, Darrow’s plight is the meat of the story but these characters are all of the tasty side dishes and the dessert.I would love to continue to gush about this book but I don’t want to give anything away… there are so many twists and turns and one wrong word could spoil something. I feel like this story is one that you shouldn’t go into knowing too much because you will never be able to guess what will happen anyways.If you are a fan of The Hunger Games or Ender’s Game then I would surely recommend this to you because it has been described as a mix of these two books. I completely agree with that description but don’t expect it to be anything like either of those books because it is in a class all of it’s own. Be ready for some cringeworthy deaths and some insane antics because this book is one wild ride!Originally posted to[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    At first I think I am going to win but the enemy keeps attacking so I can't get a single attack errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Good game but don't have much skills

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Its good it just needs webshooting and webswinging

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Hated

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Happy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Nice game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    I love spider man movie please try the Amazing spider man 2 game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Very very faulty game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Nice but need improvement

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    It has no skills

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Its so amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Amazing game 😁

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Shivam Singh Rajput

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    I love Spider Man

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    faulty game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Bad game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Its ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Very baaaad

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    I like

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Nice game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Not bad

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Ba kar PC

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    pagal games

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Adhveu

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Poor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Belarus

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Love the game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    I like it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Some what imprivement

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    🐯💪👈 Jafar I s a👽🐴🐡🌵👹👹👹👿😈😈👿👹👺👺👹👿😈👻💀💀👻👻

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    I hate

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Its very nice game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    This game is very good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    253555 %. 🛃🛃🛃🛃🛃🚱🛡🛡🎹🎊💎

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Super Spider Hero Amazing Spider Super Hero Time 2 [App]  2017-11-29 13:0

    Lovely

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    To be honest, the announcement of this new trilogy did not initially fill me with churro-level glee. The first Red Rising trilogy was pitch perfect to me, with Morning Star (Book 3) sticking the landing so exquisitely, I had trepidations about returning so soon.I'm thrilled to say that I loved reading this book. I'm a relatively sloth-speed reader compared to the bibliophiles I admire in my life, but Pierce's books slow me down even more. He has an other-worldly gift to carve words into unexpected passages of beauty even amidst scenes of violence and mayhem. Like its three predecessors, I look forward to revisiting this one just to savor the artistry of his e addition of three new POV's also turns up the notch on plot complexity as Pierce weaves more threads into his diabolical web. I don't know how Pierce houses all of these characters' subterfuges and machinations in his (presumably) normal-sized human brain. It baffles and thrills me, and makes me never want to face him in Settlers of is multi-POV setup also lets us discover new non-Darrow narrators, which Pierce establishes effortlessly from the start. His ability to breathe vibrancy into these new character's disparate voices makes me even more excited for The Dark Age (Book 5) and all the future worlds and characters he's constantly dreaming up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    Thanks to the publisher, Penguin Random House, for providing me with a Netgalley copy of the book in exchange for an honest review as a result of a contest! You'll have to forgive my language, but DAMN YOU, PIERCE. How could you do this to me? Rip my heart out by making the stakes even higher, making me care about even more characters in this incredible world you've built, only to leave fates hanging in the balance and the universe on the brink of an even bigger war? HOW COULD YOU MAKE ME WAIT FOR MORE?Okay, sorry, now that I got that out, I can take a breath and try again. DAMN YOU, PIERCE. Oh, sorry, there was more.Pierce Brown has done it again. First, in the original trilogy, he built a world from the ground up, then tore it down spectacularly. Now, he's upping the stakes and bringing more characters into the fold... more characters for us to learn to love, and leaving more of our hearts available for him to rip out and shred into tiny pieces. You've done it to us before -- you know the ones I'm talking about, Pierce. You remember what you did to us in the first trilogy. And you know what you're doing now. And you know that, no matter how much pain you cause me, no matter how many of my tears keep you fed and satisfied, I will keep reading. Because the world, the characters, the stakes, the loss... it's all worth it. You've made a masterpiece, and keep on adding to it in masterful ways.Dark Age can't get here soon enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    Unlike the previous novels in the Red Rising Saga, Iron Gold is told from multiple perspectives. Each shares a different storyline that gives us insight into the state of the council, their enemies, and the people. Knowing we would have at least a year wait before the next book, I attempted to savor this novel by forcing myself to stop at the end of chapters. It was bloodydamn hard.We are given a lot of information about the world since Darrow’s victory. Battles still rage, colors still suffer and anger stews. We have idealists, rationalist and those who feel left behind. Pierce Brown will have you doubting our hero, holding your breath and weeping over those lost to on Gold, begins with the Fall of Mercury giving us an idea of what has transpired since Golden Son. We then move into the multiple perspectives and storylines starting with Darrow the Hero of the Republic. Pierce also introduces a few new characters as he shares updates and points of interest for beloved and hated e storylines:Darrow the Reaper, leader of the Howlers, returns home on Liberation Day. It has been four years since the war, but we quickly learn the fight is far from over. Darrow and his team have been leading strikes to bring all the planets into the Solar Republic. He is tired, misses his family and wants to end this war and come home. Darrow’s storyline was intense, as we watch our war-weary hero make sacrifices and decisions that affect not only him but his team, family, and country. Lord do we see some unexpected things as we enter the battle that includes rifts among the ria of Lagalos is a young Red, who desperately wants to believe in all that the Rising stands for, but her circumstance and those of her family make it difficult. From the beginning, readers will sense the strength of Lyria, even through her tears. We learn of her families fate and her reality. We journey with her as she does what she can for herself and brother. Her storyline weaves with another pov and added suspense as the reader is privy to things she is not.Ephraim: He abandoned the fight and made a name for himself as a lucrative thief. Together with his team, he is forced to take part in a high stakes plot. Here we see key players from the Rising Saga, and catch a glimpse at profiteering and plotting in this worn torn world. While I never doubted he was looking after his own hide, I came to like sander au Lune: Lysander travels on a ship with Cassius au Bellona the man who allowed Darrow to destroy his world, but also saved him from death at the hand of Sevro. This is a dark thread that begins when they answer a distress signal and find themselves, unwilling guests on an asteroid. Here we explore guilt, the cost of war. Gorydamn Brown slew me with this threadAll of these storylines were masterfully woven together by Brown as we came to understand the state of the Solar Republic. We are privy to its successes as well as failures. The story prepares us for what is to come, and I for one cannot wait

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    Outstanding! Pierce Brown has done it again! Five Stars for Iron Gold— the much anticipated first book of a new trilogy which continues the story of his Red Rising series. Iron Gold picks up ten years after the events of Morning Star, with Darrow “The Reaper” of Lykos and Virginia “Mustang” au Augustus leading the new Solar Republic.I was one of the lucky fans who received an ARC of his latest novel and I couldn’t be more thrilled at the opportunity to be one of the first readers to set eyes on these r those us who are still reeling from the high octane, action packed rollercoaster ride of Morning Star, the start of Iron Gold will feel like a much needed relief from all the adrenaline. While for fans it has only been a couple of years since the conclusion of Morning Star, for our heroes it has been ten years since their victory over the Society. A lot has happened, and the author is patient in reintroducing us to this world and the events that addition to reacquainting us with some of our favorite Howlers, Peirce presents us with a whole new slew of characters to love … and others you will love to hate. We are also now seeing this world through three more set of eyes—those of Lyria, Ephraim, and Lysander. It’s a fresh perspective to this universe that until now we’ve only experienced through the eyes of e added point of views allows us to appreciate the Red Rising world in a way that expands our view of both the Society and the Republic. They say history is written by the victors, so what if you could see the world through the eyes of those who lost? Even more, what if you could see the world through those who were part of the collateral damage? I found myself conflicted at times, wondering if I had been too caught up in the Reaper’s glory to see the flaws and potential repercussions of his actions. Too enamored by my favorite character (Yes…Sevro) and too high on my personal vendetta against the villains in the story to think back on all the other lives that were also lost but never en I wondered, aren’t the best heroes those who are flawed, those who have to battle their demons and make the sacrifices that many of us wouldn’t be ready to make? And, shouldn’t that be enough for redemption? Or should the heroes be held accountable for their mistakes, regardless of the price they’ve already paid? Regardless of our love for them?Walking in Lyria’s, Ephraim’s, and Lysander’s shoes made me contemplate the reality of war. It is not just about destroying a villain and tearing down a corrupt institution, it’s about healing and rebuilding. It’s about leaving a place better than we found it. But what if that’s not enough for someone who lost everything in the name of the greater good? What if your ghosts literally come back to haunt you?*Potential spoiler-esque comments below.Well, don’t get too comfortable in your chair because before you are done philosophizing about this incredible universe, in the words of Sevro au Barca, “S*it escalates” and very quickly. Core to Rim, you’ll fall in an Iron Rain, experience genocide, get captured, take part in an Ocean’s Eleven type heist, participate in a nerve wracking prison break, and go on a potential suicide mission that will leave you breathless. Darrow’s motley crew of Howlers will have you jumping into a StarShell, diving into oceans, and traveling to different planets, and pretty much partaking in their usual death defying antics before you can finish your burner.Everything you’ve loved about Pierce Brown and his masterful storytelling comes together in a novel that will have you sitting at the edge of your seat, reading until the late hours of the night and into the dawn. Your gut will wrench, your heart will break, and your mind will be t your razors ready, Howlers! This ride is just beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    When Netgalley sent me this ARC I hadn't read the first three books in this series. In 10 days I read the four of them and I still wake up dreaming of military strategy and space battles. It has been so long since a series that I loved so much. I seriously recommend it and I'm looking forward to the next books!Quando Netgalley mi ha mandato questo libro, non avevo nemmeno letto i primi tre, poi in 10 giorni li ho letti tutti e quattro e ancora mi sveglio dopo aver sognato strategie militari e battaglie nello spazio. Era tanto che una serie non mi prendeva in questo modo e spero davvero che i prossimi libri escano presto!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Valhalla Rising [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    It never manages to rise above its one trick. Nicolas Winding Refn directs and Mads Mikkelsen stars in this ponderous exercise in arty veneers. Refn boldly strips back the dialogue and plot to reveal a picture big on ideas but poor in execution. As the story plods along, stopping only briefly for some guttural violence now and then, it becomes evident that the makers have made a painfully boring movie. At first the drained out colour photography looks like a masterstroke of ethereal atmospherics, but this also wears off and only compounds the overall feeling of monotony that pervades the pic. Hugely disappointing venture from a director capable of so much more. 3/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High-Rise [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    **A dystopian-thriller-drama in a retro effect.** A new British dystopian-drama sets in a single 40 storey building revolving around the people who resides there. It was based on the novel of the same name which has a great cast and a decently made film. But it is kind of a 50-50 to me, mostly I enjoyed with a little disappointment in some parts. First of all I did not know anything about the film, so surprised with its development, especially when it reached its midway I realised the theme. The setting was great, and well performed by all, particularly the Tom Hiddleton which is very rare to see him in a lead role. It was the story of a doctor who moved to his new residency in a high-rise tower and tries to blend in with the others. But as the world is falling apart by the collapse of the society and civilisation, his tower block as well affected very seriously of all kinds of supplies where he confronts various threats from its people. The remaining story concentrates where it is going to end and how with some high and low moments. Occasionally, the narration takes us outside the building, but it does not stay there long enough. At present there are many dystopian films are made, especially for teens, so this is really good and gives the 70s and 80s kind of effect, despite technologically it resembles the current world. Not many people who watched it liked it, so did I. It was not that bad, but the story was not appealing to the 2016 audience, where so many hi-tech [email protected]#$%!&ing the screen in dystopian theme. From that perspective, it is good we have here a different kind, but not enough. It would have become one of the classic cult if it was made in the 80s or should have been updated thoroughly for making it today. _6/10_

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hannibal Rising [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    What made Hannibal the beast he was? Indeed, director Peter Webber and author Thomas Harris bring us Hannibal Lector (ne: Lecter) the formative years. Off the bat you have to say it's not overtly a horror film, something which has proved to have annoyed many who ventured in expecting something different. Which on one hand is a shame because it's a very effective thriller, ripe with literary smarts and boasting some very good acting performances. While there is horrors around, genuine ones that history has taught us as fact. On the other hand it is a disappointment to fans of the Hannibal series, and to horror fans in general. The marketing didn't help, it was sold to all and sundry along the lines as the cannibal begins in earnest, thus nobody was quite prepared for the fact Hannibal was a normal kid once, even human! Once the pic kicks into being a revenge killer thriller, it lacks an emotional wallop, with the screenplay shaking too many eggs in the basket and not coming up with a tasty fava bean based omelet. Smart tech credits help to still further keep this out of stinkerville and above average, but the heavy feeling of missed opportunities and poor writing hangs heavy as the end credits roll. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hero and the Terror [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Chucklesome Chuck. Chuck Norris plays cop Danny O'Brien, who finds that a one time serial killing enemy of his has apparently come back from the dead and started killing again. It's all very cheesy and in truth it's a low grade Norris vehicle. Norris is going through the motions, even portraying a character more softer at heart than what he usually played in the decade. The villain played by Jack O'Halloran is something of a lumbering oak and not very threatening, and once again Norris fans are short changed as per quotient of martial artistry. The big face off at the finale is at least well constructed, thus saving the pic from total stinker status. 4/10

    0  



    Search Cloud

    spirit runner shrink-your-prostate-and-get-your-life-back check.txt every-other-day-diet make-money-mailing-cheap-little-postcards easy-video-player-alternative bonsai-tree-care-easy online-money-monsoon-2 Cristo Libera app RoadRewards SMART Kodi Setup App - AIO Kodi Setup App Wizard Android Endoscope, EasyCap, USB camera (Extended) Time Master - Time Tracking Fiz : Brewery Management Game Narrows DungeonMemories winswim-swimming-software-2 why-not-fly-free-2 february-2013-calendar car-spray-painting-2'A=0 contestburner life-transformation-guide-advancedlifeskills-com job-crusher-warrior-forum Memes: Apple Memes & Comedy: (Funny Memes Feat. iPads, iPhones Etc - Joke Book L Holocaust Memoirs of a Bergen-Belsen Survivor & Classmate of Anne Frank Summary and Analysis: Joseph Jebelli's In Pursuit of Memory: The Fight Against Alzheimer's Summary of Fire and Fury: The Trump Book Going Off The Grid: The How-To Book Of Simple Living And Happiness (Primal Power Method) The Cruelest Miles: The Heroic Story of Dogs and Men in a Race Against an Epidemic Sharpe Edge (Maycroft Mystery Series Book 2) Against All Grain: Delectable Paleo Recipes to Eat Well & Feel Great Danielle Walker's Against All Grain: Meals Made Simple: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, and Paleo Recipes to Make Anytime Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017) #2 Black Panther Masterworks Vol. 1 (Jungle Action (1973-1976)) Black Panther: World of Wakanda (Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-2017)) City Dog, Country Dog Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin) Warriors #4: Rising Storm (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin) The Science of High Performance: Develop Mental Toughness, Boost Willpower, Master New Skills, and Achieve Your Goals Faster Friendly Fascism: The New Face of Power in America (Forbidden Bookshelf) Design Thinking: Integrating Innovation, Customer Experience, and Brand Value Shooting Victoria: Madness, Mayhem, and the Rebirth of the British Monarchy I Will Not Fear: My Story of a Lifetime of Building Faith under Fire I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings A Writer's Diary (Harvest Book) Broken Crayons Still Color: Based on a True Story Draft No. 4: On the Writing Process Jimmy Buffett: A Good Life All the Way A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated Islands of the Damned: A Marine at War in the Pacific Benjamin Franklin's Bastard: A Novel Sordid: A Novel Craven Manor The Plant-Based Diet Meal Plan: A 3-Week Kick-Start Guide to Eat & Live Your Best Red Sparrow: A Novel (The Red Sparrow Trilogy Book 1) Penny: The Story of a Free-Soul Basset Hound Chased 40 Days of Decrease: A Different Kind of Hunger. A Different Kind of Fast. Mindtouch (The Dreamhealers Book 1) Abducted Savage State of Mind 3: For the Love of An ATL Rider Dragon Slayer: A Pulp Fantasy Harem Adventure Patriot Games (A Jack Ryan Novel Book 2) Her Every Fear: A Novel Amazing Gracie Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad, Book 3) Clean (Phone Cleaner & Booster & AppLock) easy-jv-give-away-script fopacoin questions-for-couples-book forex-trend-rider-download online-yoga-teachers-training-and-certification-program ulster-ancestry-co-uk reading-her-body-ebook the-wedding-mc-workbook-2 magical-tactics-page-36 bed-bugs-911 Photos Companion, a Microsoft Garage project Genesis Vision Tournament Bitcoin Paranoid Honor Credit Union Banca Móvil de Oriental Bank Edge - Bitcoin Wallet Video Star - Social Video Network StarTV SL XMX Player sofort-mehr-dates Make Real Money $100 A Day USA Educational Puzzles for Kids: Owle Puzzles Safe School Helpline Resume Formats 2018 Lecture Notes AASA, The School Superinten... Knack - Tutoring Simplified MEDNAX Continuing Education Voxercise Holy Bible NIV Free Chineasy Cards PlanGrid Construction Software

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter