Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I would have given this 5 stars, but when it was printed, it appears that two pages were printed out of sync from the first chapter. I remember having all of Mr. Simonson's Thor problems when I was younger, and his run on Thor was the most enjoyable during that time period. I would even rank it above Frank Miller's stint on Daredevil (and that was epic!!!). If you love amazing storytelling along with some beautiful impressive art, then this compilation is definitely for you!!! I will be ordering Volume 2 shortly!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The birth of Beta Ray Bill!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This was my introduction to "The Mighty Thor." I had read several positive reviews and thought I'd test it myself. The story was fascinating. Walt Simonson obviously had loads of background on Norse Mythology before beginning his wonderful run. My only complaint is that the story actually continues for four or five more problems when this volume ends. However, it is not difficult to search those today for the price of a current comic in any comic book store. If you like Thor or think you might like it, this is a amazing put to start!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) video reviews and related movies:

    See Thor Omnibus Review on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Just awesome. One of, if not THE, definitive runs on the title. Simonson just nails it. A amazing collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The only thing I don't like is Amazon's cloud reader :( I more prefer a digital reading interface that enlarges the panels and tutorials your eye cinematically along the azon you are a very adaptable company and I feel like you will fix this buggy system soon. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    When you hear arguments by Comic nerds about what superhero could beat another superhero........ Nobody beats Walt Simonson's Thor ! Nobody !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Between the amazing avant garde (for the Times) pencils and the method he absolutely embraced the source material. This was one of the best books of its era. Still a amazing read 30 years later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    No doubt that Walter Simonson is THOR! This comic book was going nowhere but W.S. changed it and now this is a masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This volume includes the begin of the best run of Thor tales the comics have produced to date. For anyone interested in Marvel 's take on the hero and mythology this is the best put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    More of the best Thor saga!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This is really, really good. In the 80s Walt Simonson took Thor to fresh heights throwing out old conventions (Thor sheds his secret identity in the first few pages) and reaching deep into Norse myth to make one of the all-time amazing runs in comic history. He spent about five years on title, developing both long-running stories and single-issue gems. And it all starts monson wastes no time, just a few pages in Thor is in a war with mysterious alien, loses his hammer and ends up fighting armies of demons in a distant galaxy. And that's just the warm-up.I reread these books (along with Simonson's perfect Ragnarok comic) after seeing the recent Thor film. Some scenes from Simonson's run were clearly adapted for the movie and created me smile. I recommend all five books, they have cosmic action, nobility, humor and heart. Everything you could wish in a comic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    As you luxuriate in Walter Simonson's Thor, hold in mind how not good the book had become prior to his vision. Once a flagship for Marvel, Thor had become a non stop repetition of classic Lee-Kirby stories. Originality was long gone and the book had to be on the verge of cancellation. Along came Walt, who, given a free hand brought the book back to its' glory days. He introduced lots of fresh characters, and tampered with old ones to give them new appeal. A fresh secret identity for Thor, a fat Balder, nastier villains and of course, Beta Ray Bill. Top shelf reading, folks. Sit back and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Thor is Marvels Greatest Character EVER!!!! I love his stories, films and even his TV appreance on the old Hulk present where he and the Hulk faced of then teamed up in the end. I also love Beta Ray Bill and hope we obtain to see The Thunderstrike Story line come out in a series like this for Kindle. I have all the Thor Graphic Novels on my Wishlist and want we could see some of the older thor series, the stories with him and the Wariors 3 in Asgard. To Marvel; MORE THOR PLEASE?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Walt Simonson has the best handle on Thor since Lee and Kirby. You need this series if you like Thor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    These are the greatest tales in the Thor Canon along with the 3 volumes to come. For anyone seeking comics at their best I would recommend these volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Great!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    There are a lot of reasons as to why Walter Simonson has long been considered the high point of the grade curve - all pointed to in other reviews. It is enough to know that the entire Simonson Thor Visionaries set is all the discerning need(s) to own within the Marvel Thor franchise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    The best Thor Saga of them all!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    The best of the best!! What a story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Walt Simonson's popular Thor run is currently collected in 5 trade paperbacks; he writes & draws the 1st three, and then mostly just writes the latest two. My favorite volumes are the 1st three, but the entire run is really well done.Highlights here for me...*Issues 349 to 354- Ragnarok & Roll! This is intended to be the main storyline in Simonson's run, and it's excellent. It's a colossal war pitting Odin, Thor, Asgardians & Beta Ray Bill vs Surtur, with Fresh York City, Asgard, and all of reality hanging in the balance. A lot of characters familiar to the title obtain involved, including different Marvel mainstays, with Loki playing an especially interesting role. I love how problem 354 ends in Chicago, the town in which I live. Amazing material!*Issues 357 to 359- Beta Ray Bill & Sif spend time together in Fresh York, while Lorelei seduces Thor. The heist of gold from the Federal Reserve Bank is especially interesting. I actually have fun these problems the most due to the characterizations involved.Volumes 2 & 3 were originally printed on somewhat thick, super-slick paper- extremely high production quality. Marvel eventually switched to a more standard, lighter, thinner yet still slick paper for their TPB's, which might be saving them somewhat on costs, but the effect is still decent quality for the reader. And it's easier to carry! It's this lighter paper that we obtain cluded in this volume:*Issues #349 to #354- Walt Simonson writes, pencils & inks*Issue #355- Walt Simonson writes; Sal Buscema pencils & inks*Issues #357 to #359- Walt Simonson writes, pencils & inksP.S. Problem #356 isn't included here because it was a fill-in problem with a various creative team; it isn't considered essential. Also- If you're an enthusiastic Simonson fan, I *highly* recommend getting the 2003 1st printing instead. Everything's incredibly better in it: the cover image, paper, printing, and even design. Since it's currently hard to search though, it'll likely be expensive. I love it!-UPDATE 2011- The newly reconstructed colors here represent the typical cleaning up of the original 80's colors, like Marvel does with all of their 80's paperbacks these days. These colors are *not* the same as the even newer colors in the 2011 Thor Simonson Omnibus. The omnibus colors are a whole various kind of 'new', specially created for that release.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Thor is one of the greatest super-heroes in the history of comics, yet he's only had three high-quality runs: The original stories by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby, the Roy Thomas/John Buscema run, and the run that is featured in "Thor Visionaries": that of the awesome writer/artist, Walt Simonson. If you have only read Thor stories from the latest few years, you have no idea how much fun this hero can be. Simonson's stories are epic, yet down-to-earth. They are lovingly-rendered. And most importantly, they capture the spirit of what this hero is _really_ all about. Buy it, Real Believers! 'Nuff said!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Awesome conic series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Perfect series! I'm still waiting to hear what created Odinson unworthy though

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    I did like this. But I thought it took it a while to really obtain started. Just as I was engaged it was the end. I will be reading the next volume because I am interested to learn more about this reincarnation of Thor and would like to see where it goes. So I will give it another volume or so. I was a bit disappointed in this one though. I really wanted to love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    The 1st volume of Marvel's Thor Goddess of Thunder trade by Jason Aaron, Russell Dauterman, & Jorge Molina is a amazing read. I wasn't sure what to expect because stories like this, where a fresh hero takes over the mantle of another hero can work or they can go horribly wrong and Thor has gone through this before so I went in skeptical. I'm satisfied to say that this one works and I am anxious to see what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Awesome storyline! I can't wait for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    The artwork was simply stunning in this comic. The storyline stayed real to itself the whole book and had the same feel as the movies. A quick paced series that has me eager for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Very amazing artwork is abound in this origin story of the female Thor. Amazing designs with vibrant colors. I appreciate the method marvel handled the transition. Well worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    A amazing story that both stands alone and tips at past and future threads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Jason Aaron is writing the best Thor stories of his generation, both with the original Thor (Gods of Thunder volumes 1 and 2 are attractive and funny and epic and melancholy all at once), and with this fresh mystery woman who has taken on the mantle of om the outside, it might feel like a publicity stunt, but Thor's story has always been about worthiness--who is amazing enough, brave enough, and just enough to be able to lift the hammer. There's a sadness to the Odinson's loss of his title, but his hero is better for it. Meanwhile the mystery predecessor is fun and dynamic, rising to the occasion with grace and e book is just filled with instantly iconic photos and some truly funny moments as well.A small weirded out by a woman as Thor? Take a possibility on this book anyway. It won't disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    enjoyable story and amazing dialogue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This book includes some awesome material from the Lee/Kirby years - For starters the God of Thunder ventures to the Black Galaxy where he encounters the alien Rigellians and Ego the Living Planet - but that is just the hint of the iceberg -- included in this action-packed volume are a vast array of terrific characters - the High Evolutionary and his Knights of Wundagore, Replicus, Super Skrull, Ulik and the Rock Trolls - all the gang from Asgard - Odin, Loki, Sif, Heimdall, Fighters Three etc.. and the Destroyer!Its one thing to throw in all these characters into a single book, but to have them come to life and jump off the pages like they do is the true treat, thanks to the "King" Jack Kirby - Thor's other-worldly adventures are irresistible - this volume of the Epic Collection series and the one that follows - Vol 4, are two of my favorite books in my Marvel collection and both are a must for Thor fans

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Like being able to carry the entire collection on my Kindle application while traveling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Some of the old classic comics that I grew up with. A fun read every night before bed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    GREATREAD

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Collects two of my favorite stories of all time in one huge epic with other little tales that are always method over average.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is the kind of book that gets a person excited about superheroes, no doubt about it. I started with Journey into Mystery, Vol. 1: Fear Itself as a starting point for Marvel comics (after loving the film, The Avengers). I was immediately hooked and wanted to see how we got to that point. I decided to skip over House of M and Civil War, as those stories seemed too dark, and I didn't wish to go too far back. I had read amazing reviews about Straczynski's reintroduction of Thor, which also introduced Lady Loki, and decided to jump to this point. Though the story is fairly well contained, it is helpful to know something of what happened before, especially in Civil War. So, I recommend newbie readers like me hit Wikipedia to obtain an overview of those prior major is book opens with the human Donald Blake, who once hosted Thor's spirit, calling the God of Thunder from the Void of nothingness. The cycle of endless Raganaroks had been broken, but humanity still needs the gods. Thor chooses to be reborn, and he uses his power to rebuild Asgard - in Oklahoma! He then begins searching the globe for his people, bound within humans waiting to be awakened. He intended not to awaken certain Asgardians, Loki, Enchantress, et al, but while engaged in war was forced to awaken everyone at once. Loki is somehow reborn as a woman, and Sif cannot be found. The scene is set. The most exciting part of this book is the clash between Thor and Iron Man, when Thor reveals just how strong he is - that he had always held back before. He's ticked off at Tony for using his genetic code to create a "fake" Thor and passing him off as the true deal during the Civil War.Overall, this is a unbelievable (re)introduction of Thor. The story is engrossing, and I love the artwork. Thor is totally poor [email protected]@, and the wars scenes are expertly rendered and thrilling. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I picked this up without the background of the previous avengers books, but was able to figure out enough context to obtain what was going on. Love the writing, love the mood, love the artwork!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Thor had always been a visually striking hero to me; the lightning motif, the giant hammer, the battle helmet. But I've never been one for ancient mythology, so I always place off reading any thunder god stories. With the movie adaptation of the hero within one year at the time of this review, I finally decided to pick something up. With the low price and amazing reviews, I started is book was fantastic. JMS' story is about Thor trying to pick up the pieces of his life after an absence in the 616 universe. He rebuilds Asgard, looks for old friends, and tries to create sense of what has happened since he's been gone. The best chapter would have to be problem #3, where Thor visits a section of Fresh Orleans, still stricken by the effects of Hurricane Katrina. He realizes that if he were around, he could have stopped the storm and saved countless lives. He also questions why did no other superhero do sue #3 is also where Iron Man shows up and wants to talk to Thor. Thor is quite aware that Stark created a Thor clone for his own private use, and Thor isn't satisfied with it at all. Without giving too much away, Thor, quite easily, gives Iron Man what must be the most embarrassing conquer he's ever gone through. If you hate Iron Man, you'll love it. Even if you do like Iron Man, like me, you'll love how [email protected]#$% Thor comes off there.If you never knew just how strong Thor or his trademark weapon Mjolnir are, this book gives amazing examples, and you obtain a true sense of it early on. The god of thunder has to be hands down one of the most strong characters ever created. I was in awe looking at what this guy could do.A lot of people have complained that the book is slow placed and needs more action. I do not agree with either statement. It's just fine with it's compelling story telling and exciting action sequences. In fact, it's great. If you've ever thought about reading Thor, this would be a amazing start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a terrific Thor series, only the classic Lee and deservedly venerated Simonson rival it. Terrific, creative "down to earth god"-ly and magical. My only (strong) recommendation is to read Thor: Disassembled first, not just because this to a degree follows that story, but because the former is one of the absolute best stories Marvel has ever had to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I've been on a bit of a ''Thor' kick recently so I decided to read from the JMS/Coipel run through the current run. I tapped out originally around problem 3 or 4 when these comics came out fresh because it moved too slow for me, plus was the same story we got latest time Thor was restarted, finding Asgardians in mortal form to repopulate Asgard. It reads better in trade format so I'm excited to see what I missed. So far we're off to a amazing start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    You can see how some aspects of this book (or J. Michael Straczynski's run) influenced the first THOR film. Some elements are similar... the setting, for one. The take... the method the hero looks... the town... the supporting characters.I really enjoyed this, but so far I've only read this first book. I think there's three books total collecting Straczynski's run. I will obtain to them eventually.I should probably say that I really like J. Michael's work. I've read a LOT of his material, and I always have fun his e artwork and the coloring are top notch as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This an awesome graphic novel there is a page in there I loved so much because it shows Thor when he is being serious

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I'm not normally a Thor fan, but I bought it since it was on sale and I knew that the writer was very good. Through out the book I was very entertained, I especially loved the confrontation between Thor and iron man.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Who doesn't love Thor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    It was very nice to pick up a Thor comic and be able to read it and have fun it agian. The wars and the drawings of the action panels were awesome. And to see Thor @#$%! smack Tony was [email protected]#$% and to see that all along he was holding back his ture power was amazing. Pick this one up if you are thanking about it you won't be disappointed I know I wasn't!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    👍👍👍👍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Love the fresh series. The artwork, the scripting are both amazing. My favorite fresh comic series this millennium.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Loved it, Jane is becoming one of my favorite Marvel characters, hope she never relinquishes that little hammer 😋

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    There are better marvel books out like vision or Ms. marvel.Unless you are a die hard Thor fan I would skip over for a better price of work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I have been a fan of Jane Foster for a lot of years and after discovering her as the fresh Thor I was intrigued. However, I decided to jump into the series because of my own mother aunt and cousin going through breast cancer and how they remain powerful even in times of doubt and darkness. The Mighty Thor is a champion by Jason Aaron. He has caught a very believable Jane Foster as a character who is dying faster because becoming Thor is undoing her cancer treatments. However, with the fresh power of the Dark Council, Asgardian Politics and mystical threats that even Dr. Strange or the Avengers can't handle. Jane knows there needs to be a Thor and she will greatly create sure Earth stays together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Son loved the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    amazing story always loved thor she even better

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I loved this! Amazing artwork and interesting story line. I'm a HUGE Loki fan, and the artist actually got a realistic "Tom Hiddleston" looking Loki that wasn't too "cartoony" Yea! Amazing cliff hanger ending! I can't wait for the next volume of this series. When does it come out?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Jason Aaron is the best writer going for Marvel right now. This picks up after Secret Battles and is a continuation of his Thor run, the best run ever in my humble opinion. He does a amazing job of exploring the worlds of Thor and how Odinsons loss of his hammer effects so many. I'm looking forward to see where he goes with Thor ( Jane and Odinson). And if you haven't read anything before this you have to go obtain it, you will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    I would have liked the story to move slightly slower. An additional problem or two worth's of pages as things moved on to give some better insight into the jane/thor dichotomy would have been really handy. Visually excellent... just moved a bit too fast. Still going to order/finish the series as it comes out I just feel as though it could have been written much more deeply and made an perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    I'm loving this series and I cannot wait to read more! I can say some of the things that happened quite unexpected. A very very amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    Jason Aaron and Russell Dauterman continue the awesome work they started in the previous "Thor" title with this amazing volume. Picking the story from Thor Vol 2 "Who Holds the Hammer" this book focuses mainly on the fresh Thor (Jane Foster) who is dying of cancer in her normal life while picking up Thor's hammer as a fresh superhero on the side. A few things have happened since the end of the previous Thor title and this book's relaunching. A) Odin has returned in full and seeks to reclaim his title and throne from the more democratic Freya and her Congress of Worlds (on which Jane serves as a human representative of Earth). B) Thor Odinson has gone missing since losing his hammer to Jane. While these two pieces of information being left out do throw off any readers who jump into this book straight from "Who Holds the Hammer" it is a minor shift. The overall arc of Jane going up versus Daario Agger of Roxxon and Malekeith the Dark Elf is still the main story and the one that is the best. Also, apparently the Frost Giant Laufey has been resurrected since Malekeith reclaimed his skull in the first female Thor e main draw of this volume is Thor's throw-downs with both Loki and Odin. Loki makes his debut appearance in the fresh series (looking an poor lot like Tom Hiddleston) and although he actually doesn't wish a brawl with Thor Jane is fueled by rage from all the times in her life she was kidnapped or tormented by Loki to obtain to Thor through her. Meanwhile, the war with Odin comes about when he attempts to take his throne back from Freya by force. Just like with Loki, Jane has a long history of dislike between herself and the All Father and it is fun seeing her in these wars where she is fueled by private history the enemies aren't privy to (since her identity is still secret). All in all this is a terrific book and my favorite title from Marvel these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    Love Jane Foster aka Thor. You know it's amazing when you are taken by suprise by certain events. Emough said.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    Fresh to Thor comics but the story and art makes me wish to read more to search out what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    Russell Dauterman's illustration work and the color work on the comic are outstanding, and while Jason Aaron is not Walter Simonson by any stretch of the imagination, Aaron's take on the characters is probably the most readable since that classic run. This is saying a lot because the two major changes, placing Jane Foster in the role of Thor and moving Odinson to a various position in the Marvel universe and having her cancer that she can't heal, struck me both as gimmicks that weren't entirely narratively earned. Aaron does amazing things with the former conceit including the possibilities of an Asgardian civil battle looming due to Thor's mantel being claimed by Jane, but he doesn't do enough with the cancer plot line to create it feel truly utilized. So this is a flawed book that feels overly complicated, but Aaron does a lot what he is given and the art is among the best I have seen in fresh Marvel work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    I only got the book because of the controversy. I've never read Thor before... Not since the early 80s anyway.I liked the artwork and the story. I'm probably a fresh Thor reader.Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    I've heard quite a bit about changes in the Marvel Universe (Iron Man a black math whiz?) and wanted to see the changes in Thor, one of my favorites. I grew up in an zone with a lot of Swede and Norwegian descendants, my high school mascot was a Viking. This is why no doubt I've always been fascinated by Norse Mythology, so I read the original Thor comic in the 60's.And my, what a difference 50 years makes. Dr. Jane Foster, Thor's old love interest who takes up the mantle (and hammer) when Thor goes missing. She is known as false Thor in Asgard, where dissent is high since Odin has gone kinda mad. There's a lot of Android game of Thrones political machinations, power plays, and familial plotting. Oh and there's an inter globe battle event that involves all the world's, including Jotunheim, globe of the ice giants. One of my favorites.On top of that, Thor's human form, Jane, has cancer, and the treatments aren't working, as every time she turns into Thor she negates the chemo. Just like Marvel to have the twist, nothing was easy or simple in their stories. I liked that. The two entwining stories work also, the battle in Alpheim, land of the elves (complete with human allies driving corporate branded tanks!) and the revolt in Asgard spin and weave together quite nicely.Oh, and Thor? She kicks pass.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    I love Jason Aaron's Thor arc since Thor God Of Thunder and this book doesn't disappoint amazing story with amazing art

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-2018)) review [Book]  2018-5-18 18:0

    I haven't read a western comic in about 25 years, when I was a kid, and I have to say this one is really good. Mind you I picked it up after stumbling onto the designs for the elf wedding between Malekith and Aelsa and had to see what was going on. Everything is colorful, well written, interesting, and you can't argue with a powerful breeze though long hair.I have already picked up volume 2 and plan on getting them monthly to spread out the e ONLY con is that once you see Malekith in this series, his appearance in Dark Globe gets more disappointing. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 4: The War Thor (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:1

    *Spoiler Alert*Volstagg is the main focus of this volume. After failing to save a bunch of elven children, he goes off the deep end and becomes the Battle Thor. Finding the abandoned hammer of the deceased Thor of the Ultimate universe, he is consumed by rage and seeks the destruction of Muspelheim. The Odinson Thor and female Thor do their best to bring him back to his senses. Amazing story and for only 4.50 digital. Having purchased the previous volumes in HC and will probably continue to the end of this series. Both art and story obtain five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I for got that I have this. perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    ggod read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Overall the story of Thor: Goddess of Thunder in these latest two volumes is beautiful amazing and develops well with a cast of characters trying to search her identity, leading up to the ultimate reveal. But I do have to say that I want some parts were a bit more like Noelle Stevenson's one off tale--where we obtain a story that really focuses on her. I felt that the story was weighed down in ways by focusing on Odinson's guilt and anger and not enough on the fresh Thor's thoughts and feelings, her journey, her inner world. So while the direction the story went did work out I did want to see more and was disappointed that she didn't even present up for a amazing chunk of the beginning of this volume. Hopefully will obtain to see more now that Odin has backed off and his misogynistic attacks have proved fruitless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    So, the reveal of the Lady Thor is made. I won't ruin the surprise of who Thor is, rather just review the volume. I have enjoyed the newest Thor story more than I anticipated. Showing the Thor I know and love Knocked down/showing signs of regret has been done well. I also appreciate how this story has continued the story elements from Thor God of Thunder, but found a method to feel fresh and fresh. The final reveal of who Thor is was not particularly surprising, given the limited number of suspects, but I'm sure will create for some interesting story elements down the road. Now, as to the collection itself, truthfully, this volume could easily have been place in the first volume without much difference. Included in this are 3 problems of the regular series, 1 annual (which has small to do with the actual Thor series), and a What If? problem from the 70s. Putting the collections together would have created more thematic sense given the story continues directly from problem 5, and there wasn't much reason to separate it out. The annual included is nice, but feels like filler. The What If? is directly relevant to who the fresh Thor is (Again I don't wish to spoil it), which was What If this fresh person became thor. It was a surprisingly amazing read, though I thought it was funny that said person did not go by Thor, but another name (Which was a complaint a lot of had of this fresh female thor).Overall, very amazing read, but felt short. Luckily, the price hear is beautiful cheap and you obtain a digital copy. If you liked Volume 1, you'll be happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Thor Volume 2 : Who Holds the Hammer?I'm not going to go into the whole "Thor is a woman" thing, you can either accept it or be a @#$%! and not accept it. That's on you. Jason Aaron is writing it and he is awesome at his job, Thor couldn't possibly ask for a better writer.I was disappointed in this book for one major reason, it was too short. It only held THREE problems of Thor. The fourth chapter was an Annual (which should NEVER count towards to overall "how a lot of problems per trade") and the fifth chapter was something NOBODY asked for, a really s***ty "What If?" from like the 70s where Jane Foster was Thor. I hate old comics. I attempted to read it but it was so cringey I couldn't handle it. I would have been happy if it had four problems or so, but I guess this is what Marvel wanted to do with their e huge issue I had with Thor Volume One was the constant "teenage girl" inner dialogue which REALLY downloaded how [email protected]#$% Thor is. Thor is Thor, not two separate people. Volume One created it hard to believe in the character. There was practically NONE of that in this volume, which was GREAT. Not sure if they had done away with it entirely for newer Thor (I hope so) but it was a amazing choice. We also learned who Thor is, which I won't reveal here.I really miss the artist of the God Butcher storyline, I don't think anyone but them could truly draw the epic and grand stories of Thor. This one here is just a small too cartoonish for the depth and intensity I like of , enough of what I think Thor should or shouldn't be. The book itself is fine. 3/5 of it anyway, which is why I am giving it three stars. The story by Jason Aaron in the Annual almost brought me to tears, so that definitely helped it's cause.If you're into reading Thor, you're gonna need this volume to stay up to date. Otherwise if you wish to obtain into Thor and haven't yet, begin with Aaron's "God Butcher" volume, that and the God Bomb will be your favorite comic stories of all time, I just know it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I won't go into too much detail but I will say this. The first three issues, which continue the fresh Thor's storyline, were amazing. The build up to who Thor is was really well done, even knowing beforehand who it was. Looking back, you can see tips of their identity before it's revealed. If these three problems created up the entirety of Volume 2 and it continued as such, it would be a 5 star book. However, it is not. Half of this book is crappy filler that I couldn't even manage to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I really enjoyed this story line. I have followed Mighty Thor since I was a child back in the 60's when Jack Kirby and company first brought him out. This story of a fresh Thor is very imaginative. Especially the aspect of the Mjolnir having powers that even Thor himself had not seen. Very good. I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    The continuation of the fresh Thor series reveals the secret of who picked up Mjölnir and continues the plotline from the latest volume. Included are problems #6-8 which are all great, and the "conclusion" to the secret of Thor's identity feels worthwhile. Unfortunately the volume only includes those three issues, an annual and a classic non-continuity story from the 70s which also stars a woman as Thor. The annual problem is good, but not great, and while the premise and foresight of the classic problem is admirable, its not exactly readable.Overall the volume is just too short to warrant a amazing score. Those who aren't invested in the annual problem might be better served by waiting for a combined hardcover of problems #1-8.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    It's a amazing compilation but it feels like it came out too soon. The latest portion of the book after the cliffhanger is an antiquated gender swap story from years ago. Because of the gender roles and the pacing, I found it hard to enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    That was my reaction upon finishing the first problem of Thor: The Mighty Avenger and it still persists. Roger Landridge does a amazing job of making you like these characters from the obtain go. You understand Jane and her life in a few panels and that is just awesome. The book is fun, funny and extremely charming. Chris Samnee's art is unbelievable and manages to convey so much emotion in just a few lines. The wars are interesting in that they actually tell part of the overall story. Thor is sweet and cute and just a bit of a lunkhead but in a amazing way. I would thoroughly recommend this book for anyone of any age.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    Recently, I've been getting into Thor as a comic book character. I always liked the premise, characters, and fantastical focus of Thor, but never really read much of his stuff. So for the past few months I have embarked on a journey to become more acquainted with him. This was one of the most highly recommended Thor titles I knew of and so I bought it, expecting to be mildly entertained and generally happy. It is a huge understatement to say my expectations were met and exceeded.When I finally got the book, I was blown away by the sheer quality of the work. Rodger Langridge and Chris Samnee's take on Thor's earlier days on earth has become one of my favorite comic book series in latest years. It's absolutely magical. Langridge's writing finds the excellent balance between deep characterization, humor, warm warmheartedness, love story, fun action, and a meditative poignancy that I have not found in a lot of comic series. Samnee's work as an artist is completely reminiscent of the silver age of comic books, where Jack Kirby and Steve Ditko were the kings of the pen. It's more easy than most modern comic books and yet it seems method more expressive than most modern comics as well. It is awesome how much Samnee's inks adds to the charm and appeal to the collection. His artistic skills and focused cannot be ignored or understated. He is spectacular.Each comic is a standalone story, each unbelievable on its own, that eventually add to a narrative whole. There are a lot of guest stars featured in this volume, some more known and others very obscure. They're all quite delightful. In a lot of ways, this collection really reminded me of the old Lee/Kirby comic books that I adore so much. I may be 21, but when I first got into comic books, it was by reading the Marvel Masterworks graphic novels, which were collections of the old 1960's classics. This fostered in me a love for the type of storytelling you search in the silver age of comic books: gallivanting heroics and campy fun. This collection has that, and yet, it also has the poignancy and depth that more modern comic books have as well. So for me, the amazing Thor runs are Simonson, Strazynski/Coipel, and now Langridge/Samnee. Hell, this volume is amazing when in the company of all comic book characters, not just among Thor stories.I cannot say enough how amazing this volume is. It saddens me deeply that this 12 problem series was cancelled prematurely. If there is any justice in this world, the amount of people buying this and volume 2 of the series will perhaps resurrect it from the dead, as it truly deserves recognition and praise. Langridge and Samnee deserve nothing but the highest reward for works like this. So please, you comic book fans out there, give this collection a shot. It is so very special. Buy it, [email protected]#$%!, adore it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------"Thor: The Mighty Avenger, Vol. 1: The God Who Fell To Earth"Written by Roger LandridgeIllustrated by Chris Samnee(Marvel Comics, 2011)-----------------------------------------------------------------------In this great, kid-friendly reboot of Marvel's amazing Asgardian superhero, Thor is reimagined as a less stuffy, less pompous, less boring thunder god, a recently reincarnated deity who is a small confused about his role in the grand cosmic framework, and less prone to spouting absurd pseudo-Shakespearian thees and thous. In short, he's more modern, easier to identify with, and method more fun. Don't obtain me wrong -- I liked the old Thor as a child and appreciate the inclusion of a few of the old, original stories in the back of this book, but ya gotta admit he is one of the classic superheroes who hasn't held up well over the years. The reboot is quite welcome. The stories are good, too: if you wish a fast-paced, lighthearted, irony-free, old-fashioned super-book to share with your kids, this is a amazing e comic book industry needs more stories like this for younger readers to enjoy... And, sadly, Marvel already cancelled this one. Of course. But don't allow that stop you from picking up these two digest collections, which gather all eight problems of this fab, though short-lived series. (Daddy Joe Sixpack, ReadThatAgain children's book reviews)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    A strange reboot of the Thor story. This time Jane Foster works in a museum. Thor is sent to Earth to learn humility but has lost part of his memories. He doesn't turn into Don Blake in this version. He wars Hyde, Giant Man (Ant Man) and the Wasp, and Captain Britain. It also contains the first two Thor stories that were in Journey into Mystery is ver seemed watered down from the normal story. I am not sure if it was intended for a younger audience but it seemed to be. Both the artwork and the level of the story created it feel more like something you would read in a everyday cartoon strip than a monthly comic wasn't that bad, but I have read better Thor comics. It just didn't live up to the standard I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    While I am sure Marvel produced this run to tie-in with the Thor film and sell some copy off the movie's popularity, this story can stand on it's own with the best Marvel has ever printed. Thor is depicted as being quite young (for an Asgardian), and is not drawn sporting a beard, which betimes doth vex me greatly, but here it is fitting that he be clean shaven. Also, he doth not speak in the King James Ver when he speaks English. That might bug some old-school Thor fans, and if the story were told any other way, it would have bothered me too. The art is retro-styled, but with a contemporary flair and finish that you just can't take your eyes off. When I finished this series I was sad that they abandoned it, the method the other character characters (Iron Man, Wasp, Giant-Man, Odin, Heimdall)and villains (Loki,Hyde) were portrayed created me wish to read more. More comics should look like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    This is an wonderful retelling of Thor's story, and his relationship with Jane Foster -- and I loved every min of it. Watching the method Thor begins to change, and Jane's slow fall into love with him is perfect, and the ART! Ahh, the Art is just so expressive! Definitely pick up Thor: TMA as a amazing starter comic for all your friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    l loved this series and [email protected]#$%! was still ongoing [see my review of volume 1.]l've read there was to have been an problem or two more in this first 's a shame Marvel couldn't have allow it go at least that ough l miss the series l'm glad l got these two volumes. They're amongst my favorite comics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    I read this book in problems and was blown away. But it's even better when collected!!This book is literally for anyone (doesnt matter if you are young or old, male or female) It's technically an all ages book but it doesn't insult your intellegence or talk down to the reader at all. Instead, it is just a wonderfully told and BEAUTIFULLY illustrated tale of a man from another globe being lost in, what is for him, a foriegn land: earth.I'll be honest here, I'm not a sucker for romance stories, but the relationship between Thor and Jane Foster (the woman who finds him and shows him earth) is incredibly heartwarming. This book definitely locations its focus on the emotional core of the Thor story rather than the action---and, to my amazing surprise it works wonderfully!!That being said, there is still a lot of action (Avengers, robots, angry scientists, Asgardian gods of all sorts) and Thor is still the powerful, impulsive young man he was originally in the comics, but his rashness extends to the battlefield as well as he clearly has not yet mastered his power (which makes the hero even more endearing) The story proves to be the tale of Thor finally finding something truly worth fighting for. And you'll be cheering for him all the method and having a blast while reading this fun book. And I can't stress this latest point enough: you'll definitely be soaking in the gorgeous art by the master: Chris Samnee.Anyways, words can't do this book justice... buy it!!! It's excellent for any comic fan and would create a unbelievable bonus for new, young readers who are soon to be in love with the hero (biiiig Thor film coming out in summer 2011!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    This is a very fun and playful read, I enjoyed this book so much that I gave it to my gf and changed the charters to her and me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor: The Mighty Avenger Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-31 18:1

    I love the method the writers reimagine Thor , its really various from the original story I know when Thor was introduced. Its a amazing read and I recommend it to anyone .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    In my opinion the single best title that Marvel is currently churning out (amidst all the Marvel Now/All Fresh All Various rebrandings) is Jason Aaron's Mighty Thor following Jane Foster as the fresh female Thor. This second volume picks up the story that was begun in Thor (during Marvel Now) before being relaunched as Mighty Thor and sees Thor up versus Daario Agger (head of Roxxon Corporation) and his metaphysical ally Malekeith the dark elf. Unfortunately, this volume takes a major downswing in the action after the tremendous first volume that saw the return of Loki and Thor's war with Odin. After the cliffhanger ending in which Freya was mortally wounded, we obtain the first two problems in this book which are just a retelling of an old Viking story with the male Thor fighting a proto-Hulk viking. Supposedly the story ties in with the main Daario Agger arc in that he ends up getting Hulk soldiers from Loki like the one in this older tale, but it seriously throws off the story's momentum. Also the guest art for the arc is far inferior than the normal art of this series. It sets up its own visual style, but it still leaves you wondering why the two-issue story-in-a-story is necessary. Finally after that the main arc picks back up with Thor confronting Agger and a few other fresh villains. The story loses a bit of steam once again, however, during the final problem when Thor is whisked away from the aftermath of the war to reveal the origins of Mjolnir the hammer, which is apparently at least semi-sentient. Again we obtain a story-within-the-story set up and again the art style changes with the fresh tale (though this art is much better I think than the opening two issues). Also, the locale where Thor goes to learn this origin story is going to throw any fans who didn't read the terrific "God Killer" arc from the Thor series before Jane took up the hammer. Overall, the ongoing story of the brewing Battle between the Realms is still amazing, but the two origin tales we obtain really throw off the pacing of the volume, especially since the artwork on display is so inferior to the terrific work from series regular Russell Dauterman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    The initial two-issue story serves as an introduction of sorts between Loki and the CEO of Roxxon as well as set up some "heavy" minions later in the collection. Beyond these elements, it's hard to view these problems as more than buying time for Dauterman to finish art for upcoming issues. Plus, the massive lackeys end up barely impacting the main arc of the at being said, the remainder of the problems in this digital trade are excellent. It is fun to see a certain smug villain have his plans torpedoed and lose the upper hand for once. The art is wonderful. The characters are housekeeping note for those purchasing the kindle version: problem #12 is not actually included in this collection though it is advertised as such; only #6-#11 are here (I have alerted Amazon of this problem). However, when you do read #12, though it is a one-shot story, it is quite good. I always love Frazer Irving's art and he draws an especially mean Odin!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    except for the art of the first story, the rest of it is beautiful cool (esp after watching reviews on you-tube...and I still bought this)\cover art shown here is on the inside tho. cover art itself was different. had me confused for a moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Mr. Aaron tells a amazing tale in these stories of The Mighty Thor. I love this fresh Goddess of Thunder And I have fun that it is being kept in secret. Mjolner is more than just a hammer and I like how it is introduced and it's awesome power. I still have no idea how powerful Uru metal is but it certainly is amazing that Jason and his squad expanded the idea of Thor's e writing was amazing kept me interested and the artwork was too notch to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Loving the first volume of Jane Foster as Thor. This second problem is amazing with catching up on the fresh origins of Mjinor and how Roxxon and the underworld business works in the Marvel Universe. Sadly the flashback tales detract the main story a bit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Jason Aaron's Thor continues to impress. He's telling a long story and I'm along for the ride, although I do want we could tie up a few of the loose ends. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    For a mostly DC fan, I couldn't have been happier reading this story. I'm also beautiful ignorant of Thor's comic stories, so for me to be able to jump right in, that's an impressive feat of storytelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Jason Aaron continues his stellar run on Thor, not a amazing put to just pick up you def need to read vol 1 or go back to the begin of Aaron's Thor run because it's amazing. Any fan Thor should really obtain anything Thor by Jason Aaron you will not be disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Thor, Vol. 1 established the return of Thor with a bold reimagining. Summoned from the void by Donald Blake, Thor goes about rebuilding Asgard in the wake of Civil War. Volume 2 picks up with Thor who has awakened all the sleeping gods and must enter Thorsleep to replenish his power. Meanwhile, Lady Loki's machinations become more apparent (to the reader, at least) as she ingratiates herself to Balder with the truth - that he too is a son of Odin - in order to create her lies more palatable. Interwoven with this main story is the burgeoning love story between the human Bill and goddess is Thor is more strong than I'm accustomed to. Therefore, Loki must connive to have him banished so she might become the power behind the fresh King, Balder. Much of this volume is given over to Loki, and just how far back in time his plan was seeded. Though I don't like how Loki is presented as being evil for the sake of evil (even as a kid he's "evil"), it does create him a more challenging villain for this more strong Thor. The volume ends with the introduction of another major villain; one that Loki is obviously allied with. The conclusion left me eager to see how the story will end.Overall, this was an exciting follow-up to Volume 1 with even more action and a lot more intrigue. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    After reading the perfect volume 1, I was pleasantly surprised when I received this volume as a Birthday present, as I was eager to continue JMS's unbelievable run on Thor. I am satisfied to say that the greatness continues. Thor's supporting cast is back in full, and the Thunder God begins to share the spotlight with Loki and Baldur. Several subplots develop in this volume, including some interesting backstory on Odin and Thor's family past, including a lost member (whom I shall not spoil).Art duties are handled by two artists in this volume: Marko Djurdjevic and returning artist Oliver Coipel. The former's style is grittier, but still excellent. Some amazing shots are to be had in this volume, such as Thor standing on a satellite in zone and an epic splash page of Thor & Odin fighting the Fire Giant Surtur (a long running Thor villain).I rated this volume slightly lower than the previous, in that it is not quite as 'newcomer friendly', requiring readers to obtain up to speed with the other happenings Marvel had going at the time, mainly Norman 'Green Goblin' Osborne's Dark Avengers, as well as a greater understanding of Thor's Mythos in order to truly understand the story in its entirety. This is not much of an issue, but I did have to consult my comic-guru mates on certain things. Needless to say however, that savvy fans will not search this an problem at all, but for those like me, who are coming into comic-continuity, I feel this is necessary to ever, this is still a unbelievable run, and I enjoyed every page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    *possible spoilers*When I first picked this collection up I was very happy with the dark leather and golden letters that simply displayed the name "Thor" on the front. The book simply looked amazing on the outside and the artwork within is again, like the first volume, e story begins right where the first volume ended, with problem #7, to search Thor drained from restoring Asgard. As not to spoil anything, I will only mention that the roster of characters grows slightly with the appearances of Odin, Jane Foster and Sif coming back to Thor's / Don's lives (in one from or another--one stage involving Sif actually caused me to mutter "How frustrating!"). Bill Jr. becomes more than a waiter at a diner and actually brings some comedic value. The scenes involving his attempt at being romantic with flowers and his teaching of basketball to the Asgardians actually created me laugh: as Bill is speaking to a huge Asgardian man about basketball he says "A point isn't a thing, you can't see them or anything...its just a count, one-two. You have two points, your enemy doesn't have any--" and the Asgardian interrupts "How can you know he has no points if you cannot see them? Perhaps he is hiding two points with which to attack you later?" (haha). Moments like these present Straczynski's sense of humor and depict a lighthearted method of Earth meets Asgard. Balder too becomes quite necessary when Loki informs him of something rather mind blowing, creating a dynamic triangle between the two of them and Thor. Another appearance, be it a short one, worth mentioning is that of the amazing spirit of Cap himself which gives closure between Thor and his amazing friend, a well written scene.I enjoyed the problem revolving around Loki. The method it is written really brings everything contained in this volume together and is somewhat cleverly done. Loki is such a manipulator that he even manipulates himself. Fantastic. In the end, Loki's scheme comes to fruition and puts Thor in such an poor situation ( I won't spoil it but it's beautiful well done ). The final moments of this latest problem truly created me despise Loki (as he should be) yet created me question the intelligence of both Balder and Thor (yes, yes Asgardian Law forced it to end that way...they couldn't have seen it coming...hmm).All in all, the story is absolutely fantastic. I love what Straczynski has done for Thor. Coipel's Thor is wonderful and the artwork throughout the volume is so well done that I can truly have fun just looking at the panels. The scheming of Loki is a tad bit obvious for the reader but that can't be helped because the reader learns just about everything that Loki does, so we can only know as much. The wars are amazing but I really like that this newer Thor is more about story and hero development than it is about epic wars (even though some disagree).So, if you're a fan of Thor or you simply enjoyed the first volume, you will most definitely have fun this one, the second volume being deeper and more improved than the first. Loved it!

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter