Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    As you luxuriate in Walter Simonson's Thor, hold in mind how not good the book had become prior to his vision. Once a flagship for Marvel, Thor had become a non stop repetition of classic Lee-Kirby stories. Originality was long gone and the book had to be on the verge of cancellation. Along came Walt, who, given a free hand brought the book back to its' glory days. He introduced lots of fresh characters, and tampered with old ones to give them new appeal. A fresh secret identity for Thor, a fat Balder, nastier villains and of course, Beta Ray Bill. Top shelf reading, folks. Sit back and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Thor is Marvels Greatest Character EVER!!!! I love his stories, films and even his TV appreance on the old Hulk present where he and the Hulk faced of then teamed up in the end. I also love Beta Ray Bill and hope we obtain to see The Thunderstrike Story line come out in a series like this for Kindle. I have all the Thor Graphic Novels on my Wishlist and want we could see some of the older thor series, the stories with him and the Wariors 3 in Asgard. To Marvel; MORE THOR PLEASE?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Walt Simonson has the best handle on Thor since Lee and Kirby. You need this series if you like Thor.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) video reviews and related movies:

    See Thor Omnibus Review on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    These are the greatest tales in the Thor Canon along with the 3 volumes to come. For anyone seeking comics at their best I would recommend these volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Great!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    There are a lot of reasons as to why Walter Simonson has long been considered the high point of the grade curve - all pointed to in other reviews. It is enough to know that the entire Simonson Thor Visionaries set is all the discerning need(s) to own within the Marvel Thor franchise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    The best Thor Saga of them all!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    The best of the best!! What a story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Walt Simonson's popular Thor run is currently collected in 5 trade paperbacks; he writes & draws the 1st three, and then mostly just writes the latest two. My favorite volumes are the 1st three, but the entire run is really well done.Highlights here for me...*Issues 349 to 354- Ragnarok & Roll! This is intended to be the main storyline in Simonson's run, and it's excellent. It's a colossal war pitting Odin, Thor, Asgardians & Beta Ray Bill vs Surtur, with Fresh York City, Asgard, and all of reality hanging in the balance. A lot of characters familiar to the title obtain involved, including different Marvel mainstays, with Loki playing an especially interesting role. I love how problem 354 ends in Chicago, the town in which I live. Amazing material!*Issues 357 to 359- Beta Ray Bill & Sif spend time together in Fresh York, while Lorelei seduces Thor. The heist of gold from the Federal Reserve Bank is especially interesting. I actually have fun these problems the most due to the characterizations involved.Volumes 2 & 3 were originally printed on somewhat thick, super-slick paper- extremely high production quality. Marvel eventually switched to a more standard, lighter, thinner yet still slick paper for their TPB's, which might be saving them somewhat on costs, but the effect is still decent quality for the reader. And it's easier to carry! It's this lighter paper that we obtain cluded in this volume:*Issues #349 to #354- Walt Simonson writes, pencils & inks*Issue #355- Walt Simonson writes; Sal Buscema pencils & inks*Issues #357 to #359- Walt Simonson writes, pencils & inksP.S. Problem #356 isn't included here because it was a fill-in problem with a various creative team; it isn't considered essential. Also- If you're an enthusiastic Simonson fan, I *highly* recommend getting the 2003 1st printing instead. Everything's incredibly better in it: the cover image, paper, printing, and even design. Since it's currently hard to search though, it'll likely be expensive. I love it!-UPDATE 2011- The newly reconstructed colors here represent the typical cleaning up of the original 80's colors, like Marvel does with all of their 80's paperbacks these days. These colors are *not* the same as the even newer colors in the 2011 Thor Simonson Omnibus. The omnibus colors are a whole various kind of 'new', specially created for that release.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 2 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Thor is one of the greatest super-heroes in the history of comics, yet he's only had three high-quality runs: The original stories by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby, the Roy Thomas/John Buscema run, and the run that is featured in "Thor Visionaries": that of the awesome writer/artist, Walt Simonson. If you have only read Thor stories from the latest few years, you have no idea how much fun this hero can be. Simonson's stories are epic, yet down-to-earth. They are lovingly-rendered. And most importantly, they capture the spirit of what this hero is _really_ all about. Buy it, Real Believers! 'Nuff said!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by Walter Simonson Vol. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This is really, really good. In the 80s Walt Simonson took Thor to fresh heights throwing out old conventions (Thor sheds his secret identity in the first few pages) and reaching deep into Norse myth to make one of the all-time amazing runs in comic history. He spent about five years on title, developing both long-running stories and single-issue gems. And it all starts monson wastes no time, just a few pages in Thor is in a war with mysterious alien, loses his hammer and ends up fighting armies of demons in a distant galaxy. And that's just the warm-up.I reread these books (along with Simonson's perfect Ragnarok comic) after seeing the recent Thor film. Some scenes from Simonson's run were clearly adapted for the movie and created me smile. I recommend all five books, they have cosmic action, nobility, humor and heart. Everything you could wish in a comic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I would have given this 5 stars, but when it was printed, it appears that two pages were printed out of sync from the first chapter. I remember having all of Mr. Simonson's Thor problems when I was younger, and his run on Thor was the most enjoyable during that time period. I would even rank it above Frank Miller's stint on Daredevil (and that was epic!!!). If you love amazing storytelling along with some beautiful impressive art, then this compilation is definitely for you!!! I will be ordering Volume 2 shortly!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The birth of Beta Ray Bill!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This was my introduction to "The Mighty Thor." I had read several positive reviews and thought I'd test it myself. The story was fascinating. Walt Simonson obviously had loads of background on Norse Mythology before beginning his wonderful run. My only complaint is that the story actually continues for four or five more problems when this volume ends. However, it is not difficult to search those today for the price of a current comic in any comic book store. If you like Thor or think you might like it, this is a amazing put to start!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Just awesome. One of, if not THE, definitive runs on the title. Simonson just nails it. A amazing collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The only thing I don't like is Amazon's cloud reader :( I more prefer a digital reading interface that enlarges the panels and tutorials your eye cinematically along the azon you are a very adaptable company and I feel like you will fix this buggy system soon. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    When you hear arguments by Comic nerds about what superhero could beat another superhero........ Nobody beats Walt Simonson's Thor ! Nobody !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Between the amazing avant garde (for the Times) pencils and the method he absolutely embraced the source material. This was one of the best books of its era. Still a amazing read 30 years later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    No doubt that Walter Simonson is THOR! This comic book was going nowhere but W.S. changed it and now this is a masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This volume includes the begin of the best run of Thor tales the comics have produced to date. For anyone interested in Marvel 's take on the hero and mythology this is the best put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    More of the best Thor saga!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I for got that I have this. perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    ggod read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Overall the story of Thor: Goddess of Thunder in these latest two volumes is beautiful amazing and develops well with a cast of characters trying to search her identity, leading up to the ultimate reveal. But I do have to say that I want some parts were a bit more like Noelle Stevenson's one off tale--where we obtain a story that really focuses on her. I felt that the story was weighed down in ways by focusing on Odinson's guilt and anger and not enough on the fresh Thor's thoughts and feelings, her journey, her inner world. So while the direction the story went did work out I did want to see more and was disappointed that she didn't even present up for a amazing chunk of the beginning of this volume. Hopefully will obtain to see more now that Odin has backed off and his misogynistic attacks have proved fruitless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    So, the reveal of the Lady Thor is made. I won't ruin the surprise of who Thor is, rather just review the volume. I have enjoyed the newest Thor story more than I anticipated. Showing the Thor I know and love Knocked down/showing signs of regret has been done well. I also appreciate how this story has continued the story elements from Thor God of Thunder, but found a method to feel fresh and fresh. The final reveal of who Thor is was not particularly surprising, given the limited number of suspects, but I'm sure will create for some interesting story elements down the road. Now, as to the collection itself, truthfully, this volume could easily have been place in the first volume without much difference. Included in this are 3 problems of the regular series, 1 annual (which has small to do with the actual Thor series), and a What If? problem from the 70s. Putting the collections together would have created more thematic sense given the story continues directly from problem 5, and there wasn't much reason to separate it out. The annual included is nice, but feels like filler. The What If? is directly relevant to who the fresh Thor is (Again I don't wish to spoil it), which was What If this fresh person became thor. It was a surprisingly amazing read, though I thought it was funny that said person did not go by Thor, but another name (Which was a complaint a lot of had of this fresh female thor).Overall, very amazing read, but felt short. Luckily, the price hear is beautiful cheap and you obtain a digital copy. If you liked Volume 1, you'll be happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Thor Volume 2 : Who Holds the Hammer?I'm not going to go into the whole "Thor is a woman" thing, you can either accept it or be a @#$%! and not accept it. That's on you. Jason Aaron is writing it and he is awesome at his job, Thor couldn't possibly ask for a better writer.I was disappointed in this book for one major reason, it was too short. It only held THREE problems of Thor. The fourth chapter was an Annual (which should NEVER count towards to overall "how a lot of problems per trade") and the fifth chapter was something NOBODY asked for, a really s***ty "What If?" from like the 70s where Jane Foster was Thor. I hate old comics. I attempted to read it but it was so cringey I couldn't handle it. I would have been happy if it had four problems or so, but I guess this is what Marvel wanted to do with their e huge issue I had with Thor Volume One was the constant "teenage girl" inner dialogue which REALLY downloaded how [email protected]#$% Thor is. Thor is Thor, not two separate people. Volume One created it hard to believe in the character. There was practically NONE of that in this volume, which was GREAT. Not sure if they had done away with it entirely for newer Thor (I hope so) but it was a amazing choice. We also learned who Thor is, which I won't reveal here.I really miss the artist of the God Butcher storyline, I don't think anyone but them could truly draw the epic and grand stories of Thor. This one here is just a small too cartoonish for the depth and intensity I like of , enough of what I think Thor should or shouldn't be. The book itself is fine. 3/5 of it anyway, which is why I am giving it three stars. The story by Jason Aaron in the Annual almost brought me to tears, so that definitely helped it's cause.If you're into reading Thor, you're gonna need this volume to stay up to date. Otherwise if you wish to obtain into Thor and haven't yet, begin with Aaron's "God Butcher" volume, that and the God Bomb will be your favorite comic stories of all time, I just know it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I won't go into too much detail but I will say this. The first three issues, which continue the fresh Thor's storyline, were amazing. The build up to who Thor is was really well done, even knowing beforehand who it was. Looking back, you can see tips of their identity before it's revealed. If these three problems created up the entirety of Volume 2 and it continued as such, it would be a 5 star book. However, it is not. Half of this book is crappy filler that I couldn't even manage to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I really enjoyed this story line. I have followed Mighty Thor since I was a child back in the 60's when Jack Kirby and company first brought him out. This story of a fresh Thor is very imaginative. Especially the aspect of the Mjolnir having powers that even Thor himself had not seen. Very good. I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    The continuation of the fresh Thor series reveals the secret of who picked up Mjölnir and continues the plotline from the latest volume. Included are problems #6-8 which are all great, and the "conclusion" to the secret of Thor's identity feels worthwhile. Unfortunately the volume only includes those three issues, an annual and a classic non-continuity story from the 70s which also stars a woman as Thor. The annual problem is good, but not great, and while the premise and foresight of the classic problem is admirable, its not exactly readable.Overall the volume is just too short to warrant a amazing score. Those who aren't invested in the annual problem might be better served by waiting for a combined hardcover of problems #1-8.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 2: Who Holds The Hammer? (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    It's a amazing compilation but it feels like it came out too soon. The latest portion of the book after the cliffhanger is an antiquated gender swap story from years ago. Because of the gender roles and the pacing, I found it hard to enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This book includes some awesome material from the Lee/Kirby years - For starters the God of Thunder ventures to the Black Galaxy where he encounters the alien Rigellians and Ego the Living Planet - but that is just the hint of the iceberg -- included in this action-packed volume are a vast array of terrific characters - the High Evolutionary and his Knights of Wundagore, Replicus, Super Skrull, Ulik and the Rock Trolls - all the gang from Asgard - Odin, Loki, Sif, Heimdall, Fighters Three etc.. and the Destroyer!Its one thing to throw in all these characters into a single book, but to have them come to life and jump off the pages like they do is the true treat, thanks to the "King" Jack Kirby - Thor's other-worldly adventures are irresistible - this volume of the Epic Collection series and the one that follows - Vol 4, are two of my favorite books in my Marvel collection and both are a must for Thor fans

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Like being able to carry the entire collection on my Kindle application while traveling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Some of the old classic comics that I grew up with. A fun read every night before bed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    GREATREAD

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Epic Collection: The Wrath Of Odin (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Collects two of my favorite stories of all time in one huge epic with other little tales that are always method over average.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    In my opinion the single best title that Marvel is currently churning out (amidst all the Marvel Now/All Fresh All Various rebrandings) is Jason Aaron's Mighty Thor following Jane Foster as the fresh female Thor. This second volume picks up the story that was begun in Thor (during Marvel Now) before being relaunched as Mighty Thor and sees Thor up versus Daario Agger (head of Roxxon Corporation) and his metaphysical ally Malekeith the dark elf. Unfortunately, this volume takes a major downswing in the action after the tremendous first volume that saw the return of Loki and Thor's war with Odin. After the cliffhanger ending in which Freya was mortally wounded, we obtain the first two problems in this book which are just a retelling of an old Viking story with the male Thor fighting a proto-Hulk viking. Supposedly the story ties in with the main Daario Agger arc in that he ends up getting Hulk soldiers from Loki like the one in this older tale, but it seriously throws off the story's momentum. Also the guest art for the arc is far inferior than the normal art of this series. It sets up its own visual style, but it still leaves you wondering why the two-issue story-in-a-story is necessary. Finally after that the main arc picks back up with Thor confronting Agger and a few other fresh villains. The story loses a bit of steam once again, however, during the final problem when Thor is whisked away from the aftermath of the war to reveal the origins of Mjolnir the hammer, which is apparently at least semi-sentient. Again we obtain a story-within-the-story set up and again the art style changes with the fresh tale (though this art is much better I think than the opening two issues). Also, the locale where Thor goes to learn this origin story is going to throw any fans who didn't read the terrific "God Killer" arc from the Thor series before Jane took up the hammer. Overall, the ongoing story of the brewing Battle between the Realms is still amazing, but the two origin tales we obtain really throw off the pacing of the volume, especially since the artwork on display is so inferior to the terrific work from series regular Russell Dauterman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    The initial two-issue story serves as an introduction of sorts between Loki and the CEO of Roxxon as well as set up some "heavy" minions later in the collection. Beyond these elements, it's hard to view these problems as more than buying time for Dauterman to finish art for upcoming issues. Plus, the massive lackeys end up barely impacting the main arc of the at being said, the remainder of the problems in this digital trade are excellent. It is fun to see a certain smug villain have his plans torpedoed and lose the upper hand for once. The art is wonderful. The characters are housekeeping note for those purchasing the kindle version: problem #12 is not actually included in this collection though it is advertised as such; only #6-#11 are here (I have alerted Amazon of this problem). However, when you do read #12, though it is a one-shot story, it is quite good. I always love Frazer Irving's art and he draws an especially mean Odin!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    except for the art of the first story, the rest of it is beautiful cool (esp after watching reviews on you-tube...and I still bought this)\cover art shown here is on the inside tho. cover art itself was different. had me confused for a moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Mr. Aaron tells a amazing tale in these stories of The Mighty Thor. I love this fresh Goddess of Thunder And I have fun that it is being kept in secret. Mjolner is more than just a hammer and I like how it is introduced and it's awesome power. I still have no idea how powerful Uru metal is but it certainly is amazing that Jason and his squad expanded the idea of Thor's e writing was amazing kept me interested and the artwork was too notch to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Loving the first volume of Jane Foster as Thor. This second problem is amazing with catching up on the fresh origins of Mjinor and how Roxxon and the underworld business works in the Marvel Universe. Sadly the flashback tales detract the main story a bit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Jason Aaron's Thor continues to impress. He's telling a long story and I'm along for the ride, although I do want we could tie up a few of the loose ends. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    For a mostly DC fan, I couldn't have been happier reading this story. I'm also beautiful ignorant of Thor's comic stories, so for me to be able to jump right in, that's an impressive feat of storytelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Jason Aaron continues his stellar run on Thor, not a amazing put to just pick up you def need to read vol 1 or go back to the begin of Aaron's Thor run because it's amazing. Any fan Thor should really obtain anything Thor by Jason Aaron you will not be disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 2: Lords of Midgard (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Thor, Vol. 1 established the return of Thor with a bold reimagining. Summoned from the void by Donald Blake, Thor goes about rebuilding Asgard in the wake of Civil War. Volume 2 picks up with Thor who has awakened all the sleeping gods and must enter Thorsleep to replenish his power. Meanwhile, Lady Loki's machinations become more apparent (to the reader, at least) as she ingratiates herself to Balder with the truth - that he too is a son of Odin - in order to create her lies more palatable. Interwoven with this main story is the burgeoning love story between the human Bill and goddess is Thor is more strong than I'm accustomed to. Therefore, Loki must connive to have him banished so she might become the power behind the fresh King, Balder. Much of this volume is given over to Loki, and just how far back in time his plan was seeded. Though I don't like how Loki is presented as being evil for the sake of evil (even as a kid he's "evil"), it does create him a more challenging villain for this more strong Thor. The volume ends with the introduction of another major villain; one that Loki is obviously allied with. The conclusion left me eager to see how the story will end.Overall, this was an exciting follow-up to Volume 1 with even more action and a lot more intrigue. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    After reading the perfect volume 1, I was pleasantly surprised when I received this volume as a Birthday present, as I was eager to continue JMS's unbelievable run on Thor. I am satisfied to say that the greatness continues. Thor's supporting cast is back in full, and the Thunder God begins to share the spotlight with Loki and Baldur. Several subplots develop in this volume, including some interesting backstory on Odin and Thor's family past, including a lost member (whom I shall not spoil).Art duties are handled by two artists in this volume: Marko Djurdjevic and returning artist Oliver Coipel. The former's style is grittier, but still excellent. Some amazing shots are to be had in this volume, such as Thor standing on a satellite in zone and an epic splash page of Thor & Odin fighting the Fire Giant Surtur (a long running Thor villain).I rated this volume slightly lower than the previous, in that it is not quite as 'newcomer friendly', requiring readers to obtain up to speed with the other happenings Marvel had going at the time, mainly Norman 'Green Goblin' Osborne's Dark Avengers, as well as a greater understanding of Thor's Mythos in order to truly understand the story in its entirety. This is not much of an issue, but I did have to consult my comic-guru mates on certain things. Needless to say however, that savvy fans will not search this an problem at all, but for those like me, who are coming into comic-continuity, I feel this is necessary to ever, this is still a unbelievable run, and I enjoyed every page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    *possible spoilers*When I first picked this collection up I was very happy with the dark leather and golden letters that simply displayed the name "Thor" on the front. The book simply looked amazing on the outside and the artwork within is again, like the first volume, e story begins right where the first volume ended, with problem #7, to search Thor drained from restoring Asgard. As not to spoil anything, I will only mention that the roster of characters grows slightly with the appearances of Odin, Jane Foster and Sif coming back to Thor's / Don's lives (in one from or another--one stage involving Sif actually caused me to mutter "How frustrating!"). Bill Jr. becomes more than a waiter at a diner and actually brings some comedic value. The scenes involving his attempt at being romantic with flowers and his teaching of basketball to the Asgardians actually created me laugh: as Bill is speaking to a huge Asgardian man about basketball he says "A point isn't a thing, you can't see them or anything...its just a count, one-two. You have two points, your enemy doesn't have any--" and the Asgardian interrupts "How can you know he has no points if you cannot see them? Perhaps he is hiding two points with which to attack you later?" (haha). Moments like these present Straczynski's sense of humor and depict a lighthearted method of Earth meets Asgard. Balder too becomes quite necessary when Loki informs him of something rather mind blowing, creating a dynamic triangle between the two of them and Thor. Another appearance, be it a short one, worth mentioning is that of the amazing spirit of Cap himself which gives closure between Thor and his amazing friend, a well written scene.I enjoyed the problem revolving around Loki. The method it is written really brings everything contained in this volume together and is somewhat cleverly done. Loki is such a manipulator that he even manipulates himself. Fantastic. In the end, Loki's scheme comes to fruition and puts Thor in such an poor situation ( I won't spoil it but it's beautiful well done ). The final moments of this latest problem truly created me despise Loki (as he should be) yet created me question the intelligence of both Balder and Thor (yes, yes Asgardian Law forced it to end that way...they couldn't have seen it coming...hmm).All in all, the story is absolutely fantastic. I love what Straczynski has done for Thor. Coipel's Thor is wonderful and the artwork throughout the volume is so well done that I can truly have fun just looking at the panels. The scheming of Loki is a tad bit obvious for the reader but that can't be helped because the reader learns just about everything that Loki does, so we can only know as much. The wars are amazing but I really like that this newer Thor is more about story and hero development than it is about epic wars (even though some disagree).So, if you're a fan of Thor or you simply enjoyed the first volume, you will most definitely have fun this one, the second volume being deeper and more improved than the first. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    This volume of the fresh Thor series was flawless in my book. Loki developed a complicated plan to take down Thor that was unanticipated by every reader. If you thought the first volume was good, this one makes it look like a straight-to-dvd borefest. I loved the first six issues, but Straczynkski really took his story to a fresh level in these I said, Loki is an smart villain this time around. I've read some Thor stories where Loki is mostly a predictable pest, but in this story he/she is terrifying. I was invigorated to see a true villain step up to the plate and take a swing at Thor's heart. It's amazing villain writing and action plots like these that create Joss Whedon clutch his Astonishing X-men in fear. Bottom line is that J Michael Straczynski is at the top of his android game at this n't be concerned if the story is going to grow from volume 1. Volume 2 is bigger, better, and faster. It includes special storywriting with involving plots. I'd say this is the best Thor I've read yet, with the previous volume and Fraction's work coming in at a close second. I think this is some of the best material Marvel has out there right now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Begin with Thor: Disassembled, read the first volume of the J. Michael, this one, and the third...you will have Thor goodness coming out of your ears. Only the Simonson, Oeming, and classic Lee rivals this run, essential for Thor fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    My Thor read-a-athon continues. I read volumes 2 & 3 of JMS' Thor run back to back. A amazing read, but sadly ended before the story was finished. I look forward to seeing how the next creative squad picks up the story. Art by Copiel & Djurdjevic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Awesome if you love Thor you'll like this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Amazing Book For Thor Fans. Really a must have if your a Thor fan. That is all I can say, man obtain this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Amazing pictures. Packaged like a professional. Pages are sturdy and beautifully colored. More like a book of printable art than a "comic book/ story book"

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 2 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I enjoyed this book, but it was a small slow, especially compared to book one. That being said it gave some interesting depth and is still a amazing read. Starting book three! Long Live Asgard!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 4: The War Thor (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:1

    *Spoiler Alert*Volstagg is the main focus of this volume. After failing to save a bunch of elven children, he goes off the deep end and becomes the Battle Thor. Finding the abandoned hammer of the deceased Thor of the Ultimate universe, he is consumed by rage and seeks the destruction of Muspelheim. The Odinson Thor and female Thor do their best to bring him back to his senses. Amazing story and for only 4.50 digital. Having purchased the previous volumes in HC and will probably continue to the end of this series. Both art and story obtain five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Awesome conic series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Perfect series! I'm still waiting to hear what created Odinson unworthy though

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    I did like this. But I thought it took it a while to really obtain started. Just as I was engaged it was the end. I will be reading the next volume because I am interested to learn more about this reincarnation of Thor and would like to see where it goes. So I will give it another volume or so. I was a bit disappointed in this one though. I really wanted to love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    The 1st volume of Marvel's Thor Goddess of Thunder trade by Jason Aaron, Russell Dauterman, & Jorge Molina is a amazing read. I wasn't sure what to expect because stories like this, where a fresh hero takes over the mantle of another hero can work or they can go horribly wrong and Thor has gone through this before so I went in skeptical. I'm satisfied to say that this one works and I am anxious to see what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Awesome storyline! I can't wait for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    The artwork was simply stunning in this comic. The storyline stayed real to itself the whole book and had the same feel as the movies. A quick paced series that has me eager for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Very amazing artwork is abound in this origin story of the female Thor. Amazing designs with vibrant colors. I appreciate the method marvel handled the transition. Well worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    A amazing story that both stands alone and tips at past and future threads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    Jason Aaron is writing the best Thor stories of his generation, both with the original Thor (Gods of Thunder volumes 1 and 2 are attractive and funny and epic and melancholy all at once), and with this fresh mystery woman who has taken on the mantle of om the outside, it might feel like a publicity stunt, but Thor's story has always been about worthiness--who is amazing enough, brave enough, and just enough to be able to lift the hammer. There's a sadness to the Odinson's loss of his title, but his hero is better for it. Meanwhile the mystery predecessor is fun and dynamic, rising to the occasion with grace and e book is just filled with instantly iconic photos and some truly funny moments as well.A small weirded out by a woman as Thor? Take a possibility on this book anyway. It won't disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Vol. 1: The Goddess Of Thunder (Thor (2014-2015)) review [Book]  2017-10-26 18:1

    enjoyable story and amazing dialogue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is the kind of book that gets a person excited about superheroes, no doubt about it. I started with Journey into Mystery, Vol. 1: Fear Itself as a starting point for Marvel comics (after loving the film, The Avengers). I was immediately hooked and wanted to see how we got to that point. I decided to skip over House of M and Civil War, as those stories seemed too dark, and I didn't wish to go too far back. I had read amazing reviews about Straczynski's reintroduction of Thor, which also introduced Lady Loki, and decided to jump to this point. Though the story is fairly well contained, it is helpful to know something of what happened before, especially in Civil War. So, I recommend newbie readers like me hit Wikipedia to obtain an overview of those prior major is book opens with the human Donald Blake, who once hosted Thor's spirit, calling the God of Thunder from the Void of nothingness. The cycle of endless Raganaroks had been broken, but humanity still needs the gods. Thor chooses to be reborn, and he uses his power to rebuild Asgard - in Oklahoma! He then begins searching the globe for his people, bound within humans waiting to be awakened. He intended not to awaken certain Asgardians, Loki, Enchantress, et al, but while engaged in war was forced to awaken everyone at once. Loki is somehow reborn as a woman, and Sif cannot be found. The scene is set. The most exciting part of this book is the clash between Thor and Iron Man, when Thor reveals just how strong he is - that he had always held back before. He's ticked off at Tony for using his genetic code to create a "fake" Thor and passing him off as the true deal during the Civil War.Overall, this is a unbelievable (re)introduction of Thor. The story is engrossing, and I love the artwork. Thor is totally poor [email protected]@, and the wars scenes are expertly rendered and thrilling. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I picked this up without the background of the previous avengers books, but was able to figure out enough context to obtain what was going on. Love the writing, love the mood, love the artwork!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Thor had always been a visually striking hero to me; the lightning motif, the giant hammer, the battle helmet. But I've never been one for ancient mythology, so I always place off reading any thunder god stories. With the movie adaptation of the hero within one year at the time of this review, I finally decided to pick something up. With the low price and amazing reviews, I started is book was fantastic. JMS' story is about Thor trying to pick up the pieces of his life after an absence in the 616 universe. He rebuilds Asgard, looks for old friends, and tries to create sense of what has happened since he's been gone. The best chapter would have to be problem #3, where Thor visits a section of Fresh Orleans, still stricken by the effects of Hurricane Katrina. He realizes that if he were around, he could have stopped the storm and saved countless lives. He also questions why did no other superhero do sue #3 is also where Iron Man shows up and wants to talk to Thor. Thor is quite aware that Stark created a Thor clone for his own private use, and Thor isn't satisfied with it at all. Without giving too much away, Thor, quite easily, gives Iron Man what must be the most embarrassing conquer he's ever gone through. If you hate Iron Man, you'll love it. Even if you do like Iron Man, like me, you'll love how [email protected]#$% Thor comes off there.If you never knew just how strong Thor or his trademark weapon Mjolnir are, this book gives amazing examples, and you obtain a true sense of it early on. The god of thunder has to be hands down one of the most strong characters ever created. I was in awe looking at what this guy could do.A lot of people have complained that the book is slow placed and needs more action. I do not agree with either statement. It's just fine with it's compelling story telling and exciting action sequences. In fact, it's great. If you've ever thought about reading Thor, this would be a amazing start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This is a terrific Thor series, only the classic Lee and deservedly venerated Simonson rival it. Terrific, creative "down to earth god"-ly and magical. My only (strong) recommendation is to read Thor: Disassembled first, not just because this to a degree follows that story, but because the former is one of the absolute best stories Marvel has ever had to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I've been on a bit of a ''Thor' kick recently so I decided to read from the JMS/Coipel run through the current run. I tapped out originally around problem 3 or 4 when these comics came out fresh because it moved too slow for me, plus was the same story we got latest time Thor was restarted, finding Asgardians in mortal form to repopulate Asgard. It reads better in trade format so I'm excited to see what I missed. So far we're off to a amazing start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    You can see how some aspects of this book (or J. Michael Straczynski's run) influenced the first THOR film. Some elements are similar... the setting, for one. The take... the method the hero looks... the town... the supporting characters.I really enjoyed this, but so far I've only read this first book. I think there's three books total collecting Straczynski's run. I will obtain to them eventually.I should probably say that I really like J. Michael's work. I've read a LOT of his material, and I always have fun his e artwork and the coloring are top notch as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This an awesome graphic novel there is a page in there I loved so much because it shows Thor when he is being serious

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I'm not normally a Thor fan, but I bought it since it was on sale and I knew that the writer was very good. Through out the book I was very entertained, I especially loved the confrontation between Thor and iron man.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Who doesn't love Thor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor by J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 1 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    It was very nice to pick up a Thor comic and be able to read it and have fun it agian. The wars and the drawings of the action panels were awesome. And to see Thor @#$%! smack Tony was [email protected]#$% and to see that all along he was holding back his ture power was amazing. Pick this one up if you are thanking about it you won't be disappointed I know I wasn't!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    👍👍👍👍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Love the fresh series. The artwork, the scripting are both amazing. My favorite fresh comic series this millennium.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Loved it, Jane is becoming one of my favorite Marvel characters, hope she never relinquishes that little hammer 😋

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    There are better marvel books out like vision or Ms. marvel.Unless you are a die hard Thor fan I would skip over for a better price of work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I have been a fan of Jane Foster for a lot of years and after discovering her as the fresh Thor I was intrigued. However, I decided to jump into the series because of my own mother aunt and cousin going through breast cancer and how they remain powerful even in times of doubt and darkness. The Mighty Thor is a champion by Jason Aaron. He has caught a very believable Jane Foster as a character who is dying faster because becoming Thor is undoing her cancer treatments. However, with the fresh power of the Dark Council, Asgardian Politics and mystical threats that even Dr. Strange or the Avengers can't handle. Jane knows there needs to be a Thor and she will greatly create sure Earth stays together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Son loved the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    amazing story always loved thor she even better

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I loved this! Amazing artwork and interesting story line. I'm a HUGE Loki fan, and the artist actually got a realistic "Tom Hiddleston" looking Loki that wasn't too "cartoony" Yea! Amazing cliff hanger ending! I can't wait for the next volume of this series. When does it come out?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 1: Thunder In Her Veins (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Jason Aaron is the best writer going for Marvel right now. This picks up after Secret Battles and is a continuation of his Thor run, the best run ever in my humble opinion. He does a amazing job of exploring the worlds of Thor and how Odinsons loss of his hammer effects so many. I'm looking forward to see where he goes with Thor ( Jane and Odinson). And if you haven't read anything before this you have to go obtain it, you will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I can easily see why others were disappointed by this final volume - I was also, initially. However, I still found it to be an engaging story. Moreso if you view it as another installment, leading into Gillen's run of Thor, rather than as an actual conclusion. In that light, this was a solid read which kept me interested, advanced the world-building and set the scene for more to e volume opens with Thor exiled, Mjolnir damaged, Sif still missing, Balder moving his people to Latveria at the urging of Loki and Dr. Doom, and the human Bill going along out of his love for Kelda. Thor appears less frequently than in the first two volumes. A lot of material is resolved quickly, and in the case of Mjolnir, with the appearance of my favorite sorcerer, and Loki is "outed" to Balder. The volume concludes rather abruptly with Blake being injured in an attack by Doombots (Loki being aware that Blake and Thor share a body) and finding his left leg crippled as it was before. The situation in Latveria is left hanging, but Thor is reunited with Sif and the Fighters 3. I would be more upset with this "cliffhanger" if there were not more to come. However, Gillen's run of Thor is nearly as well reviewed as Straczynski's, so I search myself eager to continue instead.Overall, this is definitely the weakest of the three volumes, but still a worthwhile read that makes me wish to continue reading Thor's adventures. The art was quite amazing throughout, and the book's final pages have a "history" for Loki and Sif that support bring fresh readers up to speed before entering Siege. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Thor is one of Marvel's best characters. And there is no where where this is more apparent than in J. Michael Straczynski's brilliant yet brief run on the series. This volume is the finale he wrote, a brilliant yet bittersweet end to the characters he redefined. In this volume we are treated to more of Loki's scheming, more of Balder's indecision as fresh found king of Asgard, and more of Thor's bravery in spite of his banishment from Asgard. This book wraps up a lot of the plot points set up earlier in the series but leaves the main story sadly begin ended. Even though the series is picked up by the very capable hands of Kieron Gillen (who's run I recommend to any Thor fan), I can understand why some people would be disappointed by this collection. But still, if you judge this as the end of Straczynski's series but also as a gateway to the future of Asgard in the Marvel Universe, it shines. This has everything that fans of the series had been enjoying previously and the art by Marko Djurdjevic, though not as amazing as Olivier Coipel, is still wonderful and fitting. I search it saddening to see so a lot of lackluster reviews for what was the latest Thor story written by the man who literally resurrected Asgard from Ragnarok itself. I recommend this volume as a attractive finale of everything that came before.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    A amazing character ,an original Avenger ,& one of the most strong characters in the Marvel universe has fallen on hard times of late.He's been exiled from his homeland of Asgard ,Mjolnir Is broken ,but Thor the god of thunder never gives up. With om & Loki conspiring Thor must support defend Asgard despite his exile.J.Michael Straczynski has been a Marvel massive hitter for Marvel with his writing.He's assisted other hero's in the Marvel universe for years always producing amazing story lines.With Marko Djurdjevic special & attractive artwork this is a squad of creators that's worth the cover price alone. Create mine Marvel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Don't listen to negative reviews, this is as the rest of the run: magical, marvelous, amusing, heroic...even a small sexy. If you are a Thor fan and listen to the naysayers on this I pity you, you are really going to be missing out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    This is quite simply a very amazing story full of special characters, rich and colourful settings and will hold your interest until the very end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Anything with doom and thor is going to be orgasmic. lets face it. I have read all avengers, thor, iron man, captain America, F4, Hulk comics since 1996. Thor story lines are the best of the lot. I am not a Thor fan but when asgard comes to earth. Its always good. The best arc is actually the thor V2. but this is still very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    My Thor read-a-athon continues. I read volumes 2 & 3 of JMS' Thor run back to back. A amazing read, but sadly ended before the story was finished. I look forward to seeing how the next creative squad picks up the story. Art by Copiel & Djurdjevic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Amazing comic but it ended on a large cliffhanger when they had the excellent set up for an amazing war with Doctor Doom and Loki vs. Thor and the asguardians.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    I was very sad to see Straczynski's run come to a close. He was my favorite Thor writer, and his series is my favorite comic series to this date. Really it's this series and then Walking Dead at close second. I hear complaints that this is too short, for which I agree with. However, I do not believe length should create or break a comic. Straczynski's little third volume is unbelievable through and through. Nearly every plot point is concluded subtlely, yet with power and emotion. I nearly broke down at the end of the hardcover due to its reign on my emotions. This is a really powerful conclusion with twists that do justice to the previous volumes. All characters obtain amazing panel time and I'm left longing for so much more. Does the length upset me? If I'm dying for more I don't think I can bring myself to give it anything less than 5 stars. The Latveria storyline will continue in the next trade with the absense of JMS. Its very heartbreaking to see him go, but there's enough here to see him go on a satisfied note.Another significant change in this trade is the art. Yes, he is not as amazing as Coipel. Where did Coipel go? They were such a excellent match, because the tone matched the art. The fresh artist Marko Djurdjevic is ok, but I see some true flaws in some of his panels. There's one in particular where a certain female looks like an action figure hopping out of a diner. After you read this you'll see it and agree with me. The artist needs to look back at who originally drew this masterpiece and live up to side it being short, and short of Coipel, Volume three is amazing. If you wanted to see all the incomplete elements of the first volumes come together in one awesome attractive circle, here it is. Bring tissues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor By J. Michael Straczynski Vol. 3 (Thor (2007-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-2 18:1

    Amazing book from a amazing seller thanks !!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 3: Asgard/Shi'ar War (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I enjoyed this thoroughly. While the aspect of Gorr was annoying at first, this story has brought an amazing turn of events. Bravo.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 3: Asgard/Shi'ar War (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I enjoyed this read very much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mighty Thor Vol. 3: Asgard/Shi'ar War (The Mighty Thor (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Ok stories, but the cover suggest the original Thor is a huge part of it and he is not. He only shows up halfway through the latest issue...

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter