Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    A bit of background: In the early days of the first Valiant, Unity was an ambitious crossover spearheaded by Jim Shooter, featuring all the Valiant titles at that point, and is widely regarded as an early example of a successful comic book crossover event. Years later, in an attempt to revive the failing Acclaim Valiant Heroes line, Jim Shooter was tasked for a fresh crossover, Unity 2000. Unfortunately, due to Acclaim’s dire straits, the project crashed and burned midway ter the fresh Valiant began publishing in 2012, fans were treated to mysterious announcements about the coming of a fresh Unity, though the Valiant squad were fast to point out this Unity would be various than what’s come before. It was later revealed that this Unity would not be a crossover event, but would actually be an ongoing squad book.Where we are story-wise in the Valiant Universe: X-O Manowar returned from deep zone with the descendants of his people, landing in modern day Romania and proclaiming the country his. As could be expected, the globe did not react well to this potential alien invasion, the Russians in particular. After a failed attempt to use ground units versus Aric and his Visigoths, it appears that the Russians are going to escalate to nuclear weapons and potentially spark Globe Battle III. Enter: Toyo Harada.With Unity, Matt Kindt (creator of the critically acclaimed MIND MGMT) and Doug Braithwaite weave a complex tale of twists and turns, surprises and shocks, and all around major nerd out moments (the time it takes X-O to conquer Harada's squad reads with fist-pumping excitement). I was encouraged to hear that Kindt would be writing this series, especially after hearing that he was a fan of old school Valiant. You can tell that he loves these characters, and this initial arc shows all of them at their strengths, especially in light of the moral ambiguity that some of these heroes and villains are operating under. X-O Manowar is the character of his own title, but here he is the invading poor guy. Toyo Harada is the villain of Harbinger, but here he is trying to save the globe from nuclear liant pushed the publicity of this title hard, and it was well worth the hype. This is a amazing tale that puts together an “Avengers” like squad of Valiant heavyweights. Kindt has indicated that he has several years’ worth of story-arcs planned out for Unity… jump on board here and obtain in at the ground floor!PS… I strongly recommend that you purchase X-O Manowar vol. 4 and 5 with this Unity trade. Vol. 4 leads right up to Unity, and vol. 5 should be read as a companion to Unity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    One thing about this story is that it helps to have an idea of  what was event in the Valiant universe previously. I feel like there is a amazing recap of the most necessary pieces, but it is brief. It is possible to appreciate the story for what it is without being familiar with the events/characters ic of Dacia, aka X-O Manowar, is public opponent number one in this book. From the beginning he has been a troublemaker, even if  that wasn't his intention. To place a stop to him, a U.S. government agency brings in one of the most strong men in the world, who puts together a squad to challenge ere are some beautiful cool happenings in this book. A lot of it is action oriented, so it moves along at a amazing pace. The highlights for me are the hero oriented moments that expand on the world, particularly in regards to Livewire. My reading sequence for the Valiant books is all over the place, so I had a possibility to see some of what she's done leading up to this story as well as what takes put afterward. This ties things together nicely.With all the Valiant books I've picked up, I really have fun the art. The company does a amazing job of picking artists that make a style for their comics without tying them down too much. Braithwaite's art highlights the best parts of the story without being intrusive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    This is what VEI has been pointing to for nearly a year now. The culmination of seed planting and hero development has finally arrived, and it is epic! From the opening problem Kindt raises the stakes to global porportions and never really lets up. The story brings together the best, brightest and brawniest of Valiants characters. Harada, Ninjak, The Eternal Warrior, X-O Manowar all collide in a heavy showdown. Aric (X-O) has returned to earth and is determined to stake a claim on what he believes is his rightful kingdom which just happens to now be the country of Romania. On the brink of globe war, Harada gathers a squad designed to place an end to this threat. His purposes are not always benevolent and for the sake of humanity though, and Harada has more up his sleeve than everyone ndt weaves so a lot of threads of intrigue, double-crossing, mind android games and epic showdowns it's hard to know where to start. And Braithwaite's art is fantastic. Ther'es so much scope and scale with his layouts that you are given a amazing impression of how globally impacting these happenings me of the transitions from problem to problem were a small jarring and disconnected, and there were times where things were event that I felt like I had missed vital info about somewhere along the way. But those are little complaints in the grand scheme of what is a massively successful event.Well done!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) video reviews and related movies:

    See Unity Vol 1 To Kill A King UNITY 2013 on youtube.

     related image

    See Unity Vol 1 To Kill A King UNITY 2013 on youtube.

     related image

    See Valiant Comics UNITY #1 Trailer (2013) - OFFICIAL on youtube.

     related image

    See Valiant Comics Unity #1 - 8 Bit Cinema! on youtube.

     related image

    See Assassin's Creed Unity Stealth Gameplay - Stealth Kills & Assassinations on youtube.

     related image

    See DJ KENNY DEM A LEARN DANCEHALL MIX APR 2018 on youtube.

     related image

    See Unity is strength on youtube.

     related image

    See JT Machinima - Assassin's Creed 3 "Born Into Tyranny" on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I still think of myself as a relative newcomer to Valiant comics. I’ve read very small of the original Valiant books from the 90s but I’m aware of the history and wild popularity that the phrase and name ‘Unity’ has for fans of the original , they should be very happy and excited for this brand fresh Unity title. I certainly was. The main story built up within Valiant's X-O Manowar title and while, as some other reviewers suggested, reading Vol. 4-5 of X-O helps expand on this story, a fresh reader can follow and understand the main happening here without doing so (but being able to shows Valiant’s commitment to telling a solid, entertaining comic story).As for the story, we have Aric of Dacia returning home to Earth from deep space, bringing with him with remnants of his people. He’s intent on setting up a fresh home for his refugee people by reclaiming his ancient homeland. In wielding the X-O armor, he certainly has the power to do so. But this brings him into conflict with modern Russian forces as well as drawing the attention of Toyo Harada, the world’s most strong psiot and who has his own plans for humanity and Aric’s interference isn’t part of it. So Harada is forced to bring together a motley band of individuals to take down arguably the most strong person in the Valiant tt Kindt’s first work for Valiant, he does a deft job of building suspense and tension amongst the players of this global drama. The different personalities that create up this fresh Unity squad grate and grind versus each other yet somehow come together to test and achieve their goals. Add in a major twist midway through and you got the makings of a terrific story. Braithwaite’s art is dynamic and exciting, capturing very well the strong forces unleashed in this conflict of powerful wills.DC and Marvel tend to draw out their happenings but here, Valiant creates a engaging, fun happening that shows the breadth of their comic universe, that by unifying their characters, they are demonstrating how they are slowly climbing to the top of the comic industry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Valiant Comics is like The Small Engine That Could. Or maybe it's more like zombies in how it's so triumphantly resurrected itself. Anywho, Valiant is doing amazing work right now, thanks in no little part to its fresh ongoing series Unity. This trade - Unity Volume 1: To Slay A King - collects problems #1-4. Unlike its summer of 1992 counterpart (and I won't even go into Acclaim Comics' Unity 2000 mini-series), the 2013 Unity isn't as much a company-wide crossover happening as it is Valiant's take on the JLA or, better yet, The Defenders or, best yet, The Avengers (the cinematic version).A fast refresher: In 402 A.D. Aric of Dacia, heir to the Visigoth throne, was taken by an alien race known as the Vine. While under captivity onboard a Vine colony ship, Aric stumbled upon the sentient X-O Manowar armor and was deemed worthy to wear it. Aric at latest returned to Earth only to learn that 1600 years had passed. Enraged, Aric created his method to the Vine's home globe and freed the slaves who were descendants of abducted Visigoths. Aric then claimed his ancestral homeland of Dacia - now Romania - for his own kingdom. At this time, Russia (and other concerned nations) started mad-dogging the upstart.Which leads us to Unity. Seeking to avert a nuclear war, the world's most strong psion, Toyo Harada, recruits an elite task force to take down Aric. And so there came a day, a day unlike any other when Earth's mightiest her- oops, but I'm plagiarizing. Truth is, we only obtain a smidgen of Valiant's cast of heroes in this first arc. That's okay. Writer Matt Kindt - whose Mind MGMT series shouldn't go unread by anyone - is absolutely killing it. I love the unpredictability of Unity, love the sweep of it, and how it doesn't hesitate to flip the status quo. Matt Kindt finds these locations to insert hero beats while always driving the narrative forward. It's neat how you have dominating personalities like Harada, Aric, and Gilad in the same room, and yet, by the end of the day, a lesser figure like Amanda McKee (codenamed Livewire) gets opportunity to command center stage.I can't dis Doug Braithwaite. He holds it down as an artist. Where others tend to obtain lost in the jumble and clutter of drawing an all-out combat sequence, Braithwaite, with each panel, consistently gives you clarity along with the dynamic visual choreography. He's d0pe.I drew a parallel between Unity and the onscreen live Avengers. I dig that, same as these Avengers, the operatives - Ninjak, Gilad, Livewire - were pressed into service by Harada for just this one mission for their very specific skill sets. They certainly don't think they're a "team." I like the uncertainty of us not knowing who'll stay and who'll go at any given moment. It reminds me of the 1970s Defenders with its non-team concept, when so-and-so would drop in but then take off. So, yeah, I appreciate the fluidity of this title. Allegiances are mercurial. Perception shifts. Huge things happen - dramatic, game-changing things. The action is beautiful epic and overshadows any of the showdowns between Harada and Peter Stanchek. Do I want more characters were showcased? Yes, please, to that. I've no doubt folks like Archer & Armstrong, Bloodshot, Shadowman, and Quantum and Woody are lounging in the wings. Count me hooked on Unity. As a Ninjak fan, I'm anticipating Unity's second arc (Unity Volume 2: Trapped By Webnet TP) as it promises the malevolent return of an old foe of Ninjak'h. I was hoping there'd be something more to that embedded meal critic who became Aric's number one blogger, other than just being an exposition box on legs. Maybe I'll have to begin reading X-O Manowar r the completists, it may interest you to know that during Unity's inaugural arc, the X-O Manowar title was running a parallel story (X-O Manowar Volume 5: At Battle With Unity TP).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Unity is Valiant’s first squad book and it effectively crosses the entire Valiant Universe. The first volume, To Slay a King, includes problems 1 through 4 of the regular series. The story opens with the globe reacting to X-O Manowar taking part of Romania for his people. The world’s powers are looking to take out X-O and Toyo Harada is worried about how Aric will react. Toyo gathers the Eternal Warrior, Livewire and Ninjak and the 4 go to take out Aric. This is my fresh favorite Valiant title. Matt Kindt does an awesome job writing this title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Unity vol. 1At risk of sounding like too much of a Matt Kindt fanboy... this is probably my favorite Valiant book so far. Just super fun, wall to wall action the whole method through. The star of the present is the hero Livewire, who has such a cool ability. I like that this ties in Harada to the XO side of things as well. This book after Harbinger Battles really makes Valiant feel like a solid universe, which is exciting. Harada forms a squad to go remove Aric and company from their small land they claimed in Romania as a fresh Visigoth country, X-O takes out everyone beautiful hard but then Livewire comes in. This overlaps with X-O volume 5, which I probably should have read this one problem back and forth to obtain the full effect, but I read it straight through and then read the X-O version, which took put in between these issues. The ending is interesting, and certainly sets up X-O in a various direction that I wouldn't have anticipated it going. Overall, I had a ton of fun with Unity, and this makes for an interesting super wise, this may be some of the best art I've seen on Valiant books, if not the best. It's got a cool digital feel, lots of nice detail to the faces. Perhaps the only complaint I could have there is that the figures look a small more stiff in their "realism" than a lot of the say standard comic action is drawn, but really the photos were so beautiful that didn't bother K, Livewire, Harda, The Eternal Fighter and X-O. What's not to like? 10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Valiant hit another home run with “Unity: To Slay a King." Brining in several prominent Valiant characters--including Ninjack, X-O Manowar, Harada, and Livewire--writer Matt Kindt does a superb job of offering an perfect adventure and balancing it with fine hero development. The art squad led by Doug Braithwaite only adds to the enjoyment as they do a superb job. The stakes are high and, to his credit, Kindt ensures readers will be able to follow and have fun this story despite the different threads and characters involved. This book serves as a nice roadmap for what comics crossovers should be. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    The first story arc is 4 problems long of problems # is written Matt Kindt and the art is done by Doug ere is a fresh female hero named Renee Rousseaux that has a blog of the e team-up of Livewire,Ninjak,Toyo Harada, and Gilad are versus Aric and wish to stop e Unity squad is a group of psiots named The Captain, leader ,mirror, combat expert ,Ether ,technology expert ,and bomb , the muscle. They are quickly taken out by ter that Ninjak and X-o have a showdown.X-o chains him but he escapes and he has his suit of armor taken from e ship they are all on goes into outer zone and crashes into the e Russians shoot a missile but it is e Visigoth is taken to prison with his people after losing the armor.Anchor the only Unity member alive is almost indestructible remembers his team.He guards the armor but it is taken from ic is given the armor back and the story ends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013- )) review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    The Valiant universe is home to a lot of amazing characters. In Unity we are treated to X-O Manowar, Gilad the Eternal Warrior, Ninjak, Livewire as well as villan (most of the time) Toyo Harada. It's a amazing series that ran for 26 problems (including the 0 issue). If you are burnt out on Marvel and DC or just looking for something fresh or various give Valiant a try. You might just be surprised.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    One thing about this story is that it helps to have an idea of  what was event in the Valiant universe previously. I feel like there is a amazing recap of the most necessary pieces, but it is brief. It is possible to appreciate the story for what it is without being familiar with the events/characters ic of Dacia, aka X-O Manowar, is public opponent number one in this book. From the beginning he has been a troublemaker, even if  that wasn't his intention. To place a stop to him, a U.S. government agency brings in one of the most strong men in the world, who puts together a squad to challenge ere are some beautiful cool happenings in this book. A lot of it is action oriented, so it moves along at a amazing pace. The highlights for me are the hero oriented moments that expand on the world, particularly in regards to Livewire. My reading sequence for the Valiant books is all over the place, so I had a possibility to see some of what she's done leading up to this story as well as what takes put afterward. This ties things together nicely.With all the Valiant books I've picked up, I really have fun the art. The company does a amazing job of picking artists that make a style for their comics without tying them down too much. Braithwaite's art highlights the best parts of the story without being intrusive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    Valiant Comics is like The Small Engine That Could. Or maybe it's more like zombies in how it's so triumphantly resurrected itself. Anywho, Valiant is doing amazing work right now, thanks in no little part to its fresh ongoing series Unity. This trade - Unity Volume 1: To Slay A King - collects problems #1-4. Unlike its summer of 1992 counterpart (and I won't even go into Acclaim Comics' Unity 2000 mini-series), the 2013 Unity isn't as much a company-wide crossover happening as it is Valiant's take on the JLA or, better yet, The Defenders or, best yet, The Avengers (the cinematic version).A fast refresher: In 402 A.D. Aric of Dacia, heir to the Visigoth throne, was taken by an alien race known as the Vine. While under captivity onboard a Vine colony ship, Aric stumbled upon the sentient X-O Manowar armor and was deemed worthy to wear it. Aric at latest returned to Earth only to learn that 1600 years had passed. Enraged, Aric created his method to the Vine's home globe and freed the slaves who were descendants of abducted Visigoths. Aric then claimed his ancestral homeland of Dacia - now Romania - for his own kingdom. At this time, Russia (and other concerned nations) started mad-dogging the upstart.Which leads us to Unity. Seeking to avert a nuclear war, the world's most strong psion, Toyo Harada, recruits an elite task force to take down Aric. And so there came a day, a day unlike any other when Earth's mightiest her- oops, but I'm plagiarizing. Truth is, we only obtain a smidgen of Valiant's cast of heroes in this first arc. That's okay. Writer Matt Kindt - whose Mind MGMT series shouldn't go unread by anyone - is absolutely killing it. I love the unpredictability of Unity, love the sweep of it, and how it doesn't hesitate to flip the status quo. Matt Kindt finds these locations to insert hero beats while always driving the narrative forward. It's neat how you have dominating personalities like Harada, Aric, and Gilad in the same room, and yet, by the end of the day, a lesser figure like Amanda McKee (codenamed Livewire) gets opportunity to command center stage.I can't dis Doug Braithwaite. He holds it down as an artist. Where others tend to obtain lost in the jumble and clutter of drawing an all-out combat sequence, Braithwaite, with each panel, consistently gives you clarity along with the dynamic visual choreography. He's d0pe.I drew a parallel between Unity and the onscreen live Avengers. I dig that, same as these Avengers, the operatives - Ninjak, Gilad, Livewire - were pressed into service by Harada for just this one mission for their very specific skill sets. They certainly don't think they're a "team." I like the uncertainty of us not knowing who'll stay and who'll go at any given moment. It reminds me of the 1970s Defenders with its non-team concept, when so-and-so would drop in but then take off. So, yeah, I appreciate the fluidity of this title. Allegiances are mercurial. Perception shifts. Huge things happen - dramatic, game-changing things. The action is beautiful epic and overshadows any of the showdowns between Harada and Peter Stanchek. Do I want more characters were showcased? Yes, please, to that. I've no doubt folks like Archer & Armstrong, Bloodshot, Shadowman, and Quantum and Woody are lounging in the wings. Count me hooked on Unity. As a Ninjak fan, I'm anticipating Unity's second arc (Unity Volume 2: Trapped By Webnet TP) as it promises the malevolent return of an old foe of Ninjak'h. I was hoping there'd be something more to that embedded meal critic who became Aric's number one blogger, other than just being an exposition box on legs. Maybe I'll have to begin reading X-O Manowar r the completists, it may interest you to know that during Unity's inaugural arc, the X-O Manowar title was running a parallel story (X-O Manowar Volume 5: At Battle With Unity TP).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    This is what VEI has been pointing to for nearly a year now. The culmination of seed planting and hero development has finally arrived, and it is epic! From the opening problem Kindt raises the stakes to global porportions and never really lets up. The story brings together the best, brightest and brawniest of Valiants characters. Harada, Ninjak, The Eternal Warrior, X-O Manowar all collide in a heavy showdown. Aric (X-O) has returned to earth and is determined to stake a claim on what he believes is his rightful kingdom which just happens to now be the country of Romania. On the brink of globe war, Harada gathers a squad designed to place an end to this threat. His purposes are not always benevolent and for the sake of humanity though, and Harada has more up his sleeve than everyone ndt weaves so a lot of threads of intrigue, double-crossing, mind android games and epic showdowns it's hard to know where to start. And Braithwaite's art is fantastic. Ther'es so much scope and scale with his layouts that you are given a amazing impression of how globally impacting these happenings me of the transitions from problem to problem were a small jarring and disconnected, and there were times where things were event that I felt like I had missed vital info about somewhere along the way. But those are little complaints in the grand scheme of what is a massively successful event.Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    I still think of myself as a relative newcomer to Valiant comics. I’ve read very small of the original Valiant books from the 90s but I’m aware of the history and wild popularity that the phrase and name ‘Unity’ has for fans of the original , they should be very happy and excited for this brand fresh Unity title. I certainly was. The main story built up within Valiant's X-O Manowar title and while, as some other reviewers suggested, reading Vol. 4-5 of X-O helps expand on this story, a fresh reader can follow and understand the main happening here without doing so (but being able to shows Valiant’s commitment to telling a solid, entertaining comic story).As for the story, we have Aric of Dacia returning home to Earth from deep space, bringing with him with remnants of his people. He’s intent on setting up a fresh home for his refugee people by reclaiming his ancient homeland. In wielding the X-O armor, he certainly has the power to do so. But this brings him into conflict with modern Russian forces as well as drawing the attention of Toyo Harada, the world’s most strong psiot and who has his own plans for humanity and Aric’s interference isn’t part of it. So Harada is forced to bring together a motley band of individuals to take down arguably the most strong person in the Valiant tt Kindt’s first work for Valiant, he does a deft job of building suspense and tension amongst the players of this global drama. The different personalities that create up this fresh Unity squad grate and grind versus each other yet somehow come together to test and achieve their goals. Add in a major twist midway through and you got the makings of a terrific story. Braithwaite’s art is dynamic and exciting, capturing very well the strong forces unleashed in this conflict of powerful wills.DC and Marvel tend to draw out their happenings but here, Valiant creates a engaging, fun happening that shows the breadth of their comic universe, that by unifying their characters, they are demonstrating how they are slowly climbing to the top of the comic industry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    Unity is Valiant’s first squad book and it effectively crosses the entire Valiant Universe. The first volume, To Slay a King, includes problems 1 through 4 of the regular series. The story opens with the globe reacting to X-O Manowar taking part of Romania for his people. The world’s powers are looking to take out X-O and Toyo Harada is worried about how Aric will react. Toyo gathers the Eternal Warrior, Livewire and Ninjak and the 4 go to take out Aric. This is my fresh favorite Valiant title. Matt Kindt does an awesome job writing this title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    A bit of background: In the early days of the first Valiant, Unity was an ambitious crossover spearheaded by Jim Shooter, featuring all the Valiant titles at that point, and is widely regarded as an early example of a successful comic book crossover event. Years later, in an attempt to revive the failing Acclaim Valiant Heroes line, Jim Shooter was tasked for a fresh crossover, Unity 2000. Unfortunately, due to Acclaim’s dire straits, the project crashed and burned midway ter the fresh Valiant began publishing in 2012, fans were treated to mysterious announcements about the coming of a fresh Unity, though the Valiant squad were fast to point out this Unity would be various than what’s come before. It was later revealed that this Unity would not be a crossover event, but would actually be an ongoing squad book.Where we are story-wise in the Valiant Universe: X-O Manowar returned from deep zone with the descendants of his people, landing in modern day Romania and proclaiming the country his. As could be expected, the globe did not react well to this potential alien invasion, the Russians in particular. After a failed attempt to use ground units versus Aric and his Visigoths, it appears that the Russians are going to escalate to nuclear weapons and potentially spark Globe Battle III. Enter: Toyo Harada.With Unity, Matt Kindt (creator of the critically acclaimed MIND MGMT) and Doug Braithwaite weave a complex tale of twists and turns, surprises and shocks, and all around major nerd out moments (the time it takes X-O to conquer Harada's squad reads with fist-pumping excitement). I was encouraged to hear that Kindt would be writing this series, especially after hearing that he was a fan of old school Valiant. You can tell that he loves these characters, and this initial arc shows all of them at their strengths, especially in light of the moral ambiguity that some of these heroes and villains are operating under. X-O Manowar is the character of his own title, but here he is the invading poor guy. Toyo Harada is the villain of Harbinger, but here he is trying to save the globe from nuclear liant pushed the publicity of this title hard, and it was well worth the hype. This is a amazing tale that puts together an “Avengers” like squad of Valiant heavyweights. Kindt has indicated that he has several years’ worth of story-arcs planned out for Unity… jump on board here and obtain in at the ground floor!PS… I strongly recommend that you purchase X-O Manowar vol. 4 and 5 with this Unity trade. Vol. 4 leads right up to Unity, and vol. 5 should be read as a companion to Unity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    I’ve been reading a lot of Valiant comics lately, mainly because they are free with either Kindle Unlimited or Prime membership or they were FCBD samples and other such I’m coming into this from a very broken up history of the series. It seems like Valiant has made a single universe in which all their heroes live, not unlike Marvel has what I thought were disparate comic series are all actually interconnected. But by doing this it also makes things a tad confusing for a reader who is fresh to the this comic we have a fresh super character squad called Unity. They are created of up psiots that Harada has place together to serve him and his interests. In this series Manowar has returned to earth and brought his people with him. They have conquered Romania and created that their home. However Russia didn’t take too kindly to their location being overthrown and a person of his power landing in their backyard. They throw everything they have at Manowar and come up short. Harada sends in his squad before Russia decides to use their ultimate weapon and nuke the put out of is is a beautiful amazing series, I enjoyed reading it and it place in clips (one or two pages of miscellaneous other comics) of other comics that helped fill in some background. So even though it was jarring to see a completely various art style all of a sudden, it helped fill in the blanks where the blanks required filling in rather than leaving the reader confused as to who or what this fresh person or situation was.I found the writing to be beautiful amazing and the artistry in general was really amazing is available DRM Free via Comixology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    Unity vol. 1At risk of sounding like too much of a Matt Kindt fanboy... this is probably my favorite Valiant book so far. Just super fun, wall to wall action the whole method through. The star of the present is the hero Livewire, who has such a cool ability. I like that this ties in Harada to the XO side of things as well. This book after Harbinger Battles really makes Valiant feel like a solid universe, which is exciting. Harada forms a squad to go remove Aric and company from their small land they claimed in Romania as a fresh Visigoth country, X-O takes out everyone beautiful hard but then Livewire comes in. This overlaps with X-O volume 5, which I probably should have read this one problem back and forth to obtain the full effect, but I read it straight through and then read the X-O version, which took put in between these issues. The ending is interesting, and certainly sets up X-O in a various direction that I wouldn't have anticipated it going. Overall, I had a ton of fun with Unity, and this makes for an interesting super wise, this may be some of the best art I've seen on Valiant books, if not the best. It's got a cool digital feel, lots of nice detail to the faces. Perhaps the only complaint I could have there is that the figures look a small more stiff in their "realism" than a lot of the say standard comic action is drawn, but really the photos were so beautiful that didn't bother K, Livewire, Harda, The Eternal Fighter and X-O. What's not to like? 10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    Valiant's first squad up title Unity, starts with a bang. Doug Braithwaite's artwork is stunning with the first few pages giving us a wayward photographer's view of the X-O armour decimating Russian forces near Bucharest, culminating in Aric in full armour appearing right in front of her to warn her away from the area. This is going to be big. The storyline for Unity volume 1: To Slay a King (issues #1-4) spins out from the Homecoming storyline from X-O Manowar volume 4, where Aric has returned to Earth with a Vine spacecraft full of refugees, former Vine slaves, and declares his ancestral lands of Dacia as his own.Harada enlists the aid of the Eternal Fighter (Gilad), MI-6 operative and freelance killer Ninjak, and his own slightly estranged protégé Livewire, who is able to communicate with electronics, to support him subdue Aric and his X-O armour in the hope to stabilise Eastern Europe before Russia can resort to turning the zone into a radiated wasteland trying to bring down the X-O tt Kindt tells this tale of a three method struggle where nothing appears to be black and white, only grey, as Aric only wants for a put to settle his people, damn the consequences. Russia will resort to any means important to secure its territory, damn the consequences, and Harada does not want for one person to have the power Aric does unless it is for himself, damn the consequences. All this pig headiness and lack of compromise at times makes you feel that one side should victory out, but then Kindt allows you to empathise the other point of view. So then whilst each hero uses their strengths to victory out, other moral complexities then arise that force some of these combatants to rethink their own positions, and attempt to pursue saner alternatives.A very decent read that captivates you right from the explosive start, with much action and adventure and intrigue in this chess board struggle that is played out on land, in the outer orbit and under the sea. This squad up book provides a amazing outlet to flesh out and expand the characterisation of those such as Ninjak and Livewire, who do not have their own titles, but at the same time manages to stay real to the private parameters that have been set up for these characters with their appearances in other is storyline could also be classed as a minor crossover event, in that if you want to experience this tale on a broader spectrum, then not only do you need to read X-O Manowar Vol. 3: Homecoming beforehand, as mentioned earlier, but you might also want to read X-O Manowar Vol. 5: At Battle with Unity straight after this volume. All in all though, a very enjoyable begin for a squad up book that you will search hard to place down once you begin it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Unity Vol. 1: To Kill A King (UNITY (2013-)) review [Book]  2018-5-16 18:1

    Valiant hit another home run with “Unity: To Slay a King." Brining in several prominent Valiant characters--including Ninjack, X-O Manowar, Harada, and Livewire--writer Matt Kindt does a superb job of offering an perfect adventure and balancing it with fine hero development. The art squad led by Doug Braithwaite only adds to the enjoyment as they do a superb job. The stakes are high and, to his credit, Kindt ensures readers will be able to follow and have fun this story despite the different threads and characters involved. This book serves as a nice roadmap for what comics crossovers should be. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    All kinds of recipes to create in jars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    There aren't a lot of healthy recipes. The Lean Turkey Lasagna has 20 grams of fat per serving!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    MASON JAR RECIPES BOOK SET 5 book in 1: Meals in Jars (vol.1); Salads in Jars (Vol. 2); Desserts in Jars (Vol. 3); Breakfasts in Jars (Vol. 4); Gifts in Jars (Vol. 5): Easy Mason Jar Recipe Cookbooks review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:3

    This tutorial is absolutely amazing. I know the power of the pressure cooker in making meal fast and easy. However, I have always assumed that the flavor is just mushy and tasteless. Well, that is what I felt until I tried the awesome recipes in this book. I love the fact that this book has pictures of the various recipes. Even the children love the recipes from this book. They wish to support prepare the meals because they are so easy. It has become a fresh family favorite activity around the pressure cooking making meal together. This was an awesome book on multiple levels!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kill Bill: Vol. 1 review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    This is the film he created after Jackie Brown. I thought I might just point that out. A huge budget, larger scale action blockbuster. This is the one that would change the direction of Tarantino's films. And honestly, it might be my favorite besides Pulp Fiction. This film oozes with style and beautifully choreographed action. This film has an anime section akin to Japanese anime. That's some cool stuff. Even the non-action parts are some really amazing stuff. Like the guy from the old Road Warrior films as Hatori Hanzo and making the Bride's sword. And the unbelievable soundtrack. The amazing opening stage where the Bride gets shot and then the somber "Bang Bang" by Nancy Sinatra plays. But of course, the amazingly choreographed action makes this movie. A lot of it is showcased in the Crazy 88 war and the few wars before it. It has some brilliant uses of the style. Of course, there's black and white which was actually used to avoid an NC-17, but works very effectively. And the beautifully shot war between the Bride and O-Ren. No melody really adds a lot to it. It's quiet and oh so effective compared to the loud blood fest of the Crazy 88. But there's also the opening hand to hand war stage with Vernita Green which is also very well edited. Very surprising stage as it is interrupted by Green's daughter coming home and then they talk. And it starts back again as quickly as it began and then ends once again with a knife to Vernita's chest. What a brilliant tension filled scene. The film also never takes itself too seriously. That's for the sequel. But the fun action and style leads the whole way. Also along with Buck, and other fun scenes. Lest we forget other amazing scenes like the whistle stage as Elle Driver comes to slay the Bride in her sleep. Or interrogating Sophie. "These will be things you will miss." I love it. Honestly, it might be the best action film of the 2000s, at least for me. And Tarantino has a lot of my favorite movies. Maybe I have fun his films a bit too much. But even with that, it's one of the my favorites. Slay Bill Vol 1 gets a 10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kill Bill: Vol. 1 review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Not so hush hush but very much on the QT. After being gunned down on her wedding day by her former colleagues, killer Black Mamba (Uma Thurman) rouses from a four year coma with only one thing on her mind, revenge! Striking up a death list of five, she sets off for bloody retribution. Quentin Tarrantino writes and directs what is in all truth, a homage to all the cinema conventions close to his heart. Think an amalgamation of chop-socky, sexploitation, samurai, spaghetti Westerns, anime and cop shows of years past, and you obtain the heart of Slay Bill. A movie that was so epic in scope it had to be chop into two films. What it lacks in Tarrantino dialogue dynamite it more than makes up for with action and astute visual flair. And it's bloody, very bloody. Thurman is amazing as the avenging Mamba/The Bride, while the inclusion of Sonny Chiba & Lucy Liu adds a touch of class as QT revels in his East meets West berserker narrative. It could have been trimmed down, particularly in the middle section where Tarrantino deals in a calm before the storm ideal, but Volume 1 was one of the most exciting films of 2003, and most notably it shows Tarrantino to be adept at action directing. His action skills perhaps explains why the script doesn't crackle with the wit and panache of his previous offerings? You sense he wants more than the words "fine writer" engraved on his granite mined Curriculum Vitae. Hugely enjoyable with a neat end of movie cliffhanger, roll on part 2... 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    Wow. This art and this writing are both superb.I'm really diggin' on this style. Nicieza does a unbelievable job playing Wade versus the straight-man, Cable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    If you're a Deadpool fan, this is a must have for your collection. Even if he's melting alive he'll always search a method to create you laugh. When you're sitting in the break room during work and you need something to brighten your day, this is the kind of book you wish to ort, sweet, and it leaves you begging for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    There were funny parts and the plot was very wacky in a amazing way. It wasn't an all-out-laughter -kind of book but I'd still recommend it for fans of Deadpool. All in all a refreshing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    Nicieza is the best deadpool writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    Absolute must for Deadpool fans. 2 very various characters in one book made the best odd couple ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    I got this book, because I don't care for Deadpool, and my mate told me I should give him a chance. I did, and I was amazed... the writing in this book was absolutely superb. I'm also a fan of amazing art; I love the art in this book, and the everything just looks perfect. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a amazing story, and to anyone who likes Deadpool.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    Thoroughly enjoyable, and not as whiney as most of the xmens usually end up as. Amazing action, amazing comedy, mostly neutral politics (which is a amazing thing, hate when writers test to push their crap). Amazing characters, always been a huge cable fan, never cared for deadpool, but this created me like him, at least in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    I thought it was really great. You wouldn't expect such a pairing, but it works. Deadpool is hilarious with Cable as the straight man.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    I will create a long story short and just say this. This book is all around amazing. Story and artwork are just great. The story was a small hard to follow but for any fans of "the merc with the mouth" you need this in your collection!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cable & Deadpool Vol. 1: If Looks Could Kill review [Book]  2018-5-15 18:1

    The most fun I've ever had reading an action/superhero comic. An perfect combination of humor and grit makes this a amazing choice for those of us who only dabble in the comic book world. Plus the art style is really cool and looks amazing in digital format.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I have really grown to love graphic novels even though they do not go into amazing depth on the topics; nevertheless, they do create the stories colourful and bring life to the novels. I have been a fan of all the Star Battles series of movies. I recall fondly when the first Star Battles film came out, we waited in line for hours and the present decided to keep a midnight showing of the film because there were so a lot of people waiting in line who did not obtain into the previous r all of us that magical evening the wait was worth it. Now that I am an old guy I still love Star Battles and I have seen all the movies, as well as read several regular novels, including this graphic (Star Wars: In the shadow of Yavin Vol. 1 by Brian Wood and Carlos D’Anda) is problem has all the original players of the first Star Battles episode. They contain Princess Leia, Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, Chewbacca and of course Darth Vader. The story takes put during the same time frame as when the rebel groups had destroyed the death star. The happenings happen in the era of a fresh hope, The Empire strikes back and Return of the e graphics are just unbelievable in this colourful tale about how the rebel leaders are searching for a safe put to reorganize their war versus the empire. There seems to be a spy in their mist. I never like to give away too much and spoil it for readers. I found this Star Battles problem a fun read.Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Use of the Monadnock Straight Baton)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Star Wars, Vol. 1: In the Shadow of Yavin takes put shortly after the happenings of Star Battles Episode IV: A Fresh Hope. The rebels have sent out a patrol including Princess Leia, Wedge Antilles, and Luke Skywalker in the Dominus Sector, in the Outer Rim, where they are intercepted by a Star Destroyer. Meanwhile, Han Solo and Chewbacca have taken off on a secret missioin with unknown consequences. Leia, after returning from the patrol, is summoned to Mon Mothma's council chambers where she and Mothma form a "shadow council" designed to search out who is a spy within their operation.I'm a reformed Star Battles fanboy. George Lucas's Episode II: Attack of the Clones fixed that for me, but I'm finding my method back to the Star Battles fold. Episode VII: The Force Awakens was a start, but what's really kept me going is the comics, like this one. If you can't hear the melody in your head, obtain some Star Battles melody and play it while you read this. So, what if you haven't seen each of the films five or ten times? Well, this book isn't for you. The greatness of In the Shadow of Yavin comes from George Lucas's original trilogy and the situations and characters in that trilogy. ****

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I wasn't sure what to expect from this particular Star Battles title from Dark Horse, but was pleasantly e Brian Wood written story in this volume picks up the action not long after the War of Yavin and the destruction of the first Deathstar. Both sides, Rebel and Imperial, are dealing with the e Rebels are searching for a fresh globe to establish their base on, trying to create underworld contacts for weapons and supplies, and seeking to expose a spy within their midst whose reports back to the Empire are complicating the other missions. This give the Rebel characters lots to do and the focus is on them in the book. Han and Chewie are on called on to create the logistics contacts, getting them into shady areas and dealing with even shadier characters. Luke, Wedge and Leia are part of the X-wing squads scouting for the fresh base location. I think it was interesting, albeit a bit unexpected, to search Leia in an X-wing cockpit, showing piloting and tactical skills at least equal to the others in the squadron. There's a lot of pressure on Leia in this story, as in addition to her X-wing duties, she is charged by Rebel leader Mon Motha with ferreting out the spy.On the Imperial side, Darth Vader’s reputation has suffered in light of the devastating conquer at Yavin, and on a more private note, he is intrigued by the identity of “Skywalker” who he knows is largely responsible for the Death Star’s destruction. Two fresh Imperial characters (as far as I know, both are original to this story), Colonel Bircher and Birrah Seah, are introduced. Both present some promise.I search the art in the book to be of high quality, with one necessary caveat: I don’t search that artist Carlos D’anda’s versions of the main characters (Luke, Leia, Han and even Chewie) resemble the characters from the films much at all, and in fact it’s simple to sometimes mistake them for other characters in the story. Otherwise the artwork benefits from lots of amazing detail and well presented ose contemplating purchasing this should be aware that none of the storylines in this volume are resolved and presumably will continue in the second and perhaps subsequent collections.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    It's a love-hate relationship with this title. There is plenty to love - check out Leia in both a White and Black pilot jumpsuit. However, there is also much that is confusing. Like Leia in a pilot jumpsuit. Apparently the latest Princess of Alderaan spent some time flying X-Wings - and flirting with Luke. She's not the only hero acting strangely, either. Luke himself is an arrogant jock, riding high on the destruction of the Death Star. Han Solo is committed to the cause of the Rebellion in a time where his affiliation was kept strictly on a work was amazing throughout, and if it had involved a brand-new set of heroes it would have been a unbelievable tale. Twisting the personalities of the Huge Three to suit the book, however, just helps it fall completely flat. Unless a long-time fan, I would stick to the fresh Marvel line, since these stories now comprise a "Might have been" story that is no longer relevant, and is downright confusing in context with the trail that Marvel is blazing once again through the Galaxy Far Away. I can't support but wonder; If Dark Horse had managed to obtain things right, would they still be producing fresh Star Battles titles?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Summary: The story's set in the time immediately after the destruction of the first Death Star where the Rebel Alliance is quickly coming down from its win high. The frantic find for a fresh base is complicated by spies and ambushes.What I liked:- We obtain to see Leia Organa as a warrior pilot and fighter moreso than the diplotmat here. The films give you amazing glimpses of her as a powerful woman. This story tries to prove some of that.- Han Solo and Chewie are getting into problem as usual.- The page with the tourist ad for Alderaan was touching and sad and beautiful.- Short story at the end was a nice touch.- There's still a sense of danger even though we know all the key players will survive to war another day.- Dialogue's utral:- The artwork is decent and sometimes gorgeous, but the characters definitely look like artistic interpretations instead of themselves.What could have been better:- The poor guy's kind of forgettable.- Vader doesn't obtain to do much in the story itself. Lots of political maneuvering instead of action. Amazing promise for what's to come but small to no payout nclusion: I've struggled to like a lot of the latest graphic novel storylines, but this one is amazing and holds decent promise for future volumes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    It's a well designed novel but I felt that the story didn't really fit with the characters Luke and Leia. At least not fit the norm that we expect from them. It's a nice continuation of the original story line and I got it for free so I can't complain much. I just didn't much care for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I was a small hesitant to obtain this since Marvel's Star Battles #1 is coming out soon, but I bought it for Kindle anyway and absolutely loved it. I read it in one sitting. The story was so awesome, it was hard to place down. The artwork is fantastic, and the overall vibe from this first volume was classic Star Wars. Though it is not considered part of the fresh Star Battles canon, I highly recommend it to any real fan! With this story taking put right after A Fresh Hope, Luke is still in his petulant farm-boy phase, which is amusing. The core of this book is on Leia...Leia gets into some shiiiizzz, man.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I love the artwork in this, and I also have the second volume. I love Star Battles anyways, and these graphic novels are a nice change from playing the games, and watching the movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    A amazing addition to my Star Battles graphic novel collection.I've always had a soft spot for novels set during or just after the Rebellion conflict. I enjoyed reading about the developing relationships between Han, Leia, Luke, and Chewbacca... not to mention that Wedge is featured a bit more , I won't go too much into the story; there are better reviews than that. Leia creates her own X-Wing squadron with familiar and fresh characters. People have mentioned the ridiculousness of Leia as an X-Wing pilot... Folks, she's a [email protected]#$%. She has piloted Y-Wings before and soon after this story ends, ends up co-piloting the Falcon. I'm cool with this. There are a few force adepts in the story, which is believeable, but so a lot of in the first volume is stretching it. I'm keen to see where they go from there, though. Someone mention to Brian Wood about Trandosians spreaking basic...Lastly, Boba Fett, because he is e overall art is spectacular, top quality items I've come to expect from Dark Horse. There are a few times where the colorist washed out the characters with light and effects, but like a J.J. Abrams and Lens Flare, it doesn't mean you have a poor book, but it's hard to follow. I would have liked a cover gallery, because Alex Ross is slightly more amazing than Boba Fett. Slightly. =)Really amazing begin for Wood and Co.. Looking forward to more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars (2013-2014) Vol. 1: In The Shadow Of Yavin review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This graphic novel is a amazing perspective into happenings surrounding your favorite films and characters. Do yourself a favor and accept the journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Despicable Deadpool Vol. 1: Deadpool Kills Cable (Despicable Deadpool (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-4-4 18:1

    I really liked this story arc. It was a nice change of pace to see Deadpool in a fresh role. Amazing art as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    I would have given this 5 stars, but when it was printed, it appears that two pages were printed out of sync from the first chapter. I remember having all of Mr. Simonson's Thor problems when I was younger, and his run on Thor was the most enjoyable during that time period. I would even rank it above Frank Miller's stint on Daredevil (and that was epic!!!). If you love amazing storytelling along with some beautiful impressive art, then this compilation is definitely for you!!! I will be ordering Volume 2 shortly!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The birth of Beta Ray Bill!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This was my introduction to "The Mighty Thor." I had read several positive reviews and thought I'd test it myself. The story was fascinating. Walt Simonson obviously had loads of background on Norse Mythology before beginning his wonderful run. My only complaint is that the story actually continues for four or five more problems when this volume ends. However, it is not difficult to search those today for the price of a current comic in any comic book store. If you like Thor or think you might like it, this is a amazing put to start!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Just awesome. One of, if not THE, definitive runs on the title. Simonson just nails it. A amazing collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    The only thing I don't like is Amazon's cloud reader :( I more prefer a digital reading interface that enlarges the panels and tutorials your eye cinematically along the azon you are a very adaptable company and I feel like you will fix this buggy system soon. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    When you hear arguments by Comic nerds about what superhero could beat another superhero........ Nobody beats Walt Simonson's Thor ! Nobody !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Between the amazing avant garde (for the Times) pencils and the method he absolutely embraced the source material. This was one of the best books of its era. Still a amazing read 30 years later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    No doubt that Walter Simonson is THOR! This comic book was going nowhere but W.S. changed it and now this is a masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    This volume includes the begin of the best run of Thor tales the comics have produced to date. For anyone interested in Marvel 's take on the hero and mythology this is the best put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thor Visionaries: Walter Simonson Vol. 1: Walt Simonson v. 1, Bk. 1 (Thor (1966-1996)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    More of the best Thor saga!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Brotherhood Protectors Vol 1: Books 1-3 review [Book]  2018-4-30 18:0

    I originally reviewed these stories as they were published individually. Below are those One: Montana SEAL4 StarsHank “Montana” Patterson is a SEAL injured in the line of duty. His need to recuperate from his injuries coincides with his sister calling him to come home because his father has been shot. Hank and his father don’t have the greatest relationship which is a huge part of why he left home to join the die McClain is a popular actress who has returned home to relax and obtain away from the public who adores her. She and Hank were a couple in high school, but she turned down his proposal. Sadie knew that Hank required to leave his family ranch and follow his dream of becoming a SEAL; something that wouldn’t have happened if they had die was with Hank’s father when he was shot and realizes that the shooter was probably aiming for her. An over-zealous fan has been stalking her and she fears that he’s responsible for the shooting.Hank volunteers to be her bodyguard even though being around her is painful; he never stopped loving her after they broke up.Elle James has crafted a captivating story with interesting characters. If you like romantic suspense, with a bit of mystery, this would be a amazing book to read.# # # # # # # #Book Two: Bride Protector SEAL4 StarsThis is a quick paced, fast read. Allie’s engaged to be married; she shouldn’t be attracted to her fresh bodyguard, Swede, but she is. Swede just wants to be able to perform the duties of his fresh job but he finds himself distracted by the fiancé of the man who hired him. Protecting Allie proves to be challenge worthy of his SEAL training.I always have fun books by Elle James. Bride Protector is a romantic suspense story with twists and turns I didn’t see coming. There is a nice amount of tension; suspenseful and sexual. If you’re looking for a fast read with just the right amount of heat this would be a amazing book to pick up.# # # # # # # #Book Three: Montana D-Force4 starsSuspenseful and spicy.I love books by Elle James and this one kept me glued to my ereader until the end. Unfortunately, that end came a bit too quickly for me. I know that all books must end at some point but an poor lot of items happened in this story and I think a fast epilogue would have wrapped things up a bit ose things being said, based on the dedication this book must have been difficult to write so I applaud Elle for telling this story. You can read the dedication if you “look inside” on Amazon to see what I mean. Note: you have to look at the original publication of the individual book.Mia and Bear have amazing chemistry and when things finally come together for them it was hot. The Brotherhood Protector books are enjoyable stories and I look forward to reading more of them.Warning: this book may include triggers for anyone who has suffered from a sexual assault.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    To Kill a King review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    I was counting on you. You allow me down. To Slay a King is directed by Mike Barker and written by Jenny Mayhew. It stars Tim Roth, Dougray Scott, Olivia Williams, James Bolam and Rupert Everett. Melody is by Richard G Mitchell and cinematography by Eigil Bryld. It’s the end of the English Civil Battle and with King Charles 1st (Everett) held prisoner by the Parliamentarians, Sir Thomas Fairfax (Scott) and Oliver Cromwell (Roth), mates and colleagues, fall out over the best plan of action for the Fresh England. A severely troubled production and budgetary constraints left To Slay a King with a mountain to climb just to obtain acknowledged as a historical epic of worth. Add in the dubious take on this part of English history that so irked the historians, and you would be forgiven for thinking that the movie is something of a stinker. Not so actually. For although it’s clearly far from flawless, it’s a literary piece of work that chooses hero dynamics over blood and thunder. Suffice to say that those searching for a war strewn epic should look elsewhere, but if you have a bent for observations on key personalities involved in battle politics during times of upheaval in a period setting? Then this delivers the goods. Well performed by the principal players as well. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    awesome. a must-read for fans of the cosmic side of Marvel. Delivered on time and only a slight bend to the back cover. Can't ask for much more than that. 5 stars for the book itself, Mr. Starlin - king of kings as far as comic book writers go, 4 stars, I guess, for the vendor due to the slight bend I mentioned. I would use them again though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    i'm probably being a bit generous giving this 4 stars. it probably should be 3 or 3 and a half at most. but i discovered comics around this e story itself is somewhat interesting. the dialogue however created me cringe a lot because of the sheer cheesiness. the artwork is nice, nothing too flash but it is solid and does the job.i would rcommend getting this just don't expect a timeless classic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    Starlin is king, and this book does not disappoint, The infinity series is a long one and this one is just as amazing as all the others

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    Amazing purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    Amazing comics obtain them for a read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    Yeah so maybe I am spoiled by the art and writing in more "modern" comics, but this whole Infinity Crusage/Saga/War/Event/Meeting/Conference was just kinda boring to me. Very small action, very small payoff. It wasn't BAD, just kind of boring. At least to me. Your mileage might vary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Infinity Crusade Vol. 2 (Infinity Crusade Vol. 1) review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    This trade completes the collection of the Infinity Crusade crossover happening from the early 90s. There is some promise contained in these stories. There are two perfect examples of page layout and visual storytelling, one introducing Thanos' deadly battelship, and another featuring different superheroes on both sides of the conflict squaring off. However, Infinity Crusade fails to deliver on this early promise. Although the art by Ron Lim is still excellent, the story just isn't all that interesting. Perhaps it's also the issue that the story of a female entity creating a violence-free globe at the cost of everyone's souls was done much better in Season 4 of Angel. Perhaps it's that a lot of Marvel's most famous and interesting characters (and some not so famous or interesting) are relegated to background cameos and have small to no result on the plot. There are some fun moments here (such as the Hulk's timely arrival on the paradise planet via a descent from zone that is an entire problem in length), but Infinity Crusade fails to deliver.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Make A Killing On Kindle 2018 Edition: Book #1 In The Killing It On Kindle Series review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    This is the blueprint you were looking I really the first reviewer of the fresh 2018 edition? [I was, but Amazon didn't post it because I swore.] Anyway, I bought this as a preorder. The thing about Alvear's book is that it's completely practical. There's no comparison between this and the tournament that I'm actually familiar with. Be aware that this book addresses the sellability of Kindle books, and says nothing at all about how to prepare and upload your text. Nor does he pretend only complaint is that he sometimes recommends other authors who I think are poor, like David Garfinkel, who wrote a book about advertising headlines. If you wish to learn how to write book titles, which is exactly the same business as ad headlines, read Breakthrough Advertising by Eugene Schwartz, or Tested Advertising Methods by John Caples. They're ancient books, but it doesn't ose caveats apart, this is possibly the only guidebook you need. I think. I'm writing a book on a very specific subject, and I'l be using this a lot.I'll close by repeating myself. This book actually goes into almost boring detail about how to actually do the job of selling the bottom out of your book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Make A Killing On Kindle 2018 Edition: Book #1 In The Killing It On Kindle Series review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    Bought the author’s first edition of this book and thought it was “meh.” But this edition is well, STARTLING, and not always in a amazing way. For example, there’s lots of humor (how can a serious how-to be so funny?) but think some people may be offended by it (I wouldn’t say it’s laced with profanity but there’s a few eyebrow-raising passages).It’s also startling because it’s a HUGE book--354 pages! No wonder it cost so much! I really think he could have chop that down, but if you’re into super info (I’m not) then maybe it’s for the best. And it’s also startling because the book is filled with well thought out systems and ere’s a system for selecting categories, a process for writing amazing copy, etc. All with downloadable worksheets I found enormously ’s also startling because these types of books tend to be off the cuff and not very well researched. This one actually has basic research the author conducted himself (or paid for) like an eye tracking study of Amazon bookshoppers(fascinating)or dug up fact-based studies from other luminaries (so-so) or place together himself like that effectiveness ranking of discount book promotion websites (worth the price of the book). And it’s startling because the author clearly paid a graphic designer to visualize some of his concepts (the one about categories was the most useful visual I’ve ever seen on the topic).And finally, it’s startling because of the cost. My God--$19.99 for the paperback? The balls on this guy! Still, you know how when you buy something expensive and you mutter about the cost publicly but know it was worth every penny privately? That’s how I feel about this book. My advice: Rail versus the price but buy it anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Make A Killing On Kindle 2018 Edition: Book #1 In The Killing It On Kindle Series review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    I have been helping authors to publish and promote their books on kindle for around 4 years now, and I must admit that social media, blogging and the rest regular promo strategies need a lot of time and determination in order to work. I have helped people to become Amazon bestsellers, but if they don’t place constant effort within a long period of time, they won’t earn a living from their books. What I love in this book is that it is one of the rare ones from the “kindle publishing subject” that does not talks about bestselling. It talks about SELLING. And this is extremely different. Because, as already said, you can be a struggling Bestseller author, and you can also be a quite wealthy author without the bestseller’s status. What do you prefer? That is up to you. You might wish both, right? So, focusing back to this book:I adore the author’s writing. It is so funny and clever. I tend to laugh often while reading it, and then I share with my hubby the jocks. He is hilarious. In addition, he gives a creasy amount of resources, a lot of of whom, I didn’t know about. The book is priceless, for the resources problem I search is that it gets into too a lot of info on how to make a stunning cover and things like that – when I would rather have a separated book on those is a huge book and it needs time to be read, studied, and digested. Obviously it has some amazing info that I have not found on other books of this subject, it is quite focused on the kindle zone and how to manipulate for your behalf kindle algorithms etc. of course, it is not a brainer; where would you rather have your book ad? On kindle page or on FaceBook? It is no brainer, but how a lot of of us spend dozens of cash on facebook with no results wandering why “this thing doesn’t work” and “what’s wrong with me”…I strongly recommend it, but I would give you one advice: don’t just read it and place it aside. Use it, reread it, follow its tips and be consistent. Success and cash do not come by reading. They come through consistent action.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Make A Killing On Kindle 2018 Edition: Book #1 In The Killing It On Kindle Series review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    Be forewarned, this book is full of rude-and-crude twelve year old sex humor, f-bombs and other vulgarities, and “fun stuff” like jokes about disabilities. If that upsets you, you probably won’t have fun the book. I’m no prude, but it was annoying to me. Why ruin a amazing book with so much of that garbage?That said, there are a lot of amazing hints in the book. Some of it is already read on kboards or in other books, but enough that it’s worth the price. There are some typos and non-starters like using affiliate codes (amazon will shut your acc down). A few of the practices discussed aren't really ethical, so that's up to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Make A Killing On Kindle 2018 Edition: Book #1 In The Killing It On Kindle Series review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    This book cleared up a lot of misconceptions for me and clearly explained where I should be putting my attention and where I shouldn't for best results. The author has done his homework and has created it possible for those of us who wish to write instead of spending our time trying to explore best practices for Kindle. I'm looking forward to digging deep into the book and putting his methods into practice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Make A Killing On Kindle 2018 Edition: Book #1 In The Killing It On Kindle Series review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    Bought this mainly for the 200 ebook promotion www service ranking list which was advertised to be in the book, clicked the link and it took me to a page that said coming e info should have been there before the book was ever published or updated.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Make A Killing On Kindle 2018 Edition: Book #1 In The Killing It On Kindle Series review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    And believe me, I've read a lot of of them. A lot of of these hints are also useful to authors in any other book sales environment and under any ey are very valuable empirical knowledge. I am also a professional in the book shop and I agree that the issues faced by the author in the American shop are basically the same ones I face in my country.I rarely feel compelled to write a review. And today I'm here to do that. Create a Killing on Kindle is a must-read for anyone who really wants to have any true possibility with their book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Make A Killing On Kindle 2018 Edition: Book #1 In The Killing It On Kindle Series review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:1

    This book is different. In a amazing way. I have so a lot of things to say about it but do not wish to spoil the pleasure of finding them for yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    For anyone who enjoys reading mysteries and cats should have fun this series. Set in the 1920s Jack and Grace, one a battle veteran and the other a former socialite, begin a detective agency together with their cat Tatiana and later joined by her mate Zeus. The books are delightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Perfect writing takes you to a time in history when women were beginning to have careers and enjoying the freedoms of the 1920's. Looking forward to more adventures with these couples, both the humans and the cats.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Jack, Grace and feline Tatiana are sleuthing again. Interesting storyline with a number of twists. Tatiana points out clues found with feline intuition that are followed by Grace and Jack.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    This 4 story set was an simple read. The descriptions of flights in the early begin planes were great! An independent young woman ahead of her time and standing up for herself versus financial poor times created a pleasing main character. Some of the detective skills may have been a small more modern than of that time, but they added to the validity of the stories' conclusions. The cats were amazing and I would have liked a small more of their "magical" qualities.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    I loved three of the stories but I didn't like A CHRISTMAS FERAL very much. Other than having Tatania using magic and an extremely brief inclusion of Jack and Grace, having Dicken's unbelievable story altered in order to test and create it fit into the overall storyline seemed both forced and e other three books were thoroughly enjoyable and I found them to be fast-paced, light, fast and warmhearted. Jack and Grace (and Tatania and Zeus, the magical, completely adorable cats) were extremely lovable characters with well-developed, three-dimensional personalities. The dialogues were crisp, sparkling, and authentic to the time period. (I'm quite well-versed in history but I hadn't known that a lot of buildings had separate doors for men and women so learning about that was a true surprise.) I was really captivated by the marvelous imagery which created it very simple for me to immerse myself in the story. These books gave me a lot of smiles.Overall, this boxed set is a unbelievable series that I am very glad that I read. I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes detective stories with romance, fantasy, and pussycats thrown in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    The stories are simple to read and take put near my home. That makes them even more ing a cat lover and enjoying the language of a time in the past makes the books fun. They are the need knees!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    IN 1920, DEBUTANTE GRACE HAS FINISHED ALL HER SCHOOLING & IS BACK FROM FRANCE. SHE'S LOOKING FORWARD TO BEING HER OWN PERSON, SO TO SPEAK. ON THE TRAIN TO MEET HER GUARDIAN, SHE MEETS HANDSOME PINKERTON DETECTIVE JACK & HIS CAT TATANIA. HE'S A DASHING DAREDEVIL BIPLANE PILOT & SHE (THE CAT) IS MAGICAL. GRACE'S BELOVED UNCLE IS FOUND DEAD IN UNUSUAL CIRCUMSTANCES & HER INHERITANCE IS MISSING. WE FOLLOW GRACE'S JOURNEY TO MAKING A FULFILLING LIFE DURING THE UPHEAVAL OF CLASS & GENDER. THIS WAS AN INTERESTING BOOK. I REALLY ENJOYED IT. I LIKED THE FAST WITTY CONVERSATIONS. BEE'S KNEES.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Really enjoyed these stories. I'm a huge fan of almost anything with cats, so I'm glad tthews' stories lived up to my expectations. I'm a fan of Shirley Rousseau Murphy's Joe Grey series and Carole Nelson Douglas' Midnight Louie series. Mary Matthews has made a fresh favorite for me, albeit a lot more on the light side. I'm planning to follow this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Fun cozy reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Magical Cool Cats Mysteries Boxed Set Vol 1 (Books 1, 2 & 3 & A Christmas Feral) review [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    Wonderfully well written bringing you into the characters minds and lives. Highly recommended must read books!!! Can't wait to purchase more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Yes. Yes. Yes. More of this.With a young, teen daughter who loves art and illustration, I'm so satisfied that books like Lumberjanes, Ms. Marvel and Squirrel Girl are being created. Fun, challenging and engaging without crossing too hard for "effect" in what could be sensitive situations, Lumberjanes takes young and old readers alike on a fun journey and leaves you wanting to know what happens next. The art style is fantastic, guest covers and illustrations I've seen are refreshing and the hero writing is new and crisp. A+++

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    This was not at all what I expected! I honestly thought it would just be girls having adventures while camping; and while it is, it also isn't. There is a whole other story going on and it's all bizarre and supernatural. Strange things are afoot and the not good Lumberjanes hold stumbling into weirdness. It's kinda like a female cast of the Goonies meets the Brothers Winchester. They are quirky and fun characters. Their reaction to things and their terminology is so 80's! It's like stepping back into my childhood. I got this because I thought it would be something fun that both my daughter and myself could read and enjoy. Well, this was a really fun read, and I have a feeling my daughter will like it even more than I did!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Lumberjanes is pure perfection. And even though it's all "lady empowering", it's a amazing comic for all walks of life. Two of my guy mates even asked to borrow it after I wouldn't shut up over its awesomeness and they both loved it! The writers admit that the first problem is completely foreshadowing, so even though there's not that much story to it, the characters and art and dialogue leave you with this enraging curiosity to go and order every other comic (hi that's what I just did). It's also amazing if you're just starting a comic collection. Also, if you're worried about the price for some reason this problem is the most expensive everywhere, yet they gradually obtain cheaper as you continue the series. It's crazy weird, but I mean it's also more incentive to buy the rest!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    amazing for a wide age range! my small sister and i both loved this, and we're 10 years e writing, characters, and art are wonderful. i've been working on finding more media for my sister that features a dozens of girls and women (rather than just one or two who fit into primary Lady Character™ tropes), and [email protected]#$%! the nail right in the head! she was delighted with all the girls, especially jo and ripley, and can't wait to obtain the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I love it! It's hilarious and it's kind of mysterious. It reminds me of gravity falls the most unbelievable way. Buying the next volume asap.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I have yet to read this myself, but the children were already sucked in and sold after the first page. Amazing to see more high-quality comics geared a small more toward the young, female comic-reading population. And who doesn't love a amazing trip down memory lane re summer camp?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Cute and exciting. So far this book has been like an all-girl Gravity is graphic novel is basically the five girls you see on the cover at a camp in the middle of some magic-infested woods. Something weird--that no one else seems to notice--is going on so these girls are trying to unravel this mystery and do so by tramping around the forest, participating in camp activities, and 's a amazing book and I plan to by the next ones as well.I enjoyed it and my small sister (10yr) did too. Basically, it's a amazing book for a dozens of ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    It flew by so quickly. Another bonus to myself for the end of another school year. I like that it has ties to Adventure Time. I will be passing it on to my son. Like Adventure Time the female characters are not your caricatures/idealized "girls." They are quirky and have heart and come in a dozens of personalities and shapes. That's why it's going on to my son. I think it's not only necessary girls obtain the notice they don't have to conform, I think it's necessary for boys to obtain the notice that girls are worthy of love, especially when they are more than a walking pinup. You know what I'm saying?I'm really glad to see this wave of new comics that refresh the female ideal, especially when I grew up in the 80's with like Rogue and Storm, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    I think it is beautiful cute. My 8 year old son thinks it's funny. My 4 year old daughter absolutely LOVES it. She belly laughs and asks for explanations on parts she doesn't understand. Although, I think she likes the 2nd one even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumberjanes Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:2

    Loved Lumberjanes Volume 1 begin to finish. I cannot wait to read volume two, this was a total treat to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Allow me begin this by saying I have never written a review on this website I actually cared to write, only out of respect for the vendors themselves. I'm writing this for the sheer beauty of this novel. My mother had lived in Japan and raised me with a lot of eastern principles and background, but in America. I love both western and eastern graphic novels. Ive never found something that so fully meshed what I love about both. The plot is lavish and fantastical, but is lacking a lot of the eastern slant towards fetishized sexuality and brash comedy (think manga's common x'd eyes and oversized heads, etc.). What is there is there purposefully. This story is beautiful, developed,intelligent, new, and just honestly unexpected. The book itself is higher quality than anything ive purchased in years. As an avid reader and writer, the book itself is necessary to me. The joy of feeling the pulp of the page disappeared as publishers stopped paying the cash for the amazing paper. This book is three times the length of the average single volume western graphic novel and the pages are thick and strong, you can't support but give attention to it. It was the first thing I noticed. Where i had lost hope for the fantasy/scifi/steampunk genres in latest years as artists/authors got lazy and drew/wrote what we already knew, this is beautifully original and intricate. And it's 8 dollars. What. I dont even have words for that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Got it for my daughter as a late Christmas present. It came super quick and in pristine condition. She only waited a day before reading and finishing it in under 2 hours. She told me she couldn't place it down, and that she lived how the artist and writer focus on globe building while not overlooking the main plot. She's already looking for chapter 7 and anticipating volume 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Monstress is a truly gorgeous piece of art, both from a literary and graphic perspective. Marjorie Liu has made one of the most interesting and original fresh fantasy worlds in years, and Sana Takeda's lovely, complex, and occasionally disturbing artwork combine to produce a compelling piece of storytelling that is nearly impossible to place down. I began reading this book because I was intrigued by contrast of the picture of a attractive young woman, who I came to learn was the heroine Mana Halfwolf, standing under the word "Monstress." I was extremely happy to search that this contrast is developed as one of the basic themes of the story that blossoms into what may be one of the best blend of epic graphic storytelling and horror I've read since Neil Gaiman's Sandman. I strongly recommend this series to any fan of mature graphic novels who is eager to become immersed in a fresh universe of mystery, wonder, danger, and glory.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Monstress is everything I could possibly ask for in a comic series. It is rife with female characters, all of different complexities and backgrounds, and it is equal parts steampunk and equal parts epic fantasy. A attractive merging of the two. Speaking of beautiful, Sana Takeda's artwork is a unbelievable companion to Marjorie Liu's perfect writing. I have been recommending this to my mates as a series they should pick up. They may not love it as much as me, yet I hope they have fun it as much as I do (and I hope others who are looking to purchase the TPB, will have fun it as well).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Monstress Vol. 1 review [Book]  2017-11-9 18:1

    Just gorgeous. Yes, the illustration is lovely, but the storyline is complex, grotesquely heartwrenching, and sucked me in immediately. Our main hero is just outstanding. Outstanding in her backstory, in her rich motivations, in her lack of super niceness that I search to be just dull, and in her very survival. She is just riveting beyond words. I adore this book.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    To Have or To Be? reviews Grapple hook reviews wholesale nfl moneynetwork.stock-options-picks.com/blogs/viewstory/58398 jerseys reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios reviews wholesale nfl bodasenvalencia.es/cheap-wholesale-nfl-jerseys-are-the-best-choice/ jerseys reviews Lost at School: Why Our Kids with... reviews How to Be Debt Free: A simple plan for paying off debt: car loans, student loan repayment, credit card debt, mortgages and more. Debt-free living is within Books (Smart Money Blueprint Book 3) reviews Therapy Games: Creative Ways to Turn Popular Games Into Activities That Build Self-Esteem, Teamwork, Communication Skills, Anger Management, Self-Discovery, and Coping Skills reviews Summary & Analysis of The Clean 20: 20 Foods, 20 Days, Total Transformation | A Guide to the Book by Ian Smith, MD reviews Rewirement: Rewiring The Way You Think About Retirement! reviews ¿Es razonable creer en Dios?: Convicción, en tiempos de escepticismo (Spanish Edition) reviews Self Mastery Boxset: How to Master Success, Abundance, Wealth, and Happiness reviews The Power of Paper: How to Create Wealth by Investing in Mortgages reviews The Nurses: A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital reviews King of Kings: A Paranormal Space Opera Adventure (Star Justice Book 11) reviews Lucky Soldier: A Memorial Day Brother's Best Friend Fake Fiance Romance reviews Murder Has Nine Lives (A Jaine Austen Mystery) reviews Enchanted Immortals Series Box Set: Books 1-4 plus Novella reviews Second Best reviews The Things They Carried reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter