Vivaldi Reviews & Opinions


Submit Vivaldi review or read customer reviews:

10 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    First I have to say that I could not place this book down.I love historical novels, especially those that test to weave their story around actual happenings and people. Ms. fast does that with what appears to be perfect research and sources. Her bibliography is e story is woven around a founding s quest to search her parents, or at least her mother. Even though their life is better than that of most other founding from that era, these girls are still girls and they wish what everyone else wants, a home, family and to be loved.Anna Marie de Violina's story is a mystery that she is determined to solve and that determination gets her in lots of trouble, even to the point of losing her beloved music...Well worth the read. I also now wish to learn more about Vivaldi and the town of Venice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    I really had to give this book - Vivaldi's Virgins - a higher praise than usual. The manuscript was deftly written, the letters and voice of the abandoned girl real to her age and temperament, her musical and emotional growth documented in a most credible way. The novel felt so poetic, yet restrained at the same time. I thoroughly enjoyed the story, feeling very connected as it developed. Language, tension, and a sense of time flowed beautifully as the kid sought to explore her origins, and master her own body, mind and spirit through the telling of a time of prejudice versus Jews, by Christians. Though the treatment of the Jews of Venice was considerably better than elsewhere, it is obvious that prisons come in a lot of types and styles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    A revealing description of Venice at that time, not so much the buildings as the people living along the canals - the upper class, the lower class and everything in between. Everyday life of the virgins residing in the convent, from birth to the "age of freedom" - whenever that happens to be. Who are they, why they are there, do they wish to be, and if not, how to leave. Oh yes, of course, Vivaldi! What part does he play in their lives and happiness? If you are a fan of his, you will hear his melody in your head as you read.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on Vivaldi or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch Vivaldi video reviews and related movies:

    See The Best of Vivaldi on youtube.

     related image

    See Four Seasons ~ Vivaldi on youtube.

     related image

    See Vivaldi - Complete Cello Concertos, Raphael Wallfisch on youtube.

     related image

    See ❤ VIVALDI ❤ Vivaldi Four Seasons | Best Classical music for relaxation studying and concentration on youtube.

     related image

    See Antonio Vivaldi - I Solisti Veneti on youtube.

     related image

    See The Best Relaxing Classical Music Ever By Vivaldi - Relaxation Meditation Focus Reading on youtube.

     related image

    See Vivaldi - Classical Music for Relaxation on youtube.

     related image

    See Vivaldi - Four Seasons (Winter) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    The reason that I purchased this book was because I am a long-time fan of baroque melody (especially of the early 18th century period), and I had never read any fiction about the subject. It turned out to be a amazing decision because I enjoyed visualizing the very human side of some of my favorite composers (Vivaldi, Handel, Scarlatti) and also came to understand a bit about the social structure of that era in Venice. The main character, who was the book's narrator, was an engaging person. The story moved swiftly to a manageable and feasible conclusion. And because my undergrad degree is in history I truly appreciated the thorough research the author did into the several topics of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    This work of historic fiction takes some liberty with what is not known about Vivaldi and the young women he taught to play violin and his music. It's a fascinating story that starts slow but builds in intensity and complexity of story. The look into Venice centuries ago is fascinating and the detail is amazing. I felt like I was there suffering with the main hero through much of it. I highly recommend this as a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    Very interesting. Initially, I read the book because I was curious about Vivaldi's life and then was surprised to learn how the girls became orphans and how small control they had over their own lives. Also did not realize 1) Vivaldi had been a priest, and 2) how that vocation came about. I had an eerie feeling reading the book that it could be a harbinger of what's to come as we move toward Oligarchy and another Gilded Age.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    I didn't know much about this era or Vivaldi so I enjoyed the story that place interesting facts with historical fiction. As I read, I more and more enjoyed the stories of the girls left in the care of what would be today considered an orphanage. Their musical talent, and typical teen adventures were fun to read about. I learned more about Vivaldi (didn't even know he was a priest) and his musical talent. I'd recommend this book to those who have fun historical fiction and who have a love of melody and Italy. Amazing read! Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    not very well written, belittling if not degrading the amazing composer. Although credit must be given for depicting the daily life of Venice and the life inside the Pieta,but do not buy this if you are looking to learn about Vivaldi, you will be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    I am a large fan of historical fiction and thus said, was especially satisfied that so much fact was incorporated into the story. The novel flowed so smoothly and never felt forced. At a lot of parts of the story I felt like a fly on the wall and found a fresh friend. This is a book that funny as it seems, I hated to see it end! I'm so glad that I purchased it, and will be singing its praises..!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Vivaldi's Virgins: A Novel review [Book]  2018-3-9 18:0

    A lovely story of globe popular composer Antonio Vivaldi, told through the eyes of one of his students, Anna Maria dal Violin, an orphan at Ospedale della Pietà in Venice, Italy. The story cleverly unfolds as though it is solely about Anna Maria who comes to be one of Vivaldi's prize students and seemingly the only musician who can play as well as the maestro himself, however in the end, as Anna Maria herself states, her story is his story.

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter