X-Men: Age of Apocalypse - Termination (Age of Apocalypse (2012-2013)) Reviews & Opinions


Submit X-Men: Age of Apocalypse - Termination (Age of Apocalypse (2012-2013)) review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Very good! This provides a very solid AI that shows you what you need while not being impossible to read on a phone. The only slow bits are for the AI, which is far better than expected, given the android games complexity (though it's not perfect, human players who know what they are doing will beat them fairly handily). Far superior in terms of stability and playability to most other board android game apps I've played.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    This is masterful, a flawless adaptation of a board android game masterpiece. Really, if you like strategy, like, at all, then buy this. Note: Best guide ever

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    One of the best board android games ever made, comes to us in application form, and it is awesome. The guide is great, having an undo button eases some massive decision making and the interface is very simple to use. Not gonna be a android game for everyone but if you like civ building, card drafting, massive tactic and waging battle as Napoleon, Jon of Arc of Moses then give this android game a test

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on X-Men: Age of Apocalypse - Termination (Age of Apocalypse (2012-2013)) or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch X-Men: Age of Apocalypse - Termination (Age of Apocalypse (2012-2013)) video reviews and related movies:

    See ATLAS Music - Take Earth Back [Cinematic - edited by Rain Ventsel - Album Promo] on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Love the app, extremely well done. But my first android game keeps crashing in age 2 as the card row is replenished. Submitted an email to their support, no response yet. Update: The developer went into my android game specifically and fixed it, while also resetting our timers to create up for the down time. Have encountered no other issues or bugs since then. Working amazing now, amazing app!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    The android game is fantastic, but I need to remove some stars because the online mode does not work very well. First, it seems, strange as it sounds, that the online mode only works over Wi-Fi and not regular mobile data. Second, "It's your turn" notifications are not very reliable. We are playing a 4 players game, and only one of us is getting the notification, and not always. If these problems are fixed, the android game would be one of the clearest 5 stars of the whole Store.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    I love the board android game and I've been impatiently waiting for the Android device ver to release. I'm glad they took the time to do it right because they nailed it. This is such a unbelievable conversion to a digital platform. I was worried that such a complex android game would be hard to implement on a smartphone screen. Not only is it totally playable on my 7" smartphone but it's even quite usable on my 4.3" phone screen. I haven't played enough to comment on the AI but I'm very impressed with the different android game modes/challenges they provide. This is truly a worthy digital ver of an awesome board game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Longtime TtA player here. Wow, this is more than just a barebones game. Challenges that change video test makes solo mode addicting and add a lot of replay! Played several online games. Unfortunately the android game only works when connected to WiFi, even though I have mobile data and roaming data enabled, and even after doing a factory reset. :(

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    It's a bit better then the actual board android game for 3 reasons. 1) You can play with anyone really. 2) Single, play versus the AI, and multiplayer capabilities. And lastly 3) Don't have to worry about the little yellow, white, red and blue tokens. So in other words, no lose parts. :) 100% recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    This is not only a phenomenal game, but a slick adaptation of the board game. The user interface works surprisingly well, and the automatic bookkeeping puts the focus right back on the tactic of the game. There's just two things that create me drop the rating. One, there's an annoying bug where the android game crashes every time I attempt to begin the android game via the "your turn" notification. Two, there is currently no method to begin a android game with someone on your mate list. That really dampens the android game for me, and I hope that changes soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    If anybody has played the mobile ver of galaxy trucker, you could say that they went out of their method to add as a lot of cool features as possible to a remake of a tabletop boardgame. This android game is no various if not even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    A amazing board android game finally on Android. Completely worth the cash if you're a fan. My only two complaints are that the sound, at least for me, is a bit buggy and seems to stutter during the AI's turn. The second issue seems to be frequent crashes. I'm sure these two issues with be fixed within the future and they certainly don't prevent you from playing a whole game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    CGE/Vlaada knocks it out of the park again with an awesome digital adaptation of a unbelievable board game. The interface is well thought out and not only looks amazing but is intuitive and very informative, making a somewhat massive android game a breeze to play. Like the digital ver of Galaxy Trucker, Through the Ages doesn't chop any corners and boasts a complete set of features that makes it more than worth the price. The challenges are a fun addition that helps hold playing solo interesting, and the guide does a amazing job of explaining the various mechanics while making you laugh with that trademark Vlaada humor. Can't recommended this android game enough for anyone who is a fan of tactic android games of any type. Hoping for a Dungeon Petz digital next!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Exactly what I was hoping for in the digital version. Challenging AI, clean UK, faithful to the original. I haven't played online so can't comment on that. A bit higher price than some other digital board android games but if you like TtA then the price is definitely worth it, imo.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Really love the board android game and the application just improves on that. It plays really well and is really simple to see all the info required at a glance. My review would be 5 stars but unfortunately I have issues with the sound as it keeps being distorted. Fix that and it's a definite 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    This is a amazing challenging android game that can played in one long sitting or over a few days. It's a lot of fun seeing everything come together (or fail..) in the latest few turns. The guide is very thorough as well

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Was looking for a Civ style turn based android game that I could dip in and out of. Figured if it's one of the top rated board android games it must be worth a go. I was not disappointed! Took about 4-5 android games to obtain the hang of the rules. Well worth the price, can see myself playing this and trying to beat all the challenges for some time to come!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Definitely the best boardgame port I've played. The only problem is there seem to be server issues right now, so it can be hard to connect and stay connected long enough to take a turn. If this gets resolved I'll definitely be rating it 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Takes a small time to learn, but the guide is excellent, and the richness of the android game makes it worth the investment of both time and the cash for the game. I am still learning some of the dimensions of the game, and I think this will hold it interesting for a long time to come. Some of the online android game UI is clunky, and I hope that can be improved with updates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Android game is amazing. Only issue is they have random crashing and consistency issues. Nothing worse than playing a two week android game and then being unable to finish because it crashes when you attempt to begin that particular game. Fix that and its the best board android game application on the market. Also let us to remove old android games from our list.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    This is a modern classic tabletop game, brought into the digital age with a stunning implementation. Bravo! The guide is the best I've ever encountered for a complex game. You can feel confident that you don't need to know anything about the original boardgames in advance. The guide will teach you everything you need to know, at a very smooth pace and in a very interactive manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    This takes the hassle of administrating out of a complex strategic boardgame (and i love that it does that very well). Already quite a polished experience but still quite a bit of little bugs to fix for the devs. Being able to test it out before committing to a purchase might increase sales. Thumbs up!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    This application turns a four hour board android game into a delightful 20 min condensed experience that does all of the bookkeeping for you. There is nothing not to love. The only complaint I have is sometimes the flick and dragging motions don't work perfectly, but other than that I wholeheartedly endorse the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    There are some bugs, few odd crashes and android games getting out of sync. Have amazing faith those will be fixed. The android game is a heavy memory drain, hopefully they can fix that also. Despite those flaws I'm still rating a 5 because I haven't been this hooked on a digital board android game since Galaxy Trucker. The async play is perfect, really amazing implementation of a tricky game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    I think it's very informal and fun . Simple to play. I want the graphics were a bit better . And I want I could zoom in without pressing on a card or building I'm having alot of glitching issues I'm always having to reload the application and having to retake turns I've already taken it's starting to obtain annoying I hope y'all fix this issue asap

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    this android game is really good. I mean, really really good. Feels like a digital board android game ver of Sid Meiers Civ games. Masterpiece. The only little complaint I have is the server being unstable time to time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    I love the board game, but I'm trying to play my first android game online with a mate and every time my turn starts, the android game crashes. Unfortunately, hard to rate it higher if the android game itself is unplayable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Without a doubt VERY GLITCHY right now but I love the android game too much to not rate 5 stars. PLEASE FIX! $10 IS A HIGH PRICE FOR GLITCHY GAME! Almost every time I hit "end turn" the android game freezes then I have to relaunch and do my actions over and hit end turn again and it's ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Through the Ages is excellent. The android game is complex but rewarding (you're building a civilization after all) so it helps that the guide is great. The price reflects the value: A unbelievable design, online multiplayer, pass and play, and a challenging AI are all here. This is the best digital implementation of a board android game I have ever seen. The only caveat is it ended up costing me more than just the price of the app: After playing the app, I quickly ordered the board game. Can't wait to play more, both digital and analog!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    I was really loving this android game until I got an error. I contacted the help squad (as prompted by the error message) and still haven't had a response. Quite disappointing as I don't even know if the other players see the same problem or if they simply think I've abandoned the game. It's almost been a week of waiting and my rating will be updated accordingly. The actual android game play is amazing and it works well for solo challenges (against AIs) or online gaming. Major improvement required on support.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Single player is awesome. Online I can't really say, because it keeps crashing. When you fix this, you obtain 5 stars. Amazing adaptation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    My favourite mobile android game so far! I can't criticise anything about it and I'm so hooked on playing this. If you like tactic android games you should play it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Amazing game! Very related to the Sid Meire's Civ android games although a small quicker and less forgiving in some ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Never played the board game, but feel like I could easily pick it up to play after running through the tutorial. This is a very complex android game mind you. Perfect app!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    One of my favorite android games of all time! Got it both on iOS and Android. Beware if you are a T-mobile user though. The developer is working on compatibility with APN IPv6. You may have to change yours to IPv4 for now if you wish to play online using the T-Mobile network. Should be fine on WiFi without changes though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Amazing game!! Only problem is online android games hold force closing and a sound bug but other then that it's awesome. Only android game I've ever spent more then 99 cents on and it was worth it. Can't wait to see what updates and features are added in the future. Want I could add set # of duplicate cards in custom android game for a longer game. This android game does not disappoint!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Awesome. Only thing that is worrisome is this game's impact on my battery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Superb android game on tabletop, but difficult to arrange because of the time taken to play. The application is not as social but much quicker, and still very entertaining

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Nice adaptation to the original board game. And excellent if you can't search someone to play with. Once you obtain used to it you will have dozens of fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Waste of $$ if the android games hold freezing and you can't obtain back into them. As long as it takes to play a match for it to just kick you out and not allow you back. That is android game breaking and frustrating beyond all means. Fix it to obtain back the 5* rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Ages review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Riddled with bugs. I've had three android games corrupted and unable to load (game crashes) and two more android games that could not be continued due to Consistency check failures. Unacceptable for a $10 game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Collecting: Astonishing X-Men (2017) #1-6Writer Charles Soule's storytelling is on point as he crafts layered stories within stories for what amounts to one of the most exciting and interesting X-tales in years. The narrative frame centers on Psylocke who finds herself under attack from astral plane when the Shadow King makes a bid to free himself from his incorporeal prison. She assembles a motley squad of whatever superheroes happened to be nearby in order to save the earth's psychics who are being picked off as the Shadow King makes amazing on his plans to e squad Psylocke assembles contains Gambit and Rogue, Fantomex, Angel, Bishop, Old Man Logan, and a few surprises! AS the X-Men enter the astral plane, Soule writes stories within stories as the Shadow King attempts to conquer the heroes on a plane created of dreams, fantasies, and nightmares. Each character faces their hearts desires and temptations. I particularly loved the nod to Shakespeare with the play within the play (which inevitably leads to a war royal).As their minds give in to the Shadow King, the situation gets increasingly desperate. Soule builds to a blistering pace as the puzzle pieces start to fall into place. It was an absolute white-knuckled is book is a must-read for X-fans. I found this book more compelling than either the of the other ongoing X-series: X-Men Gold or X-Men Blue . But if the unbelievable storytelling and artwork aren't enough to convince you to buy this book, the huge reveal at the end of the book looks poised to reshape every x-book from this point forward.I was glued to this book from the first page to last. I'll be checking my mailbox for Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I only read this title for Psylocke and I have to say while it's not poor it's not great. It just feels like filler, other than the return of a major X-character, nothing really happens llen Bunn's previous Uncanny run is seemingly completely ignored as Angel is still dealing with keeping his evil alter ego in check, albeit the fact that Bunn wrote it to where previously Psylocke cured Angel of his control issues. Oh well, that's Marvel editors for you. The fans know more about what goes on in the MU than their own editors, who hires these people?The art isn't bad. There are some huge names drawing individual issues, this isn't one artist assigned to the arc. It's six problems with six various artists. Cheung does a amazing job with the first issue, he doesn't draw the X-Men enough. The rest of the problems aren't poor but could've been better, you can tell some of these artists didn't bring their is arc focuses heavily on Old Man Logan out of the entire team, so you'll like this book if you're a fan of his. The others have amazing amount of panel time but it all seems equal and low-key, it's obvious these characters were picked for e second arc is in mid-progress, it's not much better than this, it's just consistently not-terrible but this series definitely will not have any sort of classic impact on the franchise's history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Amazing art, amazing story; well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Best x-men series yet you won't believe (spoiler) comes back!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I wasn't going to read this one, but again Jacob insisted. I guess I should trust his judgement, because he clearly knows me well! Once I started these, I read them all beautiful quickly. The very first problem is full of action and a slight overload of information. There are so a lot of things event all at once, and I absolutely loved it!I've always been intrigued by Psylocke, so it was interesting to see how she would be portrayed in this comic. As expected, she kicks (a no-no word)*. Overall, it's an odd but amazing group of X-Men. I have fun the banter between Rogue and Gambit (which is why I'm also reading their comic), and I don't often see Mystique and Fantomex. Bishop was fresh for me, too. I've seen him in one of the X-Men movies, but never in a comic. He is a very complex character. If I'm not mistaken, he's from the future and has the ability to jump through time. This knowledge allows him to scan happenings as they happen and cross reference them versus future outcomes. He doesn't just see how it can result the current reality, but every potential reality. Oh, and he can absorb energy and project it from his body. It's for this series, it's a literal (a no-no word)* (because they go to the Astral Plane). I never knew what was actually event to the characters, and it gets beautiful trippy. At the end of the seventh issue, something really shady happens, and now I don't know whether or not to believe it's real. It could be an illusion, or someone pretending to be something their not, and I'm not entirely sure where the story will go from tomex! I cannot believe he willingly makes a certain decision, but I was enjoying his time spent with Mystique. They would be an unusual couple, and I think it'd create a unbelievable comic! Raven needs a small love in her life.*A "no-no word" is my private substitution for words and phrases that Amazon finds offensive.Originally posted at Do You Dog-ear? on Sunday, February 11, 2018.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    Age of Order is surprisingly amazing debut in the dystopian genre. There are some YA elements due to the a lot of of the characters being in high school, but this is a sophisticated and intricate sci-fi/dystopian story worthy of comparisons to books like Red Rising or even Brave Fresh World, although it's more fun to read than the latter. At its heart, this is a book about those with less. Themes of what constitutes "merit" and "order" runs through the pages, even as the well-executed characters struggle to solve the deadly mysteries around them. The relationships are deftly written and genuine. That, and the clever plot twists, set this book above 99% of the genre. It's worthy of 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    I don't typically read dystopian novels. I tend to prefer more upbeat fantasy novels, but I saw the Kirkus review, and the book sounded interesting. It did not disappoint. The story had a lot of original ideas, the characters were believable, the setting was well realized, and the plot drew me in and kept me reading. What more can anyone ask? If you typically read dystopian novels, you're sure to have fun this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    so.... Over the latest 53 years or so I have read a lot of science fiction, along with everything else. I was really glad when the Kindle came out because there was no more wall zone in any room in the entire house for another set of book shelves. Now I still read 2 or 3 books a week and they all fit together in a wide pocket. unfortunately this electronic ease of publication has meant a wide distribution for a lot of poorly written sci fi novels.BUT AGE OF ORDER IS NOT ONE OF THEM. This is a really well written book. Julian North has an accessible clarity of style that does not compromise on either depth of hero nor on the conceptual strength of vision important for a really amazing sci fi read. AGE OF ORDER is a deeply satisfying read for either the experienced or novice sci fi reader. And how nice not to be left waiting for the next novel in the series. This is a fine stand alone work. I'm just sorry its over. I will be looking for her next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    This was an awesome first work by a fresh author. I have read innumerable dystopian sci-fi novels over the years but this one escapes the simplistic black-and-white themes that most indulge in. Mr. North delivers a much more nuanced and intriguing story, with more than a few clever surprises. His descriptive style is captivating , forcing me to devote every waking, non-working hour to exploring this fascinating globe until there were no more pages left to read. I am now left aching for more. I certainly hope that Mr. North's kids will obtain to bed early so he will complete a sequel as soon as possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    My favorite genres are "Apocalyptic, Dystopian and Sci-Fi"..... This book and too "Rise of Order" are my first exposure with this author. I've since added her to my favorite authors to follow. As history shows a lot of times over (and over, and over......) some things never change! You have a segment of society who loves power, and will do anything to hold it, and then there's the segment (the majority) who wish a fair shot, and too wish to raise a family and have fun life in is historical pattern is shown very well in this book. Author Julian North built excellent/strong characters, no question. What I also enjoyed is when some characters whom were antagonists, became protagonists in the end - a lot of of which I didn't see coming! Rich or poor, young or old, these characters and their roles were believable and Julie, to this reader, you have a "Win-Win" here for sure! Thoroughly enjoyed the read, and looking for more in the future. :-))))

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    Age of Order opens in the darkness of Bronx City, then brings us to the fake glamour and true danger of fresh Manhattan. It deals with the despair of the downtrodden and the obliviousness of the privileged. And it does it well, by telling a story about true characters in unbelievable situations. The globe is consistent, the people we meet there seem real. There is depth in these pages. This would create an perfect movie. Age of Order is one of those amazing books you are excited to tell your mates about. I'm telling you, friends: 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    I found the characters to be interesting and appealing . The story is a dystopian future with definite similarities to our present. I liked the settings in that they represent the opposite sides of the culture. The plot is engaging and moves fairly quickly with enough action to hold the modern audience engaged. I usually figure out plots quickly and did so here but the writing is quite amazing so my interest never flagged. I think you'll have fun this author's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    This author's first novel is action-packed, fun to read, and enables teen readers to take a closer look at self-transformation and it's costly impact. The narrator is a teenage girl with impressive self discipline. She throws herself into a mental struggle with a section of society who have benefited from generations of genetic manipulation in order to save her brother from a genocidal disease called the Waste. As the story unfolds, the young people around her have to choose whether or not they will take up the war to demonstrate their lingering humanity. The Waste is a disease of the not good and expendable people who are chop off from any hope of prosperity. The narrator must temper her anguish for her brother's fate and use it to fuel her quest for a cure. The author addresses the huge questions that teenagers must respond when establishing their own identities in an unjust world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    Honestly I think more time was probably place into the beginning and the rest was rushed/ less edited. The writing got boring/ really plain and The hunger android games references were cheesy/ all the dystopian references were kinda cheesy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Age of Order (Age of Order Saga Book 1) review [Book]  2018-6-16 18:1

    I truly enjoyed reading this ride from the ghetto to the halls of power where all is not quite as it appears. If you like your sci-fi full of mystery, lies, false impressions, with a bit of romance like a rosebud on the cusp of opening to none other than the "enemy" then this is a amazing read, full of human foibles to the ultimate of our ability to love and respect than look no further.While at times key figures could be fleshed out more, at times long winded, it's delivers in style the good, poor and the ugly. A sequel would be on my "to read" list

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    OK, I'll admit it: when I first heard of this book, the concept didn't sound very promising. The original five X-Men journeying from the past to our present? I honestly thought this was Marvel serving up another steaming pile of GIMMICK.I couldn't have been more l Fresh X-Men is wonderful, and I'll tell you right now, if you're looking for a put to begin reading modern-day X-Men comics, you've found your title. If you're fresh to the X-Men (or at least, fresh to X-Men comics), don't be afraid to jump right in. While there will be a few things on which you won't quite be up to speed, there's a short intro at the beginning of the book that tells newcomers what they need to know going into the this book, Brian Michael Bendis not only tells a story that is engaging, but he takes the X-Men franchise in a direction that brilliantly manages to be both innovative and a logical next step. While this book doesn't have loads of action, Bendis makes up for it with his perfect dialogue and characterization, and the action that does occur looks amazing thanks to the skillful, detailed, and colourful artwork of Stuart Immonen (as well as inker Wade Von Grawbadger and colorist Marte Gracia). The story takes its time, and that's not a poor thing. This first volume of All Fresh X-Men left me excited for what's to come. There are so a lot of marvelous locations this story can go, and I can't wait to see what Bendis has in shop for us. This is Marvel's fresh flagship X-Men title, and it's surely the beginning of what is to be a amazing and splendid story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

     It’s been a while since I picked up an X-book. Sure, I’ve watched the movies, the Television Shows, read the Claremont era comics, but around the time onslaught rolled out is the time I stopped reading the books. Needless to say, I have small Idea why Cyclops is now a rebel leader who murdered Professor X, or what’s going on in general. (you know, Avengers versus X-men, House of M, no fresh mutants being born, the phoenix force returning for the Nth time, jean dying for the Nth time, Scott being with Emma Frost... it’s really like jumping into a long running soap opera after staying away for six seasons.)This is probably what makes this book so great, it’s a excellent re-entry point for people like me who haven’t been keeping up with x-events post fatal ian Bendis writing is good, the gimmick doesn’t wear out its welcome, the dialog is natural, and both the hero interaction and story are interesting. Scot needs to deal with an unfair amount of rage from his future Teammates, seriously, why he doesn’t just join apocalypse at this point is a amazing testament to his character. Jean gest hit full force with her until then dormant psychic powers (and the knowledge of dying. A lot.) Hank rises to the occasion and grows into a better beast than modern day beast. Angel is a whiner. Iceman is like that class clown everyone loved when they were in elementary school, but everybody wants to strangle in high school because he didn’t grow up. And that is a amazing : Stuart Imonen’s art style is also great, capturing both the more naive original x-men as the gritty modern day group’s moods perfectly have fun ability: the pages look amazing on a 10 inch smartphone pc, but you will need to use the zoom function on some pages to read the dialog. This happens on spread pages more than on normal pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    In the first volume of his run on “All-New X-Men," Brian Bendis offers a special take on Marvel’s premier squad of mutants. Bendis is able to tie the classic X-Men characters of the early days with where the squad has moved in latest years with conflict tearing the squad apart. Bendis is able to blend fresh characters with old ones while offering an exciting plot. The art squad led byStuart Immonen does a fine job in propelling this story along. It’s not a amazing jumping on point despite being the first volume in a series but newcomers should be alright here even if they will have to go online to obtain info on the characters and what has happened. A solid collection of comics. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Do we really need another return to the original squad of the X or another timeline bending to the Marvel 616 involving the X-men or even another plot-line involving the death of Professor X? All these strike me as not just gimmicks but tired gimmicks. Yet I agree, Bendis makes this delightful: the contrasting personalities, the changing of life goals, the knowledge of different futures. Bendis actually makes it feel new despite being the typical post-Claremont method to restart the different X-teams. Stuart Imonen's art is really amazing on this and keeps the contrast between classic, young X-men and their modern counterparts very clear. The dialogue is sound, the art is amazing, and the seemingly stale concepts really do produce something new.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Really an amazing begin to a fresh series. I'm a long time comic book fan. Followed Marvel comics for over 25 years now, started reading them in elementary school. Followed Uncanny X-Men, since Junior high. I really liked how the original teen aged X-Men would react to the Fresh Mutants of today. The story line follows after the happenings in A versus X: Aftermath, which was the immediate sequel to the A versus X 12 part series. Of the Mutant titles of Marvel Now, I like this the most, because of the mix of the old and new. The really neat twist here is "the new" are from an older era while "the older" characters are from the modern Marvel time. I also enjoyed the art. I thought the panel outlines were unique. Really enjoyed this comic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Just read this for the second time and it's still amazing! When I first read it when it came out, I stopped after volume 1 and waited until the series finished so I could read it all the method through. I'm still blown away at how amazing Bendis' writing is. Over reading the X-Men on and off for the past 20 years this story really got me back into the universe. It's amazing to see the young X-Men meet their future selves and vice versa! One of the best things about this series is that it's amazing for long-time fans or newcomers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    There have been countless story arcs in both the Marvel and DC universes where heroes from the future come back to engage their counterparts in our time in either (1) correcting an problem in our show or (2) taking the current heroes into the future to fix a issue (sometimes with the heroes unborn children).Bendis takes a fresh slant on the timestream -- he has our heroes go back in time to bring characters from the past to our present. It's so compelling because we already have a prior relationship with those heroes, and it makes conversations and small comments so interesting (1960's Beast wondering what happened to present-Beast to create him so jaded and worn out).What's particularly interesting is for our Cyclops facing his past counterpart and realizing how far he has strayed from his dream and intent, and then plowing ahead anyway (although wracked with anger and guilt).The art is fine. The dialogue is very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Mixing the old X-Men with the fresh X-Men? You’d think that had been done before, and if memory serves, it has been done before. But never like Brian Michael Bendis is now doing it in All-New X-Men, which seems like a weird choice for comic books that feature the “old” X-Men.When I’d first heard about the concept, I thought it would be a flash in the pan. A one-off that might be fun, might be a nice trip down memory lane, but Bendis is going method beyond any expectations I had. The two groups matter and interact in ways that I hadn’t foreseen. Therefore, there is a LOT of surprises for readers in All-New e plot device that brings it all together is present-day Hank McCoy’s sickness, which is another evolution of his mutation, only this time it looks like it’s going to slay him. So, unable to figure things out on his own, he hops a Doctor Doom and Mr. Unbelievable time cube and goes back in time to obtain a young Scott Summers to talk to his future self, who has gone off the deep end.I’d been away from X-Men for a while. The series became too much of a soap opera and there were too a lot of characters that ended up crossing over into each other’s series (too a lot of series to hold up with, all of them continued from month to month with no end in sight) that I couldn’t deal with it it turns out, present-day Scott (Cyclops) killed Professor X at some point (what?) and has turned vigilante. Okay. Deep breath. Because with all of that in play, things just obtain weirder. But somehow Bendis pulls it all off because I kept up with all the old history while he created fresh history with what I thought was e book is really not as confusing as that latest sentence sounds. There’s a lot going on, but somehow it’s all digestible. And fun. And exciting. And purely addictive. While in their future, Scott can’t imagine how his future self turned out the method he has, and Jean Gray has to face the fact that she turned evil and ended up getting killed. A couple bby Drake (Iceman) is the only hero that really adapts quickly, but that’s just how he’s always been, a roll-with-the-punches kind of guy. Angel seems lost and more innocent than he ever e Hank issue gets worked out, but Bendis takes advantage of the mental communication to zip readers through a lot of of the Marvel Girl costumes that Jean wore in the past, and to touch on all the emotional things that created the original run on the X-Men so good.I don’t know how long Bendis can hold up this series because it seems like things would obtain old after a while, or the time continuum would obtain so screwed up that things will never be able to be place back to rights. I don’t know. Right now I’m still wowed by everything going on with these characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I purchased this for the Kindle and found it to be very enjoyable. In a nutshell, the story was very engaging with a lot of amazing elements of science fiction and drama. I haven't read any X-men comics since the late 90's and found that though this story dealt with something dramatic that has happened to utterly change the X-men for the worse, the telling of the story was so well written that you didn't need to read or know about the happenings prior to starting off with this book. In other words, this book is a amazing put to "jump off" to begin reading the e art is amazing with amazing colors and sci-fi info that really draws the reader in. The pages look phenomenal on the Kindle with the lighting effects drawn combined with the lighting of the Kindle itself. Also, show were little elements of comedy within dialogue that helped enhance the drama from a character's perspective. Lastly, if I had to note any criticism at all is that the number of pages seemed a small short compared with other graphic novel titles I buy. However, it is also my understanding that Marvel tends to publish all of its books with this number of pages in mind- so this wouldn't be any reflection of this All-New X-Men title itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This was a amazing intro volume to the xmen. This series is various in that it's not just adding/subtracting characters or out right rebooting the series, it's one of the 2 current factions of xmen bringing the original 5 xmen from the past to the present.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This is an extraordinary story that was the basis of the film of the same title. In an alternate future the Sentinels have enslaved human and mutant people. The atmosphere is very desperate and our heroes are long decreased, with the exception of a few. Artists John Byrne and inker Terry Austin, provide some extraordinary work here. Writer Chris Claremont is at the peak of his powers here. If you are an X-Men fan, this is a critical graphic novel and part of the mythology. After thirty five years, this saga still holds up as an example of one of the best!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Sort of the end of the beginning. The latest problems with Cockrum as penclier, the first with Byrne. I can remember as a 12 year old seeing this strange title with even stranger characters. It is a decent story arc Clermont's story telling is evolving with his characters. The creative creature that would become Claremont and Bryne is born at the end this compilation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    The Uncanny X-Men, from problems #94 through problem #142, were perhaps the best collection of comic books that "Mighty Marvel" has ever created.....from story lines to the artwork, each problem was carefully and meticulously crafted, each building upon its predecessor, culminating in the Hellfire Saga and climaxing with the Jean Grey/Dark Phoenix tragedy. These problems are a must for any serious comic aficionado. 'Nuff said!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Same review I gave to Vol 2--just outstanding collection for the price. The brood were always my favorites and the special treatment of them by the writers--just impressive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Reading this brought back memories of the a lot of X-Men adventures I read as a teenager.I liked the method this tied the storyline together

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Growing up on the X-Men cartoon of the 90's, I spent more time focused on that than the comics. However, as I've grown older, my love and appreciation for the comics has grown a lot. While this story is a small various than the cartoon episodes I saw as a kid, I enjoyed them just as much. There were a few comics in here that I didn't care for, but read anyways as I had thought that they'd maybe fit into the DOFP storyline (I was wrong). The main story was great!! It's actually quite a short story, only consisting of a few issues, but this is a situation of quality more so than quantity. I loved this story, and the element of time travel and an alternate universe really created it fun for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Part of the reason I bought a Kindle was to slowly but surly reduce the physical zone my comic collection takes up (kids will do that to you...that and living in Southern California where I'll never own a home due to housing costs haha). I've always know the basics about the Days of Future Past storyline but never actually owned the TPB.Happy to say this was a amazing buy on my Kindle. The panels looked amazing and were simple to read. There were only a few that must have been 2 page spreads from the originals that weren't able to resize but overall everything was e story line itself was very 80's and I loved how it's very "super hero" in the sense that the characters explain their powers before they use them. Just an interesting observation looking back on how comics have changed. Also it's funny how random some of the stories are leading up to the main happening (Nightcrawler in Hell for example).Great book, amazing price, amazing piece of comic history!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I read this book on Kindle Fire HDX.Having just read the Dark Phoenix Saga, I was anxious to begin its sequel: Days of Future Past. It didn't hit me as hard as the Dark Phoenix Saga did, but it was well-written. It was nice to see Storm leading the X-Men as e few hiccups I found were:A) Given it's a real sequel leading into an event, the first half of the book feels unrelated to the second half.B) There is a frame containing Senator Kelly, and his speech-bubbles are mostly black, with white specks. At first I thought he was speaking an alien language. Then I thought it might be Morse code. I came to the conclusion that it was a misprint, as you can almost see his words faded in the blackness of his l in all, for $4, this book is a bargain and I would highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    X-men fans, you've got to treat yourselves, a guilty pleasure is in order, trust this classic Claremont story that the fresh X-Men film, Days of Future Past, is roughly based on and your appreciation for both the movie and the original story-line will blossom. It really gave me renewed faith in the genius' over at Marvel. Their ability to adapt the original story into a feature length movie that both complements previous X-men movies and leaves the Universe wide begin for future adaptations that can go in virtually any direction, is impressive. Now we've just got to convince them to do a movie about the X-men battling the Brood.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Days of future past the trade consist of more than the arch "days of future past". The opening two archs are well written and entertaining . The other 2 stories that were not "days of future past" were below average. Now the main story is extremely well written and is able to stay relevant even in 2013 . I am really excited to see a more detailed rendition of the story in the upcoming film because the arch in the trade teases you with a cool premise and for the most part tells a amazing story , but it is just to short when compared to modern story archs. If you are and X-men fan or are looking forward to seeing the film in May then I highly recommend reading the source material . If you are not and X-men fan then this collection of archs won't bring you around.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    What better method to end my "year of DC" than by reading up some of the most iconic Marvel? :) So having read most of the Ultimate Marvel Universe latest year, and most major DC happenings this year, the Dark Phoenix saga felt like a amazing entry point into classic Marvel. I came away impressed and e art is dated, but still genius. Less dramatic and more frame bound than I was used to from Ultimate Marvel obviously, but the few huge panels were used brilliantly, especially the 'Phoenix Rising' motif. I was a bit confused amid the action near the end, but the art served well up to the climactic e writing was what blew me away. The story is intricate, and well told; fresh characters are introduced and quickly established, while older ones are clearly on clearly defined arcs of their own. It was wordier than more contemporary comics, less present and more tell as opposed to the sparsely plotted, action-packed and 'tent-pole panel' filled style of today. It felt more novel-like as a result.I can see why this is one of the most enduring, iconic X-Men tales ever told, and I cannot wait to read the next major arc which follows on from this one - Days of Future Past are a coming!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    One of the best stories in the X-Men comic book series. I own the original comics and hard copy of graphic novel. Now, I have digital graphic novel and I got it on sale. You can't beat that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Amazing items and well done for a storyline written by lowly gentile and not superior Jewish men. The goyim did well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Must read X-men story, if you read only one of this soap opera series, this should be the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Brings back memories a classic set of stories

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Love it one of my favorite authors and series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This book brought back memories of feeling like a child again. As I read it all the method through I was surprised how adult it was, I don't wish to spoil the ending but it had an old classic love story feel to it, where everything does not end up excellent but more touching for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Not poor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    As a kid, I specifically remembered the Dark Phoenix Saga—on the animated TV series. It was a spellbinding series of episodes equal to that of the best of Android game of Thrones (for a child, anyway). The globe felt like it could end because of what happens to Jean Grey and you were captivated from beginning to end.I never got a possibility to read the actual comics, but now that it's available in full-color glory, I bought it right away to watch on my iPad. I can now relive this in its original comic form, with my imagination filling in between comic panels. The feelings are still there: awe, fear, shock, omgs.If you've never seen or read this saga, do it today. Surely the next X-Men film will be about it. Rrcommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Grand Design (X-Men: Grand Design (2017-2018)) review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:1

    From the moment opening this book to finishing the latest page it’s obvious this is a dream project. So much thought was place into not only the story and art but the design and format of the book itself. Definitely a must have for any xmen fan, I can’t wait till the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    My son loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    This is the rebirth of the X-Men. After the creation of the original X-Men by Jack Kirby and Stan Lee in the early 1960's, the title lost its way, most of its readership, and eventually went into a reprint mode for several years - just barely avoiding out right cancelation of the series. Then in 1975, with the publication of Giant Size X-Men 1, the squad was revamped with fresh members and a fresh direction. This led to the X-Men becoming the most famous comic and flagship superhero squad for Marvel during the 1980s and 1990s. This collection reproduces Giant Size X-Men 1, X-Men problems 94 through 110, Marvel Team-Up Annual 1, Marvel Team-Up 53, 69 and 70, Iron Fist 14 and 15, and FOOM 10; it also contains the cover of Giant Size X-Men 2, which was a reprint issue, and artwork extras. These comics introduce a lot of characters that have become staples of the Marvel Universe and the basis of the X-Men film series. The art work and stories are very good, serving as a kind of bridge to the Bronze Age of comics, in fact some consider Giant Size X-Men 1 to be the dawning of the Bronze Age of comics. Marvel's Epic Collections are quality paperback books presenting the original comics in color (unlike Marvel's Essential line which are black & white) and are more affordable alternatives to their Omnibus and Masterworks collections. If you are an X-Men fan, this collection is a must!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I've been reading comics most of my life (34 years) and I've always preferred printed comics. After ordering some comics off of Amazon I received an email from them informing me I qualified for a free kindle download. I downloaded this and I'm reading it from my phone and I love it! Kudos to Amazon for making comics fun to read from a phone. Based on the reduced prices of other books from this same series I definitely look forward to getting more of these titles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I didn't read comics as a child. I just started reading them after the age of fifty. But I've been making up for lost time quick with collections and graphic novels. One thing I've discovered is that Chris Claremont ' s work sometimes makes my head hurt. All the wordy dialog, endless speech bubbles, and thought bubbles! At times I can barely see the artwork. This collection is different. There's the excellent amount of dialog, thoughts and descriptions. It's an enjoyable history book filled with action and background on some of Marvel's most necessary characters. And it's a lot of book fo the buck.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    A amazing method to be introduced to the x-men. Getting giant sized 1 plus 94-110 and couple tie in titles. The printing and color is well done and excellent value to read these stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    The fresh X-men meet old and you can see the beginning of some of our favorites like Wolverine, Phoenix and Nightcrawler, while losing Icema, Angel and interestingly Marvel Girl. And, Professor X goes insane. That can never be good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    THIS IS THE ONLY WAY YOU'LL GET TO GO BACK TO THAT MAGICAL BEGINNING!!! In comic book circles these stories keep the same position of importance as do the books of the Talmud to Jewish circles!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Amazing collection!.. introduces the 2nd batch of X-Men that contains Wolverine, Storm, Colossus, Nightcrawler and Banshee.. also contains Jean Grey as Phoenix..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Amazing collection with the X-Men that I remember from my younger years. Bryne is awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Amazing stories, very cool to read the original saga before the dark saga.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Chris Claremont's original run on the X-Men spanned seventeen years and saw the book propelled from a newly restarted and low selling title on a bi-monthly schedule to a colossal juggernaut in the comic globe capable of supporting a number of spin-off books and a sister is is where the initial ride ends.I'd like to say it's all gravy and that Chris Claremont went out on the top of his android game because... in a lot of ways he DID. His writing was still absolutely solid. His stories engaging. His characters charming. Unfortunately, he wasn't really ALLOWED to go out on top of his android game because for most of this book, he only serves as scripter. A PHENOMENAL scripter, yes, but there's only so much you can do when you can't direct the 's also funny that this X-Men Epic Collection features a huge chunk of non-X-Men books. There was a lot of tidying up to do before Uncanny and Adjectiveless X-Men could be soft rebooted into the Blue and Gold rosters we know and love and that meant situating the X-Factor squad into a proper jumping off point so that the squad could be reintegrated into the main X-Men books. Mostly, this means getting rid of Cyclops' son and the team's sentient headquarters while facing their greatest foe, Apocalypse, one latest time. Don't worry folks. Apocalypse will be back but he won't be an X-Factor villain ever again. But X-Factor won't ever be the same X-Factor ever again, yond that, we see the second iteration of the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants (which was calling itself Freedom Force at the time) reach the end of it's street in the early chapters of this book. We see a premature conclusion to Claremont's long running Shadow King storyline towards the end (which was really a mercy killing because that story wasn't... awesome). We see Xavier resuming his put as leader of the X-Men (even though someone decided that the only method people would recognize him again was in a wheelchair).Claremont ducks out of Uncanny X-Men before the halfway point of the Muir Isle Saga, leaving everyone else, including Jim Lee, to scramble to the finish line of that story. It doesn't turn out badly but you can definitely tell when Claremont's "voice" has left the building. He co-writes and draws the first three problems of the brand fresh X-Men series, detailing the beginning of the fresh era of the X-Men and putting a bow on his Magneto storyline in the process. This is probably the best part of the book because he and Jim Lee collaborating is just a treat to read. There are still a few hiccups where the script and the art don't exactly match up (the two "Delgado" characters is the worst offender, here) but things run much more smoothly than they did in the X-Factor pages.Overall, this would be an perfect jumping off point for a lot of X-Men readers and I REALLY hope that that isn't Marvel's plan because I'd love the Epic Collection to continue after this. But at the same time, the deck is sufficiently clear. Most of the dangling plot threads of the previous few years are resolved. With Chris Claremont's departure, Jim Lee and Whilce Portacio would attempt to tell their own stories with the X-Men for almost another year before they, too, would leave the books (and Marvel!).This was all before my time, though. I didn't actually begin reading X-Men until just prior to Fatal Attractions two years after this book. I quickly raided back problem bins to fill myself in on just what had happened before I jumped on, only learning of the wonderful contributions to the title that Chris Claremont created after he had well and truly left. He would eventually return to the book but by then, the characters had gone in directions he wouldn't have taken them and become people he didn't recognize. And it wasn't the same because it couldn't be the same.But you can always go and read his earlier run. And you won't even have to raid back problem bins to do it! This collection is by far the best option to enjoying the latest of Chris Claremont's initial X-run. The colors keep up very well and look better than they ever did in the original comics. The paper quality is solid. The extras contain Jim Lee hero sketches and magazine interviews as well and covers to earlier collected versions of this material. It's a amazing trip down memory lane with a lot of history to be had.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    It's amazing to have this necessary storyline re-issued in such a handsome volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Though the X-factor comics are rather dispersed throughput multiple collections, besides X-factor vol one, this is a amazing method to complete that collection. Be it digital or physical, these stories keep up well and still give you plenty of perfect artwork and stories. Cyclops' son Nathan Summers being infected by the techno organic virus, the X-Men run in with the Shadow King, and the beginning of Chris Claremont's and Jim Lee's X-Men from the 90's. This is a amazing overview of what would become the explosive 90's stage for the X-Men.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Amazing story and amazing art!

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter