X-Men: Legion - Shadow King Rising Reviews & Opinions


Submit X-Men: Legion - Shadow King Rising review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Collecting: Astonishing X-Men (2017) #1-6Writer Charles Soule's storytelling is on point as he crafts layered stories within stories for what amounts to one of the most exciting and interesting X-tales in years. The narrative frame centers on Psylocke who finds herself under attack from astral plane when the Shadow King makes a bid to free himself from his incorporeal prison. She assembles a motley squad of whatever superheroes happened to be nearby in order to save the earth's psychics who are being picked off as the Shadow King makes amazing on his plans to e squad Psylocke assembles contains Gambit and Rogue, Fantomex, Angel, Bishop, Old Man Logan, and a few surprises! AS the X-Men enter the astral plane, Soule writes stories within stories as the Shadow King attempts to conquer the heroes on a plane created of dreams, fantasies, and nightmares. Each character faces their hearts desires and temptations. I particularly loved the nod to Shakespeare with the play within the play (which inevitably leads to a war royal).As their minds give in to the Shadow King, the situation gets increasingly desperate. Soule builds to a blistering pace as the puzzle pieces start to fall into place. It was an absolute white-knuckled is book is a must-read for X-fans. I found this book more compelling than either the of the other ongoing X-series: X-Men Gold or X-Men Blue . But if the unbelievable storytelling and artwork aren't enough to convince you to buy this book, the huge reveal at the end of the book looks poised to reshape every x-book from this point forward.I was glued to this book from the first page to last. I'll be checking my mailbox for Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I only read this title for Psylocke and I have to say while it's not poor it's not great. It just feels like filler, other than the return of a major X-character, nothing really happens llen Bunn's previous Uncanny run is seemingly completely ignored as Angel is still dealing with keeping his evil alter ego in check, albeit the fact that Bunn wrote it to where previously Psylocke cured Angel of his control issues. Oh well, that's Marvel editors for you. The fans know more about what goes on in the MU than their own editors, who hires these people?The art isn't bad. There are some huge names drawing individual issues, this isn't one artist assigned to the arc. It's six problems with six various artists. Cheung does a amazing job with the first issue, he doesn't draw the X-Men enough. The rest of the problems aren't poor but could've been better, you can tell some of these artists didn't bring their is arc focuses heavily on Old Man Logan out of the entire team, so you'll like this book if you're a fan of his. The others have amazing amount of panel time but it all seems equal and low-key, it's obvious these characters were picked for e second arc is in mid-progress, it's not much better than this, it's just consistently not-terrible but this series definitely will not have any sort of classic impact on the franchise's history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Amazing art, amazing story; well done.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on X-Men: Legion - Shadow King Rising or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch X-Men: Legion - Shadow King Rising video reviews and related movies:

    See Legion - Shadow Of The King on youtube.

     related image

    See Marvel on youtube.

     related image

    See Mutants vs Inhumans: Which Is More Powerful? (Comicbook Concepts) on youtube.

     related image

    See Legion of Demons | Fallen Angels. Archons/Djinn/The Watchers/Shadow People/Aliens. on youtube.

     related image

    See The Worst Case Scenario (Marvel's Secret Invasion Event) on youtube.

     related image

    See CinemaSins on youtube.

     related image

    See Felix Legion - All In (Explicit Lyrics) on youtube.

     related image

    See Don Verdean - I've Been Hit! Scene (9/10) | Movieclips on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Best x-men series yet you won't believe (spoiler) comes back!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Astonishing X-Men by Charles Soule Vol. 1: Life of X (Astonishing X-Men (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I wasn't going to read this one, but again Jacob insisted. I guess I should trust his judgement, because he clearly knows me well! Once I started these, I read them all beautiful quickly. The very first problem is full of action and a slight overload of information. There are so a lot of things event all at once, and I absolutely loved it!I've always been intrigued by Psylocke, so it was interesting to see how she would be portrayed in this comic. As expected, she kicks (a no-no word)*. Overall, it's an odd but amazing group of X-Men. I have fun the banter between Rogue and Gambit (which is why I'm also reading their comic), and I don't often see Mystique and Fantomex. Bishop was fresh for me, too. I've seen him in one of the X-Men movies, but never in a comic. He is a very complex character. If I'm not mistaken, he's from the future and has the ability to jump through time. This knowledge allows him to scan happenings as they happen and cross reference them versus future outcomes. He doesn't just see how it can result the current reality, but every potential reality. Oh, and he can absorb energy and project it from his body. It's for this series, it's a literal (a no-no word)* (because they go to the Astral Plane). I never knew what was actually event to the characters, and it gets beautiful trippy. At the end of the seventh issue, something really shady happens, and now I don't know whether or not to believe it's real. It could be an illusion, or someone pretending to be something their not, and I'm not entirely sure where the story will go from tomex! I cannot believe he willingly makes a certain decision, but I was enjoying his time spent with Mystique. They would be an unusual couple, and I think it'd create a unbelievable comic! Raven needs a small love in her life.*A "no-no word" is my private substitution for words and phrases that Amazon finds offensive.Originally posted at Do You Dog-ear? on Sunday, February 11, 2018.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    OK, I'll admit it: when I first heard of this book, the concept didn't sound very promising. The original five X-Men journeying from the past to our present? I honestly thought this was Marvel serving up another steaming pile of GIMMICK.I couldn't have been more l Fresh X-Men is wonderful, and I'll tell you right now, if you're looking for a put to begin reading modern-day X-Men comics, you've found your title. If you're fresh to the X-Men (or at least, fresh to X-Men comics), don't be afraid to jump right in. While there will be a few things on which you won't quite be up to speed, there's a short intro at the beginning of the book that tells newcomers what they need to know going into the this book, Brian Michael Bendis not only tells a story that is engaging, but he takes the X-Men franchise in a direction that brilliantly manages to be both innovative and a logical next step. While this book doesn't have loads of action, Bendis makes up for it with his perfect dialogue and characterization, and the action that does occur looks amazing thanks to the skillful, detailed, and colourful artwork of Stuart Immonen (as well as inker Wade Von Grawbadger and colorist Marte Gracia). The story takes its time, and that's not a poor thing. This first volume of All Fresh X-Men left me excited for what's to come. There are so a lot of marvelous locations this story can go, and I can't wait to see what Bendis has in shop for us. This is Marvel's fresh flagship X-Men title, and it's surely the beginning of what is to be a amazing and splendid story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

     It’s been a while since I picked up an X-book. Sure, I’ve watched the movies, the Television Shows, read the Claremont era comics, but around the time onslaught rolled out is the time I stopped reading the books. Needless to say, I have small Idea why Cyclops is now a rebel leader who murdered Professor X, or what’s going on in general. (you know, Avengers versus X-men, House of M, no fresh mutants being born, the phoenix force returning for the Nth time, jean dying for the Nth time, Scott being with Emma Frost... it’s really like jumping into a long running soap opera after staying away for six seasons.)This is probably what makes this book so great, it’s a excellent re-entry point for people like me who haven’t been keeping up with x-events post fatal ian Bendis writing is good, the gimmick doesn’t wear out its welcome, the dialog is natural, and both the hero interaction and story are interesting. Scot needs to deal with an unfair amount of rage from his future Teammates, seriously, why he doesn’t just join apocalypse at this point is a amazing testament to his character. Jean gest hit full force with her until then dormant psychic powers (and the knowledge of dying. A lot.) Hank rises to the occasion and grows into a better beast than modern day beast. Angel is a whiner. Iceman is like that class clown everyone loved when they were in elementary school, but everybody wants to strangle in high school because he didn’t grow up. And that is a amazing : Stuart Imonen’s art style is also great, capturing both the more naive original x-men as the gritty modern day group’s moods perfectly have fun ability: the pages look amazing on a 10 inch smartphone pc, but you will need to use the zoom function on some pages to read the dialog. This happens on spread pages more than on normal pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    In the first volume of his run on “All-New X-Men," Brian Bendis offers a special take on Marvel’s premier squad of mutants. Bendis is able to tie the classic X-Men characters of the early days with where the squad has moved in latest years with conflict tearing the squad apart. Bendis is able to blend fresh characters with old ones while offering an exciting plot. The art squad led byStuart Immonen does a fine job in propelling this story along. It’s not a amazing jumping on point despite being the first volume in a series but newcomers should be alright here even if they will have to go online to obtain info on the characters and what has happened. A solid collection of comics. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Do we really need another return to the original squad of the X or another timeline bending to the Marvel 616 involving the X-men or even another plot-line involving the death of Professor X? All these strike me as not just gimmicks but tired gimmicks. Yet I agree, Bendis makes this delightful: the contrasting personalities, the changing of life goals, the knowledge of different futures. Bendis actually makes it feel new despite being the typical post-Claremont method to restart the different X-teams. Stuart Imonen's art is really amazing on this and keeps the contrast between classic, young X-men and their modern counterparts very clear. The dialogue is sound, the art is amazing, and the seemingly stale concepts really do produce something new.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Really an amazing begin to a fresh series. I'm a long time comic book fan. Followed Marvel comics for over 25 years now, started reading them in elementary school. Followed Uncanny X-Men, since Junior high. I really liked how the original teen aged X-Men would react to the Fresh Mutants of today. The story line follows after the happenings in A versus X: Aftermath, which was the immediate sequel to the A versus X 12 part series. Of the Mutant titles of Marvel Now, I like this the most, because of the mix of the old and new. The really neat twist here is "the new" are from an older era while "the older" characters are from the modern Marvel time. I also enjoyed the art. I thought the panel outlines were unique. Really enjoyed this comic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Just read this for the second time and it's still amazing! When I first read it when it came out, I stopped after volume 1 and waited until the series finished so I could read it all the method through. I'm still blown away at how amazing Bendis' writing is. Over reading the X-Men on and off for the past 20 years this story really got me back into the universe. It's amazing to see the young X-Men meet their future selves and vice versa! One of the best things about this series is that it's amazing for long-time fans or newcomers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    There have been countless story arcs in both the Marvel and DC universes where heroes from the future come back to engage their counterparts in our time in either (1) correcting an problem in our show or (2) taking the current heroes into the future to fix a issue (sometimes with the heroes unborn children).Bendis takes a fresh slant on the timestream -- he has our heroes go back in time to bring characters from the past to our present. It's so compelling because we already have a prior relationship with those heroes, and it makes conversations and small comments so interesting (1960's Beast wondering what happened to present-Beast to create him so jaded and worn out).What's particularly interesting is for our Cyclops facing his past counterpart and realizing how far he has strayed from his dream and intent, and then plowing ahead anyway (although wracked with anger and guilt).The art is fine. The dialogue is very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    Mixing the old X-Men with the fresh X-Men? You’d think that had been done before, and if memory serves, it has been done before. But never like Brian Michael Bendis is now doing it in All-New X-Men, which seems like a weird choice for comic books that feature the “old” X-Men.When I’d first heard about the concept, I thought it would be a flash in the pan. A one-off that might be fun, might be a nice trip down memory lane, but Bendis is going method beyond any expectations I had. The two groups matter and interact in ways that I hadn’t foreseen. Therefore, there is a LOT of surprises for readers in All-New e plot device that brings it all together is present-day Hank McCoy’s sickness, which is another evolution of his mutation, only this time it looks like it’s going to slay him. So, unable to figure things out on his own, he hops a Doctor Doom and Mr. Unbelievable time cube and goes back in time to obtain a young Scott Summers to talk to his future self, who has gone off the deep end.I’d been away from X-Men for a while. The series became too much of a soap opera and there were too a lot of characters that ended up crossing over into each other’s series (too a lot of series to hold up with, all of them continued from month to month with no end in sight) that I couldn’t deal with it it turns out, present-day Scott (Cyclops) killed Professor X at some point (what?) and has turned vigilante. Okay. Deep breath. Because with all of that in play, things just obtain weirder. But somehow Bendis pulls it all off because I kept up with all the old history while he created fresh history with what I thought was e book is really not as confusing as that latest sentence sounds. There’s a lot going on, but somehow it’s all digestible. And fun. And exciting. And purely addictive. While in their future, Scott can’t imagine how his future self turned out the method he has, and Jean Gray has to face the fact that she turned evil and ended up getting killed. A couple bby Drake (Iceman) is the only hero that really adapts quickly, but that’s just how he’s always been, a roll-with-the-punches kind of guy. Angel seems lost and more innocent than he ever e Hank issue gets worked out, but Bendis takes advantage of the mental communication to zip readers through a lot of of the Marvel Girl costumes that Jean wore in the past, and to touch on all the emotional things that created the original run on the X-Men so good.I don’t know how long Bendis can hold up this series because it seems like things would obtain old after a while, or the time continuum would obtain so screwed up that things will never be able to be place back to rights. I don’t know. Right now I’m still wowed by everything going on with these characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    I purchased this for the Kindle and found it to be very enjoyable. In a nutshell, the story was very engaging with a lot of amazing elements of science fiction and drama. I haven't read any X-men comics since the late 90's and found that though this story dealt with something dramatic that has happened to utterly change the X-men for the worse, the telling of the story was so well written that you didn't need to read or know about the happenings prior to starting off with this book. In other words, this book is a amazing put to "jump off" to begin reading the e art is amazing with amazing colors and sci-fi info that really draws the reader in. The pages look phenomenal on the Kindle with the lighting effects drawn combined with the lighting of the Kindle itself. Also, show were little elements of comedy within dialogue that helped enhance the drama from a character's perspective. Lastly, if I had to note any criticism at all is that the number of pages seemed a small short compared with other graphic novel titles I buy. However, it is also my understanding that Marvel tends to publish all of its books with this number of pages in mind- so this wouldn't be any reflection of this All-New X-Men title itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All-New X-Men Vol. 1: Yesterday's X-Men review [Book]  2017-12-12 18:1

    This was a amazing intro volume to the xmen. This series is various in that it's not just adding/subtracting characters or out right rebooting the series, it's one of the 2 current factions of xmen bringing the original 5 xmen from the past to the present.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This is an extraordinary story that was the basis of the film of the same title. In an alternate future the Sentinels have enslaved human and mutant people. The atmosphere is very desperate and our heroes are long decreased, with the exception of a few. Artists John Byrne and inker Terry Austin, provide some extraordinary work here. Writer Chris Claremont is at the peak of his powers here. If you are an X-Men fan, this is a critical graphic novel and part of the mythology. After thirty five years, this saga still holds up as an example of one of the best!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Sort of the end of the beginning. The latest problems with Cockrum as penclier, the first with Byrne. I can remember as a 12 year old seeing this strange title with even stranger characters. It is a decent story arc Clermont's story telling is evolving with his characters. The creative creature that would become Claremont and Bryne is born at the end this compilation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    The Uncanny X-Men, from problems #94 through problem #142, were perhaps the best collection of comic books that "Mighty Marvel" has ever created.....from story lines to the artwork, each problem was carefully and meticulously crafted, each building upon its predecessor, culminating in the Hellfire Saga and climaxing with the Jean Grey/Dark Phoenix tragedy. These problems are a must for any serious comic aficionado. 'Nuff said!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Same review I gave to Vol 2--just outstanding collection for the price. The brood were always my favorites and the special treatment of them by the writers--just impressive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Reading this brought back memories of the a lot of X-Men adventures I read as a teenager.I liked the method this tied the storyline together

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Growing up on the X-Men cartoon of the 90's, I spent more time focused on that than the comics. However, as I've grown older, my love and appreciation for the comics has grown a lot. While this story is a small various than the cartoon episodes I saw as a kid, I enjoyed them just as much. There were a few comics in here that I didn't care for, but read anyways as I had thought that they'd maybe fit into the DOFP storyline (I was wrong). The main story was great!! It's actually quite a short story, only consisting of a few issues, but this is a situation of quality more so than quantity. I loved this story, and the element of time travel and an alternate universe really created it fun for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Part of the reason I bought a Kindle was to slowly but surly reduce the physical zone my comic collection takes up (kids will do that to you...that and living in Southern California where I'll never own a home due to housing costs haha). I've always know the basics about the Days of Future Past storyline but never actually owned the TPB.Happy to say this was a amazing buy on my Kindle. The panels looked amazing and were simple to read. There were only a few that must have been 2 page spreads from the originals that weren't able to resize but overall everything was e story line itself was very 80's and I loved how it's very "super hero" in the sense that the characters explain their powers before they use them. Just an interesting observation looking back on how comics have changed. Also it's funny how random some of the stories are leading up to the main happening (Nightcrawler in Hell for example).Great book, amazing price, amazing piece of comic history!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I read this book on Kindle Fire HDX.Having just read the Dark Phoenix Saga, I was anxious to begin its sequel: Days of Future Past. It didn't hit me as hard as the Dark Phoenix Saga did, but it was well-written. It was nice to see Storm leading the X-Men as e few hiccups I found were:A) Given it's a real sequel leading into an event, the first half of the book feels unrelated to the second half.B) There is a frame containing Senator Kelly, and his speech-bubbles are mostly black, with white specks. At first I thought he was speaking an alien language. Then I thought it might be Morse code. I came to the conclusion that it was a misprint, as you can almost see his words faded in the blackness of his l in all, for $4, this book is a bargain and I would highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    X-men fans, you've got to treat yourselves, a guilty pleasure is in order, trust this classic Claremont story that the fresh X-Men film, Days of Future Past, is roughly based on and your appreciation for both the movie and the original story-line will blossom. It really gave me renewed faith in the genius' over at Marvel. Their ability to adapt the original story into a feature length movie that both complements previous X-men movies and leaves the Universe wide begin for future adaptations that can go in virtually any direction, is impressive. Now we've just got to convince them to do a movie about the X-men battling the Brood.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Days of Future Past (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Days of future past the trade consist of more than the arch "days of future past". The opening two archs are well written and entertaining . The other 2 stories that were not "days of future past" were below average. Now the main story is extremely well written and is able to stay relevant even in 2013 . I am really excited to see a more detailed rendition of the story in the upcoming film because the arch in the trade teases you with a cool premise and for the most part tells a amazing story , but it is just to short when compared to modern story archs. If you are and X-men fan or are looking forward to seeing the film in May then I highly recommend reading the source material . If you are not and X-men fan then this collection of archs won't bring you around.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    What better method to end my "year of DC" than by reading up some of the most iconic Marvel? :) So having read most of the Ultimate Marvel Universe latest year, and most major DC happenings this year, the Dark Phoenix saga felt like a amazing entry point into classic Marvel. I came away impressed and e art is dated, but still genius. Less dramatic and more frame bound than I was used to from Ultimate Marvel obviously, but the few huge panels were used brilliantly, especially the 'Phoenix Rising' motif. I was a bit confused amid the action near the end, but the art served well up to the climactic e writing was what blew me away. The story is intricate, and well told; fresh characters are introduced and quickly established, while older ones are clearly on clearly defined arcs of their own. It was wordier than more contemporary comics, less present and more tell as opposed to the sparsely plotted, action-packed and 'tent-pole panel' filled style of today. It felt more novel-like as a result.I can see why this is one of the most enduring, iconic X-Men tales ever told, and I cannot wait to read the next major arc which follows on from this one - Days of Future Past are a coming!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    One of the best stories in the X-Men comic book series. I own the original comics and hard copy of graphic novel. Now, I have digital graphic novel and I got it on sale. You can't beat that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Amazing items and well done for a storyline written by lowly gentile and not superior Jewish men. The goyim did well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Must read X-men story, if you read only one of this soap opera series, this should be the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Brings back memories a classic set of stories

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Love it one of my favorite authors and series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This book brought back memories of feeling like a child again. As I read it all the method through I was surprised how adult it was, I don't wish to spoil the ending but it had an old classic love story feel to it, where everything does not end up excellent but more touching for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Not poor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    As a kid, I specifically remembered the Dark Phoenix Saga—on the animated TV series. It was a spellbinding series of episodes equal to that of the best of Android game of Thrones (for a child, anyway). The globe felt like it could end because of what happens to Jean Grey and you were captivated from beginning to end.I never got a possibility to read the actual comics, but now that it's available in full-color glory, I bought it right away to watch on my iPad. I can now relive this in its original comic form, with my imagination filling in between comic panels. The feelings are still there: awe, fear, shock, omgs.If you've never seen or read this saga, do it today. Surely the next X-Men film will be about it. Rrcommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: Grand Design (X-Men: Grand Design (2017-2018)) review [Book]  2018-4-8 18:1

    From the moment opening this book to finishing the latest page it’s obvious this is a dream project. So much thought was place into not only the story and art but the design and format of the book itself. Definitely a must have for any xmen fan, I can’t wait till the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    My son loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    This is the rebirth of the X-Men. After the creation of the original X-Men by Jack Kirby and Stan Lee in the early 1960's, the title lost its way, most of its readership, and eventually went into a reprint mode for several years - just barely avoiding out right cancelation of the series. Then in 1975, with the publication of Giant Size X-Men 1, the squad was revamped with fresh members and a fresh direction. This led to the X-Men becoming the most famous comic and flagship superhero squad for Marvel during the 1980s and 1990s. This collection reproduces Giant Size X-Men 1, X-Men problems 94 through 110, Marvel Team-Up Annual 1, Marvel Team-Up 53, 69 and 70, Iron Fist 14 and 15, and FOOM 10; it also contains the cover of Giant Size X-Men 2, which was a reprint issue, and artwork extras. These comics introduce a lot of characters that have become staples of the Marvel Universe and the basis of the X-Men film series. The art work and stories are very good, serving as a kind of bridge to the Bronze Age of comics, in fact some consider Giant Size X-Men 1 to be the dawning of the Bronze Age of comics. Marvel's Epic Collections are quality paperback books presenting the original comics in color (unlike Marvel's Essential line which are black & white) and are more affordable alternatives to their Omnibus and Masterworks collections. If you are an X-Men fan, this collection is a must!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I've been reading comics most of my life (34 years) and I've always preferred printed comics. After ordering some comics off of Amazon I received an email from them informing me I qualified for a free kindle download. I downloaded this and I'm reading it from my phone and I love it! Kudos to Amazon for making comics fun to read from a phone. Based on the reduced prices of other books from this same series I definitely look forward to getting more of these titles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    I didn't read comics as a child. I just started reading them after the age of fifty. But I've been making up for lost time quick with collections and graphic novels. One thing I've discovered is that Chris Claremont ' s work sometimes makes my head hurt. All the wordy dialog, endless speech bubbles, and thought bubbles! At times I can barely see the artwork. This collection is different. There's the excellent amount of dialog, thoughts and descriptions. It's an enjoyable history book filled with action and background on some of Marvel's most necessary characters. And it's a lot of book fo the buck.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    A amazing method to be introduced to the x-men. Getting giant sized 1 plus 94-110 and couple tie in titles. The printing and color is well done and excellent value to read these stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    The fresh X-men meet old and you can see the beginning of some of our favorites like Wolverine, Phoenix and Nightcrawler, while losing Icema, Angel and interestingly Marvel Girl. And, Professor X goes insane. That can never be good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    THIS IS THE ONLY WAY YOU'LL GET TO GO BACK TO THAT MAGICAL BEGINNING!!! In comic book circles these stories keep the same position of importance as do the books of the Talmud to Jewish circles!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Amazing collection!.. introduces the 2nd batch of X-Men that contains Wolverine, Storm, Colossus, Nightcrawler and Banshee.. also contains Jean Grey as Phoenix..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Amazing collection with the X-Men that I remember from my younger years. Bryne is awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Second Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Amazing stories, very cool to read the original saga before the dark saga.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Chris Claremont's original run on the X-Men spanned seventeen years and saw the book propelled from a newly restarted and low selling title on a bi-monthly schedule to a colossal juggernaut in the comic globe capable of supporting a number of spin-off books and a sister is is where the initial ride ends.I'd like to say it's all gravy and that Chris Claremont went out on the top of his android game because... in a lot of ways he DID. His writing was still absolutely solid. His stories engaging. His characters charming. Unfortunately, he wasn't really ALLOWED to go out on top of his android game because for most of this book, he only serves as scripter. A PHENOMENAL scripter, yes, but there's only so much you can do when you can't direct the 's also funny that this X-Men Epic Collection features a huge chunk of non-X-Men books. There was a lot of tidying up to do before Uncanny and Adjectiveless X-Men could be soft rebooted into the Blue and Gold rosters we know and love and that meant situating the X-Factor squad into a proper jumping off point so that the squad could be reintegrated into the main X-Men books. Mostly, this means getting rid of Cyclops' son and the team's sentient headquarters while facing their greatest foe, Apocalypse, one latest time. Don't worry folks. Apocalypse will be back but he won't be an X-Factor villain ever again. But X-Factor won't ever be the same X-Factor ever again, yond that, we see the second iteration of the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants (which was calling itself Freedom Force at the time) reach the end of it's street in the early chapters of this book. We see a premature conclusion to Claremont's long running Shadow King storyline towards the end (which was really a mercy killing because that story wasn't... awesome). We see Xavier resuming his put as leader of the X-Men (even though someone decided that the only method people would recognize him again was in a wheelchair).Claremont ducks out of Uncanny X-Men before the halfway point of the Muir Isle Saga, leaving everyone else, including Jim Lee, to scramble to the finish line of that story. It doesn't turn out badly but you can definitely tell when Claremont's "voice" has left the building. He co-writes and draws the first three problems of the brand fresh X-Men series, detailing the beginning of the fresh era of the X-Men and putting a bow on his Magneto storyline in the process. This is probably the best part of the book because he and Jim Lee collaborating is just a treat to read. There are still a few hiccups where the script and the art don't exactly match up (the two "Delgado" characters is the worst offender, here) but things run much more smoothly than they did in the X-Factor pages.Overall, this would be an perfect jumping off point for a lot of X-Men readers and I REALLY hope that that isn't Marvel's plan because I'd love the Epic Collection to continue after this. But at the same time, the deck is sufficiently clear. Most of the dangling plot threads of the previous few years are resolved. With Chris Claremont's departure, Jim Lee and Whilce Portacio would attempt to tell their own stories with the X-Men for almost another year before they, too, would leave the books (and Marvel!).This was all before my time, though. I didn't actually begin reading X-Men until just prior to Fatal Attractions two years after this book. I quickly raided back problem bins to fill myself in on just what had happened before I jumped on, only learning of the wonderful contributions to the title that Chris Claremont created after he had well and truly left. He would eventually return to the book but by then, the characters had gone in directions he wouldn't have taken them and become people he didn't recognize. And it wasn't the same because it couldn't be the same.But you can always go and read his earlier run. And you won't even have to raid back problem bins to do it! This collection is by far the best option to enjoying the latest of Chris Claremont's initial X-run. The colors keep up very well and look better than they ever did in the original comics. The paper quality is solid. The extras contain Jim Lee hero sketches and magazine interviews as well and covers to earlier collected versions of this material. It's a amazing trip down memory lane with a lot of history to be had.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    It's amazing to have this necessary storyline re-issued in such a handsome volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Though the X-factor comics are rather dispersed throughput multiple collections, besides X-factor vol one, this is a amazing method to complete that collection. Be it digital or physical, these stories keep up well and still give you plenty of perfect artwork and stories. Cyclops' son Nathan Summers being infected by the techno organic virus, the X-Men run in with the Shadow King, and the beginning of Chris Claremont's and Jim Lee's X-Men from the 90's. This is a amazing overview of what would become the explosive 90's stage for the X-Men.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Amazing story and amazing art!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Considering how we have X-Factor Epic Collections, I search it odd that X-Factor #65-68 are contained. I mean #69 is part of the Muir Island Saga, and #70 is epilogue to the saga. And it's nice that they place X-Men #1-3 in here as well as all the promotional material, though it makes me think we're not going to see X-Men Epic Collection. I mean honestly, this volume for Uncanny X-Men has three problems of said title, and one annual which is the whole point of this ngs of Pain is a four part storyline that ran through Fresh Mutants Annual #7, Fresh Fighters Annual #1, Uncanny X-Men Annual #15, and X-Factor Annual #6. When you see "material from" you'd think it is of the Kings of Pain storyline. WRONG. Fresh Mutants Annual #7 reprints part one of The Killing Stroke, a backstory that shows the end of Freedom Force that runs through the other mutant annuals. No Kings of Pain storyline. Nothing from Fresh Fighters Annual #1. Then you obtain all the items from the Uncanny annual of course. X-Factor reprints the Kings of Pain chapter, and the Freedom Force chapter. So bizarre in them choosing to reprint Kings of Pain from X-Factor but not Fresh Mutants. If you wish the fully storyline, buy Fresh Fighters Classic vol 2 which reprints all four e writing and art is up and down. When you have Portacio, Kubert, and Lee doing art you have your up. But for the annuals, and X-Factor #70 you have the art down. And the writing is kind of all over the put too. I really want though I could have sat in on the meeting for them deciding what to contain in this volumen/

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Epic Collection: Mutant Genesis (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    The Kings of Pain Annuals crossover (from the Fresh Warriors, Fresh Mutants, X-Factor, and X-Men Annuals from 1991) included at the beginning of the volume are the worst comics in this collection. Heck, they're probably some of the worst comics published, ever. No lie, they're trash. I'm sure someone out there liked them but they were so bad, art & story, that I (barely) skimmed them and kept on chugging thru the book. I didn't like these at all. I couldn't create heads or tails out of what was going on and they looked terrible. This section of the book would have benefited from a "previously in X-Men..." intro as some of the non-X-Men Annuals are only partially reprinted. As is, it created very small sense. This section gets an e next part of the book consists of X-Factor problems plotted by Jim Lee & Whilce Portacio and scripted by Chris Claremont. The art by Portacio has not held up over time & looks overly complicated, and chock full of 90s cliches . In these problems you will search page after page of begin mouthed screaming, clenched teeth and tech, tech, tech, everywhere! I guess microchips and excess computer cabling were all the costuming rage for heroes & villains back in the day. Oh! And lots of overly aggressive posturing & poses ... basically everything poor we remember from the 90s comics are included here. That being said, the scripting by Claremont kept these problems readable, and read all together in one setting they were okay. In re-reading I noticed that there was lots of foreshadowing that Nate would eventually become Cable. Whenever there would be mosaics of future images, you'd see Cable in some of the broken shards of the timeline, etc. I'd grade this section a solid C+.Next up is the Muir Island Saga which was an editorial mandated storyline to clean up the different long-running subplots from the X-books ahead of the 1991 X-Men comic relaunch. Before they could do a "back to basics approach" they need to do some serious house cleaning. At that point in time, the X-Men were largely believed dead and had spent the past 2+ years (real time) running around the globe, slowly coming back together as a team, finding out they were all alive again (or something ... comics, what can you say). I'd read some of these problems when they were originally published but it was nice to read them all together in one sitting. When originally published I was only a casual X-reader so I was lost & confused about the different subplots, but re-reading it all today and knowing the history of the books I understood things much better. In all, it was a fairly decent conclusion to the story. Some of the writing is by Claremont, but the bulk is by Fabian Nicieza or "Fabian Nicieza with lots of help" (seriously check the credits page). The epilogue problem by Peter David was well done, dealing with all the fallout of the Muir Island saga conclusion. David features some nice, low key, hero moments with Rogue & Mystique, Powerful Guy & Polaris, Cyclops & Jean returning to the X-Men, Professor X's thoughts on returning to the series after several years away, etc. My only complaint is that the plots seemed ... rushed for lack of a better word. I know editorial was keen to clear the slate for the upcoming X-Men (1991) series and that's the reason for the rushed nature, but it is really evident in reading these problems all together. I'd give this story arc a B-.Finally, the latest three problems of the collection feature the Mutant Genesis story which kicked off the fresh X-Men comic book series in 1991. Back in the day the first problem sold over EIGHT MILLION COPIES (woah, mama!). These problems still keep up well today and Claremont really left the book with a bang. The art by Jim Lee is great, and we obtain some nice hero beats featuring Magneto. You can tell Claremont held him in high regard. He muses that "he does not want to hurt the X-Men" or that "we were once brothers in arms fighting the same fight", etc which is nice considering only a few years earlier he had led the X-Men in Xavier's absence. My only (minor) gripe is that basically the entire slate was wiped clean for this fresh series begin and all the familiar tropes of the X-Men were back with small build up ... the X-mansion & danger room are fully restored off-panel, Xavier is crippled yet again (sheesh give the guy a break), Magneto is villainous again and so on. Overall these problems obtain an A-.Overall I give this collection a positive recommendation for fans of 1990s X-Men comic books. Just know what you are getting into ahead of time, as it is not very fresh reader friendly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 3: Mojo Worldwide (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Mojo and his Mojoverse aren't my favorite aspects of X-Men lore and this collection didn't really change my opinion. Mojo's largest issue is that his tv references give method to him essentially breaking the fourth wall and reminding you (constantly) that this is a story. An imaginary tale. And, yes, he's right but it doesn't really support obtain you immersed in the story the creative squads are trying to is is further damage by a feeling that nothing event really MATTERS. Sure, there are some consequences to this issue. Status quos are changed forever and all that fun stuff. But the stakes never really feel that high and they SHOULD feel high considering that Mojo is attempting to invade and alter Fresh York City. Unfortunately, the story quickly pulls the rug out of the idea that anything event can be lethal and while Mojo TRIES to reestablish just how deadly everything can be, after proving it's NOT, you can't really place that genie back in the t that I wanted a hero to die or anything but e costume changes that accompany our heroes revisiting past storylines are fun but the confuse everything when the casts of both main X-teams feature a LOT of duplicate characters. You've got two Storms, two Wolverines (kinda), and Rachel AND Jean Greys. So it hurts readability when you're not sure which hero is at being said, Cullen Bunn particularly writes the hell out of his chapters of this book. The material he's given to work with is weak but the hero work is very solid. There's also some very beautiful art in this collection, even though it opens with some rather weak art (which is more because of the coloring than anything else).It just doesn't seem like this crossover really MATTERS. There's no sense of urgency. The scope is lost. Really, I found myself barely being able to pay attention to the shenanigans. And DOES it matter? Instead of being released as a crossover style book, this collection is specifically labeled "X-Men Gold volume 3" making it part of the Gold storyling even though half the book is X-Men Blue. This helps me put it on my shelf but also makes me wonder how necessary this will be to X-Men Blue's story. I mean, it's THAT squad that faces the more severe repurcussions but even then, it's just a change in nuance more than something front and ter solid starts for both X-Men squads in their volume ones, the stories of both groups have quickly dropped into forgettable location culminating (hopefully) with this shared storyline. Hopefully, both books obtain their act back together for their next respective volumes. I love X-Men books but I also like them being on top of their android game reads. Obtain better, guys!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 3: Mojo Worldwide (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Collecting:----X-Men Gold #13-15----X-Men Blue #13-15This crossover episode picks up where X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires (X-Men Gold (2017-)) and X-Men Blue Vol. 2: Toil and Trouble left off. The time-displaced young X-Men and the veteran X-Men are caught up in Mojo's insane attempt to take over the jo's plot pits the X-Men versus "classic" foes in a series of scenarios that takes readers on a retrospective tour of the all the "greatest hits" of X-Men history. This playlist is both the strength and weakness of this book. Readers are shown glimpses of (**inhales deeply**): X-Men: Asgardian Wars ,X-Men: Inferno ,X-Men: Days of Future Past X-Men: Mutant Genesis ,X-Men: X-Tinction Agenda ,Avengers vs. X-Men ,X-Men: Mutant Massacre as well as Apocalypse, the Shi'ar, the Savage Land and Krakoa. (**whew!**)The strength of Mojo's twisted tour through X-Men history is that it was an equal mix of fun and nostalgia to see how a lot of of Mojo's battlegrounds I knew from years past. Unfortunately the scope of the tour is also the weakness of this issue: all the references are ridiculously short, lasting anywhere between a couple panels and a handful of pages. There is no zone to even explain why the scenario is noteworthy. If you don't have a familiarity with the scenarios, then they are meaningless and repetitive. A small editorial eye could've paired the list down and created it much more meaningful for both fresh and veteran at said, I've loved Mojo since he first appeared in X-Men: Longshot. He lives in a globe of sensationalism, media manipulation, viewership, and ratings and offers not a small sly commentary on our own media-saturated world. Longshot's YouTube channel was an intelligent counterpoint to Mojo's broadcast-based media ere is a lot to like here, even if it was a small effusive. The relationship between Kitty and Jean's squads will certainly be impacted by the revalations in this book. I hope some of the threads dropped in the is novel are picked up in the next ter this crossover issue, the adventures of Kitty's Gold squad continue in X-Men Gold Vol. 4: The Negative Location War and Jean's Blue squad continue in X-Men Blue Vol. 3: Cross-Time Capers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 3: Mojo Worldwide (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I want Marvel would stop bringing Mojo back. I know he's a stand-in for the hated corporate types who ruin creativity, but it is always the same old story. Allow it go, is one has the time-lost young X-Men meet Mojo for the first time, but it did not do anything new. Mojo is a part of the 90s we can do without. Since he basically has unlimited power, it is not a true battle, related to so, the X-Men Blue suffers from fresh artists every issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 3: Mojo Worldwide (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Total filler. Even the Bunn problems feel like filler but its obvious this was total is arc just crams as much fanwank as possible but its not charming or satisfying just incredibly contrived. Mojo is supposed to be seen as somewhat of a serious threat but its not a lot of Kitty shouting orders as if being a Captain America/Cyclops level technician has always been her mutant power GROAN

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 3: Mojo Worldwide (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    amazing read. better than the cover led on

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 3: Mojo Worldwide (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    “X-Men Gold volume 3 – Mojo Worldwide” collects problems #13-15 of BOTH X-Men Gold and X-Men Blue (6 issues).As all amazing X-Men stories do, this starts with the two squads at a softball game, when items happens. From the title of the collection, you will already know who is behind the e items involved dropping different squads of X-Men into scenarios from their long history – Goblin Queen, Apocalypse, X-tinction, Asgard Wars, futures, pasts and alternate presents, spite the two titles being written by their respective writers (and 4 artists/teams), it genuinely is a smooth-flowing 6-part story where you don’t message the joins.When I reviewed the opening volumes of these two series, I said –“So what can you do when it’s all been done before, more than once, with every variation you can think of?Do it all again, and have fun doing it.”Well, they have taken my suggestion to heart, and here they actually do throw everything at us – but it is done well, and genuinely is entertaining, which is all we should expect from a comic book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 3: Mojo Worldwide (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I do not know what is going on with the X Men lately. This felt like every single trope badly mashed together. The art is amazing in spots. The storytelling is very rushed. The stage where Rachel Summers ([email protected]#$%!&? Jean Grey) scolds young Scott Summers (dressed as 90s Scott Summers) for siding with Magneto was just bizarre. I hold reading but I just do not feel the stories are working.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    The second volume of X-men Gold loses some of it's luster from the first volume. The art is still what makes the book but the stories are short and adds nothing to the overall scheme of things. The first two chapters introduces a fresh X-Cutioner, a concept hero from the nineties. A fill in chapter has Kate testifying before Congress followed by two chapters resurrecting the nineties villain Omega Red. The final chapter is another filler looking at the background of an alien mutant that was a minor hero from the first is review is for the kindle edition and truthfully it's hard to recommend even the five dollars for it, but better than purchasing the paperback for more. For X-Men fans only, otherwise skip it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Marc Guggenhiem has the dubious distinction of capturing the spirit of Chris Claremont-lite. The characterization is better here than the first volume, but the plots just don't feel fresh or original. Part of the issue is the weight of all the cannon Guggenhiem appears to be respecting, which other X-titles have largely cleared out in from a fresh focus or a plot constraint (time displaced original X-men) which removes some of the four decades of plot baggage. This saddens me because of this mixture of my favorite characters from Claremont and Alan Davis era Excalibur and early 90s X-men should really speak to me, but the appeal does seem to be mostly nostalgia. Guggenhiem almost seems aware of the repetition: . Kitty how her with Peter again is old ground and not progressing, and this mirrored by the mutant decoration bill, Russian occultists resurrecting Omega Red, and Nightcrawler and Rachel Summers rekindling a possible old connection. All of these plots could be so much more than they are if they were allowed to have some zone and develop into fresh and original ways. I feel like Guggenhiem is aware of this though and is almost commenting on the editorial control's limitations. This has a related feel to the issues of the X-books around the time of Jim Lee took the mantel as Chris Claremont left out. This saddens me because the attempts to bring life back into X-men titles since it looked like Marvel was trying to have Inhumans replace them. It seems to take a name larger than even Jeff Lemire to breathe life into these books, and Marvel seems to cancel the ones with promise. There are some tips with the Demon plot line that could be VERY interesting if and only if it doesn't end up being an Inferno re-thread. While I didn't love all the Joss Whedon and Grant Morrison level arcs, but they did seem to attempt to do what late Claremont did, which is push the status quo ahead and breathe fresh life into the books. Guggenheim seems like he is not allowed to do that here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Collecting:---X-Men Gold #7-12This book continues from the inaugural X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back to the Basics. The Central Park based squad of X-Men treads some familiar ground in this book as writer Marc Guggenheim gives readers the "classic squad with a twist" theme that Marvel aimed for when the X-teams got assic romantic pair Kitty and Colossus furtively discover the possibilities of a romance or something more while explicitly suggesting that this time around the relationship has to be something "different". Another pair of teammates, former Excalibur members, also discover the chance of a romantic spark. These apprehensive steps towards relationships are set versus the familiar back drop of a globe that hates and fears mutants. There is pending "mutant deportation" legislation that Kitty travels to Washington to argue against...however things never go according to plan! Meanwhile back at the X-Mansion the students and staff have a assassin with a grudge stalking the e strength of the book is the cast. I really have fun these characters who have a rich backstory, and I felt that Guggenheim walked the the line between carrying that backstory and keeping it new rather well. The artwork in these problems wasn't especially is book ends on a cliffhanger as the Gold squad is scheduled for a crossover with the Blue squad in X-Men Gold Vol. 3: Mojo Worldwide

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This was an utter disappointment especially considering that vol 1 was almost a return to form to who the xmen where. The stories felt very lazily written and the art was all over the place. I was really hoping that I was going to see a brand fresh and better xmen stories because marvel has been basically writing them as antagonist rather than the heroes they used to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    Art is sloppy and writing is just okay but its a fun mindless nostalgic t a Kitty Pryde fan so that doesnt support considering how shoe horned she is in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    This volume collects problems #7-12 of the recent X-Men core-team book. This one, however, is just not quite an interesting as the first volume, not helped by having three various artists who don’t blend in with each other at all my review of the first volume of this series, there’s not much you can do with 40-year-old characters who have been everywhere and done everything, other than do it all again, but with enthusiasm and fun.Unfortunately, while we (old people) have seen the stories before, the artwork is not as amazing as in some of the original stories; not all of it, but not enough of is just felt rtunately, I read a library copy, so I didn’t spend any cash directly on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    interesting read. like how they're dealing with inner relationships

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-13 18:1

    I thought it kept building and I loved how private it got with the hero growth. Not everything needs to be about action

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    Collects the first six problems but the prime problem is NOT included as described. There are two story arcs so the pacing is very quick. The downside is that the effect is mostly action with no true driving story. Search poor guys, beat them up, fresh menace pops up, and beat that up too. The plus side contains Kat Pryde leading the X-Men and the squad contains old favorites along with "new" members such as Armor and Stone. Despite not having the Prime issue, a amazing beginning to the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    Collects:---X-Men Gold 1-6Bonus: Variant Cover GalleryThe X-Men squads were rebooted after the Inhumans Vs. X-Men event. The Gold team, led by Kitty Pryde, finds itself located in Central Park and fighting familiar opponents including a racist anti-mutant demagogue, a super powered sentinel, and a revamped Brotherhood of Evil Mutants. While there was nothing especially fresh about the fight, the roster that contains Rachel Grey (Prestige), Nightcrawler, Colossus, Logan, and Storm certainly collects some of the best X-characters in one place. Kitty Pryde's leadership role was especially well-written as was her troubled relationship with fellow X-Man, Colossus. There were even a few moments of humor that had this reader laughing (notably when the squad is presented with property tax bill for their fresh zone in Central Park!).The classic roster (and the absence of annoyingly still time-displaced young original X-Men) create the Gold volume far superior to the ongoing sister X-Men Blue Vol. 1: Strangest . In the absence of the time-honored "Uncanny X-Men", X-Men Gold seems like it will be the fresh flagship title for X-fans.I look forward to follow this squad in X-Men Gold Vol. 2: Evil Empires

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    Well there's quite a bit of controversy regarding this problem but I won't obtain into that here. The story seems to be building towards something. And in a method this problem kinda reminds me of the older comics I grew up reading. That's a amazing thing. But just how rich was prof X? Kitty didn't really seem too freaked out about that 18 million dollar bill! Why hasn't Peter moved on and which Nightcrawler is that on this team? I guess later problems will respond these questions?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    I am very satisfied, this art and political and religious reference makes this Comic book art value priceless.I have fun reading this problem of X-Men and knowing that this comic book is designed around true globe problems is also priceless. Amazing investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    While focusing on a squad built around Excalibur and late 80s/early 90s X-men create a lot of sense in X-men Gold, one feels like maybe the narrative weight of latest two decades of X-men comics is weakening any ver of the House of X properties. I do like Kitty Pryde as a focus and the re-imagining of Rachel Summers, the book seems to struggle to search its identity and narrative thrust.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    Amazing read. Brings me back to what the group's was in the late 80s. Cant wait for more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    Good, but not without it's flaws. The squad of X-Men works beautiful decently together, and I love the idea of Kitty Pryde as the leader, that created for an interesting read. My largest complaint would probably be regarding the Brotherhood of Mutants, though. Not going to give away any details, but overall, I did NOT like the direction they took them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    Really to be fair, I'd say that my dad liked it. I accidentally damaged his original copy of this book and he practically had a cow. When I told him I'd test to replace it he snorted that it was extremely hard to find. Well challenge accepted! I sent for this book in no time i was passing it back to him. P.S., when i checked the old damaged one out for myself out of curiosity, I found the writing on par with classic X-men series. No needless hero assassination or gratuitous sex or violence here. just amazing writing that supports it's self.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    It's like visiting old mates again! The art is crisp and new and the writing is top-notch! Can't wait for the second issue!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 1: Back To The Basics (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-23 18:1

    I can't obtain into a straight up X-MEN story. I decided to test this fresh run, but nope, still can't obtain into it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Blue Vol. 0 : Reunion (Uncanny X-Men (1963-2011)) review [Book]  2018-4-3 18:1

    It was a amazing series. I think it's cool but the art seemed to be a small lackluster but still amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I'm reviewing both volumes together in one entry since I read them back-to-back. I applaud Byrne's efforts to fill in the "missing years" of the X-Men, stories set during the time when their monthly title was in reprint-only at time, leading from the latest story featuring the original X-Men into the debut of the All-New X-Men (Wolverine, Storm, Nightcrawler and company) years later, as a reader has always had me curious. Byrne, having co-authored and drawn some of the best, most-lasting X-Men stories of the 80s, should have been the right pick for this project. I ended up being a bit disappointed when I finally got to read the run in these two collected volumes (especially after the favorable reviews from several friends). Byrne's art is as begin and airy as ever, a nice change from the ever-darker current comics art shop (which I also like, but a breather is nice occasionally). But his story pacing suffers from what I perceive to be two rst, there's the modern penchant for "decompressed" storytelling, which is sometimes a boon and sometimes a curse. In Byrne's hands here, storylines drag out interminably before any conclusions are reached -- at one point in volume two I think there were 5 various major plots all going on at once. I'm fine with little hero moments hinting at the next storyline to come (as with Candy Southern's appearance at the X-Mansion to deliver necessary news to The Angel), but when the author is juggling major plot action for 4 various groups of characters at once (Havok, Lorna, Iceman & Ka-Zar in the Savage Land; Cyclops, Candy, Angel and Marvel Girl in the hands of The Promise; Xavier and Beast with the Girl Who Controls Sentinels; and then the Unbelievable Four vs. Magneto & Namor retelling from FF 102-104), something really has to give. Anyone one of these four storylines, or the ones that preceded, could have been shortened/compressed and still would have had room for hero growth and Byrne's all-out war e second problem, which rolls of of the first, is that it seems like this series came along during that time when Editors still felt like they could leave Byrne to his own devices and not lend some constructive criticism. At this point in the X-Men's history, the squad had 5 regular members (Cyclops, Angel, Beast, Iceman and Marvel Girl) plus Prof. Xavier and probationary members Havok and Lorna Dane. A little enough roster that should/could have been shown working together as the tight unite they'd become, dealing with the addition of two fresh members. And yet, in these two volumes representing 22 monthly comics, the squad spends far more time apart than they do together, starting in the very first issue. I [email protected]#$%!&?mer editorial hand would have convinced Byrne to hold the squad together, and still tell the stories he tells -- which might have helped create the stories feel less drawn-out and ere are some amazing characterization moments, and I'm glad I read the book simply for the early Cyclops-Havok sibling dynamic, for the look at Beast's concerns that he would "go wild," and especially the method Byrne uses Iceman as the youngest member / hothead of the group. I also liked Byrne's appropriation of mutants from early 1960s Marvel comics, linking the company's pre-FF past to its present.I liked these stories, but felt they could have been so much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Collecting: X-Men The Hidden Years #1-12The X-Men are Marvel's top-selling super team, and the characters are some of the most recognizable comic book characters in the world. However, the X-Men were nearly cancelled. After some low sales figures the X-Men series went into reprints. X-Men #67-93 simply had fresh covers and old material between hn Byrne helmed the Hidden Years series to tell the story of what the X-Men were doing during those lost issues. Byrne wrote some of the most iconic X-Men problems between 1977 and 1981. Byrne & Claremont's writing influenced the direction of the series for decades. Byrne returned to X-Men with the Hidden Years in e twelve episodes of the Hidden Years collected in this graphic novel are a superb blend of nostalgia and new. The style of the comics is very modern with asymmetrical panels and much less reliance on inner-dialogue than would have been the case in a real "retro" series. However the original X-team recently "graduated" from school play the protagonists. Of course, epic wars with Magneto abound in these pages.What I especially have fun is Byrne's clever use of hindsight. We catch glimpses of Sunfire, Storm and other X-men before they were X-Men. Readers will see Marvel Girl's first shiver of the Pheonix power.If you've followed the early X-Men episodes in the Marvel Masterworks series, the Hidden Years graphic novel is a amazing addition. Read the Hidden Years after Marvel Masterworks: The X-Men Vol. 6 (Hardcover). The Hidden Years takes put during Marvel Masterworks: X-Men - Volume 7. If you're a long time x-fan, I believe you will have fun these nostalgic episodes as much as I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    As a huge fan of John Byrne , loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    As someone who read the original series, back in the 60s and was disappointed when it ended, I was excited to learn about these booklets. The quality of the tales and the artistry was, however, a disappointment. As to the latter, Mr. Byrne writes that he's not Neal Adams - well, no one is, but still, his interpretation of the characters created them strangers, rather than "old friends".I found the story lines weak, mostly a re-hashing of old themes with small originality. The few sub-plots that could have developed in interesting directions were never followed up on, such as the effects of re-animation on the Professor and the development of the characters' private lives.Or, perhaps I've simply out-grown the medium...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    This is the slowest moving X-Men story I think I've ever read. I can't believe it was only written in 2012. It feels like reading a comic from the 60s. I don't know if that's what they were going for or not, but this book is just bad!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    hn d e inner thoughts of the Xmen during this e Unbelievable white washing Magneto

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I was excited about this book because of John Byrne. This is not one of his better works and I would skip this book if you have a choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Best X-men book in years!And easily the best book since Bryne and Claremont's original run in the 1970's. I adore this series and [email protected]#$%!'d gone on for a full run. Here's some information lifted from Wiki:"The series attempted to fill in the period in the early 1970s when the original X-Men comic was publishing only reprints of earlier issues. The series was intended to fill in the team's chronology during the reprint problems of the original X-Men series (#67-93). According to Byrne, the series "was clearly finite, since [Giant-Size X-Men #1] was out there as an "end point" for my series, but the method I had it worked out, I could have easily done 100 problems or more before I had to send the squad off to Krakoa."[1] However, as part of a retooling of the X-Men line, X-Men: The Hidden Years was cancelled, prematurely ending its run with problem #22."If you're a longtime X-fan, you simply must read this volume. It'll be the most Marvel fun you'll have all year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    The X-Men have had a number of incarnations. The first was in the 1960s, when Lee and Kirby came up with the premise (a school for fledgling superheroes who had been born with unusual powers), and made the original characters. The series ran for a few years then fizzled out, and was replaced with reprints for about 1/3 of its print veral years later, Len Wein, Chris Claremont and Dave Cockrum collaborated in reviving the book, which was retitled Uncanny X-Men. They threw out several of the original characters, brought in some fresh ones, and took the narrative in exciting fresh directions.A couple of years later, Cockrum was replaced by John Byrne, who helped shape the book visually and was instrumental in co-plotting the series through some of its most seminal issues, including the original Dark Phoenix rne is a skilled writer and artist, as he demonstrated in his work on several major comic books over the years, so I had high hopes for X-Men The Hidden Years, which he had almost total control over. So I have to confess that I was a small disappointed, not by the art or storytelling, but by the writing, which is not Byrne's rne's artwork is wonderful, clear, attractive and vibrant, on par with his best work on Superman/Man of Steel. Tom Palmer's inking, assisted on some pages by Joe Sinnott, is also wonderful. But the stories in this book feel like a kind of pablum compared Byrne's work on titles like Unbelievable Four and Superman, which he also wrote and ose stories were compelling and had depth; the characters felt true and three dimensional. The ones in this book are fast-moving and have some clever elements, but by and huge are not in the same e main issue is that things drag. There's a lot of action but very small hero development -- a issue that plagued the original X-Men series, because the characters and their relationships were inherently dull. Uncanny X-Men had the tension between Cyclops and Wolverine, and the troubled love story between Scott Summers and Jean Grey/Phoenix to create it compelling; this book, like the first X-Men series that fizzled, has a lot of nice characters being nice to each other problem after issue. That's all well and amazing but it means any drama has to be external, and not affect the characters on a core level.Of course Byrne was constrained, restricted by the (already published) stories on either side of the continuity gap this series tried to fill. But he could have revealed more about the characters' lives, pasts and personalities. It's hard for a reader to stay interested when there's not even a remote chance of hero development or change.Another issue is that the dialogue is a small stodgy. The characters tend to stand around talking about and explaining things we've already seen. We see Iceman leave the squad for a while, and we see why. We then see other characters talking for a page or two about the fact that he's left, and speculating about his reasons for leaving, which were created clear at the time. We see the Angel fly a dying hero up into the sky; the hero thinks he's taking her to heaven. All well and good, but then the other characters have a small conversation remarking on the fact that he's just flying her into the sky, not really taking her to heaven. Which we just saw. It's not that the stage is bad, but the dialogue is redundant, tells us things we already know, and should have been trimmed. Byrne could have used a more active editor to deal with moments like these, because they do drag the book down after a e effect is what I'd call "X-Men Lite"... stories with a lot of action and color, but a dearth of emotional substance. If the series had continued I expect Byrne would have realized this, but it ended after the 22 problems reprinted in this volume and in Volume 2.On the plus side, both books do work as an homage of sorts to the previous writers and artists. The layouts remind me of some of the most innovative page and panel compositions of Neal Adams. Tom Palmer's inking is still extraordinary after all these years. Even Joe Sinnott drops by to lend a hand.If you don't mind the repetition and lack of hero development, these stories can be fun to read, and nice to look at. John's come a long method as an artist; his work on a visual level in this series is extraordinary. I hope he'll return to comics soon with a series where he can present his strengths as a writer again. He is a unbelievable one, on the right series, when he's free to surprise readers and create changes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 1 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    When John Byrne, beautiful much a legend in the comics industry, was set to begin this book, telling the stories of the original X-Men's activities after their cancellation with problem 66 and before their relaunch with Giant Size #1, I couldn't have been happier. After all, Byrne paired with Chris Claremont built the X-Men into a famous comic between the late 70s and early 80s. This ought to be fantastic. And honestly, it's not. John Byrne wanted to write these stories in the same method that Roy Thomas and future Batman art legend Neal Adams had on their brief tenure with the X-Men. I suppose that's all well and good, but this book had a retro feel for all the wrong reasons. Much of the storytelling did not leave my jaw dropping or inspire eagerness to search out what the next page would hold. Byrne's art sadly left much to be desired as well. Without the smooth inks of Terry Austin, Byrne's pencils look unpolished and scratchy. I want he would have gotten a newer artist to join him so he could just write the stories. And with all of the lore that he could have played with regarding the past and future of the X-Men, he only showed an early encounter with Storm. He left two doors begin that maybe future writers of the current X-books could pursue, like the surviving members of The Promise, or young Ashley Martin, but who knows if they will ever becomerelevant in the continuity again. Also, other than referencing Star Battles or Schwarzenegger (to sort of set this timeline possibly in the 80s) the dialogue at times is painful. I obtain that silver age writing wasn't exactly Proustian, but some of it just sounds damn corny. Magneto, who I view more sympathetically in current continuity, comes off like a posturing dope of asuper villain. Beast, the muscle and brains of the X-Men, has a huge vocabulary, granted, but he's written like a verbal present off a majority of the time. If you prefer an authentic X-Men experience based on the original run, maybe you will like this series. As someone who read post Giant Size era X-Men where the characters are better developed with more depth, this run wasn't for me. I expected much better from John Byrne.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    John Byrne wrapped up his run on “X-Men: the Hidden Years” and the second volume is stronger than the first one. Byrne moves the action out of the Savage Land and, thankfully, stops the foreshadowing since the Phoenix force and Storm do not appear here as they did in the first one. Byrne knows these characters well and he tutorials them through some interesting plots, even when they end up as supporting characters for a classing Lee and Kirby Unbelievable Four story (which is included here). Byrne also leads the art squad up with some solid work. This is a nice wrap up and a fun collection of comics, even if they don’t create much sense without reading the first volume. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Collecting: X-Men: The Hidden Years #13-22--Fantastic Four (1961) #102-104--Yellow Claw #2 (excerpts)--Amazing Adult Fantasy #14 (excerpts)This graphic novel completes the Hidden Years series (see also X-Men: The Hidden Years - Volume 1 for the first half). The Hidden Years is a lot of fun for long-time X-Men readers such as myself, but it requires a bit of situating to understand "why" there is a Hidden Years series. During the early 1970s X-Men was cancelled: problems 67-93 were reprints of older problems with fresh covers. Between 1999 and 2001, after X-Men had become a beautiful huge success, writer John Byrne was able to tell the story of what the original X-Men were up to during those missing episodes. Byrne was able to craft this series with all the benefits of hindsight in order to craft a series that really could have fit into Marvel is graphic has exactly what readers would expect of the X-Men from the early 1970s: Sentinels, Kraven, a Yeti, Mole Man, and even a crossover happening with the Unbelievable Four. If you look closely the "Mr. President" that Reed Richard addresses bears a striking resemblance to Richard Nixon!The problem, of course, with creating a "period piece" is that it does have a feeling artifice. The lines are a bit corny, the opponents can be ridiculous (Mole Man), but there is a lot to have fun here as well. X-Fans really should obtain this problem to search out how it REALLY started. There is always something nostalgically fun about watching the X-Men under Prof X war the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants under Magneto.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    I like byrne books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Really not good writing. But the art is nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Really cool story, retconning some amazing time-periods for the X-Men, before the Ginat-Sized #1 rebuild. Amazing characterizations, amazing artwork.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    John Byrne managed to do further work of Neal Adams in X-Men. The style of the graphics, art, colors and uniforms closely resemble the work of Adams and it was with amazing joy that I read these "lost adventures". The compilation album has amazing graphic quality. I like and recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    As someone who read the original series, back in the 60s and was disappointed when it ended, I was excited to learn about these booklets. The quality of the tales and the artistry was, however, a disappointment. As to the latter, Mr. Byrne writes that he's not Neal Adams - well, no one is, but still, his interpretation of the characters created them strangers, rather than "old friends".I found the story lines weak, mostly a re-hashing of old themes with small originality. The few sub-plots that could have developed in interesting directions were never followed up on, such as the effects of re-animation on the Professor and the development of the characters' private lives.Or, perhaps I've simply out-grown the medium...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    Loved this. John Byrne's contribution to the X-men storytelling when he was with Chris Claremont was overlooked. Glad he got to return to this title. He's very creative and it shows in this series. And as always his artwork is excellent. He's one of my very favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    e series was chop too e Unbelievable Four story (I didn't buy Reed Richards being unable to figure how to beat Magneto)e art was seemingly rushed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men: The Hidden Years Vol. 2 (X-Men: The Hidden Years (1999-2001)) review [Book]  2018-3-12 18:1

    i love john byrne art but he is too much like a soap opera in his more latest books. too much drama and not enough action.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Gold Vol. 4: The Negative Zone War (X-Men Gold (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:1

    X-Men Gold has steadily declined since it premiered. Vol. 4 collects problems 16-20 and the alien mutant that has been around from vol. 1 is the foe. His planet is in the Negative Location and is the leader of a fascist / old forgotten cult that aims for the typical globe domination stuff. The X-Men obtain involved, war the poor guys, slay the poor guys, and go home. The pacing of the story is typical and unsurprising even when Logan ends the leader. The art is fine. This volume really rates at 2.5 stars but since it was only .99 cents will bump it to three.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    X-Men Blue Vol. 3: Cross Time Capers (X-Men Blue (2017-)) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:1

    A bunch of time travel to alternative pasts and futures (don't ask - Beast keeps assuring us that we won't understand, which means the writer doesn't either) for absolutely no reason. Do I care about these realms? No. Was there ANY hero development? Nope. Did this provide any suspense that led anywhere? Nope. Nothing in the other pasts or futures were gripping enough to hold me excited. The X-Men just hold leaving, and now there's even more future X-Men made to probably drag into the book later. Except none intrigued me because I felt nothing towards them. It was not like Peter David's second X-Factor when Maddox and Layla are hanging out with Cyclops and his daughter Ruby. There we learn how Fitzroy became soulless. Things agine flipping through channels watching these X-Men stumble into various times, have a fight, learn time travel screws items up, and stumble out. Then those times no longer exist. Maybe. Oh, and alternative timeline Bloodstorm (sigh) shows how strong she is and alternative timeline Wolverine's son (sigh) shows how like Wolverine he is - he even has amnesia! e original X-Men have to go home. That's what 1964 Professor X and Magneto say. But me as well. I loved when this first began. Cyclops dealing with being Cyclops when that was not popular. Iceman in Miami. Iceman telling Iceman he is gay. Beast realizing he is technologically obsolete. Jean dealing with future her having married future Cyclops, and multiple deaths. Angel and the ummm second Wolverine dating. They developed as people.But there's no put for them now. Jean's solo series was cool. But I would actually be a lot more interested in reading about these characters back in 1965. How do they cope with what they know? Jean should be able to protect some memories, with some Beast magic and future-future tech. Bobby gay then. Jean no longer leader because she's a girl. Having to hide what they remember from Prof X, who will fake his death soon anyway in that time. Maybe we'll understand why things happened differently. Small things the X-Men do that tweek things into event like the original series, but we'll have a fresh layer of understanding of the cause this time travel and alternative timeline X-Men items is boring. I still don't like Cable or Bishop, and Rachel has grown beyond her past a small finally. There's enough mutants here and now. The future ALWAYS is poor for mutants. We obtain it. No one can change it. Can they live now?

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter