Read a brit on the loose reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a brit on the loose reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    A fascinating story built on a very popular person. A book that I will read again. It a spellbinding story, one of the best FBI books written. Hope all of you have fun it as much as I have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Totally predictable. Yep, it had all the parts, almost as if it'd been programmed into and printed from a computer. Had to force myself to [email protected]#$%!. Maybe this is what happens when a amazing writer puts out so a lot of books so fast, they no longer care if they satisfy literary style. My first and latest Coulter book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    FBI unique agents Michaela (Mike) Caine and Nicholas Drummond of The Brit in the FBI series are vacationing at Drummond’s family estate in England (of course it’s an estate), when they are asked to look into very strange assassinations and a ransomware attack on Drummond’s father’s company. As members of the FBI unique Covert Eyes group they have unique talents and resources and are tasked to go anywhere in the globe where they are dies and gentlemen: begin your engines for The Sixth Day’s wild ride through London. There are several plot lines, but oddly enough they do manage to fit together in a very believable way; as long as you maintain the requisite suspension of belief in regards to the vampire plot line. So allow me give you a fast summary of all you will have to prepare yourself for: the aforementioned assassinations and ransomware, more assassinations, the viral infections and security breeches into supposedly the best computer security in the world, attack falcons, manuscripts that can’t be read but talk to certain people, and a drone army. For spoilers sake I’m even leaving a few unds crazy, right? Well gather ‘round while I play know-it-all. The US government, until very recently did have the Russian owned Kaspersky Labs computer security company inside most government computer systems. By invitation. Recently our folks realized, Russian government security systems might have gotten their hot small hands on ownership. Ooopsies. The US Air Force is looking into training falcons to take down drones. The Voynich Manuscript does exist, but has never been translated or stolen from the Beinicke library. Micro-dots of LSD are being looked into as a method to calm severe agitation. Ransonware does exist. So, I would have to say Coulter and Ellison do a unbelievable job in searching out the obscure and arcane for their books and weaving it all together. Depending on their writing schedule, they might have been prescient too.I just want they did a better job with actually putting words to page, so choppy and abrupt. In some locations too melodramatic. The characters are so minor; the poor guys are far more interesting and better written. Not much chemistry between the Mike and Nicholas despite their being partners, both romantic and professional. As I’ve written before, I miss the days of Coulter writing romantic e chapter headings, especially the ones about falconry, may be among the best I’ve come across. One heading explains the traditional royal precedence for falconry ownership. Actually the chapters on falconry were among the best written and most fascinating. In fact the falcons alone return the stars I took away for the writing and ulter and Ellison’s explanations of computer vulnerabilities were clear and understandable, even for the non-techies. Actually their explanations were almost too amazing and had me eyeing my computer this was a mixed bag for me. If you like well done complex plots this is for you. If you like smooth writing and compelling characters, don’t hurry to read it. Unless you are a long time Coulter and Ellison fan as I ank you to NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review

    0  


    Add your opinion on a brit on the loose or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    Nicholas Drummond and Michaela (Mike) Caine, members of the FBI’s Covert Eyes Team, are vacationing at the Drummond Estate in England. Nicholas, a computer genius, is the first Brit to join the FBI. Before their relaxation can start a ransomeware attack shuts down the computers in the Drummond family business. Nicholas easily solves the issue and uses his code to correct a wider ransomware attack shutting down government computers.While the computer crisis is occurring there are several unexplained deaths of business and political leaders. When Mike spots a drone at the stage of one of the murders the hunt is on for who is controlling the drones, and whether the assassinations are tied sides the modern technical problems, the plot focuses on the Voynich Manuscript. The manuscript has never been translated, but a young researcher, Dr. Isabella Marin, has found some missing pages in the British Museum and believes the manuscript is written in some form of twin talk. There is even a vampire component. One of the technical geniuses, Roman Ardelean, a descendant of Vlad the Impaler (Dracula,) is looking for blood to cure his twin brother’s rare hemophilia.A clever, quick moving plot draws you into this combination murder mystery, technological thriller and historical puzzle. The characters are likable. Nicholas and his computer geek sidekick, Adam, are fascinating as they set out to solve apparently insolvable computer security breaches. Mike, is beautiful, brilliant, and a amazing foil for Nicholas.I recommend this book if you like a true page turner. The settings in England and the US are realistic although some of the activities are quite out of the ordinary.I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    This first in a series is a winner, in real Coulter fashion. Amazing story line, amazing plot, and exemplary hero development. This book held my attention from the first word to the last. Catherine is one of my three favorite thriller authors. The other two are Baldacci and Tim Tigner. I still have to read Adam Croft. But these three set a high standard to meet. You can't go wrong with Catherine's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    The Lost Key had much to recommend it. The main characters--Nicholas Drummond and his FBI partner, Michaela Caine- are gifted and very spunky, and the poor guys are ferocious! It's quite exciting as they test to solve two murders and unravel a clue they have been given--"the key is in the lock". Two young people, quite brilliant, the kids of one of the murdered men, add a lot to the story.BUT, the book is awfully long, and the hero, Nick, is method too perfect. His partner calls him James Bond because he is a Brit who is newly trained as a FBI agent, but he reminds me of Batman, mansion, butler,and all. There is also maybe too much dependence on true and rather unreal 21st century technology innovations--it roams into sci-fi land, where I don't really like to perfect addition is quite a bit of info about Marie Curie, one of whose discoveries figures in the plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    Mix in a dash of Dan Brown's "DaVinci Code," a splash of James Patterson's "Private" and a whole lot of originality from two very talented co-authors and what do you get? A page-turner of history-linked chills, thrills and intrigue that will hold you engrossed from beginning to end. In fact, I highly recommend the entire "Brit in the FBI" series (this one, I believe, is the fifth).Primary characters and mates with benefits Nicholas Drummond and Michaela Caine are on the unique Covert Eyes FBI squad - one that plays well with the FBI's British counterpart (Nicholas is the first British agent to join the FBI). They've been called in amid what is thought to be assassinations of a couple of business and political bigwigs in London, with the hope that the squad can sort things out and, needless to say, catch the culprit(s). As readers learn early on, the killings may be linked to the Castle of Vlad Dracul III in 1448 and a mysterious Voynich Manuscript that involves cryptophasia (a.k.a., a language of twins); the occasional chapter flips to days of old to trace the manuscript's footprint throughout its elusive e trail extends far and wide but seems to be tied to Roman Ardelean, the uber-wealthy owner of a cybersecurity firm that provides software to governments and businesses worldwide. Not insignificantly, he's also a descendant of Vlad the Impaler (often believed to be Dracula), and his twin brother, computer genius Radu, suffers from a particularly nasty and incurable form of hemophilia. The brothers are convinced that pages in the Voynich Manuscript - pages that have just turned up at a London historical museum after having been mysteriously "discovered" by Romanian expert Dr. Isabella Marin - spell out what Radu needs for a complete between are true and threatened attacks by a cadre of seriously high-tech drones and seemingly low-tech but deadly falcons; whether or not they're all connected to the Ardeleans and the manuscript will place to the try the considerable computer skills of Nicholas and his team-member mate Adam in what might be called a war of the programmers. Non-techies needn't worry, though; everything is explain well enough that even an aging grandmother like me can understand it (well, enough that it all created sense, at least).Many thanks to the publisher, via NetGalley, for the opportunity to read an advance copy in exchange for an honest review - which is that this is a very exciting, well-written story you don't wish to miss. Another winner!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    This is the fifth book in the A Brit in the FBI series that can be read as a stand-alone.Take a true manuscript, a codex that is centuries old, that no one can decipher and from the creative license of two authors comes a fantastical tale of its beginnings and its possible meaning told between deadly, suspenseful occurrences in the present. Two members of the FBI Covert Eyes group, Nicholas Drummond and Michaela Caine are in England on vacation, the put they need to be for what is about to unfold, to chase the madness of an insidious genius. They’re unaware that a conspiracy born of amazing intentions was twisted by greed leading to betrayal and a lethal vengeance that’ll impact a lot of ese FBI agents are an involved couple who’ve worked together before, though one is an English transplant and the other is American. Running from one crisis to another, trying to obtain ahead of and thwart the actions of unknown perpetrators, they’ll have to figure out if the source of the diverse mayhem is the same person or connected parties. An enticing, complex enigma filled with assassinations, cybercrimes, drones, highly trained falcons, and unique ality seamlessly meshes with folklore and with fiction in this book. We’re given the history of a family, that of Vlad Dracul III also known as Vlad the Impaler, and the author inspired by the dark tale that was passed along about them through the years that he then romanticized. I loved the Bram Stoker cameo. This was the first book in this series that I have read and out of order with no problems for doing so. I’ll be reading the rest of the stories and look forward to what comes next from these ingenious writers.An advanced reading copy was obtained from the publisher via NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    LOVED IT AND EVERYTHING SHE WRITES!!! I'm young enough to own an IPhone and old enough to not care about all the unbelievable things it can do when I could be reading another book by Catherine COULTER. . If you love romantic suspense and page turning action with intriguing characters and plots with twists and turns you'll love Catherine COULTER.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    What if you could control the weather? In this book the villains are twins who believe that they are direct descendants of Moses and thereby entitled to unique rights. Their grandfather has developed a computer program that can make storms anywhere any time of any magnitude. He lies on a little island that doesn't present on any nautical chart and only appears when the magnetic shield around it is deactivated. The twins come to the island determined to gain control of the computer. That leaves it up to Nick and a handful of FBI agents to thwart them. The action moves from Venice to Rome to the Caribbean with periodic telephone calls to Fresh York.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    Individually, I love these two authors. Together, they are even better. The Final Chop is their first project together, and it did not disappoint, it was do not have to have read either of their series' to obtain into this one. It can stand alone. But we do obtain a little glimpse of Sherlock and Savitch. This is the introduction of Nicholas Drummond is a Detective Chief Inspector with Fresh Scotland Yard.When his former partner, Elaine York, is murdered in Fresh York Town while overseeing an exhibit of the Queen's Crown Jewels, Nicholas takes it upon himself to go to the States to support search her killer.With the support of his Uncle Bo, a former FBI agent, Nicholas is quickly brought into the middle of the investigation. Much to the dismay of the agent working the case. Michaela "Mike" Caine, wants nothing to do with "Mr. Aren't I Great" British super spy, James Bond look alike, Nicholas Drummond. But she'll play nice with the nephew of her former mentor, if it gets the case t only are they dealing with the murder of a foreign agent being killed on American soil, they soon realize that they might be heading to battle with England when they explore the prize jewel in the Queen's crown has been stolen while under guard of the e Koh-i-Noor diamond is one hundred and five carats. And is the centerpiece of the Crown Jewels. It is steeped in legends and strange tales of magic. It was originally 793 carats, and had been chop down to the size it is the case starts to come together, Nicholas recognizes the "signature" of this particular thief, she is known only as the Fox, and she is wanted in connection with some of worlds most elaborate thefts. It has always been assumed that the Fox was a male, but happenings surrounding the theft of the Koh-i-Noor, have place Mike and Nick in direct contact with the Fox, and she was most definitely female. And very amazing at what she e find for the Fox and the diamond takes Mike and Nick to Paris and Geneva. It is quick paced and well written. Lots of action and mystery.I have read, and reread Catherine Coulter's FBI series and J.T.Ellison's Taylor Jackson series and would highly recommend them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brit in Iceland []  2020-1-26 21:56

    a short, funny, outsiders look at a special put I've always wanted to visit. I look forward to reading his follow-up book on Greenland, a put about which I know nothing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a Brit: The Classic Bestselling Guide []  2020-2-6 19:27

    This was a bonus for a friend, but a cute book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    This is a amazing story and the main characters are well developed in the Coulter style. I found myself experiencing deja vu.....not once, but repeatedly. It was the same phenomenon we have all experienced when duped into buying a dolled-up copy of a re-released Nora Roberts novel. That never fails to anger but here it just was annoying.... Have I already read this? This sounds familiar.... I have seen that stage before... Did I just obtain duped again? Has Coulter followed Roberts down that deceitful rabbit hole??? I kept seeing Dirk Pitt Jr diving on a lost sub but he was with a Navy Seal named Dahlgren, not the RAF pilot Dahlgren that Nicholas Drummond dived with....was that stage in Cussler's Black Wind? ...or was it in Deep Six....? Anyhow, it feels like I have read this story before. I also think working more Marie Curie true history into the story line globe be a amazing idea - she was a modern woman born a century too early! It's a novel worth reading, but prepare for the small brushes with deja vu.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Very first time I've been vastly disappointed in a book by Catherine Coulter. I love the Nicholas and Mike characters, but the plot in this book is totally wonderful and too far fetched for anyone to believe. I found myself bored throughout the book at the slow pace of the book and with each fresh twist in the story line becoming even more unbelievable, I was tempted to stop reading. I finished the book to justify the expense, but I won't be fast to purchase another J. T. Ellison collaboration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Not believable, tedious and most disappointing. I have always looked forward to her books but this was a total waste.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    Very amazing product. Amazing value for cash spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    Catherine Coulter and J.T. Ellison return in their fast-paced action thriller series, A Brit in the FBI. Agents Nicholas Drummond and Michaela Caine must chop their vacation short when two high profile politicians are killed in a two day period. They know the game's afoot, but exactly what android game and who is behind the attacks is yet to be thing I love about this thriller series is the complex plot lines. Mike and Nicholas are adventure junkies so one easy mystery to solve would not be enough for them! In The Sixth Day, pages from a mystical manuscript have been discovered and it can only be read by unique twins. One man is determined to obtain his hands on the missing pages at any cost because they keep the key to his brother's life. While Mike and Nicholas are looking for the link between victims, Covert Eyes squad member Adam Pearce is working the cybersecurity angle, looking for whoever is spying on MI5 and MI6. Roman Ardelean is the epitome of an evil mastermind genius. He uses a unique class of computer code to infiltrate the most secure government databases and he has a group of wealthy citizens backing a secret project that could save a lot of lives or throw the globe into a state of pandemonium. He's a Romanian Lex Luthor and my favorite villain from the series so far!While the previous novels of this series have had complex plot lines and mysteries that completely take control of your attention, I thought The Sixth Day gave too much info away before Mike and Nicholas came across it making the flow a bit repetitive. The mystery aspect of the story was very subtle and it felt as though it was quite simple for them to obtain to the answers of their investigation. Maybe the fact that they were fighting an opponent in the true globe and in cyberspace created it seem like the frantic running around chasing leads was a limited part of the novel. The climax was done exceptionally well as Ardelean makes his latest stand and Mike and Nicholas war to save the lives of their loved ones and some very, very necessary people.While The Sixth Day is not the most thrilling addition to the Brit in the FBI series, Coulter and Ellison still manage to expertly meld notable aspects of history and culture into an engaging read that will hold you flipping the pages. I adore Unique Agents Caine and Drummond as partners, and lovers, and their eagerness to run headfirst into danger to catch a criminal always keeps me coming back for more!*ARC provided in consideration for review*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    Read my review on The Sixth DayI have been given a digital copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. I honesty enjoyed this book!Catherine Coulter and JT Ellison combine their expertise in writing The Sixth Day. This story centers around a linage of twins where one is powerful and one is weak with an incurable bleeding condition. Dating back to the days and times of the fabled Dracula to the modern day of drones and computers. Revenge and love for his brother drives wealthy cyber security expert Roman Ardelean's to lengths no one should ever reach. Searching for the blood he believes will save his brother's life he does unspeakable crimes. Imagined betrayals he deals with in deadly ways. Covert Eyes, Brit investigators, Nicholas and his wife and partner Michaela are trying to search who has killed two major political figures in a method that leaves them stunned. Now attempts on their lives leave them puzzled and mad at what is happening.Dr. Isabella Marin an expert in Twin Talk has located a portion of an ancient manuscript, one Roman believes will unblock the formula to saving his brother, He will do anything to obtain it. However, he doesn't just wish the partial manuscript he wants Dr. Marin. Realizing she can read the manuscript that is written in twin language only possible of twin descendants of his lineage,Racing to search who is killing the political figures, who is hacking all the computers with sensitive info and who is trying to slay them Nicholas and "Mike" must now also search Dr. Marin who has disappeared leaving a dead body in her is perfect book is a amazing story of murder, mystery, love, and danger. Encompassing ancient times and futuristic inventions. You will ride the tides of action never finding a dull moment!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    This one is really about the Brit, Nicholas, and Sherlock and Savich, our beloved FBI characters, are a supporting cast in this one. It’s an intriguing introduction to the Brit series, but it didn’t flow to the top of my favorite Coulter books—yet. It has a nifty storyline and has the action and suspense expected. Yet, the dialogue left me a small flat. It could be the collaboration of the authors hasn’t yet gelled or perhaps it was intended to be that way, but it was a distraction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    I must admit that I like the hero development of the former British agent/policeman in these past two books. I planned on reading a chapter or two before bed, but instead found myself drawn into the story line and I finished the book in one sitting. Unfortunately, I had to work the next day, so I was extremely tired. Any plot that draws you in so deep that you don't wish to place the book down, even when your logical inner voice is saying you need to obtain some sleep, is one that I know I will read again, and again. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    I`m very satisfied that the Nicholas Drummond hero is going to be a continuing part of this long standing series. It was clear in the book that introduced him that Nicholas is a various type of protagonist than Dillon Savitch. While both are computer geniuses, there's a much harder edge in Nicholas - the kind that exists in military snipers and covert operatives. People who do the jobs that the majority of us don't wish to acknowledge as real. Both Savitch and Drummond regret the act of killing, but Drummond doesn't hesitate to use his hands, face to face, - a various mindset than a gun. This story is a cross between James Bond and the F.B.I. It's action oriented, informative (if taken with a grain of salt) and an simple read. The reason I've given it four stars - ironically, while the authors have succeeded in differentiating Drummond from Savitch, they've simply duplicated Sherlock in Michaela Caine. I hope that in future books the female author will create a concerted effort to give Michaela the individuality that is due to her female characters as well as her male characters. Please, we are not created from cookie cutter molds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    Ms. Coulter continues to capture one's interest. Couldn't place it down. Plan on reading Book 3 immediately...the advantage of getting the trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    Loved this one in the "Brit" series. I so have fun reading Catherine Coulter's books and this series is really, really good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    let's begin by facts.... calling a Walther PPK "a british gun"? unless being the favourite handgun for James Bond qualifies to be called "british gun", this is a gross lack of primary research....- and there are no such things as "british guns" anyhow.... - I expected something more serious... - the heroine is a combination of cat woman and super girl.... really, the only thing lacking was her ability to fly.... - the FBI agents? best shots ever with a hand gun.... - they were shooting the poor guys with handguns through Piazza San Marcos.... not even a trained sharp shooter from unique forces may dare to claim half their prowesses, even with a hunting rifle.... I hope these ladies do not test to write a sequel... it would really be a waste of time... -When I bought this book I was looking for something different, to relax from too much historical novels... I got my share :-DAs I was not looking for a serious book, and the book is not that badly written, are the sole reasons I did not gave it two stars... for the rest, these ladies should stick to some other genres. Modern action is not their cup of tea... really.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    Catherine Coulter’s and J.T. Ellison’s collaboration of a quick moving mystery thriller is a spine-tingler grabbing readers from the first page and throughout the storyline of THE DEVIL’S TRIANGLE. Coulter and Ellison make an wonderful adventure for the two protagonists, FBI Agents Nicholas Drummond and Michaela (Mike) Caine. This special squad of agents and their hand-picked help squad have been given the task to pursue cases dealing with exceptional cirtances. Their storyline begins with the return of Kitsune, alias the Fox, stealing an artifact dating back to the time of Moses. Instead of fulfilling the payment agreement for stealing the artifact, the people attempt to slay Kitsune at the point of delivery and then kidnap her husband. The authors provide the backstory of the relationships between Nickolas, Mike, and Kitsune including info of why Kitsune would feel she could call Nicholas for e storyline’s momentum increase and adds to the intrigue and suspense with the introduction of help characters and subplots that hold readers on the edge of their seats the danger increases for the team. The Nicholas and Mike’s FBI squad and Kitsune travel to Turkey and then to Venice in pursuit of those responsible for the attempts on Kitsune's life and the kidnapping of her husband. Happenings unfold so quick they take the breath away for readers. Danger and dead bodies seem to be around every corner. Coulter and Ellison continue adding fresh info about each of the main characters keeping readers interest high. Readers shadow Nicholas and Mike as their investigation uncover info that don’t seem to be possible. They search out more about capabilities of the patriarch of the family of evil antagonists. The authors hold their readers in the dark as to how things will turn E DEVIL’S TRIANGLE delivers action, murder, out of this globe computer technology, romance, humor, and justice for the amazing guys. Coulter and Ellison bring their story to life as Nicholas, Mike and Kitsune join forces to overcome the antagonists’ plans to destroy cities and slay thousands. The suspense, thrills, and romance hold the story alive to the heartwarming ending. THE DEVIL’S TRIANGLE is a book readers will have a hard time putting the book down. It is must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    I am a huge fan of both mystery and sci-Fi/fantasy, so I loved this book. I Read it in one day and had to [email protected]#$%! before I could sleep. However, it is not like the usual Brit in the FBI series books, so some readers may be disappointed in it. The main characters are there as well as the Fox, a thief from a previous novel. The hero interactions are good, but the plot does veer off into fantasy. The Ark of the Covenant and weather control machines are not usual plots in mysteries. If you can suspend your beliefs, you may have fun the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    I used to read Coulter’s An FBI Thriller Series and enjoyed it, so when the possibility came to read this one for review, I jumped at it. I was disappointed. I had not read any in this series and that would have been fine for the story if the characters didn’t refer to happenings in the past and then not give any information. There is a lot of various story lines and time periods in this book and I just never could obtain them to work together for the story. I tried but just could not obtain interested in the characters. Maybe my hopes were too high because of previous books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    This is the first Coulter book I've read. On the positive side, I liked the story line. It was a creative and had true potential. My frustration was with the writing being more simplistic or less descriptive than I hoped for a story line that was so well thought out. One example was the conversations between main characters. So much of it was unnecessary, and even unlikely. A second example was the frequent times the main hero was likened to James Bond by the other characters. It seemed unlikely that fellow agents of the FBI or Fresh Scotland Yard would do so of a fellow agent. It would have been far better to describe him and his actions more thoroughly in a method that allowed the reader to create that connection, or even better yet, to envision a fresh special complex hero all together. Similarly, I was hoping for more descriptive writing for the action scenes that would have created those moments more suspenseful, interesting and intriguing. All in all, it was a decent book that provided an enjoyable escape, but had so much more potential.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    This first book in the series grabs you and compels you to stay on a rocket ride through the entire list Magical combination of international crime and locations, thrilling non stop action and or twists, romance and all those fun references to things British. Writing style is simple to read, free flowing and nice mix of drama and comic relief. Have read them all, can't wait for the fresh one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    Loved this finitely a must read for people who have fun this e novel starts with the introduction of the main hero a British Scotland Yard cop on loan to the FBI .He is sent to support investigate the murder of a female Scotland Yard officer who was helping guard royal jewels on display in a Fresh York e plot starts quickly from there and continues with action and twists that leave the reader wanting to search out e relationship of the Brit and his female FBI partner smolders throughout the book as does the story's main villain and her long time teacher/father e characters are well developed as is the is is a huge buy, you will have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brit in Iceland []  2020-1-26 21:56

    The author goes on a bit too much about whale hunting, but once you obtain past that the book is a very entertaining look at life in Iceland, an interesting country indeed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a Brit: The Classic Bestselling Guide []  2020-2-6 19:27

    Content not reflective of title.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    Another wonderful story from Catherine Coulter! The fresh collaboration of Nicholas and Michaela seems to be heading into the realm of Sherlock and Savich, they are evenly matched and work so well together!This story is a fictional acc of Madame Currie and her work with risky substances, and a fictitious group of people who were trying to hold the globe away from battle and the destruction of the world. I have often wondered if such a group really does exist, but if so, it's not been doing such a amazing job.We are getting to see more about what makes up Nicholas' psyche, like his claustrophobia, fear of tight spaces, and his clever hacking abilities. Michaela, .Mike for short, already cares a amazing deal for Nick, as he does for her as well. We'll see how long it will take for the two of them to become a couple, besides being partners.I love this book, and am sure I'll be reading it again in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    Catherine Coulter and J.T. Ellison have made a unbelievable fresh character. Nicholas Drummond is interesting and intriguing. He has a brilliant mind and he uses it well. He is embarrassed by his family position and wealth and tries to hold his fresh American collegues from finding out just how "important" he really is. His relationship with his fresh partner "Mike" has amazing potential. Possible another Sherlock and Savich? Who knows. I can't wait until the next book when Drummond and Savich squad up. Two computer geeks and one super computer, MAX. Sounds like awesome fun. Oh, let's be clear ... I know almost nothing about computers, much less how to program and do other hi-tech stuff. I just like to watch other people do the work, Worth the read. Plan for a whole (rainy, cold) weekend, because you are not going to wish to place this one down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI, Book 2) [Book]  2017-11-20 18:0

    Another grand slam for Catherine Coulter. Jumping back and forth from the two FBI series. Thank you once again for some of the best reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    I have fun the collaboration between Coulter and Ellison, and _Devil's Triangle_ is amazing fun. However, the fast-paced story is more rushed than their norm. There are several interesting premises set in motion, though none feel completely developed, as if there were simply too a lot of ideas to juggle. I also agree with another reviewer that these premises are highly improbable - so be prepared to suspend your disbelief. The unusual number of typos were distracting. There were almost too a lot of characters thrown in, so a lot of felt like caricatures. Some more judicious editing should be considered in future. Despite these issues, it was a fast-paced read, amazing for some relaxing downtime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Devil's Triangle (A Brit in the FBI Book 4) [Book]  2018-3-28 18:0

    The find for the ark of the covenant is old news. The characters were artificial and she has written so much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    Nicholas Drummond and Michaela Caine are on a vacation in Amazing Britain that starts out with a computer cheat and suspicious deaths of political leaders. British Security has been hacked. Every secret is exposed and key strokes can be seen on every system. The inventor of the security system that runs on the British system and systems all over is called in to fix the problem. Is the fox guarding the hen house?The story has chapters that take you back in time to Vlad the Impaler and Dracula. Supposedly characters in the show time are descendants of Dracula, which requires you to suspend belief. There are drones, assassin falcons, and just plain crazy characters. I found it a small hard to obtain into the book, but once I did it kept me interested. This was definitely not my favorite book in the series, but I will continue to read the series. Thank you to net galley for an advanced readers copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sixth Day (A Brit in the FBI Book 5) [Book]  2018-4-11 18:0

    A bit of history, a tip of folklore, the use of science fiction, a dash of romance and a slew of action and intrigue created this one of the best adventures of Mike and Nicholas in my opinion! I was enthralled in this story immediately because of the historical play on Dracula and the play on the spread of technology and how it can be used as a weapon, but my attention remained solidly with this story and waiting to see what happened next due to the flashbacks and following of this doent through Russia and the Romany, an unspoken language or communication style, a current medical disorder, and the interactions of so a lot of splendid e covert eye is back at it again, but this time they are spread throughout London and the United States. I loved how this story took a shot at how technology and then not being able to rely on technology can/could impact safety. The relationship between Mike and Nicholas has progressed and I adore them together. The stage when Mike addresses the queen with her solid voice had me tearing up. And I just love her! Even though the squad is not in one central zone for this story, I thought it was amazing how they still all had an impact in the solving of the crimes. The growth of Adam in this series is phenomenal and I love seeing him more and more. I thought the introduction of another fresh hero was crafty and had me guessing for quite a while. I hope that we see more of her with the squad and/or on her own. The buildup of the relationship between Nicholas and his father continues in this story and it is lovely to see such a amazing family relationship and professional respect as well. CC and JTE were able to make a villain with such a complex background that at the end I did not know whether or how to feel. It has been a while since I have read a book where I could see so a lot of sides to the villainous y of Catherine Coulter’s books could be created into a movie, but I really could visualize so a lot of of the scenes in this book. The shooting of the drone from a moving car, the swarm of the drones and cabal towards a certain area, the procession at a certain point of the book...talk about breathtaking cinematography potential. CC and JTE are pure geniuses in creating believable and stunning ank you NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for the possibility to read this story and share my opinions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    This is one of the rare books that I finally just quit reading rather than finish, because it was just too painful. The book started out decently and the plot is potentially interesting, but the writing was very poor. I found myself flipping back and re-reading parts to test to create sense of things, the dialog was awkward, it just didn't flow. When I can't stay immersed in a story because I'm so distracted trying to figure out what the author is attempting to say, it's time to give up. Catherine Coulter's core characters like Sherlock were wedged in here and there but it felt very forced. I'm a Catherine Coulter fan, but really regret buying this book. It feels like she sold her name for someone else's series, not like she was a participating author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    This is a amazing begin to an entertaining easy-reading fresh series jointly written by successful authors Catherine Coulter and J.T.Ellison. The combination has worked seamlessly to produce an interesting mixture of FBI and Scotland e series introduces Detective Chief Inspector (Sir?) Nicholas Drummond of Fresh Scotland Yard. Nicholas is not your run of the mill British DCI. He was born in the US but brought up in England by his father, a hereditary Baron. He is very close to his American Uncle, a very respected former senior FBI officer. Nicholas is a cosmopolitan hero with a varied career, including a testing time in the intelligence service before joining Scotland Yard. He is a globe away from the regionally orientated fictional Inspectors Grace and James who would have some difficulty working with the cholas' police and private partner, Detective Inspector Elaine York, is in Fresh York to oversee security for the Queen Mother's Crown (which features the popular Koh-I-Noor diamond) while it is on exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum. On hearing that she has been found dead under suspicious cirtances Nicholas immediately flies to Fresh cause of his Uncle's contacts he is able to work with the FBI on the case. While Nicholas partners with FBI Agent Michaela (Mike) Caine to work on the case they are given assistance by Coulter's FBI characters Savich and Sherlock. Mike is an attractive, efficient, motivated and respective FBI agent and they join forces beautiful easily. (Why are so a lot of fictional female FBI agents so beautiful - I'm sure this isn't so in true life).The authors' can't resist giving the enigmatic Nicholas a bit of a James Bond photo - handsome, rich and well connected. He drops by his house on the method to the airport to pick up his "go bag" from his butler. Later on in Fresh York when he has to attend a classy reception for the exhibition at the Met is asked by Mike if he has a tux - "my tux is in my bag, I never leave home without it."The case is really about the career of the Fox who has been commissioned to steal the diamond. While the Fox is well known as one of the world's most successful art and jewel thieves few people know that the Fox is a young woman. She is a woman of patience and has spent two years planning to steal the Koh-I-Noor diamond by inserting herself into the security for the exhibition. The case is also about the reason why someone commissioned her to steal the diamond. Nicholas and Mike end up chasing the Fox all the method around Europe to obtain the answers and face a wide range of dangers during the is is a amazing begin to a fresh escapist series which I expect to become very popular. If you like simple reading, page-turning escapist thrillers without the really dark side of extreme violence then this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    I am a huge fan of Coulter's FBI works with Sherlock and Dillon and she never disappoints. The Koh-I-Noor diamond is on lone from the British crown to be featured in a present at the Met Museum in Fresh York. Elaine York from Scotland Yard is sent to provide security for the jewel. Elaine is killed and the diamond is stolen. Enter Scotland Yard Inspector Nicholas Drummond (who we have met before) who is a amazing mate of Elaine. He flies to Fresh York to explore who killed Elaine. To do that he must figure out who stole the diamond. He meets with FBI agent Michaela (Mike) Caine and they search that there is more to the case than they thought. Behind the killing and theft is the Fox, a sly thief no one has seen before, the Ghost, a master assassin never caught, and a billionaire who knows the true secret behind the Koh-I-Noor diamond and why he has to have it. Sherlock and Dillon support provide enty of action, surprises and twists. Does Drummond leave Scotland Yard and does he become enchanted with Michaela? A must buy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Final Cut (A Brit in the FBI, Book 1) []  2020-7-17 20:1

    My word ! I remember reading her historical romances years ago This genre is a magnificent addition to her wardrobe! I started at the beginning of the FBI series and was entranced. I digressed to the Brit in the FBI series. Can’t read quick enough. How does one brain keep so much creativity?? Thank uuuu. J

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brit in Iceland []  2020-1-26 21:56

    Having read the author's Greenland book, I knew what to expect in this earlier-written Iceland book, and was not disappointed. Mr. Davis takes on every step of his adventure, from the ferry dock in the UK to the remotest outpost on the desolate northern coasts of Iceland. Plenty of in-depth descriptions of all things along the way, from the roads, the museums, the economy, the tourist sites, and a lot of other stuff of interest. Birding takes a huge chunk of his interest, and although I agree with the author's take on whaling, he tends to ramble on about it a tad too long. That, along with countless typos, were the only criticisms I could muster, yet neither factored that into my rating. Liked the dry humor, this is an enjoyable read for those of us who likely will never create it to Iceland. But, if by some miracle I do go someday, I will consult this book along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brit in Iceland []  2020-1-26 21:56

    but still an informative and humorous read. what with iceland's economy going in the dumper and yogurt party ( you have to love their protest style ) and england beating feet from the eu and getting eliminated to the viking chant from football some moods may have changed a ill, any book with bird information and the humor like this is worth one's while. i'm sure to read the greenland book next.a side note. i thought the columbus myth had been buried. most of the amazing doctors of history i knew 20 years ago agreed that columbus was the latest person to explore america. he is credited with the economic discovery as it opened the southern continent to slavery of the natives and the plundering of their gold. the northern continent, pethaps because they lacked the gold, was topic to the genocide of many, a lot of tribes and the near but failed attempt to destroy the rest. it is a sorry legacy my country has for trying to finish the tribes and the tribes still obtain a very raw deal from the lumbus may have been the first to describe something that was not a bird as " tastes like chicken ". i believe it was an iguana. ( 3rd journey/journal? ). otherwise not the shiniest spoon in the drawer claiming to his latest that he had reached "india ".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a Brit: The Classic Bestselling Guide []  2020-2-6 19:27

    This book does not have as scholarly approach as "Watching the English" (by Kate Fox), as it uses misstatements and exaggeration for their humorous effect, but it is very enjoyable, nevertheless, and I found myself nodding in appreciation over a lot of of the facts in it. "How to be a Brit" also includes a lot of funny caricature-like cartoons. The kind of book that gives you the urge to read aloud this passage and that passage to your long-suffering mate!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a Brit: The Classic Bestselling Guide []  2020-2-6 19:27

    bit dated to say the least- mildly amusing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brit in Iceland []  2020-1-26 21:56

    Grandparents from Iceland. Street trip matches my brothers experience. Hope to create it there some day. Book had a amazing touch of humor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a Brit: The Classic Bestselling Guide []  2020-2-6 19:27

    husband enjoyed this interpretation of what to do when impersonating a "brit" since we lived in England for several years. Fun to see what makes US and England so various and so alike. Lotsa fun to read if you wanna see the differences w/a light approach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a Brit: The Classic Bestselling Guide []  2020-2-6 19:27

    This book instructs you on how to act truly British! If you wish to be accepted as "one of them" instead of being a foreigner for the rest of your stay in the UK, you should study this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brit in Iceland []  2020-1-26 21:56

    The writer had an interesting story and amazing facts about visiting Iceland. I recommend this to anyone wanting a better picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a Brit: The Classic Bestselling Guide []  2020-2-6 19:27

    A tongue-in-cheek view of yesterday's British attitudes to the world. A small dated, but if you are familiar with British history, particularly between WWI to a bit past WWII, it is very amusing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a Brit: The Classic Bestselling Guide []  2020-2-6 19:27

    Historically interesting, about post battle British culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a Brit: The Classic Bestselling Guide []  2020-2-6 19:27

    It is unbelievable reading. This was written a lot of years ago and though the England of those days is not the same as present-day England, even younger readers should have fun it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    What an Awesome Holiday Read by MJ Fields & Jessica Reuben. The Broody Brit For Christmas is definitely what everyone needs.When we meet Nikki Winterfield she doesn’t ever expect her life to take the turn it does, so when coming home to Holiday Springs she is at a crossroads but when a adorable young man and his dad come barreling into her life she definitely sees her life might just be changing for the good.Raff Graham is the man all of Holiday Springssees as the most wanted bachelor, but he sees himself as a successful businessman, a loving father to his son Nate but never did he think he would search someone to love again after losing his wife. Until Nikki comes into his life in the most unconventional kki is wary of love again and Raff is begin to the opportunity so when they come together as a couple it’s unbelievable to see that they not only respect each other’s feelings but Nate’s is just as necessary to them. Watching the three of them come together as a unit is just so heartwarming to see and knowing that second chances can really create you see that HEA can happen even when you don’t expect it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    A feel amazing book that has the sweet with a dash of English heat. Raff & Nikki's journey was beautiful. The witty banter had me thaniel, Raff's son (yes we have a hot, single Dad alert ... and he's from London!), is wise beyond his years and at times stole the show!#westernorenglish #thankfulandgrateful #MerryandBright #SweetSpot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    When you r suddenly handed lemons thinking you were in your forever relationship, only to search out when momma dearest has the final say, nothing left but to package up, no matter how damage you are. Back home, feeling like you cannot trust the opposite , you need to learn to trust again, especially when there is someone reaching out to present you not everyone is like the ex. Beautiful, eye opening, and a most loving, heartwarming story. Loved it.❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    He’s everything she doesn’t need. One look at him and she’s speechless. She has to focus. He’s just like her ex: rich, entitled and so off limits. He was setting her straight after she frightened his son for taking a piece of candy. Then those green green eyes arrested him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    The excellent read for to add some merry and bright to your year! Loved both the main characters and the side players. , swoon-worthy fun. Breezed right through this. Take me to Holiday Springs!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    CAN ANYONE TELL MY WHY DO AUTHORS THINK BLASPHEMY SELLS? I read a sample. No blasphemy! Seems like a amazing read. Blaspheme is blasphemy no matter how it’s spelled according to various dialects. Then I buy the book - begin reading and want I could return my purchase and obtain a refund. There should be a warning on books like those used for movies!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    As an animal lover I really enjoyed these vet stories. Gillian also serves as a amazing role model for other females that want to pursue a male dominated career. I looked forward to reading her other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    Adventure motorcycling books do not come any better than e people, places, difficulties, and joy all come together in Lois's first book. Writing style is honest and provides the reader with just the right amount of action, thought and humor.Any hetero male reader will likely come to the wish: Why don't I every meet women like that? There are more out there boys...you just have to look harder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    Bought it for my mates baby. They seemed to like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    Amazing love storyWow so y and sweet and the dirty talk mmmm hmmmm Nikki she is sassy sweet and independent after having her heart broke she moves back home and finds the love of her lifeAnd raff he is y and sweet after loosing the love of his life he did not think he would search that kind of love again but he found that love in Nikki and then there is small Nate such a sweet boy with a huge heartAMAZING read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    Nikki Winterfield’s life changes unexpectedly and has to leave Fresh York and head back home to Holiday Springs, CO swearing off all men with money. She gets her old job back working in her family’s candy shop where she meets 11 year old Nathaniel, then it leads to meeting his father Raff Graham. Raff is a successful business man who doesn’t present how much he’s worth, he’s from England where he met his wife at Oxford and who passed away. But most importantly he’s a father to Nathaniel.Raff falls for Nikki and Nikki is hesitant because Raff has cash wants nothing to do with someone who has cash due to her latest relationship. Raff shows her the method she should be loved and treasured. You will read about them becoming a family and what love truly is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    What a unbelievable story. Not what I was expecting but so much more. MJ Fields and Jessica Reuben are awesome authors and together they are explosive. The Broody Brit is such an amazing holiday read. For Nikki it is about finding herself and starting over. Coming back home doesn’t have to mean you failed but instead gives you another path in life. A path that you were destined to take. She came back wanting to obtain her life in order after her breakup and then eventually return to Fresh York City. But instead what she found was not what she was looking for. Love and forever. She did search herself but, she also found Raff and Nate. Judging from their first meetings you wouldn’t think things would turn out like they did. Although from Raff’s point of view their first meeting he felt something for her that he had never felt before. Even though she resembled his deceased wife it was more than that. Once he got to know Nikki he saw how unique she was and knew he had to create her his. She was the first woman he dated to meet Nate, his eleven year old son so you knew she was special. The bond that she developed with Nate was so unique too. All in all a amazing holiday read and a real happily ever after.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Loose [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    This was quite an enjoyable aside that was included on my Laurel and Hardy boxed set, in which early in their career of being a comedic duo they paid a cameo on this, a short movie in a comedic series that starred Thelma Todd and ZaSu Pitts. The young Fresh York Town women-about-town love being taken out on dates, yet simply want their suitors had more imagination than simply to always take them to Coney Island. Then, even though a rich pair give them the expectation they'll finally obtain to go somewhere else, nothing could be further from the truth, and they're disappointed yet again. Later, Laurel and Hardy are the unfortunate next ones in line...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    I love a amazing motorcycle trip adventure book and this is a amazing one. Lois expresses herself in a method that puts an emphasis on the humor and on the people she meets along the way. The observations of her companions and the locals created the story as rich as the ride itself. My own experience with motorcycle travel has lead me to the belief that it’s all about the people and Lois rides with an begin mind and an begin heart expecting the best from people and receiving it, more often that not. Do not miss "Red Tape and White Knuckles" an acc of her ride through Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    I would recommend Vet On The Loose to any James Herriot fans and to animal lovers of all kinds. This is a modern tale of the adventures of a novice lady Irish vet, struggling to develop her veterinary skills and at the same time learning to handle the ups and downs of relationships with the human owners of her animal patients. As Gillian Hick noted, she had to develop a thick skin to cope with the anti-female vet prejudices of some of her clients. Gillian also had to deal with her own insecurities as a newbie vet, until time and experience helped her build the confidence she needed. Along the way, she relates a lot of amusing, touching, and heart warming tales about her animal practice. I was sorry when her book came to an end. I truly enjoyed the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    I love Moose books so this was great!! Funny, cute pictures, it was excellent for my moose library...and my latest name IS moose!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    This is a really fun read aloud for the preschool set. It reads really smoothly and gives lots of opportunity for audience interaction. The illustrations are hilarious - I mean a moose wearing socks? The book ends on a gentle cautionary note reminding readers that no matter what you wish to do with a moose, mom has the final say. This reminded me a bit of Numeroff's Mouse series, since it seems to have the same rythm. A solid addition to any storytime collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    I do not give five star reviews easily. In the first chapter Pryce quickly shows us who she is: smart, intelligent, sassy and with a amazing sense of humor. I immediately took a liking to her and her writing style and was eager to start the journey. She wastes small time with the preliminaries and soon we are with her in Alaska as she embarks on what ultimately becomes a 20,000 mile journey to the farthest point of South ong the method she encounters police, border 'fixers', questionable food, poor streets and other challenges. These are what create the story worth telling, but Pryce does it with a style that is not 'girly' but readily enjoyable by both es. Though she planned the trip as a solo endeavor she does do stints with other riders, one in particular that is so taxing I'm still amazed Pryce didn't just ride off into the night without is apparent Pryce's book is professionally done and not one of the a lot of self-published disasters that populate this genre. Editing is excellent and the book presents professionally on my Kindle. I do want Pryce had included some appropriate images to go with the text but this doesn't detract from the book. I really was surprised at how much I enjoyed it and I think it is mostly because of Pryce's upbeat prose. I really enjoyed my time with the author on her journey and am eager to read her next volume on Iran. If you wish a blow-by-blow travelogue this isn't probably what you want. If you wish a well-written STORY that is highly entertaining, buy this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    This is the second of Lois' motorcycle adventure books that I've read. And, being a former motorcyclist myself I have indulged in a lot of other such books, like Ted Simon's Jupiter's Travels. If you like him, you will like Lois. She is so insightful, funny and smart that one simply cannot place her book down. I highly recommend her. Her book about traveling through Iran--Revolutionary Ride--was also a very pleasant surprise. She is a unbelievable writer and observer of the human condition. Oh, and Lois--if you see this--you were an absolute saint in putting up with Amalia for as long as you did. And then after so long it was truly a pitiful ending to your riding together. I don't wish to give anything away but it your description of the ordeal brought tears to my eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    Nicely done. Enjoyed the journey right along with her. I found myself wondering on a lot of occasions why she selected the gear, motorcycle, and apparel that she did but it was her ride. I was frustrated at times with her traveling companion that eventually crashed. I hope that she fully recovered and don't want her any I'll will but I'm quite certain that I'd have left her on the side of the road. I wouldn't tolerate her harsh behavior for even one day. Having ridden for more than 40 years, I can sympathize with her battling the cross winds on the latest leg of her trip. Wind is a rider's enemy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    It’s fun to follow her adventures and having read Herriot to see how things have changed and modernized, and yet what has stayed the same, in human nature, and animal nature and the deep friendship and love we have for our animal companions.I was especially interested to see how she handled herself as a woman in a predominantly male field as my daughter is all girl and is a welder. She says she has had more amazing experiences than poor and works hard to fit in well with her teammates wherever she works. So I especially loved reading about Gillian’s tenacity and determination not to take offense but prove her worth through her skills. Amazing on you Gillian! Tenacious and spunky.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    Quick paced and fun. Anyone who likes Vet books will have fun this.I thought the latest chapter was an abrupt and strange method to end it. But, I'm satisfied that the author got some help.I read this on my Kindle where the copyright page is shown after the latest chapter. Reading that the (paraphrasing) "places and events had been changed and that resemblance to a true person is accidental" threw me for a loop. I guess that means the book is actually fiction--based on fact. Very disappointing although I didn't downgrade my rating for that reason. When it comes to Vet books there aren't any that I have read that can compare with the James Herriott books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    She's doing Herriot, 50 years later, in Dublin, and she's doing it well. For me, this modern, often urban, take on veterinary practice is completely new, and Hick is a pleasure to read. It's beautiful much the familiar location covered by Herriot and others, but it's still a pleasure to read. If this is your genre, I can recommend it without hesitation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brit(ish): On Race, Identity and Belonging []  2020-2-4 10:53

    Fact: Hirsch delivers some uncomfortable truths that quite a few people still aren't reading to begin their eyes about.Fact: For a lot of of us, and not just in Britain, race follows us, defines us, frightens us, etc. every single day.Fact: This book contributes to a well-needed conversation on race and how we navigate, or choose not to navigate, racial identity on our path to equality. I enjoyed it, just as I enjoyed books that talk about other social issues, such as "Class Matters," "A People's History of the United States," and "Nickel and Dimed." The aforementioned books were needed readings when I was at uni, and I genuinely believe that this book should be one of them as well.Fact: Talking about race doesn't send anyone running to the far right (as the latest reviewer has suggested). You run to the far right, because you believe that there is finally a political party that expresses how you felt deep down but couldn't actually say because the socio-cultural conditions didn't let for such a "moment."Fact: You will either love this book or hate this book. If you think that any person of colour who dares to talk about how horrible it can sometimes be to not be white does so because we hate white people, don't bother reading this book. If you hold referring to "Africa" as if it's one country, and you believe that "it's" a horrible put to live, I can assure you that you will hate it. If you are willing to engage in a dialogue and genuinely seek info in order to "walk in other people's shoes" and begin your eyes to the post-colonial reality, then you'll like the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    One of the best moto journalist in the world. Writing is superb. Insights are keen and the narrative very descriptive in terms of painting a picture of things as they unfold. Exciting and quick paced book, no dull I saw, this and that. People and happenings literally come to life in the narrative.On another note it killed any desire I have to visit these places. Corruption, lack of services and generally unpleasant things that need not be experienced to be appreciated. Thank you Lois for the work, saved me going there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    I have been reading different women on motorcycle trip books the past few months. And Lois' was terrific. Celebrating the joy of riding. A amazing balance of drama, humor, adventure, nature and of course, fun. I am now reading Her sequel "white knuckles and red tape". Thanks Lois, hold the shiny side up and ride on (and write about it)...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    I was very happy with this book. I had got this book free and had place the book aside for awhile. Was I ever sorry I had. It was a delightful book one I would recommend to anyone. If you liked the book Monsters Amazing and Little you will have fun this book. The author did a really amazing job with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    This is an perfect book for kids ages 3+, with clever and funny illustrations, and words that rhyme. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    What could have been an endearing (enMoosing?) rhyming story was really just weird tempo rhyming. This book took a mashup of words that rhymed and attempted to build a wacky story around the rhymes. It, unfortunately, didn't accomplish this well. The rhymes are clunky and unenjoyable. Might be ok for very young kids Pre-K who would have fun the easy idea of a Moose doing all these crazy things, but there are books that accomplish this more fluidly and humorously. A one and done read. You're better off with the "If you give a _ a _" series by Laura Numeroff or "Giraffe's Can't Dance" by Giles Andreae for rhyming/humor/animals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    This book looked cute, but I shouldn't have judged it by the cover. I wanted to really like it, but it has a lot of things working versus it. A lot of of the rhymes feel forced, repetition is expected in a children's book but "would you" is asked entirely too a lot of times, and the flow is off. The ending is awful. My kid likes the fact that there is a moose, but beyond that doesn't present any additional interest in this book vs. the tons of others we have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    Everyone is going to love Raff, a y Brit that hands down will create you swoon. Raff & Nikki are absolutely excellent for each other. There chemistry is off the charts. This is a read that I enjoyed and didn’t wish to stop reading. I’m so satisfied that we will be getting Beckett’s story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas ( A Hot Single Father Second Chance Romance) (A Holiday Springs novel) []  2020-12-7 18:31

    The Broody Brit: For Christmas certainly gives you all the amazing feels that you wish around the holidays.I am a fan of MJ Fields, but Jessica Ruben is a fresh author for me. I think they did a amazing job with this collaboration. It is a well written story with enjoyable characters and a storyline that will hold you smiling.Raff is a single dad who still feels the loss of his wife but is working hard to hold his son satisfied and create a amazing life for them. He hasn’t met anyone who warms his heart until Nikki shows up in his life. Nikki is reeling from a horrible break up and has moved back home to test to heal. Small did she think that she would meet someone so soon. Neither Raff or Nikki were looking for a relationship but it was inevitable once they met. They have chemistry and the conversations flow easily, but they also have to consider Nate, Raff’s sons feelings. I know I love a happily ever after and was rooting for them both to finally let their hearts to heal and search love once more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    Having ridden across some of the same streets and terrain Lois encountered in Latin America, I could identify with her travails along the way. I was intrigued by her ability to resolve a lot of issues on her journey. I imagine that for lack of zone and or time she eliminated some of the down time she had to to place up with on the road. I enjoyed her writing style very much. She is a person with whom I can relate on a lot of t a lot of women (or men) would be inclined to face a daunting trip of 20,000 or more miles on a beautiful little bike (225cc) and survive the ordeal. To her credit she held up well in the face of so much adversity.I would quibble a small about her observations. First of all, if you only speak a few words and phrases in Spanish what are you doing traveling through all those countries where less than 5% speak English? Your private contact with the people has got to be limited to English speakers thereby limiting your grasp of the culture. I know because I am bilingual and even so had a hard time talking to lower classes and coping with a dozens of accents such as the Spanish they speak in southern Chile where even native speakers from Argentina have a hard time understanding the local accent. Be that as it may, Lois's observations in general are beautiful accurate as far as they go. She missed a lot of opportunities to elaborate on her surroundings and gives short shrift to how she got through some countries such as Colombia. Since this was her first experience on a long ride, I'm sure she learned a lot of lessons that are probably incorporated in her later books which I intend to read asap.What's missing in her narrative are maps of the region and the streets she traveled. Perhaps her newer books have maps, I hope so. Without some idea of where she is on a map, I had difficulty positioning her from her descriptions. Also, she could have included a coda that info some of the lessons she learned, recommendations, and comments on the bike's characteristics. I had to go online to search her motorcycle and read the specs. As a result, I take my hat off to her for being so intrepid on such a lightweight machine. Other writers have roared around Latin America on BMW GS bikes with fewer issues but whatever gets you there is the true l in all, I highly recommend reading "Lois on the Loose" especially if you are planning a long trip of your own one of these days. You may not have all the excitement and frustrations of a Lois but at least you'll be mentally prepared for your breakdowns and accidents that are always bound to happen on this type of adventure. Rider beware! Thanks Lois for a very enjoyable read. Blessings on you and be safe in your future rry ScottNew Bern, NC(Owner BMW R1200RT and Triumph Speedmaster)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    I'm an avid reader and longtime motorcyclist but mc books never resonated with me. "Zen & The Art..." was too much navel gazing, Ted Simon's "Jupiter" book was too besotted with locations I'm not interested in going to -and Lois' trip to South America sounded hot, uncomfortable, with poor food, etc. BUT, her undiminished enthusiasm, attitude, and eagerness to push on was infectious and I ended up enjoying myself. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lois on the Loose []  2019-12-23 20:15

    If this book doesn't create you wish to obtain on your bike and ride, then probably nothing will. Whenever I hesitate to encounter traffic or not good street conditions or dogs on my Yamaha TW200, I just think of Lois. Would've given it 5 stars but for some language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    This book is set in Ireland so a few thing are various but the animals are the same. The author is lady veterinarian and we begin with her as she is learning what it takes to obtain that title. I liked her as a person, she never brags, never puts down other people. She is compassionate for the animals and always does her best by the least of them. A lot of are alive and loved thanks to her. She becomes an perfect doctor and describes her work with a amazing sense of humor. She is almost always the butt of her own humor. A couple most deserving "clients" do finally obtain as taste of their own obnoxious behavior. The descriptions of issues and treatments were most interesting. One cow, full term with a calf had a twisted uterus stopping the birthing. The cow was laid down, the lady vet had an arm up the cow's while a couple husky young men turned the cow over. Success, the untwisted and a nice live calf could be delivered. Read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    I want I could give this book TEN stars!!! If you loved James Herriot, you will LOVE Gillian Hick! Her stories about life in rural England and her encounters with the a lot of characters, both human and animal, will captivate you and hold you eagerly turning page after page! Ms Hick writes of her adventures as a newly qualified veterinarian and gives amazing insight into the life of tending to "all monsters amazing and small!" I have to admit I took this book out to my horse barn one evening and sat on a hay bale, intending to "start" it........I finally got a chair and sat outside my horses' stalls and FINISHED it that same night! I couldn't place it down. I can't WAIT to read her other book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vet on the Loose []  2020-4-1 19:12

    This ain't your typical lady. She can hold up with the farmers, young or old. She can swear, swig some brew and suture a sow...all in one day! I loved reading about all of Gillian's adventures and getting a taste of rural Ireland to boot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    I saw this book on the shelf at a book shop and being from Alaska, I bought it from here. It is such a cute and fun book to read. My daughter is only 5 months old and smiles every time I read it to her. I'm so glad I bought this book! We will have fun it for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    Excellent condition and my son LOVES this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moose on the Loose []  2021-1-21 18:0

    The story was amazing but the seller never responded to selling me a book with the latest page torn out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tightwads on the Loose: A Seven Year Pacific Odyssey []  2020-1-10 19:11

    This is a really amazing book, fairly well written, but I hate the title. Yeah, I know, don't judge a book by it's cover, but I held off buying this book for a while just because I thought the title was dumb. It makes the book sound like it's a zany-type adventure story when actually it's a very emotion-filled, moving and touching story. I almost, and I mean ALMOST, teared up at the end, which is rare. Another method I can tell I like a book is if I obtain halfway through it and wish to look the author up on the Internet and see "where are they now." I refrained though, because I didn't wish it to spoil the rest of the at said, it does have a few sketchy bits, mostly in the lack of/poor editing, i.e. a couple of oddly redundant things and a few very minor grammar issues. Other than that, it's a unbelievable book and I would recommend it to anyone whether or not they are interested in sailing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tightwads on the Loose: A Seven Year Pacific Odyssey []  2020-1-10 19:11

    This is really a book for those who sail and who might one day take on more than the afternoon sail at home or the week cruise on a chartered boat in the Caribbean. It depicts a lot of what is involved in sailing in a rather little sailboat without the advantages of hot water, refrigeration, and other niceties; a boat little enough to have tiller steering rather than wheel. It touches upon rather superficially the dangers of storms and crowded sailing lanes and spends much more time on camaraderie of other sailors in ports around the world. The author is an extrovert who meets challenges with zest and who is served well by her more conservative husband in handling crises. But it's her exuberance in meeting the challenges they face and in seeking out contact with other sailors and with the native peoples of the globe in whichever ports they land which create the read so enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tightwads on the Loose: A Seven Year Pacific Odyssey []  2020-1-10 19:11

    A amazing read for anyone harboring a wanderlust and desire to live apart from the usual mundane life. Create no mistake, this couple did not choose a worry free life style, but one in which they were fully engaged on an individual level to meet obstacles presented to them on a day to day basis, and one on which their very lives were often at stake. The reader is aware that the protagonists of this story were fully alive and I for one felt the tingle of what it met to be so. I especially felt the author's concern about ending this journey and what that might mean personally, and to each other as a couple. Much to ponder here above and beyond the fact that this is a amazing adventure story.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386