Read a century of british cooking reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a century of british cooking reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of British Cooking []  2020-5-22 18:0

    This is a fun book about the history of British cooking. The book is organized by decades during the latest 100 years. For the 1940's some recipes are culled from the ministry of meal which was especially active in the UK during the years of rationing in WW2. From this time period there are Scottish Apple Crumble. Flour was rationed so pies were replaced with fruit topped with a crumble. From this time period the chapter contains Pease Pudding, Russian Borsch, Vegetable Goulash, Battle Time Carrot Cake, Christmas Pudding and more.During the 1950's pub staples like fish and chips, tartar sauce, and other delicacies like quiche lorraine, Cock a Leekie, Calve's liver pate, crepes suzette, mustard sauce, and puff pastries are offered.A pleasant part of the book in addition to the a lot of perfect and varied recipes are the commentary before each chapter on the food, drinks, and times of the decade being looked at. This created 100 years of British cooking an informative and pleasant read as well as a amazing cookbook with simple to follow perfect recipes.

    0  


    Add your opinion on a century of british cooking or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of British Gardening []  2020-1-29 19:36

    Amazing book on the evolution of gardening, garden tools, the method plants affect our lives and so on. As a gardener I was entertained and fascinated and learned a lot of interesting tidbits. Well written and enjoyable, I'd definitely recommend it for any level of gardener.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of British Gardening []  2020-1-29 19:36

    Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of British Gardening []  2020-1-29 19:36

    amazing reading for a gardener !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of British Gardening []  2020-1-29 19:36

    Delivery and condition of book excellent. The book itself is a delightful read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of British Gardening []  2020-1-29 19:36

    _A Small History of British Gardening_ is a delightful book. Jenny Uglow traces the history of British gardening from Roman times to the modern day, taking in gardens huge and little and gardeners rich and not good along the way. The book is elegantly written, well researched, and beautifully illustrated with a plethora of black-and-white illustrations accompanying the text as well as several sections of color plates. Uglow supplies lots of colourful examples and anecdotes which hold the narrative engaging, and her love of gardening comes through clearly. This is marvelous reading for anyone interested in the history of gardening or in British gardens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadview Anthology of British Literature: Concise Volume B - Second Edition: The Age of Romanticism - The Victorian Era - The Twentieth Century ... of British Literature - Second Edition) []  2020-1-16 9:51

    The Broadview Anthology of British Literature is perfect! It is in BRAND fresh condition and for an perfect :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadview Anthology of British Literature: Concise Volume B - Second Edition: The Age of Romanticism - The Victorian Era - The Twentieth Century ... of British Literature - Second Edition) []  2020-1-16 9:51

    The book is fine, arrived quickly. However, the entire second half of the text is water-damaged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadview Anthology of British Literature: Concise Volume B - Second Edition: The Age of Romanticism - The Victorian Era - The Twentieth Century ... of British Literature - Second Edition) []  2020-1-16 9:51

    This was a textbook for class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadview Anthology of British Literature: Concise Volume B - Second Edition: The Age of Romanticism - The Victorian Era - The Twentieth Century ... of British Literature - Second Edition) []  2020-1-16 9:51

    I loved this textbook when I rented it so much that I decided to it later!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadview Anthology of British Literature: Concise Volume B - Second Edition: The Age of Romanticism - The Victorian Era - The Twentieth Century ... of British Literature - Second Edition) []  2020-1-16 9:51

    Bought as a back-up book for college student so book can be in two places.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadview Anthology of British Literature: Concise Volume B - Second Edition: The Age of Romanticism - The Victorian Era - The Twentieth Century ... of British Literature - Second Edition) []  2020-1-16 9:51

    Saved my life!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Broadview Anthology of British Literature: Concise Volume B - Second Edition: The Age of Romanticism - The Victorian Era - The Twentieth Century ... of British Literature - Second Edition) []  2020-1-16 9:51

    Would again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    Amazing book, a very nice history of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race, "The Greatest Spectacle In Racing." Particularly interesting are several vintage images of the construction of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with the placement of the millions of paving bricks that gave the IMS it's "Brickyard" nickname, as well as images of all the winning vehicles from the first race in 1911 to the latest race (2010) before the book's publication in 2011, and where they are e book is packed with images of the races, cars, drivers, necessary figures, and memorabilia throughout the Indianapolis 500's long history, and has a touching and humorous "Memorial Day Memories" forward by goofy TV personality (and Rahal-Letterman Indy Vehicle squad co-owner) David Letterman, a Hoosier native who grew up listening to the race on the radio every Memorial Day.Well worth it for even the casual race fan, and particularly for those interested in the history of the Indianapolis 500.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    My mate is 78 and does not miss a race that is on TV for the 40 years I have known him. He loves the book and reviews and studies parts everyday. No he is not senile just enjoys the changes over the years and is partial to MOPAR

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sneaker Century: A History of Athletic Shoes []  2020-1-10 19:25

    Very amazing book, my son loved it. The book was in amazing condition and came faster than expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plastic: The Making of a Synthetic Century []  2020-1-30 22:55

    Plastic: The Making of a Synthetic Century was written by Stephen Fenichell in 1996 as a history of the plastics business. It describes the winding path that a wide range of plastics took from the lab to the marketplace. The book is filled with many, a lot of interesting anecdotes about the entrepreneurs who blazed that e book is organized into 13 chapters arranged, mostly, in chronological order. There is the predictable, "Just one word......Plastics" cliche from The Graduate film used as a preface. The book begins with a late 20th century stage setting chapter. Mr. Fenichell then rolls the clock back 150 years to explain the commercialization of rubber, which he properly calls "Nature's Plastic".There are chapters about celluloid, Bakelite, and cellophane with historical vignettes about their respective titans named Eastman, Baekeland and Brandenberger. There is a dramatic acc of the tragic life of Wallace Hume Carothers, the inventor of nylon. But my favorite chapter is the one entitled, "Plast-O-Rama" which highlights the ways in which post-war America went bonkers for all things plastic. From Silly Putty and Hula Hoops to Frisbees and Tupperware and Saran Wrap, it's all in this book.Overall it thought that the Pro's of this book were:It's a amazing historical overview of plasticIt's loaded with facts about plasticAnd I thought the only Con of this book was:The history is presented out of chronological for no apparent reasonThis book will be of interest to:20th century pop historianspolymer chemistsplastic trivia buffsanyone who makes their living or producing plasticemployees or former employees of Dupont, Rohm & Haas, Eastman Kodak, Ford Motor Company and General Electricindustrial designersmaterial science studentsmanufacturing entrepreneursenvironmentalists

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plastic: The Making of a Synthetic Century []  2020-1-30 22:55

    This is a scholarly, tongue in cheek, thoroughly enjoyable peon to the most despicable of substances. Histories of science and industry could learn much from Mr. Fenichill's pleasing blend of knowledge and humor. This is one of my favorite books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    I love anything about the Titanic. This book taught me more about the inquiryInto this disaster. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    amazing book. But why does the image in the cover have the 4th funnel, the dummy funnel, blowing smoke out of it?! I know a LOT about titanic lol. amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    i bought this as a bonus for the woman who taught me to knit. she really enjoyed it. its a really cool look at knitting throughout history with pictures you really dont think of when you hear "knitting" --- the only thing we didnt really love is that all the discriptions are referenced in the back. i obtain the point to not take away from the aesthetic of the photo. but its a bit of a pain to have to flip through to the back to read about any of the photos. -- also, even though the size is listed. i failed to really much attention to that it the book is smaller than what i imagined. which is fine, just so if anyone is thinking the method i was, allow it be know that it is not a very huge book :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    I love this book. It is as unadulterated as knitting itself. The images speak volumes about this craft. I had quit knitting in favor of quilting and given my supplies to my daughter, but now I wish to go right back out and more needles and wool and be part of history again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    An interesting overview with lots of info by a genuine insider. Despite the apparent solidarity of the inner circle of Soviet government, there really was a faction that recognized the evils of Soviet Russia and wanted reform. It is a fast read and is well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Alexander Nikolayevich Yakovlev may be best known as the godfather of perestroika. He was instrumental in formulating the concept of perestroika (restructuring), in persuading Gorbachev to implement perestroika, and in bringing Gorbachev back to perestroika when he vacillated, Hamlet-like, between his liberal and hard-line advisers in the late 1980s. Yakovlev was, in a very true sense, along with Eduard Sheverdnadze, Gorbachev's political A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia, Yakovlev presents the tragedy of Russia under Lenin and Stalin. He examines in separate chapters how different constituents of the Soviet Union fared under Communism: Political parties other than the Bolsheviks, the peasants, the intelligentsia, the clergy, the military, the numerous non-Russian nationalities, the Jews. All were exploited, when possible, to further the Bolshevik keep on Russia, and executed, exiled, or enslaved when political exploitation was not possible. Yakovlev holds Lenin and Stalin responsible for 60 million deaths. These contain peasants that starved as a direct effect of the collectivization of agriculture and Globe Battle II deaths, a lot of of which were a direct effect of Stalin's purge of competent military officers on the eve of the battle and the unwarranted trust he placed in the Nazi-Soviet non-aggression pact. Some have questioned the legitimacy of attributing these deaths to Stalin. Rather than debate that responsibility here, the reader is referred to Robert Conquest, The Harvest of Sorrow, and Richard Pipes, Russia Under the Bolshevik Regime.Yakovlev traces all of the totalitarian acts of terror associated with Stalin's rule to their beginnings under Lenin, demolishing the myth that Stalin somehow perverted the more humane party of Lenin. The book is a somber read, 200 plus pages documenting murders, torture, slave labor in the name of an ideology that is morally, intellectually, and (now, thankfully) financially bankrupt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sneaker Century: A History of Athletic Shoes []  2020-1-10 19:25

    This is not an actual book but a 50-page pamphlet about the history of sneakers directed at grade-school level children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sneaker Century: A History of Athletic Shoes []  2020-1-10 19:25

    Wonderful, engaging book about the history of sneakers and how school, sports, melody drove their popularity. Lots of fun trivia about shoe companies. Amazing for elementary and middle school classrooms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plastic: The Making of a Synthetic Century []  2020-1-30 22:55

    This book is an engaging, simple to read modern history of plastic, roughly following the materials and their associated inventors, promoters, uses and abuses and aesthetics from the 1800s to the 1990s. There is a lot of philosophizing on the part of the narrator, but more than enough actual scientific and cultural history to create up for it. There are some black and white images scattered throughout, and a complete index, but no bibliography, no notes or appendices or timeline of any kind. The book is laid out in chronological order, but dates and locations are often only loosely given and skipped around, and no attempt is created to systematically explain the relations between the various kinds of plastic, allow alone give chemical formulas or accurate production and manufacturing information. Contrast this with another more concretely informative work in a related vein... say, "Twinkie, Deconstructed".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plastic: The Making of a Synthetic Century []  2020-1-30 22:55

    Plastic. The making of a synthetic ephen Fenichell. 1996 HarperBusinessThis book is shows amazing examples of a lot of of the strengths and weaknesses of pop journalistic authorship of technical material. I don't wish to slate it out of hand because it covers a amazing of valuable material that must have taken a amazing of hard work to collect. Unfortunately the author then understandably found the task of collation challenging, and the technical aspects beyond him. The infuriating thing to me is that journalistic writers do not allow that bother them; they cheerfully grind on to the deadline, scattering the fragments of sense and sensibility wherever they obtain in the way. After all, the reader cannot be expected to understand such stuff, allow alone care about it, so why worry about it?Well maybe. . . But then why bother with the book anyway? Why items a book with nonsense to fill out the bits that the writer does not understand and is not equipped to explain? I surely cannot be the only reader who would rather do without an explanation than wade pointlessly through an incompetent non-explanation? Did Fenichell hope that readers who had skimmed over meaningless explanations would obtain a comfortable sense of having absorbed the gist? Amazing luck to is not just isolated errors that I am complaining about. Consider an example of my forbearance. Fenichell thinks that the lac insect is a beetle. Now, where he got that from, I cannot imagine, and it should have been no challenge to obtain the facts without consulting an entomological textbook (for the record, lac insects are members of a family of scale insects similar to aphids and plant bugs. They are nearly as various as they can obtain from beetles and still be insects). But an isolated slip in a tangential point like that is forgivable and would hardly inconvenience most of his readers, who probably would hardly know the difference between a beetle and a scale insect anyway, so I gritted my teeth and looked the other way. My complaint is that the slip is not isolated and that he shows equal contempt for more relevant material where he is too ignorant to recognise that he is talking nonsense. Mentioning and glossing over things one does not understand in the appropriate context is forgivable, even helpful, but explaining them is an perfect example of where it is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to say enough to remove all doubt.Fenichell seems to know neither enough chemistry nor enough science of materials to speak sense about tham. He shows no comprehension of the difference between hardness and other concepts similar to strength, and makes meaningless comparisons between say, abalone shell and steel. Either he never consulted chemists and engineers, or never asked them to vet his interpretations of their advice, or if he did, they were either too illiterate or too embarrassed to support him much. The first few times I found a description of a process or reaction that I could not follow, I place it down to careless skimming and pressed on, but soon I found that they were par for the course. In fact they generally got worse towards the end of the book. I am not sure whether this was because the topic matter was becoming too drastically technical for Fenichell to child himself about, or whether it was just the issue that dilettantes perennially encounter when they wrote technical books. Commonly they search themselves out of their depth, ignominiously reduced to cramming what should have been the latest three quarters of the book into what amounts to an appendix to the introductory e closing chapters were the most tedious from my point of view, because that was where Fenichell concentrated on philosophy and quoted the views of different huge names who seemed to know hardly anything about chemistry, engineering, economy, or materials science, but were quite willing to sound off in largely meaningless terms about plastics, nature, interfaces and the like. Oh welllll. . . Who am I to sneer? At least they created and reputations that , all Fenichell's glossings and handwavings leave me with a serious problem. If I cannot trust the stuff I do understand, then how am I to trust the book where it with material I know nothing about?Fenichell starts with the history of plastics derived directly from natural products, such as rubber and cellulose. Allowing for my increasing distrust of anything he says, he presents a reasonable encapsulation of the topic matter. Unfortunately he has a his share of journalistic pose and writes as though his deadline and his professional mannerisms were more necessary than unaffectedly addressing and informing his readership. The book reads as though neither he nor an editor was interested in checking his prose for readability and comprehensibility. There are repeated passages where one has to reread a sentence to create sense of the concord. Yes, we all create such slips occasionally, but when it happens time and again, someone has been neglecting his workmanship to the extent that it amounts to contempt for the reader. Fenichell's journalese tempts him into weary wordplays and hackneyed opening references to what his topics were doing at such and such a put on such and such a time, with no sense of when or whether such atmospheric artifices support the story. It leaves the reader (this one anyway) with a sense related to watching those dreadful TV reporters who have been told to use their hands rather than stand like talking tailors' dummies. They proceed to gesture mechanically, stiltedly, and without any connection to what they are at is much like the result that reflexive journalese narrative style has on sound and ke no mistake, I have read worse by far, but Fenichell's prose could do with some serious delousing. The pity is that when he actually writes unaffectedly and does not obtain entangled in his sentence construction, he does so quite pleasantly. The book gives me a frustrating sense of a valuable work spoilt for a haporth of homework and care.Fenichell certainly has collected and presented a huge volume of historical material, so you might search the book useful or even entertaining. The history of plastics is very complex and diffuse, with no single story line, so if Fenichell ever publishes another edition, then my main recommendation after he has cleaned up his technicalities, his style and his prose, is that he contains a timeline in the book. It need not take more than a two-page spread and it could add hugely to the reader's perspective of the discussing the benefits and issues deriving from plastics technologies and applications, Fenichell does not take sides, but steers a fairly balanced, if not very analytic, course between the haters and lovers of plastics. My tip is that you read the book if you have a rainy Sunday to fill or a project to write, but don't trust what you read except where you can check the facts and contexts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    The only Titanic book you will ever need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    Well written, quick moving and full of facts that I would have never heard of if it wasn't for this book. A amazing read!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    This is, as has been said, a charming book. It shows knitting in social contexts over time, and I enjoyed looking at it that way. It is, however, a little book - less than 5.5" by 8", so the photos are not large. Some are full page, others are snap shots that are a fair bit smaller than a full page. The images are not, in general, particularly clear. If your interest is in info about the actual knitting, you may be disappointed, but it's a nice collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    Knitters will have fun the trip into the past. There are some surprises that bring a smile to the reader. A lot of of the more latest images are not sharp.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    I like the images but I did expect a coffee table book. The size IS in the description though so mostly my own fault for not paying attention. 5.2 x 0.6 x 7.9 inches

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    My hubby was at the 1968 Indy race. I bought this for him as a surprise. He couldn’t place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    This is a GREAT book for the money! Amazing pictures and lots of info on a lot of cars, drives, and times! Technical info is amazing and some things in the book I have never seen and I have a lot of Indy 500 books! Well worth the investment, you won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Best book on the terror of the Soviet Union. It goes through each segment of society and the horrors the Soviet Government inflicted upon them. I have a masters in Russian Studies -- this is one of top 3-4 books to read to truly understand the evils of the Soviet Government.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    An appalling story, power and ideology gone stark raving mad. An ominous warning for the u.s., the creatures are alive and well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    This is a must read for every American, high school age and older. It is a concise, graphic, gripping, terrifying and sad story of the Russia produced by the 1917 Bolshevik/Communist Revolution. This is a keeper for those of us who love the Russian people, their books, writers, art, melody and Solzhenitsyn. Alexander Yakovlev is an perfect and courageous writer. Kudos to this brave man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Without question Alexander Yakovlev is a special individual: dissident, policy-maker, and truth-teller. He directly participated in and personally witnessed the vastly various eras of the former USSR, from the highest levels. Former Chief of the Propaganda Ministry of the Soviet Union. Later, an adviser to Mikhail Gorbachev. Yakovlev is considered to be the founding father of "Glasnost." He was also in the audience behind closed doors to personally hear Khrushchev's "secret speech" denouncing Stalin.He is the highest ranking Party member to denounce the hypocrisy, murders, incarcerations, and barbarity by leaders of the former USSR upon its own people. (Of course, the former CCCP wasn't the only nation-state that has abused its own citizens. The USA has done plenty of this.) Alexander Yakovlev is one of the very select few who's been allowed into the ultra-secret and restricted Presidential archives in Moscow. Among numerous facts he discovered, were that a total of 41 million Soviet citizens were sent to prisons in the is book provides a lot of info about the period of Soviet history from the ascension of the Bolsheviks to Stalin's death in 1953. This info from the Presidential Archives includes voluminous amounts of classified records and documents. Obviously, historians are aware of Stalin's mass murders, psychopathology and lack of conscience. Yet a lot of documents Yakovlev noted were verbatim orders in writing by Lenin. We learn from Lenin's own writings, that he was just as brutal, though perhaps less systematic. Lenin led in turbulent times, before and after the Bolshevik victory. He died peacefully, but soon after. His death brought down any sense of humanity by the person who replaced him, who then air-brushed him out of history during his merous groups of people that were systematically repressed are listed in this book. Again, this isn't a special phenomenon in history nor is it exclusive to the former Soviet Union.And intriguing book by an accomplished and interesting gardless of ideology, I tend to believe that: "The nature of states is to seek power above all."--Political Theorist, Hans Morganthau

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    A amazing coffee-table book for Indy fans! Unbelievable history through the ten decades of the track's first century with plenty of amazing pictures in each decade. I particularly enjoyed the section that listed the whereabouts of each of the past machines that have won the race.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    enjoyable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    A classic table book for the Indy fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    Accurate and pictures are great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    Well written book that focuses more on the aftermath than the actual sinking. I found it very informative and I learned things I never knew.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Chock full of facts that need to be known. Some are disappointed because it didn't meet their expectations. However, that's not the author's shortcoming, and it's no reflection on the work, which is thought provoking and informative, at least to those with an interest in the subject it discusses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    I read Moscow December 25,1991: The Latest Day of the Soviet Union first. In it Yakovlev is credited with being the major thinker of glasnost and perestroika. As author of this book I found out why he had become so disillusioned with Communism. He was show to witness happenings that he speaks in detail about. For other incidents where he was not present, he was eventually high enough in Gorbachev's inner circle to access the archives and speak to those who were eyewitnesses. While other reviewers were bored with the statistics (and sometimes I search myself with the same feelings about other books) this is their private comment. With so much of the USSR archives still unavailable for research and a lot destroyed according to the Moscow December 25 book, A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia is a critical part of history that will be used for research by historians in the itics may say, "Prove the charges" but this is just rhetoric from "fellow travelers" who won't believe it even when its proved. They should read the chapter "The Intelligentsia" to see what their own fate would have been had they lived in the USSR. Lenin is exposed as just as much driven by power and brutality as Stalin. Neither had any concerns about the people. One of the greatest human tragedies discussed in the book was the fate of the Russian POWs who returned after WWII. Of course the Allies were guilty of forcing thousands to return when they wanted to stay in the West.20 years have passed since the USSR died and the generation that experienced communism is rapidly dying off. At least we have some info to review in the future from books like this one. Today we would like to know about the history, culture, everyday life of the Maya and other indigenous tribes. Sadly the Spanish and others destroyed the written records and we will never know much. Those who dislike books like this evidently hope for the same fate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plastic: The Making of a Synthetic Century []  2020-1-30 22:55

    One would expect a history of plastic to be full of dreary minutia, of interest only to professional chemists. You couldn't be more wrong. The author is to be congratulated for taking a subject that could be dull and turning it into a historical acc of how these substances have impacted our lives. Don't obtain me wrong, I am no lover of plastic but there are applications that require materials with the properties found in modern plastics. You just don't realize how crucial these substances are until you read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plastic: The Making of a Synthetic Century []  2020-1-30 22:55

    This history is probably of more relevance and importance to our modern method of life than just memorizing a list of nineteenth century presidents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    Not sure why so a lot of give this one four and five stars nor what I was hoping for (maybe more text to accompany the photos?) but this was a total waste of and time. Definitely not anything I would look at more than once. There are more and better pictures on Pinterest - and all for free.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    A lovely book that bears reading and rereading. Don't miss Levine's informative notes about each image at the end of the book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Yakovlev got it right! After being a member of the Politburo, he realized the horrors of the Soviet system.He completely unmasks the Soviet state for the monstrous destruction of Russia in the 20th century.He correctly states that the Russian people today have NO repentance or regret for the Soviet regime. He wants a "de-boshevization" of the Russian people without which Russia will continue its downward spiral to its eventual disintegration. Just as Nazi Germany underwent a denazification after WWII, the same needs to happen in Russia.I only want that he were the successor to Yeltsyn instead of Putin. Russia today would have been a various (and normal) country. Perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    Purchased this book as a Father's Day gift. My dad has really enjoyed reading it. He was at Indy several times in the 50s, and is a long time racing fan. Amazing images and interesting reading to accompany them. I was really happy to give him a bonus that brought back such amazing memories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    This is a superb book about the Indy 500. The one thing that set it apart from others for me is the part that attempts to acc for all Indy 500 winning cars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    This book of images is wonderful! I have looked through it several times. Seeing so a lot of stars from the past created it most enjoyable!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plastic: The Making of a Synthetic Century []  2020-1-30 22:55

    Fenichell is highly readable. He has appreciation for inventors who have developed fresh materials for the service of society. His book a balanced perspective, with engaging anecdotes.A mild criticism concerns organization. The book is a sequence of anecdotes about various plastics. Why one is mentioned before another is not clearly explained. As a result, the book feels like journalistic stream of conscious in appreciating materials, their purposes and inventors. This is respectful of the subject, but it is a bit hard to place into overall context and see a huge picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    Unbelievable book. Could not place it down. So a lot of facts that I did not realize. What a night of HORROR.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    Highly informative and well written

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Indianapolis 500: A Century of Excitement []  2019-12-23 20:16

    If you love the Indy 500 like I do, this book. Amazing pictures and stories. I grew up in speedway, indiana, and know most there is to know about the greatest spectacle, but this book still takes me back to races of the past. I pull it out every once in a while and have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Century of Violence in Soviet Russia []  2020-1-17 20:55

    I am very surprised about the cruelty and insanity of Soviets and the method they are like nazis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    This is a cute book. There are two things that caused me to give it three stars: 1) its size. When I think of a book created up of photographs, I tend to think of a large, glossy, sits-on-your-coffee-table sized book. 5" x 8" matte was a surprise. Yes, I should have more attention to the description, but a little book didn't cross my mind. 2) The zone of the captions/information about the photographs. I understand not wanting to put type over a photograph that fills the page. However, 81 images out of the 100 contained in the book had white/blank zone either around the photograph or on the opposite page that could have contained the easy description that is given at the back of the book. Instead, one looks at the image and then must flip to the index if they want to know anything further such as time period or zone of the image (if available).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People Knitting: A Century of Photographs []  2020-1-19 23:8

    This is a small book full of charming vintage images of people knitting. Want the captions ere on the same page as the pictures rather than in a list a the back. It's a bit inconvenient to have to hold flipping back and forth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    Titanic collectors will like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Titanic: Disaster of a Century []  2020-1-24 20:34

    For anyone interested in the tragedy of the Titanic, but knows very small of the history surrounding her sinking, this is a amazing read. After a short recap of her short life, the book focuses almost exclusively on the investigation into the reason she foundered. The book brings true life to the very well known story and evidence and testimony in a method that does impose a slight opinion, but also lets the reader decide for themself weather the rulings are inline within their own views. The only reason I am delivering a four out of five star review is in my private opinion, there were certain points more towards the end of the book that seemed to linger on with ideas that did not seem to benefit the advance of the story, and subsequently began to lose my interest. But overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone who's interest into the titanic has presented their curiosity for more info past the easy timeline of happenings that transpired that night.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Plastic: The Making of a Synthetic Century []  2020-1-30 22:55

    Entertaining and informative to an enquiring mind. Very readable and a amazing starter to anyone curious about how these materials evolved. Chemists, engineers and achademic's who read this book may criticise in the light of their superior knowledge but I found the book provided a level of interest and style of writing that sustained my reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    A very, very interesting read, and a must-have for fans of the ARonline www service or vehicle enthusiasts at e summary of the book speaks for itself if you need to know the period covered and the author's process, but I can tell you it is definitely very well and clearly written, with an adequate use of pictures for those not entirely familiar with the various enthusiasts need more books like this one, that go beyond a manufacturer's official publications while going enough into info to hold even the professionals interested. Actually, lots of brands deserve the kind of care and attention the author gave British-Leyland for this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    A fascinating history, not only of carmakers and their troubles in that era but consequently a social and political overview also of a troubled time in England. Depth of research impressive but well written and not "hard going" like some modern computer generated history books. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    If, like me, you have fun reading about exotic locations and eccentric British characters, this extraordinary book is for you. Where else can you read about ingabangas, the origin of the words "furlough" and "thunderbox," or Naga gardeners who work naked except for "bathing-drawers" worn as turbans, or British women who "went native" and became the reincarnation of a goddess among the Zemi Nagas people, or what sex-starved officers got up to with papayas when they weren't "bashing the bishop?" Who were the "toddy tappers? How did bored Brits on the long sea voyage to India while away the hours playing "Are You There, Moriarty?" What was the fate of the Srinager Sodomy Club? And so on, and so on. David Gilmour does an perfect job of letting Brits of all classes and occupations across three centuries speak for themselves. One quibble: In a footnote on page 441, Sir David writes that the first draft of T. E. Lawrence's book, The Seven Pillars of Wisdom, was "stolen on a train." In fact, Lawrence seems to have forgotten the MS in a railway cafeteria on his method back to Oxford from London in 1919. When he phoned back to the station, the bag could not be found, and was, in that sense, stolen. See Jeremy Wilson, Lawrence of Arabia: The Authorized Biography, p. 627. Picky, picky.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    The info are awesome .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    I did not really know the story of British Leyland. This book is a unbelievable overview of the story from 1968 until the very e story of British Leyland includes a lot of politics but the author does a very amazing job of remaining politically neutral. It has some pictures but a few more would be appreciated. As an American, I was not familiar with a lot of of the British Leyland cars but a fast google find can clear that up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    Even though I am on the wrong side of the pond I have always enjoyed quite a few things British. The collapse of the UK auto industry is what it is and I, esp being an American, won't point fingers. If you like vehicles and history of how whatever vehicle it is you are interested in it's always nice to have well written and informative books. I also have a few on the DMC12 debacle. I really do recommend to any gear-head ( Petrol Head for my UK mates ) to read about vehicles you will never own either because there simply are none left or you just have no desire too. Only reason I didn't give 5 star's was I felt a few locations were redundant. Just my humble opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    This is just what I was looking for; it illuminates the manners and everyday lives of those reddish-brown Colonels and Captains with ailing livers who pop up all over 19th-century novels and pulp fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    Interesting in part boring and tedious but thorough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walking Tour of Victoria, British Columbia (Look Up, Canada!) []  2020-1-19 21:31

    Ok but needs editing. Otherwise interesting and informative. I would have liked mileage for those unable to walk the entire route.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    A lot of years ago as an executive at Ford South Africa, I met a counterpart working for Leyland South Africa. We got chatting as vehicle guys do and I asked him why his employer's vehicles were sold devoid of rust proofing when at Ford we took this very seriously as vehicles on the coast of South Africa could almost literally rust overnight. His respond shook me at the time and sparked a life-long interest in this tragic company: "We know about that issue but can't afford to fix it." I was thus delighted to encounter this book and devoured it e author traces the Via Dolorosa taken by this one-time giant of British manufacturing whose products could be once found on roads from San Francisco around the globe to Auckland. As a ex-car executive, the author conducts a 360-degree dissection of the causes of this company's demise and since these factors chop across organisational functions and span varying time periods means no simple chronological sequencing is possible. This did not bother me as I've spent a lot of years as a business doctor and could follow the themes and integrate them without difficulty.What I liked:1. The interplay of cause and result was very well developed. The story is filled with facepalm moments [e.g. the Marina - a amazing vehicle for 1966 to take on the Mk 2 Cortina, but not in 1972] and "What were they thinking?" inept decision making [e.g. putting into production the truly poor Maxi and abjectly failing to rationalize the ridiculous over-lapping, sales-cannibalizing product ranges]. This is indeed a key work in the field of economic history and management - and I loved it for that.2. The book provides an on-going series of leadership, general management, design engineering, business tactic and marketing case studies. An MBA class would benefit from being assigned this book for guide purposes.3. Management books of this type can be very dry, but this one is well-written and keeps the reader's attention throughout.4. I particularly enjoyed the author's global perspectives. His takes on the North American shop [a poisoned honeypot] and that of Australia were excellent. No parochial British angle dominated the narrative - this was great.5. The author summed up well by presenting a set of findings, conclusions and "what-if?" recommendations with which I could not do anything but concur.What I disliked or thought could have been done better:Nothing in particular comes to mind. I think this is a splendid cidentally my answer to my Leyland mate was "Can you afford not to?"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    This is a very well researched and structured acc of a long and complex tragedy, the collapse over a lot of years of the main actor in the UK automotive industry. The author has gone to an immense amount of problem to document what happened, who were the key players in the drama, what were the factors and motivations that influenced their decisions. It's a fine piece of sectoral analysis, including the interplay between British Leyland and successive British governments, with their failure to take the emergence of the European Common Shop seriously. The lack of vision belongs not only to BL itself, with its grotesque failures in shop and competitive analysis,and in product planning and execution, but also to left-wing dreams of public control over the economy and national autarchy, and to the short-sighted and disruptive role of unions and the company's labour force. So it's also a fascinating piece of socio-political history. The structure of the book is very effective, alternating chapters on the happenings of particular years with those which describe the history of BL's individual vehicle models - amazing products are absolutely critical to the success and survival of vehicle companies. For me it brought back a lot of things about an era that disturbed me and an industry that I became involved in from 1977.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The West Beyond the West: A History of British Columbia []  2020-1-17 20:36

    I bought this for a history class and its a very complete account. Loved the class and the book too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    I have been very interested in the impact on Indian History and Culture due to the Colonial incursion. This book is brilliant, funny and insightful. I now must read everything he’s written!It’s not the books fault, but I had been promised a signed copy and my copy was not signed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    This is an perfect history of the social lives of the British raj in India.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walking Tour of Victoria, British Columbia (Look Up, Canada!) []  2020-1-19 21:31

    Not an impressive tour. Saved only by an explanation of differing styles throughout times. Better things to see in Victoria and environs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    This book entail an endless succession of names, names, and more names. A few lines or a paragraph or two and then on to the next name. An extremely dry book. If you wish to read an interesting book on the British Raj then a used copy of The Golden Oriole by Raleigh Trevelyan or Plain Tales from the Raj by Charles Allen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    I did have fun the book. How did the British Motor Industry ever survive as long as it did?The Management was appalling, the Governments of the day were absolute meddlers, and pompous in the extreme, and the workforces,- absolute socialists and communists who created a mockery of the work ethics. What was most interesting was that I owned a lot of of the vehicles mentioned, and knew very well of their amazing and poor points. Michael Edwardes did a sterling job, even if his appointment was too late to save the situation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    Not exactly enthralling, but it does have a lot of amazing info in it. I was expecting to read that BL was another casualty to Margaret Thatcher's policies, but recognized enough of the described failings of BL to realize it died of self inflicted wounds. Too poor they didn't recognize and fix the problems in time for a recovery the method Fiat has. Lots of detail about what went wrong, and why it didn't obtain taken care of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    This was an interesting read, the book charts the course that the British motor industry took from the aftermath of globe battle 2 until the final sad demise of a once proud industry and a major exporter of motor vehicles. This early export drives after the battle pushed the "buy British" and bring in much required money that England desparately required as the country was almost broke as the battle drained the country of e huge number of makes and models were large for the size of the home shop so it was "export or bust" Some brands like Jaguar were powerful in the USA but others were quite week and could not survive post war. The book follows what decisions were taken sucessive managements both amazing and terrible.During all of the post ww2 adjustments the trade unions were getting stronger and very demanding with strikes holding up production worth millions of pounds in mainly export earnings. The book also charts the other players ie; Ford, Vauxhall (GM) Opel, Hillman/Chrysler not to forget the European makes ie Renault (a huge player) BMW, Mercedes, Fiat etcThe industrial climate forced Vauxhall and Ford to set up in europe where they could create vehicles at a profit with no floor strikes and the middle of all this enter the Japanese invasion, these companies set up early joint ventures is Rover and Honda to obtain a foothold in england and europeThis book also listed the building of cars in other commonwealth countries and the demise of these is book is well worth reading for a vehicle person to read, a really well written piece of history, take the time to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978 []  2019-12-23 20:13

    This is a well researched and concisely written book about the history of the British Leyland Motor 's a specialty book- likely to be of interest to the person who already has an interest in the subject, or for someone who is undertaking academic research or study.On the other hand, it is written in a manner which is unlikely to engage the casual r anyone who is interested in the subject, I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    Gilmour certainly went through the archives to research this tome, however it seems strange that he included very few documents and recollections from Indians and e British were there for 300 years and it changed both India and is still changing Britain. The coming of the Raj and the Rebellion in 1857 were milestones. The life for a lot of was short and a hardship, but considering the times and local conditions was probably in keeping with the general overlook. It wasn’t all high tea and tennis.I can relate to the fact that a lot of have been overseas for an extended period of time cannot easily transition to life back home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    Amazingly interesting history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The British in India: A Social History of the Raj []  2020-1-27 19:59

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Torch Kept Lit: Great Lives of the Twentieth Century [Book]  2017-12-13 18:0

    I compliment James Rosen for providing perfect context as well as the wide selection of eulogies. However, my expectation of the Buckley writing was probably too high. Some were satisfyingly funny, others a small boring (perhaps after reading so many), others very interesting. I was unaware Buckley came to know so a lot of various people. One irritant - Buckley's sometimes use of the most arcane word (one which you will never, ever see again, and for amazing reason) when a simple, more common word would do. You expect this with Buckley to some degree, but at times, it is method over the top.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tinkering toward Utopia: A Century of Public School Reform []  2019-12-18 20:35

    This text was for class and therefore proprietary to higher education. A amazing read with simple to read text that allowed perfect comprehension of the topic matter. Pedagogy and its history at its best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tinkering toward Utopia: A Century of Public School Reform []  2019-12-18 20:35

    I found the book extremely valuable in presenting the forces acting on the public education system in the US. Helped me recognize the interplay between educational, learning, and different sociopolitical systems, highlighting different level of potential innovations with the realities of leading students to true d it is very well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost on Purpose: Adventures of a 21st Century Mountain Man []  2020-1-11 18:53

    I've had this book a while but just hadn't started it. How stupid! It was fantastic!. I could hardly place it down. I'm so glad the author took the time to create amazing notes and then place it all into a unbelievable book. The info were clear and concise and I could picture his descriptions of where he was and his emotions. This wasn't just some hike. It was something 99% of people could never do. I loved reading the Lewis and Clark book that came out several years ago and I have visited Montana a lot of times so I was especially interested in his trek and his retelling L&C history. I agree it's a shame they haven't maintained the trail---that Lewis and Clark walked!! It should be a national trail! I'm glad this book gave it some attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost on Purpose: Adventures of a 21st Century Mountain Man []  2020-1-11 18:53

    This was a amazing read. But I bought it because the information on amazon said it was by the Patrick Taylor that wrote the "Irish Doctor" books. It wasn't. But I still enjoyed the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Architectural Digest at 100: A Century of Style []  2020-1-17 23:25

    I thought all the photographs were of extremely not good quality. I expected so much more. I returned the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Architectural Digest at 100: A Century of Style []  2020-1-17 23:25

    Amazing book to have in your collection. Quality abounds in the making of the book. Must Have!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    At The Close Of A Century [4 CD Box Set] []  2020-1-17 2:8

    This is one of the best collections you can own----the recording quality is high, and there's just something about Stevie's rich, attractive voice that cheers and energizes you, whether as background melody or cranked up to fill the air! I begin dancing to the melody sometimes, I can't support it! Songs like 'My Cherie Amour' and 'Golden Lady' are particularly evocative, especially to those of us who grew up hearing them. Stevie is a national treasure and, fortunately, a prolific artist. I just love him on this set, and you will too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ripley's Believe It Or Not! A Century Of Strange! (15) []  2020-1-31 7:31

    This book was really interesting, because I learned facts that I never knew. Thanks for this experience. I will be looking forward to the next one. It was really fun to is book is full of awesome facts and photos. I recommend it to anyone that wants to be freaked out or amazed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Health: The Development of a Discipline, Twentieth-Century Challenges []  2020-1-25 2:28

    Amazing book. For my public health class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow of a Century: An Irish Love Story []  2020-2-2 20:10

    Poor writing is a breaker for me, but I usually give a book at least until the twenty-five percent mark. Not this time. Poor writing combined with not good grammar and the author's private political bias is just plain awful. No thanks.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386