Read a civil action reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a civil action reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 1

    Useful review?

    wordington: a word story []  2020-7-6 6:35

    I have completed all tasks to be told more tasks to come soon. Its been days and still waiting. I have accrued over 250 dollars and nothing to spend it on. If i dont have any fresh tasks soon i am deleting the android game and certainly not recommending it for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    A real story about trying to search the truth in a Court case that leads a man putting everything on the line for his legal firm to victory the largest water contamination case ever in Woburn, Massachusetts history. The time this story take put is from the late 1960's to the 1980's where a lot of kids where being diagnosed with Leukemia. Jan Schlichtmann takes the case thinking that it would be a fast case, since it had very small evidence, but he finds evidence that some huge companies have been dumping a contaminant know as THC in the water supplies. The story is very griping that keeps you reading and always wanting to know what the law firm learns next about the case seeing how fair the rabbit hole goes. The main theme is to always test to search the truth even when faced with overwhelming odds. And those that test to suppress the truth should know that it will always search it's method back into the light. If anyone is looking for a amazing story about truth this is it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    Set everything aside if you begin reading this. In other words, it's best read on a long plane ride over the Pacific Ocean, when you can't be distracted. This book was so intriguing and interesting. It's a fascinating look at something that seems so black and white, but legalese makes it so gray. The obvious respond to all the deaths and diseases in the city of Woburn was the dumping of chemicals into the soil. So, why then, was it so difficult for the idiotic judge and jury to not see that?!?!? This book totally caught my attention and makes me upset at our legal system. Absolutely captivating.

    0  


    Add your opinion on a civil action or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    If it didn't hit so close to home, it might of been just another well written story. Sadness and anger a lot of times kept me awake at night after having to place it down. Reading it puts you in the courtroom. I'm so sorry for those families... and to my cousin RIP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    Taking it from my bedside table I started to read it twice but fell asleep thinking "This is a terrific book." I got up the following Sunday morning at 5AM and read the book in one glorious sitting. My uncle borrowed it and left a notice on my answering a couple of days later, "Jim...you owe me a night's sleep." My daughter read it and loved it. I just ordered it for my thirteen year old granddaughter. We'll see what she thinks. I may be back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    A very well written book, thoughtfully and thoroughly researched. Reminds us once again that we all need to be our own protectors and advocates in a world, careless at best about public safety. And I believe I might need to rethink my low opinion of “all” attorneys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    I could not place down this brilliant piece of journalism, on one of the first Superfund cases in U.S. fore it became a super fund case, however, a lawyer devoted years of his life to get justice and compensation for those in the little Massachusetts city whose water supplies had been compromised enough to slay them, including one of the executives defending the companies who were charged; the lawyer lost all his is was a case of justice gone badly wrong, and a judge who ignored the facts and perhaps even twisted the laws, possibly because of his intense dislike for the attorney who had the chutzpah to bring the cases in the first place, a man who simply did not give up and himself lost almost everything he had to do was also a case of courage and honesty for the greater l journalists and students of journalism should read this book. A finer example of a full-length investigative work like this is hard to find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    This is an perfect 's not only a amazing insight into the legal world, it's a unbelievable insight into humanity - with all of it's faults and it's wonders.I'd heartily recommend it to anyone who enjoys Russell Banks' THE SWEET HEREAFTER or John Grisham's FORD COUNTY: STORIES and to people who enjoyed the film Erin Brockovitch.A short description: Something's wrong in Woburn, Massachusetts. Kids and their families have developed a host of strange ailments: rashes, fatigue, headaches, constant nausea. Cancer is rampant. The source of their illness: Woburn's water. And the citizens of Woburn believe that two corporations are responsible for the issues with their water. Thing is, they have no method to prove it. Enter Jan Schlichtmann, a young lawyer, eager to achieve fame and fortune. He agrees to take on a case and sets out to prove the two companies knowingly polluted the water and poisoned his clients. Only instead of gaining fame and fortune Jan comes to care for his clients and winds up bankrupting his firm in the e book is based on a true case, a true e Good: It is very well written. It is witty, heartbreaking, and covers exactly how long-lasting litigation e Bad: Some readers may search the level of detail and the amount of info on both the legal system and the characters intimidating and/or confusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    Well, this might be the most bitterly disappointing thing I've read in the past decade. All my rage shall be directed toward Jonathan Harr, who had the audacity to set up an impossible situation, created me care about the true life characters this situations involved, meticulously set up the conditions under which this the true life characters finally decided to pursue the impossible task, bluff me into thinking they had a powerful possibility of being successful, and forced me to feel so a lot of panging emotions as the characters suffer loss after loss after loss after loss, and leading me to think over and over and over "maybe things will be various this time, maybe justice will finally be served," and time and time again that optimism is revoked, and I'm forced down from my elation into reality.Harr has created me into a fool. A naive, overly optimistic fool. Having just finished this book, within the past few minutes, I think to myself, "how could I have been so stupid to really think, given everything I was topic to witness over the past four hundred pages, that there was even a slight hope for justice?" I really don't know. I mean seriously, Harr basically tells you, multiple times throughout the book, that this story is not going to have a happy, yet every fresh revelation, every fresh piece of info that's discovered, I was stupid enough to be dragged into Jan Schlichtmann's elation, to feel what he was feeling in those moments, to think to myself that the globe is a just put where justice cannot support but be served when the divide between right and wrong is so painfully obvious, so clearly illustrated, so irrefutable, and then, alas, justice does not come. And the conquer failed to become true for me until the final ten pages of the book, which was when it became clear to me that there just wasn't enough book left for any kind've of miraculous twist of fate to manifest itself within the coming pages, and only then did I let myself to accept defeat, and not a moment sooner.I'm sorry if I spoiled it for anybody, like myself, who was not aware of how these happenings ultimately turned out before it was introduced to them through this book, but the heroes lose in this real story. Knowing the ending shouldn't deter you from reading it, though. It is a truly marvelous work of non-fiction writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    I just began reading it about 2 weeks ago. The one thing I don't like about it is the use of the name of our Savior, our Heavenly Father and the 'F' word. The content is interesting and because it is a real story and based on fact, it is even more compelling. It draws attention to the fact that EVERYONE, not just huge companies, can do tremendous hurt to the earth. Things that all of us MAY do, like throwing a paper wrapper from a carton of french fries or a hamburger, or a used soda can, out the window of our car, when multiplied by all the millions of people in this country, can have an accumulative affect on the environment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Civil Action []  2020-1-14 20:2

    This was a very amazing real book about a that takes put in Massachusetts about contaminated well water and its 'alleged' link to cancer and other health problems in the neighborhood . It is an older book, but it came up as a Kindle read and it had high ratings, so I thought I'd give it a try. I am glad I did. What was various about this real story was it was written during the - not afterwards. The author actually sat in depositions, meeting with lawyers and the community and all of the proceedings. A longer book, but worth the read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    It was good. It grabed me at begining and didn`t allow go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    This is a attractive story of finding hope and love in the aftermath of war. It is a captivating read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Civil War: A Military Overview []  2020-1-25 4:21

    amazing history book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    My husband and I fell in love with DK (especially the Smithsonian line) during a trip to the Smithsonian museums. The books are filled with an immense amount of info which is presented in a fascinating, readable way. Of course the author couldn't contain absolutely every single detail about the topic at hand, but they still did a unbelievable job. The images are gorgeous and a excellent complement to the info being presented. The books themselves have sturdy binding and stout construction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    This is a amazing coffee table size book with amazing Civil Battle history, images & art! Buy one, you will love it!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    I read a lot of historical fiction and this is one of my favorites. The characters and plot lines are better developed than most and it was one I couldn’t place down until finished! Kudos to the author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Amazing story but lacked the historical background I like to read in historical novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    I really like this book. It is full of awesome pictures, timelines and dozens of information. This seems to be a period of history that is vastly misunderstood and I'm delighted to brush up on my history while learning fresh and interesting facts and how so a lot of various going ons were event around each other, the social and political climates and how all the little things fit together to make this era. I would highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    High quality book received in perfect condition. The images are amazing for any history buff. Writing is a bit little for these older eyes, even when wearing glasses. But the huge images are most of the story in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    An perfect book. Buy one every year for a grandson who loves learning about the Civil War. Not my favorite subject and even I was impressed with book. It was huge hit and he said of all the ones I have bought him, this one if by far his favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Civil War: A Military Overview []  2020-1-25 4:21

    I can understand why BookAuthority considered this book as “one of the best fresh Civil Battle History ebooks”. Well place together and crafted, its so amazing to see an author who takes his craft so seriously. From the book covers that create up the series, to the development of the plot and characters, this is as amazing as any mainstream paperback you will search in the major stores..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    What a unbelievable book. I didn't wish it to end! I cried when Ella was with the Lord, it spoke so much to me and created my spirit years for for a closer relationship with Him. Thank you for such a attractive book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Very amazing read. Love southern novels especially this era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    This book was really quite good, the kind of historical fiction that not only the reader a amazing story but an opportunity to learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Civil War: A Military Overview []  2020-1-25 4:21

    I am really enjoying this book; very suitable for those just starting to read about the Battle Between the States, or those who need a general review. I like the author's readable style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    I've only skimmed through this book so far, but it is visually stunning. Like the Smithsonian Definitive Tutorial on Globe Battle II, this book delivers lots of timelines, sidebars profiles and a remarkable mix of paintings, period images and layouts on weapons and accoutrements of mid 19th century warfare to excite Civil Battle buffs and novices alike.And, like the Globe Battle II book, it may shed some fresh light on the causes of the war, the wars and the personalities -- but it's strength lies in telling a straight-line narrative complemented by lots of amazing eye candy.A amazing addition to any Civil Battle library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    Attractive book full of info and visuals. I would love to own all the Smithsonian books like these! It arrived packaged well and in perfect condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    I enjoyed this book. It was so true about the method we are loved by God. I didn'r wish this book to end

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    This was a fabulous book. It was a complete story that didn't leave you hanging until the next book. Amazing christian insites as to putting God first in your life based on scripture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Civil War: A Military Overview []  2020-1-25 4:21

    I enjoyed reading the American Civil War: A Military Overview because of its emphasis on the military campaigns. The book is divided into 22 chapters, and each chapter focuses on different military campaigns divided by whether they were in the Eastern or Western part of the United States. The author provided brief but detailed descriptions of each battle, who won the battle, and the casualties of both sides. If your basic interest is Civil Battle wars without fillers and you have a primary understanding of the Civil War, you will probably have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    This is a really well place together book. It's hard to capture all the nuance of a multi year battle in a coffee table book. But this really hits on all the major points of the battle without losing the info that really tell the e layout is done in a method that allows you to read it as a book for long periods, or to take it a page at a time and learn a few little sually it's a amazing looking book that is impressive it left out on a table. It's not a pulp book from the dollar store. It's a really well created high quality giftable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In His Eyes: A Civil War Romance [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    It starts off slow but as I got into it more, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The American Civil War: A Military Overview []  2020-1-25 4:21

    Book Review Written August 28, 2019The American Civil War: A Military Overview, By Michael R. BrasherKindle Edition (104 Pages)“The Civil Battle defined us as what we are and it opened us to being what we became, amazing and poor things... It was the crossroads of our being, and it was a hell of a crossroads.” ​— ​Shelby FooteThis is a concise military history of the American Civil War. It provides an understandable overview of the major military operations conducted during the couse of the war. It is supplemented by numerous interesting and authoritative www service links to the necessary people, battles, and other major happenings of the war. The narrative is interesting, obviously well researched, engaging, enjoyable to read, and simple to comprehend. I recommend it as a amazing resource for those readers who are newcomers to the history of the Civil Battle and would like a condensed but comprehensive summary of the major military operations that took place, or for those readers who are already familiar with the Civil Battle and would like to read a "refresher" summary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    Wow!! What an awesome book! Bought this for a mates son who's interested in history but may have to obtain a copy for myself! Dozens of various photos, amazing page layouts, etc. You won't be disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Visual History []  2020-1-19 23:10

    I have always enjoyed DK's "Visual Histories" which package a lot of information into a reasonably-sized book, and I particularly love it when they finally reappear in the lower-priced, smaller softbound editions, since the zone on my shelves is limited. Admittedly, the smaller page (and print) size makes it a bit harder to read, but I still manage to do so. I want DK would reissue ALL of their related books this way, and not take years to actually do so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    Jeff Shaara writes a riveting novel that puts the reader right there with the Generals of the Civil War. The faith and sense of duty of officers on both sides is incredible. The incompetents of the northern generals is incredible. Any history buff who does not read Jeff Shaara's different historical novels is missing out on a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    Excellent. Enjoyed every moment spent reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    First, I do not have an engineering degree so came at the FE Exam with very small engineering background beyond work experienceSecond, I passed the exam on my first test thanks in huge part to this book.I spent about 9 months of an hour each weekday with this book, supplemented with online resources such as Khan Academy and youtube. The book itself is very thorough, but makes the assumption that you've seen this material before. I highly recommend you read this alongside the official NCEES reference book that you'll have available on try day. Don't bother printing it, have it begin on the computer when you're studying and be familiar with searching it and how to use it to solve the issue at hand.I found the practice issues in this book useful, but generally harder than what can be found on the exam itself. Again, if you are doing examples from this book, use the official NCEES handbook and an approved calculator when trying to solve them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    Its beautiful helpful, but I do not like how it is set up. You take a "Diagnostic Exam" in the beginning of each section, before you have a possibility to fully understand the information. Also, they do not tell you where to search the equations they use in the Reference manual provided during the test. In my opinion, you should take the "Diagnostic Exam" at the end of the chapter after you spent time understanding the example issues in the chapter, and the answers shouldn't be right next to the problem. Also, it would be helpful if they gave you a problem, told you how to search the correct equation in the reference manual, then explained how to solve the problem. The info itself is very helpful, especially if you follow the study schedule provided.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    Unlike Thucydides, Shelby Foote did not witness the Civil Battle first hand. He only died in latest years. However, it is my opinion that Foote's work will stand up to the passage of time as well as Thucydides history of his amazing war. Someone has referred to these remarkable books as "our Illiad," comparing Foote with Homer. I agree with that assessment.I read these volumes years ago, but recently picked them back up on Kindle, and am in the process of re-reading them one by one. They are even better the second time around! Some will point out the flaws with the work: Foote doesn't use footnotes for instance, writing as a narrative. This is a weakness, but it is a weakness easily rectified. It is time for a fresh edition of these classics, with accompanying notes and citations. Given how magesterial and complete these volumes are (and given the fact that there is room for interpretation and disagreement with Foote at times) it would seem that a fresh critical edition of this incredibly necessary text is called te is a southerner, and a amazing writer, and thus he brings a humane touch to both sides of the conflict, giving a nuanced and thorough treatment of the conflict that demonizes none, but explains much. He thinks clearly and writes beautifully and deeply understands his topic matter. There is simply no better narrative of the conflict in my rongly recommended: and a plea to the publisher. PLEASE consider republishing these classics in a critical edition with footnotes and accompanying essays by respected scholars. It is time. Foote's work deserves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    This is one of the best written narratives of battle ever written. Clear. Properly detailed. Extraordinarilly well written. You never wish to place it down. Like Grant's Memoirs, but more human in its discussion, more detailed and flowing about the human interactions, reads easier. Quality superb. I have read 20 or 30 accounts of the civil war, will read Foote's other 2 volumes as well. No matter what you have or haven't read on this subject, you will wish to tead this for every reason.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Louisville and the Civil War: A History & Guide (Civil War Series) []  2020-1-31 1:19

    Perfect documentation of the Civil Battle in Louisville. Enjoyable read and well documented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    It is a amazing book and kept my interest with intriguing facts and amazing story line throughout the whole book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    I found this book to be an simple and fast read. The writer treats both sides of the conflict equally and brings to life the necessary part the women played. Before reading this book I knew that women played a part in the war, but I didn't know to what extent. l would encourage everyone to check it out. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    Utterly fascinating look at the Civil Battle through the eyes of the men who directed it. Both sides were well portrayed and I got a thrill from the method the characters were brought to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    Loved the history! It is a amazing read it just before visiting the Gettysburg Pennsylvania zone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    So, why the 4 stars?. Because while I don't believe Foote's prose to be anything special, his writing does obtain your attention. While info such as appearance and mannerisms can obtain tiresome, they never become so with Foote. He manages to create everything interesting and his anecdotes are a hoot. The wars are vividly describedHowever, Shelby is a "lost cause" believer. He basically discounts that the problem of slavery was the major cause of the Civil Battle and goes the "states rights" route which purveyors of this belief have used to do an perfect job of revising history. I just feel Shelby is plain wrong on some issues, but there is no doubt that he knew the Civil Battle like the back of his handYes, there is a certain Southern bias, but I don't feel it is overwhelming. He does prop up some Southern participants, who are really undeserving, while diminishing the accomplishments of some Northern participants, but the Southern Generals WERE generally better and the fact that the South held out as long as it did IS an 's 800 + pages and in between each chapter I would read something else and I still zoomed through this book. That's basically the largest compliment I could give itI'm fairly knowledgeable of the Civil Battle and yet I still found myself at times asking myself..."wait, is he a Confederate or Federal?" I'm sure that a real Civil Battle buff could easily list the people involved in an opening into with a brief description of who they served with. That would create things much more comprehensible4 stars 'aint bad! I'll be reading the 2nd book before the year is out

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    The question should be what is there to not like. Foote’s entire trilogy is a masterpiece...his love of the Civil Battle soldiers and leaders is apparent with every word. Today’s historians are heavily into analytics and don’t tell who when and where happenings occurred. Foote makes up that Deficiency with style while displaying obvious devotion to the topic matter... this book which is the first in the trilogy shows why that trilogy is a must for history buffs. I have the trilogy in book form but just had to have the e-book also. Volume one and the entire trilogy deserve more than 5 stars🙂🙂🙂

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    Bought another one in this series from the same seller, and am so happy I did - we saved so much buying a very amazing condition, used one! Dust jacket came with it also. It's a bonus for my military history-loving husband - who had just watched the entire series on PBS recently - and it was a joy to give him this (these - I bought all three) and see his face light up. As it's about 900 pages, he'll be working on it for a year at least, in his spare time. Worth it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Louisville and the Civil War: A History & Guide (Civil War Series) []  2020-1-31 1:19

    This could have been a fascinating story; instead, it is a rather dry and dusty recitation of facts and figures, with small apparent effort to tell a cohesive story about Louisville during the Civil War. I don't recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Louisville and the Civil War: A History & Guide (Civil War Series) []  2020-1-31 1:19

    I am from this zone and was really looking forward to this book to support me discover my community links to the Civil War. While there is a amazing of info in the book, it does not flow well and seems to be just a string of almost unrelated paragraphs, one after the other. And for a book that is subtitled, “A History & Guide”, there is precious small guiding. Buildings are mentioned without giving the exact zone or even saying whether they are still in existence. Most troubling is the absence of any index. How do you have a history and guidebook with no index? Sadly, this book fell far short for te that the Confederate Monument (which has five photos, being the most of any topic in the book) was relocated from Louisville to Elizabethtown. This happened after the publication of this book and I mention it only for those readers who may go looking for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    Studying:This Review Manual was worth every penny. It follows with the NCEES reference manual really well and gave me everything I required to be successful on the test. I am a current civil engineering major in my senior year. I bought this book a while back but was a small intimidated and so didn't even begin it until a couple of months is a not-so-well-known fact about the FE exam....you don't need to know everything. I printed off the list of subjects and questions from the NCEES www service and started with the Transportation and Geotechnical and then worked my method down to the lower priority questions. As a current student, I went from example to example in the book and tried to solve them. If I couldn't, I would test to learn it. If I couldn't learn it in 30 minutes, I moved s, some of the examples were longer than FE questions, but they were still helpful to me. In some sections, the RM gave an example for just about every equation in the NCEES reference manual and that was incredibly helpful. The act of working through the issues and identifying which equations required unit conversions and which ones didn't was very useful, too. I did not study every section of the manual. I knew some subjects like Mechanics of Materials it wouldn't matter how much I studied I would still do poorly.I spent a week going over the material I knew I could learn and then took off one day before the test.Test day:I spent my time on the questions I knew how to solve and created sure I was getting them right. Some of the questions were very related to those in the RM (hint hint). This only makes sense because there are only so a lot of issues you can ask with the equations in the reference manual. The ones I had no idea, I just guessed and moved on. I probably skipped and guessed about 25 questions (gasp!) and was unsure on about 10 more. But, 10 days later I got the effect that I don't have to know it all. A 50% or 60% can obtain you a pass. If you're currently in school and have been paying attention at all to your classes, you don't need to study for an rediculous period of time either. Don't be intimidated. Learn the heavily weighted subjects and then go for it: Obtain that d luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    I bought this book to prepare for the FE Civil exam. I read and reviewed each chapter and I can tell you it is a amazing book to pass the is real that some sections are too detailed and probably you don't need them for the exam, but they're still a amazing method to exercise your mind.Overall I think you cannot search anything better on the market. Usually I did the examples at the beginning of each section after reading and studying the section itself. I passed the FE civil exam at the first attempt, I am a mechanical engineer (not graduated in US) and some of the subject where completely fresh for me. Follow the book and you'll pass! I suggest to together with this book the FE Civil practice problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    The Civil Battle Trilogy is not a project or light read, it's a commitment. The second volume is 967 pages, about 100 more than volume one. The first two have been exhaustively researched and detailed, and Mr. Foote's ability to tell a story is wonderful. This is not just a compendium of facts and troop movements, it's a real, living breathing acc of the men who fought this war. From the men on the line to the generals to the presidents, you are there, you feel what they feel. The personalities are drawn with a vivid brush, you know what it's like to test to keep the factions of a country together (both sides had riots), the politics and rivalries between the generals, and what the civilians is book is so real, so accurate, that Gettysburg, a war that took three days, takes three days to read. I've read books on that war that weren't this good.I did have to take break between tomes, but I think I'm ready for volume three. The thing is, when I'm reading these books, that's what I wish to do. I mean, the dishes really pile up, y'know?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    I'm reading volume 1 of this 3 part series and it's turning out to be an perfect read. I'm a history fan but I never much attention to the American Civil Battle for some reason but that changed when I read Rebel Yell by S. C. Wynn. The wonderful story of the legend of Stonewall Jackson and others in the civil battle has given me an appreciation for American history. I'm almost done with volume 1 and will be cotinuing with this next one promptly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    Shelby Foote is a master storyteller and his research and dedication to a balanced depiction of the civil battle is without question a masterful classic. He puts you in their shoes and you can hear the thunder of war raging in hearts and minds of both the North and the South. Superb reading and must not be rushed but relished to those whom possess a keen heart for truth

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    At the time this was written there are 240 reviews on this book so I will not go into info about the story but just my impressions of the book.I liked the book due to its quick paced and "man on the ground" type of feel. Mr. Shaara writes well about wars and the history - in an overview sense - is mostly accurate mainly concentrating on Manassas, Fredricksburg and in most of Mr. Shaara's books this one is also "historical fiction", an oxymoron if you ever head one, and is a very interesting hero study of the major players. I especially enjoyed the characters of Jackson and Chamberlin and give thanks to this book for sparking my interest in those two fascinating figures which prompted me to read more about is a very nice complement to history books and biographies I have previously read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    Gods and Generals follows the beginning of the Civil Battle and the early successes of the Confederate forces and the total ineptitude of the Northern high command. It is a easy read that focuses more on individuals than battles...particularly Stonewall Jackson. of the tree novels written, it is by the far the easiest and enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    I greatly enjoyed this book which did a amazing job of humanizing some of the iconic figures in the Civil War. Too often, history tends to reduce such people to facts and figures, victories and losses. To present these men as sons, husbands, fathers, etc presses home that they were more like you and me than we realize. I have no problems with constructed dialogue. Shaara, and his father before him, did the research required to create it work and create the characters come to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Louisville and the Civil War: A History & Guide (Civil War Series) []  2020-1-31 1:19

    Amazing information, but it reads like a phone book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    SHELBY FOOTE IS, BY FAR, THE MOST AUTHORITATIVE WRITER ON THE CIVIL WAR. HE WRITES IN AN EASY MANNER, MORE LIKE HE IS SITTING DOWN WITH YOU AND EXPLAINING THE WAR. IN MY CONVERSATIONS WITH HIM IN YEARS PAST, HE WAS MOST HUMBLE AND VERY COURTEOUS. HIS 3 VOLUMES ON THE CIVIL WAR ARE THE BEST EVER WRITTEN ON THE SUBJECT AND HIS PARTICIPATION IN KEN BURNS' CIVIL WAR EPOCH IS MEMORABLE. IT SHOWS THE TRUE SPIRIT OF THE MAN. HE BRINGS OUT LITTLE VIGNNETES ABOUT PARTICIPANTS THAT ARE LITTLE KNOWN AND MOST OFTEN NOT INCLUDED IN OTHER CIVIL WAR WORKS. NEEDLESS TO SAY, SHELBY FOOTE IS MY FAVORITE CIVIL WAR AUTHOR.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    The book itself is extremely useful. The introduction is beneficial in helping you plan a study tutorial and realizing how to break subjects down. I felt more practice questions could have been included; there are diagnostic exams at the beginning of each topic, and each chapter has example questions to work through. Color coding of the book is extremely helfpul as it indicates which equations are referenced in the FE Reference Handbook.Unfortunately the copy I received has 2 major defects:-1. The registration code does not work, so I can't access an electronic copy of this book2. There are numerous mis-prints, missing pages (including solutions to diagnostic exams, and faded eat book, but create sure you check the quality of the copy you keep and check the registration code works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    I like Shelby Foote's look at the Civil War. Lots of info on some wars I didn't even know happened. He can be a bit catty at times, especially about the northern generals and leaders, but that is some of the fun in reading it. He uses a lot of "big words" that are also fun and if you are reading the kindle edition, really simple to look up. So if you wish a really long and detailed read about (mostly) the civil battle wars from a southerner's view, definitely read this. Even if you don't, read it anyway if you are at all interested in the civil war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    Filled in the blanks on the background of characters at Gettysburg and Assassin Angels. Very amazing read. It may be helpful to read this before Assassin Angels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    Jeff Shaara's GODS AND GENERALS is a very fine book. However, as has probably been said at least two hundred times in the reviews, its not at the level of his father's THE KILLER ANGELS. Part of the issue is that Jeff Shaara is limited in his choices on who to develop on the Union side that will bring both continuity and yet freshness to this prequel of THE KILLER ANGELS. Hancock is the obvious choice, but the Chamberlain is a mistake. It feels forced and flat. On the flip side, however, the choice of Jackson is inspired and easily the best storyline in the spite the criticisms, still a very worthwhile book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    I bought this book as well as the practice issues book by the same author and I passed the FE, but I don't think it was because of this review manual.I will give the book to the point that it helped me realize what kind of material would be on the test.... But at the same time... It went over a lot of subjects that were not on the try at all and I wasted my time studying. Take a look at this www service [...] for subjects that will be covered on the FE: Civil test. For the most part the book did a amazing job covering what would be on the test, however sometimes it went beyond that scope. For instance the book covers differential equations, but there is nothing on the FE from this section. Also a lot of times the book would cover certain equations that were not even part of the reference manual that is provided during the FE. Do you think the FE would give you a issue that they don't provide an equation for? Unless its very primary I doubt to sum things up.. This book was amazing to obtain me thinking about a lot of of the various subjects of the test, however I found the best thing that helped me for the try was using the practice issues manual while using the FE reference manual to test and solve them. This alone was not excellent in helping me prepare, but nothing will be. However studying issues and getting used to the FE reference manual helped me so much during the test, because I knew where things were at and I knew which equation to for each specific question (for the most part... sometimes you just gotta guess).If I were to do it again I would just the practice issues and use the FE reference manual while practicing to solve them. This book has some practice problems, but it mostly has descriptions of equations and concepts, which frankly I didn't care for. Each person studies differently though so this may be the book for you. For me... I want I hadn't bought it, but it helped me enough...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    I ordered a brand fresh book and while the book was technically knew someone already use the registration code for the Web book when I went to register it it was said it was already used I contacted the book publisher they said that the registration code I place him chose this book was already used by someone to access the web book he careful buying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    The book is long and tedious to obtain through and it includes a bunch of info that you will probably never see on the exam. However, this is the best book to if you wish to cover the entire range of subjects you might see on the actual try without skipping anything. Each major subject is broken into several sub subjects containing background information, key terms and concepts, and some practice issues to try how well you read over the material. Solutions are also provided with each problem. Altogether there are 62 sections starting with mathmatics and ending in ethics and professional practice.I studied this book for a amazing two and a half months before the exam reading about a chapter every other day (some days I would read multiple chapters to catch up if I was behind). I created sure to read each and every word and I think doing that helped me to pass the test. About 30% of the try is conceptual issues or definitions of terms and this book prepared me very well for those. This book only covers the fundamentals of each section, but understanding those fundamentals is all you need to pass the FE exam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Louisville and the Civil War: A History & Guide (Civil War Series) []  2020-1-31 1:19

    Simple reading book flows from beginning to end. Covers pre-during-post civil battle and gives the reader an idea of what Louisville and surrounding towns felt about life in the middle of a civil war. During my college days at UofL, there is a confederate monument at the 2nd , 3rd road turnaround on campus, I have always wonder why this monument was there, it was to me at the time so out of put for being a “union state” at battles end. Reading this book helped me to understand the feelings of Louisville folks by the end of the battle and why this monument was placed there. I recommend this book for anyone that has ties with the town of Louisville, state of Kentucky and civil battle buffs to understand on how necessary Louisville, Kentucky was for each side during the 4 year conflict. MSS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    This masterpiece is stunning in the historical detail provided, but also in Shelby Foote's lyrical prose. His background as novelist, in the southern tradition, is evident in the flow of this definitive Civil Battle trilogy.I have read and loved Civil Battle history for over 45 years. The only negative I can search in Shelby Foote's work is the fact that I will never search anything as satisfying to read, not just on the Civil War, but on any topic! Oh well, I've solved this dilemma by reading this trilogy for the third time in 30 years. I probably won't wait 10 years to read it again.If you are considering purchasing any of these volumes, go ahead and now. Settle down in your favorite chair and cherish this phenomenonal work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    A standard by which other histories of the battle of the rebellion are measured. A history of the entire war, in three accurate and insightful histories. Not just the Troops of the Potomac versus the troops of northern Virginia. The major happenings in the first two years were in the majority, in the western theatre of the battle and Mr Foote provides a detailed report.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    This 3 book series is much more than a narrative of the civil war. It also explains the thinking and strategies of the generals and the political situation in the country that drove these decisions. Lincoln, Sec. of Battle Stanton and General-in-Chief H. W. Halleck were all former lawyers before the battle and ran the battle from a political perspective. Only Halleck had any military background, but he was often overruled by Stanton and President Lincoln, who had none. The series reads like a novel and more than meets my expectations for giving me a much better understanding of what the civil battle was all about. I graduated high school back in 1963, when the public school system still taught american history and civics so I thought that I knew a small bit about the subject. As it turns out what small I knew was mostly wrong and completely wrong as to the what were the root causes of the civil war. Shelby Foote did an perfect job of telling the story of the Civil Battle era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    I have read vol. 1 and now almost done with vol. 2, and will definitely obtain vol.3. If you remember history classes in school, you know about certain battles, and some of the key generals, and the Presidents of the North and South. What is normally missing is info about the people, the politics, as well as the war plans and what created them work or not work. The reason you don't normally see that detail is it is not very exciting to read about, unless you are reading a book by a amazing story teller. Mr. Foote manages to create you feel like you are back in that time, the battling political forces in both North and South as deadly and critical as the wars themselves. How close did we come to not having Abraham Lincoln as President, why did the South choose Jefferson Davis? The small info of what various enlisted men said or thought, the role of women in the war, all are here. Although this battle was fought so a lot of years ago, the problems of states rights and federal authority are still current in our show day politics. There could be lessons learned, if we took the time to look, and these books are an perfect method to view this period of upheaval in our country. Well done, Mr. Foote!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    The book is perfect and all ages would like to read it. The Civil Battle and unbelievable stories of the women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    I enjoyed the history and storytelling in this book. It’s not the typical type of book I read. I found it an enjoyable break from what I normally read. It’s fun and keeps your attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gods and Generals: A Novel of the Civil War (The Civil War: 1861-1865) [Book]  2017-11-18 18:0

    I tend to read a lot of historical books about the different battles of the past. I came upon the author by the films about the Civil Battle and decided to test the books. The book is a very amazing read, starts slow but pulls you in, I like the style though it is fictional based on historical facts. It's a amazing alternative to straight facts and veteran quotes. Used books from Amazon of amazing condition or better rarely disappoint and a lot of are in the $3-$4 range including shipping.I liked it enough to all of his other books, and of course "Killer Angels" by his father.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    Background:I graduated and received both my B.S. and M.S. degrees in Structural Engineering from the University of California, San Diego and unlike most of my classmates decided to defer taking this exam as long as I could. Why you may ask? Mainly because I never foresaw myself of taking up any interest in getting licensed since my interests coincided more with development in my field more than actual design and consulting. Though this latest point is still true, my current job encourages all it's employees to eventually obtain their PE license somewhere down the line so there I was having to pick myself up from the bootstrap a couple years after finishing up my coursework having to go back and re-learning primary and key concepts for the FE Exam.Everyone that took this exam have consistently told me that this exam isn't hard and as long as you're familiar with the reference handbook and key concepts, you'll be solid. Considering that you need only at least around a 50% to pass this exam and after finally taking it myself, I couldn't agree more with them. The fresh and updated Computer Based Testing (CBT) format of the FE Exam makes it more convenient, in my opinion, since you really only need to focus on the specific subject you studied in college instead of trying to cram all those other topics like Chemistry or E&M, etc. for an exam that you'll soon forget after. In addition, having an electronic and completely searchable reference handbook during the exam is a major benefit for you in terms of saving time during actual :With all the preliminaries out of the way, this review manual does a amazing enough job in helping someone like me or even a new graduate brush up the key concepts on what to really focus on to be ready for the exam. Each chapter has a diagnostic exam which helps you assess on what locations you're powerful in and what you really should pin-point on honing in more. This will support you save a amazing amount of time in studying and possibly a amazing amount of hours just from avoiding to read things you already have on the back of your e review manual itself is a very thick book which consists of a ton of information, reading, and equations. I think they did an amazing job in finally updating the review manuals in color coding the equations with blue boxes which support you in studying, especially if all you care about are equations. In terms of trying to read every single word of the book... DON'T!!! Not even if you haven't touched most of these topics in years! Here are a few reasons why: 1) You will most likely end up falling asleep during mid-read due to the plethora of info and background being thrown at you 2) This manual is strictly meant to be a manual and not as a textbook! You will not be able to learn EVERYTHING about a topic like you would in one of your college textbooks 3) Reading all the theory and examples are one thing, but in to really obtain familiar and be ready for the exam, you need to be doing practice problems... and A LOT of them.Unfortunately, this book is very limited to the amount of issues you can use to practice for the exam and the 20 or so questions given for each chapter hardly is enough to cover every topic in each section. Because of this, you'll have to cough up more and the supplementary Practice Issues book which has nothing but issues galore for you to tackle as well as solutions. Fair warning, a few of the issues Lindeburg writes up doesn't use equations supplied in the reference manual and rely on things you would have only learned in school. During my experience with the exam, all the equations I required for the exam we're in the handbook and didn't have to remember much from my college days. Lindeburg also seems to throw issues at you that are a tad bit more difficult than that you'll actually come across during your judgement day. This is not a poor thing at all, the more of them that you'll do, the easier you'll search the actual FE took me about 4-6 months of somewhat serious study time before my exam. After I actually took the exam, I realized I could have passed the exam and felt just as confident about most of the questions with just a couple months of studying prior to try day. Of course, everyone is various in their study habits and try prep methods. But overall, my suggestion is, don't stress too much about this exam, especially if you already have at least a B.S. degree in the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PPI FE Civil Review, 1st Edition (Paperback) – A Comprehensive FE Civil Review Manual []  2020-1-29 20:0

    I will recommend this book for anyone who's to take this exam. With a amazing study plan and religiously followed you surely will pass the exam with this book. I created sure I finished the review manual within 4 weeks twice! The trick for me was I used the review manual alongside the practice book, so after each subject covered in the review manual, I switched to the practice book to test out the question, at least without sounding immodest I was scoring over 90% in those tests. I will also advise potential try takers to the NCEES FE Practice exam (hardcopy) when paying for the exam, the questions there-in have the same pattern like the ones you will see on the exam day. In all, 5 weeks should be enough to prepare for this exam. I sat for mine latest week Tuesday and I checked my effect 2 days ago, I PASSED!!!. Its noteworthy to inform you guys that this book the advantage of fast checks on some primary engineering items even while practicing so hold it. Amazing luck to potential takers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    I will write the same review for all three of the late Shelby Foote's three volume set history of the American Civil War.If you saw the Ken Burns PBS series on the Civil Battle you saw the man with a twinkle in his eye as he told you a story about one of the a lot of happenings that constituted the war. His gentlemanly charm and an occasional twinkle in his text makes for fine reading. Do hold in mind that there are various opinions about a lot of of the subjects Shelby writes. Some compare him to Bruce Catton a noted historian of a slightly earlier age who won plaudits for his tomes on the war.But having read Catton, Foote, and others I am convinced that they have something to as we test to understand what really happened and why a lot of things did happen during the course of a battle where a nation fought both to stay together and to tear itself te's volumes are a read so be prepared for hours of enjoyment of reading the captured discource of a uniquely talented man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    With this middle volume the magnitude of the Civil Battle sank in. So a lot of miles, so a lot of men, and so a lot of graves. The year 1863 proves to be the turning point, as this work artfully shows, and with it comes a profound sense of the tremendous cost paid, as Foote is fond of saying, to the butcher. In this installment, we see Grant emerge as the respond to Lincoln's prayers and equal in the West to Lee in the East. What is also evident that the battle will end in conquest not negotiation. Among the nearly thousand pages I search myself most intrigued by Sherman, whose vision of the task at hand seems at the same time not good and correct. I regret not having invested in learning our history sooner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-1-24 20:27

    Generally speaking, this is the best of the three volumes of my all-time favorite book. Hell, I like anything with Vicksburg. But I just noticed something...It wasn't till I tried to read Volume 2 on Kindle that I saw the Faulkner influence on Shelby. Somehow this never came through on Audible ("Blackstone Audio presents: The Civil War, a Narrative, by Shelby Foote. Volume 28, Chickamauga to Chillicothe. Chapter 17...") or in the huge paperbound or cloth te never uses three sentences when one long one, often with a long intermediate clause offering a fascinating parenthetical backstory about the hero or happening under discussion, can be strung together. This is stately and Ciceronian in book form, but the wide Kindle aspect, with as a lot of as thirty words marching across each line, makes it all difficult to read.I went back to the Audible ver and it flows very smoothly. The intermediate clauses sound conversational. Foote wrote for the spoken voice and pre-Kindle ceed at your peril. Otherwise, five stars for all of this three-volume narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    I will write the same review for all three of the late Shelby Foote's three volume set history of the American Civil War.If you saw the Ken Burns PBS series on the Civil Battle you saw the man with a twinkle in his eye as he told you a story about one of the a lot of happenings that constituted the war. His gentlemanly charm and an occasional twinkle in his text makes for fine reading. Do hold in mind that there are various opinions about a lot of of the subjects Shelby writes. Some compare him to Bruce Catton a noted historian of a slightly earlier age who won plaudits for his tomes on the war.But having read Catton, Foote, and others I am convinced that they have something to as we test to understand what really happened and why a lot of things did happen during the course of a battle where a nation fought both to stay together and to tear itself te's volumes are a read so be prepared for hours of enjoyment of reading the captured discource of a uniquely talented man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    This is a classic, first of three volumes, depiction of the Civil War. It does not go into any detail/depth regarding the happenings prior to the war, it's about the battle itself. And it does an outstanding job detailing the wars and the generals and politicians who directed the tactics involved. Highly recommended for the serious student of the Civil War. It's long and detailed, and not for the casual reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative: Volume 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (Vintage Civil War Library) []  2020-2-2 1:15

    If you are looking for a detailed and yet highly readable narrative of the Civil Battle that gives as much attention to the people involved in making the decisions and organizing the campaigns as it does to the actual battles, this is a amazing book. Foote was one of the historians consulted and interviewed in the PBS Civil Battle series of some decades ago. It’s simple to see why they used him after reading this book. It’s not a fast read, but it’s well worth your time if you’re interested in this critical period of American history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    I really enjoyed reading this book very much. The author did an perfect job in her research. The material is interesting and engaging. I would recommend this to anyone middle school and up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    I really enjoyed reading this book, I found it to be extremely engaging and informative. I feel I learned more about the civil battle reading this book than I did in both my high school and my college history courses. The author did an awesome job gathering sources, which then enabled her to provide quotes from letters and diaries that helped bring these women to life. I'd love to meet some of these women, they are amazing, and they truly feel true to me now. I highly recommend this book to anyone with a teenager, who teaches high school, or who is just interested in history. I think some middle school students would even have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    From Soldiers to Spies, from Nurses to Vivandières, these women's stories with inspire and intrigue you beyond your wildest imagineings! I absolutely loved this book and hope it will become needed reading in every school across the United States at the very least, and even the entire world!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    A summary of the review on 'In her first contribution to the “Women of Action” series, lance writer Cordell us profiles of sixteen women who served in different ways during the Civil War, grouped into four categories, “Soldiers,” “Spies,” “Nurses,” and “Vivandiers”. Noting that thousands of women served in different ways – including perhaps 500 or so in the ranks – Cordell limits coverage of those already rather well known, such as Harriet Tubman, Loreta Velazquez, Annie Etheridge, or Sarah Emma Edmonds, so that she can a number of lesser known cases, such as Maria Lewis, a teenaged African-American who managed to “pass” as a Union cavalryman, the volunteer Southern nurse Susie King Taylor, the Confederate spy Mary Carroll, among others. Cordell does a amazing job of sorting reality from myth in the stories of some of these women, notably the self-promoting Velazquez, while introducing us to yet more young women who served in different ways. She also makes use of side-bars to support the reader understand happenings and aspects of contemporary military life that are likely to be unfamiliar to the younger reader. This is an perfect introduction to women’s role in the Civil War, the Battle itself, and can be read with profit even by adult.'For the full review, see

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    I wouldn't normally pick up a nonfiction book on the Civil War. That being said, I loved this book! I enjoyed every story. These women were amazing. So much info packed into an approachable, easy-to-read format. I'm proud to have this one on my shelf, and I look forward to having my daughter read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Courageous Women of the Civil War: Soldiers, Spies, Medics, and More (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    Amazing book! Amazing researcher with stories to tell!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Represent Yourself in Court: Prepare & Try a Winning Civil Case []  2020-1-17 21:34

    Amazing refresher for non-litigators

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian []  2020-1-31 20:26

    I will write the same review for all three of the late Shelby Foote's three volume set history of the American Civil War.If you saw the Ken Burns PBS series on the Civil Battle you saw the man with a twinkle in his eye as he told you a story about one of the a lot of happenings that constituted the war. His gentlemanly charm and an occasional twinkle in his text makes for fine reading. Do hold in mind that there are various opinions about a lot of of the subjects Shelby writes. Some compare him to Bruce Catton a noted historian of a slightly earlier age who won plaudits for his tomes on the war.But having read Catton, Foote, and others I am convinced that they have something to as we test to understand what really happened and why a lot of things did happen during the course of a battle where a nation fought both to stay together and to tear itself te's volumes are a read so be prepared for hours of enjoyment of reading the captured discource of a uniquely talented man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian []  2020-1-31 20:26

    Generally speaking, this is the best of the three volumes of my all-time favorite book. Hell, I like anything with Vicksburg. But I just noticed something...It wasn't till I tried to read Volume 2 on Kindle that I saw the Faulkner influence on Shelby. Somehow this never came through on Audible ("Blackstone Audio presents: The Civil War, a Narrative, by Shelby Foote. Volume 28, Chickamauga to Chillicothe. Chapter 17...") or in the huge paperbound or cloth te never uses three sentences when one long one, often with a long intermediate clause offering a fascinating parenthetical backstory about the hero or happening under discussion, can be strung together. This is stately and Ciceronian in book form, but the wide Kindle aspect, with as a lot of as thirty words marching across each line, makes it all difficult to read.I went back to the Audible ver and it flows very smoothly. The intermediate clauses sound conversational. Foote wrote for the spoken voice and pre-Kindle ceed at your peril. Otherwise, five stars for all of this three-volume narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Destroying a Nation: The Civil War in Syria []  2020-1-26 21:59

    I'm traveling to Lebanon in a few months and this was one of the books I purchased to obtain a feel for the region. I also wanted to learn more about the Syrian Civil Battle since there has been lots of discussion recently about Trump pulling US units out of Syria. This book is concise and extremely informative. I knew almost nothing about Syria prior to purchasing, and I now feel comfortable enough to have a competent conversation about the county, its people, and what led to the war. Not the best writing style, though. I found myself frequently re-reading sentences because the structure felt off, confusing at times. English is my first language. I'm guessing it's not the author's. Little complaint, as the book is still intelligible enough and the Van Dam seems to be an ambassador first, writer second (or third).Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Destroying a Nation: The Civil War in Syria []  2020-1-26 21:59

    Excellent. Understandable by a non-expert, and not one sided for any of the a lot of sides in the conflict. Does not encourage you to believe all the goods guys are on any side fighting versus all the poor guys. Thus, does not false hope of a amazing ending, or any ending at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Destroying a Nation: The Civil War in Syria []  2020-1-26 21:59

    Excellent condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I See Nothing But the Horrors of a Civil War []  2020-1-17 20:35

    An outstanding book on the American Revolutionary Battle from the perspective of the Loyalists. There a few pictures that present up as error messages otherwise a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    La Guerra Civil contada a los jóvenes (Spanish Edition) []  2020-5-18 18:38

    Esperaba mucho más a pesar de que sabía estaba escrito para jóvenes, he aprendido más de la guerra civil española q lo q ya sabía nooo! Su nombre debía decir para niños, que diría Perico nuestro niño de la Brujula Loca nos cuenta más Dn Torcuato, pero no le quita a este gran escritor lustre sólo le platino, ya no compró su libro breve historia de España,.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Civil War: A litRPG Adventure (The Rogue Dungeon Book 2) []  2020-6-10 19:2

    Roark, the noble mage time-traveler picks up where he left off in book one. At his side are his loyal friends: the adorable chef Kaz, the affectionate salamander Mac, and the attractive deadly killer Zyra. Roark also forms fresh alliances that contain an alliance with crusty old Griff, who’s training proves is is a quick paced story that pivots between the MMORPG characters of Hearthworld and the true life players better known as heroes. As if this isn’t enough, the creators of the android game obtain involved and this brings a whole fresh dimension to this turbo charged story.I’m not a android game player and have small to no knowledge of the MMORPG globe but this book grabbed me with a force that had me playing this android game in my mind. Especially helpful to me were the charts and notifications that popped up throughout the whole book to inform the readers in amazing detail of fresh levels, congratulations on achievements made, warnings, etc. I had fun as this book captivated and fascinated me like no other series has in this way. By the end of this book my brain was fried in a most delicious way...loved it. Deserves 5 stars and then some.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386