Read a companion to chivalry reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a companion to chivalry reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    A COMPANION TO BEOWULF by Ruth Johnson is remarkably clear, well written, concise, and chock full of fascinating insights and ers baffled by the complexities of the poem, or bored by the digressions, will search Ruth Johnson's exegesis refreshing, insightful, and useful. The helpful chapters range from discussions of arms and weaponry and habits of the time, to abstract matters as linguistic forms, but no description is dry or crabbed: the writing style is clear and lucid as a running brook.Let me give but two examples:Many readers are baffled by what seem to be digressions in the poem. Ruth Johnson makes the case that this is deliberate. One artistic technique the poet of Beowulf used was to interpolate references to even earlier happenings and sagas into the matter of the poem. Early critics of Beowulf thought this a structural weakness, or even evidence of two or three poets cobbling disjointed earlier material together. But a close attention to the matter perhaps shows the poet meaning to draw out parallels and contrasts between the ancient happenings and the struggle in Hereot, or the dark mere, or the gives the poem, which was meant to be antiquarian at the time it was written, a richness of depth, by depicting a globe of a lot of layers of ever receding time. Behind every treasure sword and necklace, there is a tale, and weapons have names and histories even as amazing households and heroes and the lineages do.Let me in particular remark on her latest chapter, which concerned Tolkien and Beowulf. I had not heretofore been aware of how huge a figure JRR Tolkien loomed in the scholarship of the epic poem BEOWULF, nor what a amazing influence his seminal essay The Creature and the Critics, had in turning the attention of the academic globe from the historical to the literary merits of the th Johnson makes the argument that Lord of the Rings is an updated ver of BEOWULF. No, not the events, but the world, the worldview, the motif, the techniques, and especially the approach toward is to be noted that a lot of critics faulted Tolkien for not including anywhere in Middle Earth any description or tip of rituals, rites, temples and cults with adorn the vivid backdrops of other works of fantasy. Except for a few indirect tips that there is a High God somewhere, and angelic powers the elves revere, Lord of the Rings is perhaps special among fantasies in that there is no mention of the religious side of society or the spiritual side of man.But, of course, Tolkien is not unique: he is following BEOWULF. The poet of BEOWULF (so Tolkien interpreted the evidence) wished to depict his pre-Christian ancestors in the admirable light men are right to have for their ancestors, but without attributing to them a Christian faith they could not have had.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    Most readers will buy this book to boost them through an AP or college English Lit assignment, and will search themselves pleasantly surprised. This closet classic, ostensibly of the SparkNotes genre, actually delights its readers with much more: a nuanced explanation of why 21st century readers should be reading this 7th century poem (or any ancient literature) in the first place. The author weaves together relevant strands from such fields as archeology, religion, psychology, linguistics, and even current events, to support bring this difficult poem alive for the modern reader. At one point, the author employs a mock dialog between Richard Nixon and John F. Kennedy to support explain some difficult dialog during a feast in Beowulf. Ms. Johnston shows herself to be not only an authority on ancient literature, but a master of pedagogy as well.A key selling point of this book is that it provides readers a method to approach Beowulf using their own experiences. So each essay written with the support of Companion may look various and original - which will delight AP teachers and professors at grading time. Perhaps more importantly, readers initially motivated to just obtain past a specific assignment may search themselves genuinely elevated by this book - a result, it must be said, rarely achieved by the unglossed Beowulf.I actually found the cheaper paperback ver of Companion better than the original hardback: superior artwork.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Hume []  2020-1-22 22:23

    Necessary authors writing necessary subjects about the most necessary philosopher of the Modern Era.

    0  


    Add your opinion on a companion to chivalry or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    A COMPANION TO BEOWULF by Ruth Johnson is remarkably clear, well written, concise, and chock full of fascinating insights and ers baffled by the complexities of the poem, or bored by the digressions, will search Ruth Johnson's exegesis refreshing, insightful, and useful. The helpful chapters range from discussions of arms and weaponry and habits of the time, to abstract matters as linguistic forms, but no description is dry or crabbed: the writing style is clear and lucid as a running brook.Let me give but two examples:Many readers are baffled by what seem to be digressions in the poem. Ruth Johnson makes the case that this is deliberate. One artistic technique the poet of Beowulf used was to interpolate references to even earlier happenings and sagas into the matter of the poem. Early critics of Beowulf thought this a structural weakness, or even evidence of two or three poets cobbling disjointed earlier material together. But a close attention to the matter perhaps shows the poet meaning to draw out parallels and contrasts between the ancient happenings and the struggle in Hereot, or the dark mere, or the gives the poem, which was meant to be antiquarian at the time it was written, a richness of depth, by depicting a globe of a lot of layers of ever receding time. Behind every treasure sword and necklace, there is a tale, and weapons have names and histories even as amazing households and heroes and the lineages do.Let me in particular remark on her latest chapter, which concerned Tolkien and Beowulf. I had not heretofore been aware of how huge a figure JRR Tolkien loomed in the scholarship of the epic poem BEOWULF, nor what a amazing influence his seminal essay The Creature and the Critics, had in turning the attention of the academic globe from the historical to the literary merits of the th Johnson makes the argument that Lord of the Rings is an updated ver of BEOWULF. No, not the events, but the world, the worldview, the motif, the techniques, and especially the approach toward is to be noted that a lot of critics faulted Tolkien for not including anywhere in Middle Earth any description or tip of rituals, rites, temples and cults with adorn the vivid backdrops of other works of fantasy. Except for a few indirect tips that there is a High God somewhere, and angelic powers the elves revere, Lord of the Rings is perhaps special among fantasies in that there is no mention of the religious side of society or the spiritual side of man.But, of course, Tolkien is not unique: he is following BEOWULF. The poet of BEOWULF (so Tolkien interpreted the evidence) wished to depict his pre-Christian ancestors in the admirable light men are right to have for their ancestors, but without attributing to them a Christian faith they could not have had.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    As a college student, I am always looking for tools to support me to understand amazing works of literature, so as to be able to write a better paper, or give a more thorough presentation on the subject."A Companion to Beowulf" is exactly that sort of useful tool. It gives background to the story, recommends translations, and is very thorough in it's explanation of the different parts of the story to the reader. It also points the reader to other books that go more in-depth in specific areas, such as "Literary techniques used in the story, or the religion in Beowulf. I would wholeheartedly recommend it to any student who was looking for an informative and simple to read resource about Beowulf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    When I began studying literary criticism, this is what I thought every lit crit book would be: clear, helpful, interesting, up to date, and simple to read. However, what I found were a huge number of articles and books written by vain, wordy authors whose notice seemed to be "Look at me!" instead of "Look at this awesome book!"Johnston's work is an antidote to such writing. She clearly loves Beowulf and loves describing the poem to its fresh readers. In fact, I've read several translations, and Johnston has clued me in on aspects I had is is a unbelievable book, and a unbelievable method to understand one of the greatest poems of all time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    For a couple of years in my childhood, I was home-schooled, and had the run of my father's library. In one of his college textbooks, I came across Beowulf, and was entranced. Much of the poem, though, remained far beyond my grasp. This book is the companion I want I had then: the author walks with the reader through the text, explaining without burdening. Now, several decades further along in my self-education, aspects of the poem I had missed are revealed, deepening my appreciation and pleasure in ere are inevitable repetitions as the same text is examined from a number of angles, though there are a few evitable ones, as well. The author's competence in a broad stretch of disciplines attendant upon literature is evident, but inviting. I do want this book had existed when I was nine; my progress would have been swifter and surer. I recommend it without reservation to students who are reading this text for the first time, and to their teachers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    Most readers will buy this book to boost them through an AP or college English Lit assignment, and will search themselves pleasantly surprised. This closet classic, ostensibly of the SparkNotes genre, actually delights its readers with much more: a nuanced explanation of why 21st century readers should be reading this 7th century poem (or any ancient literature) in the first place. The author weaves together relevant strands from such fields as archeology, religion, psychology, linguistics, and even current events, to support bring this difficult poem alive for the modern reader. At one point, the author employs a mock dialog between Richard Nixon and John F. Kennedy to support explain some difficult dialog during a feast in Beowulf. Ms. Johnston shows herself to be not only an authority on ancient literature, but a master of pedagogy as well.A key selling point of this book is that it provides readers a method to approach Beowulf using their own experiences. So each essay written with the support of Companion may look various and original - which will delight AP teachers and professors at grading time. Perhaps more importantly, readers initially motivated to just obtain past a specific assignment may search themselves genuinely elevated by this book - a result, it must be said, rarely achieved by the unglossed Beowulf.I actually found the cheaper paperback ver of Companion better than the original hardback: superior artwork.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Hume []  2020-1-22 22:23

    Very helpful as a tutorial to the original works of Hume. My experience with all of the Cambridge tutorials has been outstanding, and this tutorial is no exception. I have found Hume to be somewhat difficult. The different revisions of his works had been confusing; this tutorial explains the differences between the Treatise and the Enquiry. It is also very amazing in clarifying a lot of 18th century English language usages that can be misunderstood. Highly recommend this volume for a layman exploring Hume for the first time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    This book is a clear and readable introduction to the amazing epic Beowulf. The style is lively and interesting, and the content will be useful to any student of the poem. Two features of the book that I especially like are the pronunciation tutorial and the brief section called "How to Use This Book," but there is so much more to like!If you will be writing a paper about Beowulf, you will appreciate the list of further sources at the end of each chapter, the discussion of the different translations, the glossary of names, and the wealth of info about the poem and its background in religion, mythology, history, language, and culture. A gift for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien is the final chapter about the influence of Beowulf upon The Lord of the Rings.If you are just curious about Beowulf, this book is also an perfect starting point. The author shares her deep knowledge of the poem and its time without jargon and in a straightforward yet amusing way.I teach Beowulf in college literature survey courses; I enjoyed reading this book and will be recommending it to my own students!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    I am tackling Beowulf for the first time this summer. This book was recommended to me as a amazing introduction to the poem, and as a method to create this work more enjoyable to read. It has been a big, huge help. It gives a lot of historical background, info about Anglo-Saxon culture, and a line by line explanation of the action of the poem. The author really knows her stuff, and she has a lively and interesting method of describing things. I want all literature textbooks were this well written! I should think anyone who wants to improve their understanding of Beowulf would benefit from Ms. Johnston's book. The bibliographies at the end of each chapter are really going to support people writing research papers, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Beowulf []  2020-2-4 7:41

    I am neither a scholar nor a college or high school student. I am, however, a reader and a life long student, and Beowulf is a work that I have struggled with ter reading this book I understand that I simply didn't have enough information. Johnston remedies that by walking the reader, step by step, through the meaning of the poem by explicating the back story and the mythology familiar to the original e opens up the work by placing it in context historically, with chapters on religion, language, and culture, which are just as interesting on their own as they are in relation to the poem. And she does this all with a unbelievable style that is accessible, concise, and , while I recommend the book for students, I also highly recommend it for those just interested in getting a handle on Beowulf and having a peek at a period so shrouded by the effects of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Shadow Scale was a long time in coming, and while the anticipation continued to build, I really had no idea what to expect from this book. Seraphina surprised me in so a lot of ways that I couldn’t envision where the story was going to lead in the next book. I had the opportunity to see Rachel Hartman on a panel recently, and one thing she said really stood out for me. Shadow Scale is a very various book from Seraphina, because by the time she was finished with that book, and then tasked with writing a sequel, she was no longer interested in exploring a lot of of the questions that fueled her through that first book. That statement place this whole book into a fresh perspective for me, and explained why my experiences were so ’s the thing: I really enjoyed Shadow Scale. The writing is as careful and thorough as I’d have expected. The story continually grew to fresh heights, delved to surprising depths, and explored some extraordinary concepts along the way. Yes, melody and whimy and dragons and relationships were still very much at the heart of this book… but not in the method that they wove their method through the first ere is no doubt that Shadow Scale is darker and scarier than Seraphina. At certain points, I was scared to read on, but anxious to continue reading at the same time. I fell in love with some characters, thoroughly despised others, and genuinely missed the company of some others. I can tell that for some of these reasons, this book might not please everyone. But me? I loved it for everything that it is, and I feel like it truly did Seraphina justice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Slight spoilers ahead: Definitely a various tone than the first book. I really enjoyed seeing the characters grow and understand themselves better. Seraphina finally goes on her adventure to bring together the other half dragons and starts to recognize her own desires and faults. It is interesting to watch her come to realize that sometimes it is she who has to change. You also learn the back stories to most of the half dragons which is really cool, especially Janoulla? who serves as the main antagonist. As in the first book, the romance aspect is lacking. I don't wish to say much more and spoil the book, but it is definitely better than the first book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    My 1yo son absolutely loves Goodnight Moon, and brings the book to me throughout the day for multiple readings. I was so excited to learn there was a companion book!Before purchasing, I read not good reviews annoyed that this did not rhyme. I scoffed, sure that the book must retain at least some of its predecessor's charm. I was so wrong. The issue is not that it doesn't rhyme, but that there is no rhythm at all. In fact it seems crafted with the sole purpose of being as jarring and awkward as possible. In most children's books, the obvious repetition has a soothing effect; here it calls to mind the addled ramblings of an unwell mind. If I had to leave a one-word review: so my son didn't like it and refused to stay for readings. He has amazing taste!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    purchased this because, who doesn't like Goodnight Moon? well, this book is FREAKY. illustrations are scary. story is so-so. now I know why this book isn't as famous as the aforementioned book by the same author, Margaret Brown. but ill still cautiously open-minded towards trying some of her many.other kid's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    With its logic-driven shape-shifting dragons, arcane saint-filled religion, and melody permeated, culturally rich, Medieval-like setting, Seraphina by Rachel Hartman is easily of my favorite books of all time. I love its sequel, Shadow Scale, almost as e globe building continues to be among the most unbelievable I've encountered. In Shadow Scale, Seraphina is on a quest to collect other half human/half dragons like herself, which takes her away from her homeland of Goredd and into the surrounding countryside. She travels around three human kingdoms, Ninys, Samsam and Porphyry, each with its own history, culture, landscapes, politics, traditions, and relationship with the dragons, and all so vividly imagined that I feel I've walked through those lands myself. Seraphina also spends time in Tanamoot, the mountainous home range of dragons, where the immense ash-scented reptiles soar through the skies and lumber on land in their natural forms.A lot of things introduced in the first book are explained further in Shadow Scale. During her journey around the kingdoms Seraphina discovers more about the origin of the saint based religion that all the humans have some connection to, though it's interpreted with interesting differences in the different lands she visits. She also learns more about the a lot of forms and special abilities of her fellow half dragons, and each of the curious beings in her mental garden plays some role in the adow Scale opens with a Prelude you can skip if you've recently read Seraphina. It goes over info from the first book that readers might have forgotten, but because it's written as if it's by someone living far in the future, long after the happenings of both books, there were a few bits of implied info about how Shadow Scale ends that I would have preferred not to know, though they weren't major only complaint about Shadow Scale is I want there was more. The resolution of the triangulated relationship between Glisselda, Kiggs, and Seraphina is bold but rushed over right at the end and not completely satisfying. I also felt that with a small more time some of the individual powers of half dragons could have been place to more use--I had hoped the soul or mind animated mechanicals shy Blanche surrounds herself with could have played more of a role in the plot. And at the end of the story I was left wanting to know more about what happens with the people and dragons back in Goredd after the resolution of the conflict, since we hadn't spent much time there or with any of sically I love the series so much I greedily wish another book, so I was very satisfied to learn Hartman is planning another duology in the same world--it's a globe she's been creating stories about for a lot of years, first in a series of comic books. For now at least we have these two books--both Seraphina and Shadow Scale are so rich and immersive I know I'll be re-reading them again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    My 11-year-old son and I loved this book as a companion to Seraphina; I'd give it 4.5 stars if that were an option. Yes, the tone is various from the first book, partly because so much of it takes put away from home, and partly because Seraphina can be begin about her ityasaari status - and because of the wide range of differences, both physical and social-emotional - in the other ityasaari she finds. It was amazing to see why she had banned Jannoula in the first place, and frustrating when Jannoula seemed to be everywhere. I know some people have been dissatisfied with how things turn out for Kiggs and Seraphina, but, honestly, I thought it to be a amazing solution, and one that leaves plenty of options if you have a amazing imagination. :-D There were some predictable elements along the way, yes, but also plenty of locations where we were kept guessing. All in all, a satisfying read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    This is an adorable book to add to your collectiom. The poetic flow and colourful illustrations really hold my baby boy engaged! The pages switch between bright colors and black and white! This has become one of our go tos!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    It's not creative. It doesn't create sense. And it doesn't rhyme. Nothing like "Goodnight Moon."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Shadow Scale is the long-awaited sequel to our beloved Seraphina, and it’s a worthy one. There’s no denying the value of Rachel Hartman’s prose, the vividness of her imagination, or the quality of her a lot of characters. Shadow Scale may have been “a beast to write”, but the end effect is a book the likes of which we rarely at’s not to say that Shadow Scale is without its issues, but those only come to light when we isolate the book and judge it by much higher standards. When yzed comparatively, side by side with others of its genre, it becomes abundantly clear that Shadow Scale is a superior work. The clarity of detail in Seraphina’s Goredd is marvelous, and the sheer amount of info offered is staggering.Emotionally, though, Shadow Scale leaves something to be much as I appreciate having a heroine that’s just as clueless and powerless in extraordinary cirtances as I myself would be, I expected more from Seraphina Dombeg. I can forgive much stumbling, but I search lack of thought interspersed with bouts of self-pitying truly exasperating and disappointing. In Shadow Scale, Seraphina seemed to just wander about aimlessly, suffering conquer after conquer and not doing much about be fair, Hartman gave her a formidable enemy. As another one of Seraphina’s kind, albeit far more powerful, Jannoula appeared to be everywhere at once. It needs to be said, however, that all-powerful opponents generally lack nuance, and the very fact that Jannoula arrived everywhere before Seraphina by anticipating her every move and being much more clever, while Seraphina kept losing precious time by focusing on all the wrong things, was nothing short of r most of this book, Seraphina’s situation seemed to be hopeless on all sides. Luckily, the ending gives us some closure, although it too is a bit too begin for my taste. Clean chop endings aren’t always the best choice, but after six hundred pages of struggle, a more substantial epilogue would have been a nice ere remains the fact that Hartmann writes YA fantasy of unparalleled quality and that her worldbuilding lends itself to a ten-book series, and not just a duology. My own emotionality aside, these books will likely become classics, and their status will be well-justified.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Actual Rating: 4.5 / 5Is it possible to love a sequel more than its predecessor? Well, I can think of a couple occasions where a second novel was just as amazing as the first book - but an entire grade-point higher? That's a rare and unique case. Yet Shadow Scale, the sequel to Rachel Hartman's YA fantasy debut Seraphina, was one of those cases for me. Because while I enjoyed the first book but had some problems with it, this second and final installment to the duology soars high and smoothly from Chapter One to the latest adow Scale begins about three months after Seraphina ends, and shines with all of its predecessor's strengths and then some. For starters, Hartman sends Seraphina on a journey to search her half-dragon brethren, allowing readers to see and fall in love with the lands beyond Goredd. Ninys, Samsam, and Porphyry each come alive with their own distinct flavors and histories. I had a blast picturing the architecture, nature, even the clothing worn by the people Seraphina met during her travels. This is very much a quest story, and one that isn't spared of obstacles. Seraphina runs into all kinds of problem along the way: inclement weather, seasickness, unfavorable terrain, and - most importantly - characters with their own agendas.Speaking of characters, Hartman does a unbelievable job with expanding on her colorful, entertaining cast from Seraphina. Old favorites of human (Princess Glisselda, Prince Lucian Kiggs), dragon (Ardmagar Comonot, Eskar, and Uncle Orma), and half-dragon kind (Abdo, Lars, Okra Carmine) return from the first book. There are plenty of fresh ones, too, particularly the fresh half-dragons. They all exude special personalities - and if I shared one anecdote for each character, this review would be about a mile long. ;)I can tell you this much, though: Seraphina's sidekick Abdo is my favorite - no, FAVORITE - hero from Shadow Scale. A monkey-like acrobat who can only communicate telepathically because of dragon scales covering his tongue, he's absolutely hysterical and so lovable that I wanted to reach through the pages and hug him. Jannoula, on the other hand, is a unbelievable "hate-to-love-yet-love-to-hate" villain. Pretentious and deceptive, with a tortured past (literally) that explains her state of mind perfectly, she singlehandedly turns a mainly external conflict that impacted Seraphina's home into a deeply private war for Seraphina to save everyone and everything she loves.Writing-wise, Hartman once again blends humor and intellect to make Seraphina's distinct narrative voice. Despite my mixed feelings about this approach in Seraphina, I thoroughly enjoyed it in Shadow Scale. I lost count of how a lot of times Hartman floored me with her extensive vocabulary (how often do you see words like "conflagration," "subterfuge," or "viscous" in a YA novel?) and created me laugh out loud by describing the absurdity Seraphina saw in a situation. Combining the two qualities is a rare talent; and though it might not create sense on paper, it does when you read Hartman's work.Where Hartman truly improves with Shadow Scale is her pacing. No early info-dumps to drag things down this time. Instead. readers can obtain a recap on Seraphina by visiting a "scholarly" preface that summarizes the first book in about 2 pages. From there, Hartman lets the story unfold leisurely, spending just enough time on details, relationships, and plot points so readers can see the "big picture" without feeling overwhelmed. Maybe that explains why Shadow Scale is a beast of a YA novel (almost 600 pages). But I hardly noticed the length, because the story was such a joy. In fact, I wasn't ready to leave Seraphina and her globe when the end at brings me to my only nitpick for Shadow Scale. The climactic war is amazing in theory, but Hartman wrote it in a method that was difficult to follow. I had a very hard time picturing what was going on. Also, apart from the epilogue (which broke my heart in a beautiful, incremental way), the ending seemed too convenient for everyone. Without going into spoiler territory: I was expecting Seraphina to feel sad or lonely because of her cirtances. Instead, she readily accepts them, making a weird leap in "emotion logic" that didn't create sense to me.Up until that point, though - ohhhhhhh, I was so close to giving Shadow Scale a excellent score! This was a satisfying, deftly handled end to Seraphina's story, and arguably the strongest of the two books. The globe of Goredd and beyond expands so fully that everything about it - even the dragons - seems as true as the birds and trees outside my window. Apparently Hartman is already working on two fresh novels set in Seraphina's globe and with a fresh protagonist, so I'm curious to search out what will happen and who we'll meet. If you liked Seraphina, don't miss Shadow Scale. It will be worth your time, a zone on your bookshelf, and a put in your heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    I can't explain why my 2-year-old loves this book so much, but he does. We've borrowed it from the library so a lot of times over the latest year we finally just got him his own copy for Christmas. When we have it from the library, it's the only thing he wants to read. When we have to give it back, he talks about it and repeats snippets to himself from memory.I thought it was an odd book at first -- so various from what I was expecting, I suppose -- but I have come to have fun it very much myself. Another reviewer said it grows on you and I agree with that. It is a gentle, calm world, full of the kind of observations a kid would make, expressed in the method a kid would express them. It has also generated a lot of fruitful bedtime conversations with my son -- about family relationships, about the rhythms of the day, about "the method things used to be."I'm satisfied to be adding this to our permanent collection and I know my son will be, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    My kid and I haven't read this in a while. We would read it around the time she started talking and pointing things in the book out like the baby, the car, the dog. It was an awkward read the first couple of times since it is from the perspective of the toddler/baby. Given that info it is a book to have in the child's collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    Like just about everyone who purchased this book, we ordered it because my daughter absolutely LOVES Goodnight Moon. This book was just strange. It just kind of goes through and compares "my" things to Mommy and Daddy's things.I hated it the first time I ready it, but it has started to grow on me. My daughter doesn't mind it and will sit through it, but I think that's only because the illustration is so familiar. When she sees specific things that were also in Goodnight Moon, she tells them goodnight and quotes from the other book,I wouldn't buy this on again.....EDIT: I'm upping my review from 2 to 4 starts. My daughter now refuses to read Goodnight Moon without following it up with My World.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    No offense to the late Mrs Brown but this is no Goodnight Moon. It's fine for a one year old as they really just wish to hear you talk, but this is frustrating with the flow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to the Horror Film []  2020-1-28 20:53

    Overall an perfect tutorial to horror cinema - diverse and comprehensive. The price is a bit much (and I know the publisher sets that, not the editor or authors, so nothing versus them). But the volume is worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    It feels like I have been waiting for Shadow Scale for eternity and a half. Seraphina was so magical, lyrical and original that I would have done anything for it. To be honest, while it was a amazing and interesting sequel, it was also tad of a e plot moves slowly, but the pacing is actually upbeat because there’s a lot of action happening. However, everything shifts when the villain– Janoulla– the half-dragon that Seraphina fears because of her ability to take over minds, enters the play and decides she wants in on Seraphina’s plans. She turns out to be a bigger player in everything than can be imagined and much more risky that Seraphina thought. We obtain to meet a lot of the half-dragons, not all of whom are satisfied to meet Seraphina or wish to be part of the war.I did like most of the characters, however, Kiggs was barely in the story and even then his time alone with Seraphina was brief and polite. The ending for the trio (though I wouldn’t call it a love triangle) was the most intriguing part of the story, but is somewhat vague. But I cannot wait to see how it all turns out in the spin-off books.I felt that the ending relied a bit too much on the deus ex mahina. The fact that it takes a literal saint to stop Janoulla – who grows so strong that she practically has everyone at her beck and call. Then it’s sort of wrapped neatly with a bow and the story ends. I expected a bit more from the plot- I guess for the focus to be more on the war, than the villain's machinations.I am looking forwards to the spin-off series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Read more: basicsIt's almost unfair to this sequel to be tied to Seraphina. It's predecessor was such a excellent book, an all-time favorite, that Shadow Scale is bound to suffer in comparison. Indeed, it's a complicated book to review. The first third or so is a bit of drudgery, a slow moving and somewhat aimless plot. I felt bored and quite nervous; I'd wanted to love this book. Thank god, I stuck with it. The brilliance of Shadow Scale hit me (to borrow a phrase from John Green) slowly, and then all at once. The stakes raise, the plot picks up, and suddenly I was unable to place it raphina becomes locked in a war versus time. She must search the other half-dragons in time to stop a devastating, international, interspecies war. She's thwarted at every turn by a devious enemy, even by her own allies. How do you war a battle when even your mind isn't safe? Life-changing secrets are revealed; cultures are explored; dragons are taught how to behave properly. It all culminates in a shocking clash of fighters and wills that could save Gorredd, or destroy it. While the ending is somewhat idyllic (and raises some questions about feasibility), it's a satisfying conclusion to the duology. And if anyone could create it work, it's ot . 3/5Shadow Scale rewards the patient. Honestly, this book would be nearly as amazing as Seraphina (because who can surpass it?) if not for the first third. It begins fortuitously enough. Seraphina and her ityasaari mates realize that their minds are uniquely capable of forming a magical trap, the kind that can rip dragons from the sky. Just in time, because the dragon cabal that wreaked havoc in Seraphina is threatening war. So Seraphina goes looking for her kind. And then there's a lot of traveling and I was bored and sad.But wait! Everything changes with the return of an unexpected character. Now there's traveling with tension. It's a race to search the ityasaari before the villain does. There are coups, deadly battles, allies turned versus each other. With her allies falling one by one, it comes down to Seraphina and her few remaining mates to infiltrate the dragons, resist the strong villain, and reach Gorredd in time to stop an opponent who knows them better than themselves. The rest of the book is so exciting, full of shocking revelations and maddening twists, that it well makes up for the sludgy ncept . 5/5I gushed about worldbuilding in Seraphina. Shadow Scale is further proof of Hartman's mastery. Here, we actually encounter Ninys, Samsam, and Porphyry as Seraphina journeys through them. The cultures are a small derivative--Ninys as a sort of Spain/Italy, Samsam as Scotland, Porphyry as Phoenicia--but they're given enough original twists that they seem like inspired other-world variations rather than copies. Attention is paid to their religions, social morays, even food. Hartman should write a travel guide. In addition, the whole plot with the ityasaari and the Porphyrian dragon exiles is so incredibly cool. Everything you thought you knew about dragons, about Seraphina, about the grotesques, will be upended and amplified. Obtain ready to be aracters . 5/5Of how a lot of books can you say that you love every single character? The characters kept me going even when the plot lagged. Seraphina is still incredible, and grows even more here. The stress wears on her; she's uncharitable sometimes, impetuous, cold. But she keeps powerful when no one else can. I admire her deeply. Glisselda has come into her own as acting queen, proving that one can be clever, [email protected]#$%, and kind of giggly. Kiggs is still adorably sharp and self-sacrificing. Comonot is delightfully obtuse. Now enter the parade of awesome newish people! Remember Abdo, the mute boy? He becomes a force of nature in this book, snarky and funny and heartbreakingly loyal. Newcomers Camba, Blanche, Nedouard, Ingar, and Brisi each have their own large personalities. It's like being introduced to fresh family; by the time you finish the book, you feel like you know them all. One of my favorites was Jannoula. She's frustratingly multifaceted, hatable and pitiable, and she's one of the best-written characters in the series.And Orma. Oh, Orma!style . 5/5How does Hartman do it? I'd love to know. Her style remains beautifully old-world, the musings of a masterful storyteller. Much of her writing is truly beautiful. Her descriptions stick with you, although I would have liked a small more scene-setting in each of the various countries. Moreover, I think she's gotten funnier since Seraphina. And she was already funny. But there were dry, witty moments in Shadow Scale that I re-read several times because they were so hysterical. It's truly a masterful example of though I still don't really obtain the e Ardmagar inserted himself between us and took my arm. "I joked--did you notice? I said I didn't know, when in fact I did, and then I pretended to wonder--""Indeed, Ardmagar. Well done," I chanics . 5/5You wouldn't expect a high fantasy to be one of the best examples of gender and diversity in young adult fiction. Perhaps that's sad. Shadow Scale is resounding proof that LGBTQ problems need not be confined to "issues" books. (Disclaimer: Problems books are necessary too! I'm just super excited when I see diverse characters in books of different genres, because it means that LGBTQ characters are being represented because they're people in the world, and it's not some large deal to have a character, because they're a hero too!) First of all, you have at least two main characters who are , and no one makes a large deal about it. Love is love. Second, you have Porphyry, where "How may I pronoun you?" is the first thing a polite person asks a stranger. Gender fluidity is built into their system. And one of my favorite characters in this book is a trans woman. Hartman takes time to discuss her gender identity, but, unlike a not good writer, doesn't create it the defining characteristic of the character. Her gender identity is seen as a part of her, while all the other parts are allowed to shine too. Rock on, Rachel Hartman. Rock on.take home messageStick with it through the slow beginning, and Shadow Scale will reward you with a beautifully-written tale full of humor, adventure, friendship, and surprises. It's a fairy tale for the modern world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Rachel Hartman’s "Seraphina" is one of my all-time favorite fantasy novels, so I had a lot of nervous anticipation about its sequel, "Shadow Scale." In my mind, "Seraphina" was so exquisitely excellent that I almost wondered if it was best to just leave the story untouched. After reading "Shadow Scale," however, I can honestly say I’m glad the author delved more deeply into Seraphina and her world. I am so, so fond of Seraphina and her story that I am in danger of gushing and I don’t think I can fully articulate why these books are so amazing—but I’ll e first book introduces Seraphina, a young woman who is half-human, half-dragon and struggles to search acceptance for her identity in a globe in which humans coexist warily with dragons in human form. Seraphina’s home, the queendom of Goredd, is a fully realized Renaissance-like setting with a colourful cast of characters, a tense history of dragon-human relations, a thriving musical heritage, and a religion of saints that condemns dragons as soulless and half-dragons as abominations. Add to this some political intrigue, snippets of comic relief, a romantic storyline that enchants without ever overshadowing the main plot, and the most complex dragons I’ve ever met. I love that the author brought together so a lot of diverse elements into one book—it was as if she fulfilled a story want list I didn’t even know I had until I read "Seraphina.""Shadow Scale," the long-awaited sequel, includes all of the elements I loved about the first book—and a whole lot more! Clocking in at just under 600 pages, it is a hefty read, and I think it’s safe to say you cannot fully appreciate it unless you have read "Seraphina" first. Although "Shadow Scale" stands on its own as a complete story, it builds on and greatly expands the characters and storylines introduced in the previous book. While "Seraphina" centers on Seraphina’s immediate surroundings, the queendom of Goredd, "Shadow Scale" takes Seraphina outside of Goredd and into the wider world. In the first book, Seraphina discovers that not only is her identity as half-dragon a valuable asset in negotiating relations between dragons and humans, but also there are other half-dragons, or ityasaari, like her, to whom she has a mysterious connection through her mind. In the second book, Seraphina travels to the other human areas of Ninys, Samsam, and Porphyry to strengthen Goredd’s alliance with them and seek out more ityasaari in the hope of joining their special abilities to resist a faction of dragons who have declared battle versus Goredd. On her long journey, Seraphina encounters a lot of challenges, including cultural differences, language barriers, humans who are uncomfortable with her half-dragon identity, and ityasaari who are reluctant to join her cause. However, the greatest challenge is another half-dragon whose terrifying ability to take over the minds of other people threatens to destroy all Seraphina’s efforts to re-establish peace between human and dragonkind. As plans unravel and allies become compromised, Seraphina begins to understand the final frontier may be the one in her own mind: a realization of the special bonus she has been holding back out of fear."Shadow Scale" is much more complex than "Seraphina." The cast of characters grows larger and the stakes are higher. It is also darker than the first book. While the threat of an assassination unraveling a forty-year peace treaty between dragons and humans in the first book seemed compelling enough, "Shadow Scale" reveals an even more terrifying threat in the form of a mind-reading, manipulative half-dragon who is single-handedly stirring up problem for the entire globe as Seraphina knows it. Finally, "Shadow Scale" is a feast for the imagination. Just when I thought the story globe of "Seraphina" could not possibly be any richer, author Rachel Hartman outdoes herself and reveals an even richer globe in the sequel. Although I felt weariness as Seraphina’s efforts start to evaporate in the face of a seemingly unbeatable villain, I also felt delight as Seraphina discovers breathtaking fresh vistas, meets fresh people with various customs, and stumbles her method through communicating in unfamiliar languages on her extensive travels. And that’s what is so unbelievable about Hartman’s writing—not only does the author paint a very vivid, believable world, but also she puts the reader right behind the eyes of the main character, so the reader experiences everything Seraphina is feeling.What I love most about Seraphina as a female protagonist is that she is so real: she is beautiful but struggles to search beauty in herself; she is brave and talented but doesn’t realize her own strength until it’s all she has left; and she has a love interest but understands there is much more at stake in her globe than whether or not she can be with the one she loves. Gift points: she doesn’t take herself too seriously and can crack jokes to place others around her at ease. In fact, Seraphina is one of the best female protagonists I’ve ever read in any genre.I love how Hartman resolves the storylines between Seraphina and those closest to her without wrapping everything up in a tidy bow. Despite the story’s setting in a fantastical globe of dragons, its conclusion feels very real to life. I shed tears over characters to whom I had grown attached as if they were true people. Although I admit to wishing for certain outcomes, I am glad Hartman allowed the story to take its own natural course. Just as in true life, you can’t always have what you want, but you can always search a purpose and claim your put in the world. And this is what is most essential to living a fulfilled life—whether you are human, dragon, or a small of both.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow Scale: A Companion to Seraphina [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I'll say 3.5 stars. You should still read 'Seraphina'; that stands alone in its greatness and I will always love it. So the bar was set fairly high, and, well, for me the sequel didn't entirely deliver, even though I liked some things about it.A review in the form of a conversation I had online with my mate Rich, who has also just read it:Me: I suppose it's possible that what some readers wanted to see was a deep exploration of Seraphina's mind-garden residents and the curious powers of half-dragons. I wanted to see that too, but only as a distant third after 1) more about relationship with Kiggs, and 2) more Orma. And of course we're not getting nearly enough of those two things, so, : Absolutely. I really, really wish to see a book from Orma's POV in particular. But for this series, I'm perplexed by how Kiggs became such a beyond-background hero when he was clearly one of the most interesting people and did a lot to create Seraphina the person she is. Heck, even Glisselda is getting shortchanged--there's obviously a lot more to her than meets the eye, but she basically functions as a telephone operator in the second : Exactly. Almost all the most interesting characters are getting pushed out of the foreground in favor of meeting each fresh ityasaari and giving them a few chapters. And then we drop those for a while too to create room for the next one. They all come together for the huge finale, but still, it's too a lot of fractured pieces rather than building nicely like the first one did....But hey, at least a full star for bearded Kiggs and the one make-out scene. And general amazing karma for the LGBTQ angles and non-conventional ending in terms of the romance. Unlike some readers, I actually kind of like that. Where things are left with Orma, I do not like so much. It's driving me crazy that I still can't figure out what "The thing itself plus nothing equals everything" means. Someone please support me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to the Horror Film []  2020-1-28 20:53

    The Kindle ver of this book has no page numbers in the Index, even though the book comes with page numbers. It makes the Kindle ver much, much less useful... I really hope Amazon fixes this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    I grew up with Goodnight Moon, and thought this would be a amazing addition to my childrens’ book collection. I found the story kind of boring. There wasn’t a amazing flow to it like Goodnight Moon, more like just stating things like “dad’s car” and “my car.” My children will sit and listen (well, as best as 14 month olds will sit and listen) to it, they aren’t really excited about it like other books we read- they are currently obsessed with lift-flap books and David Carter’s bug books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My World: A Companion to Goodnight Moon []  2020-2-1 1:55

    We have the Runaway Bunny and Goodnight Moon, my 3 year old son started asking about “the other one” when he saw the picture of this book on the back of both our books. So of course I had to buy this one. I personally have fun the classic goodnight moon most, but my son loves this and would recommend this book to anyone who wants the complete set.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    406 Chivalry Road: A Cherry Falls Romance Book 14 []  2021-4-6 23:31

    Absolutely loved the newest book in the Cherry falls series. Taylor has wanted Abbie for a very long time and when she comes in from the storm with her cat he knows that he needs her even though she's his daughter bf A amazing story and a unbelievable edition to the city of Cherry Falls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    406 Chivalry Road: A Cherry Falls Romance Book 14 []  2021-4-6 23:31

    This was an amazing book. I loved Taylor and Abilene together. These two have been drawn to each other but either thinks that the other wants them, allow alone the fact that Taylor is Abi's best friend's father. Taylor has never left the method he does about Abi with anyone else; not even Cassidy's mother. These two are throw together due to a storm and a cat who is giving birth. There is a lot of love, steam, comedy, longing, just a bit of drama and a really sweet HEA that will leave you smiling. I really enjoyed this book and I thought that this book fits perfectly with the rest of this multi-author series. I would highly recommend this book and Ms. AJ as a must read author.I received a free e-book copy of this book and am voluntarily leaving an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    406 Chivalry Road: A Cherry Falls Romance Book 14 []  2021-4-6 23:31

    Taylor has secretly wanted his daughters best friend, Abilene, from the moment he met her. The feeling is mutual for Abilene. All it takes is a flash meal and a pregnant cat to bring them together, but can they finally admit their feelings to each other?I loved the chemistry between Taylor and Abilene. It was truly insta love for the both of them. Despite the age gap they have a shared love for animals and insane amounts of passion and chemistry. Plus, the fact that Cassidy was supportive of their relationship for the most part created this story low on the drama.I fell in love with these characters and I want there was more of them because I couldn’t obtain enough!If you’re looking for a little town, age gap romance this is one to check out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    I was able to spend a few days on Easter Island around Christmas 2011, and this book helped me obtain the most out of my trip and I am convinced that without it, my experience would have been nowhere nearly as enjoyable. The book gives you key and interesting historical and cultural narratives as well as discussions about the top and even lesser known tourist destinations and even the best times to go to each to avoid crowds plus the generally accepted best photographic times. Admittedly, the island isn't swarming with tourists, (I estimate less than 1,000 while I was there on any given day), but wit this book I often felt like I was the only one there, being able to hit key spots during quieter times and other hidden gems where no one else seemed to venture (the caves on the western rim are amazing and off most people's radar). If you are only going to be on the island for a few days (I arrived on a Friday and left on a Monday), then I highly suggest going around on your own and using this book to plan your itinerary as I did; there was nothing advertised on any of the tours that wasn't discussed in this book and you don't lose much if anything on island culture and history by forgoing guides. Even if you are planning a longer stay, this book is still a must in my opinion so you can go out on your own a few days and not feel the slightest bit lost or confused. I cannot overstate how satisfied I was that I got this book ahead of time. Even the hotel I stayed at that tried to obtain me to use their tour and talked about how most books are all wrong with history, etc., had to admit that this book was a amazing one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    My wife & I just returned from Easter Island, and this book was very useful. Like most print books it is somewhat out of date -- but even with the inaccurate information, it's still the most accurate source of information in print, and supplemented with a few online details, it served us quite t cheap, but a lot cheaper than the personal tutorials that you won't have to hire if you follow the suggested itineraries -- unless you have unique needs, or intend to venture well off the beaten path. Written by a man who actually lives there, which is quite an advantage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    This book is very informative as we plan our upcoming trip to Easter Island. I love the little info and private comments. Definitely recommend this book for anyone planning to travel to the island.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    I read this book during our 5-day stay in Easter Island. As a tourist guidebook it is perfect - it gives suggestions for which archeological websites to visit given the length of your stay. It also gives perfect general overview of the history of the island and its people. The author challenges the conventional wisdom that the Rapanui society collapsed on its own due to the depletion of the island's natural resources as a effect of the large-scale Moai building. The author mentions numerous possible external factors such as rats, brought aboard ships by the early settlers, either on purpose or by accident, eating palm tree seeds and decimating the palm tree population, contact with Europeans leading to inter-tribal conflict, and Peruvian slave traders kidnapping huge portions of the population, that led to the collapse. I would be very interested in reading more about this.I have to point out one nit-picky mistake, written as an aerospace dork: the island's airport runway was extended by NASA as a possible alternate landing website for the zone shuttle. The author writes "You wonder what astronauts would have created of Easter Island after days on the moon... it would still seem awfully quiet." I suggest this sentence be removed from any future editions of the book, as the zone shuttle was not designed to go to the moon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    I can't wait to visit Rapa Nui after reading this book and I'm so glad I purchased this before going! Amazing historical info about the island, its people, the explorers, and its archaeological sites. Whether you plan on using a tutorial or touring yourself, this book is a must! The author gives a comprehensive overview with pictures and maps of virtually all of the websites on the island. He also suggests itineraries for visiting the websites and when to go for best image opportunities and to avoid crowds. There's even information on which websites have toilets and a list of handy phrases! Obtain it before going!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion to Foucault (Blackwell Companions to Philosophy) []  2020-11-30 18:21

    I purchased this book for my brother, he is a philosophy major. He loves this book! He states the book is super useful for any level student of Faucault. The book is essential when the student is serious about studying his work. In fact a lot of the authors in the book have written about various aspects of Faucault's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    There are a lot of travel tutorial books to Chile that include a little section on Easter Island. Those books only provide a brief glimpse and summary of what to expect during a visit to the island. Perhaps that will suffice for you; however, if you wish more than a brief snapshot in time, then this is the book for you. This comprehensive guidebook only covers Easter Island (not Chile) and provides all the essential info pertinent to your visit. You will learn about the history of the island and it’s moai, obtain recommendations on which websites to visit based upon your number of days on the island, and explore the best locations to hike as well as partake in other activities (e.g., horseback riding, diving, etc.). You will even learn about some of the best locations to dine in Hanga Roa, although virtually nothing is mentioned about accommodations. I began reading the book on my flight to the island but did not [email protected]#$%! until after my return home. I want I had read the entire book before planning my trip. Had I done so, I would have spent four or five nights on Easter Island instead of only three nights. My only complaint is the easy-to-read book is now five years out-of-date since its 2014 modernize and in need of another update

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    My wife and I are planning a cruise to Easter Island next year. As part of our preparation, we wanted to buy travel tutorial that describes the attractions of the island in an simple to read style from someone with detailed knowledge of its special atmosphere. James' book fills the bill completely. As both an expert on the island (he wrote his thesis on its special language, a combination of Spanish and Polynesian, spoken only there), and a resident of nearly 20 years (he is the honorary British Consul of Easter Island) he is perfectly qualified to write this type of book. His style is conversational, as if he was accompanying you around the island, giving you insights on its special attractions. There is an attention to detail that's not always show in travel books of this type. We loved his book so much that we have booked a 2 day tour with his company, Easter Island Spirit. It's obvious that his book is a labor of love. We are convinced that our visit will be all too brief, but that with James' help, we can obtain the most out of our stay. If you are planning a trip to Easter Island, even if you don't book a tour with his company, this book is a must-read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    We went in 2018 to Easter Island. Some stuff in this book are outdated (ie - no longer able to walk up to the trumpet rock, no longer able to drive closer to the caves). However this book is still the most detailed and best tutorial to Rapa Nui! It's a must have if you are going to the island.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    With just 70,000 or so visitors a year, Easter Island is a very unique put for a very limited number of visitors. You really should not go there without this book and read it before you go. i was lucky enough to have a private tutorial who knew the island he lives on very well, but I want I had read this before I went to place his awesome knowledge into ere are a lot of stories about the island which may or may not be true, or some combination of fact and fiction, but this book should be your tutorial if you so take along the Easter Island (Chile) 1:30,000 Visitor's Map (International Travel Maps) Map - November 22, 2006by ITM Canada if you go which is much better than the maps you can obtain on the island. Available on Amazon for less than five bucks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Companion To Easter Island (Guide To Rapa Nui) []  2021-1-26 20:40

    This month, I returned from a trip to Easter Island. Not only did the book prove to be indispensable, but the author is a phenomenal tutorial as well. It's especially useful for travelers from the English speaking world, as the author hails from the UK and can speak as both a foreigner and a local, given the decade he has spent living on the island. The book is plenty useful for those who wish to make their own itinerary and learn more about what they're seeing, and to obtain even more color, test to book a day or more with the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy if i have a legitimate perscription []  2021-2-2 19:40
    [email protected]

    obtain prescription doctor generic or tadalafil may be available at stores near me plavix uk buy Cooff fes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Spice Companion: A Guide to the World of Spices [Book]  2017-12-27 18:1

    Nice reference for the kitchen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soaring Earth: A Companion Memoir to Enchanted Air []  2019-12-17 21:15

    The award-winning author returns with a companion book to her memoir Enchanted Air. In this book, Engle writes in verse about her time in high school. Margarita thinks often of her time in her childhood spent in Cuba, but now that globe is entire inaccessible to her and her family. As she attends high school in Los Angeles, Margarita dreams of traveling the world. She is also involved in the unrest of the 1960s as the problems of war, peace, civil rights, and freedom cause protests. Engle finishes high school and goes on to search her own winding path through college on her own terms. It is a memoir filled with hope, longing for peace, and a discovery of private identity.Engle is the national Young People’s Poet Laureate, a well-deserved honor given her body of work for kids and teens. This second memoir takes a long look at the 1960s in America and the tensions between battle and peace. She doesn’t shrink away from subjects such as use. Her own path to a college degree will also support young people who may be wondering whether they have to go to Ivy League schools to succeed. The joy of finding teachers who are passionate and supportive eclipses the need for the school to be always Engle’s writing is exceptional. Here with the private lens, it is all the more strong and moving. There are poems that are intensely private and others that take a less immediate and more philosophical view. The play of the two together allows the book to give a true look at her time growing up and the times of her youth.Another awesome read by Engle, a poet to be celebrated. Appropriate for ages 13-17.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soaring Earth: A Companion Memoir to Enchanted Air []  2019-12-17 21:15

    Title: Soaring EarthAuthor: Margarita EngleRelease Date: February 26, 2019Genre: Poetry, YA, MemoirPeople of Color?: YesBechdel Test: YesTrigger Warning:s: No explicit violence.Disclaimer: I received Soaring Earth in exchange for an honest rgarita loves living in the paradise of Cuba, but her family unexpectedly moves to dark and lonely Los Angeles. The Cuban Revolution has restricted all travel to Cuba and she must create peace with her American home. She wants to travel and search fresh paradises, but the realities of being a high school student hold her grounded. She is distracted by first love and other fresh experiences. The poetry paints such a vivid and emotional pictural that I feel as if I've stepped into Engle's world. I love her journey of empowerment through education. She struggles with large concepts, such as war, peace, and love while the Vietnam Battle hits close to home. We leave her as a young adult. I hope there will be a third installment where we follow Engle's young adult life!The work is suitable for teens and up and I would recommend it for anyone who loves poetry or just the memoir genre in general!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Rails: A Learner's Companion to Ruby on Rails []  2020-2-1 12:36

    This is a decent book that actually whisks you through a number of concepts to obtain to true apps. The issue is...I just bought this book in July, 2011, and its outdated. I wouldn't have as much of an problem if the publisher has kept the forum updated or the code, but I am spending half of my time trying to figure out the correct code for Rails 3. It's amazing in as much that I am rooting around various forums learning other aspects, but still a e book doesn't give you detailed explanation of every piece of code which is a small tough, but I seem to be picking some of it up. But the publisher really should take advantage of their web website and provide an update.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alpha and Omega: A Companion Novella to Cry Wolf []  2020-1-19 20:19

    Since I'm doing a Mercy Thompson re-read, I've decided to finally begin the spin-off series. I don't always care about spin-offs, but since I was curious about Charles, I finally decided to give this a go. I already love Anna. She's a survivor and plenty feisty when she needs to be. I like Charles, too. He lives up to the hype. I like that we got both POVs as well and that this prequel shows how Anna and Charles first meet as well as the other side of what was going on in Moon Called. Amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alpha and Omega: A Companion Novella to Cry Wolf []  2020-1-19 20:19

    I read the first full length book in this series LONG before I read this novella, the beginning of the Alpha and Omega story. When I read the third book in the series, or the fourth, depending on how you look at it, I remember bookmarking a line where Charles is thinking about how remarkable Anna was when she stood up to "that crazy wolf" Justin with her grandmother's rolling pin. And I wondered at the specificity of that line, until I hunted down this "prequel." And at the end of the book, I was just in love with the series as I was when I originally began arles Cornick is his father's designated hit-man, the "boogeyman" of the wolves, I believe he is referred to in one book. He is the magical son of the Marrok, the leader of the werewolves in North American, and a long-dead Flathead chieftain's daughter. He is sent to Chicago at his father's behest to investigate the disappearance of several recently turned werewolves in the area. Charles is met at the airport by Anna, an almost special type of wolf who has been severely abused by her packmates. From here we see Charles start his courtship of Anna, who doesn't know what she is, and we see just why Charles, a two hundred year old wolf with almost unparalleled dominance and skill, would fall in love with a girl like ter reading this, I understood Anna and where she'd come from so much more clearly, and I appreciated here resilience a amazing deal. I've always liked Charles' story more than the Mercy Thompson books, and I think part of that is because you can really see how much Charles (and Brother Wolf) CHERISH Anna, in a method that is, not to be trite, beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitsuneko: A Companion Novella to The Realms Beyond the Rainbow []  2020-1-20 20:22

    I absolutely love this prequel "tail" of love and tragedy and hope! What a descriptive and alluring story brought to life by the narrator, who did a phenomenal job of expressing what the writer has brilliantly brought to life. I hope to read/listen to so much more from this bookverse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitsuneko: A Companion Novella to The Realms Beyond the Rainbow []  2020-1-20 20:22

    A girl who grows up being forced to pretend she is someone she is not, in love with a boy she can never have. I enjoyed reading this story, even though I had a couple little quibbles with logic used in the ssionate, humorous, intriguing, and sweet, this clean romance will leave you wanting to read more of Kitsuneko's e narrator's voice was very well suited to this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion to Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-1-23 0:56

    There isn't much written on the laugavegur trail, unlike some of the other hikes I've been on where there are endless amounts. So while this may be one of the more detailed descriptions of the trail you'll be able to find, there ultimately isn't a ton here. Maybe I should be judging it based on what else is written on Laugavegur, not what people have written about other hikes, but I just felt like I didn't obtain that much more info from this than I found online. It is still useful, so if you prefer to know as much as possible about a hike before venturing across the mountains, pick it up, but it's not giving the kind of detailed info I found helpful for hikes like the Haute Route.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion to Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-1-23 0:56

    Our family just completed The Laugavegur Trail and found this an perfect tutorial for planning prior to the trip and as a source of fascinating info during the hike. Iceland's landscape is fascinating and Brian Zimmer's book really help to support appreciate her wonders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mathematical Companion to Quantum Mechanics (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-7-15 18:46

    Have only checked a few things, but just begin in any page and marvel at the author’s no nonsense approach. Terse, but says what needs to be said and goes directly to the jugular. Certainly can’t be read like a novel, but you will learn an enormous amount if you place in the effort. Very impressive. One can say the same thing about Sternberg’s related book on differential geometry with physics applications also published by Dover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion To Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-7-1 19:29

    Its written by an igneous geologist and it shows. Plenty of info on the igneous geology but not much more. I had hoped on more info of geomorphology and maybe the latest geological history. Nevertheless, a fine book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion To Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-7-1 19:29

    Loads of info jammed into this book; I would definitely recommend buying if you are embarking on this trek. I brought the book in my package and reread sections on the rocks and mountains as I hiked through the zone to appreciate the geology around me more. This book also saved me when I created it into Thorsmork and didn't know which route to take to obtain to my cabin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Safari Companion: A Guide to Watching African Mammals []  2020-7-17 20:44

    There seems to be so much detail that it isn't practical. I was looking to understand behavior of African mammals to improve the chances of catching a "key moment" while photographing. This minutia isn't terribly helpful. Furthermore, there are so a lot of behavioral exceptions listed, it is impossible to discern the generalities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Safari Companion: A Guide to Watching African Mammals []  2020-7-17 20:44

    I just returned from Tanzania, and used this book while on Safari in Serengetti, Ngorongoro crater, Lake Manyara, and e main strength of the book is the high level overview given to android game viewing in the beginning and at the beginning of each animal section. Without some background in behavioral biology it is tough to watch the animals and search it interesting for too long. After reading the opening to this book I was able to take much more from watching huge herds of grazers than the tourists I was ard Estes is clearly an expert in the field, but he writes in a fashion that is simple to understand for a layman. He also gives some personalization to his accounts, giving private hints for a amazing android game e only problem with the book is that it is sometimes difficult to match the behavior of the animals in the field to the book in the limited time that is available on safari, so I would suggest that anyone interested read the sections about the animals they expect to see before the safari, and have those pages marked for reference during the android game drive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wells Bequest: A Companion to The Grimm Legacy []  2020-11-25 23:29

    (Originally I rated on Goodreads)**Spoilers** What time is it?! It's time machine time! Every Vernian and Wellsian (are those even words?) subject seems to have created an appearance in The Wells Bequest. Which is excellent as these writers both pioneered the science fiction genre, where now some of their technological concepts have become reality. And even more time machines from other books create paradoxical appearances. I found the lovestruck and inquisitive Leo to be ingenious in his endeavors to protect the library, past, future, and his friends. His quirky improving on technology helped him in several sticky situations. Particularly when coming up with a method to save Jaya. Speaking of which, it's only right to say that Jaya's mention in The Grimm Legacy about going to save the trapped, transformed dolls is not really mentioned (perhaps that's another tale to be told). It also seems like maybe the Lovecraft Corpus may be the next room to explore, possibly with Andre. Unless another adventure is to come with Jaya and Leo featuring more in the Gibson Chrestomancy (alternate worlds or cyberspace-related perhaps?)? Either method it's always a treat to see what other stuff appear in the Fresh York Circulating Material Repository (NYCMR) and its different international libraries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wells Bequest: A Companion to The Grimm Legacy []  2020-11-25 23:29

    Loved it. The use of historical facts give this fictional story a touch of reality. The love story piece is cute too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scratch & Sniff Guide to Beer: A Beer Lover's Companion []  2020-11-14 19:29

    Very colourful book. The quality exceeded my expectations. Nice thick pages, printed very well. I got this for a mate and I don’t know anything about beer, but I know about books and this is a nice book, especially for the price they’re asking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scratch & Sniff Guide to Beer: A Beer Lover's Companion []  2020-11-14 19:29

    Amazing bonus for a beer loving dad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Spice Companion: A Guide to the World of Spices [Book]  2017-12-27 18:1

    Nice instructional book. Amazing ideas to try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Rails: A Learner's Companion to Ruby on Rails []  2020-2-1 12:36

    I want I had read the reviews more thoroughly before purchasing, the book is VERY outdated...Didn't realize that until I tried some of the code examples...I agree with all the other reviews that this should be pulled from the market....If you're learning Rails it's hard enough without having to figure out what is updated or not... Thoroughly USELESS!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Rails: A Learner's Companion to Ruby on Rails []  2020-2-1 12:36

    it focuses a lot on being cute. i have had several head first books, but they have stopped being effective, and now are just cranking out books on every topic without spending time to teach them well, much like dummies books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitsuneko: A Companion Novella to The Realms Beyond the Rainbow []  2020-1-20 20:22

    I'm a superfan of CS Johnson and love her novels, including these short novellas. It definitely is enjoyable and makes you wish to come back for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitsuneko: A Companion Novella to The Realms Beyond the Rainbow []  2020-1-20 20:22

    This author knows how to take her readers on a journey to wonderful places. Her prose is such that the reader believes that the people and locations she describes are real. She paints with words scenes of castles and unicorns, of handsome princes and fox/cat shifters who become make-believe princesses, of fancy balls and dirty dungeons. Ms. Johnson is a truly talented author. All I can say to her is "Hurry! Write the next book in this series, please!"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alpha and Omega: A Companion Novella to Cry Wolf []  2020-1-19 20:19

    This is a novella. I'm not generally a fan of novellas because they seem a small shallow and incomplete to me. HOWEVER, Patricia Briggs is rapidly becoming a favorite author. In spite of the short form of this story, I was engrossed in every page. My only complaint...I wanted MORE. Happily, Ms. Briggs has written three complete novels that follow this story world.If you're a fan of her Mercy Thompson stories (as I am), you know the world--fae and werewolves and vampires and witches. But this is not the usual fantasy globe with an incomplete cast. This globe is brilliantly imagined, richly detailed including political systems, legal systems, and a fully thought-out social structure. There is nothing incomplete in this world.Okay, so this Alpha and Omega novella and the three full novels, CRY WOLF, HUNTING GROUND, and FAIR GAME are set within this same world. The only difference is that the spotlight is on a various part of the North American wolf package run by Bran as the Uber-Alpha. Instead of featuring Adam and Mercy, this set of stories features Bran's son and scary-dangerous enforcer, Charles. (And you know scary risky is SUPER-scary risky when even the different package Alphas are scared to death of him!) Instead of being the "enforcer" in this story, he learns how to become a more fully rounded individual as he meets his mate, an Omega wolf Anna.If you have never visited this world, you will be captured by it. And you will fall in love with Anna and Charles. This novella and the following novels in the Alpha & Omega series are much more of a love story than the more action-advernturish Mercy Thompson books. But it turns out that love is exactly what a scary-dangerous super-Alpha werewolf like Charles RONGLY recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alpha and Omega: A Companion Novella to Cry Wolf []  2020-1-19 20:19

    If you've been reading Patricia Brigg's Mercy Thompson series, as I have from the day it first came out, you're familiar with the werewolf globe she's created. This is sort of like a spin-off television series. It's the same world, and you see some happenings from a various viewpoint. This series is about Charles Cornick, the son of the Marrok, who's in charge of the North American werewolves. I read or listened to this entire series as soon as I found out about it, and enjoyed it every bit as much as, maybe even more than, the Mercy Thompson books. This is really about the werewolves while Mercy Thompson delves into a lot of supernatural beings. When I finished the Alpha and Omega series I went back and listened to MT all over again and decided that I really prefer the werewolves to the fae and the vampires. The wolves begin out human and are, for me, easier to identify with. I can better understand why they do things the method they do while the vampires in particular, with the exception of Stephan, are just nasty. The Fae are a small easier for me to like. Alpha and Omega as a series has more to do with the individuals among the wolves. I just like them.OK, about this particular story. It's a satisfied ever after short story, the only thing that makes is unusual, and the reason I read it in the first place, is that it involves Charles, whom we've seen before, and I like him. Then you add Anna, who is at the very bottom of her package structure and you obtain a sense of how poor things could be in werewolf culture without a Marrok to test to hold their world, if not safe, at least relatively fair. This is a book about unfair getting it's just reward. The plot is in how it comes about. Very quickly you realize that Anna is being victimized and that Justice is going to be served. I'd like it better longer, but it is a prequel. I admit to thinking that it's overpriced for a novella and if I were taking that into acc I'd only give it 3 stars for value, but based just on the pleasure of reading the story, for that it's a amazing 5 star read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion to Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-1-23 0:56

    Very nice information book for those of us who wish to know what to expect when they hike the Laugavegur. Besides the actual trail, the author also describes short off-trail hikes that one could do after they have completed the day's hike on the trail. The pictures were nice, but if you go early in the season, as I did, much of the first 3 days will be snow covered, so it will look different.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion to Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-1-23 0:56

    Accurate tutorial to the hike. Fails to mention the terrifying ridge section on day 5. Youtube has several videos of this section. Watch them before attempting that section, people with a fear of heights may want to skip that portion of the hike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion To Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-7-1 19:29

    Very nice information book for those of us who wish to know what to expect when they hike the Laugavegur. Besides the actual trail, the author also describes short off-trail hikes that one could do after they have completed the day's hike on the trail. The pictures were nice, but if you go early in the season, as I did, much of the first 3 days will be snow covered, so it will look different.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion To Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-7-1 19:29

    If you are thinking about hiking the Laugavegur Trail, this is the only book to buy. Forget about the usual travel guides. This is WAY better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Safari Companion: A Guide to Watching African Mammals []  2020-7-17 20:44

    More then a easy field guide, this book focuses on East African mammalian behavior and social organizations. Much contemporary research on mammalian behavior informs the chapters. Line drawings take the put of the color photographs (that you would search in a lot of other guides), which give it a nice retro feel. Nevertheless, it has a modern organizational schema with lots of boldfaced subheading and bullet points which create it simple to search info quickly. There are icon-based labels that allows the reader to identify the characteristics of each species social organization. Descriptions of social organization, play, courtship behaviors, territoriality, parenting patterns let observers to interpret their observations in the field while on safari. It's like having a naturalist along with you, pointing out the subtleties of animal behaviors and some parts of the book, there is specific info about wildlife populations. For example, in the section on Spotted Hyenas, the author reports data from one female that was tracked with a radio collar in the Ngorongoro Crater, noting how starkly various the level of activity important to search meal was compared to hyenas in Kalhari Gemsbock National Park, where meal is harder to come by. This level of scientific detail nicely complements the comprehensive descriptions of each species life and environment.I ended buying this after borrowing it from my local library. I also purchased a Princeton Pocket Tutorial to Wildlife of East Africa by Withers and Hosking full of colourful images - mostly because of its vast listing of birds that are not in the Safari Companion. The Princeton Tutorial also has images of a lot of reptiles. It is clear that I will learn the most from the Safari Companion, however.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Safari Companion: A Guide to Watching African Mammals []  2020-7-17 20:44

    More of a reference book than a reading book, at least for me: nonetheless I at least skimmed every page, so I feel fair counting it toward my annual total. Unlike most field guides, which tell you what the animals look like and how to search them, this book concentrates on the animals' typical behavior and how to understand what you see when you watch is, frankly, repetitious and more than a bit boring. But such is the price of info e illustrations, by Daniel Otte, are quite beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Safari Companion: A Guide to Watching African Mammals []  2020-7-17 20:44

    As some of the others have said, this book goes into much greater detail about the animals you will see on safari than any other. More detailed descriptions than any other of the dozen safari books I've bought. Others may be as good, but none near the level of description of animal behaviors. In that regard its in a class by itself. Amazing amounts of research went into this, but its not a boring dry encyclopedia. It's really a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scratch & Sniff Guide to Beer: A Beer Lover's Companion []  2020-11-14 19:29

    My brother turned 21 on his deployment overseas. This was the closest thing I could do as far as buying him a beer. He LOVED it. They are on a 3 beer limit where he is at and they all say around going thru this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Scratch & Sniff Guide to Beer: A Beer Lover's Companion []  2020-11-14 19:29

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wells Bequest: A Companion to The Grimm Legacy []  2020-11-25 23:29

    fun young adult sci-fi but --- I'm very glad that I read The Grimm Legacy first ---- even tho this is called "a companion", I think it works better as a sequel. lots of reference to jules verne, hg wells, & tech workings. interesting & entertaining

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wells Bequest: A Companion to The Grimm Legacy []  2020-11-25 23:29

    Excellent for young adults and old adults alike. Ms. Shulman somehow truly gets into the heads of Jaya and Leo and thinks like these unbelievable young people as she writes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Minnesota Travel Companion: A Guide to History along Minnesota's Highways []  2021-1-26 20:41

    amazing pictures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Spice Companion: A Guide to the World of Spices [Book]  2017-12-27 18:1

    Fine, creative book which could give any cook a lot of ideas on how to season food. I plan to study it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Rails: A Learner's Companion to Ruby on Rails []  2020-2-1 12:36

    I normally LOVE the Head-First books, but DO NOT BUY THIS ONE FOR RAILS. The code in the example text is grossly outdated. Its hard enough to learn a language when you're completely fresh -- allow alone trying to debug and search the proper method to do things on the web at the same time. They really, really, need to either pull this from the market, or do an update, pronto. And, I deserve a free e-book update, but I won't obtain one :-( A lot of other books they offer are phenominal, but this one was a true waste of my time, effort, and money, just to explore the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alpha and Omega: A Companion Novella to Cry Wolf []  2020-1-19 20:19

    My favorite genre to read is mostly paranormal, and here is where I admit that I had never read anything by Patricia Briggs. And now I am kicking myself. I decided to begin with this novella because it’s really the first part of the story, and also so that I could see if I enjoyed the method the author wrote before taking on a fresh series. So reading done and the first I thing I did when I finished this was of course, buy the first true book in the series,Cry Wolf, and immediately begin reading. Why? Because I have already fallen in love with the main characters.Anna is a werewolf that was changed versus her wishes, and has been living a horrible life ever since. Used by the alpha of her package as a reward to any werewolf that does good, Anna has been repeatedly raped. She is submissive and has had to do anything that is asked of her, including giving a huge part of her wages to the pack, making her almost at is just told to us so we don’t have to see her go through the rapes-thankfully. Charles is the son of the Marrok, also known as the leader of all the werewolves. He comes to Chicago to visit Anna after she gets the nerve up to tell some things she has witnessed in her pack. I am not going into any more of the story at this point due to this being a ’s a very short read and actually the story didn’t begin until 10 percent into the read due to advertisements of other books by the author/publisher. Usually that doesn’t create me happy, but since the story was so satisfying and good, it really didn’t bother me in the least. Also hold in mind that this was originally part of an anthology, On the Prowl, back in 2007.Werewolves, packs, alphas, package rules, and the beginning of a romance, this book has all that.I loved the characters, the premise, and look forward to continuing on with this rst read by Patricia Briggs ended up being a champion for me all the method around. Highly recommended to all adult paranormal romance/urban fantasy readers.4.5/5 stars ()

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion to Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-1-23 0:56

    Yes, this book is very specific but that is what I was looking for. There are plenty of other books on Iceland to tell you all about the other items that this island country has to offer. I had already booked my flights to hike the Laugavegur this summer along with 7 of my backpacking buddies, and was looking for some reliable intel specifically on this popular trek. since I am the defacto leader of this group, I had already done quite a bit of research online beforehand but wanted something more. Brian Zimmer delivers the excellent amount of info and detail in his first-hand account. I will bring this paperback book with me on the trail and plan on reading each day's acc out loud to my gang every morning, so that we obtain the most out of the trek.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion to Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-1-23 0:56

    An absolute must have for planning the Laugavegur Trail!!! Literally everything you need to know from where to obtain supplies, transportation, the trail itself including day hikes in a very simple to read format with photographs!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion to Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-1-23 0:56

    Amazing tutorial on the trail. Don't look for a lot of other information on Iceland or Reykjavik, because this book is really about the trail itself. It inspired me (in part) to book a trip to backpack it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Laugavegur Trail: A Hiking Companion to Iceland's Famous Trek []  2020-1-23 0:56

    If you are thinking about hiking the Laugavegur Trail, this is the only book to buy. Forget about the usual travel guides. This is WAY better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soaring Earth: A Companion Memoir to Enchanted Air []  2019-12-17 21:15

    Margarita Engle's follow-up to Enchanting Air covers in memoir-in-verse the years 1966-1973, after she graduates from high school. Half-Cuban, half-American, but a US citizen, where did she fit in? Her poetry expresses her confusion about her direction, her personality, her purpose, and her culture. She attends UC Berkeley and gets involved with people who do , losing mates to overdoses. Often mistaken for a woman of Mexican heritage, she is recruited for Hispanic civil rights efforts. She feels shy and cowardly, without the bravery required for such a fight. She drops out of college, and wanders penniless from coast to coast, trying this and that. She realizes that she is going further and further from the two things that mean the most to her--poetry and nature. So she goes home to California, lives with her parents, and begins again, this time at a community college that meets her needs and ignites her passions for poetry and science, especially botany. The notice of perseverance, persistence, peace, and hope permeate this memoir, and would inspire young readers. Engle has gone on to keep a lot of awards for her writing, including being named the Young People's Poet Laureate for 2018. Using the attractive language of poetry, this book tells how she got there. As she concludes her poem "Perplexity," "Somehow, confusion often leads/toward clarity."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soaring Earth: A Companion Memoir to Enchanted Air []  2019-12-17 21:15

    I received a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. It has been awhile since I have read a memoir. I know this is a companion book to another book she has written. I love the method that she describes things and how she relies each memory. There were moments that I could relate to and that created me feel closer to the author. That is something that I have fun when it comes to reading genres like this one. 

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitsuneko: A Companion Novella to The Realms Beyond the Rainbow []  2020-1-20 20:22

    I really enjoyed this read. I enjoyed the hero of Kitsuneko and the angst she endures. She has to hide her real self and I think that that might be the hardest thing ever. I love how the characters- each one- is not completely "good" or "bad" and that's what happens in true life. People have their reasons why they do things which affects others positively or negatively. There's the power of love soooooooo strongly in this novella- the power to do so much, beyond characters can imagine, and it is beautiful. Yes, love- love that goes beyond so a lot of opposing forces- is beautiful. It is!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitsuneko: A Companion Novella to The Realms Beyond the Rainbow []  2020-1-20 20:22

    C.S. Johnson seems to always know the method to my heart... and this time she did it thru my favorite animal - unicorns!!!! What an interesting and sweet divergence from her previous books. I always feel C.S. Johnson books are written from the heart & reach out in a deeper method than most other books I’ve read. I feel so fortunate to have stumbled upon her writings and always hold up with her newest releases because they so imaginative & never fail to draw me into the globe painted into the pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitsuneko: A Companion Novella to The Realms Beyond the Rainbow []  2020-1-20 20:22

    One of my favorite authors has done it again. How does she hold thinking up these amazing stories that are each a small different. I didn't see the ending she wrote but I am so ready for the next one to see what happens. Hope I don't have to wait very long. I received an ARC. This is my voluntary, honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitsuneko: A Companion Novella to The Realms Beyond the Rainbow []  2020-1-20 20:22

    A very interesting spin in the fantasy romance genre. The loyalty Juni and Kiro feel for Kitty is inspiring. I love how Kiro locations her first and am on tenterhooks to search out more about Cari and what happened to her.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386