a court of thorns and roses Reviews & Opinions


Submit a court of thorns and roses review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    Sadly, this third installment was somewhat of a letdown after the amazingness of ACOMAF. Overall, I do still love the series, but was disappointed with this one for a dozens of reasons:**SPOILERS BELOW:- First off, I felt the pacing was off in several areas, and there were a handful of times where certain events/ideas were seemingly thrown in haphazardly. (For example, it created NO SENSE to me that Feyre would go off by herself to search the Suriel, IN THE MIDDLE OF A BATTLE, to search the zone of Hybern's main army?... I actually really enjoyed the inclusion of the Suriel storyline, but the timing of it didn't create ANY sense to me, and there really was no need to lie about it to the other characters & cause unnecessary tension/trust problems with them... It was just odd. And on that note, basically every time Feyre went off on her own to accomplish something, it was somewhat puzzling to me. I obtain that Maas was trying to establish that Feyre is now this [email protected]#$%, independent, powerful woman that can take care of herself, but really, in most cases it just seemed like a dumb idea for her to leave her team and/or lie about it, and it certainly felt like she was less effective without them most of the time). As for the pacing, there were parts of the story that seemed to drag & felt somewhat unnecessary, while others felt super rushed and unfinished. This was a HUGE difference from the first two books, both of which I literally couldn't place down, due to the pacing & crazy suspense/tension running throughout. By contrast, there were several parts in ACOWAR that felt like filler, or felt completely unnecessary & out of place?-Another frustrating aspect were all of the undeveloped characters and relationships. For example, there is virtually no change in the Cassian-Nesta and Lucien-Elain storylines throughout the story. Other than a few glimmers of actual emotions/feelings from Nesta, she remains extremely detached and distant the ENTIRE book, which created it difficult for me to root for her (to be fair, she did have that badass moment at the end with Cassian & Hybern, but then she seems to immediately retreat back to her same brooding, distant self?). I don't know, based on other reviews, I might be alone in my dislike of Nesta, but I just felt like Cassian was WAY too amazing for her, from the beginning to the end. And then there's Lucien's unrequited feelings for Elain that never advanced through the story at all, partly because Lucien was absent, and partly because Elain seems to have the disposition & personality of a mannequin. I mean, we obtain it... yes, we know Nesta and Elain are very upset about being immortal. But like, at some point shouldn't they have moved on? At least a little? It was almost like they were lobotomized in that cauldron, and they came out with no personality or emotion. Also, Azriel suddenly showing interest in Elain seemed beautiful out of hero and odd? As for Mor - I'm totally okay with the direction Maas went with her, but I'm beautiful @#$%ed that it means she's been stringing Azriel along (and sleeping with lots of other men, I might add) for literally HUNDREDS OF YEARS. WTH?... And while Mor's explanation for doing so is somewhat understandable, it still doesn't excuse the fact that she's been hiding the truth from him, when she's very aware he loves her.-And then there's Feyre and Rhysand -- they were probably my favorite literary couple, as written in ACOMAF. Sadly, they were almost boring together in ACOWAR. Where did the intensity/passion/teamwork/banter between them go? It's like all of the exciting & amazing aspects of their relationship were watered down. And I feel like there was SO MUCH missed opportunity for them to be working together, being a powerful, magical, badass duo, but there was really very small of that. And as for their passion/intensity, it wasn't even close to the connection they had in ACOMAF. As a lot of have mentioned, the sex scenes were somewhat graphic (though not any more graphic than those in ACOMAF), yet they were COMPLETELY lacking the emotion and intensity that was conveyed in ACOMAF. For the most part, there were just a lot of off-hand remarks and references to them not being able to hold their hands off each other, but the actual sex scenes were decidedly un-hot and just kind of unnecessary? My overall feeling about them together in this book can be summed up as MEH, which is such a bummer. Especially because I obtain the impression the remaining books in the series will focus on Feyre's sisters and others in the group, so it's disappointing that the end of Feyre & Rhysand's story felt so underwhelming.-There were some amazing aspects to the book, though. The highlights for me were: AMREN (she was amazing in this), the Suriel, the Library, meeting the High Lords, fighter Cassian, and tom line, it was an okay third book - I did have fun reading it for the most part, and still love the series overall, but it was FOR SURE the weakest of the three for me (my gauge for this is that while I've re-read the first & second books a lot of times, I have no desire to re-read this one)... And sadly, given the lack of growth in a lot of of the side characters, I'm just not that excited to see what happens with them in the upcoming books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    As a huge fan of this series, I went into this book with high expectations. The book is good, but it didn't feel like a well-rounded ending. It read more like a stepping stone for other books, which Sarah J Maas already has planned around several of the other characters in the e first book in this series was a slow start, and the second book was action-packed from begin to finish. This book was somewhere in the e action felt rushed, and some of the plot was ere is amazing in this book - the hero development continues to be top notch, and Sarah's writing style flows beautifully. The romance is more rushed and hurried in this story than in the previous, but I think that lends itself well to the circumstances within the plot. Sarah's dialogue writing is some of the best I've read in a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    So I've apparently been living under a rock & only discovered Maas & ACOTAR a month ago. I LOVED the first two books and was happy I could immediately have fun the third book. I did have fun it, but compared to the first two books, it just didn't quite keep up. Several parts seemed rushed or the sequence was just off. I wanted more out of the awesome relationship between Feyre & Rhys - it was there, but I felt a lot of the fun back and forth of book two was gone and I wanted it back. I was hoping for a small more with some of the other characters, some other the it relationships and situations were left more begin than I had anticipated, but I'm hoping that the future books will address those more. The final war was well done and I honestly was not sure what the outcome might be, but I like how it worked out. I did have fun meeting/visiting more of the kingdoms and their characters and hope that Maas will be visiting them again in future books. Would I still suggest the series to others? Most definitely. I just want book three had been as awesome as the first two.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on a court of thorns and roses or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch a court of thorns and roses video reviews and related movies:

    See A COURT OF THORNS & ROSES | Teaser Trailer 2 | Project Starfall: FANFILM on youtube.

     related image

    See A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J MAAS | booktalk with XTINEMAY on youtube.

     related image

    See A Court of Thorns and Roses| ACOTAR FAN TRAILER 2018 on youtube.

     related image

    See A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR) Review & Rant on youtube.

     related image

    See A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES | ACOTAR Teaser Trailer | Fanmade on youtube.

     related image

    See WTF is A Court of Thorns and Roses? 🌹 on youtube.

     related image

    See A COURT OF THORNS & ROSES BY SARAH J MAAS BOOKTALK on youtube.

     related image

    See A Court of Thorns and Roses series || Dream Cast on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    wow what an ending!!!! absolutely amazing! I will admit, it was a bit slower than the other 2 books in the series, but I feel that Maas did SSSOOO well with those that it's difficult to top them. even with the book being 700 pages, I felt the ending was a bit rushed. there was so much build up, that it left small room to truly wrap things up. But then again, there will be a "spin off" series to this, so maybe she has something planned. But I absolutely loved this book and this series! fantastic!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    Loved this series and the final book from Feyre's perspective did no disappoint! I won't place in any spoilers, but the book had a amazing flow and was action packed. It was an emotional rollercoaster and I loved every second of it. Definitely a series that I would re-read. I can't wait to see what other books in the series end up being about :D

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    What can I say about this book that hasn't already been said. It was moving and awesome and heart wrenching. It was funny at times and unbearably sad as well. We met so a lot of fresh characters and learned more about old one's. We got to see Feyre grow up and Rhys learn to accept help. We finally got the deets on Mor and Azriel, Cassian showed us a depth of hero we didn't know he had and Nesta she created us believe in redemption. This final book in Feyres story ripped our hearts out and gave us hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    I have been waiting a few months for A court of Wings and Ruin and was truly worth the wait! This book played with my emotions and had me gasping every time one of my favorite characters was on the verge of getting hurt, which there was a lot of times!I would definitely be recommending this series to everyone and I guess there where will be another book coming out in 2018. Not sure how I will be able to wait that long! Oh well, I guess I could always re read the books again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    Im beyond happy by the fantasy tropes Maas subverts in this book, and indeed this series. And Im forever happy by her handling of everyones suffering and that love (no matter how A+ relationship goals Rhys and Feyre are) didnt magically wipe all those issues away. Instead, perhaps ironically for a fantasy series, the conviction and bonds born of friendship and love are a tool to progress, rather than a bandaid.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    While ACOWAR was good, it is just impossible to follow up the masterpiece that was A Court of Mist and Fury. That book was as close to a perfectly written book as I've ever 's not that I felt like this wasn't exciting -- it was just a small anti-climatic. Never did I have a doubt that our heroes were going to emerge victorious, and I wanted to have that doubt. I wanted to think that things wouldn't turn out perfectly and that there would be more to come, more wars to fight.I'm glad that the author said that there are more stories to be told in this universe because I have fun it so thoroughly-- not only Feyre and Rhysand, but the cast of supporting characters. I'd like to see them all obtain their satisfied ending -- even Tamlin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2017-12-31 18:0

    I love this series, and this book is no every book in ACOTAR takes on a fresh genre within its fantasy setting and characters, this book is a battle tale. Taking off smoothly from the first book as a fairy tale retelling with its demonic twist at the end, second book as a survival tale of depression and PTSD, this one allow me feel the terror of what the characters had to loose after all they've been through.I love the characters, all of them alive and smart, even those that @#$%ed me off like Nesta, they all st 10% is an emotional roller coaster as the final war rolls out, but it was great.If you liked previous two, this one holds on and adds up. YOU WILL FEEL THINGS ABOUT CERTAIN CHARACTERS YOU NEVER THOUGH YOU WOULD (wink Suriel wink wink Carver)!!1

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I'm going to preface this by saying that I am a large fan of Sarah J. Maas. Her writing is great. Her stories are intriguing and filled with adventure and danger and secrets and magic and friendship and love. They're highly entertaining, emotional, and grapple with huge ideas. Are they without flaw? No. But I never thought I'd give a piece of her writing less than four stars.But here we are.I really wanted to love Frost & Starlight with the same boundless vigor that I give the original trilogy. But I just...didn't. To be honest, I'm weirded out. This is fresh location for me.A Court of Frost and Starlight is a novella, clocking in at 229 pages, with a 20 page sneak peek at the next full-length book of the Court series, which has no set publication date at this time. From the beginning, it has been marketed as a bridge between the original trilogy and the spinoff series. Set in the Night Court over the Winter Solstice, it is, according to the jacket copy, a "tale of hope and promise" crammed with hero development that will have a "far-reaching impact on the future of [the] court."I'm aware of this. I know there's only so much a writer can accomplish in 229 pages. I did not expect anything on the same level of her full-length novels. Part of me likes the domestic fanfiction-y vibe a majority of the book embraces. Emotionally-driven characters have been a staple and a strength of this series from the beginning. It's not a poor 's just not...a important e there necessary plot elements introduced that lay groundwork for the spinoff series? Sure!Did they require an entire novella to set them up? Nope!I think my reaction is so lackluster because, to me, there wasn't anything major to react to. The most exciting part was the 20 page sneak peek, which created me shriek and hug things and wonder when the first spinoff novel would actually come out, because I wish that book. That book is going to shake me up.But honestly? I was satisfied with where A Court of Wings & Ruin left everyone. I don't think I required Frost & Starlight to keep my hand and lead me towards the next trilogy.Honestly, Frost & Starlight felt kind of like fan service. It gave us the highly anticipated wall stage (which my [email protected]#$% skimmed through) but other than that?I acknowledge that there's no method to properly judge the success and relevance of Frost & Starlight as a bridge between series until we have Spinoff #1 in our hands. But I have this feeling that, down the street when both Court trilogies are on my shelf, Frost & Starlight will join Crown of Midnight in the "books that I skip over during rereads" , I still respect Sarah J. Maas, madly and wildly. She's a grown-ass writer who can create her own grown-ass choices about what she writes and what she chooses to publish. Am I angry that she published it? No. Am I judging other fans who really loved it? Hell no! It's not policy for me to shame anyone for liking what they like.But I would be doing myself and my brand a disservice by not reviewing honestly, so here we are.A Court of Frost & Starlight simmers with promises, but foreshadowed more than it actually delivered.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I love the series and loved this book. The characters are so incredibly developed that I will happily read about ordinary days in their lives, but these days were not as ordinary as some of the other reviews suggest. The characters are dealing with the aftermath of battle and trauma and devastating loss. I felt like this book like ACOMAF dealt with true feelings and problems even in a globe of fantasy. It's my favorite thing about these books and why relate so much to Feyre's character. So even though there were no wars or epic moments, I loved this book every bit as much as the rest and can't wait for the next book. If Sara decided to write about these characters brushing their teeth, cleaning their toilets, making a sandwich, or sitting and watching Netflix all day (Rhysand would love Gilmore Girls by the way) I would read it and love it.I can't tell you how a lot of times I've gotten to the end of a book and just wished that all the characters died in the end because HOW DARE THEY GO ON LIVING WITHOUT ME and then wished I could read about their lives after the books ended (seriously felt betrayed that I was not invited to Ron and Hermoine's wedding- I was with them from the first day they met!). For the first time ever an author gave me that, but so much more. I felt like I required to know all of the things in this book because it helped me know the characters that much better. And I wish to know everything about these characters!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I have been a fan since 2016. I have read all of her books. This book is no different. But, to be honest, I feel like it lacks energy. I love her books, but this one is 230 pages, and there’s no life to the words. I almost want that she would have just incorporated this book into the next one she’s writing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I was SO excited for this book, and maybe there was a bit of over-build-up but it really allow me down. Now, I know Maas can write perfect short stories (Have you read the series of prequel stories to the throne of glass series??) So it's not about the length. This was always marketed as a shorter novella-style book so the length was just was more that this read like a fan-fic. It was amazing to see the characters again, but nothing really happened. It was a long drawn-out story of a single party, which I thought may lead to some jaw-dropping happening or cliffhanger for the next book, but really didn't. The entire arc of the plot was something that I thought was already decided at the end of the latest book, and so you didn't even see hero development. And the worst part of it, for me, was that it kind of emphasized a spoiled, rich Feyre and Rhys--what do we do with all this cash and time? I guess volunteer sometimes while buying extravagant jewels for our friends--and that vibe wasn't one I liked very much. And the Tamlin parts broke my heart!! I obtain that he's an ex and he created some mistakes, but geez have some pity there he was also left at the altar by the love of his life and then used and manipulated by her!! My favorite parts were actually deeper looks into other characters POV--Cassian, Mor, Nesta. Those were the most interesting parts for at being said, the final two chapter sneak-peek for the next series--THAT was excellent. I cannot wait for it, and I almost certainly will continue buying all of [email protected]#$%! books. I do love her writing, but I'll probably stick to just rereading the first three books over and over rather than trying this one again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    This novella really sets the scene for what's to come in the Court of Thorns and Roses universe. The story takes put during the longest night of the year and is seen through the POV of the side characters everyone loved during the original ACOTR trilogy. Though Sarah J. Maas alternates between everyone, she uses Feyre and Rhys a majority of the time to close up loose ends and, I think, to ease us off of them being the main characters going forward.I'm very satisfied with the direction this novella went. Previously, I couldn't see wanting to read a book from anyone else's POV but I'm now content with where Feyre and Rhys stand at the end of this novella. I feel that their story is now on cruise control, it no longer needs everyone's full attention though we will still see them and stay informed of their rah closed Feyre and Rhys' story but left openings for Mor, Elain, Lucien, Cassian, and Nesta. An perfect transition book, I can't wait to see where Sarah will take us next in this universe!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I love all of Sarah's work, and this is no exception. It's beautifully written and provides a nice segue into the next stories of Prythian, while also hinting that Feyre and Rhys have a lot to expect from their futures. I'm astounded at the negativity I see in some reviews - this book was always promised as a novella, not a full length book - meant to bridge the end of ACOWAR with the characters futures. It was lovely and I think helped present quite a bit about where the minds of the characters will be in the next three novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    If you’re reading these reviews and you’re confused because of the negative ones, this might support you (spoiler free)1. This IS a novella. It is meant to be shorter than the other books by definition.2. This book IS less action-packed than the others, but that’s the point. It’s about the aftermath of the war, remembering the losses suffered, being grateful for what and who we have in our lives, and moving forward. This book was meant to be more relaxed than others, like hanging out with a amazing mate after a long time of not seeing each other.3. That being said- if you have grown to love the Inner Circle as your family, you will love this book. I‘d like to think we would all wish to know how our families were doing after all hell broke loose.4. THE BOOK WAS AMAZING. I cried and laughed so a lot of times. Sarah could sell me a 50 page book and I’d buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    What can I say? I’m a sucker for a Maas book. I could be in the worst reading slump of my life (hey in my defense I’m still adjusting to motherhood!) but the second a fresh Maas book hits shelves I am lost in her globe once again. And ACOFAS is no different. I devoured this book in I think 7 hours.SPOILERS!!!I love being back in Feyres globe again. Though it was a bit various not having the drama that I am so accustomed to. But the nice pace of the characters picking up their lives after the battle in ACOWAR was a nice change. It was awesome to be with these characters again and see how they are coping.Elena is adjusting the best she can to her fresh life. Lucien is off doing his own thing while still appeasing Tamlin. Tamlin, I actually felt a twinge of sympathy for him. And as for my favorite Illyrian fighters Cas and Az are funny and rambunctious as ever. Mor as always is a breathe of new air. Nesta oh not good Nesta, I’m anxiously awaiting to hear what happens with her (when is the spin off coming!?!?)Then of course there is Rhys (and the sexy time with him YES PLEASE!) I LOVE LOVE LOVE HIM!!! I have MISSED him so much!ACOFAS was a amazing Novella, it did leave me wanting a bit more and I can see that it is setting the scene for the spin off books. I can’t wait to obtain back into this globe again. FIVE AMAZING STARS AS USUAL!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I love that we have more insight into each characters life! The past books were so heavily packed with action and worry that this was a nice change of pace and was very satisfied to read into the happiness that is slowly being built back up again surrounded by our favorite characters, honestly I cannot wait for the next one

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    If you were expecting ACOFAS to be a full blown story, related to the previous books, you might wish to alter your expectations going into the book so you aren't disappointed. First and foremost, this is a short book that felt like it existed to wrap up some loose ends from ACOWAR. That doesn't mean it's bad, it's just various than what we are used to with the ACOTAR addition, the book is told through multiple POVs (all characters from the inner circle), so took a few chapters for me to obtain used to, because the stories of each didn't always flow from one to the next. Not surprising, the chapters told from Feyre and Rhys' perspectives were my favorites!No spoilers, but I still despise Nesta. I really can't stand her character, and I hope that she redeems herself for me in future books, because I wish to like her, but at the moment I can't search a single redeeming quality about her. At the end of this book, we got a sneak peek at the next book, and it does seem like it will focus more on Nesta's story, so we'll see!All in all, I enjoyed this book, but not nearly as much as the prior three. There wasn't a huge storyline that we were following, so it felt like not much was happening, but I missed the characters and the world, and was thrilled to see Feryre and Rhys back on my pages! I'd rate this one maybe 3.5 (maybeeeee 3.75) stars, so I rounded up to 4 because I love the globe and the characters, I was just missing a more cohesive, larger storyline. That said, I read the book in two sittings and stayed up until 2am finishing it, so that should tell you something 😂

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    THIS BOOK IS AN ABSOLUTE MASTERPIECE. Seriously, I've never been this ridiculously satisfied throughout an entire story.Feyre's hero growth is incredible. I wasn't a large fan of her in ACOTAR, but she really reminds me of Aelin in Heir of Fire here with how she learns to respect herself and shape her own future. Feyre developed so much wonderful self-awareness, honesty, and bravery. Rhys supports her, but she doesn't grow through him (which is SO important). She became beautiful [email protected]#$% by the end and she's now one of my favorite characters? Man, this book shocked the hell out of me so a lot of times.I can't really summarize all these feels right now, so here's a list of the awesome:- The Court of Dreams/Rhysand's family- every. single. detail. of the Night Court (I expect awesome fan art)- answers & the insight into all of Rysand's previous actions- actual healthy relationships with communication (for friendships too)- how much Rhys supports and respects Feyre as an equal- the fact that this was never a love triangle!- Feyre leaves a toxic relationship for herself instead of another guy- amazing action scenes and pacing that never got slow- Feyre's POV stopped romanticizing Tamlin's controlling behavior from ACOTAR- Hades/Persephone retellings where Hades is the amazing guy are my favorite- how Feyre's sisters got worked into the plot- THAT ENDING aghhh it was painful but the next book will be amazingI've seen some concerns that this book might be too steamy for teens, but I really don't think it's a poor thing for teens to read about consent in an empowering relationship for a change. I have seen SO a lot of unhealthy relationships in YA books that romanticize abusive & controlling guys who are beautiful because they're threatening (??). Rhys turns out to be the complete opposite of that here. It was definitely more explicit than I thought was necessary, but I also think adults who shield teens from sex scenes have either forgotten what being a teen is like or truly don’t grasp the materials that teens see/read/live. Society has enough items that shames teen girls, so if they wish to read this then allow them see a powerful female hero going after the life & relationship that's healthiest for her.And before you ignore this book because of a potential love triangle or the risk that Rhysand's previous behavior would be considered acceptable, allow me assure you that this book hightails it in the opposite direction. Maas is not condoning abusive relationships in any method -- quite the 's funny to look back at my review of ACOTAR latest year where I said I'd be a method bigger fan of this series if the books dropped Tamlin and went to the Night Court. Hallelujah. I mean, I was somewhat into ACOTAR, but ACOMAF just became one of my all-time favorite books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I’m in grad school now and I don’t obtain much time for leisure reading, but this book has reminded me of why I love Young Adult fantasy…and then some. I didn’t read it just once, I read it TWICE because it was just that satisfying. In ACOMAF, we see Feyre faced with the shattered pieces of her heart and identity caused by what was done to her as well as by the decisions she created while “Under the Mountain” (in ACOTAR). Maas does an perfect job developing Feyre’s hero in a believable method – one that worked really well with the storyline. Throughout the book, the reader goes on an emotional journey with Feyre as she grows into her power and demonstrates strength that comes from respecting herself and what she is now (a beautiful damn powerful High Fae) – an perfect thing for any young woman to read. I was also SO excited to see the twist on the Hades/Persephone-like plot (Rhysand/Feyre) that Maas weaved in there, not to mention the introduction of a beautiful epic squad fighting the poor guys together. Maas also does an perfect job in expanding the universe of this book. In summary, ACOMAF is emotionally charged, touching, and serious, but it is also funny and wildly entertaining. The ending leads me to believe that there will be a beautiful IMPRESSIVE conclusion to the te to the parents: This book can obtain beautiful steamy/descriptive in terms of romantic scenes. (I’m just alerting you if you are very cautious about the types of books/scenes you wish your children to read given their age range.) If it helps, I feel like the author was very purposeful in including those scenes, and if anything, I think things are described in a method that is healthier than what’s in a lot of teen fiction nowadays (ie: destructive relationships).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    *spoilers ahead*I wish to begin off with how healthy Sarah J. Maas is writing Feyre. Healthy relationships are rare to search in YA. And after all the neglect from Tamlin, she realized her worth. It took her a small while to see her worth. And she only got to see her worth when she was away from the Spring Court, courtesy of Rhysand.Feyre was left in isolation for three months after the happenings in ACOTAR. Isolation leads to self-reflection and that's why she was still in agony and tortuous pain from her mind while living safely in the Spring Court. Her night terrors never went away because she had all this time to remember her ordeal.And then Rhysand comes into the picture. And he gave her nothing but choices, which in its own method is everything. She created mates and started living a healthy lifestyle. She was fixing herself because she saw more than just the suffocating walls of Tamlin's home. Rhysand knew she could only fix herself. He gave her that possibility to become independent again. And if that's not the healthiest thing I've ever read in YA, then nothing that that's out of the way.RHYSAND.Holy Cauldron is he precious. He thinks so small of himself and it breaks my heart that he thinks that way. The most strong High Lord in Pyranthian thinks he doesn't deserve happiness. After everything he endured Under the Mountain with Amarantha for fifty years. He deserves everything and more. He is so fragile. PROTECT HIM FEYRE.I have grown very attached to this series and I've learned that it's not safe to read in public because you will obtain aroused. So thank you Maas for that.5/5

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Whoa, the latest segment of the book really blew me away. And up until that point, the story was already a page turner. After spending time in the Spring Court in ACOTAR, Feyre becomes acquainted with Night Court in this one. Fresh setting, fresh characters and fresh life. Because Feyre is not the same person that she was before the transition. While this book definitely felt like a complete departure from the previous one simply because Feyre was looking at the Fae globe through completely various eyes, the perspective of who to trust or believe has also shifted. No longer a complete outsider but not quite a total insider, Feyre is finding her method as to what she's capable of and who she is in this created form. While Feyre remains bold and adventurous when it comes to action, there's still an emotional part of her that holds back and over the course of the story, that is what develops and strengthens her further when she realizes that she is her own boss and should not be held back when it comes to protecting the innocent or asserting her power. While I admired Feyre, I absolutely loved and adored Rhysand and he is the one that created the book such a phenomenal experience for me, given how complex and calculated he is, in the very best and most lovable of ways. There is no comparison to Rhysand although his inner court of close mates were a real treat to obtain to know. As for the dangers and challenges that lie waiting, there was plenty at every turn although it wasn't until towards the end where things escalated to a climactic level and all bets were off. Wow, that ending has me waiting with high level anticipation for the next book. If there's one thing Sarah J Maas can do with her fantasy storytelling, it's that she can spin the end of a book to a tidal wave of culminating happenings that render the reader completely speechless and upside down and inside out until the next episode.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I beautiful much second what every other five-star reviewer has said. This review is primarily for the mums out there...The book is rated for grade 10 and up, but allow me tell ya--this is probably the most adult-young-adult novel I've ever read. It's just a few steamy words away from belonging to the adult romance novel section. Quite explicit for high school age, it actually surprised me and took me off guard. I had read all Sarah Maas' books to this point and was surprised to read the content in this one, which consisted of long, detailed sex scenes and explicit language. Don't obtain me wrong, I will probably devour the next book, as I did the first two, but you won't search me recommending it to teenagers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    Warning: This review/rating is based on my feelings, thoughts, likes and dislikes. You should read the book to form your own opinion/thoughts. Read on!Rating: A Thousand Trillion Stars!Cover: Love it!Cliffhanger: Ya think?! Yes, and is gonna @#$% you off!"Love - love was a balm as much as it was a poison"I devoured this book, i loved the first book and decided to wait until this series was over so i can read the next books one after the other. The release came and went and i kept avoiding this book at all costs. I just knew i was gonna regret it. Well i was like a moth to a flame, i clicked it, and once i started i couldn't was everything and beyond of what i expected. The method Rhys was he created me fall in love with him, just like falling asleep and it created me question, Tamlin who?I did have a issue at the beginning with the method Tamlin was being portrayed because i did like him in the first book, but then i understood, the blindfold was ripped off and then i hated him. The things he did, the things he said, he is certainly not the man i thought him to be.And i nailed it in guessing what Rhys had sensed at the end of the first book... :DA lot of things happened, we got answers, we saw another perspective and now we know whose side we are on.I just hope Maas doesn't commit story suicide, that the relationship Rhys and Feyre have doesn't obtain damage, that it stands powerful and faithful, now more than ever. Fingers crossed, otherwise, i will i have to pretend i didn't read it so it doesn't become painful all this waiting for the next one.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    With saving Tamlin you would think they would ride off into the sunset and live happily ever after... Not so fast, things are various between Tamlin and Feyre, and lets not forget her bargain she created with Rhysand, where she must spend a week with him each month. Things are still in disarray and now there's a fresh threat, not just to the faeries, but to the humans as well.Let me begin off with, I absolutely fell in love with Feyre and Tamlin in ACOTAR. There was no method anyone could change my mind. I was squad Tamlin 100%. EVERYONE kept telling me "wait until you read ACOMAF, you will fall in love with Rhysand!" I thought there was no way, no how that was possible. I read, and read ACOMAF and I thought to myself, "okay, I am waiting to fall in love with Rhysand," and it wasn't happening... UNTIL IT DID. I admit it! I Alison, LOVE RHYSAND!Let me be clear, it's not that I suddenly hated Tamlin. I could totally understand why he was behaving the method he was with , with Fayre, I am going to be totally honest. At times she was bugging me. I mean how does she go from saving "the love of her life" to feeling nothing for him?Rhysand was swoon worthy for sure! AND I WANT MORE OF HIM! there where several quotes in this book that I loved wholeheartedly and could re-read over and over again.I could not, and would not place this book down (only when it was a must). I drank it all in. The love, the actions, the fantasy, I loved every min of it and CAN NOT WAIT to see what happens in ACOWAR.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I really liked this book even better than the first one in the series. I would not call this one young adult though I think it is more of a fresh adult book. There were some beautiful racy sex scenes which were fine but beyond what I would call young adult. I wasn't to sure about her choice in men at first but I'm ok with it now. I hope Lucien stands up to Tamlin and I also hope her sisters remain a part of the story.I really like the series overall and can't wait to read the next book! Want I didn't have to wait so long for it to come out!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    You know a book [email protected]#$%! it's tag when you can't stop reading but also dread the latest page. When you place it down and you still can't stop thinking about the characters. This series is one of those rare gems. Feyre, Rhysand, Mor, Azriel, Amren, have all come alive on the pages and wormed their method into my heart. Love, love, love this book and series!Feyre has fought for what she loves and paid the price with her death. Now, as a fae, she must face the conflict within her own heart as well as the looming battle with the King of Hybern. This story has unbelievable plot twists and clever banter between the characters. While there is violence, there is also honor and a demarcation about fighting for freedom vs selfish motivation and ambition. I really appreciated that the Court of Thorns and Roses did not end on a cliff hanger and while this book does end with a bit of one, at least the third book is out already....not sure I wish to wait much longer for the 4th book though.If I could, I would give the author a standing ovation, Bravo! I'll be reading every book Sarah J. Maas writes now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 2) review [Book]  2018-5-2 18:0

    I love this book! The young women who read this book should pay very close attention to the difference between the love that Rhys has for Fayre and the "love" Tamlin has for o a lot of young women today think that a jealous and controlling man just loves her too much. Tamlin's "love" is selfish, controlling, and unhealthy He does what he thinks is best for her (never listening to her needs); he becomes violent when he is angry, but he always apologizes after (like that makes it okay); he compromises his own people to take her back to his estate versus her will. He doesn't care that she doesn't wish to go with him; he doesn't care that she is mated to Rhys; he doesn't care about anything except possessing her. This is not love, this is ntrast this type of love with the love that Rhysand gives her. He locations her happiness always above his own. He is willing to be her partner in life, not the controller of her life. He urges her to create her own decisions, and he supports her in every decision that she makes. They walk side -by-side, neither trying to control the other. This is love.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rose review [App]  2019-6-18 13:17

    absolutely terrible. I tried opening the application and got a blank white screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    I enjoyed most of this book so much. It was fascinating, intriguing and I found it difficult to place down. It was much more than a retelling of B&B, though of course, there were elements of that fairy tale in this story. On the negative side, I agree with another reviewer who remarked that the ending seemed rushed. There was so much detail throughout most of the book, and I was captivated by Beauty's globe and the life she led. Therefore, when the latest few chapters were so brusque and the ending completely abrupt, I felt jarred and a little @#$%!&eated. I suspect that this ending is meant to leave an opening for a sequel. If so, I for one, will certainly read it. And unlike so a lot of of the self-published offerings today that are hell bent on sequels and leave one hanging at the end of the first book, Roses is a complete story. It's just that the tone of the story changed/sped up drastically towards the end, leaving me feeling a bit bereft. But please don't allow this dissuade you from reading Roses. I very much recommend it. Another note, I'm not a huge fantasy fan. I have fun some fantasy tales, but only if they don't make a globe that I simply cannot relate to. (i.e. my favorite fantasy book of all time is "A Wrinkle in Time"). For me, Roses accomplished this beautifully. I was fascinated by the globe Mannering made and her writing skillfully brought me into it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    A truly brilliant take on the traditional Beauty and the Beast. Politically charged and tinged with magic, it reminded me Wicked by Gregory Maguire. In all honesty, however, it could have easily been twice as long. There were several instances where one sentence could have been an entire chapter, or more. At the end, it seemed like Mannering just gave up, as if she was tired of writing and just wanted to finish everything up. When I was nearing the end, I was certain that there was going to be a sequel to the book, because there was no method that it could tie everything up in the ten pages that were left. I think this book deserves fewer than four stars solely for the abrupt and forced ending, but I truly adored the first 7/8 of it (haha) and feel guilty for giving it less. I do recommend reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    OK. This book is geared for teens. I gave it 4 stars because it kept me interested throughout. Ending is a bit rushed. Secondary characters/back story could have been fleshed out a tad more. All in all, a amazing read from a young author. Mannering did a amazing job for a first book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. I love Beauty and the Beast and this is a clever retelling. I am a small disappointed in the ending, though. That's the reason for 4 stars. It just drops off into nothingness. It seemed a bit hurried, too. Maybe the author is doing a second book in a series? Anyway, it was a nice read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    The beginning was a bit slow, but otherwise this was a amazing read. A very interesting retelling of a classic story. I'm definitely curious how they are going to continue in the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    So much better than beastly beastly by Alex was so unrealistic. Method better and more believable. T h s b

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    I really love this book. It teaches a lot of truths. In the guise of a fairytale. I thought the characters were true and most were likable. I'd really have liked to see it go across multiple books just for the primary story. I didn't wish it to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    Imaginative and very well written, just disappointed with the incredibley rushed ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    This was more like two books , her life before Beast and after the second book was very much like the old fairy tale. The story was great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses review [Book]  2018-3-2 18:1

    more than half the book is without beast and just getting to know the main character. it's a lot to obtain through for so small resolution or even love story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I love the roses and the 3D it's butiful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    This looks amazing but unfortunately it created itself the default and I couldn't change it or figure out how to delete it. It added advertising, apps I didn't wish and sucked the battery down really fast. Everything changed in my phone. I didn't wish to give it even one star but I couldn't pay this comment without doing one. It took my husband quite awhile to finally obtain rid of it. Not good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    Not good took over my phone, change the format couldn't uninstall this app. When finally did accomplish this it's you left behind one page of roses. With a few changes to the format it left behind. Will you really need support with this but no one responds

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    govind [email protected],com

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I. LOVE. THE. WALLPAPER. OK. BUT. SO. FAR. I"VE. BEEN. UNABLE. TO. CHANGE. OUT. MY. WALLPAPER. BECAUSE. IT. WON"T. ALLOW. ME. TO. REMOVE. IT. LOL.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    It took over my phone and messed up the phone I hate to say warning do not obtain this application if you do obtain this application it's going to mess up your phone I'm telling you it will mess up your phone .my battery was very low and it took over my phone and it other things and I'll test to delete the whole entire thing and it would not allow me. do not obtain it if you just obtain in your vehicle and want you never got it.😤😝😵😡😡😡😡😡

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I love it. Absolutely stunning effects, hypnotising to watch, I hold going back to it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    Have requested a payment weeks ago now its still pwnding. Ive even sent an email and got no reply. What an absokute load of bollox

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I love roses.iam going to place it on my front page..my mother loved roses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    Not a fan of having ads that hold popping up....make it a no ad launcher then you will obtain 5 stars from me

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    All I can say I loved it!! I love my phone dearly!!! Thanks!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    It is a vires it will take over your phone did it to me we had to restart my phone because of t would not uninstall

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    love this application but only thing wrong with it it Doesnt stayed place its disappeared n another application comes on grrr then I have to place it back to defaults

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    The application is attractive but it's to a lot of popups and it drains your battery really really fast.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    Perfectly amazing and amazing sweet...... I love it so so much!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    Loved this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I deleted this application and still on my phone. Can't take the wallpaper off. Does anybody know how I can obtain it off?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    It changes everything on your screen, it is horrible to control

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    If you literally test to install it it won't like I hate it so much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    This is running my phone and it does not allow you go into folders

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I would love to obtain ringtone for all my family &friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    The application is greart, some of the various apps are not very good. But there are some that work really well

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    Forces a ange r phone. Pushes adverts. DO NOT LOAD THIS APP

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    It is attractive and I can click on any application I need very easily

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I absolutely love the 3D Rose App. It Is Beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    U should have the option to decide if you're u wish to let access to your phone book not for the application to Denise you access to your phone book if touch choose to not accept there terms and conditions steww its my phone I create the rules

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I think that it is amazing however it does rewin your phone sometimes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    cant obtain downloaded

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    This application is stupid. WORNING THIS APP IS SO FREAKING DUMB DONT GET IT

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I like how it has roses on it and it comes alive

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    My reward not give. What is the issue

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    It slows my phone down and it over heats my phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    Anyone who don't like it is a hater cuase I figured out some thing that some people probably created mistakes on

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    love the various changes it create when you move the phone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I like them. But I can't use them right ank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    I like the method you can watch the rose opens up

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    not good app.. wondering why this application has 4 plus rating

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    Too a lot of pop ups after every call.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    It slow down the phone and used up battery quickly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    3D Rose Launcher - Classic Rose Theme review [App]  2019-8-30 13:32

    Background ittle dark... Need to lighten small bit......thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    New Roses Stickers 2020 🌹 WAStickerApps Roses review [App]  2019-11-8 13:42

    Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Roses Are for the Rich review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Only parts of the film were filmed in Jasper. The early parts were filmed in Sayre Mine camp which is in Jefferson County right outside of Bham. The mansion scenes were filmed in the Hollingsworth house which is in Warrior, also in Jefferson county, so I think saying Bham is probably the best respond for where it was filmed. The entire zone has is known for its mining, both coal and iron ore. Great film, the house used in the childhood scenes belonged to my grandparents. I was eleven or twelve while the filming was going on and remember what an exciting thing it was to know the locations and some of the people that were taking part in making the movie. This zone was also used to movie the Burt Reynolds movie Hooper.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Moss Rose review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    As I lay me down to sleep... Moss Rose is directed by Gregory Ratoff and adapted to screenplay by Niven Busch, Jules Furthman and Tom Reed from the novel The Crime of Laura Saurelle written by Joseph Shearing. It stars Peggy Cummins, Victor Mature, Ethel Barrymore, Vincent Price, Margo Woode, George Zucco, Patricia Medina and Rhys Williams. Melody is by David Buttolph and cinematography by Joseph MacDonald. Somebody is killing Michael Drego's (Mature) lovers and leaving behind a bible and a compressed dried moss rose. When her dancer mate is one of the victims, Belle Adair (Cummins) thinks she knows who the assassin is and sets about blackmailing him for an unusual request... British Gothic noir pulsing with maternal pangs and whodunit shenanigans, Moss Rose has much to recommend to the like minded adult. Lets not beat around the bush, though, motivations of the principal players are decidedly weak and the police fare small better in the brain department. However, once one settles into the atmosphere brought out by MacDonald's (Niagra/Pickup On South Street) attractive photography - and got tuned into Cummins' brash London accent - then it can sustain interest. It's more successful as a mood piece when out on the London roads than it is at the Drego mansion, though the period design of costuming and sets is most appealing. Mature often came in for some stick for his acting, but I have sometimes thought much of it was unfair. Here though he is not quite right for the role, it feels like what it is, a name on the poster to draw the punters in. But his performance still works on sombre terms, besides which, Cummins and the unbelievable Barrymore beautiful much dominate proceedings anyway. Price fans should note that he isn't in it much, and even then it's late in the picture, but he's suitably stylish and you can't support thinking he probably should have had the Michael Drego role instead! Meanwhile Ratoff (Black Magic) directs without fuss and histrionic filler. An enjoyable ride with visual treats along the way, with a finale to nudge you to the edge of your seat. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    * Reviewed by Wendy for North of Normal Book Reviews (dot com)THE GLITTERING COURT by Richelle Mead is the first book in a YA fantasy series. It has mild language and makes mention of sexual situations. It may be appropriate for anyone 13+.As a part of nobility, Elizabeth hates her life. Everything is decided for her including her upcoming nuptials. When an opportunity presents itself, she impersonates Adelaide, one of her maid servants. She is whisked off to The Glittering Court where she will learn to be a noble woman in order to marry a wealthy man of her choosing. Now she must continue the façade of a servant to avoid returning to her prior life. As Adelaide, she makes friends, falls in love and attempts to create a life in a fresh world.I am a huge fan of Richelle Mead. Her Vampire Academy series is one of the best I have read. I did not feel the same affection for this book. The story seemed to be all over the place. The book’s title and cover were misleading in that the Glittering Court was only a portion of the book. It was actually just a means to end. The people she meets remain with her throughout the book but the Court is not the focus. I think that was a miss by Mead. The best parts of the book took put before and during Adelaide’s time at the Court and while meeting her suitors. I would have liked that to be the real story instead of departing to other lands and other plotlines.I give this book 2 stars. I do not intend to continue the series, which is a shame. I think Mead is a gifted writer and I had hoped to fall in love with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    This book! Be still my heart, this book!Okay, so I’ll be honest, from the books description, I wasn’t sure I was going to like The Glittering Court. All of the comparisons to The Selection had me weary, because I really didn’t like that book very much. The early reviews weren’t looking all that amazing either. (But really, they were mostly complaining that this is labeled a fantasy, when it’s really not. It’s a fantasy world, but includes no fantasy elements like magic or dragons.) But you know what? I took a leap and preordered. On April 5, release day, I dove right in and ended up staying up until two am the night of April 7th finishing. #WorthItTHIS BOOK IS AMAZING! Never again will I ever doubt Richelle Mead’s storytelling abilities. I will read anything and everything she writes.If the TV shows 'Reign' and 'When Calls The Heart' had a baby, it would be 'The Glittering Court'.When the young Countess of Rothford is forced into an engagement with her “itchy” cousin, she panics. Taking a dangerous leap, she assumes the identity of her maid, Adelaide, and takes her put in The Glittering Court. The Glittering Court is basically a finishing school for young women of the lower castes. For a year they are trained to behave like noble women, and eventually are to be sent overseas to Adoria to wed the wealthy men who have created their fortunes in the fresh e first half of the book takes put in the finishing school of The Glittering Court. Adelaide makes mates with her roommates, Tamsin and Mira, and ends up with an opponent in mean girl Clara. You’d think this school would be simple for her, considering she already excels at everything they’re teaching. However, in order to hold her real identity a secret, she has to purposely fail to avoid attention, which is sometimes easier said than ong the way, the only person who knows her real identity is Cedric, the son of the man who co-owns The Glittering Court. Their relationship is tenuous at first, if she is caught they’ll both be in trouble. Huge trouble. But along the method they become mates as well as partners in crime. Adelaide and Cedric partake in some not so legal activities, but as a reader I couldn’t support rooting for them, hoping they’d pull it off!The second half of the book takes put in Adoria, the fresh world. Think of it as the wild frontier of America. Everything is fresh and dusty, men are staking their claim of land in find of gold, and taming the wild much as I love everything about the nobility, it was the second half of the book that won me over. Seeing Adelaide so out of her element in Adoria was great. And Cedric, not good pampered Cedric, such a amazing sport with where life leads him!“Don’t you know that I’d lie with you in groves, under the light of the moon? That I’d defy the laws of gods and men for you?”The romance was the best part of this book. It’s obvious from the beginning that Adelaide and Cedric are meant to be. I spent the whole book with my fingers crossed, hoping they could search a method to be together.And the ending! Oh my, the ending! I can’t say much, except it opens the doors for the next books in this series, which I’ve heard will follow the same time line, but in the POV of Adelaide’s friends, Mira and Tamsin.“You need to stop this. Stop . . . Um, being a heretic.”“It’s not something I can just stop being. It’s part of me.”“They could slay you if you’re caught!”Richelle also explores a lot of themes in the book, weaving them seamlessly into a attractive story I couldn’t place down. There’s the yearning for real love, and changing your fate to create your own destiny; religious persecution; friendship and betrayal; mething that is very common in books these days, especially YA, is to end on a cliffhanger and hold the audience waiting for the next book. This book could have ended any number of times, but it didn’t. Richelle Mead chose to hold the story going until the actual end of Adelaide’s adventure. Having that real ending helped (a bit) with my P.B.D. (Post Book Depression) upon is book is 100% worth the read. So much so that even though I already purchased the Kindle edition, I’m going to be buying the hardback as well to have Richelle sign when she’s in city next month.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    I love reading a book by a favorite author that confirms their talent and why I have fun their stories. The Glittering Court was just such a book. Richelle Mead has a method of building characters and telling a story that draws me in. I search myself getting lost in her made the kingdom of Osfrid, Elizabeth/Adalaide finds herself in the middle of deception, secrets, hidden identities, preparing for adventures in the "New World", discovering friendship and real love. Along the method she must rethink what she has been taught with regard to religious tolerance and intolerance. She also has to use all her wits and resources to test to save her real elle Mead shines a light on injustice, bigotry, betrayal, treason, and other societal downfalls through the telling of an original story set in a fictional world. There were some unanswered questions at the end that I am hoping will be answered in future books in this series! This is a book I definitely recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    I can't say this is my FAVORITE Richelle Mead work, but who am I kidding? It's Richelle Mead's work and I still had a e Glittering Court follows Adelaide as she flees from a life of entrapment and undesirable marriages and follows a more interesting prospect into a foreign land. She poses as a lady's "help" and, thanks to her beauty, is accepted into the Glittering Court to become one of the jewels. She has to hide her knowledge and pretend to be a common girl with no real lady-like skills in order to blend in, but slips up--especially when it comes to falling for the enigmatic, exitable, and kind-hearted Cedric, who's supposed to be helping to upsell her to the highest bidder.I'm not really a fan of the "glitz, glamor, beautiful dresses" type of story, though it can be done well and I'm always down for a new perspective. I like how Mead tackled this one--it's definitely about dresses and finery, but more important, it's about Adelaide's journey from a somewhat pampered young woman to abject poverty to finding her method along with her love. I was pleasantly surprised by her "wild west" journey in the latter half, and it actually blended in very well due to Adelaide's curious and stubborn thing that I couldn't quite obtain over, despite understanding the premise, is that for being her close friends, Adelaide doesn't do much with Tamsin or Mira. I know their stories come in later books, from their perspectives, and the mysteries are left begin and I AM deathly curious, enough that I'm buying the next novel as soon as I can. I think the friendships could have been explored a small better. In VA, Richelle Mead explored the friendship between Rose and Lissa in the first book incredibly well. Bloodlines, she kind of dropped the ball as the series went on, but Sydney's friendships still had a solid outline. So missing out on more friendship moments is the only reason I couldn't completely be enthralled like I typically am with her sure as hell won't stop me from buying the next book, though!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    I totally found myself loving this story and book so very much. This book was a treasure trove of delights that only Richelle Mead could bring us. What I like about this book is that sometimes one has to allow go of the lives they knew to embrace something completely new.What was interesting is that we have a countess who has a title, but no money, so that leaves, Elizabeth our Countess in quite the bind. Her grandmother offers her a solution. She will marry one of her cousins who quite frankly doesn’t do anything to her, except inspire dread. We obtain a lot of history about their lineage, etc. This history is necessary to understand because later on things happen in the book that will create reference to this.I kind of found it sad that she would be letting go a lot of her own household staff. While doing it she meets a man who will change her life, Cedric Thorn. Cedric Thorn is the son of Jasper. Jasper procures young women who come from very unfortunate circumstances, and they educate them in all manners of topics from history, etiquette, and other things as well. So that they can create amazing matches and catch husbands. It’s in some ways a business arrangement as well. These women are in some ways are almost like prostitutes some would say, but they really are not. They are created to be a amazing companion for their husbands. Their husbands pay a very high fee for the woman of the Glittering of course Elizabeth takes Adelaide aside and sends Adelaide to another put and she takes Adelaide’s put at the Glittering Court. Things obtain very interesting. She meets other young women who come from very various backgrounds than her. Elizabeth now Adelaide makes two friends, Tasmin and Mira who become very necessary to her. During the training, which I found interesting, but at times could be a small tedious was interesting to ings obtain more interesting as she meets a lot of young potential men when Jasper decides to go to Adoria and during the very poor ship voyage, he loses one vessel which contained half his girls and because of an argument between Adelaide (Elizabeth) and Tasmin, Tasmin was on the other both that got demolished by the sea, and we all think things happen to these women. Needless to say, while in Adoria, the Fresh World, someone recognizes her and tries to blackmail her into getting married to her son. This is where things go horribly wrong for Adelaide and Cedric. Cedric and Adelaide become very close, maybe even closer than they should. Of course something happens one night that shatters everything for the two of them. The guy, Warren Doyle and his mother are furious and think the Glittering Court is nothing more than a sham. So Cedric and Adelaide are banished to what is considered a wasteland looking for gold, so that they can pay back Warren for what he considers an embarrassment.When they are in the wilderness, we learn that there are some native tribes and that Cedric and Adelaide/Elizabeth have very various beliefs in their religion. Not to mention they have to do some very hard labor. Things happen that no one can expect. Warren is out for revenge as he feels that Adelaide/Elizabeth should have been his. After several very weird accidents things happen so quick in this book, it’s like I didn’t see that coming. Oh man, that was certainly not what I thought would happen. I totally enjoyed the surprises that happen. Plus the fact that Adelaide/Elizabeth and Cedric got married in secret really was well done. We also learn that Warren has done some really nefarious e twists were done in a method that only Richelle Mead could have done. The ending was totally unexpected, but a amazing ending overall which lead to some questions. I can’t wait to see which Glittering Court girl is next to obtain her story. A solid beginning for what looks like a amazing series.Rating: 4.5 Hearts

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    The Glittering Court was a surprise for me. To be honest, I have read most of Richelle Mead's series, and I preordered the book almost entirely based on it being written by her. When the book was delivered, I found myself needing to jump back to Amazon to refresh my memory as to what it was supposed to be about!THE PLOT:Overall, I thought the plot was interesting. It was something unique, meaning it was at least various from the typical setups that I have come across in my book collection. In order to escape a society where her choices are dictated by her social/familial status rather than her own dreams, Elizabeth takes over the identity of her servant and is whisked away to the Glittering Court. A business run by two brothers and their son/nephew, Cedric, the GC takes women from "low status" families and trains them in the arts of being a courtly lady. Their training completed, the ladies are transplanted into a newly settled, growing society, in which they are then "sold" to men who can pay their cost. To prevent this arrangement from being entirely medieval, the women are supposed to have a say in which marriage offer they accept and have a voice in the selection of their e plot thickens from that primary synopsis bringing in the problems of religious persecution, blackmail, and almost-forbidden love as Adelaide tries to choose a future worth living and to protect the people who have come to matter to her the most. Until the resolution of the novel, there seems to be a sensible progression to the action. Like other reviewers, I felt that the resolution was a @#$%!&aotic. A lot happens at once, and it seems like some of those info could have been left as a cliffhanger for the sequel to iron out in the rising action. The chaotic resolution makes it feel like Mead was forcing the ending a bit, trying to create sure that HEA was there, no matter ARACTERS:Elizabeth/Adelaide: Overall, I felt that she was likable. She's a bit sheltered, as to expected from her upbringing as a lady, but her growth is believable over the course of the story.Cedric: I really liked Cedric. Mead's initial description of Cedric reminded me of another hero that I like- Dorian from the Storm Born series. In fact, her description of him as "laconic" immediately connected back to Dorian. Cedric is a bit more of a dreamer compared to Adelaide. He is more worldly and open-minded, and his various religious beliefs are helping to begin Adelaide up to a fresh globe and method of seeing those around her.Tamsin/Mira: Adelaide's mates were entertaining, but I want we knew more about them. They act as a balance to Adelaide and as help for her throughout the story, but I think Mead honestly could have done more with them. I thought it a bit too excellent that Tamsin narrowly avoids death (twice), but it didn't impact my overall enjoyment of the novel. Mira was overly mysterious, and it was frustrating to go through the entire novel without any further clarification about her; I hope that's something that will be cleared up in the sequel.Overall, I enjoyed the book. It was various from Mead's usual fare, but not in a poor way. The whole idea of the religious zealots and persecution is an intriguing division between the characters, and it has the potential to make some more drama in future sequels. I am interested to see what will happen to Cedric and Adelaide in their next adventure, and I will give my time to reading the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    Now I love everything Richelle Mead has written but this fresh book is in a class all it's own. I bought it the first day it came out and have been unable to place it down in my free time! I absolutely loved the heroine in the story and was extremely satisfied with the ending. This book had me literally shaking in anger, suspense, joy, and just all around immersed me into its world! Can't wait to read more! The method the story was told makes me wonder if we'll obtain to hear Tamsin and Mira's stories as well! I love how the lead hero took charge of her own destiny versus all odds and risked it all for love and refused to settle! Ingenious storytelling- Richelle!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    Allow me first begin off by saying I am a large fan of Richelle Mead. Having read her whole catalog of books, I feel that she and I have a connection. Or at least in my mind. I know how she will describe and build her characters and that she is in tuned with the fresh globe that surrounds her. On the heels of reading Soundless, this book was a refreshing return to the YA Fantasy and Historical fiction.Everything about this book was done with care. The plotline and premise are intriguing. The Glittering Court is a means to transform underprivileged girls to upper-class ladies for the fresh world. To high-born Adelaide it is n escape, she decides to infiltrate the classes as a servant so she can escape her fate to marry a man of high Richelle’s other books there is most certainly mystery and suspense. Other students of the Glittering Court search that Adelaide is odd. She knows more than they do in regards to how a highborn lady should act. It starts to unravel when she falls in love with Cedric, and then falls apart completely when her betrayal is laid before her.If you love Richelle Mead and books of court intrigue, then this is the book for you. I give it 4 Stars and a hint of the Nerd Girl hat. I cannot wait to read more.*This review has been done in conjunction with Nerd Girl Official

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    I’d been meaning to read The Glittering Court for a year or so because I loved so a lot of other books written by Richelle Mead. Once I started the book, I couldn’t place it down. The story was captivating with the well written characters and the extremely engaging story line. This book created me experience a range of emotion, such as suspicion, hope, happiness, anger, shock, love, sadness, fear, compassion and joy. At times your elated for the characters, other times your beyond worry. I must say this book was very well written and I look forward to reading the next two books in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Glittering Court review [Book]  2018-6-25 18:0

    Set in a globe that is an awesome mix of Colonial and Medieval elements, this is tale of a countess trapped in a society that has so a lot of limits it’s hard to not feel as trapped as she is while reading! The globe building surprisingly works, which has been a consistent strength across all of Mead’s dy Elizabeth, aka Adelaide, manages to obtain herself into quite a bit of problem while trying to obtain out of marrying her cousin. Amazing adventures ensue, not without a lot of nail biting! Adelaide is likable and manages to hold her privilege in check in light of her wish to be free. Going through the book, you’ll develop multiple OTPs but just as Adelaide chooses, you will, e Glittering Court is one of three books but it’s excellent for those of us with series burnout. The two companion books are their own self contained stories about two of the characters in The Glittering Court. They’re not a retelling, either, as the characters are missing for much of the book. It’s a amazing premise, where we obtain to spend more time in the globe without the same story over and over.Overall, The Glittering Court is a amazing self-contained story with elements that will remind you of world, US, and current political/historical concerns.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rose-Hulman review [App]  2018-6-28 21:8

    This application has a lot of issues. Too a lot of to be stated on a review. Huge ones include that the back button doesn't work when browsing websites, and takes you back to the home page of the app, and the "interactive map" one of advertised features is impossible to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lucky Rose review [App]  2019-1-21 22:29

    seems fun so far

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lucky Rose review [App]  2019-1-21 22:29

    awesomesauce

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lucky Rose review [App]  2019-1-21 22:29

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lucky Rose review [App]  2019-1-21 22:29

    luv it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rose GIF review [App]  2019-2-17 13:9

    I love the flowers you have and I have no issue getting them. You have what I'm looking for and their unbelievable

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter