Read a different class of murder: revised and updated reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a different class of murder: revised and updated reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    I have for some months now subscribed to electronic versions of The Times Literary Supplement and The London Review of Books. The huge controversy in the letters columns recently has been a heated discussion over who has done the most accurate translations of Proust. These publications rarely, if ever, review mysteries so I was surprised when both of them gave lots of zone and serious attention to Laura Thompson's fresh book about the Lord Lucan case,A Various Class of Murder.Lord Lucan, peer of the realm, was a handsome fellow. Vittorio de Sica thought of using him in a film and Cubby Broccoli, the producer of the James Bond films, thought him the very photo of the suave November, 1974, his children's nanny, Sandra Rivett, was brutally murdered in the basement of the Lucan home and his wife, Veronica, was also bashed multiple times over the head. Lucan, who had been separated from his family, was at the house that night, He told mates that he had gone past the house and seen someone struggling with his wife. Lady Lucan contended that he was her assailant. She said that after he hit her over the head he tried to force his fingers down her throat in to slay her. She grabbed him by the family jewels. He released her and then tended to her wounds. They spent some time together but when he left the room she ran to the local pub and the police were called. He went to the home of a mate and called his mother and asked her to look after the children. The police were at his mother's house. His mother suggested he talk to the police but he said he would contact them the following morning. He was never seen again. Perhaps I should amend that. He has been seen a lot of times since then in the same method that Elvis continues to be can has his detractors and supporters. The detractors say that Lucan, who had become a spectacularly unsuccessful gambler killed his wife because he failed to obtain custody of his kids (Not only was he paying to help her, he had to her court costs as well as his own when he lost the case). His wife, a bright woman whom he had worked to drive mad, was disliked by his friends. His mates plotted his escape from England and they continue to help him. There have been sightings of him all over the world. (Most sightings have occurred in South Africa and Botswana.)His supporters say that the police never really entertained the idea that anyone other than Lucan had committed the murder. His wife was an unreliable witness with an extensive psychiatric history (Barristers were not allowed to bring this up during the inquest). Nothing his wife said versus him was the topic of any serious scrutiny.He left England because he believed he could not obtain a fair and wrote a letter to his friend, William Shand Kydd, asking that he look after the ura Thompson's book attempts to create sense of all this material (Her prose makes for somewhat massive sledding). She feels that Lucan got a raw because he was a lord and seemed to live a lush life during the 1970s, a time when the social and economic tumult would lead to the rise of Margaret Thatcher. She presents various versions of events. Both reviews of the book that I read talked about her speculations being occasionally "vulgar." I looked in vain for the vulgarity. I was sure that this would be what Americans would call "the juicy parts."Thompson favors the idea that Lucan someone to slay his wife and then thought better of it and went to the house to intervene but was too late. Distraught over the mess he had made, he committed suicide by throwing himself off cliffs, off the side of the boat... etc.Lord Lucan's son, George, thinks that his father hired someone to scene a burglary so that he could collect insurance money. The piping used on Sandra Rivett and Lady Lucan was intended for breaking a window. The faux burglar was totally undone when he saw Sandra Rivett, killed her and attacked Lady Lucan.I don't know if Thompson's book will spur the interest that the merits of Proust translations have, but James Fox, whose article about the case was written around the time of the murder, has already written in to disparage what he sees as Thompson's exoneration of Lord Lucan and to defend Lady Lucan.I await the next "Letters" columns with `bated breath and muffled oar."

    0  


    Add your opinion on a different class of murder: revised and updated or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    Shipping was a bit slow, but the book arrived in pristine condition. Highly recommend Book Depository. Overall, a amazing look into a case that has received surprisingly small in depth coverage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    Exhaustively researched, if a bit ponderous, acc of a crime that out-scandaled the Profumo affair of the previous decade (and was the topic a latest ITV drama). Thompson does a amazing job of revealing the background of a turbulent shipwreck of a marriage and it's two emotionally troubled participants - like a lot of unhappy relationships that drag on for years, the dynamics were more complicated than a lot of may have perceived. Lucan, on the surface, embodied the affluent, handsome peer about town, but the style had increasingly small substance to help it, and the social privilege that had insulated noblesse without oblige aristocrats of prior decades (such as Lucan's own ancestor, the 3rd Earl) had increasingly been viewed negatively by the mid-century. The supporting cast of figures - some thoughtful and dignified, others, such as John Aspinall, unapologetically machiavellian - underscored the tensions that led to the murder of one woman and the attempted murder of another. Certainly a murderer and abuser can have his sympathetic qualities, while still being culpable for his violence, and a victim deserving of compassion can also be mentally troubled and difficult. Thompson illustrates this well if controversially, with interviews from family and friends, a few of whom still seem to have the blinders on about the things they perceived and the reality of the situation. Thompson discusses the crime and aftermath, including different theories about the crime and Lucan's eventual fate, in amazing detail, as well as how media and societal attitudes shaped perceptions of Lucan, then and now. Thompson questions Veronica's statements about both the marriage and the murder, and seems to help the theory that Lucan hired an accomplice to commit the crime, but I agree with the investigators' conclusions that Lucan alone went there to slay his wife and mistakenly killed Miss Rivett. The ripple result of Lucan's actions that night destroyed the lives of several people: Sandra Rivett, the hardworking young woman who was developing a friendship with her employer Veronica, Dominick Elwes, who was socially ostracized by his supposed mates in the aftermath and committed suicide. Sandra Rivett's two sons grew up without their mother in their lives, and their mother "the nanny" still is routinely just a footnote to her own murder in a lot of press reports. Lucan and Veronica's three children, who were the focus of their parents' acrimony and legal maneuvers, have grown up to be successful, but do not have a relationship with their mother, the tragic outcome of two parents who, despite their unhappy marriage, both truly loved their children. If nothing else, it's a book that warns of the long term collateral hurt that results from a parent's obsession and vindictiveness to "win" at all costs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    An interesting read. However a small frustrating as still a lot of unknowns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    I love this book. I was vaguely familiar with the Lucan saga. This book does a unbelievable job of telling what did happen and what might have e author gives the facts and is clear about what is conjecture. It helps a lot that she puts it all in the context of England in the 1970s and of the family and social d writing and a fun read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    I found this book difficult and annoying to read largely due to the circular style of narrative that the author uses, repeating a lot of info in a method that doesn't appear logical. I did search the primary theme of the book fascinating to read, an upper class man accused of a murder that he may or may not have committed. It would have been helpful in the reading of it to narrate according to a timeline or related rather then jumping about throughout the chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    Its an interesting situation: the Mr. clubs the Nanny thinking that its his wife and then completely disappears. However there's not very much to go on other than some rather pedantic info about the British class system. It was a disappointing slog.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    This book investigates the legendary disappearance of Lord Lucan, within hours of his estranged wife being attacked and his nanny murdered in the family home. Two mysteries circulate around that night - who did slay nanny Sandra Rivett? And what happened to Lord Lucan? On the surface, the answers seem self-evident: Lucan who was angry, frustrated and broke in the middle of a hostile divorce, had decided to slay his wife Veronica, so he hid in the basement of the house and attacked the wrong woman by mistake, killing her before violently attacking his wife. After a bizarre and brief truce with his wife, he left the house, confided in some mates and then... disappeared, presumably committing suicide after the ghastly happenings of the night. But is this really what happened?Laura Thompson deftly handles the more sensational theories of Lucan's disappearance, and she also investigates all the other possible suspects in the murder of Sandra Rivett. She asks some very shrewd questions, that must have been overlooked by the police at the time, and she puts the crime into the context of the era, when Lucan's type were no longer protected from bankruptcy or prosecution simply by the luck of being born into the aristocracy, although there was still the public assumption that the police would pander to his class. She also gives a sympathetic and realistic view on the actions of his mates who were appalled and disbelieving that their mate or brother in law could have acted in such a manner. And she shows the confusion and divided loyalties of the surviving family members who were left to represent the e book could have been shorter, but it was very intriguing - every time I thought I had a handle on what happened, the author would bring up another perspective or highlight the importance of a critical piece of evidence. Despite all the confusion, the simplest respond is generally closer to the truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    Most real crime buffs know the story of Lord Lucan and the nanny. The aristocratic gambler tried to drive his wife insane then decided to simply slay his wife but botched the job killing the nanny by mistake. "Lucky" Lucan then went on the run, aided by his wicked mates from the Clermont Club. That, as author Laura Thompson would say, is the myth. It's a myth that has powered countless books, fiction and non-fiction, as well as a lot of a journalistic boondoggle to track down the recent Lucan A Various Class of Murder Laura Thompson thoroughly, convincingly and most of all entertainingly dismantles the myth. She starts out by ruminating on "domestic murders" - oh life would be excellent if it just weren't for my spouse/ex/family-member - and questions why the Lucan case was treated as an example of Aristocrats Behaving Badly instead of as a domestic murder. To discover this Thompson revisits not only the case and the cast of characters but the economic and social climate of England in the 1970s.I've read three books on the Lucan case, the most latest being John Pearson's fabulous The Gamblers, and thought the whole business was begin and shut. Thompson proved me wrong. Simply by presenting the facts and questioning assumptions she makes clear that the case versus Lucan was driven by class prejudice. She presents a different, more complete, picture of John Bingham (Lord Lucan) and the man she reveals bears small resemblance to the myth.Whether Lucan killed Sandra Rivett or not can probably never be proven or disproven. The investigation appears to have been a slap dash affair with the police relying a bit too much on estranged-wife, title-lover, perma-victim, and mental patient Veronica Lucan. The police viewed Veronica as a plucky gal who rebelled versus the restrictions of Lucan's aristocratic milieu. Based on the quotes Thompson provides the lady, well, the Countess, likes her title. She's also still a bit fixated on old Lucky. Check out her "official" www service if you don't believe is is a fascinating, highly entertaining book. A must read for any real crime fan and anyone interested in 70s Britain. (I recommend When the Lights Went Out by Andy Beckett as a companion piece to any reader not familiar with the happenings of 70s Britain.) Based on this book I'm ordering Laura Thompson's biographies of Agatha Christie and Nancy Mitford - this is a writer to watch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Different Class of Murder: Revised and updated [Book]  2018-2-17 18:0

    This book takes an in depth look at the mysterious disappearance of Lord Lucan in 1974 after the murder of his children’s nanny, Sandra Rivett, and an attack on his estranged wife, Veronica. The happenings surrounding the murder are shocking and create riveting reading, but this book sometimes suffers from a rather confused and muddled acc of the facts. The beginning of the book is a rather incoherent and rambling list of virtually all aristocrats convicted of murder, especially if they are linked to Lord Lucan’s ancestors. You are left with the definite impression that not only the aristocracy, but Lucan himself, got away with murder because of his background - but by the 1970’s attitudes have changed and having a title actually worked versus Lord Lucan with the press and the spite the author initially painting Lucan in the blackest possible terms, true life is rarely so clear chop and, indeed, as the book progresses the sad story unfolds. Lucan was privileged, wealthy and was a man who certainly felt entitled to the amazing life. He had the best education and walked into a lucrative position with a merchant bank, only to give everything up to – bizarrely - become a professional gambler. His marriage to Veronica Duncan in 1963 seemed to take everyone by surprise. She was disliked by his friends, suffered severe post natal depression after the birth of each of her three kids and the couple were plagued with financial worries after Lucan was unable to sustain his gambling losses. What is certain is that Lucan cared deeply, for his kids and when he lost custody of them to his wife (with the proviso that a nanny should be in full time residence to support her), he would have done anything to obtain them back. His financial situation also disintegrated after the custody hearing and he became obsessed with the idea of regaining custody of his children. Whether that was because he feared for their well being, as he suggested, or because of a power struggle between him and his wife is less clear – but he certainly obsessed about the situation to everyone he met, to the point where it became virtually his only subject of is book takes us through the crime itself, what happened afterwards and assesses the evidence for what really became of Lucan after the murder. Once I had settled into the author’s style I found this a really interesting read, but I felt that the telling of what happened could have been far clearer and was, at times, a rather confused account. There are often too a lot of digressions – research on every crime even slightly relevant to the story (whether true or fictional) are brought in, as though the author cannot bear not to use any research. However, the happenings are so extraordinary on their own, that you almost cannot believe what you are reading. The whole atmosphere around Lucan and his obsession with gambling is both tragic and sordid. For a man who had everything to spend his days at the Clermont Club; opened in 1962 so that, “gentlemen could ruin themselves as elegantly and suicidally as did their ancestors 300 years ago,” says almost everything. The marriage between Lucan and Veronica was at the centre of happenings and it was this relationship which makes the most fascinating lic opinion was with Veronica and, of course, for the not good nanny, who so brutally lost her life. It is a fact that Lucan’s mates and family closed ranks – but did they support him to escape? If you are interested in real crime, you will search this a really enthralling read, but a amazing editor would have improved the style, kept the book on track and perhaps created the acc a small more unbiased. I would even go as far as to say that it might be best to avoid the introduction and read that at the end, as it almost place me off reading further and that would have been a shame as it ended up being an interesting, if overly emotive, acc of both the happenings leading up to the crime, the murder itself and the myth surrounding Lord Lucan afterwards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    I can’t, in all honesty, give this book more than one star. That one star is only for at least acknowledging that the author knows that if taxes are even 1% lower in retirement the Traditional IRA (tax-deferred bucket) wins.What the author does not seem to realize is that the 1% is in aggregate, or effective marginal rate for all tax-deferred spent, as compared to the marginal tax rate on the front end for conversions or earnings. Allow me explain with an example I did recently for someone living in the high tax State of Fresh York (actually NYC):On their street to the “Power of Zero,” they converted essentially most of their pre-tax 401k to a $900,000 Roth acc while paying 33% in taxes to do so. To do that we can easily calculate how much that had to earn to do so using the author’s own math; 900k/.67 = $1,343,284 which of course cost them $443,284, in taxes over about 9 years. So how much does the person need to spend of tax-deferred to avoid paying an effective marginal tax even equal to 33%? Let’s assume the state tax is 6% so the Federal is 27%, effective marginal rate. Let’s further assume the Standard Deduction covers the 85% of SS that is taxable, so everything else is drawn from the tax-deferred bucket. If the married couple withdraws $200,000 per year from the tax-deferred acc their “effective marginal tax rate” is only about 16%. At $400,000 withdrawn from the tax-deferred, you are just shy of 22% effective marginal tax rate. Still, a much lower tax rate than you on the conversion. So according to the author’s own text what should you be doing. Spending from your tax-deferred bucket!The lesson from the above is not that the extremely rich need to be careful, anyone converting or putting in a Roth with a front end tax rate greater than 12% (for which the next bracket is 22%) should be concerned that they are really wasting money, especially if they are married and can see that it takes almost $400,000 of ordinary income which when added [email protected]#$%!&[email protected]#$%!& would still cause you to less than a 22% effective marginal tax rate, based on current tax brackets. Maybe tax rates double, it is still $200,000 in today’s dollars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    Full disclosure-I’m a financial advisor and I often share the book with my clients as David explains it better than I do.David has done a unbelievable job in building the case about the Power of Zero. He’s connected all the dots that others couldn’t see to tell a compelling story about taxes and retirement planning. Fortunately, the government has reduced cost of implementing the strategy, and you have eight years at the best to prepare your portfolio for future tax increases. I frequently asked people - Do you think taxes will be higher in the future. 75 -80 percent say yes. However, when I look at the amount of they have in 401(k)s or IRAs, it’s clear that they don’t understand the implication of higher taxes on their retirement assets and therefore it’s impact on their retirement income. David explains a few various tactics you can use to prepare yourself and your family for higher taxes. Some reviewers complain that he may be biased towards LIRP over Roth IRA. However, you can decide what is better for you and your retirement. Some complain that they may never obtain to the zero percent tax bracket, but they are missing the notice that if you can lower taxes today verses higher taxes tomorrow that is a winning tactic for you and your heirs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bride's Book of Etiquette: Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 22:25

    I found this book helpful and interesting. Not the first book I go to with a wedding question, but it's the second. Worth having if you plan weddings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    I bought this book after remembering an older ver of it, however, I had lost the older version, so this was my choice. This book, like I said, is an updated ver of Dr. Stock's previous edition of The Book of Questions. Some questions have been changed, some have just been updated for today's day and age, while other questions have remained the same. It's a amazing book to use when wanting to slay some time with friends, and obtain to know them a small better!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    I thought this would be a book full of silly questions but was the exact opposite. Some are absurd but most will cause you to consider your current position in life and encourage change.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    In my opinion, the book was "just okay", in that it gave me small to nor true value.I about $5 and feel kind of ripped off. Rent it from a library unless you have to waste. But I don't even reccomend me, the questions were awfully hypothetical. I obtain that it's meant to obtain you thinking, but thinking about whether I'd rather be killed by an asteroid or by a sasquatch doesn't really support me be a better person.I want I could have left a better review, believe me... but this was a allow down for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    My now husband and I enjoyed a related book of questions when we started dating. It allowed us to obtain to know each other with thought provoking questions while being long distance for 4 years. When we got married, I searched for a fun book of questions as a gift- Aa symbol of keeping our curiosity of the other alive. I was very excited about this book but it unfortunately won't be the fun book that we had in the me of the questions are interesting and thought provoking, but there a quite a few (just from the pages I've read) that are just disturbing to sit with. One in particular asks how you'd feel murdering or torturing a kid for the survival of humanity, and even expands it to ask how you'd feel if that kid was yours. Some people out there might search these questions mind and consciousness expanding, but for us, it totally missed the mark. If you obtain this book, expect questions like that. And if those bother you, expect to flip through the book repeatedly to search questions that feel more "fun"I'll be exploring other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    The book of questions is an interesting small book with plenty of thought provoking questions; some, questions that you may not think about otherwise. The book has 291 questions (some have sub-questions, so to speak) covering a range of topics. The most interesting aspect of this book is, since your respond to a given question can change even from one day to the next, this book is sure to hold you engaged for a long time. I am enjoying working my method through the questions small by little; learning things about myself and my thoughts/beliefs in the process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    I thought this would be a book full of silly questions but was the exact opposite. Some are absurd but most will cause you to consider your current position in life and encourage change.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    In my opinion, the book was "just okay", in that it gave me small to nor true value.I about $5 and feel kind of ripped off. Rent it from a library unless you have to waste. But I don't even reccomend me, the questions were awfully hypothetical. I obtain that it's meant to obtain you thinking, but thinking about whether I'd rather be killed by an asteroid or by a sasquatch doesn't really support me be a better person.I want I could have left a better review, believe me... but this was a allow down for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    It is an interesting concept and has some merit but the book is almost exclusively designed to be used as a tool for financial advisors who wish to life insurance as a retirement plan. The book completely glosses over the fee structures within LIRPs (Life insurance retirement plans) and tries to push the idea of life insurance all throughout the book. Also, the book does not spend hardly any time explaining the risks of a LIRP while at the same time suggests you should redirect almost all of your investments into these policies. While it does talk about other tax efficient income streams, it is clearly written to life insurance. Advisors these books in bulk and hand them out to soften up prospects to them these policies. I also did not appreciate the generic degrading method he characterized the typical financial planner suggesting that that any other type of planner focuses only on adding "1%" better return and nothing else. In summary, I felt that this book and the "plan" to obtain to the zero % tax bracket was seriously skewed to generate business for life insurance agents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    I liked the concepts that were provided. However, there is one easy reason this book does not earn 5 stars. That is, the author discusses the pros and cons of tax-deferred 401(k)s, traditional IRAs and Roth IRAs, but left out Roth 401(k)s. I can only surmise that he either does not know they exist or he simply avoided them to create the life insurance option that he is "selling" more attractive. If the latter is true, he is a salesman, not a financial planner. I truly want that he included a discussion of Roth 401(k)s so that it would be more transparent and complete book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    I thought this book was great...until I realized that it ignores the 10% and 15% tax rate brackets.A huge portion of the book tells you that if you are going to have more income than your standard deduction/exemption in retirement you do not wish to have any tax deferred like a 401K. He explains that when it comes to the you wish to invest, if you are paying a 25% Federal tax rate now, you will likely be paying at least a 25% rate in the future and when you do the math both a 401K and a Roth IRA would come out the same. Thus he says you should generally choose a Roth type of investment because taxes are likely to be higher in the future and if they are even 1% higher you will come out better off.I pulled out the actual tax tables and materials from latest year. I quickly realized that for a lot of people the you are currently investing in a 401K may in fact be taxed at the 25% federal rate like the book provides in most of its examples. However, I also quickly realized that for a lot of people when they go to take distributions in future years they will never go above the 15% rate. Thus, if tax rates did not go up a person in this situation should be better off with the 401K. Even if they did go up, they could go up from 15% to 25% and just create it back to the rate currently being all fairness the author does say that whether or not you should invest in a Roth over a 401K comes down completely to whether or not you will be paying a higher tax rate in the future. The issue is that all the examples and illustrations are situations where you are paying as high or higher a tax rate in retirement. He never talks about the fact that a tax rate exists that is lower than the 25% but higher than 0%. But I believe a lot people in retirement will end up in one of these brackets when they were in a higher bracket while working.I do also have to add that in some cases it might be better accepting the higher 25% rate now with a Roth rather than paying 15% in the future on a 401K distribution if that allowed you to avoid paying any taxes on your social security. He explains in the book how you could do this if you do not have much regular or deferred income in retirement. I did not test to go through all those calculation to see when that would off because if you have any significant pension or other income it throws you out of that possibility.I originally started to give it one star because I felt it left out very critical info required to understand. However, I changed it to two because it does give you a lot of info that is good...you just have to remember there is a 10% and 15% rate and figure out for yourself how those rates affect your all fairness,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    I see this as an immediate opportunity to arrange my affairs over the next 7-8 years as taxes are guaranteed to go up as the current law sunsets at the end of 2025. This was wake up call for me, a boomer, who has the majority of retirement in tax deferred 401(k) type plans. I fully expect Tax Rates to increase substantially to for the $20 Trillion of current debt and the debt of unfunded future Medicare liabilities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    The concepts in this book are outside of the box in terms of conventional retirement strategies. It was a real eye opener for me and forced me to rethink the method I was going about saving for retirement. The tactics in this book are genius. If you wish to save more of your hard earned in retirement rather than spending it on unnecessary taxes, this is a must read! --Dustin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bride's Book of Etiquette: Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 22:25

    This book is very informative! It has a lot of history on traditions of all types of weddings around the world-- not just typical American Weddings. Totally worth buying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated by Gregory Stock is exactly what I expected and meets my needs perfectly! As a women's Ministry Director, I often make icebreaker questions for little groups. This book has some amazing ideas for building relationships, sharing and connecting hearts. It would also be useful for blogging topics, or dinner conversations with family and friends. Here are some sample questions:#073 Would you have one of your fingers surgically removed if it somehow guaranteed you immunity from all major diseases?#088 How often do you step back and reflect on where you are headed? Would less or more self-reflection be amazing for you?#120 Would you accept 2 million dollars to leave the country and never set foot in it again? What would be the minimum amount to seriously tempt you to take this step?You can't go wrong with this book...select from 290 various questions!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    Amazing Seller! but book not as fun as the original ver - seemed a small too moralistic, not that that is a poor thing... but the original book had questions I'd ask with any crowd - even strangers, whereas this book's questions can be more challenging and therefore could be off-putting to people I do not know as well, or who might be more challenged by the nature of the questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    When I was young, my parents had this book and used to (gently) demand that we "play" this book from time to time. It was always thought provoking and always an ice forward to when I moved into my own apartment in college: they were delighted to dump a lot of of their well-worn possessions--including this book--into my lap. I used this book a lot of a time with fresh and old mates to obtain to know them better, both in college, in my 20s and beyond. It's a amazing after dinner activity at a dinner party when the conversation has lulled, because everybody gets to know a lot about everybody else and everybody seems to like it. The questions, a mix of "what would you do in this situation" and "what's more necessary to you: x or y?" and other psychological questions, are thought provoking and entertaining. Of course, there's no right or wrong respond and every time I've used the book, people have seemed to have fun it quite a bit.I recently ordered this revised ver and was really satisfied with the changes. First, there are more questions: 291, up from 217. Next, and perhaps more importantly, the "follow up" questions that some of the questions had have been moved from the back of the book to a light blue font below the relevant questions. This way, you don't have to clumsily flip back and forth and search the question number. It's a little change but a definite improvement. Finally, and most importantly, the questions are fresher, updated for sum, if you already have The Book of Questions, I highly recommend buying the revised and updated version, and if you don't already haven't the Book of Questions, I highly recommend buying this revised and updated ver and trying it out with your spouse, your family, your friends--it's a amazing method to obtain to know people and quite fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    This is one method to obtain to know someone with out feeling like you are asking 100 questions. I had the original book a lot of years ago and saw this fresh revised edition and I really like that its up to date. Amazing method to slay time while on a long street trip. Amazing book for pillow talk.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    I just got this book today (along with a fresh set of pens specifically for it...nerdy, I know) and after opening the book for the first time, I immediately got to filling in "answers." It was so fun, interesting, and thought-provoking that I sat there for over an hour answering question after question!I'm already in love with this (work)book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    When I was young, my parents had this book and used to (gently) demand that we "play" this book from time to time. It was always thought provoking and always an ice forward to when I moved into my own apartment in college: they were delighted to dump a lot of of their well-worn possessions--including this book--into my lap. I used this book a lot of a time with fresh and old mates to obtain to know them better, both in college, in my 20s and beyond. It's a amazing after dinner activity at a dinner party when the conversation has lulled, because everybody gets to know a lot about everybody else and everybody seems to like it. The questions, a mix of "what would you do in this situation" and "what's more necessary to you: x or y?" and other psychological questions, are thought provoking and entertaining. Of course, there's no right or wrong respond and every time I've used the book, people have seemed to have fun it quite a bit.I recently ordered this revised ver and was really satisfied with the changes. First, there are more questions: 291, up from 217. Next, and perhaps more importantly, the "follow up" questions that some of the questions had have been moved from the back of the book to a light blue font below the relevant questions. This way, you don't have to clumsily flip back and forth and search the question number. It's a little change but a definite improvement. Finally, and most importantly, the questions are fresher, updated for sum, if you already have The Book of Questions, I highly recommend buying the revised and updated version, and if you don't already haven't the Book of Questions, I highly recommend buying this revised and updated ver and trying it out with your spouse, your family, your friends--it's a amazing method to obtain to know people and quite fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    I just got this book today (along with a fresh set of pens specifically for it...nerdy, I know) and after opening the book for the first time, I immediately got to filling in "answers." It was so fun, interesting, and thought-provoking that I sat there for over an hour answering question after question!I'm already in love with this (work)book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    The book of questions is an interesting small book with plenty of thought provoking questions; some, questions that you may not think about otherwise. The book has 291 questions (some have sub-questions, so to speak) covering a range of topics. The most interesting aspect of this book is, since your respond to a given question can change even from one day to the next, this book is sure to hold you engaged for a long time. I am enjoying working my method through the questions small by little; learning things about myself and my thoughts/beliefs in the process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    I bought this book after remembering an older ver of it, however, I had lost the older version, so this was my choice. This book, like I said, is an updated ver of Dr. Stock's previous edition of The Book of Questions. Some questions have been changed, some have just been updated for today's day and age, while other questions have remained the same. It's a amazing book to use when wanting to slay some time with friends, and obtain to know them a small better!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    There’s no method the average consumer can understand a LIRP. They are method too complex and convoluted so you can’t determine the real costs. That’s why insurance salesmen have to SELL it to you. His taxable bucket tactic doesn’t even discuss the HUGE tax advantages of long term capital gains. Probably because it competes with his LIRP he wants to you. I’ll give you the choice of following this “expert” or Warren Buffet. Warren says place your in a passive S&P 500 index ETF and don’t take it out until you need it decades later for retirement. Even though we do this in a taxable acc all gains are deferred just like a traditional IRA, but ONLY the gains are taxable when you take it out. Remember that taxable accounts also have no contribution limits, no RMDs, no 59 1/2 penalty, you can harvest tax losses, you can via tax lots. Since this “expert” gets to cherrypick his tax situations I will do the same. Invest your in a taxable S&P 500 index ETF like Vanguard VOO which has an expense ratio of .04% which is almost 38 times less than the “experts” 1.5% fee for his LIRP. Over decades and using compounding this alone will effect in HUGE savings. Do NOT use a mutual fund because they distribute capital gains at the end of each year. Only use an ETF in your taxable account. Dividends from this ETF will be taxable each year, but they are only 1.85% and are qualified so they are taxed at 0% or 15% depending on your tax bracket. Here’s one example of how you avoid all the long term capital gains in this taxable acc resulting in 0% tax rate. You retire at 62 and you don’t have any earnings. You defer taking Social Security until 70 resulting in maximum benefits. You live off your taxable acc resulting in long term capital gains. You via tax lots so you can determine exactly the amount of your long term capital gains. If you file married filing jointly you can $101,200 worth of long term capital gains resulting in 0% tax rate! Message I did not say you $101,200 worth of the ETF. You as much of the ETF via tax lot that results in$101,200 worth of long term capital gains. As an example $200,000 of the ETF may effect in $101,200 of long term capital gains so in reality you will be $200,000 and not $101,200 of your ETF. This example assumes the only taxable income you have comes from this taxable account. At age 65 your standard deduction goes up by $1300 so if you both turn 65 you can do $103,800 of long term capital gains. Even if you exceed these amounts you will only 15% tax on the excess. Since Social Security convolutes your tax situation I highly recommend you do this before taking it.If your ETF is worth $1,000,000 and it consists of $500,000 of long term capital gains you could do this for 5 years all at 0% tax rate! Should you $200,00 of your ETF even if you don’t need that much income for the year? YES! By doing so you will never taxes on those long term capital gains. Let’s say you don’t need any income for the year. You still $200,000 of the ETF so you can obtain 0% tax rate on $101,200 of long term capital gains and you immediately go out and $200,000 of the same ETF to continue deferring. This effectively raises your cost basis on this $200,000. Some will say what about the wash rule? That ONLY applies to losses not gains. If you doubt what I am saying then enter this tax info that I have presented into a 2018 tax program and allow it tell you the answer. I am sure you will trust it more than me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    I have helped clients navigate the path from working years to retirement. This transition can be difficult to plan for. With the support of this book, you can easily understand the concepts being presented. You will even learn just how to implement them in your private retirement portfolio. Taxes in the future could be higher based upon any number of factors we currently face. All time highs in the national debt, a generation of baby boomers retiring, distressed Social Security and Medicare programs, interest rates that are artificially low. Anyone of these could cause higher taxes in our future; all of them combined virtually guarantee higher taxes.If taxes will be higher in the future, why not the tax on our retirement portfolios now, while taxes are at low levels we haven't seen in our lifetimes? The Power of Zero will begin your eyes to the how, why and when to successfully transition your assets to be in just the right place. Even if you are already retired, there is still time to act and compelling reasons to do a successful professional financial planner with over 2 decades of experience helping clients, this book encapsulates the tactics our clients have utilized. Now you can be 'in the know' and not left behind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    My now husband and I enjoyed a related book of questions when we started dating. It allowed us to obtain to know each other with thought provoking questions while being long distance for 4 years. When we got married, I searched for a fun book of questions as a gift- Aa symbol of keeping our curiosity of the other alive. I was very excited about this book but it unfortunately won't be the fun book that we had in the me of the questions are interesting and thought provoking, but there a quite a few (just from the pages I've read) that are just disturbing to sit with. One in particular asks how you'd feel murdering or torturing a kid for the survival of humanity, and even expands it to ask how you'd feel if that kid was yours. Some people out there might search these questions mind and consciousness expanding, but for us, it totally missed the mark. If you obtain this book, expect questions like that. And if those bother you, expect to flip through the book repeatedly to search questions that feel more "fun"I'll be exploring other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-20 19:3

    This is one method to obtain to know someone with out feeling like you are asking 100 questions. I had the original book a lot of years ago and saw this fresh revised edition and I really like that its up to date. Amazing method to slay time while on a long street trip. Amazing book for pillow talk.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    The Book of Questions: Revised and Updated by Gregory Stock is exactly what I expected and meets my needs perfectly! As a women's Ministry Director, I often make icebreaker questions for little groups. This book has some amazing ideas for building relationships, sharing and connecting hearts. It would also be useful for blogging topics, or dinner conversations with family and friends. Here are some sample questions:#073 Would you have one of your fingers surgically removed if it somehow guaranteed you immunity from all major diseases?#088 How often do you step back and reflect on where you are headed? Would less or more self-reflection be amazing for you?#120 Would you accept 2 million dollars to leave the country and never set foot in it again? What would be the minimum amount to seriously tempt you to take this step?You can't go wrong with this book...select from 290 various questions!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Questions: Revised and Updated []  2019-12-21 18:51

    Amazing Seller! but book not as fun as the original ver - seemed a small too moralistic, not that that is a poor thing... but the original book had questions I'd ask with any crowd - even strangers, whereas this book's questions can be more challenging and therefore could be off-putting to people I do not know as well, or who might be more challenged by the nature of the questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Zero, Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 20:38

    I have very mixed feelings about this book. Among the things I really like are (1) it's emphasis upon the importance of tax planning as an necessary part of retirement planning, and (2) concrete examples of how tax planning is performed that demonstrate the complexities involved.On the negative side, this book is premised upon a misleading assertion, one that any amazing undergraduate textbook on taxes and tax planning warns every student against. Simply put, the goal of tax planning isn't to reduce or even eliminate taxes, rather it is to maximize the after-tax funds available for spending. From this perspective investment fees are just as poor as taxes, since both reduce what's available for spending. Certainly reducing taxes is an necessary tool to the achieve the ultimate goal. But reducing taxes while at the same time letting investment fees leap up (i.e. fees associated with life insurance policies) isn't usually the best route to maximize spending over the course of e uninformed reader of this book would certainly come away with the impression that life insurance is as amazing or better than a Roth IRA as a mechanism for maximizing spending funds over retirement. This is decidedly false. It's not that hard to set up Roth IRAs with no annual fees and investments that amount to 0.10% or less on an annual basis. All-in fees for life insurance policies are 10-20 times larger. If you wish a easy tutorial to minimizing Roth investment fees, find here on the Amazon www service for "Investing created Simple" by Mike Piper.I was also disappointed that through most of the book the author referred to LIRP's as having tax-free distributions, making them comparable to Roth IRAs in this regard. It isn't until the latest chapter of the book that that actual tax-deferred nature of LIRP distributions is revealed, along with the "work around" of taking loans from the insurance company to avoid taxes. Of course as a financial educator I already knew this. So I can only describe as "extremely misleading" that this key fact isn't honestly stated earlier in the "LIRP Chapter". And in spite of the authors powerful suggestion that such loans will cost you nothing, don't believe it. If the insurance company doesn't charge an explicit annual interest fee for the loan, they will obtain that from you via implicitly higher administration and mortality charges. There are NO truly loans!With all the discussion about Roth IRAs I found it suspicious that Roth Accounts weren't mentioned. Most 401(k), 403(b) and public 457(b) plans now incorporate a Roth Account. This feature allows workers to aside quite huge amounts of after-tax dollars for tax-free spending in retirement. For 2019 up to $19,000 could be set aside in a Roth Account, plus another $6,000 for those age 50 or older. And people can continue to set aside in their own Roth IRAs on top of their workplace savings! Of course all this Roth Acc / Roth IRA saving wouldn't leave for paying life insurance premiums, and I suspect that's the reason this detail wasn't mentioned!Finally, the question of exactly how high taxes will rise in the future is a difficult one to answer. I agree with the author that, at least for upper income people, tax brackets will rise and deductions will shrink. A lot of politicians are even seriously considering a Wealth Tax, which could seriously rearrange a lot of people's tax planning strategies. But unlike the author, I don't expect that the existing 10% or 12% tax brackets will rise above 15%. Normally even those tax brackets would lead to some Social Security taxation. But a portion of the SECURE act that has passed the U.S. House includes a provision for drastically increasing the income allowed before Social Security income starts to become taxable. Thus becoming too aggressive in paying higher taxes now in a rush to attain no income taxes in retirement may well lead to lower total spending in retirement than a more modest approach.A very intriguing paragraph in the book occurs on page 11 where the author takes us back to the 1960 - 1963 time frame when the lowest marginal tax bracket was 20% and the highest was 91%. Those brackets sound scary, but the calculation of income tax isn't always straightforward. For retirees at that time there was a "retirement income tax credit" in existence that was quite substantial. When the tax system for 1963 is converted into 2019 dollars, a 65 year old retired couple would need to have had over $150,000 of income to even start to federal taxes. If only we had such low taxes today! And the reference to 94% tax bracket on income above $200,000 in 1943? In 2019 dollars, that becomes about $3 million.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bride's Book of Etiquette: Revised and Updated []  2020-1-18 22:25

    This book was my favorite and I bought about 10. This one was the most complete and helpful in planning and sticky etiquette.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    Amazing History well covered, use in a class of the subject. Since I am writing can you please change something for me, I got a booo called Digital Modeling a few months back and you guys think I wanted to rent it but I wanted to and when I treid to fix it latest time I got a email from you I am not sure it changed. Thank you Loring Doyle

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    This truly is a remarkable, detailed history of American cartoons. Maltin goes back to the beginning and will tell you dozens of info about the industry, and probably about cartoons you have never heard of.I really appreciated the focus on studios. Now I understand better why I didn't like Terrytoons as a kid!There is one shot where Maltin takes a shot at Robert McKimson. Having watched some of the Loony Tunes Golden Collection, I now understand the politics behind the scenes at Warner Brothers, so it's interesting that Maltin has his side in that issue.If you like American Cartoons from the early-mid 20th Century, pick this up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    One might not think animated cartoons would merit a scholarly study, but this is an perfect book for casual cartoon fans and dedicated movie buffs alike. Leonard Maltin and Jerry Beck trace motion-picture animation from its comic-strip-character beginnings to the recent technological developments. Some cartoon studios were celebrated (like Disney and Warner Brothers), others unsung (like Van Beuren and Columbia), but all create fascinating reading, enhanced by firsthand accounts by animators, directors, and producers. Perfect as a continuous read or for reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    This was a very well detailed tutorial to the history of animation. I just [email protected]#$%! were a small more up to date, however, as it only stretches out to the late 1980s; just before Disney and Warner Bros. both created large comebacks in quality entertainment (Disney, of course, with Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Lion King and Toy Story; and Warner Bros. with Little Toon Adventures, Animaniacs and Batman the Animated Series). That aside, its still a well-written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    I'm an animation student and this book has so much insight about the history of animation (American). It's a amazing read even if you don't study animation has a lot of interesting stories. It also has the biggest list I have ever seen of all the cartoons released by the specific studios.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    This is a amazing book on the history of American Theatrical Animation. I bought this copy because a previous copy was stolen from me. I enjoyed this book very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    Bought this for a class, turned out to be beautiful interesting. If you're interested in animation, definitely consider.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    A really informative book for learning animation, but it’s a small bit hard to read because there are so a lot of words in one page

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    This book covers just about everything from the first 100 years of animation history. Contains very miniscual info and is a very interesting read. My one complaint is that the writing is a bit wordy. I have to reread a sentence several times before it makes sense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, Revised and Updated Edition []  2020-1-29 17:16

    Anyone getting into Animation this is you bible book. Amazing resource and teaching aid. You see it value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    Unbelievable history of the Columbia and Snake Rivers and what has occurred due to the dams. I would recommend this book, especially to anyone living in the northwest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    Fabulous book. I learned so much about the Columbia River along with all the pros and cons of the dams.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    This book is engrossing. The story is mind blowing and the style of writing is fun. It's dense, there is a ton of info in there and the story is not happy. But it's a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    Well written. Informative. AT a minimum it should be needed reading in all high schools in WA and OR. Ideally, it should be read by everyone who is concerned about protecting wild life, the rights of Indians, the history of cancer in specific geographic areas, holding government agencies accountable, and ....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    A horror story of government incompetence unique interests, crooked politicians, and bureaucracy run amok.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    I had to read this book for class and it wasn't horrible. An simple read and an interesting prospective on something I had not before been aware of!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    Another perfect and thought provoking book about the demise of the once mighty runs of salmon in the Columbia River basin. The age of industrialization, unrestrained dam building and environmental destruction destroyed the Atlantic salmon populations on our eastern seaboard, and those same factors are driving the Pacific salmon stocks toward the same fate. Hatcheries are not the solution and the reasons why are covered in compelling detail in the book. While salmon are among the most adaptable "survivalists" in the animal kingdom, they can't overcome greed, not good policies, over fishing, pollution and loss of habitat much longer. Throw in global climiate change fore amazing measure, and bid these magnificent fish goodbye.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    I have lived near the SNAKE AND COLUMBIA RIVERS all my Life. This book was highly recommended and it is st read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    This was needed reading for my PNW History class. I expected it to be a boring factual book, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is a amazing book if you wish to know the truth about the dams on the Columbia and the deceptions of our government. What an eye opener for me. Anyone interested in why and how they are there should read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A River Lost: The Life and Death of the Columbia (Revised and Updated) []  2020-4-9 18:11

    A fabulous review of all the historic and modern day players on the Columbia River. This book shows the complexity of aquatic resource management and the impacts of short-sited development. A amazing read for anyone interested in the Columbia River basin or regional environmental planning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    Bought four books on Skryscrapers, this was the best of the bunch. You'd think an architecture book can't be captivating but I loved it...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    I ordered this book expecting a smaller book with pics and interesting facts but what I got was SO much better! This book is HUGE, and full of gorgeous pics and info on the worlds tallest buildings. In the upper corner there is a comparison to the Burj Khalifa and The Empire State Building. I bought this book for my 12 yr old aspiring architect and it was a major hit! (It got him off the XBOX for a few days!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    This book should be needed reading in high school for all young men. I am currently seperated and going through my divorce. I could never fully understand the pain I inflicted on my wife. I never knew how poor I could create my wife feel with just my words. This book is and I hope still can be a android game changer to maybe halt my divorce. I can now without any doubt empathize with my wife. The lesson that needs to learned is that women were designed to be loved no matter what. God gave them emotions so that they could be protected from not being loved by there husband's. I am not even a religious person however you have to believe in something and this book lays it down for you. Praying my marriage can be saved hopefully it's not to late.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    A book and a notice that changed my life years ago. It's been sad to read "christians" tear down this message, trying to hyper-critique the ways John shares stories from the Bible or how he speaks to men. Men all over the globe found freedom to be themselves in their experience and relationship with God, to start to actually walk with God, hear His voice and know His heart. I know men all over the U.S. who began to rise up to love their wives, search their calling, engage the lives of their kids, and start to love the life God has given them and live it well! And thousands of families have also experienced so much amazing because of this.If you're the type that feels it's your god-given duty to scour the texts of books to search all "the errors" and expose "heresy", I'm sure you can (or already have) gleefully torn away at John's message. But, honestly, I ask, "Really? Why not just become an IRS agent instead?" And, I say, "Get a life." Sincerely, I say, go obtain a life that worth's living! Stop hiding behind your computer or your pulpit or your religious duties or your secret addictions and search the wide begin locations of life!The notice of WAH, both in the book and in the retreats Ransomed Heart place on based on this notice was an invitation for me to experience God in ways I never thought possible and to experience life in its fullness in ways I never thought possible. And not only was it an invitation, it was permission to finally live my life. Maybe that doesn't create sense to many, but it was a game-changer for me. After returning from a WAH retreat, my wife literally said to me, "What happened? You even look different." My life will never be the same. Nor will the life of my wife and my children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    This is NOT a Christian book. The author consistently misinterprets scripture to help his pet theory on masculinity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I got a lot out of it and it helped me to place things into words that I couldn’t figure out how to ere are a couple of things that I didn’t agree with or found a bit subjective in the book, but it isn’t the Bible. I took from it what God was showing me, applied it, and dismissed the parts that I disagreed with. I would place anything as false teachings, just more of John E adding some thoughts and commentary that were not as scripturally grounded as I would like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    This book will change your view on your faith, for the better. A amazing read. Intended for men. But any woman reading this (and you should) will know much more about your man than they will ever tell you. All the secrets are right here. Eldredge has a fresh take on how men should see themselves in God's creation. As true men....not just being another "nice guy" who goes to church every Sunday. Wild, adventurous, and real to yourself, as God intended you to be. If you are tired of our culture today and the emasculation of men, this book will help your effort to return to what men are supposed to be. Men have an adventure to live, a war to win, and a beauty to rescue. Purchase this book, read and enjoy, and rediscover what you are really here for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    it's helpful if you like a really "man next door" author voice. definitely take some of his generalizations with a grain of salt, as all women will be different.I gave this to my fiance after reading it and writing notes in it to allow him know what did and didn't apply to me, and he really appreciated it.If you think your husband/SO will benefit from hearing traditional tip for men like "listen before talking," "she won't have fun without romance," "she has a lot of complicated thoughts in her brain," and "women really struggle with body image, so give her lots of compliments," then this is the book for him!Fairly Biblical, but if you're a Christian, I might recommend more theology-based approaches like "Intimate Allies".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    Love both this book and for women only, my husband and I both read this one, I recommend you read it first and highlight the locations you wish your husband to really focus on and then have him read it. My husband doesn’t even like to read but he said he found this book sompletely eye opening and that he felt he could totally understand me in more ways than before. I recommend for any marriage!!! Especially a marriage that has some constant misunderstandings or lack of communication.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    Best we've ever spent on Amazon. Bought for my son who is OBSESSED with skyscrapers. This has dozens of pictures and facts on each building such as heights, number of floors and materials used. It also compares each building versus the Burj Khalifa and Empire state building. He loves it. LOVES it. Carries the book with him. Constantly paging through it. Large hit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    I am not surprised there was a lot of negative feedback on the subjects expressed in this small book. In these times it is no longer valid to use gender to explain why you may like or dislike certain things. This book is not meant only for the jock, or the outdoorsman. It is meant for the heart that yearns to search ways to express a passion that may seem wrong for a Christian man, and that's really ere are a lot of opinions on how we should behave, or more recently that we do not behave as men have in the past. It is real we are meant to be adventurous and a bit wild but that is a various thing for each man, not a template- the author was simply expressing it as he himself saw it. It is up to you to search your passion, your wild side, and break of the life you may mistakenly think is correct as a follower of the Method of God. But there are a lot of various paths, as long as we stay on that straight and narrow one, neither turning to the left or the right- being obedient, faithful. I would say if it doesn't problem your spirit, go for it! The only opinion that matters is Gods, not mans.I myself do a lot of things that aren't considered manly yet also do things that are over the top! For example, I write poetry, rescue ladybugs, read about decorating and color and style, and tear up over emotional things- I am sentimental, and I test to present empathy to others at all times. I also carry a concealed firearm, practice Tang Soo Do and Krav Maga, and regularly work out with weaponry such as knives and sticks- and I am trying to learn Iado, the Method of drawing and cutting with the katana. I love long walks, but I don't watch sports, and can't tell you anything about any team. I don't bunjee dive or shoot down the rapids or any of that, but I see it as valid. Again, if it doesn't become the end in itself it is all up to that old thing we used to call conviction- the Holy Spirit will tell you it isn't something you should do. It isn't nerds vs. jocks, or the cultured, educated man versus the uneducated manual laborer. (I work in a factory, and that is because I chose to work with my hands after spending half my life working in the Mental Health field.) We are all part of the body- and scripture says no particular part is favored above the other. So embrace your inner wild man and push your boundaries a small bit! For some of us it isn't much or very daring, but it is enough to inspire the soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    This book has been reviewed so a lot of times I can't imagine what else I could add to the discussion except for my perspective so take it with a grain of salt. This book deserves a sliding star rating based on age and background.I read this book just out high school and reread it later in life. As a young woman I am thankful to have read this when I did. I was pursuing a degree in STEM as one of 3 woman in a sea of hundreds of men struggling to feel like I couldn't be both an intelligent, powerful and feminine woman. It helped me develop compassion and a "heart" for men who are also struggling in this fresh and modern world. It is a difficult from both sides, and as much as I struggled it was eye opening to consider that men struggle as much with what is masculinity and society's reading this now at a later point in life with a more balanced perspective reality is I feel it deserves a lower star rating even though I was able at one point to gain so much from t because the material is not good but because unless you come from a religious background, the Midwest or from a perspective that this was written from it would be very difficult to gain the quality points without wading through religious propaganda . Not that there is anything wrong with it! But from the outside it would be difficult to suggest this book to someone that was not religious or even someone that was on the fence. Instead of growing a seed it may shut them off for those looking for more critical evaluation of a now (slightly older book) this is a amazing book for young men and woman looking for a various perspective and deeper understanding. It may not be appropriate for all crowds although the philosophy behind it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    My 10-year-old stepson is fascinated by skyscrapers and loves this book. The size and shape of it and the info on each building definitely add to its appeal. The writing, however, is for an adult audience and quite verbose, far beyond his comprehension as well as that of most 10-year-olds. My stepson doesn't seem to care, but for a child slightly less interested in skyscrapers this book may be a bit dull.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    Not only are the pictures fabulous, but the writing is excellent. Dupre makes observations that one would not necessarily create without her expert knowledge and intuitive understanding of buildings, communities, people, cultures...it is fun to just browse the book and gasp at the awesome buildings, or choose one and read of its is is a PERFECT GIFT BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    If you wish to write a book about what you feel to be true, that's one thing, but when you bend, distort and flat out lie about what the Word of God says to back your belief, well then expect to be judged by God's Word.If that's the case this book is heretical at seems like throughout this book the author is trying too hard to create up for some lack of machismo he thinks he needs.I actually watched one of the Wild at Heart Bootcamp sessions where John Eldredge makes fun of Mister Rogers and insinuates Fred Rogers is not a "real" in this book and others authored by Eldredge, he sets out to present what a "real man" he is by climbing mountains, hunting bear, tracking elk, blah, blah, blah.....Like any amazing poker player knows, you always portray just the opposite of what you 'em and weep:)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    The challenge to embrace and have fun one’s masculinity is a refreshing notice that’s sorely required today. Our culture’s current climate is anti-male. Watch a TV sitcom about families. The “man of the house” is almost always a doofus dad who gets no respect. Turn the channel to the Lifetime Film Network. You’ll search men are prominently portrayed as wife beaters, kid abusers, adulterers, serial killers, addicts—and on and on it goes. Eldridge reminds us guys that being a man isn’t a poor thing. He reminds us that being a man—specifically a godly man who keeps in step with the Holy Spirit—being “wild at heart”—is what wives long for and what kids desperately need. So men, the 4-hours it takes to read “Wild at Heart” is a worthwhile investment. “Act like a man” (1 Corinthians 16:13)!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    I've probably read over thirty marriage books in the twenty years we've been married, plus numerous blogs and articles. Asking my husband what his thoughts and dreams are, what he'd like to change in our marriage, etc etc etc. Lots of things were helpful. But nothing was truly transforming the method this book and its companion, For Women Only, have been.We truly feel like newlyweds again except without any of the painful mistakes that newlyweds make. My husband said that this book really opened his eyes to so a lot of things.And, each of us was surprised to know that our inner hurts and struggles were actually very common for our gender! It was actually a huge ay for yourself, pray for your spouse, pray for your marriage, and read these books together. There is a spectrum for everything so talk about what applies to you and what doesn' husband rarely writes reviews on books so I'll recap what he told me about this book: "Some of the key points in this book I already knew in a vague method (after 20 years of marriage) but didn't know how to apply that to improve myself. And there were a few things that truly shocked me, like finding out you don't know how attractive you are! Or that you wonder, so frequently, if I regret marrying you! Now I know what your heart longs for and I will give that to you, every day of my life. I will never stop pursuing you!"Swept off my feet!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    I read the "For Women Only" and decided to read this just out of curiosity. Men, I can tell you as a woman that I identified with so a lot of things in this book and felt like "yes! That is me!" If you feel like you don't understand why your mother, sister, girlfriend, wife, etc is the method she is, I highly recommend this book! It touches on women's insecurities, what "security" means (hint: it's not just about the money), how women think and are wired differently than men, what we mean when we say "I don't wish you to fix it; I just wish you to listen!", women's drive and what that means (and does not mean) about you, and ultimately what you can do to present the woman in your life that you love and cherish her in the method that will create her understand riously guys, read it. Some things may not create sense because men and women ARE different, but this book will support you understand that your lady is not crazy. There is a rhyme and reason for how she is!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    You know how you go to lectures or seminars or presentations, and it soon all becomes a blur and you don't remember anything? But sometimes you attend a lecture or session and you walk away with a nugget of tip or info or two that are really useful and support you in your work or life. That's how I felt about this book. I read it, enjoying the conversational down-to-earth style, and walked away with two or three revelations that really did and do support me understand women, and my wife in particular, better. That is thing I wasn't crazy about is the reference to religion. It's not as heavy-handed as in the companion book about the inner life of men, but I very much believe in separation of church and state when it comes to writing self-help books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Wild at Heart is a most perfect book that begs the question of what has happened to males in our post feminist world. Decades of misinformation and cultural erosion have rendered most men absent or impotent in our (specifically the American) society, which this book seeks to explain. Academic blurring of the genders, unique interest propaganda and social engineering have all endeavoured to homoginize men and women without regard to what makes each unique. Create no mistake, this is no bleeding heart psycho babel attempt to discern what ails us, nor is it some chest thumping macho chauvinist work which makes a caricature of true masculinity. Quite the contrary, the book addresses both of these mentalities as the farce they are and seeks rather to understand the real driving force of a mans heart, and what God intended for him to be. Despite the unabashed Christian stance of the book, this is not an attempt to convert through indoctrination. Regardless of what your views on religion are, the books applicability is related to that of Alcoholics Anonymous. You don't have to believe to see that it works. My atheist brother, who provided me with my first copy, gained a lot of understanding from reading at being said, though the book focuses primarily on men, Eldridge spends quite a bit of time also exploring women and how they relate to us. I would encourage any woman to take the time to read this book, as it will not only illuminate much of the heart of the men in your life, it will also directly with some of the impacts they (especially Fathers) have had on you, whether positive or st importantly, Eldridge does not simply point out what is wrong. He goes on to present how these failures can be addressed and amended. How you can begin working to be the man you should be, rather than accept the shadow of manhood that you are. How to move on from the failures of your past, and embrace rather the wildness that is buried in your heart.I highly recommend this book to anyone, male or female, old or young, Christian or not. As a father of boys, this book has helped me to recognize the failures of my own father and strive to not repeat them. As a husband, it has helped me understand how to be a servant to my wife, and a protector to our family. As a man, it has opened my eyes to the driving desires of my own heart, helped me recognize the lies I tell myself and have been told, and helped me understand the importance of what it really means to be a Man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    I purchased this book for my 8 year old son who is obsessed with the tallest structures in the world. The pictures are attractive and the info interesting. Some of the content is probably too verbose and written with vocabulary fit for a more mature reader. I found a few typos, which I found surprising, but it is still a amazing read. The size of the book is so big, we have a hard time just sitting on the couch reading it. It is definitely easer to read while sitting at a table.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    Like the subject and the clever sizing/design.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    If you're married, wanting to be married or just wish to have a better understanding of women this is a book for you! The true life experiences, research, scientific revelations, and practical app makes this book and must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    Amazing read for both men and women but definitely men. I think some items in it a lot of women dont even know about themselves. Also for those who do know, it gives you amazing ways to actually place what you are feeling into r the men, if you read you MUST use it to your advantage and place into action. Not use it to down play your significant other. Use it to be more healthy in the method you communicate and interact with your significant other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    As a woman, I thought this book was very validating. YAY! I may be crazy but all of us women are-HAHAHA. Just kidding :) I love us women. We are amazing :) There are some commonalities that we share and it was very validating to understand that I am not the only one who feels this way. I recommend the corresponding book too, "For Women Only". Nicely written and simple to understand. It would be helpful if you are in a relationship to have a conversation with your partner about each book for extra insight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    For Men Only (Revised and Updated Edition): A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of Women []  2019-12-30 18:51

    This is a must read book. Ladies, read it and you will learn things about yourself you never realized. You will say, " spot on". Men, this is a must read to understand the female brain. I think every couple needs to read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wild at Heart Revised and Updated: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Author is off-base. Scripture is abused. Follows Begin Theism... very risky theology. His old employer, Focus on the Family stopped carrying his book because of his unbiblical stand. It's one thing to be liberal with the presentation OF scripture, but quite a bit difference to be liberal in WHAT scripture actually says (and doesn't).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    I have always loved loved loved tall buildings. The views and the vistas of a lot of are best experienced first hand and so this book is a commemoration of all the various ways you can obtain up high and see the globe around e book is stunning because the book format is tall and skinny, like the elevator ride that'll obtain you to the top.If you're looking for a collection of dreams created reality in the shape of tall buildings, then this is the book to get. Just create sure your bookshelf has some head clearance room!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    The book is nicely written, full of info and has sensational photographs and illustrations. It is a long tall book just like the topic matter and it's unusual shape is really important to obtain the quality of the images down right. I can recommend the book to anyone who likes buildings of any sort but especially to those fascinated by skyscrapers. If you have a kid interested in Skyscrapers, I can recommend this too. depending on their age, the text may be hard going for them but the visuals are sure to impress.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Skyscrapers: A History of the World's Most Extraordinary Buildings -- Revised and Updated []  2020-1-16 20:30

    Lovely book, for anyone fascinated by skyscrapers this book is the one. Large top class images of over a hundred of the prime buildings, past and present, and lots of informative writing about each. At a very reasonable price, excellent bonus item

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift Of Therapy (Revised And Updated Edition): An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients []  2020-1-18 22:16

    i chose this book firstly because i am a trainee therapist, a fan of Yalom's fiction and group dynamics work. it is a book that i dip in and out of, it gives me inspiration and reminds me to honour my own humanity as well as my clients.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift Of Therapy (Revised And Updated Edition): An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients []  2020-1-18 22:16

    A Master therapist willing to pass on the torch is a incredibly moving expereince. MAn thanks Irv for life and your writingsA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift Of Therapy (Revised And Updated Edition): An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients []  2020-1-18 22:16

    A seminal text full of insights into group process that should be mandatory reading for college students, for those in people professions. Acecessible language, well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift Of Therapy (Revised And Updated Edition): An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients []  2020-1-18 22:16

    Fabulous, insightful. Amazing for therapists and clients both

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift Of Therapy (Revised And Updated Edition): An open letter to a new generation of therapists and their patients []  2020-1-18 22:16

    I. Yalom writes well- there is warmth, humility and overarching respect for all people that makes this book a bonus to therapists and their patients

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386