Read a dog named bella reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a dog named bella reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Bella []  2021-4-6 23:33

    3.5 is was a sweet, slow-burn romance, set in Fresh y is a tech reporter, sent to Fresh Zealand to land a huge scoop, and with it a huge promotion. Morgan is the reclusive tech billionaire Amy is supposed to interview. She disappeared from the tech globe after a huge conference announcing her resignation, never to be seen again by most of the rgan is pitched as a bit of an ice queen, and her interactions with the local community definitely come across this way. I liked how she doesn’t automatically begin up to the stranger in her life and how Amy has to war for the article she’s supposed to write. Amy matches up well to Morgan, and the small insights we obtain into her life create her situation and decisions more ere’s some intrigue and behind the scenes scheming that plays out to give true reason for why Amy has been given the interview, that keeps things interesting.I liked the ending as it doesn’t fall into saviour type tropes, whilst still giving a satisfying satisfied ending, both personally and professionally for them the book is named after one of the canine characters, they definitely deserve a mention as Morgan’s package of dogs provide some amazing ways of moving the story along and opportunities for both characters to begin is was a nice method to pass a few hours and I think romance fans looking for a romance with some elements of slow burn and conflict will have fun this one.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Bella []  2021-4-6 23:33

    4.5Who doesn’t love a story about love and dogs? Amy’s editor (Savannah) gives her a seemingly impossible assignment - interview a woman who for all intents and purposes does not wish to be interviewed. Not to place too fine a point on it, but the topic of her interview is a recluse who fiercely guards her privacy. Not hard right? If that wasn’t enough, Savannah has dangled the prospect of a promotion for Amy, should all go well-no pressure. The topic of said interview, Morgan Leithe, a retired computer mogul and philanthropist who spends her days with four rambunctious dogs and Bella, a dog that behaves like a disinterested cat—she created me laugh out loud. The setup of Amy’s assignment is “too amazing to be true”. And when things seem too amazing to be true, they usually are, which she finds out later. The amazing thing is that her editor’s play went horribly wrong-for the editor:-). What meant for misdeeds leads Amy to the exact put she needs to is is a sweet simple read. If you like to read as much as I do, you will very likely guess the plot by chapter three. Let’s just say Morgan gives a lot of tips to the cause of her gruff persona. Even with that, you will have fun watching Amy support Morgan to lose her edge and even begin up to her is story has love, misunderstandings, intrigue, and a fun plot. You will have fun Amy and Morgan’s journey out of ly (this will create sense later) to serene.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    I was grocery ping at Meijer when I walked by the book section and saw “Kugler” and a chocolate Lab out of the corner of my eye. I froze, walked backwards and was so satisfied to see what I was seeing! I used to follow Rob and Bella on Ig when I had social media and I LOVED their story. I was so glad to see that Rob wrote a book about their bond and all of their adventures. This is the second book that I’ve found that truly captures the bond and love between man and dog. This book was unbelievable and highly recommend it to any animal lover. Rob truly “gets it.” He describes the bond between man and dog flawlessly. Tears, laughter, joy, and sorrow..Rob has it all in this book. It was incredible.

    0  


    Add your opinion on a dog named bella or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    Having followed Rob on Ig since his and Bella’s story created national news, I already knew about most of the happenings he describes in his book. But, what he fills in now is the backstory and thoughts that aren’t revealed in abbreviated is is much more than a story about a guy and his dog. It’s a story about a guy struggling to reconcile his past and figure out how to move forward in the journey called ‘life’. Rob’s writing captivated me in his posts as much as his attractive images. The book is written in the same manner. I have always felt his notice to be authentic, as he presents the good, the bad, and the ugly and owns it all. His descriptions are vivid, but not overdone. He uses his story with Bella to illustrate his somewhat ragged journey, but also to inspire others. The writing evokes a range of emotions. I think it’s telling that even though I have never met Rob, in his writing I feel like I’m listening to a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    Rob Kugler & Bella’s journey together reaches deep into your heart and leaves paw prints. An emotionally stirring, funny, heartfelt, attractive story of two souls that will be bound together forever. Rob gives voice to Bella’s spirit and in doing so, shows how a tough, midwestern Marine can still be brought to his knees by the love of a dog. It’s not often that an author can so authentically allow his pain, fear, vulnerability, and strength pour out onto paper. For every dog guardian who has given his or heart to a dog, this book is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    I purchased this book and sat it on a en, I downloaded it on audible and chose to listen to it first.While I have known this story for years, hearing it come to life in Bobby’s voice and through the lens of his camera, created it more attractive and more sorrowful than ever.His story has something for everyone. And I do mean, everyone. The single mom. The newly divorced. The grieving. The dog lover. The active duty service man or woman. The Veteran. The person looking to search their destiny. can digest this story small by little, so take your time. It will be time well spent, I guarantee.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    As a fur momma the love between Rob & Bella pulled on the heartstrings! The vulnerability sharing not only the intimate journey but the lessons learned on that journey is outstanding! Laughs, tears, heartache, love, family, mates - this has it all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    I loved reading this heartfelt story about a amazing guy and his unconditional love for his awesome dog. I have been a follower of Rob's on Ig during his journey with Bella and loved reading the backstory and info of the journey and the journey within himself to figure out what this life is all about. You will laugh, cry and come away being inspired to support others , obtain another dog and live life to the fullest. Book club worthy too! Amazing book Rob!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    Absolutely awesome book!!!This is more than a 'dog' book. re. It's about love, life, family, friends, loss, grief, connecting with people, learning lessons, following your dreams, making fresh dreams, taking adventures (even if you don't know where you're heading), and MORE.I don't often search books that have me so engaged that I can't place it down, but this one did exactly that!! A lot of tears were shed throughout, both satisfied and autiful story, beautifully written!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    I laughed and cried my method thru each chapter. I told myself I knew this story of Rob and Bella. Um yeah. I couldn't place it down. Nope. It's a strong read. Altho I am not a vet I could relate to losing someone dear, camping with my dog, failed relationships, losing a pet, divorced parents, not fitting in, finding fresh love, but most of all I know exactly how lab love can heal a broken soul. My sweet black Olive is my constant, a bonus from God. I read some of the book to her and she loved Bella's voice. Buy this book for yourself and for those you love... we all need a reminder to travel more, embrace people more and to live and love more!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    I am only on page 2 and I have cried a few times already. I search myself reading a few sentences, thinking how much of these words resonate with me and then search myself going back to read more. Then, I search myself thinking of Rob and Bella’s journey through the years on Fb and search myself crying again... can not wait to finish the book this weekend and post another review .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Named Beautiful: A Marine, a Dog, and a Long Road Trip Home []  2020-1-16 21:28

    As a mom to a chocolate lab diagnosed with osteosarcoma who became a tripawd, I knew I just had to read this book. I had followed their journey on twitter, but to read this took it to a whole other level. Soul baring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    Oh, this book.I admit I haven't read Dean Koontz in ages. When I was a kid, I liked his suspense and horror books well enough, but we parted ways right around when I went to nce then, we'd been strangers. Life got in the way, the normal business of making cash that's already been long-since relegated to one bill or st summer my dog died. Not just any dog, but my spirit animal, my totem. She was the best and most attractive dog I ever knew, my business partner in my animal behavior consulting business. She was diagnosed with Hemangiosarcoma after an emergency splenectomy. She, my robust fighter princess, sucbed just weeks after her surgery and a few days after her 10th birthday. The loss of her knocked the wind and all the joy right out of me. I couldn't believe it - she'd been so healthy her whole life and then she was...gone.I don't remember how I came across this book - I think it was a GoodReads suggestion. Wherever I learned of it, I can only say that It came into my life just when I required a read exactly this wonderful.A Huge Small Life is a gorgeous book. I laughcried throughout most of it. It is such a stunning tribute to a attractive dog, a amazing friendship, and a life well lived. It ranks up there with some of the top dog books I've read (and I'm no slouch - I have two floor-to-ceiling bookcases dedicated to dog books alone) and is one I look forwarded to reading again someday, after my heart has healed a small further. This takes the number one slot in the "dog tribute" subgenre of dog is is a book for dog lovers, written by a man who very obviously loved Trixie a amazing COMMENDED PAIRING: hot tea, rainy day, snuggled under some blankets on the couch next to one or more of your favorite dogs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    A wonderful, sad sad book. I read it when I required a amazing cry because I knew I would have one when I read it. Trixie was a unbelievable companion & became almost a kid to them. That is ok. I never had kids & I have loved some pets very much. I had a cat for 24.5 years & she was awesome to me. Her picture has eyes that follow every move I create & that is amazing because I still imagine I see her at the edge of my vision, although less than when she first died. I know it isn't her - it is my memories. I can to relate to the Koontz family in their feelings for their lovely Trixie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    This is the first Dean Koontz book I've ever read, and now I'm a fan. Just started his book, "The Darkest Night".We've now been owned by 4 Golden Retrievers, and this book place our love for them into words we couldn't express ourselves but definitely felt. Thank you!Candy Greff

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    Dean Koontz's A BIG LITTLE LIFE, is a attractive and inspiring tribute to his golden retriever, Trixie. Those of us who have read Koontz's novels know that dogs - and especially goldens - have always appeared prominently in his works; and Trixie's picture has graced a lot of a book jacket, sitting happily with her human owner. So it was no surprise how much this dog meant to both Koontz and his wife, Gerda. Trixie was a dog who not only changed their lives, but showed them a glimpse of the truly spiritual. As Koontz so beautifully writes, "She lived to love and to keep love, which is the condition of angels."A BIG LITTLE LIFE is a very spiritual memoir, and Koontz is clear that he saw Trixie as an angel (in the overarching, grandly sacred sense). One of Koontz's acquaintances referred to Trixie as a "holy soul," and that is just the method Koontz portrays her. In the memoir he describes incident after incident that reveals Trixie as an amazingly unique being, with the ability to connect with the humans in her world, to differentiate between amazing and evil, and to see beyond the mundane. Whether or not you believe the stories Koontz tells, it's impossible to read this book and not feel the impact of this dog on the lives of her human owners.I've read most of Koontz's novels - I have always found them to be both frightening and uplifting in their affirmation of the human spirit. Even his most disturbing novels (like INTENSITY) include within them an element of hope that leaves the reader profoundly touched. My favorite Koontz novel has always been WATCHERS, in which a unbelievable golden retriever named Einstein leads her human companions out of the darkness. That this novel was written over ten years before Koontz acquired his own unbelievable golden is amazing!Read A BIG LITTLE LIFE - it will move you in unexpected ways. Even if you're not a dog lover, you can't support but be inspired by this animal's impact on the humans in her life. Koontz writes, "We are a community of potential saints with a shared destiny, and each of us is a thread in a tapestry of meaning." Trixie is the one who helped Koontz see this and live this - and in that alone she was an angel. This is a lovely tribute to a very unique dog.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    Dean Koontz is always the best when it comes to writing about his beloved Trixie. No one could have done it better than Dean, who obviously loves dogs, but who also appreciated the very unique bonus he was given in Trixie. That they had a special and loving bond is obvious in every word ever written about her. It's one thing to be a dog lover, but quite another to have the kind of spiritual/cerebral connection that these two shared. Dean writes with wit and wisdom about Trixie because she had intelligence and a sense of humor bigger than life. He had the sensitivity to see and nurture it. When my sister-in-law recently lost her fourth Golden Retriever, I knew immediately what I would give her to support her obtain through the difficult days she would have. She says it has been the best bonus anyone could have given her. Not only does Dean bring alive the unique qualities of this special dog, but he gives us all fresh ways to think about these unbelievable monsters that live among us – a fact that can only be good. Reading about Trixie has always strengthened my own bond with my Golden, who is so like her. If you love your dog, you'll love her more after reading A Huge Small Life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    This was a love letter to a attractive dog who possessed amazing character, intelligence and love. The dog instinctively knew when someone or some other dog was not to be trusted. She grew to be the love of both Dean and his wife's life. Koontz wrote the book lovingly and honored Trixi's spirit with every word. Although I usually dread the end of a book about a dog because it inevitably ends when the dog's life ends, 99 percent of the book was about the dog's life and Koontz did not drag out the death of this attractive creature. He talked about it and about their grief afterwords, but he ended the book on a positive note. I fell in love with Trixie, although I never met her, except through Koontz' references to the most significant aspects of their life together. I enthusiastically suggest this book to any reader and, most especially, to those who read and understand the language of DOG.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    Sometimes it seems like there's small regard for the sanctity of life in contemporary society. With this memoir--the only one I know of that Mr. Koontz has written, he honors the life of his dog, Trixie. Also, with the title, Dean Koontz directs us to the truth that every life is sacred and precious, and each has a bonus which we can search if we're looking for it. Dean Koontz writes about his unbelievable dog, and how she saved his life emotionally and spiritually. Her healing influence is reflected in his (comparatively) latest writings, especially the Odd Thomas novels (but I haven't read Innocence yet, we just got it for Christmas!).I read the book latest year, and actually I am a recovering alcoholic and the book helped me stay sober for a night during the Christmas holidays, which are a shaky time for some of us. So I bought it this year for my daughter. I would recommend it for anybody who wants to read a real story--a microcosm about amazing and evil, and how goodness is stronger so that even if life isn't excellent there's no reason to give up in despair.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    I avoid true life books about dogs, because, well - you know - it's got to be sad at some point. This is real of this book, but ... it's SO MUCH MORE. Laughing out loud, pondering the imponderables, and - yes - sobbing while sharing grief; this book takes you down all of these roads. The outcome is one of yet another shimmering prism of the wonder of life and God's creation - what a fabulous glimpse into the heart of and the notice given by a om the mundane, to the hilarious, and the frightening, and finally the sad - Mr. Koontz gives us fodder for our mental and spiritual gristmills, while letting our hearts swell and soar with this book. You will be grateful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    Brady was a very unique dog much like Trixie-He brought love and laughter into my life every single day he was with us. My heart goes out to Dean and Gurda for their loss. But this story helped me in looking at my loss in a fresh way. A perspective that I had not quite found. Thank you for bringing the story of Trixie to life in the pages of your book. A satisfied story with an ending that we all know will eventually come.We called him "Brady the Wonder Dog." And he lived up to his unique name, and although it's only been 9 months I still hear the rattle of his collar, when I pull into the garage and sit waiting for him to appear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog Named Trixie []  2020-1-30 18:1

    I love Dean Koontz and have noticed for years his tribute at the back of his books to his dog Trixie. Recently I have noticed they have a fresh dog Annie but he still remembers Trixie on the back cover.Koontz and his wife never had kids and until Trixie never had pets. Trixie was a trained assistance dog who, because of elbow problems, was unable to continue assisting but was nonetheless a highly trained dog. Koontz and his wife Gerda were absolutely over the moon about Trixie and this small book is full of a lot of memories about a amazing dog, one like we have all had at one time or another. Well, all of us dog lovers, that is. Some of the stories recounted could possibly be chalked up to Koontz's vivid imagination but I believe all are based on fact.Of course the latest chapters are tear jerkers, especially for me since I had to have my beloved Irish Wolfhound euthanized this past Thanksgiving due to cancer, old age and strokes. It nearly killed me to do it but I feel like it was a bonus I could give to my old mate when he required it most. Koontz was able to give the same bonus to his Trixie and you just know, this is a dog who was deeply and truly loved and will never be r a real dog lover, for a dog lover who believes dogs have souls and a sense of humor, it's a amazing read. For a Koontz fan it will create you just that much more of a fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Mary Rudine: First it was Mary, then it was M.R. Mister is all anybody calls me now... Mister wears a purity ring. She has created the choice to save herself for the man she marries, but then she meets Trey and finds out that a commitment to abstain from can be more difficult to hold than she fore Trey, Mister was a amazing Christian girl. After Trey, she was still a amazing Christian girl even though she didn't think so; she just created a poor choice. A few sweet, soft-spoken words and sensual touches from a good-looking guy and Mister compromised her beliefs. A momentary lapse of reason and she allowed herself to be used. She didn't realize that at the time, because she believed Trey really cared about her. She required to search a method to move on without guilt or shame. Mary, Mary was a book of poetry about Christ's mother and it belonged to Mister's mother. Mister read it faithfully and it was in those pages where she found comfort and answers to her questions.A Girl Named Mister is written in verse. This format worked better in some chapters than others. What I mean is that certain chapters had more of a poetic feel. SOFT was my favorite.Mister created a mistake that teenage girls create every day. She regretted her choice and she wasn't sure how to cope with her pregnancy. She is a very realistic hero and there will be readers - Christian or not - who will identify with her. I found out about this story when a Fb mate brought the free e-book to my attention (My mobile phone had a Free Amazon Kindle app. I am so amazed at technology these days!) Even though I'm not really into poetry like I used to be a lot of years ago, I enjoyed this book. I liked it so much, in fact, that I purchased the hardcover soon after I read the e-book. It is a must read for teenage girls and their parents. I highly recommend it!Parents: There is a bit of profanity and content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    If you've ever created a mistake in your life, completed some task that would create your parents cringe, you'll appreciate this book. Yes, it's written from a Christian point of view, but it's not overly done.What I feel in M.R. is a young lady that is loved but wants, like all teenagers, more of everything. She doubts all beliefs that didn't originate from her young brain-just like a lot of is book created me think back to my younger years: the good, the poor and the oh sooo ugly...I loved the writing style. I loved this book in its this book and give it to your mom for Christmas, your teenage daughter just because, the mom of a teenage daughter ....On so a lot of levels, this book is required in a lot of households.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This was a very fast read, but very enjoyable. It is an inspiring and uplifting story about one young girl and her journey through a troubling time in life, with the help of family and is was one of the first Kindle books I downloaded and is an perfect selection. I would recommend it mainly for young women in their early teens and older. It gets the point across without being graphic and mixes every day trials with faith and strength in adversity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    This book is short, which is good, because i literally read it cover to cover without so much as a bathroom break. It's rare to search a book that has characters that seem like true people combined with a plot that, while definitely less real-world and more action-movie, one had one moment where i snorted and said, 'Really? No one would do that.'This is a lightweight read, but genuinely enjoyable and worth a few hours of your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    I read a library copy of this unbelievable book years ago and was satisfied to explore that's it's just as amazing as i remember it - fascinating and frequently laugh-out-loud funny. It requires amazing talent to tell the story of a hard-scrabble childhood without being grim or sentimental. The author's way of simply relating her childhood experiences as she remembers them, without editorializing or explaining is totally st of us can remember the happenings of childhood, but search it impossible to capture our feelings about them. It's a rare writer who can place into words the special method that a kid views the world. The adults and kids who peopled the author's childhood and the things they did weren't odd or evil or incomprehensible to her, they simply WERE. A kid accepts the cirtances of his life as the norm. What does he have to compare it to?To call her family dysfunctional barely scratches the surface. Her father's drinking, gambling, and general selfishness limited his ability to be a husband and father, but it was his anger that hung like smoke over the family and affected everything in their lives. His wife retreated into depression and the solace of books. His son absorbed his father's anger and created it his own. His oldest daughter - beautiful, popular, and terrified - married at 18. That was how girls got away from home back then.His youngest daughter remembers her father's kindnesses to her, his occasional patience with her with her oddness, and the companionship that he shared with no one else in his family. But her story ends before puberty. When she stopped being Daddy's Small Pal and morphed into that despised thing - a female - did his attitude change? I suspect is book raises more questions than it answers. I read her follow-up book about her mother breaking from her sterile life, going to college, and becoming a surprising success. I remember it as being even better than this one and I'm anxious to re-read it. But there are still questions.Why did the family move from Muncie, Indiana (a huge town with more opportunities) to the barren spot called Moreland? What was the attraction there? What was the source of her father's anger? Did his son inherit a mental illness that chop him off from the globe or learn it at his father's knee? How did the author manage to escape this life and go on to success as a writer? Was it the encouragement of watching her mother's stunning revolt? Maybe when her parents are gone, she will retell the story in a different, more comprehensive way. I look forward to that.WARNING: Some of the people in this book and their actions are disgusting and horrifying by modern standards. These were poor, uneducated people. A lot of had moved from rural locations in the South for the better life that Midwestern factory jobs offered. Animals were for eating. Kids were to be disciplined. Women were for cleaning, cooking, and child-bearing. They were behaving in the only method they knew to behave. It's simple for those of us who have lived easier lives to criticize, but is it fair? This author clearly doesn't think so. I think she has a point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    This was a very bland book for me &I read it as a filled between books as a fast easy, thoughtless read. I am not the right person to ask as I search most of these sort of books very embellished and boring. The overall book itself wasn't poor and several parts I found interesting. However, I got the book free so it was no huge deal either direction. I would not have had the same feelings I'm sure it I had to purchase it. If free, it's worth a shot. If you have to pay, .... that is a choice you will have to make.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    This is a terrific story appropriate for a pre-teen girl. I read it outloud to my daughter and later bought it for my niece. It is a strong plot and will give a young girl a lot of things to contemplate and relate to. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    What a amazing book, my 11 yr. old granddaughter read this book and couldn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    I've read Dave's first two books, A Kid Called It and The Lost Boy and continued with this one to search out about his life as an adult. He truly is an inspiration to all. So proud of his accomplishments! He taught us to never give up no matter what. I plan to read more of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    A Man Named Dave was the third installment in the Dave Pelzer trilogy. This book chronicled his life from ages 18 and up. It was just as compelling as the first two books, and, once again, I could not place this book down! There is something so strong and gripping about Dave's writing. I found myself rooting for his happiness and success throughout the entire book, and cried at the emotional husband and I were driving to a spet's office two hours away from our home, and we were supposed to be having quality time together, as my mom was home with our baby and we had all morning to talk uninterrupted. However, I was a poor wife and read A Man Named Dave for nearly an hour instead of talking to my sweet husband! I didn't wish to do it, and hated myself for it, but I was close to the end of the book and just had to know what happened to Dave! My husband asked, "Is this the latest book in this series? I am so tired of you not talking to me while you hold reading these books!" I told him that it was, but then, at the end of the book, I saw that Dave has written two motivational books (which I immediately bought) so my husband is going to have to place up with me having my nose in a Dave Pelzer book for a small longer!Dave's main focus in this novel was trying to search answers as to why his mother abused him the method she did. Despite the fact that he was rescued from her household at age 12, and eventually found love from a foster family, he still seeks his mother's love and acceptance. He has several emotionally draining and painful encounters with his mother in this book, and while he never fully gains the closure he so desires, he does come to a put of acceptance and forgiveness. The fact that Dave can forgive his mother shows what a powerful and inherently amazing person he is.Dave has not had an simple life, and in fact, it is hard to believe all of the hard times he has endured. I'm not saying I don't believe him, it's just sad that someone could have so a lot of hardships. But, he finds happiness in the end, and I loved that. He is a testament to the strength of the human spirit and a amazing example of what faith in God can do for a person.I give this book, and the series as a whole, the highest of recommendations. I loved it, and will definitely be reading Dave's other books. I wish his secret--I wish to be motivated to live as positively as he does!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    I just finished this book about 20 mins ago. During the past two weeks I read all 3 books in this series. My heart broke during the first book as I read a trageic story that no kid should ever have to experience. During the second book I cheered Pelzer on as he was slowly recovering and sometimes even enjoying life. I almost didn't read the 3rd book in the series, because I was confident that Pelzer's life turned out well. However, I just couldn't stop myself from wanting to know how it all is latest book was my favorite. It's a unbelievable ending to a horrible childhood. Pelzer has an wonderful story and I feel that by reading it, I have become a better (more enlightened) person. His passion to support others is truly inspiring and I hope that it spreads throughout the world. Pelzer's life story is something that I will never forget. Even though I don't personally know him, I feel honored to have read his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    It took me weeks to read A Man Named Dave as compared to the one or two day reads of his previous works. The story is not as riveting as his childhood accounts, but I do feel it is neccessary reading for those of us who read the earlier two titles. In this book we witness the ongoing nature of the hurt Dave suffered at the hands of his abusive mother and passive father. When a child's trust is broken by those he depends upon, all future relationships in his life are affected. I think it was merciful that Dave's parents died early enough in his life that he could place his past to rest and go on with living. Relationships that are so complex and conflicted as were his with his parents are usually not resolvable until the death of the parties. Dave's "internal locus" is my favorite lesson in the book. His resistance to the role of victim and his continuous decisions to accept responsibility for his life and overcome his issues inspire me. Having raised an adopted son of my own who came to us at age eight having been abused and neglected in every conceivable way, Dave's story gives me hope that someday my son may overcome his tragic distrust and dysfunction in life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    If you have fun reading about not good things being done to animals like a bunny being nailed to a barn door but his ears then this is the book for you. Our book club chose this book to read one month and I kept trying to obtain through it even though I was so bothered by the animal things but the bunny was the final straw. I was sick to my stomach and could not go on. About half of our book club didn’t [email protected]#$%!. I’m shocked at the ratings on here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    I thought that Zippy might be a fun read since I too grew up in a little city in Indiana. The author gives a clear voice to a very young girl and her experiences, in a child's vision and understanding levels. But, the entire book seemed to me just a rehashing of the same little info with small being learned and small growth in the character. I obtain it, a little city where everyone knows everyone, a little house, riding bikes and sibling rivalry. Sadly, I lost interest early and it didn't return even though I thought the final pages were a amazing ending. Mostly I was satisfied to be done with it. If you haven't ever envisioned little city Indiana go for it but you won't need the whole book to understand the entire story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Voice Named Aretha []  2020-2-1 2:1

    One of the things I love about picture book biographies is that I usually learn right along the with the kids! Did you know Martin Luther King Jr, Nat King Cole, and a lot of other iconic figures were regular guests at her childhood home? Or that as an adult she insisted on performing only in locations where all races were welcome? A Voice Named Aretha is a attractive tribute to this powerful woman who shared her voice through her melody and her convictions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Mary Rudine nick named as Mister, is a young Christian girl, and is determined to save her unique bonus till marriage. She wears a purity ring to symbolize her vow with God. Test becomes her boyfriend and swipes her off her feet and her vow is broken. Pregnant and abandoned by Try, Mister feels she has become seperated from God dispite the help of her family and church. She turns to a book about Mary the mother of Jesus and finds help and comfort in the e story of "A Girl Named Mister" is told in lyrical free is focused on the group of girls in grades 8 through 12.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I saw the amazing reviews for this book and held off buying it for a long time because I felt $10 was a bit steep for 180 pages. This week I noticed the price was now just over $6 and I jumped on it - amazing decision! Monaghan does so much with those 187 pages it's incredible. I have seriously not enjoyed a book so much in a very long time. I love well-written books with a clear plot that also are a clean read - though I love a amazing kissing scene! I have been settling for less than this for several months, and am high on the fact that I finally read something REALLY GOOD. Every aspect of this book is fantastic. I only have one complaint, but I won't state it in detail here because it would spoil the ending, and it can't be hugely necessary because the book met my requirements of having a satisfied one thing involves the emotional investment of the reader. Monaghan does so well in this regard for the entire book, and it is actually because of her skill in this that my emotional investment for the very end effect was muted. But this doesn't change how glad I am that I read it! And so excited to have discovered the sequel to be released in January!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Loved every second of this. Only want the 15 year old me had gotten a possibility to read it. Still, the forty something year old me thought it was heaps of fun, brilliantly paced, y, quirky and an all around amazing read. Ordering the sequel now...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    Damn sad story. I read it because its on the Sonlight reading list for core F. I will tell you its reality though. Young girl runs away from a forced marriage to older man. It has a very slow start, and sometimes too much conversation in her own head about demons and ghosts. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    I bought this book for a mate after I read a copy I borrowed from the library. This is a amazing story and, although I have spent a lot of time in Mozambique, I learned a lot reading this book about some aspects of rural village life that outsiders don't always obtain to see. It's a amazing story and a amazing look into another culture. I couldn't place it down! Nhamo is a powerful female lead and role model for girls, but this book would be enjoyable for any reader who likes a amazing adventure book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    The book, A MAN NAMED DAVE, is the latest book in a trilogy. This book cannot be reviewed unless some history about Dave is given. The trilogy starts with A BOY CALLED IT. Dave is a young kid who is severely abused by his mother. She starved him, burned him and forced him to do chores in an unrealistic time limit. If he did not complete the chores as she demanded, he was not allowed to eat. Hunger forced him to eat any left overs thrown in the garbage. He stole other children's school lunches, meal from the grocery stores and anywhere else he could obtain food. He is forced to sleep in the cold, damp basement separated from the rest of the family. She refused to call Dave anything beyond 'It'. The atrocites that his mother committed were almost endless as she descended into mental illness and alcohol abuse. His father, who had alcohol problems of his own, loved Dave but was ineffectual in shielding the young kid from the brutal e second book,THE LOST BOY,is the acc of Dave's rescue. Fortunately he is placed with a family who is kind and understanding. Dave is a deeply wounded individual. Those emotional scars are evident in a lot of locations of his life. Even into adulthood Dave has a deep need for his mother's approval and ly THE MAN CALLED DAVE relates to Dave's continued growth into manhood. This book as well THE LOST BOY reflected often the abuse that he sustained as a child. While his relationship with women was flawed, he similar well with his son. He discovered that after he was rescued his other brothers became the target of his mother's malicious behavior. He also found that his mother was subjected to abusive treatment as she grew up. The common thread through out each book was Dave's need to be accepted by his mother which never came.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    is one of the most attractive poems I ever read, and I have a Ph.D. in English. Combining the thoughts of the pregnant fifteen-year-old with the poem she is reading about Mary being pregnant with Jesus, looking at her as her neighbors might have seen her, pregnant before marriage, obviously too far along for how long she has been married, while Mister, unmarried while the guy who impregnated her tries it on with other girls, lives with the same stares and whispers today, is a magnificent juxtaposition that works perfectly.If the rest of the book this came from is this good, it certainly ought to victory some major awards. In the meantime, I suggest that ALL young women old enough to become pregnant read it. Yes, it's partly a matter of age as one critic suggested, but the fact is that if a girl is old enough to become pregnant, she might. If she reads this book, she might be a small less likely to create the poor decision Mister made, and might manage to spot the selfish male a small sooner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    A Girl Named Mister was a free Kindle download latest month. It's a amazing short story that can be read in about 2-3 hours. It's written like a poem, so a lot of of the pages have no more than about 50 words on them. A girl named mister is about 15-year-old Mister who makes a commitment to remain a virgin until marriage, but she is distressed when she discovers that she is pregnant with her fresh boyfriend's baby. The boyfriend leaves her after she refuses to continue having a relationship with him. The book's ending was too abrupt and incomplete. The book leaves into an excerpt on another t a very original storyline; this one has been told over and over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    I liked the concept of this book. The writing style was various than anything I've read but i liked it. I recommend this book to teens, male or female. It's an problem that is hard to address for both parents and teens. Reading the struggle that this hero had and the beliefs that she had based on what her mother told her was an eye opener. Also the male perspective in this book was all too common. Overall it was very real to the topic matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    So this book has been on my TBR list for a while, but I'd never gotten to buying it. So with all of my amazon bonus cards i'd gotten for Christmas I thought why not, this book sounds beautiful awesome. So I bought it and OMG, this book was good. No, I'm lying. This book was so fanfreakingtastic that I wanted to jump up and down and scream. So now that my total and complete love for this book has been established, allow me break it down for E PREMISEFarrah is a math genius, but because of the cruel ways of her middle school peers she hides her real self and mirrors her friends. Then when she is watching a present with her mates she sees these numbers across the bottom of the screen. She tries to disregard it, but she can't forever. The only link she can search is that the numbers might have something to do with John F Kennedy. After that when she learns that JFK airport suffered a terrorist bombing she talks to her dad who then takes her to the FBI. These happenings lead to her meeting John Bennet, who's job is now to protect Digit(Farrah)THE PROS1. Amazing characters. I loved Digit and John and also Digits friends, even though you didn't hear much about them.2. Digit's evolution. Since I don't wish to give to much away, I think that a lot of times in a book you don't see the evolution of a hero until it's over. In this book you see Digit gradually changing and becomeing her own person instead of a mirror to others.3. Digit's parents. Gotta love those supportive parents!!4. The poor guys. So yeah I kinda did see that one coming, but still he had a amazing reason.5. The danger. I love the whole pressure thing. Like everyones gonna die if you can't do this. I thought it was unrealistic they would place it on Digit's shoulders to crack all those codes, I mean the FBI and CIA do have code breakers, but I totally obtain why the author would have Digit do the heavey lifting.6. The Math. Who doesn't love math, Seriously!!7. The ending. Who doesn't love the sweet ending!!So yeah I do have more pros, but since listing them all would take forever I won'E CONS1. I normally feel like I have to list at least one con, but I am making an exception for this book.I guess the largest thing would be is how they were always talking about how she wasn't 18 yet. That didn't really detract from how much I love the book, but it kinda... I don't know threw me off in some of the situations.2. Just thought of another con- This book was unrealistic. Like REALLY unrealistic. I actually just read someone else's review and they mentioned it and I was like oh yeah, that oart was really weird. I still like the book, but if you are looking for a book that is totally spot on in all of the possible technologies we have as of this moment in time, then this book is probably not for E OVERALLThis book was epic! I loved it, as you can see is book was full of so much epicness I was shocked. It definetly created my list of top 2012 reads and thats saying a lot because it's December 30. So in all I loved the hero interactions, the action, and the epic awesomeness!Thank You Annabel Monaghan and please hold writing!!WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK: OBVIOUSLY BECAUSE IT IS TOTALLY AWESOME!!!WOULD I BUY THIS BOOK: ALREADY DID AND I SURE WON'T BE RETURNING IT!!AM I TOTALLY AND COMPLETELY IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK: DUHWOULD I READ THE NEXT BOOK: YESWOULD I READ MORE BY THIS AUTHOR: EVEN IF IT WASN'T MY THING I WOULD STILL GIVE IT A GO!!Fav quote: "For years I've gone to bed gazing up at the eternal question: WHAT IF THE HOCKEY POKEY IS WHAT IT'S ALL ABOUT?"Okay that is the end of my gushing, and I think YOU should read this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Amazing buy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    I don’t know why but I similar this book so much. I think it’s because it was when I was growing up in the Midwest and although I grew up in a city, a lot of the tinsel Christmas tree and comments about the neighbors keep real no matter where you grew up. I just laughed my head off through the whole book and couldn’t wait to obtain back to it which is why I read it in one day. It has kid like innocence but at the same time core adult truths.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    A funny and heart-warming story which makes you laugh, cry, and have fun this story of a little city girl and her quirky family, friends, and neighbors. I was fascinated with her language skills and development as a toddler and just went from there. Images of the actual family and people mentioned adds to the story. With a lot of adventures, unusual animals, the tone of a small tone where nothing every happens but everything happens, the author has really captured her family and childhood. I got this on a promotion at a low price- glad I picked it and very enjoyable real tales.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    I've loved this book since middle school, and re-reading it now in my early 20s, I still love it. Perfect storytelling - very straightforward and simple, but not dumbed down. The characters feel like actual human beings, and while it's set in a true put on planet Earth, it still lives in a mysterious universe all its own. Whether Nhamo is actually communing with spirits or it's all in her head is left up to interpretation - Farmer just tells the story as Nhamo sees it, and doesn't set out to prove or disprove anything. That being said, the straightforward way of storytelling isn't for everyone - if you like a really complex narrative with a lot of exposition, you will be disappointed (not saying that's a poor thing, just clarifying the writing style here). Overall, I'd recommend this book for children or adults - both would probably have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    This is the 3rd book in the series which cover's Dave's teenage and adult life up until he has his 2 real loves - his wife and son! The not good horrifying abuse he went through is unlike anything you've ever known and you'll wonder how anyone could be so cruel to their own son! However, as you read through all 3 books, you'll see how inspiring it is that he grew up to be the man he is today. This is a page-turner you won't wish to place down! The 3 books in the series are: A Kid Called It, The Lost Boy and A Man Named Dave. I strongly suggest and highly recommend you buy all 3 books because when you begin reading the first one, you won't place it down until you obtain to the very end of his life story, which is in the 3 book that he finally seems settled with his loving wife and a son he loves more than life itself....it shows how he went from absolutely nothing to being an award winning writer and public speaker who has helped dozens of people! I recently purchased his brother's book, "A Brother's Journey", by Richard Pelzer and will be starting it soon... When Dave was removed from the home at age 12, unfortunately his brother Richard took his put at the hands of an extremely abusive mother. If it's anything like Dave's first 3 books, I won't be able to place it down until I'm finished! Yes, this is why I strongly suggest you obtain all 3 of Dave's books (and even the 4th, his brother's book) because each one I read, I did it in a small over one day! Unfortunately, I didn't have all three books... I had the first one... when I finished it, I went nuts waiting for the next 2 to arrive LOL. So don't be like me - have all 3, possibly 4, ready to read because you'll be very surprised how quick you'll go through each book - and YES it's that interesting you won't stop reading until completely done - with ALL of the books! ;-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    After reading the previous 2 books, A Man Named Dave gives us more to his awesome story of how he became who he is today. Dave once again stole my heart, created me cry, laugh, and even cuss him for allowing so a lot of to walk all over him! In the end however, he makes me see the light. He makes me see why he went about dealing with people as an adult the method he did. However, I totally agree with Marsha- I would have kicked a [email protected]#$%!&! Amazing Read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    There are 3 books, all about Dave, who overcame tremendous childhood abuse. This is the third one and supports the notion that one can overcome and succeed, even though previously abused.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Mary Rudine has acquired the nickname Mister because of her initials. Raised by her mama in Fresh York, Mister has been taught to love and obey God, and to hold herself pure. But then she meets Trey, and one mistaken act changes her life forever. Faced with pregnancy at the age of 15, Mister finds comfort in a book about Mary, mother of Jesus, and we obtain to follow both girls on their journey to motherhood.I will begin by saying I absolutely loved this book. A word of warning, yes, it is written in verse form, and no, contrary to other reviews out there, it is not all angsty teenage poetic drivel. Yes, it sounds like a teenage girl, because it is written partially in her narrative voice. That is intentional, to create it relatable for teen readers, particularly urban teens, like Mister. And while Mister's journey is shown as parallel to Mary's, I see no evidence where the book tries to say Mister is like Mary, or any other blasphemy. Mary represents motherhood to all Christian women, it makes sense that even a teen mother would search comfort in Mary, and be able to relate to reality, teens face problems of , and teen pregnancy. Even Christian teens. I think this book is an perfect example of how teens can create mistakes, and sin, and still search comfort in God's loving grace. The book does not preach abstinence, it simply shows the reality of the potential consequences of , and the impact on a young for the literary style, poetic novels are not for everyone, true, but fans of authors like Ellen Hopkins will have fun this book. And think about it, much of Scripture is written in poem form. A lot of literary classics use poetic forms. So the fact that this is poetry is not enough to write it off. Through the verses, we really learn who Mister is, what she struggles with, and how she finds comfort from the mother of our rsonally, I think this is an perfect young adult book, and while it does deal with , it does so in a realistic manner, not quite as severe as a cautionary tale, but there are true lessons to be learned through this book. Lessons teens could use. Especially Christian teens. I think with proper parental guidance and discussion, this would be appropriate for teens 13 and up. It would create for an perfect little group/teen book club selection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    With Teenage pregnancy so prevalent you would think there would be more books about it. Nikki Grimes successfully tells the story of a girl who ends up pregnant and is faced with whether or not adoption is the right choice for her. In a manner that is far from preachy young women who read this story may think twice about their decision to give away something that is so precious to someone who doesn't honor her or what she has to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    This story is unbelievable journey into the globe of numbers. It involves an ecological terrorist plot and a kidnapping and the FBI. It is a compelling story with mysterious numbered codes that only Farrah can crack. Farah or Digit is a teenaged phenom , who is threatened by members of an Eco terrorist, Jonas Fernis who plans to bomb public locations to force his organizations ends. It is a unbelievable mystery and a roller coaster ride of adventure. It has a romantic element and it is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    I was really excited to read A Girl Named Digit: a girl math genius (great for my STEM-leaning students), uses her skills to support bring down a terrorist organization (suspenseful!), and ends up on the run with a hot, young FBI agent (I guess I can deal with that). Except the book is more about seventeen-year-old gushy emotions and romance drama; not so much about a girl with angry math skillz saving innocent people and behaving like, you know, her life was in danger or something.I wrote a longer review (which includes some spoilers) here:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Read it in two days. Simple read and entertaining. A small dramatic but appropriate for middle/High school students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    The survival story seems to be huge in middle school novels so it was nice to read one about a girl. I thought the writing was skilled but the middle was too slow and plodding. The girl's trials in tribal Africa were too severe. She is rejected by just about every human she encounters. She sets out alone in a boat, having never been in one before, in order to avoid a horrendous future. Every time she makes some progress it is wiped out by misfortune. She finds herself at the brink of death at least four times. Nancy Farmer vividly explains Disaster's everyday activities right up until the end. Then her whole back story is revealed in one short chapter. Overall A Girl Named Disaster is a compelling story that I enjoyed reading. It is an appropriate challenge for middle school students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    Loved this book fBought it for my grandson. Interesting and well written

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    The middle of Farmer's three Newbery Honor books of the latest decade, this is different, being historical fiction adventure to the other two's science fiction. Like The Ear, The Eye, and The Arm, this takes put in Africa, giving it an exotic touch. Nhamo (Disaster in her native Shona language) is an orphan of sorts, with a deceased mother and absent father, living traditionally in a tribal village in southern Africa. Through cirtances beyond her own making, she is place in a position of fleeing her home, a not uncommon Newbery theme (see Crispin The Cross of Lead) For this reader, she partakes in the adventure of a strong, bright, observant, resourceful girl/young woman reminding me of Miyax (Julie of the Wolves), Omakayas (The Birchbark House) and Karana (Island of the Blue Dolphins), high company, indeed. Nhamo leads a fascinating life, both in the village and after leaving it, including spending significant amounts of time fending for herself. This is thoroughly enjoyable on a lot of counts, the intriguing cultures, countrysides, and relationships, some touches of spiritualism, the ideas of how to maintain oneself emotionally and physically when isolated, the ideas of perseverance in the face of what appear to be insurmountable obstacles, and flexibility and teaching oneself what's important when it's necessary. Well suited for secondary grades, a very powerful reading fifth or sixth grader could have fun it, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    [A great, engrossing, and real story of a man you may have been introduced to in the NY times best-seller "A Kid Called It" - Dave's harrowing experiences being abused, starved and beaten by a cruel, mentally ill mother during early childhood till age 12. A fitting end to his trilogy of auto-biographical memoirs.]Wonderful story of the experiences of the now adult Dave Pelzer (still lovingly naive and sweetly begin and eager to please) and how he went from being a used vehicle salesman to a military man to a husband, father and bestselling author (with not a little amount of rocks strewn along the path.)Rocky first relationship, finding his real love and being cheated by people supposed to be looking out for him, all the while pushing himself to the limits and not letting himself wallow in any self ought it was a amazing self-help inspirational book (though not advertised as such) and I was extremely touched by his will and determination throughout.Highly recommended for those who have fun reading others memoirs or wish an inspirational, engrossing read about one man's journey to love, meaning, and the will to empower others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    I bought this book thinking it would remind me of my childhood, as I also grew up in a little city around the same time as the author did. But if you're envisioning barefoot summer days, playing kickball by the light of the road lamp, and catching fireflies in a mason jar, this is not the book you're looking for. A mother who tells her kid she was adopted from a band of gypsies and allows her to believe it, a father who borrows multiple crates of hounds just to harass the elderly neighbor who complained about their dog barking, a brother who slaps his sister so hard he knocks her into the bathtub.... this is not your typical family. Add to that the neighbors who move in and out... well, wow. In short, she's an odd kid with an odd family who lives in an odd small city filled with odd people. It might be quite entertaining to some, and the writing is amazing with some amusing parts, but you should just be aware that the stories are not the charming shared memories of a more innocent time that you may be expecting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    It seems like people only pay attention anymore to memoirs that involve people overcoming wonderful odds, recovering from addiction, or scaling mountains and sometimes eating those that didn't survive. Don't obtain me wrong, I am, at times, a fan of those books. However, it was so refreshing to read an wonderful book about an "ordinary" life. Kimmel takes the ordinary and makes it shine. I saw my own parents and grandparents in her tales. I also saw so much of my own childhood. I could literally feel characters chasing and losing dreams and somehow learning to live with what they can't rise above. I think I heard Springsteen say that first. When the book isn't making you chuckle, it tends to sneak up on you and break your heart. But, the heartache only lasts briefly as it gets you back laughing beautiful quickly.If you're a fan of Garrison Keillor then you will absolutely love this book. I kept flashing back to "Lake Wobegon Days." "Zippy" may possibly be a better book. Hard to say. A small too close to call. Simple, elegant, and touching. A ris BowenAuthor of Our Kids: Building Relationships in the Classroom

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    Reviews often surprise me, but the lack of understanding of ZIPPY by some posters on this website leaves me stunned. This treasure--and surely ZIPPY is a treasure--is an honest, deeply sad yet hilarious and instructive memoir--not a book about animal cruelty. Beautifully written, Zippy pulls back the curtain on a childhood of survival in a family of chaos and disfunction. Without meanness (and surely with amazing love) the author depicts with clarity and humor her family members, her friends, and the supportive Quaker community that created her survival possible. Some people must place a template on the books they read --a template that restricts understanding and empathy. Otherwise, how could ANYONE give this unbelievable book a "one star"?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Zippy []  2020-1-23 19:44

    Hysterical read and well written. I enjoyed the authors style and humor. I reread a lot of sections aloud to mates while we were traveling. Everyone enjoyed the fun parts. Not a smaltzy silly story. Genuine and the best read on a trip I’ve ever taken with me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Mister []  2020-1-14 19:36

    My book club read this book a few months ago. We all found this story to be wonderfully written and heartfelt. A few of our members could totally relate to Mister's dilemma and the choices she made. I loved how the story of Mary & Joseph was intertwined with Mister's story. I think any parent who needs to have the "Birds & The Bees" discussion with their kids should have them read this book first then have "The Talk"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Well, I have to say that I want I read certain reviews before reading the book. I have read the Ally Carter books. Specifically, I loved her Gallagher Girls series. (I just hated how long she took to come out with a fresh one.) So, I couldn't wait to dive into this because I just love powerful female characters.*****SPOILERS********Anyways, I was fairly disappointed in this book for a number of reasons:1.) As soon as they said Steven was released after being tortured I knew exactly how the book would end. Predictable.2.) Method too quick paced. It felt like the author was so excited about this amazing idea she had for a book that she couldn't wait to [email protected]#$%!. There was no depth and wonderful hero and plot lines.2.) John Bennett's character. I asked myself the same question probably a lot of did, "How did he graduate early from such a prestigious college and not know what a Fibonacci sequence was?" It baffled me. Then I started ticking off everything about John Bennett's hero that became short-comings. For instance, If he was on guard to protect Farrah wouldn't he stay awake throughout the night to hold watch? The only thing about John that led me to believe he was remotely FBI material was that he could translate a lot of various languages. I would have been more invested in his hero if there was more action which showed that what he lacked as an intellectual he created up for in the physical sense, but there were no fighting scenes. And when he discovered the taxi man was a Jonas Brother (see what I did there) he confessed it was because Farrah had been 'rubbing off on him... Not because of his assassin FBI instincts.What infuriated me the most was that he didn't even EARN that position in Unique Sector. Farrah was the one who cracked the code on the TV screen. Farrah was the one who cracked the code about the diaper bag in Grand Central. Farrah was the one who discovered Steven was the mole. Farrah was the one who cracked the code from the phone call to Steven. And OLIVE. was the one who cracked the code about Disney Land... Did you guys hear a John in there? Nope.Icing on the cake was how easily Farrah allow John back into her life after literally making her MISERABLE for a month without any contact. It was ridiculous and created me lose respect for her. Especially since, there is a sequel. The author should have left it at a cliffhanger, letting Farrah search herself in college, then maybe obtain a boyfriend and soon become tangled up in the FBI mess again which would ultimately lead her back to John. This would create for a better story because they both would have grown up in the mean time and discovered their rights and wrongs in the 'relationship' they had/could have was just rushed. And I give it two stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Digit []  2020-1-14 19:39

    Ok at first this book was a little.... much but then to I started obtain into it and by the end every 5 mins I was squealing with happiness

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    My daughter and I have read the two Scorpion books and the Sea of Trolls trilogy, all by Nancy Farmer, all excellent. So we decided to go back and check on some of Farmer's earlier items. Am I glad we did. If anything, Disaster is even better. While her later books are massive on adventure and social commentary, Disaster (as well as Ear, Eye, Arm) dwell largely at the private level. Still plenty of adventure but I feel that we obtain to know Nhamo much more than we do the protagonists of Farmer's more latest books (Jack and Matt). And this is to our advantage. The nuance of Nhamo's many-faceted hero is a delight to discover. So, interestingly, are the characters of Zimbabwe and Mozambique; Farmer really brings this corner of the African continent alive and tangible and genuinely interesting. This and Ear, Eye, Arm are truly amazing books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Disaster []  2020-7-11 18:54

    I bought this book for my 13 year old daughter and she is very intrigued with the reading. She is now learning about the tribes in Brazil and other social lifestyles in school and this book hit a cord with her interests.I just read an article about "undiscovered people" and when shared with corresponding videos on youtube, she is starting to explore the globe without Apple, Microsoft, and all other electronics and social is book triggers fresh thoughts in young readers, but needs to be complemented with true globe examples to create it a "teachable moment". Otherwise, this book will become just another created up story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Named Dave []  2021-1-8 18:36

    Dave's self-deprecating story of how his horrific childhood created him the awesome man he is today, is uplifting to all. And a testament to the fact that choices do, indeed shape our lives, or at the very least, direct them. Dave's ability to continually assess his cirtances and create various choices to re-direct his own path is proof that people can change their own lives by identifying negative patterns and making various decisions to change the outcome. Private growth is not something that only the young are capable of! Kudos to you, Dave, for being brave enough to tell your story and wise enough to examine your own behavior to determine whether or not poor things were event to you as a effect of others' not good choices or your own. This is a difficult distinction for those of us who spend the first decade or so of their lives experiencing terror at the hands of others. We tend to always see ourselves as victims, and it is difficult to distinguish at what point we actually become the masters of our own fate and can take the reins of our own destiny, to be better parents, better spouses, better people, who just plain feel, "BETTER"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Horse Named Cisco []  2021-2-10 19:48

    This cd includes some of the most melodic and raw melody that I've heard in a long time... If you haven't bought it listen to it for it includes that musical medicine to soothe both the ears the soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wordplay: A Potion Named Poetry []  2020-1-28 23:4

    This is probably the deepest book I’ve indulged in recently. So a lot of hidden messages to take from each poem delivered. The author left her heart and soul on these pages. I loved how the poems spoke to me spiritually and tugged at me emotionally and mentally. God is all through this collection. A few of my favorite poems contain winner lover, coon face, Engulfed in distress, I Am, resting in you and to die for.And my God, so much could be taken from the story of temptation with Carl, Carla and Ashley. Amazing job and amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wordplay: A Potion Named Poetry []  2020-1-28 23:4

    A lot of people desire to be amazing but very few people place in the work or sacrifice. I gave Wordplay 4 stars because the work place in from begin to finish was carefully architected and skillfully crafted. The reader is taken to another globe by Aliada Duncan. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wordplay: A Potion Named Poetry []  2020-1-28 23:4

    I am beyond elated to have experienced such poetic prowess. The diversity of this author was refreshing. In a globe where Poetry is a lost art form I am satisfied to see it done in the real essence of the science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wordplay: A Potion Named Poetry []  2020-1-28 23:4

    This book is absolutely AMAZING!!!!!! As a woman, it will support you obtain more in tuned with who you are and what you wish from love, to and even spiritually. An all around awesome book and well worth the read. You will not be disappointed!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (Dramatized) []  2020-1-31 1:35

    Awesome book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dog condo []  2020-9-2 6:57

    You can't obtain past level 30, is annoying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    Fun and amusing, a sincere view of life on a Croatian island. Valuable for all who plan to visit Hvar. As the island is worth experiencing for food, wine, nature, adventure or respectable history, equally is Paul’s book worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (New Directions Paperbook) []  2020-1-23 19:1

    Arrived speedily. Using it to teach--and of course, it IS one of the amazing plays, even minus the hype. Williams is one of our real treasures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (New Directions Paperbook) []  2020-1-23 19:1

    A masterpiece. Tennessee Williams may be the best contemporary playwright America has ever seen (may he rest in peace). The story is flawless, and the scene directions are so specific and meaningful. Every word is filled with intent, every color is painted through the text, and the notice is timeless. The relationships the characters share are well flushed out and highly sophisticated. Williams even describes the melody playing during scenes. I hope you read this over and over again, just as I do. A timeless classic, a masterpiece of American Theatre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (New Directions Paperbook) []  2020-1-23 19:1

    I bought a copy of this play in book form because I had a hard time understanding the dialogue in the movie. I also have a cat named Blanche Dubois, because of her shy and retiring nature, and reliance on the kindness of a stranger - me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (New Directions Paperbook) []  2020-1-23 19:1

    Lovely tale. Vivien Leigh seemed miscast as Blanche. I love her. But Blanche has a washed up glamour, and Vivi is too vibrant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    A amazing read about someone who took the possibility we all dream of taking, leaving it all behind and moving to one of the most attractive islands in Europe. The book has a lot of brief stories of the authors journey along with valuable insight of what life is like in Croatia. My family and I visited Hvar island several years ago, I want we had read this book before our trip it would have helped us have fun more of the island.I thoroughly enjoyed the format of the book, written in short chapters each an insightful adventure. A fast simple read that gave me much more than expected, highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    The a lot of situations Paul experienced in Croatia so far, I can relate to. Either when im in Croatia or Australia hahaOne situation that sticks to mind, is the Wine barrel with the name "Pol" written on it hahaFantastic read !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    A delightful accurate read capturing the a lot of cultural differences when moving from the refined English manners to Hvar's natural rustic lifestyle. With Hvar being the homeland of my father (who immigrated to Australia at the beginning of the ww2). I have always felt a close connection to the land. Your book was most enjoyable confirming all stories heard as a kid and clearly expressed your love of your fresh home and your love of writing. What a search you are to the tourism of Croatia. You have opened the globe to not only Hvar but also Croatia.....you have been busy. Thank you for inspiring me to follow my dreams and discover more of attractive Hvar!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (New Directions Paperbook) []  2020-1-23 19:1

    A classic, but not as fun to read in contemporary times where these behaviors are outdated

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    Island life style, humor, interesting peapol having its own funny stories, and life choises.Hvar is also my town, island is my choise, and it feels amazing that domestic foreigns have understanding and do accept and are ce that Paul - Pol has postive attitude toward island, since island is not just sunny, sea, sunglasses, but much more, which You have to discover by yourself, and Paul gave a hintch how to approach ank You Pol.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    The book capture the uniqueness of the life on Hvar. I have also spent a decade on the island, but unlike the author, I have not been living there through the winter, but some time I will give it a try. Like the author has experienced, I have also experienced that the island has a lot of hidden treasures still to be discovered. The book has revealed some fresh ones to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Named Jeanne: Historical Western Romance []  2020-9-23 20:10

    A amazing story. A man had lost his wife and his sister persuaded him to post an advertisement for a Bride. A girl had been writing to him when she became deathly ill she asked an Orphan mate to take her place. A must read for those who have fun historical western romance kindle books from Amazon at a unique price and from a delightful author who keeps me wondering what next for the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (New Directions Paperbook) []  2020-1-23 19:1

    I'm in no position to review Tennessee Williams. Plenty of scholars have done this far better than I ever could. I'll be seeing this play this summer in Fresh York, so I've purchased this to go through before we see it. I vaguely remember the context from high school, but it has been eye-opening to reread this again. What a powerful, brutal play!I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    An perfect read that is both entertaining and informative. From little cultural nuances, to the outright uncanny I feel as though i picked up a amazing introduction of the subtleties of both Hvar and Dalmatian culture and lifestyle. Coincidentally, it could probably double as the first lesson in a crash course survival tutorial for foreigners in both Balkan Business and True Estate dealings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    A amazing read for anyone who has been to Hvar or planning to e things changing ? Probably not . . . that is the charm to the put I adbury captures the quirkiness of the Island and the often frustrating bureaucracy its operates e characters are amazing and the stories seem true - the book puts a smile on your face with tales that are hilarious - as long as they are event to someone else !A really amazing book that you can fly through and think about after.Hvar ? An awesome put to visit and spend time !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    Well written and very funny! I only want the font was larger, created these old eyes ache.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lavender, Dormice and a Donkey Named Mercedes []  2020-1-22 21:59

    a truly lovely book, gives you the flavour of living on a dalmation island all its trails and tribulations. And the pure joy of having the honour to live in such an incredable place. If your planning to visit or even move there! this is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (New Directions Paperbook) []  2020-1-23 19:1

    There’s a powerful drive and passion in a lot of of the characters in A Streetcar Named Desire. A definite rawness in emotion and complexity is within a lot of of the scenes and situations.I had read A Streetcar Named Desire once before, but never really caught on at how so much is working underneath the surface of the dialogue. In a lot of estimations, Blanche is a hero deeply rooted in pathos and tragedy. Her vision of what the globe should be, as opposed to what it truly is, is at the center of her unhinging. Arriving to her sister’s apartment in Fresh Orleans, she has taken a leave of absence from her teaching, and there are more undercurrent problems that have taken keep of her, most notably losing Belle Reve, their childhood home. At her opposite, Stanley, Stella’s husband, represents the brute, harsh, realities of the world.I think that, in a lot of respects, Williams creates an intensity that builds as the play moves forward until the dramatic final scene. There is a power in Stanley and Blanche’s confrontations, especially in the final scenes as we learn more and more about Blanche’s past. These moments are written so eloquently, so human, clearly by someone who has experienced, witnessed, and reflected on the impact of human sufferings and failings. In short, clearly Williams was a man who could project true human situations into dialogue in such a clear, convincing way.A Streetcar Named Desire is a very strong and thought-provoking play, with characters who breathe powerful emotion throughout, making the scenes really come to life. It is no wonder that this epic play was created into a fine classic 1951 movie with Marlon Brando as Stanley and Vivien Leigh as Blanche.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (New Directions Paperbook) []  2020-1-23 19:1

    I knew nothing of Tennessee Williams when I bought this. The title implied something romantic or passionate. Nope. Just women abuse, rape, and crappy men. The author liked to confront society with it's screwed up ways. I can imagine the stir this as a play in its era would have caused. In today's world, it's not as enjoyable to read as it just leaves you feeling poor for women in that time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Streetcar Named Desire (New Directions Paperbook) []  2020-1-23 19:1

    Streetcar isn’t played out yet! This reading comes some 30 years after my first and the play really holds up well. The people are easily recognizable not as icons or stars but as flawed individuals. I listened to an audiobook as a I read along and the audio play failed to convey much of the action. Seeing the words on paper was devastating. “What have I done to my sister?” Stella will hear herself ask that for years to come.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386