a field guide to the street names of central cairo Reviews & Opinions


Submit a field guide to the street names of central cairo review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    When the first edition of this book was released in 2010 it immediately became an indispensable tutorial for paleontologists, paleo-artists and dinosaur enthusiasts. The release of the 2nd edition, with updates that appear to contain discoveries through the end of 2015, expands on this "masterwork" with the inclusion of fresh species and fresh and updated illustrations. Some may take problem with Paul's approach of "clumping" similar species into single genus names (i.e.: Lambeosaurus lambei is listed as Hypacrosaurus lambei), but all-in-all, this is a minor problem given the comprehensiveness and quality of the book, overall. It's worth mentioning that this is not a "kid's" dinosaur book. While there are loads of Paul's colourful illustrations, the focus here is on science and species differentiation. The majority of the illustrations are of Paul's skeletal reconstructions. Hopefully this release signifies an intent to continue to modernize The Princeton Field Tutorial to Dinosaurs on an ongoing basis.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    The 2nd edition of The Princeton Field Tutorial to Dinosaurs was one I looked forward to reading ever since it was announced. I was not disappointed by it. Within are over 100 fresh dinosaurs, some of which even I, a dinosaur enthusiast and expert (despite lack of formal training), had never heard of. The illustrations within are superb; the old photos from the previous ver have been enhanced and restored (sometimes showing a greater extent than in the previous edition) and are now accompanied by fresh paintings even more stunning. There are some some theories place forth by the author I don't agree with, but with dinosaurs, things constantly change. No theory is truly set in stone. My only hope is that there will be a third edition to further supplement what is known and any fresh discoveries in the future. For anyone into dinosaurs, this is a excellent tutorial into telling a T. rex from a Titanosaur to a Carnotaurus from a Chasmosaurus; each animal for which there is amazing material is shown with a skeleton and a lifelike illustration that shows just what it might have looked like, with accurate info regarding when, where, and with what it lived, making it well worth its price. In all, I give it a solid 9.9 out of 10. If you wish to complete your dinosaur book collection with a serious and attractive tome, then this is the book for you. A excellent addition for any private library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    This is a unbelievable book. As a longtime fan of Paul's Predatory Dinosaurs of the World, I am very happy with this fresh work. Paul's conventional reconstructions are not the highest quality dinosaur art out there, but they are among the most accurate. His skeletal reconstructions are wonderful! They lack two things: a scale and an indication of which parts are and are not preserved. That is not important in a book for laymen, but this book is actually useful to professionals, albeit in a limited way. I have used it in rare circumstances for research, and I am sure I am not the only far as what you really wish out of a dinosaur book, this is a amazing overview of the group. Paul's idiosyncratic taxonomy is a hindrance : he is a "lumper," and you won't search your favorites, like Diablosaurus or Tarbosaurus, except perhaps as footnotes. This causes confusion (for me, anyway) about dinosaur diversity. Also, while the "field guide" format is necessarily telegraphic, it would have been amazing to have a few more notes than provided, especially regarding Paul's taxonomic choices.I cannot emphasize enough that these are MINOR quibbles. If your child is the kind who knows every dinosaur name by heart, buy them this book. If you are really interested and looking for an entry into the famous literature, this is a amazing reference. If you really like skeletons, this is an exceptional book! Even if you are interested in dinosaurs in passing, this book is worth it. If you are a fan of Greg Paul and you don't have this book, you need to begin saving up!Dinosaur discoveries are created at a high frequency these days. The recent edition (2nd) is amazingly up-to-date, and I suspect Paul is already accumulating material for a fresh edition. This one is worth buying the recent edition, but older editions are fine for the casual summary: buy. Buy buy buy!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on a field guide to the street names of central cairo or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch a field guide to the street names of central cairo video reviews and related movies:

    See Lesley Lababidi speaks about "A Field Guide to the Street Names of Central Cairo" on youtube.

     related image

    See Humphrey Davies explains how Cairo's streets are named on youtube.

     related image

    See Auc press story on youtube.

     related image

    See State of the Field 2016: Archaeology of Egypt – First Session on youtube.

     related image

    See ARCE Fellows: Paul Tchir on youtube.

     related image

    See ARCE Fellows: Michael Wenzel on youtube.

     related image

    See ARCE Fellows: Natalia Suit on youtube.

     related image

    See Imperialism: Crash Course World History #35 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    Capitalizing on the first edition, the second edition capitalizes on fresh insights into the appearance and lifestyle of non-avian dinosaurs, including the first named feathered dinosaur with bat's wings, the oldest abelisaur from Patagonia, updated knowledge of the relationships of Megalosaurus's closest kin, the revalidation of Brontosaurus (and sinking of Elosaurus and Eobrontosaurus into that genus), the discovery of the first complete skeletons of Deinocheirus (which was previously known only from the arm bones), and increasing understanding of basal titanosauriform evolution. It also happens to correct some taxonomic errors in the original edition, like keeping Ajancingenia separate from Conchoraptor, listing Dyoplosaurus and Scolosaurus as distinct from Euoplocephalus, and hold Eustreptospondylus separate from Streptospondylus. However, I have strongly disagreed with Paul's continued treatment of Dollodon as valid given that latest authors have treated it as the same animal as Mantellisaurus.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    Paul' s amazing dino- arts and skeletal reconstructions alone would obtain five stars. Even through I personally prefer Scott Hartman's. The contents about dinosaur classification through , can be describe as"unusual" at best. Remember, Paul is the first to lump deinonychus into velociraptors. Surely he doesn't do that anymore? No, this book is still full of all kinds of lumping. From the ones that kind makes sense.(tarbosaurus into tyrannosaurus) To the kinds that were just weird(giganotosaurus into carcharodontosaurus ).........

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    It covers the recent dinosaur information/ profiles i have been hoping for including Anzu, Nasutoceratops, Concavenator, Yutyrannus, the fresh Deinocheirus and even Brontosaurus as a separate species from Apatosaurus.I have fun reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    Far more informative on the biological history of dinosaurs than I thought it would be! The info are interesting and explained in a clear manner. The art work, especially the colourful pieces, are phenomenal and really support you visualize the different species within the book. Can't wait to read more of it. Highly suggest to anyone that wants to read a simplistic yet highly detailed explanation on the history of dinosaurs and the a lot of various species that used to inhabit our planet. I was also really amused to explore the analyses the book covers on how the dominance of mammals came about and the theoretical ideas behind what may have happened had the mass extinction of dinosaurs not actually occurred. Lots of amazing info at a amazing price!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    Bought this for my 19 year-old serious dinosaur expert nephew for his birthday. I had bought him the First Edition a few years back and he requested the Second when I asked him what was on his birthday want list this time around. He believes these Field Tutorials to be the most accurate, up-to-date info and illustrations in print.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    This is an HIGHLY informative book on the dinosaurs, and it is a really huge book, thicker than i first thought. I got it 2 days ago and am sorta reading it often and Im not even through half the book! It is fully illustrated and dinosaur fans will definitely learn some cool fresh things they never knew about. It covers nearly 750 dinosaur species, and it covers the history, prehistory, and biology of the dinosaurs, like the dinosaur renisanse and dinosaur anatomy. Although there are a few inaccuracies I spotted, like the spinosaur's adult size/strength being underestimated, and a few other undersized theropod things. other than that, it's a amazing and unbelievable book. Would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs: Second Edition (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-21 21:30

    I bought this book about 1.5 years ago for my partner. I knew he really wanted a book that provided more than what we typically obtain in a dino book. I asked my paleontology professor for some recommendations and read through those, some were too dense, some weren't dense enough. This one is truly a unbelievable balance between the hard reading, interesting facts, and nice illustrations. We are still picking it up and reading it all the time, we even just took it to a museum to pair with the dinosaur exhibit. It's informative, interesting, and easily holds your attention. I really recommend this for people looking for that 'next step' in learning about dinosaurs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Muscle Cars Field Guide: American Supercars 1960-2000 (Warman's Field Guide) review []  2019-12-23 20:16

    It really isn't a poor tutorial unless you obtain it on Kindle which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. The illustrations just do not come out well. Other than that, it is a beautiful amazing reference for American vehicles from a bygone era.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Muscle Cars Field Guide: American Supercars 1960-2000 (Warman's Field Guide) review []  2019-12-23 20:16

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Muscle Cars Field Guide: American Supercars 1960-2000 (Warman's Field Guide) review []  2019-12-23 20:16

    Amazing history & information.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Muscle Cars Field Guide: American Supercars 1960-2000 (Warman's Field Guide) review []  2019-12-23 20:16

    Excellent for all motor-heads, lots of info even if you think that you know all there is to know and are real to your type of car there is something for everyone, glad I got it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Muscle Cars Field Guide: American Supercars 1960-2000 (Warman's Field Guide) review []  2019-12-23 20:16

    Bought this for my son, he loves cars, and he really liked this book. I definately recommend it to those just starting out learning about cars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Muscle Cars Field Guide: American Supercars 1960-2000 (Warman's Field Guide) review []  2019-12-23 20:16

    Fans of quick and strong high performance vehicles - the muscle vehicles - will love the Muscle Vehicles Field Guide. Rather than just focusing on the Golden Age of Muscle Cars, John Gunnell shares info about literally hundreds of various vehicles from the 60s through the nnell lists historical info about the cars, as well as the original prices of muscle vehicles and values of current ones. Because the Camaro is about to be reintroduced by Chevrolet, I found this section especially can have fun this book from a lot of perspectives: as a nostalgic and sentimental look at vehicles from America's past; as a method to explore more about what powers our transportation; or as a method to imagine the appearance and performance of future vehicles. In any case, we highly recommend John Gunnell's Muscle Vehicles Field Guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Muscle Cars Field Guide: American Supercars 1960-2000 (Warman's Field Guide) review []  2019-12-23 20:16

    This amazing small book will transport you back to a time where 475 horsepower V8 American 'muscle cars' cost about 3 to 4 thousand dollars, and did 0-60 in 6 seconds or under! If words like 'Hemi', 'Ram Air', and 'Rocket 455' give you goosebumps, you know what I mean. Perfect full page images and stats as well! Easily 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Muscle Cars Field Guide: American Supercars 1960-2000 (Warman's Field Guide) review []  2019-12-23 20:16

    Amazing pick up for those people who wish to know alittle bit about all the amazing muscle vehicles of our time. The pics are amazing & the descritions & information about the vehicles are interesting. Fits in your back pocket.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Muscle Cars Field Guide: American Supercars 1960-2000 (Warman's Field Guide) review []  2019-12-23 20:16

    Mopar fans - DO NOT buy this book. It is full of numerous errors. The Author and Publisher should be ashamed. Just proves anyone can write a book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    Not overly impressed with the layout. The pictures are in one section, and the info in another. I worry that this could obtain annoying. I do like that the various monster types are split into catergories, but more could probably be done to differentiate these sections, and/or the habitat type, location, etc). The little dust jacket is a bit odd and flimsy, but the book doesn't look very amazing without it either. I think the book will be useful, and beautiful to flick through the pictures too, but these probably won't be my first choice for future field guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    It's very thorough on what it does cover but I think it should have been split into several tutorials covering regional locations such as the East Coast, the Gulf Coast and the West Coast. Because of the fact it tries to cover all areas, it is not nearly as comprehensive as it could be had it been split up. I also think there could have been a more comprehensive set of color plates as a number of animals described have no image at all and some even have no line drawing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    So interesting. As with all NAS books, lots of learning in these pages. The photography is gorgeous and since I live , surrounded by water and beaches, this is excellent for my learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    I haven’t had the time to sit my butt down to look the two unbelievable shell and beach life books I purchased but, I’m certain they will keep a wealth of info and attractive pictures because I grew up having one of their bird books in our home (Northeastern) and it was fabulous!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    Perfect resource book on Seashore creatures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    I love this book i love the ocean and i beach come and this book is just what i ankyou

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    We bought this for our eleven-year-old grandson, who is already fascinated with and knowledgeable about marine life. I knew about the Audubon guides, because my parents hold them at their put on the beach, and my husband and I use them to identify the wildlife we see on our walks there. The organization and color images support us to search the monsters we've observed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    I really like the tutorial as a whole. A lot of a lot of types of sea life and explanations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE BIBLE FOR SNORKELING....THIS IS A MOST IF YOU LAKE TO DO DIVING AND OR FISHING WITH YOUR KIDS

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to Seashore Creatures: North America (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-4 21:4

    This is a very informative and well photographed book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    I always loved the vivid pictures in these books. This is a amazing resource for most of your major plants and animals of the Mid-Atlantic. However, when it comes to plants, it only covers the major species, for which I have to knock off at least a star. It is not all inclusive to say the least and it can lead one to incorrectly identify a plant. Like most all of these type books, it must be used as a reference in concert with other books as it is not a stand alone guide. It also is not amazing that useful for plant identification in the winter. I do like the layout, maps with geographical range, and the fact it contains additional info such as warnings for toxic plants as well as notes on edibility.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    As an fan of the outdoors, I often end up carrying several field tutorials with me to identify wildflowers, trees, and animal tracks. This compact tutorial provides a resource for all of the above plus stars in the night sky, birds, insects, snakes, spiders, butterflies, reptiles, and just about every other type of living thing you can expect to search in the region. While it isn't as exhaustive as my more specific field guides, it's breadth of subjects covered create it an invaluable addition to any outdoor enthusiast's backpack.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    We are relative newcomers to PA and although a lot of of the flora and fauna we observe in our fresh surroundings are the same as what we were familiar with in NJ, there are enough that are fresh that we required a tutorial to support us identify them. This tutorial does the trick. For example, it confirmed that the critter ambling up our driveway was a mink, and gave us names for the a lot of dragonflies that we observe in our back yard. Although it is not as all-inclusive and descriptive as a bird book or a tree book or a wildflower book might be, it identifies most of what we observe so that we can more easily look up a more detailed description if we so desire. We are getting a lot of use out of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    This Audubon tutorial is very good. I used it bird watching on Maryland's Eastern Shore, as well as kayaking in Northern Virginia. I've also used it to identify beetles and snakes in the region. However, I think some sections may be too limited, i.e. insects. Yes, I know there are a ton of insects and spiders, but I still think they could have included more. I highly recommend it, though.I am now buying it for my 10-year-old nephew to have fun while using his fresh binoculars during scouting. My brother and sister-in-law say it will be excellent for him. His reading skills and science knowledge are above average.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    Amazing book to carry along on outside adventures, pictures are accurate and bright.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    these are amazing field tutorials for reviewing a region and selecting parks to hike

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    As described

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    Nice for fast reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    Very amazing overall. But missing several necessary entries (like kudzu). I feel like Virginia could have been grouped with the southeastern states because a lot of Virginia plants and animals aren't in this book because they aren't abundant in the other Mid-Atlantic states.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Mid-Atlantic States: New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia (National Audubon Society Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    First, I must confess: I have no actual experience in the neotropics and therefore my review cannot vouch for the accuracy of the illustrations, text, or range maps. But I do have tons of titles on neotropical avifauna, and thus have content to compare this title to. I also haven't spent hours poring through this guide, so I will provide an modernize if I have spoken prematurely!That said, WOW. This field tutorial is beautiful. Unlike a lot of other field guides, this one is illustrated by the same artist throughout and therefore the plates are of a consistent quality: EXCELLENT. The illustrations alone are worth the purchase price. Leafing through the hummingbirds and trogons urges me to quit my job and hop on the next plane to Central America. Species on a single plate usually consist of birds facing the same direction (especially related species) facilitating field identification. Sexes, immatures, regional forms, and in-flight (where helpful) birds are depicted where appropriate. Species names are clearly labeled in bold print on each plate, unlike a handful of field tutorials which use numeration which requires more back-and-forth matching between plate and facing text.Speaking of the text, nothing to nitpick here: each species description covers distribution notes, abundance, identification, regional variation when applicable, habits/habitat, and voice. The info seems quite thorough; I'd still recommend having a copy of Stiles' and Skutch's "A Tutorial to the Birds of Costa Rica" for the extra info in the text (less than $10 used) but again, what is show in the volume is more than sufficient for a field s: The maps are very amazing indeed, and contain political boundaries (had to create mention of this as some tutorials do not contain this...grrrr!). The colors on the maps aren't what I am used to (I always liked blue for winter distribution, red for summer range, and purple [a mix or blue and red] for year-round presence). However, that fits in with "my world" here in the northern states (blue = cold = winter; red = warm = summer, etc). In this tutorial winter distribution is in brown, which makes sense me thinks (isn't November-April the dry season in Central America, hence dry = brown?). Breeding range is depicted in either light or dark green, depending on whether the breeder is a resident or visitor to the region. Migrations/wanderers are marked in pale brown, and there are other symbols used for vagrant, historic, and questionable ysically, the book is similarly-sized to the famous Sibley Tutorial covering North America north of Mexico. The CA tutorial is slightly shorter and slightly thicker, but overall they are close in dimensions. Therefore, you won't be stuffing this tome in your pant pocket, but looking at my bookshelves few field tutorials these days could! A backpack would accommodate the tutorial nicely.Overall: Five stars. No question! I did search one error, however (and it would only be reasonable to assume there may be a few minor others): the maps on the turquoise-browed and blue-throated motmots are reversed. Hey, these things happen!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    I have 6 various field tutorials for Central and South America countries and this one is easily the the other reviewer pointed it the field notes and art work are e author and artist are field research associates for the American Museum of Natural History. Theyspent ten years working on this tutorial and it shows. If you plan on birding in Central America, take thisoutstanding tutorial with you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    I hate to give this book three stars because it is very comprehensive, but the plates are horrible. Not sure if this was by design or a mistake in the printing process, but they are so subdued and darkened, it's as if I am looking at it through a pair of dark sunglasses (my eyesight is 20/20). Background page color ranges from white to dark tan almost brown. Who ever thought brown woodcreepers would look amazing on a brown background should not be in the field tutorial book business. Because of the matt or haze appearance, colors are dull and info are muted, even on the pages with the lighter background. The plates actually look worse than what is seen in the pictures I am attaching. (Garrigues and Dean CR Bird Book on right in picture used for comparison.) My camera automatically lightened the photos. I'll be returning this book and hope they fix the issue in another printing. If they do, I will definitely buy again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    The Zona Tropica tutorials for individual countries (Costa Rica, Panama, and presumably Nicaragua) are probably the best fit for your field pouch, but this larger tutorial can be a very useful supplement. Species illustrations, concise text and range maps are well aware, however that (as described in BirdForum) some (most) plates in some copies have a decidedly misty or faded quality. That description applies to mine. If you absolutely must have a "bright" copy you might consider buying through someone on the Marketplace and communicating in advance about your concern.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    This book sets the standard for birding guidebooks. The plates are wow attractive - and really capture the birds you see. I have created several trips to Central America and am looking forward to more. I have all the guidebooks to Central America and this is the e one disadvantage of this book is it's huge so it may not be the book you use in the field as each Central America country has its own tutorial book but this book may be the one you wish to study from as it shows more plumages.. Innovations abound such as the trogan section where birds are shown both front and back. If you have an interest in birds of this region - buy this book - you will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    I've been birding in Central America since 2002, and have amassed a little library of field tutorials and other birding resources for the region. While there are a lot of perfect tutorials to specific countries & sub-regions, it's amazing to finally have a single field tutorial for the entire area. But this tutorial does much more than just combine what's already been published into one book. The illustrations are exquisitely detailed and lifelike, and when applicable present all the relevant ages, sexes, and plumage variations. The range maps are top-class and include, where relevant, well-known but isolated websites separate from species' core ranges. The descriptions of preferred habitats, geographical variation (often applicable but underappreciated in widespread species that span such a biodiverse region), behaviors and vocalizations are also extremely helpful. The plates do seem a bit pale/frosty, but to me this isn't a major problem and doesn't give false impressions of species' plumage or coloration that have infamously plagued other tutorials that suffered from color printing issues. In summary, this is instantly one of my favorite field guides, and to me is the fresh standard of quality in the northern Neotropics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    Because of the size, I search this book is best studied before and after my outings, rather than trying to carry it along on the trail. There isn't any reasonable method to reduce the size and still package in all the illustrations you need for the number of species in question. So I strongly recommend you use it (or any guide) in combination with having the Merlin application with the appropriate country's bird package downloaded for use in the field. I do have several older tutorials (such as Skutch) but there have been so a lot of name changes & splits in latest years I think you will be much happier if you add this up-to-date tutorial to your library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    Perfect book for birding

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    It's a book about Birds of Central America. I use it to identify Birds of Central America. Some of the birds in the book can be found outside Central America. Maybe they could have titled the book 'Birds of Central America some of which can be found outside Central America sometimes' or maybe they wouldn't title it this method as it would be too much to type in if one was ordering it or searching for it. It's also necessary to know where Central America is. If you wish to know about birds of Canada or Europe then don't buy this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of Central America: Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-18 0:0

    It's a bit bulky in the field, but unbelievable illustrations, amazing maps and information and well laid out. This is one of the best field tutorials I've come across. I love the Garrigues tutorial but this took the cake on our trip to Costa Rica latest spring. Can't recommend enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby Names: Enjoy Finding the Perfect Name for Your Baby Through the Most Complete and Simple Baby Names Guide with Special Meanings review []  2020-1-18 20:56

    While some of the names mentioned in this book were, in my opinion, actual contenders for consideration, I regret the mins of my life spent reading this that I will never obtain back. It reads like something a 15 year old going through a "rebellious phase" scribbled in her binder and passed a long to her mates to read. The combination of chapters 2 & 3...were just truly trashy and left me horrifically dumbfounded. To be fair though, the feelings that chapter 2 invoked were through no fault of the author, just the stupidity of celebrity. It did however, most likely intensify the powerful disdain of chapter 3 I felt.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby Names: Enjoy Finding the Perfect Name for Your Baby Through the Most Complete and Simple Baby Names Guide with Special Meanings review []  2020-1-18 20:56

    I bought this book because of the rave reviews and 99 cent Kindle price tag, but I have to be honest... I'm on the fence about whether this was even worth 99 cents. There is no comprehensive list of baby names (and only certain names have their meanings listed with them), it is a bunch of categories of baby names (strong, traditional, unique, Biblical, etc.), all of which I felt were lazy, incomplete lists with a lot of overlap. And despite the fact that the lists were conspicuously missing names that clearly belonged on them, they still managed to include names that didn't fit the category at all. And then there was the sloppy writing, with tons of misspellings and grammatical errors that couldn't possibly have withstood any kind of proofreading/editing. The top 100 lists and celebrity baby names were interesting, but all you have to do is Google that info and you can obtain it for free. My advice: if you wish a name in a certain category, Google it (e.g. "unique baby names"); you will obtain the same or better info for free. If you wish a comprehensive list of baby names, invest in a true book that includes a list of every name and variation of that name under the sun along with its meaning. They are out there, and when you are trying to choose the excellent name for your baby, they are worth the investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby Names: Enjoy Finding the Perfect Name for Your Baby Through the Most Complete and Simple Baby Names Guide with Special Meanings review []  2020-1-18 20:56

    If you interested in researching baby names with meanings this book might be of amazing help. This book contains everything you need to hold in mind when choosing a name for your fresh baby. This will be a very helpful book for expecting parents.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    As Described, in amazing condition. arrived on time can't live without is book is out of print and I am so glad we were able to search one is this amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    excellent....so far i have found only one problem...since 2009 and today 39th st is now caesar chavez blvd

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    I "loved" it. This is such a hot item in Portland that someone liberated this copy from my truck and left behind the $30 Starbucks cup. Go figure!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    Amazing reference. This will be excellent when online access is not available.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    The Thomas Tutorial for Portland is a unbelievable asset for those of us who appreciate actual books. It won't take you down dead end roads, give you left turns onto one-way streets, and lets you see the layout in perfect perspective. It is shame it is no longer published.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    Relocating to Portland soon, and this will be SO helpful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    Been using these books for years now and in fact had wore out my old ey are very helpful,Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    Perfect unbelievable so very useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    I ordered this for my son so I can't review the book but it arrived quickly and in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Thomas Guide 2009 Portland: Street Guide review []  2020-1-13 19:41

    I remember once when Thomas Tutorials were ubiquitous for Portland, and this was also real for a lot of other US cities. But nowadays so a lot of of my contemporaries just use a map www service and maybe print out a map if we're travelling and don't have a web connection. Then, cellphones increasingly do have a web connection. So why do you need this book?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    This was advertised as a travel guide; it is not. It is a collection of childish drawings and boring, useless essays. It had about two paragraphs worth of useful info for someone traveling to Austin, and that info can easily be found on the internet. This is the worst "travel guide" we have ever seen. I returned it immediately.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    Interesting read — NOT a amazing travel tutorial book. I bought it for my home town, but it wouldn’t be of much support to a stranger to Austin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    After getting this tutorial for myself and learning even more about my hometown than I anticipated, this will now be my go-to bonus for newcomers, and friends/family that are visiting! A short list of shops, restaurants, and experiences feel more like a handwritten list from a mate rather than the typical "travel book" or online review site. Everything was spot on. The essays in the back section of the book are beautifully written, and nice to see some familiar names from globe class writers in there. Props for lifting up local illustrators and writers - Thank you! This will live on my coffee table forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    After being gifted the Austin guide, my wife and I decided to use it to curate our 10-year anniversary getaway. Hotel, drinks, meals, activities, and diversions - all from the book. We had a blast! This book was our travel guide, our educational text, and our cultural reference. Its really hard to beat lounging at the Hotel San Jose courtyard, drink in hand, feet in pool, and reading The Groove by John Spong straight out of the guide. Thanks Wildsam for an incredibly memorable trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    This is an invaluable resource if you are traveling to Austin or if you are a current Austinite like me! It's so much more than a typical tourist tutorial book (though it [email protected]#$%! dozens of hot spots on the Austin culture map); it informs and inspires in all things art, culture, and history - and for Austin a lot of melody and BBQ of course. I come back to my field tutorial again and again, treating it more like a well-informed travel companion than just a tutorial to tourist packed eateries.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    I hate feeling like a tourist when i travel. Dropping in for a day or two and seeing the sights without really experiencing the town create me feel like a certain first lady touring Africa in her pith helmet...blech. That's why i love the Wildsam field guides...they feel like a shortcut to the heart of a city...a tutorial to the places, people, and stories you normally only obtain by living there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    Love LOVE this book. We like to travel, but since becoming parents have have zero time to plan and poke around for the hidden gems a fresh local has to offer -- look no further! This was rich in history and reccommendations. Crisp design, excellent size and finally a travel book that is simple on the eyes. Will definately buy other cities!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    exactly what i was looking for....not my parent's travel tutorial with more touristy spots but rather something that would immerse me in the place...the essays and short interviews with interesting locals are two of my favorite features. gonna check out the NOLA tutorial next

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    I was gifted several tutorials and I love them. It's harder and harder to trust online reviews when you're looking for a amazing local spot and so these tutorials give you thoughtful recommendations for the best breakfast, coffee, dive bar, etc.But, what's amazing is that once I obtain to that recommended coffee shop, I pull out the tutorial and read about the town - stories, history, rfect size so it's simple to n't use this if you wish to hints on visiting the State Capital - use it to search those memorable local spots and then, once you're there, have fun reading more about the lesser known, unbelievable parts of Austin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildsam Field Guides: Austin (American City Guide Series) review []  2019-12-26 19:9

    Loved the authenticity of the Austin Field Guide. It’s full of insight and depth into Austin’s history, culture and scene. Definitely worth your while if you’re looking to know what only the locals know. Obtain it and experience what makes Austin Austin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Insight Guides Central America (Travel Guide with Free eBook) review []  2019-12-27 19:0

    Well illustrated, relevant and entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NOAA: Weather Spotter's Field Guide: A Guide To Being A SKYWARN Spotter review []  2020-1-15 23:51

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NOAA: Weather Spotter's Field Guide: A Guide To Being A SKYWARN Spotter review []  2020-1-15 23:51

    Amazing tutorial for beginners!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NOAA: Weather Spotter's Field Guide: A Guide To Being A SKYWARN Spotter review []  2020-1-15 23:51

    Amazing reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NOAA: Weather Spotter's Field Guide: A Guide To Being A SKYWARN Spotter review []  2020-1-15 23:51

    As advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NOAA: Weather Spotter's Field Guide: A Guide To Being A SKYWARN Spotter review []  2020-1-15 23:51

    Perfect book, very informative. A must read for anyone wanting to become a spotter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NOAA: Weather Spotter's Field Guide: A Guide To Being A SKYWARN Spotter review []  2020-1-15 23:51

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NOAA: Weather Spotter's Field Guide: A Guide To Being A SKYWARN Spotter review []  2020-1-15 23:51

    Amazing tutorial but they're free on the NOAA website as a pdf file. It covers everything for their training course, how to identify storm conditions and what to do during a storm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    NOAA: Weather Spotter's Field Guide: A Guide To Being A SKYWARN Spotter review []  2020-1-15 23:51

    Why would you pay for it when you can obtain it free ????? It's online print it or save it to your phone .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Umbria - Blue Guide Chapter (from Blue Guide Central Italy) review []  2020-1-18 22:12

    This was such a helpful book, truly detailed and has extremely useful descriptions and explanations of art and architecture. Traveled all over Umbria and took this book (on my kindle) everywhere and referred to it often. Buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Umbria - Blue Guide Chapter (from Blue Guide Central Italy) review []  2020-1-18 22:12

    Very clear and informative. Thorough and detailed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Umbria - Blue Guide Chapter (from Blue Guide Central Italy) review []  2020-1-18 22:12

    Detail and historical notes very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Umbria - Blue Guide Chapter (from Blue Guide Central Italy) review []  2020-1-18 22:12

    It was very convenient to load this book on my tablet so that it was always available during our trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Umbria - Blue Guide Chapter (from Blue Guide Central Italy) review []  2020-1-18 22:12

    Very informative and simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Umbria - Blue Guide Chapter (from Blue Guide Central Italy) review []  2020-1-18 22:12

    amazing giude

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    This book is difficult to read in 3 various ways. First, the language is very high level. Second, it includes references that were immediately apparent in 1972 but not so now. Third, it is emotionally painful because we have created so very small progress. Described as a memoir, it's really a philosophical treatise that uses history for context. While powerful, the people who really need to read it never will. If you care anything about racism, civil rights, or the black experience in America, this is well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    Five stars indicate "I loved it" - and yet this is such a painful story, such an evaluation seems ironic. I love James Baldwin, however, whose searing honesty and eloquent prose never fail to carry the reader into a deeper understanding of the human condition, especially when one's skin is black. Baldwin is telling the painful stories within the black community, and the revelation of family matters makes this acc all the more compelling, as autobiography, as amazing literature. His ability to understand those who torment him, to describe his own awakenings in his journey, and his intense honesty create this a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    I can't obtain enough of James Baldwin. From Go Tell It On The Mountain to Fire Next Time and all in between, Baldwin offers both intellectual and canny insight into social problems that continue to metamorphose into the same issues in a various era. No Name In The Road does not disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    Baldwin’s writing is profound and deep. There is much meal for thought found on each and every page. Baldwin forces us to examine ourselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    Well depicts the black struggle that is still precarious today. Created hopeful that a mind can still triumph over mild or extreme bigotry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    James Baldwin, brilliant as ever!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    I bought fir my boyfriend, and he loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    Just as strong as when I first read this book back in the late 70's.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    Perfect reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Name in the Street review []  2020-1-19 22:2

    Outstanding !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Competency Assessment Field Guide: A Real World Guide for Implementation and Application review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Best way of validating competencies in the hospital!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Competency Assessment Field Guide: A Real World Guide for Implementation and Application review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    Gave very practical applications of implementing the competency assessment and reminders for making the the implementation successful in your organization.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Competency Assessment Field Guide: A Real World Guide for Implementation and Application review []  2019-12-23 19:35

    This book is extremely helpful in giving one an idea of the ups and downs to anticipate while transiting the competency process.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    vgia 50 inch christmas tree skirt with snowflake pattern christmas decoration reviews park designs black iron christmas stocking hanger reviews unique industries paw patrol party game for 16 reviews ytc quoth the black raven standing on a stack of books water globe reviews the san francisco music box company rotating train and mountain village snow globe reviews hallmark christmas in evergreen sleigh ride musical snow globe with light snow globes reviews raz imports santa selfie lighted water lantern 11 inch lighted christmas snow globe with swirling glitter reviews vintage red pick up truck tree 5 inch resin holiday water snow globe reviews nightmare before christmas jack skellington on a sled sleigh water globe snow globe musical light up reviews raz imports nativity scene lighted water lantern 8 inch lighted christmas snow globe with swirling glitter battery operated and usb powered reviews roman santa with snowflakes musical we wish you a merry christmas 100mm snow globe reviews bzb goods 4 foot tall lighted st patricks day inflatable leprechaun holding shamrock cute lucky indoor outdoor lawn yard art decoration reviews outdoor inflatable movie screens reviews nicrolandee hanging decorations iridescent decor for room wedding birthday party supplies baby bridal shower fairy princess rainbow show decor reviews zhuangyi handmade swedish gnome santa scandinavian gnome plush figurines gnome elf christmas ornaments gifts home christmas decoration reviews new 2017 swarovski 5257589 annual edition christmas ornament reviews alazco christmas holiday ornament hanger hooks reviews green joy 20pcs christmas ornament balls clear plastic ball fillable craft reviews hallmark keepsake christmas 2019 reviews gejoy 24 packed valentines felt heart ornaments valentines heart ornaments pink and red felt heart hanging decorations wedding party favors reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter