a history of the world in 6 glasses Reviews & Opinions


Submit a history of the world in 6 glasses review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    ​The novel A History of the Globe in 6 Glasses by Tom Standage is an intriguing book describing six key beverages that impacted humanity and the globe in revolutionary ways. In chronological order, the beverages contain beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and Coca-Cola. The drinks are used as markers throughout globe history related to how various ores tag time such as “the stone-age”. Various drinks have various effects on humanity, but all contribute to the advancing of culture whether it’s a revolution of the people or just a culinary addition. Standage does a brilliant job describing the ways people and their culture change as a effect of the beverages. Each and every drink serves a purpose and has/continues to impact humanity. I decided to read this book because it was highly recommended, and I was interested to see globe history from a various view in this case from the culinary advancement of beverages. In conclusion, I would highly recommend this book, because it is an perfect read for any time period as it covers almost all of globe history from 50,000 years ago to modern day. I found this book interesting because of the drinks were chosen and how he used them to define major turning points throughout history, giving a fresh perspective on the history itself. Something I want the author did better is go more in depth of how all of the beverages still affect us today and the outcomes of their existence. Standage’s writing style is very laid back and casual making it very simple to follow and written almost more a letter than a factual book. Recommended for almost any age.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    I got this book last-minute before a flight as reading material. It didn't quite latest me that long though as I kept reading it after arriving at my destination.I have read a decent number of books about meal and drink, but what sets this book apart for me is how it embeds itself into a historical context. Maybe it's just that I didn't take enough history classes in high school, but this book actually created me very interested in knowing about the history of the Persian empire, the different revolutions and monarchies in France. Did I learn how to create a amazing cappuccino or brew my own beer? Nope, but this is not a recipe book.Just to re-emphasize, I really dig how the book basically spans the entirety of human history from the dawn of civilization to modern day and beyond. The writing style is also interesting, entertaining, and at the same time historical/scientific. I'll have to check out his "Edible Hisstory of Humanity" next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    A History of the Globe in 6 Glasses by Tom Standage"A History of the Globe in 6 Glasses" is a view of the history of the globe through the lens of beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and cola. Science correspondent and accomplished author Tom Standage has come up with a clever book that shows how the aforementioned drinks were reflections of the eras in which they were created. This 311-page book is broken out by the six drinks (two chapters per drink): Beer in Mesopotamia and Egypt, Wine in Greece and Rome, Spirits in the Colonial Period, Coffee in the Age of Reason, Tea and the British Empire and Coca-Cola and the Rise of America.Positives:1. A fun method to learn about history.2. A well-written and well researched book. Reads like a novel.3. A fascinating topic. The author cleverly charts the flow of history through six beverages: beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and cola.4. Every beverage has a story and the author does a amazing job of relaying it.5. Amazing use of primary science to explain how the beverages were discovered.6. Interesting tidbits throughout the book. This is the greatest strength of this book. Some of the stories will definitely stick with you.7. Interesting perspective on beer, "it seems most likely that beer drinking was just one of the a lot of factors that helped to hint the balance away from hunting and gathering and toward farming and a sedentary lifestyle based on little settlements".8. Guaranteed to learn something amusing, spoiler alert..."The workers who built the pyramids were paid in beer..."9. I love the stories of how mythology and beverages intertwine, "According to one legend, Dionysus, the god of wine, fled to Greece to escape beer-loving Mesopotamia".10. The philosophy of drinking wine.11. What wine represented to the Romans. Once again, some amusing stories, a recurring theme of this book.12. The relationship between some of these beverages to medicine/health.13. The relationship between the beverages and religion. Amazing...14. The invention of distillation.15. Interesting stories of how some of these beverages were used as a form of currency.16. The evil trade of slavery and how alcohol was related. Enlightening information.17. Search out what truly was the decisive factor in the Royal Navy's win over the French and Spanish fleets.18. The impact of rum for the North American colonists. Everything to do with American history and its relation to alcohol was fascinating. Colonialism by the bottles.19. The second half of the book dealing with caffeinated drinks was superior to the first half.20. The diffusion of rationalism and the relationship to coffee. Amazing stuff.21. The history of coffeehouses. The drink of intellectuals. Amazing stories.22. Each chapter opens up with a quote, "Better to be deprived of meal for three days than of tea for one". Chinese proverb.23. China, England and it's a tea thing. Fascinating history.24. The fascinating history of tea. Very famous with women, who had been excluded from coffeehouses.25. My favorite chapters in the book had to do with Coca Cola.26. Coca Cola and lawsuits. "Wiley place Coca-Cola on trial in 1911, in a federal case titled the United States v. Forty Barrels and Twenty Kegs of Coca-Cola. In court, religious fundamentalists railed versus the evils of Coca Cola, blaming its caffeine content for promoting sexual transgressions..." I live for tidbits like this.27. Coca Cola the global icon.28. The epilogue provides the impact of water.29. A cool appendix on ancient drinks.30. Notes and gatives:1. As much fun as the book was to read, the quality wasn't consistent throughout. To illustrate my point, I felt that the chapters on caffeinated drinks (coffee, tea and coca-cola) were superior to the ones pertaining to the alcoholic beverages (beer, wine and spirits).2. In desperate need of a timeline chart. The author has a tendency of going back and forth in time which may cause the reader to lose their point of reference a timeline chart describing the main milestones of a given beverage would have certainly helped.3. The lack of charts and diagrams that would have aided the reader in understanding the full impact of the beverages involved. As an example, consumption of a given drink by country...4. A bit repetitive at times. Sometimes the author has a tendency to overstay his welcome with some tidbits...5. The history that is here is really simplified. This book is more an entertaining look at the impact and influence the beverages had in the context of the societies in which they were consumed. That being said, don't underestimate what is here.6. The Kindle ver of the book garbled up some words.7. Links not included for summary, I enjoyed reading "A History of the Globe in 6 Glasses". It's a fun and at times enlightening read. Cocktails will never be the same, now that I have added to my repertoire thanks in huge part to all the fun facts that I picked up from this book. That being said, the danger with a book like this is that it is too general for history buffs and it may not be interesting enough early on to hold the casual reader engaged. So as long as you are not expecting an in-depth history lesson and have a small patience with the drier sections of this book, it will go down smoothly and ultimately lead to a satisfying experience. I recommend it.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on a history of the world in 6 glasses or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch a history of the world in 6 glasses video reviews and related movies:

    See A History of the World in 6 Glasses Rap Music Video on youtube.

     related image

    See A History of the World in 6 Glasses Part I Beer on youtube.

     related image

    See 6 Glasses and Themes of AP World History on youtube.

     related image

    See WHAP 6 Glasses Summer Reading Spirits 3 in the Age of Exploration on youtube.

     related image

    See 6 Glasses Coffee on youtube.

     related image

    See Dave Martin A History of the World in 6 Glasses on youtube.

     related image

    See The History Of The World in 6 Glasses // Beer on youtube.

     related image

    See An Overview of Wine in “A History of the World in 6 Glasses” | #hadihistory on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    My grandson was reading this book for his AP Globe History class. I started looking at the book and thought it looked beautiful interesting so I got it on my Kindle. Wow! What a amazing book! I learned so much about the history of all our well known beverages and how they tie in with globe history. I would never have guessed that it would turn out to be such an enjoyable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    This book is evidence of the power of a amazing idea to organize one's thoughts and arguments so as to create them compelling. Other than the air we breathe, which hasn't really changed all that much over the years, there is nothing so universally necessary as liquid refreshment. Mr. Standage's decision to structure his history of the globe upon beverages is brilliant. It is precisely because the drinks discussed remain so familiar to us that the history is so relevant and interesting. Though we understand quite well why alcohol has such a prominent put in history, who would have thought that water itself is only now just emerging as the drink of choice? or that the antibacterial properties of Tea supported the industrial revolution. True, the bias is towards Western history--but as that is my history, I'll take it.We are surrounded with objects that we take for granted and there are any number of amazing books that spin the historical tale around such objects; however, this work excels because of its brevity--the author manages to cover the subject without the pace of the book ever lagging. The lawyer in me appreciates a finely honed argument; Standage's book is so amazing that he makes the supremely difficult job of summarizing globe history look y authors of history are unable to prune the a lot of fascinating insights that history presents. And to be sure, I have fun a nice meandering presentation of interesting tidbits organized around a central theme, but it is always refreshing to search a history that has the same "can't place down" type of feel as a thriller or mystery. I can't think of a more perfect example of a history that is both appropriate for a younger student as well as an overeducated adult. Highest Recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    Tom Standage presents the history of the globe in six glasses and he does a unbelievable job in doing so. He goes through the history of the globe using the history of six beverages - beer, wine, tea, coffee, water, soda. What impressed me with Mr. Standage's novel is how he interweaves the history of the globe with his history of the above beverages. Traditionally history is taught segmented - US History I, US History II, Globe History, etc. Rather than laying history out in such a fashion, Mr. Standage uses the beverages as his timeline and writes what is event in the globe at that time to explain how each beverage became popular. Not only does he explain how these beverages traveled the globe and became the staples they are, but he also helps create connections with what is event around the globe at the same time. This, to me, is what makes this book a must read, relating what is event on opposite sides of the world through the introduction, rise, and inevitable prominence of each beverage. A History of the Globe in 6 Glasses is 1 an impressive novel both in terms of the history it covers, as well as the manner in which it is presented.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    This book takes a special view of history. It describes how six various beverages have influenced the world. Looking at it all from the point of view of beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea and Coca Cola, this book is full of info about these drinks. I learned a lot from the book as it taught me more than I ever thought I required to know about the how beer has been around for centuries and how tea and coffee influenced globe history and the put that Coca Cola has taken in the past e book is full of facts and an simple read. I loved its point of view as well as the clarity in which the author described all these drinks. Every page is full of info and I appreciate the scholarship that went into explaining all the info of the manufacture of these drinks as well as describing the impact each of them had on history.I totally enjoyed this book. Not only was it interesting, I learned something as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    I loved this book because it place history into a various sort of context, pulling together threads of the story of humans in a method that other books don't. I loved every page of it, and yes, it really does tell a history of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    I'm a homebrewer, and I have a fascination with how beer, being resilient to bacterial growth, has impacted societies throughout history. I picked this book up on the suggestion of a friend, expecting a amazing story about the history of beer in ancient it turns out the author (Tom Standage - Business Editor for The Economist), tells an interesting story of the origins of beer, but a far more interesting set of tales regarding other drinks that had significant societal and economic impacts on the Western world. The tea section specifically, was wonderful, articulating how sugar from the colonies and tea from the Far East drove the British Industrial revolution in the 19th century, impacted British/European politics, and lead to the Opium Battles in China.I read this book nearly two years ago, and I still search myself referring to it in conversation when nearly any historical subject comes up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses review [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    As the author points out, there’s a natural subdivision to the book, which is that the first three beverages are alcoholic and the latest three are caffeinated. There’s another method of looking at it, and that’s the means used to achieve a drink that wasn’t a health hazard. The first three drinks achieve germ-killing by fermentation, the next two by boiling, and the latest through e era of beer is associated with the Agricultural Revolution and the growing importance of cereal grains. Geographically, the region of focus is the Fertile Crescent and Egypt. Among the more interesting points of discussion is the role of beer (along with the similar commodities of cereal grains and bread) in the development of written e era of wine is associated with the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. Readers of the classics will be aware that wine was much celebrated among the Greeks and Romans, so much so that they developed gods of wine in their mythologies (Dionysus and Bacchus, respectively.) Of course, wine played no little role in Christian mythology as well--e.g. Jesus turns water to wine.Spirits are similar to the Colonial period, though they were first developed much earlier. The author emphasizes that these were the first global drinks. While beer and wine were robust to going bad, they could spoil in the course of long sea cohol of all kinds has always attracted opposition. This conflict, of course, owes to the fact that people under the influence of alcohol frequently act like idiots. One might expect that the transition to discussion of non-alcoholic beverages would correspond to the end of controversy, but that’s not the case. Each of the beverages brought controversy in its wake. There were attempts to ban coffee in the Islamic globe where its stimulative result was conflated with intoxication. Coca-Cola became associated with capitalism and American influence, and drew its own opposition because of it. It seems there’s no escape from controversy for a amazing e most fascinating discussion of coffee had to do with the role of cafés as corollaries to the internet. Centuries before computers or the internet as we know it, people went to cafés to search out stock values and commodity prices, to discuss scholarly ideas, and to search out which ships had come and gone from e role of tea in globe history is readily apparent. Besides the aforementioned Boston Tea Party, there were the Opium Wars. This conflict resulted from the fact that the British were racking up a large tea bill, but the Chinese had minimal wants for European goods. Because the British (through the East India Company) didn’t wish to draw down gold and silver reserves, they came up with an elaborate plan to sell prohibited opium in China in order to earn funds to pay their tea bill. Ultimately, Britain’s tea addiction led to the growing of tea in India to create an end-run around the volatile relations with e book lays out the history of Coca-Cola’s development before getting into its profound result on international affairs. A huge part of this history deals with the Cold Battle years. While Coca-Cola was developed in the late 19th century, it was really the latter half of the 20th century when Coke spread around the world—traveling at first with US troops. The most interesting thing that I learned was that General Zhukov (a major Soviet figure in the winning of Globe Battle II) convinced the US Government to obtain Coca-Cola incorporated to create him some clear Coca-Cola so that he could have fun the beverage without the heart-burn of being seen as publicly supporting an American entity (i.e. it would look like he was drinking his vodka, like a amazing Russian should.) General Zhukov was perhaps the only person to stand in opposition to Stalin and live (the General was just too much of a national character to screw with.)There’s also an interesting story about how the cola battles played out in the Middle East. Both Coke and Pepsi wanting access to the huge Arab market, and were willing to forego the little Israeli shop to pave the method for that access. When Coke finally had to relent due to public outrage and accusations of anti-Semitic behavior, Pepsi slid in and followed Coca-Cola’s policy of snubbing Israel in favor of the Arab world.I enjoyed this book, and think that any history buff will as well. One doesn’t have to have a particular interest in meal and beverage history to be intrigued by stories contained in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    I purchased this as a sort of supplemental reading for a survey class I'm taking. I was hoping this all-in-one history book would be easier for me to study from than my large textbook. It doesn't contain everything, of course, but it does do a amazing job of highlighting all the huge happenings in different points in history and even contains some info that other history books don't. I was surprised how much I learned from this. I really like how everything is laid out, it makes it very simple to follow. I especially like the section on Native Americans. Very concise. Overall I'd highly recommend this book by Adam Brown to anyone who wants to dip there toes in the history of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Very amazing book to read - tells the history in a very clear method

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    As the title implies, the author covers ancient to the post-Vietnam and cold battle era in this apters 1 through 3 were particularly interesting. The first chapter focuses on classical history, i.e. Greece and Rome. I found this chapter very helpful as it laid out Greek and Roman history in a linear fashion with a general overview in e second covers Asia, and dissects Chinese history without being overwhelming. Again, with a related fashion to the first chapter in both presenting the info and e third quickly goes over European and Russian history. This I was more familiar with, but still found helpful in sequencing historical e rest of the work was rushed and sparse on the details. That being said, this small book provided me with something that I lacked: a general knowledge of early history which now allows me to have fun and learn from more literature without confusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Globe History provides a amazing synopsis of globe history. I'd recommend this book to anyone who is looking to obtain an overview of a part of the globe they're not familiar with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    This book of history is concise (107 pages), to the point, and astonishingly broad in scope, covering the significant players and happenings in Western and Eastern civilization from early history to show day. It’s a amazing survey, and highly recommended if you are unfamiliar with the material or wish to give it to your children to create them knowledgeable about the world. Basically, it covers the who, what, where, and when of the most significant historical happenings that happened. It consists of an introduction and six concise chapters covering ancient history (Greece, Egypt, Roman Empire, Constantine and Christianity); Asian history (India and its evolution, Korea, and China (multiple dynasties); European and Russian history from the Middle Ages through Napoleonic Europe; American history (Native Americans and regional history); Australian history (British colonization, influx from other sources, Australian politics); and major battles (WWI, WWII, and Vietnam).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    I was very surprised that such a short read would be packed with so much information. Usually the history books are filled with a lot of info that isn't interesting, but this one had info that was not only interesting, but info that you would remember and tell your mates and family next time you see them. This book is one of the history books that you will be excited to read and if you can place it down, will wish to pick up almost immediately to hold on reading. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in history but don't wish to read about all of the boring parts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Didn't expect much so I wasn't disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Recommended!A complete history of the world, condensed into Tapas style blurbs and almost as appetizing. Brown takes readers on a sightseeing tour of the defining cultural happenings for humans. The timeline of happenings stretches all of the method back to Ancient civilizations and progressing through the Nixon's administration in the United States and the end of the Vietnam War. The greatest bonus that Brown's work gives to readers is a contemptible, overarching view of the happenings which have brought the globe to where it is today. Happenings are separated into little paragraphs and enlightens the reader to how a lot of cultures were affected by singular globe events. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [3rd Edition] review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:9

    Amazing book. It is only 107 pages with so much history compacted into it. I think this book is amazing for kids to read as they learn various parts of history. This book has so much info that I had forgotten about. I'm not a huge history buff but because this book is little and had so much info it actually kept my attention. Amazing book for students or parents like me who need to remember happenings to support their children. I would recommend this to anyone especially history buffs and students learning fresh material. Amazing book to hold on hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    I purchased this as a sort of supplemental reading for a survey class I'm taking. I was hoping this all-in-one history book would be easier for me to study from than my large textbook. It doesn't contain everything, of course, but it does do a amazing job of highlighting all the huge happenings in different points in history and even contains some info that other history books don't. I was surprised how much I learned from this. I really like how everything is laid out, it makes it very simple to follow. I especially like the section on Native Americans. Very concise. Overall I'd highly recommend this book by Adam Brown to anyone who wants to dip there toes in the history of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    This book of history is concise (107 pages), to the point, and astonishingly broad in scope, covering the significant players and happenings in Western and Eastern civilization from early history to show day. It’s a amazing survey, and highly recommended if you are unfamiliar with the material or wish to give it to your children to create them knowledgeable about the world. Basically, it covers the who, what, where, and when of the most significant historical happenings that happened. It consists of an introduction and six concise chapters covering ancient history (Greece, Egypt, Roman Empire, Constantine and Christianity); Asian history (India and its evolution, Korea, and China (multiple dynasties); European and Russian history from the Middle Ages through Napoleonic Europe; American history (Native Americans and regional history); Australian history (British colonization, influx from other sources, Australian politics); and major battles (WWI, WWII, and Vietnam).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    I really loved how this book breaks down an overview of globe history. It covers periods of time through Egypt, Rome, Asia, India, Europe, Russia, America, and more.What is really amazing about this history book is that I have been able to give it to my son to support him have an overview of the history of the rest of the world. I like how concise the text is and the summaries of each era. It is a amazing homeschool resource or amazing for someone that needs a better understanding of the middle school son can read this book, but it wouldn't work well for my grade school kid to read on his own. It would be amazing for a read aloud session.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Interesting and sometimes even engaging, but it reads like a rough draft and the author presents some controversial opinions as if they are well established facts. Then again, it's the history of the globe ins very little volume. You can't expect too much.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    I'm the typical person who didn't like history in school very much as a kid, but like it now. The cover caught my eye and I hoped the book would be as exciting as its cover's artwork. It was. It gave me the overview of Globe history for which I was looking. I came away from the material with one overwhelming fact; The globe has been at WAR with each other, from day 1 up until now. We are a WARING SPECIES. I'm not saying it is necessarily always bad........ it just is what it is. When I finished the book I felt like the book could just as easily have been, The Battles of the World. Anyway, the Globe seems to be a giant "chess game" and it was interesting to see how the android game has been played from ancient times.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Well written and short chapters with all the important facts for a important fast understanding of globe history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    I bought this book, as an extra tool for one of my classes and I must say I am impressed. I was able to be more informed about the subjects talked about in class and for studying for exams. Within these 100 pages I was able to get and learn so much more info that helped me in class. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about globe history, whether it have to do with a class your taking or if you just wanted to expand your knowledge. With such a amazing experience buying this book, I will definitely be buying more of these types of books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Dry as saw dust. Writing is cumbersome. I recommend “A small Hisory of the World” by E. H. Gombrick*****.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Very amazing book to read - tells the history in a very clear method

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History: Ancient History, United States History, European, Native American, Russian, Chinese, Asian, African, Indian and Australian History, Wars including World War 1 and 2 [4th Edition] review [Book]  2018-2-12 18:1

    Expect it to be a mile wide but an inch deep - it's more of a general reference than a fleshed-out reads like a beautiful amazing high school term paper.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    Well, I had read a lot of books on Globe Battle II and I can say that this book includes the whole moments of that time. Globe Battle II had created a amazing impact in this world. It is very interesting to know about the history of Globe Battle II and how it happened. Sixty million military and bloodiest troops conflict had amazing role in destroying our globe and a lot of of them were victims will obtain to know about a lot of facts about Hitler and how he ruled over the country. There were some pictures of the battle which was very necessary and helped me to imagine all the moments of that time. If you really wish to know about Globe Battle II then this book will be best for you. You will also know about other hidden roles but had created amazing impact in Globe Battle e author had done a amazing work by including pictures with exact date and time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    A amazing book. If you love history then this is a book for is book walks you through its beginning from the invasion of Japanese in 1931 to 1939 when Germany and Soviet Union signed non-aggression pact which kicked-off the battle and to the years of power, attacks, battles, and fall, defeat, death to is is such an informative book about Globe Battle 2. It's awesome to note that some of the info mentioned here were not mentioned in our History class! Very detailed, very insightful, plus with the classic images too! Perfect book to grab

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    This is not only for History majors. History should not be taken for granted. It will always take a huge part of what is now. The Globe Battle II had left over 50 M military and civilian casualties. Considered as one of the darkest part of the past century, I gave time to know major happenings that lead to this is book walks you through its beginning from the invasion of Japanese in 1931 to 1939 when Germany and Soviet Union signed non-aggression pact which kicked-off the battle and to the years of power, attacks, battles, and fall, defeat, death to surrender.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    The book is an perfect resource for people who wish to refresh their memory and add to their knowledge about WWII, as well as for people who are just starting to learn about the the largest conflict of human history. For example, I personally thought that I knew a lot about it, but found out that the USA had a bill banning arms trade with Europe. It can be used a reference outlining chronologically the unfolding of happenings that defined the course of the war.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    I am fond of reading history books. Who have not heard or read about Globe Battle II? It was indeed the largest, costliest and bloodiest armed conflict in history. This book provides a well-written happenings of Globe Battle II. It has really told and narrated the happenings in short yet exciting happenings or storyline. It is very informational, concise and interesting. When you read this book, you will realize the futility, foolishness and horrors of war.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    Awesome read here! After reading this book, you will understand everything you need to know about Globe Battle II to pass any history try you will see in college or high school. It is packed with pictures from the battle and covers all key happenings that makes it simple to jump back into history. I search it hard to just have a large list of random dates from a historical period and test to remember everything. By focusing on 50 parts of the war, memorizing this info was a snap!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    I think this is a very nice series, I love it and I know a mate who would love it even more. Getting a book that include so much happening in the time of the Globe Battle II. It is a true knowledge I have gained today. I enjoyed the different stories from back in those days and I appreciate how the author was able to go back in time and capture the moments along with the economy and all of that. It was nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    It's always interesting to know what had happened in the past. Knowing our history is a amazing knowledge. This book is a excellent tool to take us back and have a glimpse of the necessary happenings of Globe Battle II. The book also included some pictures with their own specific explanation about the event. This book is well-researched and provided us a better understanding of what has transpired during those time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    Studying a known historical happening by looking at James Weber's choice of what 50 happenings led to and or impacted that happening is an simple method to look at history. If nothing else it puts happenings in chronological order and is an opportunity to again look at happenings as they happen and consider what if any impact the happening had/has on other events.A fast study that in my experience is worth while, suggests the relationship that happenings have on each other and why/how a single happening has impacts on more that one future event.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    This book is especially helpful for students. After reading this book, you will understand everything you need to know about Globe Battle II to pass any history try you will see in college or high school. It is packed with pictures from the battle and covers all key happenings that makes it simple to jump back into history. I search it hard to just have a large list of random dates from a historical period and test to remember everything. By focusing on 50 parts of the war, memorizing this info was a snap!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History Maps: The World review [App]  2019-11-24 13:10

    I'm satisfied with this useful app, didn't regret that 4 Euro investment in my education! Makes all those nationalist quarrels about state borders so pointless. My suggestions: 1. Create any bookmarked or at least the recent country borders visible as a background for orientation (e.g. like the geographical shadow option). 2. Create slider and buttons insensitive to dragging of the map and pop-ups. Amazing work!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History Maps: The World review [App]  2019-11-24 13:10

    Best application for this out there! Super useful and interesting!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History Maps: The World review [App]  2019-11-24 13:10

    Brilliant application well designescll and

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History Maps: The World review [App]  2019-11-24 13:10

    The interface is very rudimentary, beautiful hard on the eyes. The maps are amazing though, with extensive data. Could be a small clearer for zooming (considering its needed to read some little text) but over gets the job done. EDIT: please please please increase the resolution of the country borders. Slightly longer loading is fine but this blurriness is out of hand (zoom until you can read the text in Spain at 1040, you can barely create out the borders)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Of Russia For Kids: A History Series - Children Explore Histories Of The World Edition review []  2020-1-10 19:49

    As I began teaching Russian history to older preschoolers I discovered how difficult an endeavor that is. This book tries unsuccessfully to lay out that history for younger children. Although presented as a picture book with just a sentence or two per page, the vocabulary is far too advanced for younger children, and complex words are not explained or even given context. Photographs and illustrations are not engaging for the age targeted, and do not illustrate well the main idea of the page. The history reads like a list of a handful of events, with the expectation that readers already have an understanding of globe history into which they can assimilate these events. Moreover the history presented here begins with the formation of Russia by "migrant peoples" and ends with the attack of Hitler in 1941. There is no mention of communism, the zone race, or the conversion to democracy (and the book was published in 2015). The latest third of the book has a list of Interesting Facts about Russia, not history, although one of the facts relates to the Russian zone exploration by I mentioned teaching Russian history to younger kids is a difficult task because it is so politically driven, and politics is such an abstract concept. However this book tries to move history along by telling young kids about battles and treaties, instead of focusing on the various forms of governments, significant people, and technological advancements, which would have been more interesting for the audience. It also seems to be confused on whether it's purpose is to lay out history or to show collection of facts. It's not really worth the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Of Russia For Kids: A History Series - Children Explore Histories Of The World Edition review []  2020-1-10 19:49

    I bought a kindle ver and I am glad I did (not pay $10 for hard copy). The history facts are all scattered and not connected. I would not recommend this for a child or anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    History Of Russia For Kids: A History Series - Children Explore Histories Of The World Edition review []  2020-1-10 19:49

    So well done--beautiful pictures!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    The simplest method to describe any of author Cahill's writing is with the phrase "interesting and opinionated". This book is the 6th in what Cahill calls his "Hinges of History" - musings on particular groups or times of history. And by the way, I still think his first book in the series, "How the Irish Saved Civilization" is his is book is not a tone-neutral tome nor is it complete in any way. But it covers 2 subjects, Renaissance artists, and Reformation leaders, in a free-wheeling, opinionated yet erudite manner. You can disagree with much of the book but it is written so honestly and so scholarly, with Cahill doing much of his own translation of sources, that you can only praise the intellect and opinions behind it. Even if Cahill attacks some of your most cherished beliefs. And isn't learning other opinions and views why we read in the first place?A few minor criticisms. Some of the translations are, shall we say, special to Cahill. Cahill does throw in occasional then-current political jabs that are increasingly irrelevant and obscure with the passage of the years since this book was published.Overall, amazing fun. 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    A very interesting take on a very complicated period of Europe's history. Cahill covers a lot of ground so the book is a summary of parts of the ere is major error in the latest chapter where he denigrates Dutch painting in the 17th century except for Rembrandt. Vermeer, Cuyp, Gals, van Der Meet,van Ruisdael are just a few names in one of the greatest periods of Western art. We shall not see their like again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    This book is an absolute joy to read and to absorb. It is particularly informative for those who are not religious but who are well versed in classical studies and philosophy. More than anything it helps understand the Christian religion, its struggles, catastrophes and success in guiding human development through the past 2000 plus years. It is also a clear pictorial and philosophical condemnation of ignorance and stupidity among those who base their lives on religion without understanding of theology and its history. I am going to read it again after I think about it for few months for one reading is not enough to absorb its vast amount of historical data and ideas, which has challenged humanity for so long and continues to challenge us. And I greatly enjoyed its references to contemporaries and modern events.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Very good, as you would expect from this intelligent, broad scope author. But it's a bit of a slog in parts, and not up to the excellence of his Hinges of History series. I think it's his attachment to religion that muddies the narrative arc. Still, it's a book I enjoyed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Who’s Erasmus and Savonarola? I’d heard these names, but didn’t really know what they were up to. This book is easily readable, to the point, and very educational! Really helped me understand all the intellectual and theological ideas sweeeping through Europe at a crucial time, and how we got to where we are today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    This book was interesting history with some quirky tidbits about the reformers/deformers. His sarcasms towards the end is goofy. Catholic doctrines are for Catholics rather than for Know-it- Alls. I went from careful reading to rushing and finally to skipping chunks. Fashionable anti-Catholicism is boring. Cahill knows better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Thomas Cahill is a profound scholar who has the extra bonus of writing attractive prose. His love of his topic is evident on every page. It is impossible to read this book or any of its predecessors without being drawn in by his enthusiasm. All six of the "hinges of history" have been a joy to read for anyone interested in how we got here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    Perhaps because I consider myself a fan of Prof. Thomas Cahill, and someone who learned from and enjoyed his latest book, Mysteries of the Middle Ages: And the Beginning of the Modern Globe (Hinges of History); I am making a point of my disappointment with Heretics and Heroes. It is not a poor book, it is not an exemplar of what Cahill can do. In some sections you can almost watch as he hits the coast button and indulges himself in soft peddling things like the Spanish Inquisition and taking sides between the Popes of the latest 40 years. The book itself is amazingly well illustrated with very sharp info and colors. The illustrations are required because Cahill does a very amazing job of connecting the visual arts and their effects on and reflections of the predominate philosophies of their time and place. My recommendation: not a poor book, just not Cahill at his tics and Heros begins with a self-indulgent fictional android game of tennis between Plato and Aristotle. No such android game was ever played. It is in the introduction to lead us to what should be a central theme of the book. A historic alternation between the philosophies proposed by the two Greeks. Either: Reality is where humans live and it is in learning about this globe that goodly humans learn how to best live.OrA competing belief that reality is false and the task of being a goodly person consists of looking past reality and preparing for the Kingdom to is thread will appear from time to time in the text. Usually when it does it is up to the reader to spot o much of the text is about too a lot of things not all tied to the period under study. There are regular asides about modern people and politics and opinions about where the Vatican has and does not have it right.When he is focused on the people of the Renaissance and Reformation we do obtain flashes of the biographical and historic analysis that is the amazing in Prof. Cahill. This is said with reservations. Martin Luther is necessarily a central figure of this period. Cahill shrugs off any chance that the man had major psychological scaring from his upbringing. The historian would have you believe that the human kid decides upon psychological attitudes, not based on what and how he is treated in the so called formative years, but by polling his contemporaries and rationalizing damage versus a standard deviation of normal levels of domestic violence. The diaries of Luther contain descriptions of instances wherein the reformer had physical wars with the devil, ended when Martin tosses his feces at Satan. Cahill will only admit that Luther had constipation, and that only while under the physical constraints of safe keeping.A fair percentage of Heretics and Heroes is built around the visual artists of the Renaissance and Reformation. This is consistent with the promise of the book’s subtitle. It is another aspect of the amazing in the book. Perhaps of necessity the artist chosen are limited, but in making his choices, he tends to depend on expressions like “the best” or the ‘only’ when the more legitimate expression would be a favorite or the ones the Cahill has chosen to represent a period. Allowing for this compromise, too much of what Cahill says about the artists is an echo of earlier opinions by Lord Kenneth Clark. Still the illustrations are reproduced with awesome technical exactitude. They are show in generous numbers.I liked Heretics and Heroes. I [email protected]#$%! had been written closer to the standard Thomas Cahill has elsewhere achieved.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    I love Thomas Cahill's books. In this book, I learned about Christianity, Luther, the Reformation, art pertaining to these periods, and how the amazing idea of Christianity could be so twisted through the prism of fanatics, religious, and royalty. Now I can't wait to read the rest of the Hinges of History series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World (Hinges of History Book 6) review []  2020-1-17 20:55

    I love all of Cahill's books and highly recommend them! Cahill focuses on those moments he calls "the hinges of history." They are those moments when someone thought something fresh - in art, music, philosophy, or architecture - and things were never the same. I also have fun how he sheds light on the contributions of women, albeit those who could contribute because they were given to the church or learned to read and write, and how those women left a lasting influence on art and music. Cahill's writing style is very accessible and makes you feel like you're learning something fresh from a familiar friend. This series is great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Metalworking through History: An Encyclopedia (Handicrafts through World History) review []  2019-12-24 20:4

    Ana Lopez has done an outstanding job! If you wish a direct approach to the history of Metalwork throughout the globe then this is it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

    Ordered this set for a Christmas gift. I read all the reviews about the broken contents during shipping but knew that it would be taken care of if anything was wrong. The set was packaged in it's own decorative box then wrapped in bubble wrap and placed in an extra box for shipping. The contents were intact with nothing broken or missing. I purchased this not only for the amazing price but also because it had 6 glasses. Other sets at the same price point only had 4 glasses. The set is beautiful. It is massive and well created with a beautiful diamond design. The decanter is heavy. The stopper is a small cheap but I feel it should seal ok.I used the enclosed cloth to "shine up" the set making it even more attractive and shiny. I am very impressed with everything from price to quality. The packaging is a small cheap but I am assuming the set will be set out to be used and not stored in the box so it doesn't create that much difference. I may order another set to have on hand as a "go to" hostess bonus or other gift. This definitely met my expectations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

    So far so good, Like a lot of other amazon customers, I can tell the hard plastic seal will eventually crack and break on the decanter topper. it just feels too hard/rigid for it to last. if that one thing was fixed this would be a 5 star product but the true star of this set are the glasses. The ones I got were all untracked or broken, and really beautiful. the decanter is a small plain looking without anything in it, but the glasses are assassin regardless. very tasteful and well made, the glasses alone are easily worth the price of the set, and you obtain a free decanter to boot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

    I can only speak to what I received as there were other, likely warehousing/shipping problems that caused those problems. The one notable thing here is the decanter's top doesn't solidly connect to make a full seal. The suction doesn't keep the plastic piece tight in the glass and the top wiggled about and was not sturdy. That definitely is not how this was supposed to work. I am going to look elsewhere for a various decanter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

    The decanter is not airtight what is the point of storing Spirits in something that is not airtight? It also has an incredibly cheesy plastic seal not a glass-on-glass connection. Whoever the cups are nice....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

    Update: I'm taking off stars because the decanter is difficult to wash, water got stuck in the stopper and some parts are created of a cheap, sharp plastic that could easily scratch or chop someone's fingers. I haven't heard any complaints about the glasses from the recipient, but I would not recommend the full set. I found a better glass set at Home Goods for $10 more.I'm reviewing this listing for the value, packaging, delivery, and first impression. This item is a bonus for someone, so I cant speak to the durability. The pack arrived in amazing condition and everything was wrapped thoroughly in bubble wrap, there are no recognizable scratches or flaws. These glasses have a amazing weight to them and feel nice when you keep them. The info are classic and the overall design has a Amazing Gatsby / art deco feel. I got this set as a bonus for a male in his early twenties and I think the set will be well received; so far, I would recommend this set for gifting. I will modernize my review if anything changes but I'm looking forward to gifting these.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

    Has a decent weight. It looks nice. I've had this set for awhile. All the glasses look great. No issues with them. The decanter holds just about a fifth of whiskey. Simple to pour drinks. It will create a amazing bonus and a amazing set to your party, event, and home. Definitely worth the price. Do not hesitate to obtain it. I use it everyday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

    Perfect all around! Excellent size and price point. Glasses are comfortable to keep and the decanter design enhances the interior liquid. Classy looking and makes the bar look complete. Highly recommend also getting the mirror finish stainless steel round tray offered on Amazon for under twenty dollars to complete the look. Considering getting another related style for the downstairs bar. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

    My first comment is that the product is very pretty. It's exactly as advertised and very attractive for the price. My second comment is that unfortunately during shipping sometimes stuff are damaged. This was the case for me. One of my glasses was broken. My first instinct was to write to the company and I'm very happy to say that he responded the same day and after sending him a picture of the broken glass, he sent a replacement glass within one day. That was awesome service! Amazing job by them and a very nice product.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

    On one hand, it's a amazing value at $25 (though I see it has gone up to $30) - hence 4 stars. But I'm actually a bit disappointed and want I had just spent a bit more money. The quality just isn't there. The glasses look a bit dirty and don't seem to ever obtain to a nice shine. And the decanter just feels cheap, especially with the plastic stopper. If you do have a budget limit, this is probably the best value, but I'd recommend spending an additional $15-20 and getting one that is crystal with an all glass stopper.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paksh Novelty 7-Piece Italian Crafted Glass Decanter & Whisky Glasses Set, Elegant Whiskey Decanter with Ornate Stopper and 6 Exquisite Cocktail Glasses review []  2019-12-17 21:49

     Cons: The Decanter "top" has a plastic 3 ring seal which doesn't seat all the method down and sometimes pushes it's method up. It should have had a rubber seal! There are minor defects in the glass etching. The whiskey glasses are smaller than you would s: Inexpensive, doesn't leak despite the plastic cork top, doesn't leak, and comes with matching glasses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ZUOS Glass Cutter Tool (6 Way Cutting Wheel)-Perfect for Cutting & Scoring Glass Bottles,Window Panes, Mirrors, Shelves,etc (Glass Cutter) review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    Comes in it's own small plastic shell case! So handy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ZUOS Glass Cutter Tool (6 Way Cutting Wheel)-Perfect for Cutting & Scoring Glass Bottles,Window Panes, Mirrors, Shelves,etc (Glass Cutter) review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    Actually cutting glass isn't just a snap the product probably did ok but a small scary cutting glass

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ZUOS Glass Cutter Tool (6 Way Cutting Wheel)-Perfect for Cutting & Scoring Glass Bottles,Window Panes, Mirrors, Shelves,etc (Glass Cutter) review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    Works as expected!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ZUOS Glass Cutter Tool (6 Way Cutting Wheel)-Perfect for Cutting & Scoring Glass Bottles,Window Panes, Mirrors, Shelves,etc (Glass Cutter) review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    Product did not work as described. Very disappointed. Will be returning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ZUOS Glass Cutter Tool (6 Way Cutting Wheel)-Perfect for Cutting & Scoring Glass Bottles,Window Panes, Mirrors, Shelves,etc (Glass Cutter) review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    Perfect value

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ZUOS Glass Cutter Tool (6 Way Cutting Wheel)-Perfect for Cutting & Scoring Glass Bottles,Window Panes, Mirrors, Shelves,etc (Glass Cutter) review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    This cutter did exactly what it was supposed to do tho I did have to check a You Tube demo on how to use it because it doesn’t explain and if not done correctly you can ruin your cut.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ZUOS Glass Cutter Tool (6 Way Cutting Wheel)-Perfect for Cutting & Scoring Glass Bottles,Window Panes, Mirrors, Shelves,etc (Glass Cutter) review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    Good!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ZUOS Glass Cutter Tool (6 Way Cutting Wheel)-Perfect for Cutting & Scoring Glass Bottles,Window Panes, Mirrors, Shelves,etc (Glass Cutter) review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    Works great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    I usually do not write such detailed reviews but due to my frustration with other tumblers felt compelled to do so after finally finding a decent and reasonable priced unit. I've owned numerous low price tumblers ($100 range ) and so far this tumbler has been my favorite. I've had Lortone, Dura-bull, and Thumbler's in both rotary and vibrator. All of these troops in my experience had major issues with barrel leakage, slippage of drive mechanism and barrel wear. I have run this unit approximately 40 hours so far in 30 min increments and here are my observations. At first I was skeptical of the ease of operating the lid, but I have found it far easier if for nothing else IT DOES NOT LEAK and requires no effort to hold it from leaking. The barrel has remained clear unlike a dura-bull barrel which clouded over immediately, and the drive process creates no wear on the lid. The unit has a very solid feel. The drive belt runs real without slipping. The drive rollers are teethed creating a slip free rotation of the barrel. The barrel has a durable orange rubber ring that contacts with the drive rollers and appears it will not wear easily. I love the timer feature and the multiple speed choice. For larger pieces that may hang up in the barrel, there is a reversing option that automatically stops and changes the direction of the barrel every 30 seconds or so. The noise level is equal or less than the other rotary tumblers (which squeaked a lot if not lubed). I do not see a need to lube this model as the roller shafts are concealed. Since it has not leaked or worn the barrel from slipping, there is no grime or buildup of worn rubber or plastic like on the above mentioned models. I have read the reviews on motor failure and the control knobs not feeling solid. I will revise my review if they become an problem but so far all is good. Replacement lid gasket and drive belt are included. After I obtain several hundred hours on this unit, I will definitely consider another unit for simultaneous batches.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    I guess I have to respond a question I posed since no one else did. :-) I asked what the red switch is supposed to do, since it is not an on/off switch. I finally discovered that it controls whether or not the machine reverses direction every so often.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    impressed with unit came with a pound or so of what looks like stainless steel shot and more importantly a spare o-ring for the access hatch and a toothed-belt for the motor-drum drive. Nice e drum and base are both larger than I expected and e materials and build quality seem amazing to very 's been running on the slowest speed for the latest couple of hours with2 pounds or so of my steel parts to be deburred,4 pounds or so of 1" ceramic stars andwater with a small bit of dawn soapfilled to 1/2 the drum volume.I weighed the drum half filled with the previous mentioned stuff and it came out a small under 9 : I like the method the drum hatch gets e robustness of the build and n: no instructions that I can see on how to work the base dials/controls, but I got it running by just turning the t sure if the timer is on or what the 1/0 switch does (it's not on/off to the motor), timer use maybe ??I'll have another look in the box for the instructions or maybe on line .... this is not a huge enough of an problem to take rating stars off my initial 5 star rating.update 10.1.2017: ran it 24hrs/day for 4 days straight with 4 various batches of parts and it worked without issues. My a36 steel parts came out as expected with a nice even W not mentioned but as I state in the previous line, I've been running it without a 'timer' limit. I suspect the '1/0' switch when switched to '0' disables the timer ... however I got it to work this way, it's the method I wanted, so I can run it overnight without a 3hr restart of the timer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    Does what I need it to do. I'd have given it 5 stars if it had come with written instructions. If I had not already been using something like this for awhile, I would have had to go to YouTube or something to figure it out. Be careful with the plastic edges, they are sharp!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    This tumbler seems to have worked amazing for others, as stated in some reviews. Mine leaked, I even switched out the additional gasket with the replacement one it comes with, but it still leaked, the defect must be with the plastic opening. Also the water drips right down onto the metal knobs that turn the tumbler, risk of electric shock... I was hesitant on buying this tumbler for that exact reason (leaking) but I watched a review on YouTube and some guy raved about how amazing this tumbler was and so I took a possibility (only because it was prime and full refund guaranteed) Anyways its a hassle to have to pack a purchase back up and drop it to the post office. I will be buying the Lortone tumbler instead which was what I had planned to buy in the first place.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    Everything seems to be working amazing ive got about 40 hours on it. If it holds up ,I plan on purchasing the larger arrived ingood condition.....Well .I'm 3 months into this tumbler ,it's a keeper,fixing to obtain the 5 kilo,I use mine to create BP...so i give it. 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    This machine is really massive and works well. I've been using it for a week and I love it. I'm hoping it will latest a long while but cannot speak to that. Nice that they sent some shot, additional gasket and belt. I ordered additional shot and polishing liquid and am glad I did. No instructions but not too hard. I watched YouTube for use. I use for copper jewelry. Switch button left for forward and reverse. Switch it right for just forward. Speed 1 is quick enough... Higher seems like overkill.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    Pros: Works well, nice to be able to adjust speed, no leaksCons: The method the machine works with the timer is confusing and created me think it was broken for a whileIf you swap the direction of rotation while the unit is in between forward and backward movement it will refuse to begin the motor. I first thought the motor had died but I unplugged it and allow the timer run until it stopped. After that it worked normally, but I was 90% certain it was broken before I figured this out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    I have a tumbler that I paid $150 to shine my rifle cartridges. This tumbles has only one speed and no timer. I paid $75 dollars for your tumbler whicht has five speeds and a one hour timer. The see through material that the tumbler is created out of lets you see your material as it is being cleaned. I can clean up to 125 - 30-06 cartridges at one time. I would advise anyone to buy this tumbler.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry (6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    I purchased the 5kg rotary tumbler. I was so excited to obtain this machine and use it. Unfortunately, it doesn't work well, at all. It will begin to polish, then the motor seems to give out and it just stops spinning. This is even with the clear container being completely empty or even when it has a small media in it or a lot of media. I never have it to full capacity and it still stops working. The light stays on like it is powered on but just won't spin. The motor sounds very very low, you can tell it's on but it isn't as loud as when it is spinning. I've now purchased two of these exact machines (same manufacturer), one from Amazon, and one from a various selling platform, both have the same problem. It makes me sad because I had such high hopes for this tumbler as all other tumblers I've had have been too small. This one was the excellent size, however, the motor just lacks power all together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    I usually do not write such detailed reviews but due to my frustration with other tumblers felt compelled to do so after finally finding a decent and reasonable priced unit. I've owned numerous low price tumblers ($100 range ) and so far this tumbler has been my favorite. I've had Lortone, Dura-bull, and Thumbler's in both rotary and vibrator. All of these troops in my experience had major issues with barrel leakage, slippage of drive mechanism and barrel wear. I have run this unit approximately 40 hours so far in 30 min increments and here are my observations. At first I was skeptical of the ease of operating the lid, but I have found it far easier if for nothing else IT DOES NOT LEAK and requires no effort to hold it from leaking. The barrel has remained clear unlike a dura-bull barrel which clouded over immediately, and the drive process creates no wear on the lid. The unit has a very solid feel. The drive belt runs real without slipping. The drive rollers are teethed creating a slip free rotation of the barrel. The barrel has a durable orange rubber ring that contacts with the drive rollers and appears it will not wear easily. I love the timer feature and the multiple speed choice. For larger pieces that may hang up in the barrel, there is a reversing option that automatically stops and changes the direction of the barrel every 30 seconds or so. The noise level is equal or less than the other rotary tumblers (which squeaked a lot if not lubed). I do not see a need to lube this model as the roller shafts are concealed. Since it has not leaked or worn the barrel from slipping, there is no grime or buildup of worn rubber or plastic like on the above mentioned models. I have read the reviews on motor failure and the control knobs not feeling solid. I will revise my review if they become an problem but so far all is good. Replacement lid gasket and drive belt are included. After I obtain several hundred hours on this unit, I will definitely consider another unit for simultaneous batches.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    I guess I have to respond a question I posed since no one else did. :-) I asked what the red switch is supposed to do, since it is not an on/off switch. I finally discovered that it controls whether or not the machine reverses direction every so often.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    impressed with unit came with a pound or so of what looks like stainless steel shot and more importantly a spare o-ring for the access hatch and a toothed-belt for the motor-drum drive. Nice e drum and base are both larger than I expected and e materials and build quality seem amazing to very 's been running on the slowest speed for the latest couple of hours with2 pounds or so of my steel parts to be deburred,4 pounds or so of 1" ceramic stars andwater with a small bit of dawn soapfilled to 1/2 the drum volume.I weighed the drum half filled with the previous mentioned stuff and it came out a small under 9 : I like the method the drum hatch gets e robustness of the build and n: no instructions that I can see on how to work the base dials/controls, but I got it running by just turning the t sure if the timer is on or what the 1/0 switch does (it's not on/off to the motor), timer use maybe ??I'll have another look in the box for the instructions or maybe on line .... this is not a huge enough of an problem to take rating stars off my initial 5 star rating.update 10.1.2017: ran it 24hrs/day for 4 days straight with 4 various batches of parts and it worked without issues. My a36 steel parts came out as expected with a nice even W not mentioned but as I state in the previous line, I've been running it without a 'timer' limit. I suspect the '1/0' switch when switched to '0' disables the timer ... however I got it to work this way, it's the method I wanted, so I can run it overnight without a 3hr restart of the timer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    Does what I need it to do. I'd have given it 5 stars if it had come with written instructions. If I had not already been using something like this for awhile, I would have had to go to YouTube or something to figure it out. Be careful with the plastic edges, they are sharp!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    This tumbler seems to have worked amazing for others, as stated in some reviews. Mine leaked, I even switched out the additional gasket with the replacement one it comes with, but it still leaked, the defect must be with the plastic opening. Also the water drips right down onto the metal knobs that turn the tumbler, risk of electric shock... I was hesitant on buying this tumbler for that exact reason (leaking) but I watched a review on YouTube and some guy raved about how amazing this tumbler was and so I took a possibility (only because it was prime and full refund guaranteed) Anyways its a hassle to have to pack a purchase back up and drop it to the post office. I will be buying the Lortone tumbler instead which was what I had planned to buy in the first place.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    Everything seems to be working amazing ive got about 40 hours on it. If it holds up ,I plan on purchasing the larger arrived ingood condition.....Well .I'm 3 months into this tumbler ,it's a keeper,fixing to obtain the 5 kilo,I use mine to create BP...so i give it. 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    This machine is really massive and works well. I've been using it for a week and I love it. I'm hoping it will latest a long while but cannot speak to that. Nice that they sent some shot, additional gasket and belt. I ordered additional shot and polishing liquid and am glad I did. No instructions but not too hard. I watched YouTube for use. I use for copper jewelry. Switch button left for forward and reverse. Switch it right for just forward. Speed 1 is quick enough... Higher seems like overkill.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    Pros: Works well, nice to be able to adjust speed, no leaksCons: The method the machine works with the timer is confusing and created me think it was broken for a whileIf you swap the direction of rotation while the unit is in between forward and backward movement it will refuse to begin the motor. I first thought the motor had died but I unplugged it and allow the timer run until it stopped. After that it worked normally, but I was 90% certain it was broken before I figured this out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    I have a tumbler that I paid $150 to shine my rifle cartridges. This tumbles has only one speed and no timer. I paid $75 dollars for your tumbler whicht has five speeds and a one hour timer. The see through material that the tumbler is created out of lets you see your material as it is being cleaned. I can clean up to 125 - 30-06 cartridges at one time. I would advise anyone to buy this tumbler.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    BestEquip Jewelry Polisher Tumbler 3kg 6.6 Lbs Capacity Jewelry Polisher Machine with Glass Barrel Mini Polisher Tumbler for Jewelry(3KG 6.6Lbs Capacity) review []  2019-12-8 18:43

    I purchased the 5kg rotary tumbler. I was so excited to obtain this machine and use it. Unfortunately, it doesn't work well, at all. It will begin to polish, then the motor seems to give out and it just stops spinning. This is even with the clear container being completely empty or even when it has a small media in it or a lot of media. I never have it to full capacity and it still stops working. The light stays on like it is powered on but just won't spin. The motor sounds very very low, you can tell it's on but it isn't as loud as when it is spinning. I've now purchased two of these exact machines (same manufacturer), one from Amazon, and one from a various selling platform, both have the same problem. It makes me sad because I had such high hopes for this tumbler as all other tumblers I've had have been too small. This one was the excellent size, however, the motor just lacks power all together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History review [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    best history application ever ❤

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History review [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Greatest history application I've ever come across. The timeline design makes it simple to cruise through millennia while not missing even the most arbitrary historical event. The designers are terrific in that I've owned this application three years and they still modernize it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History review [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    This is a very amazing app, with a 5 star rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World History review [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    I like it, but there are a lot of typos

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter