Read a history of weiss lake reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a history of weiss lake reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 1

    Useful review?

    wordington: a word story []  2020-7-6 6:35

    I have completed all tasks to be told more tasks to come soon. Its been days and still waiting. I have accrued over 250 dollars and nothing to spend it on. If i dont have any fresh tasks soon i am deleting the android game and certainly not recommending it for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


    Add your opinion on a history of weiss lake or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    Loved the book. Wished for more private stories. A lot of of those folks are gone by now but write a sequel if you can.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    Amazing book about our area. It arrived quickly and was as advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    Very interesting and written in an simple to digest way

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    Interesting and accurate historical information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    I live in Cherokee County, the home of Weiss lake. I was very young and didn't live here when the lake was filled. So I found the history very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    I bought this for my boyfriend who frequently fishes this lake.He loved the images and was really excited about reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    Amazing book. Recommended for anyone near or on the lake.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    Bought as a bonus and my dad enjoyed reading it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    As a fresh resident of Cherokee County, I loved this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Weiss Lake []  2020-1-16 0:16

    I have read this book with interest, however the picture and article concerning Snow Hill is incorrect. This is not Snow Hill that is shown in the book. The Snow Hill home belonged to the Williamson Estate and was originally saved from the waters by the construction of a dike around the property. However, it later burned. Aside from an error in some facts, the book is some amazing history of the area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    I bought about 10 copies of this book and gave them out to my family and friends. My family has been vacationing at Geneva on the Lake since Globe Battle II. It was fun to read about the locations we know and obtain a lot of history of some locations we don't!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    Really enjoyed the book - as it takes you back in history at Geneva-On-The-Lake, Ohio. I bought the book for a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    Im still waiting on this !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    really don't know how to rate this as it was a gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    This book was well written and told the history of one of Lake Erie's oldest resort towns. Currently it still has a lot of the cottages and businesses that have been there for years but a fresh state lodge, campground and marina have brought the resort into the 21st century. Visit and you'll love it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    I read this book in a day and a half! My husband and I own a condo very close to GOTL so I was very interested in the history behind this fun summer resort. The book is well written--it was hard to place down! I'd highly recommend this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    Nice book, but you missed any mention of the "Sunken Bar". Went there one day, we had to wish for some to leave before we could go in.(fire codes). $5.00 dollar cover charge, the "Jaggers" where the band for a afternoon jam! Had the best time at GOTL circa 1960.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    If anyone knows about this place, GET this book NOW. It's a complete History of Ohio's First Summer Resort......Geneva-on-the-Lake, Ohio. Or GOTL to us veterans of this TRULY one of a kind vacation spot. The Lake is Lake Erie. The zone is NE Ohio. The book is beyond excellent. Written by Wendy Koile, a long time vacationer and admirer of GOTL.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    Amazing book with lots of info

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    Very interesting book regarding our local community. Enjoyed reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    When one writes a book on the history of a location, one must obtain the facts right. My father worked in the post office for 16 years and I didn't even recognize the description of the put except that it is beside what was called the Cocktail Lounge. Pop Pera was one of the people to make the put - on one page he died and years later he died again. I know who she meant, but it was a huge mistake. Who knows what else is wrong - hard to trust anything else. Someone else could create up a really amazing book on a very interesting and historical place. A mate recalled a full time policeman who sometimes rode a horse, in the early 60's. Simon & Garfunkle as Tom & Jerry performed at The Cove. I misspoke - Pop Pera died in 1983 and on the same page, the latest year he worked was 1995. The images are fun to see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    Informative Book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    Chuck McShane is a historian, reporter and author who writes for Our State Magazine and for Charlotte Magazine. He is writing an article each month for Charlotte Magazine telling the history of Charlotte. His history is accurate and his writing is excellent. For this fresh book he has researched the history of those parts of Mecklenburg, Iredell, Lincoln and Catawba Counties that eventually came to create up Lake NormanAs Dannye Powell writes for the Observer (with permission):McShane covers it all, from William Davidson's Revolutionary Battle death in 1781 at Cowan's Ford; Buck Duke's and William States Lee's dream of an electrified South; the opening of the Catawba River Bridge in 1908; the flood of 1916; the heavy dynamiting of land in September, 1959, for the Cowan's Ford Dam; the construction of the dam in the early 1960s; the filling of the lake; and the rest is history... the book is engaging and well told.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    If you have been looking for a amazing book about the history of North Carolina's Inland Sea, test this one.We love Lake Norman and after reading this book know much more about our small spot in paradise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Lake Norman: Fish Camps to Ferraris (Brief History) []  2020-7-1 19:21

    This book is a perhaps too brief description of the history behind the creation of (and the moguls behind) the zone now known as Lake Norman near Charlotte, North Carolina. While it includes much info about the subject, it seems far too brief to fully understand and appreciate the socio-economic development of the area. It does do a amazing job of motivating one to further research the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    This book has the advantage of being written by a young lady who is definitely "in love" with her subject...a small, quaint, charming "step-back-in-time" resort on the shore of Lake Erie in Northeastern Ohio Being born and raised in the city of Geneva (..just five miles south of GOTL) method back in the 1940's-50's, I share her feelings for GOTL. Now, I'm very grateful to the author for revealing a lot of the history of GOTL that I had not known. The book is very thorough and well written with a lot of interesting "old time" pictures. I thoroughly enjoyed it...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    A Amazing Book, that came in excellent condition! I bought it as a bonus for a mate and they LOVED it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geneva on the Lake: A History of Ohio's First Summer Resort (Brief History) []  2020-5-18 18:53

    I found this book to be really informative with some attractive pictures as well!The author is a amazing story teller!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Treasury of Wisdom: True Stories of Hope & Inspiration (The Jim Weiss Audio Collection) []  2020-1-16 11:17

    Absolutely would recommend this book. It was wonderful, I loved it and my kids loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paleolimnology: The History and Evolution of Lake Systems []  2020-1-30 19:28

    I'm a student of paleolimnology. I've read a lot of books on the subject, and the book by Andrew Cohen is by far the best. Traditionally, there have been two types of books on paleolimnology:1) Books that talk about the science itself and it's app (while not going into much depth on the methods). These books usually interpret results from past studies and look for common themes and trends. Usually, they briefly state what methods were used, but rarely describe the methods or discuss their strengths and weaknesses. It's up to the reader to research the methods more closely on their own.2) Books that rigorously detail the methods of the science (while not going much into interpreting the results and the meanings of the data found with those methods). These books are best described as "cook books," i.e., books that tell you how to sort through the ingredients. However, these books do not tell you what the results mean. It's up to the reader to consult other references to search this e book by Andrew Cohen takes a various approach, which in my opinion, makes it the best in class. The book goes through a lot of of the different methods used in paleolimnology, describing what they are used for, what they mean, and most importantly, their strengths and weaknesses. This book doesn't go through the methods step by step, but this book is extremely valuable because it combines a myriad of info into one volume. Other books assume that the reader is already versed in paleolimnology and also knows where to look for extra information. The book by Andrew Cohen is suitable for beginners and experts in the field. It combines all of the important background info to obtain beginners started as well as interpretation that will aid experts with their is is an perfect book and I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    Kim Edward's first novel, The Memory Keeper's Daughter: A Novel, was a high concept novel with an intriguing premise. Lake of Dreams is quite different. It starts very slowly and even when it finds its stride, it never becomes a book that I felt any affinity cy is living in Japan with her boyfriend Yoshi. She is unsettled, unable to search a job and feeling homesick. She goes to visit her mother who lives in upstate Fresh York - her first visit home in a lot of years, having left soon after her father died in a boating accident. She discovers some long lost letters, which prompts her to investigate a previously unknown family member. This initiates a chain of happenings that will have a large impact on her e book is an simple read and feels well researched. Nevertheless I didn't care about any of the characters, didn't search the story terribly interesting and became totally fed up with the endless watery metaphors. The plot is also overly reliant on satisfied coincidences, timely revelations and the reader's willingness to overlook time compressions that defy the laws of ere have been a lot of latest - and better - books about women uncovering family secrets: Sarah's Key and The Distant Hours: A Novel come to mind.If you read the Kindle edition of this book, be aware that a family tree is included at the very end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    Having really enjoyed The Memory Keeper's Daughter, I anxiously awaited her follow-up novel, and Lake of Dreams doesn't disappoint. In fact, it far exceeded my cy Jarrett is a wanderer. Ever since he father died 10 years ago, she has moved from country to country, seeking fulfilling work and interesting people. Over the past couple of years, she has settled down in Japan with her boyfriend, Yoshi, but a trip back home to Lake of Dreams, NY, stirs up all of the memories she thought she had buried. Lucy finds herself unraveling a genealogical mystery involving a never-mentioned family member, attractive stained glass windows in an unconsecrated church, and women who were involved in the suffrage movement. As she seeks answers to her family lineage, she also questions her own life and whether she has actually moved on or just kept Edwards has a method of writing that is absolutely gorgeous. She slowly unfolds info and vivid descriptions so that the black and white sketch in my mind is enhanced by broad strokes of color then finally fine info until I have a attractive and realistic picture in my mind. Some have criticized her for being overly-wordy but she is not simply describing a scene, she is painting her vision. I read this book slowly to fully envision what her careful words wanted me to see.I also really enjoyed this book because I saw myself in Lucy. I spend much time moving put to place, racing from one job to the next that "I hadn't often paused to consider the people - or the possibilities - I'd left behind." I love going home and seeing mates and family from my pre-college life, but like Lucy, I often spend time "watching the party as if it were taking put on a stage, feeling a strange sense of distance, knowing that this sort of gathering happend all the time and would carry on once I was gone again." We also both struggle versus the subtle sexism that persists in science - those "times when I'd been interrupted in the middle of a presentation, or given all the paperwork to finish, a kind of corporate housekeeping, or had been excluded in a routine method from necessary conversations outside of work." So a lot of quotes from Lucy echoed the exact thoughts I have had in my life, which created a connection between me and this book that very few readers will have.I hesitate to give her the full five stars because, while I couldn't wait to continue this story, I couldn't support compare it to books by Kate Morton - and Morton is phenomenal at the genealogical mystery! I also felt like the end of this book wrapped up beautiful fast - the family history part of it wrapped up nicely but Lucy's private struggles just kind of magically corrected themselves. This book wasn't short (about 400 pages) but I was so engrossed in the story that I would have eagerly read an extra 50 pages to give it a more proper ending.A amazing book that may not resonate with others the method it did with me, but is still a worthwhile method to spend a few lazy afternoons!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    I read Memory Keeper's Daughter and loved it: the hero and their development throughout the book, the believable yet wrenching secret, an inability to predict the ending from the beginning. I was, therefore, looking forward to The Lake of Dreams and was very disappointed. The characters are formulaic and the main character, Lucy, is neither likable nor a monster. She is selfish in her outlook and in her words and doesn't seem to grow as the novel progresses. The book seems like a car for a history lesson on the women's suffrage movement and could have been written as a short story. I looked to see which book Kim Edwards had written first because it doesn't even seem like the same author wrote both. I was surprised to see this book was published 5 years later than Memory Keeper's Daughter ... until I read the author's notes which explained this was actually her "first book" that had languished in her basement until her success with MKD. I think it must have been published solely because of her success with that book because it reads like a first draft of a first book. I would read another book by Kim Edwards but would borrow it from the library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    I found "The Lake of Dreams" to be educational and inspiring. Before opening this book I never imagined that I would be learning about the Suffrage Movement as well as glass blowing and stained glass windows. The book is well written and kept me captivated throughout. It was one of those books that kept me wanting to read until I had reached the end. Some books that I read are like a amazing massage, and this was one of them!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    This unbelievable book should be needed reading for every woman. This is a attractive story about how our history impacts our show and future and how art transcends time. As Lucy searches the lost part of her family's history, she finds e characters are deep and well developed and the story proceeds at a amazing pace. For awhile, the primary plot seems like one you may have read a thousand times, but then it twists and the main hero grows. I hated having to place it down the writing is so descriptive and is complex, multigenerational story also incorporates some of the show dilemmas of land use and water preservation. It is a celebration of our mother Earth and its creatures.Woven into this family story is the history of women's rights and a depiction of how hard they had to be fought for and why we should not take them for granted. Women should remember what it was like before there were laws to protect our rights and take full advantage of our right to vote to protect women in the future instead of allowing them to be eroded by show legislation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    Lucy Jarrett has always had a hard time staying in one place. Fleeing her upstate Fresh York hometown, Lake of Dreams, to go to college right after her father's tragic accidental death, she has drifted from job to job, put to place, relationship to relationship. Living in Japan with her boyfriend, Yoshi, she starts feeling the same pangs of longing and dissatisfaction, so she jumps at the possibility to return home and visit her family after her mother is in a minor vehicle accident. But returning home, Lucy isn't satisfied to see how her family has moved on in the 10+ years since her father's death, and finds herself treading familiar hurts and frustrations, as well as reconnecting with Keegan Fall, her high school night, suffering from jet lag, Lucy picks the lock on an old window seat in her family home and finds a number of what appear to be old letters and historical documents. She begins to research her findings, and what she discovers is more than she bargained for--she finds a hidden secret in her family tree that has the potential for ripple effects into the present, and future. As Lucy tries to uncover more and more of the facts, she also must renegotiate her relationships, with her family, with Keegan, and with Yoshi.I've always been a fan of stories of family dysfunction and family history, so this book grabbed me beautiful quickly. And while the story itself was really interesting, and I really enjoyed the method Kim Edwards laid everything out, I had problem warming up to Lucy's hero until well into the book, and that created immersing myself in the story fully a bit difficult. But by the time I appreciated just how complex a hero Lucy was, I found myself truly hooked. While perhaps not as memorable as Edwards' The Memory Keeper's Daughter, this book is definitely an affecting, emotional read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    Very enjoyable. I wanted to hold reading it and not place it down. The author is very successful at capturing a scene. I felt like I could be sitting in an Adirondack chair next to the lake.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    Had a really amazing story line. My book club liked it as it took put in the Finger Lakes in Upstate NY,which is where we are from. Self realization and some family secrets being investigated in the book create it peak your interest and grabs you. There were a couple characters that we were not completely satisfied with the fleshing out in the book, but on the whole was quite good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    Have had a hard time finishing it, nothing like the Memory Keeper's Daughter, couldn't place that book down. So a bit of a disappointment but I will probably [email protected]#$%!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lake of Dreams: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-5 18:0

    I loved the idea of this story I just felt it was a small slow in the middle. Loved the characters and the idea for this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    Bought the book to obtain in touch with my Welch heritage. Apart from being a long kind of dry history book, which I expected, the huge issue is that it is specifically written for the Welsh reader. My understanding is that it was originally written in Welsh and this edition is just a direct English translation of the Welsh version. I felt like the author expects the reader to have a decent keep on elementary Welsh history and geography already. As an American, I don't have that background and as a effect I found it to be a difficult read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    This item was delivered in a timely fashion and accurately described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    I learned on that so a lot of of my people are from Wales! I found this book, and a BOATLOAD of my ancestors are in there. Very, very interesting book. The writing flows beautiful well too. The amount of barbaric items that happened throughout history is just shocking, wow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    I have checked out this book from the library a lot of times and finally bought it. It is an excellent, thorough history of Wales.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    Simple to read, informative, comprehensive, and more entertaining than you would think considering it is a history book. I got it as a reference, but it has proven to be an enjoyable read as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    I really have fun history. This book helped me understand what Wales had been though as a people and a country, Helped me learn about my ancestors and my geneology. The author kept my interest with his style of writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of India []  2020-1-27 20:0

    This book is a very amazing general history of India.Overall, the historical narrative is both lucid and captivating, with the various sections and chapters well connected in a cohesive way.Except for the eighth chapter (which is mostly narrative), historical patterns, concepts and problems are well explored beyond the historical narrative, e.g. religious and political patterns in Medieval India in the 3rd chapter, or the issue of administrative plaguing the Delhi Sultanate in chapter 4. Economic, social and cultural developments are also discussed at length, e.g. the survey of the rise of modern Indian literature in regional languages with its common themes and social significance in chapter 6. At the same time, it is rather disappointing that there is almost no treatment of the content of the Upanishads or the Bhagavad Gita in the early e authors also go to amazing lengths to show the reader with the historiography and development of research and research-approaches and theses around major topics. The chronology as well as the glossary of Indian terms at the end of the book are both very later chapters, as the authors cover periods in which international developments created the globe "smaller" and more interrelated, they go beyond the Indian theater to thoroughly discover developments in other corners of the globe - e.g. Portugal and the Netherlands in the 5th chapter - which affected it. And yet, I found the latest two chapters, apparently updated for the sixth edition, to be of lesser quality than the previous ones. Separate discussion of internal and external political developments in the 8th chapter makes it very difficult to follow either, given the interdependence between the two. The discussion of the Kashmir issue, saved as the latest item of the chapter and also encompassing the 2008 terror attacks in Mumbai , could have been much more profound and e summarizing chapter, named "Perspectives", was disappointingly far too short to capture the themes, patterns and lessons arising from the long sweep of Indian history presented throughout the vertheless, despite its faults that are unavoidable in such a broad general history of one of the world's oldest and greatest civilizations, I would highly recommend this book for any reader interested in gaining an introductory knowledge of Indian history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of India []  2020-1-27 20:0

    This book is mercifully brief on the deconstruction of literary sources that South Asian zone studies are prone to and (again quoting the on-target cover copy) "emphasises and analyses the structural pattern of Indian history." I [email protected]#$%! was longer than 335 e first 2/3 of the book covers the pre-British period -- a amazing fraction. While relating more of the military viscitudes than I would like, there is some consideration of social, religious, and economic problems as well as ruling strategies. And the focus on 'great empires' is less than in most Indian histories, which is amazing since India has spent much more time disunited than united.Kulke and Rothermund break with the Hindu/Islamic/British periodization of Indian history, breaking periods before the Guptas and before the Mughals. All in all, it is a substantial improvement over Romila Thapar's effort, and a large improvement over Stanley Wolpert's book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    A surprisingly well written history of a fascinating region. Davies cannot, of course, cover the entire history in any depth but what he chose to highlight was, well, well chosen. So amazing I've read it twice!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    Lots of information about history of Wales

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of India []  2020-1-27 20:0

    Although this book provides a thorough and comprehensive rendition of the history of India, it is not for the casual traveler. Its verbage is very dense and reflects the sentence and vocabulary of non-native english speakers. Consequently, the intent of some sentences is difficult to discern immediately. It is a scholarly work but a challenge to plow through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    If I have any pet peeves about the a lot of history books I read, it is a history book where the author wishes to name a plethora of historians with which to argue or agree. There are enough names in Welsh history to wrap one's head around without mentioning all these other non-historical, non-Welsh names. Mentioning these other people is fine for footnotes, etc. Also, this is a turgid read. I am still looking for a amazing book on Welsh history that is not quite so turgid and difficult to follow. Recommendations welcomed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of Wales []  2020-1-24 20:17

    Amazing info. Too broad a survey. There were lots of historical characters and incidents I wanted a lot more detail on that the author glossed over to hold the chronology moving along. Amazing if you're looking for a survey of Welsh history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The lake regions of Central Africa, a picture of exploration []  2020-1-20 19:41

    Almost impossible to read, digitized by Google Books but clearly never proofread.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The lake regions of Central Africa, a picture of exploration []  2020-1-20 19:41

    Amazing book to have and/or to read for historical reasons above all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The lake regions of Central Africa, a picture of exploration []  2020-1-20 19:41

    Burton led an awesome life of exploration and scholarship [he wrote "The Private Narrative of a Pilgrimage to El-Medinah and Meccah" after disguising himself as an Arab to travel to the sacred city; he visited Salt Lake Town and wrote "City of the Saints"; after exploring in South America he wrote "Explorations of the Highlands of Brazil"; and he translated the "Arabian Nights" and poetry of Luís de Camões], still he may not be an simple writer to come to terms with for a lot of contemporary readers. He is far from what we would call "politically correct". But he wrote so much and so well, and is practically the only writer to travel in Eastern Africa in the 1850's that is in print today (except for John Hanning Speke who was with him on this trip, and who wrote "Journal of the Discovery of the Source of the Nile").To place this book in context it is wise to read something about Burton, particulary Burton and Speke in Africa; know why in "Lake Regions" Burton never refers to Speke by name. (Or see the movie: "Mountains of the Moon")The book is a detailed chronological acc of nearly three years of difficult travel between Zanzibar and Lake Tanganyika. Nothing escapes Burton's observation. He writes of everything from the local hairstyles to the of pombe (traditional beer). He gives detailed descriptions of the landscape, geography, flora, and fauna. He writes of Arabs and the Eastern slave trade. He depicts safari life in the days of human porters and mules. He tells of the people he encounters; his descriptions of Africans may be offensive to some. There is a wealth of info here, something for everyone with an interest in Eastern Africa, or exploration, or imperialism. The put names have sometimes changed from Burton's time to ours, as have the English spelling conventions of Swahili words. Anyone with any interest in Eastern Africa, especially the precolonial period, should arm themselves with a amazing atlas and reference book and read Burton.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The lake regions of Central Africa, a picture of exploration []  2020-1-20 19:41

    The Kindle ver is [email protected]#$%!& was digitized but not edited, and is totally unreadable. Not worth the 99 cents I paid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The lake regions of Central Africa, a picture of exploration []  2020-1-20 19:41

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The lake regions of Central Africa, a picture of exploration []  2020-1-20 19:41

    Burton was a prolific writer who could crank a travel book out of a wrong turn on a trip to the post office. The story of his journey to the source of the Nile with Speke and their subsequent feud is fascinating, but this acc bogs down in minutiae and is often outrageously padded with equipment lists and second-hand digests of others' travels. Burton considered himself a serious ethnographer but most will search the deep, unselfconscious racism which pervades the book off-putting. Illness and poor weather plagued the travellers and Burton complains at length about everything. Happenings of interest are few and far between and the outcome of the voyage was ambiguous; Burton claiming retrospectively that the interior lakes he saw in East Africa were the source of the Nile. Compensations contain descriptive passages of amazing beauty. Of course this is must reading for anyone interested in the find for the source of the Nile or the controversy between Burton and Speke.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tahoe Place Names: The Origin and History of Names in the Lake Tahoe Basin []  2020-6-24 18:43

    Perfect resource, very interesting reading with perfect further resource offerings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tahoe Place Names: The Origin and History of Names in the Lake Tahoe Basin []  2020-6-24 18:43

    Just what I was looking for, thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Interrupted Lives: The History of Tuberculosis in Minnesota and Glen Lake Sanitorium []  2020-7-2 19:50

    Interesting history of TB at the Glen Lake Sanitorium. It would be interesting to know more about the other state TB sanitoriums.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Battle of Lake Champlain: A Brilliant and Extraordinary Victory []  2020-1-31 1:44

    everything was excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonshine Valentine: A Witches of Keyhole Lake Short 4.5 []  2020-1-21 23:20

    Another crazy day in Keyhole Lake. Cute short story. Love the city and it’s crazy characters. Only 4 stars because it was so short.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Holy Lake: A Memoir of Eastern Bhutan (Wayfarer) []  2020-1-23 0:37

    Lovely, straightforward acc of living and working in Bhutan. I have spent over a year in the country as well and Ken captures the country and people well. Kudos to a job well done - I hope you are still writing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tahoe Place Names: The Origin and History of Names in the Lake Tahoe Basin []  2020-6-24 18:43

    We love the book! Amazing information about Tahoe and excellent for learning more about Tahoe. I can highly recommend the store- arrived early!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tahoe Place Names: The Origin and History of Names in the Lake Tahoe Basin []  2020-6-24 18:43

    If you are interested in the Tahoe Sierra, this book is a must for our library. Updated and informative, this well researched book is a five star addition..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Interrupted Lives: The History of Tuberculosis in Minnesota and Glen Lake Sanitorium []  2020-7-2 19:50

    Very interesting and historically accurate book. Has a lot of first person stories and amazing pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonshine Valentine: A Witches of Keyhole Lake Short 4.5 []  2020-1-21 23:20

    Things in Keyhole Lake gets really, really weird on Valentine's Day!! All our favorite fellas obtain extremely weird, enough to panic their females...n Noelle and her Witch mates figure out, what's going on with their men??Guess you'll have to read this AWESOME book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonshine Valentine: A Witches of Keyhole Lake Short 4.5 []  2020-1-21 23:20

    I wouldn't have missed it! A really fun read, especially for Valentine's Day. I've read the first six books in this series plus the three shorts, and they're all good. All are interesting mysteries with well-developed characters. This is the shortest one, by far, but a hoot and fun to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonshine Valentine: A Witches of Keyhole Lake Short 4.5 []  2020-1-21 23:20

    I love the characters and story I [email protected]#$%! was longer but it doesn't leave me feeling like it wasn't finished

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Battle of Lake Champlain: A Brilliant and Extraordinary Victory []  2020-1-31 1:44

    This is more than just a book about the battle, it covers the entire battle of 1812 (of course, in not as much detail as the war of Lake Champlain). A amazing book about a forgotten battle, as Lake Champlain was the war that won the battle for the United States, not Fresh Orleans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Holy Lake: A Memoir of Eastern Bhutan (Wayfarer) []  2020-1-23 0:37

    Excellent, well written book of early experiences of Bhutan as it was opening its boundaries to welcome visitors from the West. Recommended reading for those interested in Buddhist countries & the insights that await for those with an interest in mindfulness & awareness of living for the moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Interrupted Lives: The History of Tuberculosis in Minnesota and Glen Lake Sanitorium []  2020-7-2 19:50

    Enjoyed the images and stories of people involved through the years with the Glen Lake Sanatorium and Oak Terrace Nursing Home. I already had a amazing working knowledge of the zone and the history but learned fresh things from the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Holy Lake: A Memoir of Eastern Bhutan (Wayfarer) []  2020-1-23 0:37

    This is an perfect book about a country that I hope to es a amazing job describing the culture the people and the attractive scenery. Gives you a feel for what a peaceful country this is

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Holy Lake: A Memoir of Eastern Bhutan (Wayfarer) []  2020-1-23 0:37

    The author spent two years teaching English composition at a mission school in eastern Bhutan in the 1980s. Bhutan is a primitive put now; it was even less developed back then. The school was dilapidated, the bureaucracy cumbersome, the principal a tyrant, and the standards of instruction antiquated, mostly rote memorization. Haigh's residence was besieged by rats and other vermin, he came down with dysentery, and he was nearly killed in a bus accident on the mountain roads. But he fell in love with Bhutan and its people nonetheless.Haigh does not romanticize Bhutan and he notes the poverty, unemployment, alcoholism, disease and other issues he observed there. But his amazing affection for the country is evident in his delightful descriptions of the polite, kind, generous people he encountered everywhere and the attractive landscape and the "villages strung along the river like pearls on a thread of silver."Illustrated with black-and-white photographs, this book is sure to please anyone interested in Bhutan or travel narratives in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonshine Valentine: A Witches of Keyhole Lake Short 4.5 []  2020-1-21 23:20

    I LOVE Tegan Maher's books! I have not read a one that I found disappointing. Tegan has a captivating style of writing, favorably comparable to Tricia O’Malley, Misha McKenzie, Gwen Pankhurst and Nora ese books are not as, well, massive in stage as some of the one's mentioned above, however, I have found each one - even the shorts - very enjoyable. I just got the latest book published (man, I hope there are more!!!) and am enjoying rereading the previous books prior to reading the fresh one as is my habit because, a) I read a LOT of books and authors, but only REREAD those I really LOVE and, b) I'm a stay-at-home wife and I can, lol! And c) I've read several various authors since my latest Tegan Maher book and I wish the whole picture in mind before I read the fresh one.... putting it in the proper context, as it stery, a small something extra, romance and, of course, murder....Read the books..... ALL THE BOOKS!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonshine Valentine: A Witches of Keyhole Lake Short 4.5 []  2020-1-21 23:20

    Yes, it is fluff read, it is enjoyable reading! Got a day to yourself, obtain this book and ENJOY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonshine Valentine: A Witches of Keyhole Lake Short 4.5 []  2020-1-21 23:20

    Loved it. It was very entertaining and enjoying to read. I just thought it was to short. I wished it was longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Battle of Lake Champlain: A Brilliant and Extraordinary Victory []  2020-1-31 1:44

    Nicely done brief acc (132 pp) of the campaign and war for Plattsburgh, in 1814. GREAT maps, solid narrative, very amazing discussion of naval strategies and strategy. Also has background on operations on the lake in 1812, 1813.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Secret History of Witches [Book]  2017-11-27 18:0

    Compelling story of the lives and loves of strong women, both ancient and modern. Witch or not, the sacrifices they create ring true.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brief History of Time [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Delivered as expected. Excellent condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brief History of Everything []  2019-12-20 18:32

    This was a very readable, concise introduction to Ken Wilber's work. And amazingly, it is without footnotes/endnotes! I'd recommend it to the person who is wondering, "What is all that Integral items about, anyway?"He illustrates a lot of his concepts with examples from history along the method which helps create this less of a dry academic treatise and more of an enjoyable read. I also liked that he explains the varying conflicts of various schools of science, religion, philosophy, politics, ecology, etc., very clearly and simply inside the Integral framework. This created a whole lot more sense than any history course I ever took.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brief History of Everything []  2019-12-20 18:32

    This was my introduction to the author. Packed with an enlightening theme, a really expansive method of looking at the world. This book forced/challenged my materialist rooted perspective and definitely makes me more curious about the spiritual side of things. While repetitive at times, I actually began to appreciate it because I found the ideas so dense, it was important to hear the ideas presented again in a slightly various way. It’s hard to read this book in electronic format and follow the diagrams. I’m probably going to have to read again and check out his other works, probably in paper form. Overall appreciated this work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Brief History of Everything []  2019-12-20 18:32

    Perfect book. I can't tell you how much I learned about myself and my culture! I highly recommend this book and this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chernobyl: History of a Tragedy []  2019-12-23 20:29

    Serhii Plokhy, Ukrainian by birth, is a Professor of History at Harvard University. One of his concerns in this book is to demonstrate the impact the disaster and its mishandled aftermath had in hastening the collapse of the Soviet Union and in strengthening the movement for Ukrainian independence. That is an aspect of the disaster still meriting investigation; the info and causes of the explosion, and chronology of the aftermath have long been authoritatively brief, reactor number 4, the newest, at the Chernobyl nuclear power plant, exploded at 1.21am on the night of 26th April 1986, releasing radioactive material that would fall on significant locations of north-east Ukraine, south-east Belarus, and western Russia. Lesser quantities travelled further – over Scandinavia, where in Sweden evidence of an accident ‘somewhere in the Soviet bloc’ was first detected, and some was even precipitated with massive rain over the light of all that we know now, the explosion can be attributed to design faults in the reactor type used (exclusive to the Soviet Union); an experiment conducted during a routine maintenance shut-down that, in view of the potentially catastrophic consequences, should never have been attempted; a slowing-down of the shutdown process because of the demand for electricity when another power plant unexpectedly went off-line; inadequate knowledge, even among the designers, of how that type of reactor might answer when mishandled; and – in the interests of secrecy and state security – lack of instruction and knowledge among the on-site plant at the reactor had not just overheated, but exploded, was not established by the Soviet authorities until mid-afternoon on April 26th. Even then, evacuation of the adjacent town of Pripyat, which protocol directed should have been organized immediately, was delayed for a further 24 hours, and it was only after the evacuation to surrounding districts of the city’s 44,000 people, and of patients with radiation sickness to Moscow hospitals – spreading news widely by word of mouth – that the authorities created any public announcement within the Soviet Union or to the wider e gradual opening-up of info over the months and years that followed became quite remarkable. It was in any case the Communist Party Secretary Mikhail Gorbachev’s era of glasnost (openness and transparency). Hans Blix, the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and his American nuclear security advisor were permitted to view the destruction from a helicopter less than two weeks after the explosion (even at risk of their observing a top secret radar array located close to the Chernobyl plant), and foreign journalists were permitted to travel to r an international conference the following August on the causes of the disaster and ways of avoiding future accidents, the Politburo approved presentation of a 388 page report that included info on the design of the reactor, and estimates of the amount of radioactivity released and its impact on agriculture and human health.(There was, however, a blind-spot in the info presented: the ‘wrong’ people were blamed – and afterwards tried and given prison sentences: the plant managers and safety officers, rather than the reactor’s designers and high Communist Party officials.)The opening-up of information, hand-in-hand with perestroika (restructuring), developed alongside a fresh tolerance of demonstrations versus all things nuclear, which in Ukraine was associated almost from the beginning with demands for independence. In late 1991, less than six years after the Chernobyl explosion, the Soviet Union collapsed and Ukraine achieved its longed-for okhy provides a very full acc of all those matters, and his presentation is, for the most part at least, fair and balanced – although some still-living actors such as Gorbachev would probably okhy's narrative is, however, not powerful on how the globe outside the Soviet Union (or even outside north-eastern Ukraine) was affected, or how other governments and the free-world’s press reacted. Elements such as the first detection of raised radiation levels in Sweden and the Soviet Union’s eventual cooperation with the IAEA are present, but are not brought together in a fuller account, as I thought they might have been

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Nursing []  2020-1-11 20:7

    This text is useful. It's well organized, written concisely with enough detail to hold it interesting but brief enough to hold it moving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Nursing []  2020-1-11 20:7

    It's a book. All I know it my daughter used it in nursing school and graduated with a 3.8+ GPA so it must work, right?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of Economics []  2020-1-17 23:20

    This book brought together and clarified some of the theories and Thoughts of economics that I have been exposed To over the past several decades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of Economics []  2020-1-17 23:20

    Provides a strong understanding of the evolution of ideas in Economics. The breadth of the Economists and subjects is breathtaking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tall History of Sugar []  2020-1-17 23:53

    Just finished and need time to process, sign of a amazing book. Read it yourself and learn something. Worth the effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of Philosophy []  2020-1-18 20:40

    This must be the best introductory book I could students to Western philosophy with, and I have read far too a lot of of them. Warburton manages to grab some of the best insights of amazing philosophers, and bring them to the bloodflow of any intellectually curious reader outside of the narrow confines of contemporary philosophy. Very simple to read, and this covers quite a bit while managing to contain a few people who are often unfortunately left out--especially Schopenhauer. People will nitpick on what is in and out of this, but we do obtain so much for under 300 pages and less than $15. I have fallen in love with this small book, and now I have to hurry up and search a method to contain it in my classes. The Audible ver (I bought both) created for a amazing street trip, too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of Philosophy []  2020-1-18 20:40

    This book serves its purpose of summarizing the history of philosophy following the history of philosophers in an accessible language. Often after listening to each chapter (yes, I've "read" the audiobook version) I was much more curious about the work of the philosopher than what 9 or 10 mins of narration was capable of covering. I ended up spending time reading items in Wikipedia as much as listening to the audiobook. I recommend this title for those seeking a primary introduction to philosophy or for those interesting to revisiting philosophical concepts learned at school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little History of Philosophy []  2020-1-18 20:40

    I love how each chapter is started off with some sort of story and then gets into the philosophers thinking and most pivotal moments and then it flows right along into the next philosopher and their thinking. It’s literally like a timeline!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Jews []  2020-1-18 20:57

    Where else can you search the complete history of the Jewish people? I have be interested in the Jewish people for years and finally pulled the trigger and downloaded this book to my Kindle. It is definitely an academic read. (Many of the words I didn't know the Webster dictionary didn't have!) It is slow go and simple to obtain lost as I am not familiar with the old testament. Nonetheless, a fascinating read. Next I wish to read Mr. Johnson's take on the American people.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386