Read a line in the dark reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a line in the dark reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 1

    Useful review?

    wordington: a word story []  2020-7-6 6:35

    I have completed all tasks to be told more tasks to come soon. Its been days and still waiting. I have accrued over 250 dollars and nothing to spend it on. If i dont have any fresh tasks soon i am deleting the android game and certainly not recommending it for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    There were some avenues left unexplored, some questions left unanswered. I honestly Don't know how I feel about the end. However, overall I liked ere are four types of "twist" endings. The endings you see coming right from the opening act. The endings that that you didn't see, but doesn't surprise you in the least. The endings that blindside you with illogic. Leaving you thinking: "Wait, that doesn't create sence". Then there are the real twists, that take you completely by surprise. This book had a real twist ending. That part was well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Bought this book for my daughter. She loved it. Saved ordering from Amazon vs purchasing from a book shop .

    0  


    Add your opinion on a line in the dark or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Amazing book. Not what i expected at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    This was fast and very well-written and totally compelling. The ending did feel rushed to me and I wanted the consequences of it to be explored more than they really were, but on the whole I liked this one a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    This book is fantastic. It is gripping from the very beginning and does not allow up. It also feels very various from Lo's other books, but in by no means a poor way. It was very refreshing. The characters are complex and compelling. Definitely a must read if you have fun YA, mysteries, or romances.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    A Line in the Dark is a book that came highly recommended to me, and since I was already eyeballing it in the store, I felt like this would be excellent for a November read.I was right, because I truly enjoyed this e book follows a teenage girl named Jess, who is extremely passionate about drawing. Jess has a best mate named Angie and the two have been thick as thieves for a really long time, until Jess notices a girl approach Angie at the Creamery where she works and it kind of puts a wedge between rgot is gorgeous and has her eye out on Angie, which makes Jess extremely uncomfortable and jealous because of her own feelings towards her best mate that she is unable to express or too scared to. The two begin dating and Angie and Jess end up in a war because Angie notices that Jess doesn’t seem to like Margot but at the same time Angie isn’t aware of Jess’ feelings towards ss attends an art program at the school that Margot goes to (a boarding school for the wealthy) and that causes her to stumble onto some deep secrets that Margot and her best mate Ryan are hiding.Well, this secret leads to Ryan’s death after a Christmas party and these children end up being investigated because they are the latest to see Ryan is book is done in two parts. The beginning throws you into what happened, but the first part is before the incident and the second part is the investigation following the incident. I thought this book was really well done, I really enjoyed the writing, the characters, the plot was interesting. It had diversity, but it also had a is is not a book that is meant to be spooky, and I know some people felt that method when they saw the cover. This is actually a contemporary young adult with a mystery and a twist. It’s about a girl, who is trying to sort of search herself as well as test to with the fact that the girl she is in love with, she cannot is book, I am warning now, does not come with a satisfied ending. It is not a romance, even if it features a also reads as an older Young Adult, it is positive, but no there are no explicit scenes in it. It does have drinking and some cursing.I did have a hard time putting this down, I was completely invested in the plot line and the characters and I really wanted to know what happened. The ending threw a true curve ball and it was, I did not expect that but it explained some e only problem I think I have is that, the beginning was not how the rest of the book completely unfolded and I felt that the assassin should probably have been more affected maybe by what happened? But all in all, I really enjoyed this, it was an interesting read and I always appreciate a book with diversity and a good, engrossing plot line.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    GRADE: B4 STARSIf a tree falls in a forest, and no one hears it fall, did it create a sound? The philosophical conundrum attributed to Charles Berkley makes me ask, “If a novel highlighting mental illness never mentions mental illness, is the book still about mental illness?A LINE IN THE DARK is marketed like a psychological thriller, but reads more psychological than thriller, though mental illness is never addressed. Jess and her best mate Angie have an enmeshed relationship, mostly from Jess’s side of the friendship. When Angie starts dating Margot, a girl from a nearby boarding school, Jess becomes more possessive and at one point even stalks Angie. Someone goes missing and turns up murdered. The investigation reveals even more about all the girls and their relationships, including those not mentioned in this ss narrates the first part of the book and the epilogue. The second half of A LINE IN THE DARK includes police interviews and various third person points of view. Also contained in this novel is Jess’s comic book, an allegory for her internal struggles and the plot. I’m not a fan of stories within stories. I think they take away from plot and hero development. This was the third or fourth I’ve read in latest months and I haven’t liked any of ss was a hero hard for me to champion. She was selfish, controlling, dishonest and downright mean. Had she been over eighteen, her unhealthy attachment to Angie, not good impulse control and dangerous behavior could have been diagnosed as Borderline Personality Disorder. Had Malinda Lo chosen to delve into Jess’s psyche rather than gone with the comic angle, A LINE IN THE DARK would have been a five star read. I also want Jess’s experiences as a first generation Chinese American had been further explored.I didn’t understand why Angie wanted to continue her friendship with Jess, especially after Jess stalked ot wise, the murder mystery was less interesting to me than Jess’s psyche and the twisted friendships and romantic relationships in the spite its flaws, A LINE IN THE DARK was an enjoyable read and is a book I’ll probably reread in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I was SHOCKED at the end of this book SHOCKED. One of the greatest plot twists I've ever read. I remember getting towards the end book and thinking, I don't know how Lo is going to wrap this all up in such few pages, but then she goes BOOM and rocks your expectations.Have been a fan for a long time, will always be a fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I love Malinda Lo’s work, and I’ve been looking forward to getting this ever since it came out. Had I known the main hero was a comic book creator, I would have got it this a lot sooner!And, as usual, Ms. Lo does not disappoint. I was immediately sucked into the story. Malinda Lo is one of the best storytellers writing today. She just has a method of breathing life into her characters and writing stories that are so engaging, the rest of the globe starts to fall is book (and Ms. Lo’s Twitter feed) created me think about how representation is a major part of privilege. I’m glad that I can follow unbelievable authors like Malinda Lo and understand this from a little perspective. It seems like I know all these white men that are @#$%!ing about how they don’t feel privileged; and, yes maybe they are lower class and yes maybe they have a hard life, but they still don’t understand how a lot of ways privilege gives them a leg up.I can’t fathom how necessary it is to see your self represented in media, because I am the default. It makes me wonder how much of this book is autobiographical. It was interesting - I really noticed it when the main characters go to hear a lecture from two female Asian comic creators. Malinda Lo spends a lot of time describing what they look like and what they’re wearing. It just created me realize how much she’s putting effort into giving representation to people who may not be used to it.And, like some of her other work I’ve read, it’s really suspenseful. By the end of the book a caught myself holding my breath. I literally listened to the latest 20 mins of the book a second time just so I could obtain the full effect. I almost wanted to read the entire book again to see what the book was like after hearing the final reveal. I would have loved to obtain deeper into the character’s heads. It would be fascinating to read this story from Margot’s or from Angie’s perspectives!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the Dark []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Overall the book was great. Unreliable narrators are a amazing choice when you wish the reader to second guess everything. I want that the length of the novel was longer and kept the facts hidden. What is truth when everyone has their own version? Revealing all the facts at the end seemed rushed. Perhaps the facts should have foreshadowed the happenings instead of being revealed in totality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    If you Love reading,laughing out loud, crying, think " To Slay a Mockingbird" is one of the best films or books ever. Grew up in the late 50's have sisters and brothers come from a Leave it to Beaver family or a completely dysfunctional family, raised Catholic,Protestant, in America you will LOVE this book and these sisters!A book that makes you wish to tell everyone about, it is just wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    Got this book from my cousin who grew up with the author. Being two years younger than them I was a product of the same era and zone of milwaukee. This book brought back so a lot of memories of my childhood. I can't support but look back at how we spent out time as children. Outside as long as our parents would let , not sitting inside looking at a computer. Time using our imaginations. This book is as realistic as it could possibly be outside of her plot line of murder. I have read this book over and over again, same as I do with to slay a mockingbird. People out this book down because of the writing style being so related to to slay a mockingbird. What's so wrong with that. It fits the book as it did with the amazing American classic to slay a mockingbird. This book has now become one of my favorites along with the latest day and to slay a mockingbird. My congratulations to Lesley kagen. Its a must read for anyone who grew up in milwaukee in th fifties and sixties.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    Whistling in the Dark brought me back to my childhood of dirty feet, scuffed knees, and neighbor kids. Leslie Kagan perfectly captures the feel of summer when children were shooed outside early in the morning and except for meals, were not expected nor even allowed inside the house until the road lights turned on. This was an era when children knew every person on the block such as sweet childless lady who baked cookies, and the creepy man who walked around ere are a lot of things to like about Whistling in the Dark. The plot is fast moving; the clues and false leads about the murderer/molester tickle curiosity and hold things interesting. The danger of the predator who has chosen Sally as his next victim is chilling, but the heart of this novel is the innocent mischief and misadventures of two unsupervised small girls. The sisters Sally and Troo O'Malley, as well as the little city setting are so realistically written that you can not only see but smell them. Sweet, sassy, silly childhood humor crackles on each page. There are some flaws that stem from this being the first novel undertaken by Leslie Kagan, who may have believed that this would be the only book she would ever write. At times it seems as if she were trying to cram every period detail into just a few pages, and in doing so, she introduced but didn't fully develop too a lot of secondary characters. However, the book was a real pleasure to read and I look forward to her future works as she matures as an is is an perfect summer read, and people of a certain age who enjoyed Wishin' and Hopin' and Green Grass Grace will love remembering their own childhoods.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    Plot/Storyline: 4 3/4 StarsThe plot of this book is as much about relationships as it is about murder. Sally is a middle sister and suffers from that syndrome. However, unlike a lot of characters with middle-sister angst, she suffers willingly and, for the most part, gladly. The family dynamics shown within the storyline are realistic and of the things I liked most about this novel was its adherence to honesty in the setting. I have heard people say so often, "Things weren't like that back in ." My respond has always been that things were like that, just not so much so due to lower population. This book shows truth in both the relationships involved and in the fact that there was a serial assassin loose in the '50s. Yes, it happened even e storyline is linear, with the exception of the occassional flashback. Each happening flows into another with all scenes forwarding the plot. I found myself totally immersed in this novel to the point of thinking about it even when not reading. It's not an "I couldn't place it down" supense novel; It's an "I wish to know more about Sally and what's she's going to do or explore next" book.While the ending was satisfying, and the perpetrator believable, I did search some of the revelations regarding Sally's family somewhat taxing. There were just too a lot of secrets revealed in a very little zone of aracter Development: 5 StarsThe kids are portrayed realistically. While the decade was of a simpler time, and kids were not so quick to mature, they were still inquisitive and knew more than adults often gave them for. This shines through in not only Sally's thoughts and actions, but also in those of her playmates and e little neighborhood is populated with some interesting characters, both kids and adults. There are no overdone caricatures here, but each hero is infused with life, a lot of bringing a smile.Writing Style: 5 StarsThe writing here flows so well that I felt as though I were in the book, living it right along with Troo and Sally. The dialogue was vibrant with the voices of every character. The descriptions were concise and created for perfect visualization.I especially enjoyed this author's way of foreshadowing. She gave just enough to hold me drawn into the story without it ever feeling forced.Editing/Formatting: 4 3/4 StarsThere was an odd formatting problem with the first letter of most chapters simply not appearing. This did not interfere with the reading too much as it was easy to infer what the letter should be.If you test out a sample, you might message a couple of line breaks in the middle of the text. This only happened two or three times, so was not really an e editing was of professional quality.Rating: PG-13 for Adult Themes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    The story took awhile to obtain moving, but about halfway through it finally got momentum and picked up in the latest third of the book. The characters were well developed and the story really gave a sense of the late 1950s and life in a little neighborhood zone within a larger city. I liked it, and actually enjoyed the stereotypes (which were a part of life during that era), and it was a worthwhile story to have fun for a reasonably short read. The murder mystery part of the book was interesting and kept me reading and wondering, but at the same time, it felt secondary to the hardships these two sisters faced, and their relationships with their family members, neighbors, and friends. I can't quite give it 4 stars but it is a beautiful amazing story, and I'd recommend it to readers who have fun being taken back to simpler times, a the naivety of a 10-year-old and her view of life, and how she had cope and grow up a small too quick during an idyllic period of American history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    Set in the 1959 the story about Sally O'Malley and her family is delightful. A steady to quick paced book with just enough twists to hold it interesting, I enjoyed every min of it. Other reviewers think the characters or story is a small far fetched, and I can see their point, but I also think it's just a story not true life. I do think the sisters sounded older than 9 and 10, but it reminded me a bit of Scout. I had fun getting lost in their neighborhood and a scary, hard summer that had elements of very true life in the 50s. It's a amazing weekend read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    This book created me go back mentally and remember amazing and poor things that happened on 15th road in Philadelphia where I grew up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    The writing style was a small like Harper Lee. I grew up in Milwaukee, at the same time and in the neighborhood where the story takes put so it was so very close to me. But no matter where you are from, this story will strike a chord with you. Such a true small girl with true life situations, and centered around a crime/mystery. Exciting to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    The characters are true and show ok n their time. I obtain up knowing these people. The "overactive" imagination was a trait I identified so strongly with Sally. The plot moved along slowly but with purpose. Every detail required an explanation or it wouldn't fit. Girls like Sally and Troo really do think like that. Read this to learn a bit about history of some neighborhoods, history of childhood freedom, and history of passage of rites. Loved this - can you tell?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Whistling in the Dark: A Novel []  2020-1-6 18:41

    I enjoyed the method this book was written from a child's perspective. The author leads you into the whole neighborhood feeling and though it's a sad story it's done with humor. The characters are all defined so the reader feels they know them. It's also nice to have various characters so there's more going on and it's not too predictable. I'd recommend this book to my mates who like a sweet story with enough depth to hold you interested.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Quick moving. Like the a lot of levels

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Fun Love this game, easy, relaxing, feel amazing game..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    SM-N910A 5.1.1 Works. Thank you...no unique permissions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Fun...but Don't like having a live wallpaper added to my phone without my knowledge or permission. :( Uninstalling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    AI does a Amazing Job on their Android games Every android game i have tried from AI Factory is simple, straight forward fun and all their android games are well created and we all know it, they deserve the

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    The best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Not poor Tip button needs to be on the screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Works well Amazing time waster on long trips. Worth for advert and to help dev

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Best four in a row I've played. Paid after using version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    SUPER ADDICTIVE!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four in a line [App]  2020-5-15 21:40

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    As All Their Games, Top Notch! Their whole line of android games are all done to perfection. 2 things i hope they might consider one day, 1) able to add custom background (ie Solitaire) & with that, 2) invisible board (have dots to tag columns), only displaying custom background. But as it stands now, perfect on every level. Help these amazing & honest developers, (which is starting to become a rarity lately in Googleville)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Almost excellent Could use more themes and brick designs, but fairly decent selection. However what is super mega annoying is that "red" ALWAYS start. In two player android games this epic failure is exceptionally annoying. For freaking sake, I wish always to be one color but alternating who starts…

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Love it !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Just okay... No option to play online with other people!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four in a line [App]  2020-5-15 21:40

    Because this android game don't like me every time I play I lose

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Exceptional! I've known this android game from the commercials on TV as "Connect Four". This ver is well worth the buck with so a lot of features and an infinite replay value. Hold making awesome android games AI Factory!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Fun android game Very fun ai is good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Not good Now it crashes on my Note 2 after the recent update! Developer, quickly do something abt it pls!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Related to other review... I used the ver for so long and enjoyed it so much... Thought it only fair to stomp up for the version... Thx!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line [App]  2019-3-22 13:43

    Played ver for months. Upgraded to reward developer for making such a quality game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Amazing lord this was a badly written book with a wafer thin plot line. Had such high hopes. It is likened unto Gone Girl in a lot of reviews. Gone Girl isn't the best literary work to start with but at least it was entertaining and not too predictable. This was drivel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Three word review for this book: SUPER. FREAKING. CREEPY.Ok, so I'm just kidding about the three word review part, I'll give you more. I'm totally not joking about how creepy the book was though. I listened to the audio book when I went on walks with my dog or on my commute to and from work, but it was always at day time because this book was so darn e story is centered around Nora, a young crime fiction writer who is invited on her childhood best friend's bachelorette party. She hasn't seen her mate in a lot of years, but she decides to go anyways. Things begin getting a small strange at the bachelorette party and Nora begins questioning why she is there in the first place. After someone is murdered, Nora loses part of her memory from the evening and must retrieve it in to search the much as I enjoyed the quick paced flow of the book, there were parts that were a small childish, cliche, and one dimensional. There were very obvious clues dropped throughout the book as well as a super huge build-up for a not so surprising ten year secret. There were times when I just wanted to obtain to then end and be finished. With all of that said, I did have fun the book. It was obvious at times that it was the author's first novel. I would recommend this book to friends, but it definitely would not be the highest book on my list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Obvious villain ... silly plot line ... who makes huge life decisions off texts with no verbal follow up for 10 years???? Ridiculous ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    I listened to the interview with the author on NPR and the story sounded interesting and entertaining, so I decided to check it out. Other reviewers had compared this book to Gone Girl, a book I enjoyed for the most part (except the ending), so it seemed a amazing e beginning of the book moves slowly, building up to the “promise” of the book (a murder at a hen party or bachelorette party). There’s a lot of the narrator, Leonora (Lee or Nora or Leo depending on who you ask) asking herself why she chose to accept an invitation to a hen party for a woman that she was best mates with in elementary and high school. They haven’t spoken in 10 years. Yes, why? Because the bride to be is a manipulative B whom everyone loves (and sometimes hates to hate). And that is one of the ways that Gone Girl and Dark Dark Wood are very related – Amy (Gone Girl) and Clare (Dark Dark Wood) are both “good poor characters” (meaning they are well written twits who deserve to be punched in the face for their maniuplativeness, but if someone did punch them, a lot of people who haven’t seen the manipulative side would wonder, “How could you hit HER? She’s so NICE!”).The book overall is entertaining, but the promised murder doesn’t occur at least until the middle of the book (couldn’t judge pages on my Kindle) and seems to move swiftly from there (whereas the parts before moved more slowly). Once the “suspense/thriller” aspects of the book started, I didn’t wish to go to bed – I wanted to [email protected]#$%! and see what happened. There wasn’t much to distract from the story - there were a few editing errors in the Kindle edition, and my brain had to “translate” some of the British to American, but other than that this was a solid and entertaining read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    As a lot of reviewers have already written, the plot is LUDICROUS and the tea stage at the end is absolutely is book was slow and I was sort of shocked when the murder happened at about 50% of the book (I read it on my Kindle so I don't know page numbers.) I thought to myself "How are they going to fill up the rest of this book?" And I was spot on: this book could've ended at the 50% tag and I would've liked it more. On the plus side: it's an simple read that you can finish on a domestic they are going to turn this into a film is beyond me. No doubt, it will be a boring sically, here's the book so you can save your (there are no true spoilers):0%: Meet Nora5%: Begin ludicrous plot line10%: Meet a motley squad of annoying characters25%: Tequila and cocaine50%: Murder (an alcohol and drug-fueled murder? Ruh roh!)60%: Nora can't remember what happened.70%: Nora still can't remember what happened.80%: "Oh why, oh why, can't I remember what happened?" asks Nora.90%: Eureka, Nora remembers what happened!95%: Nora's having tea with the murderer because killing someone sure makes me thirsty for some Earl Grey.100%: Thank God this book is over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    the book was very, very slow...and predictable. The focus was teenage love and Leo, admitted that was her focus since she was 16, getting back with James. It is very interesting that James did not wish contact with her when he found out she was pregnant...that was a red flag for me...and the next red flag was Leo getting invited to the HEN party...and then the next was James showing up at the HEN party.Rather silly, all of it. Not at all a amazing crime novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Certainly a amazing debut novel. Once again, though, the protagonist is a hot mess, all but destroyed by a failed relationship with a man. To give Leonora Shaw credit, though, her life in London was going well until she agrees to attend a bachelorette style weekend in the gloomy English countryside, if by well you mean that she lives alone, has almost no social life and no interest in forming a romantic relationship with anyone. She's a successful, reclusive author of crime novels (Kind of like me, but I'm method older than she is and not nearly as successful). She doesn't even have a dog or a cat. The supporting cast of characters is fascinating and original, and I loved the Agatha Christie type limited list of suspects, and the method the story points the reader toward one and then another, not revealing the real culprit until the breakneck-paced, bitter end. The setting looms dark, huge and menacing throughout (After all, the title is In a Dark, Dark Wood.). Dozens of gothic foreshadowing, which I love. I'll definitely read Ruth Ware's newest book, The Lying Game. I'm officially a fan now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    I have to admit up front that I was very disappointed in In a Dark, Dark e story centers on Nora, a 26 year old crime fiction writer who is sometimes referred to by other characters as Lee, Leonora, or Leo. Nora is invited to a bachelorette weekend party to celebrate the marriage of Clare, a person she hasn't seen in a decade. The reunion is awkward (Clare is marrying Nora's old boyfriend) and the guests contain different stereotypes: the mentally unhinged Flo, catty Tom, stressed out fresh mom Melanie, and sassy best mate Nina. Toss in lots of alcohol, a litttle cocaine, and plenty of poor feelings and you have the makings of a really unpleasant party. And then there's a murder which leaves Nora battered with amnesia trying to place her memories back uted as a mystery in the Agatha Christie mold the story plays out more like a Scooby-doo tale. The author drops conspicuous clues repetitively. Two characters who are of related build wear identical clothing (Jinkies!) and there's a shotgun hanging on the wall loaded with blanks (Ruh-roh). There are other warning signs as well -- no phone service, mysterious footprints and a missing cell phone. The author lays out the clues in an massive handed, overt e characters come across as fairly shallow and juvenile. There didn't seem to be anyone to root for -- not even the murder victim. The ending is quite obvious -- although not to Nora which reinforces her characterization as incredibly dim (especially for a crime fiction writer). I don't wish to give out any spoilers, but the tea drinking conversation near the end of the book is ludicrous.I can not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    Wow, this one was predictable. It is also boring because the author tells us the same things over and over. The characters are one dimensional and the writing style is repetitive with the author telling the reader over and over what certain characters are like and what is going on. I found the writing juvenile, both the style and the plot which was beyond silly. I figured it out almost immediately. Don't expect plot twists. This book was all hype. I bought this and Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin at the same time and the latter was much more entertaining and better written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark, Dark Wood [Book]  2018-4-28 18:0

    It's fine for reading on a plane or airport; something frothy and fast if you're not expecting a mystery. This book is "meh." The protagonist is agonizingly stupid, and all her "friends" and the people she's surrounded by are all different shades of the main "mean girl." The book would honestly work much, much better if they'd all been *actual* teenagers or freshmen college student reconnecting on a weekend trip. Because treating the characters like adults stretches plausibility, especially when you learn the crux of the protagonists' long-festering pain; trying to hold this relatively spoiler-free, but if it was the kind of relationship where you wouldn't text back even just an acknowledgment, it's not the kind that you'd obsess over for a decade to the point of never having a subsequent relationship. I mean, Jesus Christ.I did like all the scenes describing her running, and describing the woods and the house. Even describing her life in her small flat in London; I could picture that flat and that quiet life. Reading those scenes in the Kindle preview is what created me the book. Like I said, it's fine so long as you're just looking for a fast small read while traveling and hold your expectations low.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the River: Khartoum, City of Memory []  2020-2-2 1:19

    This is an exceptionally well-crafted and reflective book, full of private insights and delivers a picture and understanding of Sudan and Khartoum in particular that is simple to read, engrossing and very rewarding. The large changes that a multi-cultural town has gone through are well-described and the book delivers wisdom applicable to a lot of such mega-cities in Africa and Asia. A real pleasure to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Line in the River: Khartoum, City of Memory []  2020-2-2 1:19

    Got this for a family member. So far she is loving it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Demon in the Mirror: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy []  2020-6-22 19:17

    This was a delightfully dark short story with just enough light at the end to create it wonderful. I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Demon in the Mirror: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy []  2020-6-22 19:17

    5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Demon in the Mirror: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy []  2020-6-22 19:17

    This book was recommended by my sister, and I am really glad that I gave this book a chance. It was good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Demon in the Mirror: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy []  2020-6-22 19:17

    I have a couple reasons for giving this book five stars. First, I enjoyed the prose, the quality of which I found cond, the concept interested me. It hit a familiar tone, with the magical school (that I still wish to go to myself, my goodness, why can't I be a magical teenager?) and the sibling-related trauma (anyone with a sibling can relate, even if that sibling is still alive), while also striking a note I consider crisp in its cleverness and creativity. The school, really the whole book, acts as a amazing cosmic equalizer, in the sense that the seraphim and nephalim are merely innocent children. Just kids, learning to grow up and join their worlds. They are not amazing or evil merely by fact of what they are. This facet of Ms. Willis's storyworld finitely a lot worth checking out here, and more to consider than just what's event with these children on the surface. Nice work, Ms. Willis!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Demon in the Mirror: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy []  2020-6-22 19:17

    This is an interesting story that I can see becoming a series. The concept of a school for the nephilim is cool. Definitely worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Demon in the Mirror: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy []  2020-6-22 19:17

    Amazing method to kick off a series with some powerful globe building, hero and conflict development.Looking forward to more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In a Dark Place [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    The psycho-sexual here is nothing but uncomfortable. I could probably have handled that if there was anything else going on, but there's not. _In a Dark Place_ might have left me feeling unfulfilled, if I had had any positive expectations left by the final act. _Final rating:★½: - Boring/disappointing. Avoid if possible._

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Demon in the Mirror: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy []  2020-6-22 19:17

    I love this book, it became my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Demon in the Mirror: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy []  2020-6-22 19:17

    I love angels and demons and this is such a fun take on that whole genre. It's a really engaging read with snappy dialog and interesting ways of describing things. I'm looking forward to reading more by this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Demon in the Mirror: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy []  2020-6-22 19:17

    This was a breeze to read!If you like magic school YA novels that don't even remotely tip they are Harry Potter ripoffs, this short story is for you!The plot is easy enough: two identical twin sisters were raised like ordinary humans but they don't obtain along even remotely well. Moirai has a tendency to snatch her sister Eureka's clothes without asking for permission, ruins them and then acts like her sister is crazy when she confronts her about her mischief. Readers such as myself who didn't obtain along very well with a sibling at that age will instantly feel identified with the e issue resides when Eureka says something spiteful to her sister while staring at the bathroom mirror... and Moirai vanishes without a trace.Yikes!Fast forward a few months later, Eureka suffers from PTSD, has a pair of demon horns, she is a fresh transfer student to demon and angel academy and things are not going on very well for her while she adapts to so a lot of changes...I really enjoyed the story of Eureka suffering in silence over the loss of a sister that nobody even knows about (did her human parents ever search out?) and the method it ends while also introducing us to an interesting magic school with its own cliques. If there was one thing that stopped me from giving it the full 5 stars because it was a very enjoyable read, it would be the entire plot hole of how could magical people never message it weird that Eureka was an only kid when beautiful much everyone has at least one twin sibling. Sure, she lies a lot and didn't bring any images to her fresh school, but what about her human parents? How does magic school snatch prospective students from ordinary humans, do they erase their memory? I kept on wondering this the whole rhaps the full-fledged series tackles this a whole more. All in all, it is something most readers could easily overlook which doesn't fully deter the enjoyment of an otherwise solid read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Dark Streets Shineth: A 1941 Christmas Eve Story []  2020-2-4 17:53

    I think that older people--ones who have experienced Globe Battle 2 will be very touched by this. It will be a amazing addition to the library of history buff, as well. And musicians and those who love music, and especially Christmas melody will have fun it very much. It will also be informative young people. Oddly, one of the editorial reviews states that this is for grades 3-6. While I think that a lot of eight year olds will listen to it, I believe that, in to fully appreciate this book and DVD, the reader/viewer would ideally be in high school on up. Thus this piece has a wide appeal to anyone. I enjoyed learning some fresh things and, at the same time being entertained.David McCullough, an award-winning and widely respected author and historian (I've been wanting to read his works, at least the extremely famous book "John Adams"), also proved himself to also have amazing scene presence. He told the story of how Winston Churchill traveled to Washington to meet with President Franklin D. Roosevelt just before Christmas in 1941, as the Battle was in beginning stages. The two leaders spoke to a huge audience, as well as the nation who listened to their words on radio. The next day Roosevelt and Churchill attended church, where Churchill was struck by the Christmas hymn "O Small City of Bethlehem", which he had not heard before. At this point, Mr. McCullough told the inspiring story of how this hymn came about, which came from a poem written by a well-known clergyman as a response to his visit to the Holy Land in 1865. He went on to tell the story behind the story of the hymn "I'll be Home for Christmas", which was written to honor those thousands of military men and women who were serving their country so far from home at the Christmas season. Both stories were is presentation took put in the LDS conference center where the Choir preforms regularly. They looked and sounded beautiful, and the whole thing worked out very well, I thought. This DVD/book combination is brief, yet worthy of multiple viewing. I have already watched it three times since I got it. It would create a wonderful, yet inexpensive bonus for anyone during this holiday season.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Dark Streets Shineth: A 1941 Christmas Eve Story []  2020-2-4 17:53

    I wish everything that David McCullough has written. This is a very nice volume with perfect pictures/photos and the performance on DVD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crybaby in the Dark: A Collection of Short Scary Stories []  2020-1-14 19:31

    I have adults reading this book and they obtain scared reading it at night. This book is fun for those who likes to have fun scary, yet fun short stories. It is an simple read and is witty and clever writing! I highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crybaby in the Dark: A Collection of Short Scary Stories []  2020-1-14 19:31

    I really like this book. It has creepy stories and stories that create you wonder if ghosts are real. The author did an awesome job. I'd reread it just for fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Dark Streets Shineth: A 1941 Christmas Eve Story []  2020-2-4 17:53

    What a gem this book is! The narrative that David McCullough weaves as he provides background on two favorite Christmas songs, intersecting them with Roosevelt's radio address from Christmas Eve, 1941, is compelling, illuminating, and touching. I would have to agree that watching the DVD (included with the book), where the songs are brought to life by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, adds significantly to the experience. The book is attractive to look at and read; the DVD is spectacular, musically and visually. As a package, it's an exquisite and apt reminder of music's power to comfort and guidance in troubled times. Refreshingly of the glitz, showiness, and superficiality so rampant in Christmas offerings these days, "In the Dark Roads Shineth" is one of the most heartfelt and genuine treatments of the Christmas spirit I've seen in years. Very enthusiastically recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Dark Streets Shineth: A 1941 Christmas Eve Story []  2020-2-4 17:53

    Purchased as a Christmas bonus for a person who enjoys this author. My husband is very happy with this book. It is a really attractive book to give as a Christmas gift. My husband owns practically all of the books written by this author and this particular book is very special.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crybaby in the Dark: A collection of short horror stories []  2020-1-29 3:45

    These are some amazing stories! They are beautiful short but still obtain their point across. And there’s isn’t always a satisfied ending either!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crybaby in the Dark: A Collection of Short Scary Stories []  2020-1-14 19:31

    These are some amazing stories! They are beautiful short but still obtain their point across. And there’s isn’t always a satisfied ending either!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crybaby in the Dark: A Collection of Short Scary Stories []  2020-1-14 19:31

    Crybaby in the Dark: A Collection of Short Scary Stories Audible Audiobook – UnabridgedSouthbay (Author), Shaniese ReyesThis is a collection of short creepy stories. These will create your skin crawl and send chills up your e narration was well done. The characters were well portrayed. Shaniese Reyes gave life to these ghosts, monsters or whatever.I was given this review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crybaby in the Dark: A collection of short horror stories []  2020-1-29 3:45

    Crybaby in the Dark is a collection of 16 tales from a fresh to me author, Southbay. There is something for everyone in these stories. A few of the stories revisit previous ones but i didn't mind. I enjoyed all of them and would read more by this aniese Reyes reads this and i really enjoyed her voice. This is the first book I've listened to with her reading but i would listen to a lot more by her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crybaby in the Dark: A collection of short horror stories []  2020-1-29 3:45

    I really like this book. It has creepy stories and stories that create you wonder if ghosts are real. The author did an awesome job. I'd reread it just for fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Dark Streets Shineth: A 1941 Christmas Eve Story []  2020-2-4 17:53

    This was a really, really, really short book. And the DVD was even shorter - my family was glad of that, because they have kind of a low tolerance for "let's sit down and be Christmasy" activities, but seriously, this was just an excerpt from a Mormon Tabernacle Choir performance, with a bit of talking by David McCullough (his talking is the majority of the text of the book.) And you can watch the full performance, for free, on the BYUtv website!The book was also quite short, though the story is inspirational. I'm a huge David McCullough fan, and he does his usual amazing job with contextualizing and romanticizing-realistically-and-with-facts.I also enjoyed the historical images and ephemera included on different pages, and I am deeply appreciative of the inclusion of the actual Christmas messages from Roosevelt and Churchill.Worth it, because it cost me $3. I [email protected]#$%! had more, though, probably out of a misplaced sense of "things should be more substantial because we as a people - meaning humans generally - are freaking capable of that."Basically, it's a bit of Christmas candy. Dark chocolate, I guess, with a bit of caramel - but wow is it tiny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Dark Streets Shineth: A 1941 Christmas Eve Story []  2020-2-4 17:53

    I was very disappointed in this read. I had hoped for more details, more back story. David McCullough is my favorite author because he's usually so thorough, so complete, so this just didn't do it for me. I felt it wasn't up to the high bar he's made with the writing of his other books. I just bought his book on the Wright Brothers with hopes it will be up to the level I've come to expect from this marvelous author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crybaby in the Dark: A Collection of Short Scary Stories []  2020-1-14 19:31

    This collection of short horror stories has to be one of my favorites. The stories we equally fun and creepy. I definitely recommend it to all who have fun a small scare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Dark Streets Shineth: A 1941 Christmas Eve Story []  2020-2-4 17:53

    I give this book and accompanying CD to my best mates during the Christmas Season. The time is 1941 and the Japanese have just struck Pear Harbor. America's might has finally answered the call to support defend England and reclaim Europe from Hitler. And now on a second front we must war the Japanese and reclaim the Pacific from this belligerent power. We lacked the ships, planes, and manpower to even start the process on a single front not to mention two fronts. But between December 1941 and much of 1942, Winston Churchill visited FDR in the Whitehouse. Churchill stayed for weeks at a time. And when all was said and done, the Allies had a plan which would conquer both Hitler and Tojo once and for all e United States came to the aid of England when need for its help was at its greatest. A bond was formed that would not be defeated. While treking through Europe, the US took on the South Pacific. It was America's finest hour. It marked the latest time that America could claim win ever again in worldwide confrontations with the exception of our glorious win in Iraq.We can read this book with pride. Have fun that accompanying melody from the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Hear David McCullough read from the book. And learn from where the title "In The Dark Roads Shineth" was derived. This is such a simple, and yet most meaningful work I think the Author has ever produced. And that I have ever eat yourself to a very meaningful story. And thank David McCullough for his brilliance and creativity. This is truly his bonus to all the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Dark Streets Shineth: A 1941 Christmas Eve Story []  2020-2-4 17:53

    "In the Dark Roads Shineth" is another perfect book by David McCullough. It is very short for a McCullough book (33 pages with about 10 pages of photographs at the end of the book). The book comes with a DVD narrated by McCullough and with the Morman Tabernacle Choir. This is the story of Christmas 1941 shared by Roosevelt and Churchill in the White House and includes the Christmas notice issued by each man that Christmas Eve. It is a compelling story about Roosevelt's and Churchill's times together on this holiday, the spirit of Christmas, and the power of light to shine in difficult times. The book makes a unbelievable Christmas bonus for anyone wanting to contain McCullough's story and Christmas carols by the Morman Tabernacle Choir as part of their Christmas celebration and is a "must read" for all lovers of history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crybaby in the Dark: A collection of short horror stories []  2020-1-29 3:45

    I have adults reading this book and they obtain scared reading it at night. This book is fun for those who likes to have fun scary, yet fun short stories. It is an simple read and is witty and clever writing! I highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    4 In A Line Adventure [App]  2019-7-17 13:26

    best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    Fresh changes lock up game, otherwise a amazing app. I'm all for earning an income by adding commercials, but they pop up anytime now and really annoying. I'll come back if these bugs are fixed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    Very nice, enjoyed it. Just like other AI Factory games.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    I am not good at this game, but the interface is slick and it's fun to play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    entertaining enough to slay some time. the various skill levels create it a nice challenge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    Little ads at bottom of application are not intrusive. Amazing for free!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    It's a soothing freshing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    amazing fun as hard as you wish to play a amazing challange.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    lots of fun, very beautiful colors!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    a easy game, and well inplemented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    Very simple and entertaining

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    Easy and fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    very nice for mind relaxation and enjoyment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    It's fun while waiting at appointments

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    Fun to play while traveling

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    I love this games. Thanks for making such a game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    This android game is so relaxing to my mind

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four In A Line Free [App]  2020-1-6 13:52

    Not bad. The AI isn't perfect, but at least it is better than a lot of other connect 4 apps. This application is suitable for beginners and amazing casual players, but not suitable for learning expert play.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386