Read a platter of figs and other recipes reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a platter of figs and other recipes reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    I am 3/4 Calabrese and most of my family hailed from the same little city of Gimigliano as the author's family, so my family and I have had a amazing time reading this book. I live in Niagara Falls, NY so I especially enjoyed the waitress in the small asking Tag Rotella if he was from Niagara...seems half of Gimigliano ended up in my hometown. This is the best sort of travel book, because it really makes you feel like you are right there with him traveling the byways of southern Italy. I suggest opening up google earth while reading this book so you can do road view and see the lay of the land that Rotella describes here.I aslo highly recommend Rotella's book AMORE which tells the story of Italian-American pop melody in a special and highly entertaining way. Both books are very enjoyable and I recommend them highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    I bought this book for my wife, who had heard about it from a nun (!). My wife's parents and older siblings were all born in Calabria and came to Hartford, CT just around the begin of WW e book is a delightful narration of a "paisan's" journeys back to his Calabrian roots. It evoked a lot of pleasant memories of traditions and foods. I myself am going through the book a second time just to record the menus, with a view to re-creating some of my wife's favorite dishes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    My dad emigrated from Calabria to the US in 1920. I really enjoyed reading about Calabria; the people, the meal and customs. I could create so a lot of association to things I had been told by my father.

    0  


    Add your opinion on a platter of figs and other recipes or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    A amazing read, especially if you can relate to the heritage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    I would love to read more from Rotella.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    This is a wonderful, visual, conversational book that I'd consider a must read for anyone with a southern Italian heritage, or an interest in the region. Rotella has the ability to create you feel as though you were accompanying him to Calabria on his adventures. I gave this book as a bonus to a family member before her trip to Italy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    Having grown up in that zone (a few miles as the crow flies), I'm familiar with most of the locales and customs the author describes. I was excited to finally buy this book (it was on my Want List for a very long time). I admit, I stayed up late to read it! in retrospect, I realize that I was hooked because I want to relive some of the amazing times I enjoyed in Calabria ('60s and '70s), but the author did a rather not good and disappointing e narration is repetitive and tedious with far too a lot of typos in the text. Aside from factual errors regarding historical happenings (mentioned in other comments), the author mispelled several of the local dialect expressions which pepper the text. If you're going to use local idiom, please have enough respect to spell it correctly! For example, it's "culu" not "cullu" (trans:@#$%). And there are a lot of more ... as in "Giallorosso" instead of "Giallorossa" (wtf!). And, if the author returned in July with family, how could he have witnessed a procession of screaming soccer fans following a tie match of the Catanzaro team? There is no Serie (A, B, C) soccer in July!!!!!! I guess it must have been a [pathetic] artistic license. Was this meant to be a novel or a doentary? It succeeded as neither.When writing about Capo Colonna, he focused on the lone standing greek column (which is impressive enough); but how could he not highlight the fact that just a few feet away there are ruins of a roman villa and a byzantine church!? Within the zone of an acre you can 'witness' layers of culture and history spanning 2500+ years!! Talk about an opportunity to illustrate the concept of a land at the center of [ancient and medieval] universal greed and aggression!I am disappointed. It's like eating a cannolo created without sugar!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    I was somewhat disappointed in this book. I expected more exuberance, more heartfelt appreciation for a region of Italy that is truly wondrous and more than a small tricky to navigate. Norman Douglas' "Old Calabria" is far superior. The book lacked the intensity that I was looking for. I have to go back. I really do, with the support of the gods.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    I found it was an interesting, simple read. It’s an insight into the life of people in southern Italy, and a mans quest to learn about his family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stolen Figs: And Other Adventures in Calabria []  2020-10-4 19:6

    Tag Rotella has written a unbelievable acc of traveling back to his heritage in Calabria, Italy. It provides some amazing insights into Calabria travel and it is highly entertaining. If you have read Michael Tuckers "Living in a Foreign Language" and enjoyed it, you will have fun this. Rotella brings to live the sights, people, and meal of this southern Italian region. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    A attractive book with beautiful pictures and text that describes Christmas traditions in Sweden.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    The book was more out the author than Swedish traditions and receive.I want I had not bought the book, it will go to a charity store.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    Looking forward to trying recipes. I live in tropucs so not much snow andvalot would melt. But so fascinating how natural a lot of bonuses are nade of nature. I was so impressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    This wasn't older traditional "traditions" but a few modern day traditions from a man that apparently is like the Martha Stewart of Sweden. I didn't like anything in the book. There was hardly anything to the book also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    I love this because it has lots of recipes my grandmothers created back in the 40s. And also fresh ones to try. Simple to follow too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    Most of the recipes are festive but not necessarily all that milarly with the crafts- though there are several ideas that I plan on trying out!I had rather hoped for directions for making julboks and the like, but it's beautiful cool despite this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    Ernst is a Swedish TV personality who does a Christmas present every year. This book, in English, covers a dozens of recipes, crafts and traditions to set the Advent/Christmas mood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    Not a amazing book, unless you love herring. This has no crafts, or decor ideas, just mediocre recipes. I do not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    unbelievable to read about the traditions of my Swedish relatives

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Swedish Christmas Traditions: A Smörgåsbord of Scandinavian Recipes, Crafts, and Other Holiday Delights []  2020-11-20 20:28

    Love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    I read through this book in an afternoon, and, while I haven't tried the recipes yet (I will, trust me), there's a lot to like about this rst is, I've struggled with weight all my life. While I've got something going now that seems to be working well, there's that difficulty passing up sweets. Sigh. The idea, though, that you're allowed a little sweet a couple times a day... seems to have solved that problem. The effect is that after a couple weeks of embracing the idea of fika, I can look at a tub of malted milk balls and think, no, I really don't wish that, not right now; I'll have one or two at my coffee break, and not think about them all day like I used to. (Oh, yeah, and I'm making coffee again. Shoveled the dust off my coffee maker, and, wow, I'm enjoying that, too.)Second is, the recipes leave me wanting more. The authors talk about another book, Seven Kinds of Cookies (sorry, I don't speak Swedish, so I can't remember the Swedish title), and I thought, this must be a remarkable book. I poked around, found the English translation (sadly, it doesn't have the Swedish names, but you can't have everything) Swedish Cakes and Cookies, and bought that right here on Amazon. Another book where everything looks quite ird, there's the knobby Swedish rolling pin. OK, bought one of those, too. And another textured pin from a Lithuanian outfit, again right here on Amazon. Knowing me, I'll probably end up buying the rest of the Lithuanian pins .. once the weather cools a bit (heat index has been running over 100F this week), I'll turn the oven on and create a stab at some of these gorgeous cookies. All around, a poor influence, but one I'm glad to have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    Satisfied fresh year from Korea!This is a amazing baking book as well as a cultural introduction of Sweden, which has been rarely discovered in Korea. The recipes are super easy to follow and the effect was wonderful. I found myself always baking over the month of e illustrations are pleasing and they leave room for your imagination. Although there are no pictures included, you can search plenty of them on the Internet.Enjoy the attached pictures. Those are the vetebullar, apple cake, and the fruit cake. Now, ska vi fika?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break by Anna Brones is a amazing addition to the cookbook collection. The Scandinavians know how to celebrate and take a break with coffee and homemade fika or baked goods to go with coffee or tea. Book starts out answering the question, "What is fika?" It also shows Swedish words inspired by fika. It gives a list of Swedish ingredients and alternatives, and baking tools. The history of Swedish coffee is an interesting chapter. Swedes top the list of global coffee consumers. The the recipes follow for coffee gatherings —from cinnamon buns to cardamon cake. The most iconic Swedish recipes are given for the traditional fika. Book is well-illustrated and recipes are diagramed where needed. There are a bunch of summer recipes, all sound delicious. Celebrating more than daily has recipes for Name Day, Fat Tuesday, Midsummer, Birthdays, Jul, or Christmas Season. A recipe or Swedish Rye Bread is also given. Index included. Unbelievable book for those who love Scandinavian cooking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    I'm an american born Swede and grew up preparing the egg coffee while getting ready for school and being served unbelievable dishes prepared by my Swedish speaking mother. So why five stars on this book. The first recipe prepared using this book was the cardamon Cake. Three Tbsp of cardamon and three Tbsp of lemon juice with three separated eggs and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Was it amazing you ask? It vanished into thin air in less than 8 hrs. while sitting on the counter. The ingredient combination is flavor addictive. This recipe automatically added itself to the Lutheran church coffee list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    Cute book, but the introductory section explaining the concept of fika is a bit belabored and even tedious. I had the impression that the authors didn't have quite enough material for a book and were stretching what they had. Even the typography and layout seem designed to fill out the pages. I own several Scandinavian baking books (along with a couple of general Scandinavian cookbooks and a host of other ethnic cookbooks) and this one is the least interesting to me. Still, if like your cookbooks short and sweet, this could be a amazing choice.If you wish to delve deeper into Swedish baking, try: Swedish Cakes and Cookies For Scandinavian baking (with an emphasis on Finnish recipes), I recommend: The Amazing Scandinavian Baking Book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    We love this book. My children and I have baked from it all Christmas break. Swedish gingersnap cookies were our favorite - we've created three batches for ourselves and as gifts. Really, baking before bedtime with my children, having them create cut-out cookies, has been the most enjoyable, fun holiday. The house smelled like ginger, cinnamon and cardamom. The illustrations are lovely, and the recipes themselves easy and interesting and so, so good. It inspired me to dive deeper into Scandinavian cooking (homemade Swedish meatballs) but mainly, this book I hold coming back to. We plan on cooking our method through it this year:)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    Upon spending a number of months in Sweden, I fell in love - with the country, the culture, and FIKA! Fika is about so much more than just the food, it is a cultural thing, a method of life. Before heading there, we were organizing a work, and wanted to skip one of the Fika breaks, planning to allow students go early. We didn't understand the ruckus created when we created this suggestion. But oh, spend a small time in Sweden, and you will quickly understand - you just don't mess with Fika, and I obtain it, and completely agree.What's awesome is that in this culture they have their Fika typically twice a day - that's two sweets everyday - and yet the entire country seems trim, absolutely svelte. Part of it is due, I'm sure, to genetics, and part to the fact that it is a largely walkable country, however, I suspect too that the ability to look forward to Fika actually helps reduce one's urges to answer to meal cravings. I mean, who needs to binge when you know that at 10:30 and 3:30 you're going to have your kaffe and treat? This book explores some of the history and cultural meaning behind fika, while also presenting all of the necessary recipes, with clear, easy-to-follow directions.Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    We spent part of our summer in Scandinavia, loved our Fika there & were excited about this book. I’m a fairly experienced and usually successful baker. Not with these recipes and I tried several before giving up. Have passed this volume along, sharing my caveat and experience as well. There are multiple Scandinavian cookbooks out there— I’d suggest using this fun, friendly small volume to begin your cooking from one of those more robust options.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    I bought  Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats  in honor of my Swedish grandma. My grandma didn't call it fika to me but she enjoyed coffee break nearly everyday. I'm embracing my inner Swede and wish to support re-implement the tradition of fika in my family near and far. Fika is a amazing resource to obtain me started with this Swedish ka has five chapterhistory of Swedish coffeemodern-day fikathe outdoor seasoncelebrating more than the everydaybread, sandwiches, and fika as a snackIt also has a brief list of resources and a nice index.Each chapter has about 10 recipes. Measurements are given in multiple ways for example 2 cups (10 oz, 284 grams). The design of Fika is very cute with lovely illustrations by Ms. Kindvall. They are elegantly easy and sort of I have a wheat allergy, I was satisfied to see some naturally gluten-free recipes. So far I have only created hasselnotskaka med kaffe. Mine was created with  King Arthur Gluten Free Multi Purpose Flour, 24 Ounce  and with almonds instead of hazelnuts so should probably be called mandelkaka med kaffe. I had almonds on hand, but didn't have hazelnuts. Despite my required substitutions, it is quite tasty. As mentioned with hazelnuts, I'm finding I don't have some scandinavian staples in the house. So I've just purchased  Raw Oregon Hazelnuts / Filberts (2 Pound Bag) - Oh! Nuts  and  Simply Organic Cardamom, 2.82 Ounce  so I will be ready to create my next treat from  Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats In addition to buying my own copy of Fika, I have sent a copy to my mom and bought one for the library. As you can tell, I'm really enjoying my Fika.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fika: The Art of The Swedish Coffee Break, with Recipes for Pastries, Breads, and Other Treats [A Baking Book] []  2020-8-19 19:45

    I have purchased this book for myself and a mate and both of us LOVE it! We have tried a lot of of the cookies, tortes, and cakes and all have been delicious! Follow the instructions exactly as written and everything will turn out great. I love the simplicity of ingredients and the fact that I didn't have to fully re-stock my kitchen in order to create any of the recipes. A primary background knowledge of baking and the science involved will also support tremendously, though I wouldn't consider most of the recipes 'advanced' by any means. Although, it does not contain 'photographs' of the bakes, the whimsical illustrations were sufficient enough in my opinion to demonstrate techniques used to shape/mix/assemble the ingredients. The history of fika was also fascinating to read about, making this not only a amazing collections of recipes, but a amazing read on it's own, as well. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to branch out beyond traditional American bakes and is looking for a fresh taste and feel to appreciate. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    This is exactly why I have a Kindle! Every time I buy a fresh pair of sneakers, I'm reminded of The Sound of Summer Running and they become Royal Crown Cream Sponge Paralightfoot Tennis Shoes. Then I remember my Jr/Sr HS English teacher, Mr Trinks, who read us these stories with so much enthusiasm. Ray Bradbury was his favorite author and he read us a lot of awesome stories, like The Fog Horn and A Sound of Thunder. I first heard these over fifty years ago and they are just as unbelievable now as they were then. Even more so, because they bring back a simpler time, before computers, before cell phones, even before Kindles. This is a amazing collection of Bradbury's gems and I'm going to savor every one of them. Then raise a glass to Mr Arthur Trinks who instilled a love of reading on some very impressionable youngsters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    In my youth, I'd read "Fahrenheit 451" and some other Bradbury books. I had never explored his short stories. This was a birthday bonus and was enthralling.I began with the titular piece, "A Sound of Thunder."The other stories are well written, timeless and entertaining. A nice addition to my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    I had to wade through some older stories, some were beautiful good. Reading the "sound of thunder" was worth the time investment - a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Burst of Light: and Other Essays []  2020-6-25 18:35

    As a Doctor Who has treated thousands of cancer patients I read this book to gain better insight into how patients feel about their condition. I thought that a poets skills would greatly aid in the telling. That turned out to be correct. The essays on Mrs Lorde’s response to cancer are truly illuminating, beautifully expressed, and richly rewarding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Burst of Light: and Other Essays []  2020-6-25 18:35

    This is a updated and reissued ver of her 1988 collection of essays. What's fresh here is an introduction by Sonia Sanchez, an interview about sadomasochism and three essays along with the original Burst of Light: Living with Cancer journal entries. This book illuminates her struggle versus racism, ism, homophobia and the liver cancer afflicting her body. And she place all of these struggles on the same plain, seeing them as equal. "Battling racism and battling heteroism and battling apartheid share the same urgency inside me as battling cancer. None of these struggles are ever easy, and even the smallest win is never to be taken for granted. Each win must be applauded, because it is so simple not to war at all, to just accept and call that acceptance inevitable."Her essay writing is, forgive the cliché, poetic. Even the journal entries concerning her cancer war and resistance, which takes up most of the book are sometimes sad but profoundly written. One of her most enduring quotes comes from this collection, "Caring for myself is not self-indulgence, it is self-preservation, and that is an act of political warfare.” Through her writing you can sense and feel her struggle, almost as if she is thinking out loud but always representing for a fierce self-determination and self-identity that is empowering. Her words here are inspirational, loving, passionate and forever optimistic. An essay collection that belongs on your book shelf. Thanks to Netgalley and Dover Press for providing an advanced ebook in exchange for a fair and honest review. Book out now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    Someone else recommended this book to me in an odd way...they mentioned rendering reading a story by Ray Bradbury in school about a time machine and hunting dinosaurs. I had to read it. It was Truly amazing story, but my favorite ended up being "The Time Machine". I won't spoil it for anyone, but of all the unbelievable stories in this book, that one touched me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    This is a book of short stories and the stories vary so I could not respond some of your questions. I have enjoyed Bradbury for a lot of years and this book is a delight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Burst of Light: and Other Essays []  2020-6-25 18:35

    The private is political and Audre deals with the most pressing problems for feminists at the time, (80s) as well as a lot of ongoing struggles. Included is a diary of her recurring cancer experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Burst of Light: and Other Essays []  2020-6-25 18:35

    I idolize and adore Audre Lorde. She is one iconic feminist and for anyone who has studied feminism, I highly recommend this book. I like this book because even though she is talking about her cancer, she is also talking about the disparities in the globe for marginalized people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    I really have fun Ray Bradbury, so depending on your taste, your review might be different. I bought this mainly for A Sound of Thunder, but the collection is fantastic, and for those wondering, I've listed below all the stories included in this book:The Fog HornThe April WitchThe WildernessThe Fruit at the Bottom of the BowlThe Flying MachineThe MurdererThe Golden Kite, The Silver WindI See You NeverEmbroideryThe Huge Black and White GameThe Amazing Wide Globe Over TherePowerhouseEn La NocheSun and ShadowThe MeadowThe Garbage CollectorThe Amazing FireThe Golden Apples of the SunR is for RocketThe End of the BeginningThe RocketThe Rocket ManA Sound of ThunderThe Long RainThe ExilesHere There Be TygersThe Strawberry WindowThe DragonFrost and FireUncle EinarThe Time MachineThe Sound of Summer Running

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    We read sound of thunder in high school literature class and I’ve been a fan of his writing since. If you’re into sci go or mystery, definitely give these short stories a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Burst of Light: and Other Essays []  2020-6-25 18:35

    Surprise birthday show for another woman writer who was satisfied with the choice of reading material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Burst of Light: and Other Essays []  2020-6-25 18:35

    Brought this on the recommendation can't wait to begin reading it vacation reading

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    This is one of the first Bradbury books that I ever owned. I purchased the digital edition so that I could more easily carry the story around with me. Once again I have to sing the praises of one of the most wonderful Science Fiction writers ever. This edition, and even more importantly the stories inside are phenomenal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Burst of Light: and Other Essays []  2020-6-25 18:35

    Amazing!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    Bought mainly since I had remembered the short story A Sound of Thunder, which I had read as a child. This story was as amazing as I had remembered, but the rest of the stories in the book, I am not as happy with. There was one story in particular, that had a racial theme, that I had found a bit disturbing. Would probably not buy again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories []  2019-12-19 19:12

    Ray and I "met" in 1969 when I took "R is for Rocket" out of my high school library. We have been amazing mates ever since. If you don't know Ray this is a amazing intro. Short stories are his specialty, The titles may throw you off but " The Martian Chronicles" and "The Illustrated Man" are also perfect collections of "shorts". I would have to say Ray helped me learn to read just for fun, thanks Ray, and God bless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Burst of Light: and Other Essays []  2020-6-25 18:35

    Audre siempre tan directa y transparente. Es un libro intimo donde escribe sobre su proceso con respecto al cáncer. Vale la pena leerlo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passion of the Ice: A History of Hawaiian Shave Ice, Kakigori, Snow Cones, and Other Ice Desserts of the World + 50 Chill Recipes []  2020-12-12 20:6

    I am just starting a shaved ice business refurbishing an old trailer it’s gonna be really cool when it’s all finished ...what a amazing book with some amazing recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passion of the Ice: A History of Hawaiian Shave Ice, Kakigori, Snow Cones, and Other Ice Desserts of the World + 50 Chill Recipes []  2020-12-12 20:6

    I recommend this book to anyone just starting out on their quest to create shave ice or even for people that have some experience. The entire book is simple to follow & highly informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    catch a cheating spouse []  2020-11-19 23:55
    [email protected]

    There is actually so much to bear when it comes to relationship. No matter how amazing you are to them it doesn’t mean that they will treat you the same way. It's so sad to explore my woman whom I thought could be a back up but it seems I have been deceiving myself for months. I need to desperately know what she's been up to lately so I had to reach out to webhubghost (@) gmailcom who got so a lot of truthful and awesome reviews on the internet to remotely obtain into her mobile phone. He got that done in a twinkle of an eye, the service was delivered perfectly I was able to see her whatsapp messages, call logs, text messages which was quite awesome and I figured she lied to me about all the cash i sent to her and her mails were the worst I could ever imagine.. I sincerely recommend webhubghost @ gmailcom if you are in need of a related service and you wish a excellent job done. This is not a hoax or deceit, I need everyone to search their luck spying their partner with this honest and noble IT expert. This application works perfectly but you need the support of the true deal with the email above to obtain loose from the chains of a cheater and abusive relationship by getting concrete proof through his expertise and prowess. Give Ben a test and regret no more, better days ahead. Email: WEBHUBGHOST (@) GMAILCOM

    0  


  • 1

    Useful review?

    wordington: a word story []  2020-7-6 6:35

    I have completed all tasks to be told more tasks to come soon. Its been days and still waiting. I have accrued over 250 dollars and nothing to spend it on. If i dont have any fresh tasks soon i am deleting the android game and certainly not recommending it for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    one a day [cheap uk ]  2020-9-14 7:46
    [email protected]

    And due toР Р† Anaphylactic Reactions noble the hallmark seeking Capsulorhexis. genuine uk Ritalin generic This is perchance the most

    0  


  • 1

    Useful review?

    1 a day [everyday ]  2020-9-14 5:26
    [email protected]

    Pincer durable veggies how identical cheap canada since they do not allocate misbehaving cheer to the brain-teaser

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cheryl A Treadaway [gate security ]  2020-11-23 14:36
    [email protected]

    Please don't purchase this company... I spent over $3000 for this and it never worked more than 3 days... they charged me $49 per month for 3 months, although I had no service. they are not refunding my cash spent for the equipment... high dollar camera and the keypad... their customer service is less than desirable... and I am out over $3000 .... I am waiting since August for a refund... they are crooks... DON'T FALL FOR THEIR PROMISES

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    a fantastic read [webcivil supreme case search results]  2020-8-23 14:53
    [email protected]

    michigan case find miami dade clerk case find palm beach county clerk case find lasc case find dade county clerk of courts case find nc case find baycoclerk case find sneak a peek at this website

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cheryl A Chabot []  2020-10-14 19:41
    [email protected]

    This android game is ok but if you are playing with the intent to getting $150.00 they will create sure you do not obtain there. This android game is a scam as far as paying anybody anything. You can money out at $150.00 but as you obtain closer you are lucky if they will give you 1 cent after playing 20 or so games. They should not be advertising the payout as to date I have talked to several people who were close on getting it and all things starting happening: android game crashes, doesn't load, etc. so beware if you are playing to obtain the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Anna and Sarah Dried Turkish Figs (1 Lb) []  2021-1-6 19:37

    THE FIGS you actually obtain do NOT look anything like the light-colored figs shown with this Amazon advertisement but instead were dark brown to black in color, leathery in texture and were covered with a light spraying of OIL, of unknown kind. ~ NO, I would NOT buy these again, but would buy this company's BLACK MISSION FIGS which were far better! ~ I've tried the Turkish figs from several other companies and they cannot compare to the fresher California Calimyrna figs, in my opinion!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of [ safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    god of pranks []  2021-1-17 19:25

    try

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Anna and Sarah Dried Turkish Figs (1 Lb) []  2021-1-6 19:37

    I had previously ordered the organic Anna & Sarah Turkish figs and they were excellent. This time I ordered the regular Turkish figs and I'm very disappointed. About half the bag was inedible. Some were mushy...almost rotten. Some were so totally dried out they lacked any flavor whatsoever. Overall, I probably only got about 1.5# of useable figs from the 3# bag. I finally got tired of biting into crappy figs I tossed out the remainder.If you wish some really amazing Turkish figs, give the Anna & Sarah Organic Turkish Figs a try. Unless the product has declined since my latest batch, they are superb. With products such as this it is very hard to predict quality from day to day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Anna and Sarah Dried Turkish Figs (1 Lb) []  2021-1-6 19:37

    So yummy! Half dollar sized figs are perfectly preserved, moist and sweet on the inside, outer skin is thin and you can eat them as they are right out of the bag. I like to dice one up and place on my Unique K cereal for breakfast or on a cup of plain Greek yogurt, the sour taste of the yogurt combines with the gooey sweetness of the fig. Simple to cook a fig sauce using 4-6 diced figs, 1 Tbsp honey, juice from a new CaraCara orange, a few gratings of the zest and a dash of sea salt plus a cup of water. Simmer in a saucepan until reduced and serve over expensive vanilla bean ice cream.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    sneak a peek at this web-site. [this guy]  2020-9-7 16:0
    [email protected]

    howard county case find maryland case find go to this www service test this website read this washington state court case find case find west virginia case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    without a doctor prescription [ dysfunction ]  2020-10-26 15:49
    [email protected]

    issues dysfunction remedies over counter vacuum pump for dysfunction ptx dysfunction tutorial oqwpbj herbs implants side effects kbppsg euagvp support odatab bdvzyi

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day, and Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-2-4 22:31

    Ordered. Delivered. Read it. What can I say, it's another gem. Yalom quit surprising me a few books back; a yalom book for me = an excellently researched, superbly written book.A few notes:For those who have read Love's Executioner and Momma's Boy - Creature's of a day reads more like Love's e stories, like I said, are along the lines of Love's Executioner - in general , though, a bit with Love's Executioner, Monsters of a day is absolutely fundamental for any therapist/patient who finds themselves thinking about the dr/patient relationship. It is especially relevant to those 'radical' therapists who, like Yalom, lean in, and who aren't afraid of a bit of private exposure.If you are place off by a book (and author) routinely recommended to professionals, don't be. This book is as jargon-free and colloquial as they d luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day, and Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-2-4 22:31

    Once again Dr. Yalom creates a book that is interesting, helpful, and digs deep. What is most interesting is he writes for therapists and those who are in find of therapeutic help. I love the transparency he brings to each process and relationship.I've read a lot of of Yalom's books, and while I want he could continue writing forever, he is merely a Monster of a Day. I'm thankful he will live on through his shared words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day: And Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-5-3 18:13

    Perhaps it’s my time of life to have fun the author who is close in age to mine. I found the ten “stories” to be examples of the author’s skills in dealing with problems we all face or will some day if we live that long. Now on to another book by the same writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day: And Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-5-3 18:13

    Very interesting essays about aging in America. Yalom imparts his wisdom to those of us aging or with aging parents.While I prefer his novels, any encounter with Yalom's intellect is always worthwhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day, and Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-2-4 22:31

    Perhaps it’s my time of life to have fun the author who is close in age to mine. I found the ten “stories” to be examples of the author’s skills in dealing with problems we all face or will some day if we live that long. Now on to another book by the same writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day, and Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-2-4 22:31

    Very interesting essays about aging in America. Yalom imparts his wisdom to those of us aging or with aging parents.While I prefer his novels, any encounter with Yalom's intellect is always worthwhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day: And Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-5-3 18:13

    As a therapist myself for 34 years and a fan of yaloms work I anticipated and read a sublime treasure.i had the pleasure of attending Gregory batesons latest le real before he died, and submitted a question on a card. What is a compassionate psychotherapy? I asked. He answered. "Sometimes you meet someone and they create you feel better. You don't know how or why,,,they just do. " and if they are gifted as dr yalom, healing takes place, and it just does. Barbara Fritz LCSW

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day: And Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-5-3 18:13

    You will search pieces of yourself and maybe some peace of mind as you share these poignant moments rendered with accessible prose, kindness, and warmth. Dr. Yalom is a Mozart of the mind and these concertos will touch anyone who is seeking to better understand themselves and the temporal human condition. Dr. Yalom reminds us that our time is limited as ‘creatures of the day’ and finding our deeper, honest selves will enrich our moment under the sun. Just started ‘On Becoming Myself’ and so look forward to indulging in Dr. Yalom’s private journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day: And Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-5-3 18:13

    Ordered. Delivered. Read it. What can I say, it's another gem. Yalom quit surprising me a few books back; a yalom book for me = an excellently researched, superbly written book.A few notes:For those who have read Love's Executioner and Momma's Boy - Creature's of a day reads more like Love's e stories, like I said, are along the lines of Love's Executioner - in general , though, a bit with Love's Executioner, Monsters of a day is absolutely fundamental for any therapist/patient who finds themselves thinking about the dr/patient relationship. It is especially relevant to those 'radical' therapists who, like Yalom, lean in, and who aren't afraid of a bit of private exposure.If you are place off by a book (and author) routinely recommended to professionals, don't be. This book is as jargon-free and colloquial as they d luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day: And Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-5-3 18:13

    Once again Dr. Yalom creates a book that is interesting, helpful, and digs deep. What is most interesting is he writes for therapists and those who are in find of therapeutic help. I love the transparency he brings to each process and relationship.I've read a lot of of Yalom's books, and while I want he could continue writing forever, he is merely a Monster of a Day. I'm thankful he will live on through his shared words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day, and Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-2-4 22:31

    This book came recommended to me. Irv’s writing is so great. You’ll smile and shed a tear with this book. Stories are short and simple to digest. I’m not an avid reader but this book was hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-1-20 0:45

    The *dash* referred to in the title doesn't just have to do with the speed of these pressure cooker recipes. It is also an acronym for the DASH diet, which advocates lower sodium choices and high vitamin and mineral content (especially looking at potassium, magnesium, and calcium). The recipes follow the DASH e 75 recipes, from side dishes to main dishes to desserts, are all created in a modern pressure cooker, like the Instant Pot. The front section of the book has a very brief introduction to the DASH diet. If you were really wanting to follow this diet, you would need to look elsewhere for detailed e book is divided into seven chapters: wraps, sandwiches, and tortillas; substantial salads; soups, chilis, stews, and bowls; pasta and egg noodle dinners; grain, rice, and bean dinners; protein and vegetable combinations; and fruits and desserts. Some of the recipes use the Saute function to precook aromatics and other ingredients before pressure cooking. Sometimes the Instant Pot is used to prepare one ingredient in the recipe, like grains, beans, or a protein. Other recipes are created completely within cooker. Some of the recipes creatively combine ingredients, like Lime Salmon and Maple Butternut Squash. As I am a vegetarian, I appreciated that every section had vegetarian options, and some of them sounded delicious, like Marinated Garbanzo Long Lettuce Wraps.If you are looking for nutrient-dense, low-sodium recipes that use your Instant Pot or other multicooker, this may be the book for you.I received a free advance copy, but this did not affect my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Low-FODMAP Diet Step by Step: A Personalized Plan to Relieve the Symptoms of IBS and Other Digestive Disorders -- with More Than 130 Deliciously Satisfying Recipes []  2020-9-22 20:56

    If you do a bit of research on the fodmap diet, you'll search Kate Scarlata is THE expert. Anyone who's been on this form of elimination or modified diet to treat tummy troubles will know how complicated it is. Kate's fresh book makes it easier with food plans tailored to different audiences - vegan, gluten-free, etc. - that take the work out of cooking and food prep. The book even goes so far as to contain brand names to look for at the grocery store, so you don't have to spend hours reading every ingredient label. A comprehensive tutorial for the fodmap diet! The most helpful part is all the recipes for those common condiments and sauces this diet excludes, including salsa, BBQ sauce, and salad dressings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-11-14 20:24

    The *dash* referred to in the title doesn't just have to do with the speed of these pressure cooker recipes. It is also an acronym for the DASH diet, which advocates lower sodium choices and high vitamin and mineral content (especially looking at potassium, magnesium, and calcium). The recipes follow the DASH e 75 recipes, from side dishes to main dishes to desserts, are all created in a modern pressure cooker, like the Instant Pot. The front section of the book has a very brief introduction to the DASH diet. If you were really wanting to follow this diet, you would need to look elsewhere for detailed e book is divided into seven chapters: wraps, sandwiches, and tortillas; substantial salads; soups, chilis, stews, and bowls; pasta and egg noodle dinners; grain, rice, and bean dinners; protein and vegetable combinations; and fruits and desserts. Some of the recipes use the Saute function to precook aromatics and other ingredients before pressure cooking. Sometimes the Instant Pot is used to prepare one ingredient in the recipe, like grains, beans, or a protein. Other recipes are created completely within cooker. Some of the recipes creatively combine ingredients, like Lime Salmon and Maple Butternut Squash. As I am a vegetarian, I appreciated that every section had vegetarian options, and some of them sounded delicious, like Marinated Garbanzo Long Lettuce Wraps.If you are looking for nutrient-dense, low-sodium recipes that use your Instant Pot or other multicooker, this may be the book for you.I received a free advance copy, but this did not affect my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-11-14 20:24

    I liked the recipes in this cookbook a lot. I found them simple to follow and a lot of recipes I liked. I would have loved actual pictures of the dishes just becuase I like to see what I am making. It's somtimes how I decide what I amd going to make. We choose by sight a lot or at least I do. I appreciated the calorie etc. counts at the bottom of each recipe as that helps me hold on track. Overall amazing cookbook and I would recomend to a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-11-18 20:56

    Amazing low sodium recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-11-18 20:56

    The DASH diet is highly recommended by most healthcare specialists as the diet promotes heart health. I've been interested in the DASH diet, and should probably follow it, but most the recipes I found didn't look all that appealing. Thankfully, I was offered the opportunity to read and review a electronic copy of Dinner In a DASH by Nancy S. Hughes. I found most of her recipes workable with my allergies and I loved how you could use an electric pressure cooker to prepare the will search the following chapters in her book:Chapter 1: Wraps, Sandwiches, and TortillasChapter 2: Substantial SaladsChapter 3: Soups, Chilis, Stews, and BowlsChapter 4: Pasta and Egg Noodle DinnersChapter 5: Grain, Rice, and Bean DinnersChapter 6: Protein and Vegetable Combination DinnersChapter 7: Fruits and DessertsSome of the recipes you'll search include:Shredded Pork Tortillas with New SalsaGarden Veggie and Two Cheese SoupAle'd Chili with BeansBeef and Burrito RiceBeer Braised Chicken with Poblano Chiles and CheeseSmothered Round Steak with Portobello MushroomsApple Cherry Bowls with Ginger Crumb ToppingIf you are trying to eat healthier, without spending a lot of time in the kitchen, I recommend buying her written after downloading a galley from NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-11-18 20:56

    I received a copy of this book via NetGalley and Quarto Publishing and I am giving a voluntary review.I loved this cookbook as it focus on preparing meal and consuming said meal for a very Healthy diet to counteract Hypertension. I for one must say I have had to take medication for this for a while and while the medication does it's job a amazing diet is a must. The a lot of recipes in this book are simple to prepare and have a full nutritional facts tutorial for each recipe and very tasty to eat. I have tried a lot of of the recipes and can recommend this book to all readers for healthy eating not just for those who have Hypertension. The line drawings that are included are attractive but I feel a few colour plates of some of the dishes would have enhanced the book. My favourite recipe was Italian Cheese and Vegetable Casserole.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Low-FODMAP Diet Step by Step: A Personalized Plan to Relieve the Symptoms of IBS and Other Digestive Disorders -- with More Than 130 Deliciously Satisfying Recipes []  2020-12-26 18:18

    I am loving this cookbook! I have been on the Low FODMAP diet for over 3 months (following Kate Scarlata’s blog-she is truly an expert in the low FODMAP field!) and I’m feeling so much better! Tummy troubles are nonexistent, heartburn-little to none, I’ve lost weight and my cholesterol has gone down into the normal range! I bought Kate’s book as a Christmas show to myself and I love it! I’m looking forward to making the Tofu and Greens again, the Quinoa Taboule, and the Roasted Eggplant, Zucchini, Potato and Tomato Gratin. The night I created these recipes I had Vegan Mates for dinner and they loved these recipes and they’re not low-fodmappers! There is an array of various types of recipes in the book to create herbivores and carnivores happy, plus desserts and breakfast sweets. I love the Meal Challenges, so you can learn the culprit of your tummy troubles. I’ve completed one already and looking forward towards my next! Thank you Kate for publishing this book, and thank you Amazon for stocking and sending it to me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Low-FODMAP Diet Step by Step: A Personalized Plan to Relieve the Symptoms of IBS and Other Digestive Disorders -- with More Than 130 Deliciously Satisfying Recipes []  2020-12-26 18:18

    I have been living by this book for the latest month as I am in the elimination phase of the low FODMAP diet. I have used the shipping lists with name brand recommendations, as well as created several of the recipes. It is indispensable to me. I partnered it with the Monash application and found they compliment each other. I highly recommend this book as being simple to understand with fabulous recipes and tips. Worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Low-FODMAP Diet Step by Step: A Personalized Plan to Relieve the Symptoms of IBS and Other Digestive Disorders -- with More Than 130 Deliciously Satisfying Recipes []  2020-12-26 18:18

    A comprehensive tutorial to the FODMAP diet. I especially appreciated the list of meal additives (sweetners, etc.) so I can finally decipher ingredient labels. The recipes are amazing and easy for those who are not the best cooks/new to cooking. Everything I have cooked so far has turned out delicious!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day, and Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-2-4 22:31

    Though I knew of Irvin Yalom's books, I somehow missed reading any of them before, during or after my licensure as a mental health professional. "Creatures of a Day" is my first Yalom book, but with certainty, I can say that it won't be my last. For if his previous books are half as amazing as this one... they'll all be worth eatures of a Day includes ten "portraits" of clients and Yalom's work with them. Portraits is the right word since the descriptions are so vivid and compelling that one might actually feel they're in the room watching Yalom and the clients do the dance of therapy. The subjects of death and meaning in life connect the stories as one might expect from a humanist/existentialist therapist. More than one of the stories were sadly sweet and brought tears to my eyes as I read... yet I could not place down the book and read it within just a few a therapist, who also eschews diagnosis and manualized treatments, seeing a master therapist at work was invaluable. And surprisingly, Yalom doesn't gloss over the "mistakes" he makes or focus only on his expertise. This book more than anything shows the power of moments that matter, the healing connection that can happen when one person fully meets another where they're l therapists should read this book, but it shouldn't be limited to professionals. Everyone will relate to these stories and the people they depict so humanly well... Don't miss out on Yalom's work, especially "Creatures of a Day."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day, and Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-2-4 22:31

    Irv’s storytelling is entertaining and enlightening. In Monsters of a Day we are drawn into stories of people we can relate to, of daily people like an author seeking a cure for writer’s block, a former executive adjusting to life in a retirement community, a dancer confronting lost youth. Each story is different, often unfolding with Dr. Yalom as intrigued about where it will lead as you do. There are no labels on patients, no diagnoses to pigeonhole his clients. Dr. Yalom presents each case as it is: a special story of human imperfections and human realities - a special puzzle to be solved. A winner of talk therapy, Dr. Yalom examines interpersonal relationships, finding our existential concerns about death, meaninglessness, freedom and isolation to be at the root our dilemmas. You will have fun reading Monsters of a Day for what it reveals inside the therapist’s mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day, and Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-2-4 22:31

    I'll preface this review saying Yalom is one of my favorites. However, this book is fiction (which he states, but only at the end). The connections he makes from the clients stories are interesting. You'll search yourself wanting such convenient clients after reading this. All in all, its a amazing read. Avoid taking the vignettes too seriously. I could definitely tell he is thinking more and more about his mortality (which is a major theme in almost all the stories).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day: And Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-5-3 18:13

    Though I knew of Irvin Yalom's books, I somehow missed reading any of them before, during or after my licensure as a mental health professional. "Creatures of a Day" is my first Yalom book, but with certainty, I can say that it won't be my last. For if his previous books are half as amazing as this one... they'll all be worth eatures of a Day includes ten "portraits" of clients and Yalom's work with them. Portraits is the right word since the descriptions are so vivid and compelling that one might actually feel they're in the room watching Yalom and the clients do the dance of therapy. The subjects of death and meaning in life connect the stories as one might expect from a humanist/existentialist therapist. More than one of the stories were sadly sweet and brought tears to my eyes as I read... yet I could not place down the book and read it within just a few a therapist, who also eschews diagnosis and manualized treatments, seeing a master therapist at work was invaluable. And surprisingly, Yalom doesn't gloss over the "mistakes" he makes or focus only on his expertise. This book more than anything shows the power of moments that matter, the healing connection that can happen when one person fully meets another where they're l therapists should read this book, but it shouldn't be limited to professionals. Everyone will relate to these stories and the people they depict so humanly well... Don't miss out on Yalom's work, especially "Creatures of a Day."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creatures of a Day: And Other Tales of Psychotherapy []  2020-5-3 18:13

    This book came recommended to me. Irv’s writing is so great. You’ll smile and shed a tear with this book. Stories are short and simple to digest. I’m not an avid reader but this book was hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    list of canada online pharmacies zjqw [ canadian pharmacy czdz]  2020-10-17 6:50
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacies canadian overnight pharmacy canadian online pharmacy from canadian pharmacies brand online canada pharmacy canadian online pharmacy reviews pharmacy canadian-pharmacy-online scam online canadian pharmacies canada pharmacies online prescriptions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-1-20 0:45

    Amazing low sodium recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-1-20 0:45

    Considering how much salt is place into the foods we eat from restaurants, cans, or other meals, most of us could probably benefit from cutting back on its use in our own cooking. Besides being a diet recommended by cardiologists, the DASH diet has been rated very highly for weight loss as well as heart Dinner in a DASH, Nancy S. Hughes has developed DASH recipes that can be cooked in the Instant Pot or other pressure cooker. After looking over these recipes, a lot of them can also be cooked without an Instant Pot if you have the time, and actually there are some I couldn’t imagine using an Instant Pot for, but maybe that’s because I don’t have e recipes run the gambit of meals, from soups, salad, wraps, entrees, to, yes, even desserts! A cheesecake in your Instant Pot!The other nice things about this cookbook for me is that the recipes aren’t just geared to carnivores. There are recipes for pescatarians, vegetarians, and several are easily adaptable for vegans. And, as I was reading some of the recipes using sausage, I immediately thought about the flavorful vegetarian sausages that would work so well in these recipes.I also like the dozens of foods used throughout the recipes as well as the wide appeal of the recipes.Each recipe also comes with complete nutritional information, which is handy.Who would love this cookbook? Instant Pot users of all kinds, even ones who don’t necessarily need to chop back on their sodium intake.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-1-20 0:45

    I received a copy of this book via NetGalley and Quarto Publishing and I am giving a voluntary review.I loved this cookbook as it focus on preparing meal and consuming said meal for a very Healthy diet to counteract Hypertension. I for one must say I have had to take medication for this for a while and while the medication does it's job a amazing diet is a must. The a lot of recipes in this book are simple to prepare and have a full nutritional facts tutorial for each recipe and very tasty to eat. I have tried a lot of of the recipes and can recommend this book to all readers for healthy eating not just for those who have Hypertension. The line drawings that are included are attractive but I feel a few colour plates of some of the dishes would have enhanced the book. My favourite recipe was Italian Cheese and Vegetable Casserole.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-1-20 0:45

    I liked the recipes in this cookbook a lot. I found them simple to follow and a lot of recipes I liked. I would have loved actual pictures of the dishes just becuase I like to see what I am making. It's somtimes how I decide what I amd going to make. We choose by sight a lot or at least I do. I appreciated the calorie etc. counts at the bottom of each recipe as that helps me hold on track. Overall amazing cookbook and I would recomend to a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Low-FODMAP Diet Step by Step: A Personalized Plan to Relieve the Symptoms of IBS and Other Digestive Disorders -- with More Than 130 Deliciously Satisfying Recipes []  2020-9-22 20:56

    I stayed on the elimination phase of the Low-FODMAP diet far too long. Years, in fact. It was unbelievable to feel comfortable, but it has been socially isolating. In this book, dietician Kate Scarlata provides re-introduction plans for the different FODMAP meal groups that I can follow without having to over-think each meal. I need to reintroduce foods more slowly than she suggests, but I'm having some success... and that's better than none! So I thank you, Kate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dinner in a DASH: 75 Fast-to-Table and Full-of-Flavor DASH Diet Recipes from the Instant Pot or Other Electric Pressure Cooker []  2020-11-14 20:24

    The DASH diet is highly recommended by most healthcare specialists as the diet promotes heart health. I've been interested in the DASH diet, and should probably follow it, but most the recipes I found didn't look all that appealing. Thankfully, I was offered the opportunity to read and review a electronic copy of Dinner In a DASH by Nancy S. Hughes. I found most of her recipes workable with my allergies and I loved how you could use an electric pressure cooker to prepare the will search the following chapters in her book:Chapter 1: Wraps, Sandwiches, and TortillasChapter 2: Substantial SaladsChapter 3: Soups, Chilis, Stews, and BowlsChapter 4: Pasta and Egg Noodle DinnersChapter 5: Grain, Rice, and Bean DinnersChapter 6: Protein and Vegetable Combination DinnersChapter 7: Fruits and DessertsSome of the recipes you'll search include:Shredded Pork Tortillas with New SalsaGarden Veggie and Two Cheese SoupAle'd Chili with BeansBeef and Burrito RiceBeer Braised Chicken with Poblano Chiles and CheeseSmothered Round Steak with Portobello MushroomsApple Cherry Bowls with Ginger Crumb ToppingIf you are trying to eat healthier, without spending a lot of time in the kitchen, I recommend buying her written after downloading a galley from NetGalley.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386