Read a practical introduction to electronic circuits reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a practical introduction to electronic circuits reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    I have and use the first edition of this book because its the best electronics book I've come across. When ever I need to understand something this is the book I always turn to. This recent edition doesn't disappoint, its a longer book and has been brought up to date with fresh aspects such as microprocessors. What I like about the author is that he explains how a particular circuit works in plain language. For example his explanation of transistor biasing is the best I've ever come across. My experience is that a lot of text books either give a cursory explanation to circuit operation or test to explain things in terms that are inappropriate to the reader. I hightly recommend this book to specialists as well as amateurs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    This is a amazing book for those wanting a amazing background in semiconductors. I have no idea why the book isn't more popular. I've read a number of books on og electronics, and this is one of the e book assumes you have a primary understanding of electronics, and the author focuses on the essentials of semiconductors. The physics behind these devices is explained, but just in enough depth to give you the understanding you need to understand and work with these devices.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    Amazing book for those extended restroom breaks. Definitely one of those books that you wish a physical copy for

    0  


    Add your opinion on a practical introduction to electronic circuits or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    The author of the book is a physicist and the depth of knowledge is clearly apparent. The book describes a lot of subjects in electronics with a rare clarity and is a must have for those just starting out and also for those older hands who would like a comprehensive refresher on so, as an essential learning tool, the author declares that all the circuits described should be built by the reader for complete e book however does assume the reader has a amazing working knowledge of ohm's law as it applies to DC circuits and can handle algebra. If not you need to go learn these fundamentals before you attempt to learn from this unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    Perfect explanation of electrical concepts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    If you really wish to understand how transistor amplifiers work (among may other devices) this is the book for you. I'm not an electronics engineer and I've read a lot of books that have left me none the wiser. This however is the first book I found where author explains in plain English how items works and why. Worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    Amazing book for review of or introduction to the fundamentals of electronics

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    If I could give this book 10 stars I would - it's that good. It's the best all-around electronics book for those non-EE people interested in understanding aware it does not cover the basics like DC or AC circuits. Doesn't cover capacitors or inductors. Nor does it cover diodes or circuit theorems or meters or magnetism. This book assumes you know those basics is book is primarily devoted to the study of solid state amplification - FETs and bipolar junction transistors. It covers both with equal depth and clarity. It does have a short chapter on vacuum tubes just for completeness. The math is straightforward (basic algebra and a bit of calculus) but what makes this book unique are the descriptions of what's happening. It's absolutely crystal clear at all times. 11 of the 14 chapters are devoted to amplification and similar subjects like power supplies. The remaining chapters are on oscillators and digital circuits.Another aspect that makes it so readable is the layout of the text and diagrams on the page. A nice huge font was used and the hero spacing is generous. The line diagrams are very clear. All of this combines for a book that's never an eye strain and a joy to ere are no end-of-chapter problems. Ordinarily this would be a negative. But the circuits presented are intended to be built and experimented with. This is the only real method to learn the subject. The author has identified all the components you'll need including IC pinouts! It's the only book I've seen to take this approach.I'd pick this book as the fresh gold standard over Horowitz and Hill (H&H). The show work covers 70-80% of the og subjects found in H&H but does so with much greater clarity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    The book is really clear and simple to understand, It covers several subjects regarding electronics. The only downside I see is that the book is VERY basic, extremely basic, but as the title describes its a amazing introductory book for someone who knows nothing about electronics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Electronic Circuits []  2021-4-7 20:30

    I had a university course in electronics and, a lot of years later, required to go back and refresh my memory and learn more about transistors and easy transistor circuits. I found the sections on transistors here at a more primary level and more understandable than comparable sections of Horowitz and apters include:Amplification and the transistor; The field-effect transistor; Thermionic valves and the cathode-ray tube; Negative feedback; Impedance matching; Semiconductor device characteristics; Amplification at high frequencies; Low-frequency signals, d.c. and the differential amplifier; Power supplies and power control; Pulse handling and time constants; Integrated circuit building bricks; Positive feedback circuits and signal generators; Logic, counters and timers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics for Beginners: A Practical Introduction to Schematics, Circuits, and Microcontrollers []  2021-2-27 19:34

    book does begin from very it goes further in it will begin throwing usefulformulas at you and give you a few challenges toapply the knowledge uou just will need to be mates with math but thers justno method around will train you how to understand schematicsand will go in detail on each componentpresent in it.500 pages of amazing layed out rongly recommend.1 recommendation to the publisher:I'd rather have the book available in spiral binder, that method it's easier to work with it since it's slso a work book and no method it should be shelf book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics for Beginners: A Practical Introduction to Schematics, Circuits, and Microcontrollers []  2021-2-27 19:34

    I think it's a amazing book with the knowledge that's packed in the pages, but the self feedback is sorely lacking. It has a section at the end of each chapter called "Apply what you have learned", where they ask you questions/problems. You respond them, but there is not an respond key to be able to check to see if you understood it and have it correct. No feedback ergo no reinforcement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics for Beginners: A Practical Introduction to Schematics, Circuits, and Microcontrollers []  2021-2-27 19:34

    I haven't yet completed this book but so far its been good. I give it 4 stars only because its a small difficult to understand at times but that might just be me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics for Beginners: A Practical Introduction to Schematics, Circuits, and Microcontrollers []  2021-2-27 19:34

    👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics for Beginners: A Practical Introduction to Schematics, Circuits, and Microcontrollers []  2021-2-27 19:34

    My son used a pre-release ver of this book in his high school electronics class and found it very simple to read and follow. It helped provide a solid foundation for his future studies in college. I HIGHLY recommend this book and this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Environmental Law []  2020-2-6 19:44

    Had a page number error and was missing the latest 100 pages of the book. Absolute no contact from the seller in getting a refund. Do not buy from this seller

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Environmental Law []  2020-2-6 19:44

    Textbook was fine all year. As I am now at the end of the semester, we've reached the end of the book. The latest 60 or so pages are not from the textbook. They mistakenly have pages from what I assume in an employment law textbook instead of the latest section of environmental law. Very disappointed in this product because of this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to the Microelectronics: Easy course for understanding microelectronics. Design of electronic circuits (Learn electrical engineering) []  2020-12-23 20:22

    Understand electronics for repair.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Troubleshooting Electronic Circuits: A Guide to Learning og Electronics []  2020-8-19 18:32

    There is a lot of amazing info on testing components and how they work with out the need to be an engineer to understand as is the case with other books. The demonstrations with inexpensive multi-meters shows testing way and what your results should be or close to it if you are on a budget and wish to learn about electronics, testing and troubleshooting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Troubleshooting Electronic Circuits: A Guide to Learning og Electronics []  2020-8-19 18:32

    This book is an perfect practical resource for the hands-on DIY electronics hobbyist. Since there are plenty of textbooks that focus on theory, the author of this book instead dives into subjects that matter to the DIYer -- practical troubleshooting and common-sense explanations of commonly encountered problems in og circuits. The author clearly has a passion for circuit ysis and has done an perfect job of sharing his extensive knowledge with the rest of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    I am not going to comment on the contents of this book as I just got it and have not started the associated class yet. This is the assigned book for my circuits ysis class. Hopefully, my instructor has selected an appropriate book for the class.I will first say that this is the International Student Ver of this textbook. I was initially concerned about content until I researched and found out that the content is the same as the U.S. version. This ver is a soft cover vs a hard cover. I don't know if the hard cover ver has any color in it. This ver is all black and white. I do want that there was an photo posted but I think that it was intentionally omitted so that people did not reject this ver thinking it was the wrong one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    Must Have

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    It has enough examples and explanations but I really did not need it to pass my class; In my opinion there are a lot of other books (Not as formally written) out there that do a better job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    Amazing deal, better book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    This is a amazing book to learn Matlab. I only want I had attended a school that taught a Matlab programming course using this book. There are basically three ways to learn Matlab. 1. Stumble around in the heavy but useful support screens in Matlab. 2. Attend a college or other training class that often costs hundreds or thousands of dollars to attend. Then, there's the less traveled method: buy this book and teach yourself. That's the way I'm currently using, and it's improved my knowledge of Matlab tremendously. I think this book is a worthwhile modernize to the 2nd edition, too. I considered purchasing the 2nd edition and even read some the actual book in a bookstore, imagine that. However, upon consideration of the 3rd edition, I think the 3rd edition takes the contents of the 2nd edition and organizes it better so that more relevant subjects are kept together. It also has a newly added appendix that shows almost, if not all, the built-in functions in Matlab. That's a handy thing to have when programming, because it allows you to skim the functions you wish and use them appropriately due to a nice, short description that's included with each function. Also, the fresh edition covers vectors and matrices with matrix multiplication much earlier, now in chapter 2. So, it affords a better context to later material. Overall, if you're looking for a amazing primary reference and an actual teaching tutorial to using Matlab, go for this book. It will not disappoint. It's much more than a rehash of the heavy Matlab support screen with a few easy exercises thrown in the back of each chapter, like so a lot of books of this type are. This is an actual programming tutorial with tips, hints, and corrections of common errors beginning programmers often make, with end of chapter issues that cover concepts discussed in the chapters to teach the reader Matlab by doing! I strongly recommend this outstanding Matlab programming book, and it's so cheap, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    You could describe this book as "Cryptography for people in a hurry" :)I'm a software developer that uses cryptography primitives in my day to day job. This book helped me refresh my understanding of what happens under the scenes.I loved that each chapter offers "real-life" examples of vulnerabilities and security bugs in implementations and 's also nice that it's an up-to-date book, e.g. the TLS chapter talks about TLS 1.3 (latest ver at the time of writing :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    Philosopher Alfred North Whitehead noted that modern philosophy is simply a series of footnotes to Plato. When it comes to cryptography, much of it is simply footnotes to Bruce Schneier’s classic work Applied Cryptography: Protocols, Algorithms and Source Code in Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption, Jean-Philippe Aumasson has written not just some amazing footnotes to Schneier, but a valuable work on modern encryption and cryptography. A lot has changed since Applied Cryptography came out over 22 years ago and Aumasson does a amazing job in updating the e back-cover notes that this book is written for both seasoned practitioners and beginners looking to dive into the field. That’s real for the former, but for most beginners, this is far too intense of a book for them. This is a amazing resource for developers who wish to know how to effectively implement encryption and cryptography in their masson covers all the key locations of crypto, including random numbers, block and stream ciphers, hash function, and much more. Classic protocols from RSA, Diffie-Hellman, to TLS and more are e book makes massive use of C++ coding, Linux scripting and college-level math. Such that the reader needs to be conversant with those zone to create the most of this book. Each chapter also closes with some references to further reading for those that wish to dig deeper into specific e book closes with a short chapter on Quantum and Post-Quantum and while it is not here yet, quantum crypto will revolutionize the globe of cryptography when it an engineer immersed in the topic, Aumasson brings real-world experience and tip to every chapter. At 270 pages, the book does sacrifice some things for its lack of depth, but is a superb introduction to modern encryption and cryptography. For those looking to quickly obtain up to speed on the topics, this makes for an perfect go-to guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    Amazing introduction to the rapidly emerging concept of evidence-based practice in nursing. Knowing this will begin you ahead of fresh grads who haven't studied these theories. It makes the difference between nurses who obtain jobs in local hospitals, and those who obtain to work at world-class medical centers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    BORING, DRY, but i suppose it is the topic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MATLAB: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2020-1-23 2:19

    No dislike

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    Simple access and I used it for a college course

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    Came in perfect condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    I've learned so much from working through this book over the past year. Currently starting Chapter 15. I've gained much confidence with my circuit ysis. However, over the latest couple chapters, I've run into errors in what seems to be every other example. It really delays your learning time and could possibly hinder one from understanding the concepts when there are mistakes in the book. Chapter 14 has been the worst so far. I'd really ask the publisher to review this one in particular.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    The book itself was fine, but allow it be known that the paperback ver is the same as the International ver and that the practice issues are various than in the hardback version. (Some, just the numbers are switched, others are completely various or missing) If you're looking to save cash on classes, buy the ebook of the hardback instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    Amazing introduction to the rapidly emerging concept of evidence-based practice in nursing. Knowing this will begin you ahead of fresh grads who haven't studied these theories. It makes the difference between nurses who obtain jobs in local hospitals, and those who obtain to work at world-class medical centers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    BORING, DRY, but i suppose it is the topic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    Received it 3 days earlier than given shipment date. Brand fresh book. Best price I've seen anywhere else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    exactly as described and amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MATLAB: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2020-1-23 2:19

    If you are buying this, I'm willing to bet that you're a BU engineering student taking the EK125. The book ok, not that hard to read, but without the MATLAB program open, it's really confusing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MATLAB: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2020-1-23 2:19

    if you are looking for a amazing overview of MATLAB, this book is a amazing choice IMHO. Mathworks has released the home edition of Matlab at a very reasonable price. If you are a midnight engineer, and on a strict budget, Octave or Scilab are amazing alternatives and, for the most part, can be used with the text. That said, I haven't tested the examples in the recent edition (5th) in Octave or Scilab (I did with an earlier edition and had to create adjustments in some cases like movies), so, your mileage may vary. The text is written in very simple to follow steps. The problem I have (primarily with the Kindle edition) is that the examples do not have the correct spacing. This is a minor problem as if you are following along and trying the examples, it is clear what the author is pointing out. So, there are plenty of books on Matlab. This is one of the more gentle introductions with trivial to moderatly difficult exercises.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    I recommend this book for someone with some crypto background. Amazing for crypto implementers. Hopefully, the second edition will have more on post-quantum cryptography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    Gave examples in both theory and practice. Unpacked ideas in a logical method that created sense. An entertaining and relatively simple read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    The book served as a useful conceptual introduction, but I quickly felt that I required more of a reference manual for all the times I need to look up exact syntax. (Matlab's on-line support is extensive, but often answering a easy question takes more digging around than it should.)I'm probably being a bit generous with 4 stars, as the pages started falling out of the book with light office use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    Simple to use amazing textbook! I hate circuits but as far as textbooks go this is a amazing one! Lots of practice problems, amazing examples and amazing wording easier than most to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    If it says internation version, just know in advance the text is the same but the questions at the end of the chapter are NOT THE SAME. Beware if buying this for a class that assigns hw out of the boom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    Poorly designed, not good problems, difficult to obtain through. I dislike textbooks as a general rule of thumb because they're largely a scam, and seeing a ninth edition of a book doesn't exactly assuage that feeling. But this particular textbook was even less helpful than a lot of of the other textbooks I'm forced to because I was really interested in the topic matter. :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    The Serious Cryptography book is a amazing asset to have while you are trying to learn about cryptography, or while you are trying to pursue your degree in cybersecurity. I have not finished reading the book yet, however, the book is amazing all around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    A very amazing book for getting introduced to MATLAB. It is very simple to read and understand. The book is written in a conversational tone which makes it simple read and follow. The examples clearly illustrate the material being talked about and the chapters are concise enough to obtain through in a decent amount of time. I used this book in an intro to programming class and it was my second attempt at learning MATLAB, this time I succeed and got an A.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    Had to buy for a class. Somewhat convoluted and probably better with some sort of companion. I have the book to complement my lectures and programming assignments and I'm still often lost. Maybe it's for people with some programming knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MATLAB: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2020-1-23 2:19

    Amazing book to learn Matlab

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    Simple to read. Engaging to read in an otherwise boring topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    Came in perfect condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    Unless you are a true geek, this book might seen a small dry, that being said, if you wish to learn about encryption this is a amazing start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    I found it to be interesting once I got into it to learn more about the varied types of cryptography and how it has evolved to be more sophisticated over time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    This is an outstanding introduction to Matlab, and the examples work equally well with the GNU free version. Hats off to Amazon and the publisher for delivering this fine and current text at under $40 US fresh including web ere are numerous, out of date, but well written "specialty" Matlab books-- Matlab for scientists, Matlab for Chemists, Matlab for Physicists, Matlab for Engineers, Matlab for Neurologists... etc. These almost all go for between $80 and $200+ US! This book is hands down FAR BETTER as both an intro and a reference. You HAVE to run the examples as the solutions are not always given, but Matlab itself will allow you know how you did if you got the code r a very latest book, the code runs quite well, I'd place it at about 95%+. A lot of books like this, when recently published, are rushed to press and the code is, well, frankly, garbage! The neat thing is that since this is a third edition, the code has been vetted a lot of times and is far more bulletproof than the normal up to date, current ver does it compare to the Matlab doentation? No contest! The official doentation gives volumes (libraries) on functions, etc. but very few good, primary examples of best practices. This author really knows her stuff, and will save you a ton on bugs, even if you just obtain this as a reference. Granted, the focus of the examples is Engineering, but I also work in medical and robotics EE and DSLs, and the examples are easily transportable to any other area. It is beautiful clear that although the author publishes in advanced Engineering, she also teaches undergrads, so the book is kept intelligible without the usual "show off" style that makes a lot of texts tough to learn from. This book is ideal for autodidacts and self study as well as reference due to that ven the maturity of Matlab libraries now, there are dozens of templates for every possible app imaginable, from macros and plug ins to complete APIs! So you really need best programming and issue solving practices, not 800 pages of examples for $200 using your own field's parameters and quantities-- allow your plug ins and libraries do that (many of them are free now, especially with the GNU ver of Matlab). I guess what I'm saying is, if you're considering spending $100 plus on a specialty Matlab book versus this-- obtain this instead, then use the web to search your excellent app/ specialty plug in! With this as a foundation, you don't have to obtain "Matlab for Signal Processing" because the plug ins are much more specific than even that "specialty" book, and give you a choice of og, digital, time vs. frequency, RF specific, etc., for example.Highly recommended. Does not require previous programming knowledge, but a foundation understanding (basic undergrad) of how math relates to computing (ie. linear algebraic conversion of formulas to numeric methods via vectors and matrices) is helpful. Best brush up would be in what is now called "discrete" math-- or all the numeric methods that have now been removed from the HS curriculum. Even knowing one very easy (even scripting) language also will support if you're tackling this right out of HS. You don't have to be a Java, C++, Python etc. jock to obtain this, and even php or javascript will help. If you've used an IDE or SDK before to debug any program, the Matlab interface will be a natural, and seem very intuitive. Plug ins are now available for famous languages that mimic Matlab, like numPy for Python, and are often used for building apps around the calculations or results, so this text also will support even if you intend to move on to languages with large libraries like Java or Python.Even if you go into research with a heavier emphasis on stats, for example, you'll probably prefer a language like R, but this text, and Matlab, will support with unique functions and the interface even if you do end up doing most of your work in R. The most latest versions of both R and Matlab share (to place it politically) a lot of features, so you won't go wrong with this text even if you're combining with studying or using R. When you move from research to applications, design and engineering move quickly to brary Picks reviews only for the benefit of Amazon pers and has nothing to do with Amazon, the authors, manufacturers or publishers of the stuff we review. We always buy the stuff we review for the sake of objectivity, and although we find for gems, are not shy about trashing an item if it's a waste of time or cash for Amazon pers. If the reviewer identifies herself, her job or her field, it is only as a point of reference to support you gauge the background and any biases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    Amazing book for my purposes. As someone with a MS in Computer Science, I was looking for a book the would teach me the idiosyncrasies of MatLab rather than teach me programming in general. The book did that very well. In very a short period of time I was reading data from files, building modular programs to manipulate data, and plotting the results. I didn't search any examples where MatLab worked various than the book taught. It had very amazing coverage of the basics, and had amazing coverage of more advanced topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    Bought this to supplement a Matlab course I am taking at a university. Covers all the basics I need to finish my projects without spending hours surfing through the internet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    Simple access and I used it for a college course

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    My daughter required this for her final semester in Nursing School. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    Received it 3 days earlier than given shipment date. Brand fresh book. Best price I've seen anywhere else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    exactly as described and amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MATLAB: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2020-1-23 2:19

    This is a nice layout for learning matlab. Would recommend for anyone that is tired of calculators. Shipping was done in cardboard wrap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Electric Circuits, 9th Edition []  2021-1-19 20:17

    DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK. I ordered this book for for my circuit ysis class and found out this is a previous edition that they are marking as 9th edition and it clearly states on the cover that it is for international al use only. All of the issues in the back are various which is causing a head ache for me in my class for homework.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Literary Theory: A Practical Introduction (How to Study Literature) []  2020-2-6 20:47

    Had to read this for a literature class. Not great, not what I would call “a practice introduction.” My class supplemented reading from to actually clarify the concepts. It’s also VERY left bias. Search another book or just read about lit theory on shmoop...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence Based Practice: A Practical Guide for Nursing []  2020-2-1 9:49

    My daughter required this for her final semester in Nursing School. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice A Practical Guide For Nursing []  2020-1-25 0:49

    Simple to read. Engaging to read in an otherwise boring topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MATLAB: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2020-1-23 2:19

    I like the author.. Aside the pages are confortable to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    Just what I was looking for, addresses most common crypto algorithms and points to weaknesses or ways how it can be weakened. Amazing for people planning to use or implement crypto libraries

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    Clearly written. I purchased this to support a mate going through a cryptography class and the typical Bob and Alice metaphors were not resonating. Both helpful and a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Serious Cryptography: A Practical Introduction to Modern Encryption []  2019-12-16 18:56

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    It is, indeed, an Introduction and it is practical as claimed - four stars. It's well organized and there is an awesome amount of material in the book. It's broad is scope. Anyone who has programmed in any language along the method will be up and running in a short time with this book as a reference and teaching tool - NICE. It does a really amazing job in those areas. A lot of thought obviously went into the selection and sequencing of topic material. Seems to achieve broad range of topics by skillfully managing the level of detail and diversity of applications examples to prevent getting bogged down in individual locations and not achieving its overall objective. Well Done! With this book as background, the student can pick up with the native MATLAB Doent "Docs" form "help" and obtain along just my opinion, there is a glitch in the printing style of the book as far as code examples provided. They are printed in a very fine-line font style that is a hard to read and tiring on the eyes if you're really studying the material. The font contrast goes method down compared to ordinary text font. The publisher used light blue, olive and grey backgrounds for code examples, I guess to test to support the low-contrast font issue. Too bad. I suspect they tried to use the built-in MATLAB capability to easily export code out of the Command Window etc. directly into an external doent. All the other text in the book is perfectly okay. Next printing will be a possibility to fix this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    Amazing book for beginners at MATLAB. Talks in detail about different aspects that are amazing to know. The homework issues are excellent difficulty and try your knowledge of the chapters very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matlab: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving []  2019-12-24 19:55

    Hated this class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MicroPython and the Internet of Things: A gentle introduction to programming digital circuits with Python []  2020-7-16 18:35

    This is a well written and simple to follow introduction to MicroPython. The chapters are interesting and various from the ubiquitous web server / MQTT tutorials.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MicroPython and the Internet of Things: A gentle introduction to programming digital circuits with Python []  2020-7-16 18:35

    Wanted to have an entry level book to read on MicroPython. Stumbled upon this book. Well explained, and the further you get, the more the code is expanded while it is explained about the why and how. Too poor it is so short, would love to read more projects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction []  2020-1-27 23:47

    The globe of data visualization has always been a bit bifurcated; you could look at unbelievable beautiful pictures of graphs and learn theory, or you could learn statistical software packages, but connecting the two was left as an exercise for the oft-confused reader. This book is beautiful, and full of exceptionally clear and practically useful graphs, but it also walks through all the steps of getting up and running with visual scientific communication, from installing R through downloading data sets through plain-text manuscript generation. Every element of this book is an incredibly necessary component of what beginning researchers need to learn to communicate scientific ideas, and having them rolled into a single beautiful and carefully composed pack is a delight and fairly revelatory. I wish -- but realize I will not obtain -- all technical books to search as elegant a balance as this one does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction []  2020-1-27 23:47

    In the preface to the Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction author Kieran Healy writes:My main goal is to introduce you to both the ideas and the methods of data visualization in a sensible, comprehensible, reproducible way.Well, mission accomplished. The book is at once enormously readable, and sufficiently technically detailed as to create it simple to implement the principles e book itself is also beautifully designed. The use of figures and margin notes give you a sense of being guided through the ideas rather than just being told what they are. I've had lots of fun going back to some of my own visualizations created with R and ggplot2 and improving them based on what I learned here.I absolutely recommend this to beginners and experts alike. Healy gives you everything you'd need to know if you're starting from scratch, but in such a method as to not slow things down for the more experienced reader. For that reason, it would also create a amazing book for a course on applied use of R.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction []  2020-1-27 23:47

    This is a amazing book to support learn how to properly graph all types of graphs in R and the importance and a lot of aspects data visualization. What a like most about this book is the a lot of examples Dr. Healy has which if followed along will give you a amazing understanding of how to use ggplot2 and R to create outstanding graphs and add meaning to your data.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Regression ysis: A Practical Introduction []  2020-11-20 18:24

    This book is an simple to read academic book. The author has written with humor, anecdotal stories and context, which is refreshing. It is a amazing reference book for reminding us of the pitfalls associated with regression ysis. I would say a must read for people reading, studying or applying regression ysis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization (A Practical Introduction) []  2020-12-26 20:4

    While generally clear, there there are enough cases where Healy uses terms & notations before explaining them, and at least one where they're not explained _after_ they're used either. If there were a more comprehensive index, or a section explaining these, it wouldn't be a problem, but there isn'ere's also one case where the text associated with a figure is both inaccurate and essentially "left as an execise for the e example I'll give is from p.47, but it's not the first instance of this issue -- just the straw that broke my back.FWIW, I'm not a newbie: I've been a programmer for 40 years, and have worked in at least a dozen high-level languages, including APL, FORTRAN, COBOL, Pascal, C/C++, Java, Lisp, Prolog, and Perl. Some of these (e.g., Perl & APL) have beautiful exotic sytaxes, so I'm not unfamiliar with compact and hieroglyphic notation. I'm not bragging -- after 40 years, I'd be a slacker if I hadn't aculated a decent amount of experience -- just saying that I do have (at least in theory) enough background that I don't think I'm just being this example, Healy has presented a data frame, and then a tibble made from it. He says "Look carefully at the top and bottom of the output to see what extra info the tibble class gives you over and above the data frame version."The only _substantive_ difference at the top is a row between the first row (var names) and the first observation that reads as follows: "dbl" is easy, but WTF is fct? "function"? "fact"? looks like string data (perished, survived; male, female), but my intuition says that we have two defined enumerated data types, each with two values ... but ...I should not have to rely on guesswork: the meaning of should be easily ere's no index entry for "fct"; I see one for "facet" -- is this a facet? I won't search out for another 30 pages. If this were the Kindle version, I could find for , and for fct if I search nothing for -- but (a) this if the paperback and (b) I shouldn't _have to_ find for the meaning of a notation in an turning to the tibble, there is _nothing_ added at the bottom: the latest row is the same as the latest row of the data frame (modulo the addition of a decimal point after 344, the value of the "n" variable).I haven't decided yet whether to return it, but I'm place off by sloppy proofreading & copy-editing, partly because it's unprofessional, but largely because I'm a publisher and have _done_ proofing & copy-editing for 6 books, and I am scrupulous about it (and have at least 2 other people check me before I release a title). It's hard, and time-consuming, but to have an otherwise decent book marred by random glitches like this decreases the value & utility of the book.If I can search errata for this book, and they address the a lot of glitches I've found, I may hold it; o/w I'll wait for the 2nd edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization (A Practical Introduction) []  2020-12-26 20:4

    Data ysis texts face steep tournament from free online resources which will always be more complete and more up to date. I wasn't buying it to replace R Bloggers and other unbelievable resources.I bought this book because I wanted to speed up learning R-based data viz and it succeeded. It took one focused afternoon for me to work through chapters 1-3 . After that, I was able to use the rest of the book and the wider R community to figure out each e only specific feature that I am glad was in this book was mapping. R Mapping seems just a small bit behind other applications and the free guides are much worse than the chapter this book.I sincerely recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction []  2020-1-27 23:47

    While generally clear, there there are enough cases where Healy uses terms & notations before explaining them, and at least one where they're not explained _after_ they're used either. If there were a more comprehensive index, or a section explaining these, it wouldn't be a problem, but there isn'ere's also one case where the text associated with a figure is both inaccurate and essentially "left as an execise for the e example I'll give is from p.47, but it's not the first instance of this issue -- just the straw that broke my back.FWIW, I'm not a newbie: I've been a programmer for 40 years, and have worked in at least a dozen high-level languages, including APL, FORTRAN, COBOL, Pascal, C/C++, Java, Lisp, Prolog, and Perl. Some of these (e.g., Perl & APL) have beautiful exotic sytaxes, so I'm not unfamiliar with compact and hieroglyphic notation. I'm not bragging -- after 40 years, I'd be a slacker if I hadn't aculated a decent amount of experience -- just saying that I do have (at least in theory) enough background that I don't think I'm just being this example, Healy has presented a data frame, and then a tibble made from it. He says "Look carefully at the top and bottom of the output to see what extra info the tibble class gives you over and above the data frame version."The only _substantive_ difference at the top is a row between the first row (var names) and the first observation that reads as follows: "dbl" is easy, but WTF is fct? "function"? "fact"? looks like string data (perished, survived; male, female), but my intuition says that we have two defined enumerated data types, each with two values ... but ...I should not have to rely on guesswork: the meaning of should be easily ere's no index entry for "fct"; I see one for "facet" -- is this a facet? I won't search out for another 30 pages. If this were the Kindle version, I could find for , and for fct if I search nothing for -- but (a) this if the paperback and (b) I shouldn't _have to_ find for the meaning of a notation in an turning to the tibble, there is _nothing_ added at the bottom: the latest row is the same as the latest row of the data frame (modulo the addition of a decimal point after 344, the value of the "n" variable).I haven't decided yet whether to return it, but I'm place off by sloppy proofreading & copy-editing, partly because it's unprofessional, but largely because I'm a publisher and have _done_ proofing & copy-editing for 6 books, and I am scrupulous about it (and have at least 2 other people check me before I release a title). It's hard, and time-consuming, but to have an otherwise decent book marred by random glitches like this decreases the value & utility of the book.If I can search errata for this book, and they address the a lot of glitches I've found, I may hold it; o/w I'll wait for the 2nd edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction []  2020-1-27 23:47

    This book is the first I've seen (ranging from the Edward Tufte gospels to O'Reilly handbooks) to strike a solid balance between both the theory and practice of data visualization. While the practical examples and code are for use with R and GGPlot (preferred platforms across a wide swath of the scientific community anyways), the principles you'll learn, both about handling data and about the "visual display of quantitative information" will get in any setting and data visualization platform.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction []  2020-1-27 23:47

    I borrowed this book from a mate and found it useful enough that I bought my own copy! The book is clearly written and simple to follow, with a ton of amazing examples. I refer back to it often because I search it easier to flip through/do a fast visual find for the type of plot I want, rather than googling/trying to describe it in words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction []  2020-1-27 23:47

    I have a CS background, but had never touched R before. This book was a unbelievable introduction to R without intending to be. The focus on visualization (The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly) is clear, approachable, and very tidy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Regression ysis: A Practical Introduction []  2020-11-20 18:24

    This is a amazing book, very well written and quite simple to read. It makes me understand better on what regressions ysis is, what the limitations are and how do we scrutinise a research based on the “big ideas”.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization (A Practical Introduction) []  2020-12-26 20:4

    This is the 3rd book I have purchased on data visualization and the first which has examples in R and ggplot2. I am an experienced software engineer returning to school in Spring 2021 for a graduate certificate in data ytics and this book was the right level of info and expertly edited with meaningful examples. At the end of each chapter, the author gives suggestions for where to go next in the text. Like other reviewers, for an experienced programmer, chapters 1-3 and the appendix would have created a worthwhile book by itself. But add in the rest of the chapters and this book could easily be used for a graduate class in data visualization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Regression ysis: A Practical Introduction []  2020-11-20 18:24

    I have taken two Econometric courses and this book really support me understand the basics rules of regression ysis. The author used consistent examples throughout the entire text, which provided for a more efficient method of understanding fresh concepts and ideas. I would recommend this book to anyone trying to understand concepts and/or ideas of quantitative ysis!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Regression ysis: A Practical Introduction []  2020-11-20 18:24

    Perfect book and key to understanding regression ysis! Extremely well written and simple to follow. Dr. Arkes breaks down the mystery behind statistical ysis so that the normal dude off the road can understand and apply the lessons from this book. A must have for research enthusiasts!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction []  2020-1-27 23:47

    I am so glad to have this tutorial to data visualization. It is approachable for a non-expert, including someone like me, who has found R to be impenetrable in my past attempts. Healy walks the reader through the steps of building attractive representations of data very clearly, even patiently, and offers necessary insights about the theory of data visualization along the way. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about data visualization, but it is an especially useful as a step-by-step manual for building your own graphs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization (A Practical Introduction) []  2020-12-26 20:4

    The globe of data visualization has always been a bit bifurcated; you could look at unbelievable beautiful pictures of graphs and learn theory, or you could learn statistical software packages, but connecting the two was left as an exercise for the oft-confused reader. This book is beautiful, and full of exceptionally clear and practically useful graphs, but it also walks through all the steps of getting up and running with visual scientific communication, from installing R through downloading data sets through plain-text manuscript generation. Every element of this book is an incredibly necessary component of what beginning researchers need to learn to communicate scientific ideas, and having them rolled into a single beautiful and carefully composed pack is a delight and fairly revelatory. I wish -- but realize I will not obtain -- all technical books to search as elegant a balance as this one does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization (A Practical Introduction) []  2020-12-26 20:4

    R and ggplot2 are fundamental to my academic life, but I often feel like the Red Queen — running as quick as I can to test to hold up fresh techniques and add-on packages. Kieran Healy’s book (Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction) comes to the rescue, and I consult it almost daily. ‘DV’ provides an accessible, step-by-step introduction to the logic, power, and mechanics of traditional and innovative visualizations (also R & RStudio). Moreover, it also explains the principles behind what makes (or breaks) a visualization. Thus reader easily learn how to distinguish amazing vs. poor plots, as well as how to refine, personalize, and extend a primary plot. Conveniently, Healey has filtered a lot of of the most useful R, ggplot, and even project-management tricks. DV is far more than a mere cookbook. The “where to go next” and appendices are especially useful — even necessary— in the rapidly evolving globe of data visualization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization: A Practical Introduction []  2020-1-27 23:47

    I first came across this book on the web (a slight earlier ver is available free for viewing but not download). It was so helpful on some subjects that I ordered the hard copy. Although I have a lot of introductory books on ggplot2, this is significant addition to that e reason is that the author provides a narrative that is simple to read and that focuses on the primary logic of the gg structure (rather than just the syntax). This orientation can be helpful even when the user already knows the syntax (mostly) because it helps make a mental framework that enables more creative use of ggplot2 beyond examples that are provided in the a lot of books available.I recommend the book even if you have other intro books already and even if you already have primary capabilities in using ggplot2. It is up-to-date and adds a perspective that expands both appreciation and and facility with ggplot2.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Regression ysis: A Practical Introduction []  2020-11-20 18:24

    Without a background in statistics or economics, this book is simple to understand and apply. This book replaces the calculus with humor! If you are a seasoned yst this book has might surprise you! It includes simple to use questions and applications to improve your ysis methods. I had this book for one of my classes and it was one of the easiest to read and most necessary of my econometrics books with the relatability If the “Naked” statistics and economics series. I highly recommend this book for professors, students and anyone who wants to know more about ysis for their studies and research, even if you don’t plan on being a regression expert in the future. Allow this book simplify the daunting for you through play and true globe scenarios!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Regression ysis: A Practical Introduction []  2020-11-20 18:24

    I’ve take three econometric courses that attempted to teach me about regression ysis. This book is absolutely the best available for any yst (beginner or seasoned) as it helps understand all the relevant concepts in a humorous and practical way. It’s written in easy language without excessive mathematical concepts. Buy it, you won’t regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Visualization (A Practical Introduction) []  2020-12-26 20:4

    This book is the first I've seen (ranging from the Edward Tufte gospels to O'Reilly handbooks) to strike a solid balance between both the theory and practice of data visualization. While the practical examples and code are for use with R and GGPlot (preferred platforms across a wide swath of the scientific community anyways), the principles you'll learn, both about handling data and about the "visual display of quantitative information" will get in any setting and data visualization platform.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386