Read a single source reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a single source reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    source [occourts org case search]  2020-8-23 12:20
    [email protected]

    webcivil supreme case find results this link md case find mugshots miami dade court case find That Website read this post here listen to this podcast

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    sneak a peek at this web-site. [this guy]  2020-9-7 16:0
    [email protected]

    howard county case find maryland case find go to this www service test this website read this washington state court case find case find west virginia case find

    0  


    Add your opinion on a single source or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    a fantastic read [webcivil supreme case search results]  2020-8-23 14:53
    [email protected]

    michigan case find miami dade clerk case find palm beach county clerk case find lasc case find dade county clerk of courts case find nc case find baycoclerk case find sneak a peek at this website

    0  


  • 1

    Useful review?

    wordington: a word story []  2020-7-6 6:35

    I have completed all tasks to be told more tasks to come soon. Its been days and still waiting. I have accrued over 250 dollars and nothing to spend it on. If i dont have any fresh tasks soon i am deleting the android game and certainly not recommending it for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    cialis one a day [cheap uk cialis ]  2020-9-14 7:46
    [email protected]

    And due toР Р† Anaphylactic Reactions noble the hallmark seeking Capsulorhexis. genuine cialis uk Ritalin generic This is perchance the most

    0  


  • 1

    Useful review?

    cialis 1 a day [everyday cialis ]  2020-9-14 5:26
    [email protected]

    Pincer durable veggies how identical cialis canada since they do not allocate misbehaving cheer to the brain-teaser

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Source []  2020-6-23 19:21

    A Single Source by Peter HaningtonRating ***** 5/5To be honest I wasn’t sure if I was enjoying A Single Source probably due to it being a slow starter but wow when it took off, it took off firing on all e characters were well developed, truly flawed but believable lending to a superbly written novel encapsulating hope, jaded perception, sacrifice, suffering, heroism overwhelmed by corruption and greed, fuelled by power seeking me of the eccentric characters were wonderfully portrayed. The plot was woven like tributaries of a river coming together and Peter Hanington certainly created it work. His style of using a few words with such powerful impact leaves the reader stunned. At least two sections of this moving novel have stayed with me, I won’t spoil it for the reader but this novel won’t leave you ank you to Peter Hanington, NetGalley and the publishers for giving me the opportunity to read a truly perfect novel. I, in return have given an unbiased and honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Source []  2020-6-23 19:21

    Riveting -- both strong and sensitive. Don't miss it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Source []  2020-6-23 19:21

    I LOVED a Single Source. Intelligent, gripping and thoughtful - i couldn't place it down. Cant wait to read the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Source []  2020-6-23 19:21

    A Single Source is the second in the series featuring William Carver, a veteran BBC foreign correspondent, and his tenacious young producer, Patrick. They are in Cairo, covering the Arab Spring and the demonstrations in Tahrir ck in London, a former journalist and colleague of Carver is working in the Ministry of Defence putting a spin on some very unappealing corporate anwhile two youths in Eritrea are about to attempt to be smuggled into Europe as version and Patrick form contacts with two young women. Zahra is working at the hotel where Carver is staying and acting as a fixer and translator, when she can avoid the watchful eye of the manager. Her mate Nawal is an activist . They bring him some explosive information. Carver wants to run the story but he needs to back it up and is aware his investigation can place Nawal in ever deeper danger.I really enjoyed A Single Source, particularly when it focused on the characters in Egypt and Eritrea. The journalist characters are all convincing and real, unsurprising as the author is a BBC journalist himself, although it might have been interesting if one or two of them had gone versus e plot kept me guessing (I thought I had cleverly worked out the direction of one thread early on but was happy to have been outwitted). I liked the method the three disparate stories finally came is is a amazing political thriller which combines huge happenings and the human stories behind them. It is both thoughtful and pacy in demonstrating how injustice in the region has roots worldwide.*I received a copy of A Single Source from the publisher via Netgalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Even though this book is decades old, it still covers modern themes and gives background to the Middle East conflict.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Amazing book. I learned much about the East; also, the beginning of man’s find of God.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    A timeless classic for very amazing reasons. Like Alaska and other Michener novels it is huge and encompasses a broad swath of time. In direct relation to Hawaii it and The Shoals of Time are two excellent companions to enlarge your Hawaiian understanding and then branch out from there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Historical fiction written at it's best. This book is informative and imaginative. It gives you a possibility to meet the people who lived long ago let you to live thru the drama of their lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    This has everything to create a book engrossing and memorable: attractive descriptive writing, amazing characterization, mystery, human comedy and pathos, and adventure. Mishener's research is impeccable. The description of the creation of the islands is the most attractive prose I've ever read; after completing the book, I went back and re-read the beginning and savored every word again. I've read most of Michener's books and they are all great, but this is by far the most entertaining and easiest to read. If you are going to to Hawaii, test to read this book first; if you go without reading Hawaii, be sure to read it when you returnIt's a long book, but so enjoyable, you'll never wish it to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    I was thrilled to read this amazing masterpiece about Hawaii. The historical value alone is priceless. I felt a warm friendship to all the books characters as the stories of their lives unfolded. I developed a amazing understanding and appreciation for all the people who lived in the islands. I can recommend this book with no reservation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Fabulous read, could not place it down. The history of Hawaii is fairly well depicted but the true gem of this novel is Mr. Michener's ability to weave in the four various cultures creating their own zone within the islands, trying to maintain their belief systems from the old country while assimilating to this fresh country. Very well written!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Michener is a master story teller. For me this is a re-read from 40 years ago. Even after all this time, his attention to detail and in depth research plus a fascinating story line create for perfect reading. It is a must if you have or intend to visit the Islands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    The story of Hawaii as only Michener can tell it. Another epic story of the natural and human forces behind this special location.I could have used a small more history of the actual Hawaiians that was kind of glossed over with, "A thousand years later..."The focus was really on the different cultures that all emigrated to Hawaii and the contributions they made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Source: A Novel [Book]  2017-12-29 18:0

    Another absolutely unbelievable book by the late master of this genre James A. Michener.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    This is the second time we have used Bravo headset since we bought it Dec 31, 2015 and one side of the headphone no longer works. We added fresh batteries again thinking that would support but it didn't. Only the right side works. Beautiful disappointing product. I read the previous reviews b4 I bought but I thought it would have lasted a bit longer. I would not recommend this product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    Not Compatible with the fresh Chrysler Pacifica 2017

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    The headphones we got from the vehicle dealership got destroyed by our ey're a small older now, so we decided to some fresh ones. These feel like quality headphones, and the ear pieces fold sideways for easier storage. They fit in our console when the children aren't using them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    We really liked this at first but it stopped working after about 3 weeks. Don’t waste your money

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    I have a 2006 Grand Cherokee with the VES system. I bought it used and it didn't come with the factory headphones. I was able to talk the dealer down an additional $200 because I bought the vehicle without the headphones, then come to Amazon and these replacements for a fraction of the price.I'm very satisfied with their function. The reason I took off a star is they aren't extremely well made. The plastic is a small thin and I worry about them breaking when my 7 and 4 year-old use them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    Worked as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    Works perfect. 2015 Suburban with aftermarket 17.3" TV. It's also a 2 channel and this set still works with it. I need to 3 more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    Works excellent in my Infinite QX56. This method my children can watch a film in the vehicle and i can still have melody on for me. Absolutely love them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    Works fine for my dual channel rear entertainment system. I own a 2016 Toyota Sienna with Rear ent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-05A – Single-Source Automotive IR Wireless Headphones []  2020-1-22 2:49

    They work with my 2019 Toyota Sienna. Comfortable in short bursts. For a long haul they do damage a little.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A-SOURCE ELECTRONIC DIAMOND MOISSANITE TESTER []  2020-8-20 18:7

    We had this item for a month, We smelled something burning, and found the item literally melting down. It became a plastic mess, that was dead. And not covered by the seller. I would not recommend this item.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A-SOURCE ELECTRONIC DIAMOND MOISSANITE TESTER []  2020-8-20 18:7

    Its a amazing product, and the shipping time was great, thanks for your support Tag Striley

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A-SOURCE ELECTRONIC DIAMOND MOISSANITE TESTER []  2020-8-20 18:7

    A amazing deal. Its created by Presidium but at a lower cost. It does the job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A-SOURCE ELECTRONIC DIAMOND MOISSANITE TESTER []  2020-8-20 18:7

    I am thinking of returning the diamond tester because when I try a true diamond it sometimes says it's moissanite

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A-SOURCE ELECTRONIC DIAMOND MOISSANITE TESTER []  2020-8-20 18:7

    Have problems verifying diamonds when I know they are diamonds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A-SOURCE ELECTRONIC DIAMOND MOISSANITE TESTER []  2020-8-20 18:7

    product delivered as promised in a amazing condition.. delivery time is perfect. Tested with diamonds and working perfectly, results are accurate. need to try with a moissanite (will modernize the effect later....) simple to use. There is no information on which adapter to use and no batteries as well with product (ofcourse not promised, but it would hav been better if comes with batteries atleast for the we are paying). Overall amazing product

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A-SOURCE ELECTRONIC DIAMOND MOISSANITE TESTER []  2020-8-20 18:7

    This tool is very simple to use and in my limited experience it seems to be very effective at differentiating between diamonds and other stones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    Everything the author hoped it would be as described in his purpose for writing it - an accessible, engaging, living biography of a legend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    As a parent who is thinking of this book in terms of what it would do for my son, I must say that there is quite a bit:1. It's an interesting twist on a very old theme (the bildungsroman)2. It has a lot of subjects for further discussiona. The history of Korea (multiple invasions, provincialism, and such);b. A lot of amazing sayings to analyze and for further discussion ("Scholars read the amazing words of the world. But you and I must learn to read the globe itself.")c. Some amazing words to support build a youngster's vocabulary (spoor, celadon, lugubrious, kiln, slip)d. Morals about life (What lesson could a kid draw from Tree-ear's poor experience with the thieves and then his later amazing experience with the commisioner? What could a kid learn about the *way* that Tree-ear went about learning the craft of pottery? What about the method that he was aware of his surroundings?)e. Introduction of the concept of "intellectual property."3. There is a amazing afterword that explains the historical context of the book (that may have been more for adults, but it was only a couple of pages long and so it wouldn't slay a reasonably smart kid to test to read it).4. The characterizations/ hero development are very good. They are amazing at a level that both kids AND adults can e whole book only takes about 3 hours to read (I read the whole thing in one afternoon at work while being forced to keep office hours) and the writing is so interesting that it's hard to place rdict: Worth the time. Worth the Kindle price. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    I was first introduced to Linda Sue Park from reading her picture book to my son, "The Firekeepers Son". It was a amazing story, and meaningful. Later, we listened to her books in the 39 Clues series ("Trust No One", and "Storm Warning"). Her books are kind, and have a lot of vivid imagination. She wove in Korean culture, folk tales, art, and history in a method that created it all come alive. This book is well-researched and I love how it ties in true historical areas and objects. The characters in the book also demonstrate amazing values, such as friendship, caring, courage, taking responsibility. I also found one or two precious small hints how to with life. I suggested this book to my nine-year-old for his book report, and was pleasantly surprised that he enjoyed it so much he practically finished it in three sittings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    I teach philosophy, ethics and the Christian Tradition in college and regularly spend some time with Soren Kierkegaard, particularly his book "Fear and Trembling." SK focuses on the single individual and the angst of possible futures that arise from will. SK's nemesis is the crowd, the herd. Often called the Father of Existentialism, SK is at the headwaters of a philosophical movement that pushed back versus the collectivism of Hegel and those who followed, those who saw history as revelatory of truth and of "God." As history progressed, so it was asserted, the True and the Absolute were manifest. It was much of this genre of thought that was behind the work of Karl Marx and his utopian communism. To stand versus the people manifest in the State was to stand versus the flow of history and time. One can only imagine the minimal attention given to the significance of the individual and individual was thoroughly Christian and saw in the biblical characters, particularly Abraham, real Knights of Faith, ones who saw their Absolute Duty to God and did not rely on others to mediate to them the real way. The real Christian is not a second-hander, to use the phrase of Ayn Rand.Understanding and appreciating SK is critical to unwrapping 19th century philosophical movements that rushed like a torrent into the 20th. Yet SK is notoriously inaccessible. His use of Socratic irony and his playful use of pseudonymity for and in his books can easily lose the reader. He meant it to be so. He wrote like life is. Things don't go in straight lines. So a book that brings some blue sky to cloudy terrain is appreciated, and Stephen Backhouse's Kierkegaard: A Single Life is just that book.I have finished one reading and now on my second. I see a third reading quickly following. Not only does Backhouse of a graspable outline of SK, he stimulates us with it to think more deeply about the nature of truth, the depth of our struggle, and the exploits of real e bottom line is that he motivates me to wish to read SK more widely by giving me a frame of understanding, a rhythm of his thought process and identification of the currents and cross currents I will encounter.I will have more to add later on. But for now there is only one point to create - BUY THIS BOOK. And, oh yeh, read it, too. :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    In short, the author accomplished what he set out to do. No little feat, but a to him and a blessing to us. Well worth the time and effort invested by author and reader alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    Perfect and interesting biographical work on a famous theologian and writer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    I bought this because my fifth grade grand son had to read it for school and he was telling me about the story. I'm a potter—we decided to share the story. This is well written with decent hero development and a clear story arc. The factual info about pottery and the making of pottery is accurate and worked gracefully into the story line. The plot involves a young boy in ancient times who is trying to search his method through life as an orphan. He stumbles upon a community of master potters and becomes interested in their processes. The boy gets hired to do chores for one of the best potters, and finds a method to support his master vie for a put on the emperor's potting commission. It's an adventure, a story about building your self esteem and your skills, and a amazing story about commitment to others. I recommend this YA story for any age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    The reader is transported to ancient Korea and introduced to the demanding work needed by the making of celadon pottery. It has been years since I have seen celadon, but the author's descriptions were so precise that I could see it in my mind's eye as clearly as if I had been holding a piece. I test to read all the books I give to my grandchildren, and I found this Newberry Award winning novel to be quite exceptional. Youngsters will be exposed to Korean culture and history as they read this engrossing and moving story about a 13-year-old orphan boy. Love, loyalty, honestly and perseverance are all themes of this slight volume. Relationships are thoughtfully, honestly explored and are at the heart of the story. As a former teacher and as a therapist, I recommend this book for youngsters in grades four through eight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    This book is a amazing overview of Soren’s life and work. I would complain it’s a bit too sensational, as it focuses too much on Soren’s quirkiness and maybe less on his actual creed and impact on modernity as a whole. But for me it was definitely a amazing starting point. I would definitely read Ether/Or based on the book’s recommendation. While I appreciate Soren’s view on the individual’s relationship to God as opposed to a collective one, At the same time Soren’s later work focuses a lot on Christendom vs real Christianity and this is a topic I would not wish to pursue further.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    Learning about the life of this innovative thinker.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    It seems to me that Park's books are written much like fables, with each chapter, each episode drawn with poignant but concise brush strokes. Sometimes, as with "Long Walk to Water," this doesn't work too well; there just isn't enough in whole to help full-blooded characters. Here, this writing style serves her - and all of us - excellently. As elsewhere, she dips in, she dips out. But here, with each emersion, she beautifully captures the essence of the time (so long ago!), the put (so mysterious and yet intimate), the story (plenty captivating) and most of all, the characters, especially Tree-ear. In about a hundred and fifty pages, she brings them all so fully alive and compelling. This is only one young man from a remote village on the other side of the earth, some 900 years ago. In a globe where we might easily wonder if anything we ever do has any impact at all, we can see through this brief but strong story that even in the smallest niche in time, the courage and perseverance and faith of a single person - without magic or histrionics - can truly create a difference. The story truly advances the Eastern philosophy that there are consequences to each and every act (each shard?) of man. I love this story at every level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    A shard is a broken piece of pottery, and the boy and his mentor are broken shards of people. However, both of them retain enough of the design to continue their lives. This is a unbelievable tale of an abandoned orphan growing up with a cast aside crippled man in ancient Korea. Everyday survival is a first and very difficult skill for the boy to learn, and by accident he is introduced to a passionate interest and then he inveigles his method into an apprenticeship to learn from the master. The thought-provoking interpersonal relationships among the four characters, the hard lessons of patience for the boy, the developing sense of honor and lessons learned for both young and old in this low-key adventure story create it a tale to remember.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    My kids and I just finished listening to the audio CD in the car. We truly enjoyed this story. The first chapter or two, I wasn't so sure if this story was going to be captivating or just an okay read. Well, it was more than okay - it was beautiful. So a lot of others have written about the story-line, so I will just review the audiobook. I give the narrator, Graeme Malcolm, 5 stars as well. He did a unbelievable job telling this story. His British accent was easily understood and somehow added to our being transported there. It was just 10-year old daughter commented that the author's descriptions of the pottery were one of her favorite parts of the story. She loved imagining the designs and the colors. That, my friends, is why we read books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    Stephen Backhouse's Kierkegaard: A Single Life is a brisk, breezy look at Denmark's pre-eminent philosopher Soren Kierkegaard. This text is written in a clear, readily accessible style for the general, non-specialist reader. Accordingly, it is especially useful to readers unfamiliar with Kierkegaard or his works. It serves very well as an entry point into the writings of this notoriously difficult e book is divided into two sections. The first section, which takes up the bulk of the text, is a straightforward biography that makes use of Kierkegaard's own journals and papers as well as materials from his contemporaries. This distinguishes Backhouse's biography from Lowrie's earlier hagiography which relied almost exclusively on Kierkegaard's journals and published texts as his source materials. Lowrie believed Kierkegaard's pseudonymous works were keys to Kierkegaard's life, a belief Backhouse does not appear to share.A final chapter explores the enormous impact Kierkegaard had on global culture, ranging from Karl Jaspers, Albert Camus, Martin Heidegger, Hannah Arendt, and Franz Kafka, to Japanese anime and the Matrix movie trilogy. Kierkegaard's influence has indeed been e second, shorter, section of Backhouse's book is an overview of each of Kierkegaard's published and posthumous works. Lowrie integrated these works into his coverage of Kierkegaard's life. Backhouse, however, separates them; he briefly references each work in the biographical section of the text as the books are published, and then devotes one to three pages to each work in the overview section. I believe this is an effective method to introduce a reader to Kierkegaard and his is book probably would not provide anything fresh for those who are already familiar with Kierkegaard, although the material provided by Kierkegaard's contemporaries is content I had not encountered before. The chapter on Kierkegaard's influence also might be of interest to the more advanced reader. Otherwise, I can readily recommend this text to the reader who is curious about this necessary thinker and is seeking a general introduction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    I loved how much I got to know about the life of the amazing thinker but it created a minor attempt to connect the life and thoughts as much as I was hoping. Overall I would recommend this a amazing primer on the Danish Gad fly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    Perfect book! I enjoyed it just as much as my 10yo. The characters are intriguing, the storyline very engaging, and you sit on the edge of your seat as Tree Ear makes his journey. Woven into the story is an appreciation for Korean culture and education on Korean art and pottery. My favorite child read this year!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Swallow []  2020-9-2 18:0

    The premise and setup of this book seemed interesting when I read the book’s description, but I don't think it was executed well. This book is told mainly from the perspectives of the ghosts of three men who happened to be together on the day that Emperor Hirohito surrendered, putting an end to the Japanese part of Globe Battle II. These men decided they would return and reminisce after their deaths. What they mostly reminisce about is a woman who played a key role in each of their lives. We learn much about this woman, but only through these men's eyes, which limits what we can truly know of her. In a time when we are trying to give women and girls more of a voice and a put at the table, so to speak, it seems strange to only know this woman as these others see her. Their thoughts about her are often self-serving or reveal more about the men than her. She has no voice here of her own. As such, I didn't feel like I could connect with her because she didn’t come across as a real, flesh-and-blood female—believable and relatable. At times, she felt like a caricature or stereotype, a woman much abused and perhaps remembered as too excellent by the men who knew terms of writing style, the author told more often than she showed. There is a reason why there is an adage in writing that authors should “show, not tell.” It is distancing, can often provide too much irrelevant information, and makes you crave for something to actually happen in front of you. The massive reliance on telling had just such negative effects here. And I felt like the book completely lost me when it switched from having the three ghost perspectives to having dogs as narrators. Yes, I said dogs! At first, I couldn't quite believe what I was is story had potential, but it just was not IGGER WARNING: Battle violence, assaultUPDATE: I'm not quite sure why other reviewers stoop to the level of making ad hominem attacks (attacking the person, not their ideas) on another's review. I have been a proofreader and editor for over 30 years, and I stand by my review. Even if I saw this as literary fiction (and I don't), not all literary fiction is good.If you are unsure about this book seeing two such various reviews, I suggest you check out the 10% preview available here on Amazon. If you think that is well written, you may have fun the rest of the book... and at least you've been warned about the dog narrators! If you agree that it's mostly telling—and most of the book is like that—then create another choice this month for your First Reads!I received a copy of this book, but that did not affect my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    This historical fiction is a Newbery Medal Book, and one that has really stuck with me. Although it's a middle grade book, it's a amazing read for adults, too. Set in Asia (I don't remember where), it follows a boy's journey to create a better life for a teacher, this is a book I love to recommend to children who love historical fiction and could use a various sort of setting. It makes the globe a small more begin to them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Shard []  2020-1-31 23:54

    I was given this book to read by my young 11 year old neighbor who knows I really love hand created ceramics. I loved the story. I have now ordered this and passed it on to my granddaughter. I hope she will love it as much as my neighbor and I did. It's a unbelievable story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    This biography gives you a sense of Kierkegaard's life experience as the maligned, tormented, ridiculed figure, largely for his physical appearance which often created people, being what they are, ignore the quality of his ideas. The writing in this book is somewhat awkward with some rather unusual usages of common English terms. After the life story is told, the author than provides one- or two-page summaries of each of K's publications, so the book is a useful digest if you wish to pursue further reading in K's work. Overall, an ok read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kierkegaard: A Single Life []  2020-1-18 21:4

    am pleased

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Swallow []  2020-9-2 18:0

    When I chose this First Reads book, there was only one other review up - a one-star review. I read the review and the book’s description. I thought that this work of literary fiction by an award-winning author could not possibly be as poor as all that … could it? So I decided to search out for myself.Worth noting is that the author is a woman, so we are in fact reading a woman’s voice as she depicts through the eyes of men the woman who is so central to this e three men in question are William E. Macmillan (an American medical doctor), Ian Ferguson (a gunner’s friend Naval Group China), and Liu Zhaohu (a Chinese officer in training). They are in China when the Japanese emperor makes his war-ending announcement and their post-mortem rendezvous thus take put in China. (This all makes sense since the author is originally from China.)I search this book to be extremely well written. I often wonder if people who stumble upon literary fiction and give it negative reviews are just unfamiliar with what really amazing writing looks like. This book is well written, clever, and original - not an simple feat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    A character-driven story about life in England in the aftermath of Globe War1. Chevalier weaves a story around 'surplus' women, the paths of their lives interrupted by the battle when they search all their plans derailed. With too a lot of women and not enough men, they are forced to reinvent their purpose by creating fresh ways to provide for themselves emotionally and olet Speedwell has lost the vital men in her life, her brother, and fiance to the war, her father right after. Stuck with a mean-spirited and bitter mother, she leaves home to take a job as a typist. Lonely, and bereft, she discovers an interest in the needlepoint cushion in the Winchester Cathedral and joins a sisterhood of embroiders who support her navigate her fresh ed by the threads of the embroidery, their lives entwine, creating fresh patterns that rock the existing social conforms. The bonds Violet makes give her a network of help and friendships. She learns a lot of men's lives have been ruined by battle as well. Instead of embroidery, these men have found comradeship through the ringing of the bells in the cathedrals. The church unwittingly provides succor for those who are desperate but unable to search it, showing the power of congregation and the need for people to have human contact. Perhaps the single thread of the story is the church and community that links people and their lives giving both purpose and a put to belong. While not my favorite of Chavalier's books, it was still authentic and meaningful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    I always have fun Tracy Chevalier’s books but this one is a bit different. It is set in the years following Globe Battle I in Winchester ,England. The historical fact she brings to light in this story is the oft overlooked women who, because of the death of millions of men in the war, have no possibility for marriage and children. In 2019 that doesn’t seem like a huge deal, but for these women it was a course they wouldn’t have chosen and had to learn to navigate on their own. What makes this a bit various is that the setting and story do not have the exotic appeal of her previous books. England a hundred years ago doesn’t really seem that much various than right now. But the characters are very appealing as usual and, although I learned a lot more about bell ringing than I cared to know, the writing is very readable and the modern twist of plot at the end is satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    I truly like novels by Tracy Chevalier. I just finished reading "A Single Thread" and it was a unbelievable read. It has been a very long time since I sat down and read a novel in less than a day. I never fully understood how difficult it was for women after the end of WWI. The novel takes put 14 years after the end of WWI, the heroine having lost both her fiancée and older brother in the war. It takes put in Britain, where a generation of young men died, both during the battle and the Spanish flu epidemic after the war. These spinster women, now in their mid to late 30s, are referred to as "surplus" women. Very few husbands their age available to marry, the economy still not going powerful and a lot of of the women not married are either working menial jobs as typists or remaining at home to care for elderly parents (in this book, the heroine's elderly mother lost her oldest son to the battle and later her husband to illness). So much happens in this novel that all I can say is all of the characters, with their flaws and fears, are people to like and admire. I found the latest page to be so uplifting that I cried - I think because the country was getting closer to WWII and the horrors awaiting, but mostly because in the moment the book ended, the heroine triumphed with dignity and amazing courage. My only hope is that the author will consider writing a second book with these same characters that carry them through WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    This is a charming and skillfully written story focusing on Violet, a British woman grieving the loss of both her brother and fiance in Globe Battle I. Violet strives to make a life for herself separate from her overbearing mother by moving to Winchester. Along the way, the reader is drawn into the globe of the bell ringers and the women who embroidered the cushions of Winchester Cathedral. The story shows the few social options available to the a lot of women who were widowed or single after Globe Battle I. I have always been a huge fan of Tracy Chevalier and absolutely adored this fresh book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    My local newspaper featured a review of this book and sparked my interest. Some year ago, my company was working on a project with a programming enter near Winchester, England. I live in Florida, and I had never visited England. Needless to say, I was very excited to go and enjoyed my time exploring. My hotel was next door to the cathedral, and I enjoyed listening to the bells each evening. The author's description on how the bells were rung was very enlightening. The book mentioned a number of locations I recognized--even a very fine restaurant--the Wyckham Arms. I remember the unbelievable food I had there. This book tells the story of a young woman, Violet Speedwell, who moves to Winchester to begin a fresh life away from her overbearing mother. She secures a job as a typist for an insurance company and becomes involved in embroidering kneelers and cushions for the cathedral. The description of the different stitches Violet required to learn did take up quite a bit of pages; however, that did not impact the story. I do recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    (Rounded up from 3.5 stars)The very slow pacing at the beginning of the book, plus the mindboggling info about embroidery and bell-ringing, almost compelled my to give this a three-star rating. But Chevalier painted the protagonist, her love interest, and some of the secondary characters so well that I went for 4 stars. I particularly like the fact that Chevalier didn't write a "happily-ever-after" ending, and the close of the book happy me. A Single Thread is a very human book, with a tenderness that kept me commended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    With gentle, baby steps growing into confident strides, Ms. Chevalier introduces us to an admirable young woman. My mother was a post-WW2 “surplus woman” in Germany and married my father, an American GI, so my feeling for the protagonist, Violet Speedwell, is intense. (My mother’s former German neighbors never forgave her for marrying an “Ami” and moving to the States, and they took it out on me whenever I visited Frankfurt.) The fact that my mother became Violet’s mother in later life -- bitter, complaining, selfish and unkind -- created this story even more vivid. But back to the true story. With two specialized topics diligently researched and explained so that anyone could understand them ( embroidery - did I mention I embroider? - and church bell ringing), I learned so much while being entertained with Violet’s blossoming, and blossom she does. This book is sedately, tenderly paced but builds to a cathedral of strength. It also explores customs and morals of the time, some of which haven’t changed. Enough said. Read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    Set in the 1930s, A Single Thread follows the story of Violet Speedwell, one of the a lot of “surplus women” unable to marry due to a shortage of men after the First Globe War. Violet is headstrong and independent, determined to forge her own path and leave her own tag on the globe — however, at 38, she is considered too old by much of society. She takes a job working as a typist in Winchester and becomes involved in a group of women, the Winchester Broderers, who provided the cathedral with embroidered seat cushions and of the things I have fun about Chevalier’s novels is the blending of fact and fiction so beautifully and unobtrusively; here, there is a wealth of info slipped in about embroidery and bell-ringing, as well as larger problems such as feminism and LGBT couples. I did not search any of this too onerous to read and it all really developed the story, fleshing out characters and dly, one of the things I really do not have fun is a period novel about a powerful female lead who inevitably becomes pregnant as a consequence of an affair or trauma. There is more to a woman’s life than having kids — though I do realise that this particular trope was a very true occurrence in this particular time period. I was enjoying the book until the arrival of the love interest, Arthur, and the happenings that followed. After that it became quite predictable and I read on with a sinking stomach. Ultimately the book has an upbeat ending which affirms the power and depth of female friendships, especially with the unconventional nature of the Speedwell household at this point.Having enjoyed a lot of of Chevalier’s novels in the past, I had high hopes for A Single Thread, but sadly it did fall short for me. The characterisation and plot are well executed and there is an evocative and sinister mood lurking below the surface of this book, indicative of the unease that lingered between the two Globe Wars, and this is handled beautifully. For me, not as amazing as At the Edge of the Orchard or The Latest Runaway, Chevalier’s previous two novels, or even Falling Angels, but if you like historical fiction then this comes recommended.I received an e-ARC from the publisher, HarperCollins UK, through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    As a dedicated Tracy Chevalier reader, I hate to say that this is my least favorite of all of her books. It is extremely slow and dull, and I had to force myself to obtain through it. However, I will say that I learned about bell ringing, embroidery and the life of a single woman post WW1. And of course the info are meticulously and beautifully written. It’s a gem for anyone interested in those three subjects, but I’d say pass on this one if you are not. Lastly, other reviewers hated the ending. I actually found it somewhat satisfying. So to sum it up as nicely as possible, super slow/boring but educational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Single Thread: A Novel []  2020-1-28 22:41

    I gave this book four stars because it was an enjoyable, informative read. I am also a needle woman, so the bits about the broderers were tasty. I don't think the hero development was quite the same level of achievement as some others of Ms Chevalier's writings. That said, I found Violet's choices understandable, and she is a hero whose humanity and compassion are appealing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    As a physician working with HIV and Tuberculosis patients in Papua Fresh Guinea, I search the concept of directing medical care upstream not just compelling but essential. Manchanda has the experience to speak to this e first few chapters show raw data for discussing the challenges of improving health under a fresh paradigm. However, his terms "upstream" and "upstreamists" obtain tiring later on. His emphasis is on the social determinants of health, and he argues that "upstreamists" focus on changing these determinants with other social or government agencies. To me, this represents the natural transition of Public Health as a discipline in a put where infectious diseases and their causes are mostly controlled. But Manchanda focuses heavily on social ills leading to not good health and away from individual responsibility, behavior change tactics or reducing the financial incentives for overly-procedural care and reveals a political bias along the e book overall reads easily until the focus shifts from describing the need for considering social determinants of health to advocating for community organizers and for his own "upstream" brand. The afterward may be more insightful than the second half of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    Love these headphones for my 4 year old daughter to watch films in the vehicle on long rides. She turns them on and off easily and they fit her nicely. Not falling off like the other ones we have. They have an automatic shut off, although we have had to replace the batteries beautiful frequently I would still recommend them. That's probably because she often forgets to turn them off when through!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    Colors and durabilty are amazing and also ease of use. But the battery cover keeps falling out and it keeps losing connection , So really not worth it at all. I already tossed out the packaging so can't return them...I purchased 2 and both have the same problems!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    It is easy common sense that our lifestyle choices affect health; and that our environment affects both lifestyle choices and health directly. Doctors seldom 'see' these factors and with the symptoms presented, when a various approach would prevent a lot of of these situations arising.Few countries have a healthcare system with basic care based in communities as the foundation aimed at ensuring stead we value and organize for secondary (your GP) and tertiary (in a hospital) care. The effect is a host of preventable issues and unnecessary cost in the chain of choices and happenings that lead to wellness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    Fast read useful to patients and caregivers alike. Empowering for health care professionals. Enlightening to anyone confounded by the often difficult to navigate, at times cold and indifferent health care system .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    I absolutely love this book. So much that I want I could the paperback!!! Hoping to meet and possibly intern with Mr. Manchanda one day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    These IR headphones are awesome. They work exceptionally well with our aftermarket DVD player in the vehicle (purchased from , of course). The DVD player is in the ceiling between the 1st and 2nd row. The children in the 2nd and 3rd row have no problems using these for about the month that we've had them. They are feel and seem to be quite durable. I have to hold telling my children to place the darn things away when they're done though, and these do fold away really very easily and nicely. Even my two year old is getting the hand of folding them up without bending them too much. Nevertheless, you don't wish your children just throwing these on the seats or on the floor, and then stepping all over them. That will support to break them eventually. So if you obtain your children to look after them with amazing parenting skills, these will latest a long time I think. I also love the fact that they turn off automatically after a while if the children forget to turn them off. And, the final super bonus, you CANNOT turn the volume up too, too, high. Now, you can turn it up quite high, but not to the point where the child could blow their ear drums out. I caution my kids about the dangers of prolonged, high volumes with headphones, and we never allow out children use earphones. My point is, children sometimes create mistakes, even us adults do. When that mistake is turning up the volume too high prior to the DVD starting, it won't blast the children ear drums out. We typically have our kids set these to about 1/4 of the maximum, and they are fine with that volume. However, if you require significantly higher sound volumes though, this may be something to consider.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    Got these for my niece for her second birthday. It is now very nice not having to listen to her film play while in the car. On of the best I have every got. She can place them on and off by herself and since they are flexible when she twist them they do not break.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    Not worth the time nor cost due to not good IR reception, even up close. Not nearly durable enough to latest and comfort is also an issue. We returned these and purchased another headphone set (URL below) that was of much better quality, very comfortable and can be cabled to private devices when

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    The beginning of the book had me very interested. I fully believe if we switched to an upstream approach to healthcare we would support a lot of more people. It would have held my interest more if Manchanda had discussed more cases with positive outcome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    Anything about the medical globe and doctors & their practices is interesting to me. Doctors seeking the origins of disease & not good health in the lives of people living in desperate poverty & pollution to search ways & means for all for everyone to have clean water, air & nurturing food, would seem to be something our earth could provide if given half a chance. That doctors are investigating how our environment impacts our health & well being is a fascinating & exhilarating topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    These physicians and health workers obtain it. We reduce healthcare costs by going after the source. Sometimes the fix is ridiculously inexpensive. Unfortunately this runs counter to the Medical-Industrial complex we've created.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    I am a health professional and found this book exhilarating. It reminds me of why I went into the field -- to create a difference! Not only does Dr. Manchanda speak of the issues in our fragmented healthcare system, he talks about solutions. There are so a lot of links to organizations and practices to research when you finish the book. Thanks for the inspiration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    I bought these for my daughters thinking they would be a amazing fit for her. And I liked the price. Please don't waste your money. They worked amazing the first time we used them for about 30 minutes. Then they started making crackling sounds and now my daughter can't hear out of them at all. So looks like I'll be buying a various set now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    This is like the fourth set of headphones I've gotten for my car. These are the first ones that my children haven't managed to pull off the foam covering the earpiece within the first day. Yay! The earpiece is actually glued in or something and it makes all the difference. Small more expensive than some of the others, but well worth it in the long run. Want i had gotten these the first time.... They also fit their small heads well and they haven't complained a bit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    I bought these for my four year old to watch the OEM DVD system in our 2012 Enclave. I was unsure what to expect when I purchased them, so I was happy to search a pair that was inexpensive, and if they failed to meet my needs there would be no significant hurt done to my pocket book.I was pleasantly surprised by these headphones. They fit my toddler perfectly with plenty of room to grow with her. Connecting these was as difficult as putting the batteries in, carrying them to the vehicle, turning on the car and the DVD system, and setting the rear audio to DVD. BOOM! These were working with simple volume control, sound that is fit for a youngling (she's not an audiophile), and some level of noise cancellation due to the around the ear form factor to support drown out the crying infant she shares her zone with.I'm ashamed to say that these probably see everyday use in the back of the vehicle. After six weeks of this, I am just now changing the batteries on these, so I am happy with the power consumption. I plan on buying another pair for the infant, once she gets old enough to wish to watch as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    These headphones work well in my City & Country Van. We bought it used, and no headphones came with it. These worked, right out of the packaging, and my daughter loves them. The batteries also seem to latest quite a while in them. I'd highly recommend these, for children's use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravo View IH-04A – Kid-Friendly Automotive IR Wireless Headphones (Single Source) []  2020-2-7 20:53

    These are great, they are simple for my 3yr old to turn on and off, yet durable enough that she hasn't destroyed them. They use AAA batteries and they don't eat through them.I'm a fan that they fold up e only thing that isn't amazing but is a first globe complaint, they can be turned up too loud and I worry about small one's ears.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    The Upstream Doctors is a rare achievement. In just a short volume, Dr. Manchanda argues articulately why doctors should think about the social determinants of health outside of their clinic walls. He provides concrete and achievable strategies, both little and large, that can support anyone improve the health and welfare of our is book should be needed reading for anyone interested in health and healthcare, from high school students thinking about medicine, premeds wading through organic chemistry, medical students studying for boards, residents who should be "napping" on call and attending physicians, both young and old. If you are not too jaded to learn something, read this book. Then read it again. Then do something!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Upstream Doctors: Medical Innovators Track Sickness to Its Source (Kindle Single) (TED Books) []  2020-1-25 5:26

    I liked the compassion and views offered in this book. Having had an education in public health, medicine and business administration, this was a amazing resource book showing that there are others willing and hoping for a better health care model than those that are currently being followed. I'd suggest this book for those looking for inspiration in providing more holistic care to patients and their communities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Syrian Wedding (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:2

    The author manages to rebuild our perspective and expectations of Syrians in the Zaatari camp by focusing on human adaptation (both profound and mundane), the timeless need for connection, the survivalist opportunism, ultimately the profound clusterf*** of operating a refugee settlement on the borders of a civil battle that hangs like a spectre over some beautifully constructed prose. Like a lot of who have lived in the region, I've read a bunch of journalism on displacement in wartime, but I've never seen work quite like this. It brings some genuine empathy, powerful reporting, and an eye for subtle shifts in perspective to the story. Often in the same paragraph.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Every Single Secret: A Novel []  2020-1-23 19:27

    I was totally engrossed & wholly engaged until Heath led Daphne to his horrifying trail of carnage. Her mood, already black, became darker still. As it turns out, they're both seriously messed-up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Narrow Ledge (Kindle Single) []  2020-7-25 19:18

    I really enjoyed the story and the authors writing style. Amazing book ~ I can highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys outdoor adventures!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Narrow Ledge (Kindle Single) []  2020-7-25 19:18

    It takes courage to climb amazing peaks, and even more courage to write about it with amazing honesty and insight. Brown reveals the practical and moral dilemmas associated with pursuing life's meaningful endeavors. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Syrian Wedding (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:2

    I think this should be in the Fresh Yorker. I have seen refugee camps but I never got to know a camp the method Nicholas Seeley did, and then he demonstrated an uncanny ability to allow the reader be there as well. This isn't fiction but it could be because of the development of the characters Mohammed and Am'neh.I want millions would read this. And understand how battle so affects the people caught up in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Every Single Secret: A Novel []  2020-1-23 19:27

    Once again, Emily Carpenter hits it out of the park with a gripping psychological suspense, and a Southern Gothic setting that is a hero in itself. Heath and Daphne are intriguing and complex; as I followed the twists and turns of their troubled marriage to a retreat at a creepy Victorian mansion in the North Georgia mountains, I found myself gripping the pages tighter and tighter, even as I couldn't stop turning. You won't wish to place this book down, and it may even create you question how well you know the person sleeping next to you while you read...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Every Single Secret: A Novel []  2020-1-23 19:27

    In Every Single Secret, Emily Carpenter weaves the excellent psychological thriller: complex characters and a fast-paced plot shrouded in layers of mystery and suspense. I flipped through the pages eager to uncover the a lot of secrets, and Carpenter skillfully kept me guessing right up until the very end. Fans are in for a true treat. Buckle up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Every Single Secret: A Novel []  2020-1-23 19:27

    Heath and Daphne appear to be kindred spirits, keeping their pasts hidden from each other. When Heath's nightmares start and he wakes in the morning with no recollection of the violence, Daphne becomes concerned about the future of their relationship. In a present of concern for Daphne's worries, Heath recommends going to a week-long couples retreat for therapy. Daphne reluctantly agrees to go for Heath’s sake, but refuses to participate in the therapy. What follows is a spine tingling reveal of the extremes to which some people will go to keep on to other people, and the shocking reveals of both Heath's and Daphne's pasts. Can either of them escape the horrors...and come out alive? Well done, Emily Carpenter! Highly recommended for those who have fun psychological thrillers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Syrian Wedding (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:2

    I bought this, thinking it would be a long short story or a novella. It's better - a kind of literary journalism we need more of--so much more insightful than most reports filed after a fast tour of Za'atari Camp for Syrian refugees in Jordan. It's reporting with a novelist's eye to detail and the qualities of real, individual people getting on with life in the middle of a large international crisis that's not going away any time soon. Seeley has lived a long time in Jordan, and spent a lot of time in Za'atari. His knowledge, respect and authenticity begin a window for readers anywhere to better understand a few people in this certain time and place, this human condition. (Kathy/ Namara)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Syrian Wedding (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:2

    Perfect small window into the globe of Syrian refugees in Jordan. Lots of context, too. Very short.Worth your time, though, on an problem that is often forgotten.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386