Read a summer in doubt reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a summer in doubt reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spice Doubt: A Gig in Ether []  2020-1-18 22:56

    Unless you have access to Ozrics bootlegs, this disc is the next best thing. Some of Ed Wynne's finest tunes are exhibited here, including perfect versions of Eternal Wheel and Sploosh! In a lot of cases, Ozrics is a better band in the studio than they are live; on this disc Rad the drummer (who has since left the band) gets a small undisciplined, particularly on the sprawling "Spice Doubt," which has amazing grooves but is marred by over-busy drum work in this version. However, overall this is the best 'official' live CD I've heard; the other live Ozrics CDs I've found (Afterswish, Ethereal Cereal) stem from their early days and are both indifferently recorded and beautiful sloppy musically. Or shall I say steeped in the English hippie culture, which exhibits large pot use, which is not always the best thing for musical timeliness and focus. This disc is worth having for those who are into this band.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spice Doubt: A Gig in Ether []  2020-1-18 22:56

    Simply, a truly magnificent ten track live CD from the Ozrics. At least as good, if not better than 'Pongmaster's Ball' (see my review). Sound quality here is nothing short of top notch. Tunes that create this progressive / zone rocker a real keeper are "Eternal Wheel", the trippin' "Sploosh" (possibly Ozrics most memorable chop ever, period!), the ten min "Oolite Groove", "Myriapod" and the closing title track "Spice Doubt". Even if you're a fresh fan of this band and have NEVER heard any of their material, this CD should do a lot for you. An absolute must-have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Didn’t hold my attention like her other books. Women characters were cute but just wasn’t believing the realistic aspect of them. Most people had problems that created them more defective in some way, just couldn’t connect with them, their past or show created them seem like they couldn’t escape their issues much less wish to change themselves. Not completely unlikable but not likable either. Eh. Just okay. Kinda feel like I wasted my time finishing it.

    0  


    Add your opinion on a summer in doubt or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    The author artfully conveys the essence of summer in Nantucket as well the difficulties that relationships face. In my opinion, amazing writing transports you to the setting and involves the reader in the character's lives.........l felt like I was on the island and best mates w\ the characters!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    This is the kind of book to curl up with on a rainy or snowy day. Much more depth of characters who by the end of the book I felt were e story takes a young woman through two romances...explores life on Nantucket living in a huge home left to her by her grandmother and her work as a librarian because of her love of books. This gal was nothing like you might picture a librarian!Just the right mix of romance, and the true life day to day between mates and the love the heroine feels for her career choice. I have been deliberately vague about the plot as I have often read reviews that gave away the whole story and took all of the joy of surprise away. I hope I have enticed you to read this unbelievable book by one of my favorite authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Audible version.I loved this book, fell in love with the people in it. A lot of others have said what it’s about.I can’t imagine anyone not liking it a anks Nancy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    This is such an fabulous read! All of the characters have emotional depth and are diverse, but yet connect in a highly realistic way. The book makes you feel that you are right there with them. I hated for the book to end for these characters became friends!Thank you, Nancy Thayer, you have done it again. Can't wait for another book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    This is the excellent beach book. I look forward to Nancy Thayer's novels every year as a rite of summer - obtain out the chaise long, the lemonade, the sunscreen and drift away into the lives of people who live in the gorgeous small Fresh England island of Nantucket. Stage setting so true you can almost taste the clam chowder.While written breezily, the characters are finely drawn, and pull on the heartstrings. There are inherent truths here, about love and life which begin this book to another level above the usual summer page-turners. I particularly similar to the the bookish and introspective Darcy who tries to navigate some tricky romantic turf. Obtain out the SPF 15. Sumer is here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    I have loved most of Nancy Thayer's previous books. "the Guest Cottage & Summer Breeze" had depth to the characters & were a delight to read. Sure I wish a book that is "light: but I also wish substance & it wasn't in Secrets in Summer as it was in the two just mentioned. The author's earlier books, Between Husband & Friends, Three Women at the Water's Edge & Everlasting I consider her best. Since then she writes basically crets in Summer started out with a set of amazing characters but none of them were ever developed. It ends with one line that makes no sense. Darcy, the main hero has just been given the opportunity to be the Director of the Children's Library in 3 years but must begin taking night courses. In 10 years she could be the Director of the Library. But then a whole chunk of the book gets lost in her love for Nash & it seems like she "throws away" her career opportunities by the latest line of the book. Since it is not explained you are left wondering what happened to this person who wanted a career, who had dreams & then that latest sentence which I don't wish to spoil for you. But there is no explanation as to how Darcy is going to manage this "great career" & what fresh decision she you can tell I am very disappointed in Nancy Thayer. The book was thrown together. If you wish substance & amazing hero development & learn about women I recommended Five Brides instead of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Nantucket based stories by Nancy Thayer always are an enjoyable read for me. I was in Nantucket once and I hopesomeday to go back. A attractive put that her stories take me back to. Unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Darcy had a tough childhood and has finally settled into a house in Nantucket left to her by her grandmother. She has a job that she loves at the library and has moved on after a divorce from her narcissistic ex-husband. I loved the descriptions in the book of Nantucket, the beach and Darcy's backyard sounds like the excellent put to unwind. However I found Darcy to be a bit irritating as she appears to be too nosy as it relates to her neighbors. She is overly pushy in terms of her relationship with Nash, given she has only known him a few months. I usually love the books by Nancy Thayer and while enjoyable, it was not my favorite of her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secrets in Summer: A Novel [Book]  2018-6-22 18:0

    Loved this book. I actually just ordered a few more Nancy Thayer books. I never obtain tired of the Nantucket setting as 40 years ago my husband and I honeymooned there so I can really picture it so clearly. Well developed characters and maybe what some might call sappy at times but to me sometimes you just need a small sappy. From teenagers to young adults to grandmas this book has it all. Warmed my ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In God We Doubt []  2020-1-6 18:42

    This is not a Dawkins or Hitchens kind of book that believers can fairly attack as one written by a "Militant Atheist", though the people who use that description have not explained whether they meant it to be used to disapprove of militant atheists as they would religious extremists or whether they are saying it's all right to be a religious extremist but not a militant atheist. Humphrys just asks questions. Smart questions that believers and non-believers alike would and should be asking. He takes the neutral ground of an agnostic; he can't prove that there is no god, but he wants religious people to explain and prove what the god it is that they are worshipping. His chapter on interviews with a rabbi,a an Anglican Archbi, and a Muslim academic is worth reading carefully. The reader must judge for himself whether the answers given by these three learned men clarify the religious stand. I suspect that most neutral people will be left skeptical about a private God that micromanages human lives. If there isn't a micromanager god, then is there any use in prayer? If there is then shouldn't he take responsibility for all the ills of the world? These questions are worth pondering over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In God We Doubt []  2020-1-6 18:42

    "In God We Doubt", a born again atheist mate told me, is "a wishy-washy fence-sitting book". I got about half-way through when he asked for my opinion, which was "yes, it IS a wishy-washy fence-sitting book".It's a fast and simple read, and now that I've finished it, I'm wondering if John Humphrys (or "the guy off of Mastermind" to me) got splinters up his bum from sitting on that fence. If it was a book about a fictional hero who struggled to come to terms with his God-doubting, you'd expect him to reach some sort of conclusion in the end - he'll create his mind up, somehow, that there either is a god, or there isn't. This never happens. It ends, just as it begins and has been all the method through, with a "well, there might be, or there might not be - who knows?" And where's the fun in that?I'm not really sure why this book was written, to be honest, because it's not going to create atheists search religion, nor is it going to create a religious person become an atheist. It just sits there, being mostly harmless, saying both sides sort of have a point but both go about it wrong. If the point is to keep the hand of agnostics and say it's okay to be on the fence, sure, job r someone like myself, who is somewhere nicely in the middle, "In God We Doubt" is completely redundant, simply because there's no point to it. It's preaching to the crowd already, and I don't need a book to tell me what I already know. It's an okay book. Might provoke a few thoughts in those who are unsure of what to believe, or it might not. Either way, you're probably not going to be bowled over.3 out of 5 potential deities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    ENTHRALLING READ, COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN! Marcia wrote this from her heart, probably too much heart for the Trial of the Century back then. But, she does go into a lot of detail of the everyday grind from beginning to that hopeless ending that we all hated to hear come down that day. Whether you were for Simpson or against, the method she writes, the private touches (right down to those dang skirts?), how Ito despised her and threw every boulder down her alley, she kept on, with 2 small children and Ex to be despised almost as much as Simpson. Anyone wanting to know what went on inside her life at that time, and her private opinions of the Lawyering that went on (or not), this is a must read! Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    A real and searing acc from someone who played a very necessary and vital role, prosecuting attorney Marcia Clark. From someone who witnessed the infamous Bronco debacle, I too had a sense that Simpson was guilty. I also knew he wouldn't be prosecuted. Watching the case on television however, I felt Marcia gave as amazing as she got and in reading this account, one can gauge just how stressful and daunting prosecuting this case must have been. Marcia was brilliant, raw, and a real defender of justice. This is a amazing read for a blow by blow, behind-the-scenes, acc of the trial of the century.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    I only watched parts of the trial at the time it was on. I have changed my opinion of the prosecution by reading this book. I just wish Marsha to know I have a fresh respect for the impossible job she had to handle. Love her other books .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In God We Doubt []  2020-1-6 18:42

    This is a amazing book.....and I say that having spent the latest year reading all of them (well, almost). From the militant athiests to the fundamentalist hard core I have taken the time to really discover the varying views and opinions on the nature of christinatity and belief. It has been a labor of love.full disclosure: I entered this excercise a militant athiest myself......and coming out the other end I am still an athiest - but no longer mphrys is largely responsible for my transformation (I am leaving out the info - this is not about me). He is a amazing writer and can tell a amazing story - and the story he has to tell here is compelling and ultimately persuasive - although that is not his intent of my other findings from my own research is that you believe what you believe and few are going to allow facts or logic obtain in the way. Michael shermer's fresh book on "the beieving brain" explains in amazing detail the phenomenon that happens when we think what we are doing is following logic to arrive at our beliefs/conclusions. We are not. We are looking for evidence to help what we have already decided to mphrys gets this and tells a tale here about his own journey and, more importantly, about those he encountered in the course of and after doing his broadcasts with religious leaders from the three monotheistic's.If you are at all interested in the topic - you must obtain this book and read it - and think about what this author has to say and what it really means. Amazing stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In God We Doubt []  2020-1-6 18:42

    it caused me to alter my view on atheism and religious views.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    This is a very detailed, play by play acc of the prosecution's case. Ms. Clark does not mince words, especially about Judge Ito, and still seems passionate about the case. At times it is almost too detailed. I think she did a amazing job of explaining the times, specifically how soon after the LA riots this trial took place. I also found it interesting to hear how some people's testimony changed for the civil trials and that some evidence not allowed by Ito was allowed in the civil trials. All these years later, it's still awesome that he was found not guilty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    I have fun courtroom drama; I read a couple of Marcia Clark's other books first, Blood Defense and Moral Defense, they were excellent, amazing books. I didn't think I could stay interested in a book that I already knew the ending, but I was wrong, she kelp me glued to the story. We all watched it in the 90's, but a lot we didn't see or hear, and I wondered why he was found not guilty in the criminal trial, but guilty in the civil trial.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    I initially thought this book was about the OJ trial. Well, it is about that but really it's about a woman, and her colleagues, and how this polarizing happening affected their lives. Truly and outstanding story about the happenings and emotions that changed their lives forever.I still remember where I was and what I was doing the day the verdict was announced, like so a lot of of us. But I have a various perspective now on exactly what that all is story should be needed reading for all who care about our justice system, women's rights and racial equality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    Marcia Clark's book Without a doubt is a thrilling read from beginning to end. I felt like I was right there next to her observing every element in the complex case. I learned so much about evidence and all the pit falls that can happen when faced with a criminal whose has dozens of cash available to buy his freedom. Without a doubt, I will cherish this book as a testament of what woman face every day in order to be heard. Marcia--you're a hero!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    I don't know how Marcia Clark survived prosecuting the trial of the century and raising two small boys and all of the long hours she had to place in each and every day. I would think her health would have broken down, forever. She was in charge of the overall prosecution for the O.J. Simpson double murder trial and she took the blunt of the criticism each and every day. She co-wrote this book and it is well written and informative and gives the reader an insight into all of the agonizing info and attention that go in to preparing for and prosecuting a trial, especially with a judge that was star struck and a dream squad of lawyers for the defense that had unlimited cash to pursue any kind of defense. Also, it was not long after the Rodney King beating and the police being acquitted that played into the "not guilty" verdict. Clark, Darden and all involved, really knew in their hearts that they were prosecuting a man whose fame and race would obtain him off and that's just what happened.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    My husband and I are among the a lot of who were stunned by the verdict in the O. J. Simpson trial. A year or two ago I read one of Ms. Clark's lawyer/murder mysteries and thought (forgive me, Ms. Clark), "Well, she may not have been much of a prosecutor, but she can sure write a amazing murder mystery." Since reading this book I have revised my opinion of her prosecutorial abilities. It does a amazing job of explaining all the items that went on that I was completely unaware of and is a really interesting book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without a Doubt [Book]  2018-5-9 18:0

    This is a well-written, informative book. Everyone whom reads this book, should take some time for self-reflection. The prosecution did an outstanding job presenting the evidence in an attempt to secure justice for the victims. What does it say about American society when it is more necessary to let a "celebrity" to walk free as opposed to holding him accountable for the horrific crime he committed? Thank you to the prosecution for working diligently in an effort to secure justice for the victims, even when it dearly cost you (i.e. time with children, health, relationships).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    This book completely transported me to Sicily. I didn't wanted to end and I lent it out to my mates right away. My only regret is that I didn't plan on reading it with them because it evoked so a lot of emotions that I wanted to discuss with someone, but couldn't. Being a Sicilian American, so a lot of things became clear it to me as I read this . So a lot of things I thought were just special to my own family after reading this I have come to understand that they were uniquely Sicilian!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    Parts of this book were a small slow but the ending more than created up for it. Marlena de Blasi has a method of describing things that makes you feel you are sitting in the middle of the story listening to her tell it and I like that. I felt like at times I could smell the baking bread, see the feasts that were set out, feel Tosca's pain and happiness. I did not expect the ending and was overjoyed when I read it, not that I will divulge the secret, you will have to read it and no, don't begin at the back of the book!!!! Overall, a really amazing book that I very much enjoyed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    This novel is a memoir, but it reads like a novel. The subtitle should cue you in: A Love Story. One as sentimental, dreamy, titillating, provocative, frustrating, and satisfying as any romance novel. Between a peasant girl and a prince, no less; both of them heroic. The important obstacles are there, too. And, yes, the love story, served within the context of the author’s visit to Sicily for a magazine article, does have a satisfied ending. How sweet is that!Still, this is more than a story of a real love with a satisfied ever after. A lot of times, Tosca, the storyteller, explains or justifies her actions or those of her people by invoking their identity as Sicilians. The love story, within the travel memoir is, thus, an interesting method of illustrating what it’s like to be a Sicilian. It matters small that the picture Tosca paints does not go much deeper than our stereotypes of Sicilians (at least, as formed by movies). Tosca’s story is a rather more entertaining method of telling us about the essence of Sicily than just describing sights, sounds, smells, tastes, textures, which De Blasi, in fact, does sumptuously in earlier chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    I listened to the audio book presentation of this book first, and I loved it so much that I had to buy the book for my library, where I work. (We already owned the audio). The story starts off as a mere misbegotten travel story as Marlena de Blasi and her husband wander around Sicily trying to obtain people to talk to them. It isn't until she is directed to possible lodgings at a villa owned by a woman named Tosca that she falls under the spell of Sicily as she and her husband linger on at the villa. She finally is trusted by Tosca who slowly and most beautifully recounts her very awesome life and love story. This story is all the more entrancing because it is a real story, and an wonderful story of pain, and learning and love. The audio was one of the best I have ever listened to. This is really a book worth reading. It is magical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    That Summer in Sicily by Marlena di Blasi was an adventureous and gorgeous tale filled with pain and triumph. Told by di Blasi in her descriptive, florid language it was a feast for the senses, as she transports you to a globe half a globe away, making you see and experience everything with her and l the other reviews describe Tosca's and Leo's story accurately, so I will not describe it here. Suffice it to say that its as unbelievable, enchanting and magical as only true life can be. Read it, savor it. Search yourself humbly admiring the strengh of the human spirit. What stands out in this book, however, is not the epic love story between two people but the epic struggle to do what is sca and Leo walked the walk. In a sense, they paid with their lives for it, reminding us of something we all know but often choose to forget: to whom much is given, much is also expected. In addition, their spirits truely shone through the pages, showing them to be, well, human. As attractive and smart as they both were, they weren't perfect. And thats the beauty of this story--that you don't need perfection to do what is right or lead a life worthy of rlena, this book has created me wish to visit Sicily and look up Tosca just to be in her strong presence. I thank-you and Tosca for sharing this inspiring story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    When Marlena de Blasi was given the assignment of writing about the interior regions of Sicily, she suspected that she got the job because others had turned it down. For "the center of the island is an aloof and pathless place, and the colossal silence of it all is reflected in its people," a mate warned. But de Blasi was intrigued. She created plans. She traveled to Sicily. She created phone calls. Her phone calls were not answered. Her meetings didn't happen. And when she tried to befriend people in the tourist industry, her elegant business cards elicited nothing more than Blasi calls her editor to tell him this, and then turns to her husband to ask him what he'd like to do with the unexpected free ey go to a bar, and see some policeman who frequent the place. Di Blasi approaches them. Could they tell her of some put to stay in the countryside, perhaps a little hotel or pensione? Unexpectedly, they tell her. The woman's name is Tosca. The put is Villa Blasi and her husband thank them, and leave.What happens next is...so would you feel if you think you're going to a hotel, only to arrive somewhere that could better be described as a nunnery? There are bells. There is a community of women, cooking, sewing, and digging. There is bustle and laughter. There is tragedy and death. Marlena de Blasi can only gape.But the largest surprise comes from Tosca herself, who talks. And she is not talking about the weather, but sing a tale of love, rivalry, jealousy and the l those things it is better to be silent about.Hence THAT SUMMER IN SICILY. Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    I loved this book. I was a bit tentative when it started out as de Blasi can be a bit overwhelming in her prose, but as soon as she started describing the house and the women who live there and then began telling "The Story" I was mesmerized. I couldn't even begin another book for several days after I finished it - the ending was so unexpected and so unbelievable - I was still wanting to live in that book for a bit longer. It's amazing, the best of all of the author's books in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    My grandmother came to America as a small girl from a little village in the Madonie Mountains much like this one. When I discovered and then visited it, my reception was warm and immediate, but then I am familia, in fact the capo of what remains of the distant cousins in America. Bless De Blasi for writing this beautiful, evocative story and description. Thanks to her, I understand better several of my Sicilian mannerisms buried oh so deep. The use of silence or dialect among outsiders is an example. Sicilian dialect, by the way, is not singular. It varies even from neighboring village to village. A villager can even identify the accent of speakers from various parishes within a village. How better to protect oneself from the outsider tax collector or Mafiosi? For the general reader, this is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    Wordy, this book was over the top with dialog; often, l thought, unnecessary, At the same time l felt as though l was there, l was with the family. I didn't wish to give up, l had to finish reading. Oddly after completing this book l don't feel the since of joy, sadness, or accomplishment that l usually feel when finishing a really amazing book - l feel like l've lost time, l don't think this was a satisfying read,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Summer in Sicily: A Love Story []  2020-7-21 19:28

    Agreed this book from DeBlasi is various from her other works. However it was tantalizing and delicious. I like the idea that she ventured off from her normal course. Maybe we shouldn't force her into a box and expect the same thing over and over. Just like an actor being stuck in the same role, it was unbelievable to see her escape and present us yet another talent she has. I actually listened to her voice on the book on CD while on a long street trip. This may have created it even more hard to resist. If you liked ars of the Earth by Follet you might have fun this type of historical story as well. Marlena has a unbelievable method with words that created me feel like I was on that journey with her. The story of Tosca is a attractive romance no one can resist. She is an awesome vivid story teller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doubt [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Knee-deep in the throes of my first love, I was quite surprised to hear that my lady's favourite film was 'Joe Vs the Volcano'. (I still haven't seen the film). It dawned on me, when I wanted to check out an American movie which, to my knowledge, had a plethora of fine acting, that this was written and directed by the same guy who created that movie much earlier. Being raised Christian and hearing in the press over the past few years about misdeeds, especially involving leaders of the Catholic church (represented in movies as diverse as 'The Boys of St. Vincent' (John N. Smith, 1992) and 'In Bruges' (Martin McDonagh, 2008), I was especially intrigued by this, his work of more latest vintage. The ambiguity at the core of the movie (and hence the 'doubt') really acts in the movie's favour. The script and direction are both tense and flawless, and the attractive Fresh York areas chosen to illustrate The Bronx in 1964 support air the play out, and give it more cinematic scope. It features some of the finest work I have seen from Philip Seymour Hoffman (though my favourites will always be 'Happiness' and 'The Master'), Meryl Streep (my most-esteemed works of hers are 'The Deer Hunter' and 'The Devil Wears Prada') and Amy Adams (this is her finest performance IMHO) as well as a breakthrough role for Viola Davis, who steals every stage she's in. This easily holds up well even with Shanley's Oscar-winning screenplay for 'Moonstruck', and, though dark and depressing, is thoroughly recommended for those who can stomach its topic matter, and peer into that abyss without flinching, as these fine exemplars of 21st-century American cinema so easily do here. That it didn't victory any of its five Oscar nominations is almost as ghastly, to the cinephile, as the misdeeds insinuated here are to the community at large. Must have been a powerful year for film, methinks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    Did a deeply religious and successful business man murder his wife and young kids so he could begin a fresh life? Thirty five years after Susan Hendricks and her kids were found hacked to death in their beds, people in Bloomington, Illinois still can't agree who wielded the ax and butcher knife that fateful night - and neither did the asonable Doubt is part family drama, part CSI and part Law and Order. As a local reporter, Steve Vogel had unprecedented access to the trials, testimony, evidence and key players in the case versus David Hendricks - and it a reader, for about 1/3 of the story, I found myself thinking: "Yeah...Hendricks is totally guilty." Then....for the next 1/3 thinking: "No WAY this guy could have done it." And the final 1/3 thinking: "No wonder the courts went back and forth on this...I STILL haven't figured it out."The epilogue and 2018 modernize are fascinating as well - showing how Hendricks lives today. This is a really quick read, it makes the reader think, and is one that sticks with you well after its final pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    What a fascinating read. I felt I was in the courtroom, the murder scene, and in the police interogation commend this book to anyone who would like to be like a bystander to an investigation and trial. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    I am a long time fan of Peter Berger's work. I turn to his writings for a number of reasons. First, he is an academic and empirical sociologist. This means that I can count on him to have his ear to the ground and his feet on the ground. That is, he bases his conclusions not on abstract hypotheses but on true trends and realities. Second, he has a lot of decades of experience and occasionally draws on his lived experience to inform his ysis and conclusions. I tend to trust reflective older people who have seen much of the globe (at least more than I have). Third, he writes with a minimum of jargon. I have nothing versus jargon in principle, but Berger's sparing use of it means it is more like hearing a wise neighbor telling you what he thinks is important. Fourth, he is a religious believer (albeit a skeptical one), a rarity in academia. This means that his views capture a wider range of human reality than the usual academically informed views. Fifth, he espouses neither leftist (e.g. anti-globalization and anti-capitalist) nor standard liberal platitudes (e.g. individual freedom is the most necessary value for moderns.)In light of this, "In Praise of Doubt" was both welcome and a small disappointing. First I would recommend it for the genuine insights it brings to the topic. One of the insights which is not explicitly stated, but which I learnt from this book, is that there are two contradictory impulses in the nature of man: (1) on the one hand the need to communicate, which leads to "cognitive contamination", that is being affected by unusual and fresh ideas and thus being faced with fresh choices and options (although I would quibble with the use of "cognitive"); and on the other hand, (2) the need to escape the burden and responsibility of choice (or freedom in Erich Fromm's phrase), which leads men to group themselves in insulated, exclusive and closed communities. However, closed communities are threatened by the cognitive contamination that inevitably comes from hybrid pluralistic situations and encounters, where various ways of life inevitably bump up versus each other. This is a source of conflict in modern societies.I was a small disappointed for a number of reasons. First the book seeks to address the danger of nihilism or relativism for an individual caught in this predicament. This is characterized as the situation where any commitment an individual may create is always potentially reversible. (I'm "into" Buddhism today, implies I can jump "out" of it tomorrow.) This has been the enduring concern of existentialist thinking (especially religious versions of it) but apart from some apposite references to Kierkegaard, Tillich and others, this necessary discussion left me without a clear sense of where the authors would have us go with this. Perhaps the intention was for us readers to pick up the strand for ourselves. A amazing idea. Second, the writing style varied between Berger's own lucid writing and what I assume was the effect of a not so successful collaboration. I was also disappointed in that this book did not cover or summarize some of the key conclusions to Berger's other necessary works which non-academics would not usually read. This is a trade book whereas Berger's other books are written for academic audiences. Perhaps he judged that it was not possible to fit more in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    Ethically neutral. Objective. A must read for everyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    An excellent, simple to read book that is recommended to all who want to stretch their minds and obtain out of preconceived ruts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    The book is not for the casual reader, or lay people. The language is hard to read and understand. There are a lot of un-necessary parenthetical statements. It seems it was written by a monk stashed away in deep corner of a monastery who has the time to search the hardest words and expressions. It does have some gem statements placed in an ocean of convoluted sentences. The topic is perfect and makes lots of sense, even though a few pronouncements are wrong. I read the whole book and was frustrated. I hope someone would translate it in ordinary English.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    For those with doubts of so-called expert opinions, expecially scientific opinions based on "consensus", you will search this well written book in understandable English,to be especially interesting and supportive of such doubt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    REASONABLE DOUBT:A SHOCKING STORY OF LUST AND MURDER IN THE AMERICAN HEARTLAND BY STEVE is is the second time I have read the book,or rather the second ver of the book I have read. I have read the original copy a lot of years ago and was more than curious as to what has happened since that not good time. For you see, I lived in Bloomington Illinois during the time of the Hendricks murders and a lot of of us who did ,will NEVER forget waking up in the morning and hearing the horrible news of the crime. It did change the atmosphere in our sleepy small town. Up to that point, crime was here, but not really talked about. The Hendricks murder not only opened our eyes to the realization that murder could happen but it took a city that thought nothing of leaving doors unlocked and woke us up to the true world! Like everyone else I watched the news and saw Mr.Hendricks look into the camera and tell the whole audience he forgave the person who butchered his family. Like most of us, I had decided early on that he was the killer. Like the rest of Bloomington Illinois, I started making sure all the doors and windows were locked and I have never felt safe asonable Doubt is a very very graphic book. It describes in info not only the murder stage but the trial step by step. If you are squeamish think twice about reading this e book dives into the lives of David and his family . It does have its dull spots here and there but if you wish the true feel of a murder investigation Reasonable Doubt is for Vogel the author worked as a local reporter and along with other reporters, carried the story. Mr. Vogel took the story and took it further by writing this book and the original book .With the revised book he has taken and added different various opinions from officers, and different family and mates of Hendricks as well as fresh info , especially about Hendricks and his life after the murders. I think with this book, the revised edition he has taken the original book a step further allows the reader to decide for themselves: Guilty or Innocent. Even after all these years , this book sets my nerves on edge. The main questions after reading Reasonable Doubt is Did Hendricks slay his family? Did the States Attn create a amazing enough case? If Hendricks did not do it who did? Has justice been served for Susie and her children? And why the Hendricks home if it was random why did it not happen again?Needless to say REASONABLE DOUBT is still as intense as it was when first published.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    I have thought about the case of David Hendricks periodically over the years and after googling the murders that took put in Bloomington, Illinois I found this book & purchased it. You see, at the time of the murders, I lived in Peoria, Illinois which is only a short 45 min drive on I-74. I was familiar with Bloomington because it was part of my travel location at the time. This story was front page news due to the horror of it. About this same time, I moved from Peoria to suburban Chicago as a single 27 year old. Approximately one month after Hendrick's family was murdered, I happened to meet his brother, Jim, who was a coworker of one of my college friends. I was horrified when Jim told me about this; being so familiar with the headlines. All I remember is that Jim told me that his brother, David, absolutely did not do what he was accused of. I chalked it up to the fact he loved his brother and could not believe his loved one could commit such a not good thing. I believed at the time that David Hendricks did indeed slay his family. In any case, I just finished reading this book. I did have fun reading the book but I am giving it 4 stars because the story really dragged during portions. It goes into min detail about what all the experts had to say during the trial regarding the children's stomach contents. I still personally believe that David Hendricks killed his family. After reading all the info again, who else would have done it? It makes no sense that a stranger would have killed the family. However, I can't believe a jury found him guilty. There is certainly reasonable doubt. I've been on jury duty twice in my lifetime. Once while I lived in Peoria in the early 1980s and once latest year here is suburban Chicago. This story should be on 'Unsolved Mysteries' if it hasn't already. Interesting book & I do recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    Nicely written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    had read a short summary of this case years ago and had always wondered what finally had happened. I the book and decided to check it. It was the same case and I was interested in reading it. It is a amazing real crime book and one which I search will surely enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    The author contributed to the reasonable doubt. What a shame this crime went ........... well I can't give it away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    They create a number of assumptions, that are not well explained or defended, if you agree with the assumptions the book is just dandy. But otherwise they create some decent points but are unconvincing in their arguments. At the end of the book I was expecting another half chapter to finalize their argument.Let me sum it up: search the middle ground between religion, morals, government, and society.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    Required it for my environment/religious class, but found it to be a amazing read. This comes from a sociological perspective and makes true life connections that are simple to relate to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    Mr. Vogel wrote a solid, even-handed acc of the crime and two trials. The original edition was a real page-turner. Depending on who was testifying, of rebutting, the readers mind went back and forth on guilt or innocence. This fresh edition supplants information which was not available before. I am a photojournalist who has covered the case since it happened. I have my own opinions, but I'm so grateful for Mr. Vogel's insight to enlighten me even more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    I enjoyed book was a amazing read slow in some locations but a amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    A unbelievable review of all things religious. how plurality of religions and modernity affects religious practice. Celarly written for the interested lay person. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    We are living in a period when a lot of people of various political and religious persuasions can't talk to one another in a civil fashion without what has come to be called "derangement syndrome" -- most characteristic of those on the political left. According to sociologists Peter L. Berger and Anton Zijderveld in their transcendent, timely and witty fresh book In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Being a Fanatic, we can understand that both fundamentalists and relativists are fanatics produced by modernity. Neither can claim the moral higher ground after reading this dernization, defined as a movement from fate to choice, tends to divide society into those avant-garde modernists who are tolerant of everything and everybody, that is except backward "fundamentalists;" and reactionary fundamentalists who are involved in a rear-guard action to the de-institutionalizing and relativizing actions of cording to sociologists Berger and Zijderveld, modernity produces a social globe of freedom and lost certainties as a effect of "plurality," or the proliferation of a lot of competing worldviews and lifestyles. Those in the most modernizing occupations - the academics, professionals, and media types in the "New Class" - tend to embrace this freedom and relativism, but often in a certaintist, self-righteous, and fanatic way. Those in the Old Business and Working Classes tend to cling to social institutions which provide structure, meaning and predictability to their lives, albeit also sometimes in a fanatic way. Modernity, however, does not necessarily mean the breakdown of religion or the family or the rise of rationality, but the rise of a lot of irrational gods, lifestyles, and modern society things that once were seen as objective, as sacred, as absolute, such as marriage, patriotism, even gender roles, become relativized (i.e., less certain). Modernization tends to create people tolerant, albeit alienated. According to the authors, three ideal cultural types emerge: exclusivists, pluralists, but most of all inclusivists. People tend to alternate or convert back and forth from these three cultural modes as they liberate themselves from social institutions and conventions. Or alternatively, they seek to return to the security of family or religion after failed liberated marriages, alienating careers, and or the disillusionment of failed political movements. As the authors aptly place it: in every fundamentalist there is a relativist waiting to be liberated; and in every relativist there is a fundamentalist waiting to be converted.An offshoot of relativism is postmodernism, not only as an intellectual movement but as a lifestyle. Some people wish to reject modernization for a return to nature and a sustainable lifestyle. Others become sort of anti-priests in the intelligentsia (i.e., "cognitive elitists") who deconstruct all certainties. Still others seek membership in an infallible political party, in feminism, or in social solidarity with the not good to counter the psychological homelessness and unhappiness of modernity. Although liberating, modernity is alienating and anomic and can lead to modernistic versions of e authors see moderation and doubt, not extremist toleration or fundamentalism, as an antidote to the culture battles brought about by modernity. The form of moderation they propose, however, is not some blase stoicism or cynicism, but a passionate centrism. As zone does not let elaborating further on their position one will have to read their book. However, let me to offer some constructive tending the latest round of national so-called Congressional "townhalls" on health care reform (circa 2009) this reviewer observed firsthand how those elites in political power can typecast those out of power as "fanatics." As sociologist Berger has written elswhere in his classic book Invitation to Sociology, there is the process of socially engineering political consent. This can be done by typecasting the opposition as fanatic fundamentalists. This social typecasting as political fanatics on health care has been brought about by provoking, marginalizing, and frustrating the opposition by those in power and mass media - by those modernists in power. Using Berger's own terms, "fanaticism" can be socially constructed not just a by-product of the uncertainty and alienation of modernity. On a larger scale, we can even observe that Islamic fundamentalism is not so much a spontaneous reaction to modernization and globalization but socially fomented and financed by stealth governments for political ends. As Berger has written elsewhere: "upsurges of religion" in the modern era are, in most cases, politicized movements "that use religion as a convenient legitimation for political agendas based on non-religious interests" in contrast with "movements genuinely inspired by religion." (Berger, National Interest, Winter 1996-97:3). My guess is that the authors might agree with my clarification and expansion of their position even though their book omits much discussion of the power dimension of fanaticism.Another minor criticism is the author's use of words such as "cognitive" and "dialectic" that will likely only be understood by cultural elites and intellectuals not fundamentalists. Unfortunately, this book is unlikely to be read in Sunday Schools or at Earth Day rallies. It is, nonetheless, an necessary book that should keep as wide a readership as possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: A Shocking Story of Lust and Murder in the American Heartland [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    Not poor till 33% tag then rife with and riddled with verbatim transcripts, chapter after chapter. So repetitive and soooo boring I wanted to jag my eyes out with an ice pick, but instead I skipped to Google to search out how it ends.If you like minutiae in testimony endlessly repeated this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Doubt: How to Have Convictions Without Becoming a Fanatic []  2020-1-22 20:16

    It was well written and examined the roots of doubt along with the benefits of uncertainty. I certainly enjoyed and endorse the authors' perspectives (and the info was well resourced).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    DeliThese charming and clean romance will hold you engaged for hours. Each a bit different, they each exuded happiness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    A collect of six unbelievable stories awaits you in the book. Six very talented authors have gotten together to bring it to you. Rose Pearson and Arietta Richmond are two of my favorite authors and both have a piece in this collection. Arietta Richmond “A Vixen for a Viscount” was charming and Rose Pearson “Wait for Me” is a attractive story and very well written. Along with these two authors, there is Grace Austen “The Wealth Merchant’s Deception” Regina Darcy ‘To Love Again” Kelly Anne Bruce “Summer of Love” and Lydia Pembroke “Lady Julia’s Risky Duke” all of these were very amazing also. This is a collection you will have fun for years to come. I highly recommend it. I did keep a free copy of this book and voluntarily chose to review it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    Entertaining reads from page one to the latest page of the latest book. You obtain more for your buck with this read. A recommended read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    OH WOW, what a collection of unbelievable stories, by six amazing authors. I don't usually read clean romance as I like the story to have a small spice. But these six stories were great, hold you reading, and wanting more, there is second chances, villains, soldier's, fresh Dukes and ere is something for everyone here. Ladies that are intelligent and not afraid to present it. They are funny,and witty and the four ladies are totally committed to each others be it thru sadness or l went to the some school for young ladies, and all wish to search a husband that will love them for who they are. None wish a society marriage like most of ton have. The Lords are a handsome lotwith humor, and secrets, some not even knowing they are looking for love, but search their satisfied ever ter some twist and turns, some tear's and lots of laugh out loud don't wish to miss this one, it was a fast, fun read.I rec'd and ARC from the author, and am giving my honest option.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    This book includes 6 unbelievable Regency romance books, including: A Vixen for a Viscount, The Wealthy Merchant’s Deception, Wait for me, To Love Again, Summer of Love, and Lady Julia’s Risky Duke. The common theme is that all search love, amid trials and tribulations along the way, somehow similar to Summer. Below is a review of one of these stories to present you what you can search inside!*** Reviewing “WAIT FOR ME” by Rose Pearson ***Lady Arabella Hanley walked down the grand marble staircase as her mother beamed. Arabella had her heart set on only one man, Captain Henry Smedley, the third son of Sir Wilfred Cable, a penniless knight of the Shires, knowing that would not please her parents at all. Their hopes were set much higher than that for their daughter. This afternoon was her presentation at Court, followed by a Grand Ball this evening, so they had gone “all-out” in purchasing the silk and lace full-skirted gown she presently wore to the Palace. She would be introduced to royalty, and felt like she was part of a fairy tale. When it was Arabella’s turn to meet the Queen, the Queen asked if she had met her son. Actually he hung with the fashionable set and would not associate with a county girl such as she. So the queen said she would tell him to seek her out at the Ball that evening.Lord Edwin and his sister, Lady Clara, had asked Arabella’s parents if they could escort her to the Ball to let her parents to go home and rest. Captain Henry Smedley walked inside with Arabella and told her he had signed up for two dances with her – his name in the slots traditionally reserved for a young woman’s betrothed, or one who intended to create her so. She was delighted, both of them aware that the other cared for them deeply, but had nothing to offer but an impoverished life. He might somehow create his fortune in the army, but he felt he couldn’t ask her to wait for him. But the closer to the end of the evening, the more he struggled not to tell her that he loved her and wanted her – wanted to ask if she would wait for him to create his fortune so that he could come back and create her his wife. Would he do that when he would be leaving the next day? Would she say yes, despite knowing what her parents would say?This was such a attractive story and very well written. The author pulled the emotions from the reader and the characters were so likable. They love each other, but their dream looked impossible, especially with the interest Lord Edwin had begun to display. What would they choose? This is just one of the unbelievable stories you’ll search in this collection. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    Fun fast read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    There is something for every historical romance lover in this collection. The Ladies are smart and feisty and the Lords are handsome and unafraid of women who challenge them. Once I started reading the first story I couldn’t place the book down until I had read all of them. I liked the dozens of plots between the various books and the various ways each author would ultimately bring the couples together. Besides the heart-throbbing romance, there were scoundrels, misunderstandings, plots, and jealousy; all destined to cause issues before the ultimate satisfied is is a unbelievable collection of historical romances by some skilled authors. I enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone who likes well-written historical romances with satisfied endings. I received an advance copy, but my review is honest and voluntary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    I thought I was reading novellas -- not previews.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    A truly delightful read. Each story flowed through an engaging plot line with believable characters and subtle plot twists. Although I recognized several authors, I had not read these particular stories before. My list of authors to read continues to grow. I encourage any readers looking for a short historical romance to take a look at this collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love a Lord in Summer : A Regency Romance Summer Collection: Six Delightful Regency Summer Stories (Regency Collections Book 14) []  2020-1-3 22:53

    Wow! This is an all star cast of authors, some of the best regency romance writers today. Arietta Richmond, Rose Pearson, Kelly Anne Bruce, Lydia Pembroke, Regina Darcy and Grace Austen bring you not one but six well written, sweet and clean Regency romances to delight you. Six fabulous authors and equally fabulous stories! I personally was unfamiliar with Grace Austen but was pleasantly surprised and will be watching for her books in the future. The ladies are strong, sassy and smart and the Lord's are handsome, and swoon worthy. The stories are filled with enough twists and turns to hold you turning pages. There's breathtaking romance, scoundrels, secrets, jealousies and misunderstandings and of course the happily ever after we all seek. Thank you so much Arietta for sharing these unbelievable stories with me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    My twin daughters (almost 5) and son (almost 7) ask me to read this book (on Kindle) almost every night. When a song link shows, they excitedly press it and obtain up quickly so they can dance to the songs as they play (songs that they have learned and know by heart... songs that I search myself singing throughout the day :-D ).The art is just attractive as well. Such vibrant colors and magical imagery. I don't think I can praise this book enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    This is not just a book but a bundle of s, rhyme, lessons n games. Every small child will have fun this I feel. Linking to YouTube is a amazing touch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    I enjoyed reading this book. The illustrations were bright - capturing the essence of summer! The book is excellent for a reading in a park, at a beach or in the backyard under a tree. The book contains craft and android games that kids can do. What a excellent small book for kids to bring around during summer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    This is such a fun and interactive book with lots to do! I especially liked the bright and colourful illustrations - must have for summer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    My favorite part of the book is Probably the illustrations. Read it to my five-year-old at the park. He was satisfied when the Book mentioned being at the park in summer. It Is a cute summer book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    Anetta Kotowicz’s “Summer Song: A Day in The Life of A Kid” shares all the fun and exciting things that kids can do during their summer vacation. The story starts with the morning excitement of waking up to the moist and dewy morning in the summer and the excitement continue throughout the day. Kids will be excited after reading this book. They will be motivated to go for swimming, playgrounds, picnics, vacations, and fun activities at the beach. The story has so a lot of animals characters like a cat, octopus, whale, and fireflies which every kid would like it to read about it. The flow of the words and rhythm support the story flow as a song. There is melody to accompany the story so that the reader can listen and obtain a taste of the experience. This book is also amazing to support young kids spell and pronounce words with things and stuff associated with summer like watermelon and lemonade. Our favorite part of the book would be the surprise crafts and melody instruments described at the end of the book. The illustrations are absolutely brilliant , and this book really benefits kids in the age range of 3 to 6 years old. A must in anyone’s summer reading list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    "Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid" is a super book for any kid who likes to allow their imagination fly! This book covers any category to hold a kid active and entertained for the entire summer. I highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    Anetta Kotowicz shares a fun and exciting summer adventure story in "Summer Song: A Day in The Life of A Kid." The story highlights the morning excitement of waking up to summer adventures such as swimming, playgrounds, picnics, vacations, and fun activities at the beach. There are amazing story characters that contain but not limited to a cat, octopus, whale, and fireflies. The flow of the words and rhythm support the story flow as a song. There is melody to accompany the story so that the reader can listen and obtain a taste of the experience. This book is also amazing to support young kids spell and pronounce words with things and stuff associated with summer like watermelon and lemonade. The illustrations are well drawn, and this book really benefits kids in the age range of 3 to 6 years old.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    This is another unbelievable book in the series of A Day In The Life Of A Kid. The mixture of melody along with a fun story is ideal for young children. Being able to listen to melody as you read along will entertain readers and build an appreciation for music. The illustrations are colourful and parents will love reading these storybooks with their children. In addition, preschool teachers can use these books with students. Perfect concept!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summer Song: A Day In The Life Of A Kid []  2020-2-7 20:9

    A lovely small book with melody added for kiddies about a lot of things to do during summer. A day in the life of a child and it has a lot of interactions. The illustrations are bright and cheerful and done quite well. Any small child, 3 to 6 should have fun the musical rhymes and interplay of the actions of the songs. At the end, there are a lot of things left to do after the story. This bonus to me for an honest review was enjoyed by my grandkids as they rocked and rolled with the music. I must say, it left a smile on my face.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    This was private for me. I had the fortune and pleasure of meeting this passionate and compassionate powerhouse and spending a bit of time with him a few years before the vehicle crash that took him from us all nearly 4 decades ago. I met young Jen back then and am still in loose contact with the family and foundation. Yet there were things about the man and his history that I had no clue about, info about his rise that create him all the more endearing, and a reminder from Bruce Springsteen of a conversation he and Harry had — shouting to each other three stories up and from the pool, for 45 minutes! And one I had not realized: The two Harrys, Bellafonte and Chapin, had a conversation that became an idea that became a dream brought to life, a small thing called “We Are The World”.I learned a lot about the industry from Harry, Got some of the best tip ever from him, and I learned what it is to be a father as I watched this awesome man with his daughter. I would later become involved with The Globe Hunger televent, which led me to Jerry Eisenberg, and by that another life changing event. And it all started with that all too brief acquaintance with Harry and his drummer, Howie Fields. My life is certainly I’ve been various without those acquaintances. I considered myself a ripple in the pond caused by hairy. I never before realized the Bellafonte had also referred to him that way.Harry Chapin has now been gone as long as he was alive, and is still making a attractive difference in the globe and in all of our lives. When I play covers, “Cat’s in the Cradle” remains one of the most often requested songs. (That song was redone by a rock band some 20 years ago.)Harry’s motto, “when in doubt, do SOMEthing” guided him and became a philosophy for those around him, and I doubt played a huge part in the powerhouse he was and remains. Watching this video is far more than a trip down memory lane, or a history lesson. Think of it as a ticket to a journey — one which will most certainly leave a lasting impression and may very well inspire you to join the other ripples in the pond making a difference in ways you never imagined, as you adapt some amazing melody and the easy tip “When in doubt, do SOMEthing”.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    I felt it was a amazing snapshot of Harry's path to success and his family ties. I would never interpret Harry's passion and energy as arrogance. I [email protected]#$%! had a small more of his melody and performance dialog.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    This doentary has been too long in coming, and is expertly done. I only [email protected]#$%! was longer with more previously unavailable live performance clips, since so few exist. If you are a Harry Chapin fan, or wish to introduce someone in your life to Harry's melody and activism, this doentary is the excellent put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Break Free: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy in 3 Steps: A Workbook for Overcoming Self-Doubt and Embracing Life []  2020-2-2 0:10

    I love this book and refer to it often. As someone who has battled anxiety and depression off and on for 20 years, I have tried an poor lot of therapies to search relief (yoga, prayer, meditation, medication, counseling, and studying Cognitive Behavioral Therapy). All of them have positively impacted me to some degree, but ACT is the first one I've felt really excited and optimistic about. Instead of engaging my thoughts endlessly (aka ruminating), ACT challenges you to search a valued alternative and move enthusiastically towards it. This book gently but authoritatively describes the process and coaches you through the steps. Is this a fast fix? No. However, I've felt lighter than I have in months, and even on the tough days I'm able to refocus my energy towards more concrete and positive endeavors. And for me, that has been no little accomplishment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Break Free: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy in 3 Steps: A Workbook for Overcoming Self-Doubt and Embracing Life []  2020-2-2 0:10

    Perfect overview of ACT for clinicians and/or potential clients. Practical, readable, helpful. Definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Break Free: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy in 3 Steps: A Workbook for Overcoming Self-Doubt and Embracing Life []  2020-2-2 0:10

    I genuinely love this book. As far as self support goes, it's very necessary to me that the books I check out involve tested psychology. This book is a amazing example of exactly that. The ACT way is fresh to me, but I liked the method it helped me work through problems I was stuck on or had avoided.I received a copy for free from the publisher. My review is my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    I have been a Harry Chapin fan since 1980. I got to see him perform in early 1981 with his brother Tom & Pete Seeger at a Long Island NY high school fundraiser & met him briefly that night. I became a musician & songwriter because of him & have participated in several tribute concerts to him throughout the years. I have gotten to know members of his family, bandmates, & mates & all are very generous, friendly, unbelievable people. This doentary goes into amazing detail about the a lot of aspects of Harry's life & impact on anyone who had any connection to him. I have the extreme honor of briefly being in one stage during the closing credits among a group of people singing "Circle" at the venue he was scheduled to play the night he passed away. I highly recommend this movie to lifelong fans & people who don't know him at all. People NEED to know about him & how much he still matters today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    Perfect and thorough story of the man behind the songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reasonable Doubt: Horror in Hocking County []  2021-4-6 22:26

    I followed this story as it was playing out in SE Ohio, and later as Dale Johnson was "pardoned." Many, people including me, were left wondering what really happened. Thank goodness for Don Canaan's book. (I actually searched for such a book on and off for years after the case fell off the front page). His book sheds light on little city justice in 1980's rural Ohio, where I grew up. As I've aged I've come to believe there are a lot of strange-acting people, like Johnson. That doesn't create them murders. Just different.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Doubt: A Rex Dalton Thriller []  2020-9-12 18:15

    Mr. Ryan has crafted a delightful short story of a vacation on an island in the Adriatic. Interesting perspectives are provided from the two old ladies serving as island Customs who invent stories about visitors, to Rex, the police and more. Rex and Digger are ever watchful and always on the alert to protect those needing protection. This vacation is no different. It’s an intriguing and meaty short story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Doubt: A Rex Dalton Thriller []  2020-9-12 18:15

    Not up to his usual style. This book almost got written but failed. I loved all the Res and Digger books so far, but skip this one. It was just a thought of a story without any true plot characterization and boring. Over in a minute.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doubt Truth to be a Liar []  2020-10-8 18:14

    I just finished reading Graham Priest’s book, “Doubt Truth to Be a Liar”. I will confess that much of the reasoning involved arguments that included concepts and terminology that are beyond my level of knowledge and expertise. Therefore, much of the time I was somewhat in foggy location (from my perspective). I will say, however, notwithstanding the fact that Priest created some very powerful arguments in favor of paraconsistent logics, I felt unpersuaded to buy into the notion that a statement can both be real and false, at the same time and in the same sense. This, by my thinking, does violence to fundamentals of human belief is that most modern philosophers and logicians would be on my side in my conviction that we cannot justifiably endorse contradictions (dialetheism). Nevertheless, I give Priest’s book quite high marks as an intellectual “tour de force”. The book induced me to seriously question aspects of rational thought that I’d tended to take for granted. It was worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Break Free: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy in 3 Steps: A Workbook for Overcoming Self-Doubt and Embracing Life []  2020-2-2 0:10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    A unbelievable DVD about a unbelievable human being. Amazing pictures, interviews, and music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    Attractive film about a attractive human being.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    I watched this because I'm an admirer of Chapin's music, but I barely created it through. Perhaps it was just the method it was edited, but he comes across as a very arrogant, self-centered, boastful person, clearly believing he's better than anyone else because of his charitable work and making claims about how no one is doing what he's doing, all of which are boastful and false.I was specifically appalled that he took all the credit for bringing the cause of hunger to the public, when it was actually John Denver who was first in this regard and who did what was arguably more effective work for the cause. Denver was a mate of Chapin's, you'd think he'd be included, but the movie gives Chapin 100% of the credit, and so does, it seems, Chapin, who repeatedly says that he's the only one, the one doing the most, etc. with what's clearly a runaway ego and god is doentary sours me on Harry's melody and work. I will not be spinning his songs until the poor taste from this movie leaves me, and maybe not even then.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    I just finished Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I had the fortune of seeing Harry Chapin in concert back in 1977. My wife and I had been married about a year at the time. She was not near the fan I was at the time, but even she loved the concert. The film does a amazing job in telling his story from his beginnings to his untimely death. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harry Chapin: When in Doubt, Do Something []  2020-12-11 20:1

    You will love this donetary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Doubt: A Rex Dalton Thriller []  2020-9-12 18:15

    If you love dogs you will search this series fabulous. It has all the action of spy thrillers, but the addition of Digger, the very smart Dutch Shepherd, makes it perfect. It is humorous, clever, exciting, we obtain to learn about fresh parts of the globe and it is fun to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doubt Truth to be a Liar []  2020-10-8 18:14

    Read this book! Priest covers all his bases, though all these matters are hardly settled. Most importantly, though, is the establishment of the rationality of belief in contradiction. Actually, the argument for the insufficiency of classical negation is priceless. You can't come away from Priest without having your perspective broadened. This is amazing for lovers of logic and questioners/ philosophers in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Break Free: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy in 3 Steps: A Workbook for Overcoming Self-Doubt and Embracing Life []  2020-2-2 0:10

    I’m enjoying it so far! But I still have a lot to go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Break Free: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy in 3 Steps: A Workbook for Overcoming Self-Doubt and Embracing Life []  2020-2-2 0:10

    Highly recommend ACT and this workbook gives you an perfect working experience of the process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Break Free: Acceptance and Commitment Therapy in 3 Steps: A Workbook for Overcoming Self-Doubt and Embracing Life []  2020-2-2 0:10

    Very amazing book to support clients learn to do ACT.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386