Read a thing called love reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a thing called love reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 1

    Useful review?

    wordington: a word story []  2020-7-6 6:35

    I have completed all tasks to be told more tasks to come soon. Its been days and still waiting. I have accrued over 250 dollars and nothing to spend it on. If i dont have any fresh tasks soon i am deleting the android game and certainly not recommending it for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    Do not go into this thinking that it is going to be anything but adorable. High school senior Desi Lee has everything all together in her life together except love. She meets a guy humiliates herself and decides that the key to love is to follow the steps of a K-drama. Hilarity, cuteness, and drama ensue. If you aren't familiar with K-dramas, don't worry it isn't necessary. Just know that you are going to be binge watching them after you finish rst of all, I loved the method that diversity was portrayed in this novel. Desi is Korean-American, and that is an essential part of the story. However, it was not a "problem." She goes about her life being a high school senior. Her best mate is a Latinx girl, and her other best mate is a straight white is such a fun character. She is smart, funny, and determined. She also has quirky control problems and strange gaps in self-confidence. She makes some questionable decisions, but they are so in line with her hero that I can't even be angry at her. She makes the choices that she does not because the author wants her to be funny or push forward the plot but because of who she is. She feels like a person that I would have loved to be mates with in high school.“I believed, and still believe, that you can build your dreams brick by brick. That you can accomplish anything with persistence.”Luca was a surprisingly nuanced hero for a cute YA romance. He was handsome, yes but not perfect. At one point a zit is mentioned and Luca kind of honks when he laughs. He sends mixed signals; he has problems with his parents. He isn't amazing at everything. It just created him all the more adorable.I loved her relationship with her father. He was so awesome and supportive. I appreciated that he was a mechanic. Not every Asian parent is a doctor, lawyer, or engineer. One of my favorite scenes in the book was Desi and her father making ramen together. The method they automatically and effortlessly divide the cooking tasks illustrates he strength of their relationship.I enjoyed the writing. The word that comes to mind to describe it is "gentle." Maurene Goo is understanding and kind to her characters. Does that create any sense or does it work only in my head? I was smiling throughout the whole book. Plot wise it was a bit far fetched in places, but that was simple to overlook as even those moments felt authentic and realistic. I enjoyed the sense of theme that resonated with me was the illusion of control. I think that there are a lot of us who, even if we don't consciously admit it, feel that the more we micro manage our lives, the better we can with the unexpected (or prevent the unexpected.) Desi thinks that having the concrete steps for something and determinedly following those steps will invariably lead to success.I read I Believe in a Thing Called Love in one sitting and regret nothing. I have already bought Maurene Goo's debut novel Since You Asked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    This contemporary romance brought back that feeling of having a mega-crush in high really captured the feeling of senior year, and the mates who stick by you even when you're not always making the best is intelligent and motivated and amazing at everything except for romance. So she uses the K-Drama formula to obtain her dream guy interested in her. Please note that "drama" is in the main influence of her plan, so OF COURSE things go 's funny and sweet and cringeworthy and nus: if you wish to begin watching K-Dramas after reading this, there is a whole list of them in different styles for you to choose from!

    0  


    Add your opinion on a thing called love or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    I bought this book because of the cover and the title. I saw, “I Believe in a Thing Called Love,” and I started dancing, as the addicting song by The Darkness played in my head. I mean, that’s as amazing a reason as any to spend on something. Add to that, the adorable cover, and Amazon had my is book, by Maurene Goo, is the epitome of cute. The plot is cute and the characters are cute, and I say that with respect. I didn’t think I’d like it at first, because the opening chapters seemed a bit obvious, but it wasn’t long before I was enchanted."I Believe in a Thing Called Love" follows Desi, a type A heroine during her senior year, after she concocts an insane plan to obtain a boy to fall in love with her. Desi is a literal, fact-based, skeptic who as it turns out is deeply romantic. She’s an overachiever and caretaker, a role she inhabited after her mother died. She’s kind, smart, loyal, and e’s also an awkward, clumsy mess when it comes to romance and flirting. The klutzy scenes created me roll my eyes at first, but once I was about 1/3 into the book, I just decided to just roll with it, and I ended up finding Desi funny and endearing and started rooting for is novel is predictable, but I still wanted to [email protected]#$%!. Literally, it follows a formula as Desi follows a formula, and each chapter heading tells you what’s event next, but I still kept reading, because I love romance. I knew how it would play out and how it would end (as we always know how romances end) but that didn’t create me love it any less. I closed this book with a large smile on my face, and a powerful hankering to a bunch of K , I recommend this book to romance lovers (obviously), YA lovers, readers who crave diversity and lively characters. Maurene Goo’s novel is vibrant and special.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    One of my mates recommended this book to me because she absolutely loved it, and since she knows I watch K-Drama's she thought I would love this too. I absolutely loved it! This book combined just the right amount of flare from Korean Drama's, along with the main hero Desi's ability to literally having me laugh out loud at a lot of moments in the story, create a winning combination to a unbelievable book. I would also recommend this to anyone that wants some laughter with a light hearted love story with the challenges of being a young adult. I can't wait for the next book to come out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    I thought this book was adorable! I love that is was something various too for a contemporary! Basing you own love life on K dramas! I feel like I need to search out how to go about watching K dramas and see if any in the book are real!I love how awkward Desi is! And I mean like an insane overachiever, like I wasn't that insane in high school, but I also held myself to this high standard. I also loved the dynamic between her and her dad! It was so sweet!I definitely recommend as a summer read, or if you're looking for something on the lighter funnier side. Also it was a bit on the dramatic side, but would it really be based off of a K drama if it wasn't?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    "But I never lost the belief that you could will something just by sticking to it, by being unwavering. By keeping your eyes on the prize. And by doing that, there was nothing you couldn't control about your own life."This was the kind of diverse, cute, over the top, screwball romantic comedy that is so lacking in romance these days. Not every YA book has to be some kind of drama llama ding dong. Sometimes love is downright hilarious and makes people do crazy things they'd normally never do. If we're talking about teenagers, love and hormones can create for serious , I'm not all that familiar with the K-Drama genre (much more familiar with K-beauty brands being a total lipstick junkie and all), a state of affairs I'm definitely going rectify because of this book. However, the old saying about the best laid plans of mice and high school girls...Overachieving heroine Desi Lee has a plan for everything and she's amazing at everything. She's already class valedictorian, a member of just about every school club and student council, and a star of the school soccer team. She's Stanford University bound. She's a girl on a serious mission to be a doctor like her e only thing she doesn't have is a ems Desi and boys are truly like oil and water. Even talking to a member of the opposite results in what her two best mates call 'flailure':"Flailure. The clever word Wes had come up with for when I failed at flirting. Obtain it? Flirt + failure = flailure."So what happens when a gorgeous fresh student named Luca ends up in her AP class? She's not only smitten, but "OMG I've got to have him" smitten.What to do?Well, Desi being the girl with the plan, she decides to utilize the tropes from her father's beloved K-Dramas. She concocts an entire list of how she's going to create the sexy boho artist Luca her boyfriend before she leaves high school. And because she's mapped out her strategy, courtesy of the erstwhile heroines and heroes of K-Dramas (which she has studied like the SAT's) what could possibly go wrong???1) Feelings.2) Finding out that it's okay to not be together or amazing at everything all the ere was so much to love about this novel. Huge kudos for how diverse the characters were. Unlike some authors who think inclusion is like pulling teeth without novocaine (and end up doing more hurt due to lazy stereotyping), this was diversity written like what true life looks like. Wow, teens from varying backgrounds are friends, who knew? Desi is Korean-American, her two best mates Wes and Fiona are Black and Latin respectively, and in Fiona's case, a lesbian. I also loved how Desi and her father were wonderfully close (her mother having passed away when Desi was seven). It was also refreshing that Desi's father was an auto mechanic rather than the stereotyped doctor or scientist. I loved how sweet and down to earth he was, a nice balance to his daughter's Type-A ca was sweet and while typical of the "misunderstood artistic type with messed up parents" his being in Desi's well-organized life served a larger purpose. He actually saw her for the imperfect girl she was, and liked her anyway. And I liked that too - that Desi wasn't the standard "gorgeous CW-teen" girl, but a relatable teen with zits and not model thin. Even Luca had zits, along with the ter this all kinds of amazing novel, I'm really not looking forward to going back to the crushing mediocrity that is The Black Witch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    I have read a lot of YA books and they usually follow a couple of familiar formulas and even though they are predicable they are fun and entertaining. Sadly, the same can not be said about this is books presents it's self as fun high school obtain together story about a young boy and girl where hi jinks ensue in for the girl to obtain the boy, but those "hi jinks" are borderline psychopathic, actually scratch that, they're straight up psychopathic.I am used to the YA formula full of crazy/cute/funny plans to get a love interest. The girl will place a plan into action to obtain the guy of her dreams, and will spend majority of the book putting this crazy/cute/funny plan into action. The guy finds out about the crazy/cute/funny plan and despite that they end still liking each other because while weird, the plan is always harmless, and they are compatible and actually like the other person and end up getting together somewhere around the latest couple of chapters.**Spoiler Alert**In this book, not only is the plan that Desi (our main character) puts in to put a crazy, scheming manipulative, devious plan, it's down right illegal and psychopathic. She literally causes a vehicle accident on On Purpose, and still continues with her plan after addition to having an actual insane person as the main character, the love interest and Desi obtain together so fast. Now usually when the two main characters obtain together very quickly in a book and it means that by the end of the book there is a lesson that will be learned, because then the point of the book won't the getting together, it would have been the lesson that was learned because of the getting together. If you thought that was what you were getting with this book, think again!Not only does our main hero intentionally cause a vehicle accident, she repeatedly puts her love interest in situations that will obtain him into problem (more than he is already in), she invades his privacy, she continues along with her plan even after finding out that he was already manipulated once by his ex, and when he finds out about her plan and breaks up with her, she still keeps going and nearly gets him killed in a swimming pool.And I honestly would have been half okay with the book if at that point she actually learned something, but no, instead of having Desi realize she needs psychiatric support if she thought what she did was okay, the author decided to completely brush over everything after Desi shouts that she loves Luca (our love interest) as if that solves anything, as if it's okay to nearly slay someone (twice!) because she liked him so much after knowing him for a month. Luca of course forgives her in 2.3 seconds because "true love" and all that garbage (and while we're on the subject of Luca, he's not even a likable character, not only is kind of flat and one dimensional, he's annoying. This was not a love story I was rooting for).I do not like that nobody holds Desi accountable, they all treat what she did like a mild infraction, instead a serious problem that would have had me calling the police if I was Luca. Even her father (a whole grown man) doesn't keep her accountable, he just give bogus tip about not letting go and fighting for love.I also have an problem with Desi implying that her fighting for Luca with her plan was in some method a feminist act. How? Where? Because she was just a creepy as a man is when trying justify being crazy in the name of love? She needs to take several seats on that one.And the one line that created me actually mad enough to wish to stop reading the book is the following: "I was hoping that watching me interact lovingly with kids would appeal to some biological straight-guy instinct".So apparently straight guys are the ones who have "biological instinct" in wanting a tom line this book was not my cup of tea, both main characters were not likable and no lessons were learned by anyone. Not even Luca learned his lesson, he went from one manipulative relationship right into another, "good job bro".This book was pointless, and risky for young readers who think this type of behavior is romantic.I will say that I did like the style of writing and Desi's relationship with her father was really cute (if only he knew how to give proper tip and not raise a a crazy person).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    I required a book that was funny, and Maurene Goo is hilarious. There are genuine moments every few pages where I laughed out loud, or snorted, and in several instances screamed at what I couldn't stop from happening. It's a excellent book about a girl who just needs to feel in control in her life because things she couldn't control hit her when her mom died. And she does control so much and excels at sooo much, aside from romantic relationships. In those she racks up "flailures" (flirting + failure), so she decides to do what she's always done: study a situation and develop a series of steps in to be is mc is awkward and Maurene Goo is unafraid of that awkwardness. It's hilarious without feeling forced. And I just love these characters so much. The supportive, imperfect friends. A father/daughter relationship that is realistic, fun, and supportive of each other. A MC that is strong and confident, but also, sometimes not. And a romance, well, a romance that isn't afraid to be a romance. No apologies.I love a writer who is unafraid to love something, like unapologetically love something, and Maurene Goo with I BELIEVE IN A THING CALLED LOVE just embraces her love of romantic comedy and k-dramas. I don't know much about k-dramas, but I really need to watch some now that I've read this book. And really, I need this book to become a book everyone reads, and be on a million school summer reading lists. Then after everyone has read it, I need Netflix to adapt it into a limited series to capture all the incredible, beautiful, hilarious things this story is (because really, a film deal? No film could do justice to this).I'll rate I BELIEVE IN A THING CALLED LOVE with some of my other favorite "funny" books: Lance Rubin's DENTON LITTLE series, Max Wirestone's DAHLIA MOSS series, and Louise Rennison's GEORGIA NICHOLSON series . . .And I need to go back and search Maurene Goo's first book: SINCE YOU ASKED

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    This was recommended to me to support me obtain outside reading slump. I'm not sure I'm all the method out but I do feel is book was a bit more dramatic than other cutesy YA I've read but the MC is literally following Korean drama shows to support her create a boy her boyfriend so the drama is is was sweet, created me roll my eyes in some parts and laugh aloud in others. It's a nice break from the heaviness I've been reading lately.A few critiques, I'm kinda bored with POC characters falling for the same type of white boy (broody, artsy and rich) and also, what's with all the dead mother's? The mumss don't need to be dead to create the father's life have purpose as a amazing dad. Also, this is the second book I've read recently that has Darcy and Rochester references as ideal romantic heroes. I think it's time for fresh ones nah?All in all, is say this was adorns and a nice change of pace.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Believe in a Thing Called Love []  2020-1-11 19:28

    I'm throwing in the towel on this one, unfortunately. I only got to page 100/322 but never really got hooked. But I so wanted to like this one as the summary was adorable, and it seemed right up my alley. I just felt like there was no spark, no action, no interesting things going on. Maybe I'll come back to it one day. Maybe it just wasn't the book for me at this time...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    It's not surprising that Tina J has done it again. She is truly an inspiration to authors everyday, and the method she come up with so a lot of various storylines so easily, proves that Tina J is meant to write...Great job, Tina J

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    Wow this was such a amazing read! If you're in the mood for something suspenseful and full of drama, then this read is where it's at! I really loved Chrish. Everyone was saying she was hood and ghetto, but to me she was just as true as ever. She was about her business and taking care of her family without asking for support from anybody. I really liked Davion in the beginning, but towards the middle I was giving him the side eye. Eventually he redeemed himself, so he's alright with me. Max was just poor for the method he treated his son. I was hoping he'd obtain it together. Now Sarah had to be the most obsessive and delusional person I've ever read about. I could not stand her. Davion's mom was just a sin and a shame. She was downright awful. They just wouldn't allow Cherish and Davion be great. I really loved Cherish and Bianca's bond. I enjoyed reading about she and Travis as well. I really can't wait until part two. This was so good!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    Why didn't they just go to Las Vegas and got married Max Jr was innocent. Sarah was wrong that's a kid I hope he survive Max didn't do anything but point the GUN at Cherish. Travis was judging Cherish because of her tattoos. She have two degrees. Davion is in a coma comes out listens to everything his moms and Sarah says. Then turn around and sleep with a drug dealer. Can't wait for part two . I hope Max Jr is alright

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    IT WAZ GRT WHER IS PT2 I'M RDY DNT LET MAX JR DIE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    This is the 3rd Tina J book that Ive read and all 3 of them fall in the same formation or have related themes. Guy/girl begin out with significant others that they are unsatisfied with...guy meets fresh girl and fall in love with no background history or courtship. Just nosedive into lust, no intimacy or getting to know one another. They break it off with significant others and "start" relationship. Someone ends up pregnant--either the ex or current. They break up and dont work it out or attempt to work it out or track one another down for months (her timelines are always off and it takes weeks or months to bring closure to one issue). The guy/girl randomly sleeps with the ex they swore off because there is no one else in the city they live in and this is the only option she can take at creating drama. They attempt to obtain back together after a hiatus of not talking or seeing each other to learn the other stepped out with the ex. Insert pregnancy from ex if it didnt happen before. Someone has a miscarriage or ends up in the hospital... and its a repeating cycle. Her stories are predictable but sometimes it works, like with Loving You Is A Battle. However with this story and Shawty Down to Ride it fails miserably. I love LYIAB so much that I decided to give her other works a chance. I do like some elements though and hope to see more dimension soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    Davion and Cherish has endured such heartaches just because they are in love. Irate exes and his selfish mom have used every means of trickery they could come up with to separate them. Even his trusted mate played a part in causing havoc in there life but turned around and fell in love with the same type of female as Cherish. Oh my goodness! That ending ya'll, I was like wait, what? I am beside myself with the amount of hate Sarah must have in her heart to do what she did. I am on pins and needles for book two. I highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    Certified banger!! Purchased and read today it was amazing from begin to finish. So much drama and twists and turns. Davion's mom was a straight up deceitful @#$%! and sarah was just as bad. I freaking love cherish and Bianca's love and loyalty to each other, the definition of best mate goals!! The ending left me speechless, not good max jr. I hope he pulls through. I need part 2 like now!! Huge ups Ms Tina J!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    Omg this story was Awesome I love the method Davion loved cherish even when his evil mother tried so hard to pull them apart they fought so hard to be together and I can't wait to see what happens next

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    I need part two soon! This book was too good. Max is something else. That man couldn't obtain right and wants to obtain angry when the next man is doing what he can't. He needs to grow up and move on. The android games he is playing is so wrong. I loved Davion. Although he had some stupid moments he was still a amazing guy. Travis irritated me in the beginning but he ended up with some sense. Lol. Sara and Davion's mother worked my latest nerve. Those two just didn't quit with whatever nonsense they decided to pull. I couldn't believe some of the things his mother did. That lady was all the wrong. I loved both Cherish and Bianca! Those two had each others back always. Alana was a trip. I could only laugh at her, but I liked her messy self. That ending was so wrong and I hope it gets better and relationships or marriages aren't ended. Things are about to go down as the drama continues!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called Love (Re-Release) []  2020-7-26 19:15

    You did ya thing with this one! Book kept me interested from begin to finish ! Admired the relationship between Cherish and Bianca. In the beginning I really couldn't stand Travis but towards the middle of the book I started to like him! Couldn't stand Davion mom or Sarah. I couldn't understand why she disliked Cherish so much! That ending left me speechless! Waiting to see how it unfolds

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    I read Ernest Holmes's SCIENCE OF MIND years ago. I thought it was interesting, but it didn't change my life. THIS THING CALLED YOU, however, is causing me to examine, shift, grow, explore, and take charge of my life in ways I never thought possible as a effect of reading a little book. Unlike a lot of modern day self-help authors, who sometimes pad a book, repeating what they have to say over and over, Holmes has filled this book with uniquely inspiring thought throughout. I'm underlining so much of it, because it is so profound.I would recommend this book to anyone looking to create positive changes in their life, especially those who feel alone and need help or wish more courage for the journey. No matter what you might be dealing with, this book provides a fresh mind-set that I feel will support a person regardless of fore reading this book, I felt victimized in a lot of of my private relationships. The exercises in this book helped me realize how these relationships similar to a "lack" thinking that I held, one in which I felt that I had to place up with a lot of garbage from people because I believed that friendship was hard to find. Holmes would wish better for me and so does the Infinite. If you wish better in your life, I recommend you read this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    This book is priceless. Much easier to read front to back than Science of Mind. I read this every morning, out loud to myself; the peace I feel in doing this is priceless. No matter what my struggles, the words in this book always ground me. Definitely recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    Unbelievable book. As more and more people explore the truth of who/what they actually are, there is the chance of more harmony and less suffering becoming a possibility, first on the individual level. Based largely upon the sayings of Jesus Christ and what those sayings reveal to us of how Christ experienced Himself and how we could be experiencing ourselves, Ernest Holmes was method ahead of his times and a genius at making subtle truths crystal clear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    I own this book in paperback first. It's filled with yellow highlight marks. I created it a habit to take it with me everywhere (especially to the local laundromat) until I finished it.I was very satisfied to obtain it on my Kindle. I transferred all the highlights I had in the book to the Kindle copy. It took a while but was worth it.I create regular reference to all highlights and re-read the book when possible. I love Earnest Holmes. He taught the masses the Science of Mind because he loved people and wanted to support us live the best life he knew God had in-store for us if we would just our minds from negative thinking and believe that we are one with good.Blessings to All.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    Anyone struggling with self -- esteem, identity, spiritual -- needs to read this book. It was recommended to me years ago by my spiritual mentor and it totally changed my life. For the first time in my life I was able to look into a mirror and say to the person looking back, "I love you", and mean it. For the first time in my life I became aware of WHO I am and WHY I am here. Everything else is history. This is truly a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    I'm enjoying this book and Ernest Holmes has changed my method of thinking about life. I'm giving 1 star because the book I received from bnpublishing looks like a ripoff of the book. There is no spacing between paragraphs which makes the book hard to read. I'm in a study group and can't follow along because my pages don't match theirs. Do not allow bnpublishing send you their ver of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    ...or finally remembering in exquisite detail the elusive dream whose wispy fragments somehow created you happy, reading “This Thing Called You” will resonate deep within you and remind you of who you really are. (And who you really are is really wonderful.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    This is a unbelievable book for those looking to begin themselves to discerning their thoughts. It is like a metaphysical playbook that everyone should have in their arsenal.I would say this book holds the keys to the simplicity of the laws that govern the universe. It moves in a easy way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    I have read this book a number of times, and I want someone had given it to me when I was younger and worried about everything. I havegiven it to a number young girls in the hopes that it can give them a better perspective on how necessary and excellent they are, regardless ofwhat anyone else thinks, or says. Just think all young girls should search that little light inside and hold it going..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called You []  2020-1-21 23:38

    I'm a Science of Mind person and have read a lot of of Ernest's works. All amazing but THIS is by far my favorite. Definitely a must have. Even if you're not a member of a SOM center...this is a unbelievable read for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called the Future []  2020-1-26 22:49

    A fascinating story of a young girl caught between traditional beliefs and Western medicine and surrounded by conflict. Very poignant....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called the Future []  2020-1-26 22:49

    An perfect and strong read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called the Future []  2020-1-26 22:49

    A glimpse into the life of a 14-year-old South African girl, Khosi, who is trying to figure out what she believes and who she is. She is caught in the struggle between Western thought and African culture, between the ideals of her mother's generation and the traditions of her grandmother's generation. Those traditions and lines of thought are more than just mere philosophy for Khosi -- she is faced with very true situations, including the looming threat of HIV that haunts so a lot of in South Africa. For her and her loved ones the reality of the spirit world, sickness, Western medicine, and traditional healing is life and death, not theoretical talk. One thing that fascinated me about the story is the portrayal of a connection between Christianity and science in the minds of South Africans. For so a lot of in the West, Christianity and science are portrayed to be at odds, but it seems that the opposite is the case in this part of Africa.I recommend reading the book for an understanding of the worldview of this generation of South Africans and of the crisis of HIV/AIDS, as seen through the story of a sympathetic young girl rather than through a list of faceless statistics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called the Future []  2020-1-26 22:49

    What is it like to come of age, fall in love even, during the AIDS epidemic in South Africa? J.L. Powers' recent novel, This Thing Called the Future, answers this question. Using spare, forthright prose, Powers delves into the emotional, physical, and spiritual globe her young protagonist, Khosi, inhabits. Caught in the lull between her elders' optimism (those fighting for freedom from white control) and the devastating wake of poverty and illness still wracking her people, Khosi endures a everyday life rife with danger and the challenge of deciphering choices in a changing landscape (the long standing Sangoma healing tradition facing off with the newer, Western medical model of treating AIDS). Powers conveys the complexity of generational suffering, the political forces at work behind the scenes, and the resilience and strength of the next wave of young adults. This Thing Called the Future

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called the Future []  2020-1-26 22:49

    This Thing Called the Future by J.L. Powers is a strong and moving coming-of-age story about Khosi, a fourteen-year-old girl living in a modern South African shantytown. It seems like someone is dying all the time, and billboards hang everywhere, warning people about AIDS. A lot of people believe that it is a curse. As a young adolescent, Khosi finds herself attracting unwanted attention by men interested in her body, especially one particular drunk who seems to have taken an unpleasant interest in her. There is also the witch on the hill who claims that she'll come for Khosi one osi is just like any other teenage girl. She only wants to search the right guy, someone her age--someone like Small Man Ncobo who seems to be developing a mutual interest in her. She wants to obtain an education, but her wishes don't seem possible considering how not good her family is. Then her family's next-door neighbor claims that Khosi's mama stole from her, and Khosi's mama comes home sick one day.I love how J.L. Powers tackles the problem of the reconciliation of traditional belief with modern ideals. Khosi is caught between Gogo (her grandmother), who believes in both God and the traditional ways, and Mama, who believes in God and science. She loves her biology class, but she always believes in her ancestors. There's also Small Man, who doesn't know how to feel about Khosi's supernatural beliefs.Powers brings Khosi's hero to life through her desires to protect her family and to be accepted along with her beliefs in God, science, and her people's traditions. At the same time, Khosi begins receiving dreams from her ancestors that her about danger coming to the family, and she must learn to wield the powers of her ancestors and herself in to stand up for herself and her family. So she can be the person who she wants to be: powerful and independent, like her is Thing Called the Future is a story filled with culture that teaches you to appreciate family, love, and faith. You learn that not everything is what it seems to be and that your strongest help will always come from your family, both dead and living, and that you must believe in your own powers. Even with her family and Small Man to back her, Khosi must learn to trust in herself and strengthen her heart as she decides whether or not she possesses the power not only to forget her anger and forgive both the living and the dead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called the Future []  2020-1-26 22:49

    I received this book for at a conference a lot of years ago and recently rediscovered it on my shelf. This is a powerhouse of a book about a relatable South African teenager living with a fear of AIDS as it passes through her town, threatening to take her loved ones. Khosi has so a lot of obstacles, as well as unsavory characters thrown her way, yet there's a thread of hope running throughout, because she has the future ahead of her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called the Future []  2020-1-26 22:49

    This author is awesome!!! Does on website research and has a heart for social justice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    Overcoming fears and gaining knowledge. That's what it's all about. This book weaves a positive notice into an education about the benefit of these amazing pollinators. We loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    This children's book about bees is so much more than that. It has attractive illustrations as well as a very necessary message. Love Conquers Fear. Much of the feeling of fear is based on the unknown. Through loving and learning about what we fear, we gain understanding and lessen our fear. This idea can be applied to a lot of things in life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    A unbelievable and special find. I ended up buying one for all my friend’s children too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    This is such a sweet book. Not only is it about bees but it also ties in how necessary your small one is. We love this book! The artwork is also very cute and you learn about all kinds of bees!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called the Future []  2020-1-26 22:49

    A gripping tale of growing up in one of South Africa's not good neighborhoods. Told through the eyes of its young narrator, Powers creates a tragic, sad, and hopeful story that is neither romantic nor melodramatic. An entertaining and intense read where the characters stay with you long after you're finished reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Thing Called the Future []  2020-1-26 22:49

    I thought this book was perfect and it always held my interest. I did not know too much about life in South Africa before reading this book. I recommend that teenagers and adults in America should read this book and realize how much easier life is here compared to the life of the young girl in "This Thing Called the Future."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    The illustrations, the message, the family...it's all beautiful! My children love books so much that our house has become overrun with them. I've been trying to use our library more and more for this reason. BUT this is a book that I'm so satisfied to have in our home! It's colourful and full of fun info for children (and adults). I love that it gives names and facts to a monster that my children are terrified of...which helps to replace some of that fear with understanding and interest. I've also given it as bonuses to several friends. Checks all the boxes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    My children loved this book! The art is special and interesting and we love the story of overcoming fear through being educated. That speaks to so a lot of problems in our society. My children especially loved the part about which bees were least and most aggressive. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    My boys and I LOVE this beautifully written, beautifully illustrated book. We literally read it every day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    Amazing!!!!! Such a amazing book. My boys are afraid of bees and wasps, this book has changed fears to wonderment.... now we are planning to obtain into beekeeping! Highly recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    What a unbelievable read, for kids and adults alike. I have never been so truly moved by a children’s book. Thank you so much Mr. Larkin for this attractive work of art. Here on my coffee table it shall stay!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter []  2020-7-23 20:43

    What a unbelievable story! This is a attractive book in its own right, but is especially excellent if you have a young one who is having problem facing some fears. We all really enjoyed this book! And the detailed info at the end on various types of bees/wasps was very informative. It's never too late to face - and overcome - your fears!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    Linda did a unbelievable job writing her memoirs. She has been with three of the most well-known men celebrities. The part about her marriage to Bruce Jenner held some surprising revelations. I had no idea he was so cruel in not seeing his sons he had with Linda after he married Kris Kardashian. Not cool. In fact, knowing that he felt like a woman all his life I feel he should never have married any woman. He is not my character for sure. The David Foster marriage was an eye opener as well. I had no idea he was so controlling and elusive. I highly recommend this book as it is one of the best I have read about celebrities. If you wish to read about Elvis, Bruce and David this is the book to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    To a lot of people, Linda Thompson has been known for a lot of years in melody circles for her talented career as a lyricist. As a die-hard Whitney Houston fan, "I Have Nothing" one of the pop superstar's most iconic hits was written by Thompson for the meg-hit "The Bodyguard" and produced by David Foster, Thompson's former husband. The pair even have cameo roles in that movie as the Academy Awards conductor and attendee, respectively. It is anecdotes such as these creating the vast, intricate tapestry in the engaging fresh memoir, "A Small Thing Called Life"Linda Thompson's life reads like any little city girl's dream. As Miss Tennessee in 1972 she went on to catch the eye of Elvis Presley, arguably the most popular melody legend of all time. They shared a tender, if not complex relationship, exposing Linda to a globe of which she seemed ill-prepared but who handled with grace and maturity. Later, almost cryptically, after commenting to Elvis that "I am going to marry that man one day, Linda married Olympic Gold Medalist Bruce Jenner and they seemed the excellent couple having two boys, Brody and Brandon. But the truth about Bruce's inner genre identity crisis is as hard at times to understand and accept for the reader as it was for er, Linda's marriage to another superstar David Foster brought more headlines and heartache for the devoted mother ending in divorce which can never be simple whether you are popular or not.What is truly fascinating about Linda Thompson and this book is she shines much of the spotlight on those in her life and less on herself leaving one to wish more of HER. I am in a special position because I am one of the lucky readers in Los Angeles who can say that I have met Linda Thompson, and her sons on various occasions and you could not meet people who are any kinder. To those wondering, Linda looked 38 in person! And that, created reading this touching book so much more enjoyable for me. I recommend it highly to anyone interested in not only the lives of celebrity marriages but how one woman managed somehow to raise two awesome sons without ever falling prey to the TMZ-esque downfalls of Hollywood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    This story was good, I enjoyed it for the most part. Very emotional, a lot of feeling. However, like other reviews, I do think it could have been written in 1/3 the pages...too a lot of repeat words. Always sad about Elvis who was self-destructive....no one was to blame for his death. Hold in mind as you read about her life with Elvis that she was not the only one - there are hundreds of people and their stories about their life with Elvis. In general, Linda Thompson shows TOO MUCH saintly goodness. But I was satisfied to see her assert herself with Bruce Jenner and his problems. He is a disgusting mess, on the other hand I could sympathize with him, as I have a nephew who was born a male physically but female inside. It is sad and real. All in all, she has lead an interesting life and her story required to be told, even though I felt she wasn't completely honest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    LOVED this book! I would love to meet Linda someday - I had no idea what a prolific and attractive songwriter she is...AND that she was the lyricist behind some of my favorite songs. Her humor and awesome ability at forgiveness are lessons to be learned from her. As well as a look into the true lives of the iconic men she has lived with. Read this one! You won't be disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    This whole book was a sugarcoat. Linda had affairs with three married men, two of whom had pregnant wives during the affairs. She created out with Elvis for four hours almost instantly after meeting him and then moved in with him. How is that the basis of a relationship? Life with Elvis was sick - living your whole existence in bed, eating all your meals there and watching TV constantly. But being in the limelight as the King's girlfriend - or a world-famous athlete's girlfriend, or a rich producer's girlfriend - was more necessary than anything. And throughout it all, Linda was the saint of all saints, devoting her love, faith, spiritualty, unending care, feelings, feelings and more feelings, ad nauseum, to her popular men. Elvis bought her a separate house because he planned to break up with her; he never even called her after she moved out. Yet she broke his heart? A small more honesty would have created this syrupy memoir more palatable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    I can't believe I am giving a 5 star rating for a book written by the woman who stole my first boyfriend. Granted, I was only 9-years- old when Linda swooped Elvis away from me, but it still seems like yesterday!😜This book is written with humor, humility and a huge hunk of heart. Telling this story took guts. Ms. Thompson's book is exemplary of truth-telling in a brave and loving manner - and reminds us that we are each entitled to speak our own truth. Anyone who reads this book will understand why Elvis et al. couldn't support falling in love with her. #HardActToFollow💞

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    I loved Linda's book. It was well written, but more importantly, she told the truth in a kind and loving way. Amazing job! I highly recommend reading this memoir. She has had a interesting life, and is a unbelievable lyricist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    While Linda's story is quite interesting with awesome experiences due to her loves and career, this book could have been 20% shorter if you take out the droning descriptions about love, friendship, forgiveness and blessings. While she seems like a genuine and caring person, it got to be a small much at times. Still, completely worth the and the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    I wanted to like this book, but all the Elvis items is the same stories told by a lot of others, very small fresh info here! How a lot of times she uses the same words to describe Elvis and Bruce is insane! She uses handsome and athletic over and over. This story feels whitewashed to me. Linda comes off as excellent in every way! It does however validate my opinion of David Foster!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between [Book]  2018-5-27 18:0

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book but felt the writing was a small syrupy. I was enthralled with the pictures drawn of Elvis Presley, Bruce/Caitlyn Jenner & David Foster. Compared with other books, particularly those about Elvis, Thompson's book strikes with a ring of truth with no axe to grind & no obvious ulterior motives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    What a unbelievable surprise! This was not at all the book I was expecting. I thought I would read a quick, hot, boom, bang and done. Nope. It is subtle, but it is there. The story moved me. It had emotional elements and the characters were well developed. Don’t obtain me wrong, there was plenty of steamy, hot sexy times! But there is a back story as well.Jules Easton is a wedding planner at Easton Design & Weddings. She is taking over the business that her uncle spent 35 years building. However, the business is not doing so well. She loves her job and does it really well, but struggles with the business end of it."Don’t obtain me wrong – I was all about love. In fact, I was so much about finding the excellent love that I created it the basis for my career."So it’s do or die time. An opportunity to plan the wedding of one of the founding families and the most influential names in Atlanta. She needs to land this high profile wedding to hold things afloat. This would definitely place Easton Weddings & Design back on the map.Dr. Jake Kissinger needs to support plan his sister Rory’s fairy tale wedding. Time is short, so he has to step up and create a lot of decisions. Jake and Jules are stuck together planning this wedding but things don’t always go as planned."All of a sudden the fact that I had to work closely with him became very real.""The hot doctor with the kissable lips."Although Jake comes off as a total jerk in the beginning, he softens as he gets closer to Jules. I loved their banter and chemistry. They both have a lot of problems but we search out that they are more alike than either thought. Jake considers himself unavailable emotionally for love while Jules is afraid of getting damage or left ere is a reason that Jake is unavailable and Jules is afraid. Those reasons were emotional and touching. A total android game changer for this story. It evolved into a tender, sweet build up. And the ending was just right. As I said above, I expected one thing and got something so much more! I look forward to Jaxson’s story next!"The thing about love was it didn’t have to be just had to be right."4.5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I must begin this review off by praising the talented Ms Kim Karr. I can most definitely say that there hasn’t been a book that she has written that I have not read and that’s because she writes these beautifully written stories that you can’t support but devour and fall in love with its characters. For that I would like I to thank her because she gave me two fresh characters that I can love. I couldn’t support myself than to obtain so engrossed with Jake and Jules story because it was such a beautiful, heartstrings pulling story.“You’re so tight, and you feel so amazing around my c*ck. And I can’t stop thinking about being inside you”Dr. Kiss is one sexy mutha, shut yo mouth. Don’t allow the fact that he is doctor fool you because this man is one naughty alpha male that will most definitely melt your panties right off. The chemistry between him and Jules will definitely set your kindles ablaze, it’s not only electrifying but it’s one that fairly tales are created of, so beautiful. Jules and Jake weren’t looking for love but that’s the thing about love, see what I did there, you might not look for it but it will most definitely search you whether you like it or it for me to sit and wait for more awesomeness from the talented Kim Karr because I know it will be pure epicness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Ahhhh I love this book so so so much. Everybody has to read this story and this unbelievable journey of Jules and Jake. My heart is melting I’m so in love with their e’s adorable and clumsy but powerful and independent and a small lost.He’s also a small lost but Hot and broody, with a bit of a not so nice streak, however you WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH HIM. He’s the hot Dr with the heart of gold.I laughed, I cried, I cheered them on. I loved everything about this book and then some. The characters gahhhh! Mimi I adored her so much. My heart was with has written yet another attractive book with another attractive couple. Her stories are some of the ones I look foward to the most. She never disappoints. Read this book and fall in love. I DID.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Originally posted on Undeniably Book Nerdy book blogThe Thing About Love is FANTASTIC and emotional and swoon-y and steamy and everything I love in a contemporary romance.Our main characters are Juliette "Jules" Easton and Dr. Jake "Dr. Kiss" Kissinger and OMG these two were so attractive together. But, they didn't begin out that way.Ever since Jules had taken over her uncle's wedding planning business things haven't been going well. It only survived because Jules had been using her own savings to hold the business afloat. Jules is really amazing at planning weddings, but keeping up with the finance side of things is another story. Now she's broke and in to hold the business going, she required to impress the Governor's son's bride-to-be and land the job as their wedding planner. When a handsome man strolls into her present room and starts talking wedding, she thought she was speaking the groom. But when he starts flirting with her, she was so disgusted with the fiend that she smashed cake on his turns out that the handsome man was the bride-to-be's older brother Dr. Jake Kissinger and he was NOT happy. He didn't wish anything to do with Jules, but with his grandmother's health quickly deteriorating and needing a wedding planner willing to take on the challenge of planning a large-scale happening in five weeks, Jake had not choice but to hire Jules and work with her while his sister and her fiancee finish their senior year of college. And the story takes off from there...If you have fun a amazing enemies-to-lovers romance, you're going to have fun The Thing About Love. Jules and Jake had a connection right from the beginning--a charge between them--but with their less than auspicious meeting there was delicious friction between them. Then, as they work together their chemistry gets hotter and when they finally obtain together these two really brings on the wasn't all sexy times though, because Jules and Jake soon come to realize they share a tragic past that got me all sorts of emotional. It's not often that a romance novel can create me cry and this one really tugged at my emotions and got me all choked up. But, this book was also funny! There were some humorous moments that perfectly balanced the more serious e Thing About Love was a amazing mix of steam, heartbreaking moments, and humor that I highly enjoyed. I loved Jules and Jake! They were fully fleshed out and I liked that we got a glimpse of their past, which gave us added insight. I thought they were just excellent for each other and I swooned over their romance. The secondary characters were really amazing too, like Jules's adopted cousin Finn and her ex-fiancee Jaxson, and I was satisfied to learn that they're getting their own books.I highly recommend you pick up The Thing About Love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    The Thing About Love is a excellent blend of awkward, funny, swoon, romance, family, war and forgiveness. I was completely enthralled with quirky Jules and sexy Jake (aka Dr. Kiss) from the moment of their terribly awkward meet cute. Seriously. Cake in the face will be one that I don't easily forget!Jules and Jake obtain off to a not good begin -- their first impressions were not the best! -- but when they are forced to work together to plan his sister's high-society wedding in just over a month, they start to slowly obtain into each other's hearts as much as they obtain under one another's skin. Before long, Jules realizes that Jake is her home, the yin to her yang, her North Star.I adored the twist that connected Jules and Jake in a method that neither one of them anticipated. It united them with a common thread that was so special and so intense, and gave Jules an opportunity to support Jake heal and allow go of the guilt he's been carrying. But Jake is so wrapped up in his guilt and what he's running from, that he completely misses what is right in front of t only were the main characters an antagonistic delight -- the story is told in dual POVs, and I enjoyed each and every chapter -- but the supporting players were equally delightful. I can't wait for Jules' ex, not good Jaxson, to obtain his own story!I received an advanced copy and voluntarily left a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    4.9 STARSJules has just taken over her uncle's Atlanta wedding planner company ... and it's not going good!She needs to obtain hired for this large society wedding or her uncle will have to the company!But instead of impressing the bride with the awesome cake she had made, she kinda, accidentally - or not so accidentally - starts a small 'fight' with the brother of the bride!Sexy Doc Jake!And he is kind of paying for the wedding ... so ... not good!But even if Jake wanted to stay far away from the crazy - and sexy - wedding lady, he doesn't have a choice. He needs this wedding to happen - and happen fast. And his sister is back at college - so it's on him to support Jules plan a wedding - something he never ever thought he'd do.Let the fun times begin!WHAT WILL HAPPEN WITH JULES & JAKE? WILL THERE BE A HAPPILY EVER AFTER? READ THE BOOK TO FIND OUT ☺══════════════════════════Adorable!This story was so funny and cute and sweet right from the first page!A really adorable romantic comedy I loved it!But of course there are also lots of very serious and moving parts too. I might have cried a small .. or a lot☺!We have this really hot and rich and slightly crumpy doctor. And the pretty, but slightly clumsy wedding planner!Perfect recipe for an awesome romantic comedy!!!But we also have the sad stories about both their parents and Jake's grandmother. Heartbreaking!Then there's the introduction into a hero who'll obtain his own book soon - Finn - Jules' cousin. He wants to be an MMA fighter.And Jules' ex Jaxson will also obtain his own book. (Btw. Jules accidentally sends him a very erotic video - which she wanted to send to Jake! LOL!)I really enjoyed reading this book. It had an awesome feeling to it. Not sure what I mean by that. Maybe it was the southern thing or the no-mega-exaggerated-dramas or the wedding atmosphere. I really loved the feeling that came over me while reading. I know, I'm weird. ☺The only thing I didn't love-love. Atlanta in the heat of summer! Ugh - I hate heat and it's winter here! So I would've preferred a more winterish book set in a more winterish put - BUT - pfff - that really doesn't have anything to do with the story - that's just me being weird again! ☺► THE THING ABOUT LOVE was an adorable & funny & sexy & heartbreakingly moving Wedding Planner Romance!!! Run to your nearest amazon for your own Dr. Jake - this one is MINE!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Kim Karr is going to create your heart swoon in her fresh book The Thing About rst of all, I wish to take a moment to have fun this book cover one more time!!! Holy Smokes this cover is Hawt and sooo excellent for Dr. Kiss....I mean Dr. Jake Kissinger, he is "Mr. Tall. Dark. Handsome. Very handsome. Actually, he is drop-dead gorgeous. And that mouth. His lips. They looked absolutely kissable." And this is where "Dr. Kiss" comes from. lol Although he is not too satisfied he was given this nickname by one of his one night stands and a patient ends up overhearing it. But he seems to obtain over the nickname after the right woman calls him that..lolThe Thing About Love is such a fun read-RomCom for sure!! Opponents to Lovers...one of my favs!!! Dr. Kiss and Jules first meeting will have you laughing your butt off!! There was a bit of a mistaken identity. You see Jules is a wedding planner. Her uncle passed the business off to her. But she has gotten off on the wrong foot when she meets up with whom she thinks is the groom, but actually she has it all wrong. And she ends up doing something on a whim and potentially just lost a huge acc that could support her out. So now she has to victory over the Doctor, and he is beautiful angry at what she has done to him. But his sister wants this wedding planner and he is going to have to suck it up and work with this crazzy woman. And Jules is going to have to work with this angry doctor. Y'all will just love all the banter, the broody, arrogant, cocky, and rude doc...It just makes for one heck of a read!!!I gave The Thing About Love 5 Kissable Stars!!! I would love to read more about Dr. Kiss and Jules in the future...they were such a hoot!!! lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    This was a very cute story about, you guessed it, love ❤️We obtain to meet Jake/Dr. Kiss and Juliette/Jules. Jake is a doctor working crazy hours while worrying about his dying grandma, as well as his sister’s upcoming wedding, which is also supposed to be the huge social happening of the year. He has a say on who the wedding planner should be. And that’s where Jules (Juliette to him) comes in. She is a wedding planner with a struggling business. Getting this acc would mean the globe to her. Unfortunately, she gets to embarrass herself huge time in front of Jake, and they begin on the wrong foot. Things happen, she gets the acc and has to work very closely with Jake. And that’s how they end up in a relationship of sorts, and realize how connected their pasts also are.Even though I liked it, I didn’t love it like I had loved Kim Karr’s previous books. I have to be honest and admit that the story itself did not hold me engaged from the beginning. I thought it started a small slow, and then it progressed a small quick past the halfway mark. But, all in all, it really was a cute story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    “Someday, Jake, love will search you. And when it does, you won’t have a choice but to accept it.”“Suddenly all those cliches I’d created fun of seemed so real. The earth shifted. The ground moved under my feet. I was on cloud nine.”“What was this between us? We hardly knew each other. We were both at crossroads in our life. And yet, knowing that didn’t seem to change this chemical reaction between us. It should have. It should have been a warning. I didn’t understand it. All I did know was that I wanted to be with him as well. I wanted to touch him. To feel him. Every attractive inch of him. For as long as I could.”When I think of romance, this is exactly what I want. I wish a story that makes me feel. A story that makes me swoon. A story that pulls emotions out of me and turns my globe upside down. And for me, The Thing About Love was exactly what my heart was looking for. This book…It just consumed me from the moment I picked it. From the moment I started reading this book, I just had a feeling it was going to be a unique and special read…And boy was I ever right! The Thing About Love is a attractive and expected read. I had no idea what my heart would be in shop for when I picked up this book and I’ll be the first to tell you, there is nothing I loved more than when a book surprises me. And allow me tell you, this book surprised me in the best, best om the moment I met Jules and Jake, I was hooked. The banter and chemistry between the two of them was just explosive. Jake is the sexy, broody, successful doctor. He’s been dealt some beautiful tough cards in his life, but nothing means more to him than family. So, when his sister is determined to create him a part of her wedding planning, he’ll do anything to create her happy….And that’s where Jules comes in to play. There is nothing more that Jules loves than planning peoples unique days. She is the kind of girl that you just can’t support but fall in love with. She’s smart, beautiful, kind, a bit clumsy, but has a large heart. She loves love, but sucks when it comes to her own relationships. The latest thing Jules ever planned on was Jake. Like I said, their chemistry is explosive and just oozes off the pages. They challenge and push one another. You could tell that these two were meant to be; that fate had brought them together. But, that their course must play out and that they must search their method in to be happy…The Thing About Love is a beautiful, honest and heartwarming love story that just captured my heart. From entertaining banter and delicious humor. To sexy amazing times and swoon worthy moments. To moments that just pulled at your heart and place tears in your eyes. This book hit all the marks for me. The characters are real, raw and simple to connect with. Their story is attractive and intense at the same time. You will be glued to the pages and hit with a ton of emotions just as I e Thing About Love is so much more than a love story. It is a story of family. A story of hope. It is a story of loss and letting go of the guilt that consumes you. It is a story of finding peace and living. But, most of all, it is a story about taking chances and holding on to love with everything you’ve got. This series is off to one heck of a begin and I can not wait to see where this series is going to go next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Thing About Love [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    The Thing About Love by Kim Karr is a sweet and very often funny story about opposites attracting. Jules Easton is a wedding planner who is running her Uncle’s wedding design business. She’s doing a less than stellar job and is at the end of her tether when she meets Jake Kissinger.Jake is Rory’s brother, the bride that Jules is due to have her first meeting with. Attraction sizzles between them from the moment they create eye contact, until the Rory arrives and gets excited upon seeing Jake there. Mistaking him for a cheating fiance after seemingly having come on to her before Rory’s arrival, Jules acts on her impulsive nature and shows Jake what she thinks of him.Jake’s not impressed and refuses to have Jules be the wedding planner. He’s holding the purse strings so the final decision is down to him not the ever, circumstances force him to change his mind and create him work closely with Jules to bring Rory’s dream wedding to fruition. The initial attraction soon burst into full on entanglement and before they know it, they’re so deep into each other, they’ll never obtain free.Jake has issues, the hardest being he doesn’t believe in love and Jules is searching for the ying to go with her yang. She thought she’s found it once before but saw her mistake before she and her ex-fiance took the plunge. Now, she just continually second guesses herself.Jake and Jules were a super hot and sexy couple, in and out of the bedroom. I enjoyed meeting the secondary character. Rory was sweet, Archer and Montgomery even sweeter, but Mimi stole the show. Well, her and the dogs is was a quick paced but not rushed romance, Jake and Jules spent a lot of time talking and getting to know each other and finding similarity and connections they’d never known about. But Jake’s problems with love become a issue in the end. Now, it’s down to Jules to war for what she wants. But will she? Can she?As in all romances, if you wish it, you have to go after it, isn’t that The Thing About Love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Called Alfie [Book]  2018-1-14 18:1

    Amazing story although not an actual cat-biography. Yet you'll search yourself cheering for Alfie and wishing he lived on your street.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Called Alfie [Book]  2018-1-14 18:1

    Alfie loves his families. He wants to fix is is a amazing for anyone who has, wants, or ever has had a cat.I would recommend ti to everyone. It is a book I can share with my Amazing of the best "clean" books I have read in a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Called Alfie [Book]  2018-1-14 18:1

    I fell in love with Alfie in the previous book, A Road Cat called Alfie. I was not disappointed in the sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Boy Called Christmas [Book]  2017-12-5 18:1

    Children and I all loved thisFantastic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Wolf Called Romeo [Book]  2017-10-23 18:2

    There not much to add which hasn't already been said. I have read a lot of unbelievable books about wildlife, but this will stick with me when all the other books are forgotten. Romeo was an extrordinary monster and it took an extrordinary and sensitive author to write about him. Some people feel the book was too long, but I did not wish it to end. Even though I never met or saw Romeo, I feel that I know him and all the people who tried to hold him safe. Thank you for writing about this huge black spirit who surely still roams his territory. He could never leave....Great photos!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Called Eddy []  2020-1-18 23:43

    This girl puts my faith back in music. A amazing sound!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Called Eddy []  2020-1-18 23:43

    "A Girl Called Eddy," by Erin Moran, is one of the amazing albums of all time. As an old-timer, I'd compare it with Carol King's classic album "Tapestry," but Erin's singing voice is much better. Yes, "A Girl Called Eddy" really is that good. I want I could give it six stars, not just my count, the album includes two amazing songs, five that are amazing verging on great, and four songs that are merely good. The standout song is the torch song "Heartache." In a excellent world, "Heartache" would obtain as much radio airplay as Pharrell's very amazing song "Happy" in Moran's voice is seductive when she wants it to be, clear and precise when she needs it to be, and always a bit understated. No over-singing on this album!The jazz-style musicians accompanying Erin are talented and perfectly suited to the songs. The arrangements are mostly e one frustration of the album is that sometimes the musicians should've been mixed a decibel or two quieter relative to the vocals. Four more songs would've created the jump from Amazing to Amazing if this had been done. When you're recording a amazing singer, don't allow her obtain covered up!Fans of Joni Mitchell's best jazz-influenced albums ("Court and Spark" and "The Hissing of Summer Lawns") will love this e song "Heartache" alone is worth the of the CD. Buy the CD, not the MP3. The additional fidelity is worth it. This album cannot be properly appreciated through an MP3 player and ear buds. If you don't already have a amazing stereo system to play this on, got out and spend a couple of thousand dollars on one. You'll thank me for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Called Eddy []  2020-1-18 23:43

    I was in a melody shop when "Girls Can Really Tear You Up Inside" played. I picked up the album and bought it then and there, not knowing if I would like anything else on it. I am very satisfied to say I loved the entire thing! I remember when I heard Shelby Lynne's "I Am Shelby Lynne" for the first time. I had never been so moved by an album before. "A Girl Called Eddy" is possibly the first album I've heard since then that has moved me in the same way. So few artists write melody like this anymore! Eddy's (or Erin Moran's) voice is attractive and rich, with strains of Karen Carpenter, k.d. lang, Shelby Lynne, even a small Goldfrapp in the melodies and orchestrations. These songs with their deep, brooding, twisting melodies stay with you long after the CD stops playing. "Tears All Over Town" sets the tone for the album nicely. "Girls Can Really Tear You Up Inside" grips your heart and just doesn't allow go. Utterly gorgeous! "People Used To Dream About The Future" sounds like something Burt Bacarach might write. It's the sort of song that might play over the end credits of a film (I mean that as a compliment!). Very touching. "Heartache" is attractive with its jazz-influenced percussion. The largest surprise is "Life Thru The Same Lens". A meloncholy lyric coupled with an upbeat tempo. It works very well. It's a amazing song. This is a fabulous album. So mature and polished. In the midst of skantily-clad pop wannabe's, with no substance whatsoever, being cranked out right and left, what a thrill it is to hear melody like this being made. I already can't wait until her next effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Called Winter []  2020-1-22 22:16

    I loved the begin of A Put Called Winter, the building of the principal character, the exploration of a particular strand of society as the 19th century turned to the 20th and I felt this was definitely a novel I would enjoy. Then the storyline took a major step sideways. Moving continent, moving society, moving method of life, the story still had appeal, albeit a very various direction. Well written, engaging to an extent, my issue with A Put Called Winter was its circular storyline. Characters came, characters left and in the end, the story seemed to have gone all the method back to the begin without any amazing impact. Even the most dramatic, harrowing scenes were quite ... humdrum as presented. At the end, sorry to say, I felt quite indifferent to the whole saga.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Called Winter []  2020-1-22 22:16

    The book starts slowly, and I was left wondering where it was leading, but after the disastrous episode with the diary, the pace quickens. However, this is not the kind of novel with fast turns of plot but more like a biography, the gradual revelation of a man's hero both to himself and to the reader. The so- called deviant sexuality ( for those days) is tastefully handled. The ending is very satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Called Winter []  2020-1-22 22:16

    Attractive and sensitive novel showing the issues people had at the beginning of the 20th Century to even give a name to their orientation. The story is rich in characters and situations and keeps the thrill till the very end. A masterpiece of Patrick Gale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tribe Called Bliss []  2020-3-29 19:37

    I have huge goals and I can’t do it alone. I struggled to create deep connections with women for the past five years. I never knew what to say, I was afraid of being need to stress, this book lays it all out for ’s meant to be read with your “tribe.” Together you will go through various subjects and discussions. The book contains how to genuinely invite people, scripts of what to say and questions to ask. You’ll grow together but also individually as you have a safe zone to share thoughts, ideas and challenges. Your tribe is meant to lovingly challenge, encourage and keep you accountable. This isn’t magic, you have to commit and place in the ’s unbelievable that this book gives you a guideline to take action on. There’s a lot of books out there that create you feel all warm and fuzzy inside, but no call to action and you forget about it a week later. This is everything I have been looking for!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tribe Called Bliss []  2020-3-29 19:37

    As other reviewers have said with 1-3 stars. This book isn't as described. You will not learn how to make fresh true connections. You need to already have a tribe. Instead, you're getting a poorly written self improvement book that lacks depth.I wasn't looking for a self improvement book so it felt like a bait and switch. I'd return if I ere are WAY BETTER self improvement books out there that... The Four Agreements, A Fresh Earth, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tribe Called Bliss []  2020-3-29 19:37

    This book and Lori Harder has been such a HUGE blessing and life changing experience for me and my life. I just finished reading it alone and I'm restarting it now as I form my tribe. I've sent 2 books to mates as well and the tribe is forming! This self awareness, self love journey is a bumpy ride, but being able to have the tools to obtain through it and the how to build and maintain a tribe is beyond amazing. Amazing job on this book Lori and I can't thank you enough for all of the awesome podcast episodes you have created, I listen almost daily! You rock girl and I hope to meet you in person some day. 💗

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dog Called Valentine []  2020-2-9 18:0

    Loved, loved this heart warming romance of how a dog brings this couple together. Valentine, a foster dog will have you laughing out loud with his antics. Lily is over her head with Valentine, when she meets Shane at the park. Shane is dealing with his own past and grief of loosing his partner, but finally agrees to support Lily, since this is only temporary. Loved this story, you will be laughing out loud throughout the book. It shows how much unconditional love a dog can give you. Shane and Lily are just so cute together. I highly recommend this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Bear Called Paddington []  2020-1-29 8:54

    When I first bought this book my 5 year old wasn't interested. A year later he loves it! He thinks Paddington is hysterical. We read a chapter before bed and he practices his reading comprehension by telling me about the previous chapters. He's created me read the part where Paddington steps in Mr. Brown's teacup a lot of times. It's so amazing that he can appreciate the same books I loved when I was young. Timeless!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Bear Called Paddington []  2020-1-29 8:54

    Bought this book so we could read it before seeing the film that just came out. Our oldest children really enjoyed the story and liked it enough that we were all somewhat disappointed in the movie when we finally did see it! A cute introduction to a sweet, family friendly bear that we're sure to have fun the extra books in the near future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Wolf Called Wander []  2020-6-17 18:37

    My 4th Graders absolutely LOVE this book. I was looking for a read-aloud chapter book that would appeal to my male students after finishing reading a book with a powerful female lead hero which was also written from 3rd person perspective. I searched for books with wolves and found this one, written from the 1st person perspective of OR7, a 's been an wonderful literary journey for us, even my girls are invested in OR7's journey (also known as Swift and Wander). I also purchased the Audible ver to accompany the reading of the chapter book to the class and the narrator's voice! Wow! So believable, so HIM. The expression, the exasperation, the exhaustion, the sense of wonder and disgust and disbelief along with realizations that OR7 experiences in this WELL-WRITTEN book are brought to LIFE by the e illustrations! Even in black and white - - - the detail and clarity and precision had us mesmorized. Stunning visual journey. Bravo.I started off this chapter book with the back section of the book which is full of background info on the true life wolf OR7's journey map across the northwest US. Then we read the sections about wolf paw prints versus bear paw prints and the typical prey that wolves eat. That entire back section is is book perfectly incorporates life science learning! So a lot of innate and learned behaviors, life cycle, meal web, environmental impact (black ice, warm glass), human/animal conflict...........this is a fresh FAVORITE book for me. Several students bought their own copy because they couldn't wait for oir class to finish the book. They WANT to read and this author has tapped into what interests 4th graders! Bookmunchers wish more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Wolf Called Wander []  2020-6-17 18:37

    This is a unbelievable book! It's charming and suspenseful and sad in parts and it has a unbelievable voice. The fact that it's based on a real story, on an actual wolf, is just icing on the cake. She closed it off wonderfully if it is only a standalone and I hope it goes on to become an animal-book classic, but she could do sequels and I really hope she does because I would love to wander with this wolf again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Called Freedom []  2020-1-20 21:8

    Ken Follett is a masterful storyteller and A Put Called Freedom is no exception. The novel is quick paced and a true page turner with multidimensional characters and their stories blending with colourful history. My only complaint (and the reason for taking off one star) is the ending. I don't wish to spoil this for those of you who are thinking about reading Freedom - I highly recommend you do - but the ending left me hanging and dying for more. There is so much more story worth telling here! My hope is that the author has done this purposefully because he has a sequel planned. I'll be watching and waiting . . .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Man Called Sledge [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Luther Sledge. A Man Called Sledge is directed by Vic Morrow and Morrow co-writes the screenplay with Frank Kowalski. It stars James Garner, Dennis Weaver, Claude Akins, John Marley, Laura Antonelli, Wayde Preston and Ken Clarke. Melody is by Gianni Ferrio and cinematography by Luigi Kuveiller. Luther Sledge (Garner) is a wanted outlaw who upon hearing about a large gold shipment stored in a prison, promptly assembles his gang and sets about executing a daring robbery. A Pasta Western filmed in Technicolor/Techniscope out of Andalucia in Spain, A Man Called Sledge is a most interesting and entertaining addition to this splinter of Westerns. From the off we are in no doubt that Garner is serving up a hero not of his normal portrayal varieties, here he's not heroic, all American or a lovable rogue, he's a poor egg, gruff, rough and tough, and driven by law breaking activities. Added into the mix is a rather cheeky premise, that of gold being stored in a working prison, which is naturally heavily fortified, protected and seemingly impossible to breach, but Sledge and his cohorts have other ideas that gives the narrative and dramatic drive much strength. You couldn't take it with a pope! In spite of the odd flecks of humour, such as a terrific organ sequence and Akins' constant cynical asides (both orally and visually), pic is grim in texture, there will be blood and the unfurling of other hateful human traits. Morrow knows his Pasta Oaters, both as regards visual ticks and via characterisations. So we obtain camera zooms, low level up-tilts and spins, while the characters range from the foolish to the greedy - to the twitchy and the dumb - and even a howling man! The story plays out through differing back drops, be it a snow storm, an arid landscape or a sweaty bar - not least the imposing prison at the centre of the plot - Morrow is taking his story through visual variations. I would have died for you Sledge! There are a number of amazing scenes to enjoy, usually where action is concerned, not least the quite exhilarating show-piece involving a jailbreak, where here we are treated to top stunt work as dynamite and a Gatling Gun join the usual bullets and blood carnage. Cards are a huge feature, as are crosses - - crucifixes, the latter providing some striking (and scary) imagery. While all the time Ferrio's varied musical score hits all the right Pasta Western notes. Hell! even the irritating theme song is hauntingly chaotic and thus fitting once the pic reaches its denouement. With the mostly American cast turning in amazing perfs, and Morrow proving deft at genre compliance, this is very much an under valued pic and worthy of either seeking out for a first time view or for reevaluation purpose. 7.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Wolf Called Romeo [Book]  2017-10-23 18:2

    Most of the chapters and the pictures of Romeo were exquisite. I awaited with such anticipation the end of each chapter to see the images of Regal Romeo. I'm not sure I would recommend or would have read this book because the fate of Romeo and the chapter called "The Killers"----brutally senseless although it was reality. Sometimes I hate humans. I could have accepted Mother Nature taking Romeo's life but the evil men who took his life was so disturbing! I was a sobbing mess by the end of the book. Romeo your life was necessary and you were respected, admired and loved by a lot of in Alaska and far beyond. I deeply mourn your loss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Wolf Called Romeo [Book]  2017-10-23 18:2

    So far, I love t his book. I haven't finished with it yet, but you can't go wrong in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Called Alfie [Book]  2018-1-14 18:1

    Kind of sappy, but a cute story and simple read. Guess you have to like animal stories where they talk to each other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Boy Called Christmas [Book]  2017-12-5 18:1

    amazing read for young kids

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Boy Called Christmas [Book]  2017-12-5 18:1

    Amazing book with amazing humor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tribe Called Bliss []  2020-3-29 19:37

    I bought this book in hopes it would support me attract a tribe of women. It is mainly for your CURRENT tribe.... which I don’t love. As a mom and adult it is hard to create fresh “Mom friends”. I didn’t obtain what I was looking for out of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tribe Called Bliss []  2020-3-29 19:37

    I was really excited for this book - specifically because of the "scripts" it was supposed to have in it for speaking to other women / engaging in conversation / touching more than surface level little talk. Unfortunately they felt overly formal and inauthentic. It also suggests that you already HAVE a tribe, which for a lot of women isn't their current always, there are some hidden gems scattered throughout. I enjoyed her challenging the thought of "normal" and reaching that milestone where she realized that her family life wasn't exactly normal after staying a week with her friend. Or how she realized that a lot of her behaviors were built into her family culture "The women from our family ALWAYS have a hard time losing weight".The book also suggests setting up a monthly "tribe" meeting sort of like a book club. Except each member only gets to share for a very limited amount of mins and then expressly gets chop off. The framework feels overly structured (even for a Type A person) and lacks the amount of depth and connection I would expect to see from a tribe.I was really excited to read this because I had seen this book all over my social media feeds and noticed it even got endorsed by Gabby B. However, it didn't resonate with me in the method that I wanted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Called Eddy []  2020-1-18 23:43

    What a gem. We can only hope she gets busy again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl Called Eddy []  2020-1-18 23:43

    These are songs that will not leave your head. "Tears All Over Town" is often on repeat in my head. Amazing voice, amazing music, this CD is a true experience on a lot of levels.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386