Read a walk in the forest reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all a walk in the forest reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Forest []  2021-1-12 20:11

    I must say that the first time I heard this song it pulled at my heart. Such a beautifully written piece of music. Everyone who hears it asks where did I obtain it or who wrote it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Forest []  2021-1-12 20:11

    I bought the sheet melody for this from It's a easy piece, but it really brings out the emotions in me. It can create me cry, it can create me laugh. Definitely one of the best modern instrumental pieces.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    Amazing book if you love people who love themselves to an extreme. Also a amazing read if you hate the United States, especially southerners. Excellent for the "open-minded, progressive" types who look down their noses at anyone who doesn't behave and think exactly like themselves. Also, a amazing bonus for anyone who likes books that pretend to be about people doing something, but then are really just about quitting doing that thing before they really obtain 's a amazing example of the writing, "See, the Troops Corps of Engineers aren't really amazing at building. One time this thing that they built broke. Moving on...I like Amazing Britain because there aren't that a lot of Americans there. See, I really hate myself, so I take it out on all other Americans instead if just looking in the mirror and admitting that I am a sad sack."

    0  


    Add your opinion on a walk in the forest or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    This is the 6th Appalachian Trail book that I have read. My "goal" when reading books on the AT is to read about the experiences... the people they've met, the conditions they've faced, and what obstacles got in their way. I like to hike vicariously through the author, and frequently search myself following along on Googlemaps looking at the overhead view as the story progresses. I especially have fun reading about their experiences in the parts that I have hiked throughout Fresh York and Bill Bryson's book there is very small mention of other hikers. In fact, when it comes to interactions with other people, more is said about the people that he and Katz (his hiking companion) met in the towns that the AT passes through, than is said about the other hikers that he met along the way. This is a book about Bill and his hiking companion. To the best of my knowledge, Bill never even had a trail name. He doesn't finish the trail, and if fact doesn't even do half of the trail. He never touches Fresh York or Connecticut, and quite often you only have a vaugue idea of exactly where he is on the trail as he progresses. He frequently writes about historical happenings that happened in the locations of the trail that he is on, and spends a small too much time talking about the demise of different trees and animals that have gone extinct in the locations that the AT passes through. Usually this demise is due to the dreaded acid at said, I rate the book 4 stars. I do so because the "faults" that I listed above are based on the preconceived notion about what I expected to read. I have no right to fault Mr. Bryson for not living up to those notions. Of the 6 AT books I've read, this one is the most well written. Bill is obviously an author that hiked the trail, and not a hiker that wrote a book. There is plenty of historical education in this book, plenty of humor, and even some suspense.If you are planning to hike the trail and wish to read everything you can before heading off, then this book might not be right for you. In fact, it might be detrimental to your hike. To anyone else, I would recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    Read or listen to every Bill Bryson book you can, especially the audiobooks for which he provides the narration. I have listened to this one no less than six times, and laugh at the dynamics between Bill and his hiking partner EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. I cannot hear the word, "Peachy" without thinking of this book. When I walked part of the A.T., we came into a small city somewhere in Maine only to search that Elvis had died like three days before; walking the Trail is genuinely is like being on some other planet at times. He educates as well as entertains. A match created in heaven!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    Bill and his mate decide they would test to walk the Appalachian Trail. Not as young men but late middle-aged, which makes all the funnier. Reading you feel as if you are walking with them and how it is far more difficult than they ever expected. In his usual amazing storytelling and hilarious method of telling average experiences and create them so relatable to you, you will love reading his adventures and his hilarious ways of telling you of how it went.Highly recommend the film "A Walk in the Woods" based on this book, starring Robert Redford and Nick Nolte.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    This book is a funny tale of the author attempting to hike the Appalachian Trail. He isn't much of a hiker and spends much of the book complaining. What really struck me is how poorly the author treats the female characters. Every female hero he meets is a stereotype and he doesn't like any of them. They are all either ty or stupid or a nag. It could have been so much better - overall, a disappointing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    The time to hike the Appalachian Trail is when you're young and healthy and unattached and (this is the really necessary part) when you're too inexperienced to know all of the things that can go wrong. But in 1996, Bryson was a portly middle-aged guy with a long-term marriage and a house full of children - one of whom was old enough to begin college. He'd traveled all over the globe and read widely and he knew EVERYTHING that can go wrong.And yet he embarked on one of the most grueling, challenging endeavors known to man. Furthermore, the happily-married paterfamilias and college professor was accompanied by a childhood mate who was his polar opposite. I don't know how much is true and how much exaggerated, but Katz is one of the most entertaining, exasperating, and endearing characters of all is is NOT one of those day-by-day accounts of mileage covered and blisters gained. There's a lot of history - natural, social, and political. There are side trips to discover locations that hiking purists would scorn. The son of two journalists, Bryson is incorrigibly curious and he assumes that his reader is, too. When you read Bryson, you feel your mind expanding and you search yourself being drawn into locations in which you never before felt any interest. That's what sets him apart from the herd. That and the fact that his writing is so hilarious that you can't read it in public without embarrassing yourself and everyone around you.I read this book when it was published almost 20 years ago and remembered it fondly. Since then (thanks to the miracles of epublishing and my beloved Kindle) I've read at least a dozen books about walking the AT. I enjoyed them, but didn't learn as much from all of them place together as I did from Bryson's take. Nor were any of them as funny. The AT is a uniquely American phenomenon and it's existence and history both say a amazing deal about us and our strengths and weaknesses. You'll never search a better introduction to it than this one. I enjoyed it even more the second time around.I've loved all of Bryson's books, but I think this one is particularly memorable. If you're just discovering this fine writer, this is a amazing put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    But nevertheless can't wait to tell you all about it and everything else they can think of instead, because they never come close to being able to achieve the premise upon which the book is supposedly based. Further, for a guy who starts the book making light of a salesman who goes method beyond the author's depth and interest level when talking hiking gear, said author nonetheless devotes the majority of the real content of this book doing exactly that, on any number of subjects, most of which have nothing to do with the AT. And as has been said in other reviews this is an individual who dearly, deeply and sincerely needs to obtain over himself. There is after all an entire globe that exists outside the confines of Fresh England, including the majority of the AT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    I am an avid reader. Yes, folks, I'm that annoying person who reads while standing in line, and even at red lights. I once finished an entire novel sitting in a doctor's waiting room-- but perhaps that says more about the doctor than it does about my reading abilities. haha. I also keep advanced degrees in both English and writing. I know amazing writing when I read it, and I have also stumbled wearily through books shoved at me from the hands of well meaning friends: "we know you love to read. Read this one and allow me know what you think of it." Gah. Please don't be that person to your friends-- the frightful book foister. Please, I beg of you. Don't be that person. Don't create me flee from your presence like unfiled taxes fleeing from the IRS, to avoid said horrible book ome celebrity biographies, reminiscent of a painful 9th grade essay, sold merely because a popular name is on it . . . let's admit it-- what can they really "tell all" about, when their lives are already a literal (equally wearying) begin book? Romance novels, with a close up of a muscular hand clutching a lacy red bustier on the front, which after several dreary pages makes me feel like ripping it, literally, in half, and throwing the book away. Cookbooks-- there are a few decent ones in this "here read this!" genre, but a lot of of them are thrown together to create a sale, and let's face it-- when is the latest time you actually created a recipe from an actual cookbook? Exactly. You throw it in the bag for the beach, thumb through a few pages while smearing on sunscreen, and then toss it in the 'ole bookshelf when you obtain home, where it is destined to live for the rest of readless, purgatorial eternity.A mate recommended "A Walk in the Woods." Sigh, I thought. Another recommendation. I admire the "woods" from a distance, but I fear insects, snakes, vermin, rodents, and even the casual snap of a twig within their clutches. I do not camp. I do not eat camp food. I prefer to have my meals without a side of meal poisoning. So you'd be right in thinking that my reaction was something like, "Ugh another referral. I will have less in common with this book than a Protestant would have with the Pope." I started it grudgingly, expecting to do the obligatory dragging of my eyes across the page until it was finally, relievingly, y was I in for a surprise.Within the first few pages I surprised myself by chuckling. Then laughing. Then outright, from the gut, throwing back my head and howling. I stayed up until almost 1 AM that first night, devouring chapter after chapter, even though I had to be up early for work the next day. I just couldn't place it down. The writing is refreshingly honest-- at once thoughtful, hilarious, sarcastic, and downright well done. This is not the scribbling of a celebrity trying to sell books. This is the tale of someone who has truly lived a once in a lifetime kind of all-American experience. His observations about the conditions of the trails, the miraculous preservation efforts created by volunteers on the trail for decades, and even his views on life, are inspirational. His descriptions of the kooky characters, the beautiful, sweeping vistas of untouched wilderness that he discovered as he rounded thousands of wearying bends in the never-ending trails . . . it's magic. Pure magic. I can almost close my eyes and see it, so vivid are his descriptions of the meadows, the wildflowers, the soft sighing of the trees in the quiet breeze.I've always said that the best kind of writing includes three elements. First, it is relevant/relate-able to all. It takes an wonderful author to take a topic about which I have small interest (camping), and create it relevant and interesting to me, yet he does. Second, it should have humor-- not the "polite chuckle" kind of humor, but a real, genuine, gut laughing kind of humor, hidden delightfully throughout the text, waiting to surprise you like golden treasure where you would least think to look. Third, it should have moments of piercing, attractive clarity-- moments when you search yourself, for reasons you almost can't explain, blinking back the tears as some particularly poignant thought resonates through your very ll Bryson delivers richly on all three counts. This book ended with my feeling deliciously and completely satiated, in every way. I laughed until my sides were sore, I cried at the honest, attractive tendrils of his story as it wrapped its beautifully written arms around my heart. I shook my head solemnly with a deep, "Mmmm, yes" at the inspirations recorded within the story as he discovered, not just the beauty of the Appalachian Trail, but the beauty of life, warmth, family, and companionship. Perhaps the beauty of America is that a small bit of the magic resides in the heart of all of us. That's the notice here. And it's a darned inspirational one.I haven't done this often, but a few times in my life a book is so wonderful-- so stupendous-- that I just can't bear to end it. So the moment I finish, I move my bookmark back to chapter 1. Not ending-- just starting bookmark is resting in chapter 1 of this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    First allow me say this: I did not dislike this book. ..but... what the heck is it even about? There is no climax (save for one 2 or 3 page part 95% of the method though), no hilarious anecdotes or mishaps, no thought provoking deeper message, no life changing happenings or mindfulness...its...about nothing. It may as well be an encyclopedia. Just a text book written about the random thoughts one man had while hiking a trail. "As i walk I see trees. Speaking of trees did you know....." "This trail goes through some National Parks. Speaking of National Parks, did you know...." "....random fact. Speaking of random facts, did you know..." . I did read it though (minus a few odd pieces of boring history about not overly interesting things), and I wanted to know how it ended, but Im certainly not left with any questions except....huh..how'd this pitch for a book obtain bought?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-19 22:42

    I really have mixed emotions about this book. I loved the first and latest parts, and disliked most of the middle of the book. Like other readers, I was not aware that Mr. Bryson did not hike the entire trail. I was ok with this when I realized it, because he talks of going back after a break. What happens though in part two of the book, is that he begins traveling the trail by vehicle and does uneventful day hikes. Sometimes his vehicle trips don't even lead him to the trail. He's somewhere else, spending pages of info on his abstract journeys. Then, comes pages and pages of facts and history. This is interesting enough, but not what I wanted to be reading. I wanted to be reading of Mr. Bryson's experiences on the trail. Finally, he meets back up with his friend, Mr Katz, and begins a long section hike in Main which would be his latest section. Well they attempt this section hike and it again is what I wanted to be reading. This part of the book is short lived though, and then the book inking back over the book, I guess it was not what I expected. But, I can relate to Mr. Bryson's attitude in some ways. Other readers considered him to be rude, but I consider him as honest. Not everyone is a people person, and yes this shows throughout the Bryson is a section hiker. This book is about his section hikes. Some he does alone, some with friends. He does these hikes over the summer, without too much of a plan. The pages and pages of history and facts are actually interesting. I might have to read this book again with a various expectancy and attitude. I think then, I will like it more.Go into this book thinking section hikes, some private experiences on the AT, and lots of trail history, and then it will be an enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    Absolutely unbelievable travel book. If you know Afghanistan before the battles (pre 1978) there are some very funny parts. I loved his description of the glass display counter in the government hotel lobby in Herat. "Two rusty cans of Russian peas, a packet of dusty Pakistani biscuits (cookies), a sticky spot which might once have been sweets, a bent clothes hanger, and a number of dead flies." These stuff were still standard in government hotel display cases in the 1970s. In any case, it is a unbelievable depiction of pre-war Afghanistan, which in those days was a beautiful, friendly, and hospitable country ... Mostly. Note that the quote above is from memory... I think I mentioned all the stuff but they may be out of order.😏

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    This book is heralded as one of the greats of the "Travel Adventure" narratives but I found that it was overly long and drags on a bit for my taste. It does have some colourful characters and is loaded with dry English humor, but it could have had the same punch without slogging through the chapters where very small happens. The ending is quite abrupt, which I understand it is a trademark of the author's other works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    How can a book about a fervent gardener going to Nepal NOT be interesting? When so much of a modern person's life is focused on enhancing their level of coziness it's surely a delight to see someone like the author endure deprivations and take on extraordinary physical challenges towards a lovely goal. Really, who among us wouldn't prefer reading about tent-camping in a soggy field filled with leeches than experiencing it?The goal is to acquire seeds for plants that will survive and thrive in a Vermont garden. The reader feels the author's delight in seeing a flower that's humdrum at home come to full, enormous, technicolor life in a tiny, remote Nepalese village. Even a person whose interest in gardens plummets after sniffs of basil can understand the author's tremendous joy.Which leaves us with the odd, starting with the stilted syntax. It's part eighteenth century, part Hemingway, part Book of Genesis rewritten into the first person singular. She sems to take contrarian pride in being rather a on the trip--continually asking the others in the group, "What is this?", losing interest completely if the respond involves a plant that wouldn't cope in Vermont, and--why not?--a fair amount of whining. If the author regrets taxing her companions so on an already arduous journey she stoically keeps that sorrow to en there are the perplexing Where Was the Editor? bits. Once you establish that you're using Fahrenheit there's really no need to add it to every following temperature. She'll repeatedly describe what was for dinner and quickly tell us she didn't eat. And did every night's trip to the bathroom need to be recorded?Lastly, it isn't a moral stain that the author refers to the Nepalese man who cooks for the group as Cook, or the man who lugs the table and chairs as Table, but man, it sure would have been nice if she could have remembered their names. And as the author doesn't hear the porters' names is she really, truly seeing the Nepalese girls, each one of which she declares beautiful?None of the apparent cross-cultural hiccups would mind if the trip in and of itself didn't shout of First Globe class privilege. Despite the loveliness of the idea, aspects of the book come across as just another example of the West's determination to Obtain What it Wants--be it South American bananas, Iraqi oil, or perhaps the seeds is a lovely flower in the Himalaya.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Walk-In: A True Hollywood Story []  2020-1-15 22:18

    This book is a amazing read, and is Impossible to place down once you start! The Walk-In will blow your mind. It is compelling and entertaining. It is also baffling and out-with-the-norm (whatever that is). The author is brave in sharing his story. He has not been on an simple journey. But there is much to learn from his insights. In a method this could be about any of us. If you have ever struggled emotionally, financially, and faced that baffling phenomenon of feeling your destiny is not in alignment. Is your true life event somewhere else perhaps? You know everything that was SUPPOSED to happen? This is reality, and it is grim but also inspiring. Strap yourself in - not alot goes unsaid here. As I said it is a BRAVE account, which is also full of empathy, wisdom and understanding. What is particularly helpful is how the author reveals his depression and coping mechanisms. This is a universal survival story, which is very helpful. But brace yourself, there are some raw home truths which are difficult to stomach. This is not for the faint hearted.... Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    ... or in the Hindu Kush of e topic line is a classic one that flashes across the TV screen when professional stunt-persons are engaged in a particularly risky activity, and the show's producers wish to protect themselves from lawsuits from an outrageously ill-prepared amateur sitting at home who goes out and attempts the same risky activity. This is a delightful story of two outrageously ill-prepared amateurs, Eric Newby and Hugh Carless, impulsively pursuing a whim, and not only living to tell the tale, but providing this very well-written acc of e year was 1956. Both men were in their mid-30's. Both had survived the Second Globe Battle (Newby as a prisoner for three years). Newby was working in the family business, in the "rag-trade," that is, high fashion clothing for women. Newby needs OUT, and cables his friend, asking if he'd be interested in going to one of the more remote spots on earth, Nuristan, in northeastern Afghanistan, and climb a mountain. He receives a positive response, and the adventure of a lifetime - well, not really, seems like Newby in particular had several others - ough neither were the wimps that Wilfred Thesiger, who used a more politically incorrect word, would accuse them of being when they had a possibility meeting in Afghanistan, still, neither had ever done any technical climbing (that is, with ropes, karabiners, et al.). (This is the same Thesiger who twice crossed the Rub Al Khali of the Arabian peninsula, and would live with the Marsh Arabs of southern Iraq for a couple of years). Carless and Newby set off for Wales to learn the skills of mountaineering... "belaying" and all... in a couple of days! That would be their total training. They then drove to Afghanistan, across Europe, and taking a (familiar to me) overland route through Turkey and Iran, and on to Kabul. Carless was in the British diplomatic service, with his next posting in Tehran. Time was limited, so they never had enough to "smell the roses." He had been in this zone of Afghanistan before, and surveyed much of the territory. They drove north from Kabul, and were soon in Panjshir Valley, walking, with horses and Afghani by writes well. He is fully knowledgeable with the names of the flora and fauna. He lovingly describes the landscape (if Newby's words are not enough, I highly recommend some of the books of photography, produced by a French couple, Roland and Sabrina Michaud including Afghanistan and Caravans to Tartary who were there an approximately the same time). Newby's style is well-executed British understatement, as suggested by the title. (Hindu Kush means "Hindu killer," purportedly because so a lot of low-land Hindus who were captured by Mongol raiders, to be taken to the slave markets of central Asia, died in these mountains.)Neither Carless nor Newby had ever climbed on ice or snow before, but they attempt to climb Mir Samir, which is 19,880 ft. The Afghani guides, who did not accompany them on the climb, never thought they'd see them again. At times, they are literally reading the how-to manual as they climb. How a lot of times they could have died... but it truly was a case of "beginners luck", as well as some understated British the latest third of the book they create it into Nuristan (which means country of light), and was renamed from "@#$%!stan", (country of unbelievers) after their mass conversion - at the point of the sword - at the end of the 19th ere is an introduction by Evelyn Waugh who wryly notes: "For more than two hundred years now Englishmen have been wandering about the globe for their amusement, suspect everywhere as government agents, to the amazing embarrassment of our officials." On a whim and a lark, "because it was there" motivation, a unbelievable impulsive journey well-told. 5-stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    This is one of the classic travel books, written with classic British understatement and wit. (The "short walk" of the title is very long indeed.) Anyone who likes to read about other people's travels, and especially anyone who prefers to have fun reading about exotic, dangerous (and in this case of this book, now mostly unreachable) locations is certain to love this book. All of which makes it simply astonishing that it's apparently out of print, and has been for a lot of years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    This is a lovely book which beautifully describes an extensive trek in a remote zone of the Himalayas. Ms. Kincaid and her close friend, Dan Hinckley, a distinguised botanist, create the trip together. Dan Hinckley has traveled in the region extensively. It is the author's first Himalayan trek and she trains diligently to be prepared for its rigors. The author is a gifted writer who describes the feelings and emotions triggered by the beauty of the region and its warm and hospitable people. Ms. Kincaid's style is most engaging and contains unbelievable description, humor, and amazing senstivity. The focus of the trek is the collection of seeds for propagating Himalayan plantlife in North America. The passion of the participants for gathering the seeds of rare species is engaging to gardeners and non-gardeners alike. All who have journeyed to this unique part of the world, or intend to, will have fun this charming book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    As an avid reader, enthusiastic traveler, lover of Nepal, and a wannabe gardener, I eagerly picked up "Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya". Jamaica Kincaid has written of her trek through the mountains of Nepal gathering seeds to plant in her Vermont garden. What promises to be a literary trek through some of the world's highest peaks ends up feeling more like a slow walk down an endless sidewalk. While there are a few remarkable descriptions of the mountains and rivers she crossed, most of the book is filled with the author's introspective whining. The pages of a travel memoir should transport the reader into another land and introduce us to it's places, people and special culture. Unfortunately, "Among Flowers" fails to do any of those things. The main thing that struck me about this book is how self-absorbed the author seems to be. By her own admission, she took almost no interest in what was around her unless it was of some use to her, for example, if some particular seeds would grow in her region. While she seems to have a amazing grasp of Latin plant names, she couldn't learn the actual names of her Nepali porters. Instead she refers to them merely by what role they played in relation to her- the man who prepared her meals was "Cook" and the one who carried her table was "Table". She admits that she didn't bother noting the characteristics of the Nepali people since they couldn't do the same for her. She makes a gross generalization of the people as either looking like they were from the South (India) or the North (Tibet), apparently not having taken the time to learn about the a lot of indigenous Nepalese tribes. As a black woman who was raised in Antigua and now resides in America, I was very surprised at Kincaid's lack of cultural sensitivity toward others and apparent disinterest in the people of Nepal. In addition, in two various locations she mentions having a hatred for the Germans and even says "Germans seem to be the one group of people left that can not be liked just because you feel like it". As a piece of literature, the text is rambling and incohesive. Some sentences seem like they will never end; others left me wondering what she was talking about. She ping-pongs between what she sees and what she feels and then attempts to draw us into her distant memories. Far too much of the book is spent describing what she was thinking and complaining about things. I'm afraid the effect is that she seems to be far more engrosed with herself than interested in the awesome locations and people she is walking among. This book may better have been described as a private journal than a travel memoir. If you are interested in trekking in the Himalaya, read a various book. If gardening and seed-collecting are what you fancy, look somewhere else. However, if you wish to obtain to know Jamaica Kincaid, this just may be the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    I am an unabashed partisan of A SHORT WALK IN THE HINDU KUSH. Eric Newby's story is a kind of cross between the tough-it-out, Wilfred Thesiger-type journal that pits a Westerner versus a nearly impossible environment (here: the world's most forbidding mountainscapes), and the more modern, "around the globe in a poor mood" acc that has as much to do with the inter-personal relationships of Newby and his squad than with alien civilizations. Newby found himself stuck in post-WWII England in a purely decorative field, and takes on this trek mainly to relieve his boredom, or so it seems. Yet when he's out in the field, suffering his most physically, he's having a hell of a amazing time, and he relates these contradictions memorably. HINDU KUSH is sophisticated, funny, has drive, and is immensely informative about a country (Afghanistan) that is such a crazy-quilt of religions, cultures and languages that it helped me understand why, even today, no invading empire can obtain a handle on it. It's just a joy to read IMO.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    A very funny and self-deprecating adventure classic about getting to and exploring a remote part of Afghanistan, and a failed attempt to climb Mt Samir. Before there was Bill Bryson, there was Eric Newby. Another perfect reason to recommend the book is its portrait of an Afghanistan that existed before so much international meddling (Soviet, Pakistani, Iranian, American) doomed Afghans to the current dismal state of affairs. You can read about that woeful put in Christina Lamb's perfect Farewell Kabul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    Stay away from this book! Jamaica Kincaid's book is filled with pseudo-philosophy and hollow observations towards life which reads artificial. As someone who has trekked the Himalaya, I can only surmise that Kincaid was on some shallow, self-absorbed trip of her own. Don't just take my word for it, read just one of her own passages (pages 27-28): "One group was from Austria but we decided to call them the Germans, because we didn't like them from the look of them, they were so professional-looking with all kinds of hiking gear, all meant to create the act of hiking easier, I think. But we didn't like them, and Germans seem to be the one group of people left that can not be liked just because you feel like it." She can't even be bothered to learn the name of one of the Sherpas who helped carry her provisions, and instead refers to him as "Table" since he was also responsible for setting up the table where her and the other hikers ate. Giving him this demeaning nickname as you would a dog gives you some idea as to the type of person Kincaid is. Save yourself a few bucks, there are far, far better books to read about the Himalayas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    It seems apparent that some of the reviewers picked up this book with the misguided notion that they were going to read some unbelievable acc of their beloved Himalayas. Apparently you have no idea who Jamaica Kincaid is or what her writings are about, so if are upset because you have "been to the Himalayas and there are much better writings," it's because you've never read (or probably even heard about) "My Brother," "Lucy," or any other of her profound literary works. She is not a travel author, and although this work is set during her physical journey, it, like every other work of hers, is about the psychological, emotional, and social journeys we all make.Anyone has the right to write a review, but please create sure you have some idea of the genre of the book before you begin casting dispersions. Personally, I give this book a 4 only because I consider this work to be less introspective than her others. It's still more profound than 90% of the other writings out there, just not as emotionally revealing as, say, "Autobiography of My Mother." Her writing is, as always, lyrical, with the special ability to paint an extraordinarily vivid picture of even the most b scenes. I highly recommend it, but only if you are well aware that this is not a "travelogue."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    A shocking book! Two Englishmen who've never climbed before set off to visit the mountains in Afghanistan. They drive across Europe (a challenge itself) and then arrive to face tribes who've never seen westerners, not to mention the unknown mountains. Evelyn Waugh wrote the preface, so that gives you an idea about this book, whose title is itself an understatement. Serious and funnyl!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    Delightful, engaging, frequently-humorous tale of two less than experienced English mountain climbers attempting a difficult climb in a very remote part of Afghanistan. Somewhat hard to search this book; it had been on my want list for a number of years. I have also read and can recommend Eric Newby's Love and Battle in the Apennines.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    worth every penny, a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    Jamaica Kincaid writes this memoir of her travels in Hong Kong, Nepal, and the Himalayan Mountains in October 2002. Her fellow hikers were Dan Hinkley of European descent, living now in Seattle and Bleddyn & Sue Wynn-Jones from Wales. They belong to a group of botanists who go on trips to gather seeds from plants to transplant after they return to their separate homes. In 1998 she had been on a related trek across southwestern China with Dan.On this trip she was exhilerated by the lushness of the foliage, so like a paradise garden, but could not obtain used to the deceptive nearness of their destinations (so near and yet so far). She was not accustomed to the vast difference between her expectation, perception, and reality -- the method things really ey faced some dangers along the method and some hardships, but the trip was long and winding up and down hills and they were exhausted by nightfall. A tall waterfall was so ferocious it sounded like jet engines on an took a while to absorb all that she'd seen to place it into book form for the National Geographic. They felt lucky to obtain back to civilization after the three-week long walk. She took notes along the method and had her digitial camera with her to take relevant photos. She grew up on an island in the Carribbean but now lives in Vermont where she has a continuing garden.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    Delightful adventuring

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    A unbelievable book: I'm reviewing it because I'm astounded by the other reviewers' complaints. I've just read it and it's now on the list to assign next time I teach an intro-to-college-lit course called "Literary Journeys". But don't allow that place you off. Read it for sheer ncaid's style is sassy, clear, and carries just a whiff of Gertrude Stein--lucid, witty, and delicious. Her alleged whining is not only admirable self-mockery, it's a subtle and effective rhetorical move. (We sympathize, we laugh, we are won over by her honesty, we learn some things about perseverance and about human nature.) And I'm struck by the method she intertwines a savvy awareness of the political problems travel writing labors under in this nutty century with an as-if-innocent enactment of those very problems. I mean: she knows, and makes sure we know, that she is an outsider come to gaze and sample and enjoy, while the people she is staring at carry on their sometimes-difficult lives. But she pulls it off without preaching, and warned: the book may require you to think beyond superficial impressions. (For example: when the author lays out before us some less-than-ideal behavior of her own, do we pounce and cry "aha" or do we admire the artful and, well, educational self-critique?) But Among Flowers will reward you with the beauty of its language, the skill and interest of ts narrative voice, and the method you'll learn--right, not about what an anthropological report might teach you but--about what what it is that travel writers (and their readers) do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among Flowers: A Walk in the Himalaya []  2020-7-11 19:2

    Among Flowers is an acc of Kincaid's trek in the Himalaya with her botanist ncaid, living in Vermont but originally from Antigua, is an enthusiastic gardener herself though not a seed collector to the extent of her botanist companions. On occasion, particularly at the beginning, I couldn't support wondering what Kincaid was doing on the expedition other than gathering material for this quirky introspective book. She makes much of missing her thirteen-year old son Harold and keeps calling him on her satellite phone until Sunam, the Sherpa leader, takes it away from her due to the Maoist activity in the area. Also she is acutely aware that most of the seeds collected are not suitable for growing in Vermont and therefore shows small or no enthusiasm for regards her companions, she mentions them by name but dispenses with detailed description. It's as if they were pale ghosts beavering away in a mystical landscape in their quest for say I didn't care for the book would be wrong, rather, I did have fun it, but found several sentences repetitive, stumbling, and bordering on the nonsensical. The writing does not flow easily ...... "Dan said we were too low for finding this; Bleddyn said, yes, but soon we would be." ...... "It resembled something my kids would play with in the bathtub, rounded and dullishly smoothed, like an old-fashioned view of the method things will look in the old-fashioned future, not pointed and harshly shiny like the future I am used to living in now." ...... "When I told Sunam how touched I was by his presence, this small boy, the same age as my son, carrying sixty-pound loads strapped up on his back, he said of course I would be touched because Jhaba was a Sherpa." ...... "Now the shield itself was behind me, I could no longer see the mountains that had been the shield of my destination." ...It's as if this stumbling style mimics Kincaid's stumbling trek ... "That night in the cold dark and snow when I had stumbled into camp, what I had missed seeing growing spectacularly among the boulders hovering above me was the amazing Rheum nobile, growing solitary, erect, aloof, and stiff like small sentinels."Despite her off-beat writing style, or because of it, Kincaid succeeds in capturing the mysterious atmosphere of her surroundings and the frustrations of seed/plant collecting combined with the true danger of confronting Maoist guerrillas. A view on another globe within a e manages to give an impression of possessing a contrived naivety through her writing style which is simplistic and complex all at the same time. Nevertheless, I'd prefer to have had her participate more and given a gutsier descriptive acc of the seed collecting and the people surrounding at's style for you, what gets published and what doesn't. I'd be interested to know how much editing went on. Agents and editors are notorious for cutting and suggesting re-writes for clarity or length. This book is purposely short, by Kincaid's own admission, probably her stylistic view-point won over her editor in previous publications so that aspect was a non-starter in this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    Of all the tons of mountain ranges that converge in North Asia, perhaps the most daunting is the Hindu Kush, "the HIndu Killer", yet an adventurous businessman in the London fashion world, with a checkered history that spans both boat racing and a stint as a prisoner of battle (1942-45), yet completely untrained at mountain climbing, decides to take a jaunt with a friend, with no more preparation than a hike on a hill in Wales. Their encounters and experiences are many, the descriptions dazzling, their confrontations with the globe of the tribes and villagers utterly beguiling yet not always to their advantage. The book is outrageously funny, remarkably enterprising and absolutely irresistible. I have probably read it half a dozen times over the years and still laugh, to such an extent that I have searched out his other books as well, including his boat ride down the Ganges, which is hysterical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush []  2020-2-8 18:49

    This book could have been used as a primer for the entire "Eccentric Englishman goes abroad" genre. The nonathletic Newby and his semi-athletic mate decide to climb a mountain in the Hindu Kush. They take a long weekend climbing course and set off for Afghanistan to start their trip. Nothing stops them including unfriendly natives, not good planning, poor shoes, lack of food. They actually come us short of reaching their climbing goal but do mange to discover all the locations they set out to see. Maybe I'm not too old after all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    Wonderfully written and simple to read. Insightful look at the natural wonders that inspired the classic stories by ne. In addition, there is a look at the collaboration with the illustrator, E. H. Shepard and the flora and fauna that still exists today. Makes you wish to obtain outside and take a closer look at the attractive globe that surrounds e author took me back to a time when days were long and lazy and you could allow your mind wander with possibilities. I enjoyed the historical aspects of what life was like in that time and how a young boy's curiosity and easy ways of entertaining himself inspired a father, with an observant eye, to capture the essence of childhood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    I first looked at this on my black and white Kindle, and really enjoyed the author's description of all the locations described in the Pooh stories. Then I looked at it my on my Fire, in color. Oh, my! Such richness of illustrations. Would recommend you look at this in color if you can. I loved learning about the true environment the stories were written about. Highly recommend this book, especially if Pooh is part of your life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    I found the "Natural Globe of Winnie-the Pooh" charming as well as lovingly described by the authors. The inclusion of the watercolor prints created my memories come alive as I remembered reading all the stories and poems to my four children. I have the copies still and those were read to grandchildren as well as Amazing grandchildren now.I learned so much about the author and the artist, as well as the landscape and its presence in the stories of Winnie and his friends. In an age when everything must be reality, imagination suffers, this small book is a giant of what we miss so deeply, it is a treasure that I have recommended to my friends, all of whom have their worn, dog eared copies of "Winnie" and who remember with love the hours spent with their kids reading and walking through the Hundred Acre Woods. This is an necessary companion to the original book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    It is a attractive book. I'm 78 rears old and it is a Christmas show to me. I will share it with a mate who has actually been there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    Amazing book. I bought it for bonuses for several people. Attractive illustrations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    I am enjoying this immensely. I love the Pooh books (the originals, Disney should be punished!)... and love tales set in the English country side. This has become my bedtime read.. a few pages of gentle humor and natural beauty. I am so glad I bought it, and am already planning which of my kids to pass it down to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    Was so satisfied to search this for my Kindle! Place it on my Kindle PC and love that I can see and read it there---full screen and huge print! I'd almost bought the book after my DD got it for Christmas but found this on unique for only $2.00 and am very satisfied with it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    Pooh fans, this is a really neat book and a must-have for your library. Lots of history and interesting facts about the origins of Pooh, the zone the stories are set in, and the Milne family. Painstaking research and amazing writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    Christmas bonus for 88 year old, spry, British mom. She loves it. Has photographs of the English countryside too, which she loves. I'm so pleased!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Natural World of Winnie-the-Pooh: A Walk Through the Forest that Inspired the Hundred Acre Wood [Book]  2018-6-28 18:0

    We have visited Pooh Corner and walked the 100-Acre Woods. This gorgeous book is jam-packed with dozens of attractive images and lots of interesting information. to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Obtain application to focus on the Lord in this crazy world!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    This is one of the best teachers of the Holy Bible there is, a real man of God.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    God Bless you Brother James! To be able to access this application on a device where so much other junk is seemingly ready to jump out at me and distract my attention away from my Heavenly Father, i purposely choose to remain with God and His Kingdon leaders such as WITW in applications like this. I made a folder on my droid to house all of my favorite Kingdom leaders WITW is one of them thank You WITW for all that you do! Psalm 34:1 To Father God, His Holy Spirit and His Son Jesus Christ be the glory forever and ever!!! Amen...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Finally !! Yay!! So glad to have this available for Android device !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Such a blessing. Amazing content to read, watch or listen to, whenever I need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    This album is a unbelievable rendition of peaceful, restful music. Listen to it when trying to unwind after a hectic day. Wonderful. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Excellent background for when I am creating my artwork!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Sound Biblical teaching at my fingertips!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Absolutely LOVE James MacDonald!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    The Best Application Ever!!! I have been waiting for this application ... FOREVER! Thank you so much. Pastor McDonald & Family. You all are a blessing to this globe and I cannot start to tell you how you saved my daughter and I. We love you here in Reno. Forever grateful -Brenda

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Walk in the Word

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Amazing Well received

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    I tried to read testimony the wording was to little ,,it would be better if they were in audio, video see ya lata ,God Bless we all

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    This album takes the listener on a lovely journey

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    I love this app! But the devotional section is really messed up. It looks like layers of pages on top of each other. I looked for a feedback link in the application but I couldn't search one. I took a screenshot, but there's no where to send it. 😔 Anyway, I'm running a Samsung Galaxy S9 if this helps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Simple to use app, amazing access to messages. Please use ratings to rate the app, not Pastor Macdonald's style. His sermons are docrinally and biblically sound. He's not a yeller or a screaming man, he has a big, excited personality. Christians, please don't direct people who need Jesus away from a sound message.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    I like James Mac donaled

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    I take care of my mom she's 82 with dementia and she had tbn on I download all chrustain apps on ones I like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    5 stars I would give it more. Thank you for the app. I can't always listen to the radio ver at 6am.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Love The globe of God

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Walk in the WoodsJon Schmidt does it again with this amazingly unbelievable piano creation. It's amazing for relaxation and background music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    My sister and I love Jon Schmidt's work and this CD was extremely enjoyable to listen to. I personally love "Waterfall" and "Winter Wind" the best on this CD. It's a amazing one for anyone who's just starting with his melody and just as unbelievable to an old-time fan who wants to listen to some of his first works. His piano skills just sing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Amazing music. Either alone or with The Piano Guys, Jon Schmidt rocks. Always look forward to his music. One of my favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Can't download or listen to anything. I'm not investing cash as a change partner for no reason. please fix so i can change my rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    James McDonald's sermons are biblically sound. He addresses true issues. He can obtain loud when making his points but this shows his passion and love for Christ and how badly he wants everyone to have the same relationship with him that he does. I love being able to download a sermon and listen to it later. This week it stopped loading fresh sermons... I. Not sure why but please fix this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Excellent for downloading episodes of the radio present and listening to them without using mobile data. And the radio episodes are just the right length for my commute - gets me started off with a vertical focus every day!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    I love how God uses James McDonald to deliver his word.God bless his ministry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    I just read one of the devotions!!! Created really think of what Jesus did for me and how I'm to treat others. I love this app, but not sure why all the permissions needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Amazing resource for growing spiritually

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    God use this application to obtain to know Jim better

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Player no longer working. Can't play the everyday sermons. Other than that, Pastor James is a amazing teacher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Did not appreciate pastor McDonald preaching style at all. Why does he shout like that out of nowhere and for no amazing reason? Very distracting. Just preach God's word it is strong enough on its own. Check out grace to you, Ligonier and truth for life. Biblically sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Love Pastor James' preaching but don't have time to watch 3 "tv shows" to obtain through one sermon. I would gladly pay a monthly subscription to be able to simply watch sermons in their entirety

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Want the sermons wouldn't disappear

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Thank you i started to learn more about The Lord with your teaching the word. May The lord bless you and your family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Word [App]  2019-1-24 21:8

    Just amazing and so uplifting thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    His melody is excellently executed and refreshingly different. There are lots of pianists around and most of them are good, some are inspired, and some are monotonous. If you listen to a lot of them you know what I am talking about. But I thoroughly have fun this one. I can tell that he loves what he is doing and not just desperately trying to be another musical genius. His melody is melodic, balanced, and inspired.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Amazing relaxing and inspirational, contemporary piano music. It includes some nice background nature sounds as well. I highly recommend this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in the Woods []  2020-1-18 23:40

    Daughter loves the melody and the wife listens to it in the car,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why I Walk: Taking a Step in the Right Direction []  2019-12-24 20:11

    I am still reading this book, but love it so far. Kevin Klinkenberg place his cash where he mouth was and moved to Savannah, GA from Kansas City, MO because he desired a more walkable community. In my own little town, several of us work to obtain across how making our downtown more pedestrian and bike-friendly is amazing for the entire community. We still have a bit of sprawl, but several locations could definitely be more walkable and bikeable, linking neighborhoods with our historic downtown and other areas. We even formed a Bike-Friendly Working Group to test to become a designated bike-friendly community through the League of American Bicyclists (LAB).Kevin Klinkenberg shows the positive impacts of walkability on his own life, and it's inspiring to think that we can do the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why I Walk: Taking a Step in the Right Direction []  2019-12-24 20:11

    This is a fine ysis on the advantages of walking. The financial implications were also considered, which were very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Sky: Climbing Hidden Peak []  2020-1-23 0:40

    This exciting book tells about the difficulties of organizing an expedition, and the expedition itself. It is a well written page turner for everyone, but especially for those with an interest in adventure, and the awesome fortitude of those attempting unclimbed, sky high peaks. PH

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in a Relaxed Manner: Life Lessons from the Camino []  2020-1-21 22:51

    This is a attractive and painfully honest story about a pilgrimage to Santiago, Spain undertaken by a Catholic Sister and her priest mate in the later years of their lives. Their transparency, humor and fidelity as spiritual companions, along with their openness to existential friendships with other pilgrims they met along the way, offer inspiration and an archetypal template for anyone seeking to grow closer to God through a religious pilgrimage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in a Relaxed Manner: Life Lessons from the Camino []  2020-1-21 22:51

    Enjoyable, but superficial, book. Gave you a sense for the challenges of the Camino from a private perspective. Recommended for those who would like to obtain a feel for the trials and tribulations of the Camino.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in Jerusalem: Stations of the Cross []  2020-7-5 19:19

    I found this book an perfect tutorial in meditating each Station of the Cross. And what I love best are some historical points which gave me more knowledge of the Roman soldiers and more understanding thus making me "feel" the experience along Via Dolorosa. And the prayers said after the reflections in each Station also serve to examine oneself. I highly recommend this book for all Catholics especially for the "lukewarm".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods (Dover Nature Coloring Book) []  2020-9-23 19:8

    This is my 5th DOVER COLORING is one isn'the quite what I had hoped e pictures to color do not cover the entire page. Yes there is a discrimination of the animals on each page and all about it's life in the woods, everything you might wish to know about that particular animal on that e latest page of this coloring book has an alphabetized common name as well as scientific name of each animal in the my opinion they could have created these images larger without losing the bottom for the picture, some of the pictures are too darkened due to the detail of the picture, leaving very small left for the actual coloring.I don't feel that the younger coloring inthuseist would have fun these pages.Other DOVER COLORING BOOK givesyou much better pages to color.Hope this helps,THANKS FOR READING, BYE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Woods (Dover Nature Coloring Book) []  2020-9-23 19:8

    I got Forest Animals and A Walk in the Woods by dover nature coloring. Both are a small too darkly shaded in a few places, but nothing major.... Walk in the Woods has only the front and back covers for examples of coloring options which is the only reason 4 stars instead of 5. HOWEVER, Forest Animals has 8 extra examples on the insides of front and back cover. I'm beautiful fresh at coloring and these will be a true challenge because of the intricate detail. Having colourful pictures to support me grow is wonderful. I recommend both, but Forest Animals if you are still a bit unsure of color options.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in a Relaxed Manner: Life Lessons from the Camino []  2021-1-7 19:34

    This is a attractive and painfully honest story about a pilgrimage to Santiago, Spain undertaken by a Catholic Sister and her priest mate in the later years of their lives. Their transparency, humor and fidelity as spiritual companions, along with their openness to existential friendships with other pilgrims they met along the way, offer inspiration and an archetypal template for anyone seeking to grow closer to God through a religious pilgrimage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in a Relaxed Manner: Life Lessons from the Camino []  2021-1-7 19:34

    A Tutorial to your Inner BeingI first read `Walk in a Relaxed Manner' while staying at a Homeless Shelter. Every night I read Joyce Rupp's book, helping me sleep easier, drowning out the cries of kids and women around ter a lot of weeks I realized my walk in the homeless shelter was related to Joyce Rupp's walk on the Camino, and began to place her words into my actions. I had lost everything, including myself, but was about to gain everything I had always wanted. A closer walk with my Rupp has words that makes you feel you are there with her, seeing and feeling all she went through along the Camino. A , out of the shelter a year, I've read her book for the third time. I've found how easy it is to forget things we learn in life once in the free outside world, getting caught up in news, politics, and daily stressful living. How we forget the birds, squirrels, and nature. The beauty that surrounds us.I highly recommend this book. It helps me live beyond my thoughts, getting closer to my inner Self.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in a Relaxed Manner: Life Lessons from the Camino []  2020-1-21 22:51

    I am a Joyce Rupp fan. I'd always dreamt of doing the Camino some day, and when I saw that Joyce had done it, and written a book about it, I quickly bought it and read it.Her book gave me the courage to buy a plane ticket and go. I'm a hiker and camper. I could tell from reading her book that some of the facets of the hike- some of the albergues, some of the pilgrims, some of the food-- etc etc-- were perhaps harder for her to accept than they would be for me. I thought she gave a really honest appraisal of how things were for her, and was touched by how she eventually resolved some of those contretemps. I recently was looking at reviews of the book and was surprised to see some of the negative reviews. What I got from reading Joyce's book was an honest look at the Camino from the eyes of a middle-aged woman used to her own private space, solitude, food, level of cleanliness, etc. One does necessarily give a lot of that up when on the Camino, if you stay in the albergues! They are fabulous locations for meeting people from all over the world- but they can create you cringe if you are not used to hearing snoring at night. What I love about this book is the life lessons, her thoughts on what she found there, and what she got out of it in spite of -- and maybe even because of her discomfort.I recommend this book for mature people thinking of hiking the Camino. In 2011 I accompanied a women's group from my church from Samos to Santiago, and I asked them all to read the book-- they liked it, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk in a Relaxed Manner: Life Lessons from the Camino []  2020-1-21 22:51

    Back in the summer of 2003, I visited a former seminary roommate in Leon, Spain. I showed up a couple of days before his wedding after backpacking through Amsterdam, Paris, London, and Madrid. While strolling together through Leon, my Spanish mate remarked that people thought I was a "Pilgrim" because of my clothing and backpack. I asked him to clarify, and he replied that Leon was on the path of the Camino Pilgrimage. Thus began my interest in the topic."Walk in a Relaxed Manner" was the first book I read about the Camino. It's newly published, written by a 60-year-old nun who walked the Pilgrimage around the time I was in Leon. She hit the trail with a retired priest, and this book was born from that experience. The subtitle and theme is "Life Lessons From the Camino," and each chapter is based on a method she grew due to the Pilgrimage. For example, the book's title is shared with a chapter where Sr. Rupp describes how she learned to walk slowly and thoughtfully instead of quickly and competitively. Other chapter titles contain "Savor Solitude," "Deal with Disappointments," and "Live in the Now." Such subjects may strike some as trite. But I found it impressive that more often than not, it was the walk's difficulties that enabled her to internalize these e author writes in a clear and readable manner. She rejoices in the high points of the Pilgrimage, and is honest about the lows as well. Each lesson is presented in a thoughtful manner, and all are applicable to daily life. However, like a lot of spiritual insights perhaps some sort of defining experience is needed to truly own them. But reading about these truths may be a method to prepare the heart for their eventual actualization. Although a Catholic nun in the Servite Community, Sr. Rupp keeps things fairly eenical throughout her tale. In addition, practical tip about the Pilgrimage is sprinkled throughout the book, and a list of helpful Camino resources is included at the end. There's even an authorized www service based on Joyce Rupp's name if you wish more information about meday I'd like to do the El Camino Pilgrimage. I hope I don't have to wait until my sixties, but sometimes you have to allow things happen in their time. If I do walk it, I'll be glad if I learn and grow half as much as Sr. Rupp did. Recommended for all travelers and pilgrims.UPDATE 9/7/07: Well, I only had to wait until I was forty to do the Camino. On 7/14/07 I stepped off in St. Jean Pied-de-Port (France), and on 8/24/07 I walked into Santiago, Spain. After returning home to the US, I went through this book again. It was nice reading about familiar locations on the Way, and also to identify with the lessons Ms. Rupp writes about. Recommended even more now that I've actually done the trek.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Walk in the Sky: Climbing Hidden Peak []  2020-1-23 0:40

    It was refreshing to read a amazing story of the first ascent of Hidden Peak in 1958. This was before the Himalayas were deluged by eco-tourists and before numerous sensationalist accounts of conquest written or filmed. Here is a story of some American mountaineers scraping together an expedition to enjyoy a climb of an 8,000 meter peak. How much better can it get? Perhaps the author "sanitized" the acc since it is devoid of personality and ego conflicts. Everyone in the book is a satisfied camper: sahibs, HAPs and porters.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386