a yorkshire vet through the seasons Reviews & Opinions


Submit a yorkshire vet through the seasons review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Yorkshire Great and Small: Journey through Britain's finest county with The Yorkshire Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:7

    Fast shipping for latest min present

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Yorkshire Great and Small: Journey through Britain's finest county with The Yorkshire Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:7

    We start with an introduction to the Yorkshire Present in Harrogate, a huge agricultural happening that’s been ongoing for over 150 years. Mr. Wright mentioned Amanda Owen, The Yorkshire Shepherdess, who attended and was a guest speaker. I’m a fan of her books as well.What attracted me to the book was the setting and author being a veterinarian in the Dales. Peter Wright was a Vet trainee with Alf Wight and Donald Sinclair (James Herriot and Siegfried Farnon) something I didn’t know until I started reading this book. He also has a tv show! The Yorkshire Vet is a program I was unaware of until I read this book and yes, it seems I am living under a rock some days when I explore an old e observations and comparisons to show day and what life was like decades ago was also very interesting to me. Fishing is a pastime our author and his brother enjoyed very much. The observation that a lot of of the today’s youth don’t have that opportunity as they are living in cities and are so used to iPhone, Xboxes and that electronic distractions.I found the story about finding centuries old coins fascinating. A pair of brothers were digging up a piece of their farmland, leveling it off when they discovered a broken ceramic jug and coins. It’s a amazing story and fabulous discovery. After these old treasures were dug up they ended up in a museum. This is after a court decision. If I am ever visiting near York’s Castle Museum I will certainly wish to view the display of coins and old ch thanks to Netgalley for the advanced copy of this book. Publication date is January 17, 2020. If you have fun reading about veterinarians, Yorkshire or loved the James Herriot stories you will like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Yorkshire Great and Small: Journey through Britain's finest county with The Yorkshire Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:7

    Fans of James Herriot books will love this one by Peter Wright. I am so satisfied to have received this book as an arc from Netgalley! I love the stories about Yorkshire, England in both Herriot and Peter Wright. Such personable stories in both series. I haven't read Wright's first book, it's one I'm going to have to look for in the future. But this book was just charming. I enjoyed the tales and characters, all the nuances of every day life in Yorkshire. I look forward to vising there someday, but in the meantime, I'll read these books, as they create me feel like I am there. Lovely stories!I received a Kindle arc from Netgalley in exchange for a fair review.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on a yorkshire vet through the seasons or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch a yorkshire vet through the seasons video reviews and related movies:

    See The Yorkshire Vet Season 3 Winter on the Moors Special: Smudge's Surgery on youtube.

     related image

    See A Christmas Miracle - The Yorkshire Vet: Christmas Special on youtube.

     related image

    See The Yorkshire Vet S04 - Ep01 Episode 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Yorkshire Vet: Tuesday at 8pm on youtube.

     related image

    See The Yorkshire Vet S3 E1: Alpaca Birth on youtube.

     related image

    See The Yorkshire Vet S01 - Ep02 Episode 2 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Yorkshire Vet S3 E2 Clip: Removing Spatula on youtube.

     related image

    See The Yorkshire Vet S03 - Ep11 Winter Special on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Yorkshire Great and Small: Journey through Britain's finest county with The Yorkshire Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:7

    Received an arc from netgalley. Really enjoyed this book. You'll laugh and you'll cry. Definitely recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    If you wish to laugh, cry, thoroughly love and have fun animal stories as I do, this book is the best with which to do so. All of these books by this most magnificent English country veterinarian are extraordinary and well written. You will enter the globe of this marvelous author in his private and professional life. You will experience all the animals he treats, cures and helps in every method possible and you will sublet a room in your heart to him and his family and mates without reservation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    All Things Bright and BeautifulI just finished it. I hadn't read it in years and wanted to read it again, so back to Amazon to order it. I search myself laughing out loud with some of the antics of James Hariott, and the a lot of animals and people he knew. I have 2 of his books and would like to obtain the rest. He was a talented writer and as a vet wished I had met him. If you are looking for a delightful book to read order this. If you never read anything by him, order this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    I have always loved James Herriot's books and especially have fun the unabridged recordings for long-distance traveling. With a amazing book in the CD player the miles roll past. Herriot's unbelievable writing style is both soothing and stimulating, and Christopher Timothy's recordings have become the standard I expect. I was very glad to be able to purchase this since my library has stopped carrying a lot of of its audio books in favor of MP3 downloads or Kindle books. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    Loved the book as much as the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    We listened to this book on a trip and wanted to hold driving so it wouldn't end! It was a collection of Mr. Herriot's adventures as a country vet in England, and was so delightfully written. Having lived with the different ailments of huge animals, the occasional realistic descriptions of ailments did not bother us. Someone not accustomed to huge animals and their care, might search it too descriptive. We enjoyed the book immensely and hope to hear them all!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    Unbelievable stories. I wish to go back in time to this village and obtain some cows. I would love to sit and have tea with Jim. I have read all of the books. If you are nostalgic for the amazing old days, you have to read these.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    Attractive book, and attractive story!! Amazing life lessons told in the most casual and fun way!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-11 20:10

    Love his storytelling!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    James Herriot is a master of the pen. He twists and blends the stories into a unbelievable long journey for the reader. His descriptions are hilarious and he truly knows how to hold the reader wanting more. Set in the thirties, you see a glimpse of just how primitive medicine was back then. With a mix of cattle, cats, pigs, dogs and sheep as regular patients, he has also included the owners with amazing depth. His boss, Seigfrid Farnon, the book just comes alive. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, even more so because of the fond memories from the old television series. Just love Herriot`s style and humour, THE VET book for others to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    In this particular edition, the print is extremely small, so little that I ended up purchasing the kindle edition in order to read it without getting a headache. I would give this edition one star, but I can't stand to cast any aspersion on anything so unbelievable as James Herriot's writing. I would highly recommend getting a various edition of this attractive book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    If I could have given seven stars, I would have given seven stars.I first read this book some twenty years ago. Since then I must have read it at least 3-4 times. Recently I purchased the Kindle edition of this book and once again I lost myself in the 1930s life of a Yorkshire country vet. To say that I thoroughly enjoyed it is an understatement.I suspect James Herriot ( a pseudonym) was first a born story teller and then a vet. His felicity with words is simply amazing. Stories happen around everybody but spotting them and then telling them in a compelling manner is an art mastered by few and James Herriot is at the top of the list. I won't describe the stories here. Buy the book and read them. You won't regret your expense.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    I remember the first time that I read the stories of James Herriot. Still at high school, and not having a amazing time of it, these books took me away to a much happier time in history to a life that I have always wanted to e stories have stood the try of time and are as vibrant as lively as they were forty years ago!Easy to read and painting a clear picture of life in rural England before Globe Battle 2, I can't recommend this book enough to anyone who has a love of animals, an interest in true life history and a desire to be reminded that there was a time when life was a lot nicer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    One of the greater series of books ever written. Begin with this one and you’ll never stop reading Herriot until you have no more to read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    I read this book more years ago than I can even remember and enjoyed it just as much now as I did then. It has to be one of the best books ever written if you are looking for a gentle heart-warming read. To me it is just so nice to read a story that is so down to earth and about true people

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    I love the James Herriot books. They are such delightful, feel amazing stories & created an simple enjoyable read. He loved his work, the people, the animals & esp the countryside which he marveled at continuously. He writes so vividly you can see it & why he loves it so. He gets himself into situations anyone, esp anyone in the healthcare profession, will be able to relate to. I got this as a Christmas bonus for a mate who read one of mine & loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    I first came across this series of novels back in the 1970s and, despite being an avid fan of the TV series, this was first time I have revisited the novels since my first reading. Suffice to say, I was not disappointed with these unbelievable stories of a young James Herriot, his partner Siegfried Farnon and his amiable but mischievous brother, Tristan. A pure delight to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    As far as my family is concerned, James Herriot is one of the very best authors ever, and his books among the most enjoyable. This one is no exception. The fact that the stories are real add much to the books. But what conquers our hearts of readers is the human spirit behind the stories: his devoted live for animals, his kindness, his humility. Unsurpassed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Creatures Great and Small: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-16 16:48

    Stories of my favorite vet can be read over and over- I love introducing him to people who haven't read these unbelievable stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    I had just completed reading this well written and compassionate book. This is the latest book written by Alf Wight. I have read most of James Herriot's books and even though they were written a lot of years ago when veterinary surgery was in the midst of undergoing changes as modern drugs become available and the vet's knowledge of palpating his/her animal patients still remains a vital part of veterinary practice to this day. This final book is an perfect read and each chapter is a complete story in itself. One can place the book down and return to it without the chapter ending on a cliff hanger. Each chapter is a gem in itself. James (to use his pseudonym) illustrates amazing compassion for his clients and their pets. His understanding and dealing with distressed pet owners and their ailing pets is a common denominator in every chapter of this book. Not only does he have wonderful patience in dealing with distraught animal owners, he illustrates his love and devotion to his patients under his care. He pays house calls to follow the progress of his patients under his care without even being called in. In his later years, he became more involved in little animal care, while his practice also involved treating huge farm animals such as horses, cows, pigs and sheep. James Herriot books are ageless and one can have fun them even a lot of years after they were written. The anecdotes in each chapter create for interesting reading and the fact that he writes in the first person gives the reader the feeling that the writer is talking to the reader and sharing his emotions with him/her. I recommend this book to all those who share a amazing love for animals and their well-being as well as for those who share a common humanity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    It is in amazing working order and it is very enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    This was also a very amazing book, I have read all his other books, they are the best. The only one I have not read was his son's . They always create you smile and laugh, this for a change was not a cry one. The story was more on the surface of him getting older and getting additional support , his kids and always his farmers and all the animals. In this day and age everyone needs books like this , it shows the pure innocents and kindness that seems to be missing in this globe . James Herriot was one of the best people on this earth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    one of my favorites

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    The end of the series is always a small sad. There's sadness in this one, of course, but it's well is one has several sad or bittersweet cat stories, which always obtain me - torn between the dying old man who wanted his cat and the adopted stray who dies just as some progress is being created as to which got me more (especially his companion who kept looking for him) - but it's clear from reading his work that the writer understood not only cats, but cat is one is particularly amazing for the younger vets coming through the practice, including the vet with t'badger.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    Perfect author is James Herriot! Easy, relaxing read. When I enter one of Mr. Herriot's books I feel like I've entered the wardrobe in the "Narnia" stories. He opens the door and escorts you into a much more lovely globe though in Yorkshire where he was so privileged to have practiced veterinary medicine. His experiences with animals and people that he shares will have you laughing, crying and learning a lot of things that were fascinating to me about the beginnings of veterinary practice as we know it today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    The worst thing about reading Every Living Thing was coming to the end of it. This is a excellent book for anyone stressed by their work, the politics and news of the day, or any other cause. The latest book of the "All Monsters Amazing and Small" series, it contains stories of a veterinarian's life after Globe Battle II and into the 1960s. Sometimes humorous, sometimes poignant, always interesting, the book is a series of sketches of a method of rural life that no longer exists; slower than today, filled with hard work and few luxuries. I heartily recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-23 2:9

    I have enjoyed this series some years ago. Long enough that most of it was new and fresh again. On several occasions the writings brought tears to my eyes. I ran a cattle farm for about ten years, and a lot of of the things James went through were very familiar to me. Calving time and dealing with scoures. Prolapse uterus was the worst. But the end, with the [email protected]#$%! home the hardest. Over the years, we have had several stray kittens adopt us. One retained her desire for the wild and got away from time to time. The latest escape she was the for weeks and never recovered after that trip and only lasted about three more weeks. The loss of a fur baby is a loss of a family member.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: All Creatures Great and Small Book 5: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 22:5

    Unbelievable as always, I have read the majority of this brilliant writer and his life as a vet in some of the most demanding conditions one could imagine. The subtle humour he adds to his stories are just hilarious and I have never been disappointed with any of his numerous books I have read.If you haven't ever read one of his books, do yourself a favour and you will search that you can picture yourself there with him in the freezing stables in the middle of the night trying to support a cow give birth, and a lot of other stories, some sad, but most just wonderfully human if that create sense.He paints a attractive scenery of the attractive green, mountainous land, it is writing at it's best.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Every Living Thing: All Creatures Great and Small Book 5: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 22:5

    As his son said, his books are more about people than they are about animals, as such are touching, humorous and thoughtful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    If you wish to laugh, cry, thoroughly love and have fun animal stories as I do, this book is the best with which to do so. All of these books by this most magnificent English country veterinarian are extraordinary and well written. You will enter the globe of this marvelous author in his private and professional life. You will experience all the animals he treats, cures and helps in every method possible and you will sublet a room in your heart to him and his family and mates without reservation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    All Things Bright and BeautifulI just finished it. I hadn't read it in years and wanted to read it again, so back to Amazon to order it. I search myself laughing out loud with some of the antics of James Hariott, and the a lot of animals and people he knew. I have 2 of his books and would like to obtain the rest. He was a talented writer and as a vet wished I had met him. If you are looking for a delightful book to read order this. If you never read anything by him, order this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    I have always loved James Herriot's books and especially have fun the unabridged recordings for long-distance traveling. With a amazing book in the CD player the miles roll past. Herriot's unbelievable writing style is both soothing and stimulating, and Christopher Timothy's recordings have become the standard I expect. I was very glad to be able to purchase this since my library has stopped carrying a lot of of its audio books in favor of MP3 downloads or Kindle books. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    Loved the book as much as the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    We listened to this book on a trip and wanted to hold driving so it wouldn't end! It was a collection of Mr. Herriot's adventures as a country vet in England, and was so delightfully written. Having lived with the different ailments of huge animals, the occasional realistic descriptions of ailments did not bother us. Someone not accustomed to huge animals and their care, might search it too descriptive. We enjoyed the book immensely and hope to hear them all!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    Unbelievable stories. I wish to go back in time to this village and obtain some cows. I would love to sit and have tea with Jim. I have read all of the books. If you are nostalgic for the amazing old days, you have to read these.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    Attractive book, and attractive story!! Amazing life lessons told in the most casual and fun way!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Bright and Beautiful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 2: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-15 23:26

    Love his storytelling!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    Wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    Simply the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    masterful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    very nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    5 Star

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    This is everything you expect from a Herriot book. I think this one has been the best of the three, partly because I enjoyed the mix of Yorkshire memories with RAF memories. This one definitely has the largest tear-jerker for cat people with the story about a feral cat named Debbie (which has a bittersweet, hopeful ending that still makes me cry thinking about it), balanced with the story of Oscar, the cat who liked to go to ere was one story that I thought I had already read, but it may have been in one of the previews.I also enjoyed him finally having a gotcha moment or two, instead of always being the victim of them.Well worth getting, especially if Amazon is running a deal on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    The only difference between this book and Herriot's others is that he has to cover more ground. He's flitting back and forth between his Globe Battle II experiences in the RAF and more of his experiences in the Yorkshire countryside with his beloved farm animals and some domestic animals. This created for a very complete autobiography. I found the story of his first solo flight to be very interesting. I think that there seem to be more people stories in this one than in the others, and some of them are sad, poignant stories.I think I have become addicted to Herriot's style of writing in his other books where he will provide us with stories of his day-to-day experiences with the animals and their owners. The result is more immediate--he tells how the phone awakens him in the night and every detail of what happens when he reaches the side of the animal who is in labor or in pain or distress of some sort. Never what you would call a real animal lover, I have found that these stories place me in another place--they create me feel compassion for the animals (and their owners). Whereas, in this book he will tell rather typical military stories and then write that he is reminded of the time when he had to go out to a farm and nurse a certain animal back to health. We still obtain a lot of of the stories which we have learned to crave from our warm and compassionate veterinarian, but the result isn't as focused. It's still a very amazing book, but I will say that there were times when his people stories, whether military or civilian, dragged a small for me. I'd search myself eager to return to his animal world. This is where he shines--when describing both the farm animals and the domestic animals whom he treated and, in a lot of cases, learned to love.I'm very glad that I read this book. I learned more about his multi-faceted life (it was amazing to obtain to know his wife better too). I highly recommend the book. Who knew that I, a 66-year-old lady who has kept her distance from animals her whole life, would become so addicted to Herriot's charming animal stories. In a method they read like a series of short mystery stories. The reader, instead of trying to figure out the perpetrator of a crime, is trying to figure out with Herriot, the cause of an animal's health problem. His books create for fascinating reading, and I'm proof that one doesn't have to be a lifelong animal lover to love these books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Things Wise and Wonderful: All Creatures Great and Small Book 3: The Classic Memoirs of a Yorkshire Country Vet review []  2020-1-22 20:35

    I will forever have a soft spot in my heart for all things Herriot. I read the children’s books to my kids over and over again and we have visited the city of Thirsk in Yorkshire and the James Herriot Museum, which we is book however, has been my least favorite so far. Don’t obtain me wrong. I still liked it very much, just not nearly as much as the others that I’ve read. I didn’t particularly care for the begin of each chapter with the RAF/WWII anecdotes. If it had been just battle stories, I would have been fine with it. But then it would go off in a clumsy sort of method to his pre-war vet days and that was a bit distracting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Seasons review [App]  2019-3-20 13:37

    When does Spring arrive - I'm over this cold Winter. SEASONS appealed to me because I have a outré fixation with time and calendars. On a whim, I might find to determine the day of the week on which my birthday will fall, say in 2047. And I always use my chronograph watch to measure any number of seemingly puerile events. One of my foibles is the need to know - at a moments message - precise info regarding the Summer Solstice and it's antithesis, the Winter Solstice. This quirk extends to a necessity in having precise knowledge of the Vernal Equinox and the Autumnal Equinox. The SEASONS Application provides this info on the next cyclical happenings showing the day and date (yes, I know the date is static), and monitors each occurrence with a countdown of the exact days, hours, mins and seconds remaining so as to anticipate this forthcoming date. I will have to say that this is a niche App. For me, a mere 99 cents is a pittance - just a tap on my screen and I know when to expect longer daylight hours. The developer notes that this is a phone Application - it looks amazing on a phone, not so much on a larger smartphone screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    I absolutely enjoyed this book. I created the mistake of starting it at my daughter's swim meet. And I promptly missed her swimming because I was so caught up in the book. The chapter titles alone created me giggle. The antics of Megan and her family certainly lived up to each title. I've read other reviews that said it was a fresh take on Pride and Prejudice. If so, maybe my junior year English teacher will finally obtain that book report. I could NEVER obtain into that book. I tried. But this? Sucked me in with the first chapter and I didn't stop until I finished the book, less than 24 hours later. If you're looking for a lighthearted fun read, this is it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    I truly enjoyed this book. Megan was a hoot and, as the original P&P has always been one of my favorite reads, it was such fun trying to figure out who was the current counterpart to the original. Also, having lived in Dallas since 1997 and spending near 2 decades being a club soccer mom, the setting was very near to my special to see the juxtaposition of soccer and debutantes! I know the Dallas soccer globe intimately but found the entire deb stage to be of amazing interest as I have never ‘been there, done that’, - I can easily imagine such being true. When I first moved to the Huge D I was told my hair was not pouffy enough and that ladies dressed (hair, create up, outfits - the whole 9 yards) to go to the grocery mour has it that SMU (Southern Methodist University) is one of the top choices for college of this set. I have heard that a woman attending and wanting to be part of the social stage had better be wealthy as they lunch at top restaurants in the neighborhood near daily…. And yes, the $$$$ spent on clothing is outrageous. Dallas abounds with consignment stores selling gowns that have been worn 1x by these women, but there is an increasing frequency of holding auctions of these gowns to raise extra funds for ck to the book, some of the unique scenes I loved were of Megan and Ann. I truly enjoyed Ann and how she and Megan came together over the course of their interactions. It seemed to me that a true turning point for Megan was when she was washing the exquisite china that Anne used to serve tea, and Megan suddenly saw how precious and fragile the pieces were. I feel as though Megan became a woman that day. I also loved that Anne attended Megan’s soccer android game – the 2 worlds saw insight into each other’s spheres and came out the better for e only thing I regret is that The Season was not longer. I would have loved more dialogue between Megan and Anne, and Megan and Andrew – some more extended verbal sparring would have been fun as the characters developed over the happenings at hand, as well as growing insight into their increasing affection and respect for each other. The uncovering & resolution of Hank’s underhandedness seemed a tad rushed to me, and minimized the suspense and magnitude of social ruin faced by the family. Nevertheless, I was sorry when I finished the book, - I wanted more and am now hoping for a sequel!!PS One item about the soccer world: in high school at least, the parents are as intimately involved as the players for Club Soccer. It is a family undertaking, with moms & dads shouldering much of the work for travel and competition logistics, as well as the entire uniform ordering process. Practice is 4-5x per week, with android games virtually every weekend. The soccer season starts in June with tryouts for squads (players do not necessarily stay with 1 squad every year), and then in August with tryouts for competitive divisions. That means players are practicing in 100+ degree heat all summer, 2x per day. Once the season starts, every weekend is consumed with games. The season goes until May. Most competitive players also play high school soccer as well. Over the holidays there are street trips to compete versus squads in other states. Your life is controlled by the soccer schedule! This being said, college soccer is equally intense from what I have heard, and for Megan to test to handle both soccer and deb commitments is truly impressive if not an act of folly for a normal human!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    I love any story what follows the Pride and Prejudice theme. And although, this one stayed real and didn't have any detailed sex scenes, it did have powerful language and a lot of references to sex. They are not needed, to write a amazing story. I'm sorry the author felt compelled to create the heroin foul mouthed with multiple sexual partners. Without them, it would have been 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    The story line was the same as Pride and Prejudice, just in show day Dallas. There were also some scenes that were so over the top they were unbelievable. I also felt that this book was not appropriate for teen readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    One of the funniest books I have read in a long time. Loved the main character, she had me laughing at the situations she got herself in. It's refreshing to read about sisters without deep dark emotional problems. These two really had each other's backs. It created me glad I never had to go through a debut.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    I enjoyed 'The Season', it was a fun read. I didn't know anything about Texas debutantes, but now I feel like I do. The prose flows right along, the descriptions of the ranch and the debutante parties are moving and feel true. The dialogue is crisp, and right when I wanted to place the book down, something unexpected but nicely foreshadowed would happen, so I ended up reading it all at one go. I also thought, if I was a Texas debutante, this would be an perfect book to read for amazing information, because being a debutante turns out not to be Crawford author of DoublejackDoublejack (Ilya Book 1)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Really loved this book. Has a classic style and form, but set in modern day Dallas. Amazing summer read for everyone and recommend for tweens, teens and college. Story of Megan who doesn't like to be judged on her outward appearance and actions, yet she is fast to judge others. She learns not to judge so quickly and how to present the globe who she really is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    I was surprised by how much I loved this book! It’s fresh, funny and engaging. A couple of nights I stayed up method later than I should have because I didn’t wish to stop reading. I’d describe it as kind of a “fish-out-of-water” story of a young Texas woman who gets sucked into the debutante whirlwind versus her will. It’s got some amazing descriptions of over-the-top Texas society, but the characters are sympathetic. It’s edgier than you might expect from the cover.I really liked the relationship between Megan and her sister, especially the fact that they loved and supported each other and weren’t rivals. And I liked the bits of diversity sprinkled throughout including a closeted lesbian debutante and Latino ranch hands.I’d recommend this book to older teens, but probably not tweens. There’s underage drinking, mild sex and some cursing. As an adult, I loved it. I’ve already bought a copy for a friend. Anyone who enjoys fun, light romantic books with powerful female characters and small edge will really like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Just finished, "The Season", written by Jonah Lisa and Stephen Dyer. Loved every min of it. "Pride and Prejudice" is one of my all time favorite books and it was so much fun being drawn into this 2106 Texas version. I have too a lot of parts that I enjoyed to name any one. You all just need to read it. It is categorized a young adult book but I am far, far past a young adult and loved it.I am now going to LOAN it to my grand daughter!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Season review []  2019-12-26 19:1

    I enjoyed this title very much. Kind of a rebel-within-the-Cotillion story. Fun and enlightening.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    I know this is a repeat comment ...but what can I say Rhema is unbelievable and want I could search out what she is doing in 2013. Cant search anything about her since her latest album.I first discovered Rhema on YouTube by accident and lover her voice and her story. I downloaded all the YouTube videos with all her songs as I could obtain and watch them a lot. When I saw that Amazon had her MP3s I had to have them all. I love this girls voice. She has gotten to my heart and I only want she knew how much she has created me feel better about a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    I've purchased 3 of Rhema's albums & as I've said each time, she's 5-star talent that I give 4 stars simply because her melody isn't mainstream...yet it is GREAT music!!! Rhema was blessed with such WONDERFUL voice!!! Listen to the samples & you will wish to buy!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    I have fun the album although there are only eight songs and two of them are the same. The album is not very well organized but her talent more than makes up for that shortcoming."A Note To God" is a moving piece, sang with both passion and reverence. That alone is worth the price of the album.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    Love this music, Attractive voice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    I can't say or obtain enough of her music.. she's got it..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    There is no method to listen to this young lady, and not realize there is a God. A natural talent that will only improve. And a Texas girl to boot! What's not to love.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    Amazing voice for a 7 year old.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    I bought All Seasons and Believe by Rhema Marvanne. She has the most attractive voice for such a young girl. It is so relaxing and beautiful. It brings tears to my eyes. I would recommend it to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    Attractive voice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Seasons review []  2020-1-17 5:29

    This small girl with the HUGE voice is amazing!!. A delightful small CD that warms my heart everytime I see her picture. I don't know who coaches her or care, but she is a amazing talent. Nice CD

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    Starting a diet like AIP is very overwhelming because there are so a lot of rules and you don't know what you can have or not have. Paleo Powder has created it so simple to season food. It is also helpful for my husband who is not AIP he knows he can season meats with salt and Paleo Powder and we don't have to worry about it being compliant.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    I use this a lot. It’s delicious and elimination scene compliant. No headaches. No skin reactions. No GI issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    I bought the Organic AIP ver of this seasoning. I found cooking the AIP method to be very overwhelming and time consuming, so I looked for easy ways to create it easier. Can you create all purpose seasoning yourself? Of course you can. Yet if you are like me and just required to have some part of this diet to be simple, this is one method to create it easier on yourself. I tried several AIP all purpose seasonings while I was doing the diet and this was my favorite. I even bought a second bottle because my family who didn't follow the diet would actually eat meal with this seasoning without complaint and would comment about whatever I seasoned it with create the meal taste good. If you know anything about the AIP diet, if you can obtain compliments from folks not following this super restrictive diet, then you know it's a win!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    Our family has enjoyed flavoring meals with a dash of the Paleo Powder FODMAP seasoning mix. It's rather pricey, though. Please see the images I've added which present the ingredients. The purple label product is the only one created by this company that includes no onion or garlic. All of the other seasonings they manufacture do include those ingredients.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    Since my DR place me in the low fodmap diet I have been really struggling finding flavor! This was so amazing on chicken! I was so satisfied to finally obtain some flavor. Very happy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    LOVE these spices! First created the purchase because i was doing Whole 30. But now will be a staple in my kitchen! We use them more often than I thought, almost every meal! Awesome flavor, bold but not overpowering. I like that when I cook now, I just pick one and only use that. I don't have to follow a recipe or guess what spices taste amazing together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    This Paleo spice is awesome. We use it on EVERYTHING. Truly. From Meats to Salads, even created a delicious Coconut/Almond Milk sauce with this as the seasoning over my Paleo h my husband and I are sensitive to spices and even tomato. Their seems to be no or very low acidity in this spice as compared to others on the market. Plus no sugar. We love it and use it freely with no ank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    Hi! First, all the belly achers whining about this not being AIP compliant due to FODMAP issues, there's no claim of that for THIS product. If you didn't read the ingredients, that's on YOU! Grow up! I've been Paleo for 3.5 years, so I'm all worn in with making my own marinades, dry rubs, condiments, etc., like an old pair of riding boots. This spice is wonderful!! I just had it on grilled salmon and hooooly yummy, Batman! It's not at all salty and has a nice tip of low heat. Delicious!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    I had ordered the Paleo Seasoning before and loved it, so I ordered it again along with several other items. All the other stuff were included in the two boxes delivered today. There was no packing slip; the item pictured was in one of the boxes, but I never ordered it. I really do like the AIP Paleo Seasoning and I'm hoping this can be rectified. I didn't see any other method to notify anyone. Please advise me if there is. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paleo Powder All Purpose Salt Free Herb Seasoning. The Original Paleo Salt-Free Seasoning Great for all Paleo Diets! Certified Keto Food, Paleo Whole 30, AIP Food, Gluten Free Seasoning. review []  2020-1-18 1:4

    are generous with the product. The first time we used it (on pork), it smelled amazing but had no taste. It was flat and required additional seasoning at the table. The second time we used it we were much more generous with it and the taste was comparable to what your nose found appealing. However, as I was using the seasoning, I noticed that the salt came out a whole lot faster than the leafy herbs, and it was not consistent. In other words, sometimes a lot of salt and few herbs and then visa versa. This might be remedied by changing the grind of the ingredients to the same size, i.e. smaller for the herbs and/or larger for the salt. It needs fine tuning. But still, overall it is a amazing product and has amazing flavor if you use a fairly massive hand when applying it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    Mixed feelings on this one. ON the one hand, the writing was good, I thought the concept and plot weirdly worked (despite shoving together half a million tropes) and I overall really liked the characters.What I didn't love was the under-negotiated kink (the surprise breath-play in the corn maze without ever having discussed it was really not cool), and something about Rob's interactions with Matty sometimes rubbed me the wrong way. I can't really place my finger on it, but he felt kind of hypocritical sometimes, and I really didn't love the method the kink developed between them. The kink itself was fine, but they never really talked about it before engaging, and it seemed to sort of come out of nowhere. I also thought it was completely unrealistic for somebody as flamboyant as Matty to experience zero negativity in a rural little city in Montana. I actually don't like to read about a lot of homophobia, so I wasn't upset, exactly, but it did feel ill not totally sure about my thoughts here, but it was a decent enough read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    If you're watching the Olympics, wondering what groundwork is laid to execute those exquisite skating routines, Leta Blake's "Training Season" gives us the very low down. Without being sentimental about the sport, she depicts one man's journey through soaring highs and excruciating book one of the Training Season series, Matty Marcus, on the mend from a poor Olympic performance and subsequent injury, is sponsored for six months by wealthy benefactors in exchange for house-sitting and caring for their two horses in Montana. Determined to exercise back into shape, in order to woo the best Olympic coach, Matty never expects to search love.Rancher Rob Lovely, a self-proclaimed "simple man," can't believe he has attracted the attractive make-up-wearing, glittery Matty. Rob is equally attracted to Matty's capacity to give his all in every endeavor. Besides, Matty is very kind to Rob's son, Ben, an amateur skater, which Rob sees as the real try of tty is the type of man who says, "'I didn't mean to shout like that. It wasn't very ladylike of me."' Unfortunately, Matty's flamboyance has created him the target of eir scorn has bitten deeply into his self-respect, but he's not about to give in. Instead, he's so over-controlled, from cleaning to meal intake, that it's a relief when Rob tells him, "'I'll take care of you. Allow me decide what you need.'" The men's chemistry, Matty's submission and Rob's calm, healing dominance are portrayed more tenderly than most traditional r example, when Rob restrains Matty, he does so by swaddling him in a blanket. Readers know this is the first time Matty has allowed anyone to protect him.But, as Matty explains, he already has a boyfriend. "'It's a beautiful intense relationship… His name is Figure Skating.'" As a reader I felt as trapped as this couple, too in love with them to stop reading, yet anticipating Rob's pain, when Matty's first love will call him back.Leta helps readers tolerate topics like planned meal deprivation with humor and truth. On the one hand, Rob tells Matty, "'Unlike scent, which finds your nose without any effort on your part, you must use this ingenious utensil to bring the soup to your mouth in order to taste it.'"On the other hand, though Matty thinks, "It was so amazing he wanted to fill a bathtub with it and obtain a straw," he resists. Blake explains, "Any time he ate anything off his diet, he felt guilty. Like he was letting not only himself down, but other people, too, because if he didn't skate well, they suffered. Not just his immediate family, but his friends, his coaches-everyone he knew." How can one human survive such pressure?Matty must face tough truths. "'You can't victory if you're not willing to lose, Matty,'" he tells himself, recalling what Rob had said to him. "'Remember that you're brave enough to hurt. Don't allow yourself give less than you're capable of giving.'"And while Rob may seem to be rescuing Matty, with his calm demeanor, if Matty always gives his best, can Rob do less?Written in four parts, "Training Season" covers all its elements to perfection. We feel drawn into the men's dilemma's, believe in the ways their personalities push past safety boundaries, laugh at their antics, and sob at their failures.Ultimately Matty Marcus is much like Leta Blake, herself, putting her all into this book, letting us soar, flipping our tummies and twisting our hearts as she paints courage in a lot of colors, each person depicting his or her dignity in various ways."Training Season" is an perfect complement to the Olympic games, and was a 2014 Goodreads Nominee for Best Book of the Year, Best BDSM, Best Athletes/Coaches, Best Kink/Fetish and Best Cover Art, give it a read and search out why.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    This book was picked for me to read in a Pick it for me challenge. This was a beautiful amazing book. Matty Marcus is willing to sacrifice everything for his Olympic dream, but his lack of discipline cost him the gold once before. Now the pressure’s on. He needs a coach who can hold him in line, but top coaches don't come cheap, and Matty can't afford to stay in the android game no matter how badly he wants to win. When he gets a housesitting job he goes to rural Montana where the people are nice to him. Rob Lovely who is a hot sexy cowboy and when these two hook up it is hot. Rob shows Matty how powerful he can be when he relinquishes control in the bedroom and by giving up that control it gives him the confidence that he needs. Ice skating is one of my favorite winter Olympic sports to watch and it was nice to read about a skaters drive. I have read this author before. The BDSM scenes were amazing and the kinks although they are something that I personally like they were written really well breath play and medical. This book was written well with no errors in grammar or spelling. I am looking forward to reading book two in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    When I finished reading this book, I was in a bit of a haze. I turned off my kindle and I found myself quietly going about doing little things around my apartment, slightly distracting, nothing too terribly taxing. I realized I was trying to process, even separate myself from the emotional ride I had just survived. Emotional distance. We all do it. I don’t know the latest time I’d done that in reaction to a book. Not that I could think much of anything, at least nothing more challenging than washing my face or putting dishes away. What follows is my attempt to test and explain how this happened, without giving too much away. I was not at all expecting what I got in this story. I really didn’t have a lot of at all. I test not to when I’m starting one, except for the general hope that I like the book as I’m reading it and still do when I’m finished. This one fits this bill and so much more. This started out with pleasant introductions to characters and settings. Matty as a hero allowed me to see early on the humor and depth of knowledge this author has of these people she’s created. The glimpses of Matty’s family and best mate are included in this. Matty is sarcastic, caring, confident – cocky even – when it comes to his skating (at least he was before the situation he finds himself in at the begin of this) and is usually fast to realize his verbal mistakes when they collide with others’ feelings. He’s just not always fast enough to stop from making those mistakes. Then we meet Rob, a seeming opposite to Matty in a lot of ways, but none of them are screamed from mountaintops with neon colourful signs. Rob is strong, also has a amazing sense of humor, is caring, smart and dealing with his own crossroads of sorts in his life. We slowly begin to search out that he is what Matty needs and wants out of life, and Matty is the same for Rob. This one snuck up on me. And like Matty, I was fast to realize it’d done so. Between the ease with which Ms Blake handles language and her use of that ease to bring such an emotionally honest and bare, nowhere to hide story, I had no chance. I felt the surprise and uncertainty of these characters. I sank into the heat and security. I allow the richness and progress glide and ripple over my heart. Even now, I still struggle for the words. There was a first for me with a stage in this book. It was one of the most intimate, revealing, loving and truthful parts of a love stage I’ve ever experienced. Just like any treasured first, I don’t wish to allow it go, to disappear. Even though I know I can never experience it again as a first, I know that the next time I read this story, it will still whisper to me unlike any other. There is pain in this book. Both Matty and Rob arrive at the begin of this story coming from locations of pain. There is pain they share, willingly. There is pain that seems insurmountable. All of it important to the story. No cheap shots. I could talk about the structure, the method time is handled, but I wish that to be yours. I could talk about the mates and family of Matty and Rob, but I wish you to meet them for yourselves. I could talk about meal and sex and skating and cooking, but I wish you to have those things to explore for yourselves. I think I could come back to this review every day and easily search something to add, something to highlight, something that popped into my heart that day and created me say ‘Oh, yeah!’ and smile at the memory. Bottom line: this is a piece of fiction that will be around years from now, still being read, still causing emotional exclamations and snorts of delight. For me, this is going on that same list with Jane Eyre, The Godfather, Into This River I Drown, From Russia With Love, Lonesome Dove, Unique Forces, North and South – not as hyperbole but as those books that have and will become a permanent part of me. These all include characters that have become as much a part of me as my own DNA. Yep, I think I’m still in a haze. There aren’t too a lot of guarantees in life, we all know that, but I think I can come beautiful damn close in saying you’ll be changed for having read this story. I feel like I haven’t said enough and this book deserves every positive word that can be said about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    Training Season is the first book in the Training Season series by author Leta Blake. I liked this book. It has humor, love, BDSM, and memorable characters.I loved Matty. He is bratty, sassy, adventurous, and so much more. He is a figure skater who is trying to obtain on the Olympics team. He is determined that the injury that almost took him out of skating forever will not hold him off the team. He is working on his focus and b is a handsome young rancher. He teaches him that being himself is okay. Gives him strength, love, and freedom. Rob gets those bonuses in return from Matty as well.I found the BDSM in this book just built the trust and love with the characters that much more. There is some amazing humor in this story too.I love this story and cannot wait for more from this brand-new series. Five Shooting Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    This erotic romance surprised me in several ways. I was delighted with the author's style. The writing is accomplished. She rarely falls into the trap of repetition, which is difficult with instant attraction sexcapades. The characters are given enough time for this attraction to go deep. The inevitable separation is hell. I knew it would be bad, and she held nothing back. What Rob teaches Matty helps, but it is still e author did her research. I lived in Montana for eleven years. Went to college in Missoula, visited Whitefish, and was also amazed at Flathead Lake. There's more to living in the Rockies, but she catches the romance of it, and the people Matty meet were realistic; curious, sometimes snide, and often clueless about someone so very out.We are only following Matty's point of view, so the twists and changes [email protected]#$%! hard. If you are averse to kinky sex because you don't obtain why anyone would wish that, you may search you learn a few things about the whys. I confess, one or two points of private growth through kink escaped me, probably because I saw where Matty had to go. Not the writer's fault necessarily, mine certainly. She didn't spell everything out because Matty doesn't necessarily understand it until later.I also followed Olympic figure skating in the past, and that part of this story rang too true. Painfully sum up: the writer used her research to amazing effect, writes very well, and tells a compelling story that is neither easy nor shallow. There is a lot of pain, but it serves the story perfectly. And how Matty's actions affect Rob. Damn. I mean, I knew, but I didn't understand, and that is the beauty of single point-of-view stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    I heard about this story long before I read it but I was unfamiliar with the author. When I finally read it I was so so glad that I did. The chemistry, the realness and believability of both the story and the characters certainly captured my attention. I'm a sucker for an age-gap story and especially one where the main characters have entirely various backgrounds.An unlikely romance, this story had everything needed of stellar romantic fiction. there were believable characters who, although not perfect, (no one is) were entirely likable/loveable. I wanted them to both victory and somehow have their wishes come eir initial connection occurred early in the story and there were so a lot of barriers to their relationship. Olympic figure skaters don't live in Montana. The passion was breathtaking and I was terrified that there wouldn't be an HEA! Deep sigh of relief.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    It was so gaspingly beautiful, and so heartbreaking and hard to read at some times. It didn't leave anything out from the joy and love and self discovery and win to intense pain and heartbreak and failure. It sometimes even damage my chest and stomach and created me cry. I absolutely loved how true Matty and Rob were, and how they knew each other on the deepest levels and gave the other what the other most needed. It was a very original story, and a very true story, with a lot of human ugliness and human beauty in it. I feel a bit like I need to detox from it before starting a fresh story because it was that moving. It didn't chop anything out, and was a long book because it explained each scene for Matty, not skimping on any scenes, details, or hero tty and Rob were honestly two halves who required to be created whole, but required to follow their dreams more. It took a long time to read because of its length and density, but I completely binged on it, and I feel a small crazy right now. All the passion in this book just place me off balance. I read it with a soundtrack from Spotify and the story just felt so real. Like these characters were out in our true globe with their incredible, intense love. I also loved how neither they nor their connection dimmed, and how in Part 3, especially, it got so hard to read, but it was worth the pain to obtain to Part 4 and the conclusion. I was really looking for a book that didn't just give away the satisfied ending easily, and this book delivered beyond my nically, the book was flawless, which is just the icing on the cake. A lot of pages and little print. No (or very few?) grammatical errors, which I typically can easily pick out, and which place a damper on the story for me, but if there were any in this book, I managed to forget them because of the intensity of the story.God...the story was just so achingly attractive and ragged...stunning. And I could rant on and on because this is one of my favorites of all time for sure. I guarantee I will eventually reread it, and buy it if it gets published in paperback. It is truly wonderful, on a various plane than most other books, and will fulfill all your needs, be they for a sexual fantasy, a amazing story, a slight sadism, or an undying romance. I recommend this book at the top of any list. It completely satisfies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    Dear gawd, the emotions in this book. It's tender, sweet, funny, and heart-breaking. Matty is an awesome hero whom I now love. He thinks deeply, but he's snarky and silly, too. Rob is much deeper than I thought he was going to be. When Rob, Matty, and Ben (Rob's son) were together, there were so a lot of sweet, funny one point, I thought this book was gonna break my heart. I was literally biting my lip (hard) to hold from sobbing out loud, lest my family think I am a lunatic. I have no idea why I waited so long to read this book, since it's been on my kindle for quite some time. I am now looking forward to reading the sequel to this book. Probably gonna stock up on tissues first, ly recommend this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training Season (Training Season Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-10 19:21

    Ice skating fan? Had a soft spot for Johnny Weir? Eager for the Sochi Olympics (despite Russia's horrible stand on homosexuality)? Even if the respond is no, there are themes here that should interest ose glittery pictures of celebs, we know there are true humans behind them, with faults and fears and aspirations. Success never comes easily (despite the PR). Matty Marcus is an Olympian, but he's now trying to come back from an injury, and from his failure to skate up to expectations and medal. His family has sacrificed for years to support him achieve his goals, and Matty is acutely aware of this, and yet, he has to continue to ask them to do more, and ask himself to do more, in order for the whole unsteady house of cards not to spectacularly collapse. While not dwelling on it, we see pieces of how an almost unattainable goal requires unrelenting selfishness and giving and total discipline from a lot of who never will be acknowledged and from a lot of who will ultimately have those dreams e main focus is one Matty and his work, house-sitting in Montana, a real fish out of water, away from the excitement of Fresh York City, a job he needs because his goal of making the Olympics again and trying to redeem himself and live up to his talent and years of training requires a lot of cash that needs to come from somewhere. To Matty's astonishment, Montana isn't the gay-bashing wasteland he expects. For one thing, unbelievably helpful neighbor, rancher Rob Lovely, isn't at all place off by Matty's unapologetically flamboyant e love story is fun and hot and bittersweet. Too much is invested in Matty as Olympic hopeful and it's a train that no one can stop. Both Matty and Rob know that going in.Heartbreak and passion--in love and in life. This story has it. There's not a lot of wallowing in angst. Life just is what it is. There's nothing ground-breaking here, just another romance, but it's memorable and touching and sort of wonderful.And the cover is fantastic, I think!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Brides for All Seasons Volume 4: Seven Very Special Seasonal Romances review []  2020-1-17 22:11

    I love boxed set of books, especially romance stories. This is a delightful group of stories by Terri Grace. Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Brides for All Seasons Volume 4: Seven Very Special Seasonal Romances review []  2020-1-17 22:11

    Amazing read!Some repeats from other boxed sets. Recommend to others to read.I enjoyed the short wholesome stories.Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Brides for All Seasons Volume 4: Seven Very Special Seasonal Romances review []  2020-1-17 22:11

    A very volume of several stories that are inspirational and shows how prayers are answered by the Lord and how love happens

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter