Read abu simbel and the nubian temples reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all abu simbel and the nubian temples reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    This is the fourth in a five part series that really manages to blend history and full-blown fiction. Jacq's Egypt comes alive and jumps off the page, stealing you away to a globe where magic might just be true and all those dry history stores come to life. I was really surprised at who "the amazing guys" and "the poor guys" turned out to be, and found myself really feeling for the characters in the pages. I highly recommend reading the series in - you might just catch yourself rereading it, like I did ... wow, I just realized how cheezy that all sounds, but they really are amazing books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    I have enjoyed all of Christian Jacq's novels about Egypt. Getting ready to begin volume v. Egypt has been my passion since I was in my twenties. Have been to Egypt twice and would always go back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    Enjoyable.

    0  


    Add your opinion on abu simbel and the nubian temples or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    Having lived in Egypt I can still see Ramses legacy with all the books. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    Well written. The whole series of these books is extreme entertaining. You really feel like you are there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    At school one of my favourite poems was Percy Bysshe Shelly's "Ozymandias". Consequently I have always had a deep interest in Ramses. The five volumes of this series has been fascinating reading and Christian Jacq, an acknowledged expert of this historical region, has brought the era alive with his detailed descriptions of the life style of the time as he weaves his fictional story based on the times when this biblical hero ruled Egypt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    In the fourth volume of the five-volume Ramses series, Asha, the king's Secretary of State and childhood mate travels to Hatti with a peace proposal only to be caught up in a vicious power struggle to which Asha and Egypt could be the huge losers. It would take much cunning to pull this off. Meanwhile, the king's brother, Shanaar, is still plotting versus the king in Nubia where he lures the king into a trap that threatens the life of the Pharaoh. Only a miracle can save him. As if all this wasn't enough, Moses, Ramses boyhood friend, is threatening to take all the Hebrews out of Egypt as commanded by Yahweh. When Ramses refuses Egypt [email protected]#$%! with ten plagues until Ramses relents and expels Moses from roughout the struggles of the now middle aged king brews an ever deepening love affair between Ramses and Nefertari, the Amazing Royal Consort. Ramses dedicates a amazing temple to her in the sacred land of Abu Simbel, which was to be her lasting tribute. So close are the king and queen that to obtain at Ramses Nefertari was a frequent target as was Ka, the king's oldest son.I only give this book three stars because, even though it is written in the direct and fast-paced nature of his other books, the treatment of Moses troubled me. The real relationship between Moses and the pharaoh may never truly be known but Moses was portrayed as angry and wicked; which I search to difficult to believe. In the Ramses series, Christian Jacq has him in league with Ofir, the Hittite spy and sorcerer. Furthermore, Ofir suggests and may have been responsible for some of those plagues, thus undermining the role of God in all this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    I’m always ambivalent about this author. His books are well researched, with fascinating history and locale. Sometimes he bothers me because the plots of the different novels are related and predictable. Still he deserves five stars for the unbelievable entertainment he provides

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ramses: The Lady of Abu Simbel - Volume IV []  2020-6-24 19:6

    This was the final installment in the splendid series of books by Christian Jacq. His insights into and careful treatment of the globe of the Pharoahs is extraordinary. The reader becomes an integral part of that globe riding the emotional highs and lows of favorite characters as the story unfolds. One of the most enjoyable aspects of the books is following the choices, fortunes and loyalties of four boyhood friends, one of whom is the King of Egypt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nile Cruise Egypt: A Photo Travel Guide to Photo Shot Spots Using Google Maps Locating – From Cairo to Abu Simbel (Big Trip Book 12) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    Nicely done and very informative. I liked the info on photograph and the detail regarding each destination. Thanks for the links

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    Perfect guide. I especially appreciated the rating given to each landmark as most people don't have the time or inclination to see everything. The book had all the info I could ever want, including historical remarks, layouts, and tips. I was satisfied to have the freedom to tour as I happy with this book without having to depend on guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    We found this tutorial very useful for planning our (second) visit to Siem Reap. My suggestion for improvement would be that the maps be included in higher resolution, so one could really blow them up and study them closely. We found them too small.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    Don't leave home without this. Utterly essential for your temple tours. I'm using it every day as a reference before I begin my exploration. My smartphone ver has colour pictures, which really helps me decide which temples I'd like to see. The link to Google maps with the colour coded markers is surprisingly useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    I just wanted to walk around by myself, so I got to the park early with this tutorial on my phone and had an awesome time! Highly recommended for people who have fun having information with their touring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    This is such a compact and helpful small book. I appreciated very much the early sections explaining how the architecture of the temples evolved and the iconography found in the a lot of sites. The descriptions and detailed tutorials for each of the temples created my visit much easier, since I knew exactly the best trajectory to discover the temples and what to expect in each of them. Very helpful resource for anyone visiting the awesome temples of Angkor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    Downloaded this tutorial just days before visiting the Angkor area. While we were on a guided tour, reading this book in advance helped build anticipation and expanded on the significance of some of the carvings we viewed that the tutorial did not dwell on. Also enjoyed the simplified but thorough history of the Khmer empire and the shifting religious preferences of its rulers. Greatly enhanced my visit to the temples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    I liked how simple it was to understand and follow. I feel that I now have a better grasp of the language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    Amazing book!!! Very well thought out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    Angkor is attractive but if you also know what to look for, it blows your mind. The tutorial has a lot of useful info and is well organized. You can read the history, architecture and religious themes before your trip and then bring it with you for the detailed tour of the temples. Having it in the kindle is a definitive plus. Why four and not five? The tour plans for some of the temples can be a small confusing (I obtain it is a difficult task, the websites are large). There are some obvious editing mistakes that could have been corrected with a cursory reading by a third party. But overall, I have fun the tutorial and I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    Not an simple book but then nor is Angkor Wat or any of the surrounding temples but this book helps in placing this complex website within reach of anyone with a bit of patience and an appreciation that we are not in Disneyland! To understand just a small of this advanced civilisation who built Angkor Wat needs some time and effort to become immersed into the remnants of these unbelievable buildings. This book acts as a very amazing guide. But the combination of this book and a amazing tutorial vastly contributed to a very enjoyable five days at this wonder. I do recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    What I love about this book is that it's not too much for too little, it's just right. It's just enough information to create your visit to this awesome put meaningful instead of just snapping pics of old stone temples. It's concise and helpful. I found using it on my phone via the Kindle application worked well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cambodia: Guide to the Temples of Angkor (2019 Travel Guide with Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and more) []  2020-1-22 21:56

    This book is simple to read and understand. It covers the entire archaeological website and provides amazing descriptions of the current websites and the history of the temples. It was very useful for my trip to Cambodia in 2015 since I could carry it in my smartphone for simple reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    This book is awesome. Very very simple to learn with this amazing for travelers and also if you wish to learn another language.I have my trip to Dubai this upcoming November and I can't wait to interact with people there and try how much i learn.I highly recommend it.I bought a few others since the way works amazing for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    Omg, I love this book! It's very organized and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    Already have my plane tickets to the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain and bought both books from Nitzany for my travel. I love this Emirati book and I will be purchasing its audio ver next. Very interesting concept to learn gulf dialect. Combination of words and sentences makes it easier for anyone who reads this book to learn quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    The cover is the Burj Arab, he should have placed the Burj Kalifa on the cover instead. I did not have any family in UAE so the book was not that inviting. I did not come across the word for a Mosque in the book, So I was not able to ask "Where is the Mosque?' when I was lost. Also Arabic Script is not included in the book nor does the book come with a CD. There were some typographical errors in the transliteration. Definitely, visit Dubai and use English.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    Exceptionally well written, extremely articulateMakes you understand the Arabic of Dubai. Want I can give 6 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    My mate told me to read her book before we went to Dubai. She traveled all over the world, on her 2nd passport and she only knows English. I was able to understand the basics quickly. I suggest getting Kindle also so you can hear on the plane to study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    Beneficial for travelers and those who wish to learn the dialect of the United Arab Emirates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates []  2020-1-18 22:15

    Oddly, this book has a lot more authentic Gulf Arabic words than the same author's booklet on "Qatari" Arabic (which had essentially nothing Qatari in it). In that respect, it could be slightly useful, especially if you already know another dialect of Arabic. But it has some major r the pronoun "we," he has "hinna" (Hinna or 7inna in other spelling schemes), but I never heard that while learning Emirati Arabic. From everything I have heard it is a specifically Bedouin pronoun and would probably not be used by a lot of Emiratis. (niHin or iHna would be what I heard from Emirati Arabic.)The book (like the authors' other "Arabic" phrasebooks) has a horrible flaw, which is the spelling system. There is no consistent representation of the vowels. A lot of vowels are not represented at all, so that you have words like "ygdr" where the correct pronunciation would be "yigdir." Other vowels are simply inconsistent: "yom" could rhyme with English "dome" or "doom" or "dumb"—there's no telling. Arabic has 28 consonants, far more than English, but in this book there is no differentiation between numerous letter pairs, like sin/saad, daal/dhaal/dhaad, taa/Taa, etc.Words that contain an additional vowel added from the Standard Arabic word are represented inconsistently, so that Egypt is "Masir" but meal is "akl" and before is "gabl." Meal should be "akil" and before should be "gabil." Such issues are numerous in this book, so that there is really no possibility of pronouncing the Gulf Arabic is author somewhat mixes up Arabic dialects. For the English word 'tomorrow,' his Qatari dialect book has "bokrah" and his Emirati book has "baacher." These dialects both prefer the second is author has clearly created a very sincere effort at making money. There are plenty of Gulf Arabic books out there with consistent pronunciation schemes like those of Clive Holes and Habaka Feghali. If you use this one, your Arabic will sound extremely inauthentic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Siem Reap: The essential guide to Siem Reap and the temples of Angkor [2019] inc. Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon and more. []  2020-2-8 18:49

    Read this on a Kindle or Kindle app. Internet links/URLs connect quickly and seamlessly. Carry this with you to Siem Reap. It will be very helpful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Siem Reap: The essential guide to Siem Reap and the temples of Angkor [2019] inc. Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon and more. []  2020-2-8 18:49

    This gives a amazing overview and some primary info but it is an introduction only and by no means a ‘Must Carry Guide”.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Siem Reap: The essential guide to Siem Reap and the temples of Angkor [2019] inc. Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon and more. []  2020-2-8 18:49

    very useful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Siem Reap: The essential guide to Siem Reap and the temples of Angkor [2019] inc. Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon and more. []  2020-2-8 18:49

    We are leaving for Thailand this weekend and will go to Siem Reap for four days. This book was a quick, simple read but taught me so much and got me so excited for our trip!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    As I grow older, I search myself wanting (indeed needing) to spending more time in is led me to Joan Maloof's book Nature's Temples about our old growth forests. Like a lot of people, I thought of forests as trees. But, as she informs us, they consist also of lichens, moss, fungi, insects, birds, snails, salamanders, etc. They have evolved to live together. A lot of do best when they are left relatively undisturbed for long periods. Much has been lost and is still being lost by our activities. Why should we care? As she points out in the latest chapter, we people need the forests for spiritual well being. Perhaps now more than ever, as people seem to be losing their connection with s, we do need managed forests and tree farms for the wood products they provide. But, we should also conserve our remaining bits of old growth forests. Much will be lost if we don't. If possible, allow us also test to save some of our second and third growth forests. They may never be as rich and diverse in life, but are still ank you Joan Maloof for a fine book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    This is a short, simple to read book that basically asks what is so necessary about old growth forest. It is more than huge trees although they are necessary if you wish to sequester carbon. It is snails, insects, fungi, plants, birds and mammals. You will learn that earthworms are not always amazing and that second growth forest (regrowth after cutting) is not the same as the original ere is so small old growth left in the U.S. She makes a compelling, smart and highly readable case for old growth. It also makes me wish to go visit them and look closely at things besides just the huge trees.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    After reading Joan Maloof's second book, "Among the Ancients", I eagerly set out to visit some of the old growth forests that she described. As I walked among the giant trees, I realized that although I was experiencing something profound, I didn't fully comprehend what I was seeing and feeling. Joan's third and most latest book "Nature's Temples" became needed reading. This is an eloquent and meticulously researched history of the forces that have shaped old growth forests, but it is also a testament to the urgency of developing a tactic for protecting them. In a writing style that is both accessible and exciting, Joan takes the reader into a rare and fascinating ecosystem that cannot be replicated by human management. Beginning with a description of the characteristics of old growth forests, she continues with chapters on the birds, fungi, insect, plants and a lot of other inter-connected lifeforms that inhabit these sacred places. But this book goes beyond the scientific. It embraces the necessity for humans to let the ancient trees to teach us what a forest should look like and why the experience of this kind of beauty is essential for us all. By the time I reached the latest chapter entitled "Do Humans Need the Forest?", my respond was a resounding "Yes!" And I have now begun to understand what it is that surrounds me as I walk through Nature's Temples.Julie McCall

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Siem Reap: The essential guide to Siem Reap and the temples of Angkor [2019] inc. Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon and more. []  2020-2-8 18:49

    Very useful overview for a busy traveler. Both my mate and I found it excellent for our needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    I highly recommend Joan Maloof’s recent book, Nature’s Temples. It’s highly readable - informative, inspiring, and written in a conversation style. I learned so much not only about trees but about snails, beetles, worms, and all sorts of other forest plants and animals and how they are interconnected in complex forest ecosystems. The science is fascinating and there are a lot of mysteries yet to be researched and explained. With a richer understanding now, I’ll see forests with even more appreciation than I had to start with, which was considerable. The history of the science about trees – including entrenched misconceptions and myths – was eye opening. Humans tear apart forest ecosystems with small thought or care about the consequences to ourselves and fellow species. Maloof’s writing is devoid of stridency, but I’m left with the conviction that we absolutely must preserve all old-growth forest that remains, no matter what. The a lot of drawings in the book are not only accurate but gorgeous. Hats off to the artist, Andrew Joslin. My only suggestion for the book would be to expand the latest chapter, “Do humans need the forest?” We are far more dependent on forests than was discussed, in my opinion. Please read this book and tell others about it to increase awareness before it’s too late. Destroying our friends, our forests, is a mistake that causes irreversible species extinctions and otherwise takes decades, centuries, or even millennia to undo. I’m so grateful for Joan Maloof’s enormously necessary book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    “How astonishing that when I visit an old-growth redwood forest in California, I am visiting a put that may have been forested continually for fifty million years!” - Joan MaloofI came across Maloof’s Nature’s Temples: The Complex Globe of Old-Growth Forests quite by possibility while I was browsing the Kindle Store. The title sounded intriguing, especially after reading The Secret Life of Trees: How They live and Why They Matter (by Colin Tudge), so I could not resist reading it. Joan Maloof doesn’t disappoint and her book is packed with info (like the fact that the tallest tree in the globe is some 380 feet tall!) while remaining accessible to the lay ese are just some of the diverse chapters contained in the book:What is an old-growth forest?History of the forestForests and carbonBirds and their habitat preferencesThe role of insects in the forestFungi in the ecosystemWhat lichens tell us about forestsDo humans need the forest?Maloof looks at and explains the extremely intricate and intricately balanced life of the old-growth forests and rightly bewails their loss to logging, deforestation, and other means of human interference. The hurt of our interference is, after all, becoming more and more apparent and there is also now studies to present that, even if forests are replanted, the same abundance of flora and fauna will not be show again - even after a lot of decades.“We know we need clean air and clean water, but do humans need beauty?” — Joan MaloofMaloof also notes in Nature’s Temples that researchers from Japan and elsewhere have shown that a walk in the forest can improve one’s mood, reduce stress hormones, strengthen the immune system, lower blood pressure, and reduce blood sugar levels. This kind of walk in the woods even have a name in Japanese - shirin-yoku; “wood-air bathing”.“… we should always let and encourage the left-alone woods, for it is there that our real riches reside. Today, and in the future, these are the locations of refuge - for both the species we share the planet with and for our human spirit.” — Joan MaloofI can highly recommend this book to those who love nature, woods, and trees or even just those who want that there really are shepherds of the forests residing deep in the forests. After reading this book you will wish to go and walk in a forest and - yes - even hug some trees.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India Revealed: The Temples of Khajuraho (2019 Travel Guide) []  2020-8-1 18:56

    This guidebook provides invaluable info not only about this UNESCO Globe Heritage site, but also on the historical and architectural context so one can more fully appreciate these temples. There is also an introduction to the Hindu Southern vs. Northern temple (Khajuraho as the pinnacle) architecture in India. In March 2015, I used this tutorial in India and found the commentary, highlighted diagrams, spotlight photographs, and author's hints most helpful to obtain the most from my visit. I have the utmost appreciation and gratitude for the Approach Tutorials I have used and reviewed on their Amazon product pages for Bagan; Angkor Wat; Morocco; Ajanta, Ellora, and Elephanta caves; and Delhi and Agra. Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    India Revealed: The Temples of Khajuraho (2019 Travel Guide) []  2020-8-1 18:56

    Gracias.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Siem Reap: The essential guide to Siem Reap and the temples of Angkor [2019] inc. Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon and more. []  2020-2-8 18:49

    Haven't been to Cambodia yet, but seems a very useful tutorial to the city beyond the temples and a solid overview of the temples too

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    In a globe torn between global warming believers and skeptics, this common sense book reaches the truth about our climate, and how our choices about the use of land and our attitudes about trees, have a major, if not a primary, impact on our climate. Amazing science without too much biased morality create this books a must gets tedious at times when it speaks about bugs and grubs, but her overall work is necessary and simple to understand.I want the loud talkers about closing Nate change would read this before speaking out again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    A lovers of Egypt and the Vicky Bliss and Ameldia Emerson book series should have this book in thier collections.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    This history is wonderfully information. Mertz has a amazing prose voice that the reader will really appreciate; she is always relaxed and personal. However, I need to emphasize that this is an informal text. There are much newer histories of Egypt with far more organization and precision. However, for someone who has read a bit about Egyptian history, this is a amazing method to review the info and appreciate everything that Mertz adds to the conversation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tuk-tuks and Fried Fish Lips: Travels Around Asia []  2020-2-6 23:1

    A 7 week trip traveling to different Far East locations, providing a small bit on each stop, because that was what the trip was, 2 or 3 days in each location. I enjoyed the author's writing style (in my case, I often TRY to read someone's travel book, but obtain quickly bored by their writing style, and give up. I kept reading right to the end, and would definitely read another travel book by Jason Smart. He is down to earth, doesn't take on hoity-toity airs, doesn't whine or complain, can laugh at his own misadventures during the trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    A must for all Egyptologists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    Loved the informal method she wrote.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    Historians can be a stuffy bunch, and sometimes we take ourselves too seriously. It is refreshing, then, to come across a book that is not only a first-rate history (in terms of both historiography - the interpretation of happenings given historical evidence - and the quality of the history itself) but a book that is also accessable to lay-persons as well. The icing on the cake, as it were, is the light, almost humorus tone Mertz takes with her tz begins with an overview of the pre-dynastic period, explaining the changes in geography and climate that first drew neolithic man to the Nile river valley, and the associated creation stories of ancient Egypt. Her treatment of the Old and Middle Kingdoms and the first and second intermediate periods are perfect summaries, but she really hits her stride in writing about the Fresh Kingdom - my guess is this is both her passion and her zone of expertise. Throughout her exploration, Metz not only writes the history of ancient Egypt, but also gives some insight into the development and evolution of Egyptology as a discipline (often times, with charming candor, poking fun at the pet theories and interpretations of scholars. For example, in disucssing the historical controversy of the Hyksos, Metz writes, "It (one scholar's interpretation) all makes excellent sense, but so do the plots of amazing historical novels." (129)) In fact, the informal tone of the book is one of the reasons I rate the book so r example, in discussing the reign of Hatshepsut (and the chance that her cheif advisor Senenmut was also her lover), Metz writes, "Was he the queen's lover? Serious historians migh come back wih another question: Who cares? ... But history is not only sterile events, it is people, and we are, most of us, gossips at heart. So let's gossip." (156) This academic seriousness mized with a healthy dose of fun and the fact that she doesn't take herself too seriously reminds me of my undergraduate mentor who inspired me into the profession with a related reminder that history, after all, is about who we are, warts and all.Certainly the lightness and lack of formality may be a turn-off to some; I found it charming. From a historical perspective, it is an outstanding introduction to ancient Egypt and Egyptology in general. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    A walk through the bookstore will reveal far more books on bizarre, unsupported "alternative" theories than ones on true Egyptian history. Mertz's book fills in the gap. A detailed, fact-filled and accessible book that all will search fascinating. Witty and whismical, and she's not afraid to tell you that she focuses on what interests her the most. Of course, a book the size can only cover so much of 3000 years of history, some parts won't obtain as much attention. She too quickly dismisses the "Hebrews in Egypt" investigations. Still, a amazing book that stands above a lot of supposed Eqypt "history" books. See also Pyramids,The Miracles of Exodus &The Stones Cry Out: What Archaeology Reveals About the Truth of the Bible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    There are still old growth forests out there, but they are dwindling. Joan Maloof provides a sobering -- but still cheerful -- acc of why we need to dig our heels in to preserve what is left. She clearly demonstrates that once a virgin stand is gone, it never really comes back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    Science writing for those of us who are lovers of nature but not very scientific. Ms. Maloof's book makes those lovers of nature, huggers of trees, keepers of pinecones, and builders of moss fairy villages smarter and more engaged in the "why" of it all. She gently teaches us that old is beautiful, and change is part of nature. The writing is backed up with data to obtain her point across and illustrations lovingly rendered to present us what to look for. I still can't tell the difference between lichen, mosses and liverwort but now I know they all play an necessary and special roll in teaching us about the forest. Now I know that when a tree falls in the forest there is always someone there to hear it and anxious to create a home. And worms, I thought they were the amazing guys...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    Perfect read! I read this marvelous book while traveling this week, and I was unable to place it down. So much insight into the finer workings of forests, and their inhabitants. Joan Maloof's previous release "Among the Ancients" shares the awe, and wonder, the beauty to behold - "Nature's Temples" is the further workings of a devout believer in the power, and sanctity of the Old Growth Forest -Delving deeper into the layers of life and their dependence on the ecosystems that only can occur when nature is left untouched.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nature's Temples: The Complex World of Old-Growth Forests []  2020-1-19 20:11

    I love the book because it puts me into the chapel in the woods where all those old growth trees grow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    Amazing quck read as introduction to the complexities of the history of Egypt under the Pharos by an expert in the field for the common (lay) reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    First off I wish to point out that the three star reflects that I did not dislike this book, but I just didn't love it either. Allow me explain....Not long ago I bought and read Ancient Rome: The Rise and Fall Of An Empire by Simon Baker. I liked it very much because it was a history book, but read like a novel. He brought Rome to life. Now, one can't write a book about Rome without occasionally mentioning Egypt. So after this book I had my interest in Ancient Egypt piqued, and since what small I know about Egypt came from mostly the famous culture zone I decided it was time to look into this some more. I went to the library and borrowed their copy (I will state right now that I believe it is a first edition copy, the current ver for I think is in it's third edition, but I assume the overall substance has not changed very much). I guess my largest disappointment was in that I expected, after reading the reviews here, to obtain the kind of picture painted for me as I got with Ancient Rome. This book indeed has plenty of information, which is why I will not fault it and indeed still give it a fair review. But as a layman I will be honest....with all the unfamiliar names and locations thrown around I became lost. It was hard keeping everything straight, and the occasional odd spelling of what few names I DID know confused me more (for example, when Mrs. Mertz kept referring to Re it did not dawn on me until halfway through the book she was talking about the entity I had known as Ra....I never realized the name could be spelled two ways) So for me being a layman it was tough to follow along and hold up, and I guess for my first foray into Egyptology I should have looked for something a bit more "dumbed down" to obtain me up to speed before getting into this I guess it comes down to this. Would I recommend this book to other people? Depends. I would say if you have at least a base knowledge of Ancient Egypt, then this book will probably do for you much more than it did for me. But if your a layman, like I, who has no true prior introduction to this time period then you might wish to look for something a bit more introductory before diving into this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tuk-tuks and Fried Fish Lips: Travels Around Asia []  2020-2-6 23:1

    These must be some of the most boring people who ever bothered to travel. They even trivialized the killing fields in Cambodia. I don't know what possessed them to embarrass themselves by revealing how possible it was to take all the adventure out of what could be an adventure. They went through a shopping list of places, presumably just to say they had been there. They judged the meal by how close it was to the boring English meal they should never have left in the first place. Their idea of travel is to spend two or three days someplace and experiencing as small as possible. Reading it was a complete waste of time. It was a book and worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    This book was purchased for my daughter, who has a fascination with history of all periods. At the moment, she and my grandsons are exploring the history of Egypt. Barbara Mertz is an expert in this field of study and my daughter said the book was facinating and very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs, and Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt []  2020-1-19 22:8

    This very pedagogical book with the history of ancient Egypt in classic, chronological ough by no means earth-shattering, it is lively, warm, clear, unpretentious and sprinkled with touches of e author comes out as both knowledgeable and the audio version, the female narrator's voice and intonations are totally in sinc with this perception.Overall, this pleasurable work is strongly recommended to anyone interested in ancient Egypt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    Abu Dhabi, the Capital of the United Arab Emirates is a bursting town where „Nomads“ (as Hanan refers to expats) from every corner of the globe live and work together. When looking in those pots and pans of different cultural background families sharing their private favorite recipes with us Hanan gives us a glimpse of insight what makes living in Abu Dhabi so special! As she documents the meal experience with the city’s cultural development through the years starting in the 60’ until now with unbelievable images it makes this cookbook a very unique one! The recipes represent an interesting mix of the people living here and they vary from simple to advance cooking. There will be something unique to cook for everyone! Thank you Hanan!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    This lovely book far exceeds my expectations. It's stunning in every way! The interesting stories, mouthwatering recipes, and attractive photography create this a treasure I will have fun for a lot of years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    Hanan's book; Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi, is beautifully presented and a very entertaining read, even if you're not looking for that fresh favorite recipe to feed your guests or family. But if ou are, the book won't disappoint as it includes a number of delicious, simple to prepare recipes with ingredients that are readily available from your local (US/Canadian) super-market. The cover is so beautifully done and of such quality that we have ours on display on our coffee table rather than the book-shelf, and at least for now, that's where it will stay. We highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    I've worked in meal service (8 years, catering sales), lived as an ex-pat over 28 years living in 5 countries (Turkey, Jordan, Egypt, Bahrain and UAE) so I know middle eastern cuisine and this simply is the BEST cook book I've ever owned! I've been entertaining both within the USA and abroad both professionally and personally. Because Hanan features 40 of her dearest mates who come from different ethnic backgrounds, heritages, this cookbook has a wide dozens of recipes. It also gives a attractive description of the Emirates and is written as a history of the UAE woven within the chapters so that is a plus. The pictures are GORGEOUS, the recipes complex but simple to follow. I especially love that she gives within the recipes snippets of the history of a meal category. For instance how "dumplings" in other cultures (like the Afghani recipe) which expounds on the other cultures with related dumplings (i.e. manti in Turkey).Buy this book for anyone in your life who loves to cook and travel and experiment with food. Or it for anyone who loves Emirati culture or who recently has visited the Emirates. You will not go wrong. I have it displayed proudly in my living room with lots of sticky notes for my favorite recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    Omg, I love this book! It's very organized and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walk Like a Nubian []  2020-2-2 20:58

    Shipped on time and she loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    Since moving to Abu Dhabi nearly two years ago, I’ve been quite interested in learning more about the histories of the different communities that create up this town as well as the UAE. Even the casual, short-term visitor to this town can’t support but message the diversity of nationalities that create up this put and give it a cosmopolitan feel that a lot of first-time visitors are surprised to find. Although some amazing books have been written that focus on the political and economic history of this region (and of course, the role that oil has played in it), or which describe the tribal traditions and background of the Emirati people, what has been missing—until now—is a work that illustrates the roles played by expatriates and migrants in the growth and development of this country during the past half century. Hanan Sayed Worrell’s book Table Tales, while not intended to be a formal history of Abu Dhabi nor an academic work of sociology, nevertheless nicely addresses this gap in telling a range of stories from a wide array of nationalities—among others, Britons, Indians, Syrians, Lebanese, Egyptians, Americans, Japanese, Spaniards, and of course, Emiratis themselves—all bound around a subject of common interest to us all: food. Each profile, arranged in rough chronological by decade of that person’s arrival, also contains recipes from those persons’ homelands, or at times, simply comfort foods that they have come to have fun preparing and sharing with others during the time that they have lived here. Lavishly illustrated with attractive photographs of each person or family profiled, usually set in their homes or kitchens, as well as equally striking and evocative photographs that capture the essence of this city, on one level this is simply a fun book to browse through. However, Table Tales, through the stories that it captures, also provides the reader insight into the a lot of factors that first drew people from beyond the Emirates to Abu Dhabi, and which for a lot of of those profiled, have kept them here for years, if not decades, leading some to consider it their home. As such, this book helps provide a deeper understanding of the expatriate experience that one can hope will stimulate other related projects to document other communities in Abu Dhabi and the UAE as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    Amazing book!!! Very well thought out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    The premise of this gorgeous fresh book is intriguing, and possibly special among cookbooks – although I hesitate to circumscribe it within that category. Table Tables: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi, by Hanan Sayed Worrell, is ostensibly a collection of recipes brought to Abu Dhabi, capital of the United Arab Emirates, from their homelands by a selection of expatriates who reside or work in the city, along with recipes cultivated by a number of distinguished locals. It is also a gentle history of the young city-state told through the lenses of meal and biographical sketches of the e recipes are not organized by course or meal group, but rather by the stages of the city’s latest history, from the time of Abu Dhabi’s emergence as the capital of an independent nation in the 1970s to its latest period of aspiration on the globe stage. Throughout, the book is a paean to the author’s adoptive le Tales is stunningly designed and produced by Rizzoli, with an eye-catching cover of embossed Arabic script, a body of massive paper of different tasteful shades, and saturated with professional color photography of the contributors, their feasts and a wide range of local sights – natural and e author has enlisted the assistance of a recipe editor and several chefs to recreate and document what are often orally transmitted recipes. These range from hearty Mac and Cheese to deeply aromatic Persian Fesenjan. “Pure” contributions from globe cuisines are alternated with a number of tempting fusions – Eggplant Miso, Chili Con Carne with Daqoos, Blueberry Risotto! While I cannot claim to have tried a lot of of the recipes, my favorite so far is Paula Al Askari’s Salad of Fennel, Beetroot and Orange with Cumin Dressing – an elegant incarnation of a Mediterranean classic.A few other dimensions of this perfect book must be noted. First, the group of forty individuals or couples selected as contributors may be of various faiths, hailing from a lot of parts of the work, but they are decidedly elite – diplomats, executives, academics, business people – and do not represent the majority of foreigners working in the Emirates who have been the topic of international labor controversies and who have also brought with them their rich culinary traditions. Second, it is doubtful that a fair number of these individuals cook for themselves on a regular basis. That’s no criticism of their recipes and I am sure a lot of are adept in the kitchen. Here’s to the staff of cooks and others who create it all possible!Finally, most of the recipes presented here fall by and huge into the category of fine dining or lavish entertaining (maybe not the Mac and Cheese). This part of the Arabia was not endowed with a natural abundance of meal stuffs, nor the capacity to develop and sustain a rich culinary heritage. The Bedouins subsisted on a very modest diet. Most of that heritage, or the simpler dishes of the wider region are not represented in this very high-end at said, the themes of hospitality, openness and generosity that Ms. Worrell weaves through her narrative correspond to my own experience of Abu Dhabi. I have dined with several of the individuals represented and have enjoyed their company and their table immensely. What I missed in the book was a description of some of the more “humble” offerings in the city’s less formal settings – the local restaurants, the ethnic social clubs, the ambitious cafes – but that would be a various book. One of the most satisfying dishes I enjoyed in Abu Dhabi was when an Egyptian colleague stopped the vehicle one morning on a remote stretch of street and parted a hedge to reveal a single push cart vendor with a piping hot cauldron of foul – we were set for the day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    Having grown up in Abu Dhabi, this book is basically a visual flashback of my childhood - such a beautifully shot and thoughtfully arranged ode to the mosaic that is Abu Dhabi. Stunning cover so it also makes for a amazing coffee-table book, and I've already gifted three copies to other ex-expats.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    Loved the concept! Attractive book from the concept to the quality of the paper, design and photos! Loved as well the multicultural groups shown within Abu Dhabi's society (spotted some friends). A amazing souvenir of our UAE journey!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    I liked how simple it was to understand and follow. I feel that I now have a better grasp of the language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    Oddly, this book has a lot more authentic Gulf Arabic words than the same author's booklet on "Qatari" Arabic (which had essentially nothing Qatari in it). In that respect, it could be slightly useful, especially if you already know another dialect of Arabic. But it has some major r the pronoun "we," he has "hinna" (Hinna or 7inna in other spelling schemes), but I never heard that while learning Emirati Arabic. From everything I have heard it is a specifically Bedouin pronoun and would probably not be used by a lot of Emiratis. (niHin or iHna would be what I heard from Emirati Arabic.)The book (like the authors' other "Arabic" phrasebooks) has a horrible flaw, which is the spelling system. There is no consistent representation of the vowels. A lot of vowels are not represented at all, so that you have words like "ygdr" where the correct pronunciation would be "yigdir." Other vowels are simply inconsistent: "yom" could rhyme with English "dome" or "doom" or "dumb"—there's no telling. Arabic has 28 consonants, far more than English, but in this book there is no differentiation between numerous letter pairs, like sin/saad, daal/dhaal/dhaad, taa/Taa, etc.Words that contain an additional vowel added from the Standard Arabic word are represented inconsistently, so that Egypt is "Masir" but meal is "akl" and before is "gabl." Meal should be "akil" and before should be "gabil." Such issues are numerous in this book, so that there is really no possibility of pronouncing the Gulf Arabic is author somewhat mixes up Arabic dialects. For the English word 'tomorrow,' his Qatari dialect book has "bokrah" and his Emirati book has "baacher." These dialects both prefer the second is author has clearly created a very sincere effort at making money. There are plenty of Gulf Arabic books out there with consistent pronunciation schemes like those of Clive Holes and Habaka Feghali. If you use this one, your Arabic will sound extremely inauthentic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    This book is awesome. Very very simple to learn with this amazing for travelers and also if you wish to learn another language.I have my trip to Dubai this upcoming November and I can't wait to interact with people there and try how much i learn.I highly recommend it.I bought a few others since the way works amazing for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    Beneficial for travelers and those who wish to learn the dialect of the United Arab Emirates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    The cover is the Burj Arab, he should have placed the Burj Kalifa on the cover instead. I did not have any family in UAE so the book was not that inviting. I did not come across the word for a Mosque in the book, So I was not able to ask "Where is the Mosque?' when I was lost. Also Arabic Script is not included in the book nor does the book come with a CD. There were some typographical errors in the transliteration. Definitely, visit Dubai and use English.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    This is a amazing book. Yes, it's a cookbook but it also introduces the reader to life as an expatriate in Abu Dhabi, from the 1960s to the present. The recipes range from the easy to the more complex. Even those that may seem familiar have an interesting spin that elevates them. I love the dozens of cuisines that are represented. There are recipes from Colombia, Spain, Afghanistan, Iraq, Greece, India, Portugal, Lebanon, Egypt, Morocco, Japan... the list goes on. Most notably, there are recipes from the United Arab Emirates, whose cuisine does not obtain much attention beyond the country's borders. Even if you don't cook, the stories of the contributors are interesting and the photography is beautiful. Remember in the Garfield cartoon how he was always going to ship Nermal, the annoyingly cute kitten, off to Abu Dhabi? Table Tales shows us that getting shipped off to Abu Dhabi might not be such a poor thing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Table Tales: The Global Nomad Cuisine of Abu Dhabi []  2020-6-25 19:6

    Attractive book! Unbelievable recipes, but also an perfect coffee table book because of the photographs and stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    Already have my plane tickets to the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain and bought both books from Nitzany for my travel. I love this Emirati book and I will be purchasing its audio ver next. Very interesting concept to learn gulf dialect. Combination of words and sentences makes it easier for anyone who reads this book to learn quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    Exceptionally well written, extremely articulateMakes you understand the Arabic of Dubai. Want I can give 6 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conversational Arabic Quick and Easy: Emirati Dialect, Gulf Arabic of Dubai, Abu Dhabi, UAE Arabic, and the United Arab Emirates, Emirati Arabic []  2020-1-25 18:37

    My mate told me to read her book before we went to Dubai. She traveled all over the world, on her 2nd passport and she only knows English. I was able to understand the basics quickly. I suggest getting Kindle also so you can hear on the plane to study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    Disappointed Not. This book is a catalog of detailed observations a lot of of which go very deep into the science and mathematics the author used to derive his explanations. After reading about 125 pages the book has yet to address the technologies used so the reader is left to their imagination. To understand a lot of concepts I must be able to match the narrative in the text to the figures or image in the book; the author misses some references to which figure it relates and again the reader is left guessing. Finally, the images are not efficient at all in displaying the info of the objects photographed. The book has a theme about shadows and it took me a while to realize most of the images are saturated with shadows and are very difficultI to create out. Sorry, but I'm not sure I'll even finish the book.Updated (2-9-18) Reading beyond Chapter 5 changed my views on this book. The technical mumbo jumbo dropped to the side and light began to shine on the mystery of the ancient technologies. Four Stars is much more appropriate for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    Dunn uses his exceptional knowledge of both precision engineering and the ancient websites to raise some very serious questions about how a number of artifacts, from stone bowls to the Amazing Pyramid were constructed. Traditionalists will state that these questions are not worth asking and that they have all the answers, and can point to youtube videos to illustrate their points. I would like to see learned Egyptologists use recovered tools and create the sarcophagus of the Kings Chamber in the Amazing Pyramid, or perhaps the granite boxes at Saquara. I would also like to have the ability to build a structure as precise as the Amazing Pyramid without measuring tools of equal precision. It amazes me that the phenomenal precision of that building has been know and recognized by the academic community since Flinders Petrie did his work over 100 years ago and yet it seems to generate absolutely no formal discussion. Dunn is not an archaeologist, he is a precision machinist by training and trade. Just as Petrie suggested in his original survey of Giza (get a copy of The Pyramids And Temples Of Gizeh and see what Petrie has to say). Dunn sees the chance that the very hard stones of the zone were shaped using machine tools. Traditionalists suggest reading what experts say about the subject, but the experts do not really talk about the precision of the surfaces. They don't talk about the measuring devices that must have existed but have never been discovered. It isn't just a question of moving a huge number of really huge blocks, its a question of aligning them precisely with each other and with the cardinal compass points. Its a question of repetition and accuracy and symmetry in the worked objects. Dunn asks a lot of questions and provides some answers, but not all. Its an perfect work and rewarding to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    Eye opening examination of the advanced skills evident in the works of Ancient Egypt or more accurate Ancient Khemit. There is no doubt that the Pharaohs did not produce most of the more sophisticated works. They inherited them from their ancestors. No doubt that Ancient Egyptians produced the Wonders of Egypt thousands of years before the pharaohs with advanced technology that was lost over the a lot of millennial centuries. We can hope the proof can still be found in the vast sands of Egypt. Egyptians can still be proud of the works of their ancestors even if it was done 10,000 to 60,000 years ago! We can only hope the proof is found within our lifetime and not in some unspecified future date. The Wonders of Ancient Egypt are awe inspiring and worthy of more Scientific Research with emphasis on Hard Science! Christopher Dunn is to be commended for adding a fresh perspective to the debate over HOW the Wonders of Egypt were Manufactured!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    This is an awesome book. Dunn clearly shows how the technology of Ancient Egypt has been basically ignored by mainstream Egyptologists. These academic fools are actually embarrassing when they insist they have no 'proof' that these people had advanced technology. Well, here's your proof. Egyptologists insist 'where's the pot shards, where are the machines? You don't need them since we have a much greater degree of proof. It's frozen in the statues and the pyramids.Dunn clearly shows that the Ancients had advanced use of measurement, quantitative machines and a lot of other shocking findings because nothing else can produce such brilliant work. What more proof do you need? All of his proofs would be difficult to reproduce in today's modern machine shops. Which begs the question how the heck did they do it???It gets beautiful technical for your average layman. It was even difficult for me at times and I have a degree in chemistry and medicine. I would suggest that Mr Dunn perhaps add a page or two on some prerequisites regarding advanced machining in modern times. But I obtain it too, I think in some sense it doesn't matter and the explanations may not support since it is an entire science that we must learn. However, the book is so cool that anyone can obtain the thrust of it without a science e other notice is the understanding of how 'closed' Egyptologists are to anything that might suggest that these people were NOT cave dwellers, but equal to us and in fact, possibly more advanced in some ways than us. Absolutely astonishing book. I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    Having read Dunn's first book, The Giza Power Plant, at least a dozen times, I must say that this work represents a huge step forward. The previous book by Dunn left me starving for more info about ancient Egypt and their technologocal prowess. This book delivers that in spades. Not only has the level of detail been amplified, but it is clear that the author has become a lot more comfortable with the written word. His voice is clear and confident and each chapter has been edited and polished quite a r a very casual reader the book may seem a small bit intimidating due to its technical nature, but Dunn does a superb job of finding the balance between too technical and not detailed enough. The end effect is a book that is very simple to read and one that presents an extremely compelling bunch of evidence regarding what the ancient Egyptians were actually capable of.I found myself re-reading several chapters, not because I didn't understand them, but beacause what I had read was so astounding that I required another read through just to allow it sink in. This is a truly remarkable book that is surely to become one of the "standard works" in the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    Well written, beautifully illustrated book that goes into amazing detail about the astounding smoothness, consistency, symmetry and use of golden ratios in large-scale ancient Egyptian statues, sarcophagi and other objects -- but virtually no discussion or suggestion of possible methods used. Would have expected an expert like Dunn to at least draw sfrom his extensive base of knowledge to outline possible approaches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    Mr. Dunn brilliantly builds a case to prove that ancient Egyptians were not merely mindless drones that spent untold hours chipping away at really hard rocks. On the other hand, he does (painstakingly) describe how advanced Egyptian artisans and engineers were in building structures that stand the try of time. He correctly convinces me without a speck of doubt that the Egyptian minds behind such structures are the best of all time! However, alluding to the title of this review, Mr. Dunn slowly, method too slowly builds his case. The book is written as if it were written by a mechanical engineer, academic and sometimes laborious like a textbook (first ten chapters). The book is painful to read at times because of all the info that a mere mortal like myself cannot compute (maybe I'm the mindless drone.) Like an interest curve, the latest four chapters pick up substantial steam and create Mr. Dunn's case with all the body of work to test to prove it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    I was thrilled to explore this book on Amazon recently. I am sure that over time most enlightened readers must have certainly come to the realization that (in general) archaeologists are among the most intellectually challenged of the scientific and academic communities. The primary skills of excavation and recording can be learned in a few months—but few archaeologists are properly equipped to interpret what they st archaeologists are barely able to knock out BA in history and this leads them to the MA and PhD in similar topics (such as a bucket of chert flakes) rather than more challenging fields. Despite this, most traditionally educated archaeologists are inculcated with the idea that a degree of any kind in archaeology actually qualifies them to pontificate on any topic under the sun. This is the culture and level of thinking that Dunn challenges with this perfect book.I have always had a amazing interest in Egypt and have long studied de Lubitz and West and others. Here in the US I have specialized in marine archaeology and also 19th century pottery. In both cases it created sense to me to build a few boats and learn to throw a few pots. This gave me some primary knowledge and a foundation to base my interpretations on. I search very few other archaeologists (none that I have heard of or met) will ever bother to do takes an engineer to interpret the remains of ancient engineering—which is why I was delighted to search this book. While today’s archaeologists will continue to label these ideas as ‘new age’ and on the fringe, I believe the future will present that the author has created a very significant and valuable contribution to a yet to be realized full understanding of the technological sophistication of Egyptian craftsmen and builders.Dunn has produced a thorough and challenging work—just what I would expect of an engineer! Dunn makes comparisons with modern manufacturing and engineering practices and the works of ancient Egypt. In every case he (as have others) shows that even today's machines and technology cannot produce the astonishing feats of craftsmanship and engineering that is so clearly demonstrated by the remnants of this awesome culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    Mr. Dunn is another engineer/ tool and die maker who is eminently qualified to judge tooling and design yet people who are able to read hieroglyphics and date pottery are attempting usurp a very skilled complicated discipline by postulating absurd construction ideas they have no business guessing at. Mr. Dunn through carefull photography and CAD programming apps makes a very powerful case for high tech machine tools being used on ancient monuments. where are the tools you say? where are the tools that built the empire state building? they moved on and then got recycled/ melted down or "re purposed" which people historically have done through out the ages.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lost Technologies of Ancient Egypt: Advanced Engineering in the Temples of the Pharaohs []  2020-2-1 10:20

    - sculptures done at Luxor and Thebes that were supposedly made using only primitive copper hand tools... the author all but says that the incredibly precise busts of Ramses and others could not have been done with these tools, and in fact would have been all but impossible to make without modern machine tools and I have to concur. Author Christopher Dunn may have been one of the first to photograph the stunningly attractive bust of Ramses then do a mirror-image overlay from one side to the next showing the wonderful precision from one side to the other. It is in fact almost impossible to believe that ancient Egyptians could have done work of such wonderful precision, using such crude tools. The precision shown on just hte bust of Ramses, 3,000 or more years ago, still looks like it must have come out of a mold using something like molten adancite (one of the hardest rocks in existence) even though archaeologists and Egyptologists say it could not have been created this method (and even if it were the question only would become, then how did they create such a mold to start with?).Using exhaustive analysis, measurement and photographic imagery Dunn compares modern methods - about which he is an expert with years of experience - to compare ancient techniques to those that would be used to make such objects today. This book necessarily involves a lot of assumptions, since we will probably never know exactly how the ancient Egyptians made the pyramids, the sculptures and other art that still baffles us today. But if you are fascinated by how they might have made these stunning stone works thousands of years ago 9and safe to say, it almost certainly wasn't with copper chisels and stone hammers) this is an objective, in-depth nut-sand-bolts explanation of the type of technology that simply MUST have been used (since the other explanations simply don't keep up to logic) to create the stunning stone works of ancient Egypt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Pocket Siem Reap & the Temples of Angkor (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-21 22:34

    Very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen Gardens and Temples of Kyoto: A Guide to Kyoto's Most Important Sites []  2020-1-23 0:28

    A nice book with lovely photos. I want they had included more maps to present zone and to present what grounds were like, but that's a quibble.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen Gardens and Temples of Kyoto: A Guide to Kyoto's Most Important Sites []  2020-1-23 0:28

    If all you ever knew about Zen was gleaned from Robert Persig’s Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, then the first eleven brief chapters will come as a delight and a surprise. To understand the chapters on the temples they are essential reading. Nineteen temples are described in detail, accompanied by attractive photographs enhancing and illustrating the text. They may well have created up an exhibition in their own right, I don’t know. The writing flows effortlessly. If you think it might be difficult to think of original things to say about nineteen various temples then you would be wrong, each temple seems to its own special experience. This is far more than a tutorial book although there is a summary on each temple that can be read at a glance if as a tourist you are wondering which temple to visit first. I would advise anyone thinking of visiting Kyoto to this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs and Hieroglyphs, A Brief History of Ancient Egypt (Brief Histories) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    I love it when historians are so confident of their material that they can write as if they had been there. Barbara Mertz is a consummate storyteller, as her tons of fiction bestsellers under two pseudonyms attest. Here, she turns her seemingly casual mastery to her original career of Egyptology, and the effect is a wonderfully readable book that still manages to teach detailed ancient Egyptian political history across thousands of years in a scholarly fashion. This fresh edition shows signs of significant updating, as well as her trademark humor from the standpoint of greater experience than in the first writing. As "Red Land, Black Land" is a detailed look -- as much as can be done given current knowledge -- at the lives of ordinary ancient Egyptians, "Temples, Tombs and Hieroglyphs" provides the history at the better-known levels of Egyptian kings and priests. It reads very quickly -- and how often are you able to break out laughing when reading nonfiction ancient history? If you have any interest in ancient Egypt, read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs and Hieroglyphs, A Brief History of Ancient Egypt (Brief Histories) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    Lovely Barbara Mertz held my interest throughout this entire book. Her wit & humor only added to the narrative as she detailed the exploits & foibles of ancient Egypt's pharaohs, court officials, & temple priests. This is the 2nd book on Egypt I've read by her, & I'd love it if she'd written a dozen more. Never a dull moment here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs and Hieroglyphs, A Brief History of Ancient Egypt (Brief Histories) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    Filled in some gaps on my knowledge of Egypt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen Gardens and Temples of Kyoto: A Guide to Kyoto's Most Important Sites []  2020-1-23 0:28

    Ten years ago I created my first pilgrimage to Kyoto. Like a lot of others, the popular Zen rock garden at Ryoan-ji Temple and the Golden Pavilion (Kinkaku-ji) were on the top of my list to visit. Since then I have explored a lot of other Zen Temples in the ancient capital of Japan. They are unique locations with a rich history, locations of presence, beauty and contemplation. The publication of 'Zen Gardens and Temples of Kyoto' helps place my journey of discovery into context. It has enhanced my understanding and appreciation of Zen and provided much meal for thought. For this I am grateful. The combination of informative, insightful and accessible text by John Dougill, and delightful photographs by John Einarsen, makes this book a 'must have' for those interested in Kyoto, Zen and Japan. The affordable for a book of this quality was also pleasing. The method 'Zen Gardens and Temples of Kyoto' is presented means that you can dip in an out or read it from cover to cover. Having done the latter I have noted some fresh Temples to visit and other leads to follow up. The useful access and contact info provided will be of assistance here. Bringing together so much material in the one put is admirable - the hard work has been done for us. I would recommend the book whether you live in Kyoto, have visited a lot of times as I have, or are planning your first trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Temples, Tombs and Hieroglyphs, A Brief History of Ancient Egypt (Brief Histories) []  2020-2-12 19:18

    Writing under the pen name Elizabeth Peters, Barbara Mertz started the Amelia Peabody series of tongue-in-cheek Victorian archaeological thrillers in 1975. But 11 years before then this trained Egyptologist published the first edition of "Temples, Tombs & Hieroglyphs".Like a lot of other books this traces of the history of ancient Egypt from the pre-dynastic to the Ptolemies. But Mertz brings her sense of humor to lighten what can be a dry series of lists of kings. She brings to life highpoints in the Old, Middle and Fresh Kingdoms, as well as the chaotic periods in between. Moreover, she lifts the veil and lets the reader in on a lot of of the scholarly disputes, like those over the woman pharaoh Hatshepsut and the role of Nefertiti in the succession to her heretical husband 's also nice to see someone reveal the egomaniac Ramses II for what he was, a not good leader who lost the second War of Kadesh, and who covered his weaknesses by pasting his photo r anyone who has read the Peabody books, including the depiction there of Sir William Flinders Petrie (and his approach to feeding his staff), Mertz' homage here to the founder of modern Egyptology is her forward to this Second Edition, Mertz says she thought she wouldn't have to do much to revise the earlier work. But then, she adds, taking into acc four decades of fresh discoveries proved to be a challenge. There are locations in this book where she discusses post-1964 work, but the addition of the fresh material is seamless, with no sense of things just stuck is is a delightful introduction to the fascinating history of ancient Egypt.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386