Read adobe after effects cs6 digital classroom reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all adobe after effects cs6 digital classroom reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    As a basic training book, or as a stand alone reference, this book would only obtain 2 stars from me. But using it in conjunction with other sources, it is not so bad. Hold that in mind before you buy this book. (On the cover of this book, it says: "Everything you need to master the software is included." I disagree, see below.)In general the book is OK, but it seemed to often focus on laying out steps to follow, without first establishing an understanding of what was going on. That is a general feeling. But on some fundamental things, the book seemed weak. For example, how to use the Rotation Tool should be beautiful primary and well covered in any book on Illustrator. But it isn't covered well at all in Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book. I tried experimenting around to figure it out after reading the similar information in the text, and I couldn't. So I looked on line, and found some lessons that filled in the holes about how to relocate an object's center, so that the rotational center point can be altered. And I also looked (successfully) in other books I already had for info on using the Rotation tool.I found that as I ran into questions, that referring to my old text book from 2007 (Revealed by Chris Botello) and the fresh Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium/Digital classroom actually answered most of my questions. But it did distress me that the book under review (Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book) should be spotty enough that I required to resort to other books, when I thought this book would be the be-all and end-all.But one thing that REALLY bugged me, is that at the begin of each chapter, they say how long it should take to work through the chapter. When they say, one hour, plan on three. And I already had a class in CS2 about 6 years ago, and did well, but hadn't used it since. But I wasn't starting at ground zero. Seeing that I was taking 3 hours, when they say only one should be needed, is demoralizing, until you see this happen enough times that you figure they must have decided to time how long it takes to read the lesson, without stopping even one anks, Chuck

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    This textbook is a needed text for an online class I'm taking. Beginning level illustrator. It's a amazing book but not a amazing book. Each chapter is a lesson - you read it and follow the steps and it takes you through different ways to do various things. I like the book and it's definitely helpful in learning how to do things with illustrator. My one hesitation with the book is that every once in a while I feel like it skips something and I'm left wondering how to do something. The info sometimes feels incomplete - usually it's a little step - but it throws me totally off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    This is an perfect tool for beginners and even experienced designers. However, in doing the exercises, a few little info left unmentioned here and there, causes one to have to waste time searching to figure out what one did incorrectly. Nevertheless, for the most part this is an perfect book-- as are all, in the Classroom in a Book series. If you haven't used these before, you will search that they're very well laid out in a step-by-step manner, with dozens of images and illustrations so you can see right away whether you've done a step correctly or finitely be sure you obtain the CD of lessons included with your copy. You can use the book without the CD lessons, but it's more difficult, and you will not have as thorough an experience.

    0  


    Add your opinion on adobe after effects cs6 digital classroom or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    I purchased this book as one of the texts to a web based design course. It comes with a CD of lessons. Each chapter has a various "project" to complete with step-by step directions. The instructions are detailed. At times there is a small too much detail and it becomes repetitive. But, you really do obtain a lot of of the concepts mastered beautiful quickly through the repetition. By the end of chapter three you will definitely know a lot about working with the views of the art boards...guaranteed! It probably won't satisfy someone who wants to look up a feature and see all the possibilities for using it one one page. It's not designed like that. It's designed to be "a Classroom in a Book." I highly recommend this for someone who wants to sit down and learn how to use the software. If you have not been exposed to Illustrator yet, it's not the type of software you learn by "tinkering". It does so much. There are hidden gems throughout the program. You really need something like this book to obtain you going.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    I bought the kindle ver Of the book. I have about 9 Adobe Classrooms in A Book. So far this book is the poorest written book out of the bunch. The authors are outright not good teachers. First they wrote 2 paragraphs on how to restart the program. They never explain how to present the hidden folders or files on your O/S. They couldn't say go to Control Panel > Folder Options > View Tab > Unchecked Hide protective operating system files > OK and than use Window Explorer to go to the folder. Once you in that folder they never told you what the files name. Is it a exe, dll, xml or a txt file?When I went to download the lesson files the e-book said I was downloading After Result CS 6 lesson files. I actually downloaded the correct files. These problems happen even before I started reading the book.Once I started the lessons They talk about what's fresh with the CS 6 version. Hey guys I already bought Illustrator, don't need another sales pitch. The first thing the author should have done was go over the layout of the program. Tell us about the Menu bar, Options bar, Tools panned, Status bar, Work zone menu, and Panels are located within the program. Then when you talk about the Work zone we know where to go, If I had no study Adobe Image CS 6 in A Classroom, I would have been looking for that Work Zone menu at lease 1/2 hour. Very next thing the author tried to teach was on how to begin a file with certain settings. Have the author ever heard of screen shots especially at the very beginning of his book? It't took me 10 mins trying to figure out how to imperilment the setting he ask for in opening a fresh file. That screenshot would have been very helpful. and the screenshot of the work zone would have been very helpful to the people that didn't know Illustrator's UI layout.I got feed up because it took me 10 mins to begin up a file, so I came here to write this review on a poorly written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    This series is a tremendous waste of money. You'd think that "Classroom in a Book" would mean "If you read this book you'll learn how to use the software." Not even close. You would also think "If I have a question I'll be able to look up the answer." Not remotely true. This is actually a CD of sample projects with which you can follow along to see how they were created, in case you wish to do something similar. The book is commentary on those sample projects. But if you wish to learn how to do something specific, or look up how to use a certain feature, this book is useless. A lot of of the software features aren't even listed in the ortly after my purchase I had a long chat with an Adobe rep about my concerns regarding this product and he promised "I will go ahead and escalate the case to our relevant squad who would be able to review this chat and obtain back to you with an appropriate resolution." They never contacted me. And while I was waiting to hear back from them, the return window expired, so now I have a very expensive paperweight. I am extremely disappointed in Adobe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    I bought this book for a college course and we plowed through it. It was beautiful simple to follow with the exception of one of the web design chapters (I wanna say it was somewhere between chapter 7 and 9). That could just be me, but the teacher and other students seemed to take problem with it as e class was almost entirely modeled around the lessons in this book, and it kicked our butts all semester long. A lot of work. But we learned a lot, too. The book starts with the basics and just keeps digging and digging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    I bought this because it's needed for my vector graphics class. I've worked through all the lessons. My basic complaint is it is soooo "hands on", I never had any sense of what I was doing. The book literally tells you exactly what key to hit one by one. Sounds great, right! but then I didn't remember very much since I never really understood what or why I was doing what I was based on the amazing experience I had with Exploring Adobe InDesign CS6 (Adobe Cs6) I ordered Exploring Adobe Illustrator CS6 (Adobe CS6). I'm satisfied I did. I'm about halfway through it. It's much better balanced, shifting back and forth between big-picture explanations of concepts and hands-on step-by-step lessons. The lessons are more fun and attractive. I come to class and my classmates seem to be struggling, but with my fresh book, I'm doing much better.I told my teacher about my experience and she said the department uses classroom in a book mainly because Adobe is the first one to obtain their book out with the fresh software version, but she's not happy with their book either.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    I was kind of worried when I bought this, because I had read the reviews that stated no downloads were included for the practice lessons. I guess Amazon or Adobe have fixed this problem, because on the very latest page they give a web address, which is also a link to the files. I went to the address on my laptop where the Illustrator program is installed and had no issues downloading all the important files. Now I can read the book on the Kindle while following the steps on the laptop. Very useful. It is quite a lot of material however, and is not learned in just a few sittings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    After picking up the recent Adobe suite I wanted to learn how to use the software. Picked this book up to learn how to use Illustrator and begin creating a graphic design portfolio. The book was excellent. Progresses at a steady rate, teaches you primary ideas then builds on them offering multiple ways to create. Purchased this book and the Image Classroom in a book, and have been slowly working on the two. I have learned alot more through the books since I can work at my own pace and don't need to rewatch a video to understand a technique.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    I teach Image (high school) and use this book as a supplement. CS6 was the latest ver before Adobe went to the subscription-based "option" that most software companies now use. I will continue to use CS6 for as long as possible unless Adobe allows schools/businesses/individuals to buy a product outright with the understanding that endless updates will not be provided. Subscription-based software agreements are generally 1-sided. My district will discover open-source alternatives before agreeing to pay Adobe monthly for eternity. Doing so also teaches students about common sense consumerism and capitalism...The book lessons are relatively simple, but provide a amazing tour/exploration of Photo's potential. Excellent for CS6 owners and independent learners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    This is a amazing book!! The practical exercises were simple to understand to replicate the same results described by the book. Being a small familiar with Photo, I still found fresh elements of Image that were helpful. It has improved my use of the tools that I have never used and I am always referring back to the book as a resource. I also purchased Adobe Illustrator for CS6 before I purchased this book and did not like it at all. Now that I have gone through Adobe Photo, I can appreciate Adobe Illustrator, although I still search it less practical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    I took a Image class through the University of Missouri - St. Louis computer center and my head was swimming by the end of the 8 hour class. It's TOO much to cover in a one-day class. So I bought this book and went through it lesson by lesson at my own pace. It taught me more than I learned in the professionally taught class and it cost a lot less too! I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking to learn Image but who doesn't have the time or cash to take a class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    First of all 432 pages? I'm not sure where Amazon is getting that figure, but mine ends at 385. That's irrelevant. What's necessary is that I breezed through the first half of the book thinking it was awesome and I was a pro, but realized that it came easily because I was already familiar with Photo, Illustrator and InDesign. I had played around with them on my own but knew I was missing a lot of basics, which is why I wanted a definitive tutorial that would cover all the ground and explain why I'm doing what. Adobe does not do that at all. It takes you through the steps and leaves you wondering why you are completing a certain action, and what the purpose is of a lot of functions. There is essentially zero explanation, through a lot of lessons I would consult other sources, like Image for Dummies or internet forums looking for something that gave me a 'why' and not just a 'how'. If I were left to make a related project to some of the exercises presented in the book, I'd be SOL. Beautiful disappointed with the 'official' Adobe Guide. It also never addresses what happens if the steps outlined don't actually work. Another time where I must turn to outside sources and helpful users on forums to figure out the mistep. It's lacking in icons and further graphics, for example, if I didn't know what tracking was from InDesign, the instructions that simply say "tracking: -10" would leave me confused (and completely wondering what tracking was). Or at the beginning of the chapter it tells you you will "learn how to use tutorials to position text" and the instruction is literally "Drag a vertical guide"....I could imagine my parents or anyone unfamiliar with Adobe wouldn't have the first clue where to start. All in all, very disappointed with the lacking material that explains why you do something and what result it has...this is just a step-by-step, and at times, not very clear at that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    I'm a fresh mac and adobe cs6 user I was so lost I felt like returning the software and my fresh macpro to the store. I could not hold up with my class in college then I decide to buy Image (PS) classroom in a Book. OOhh my God I learned in 4 hours what I had not in a month and a half in school. If you are begginer or average user of PS buy the classroom in a book and you won't regreated. You will need garamond font for a lesson in the lesson 1 folder.go to google web website and type (garamond font no dowloading) then go to missing garamond font in Macrumors Forums scroll down in the forums until you see the web adressed for the font download and install in your cmputer if you do not have it installed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    I am convinced that if I tried to learn AI-CS6 without this book, I would still be struggling with the basics. I don't know how the Adobe Creative Squad does it differently from others, but I learned the features and techniques of AI-CS6 with a whole fresh level of tes and Tips:- Take your time. I completed lessons in 2-3 times the suggested durations. Sure, I could have raced through each lesson, but that isn't the point. My objective was to learn AI-CS6 by taking the time to discover each lesson and experiment with the features. The lessons and examples are rich in content.- Read the instructions carefully. A lot of of the instructions are specific where every word is important. Skimming the text doesn't work.- Each lesson has an initialization step to set AI-CS6 with a known default configuration (resets the essentials). This is nice because it allows the user to experience any lesson in any order or to refer back to any lesson.- A lot of of the techniques (e.g., setting the fill color, re-sizing, managing layers) are shown using multiple methods.- The examples are well-designed. It became obvious as I progressed through the lessons. The examples are so crucial to the book and learning AI-CS6.- I bought the Kindle ver of the book. As other reviewers have indicated, the link to download the files is located on the latest few pages. I had no issues finding the fifteen zip files but the 'Download All' button didn't work for me. Even with clicking the download button for each of the fifteen files, I had the files in a minute.- The first example is titled 'A Fast Tour of Adobe Illustrator CS6' and introduces several of the tools and features using a sign post example. I had two reactions to this first example: 1) AI is an awesome software application for illustrations. 2) If the rest of the book is like this first tour of AI-CS6, then I am in method over my head. Fortunately, the fifteen actual lessons are very well-designed and eat job creating an indispensable tutorial to learning AI-CS6!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    i knew someone who wrote software for this back at 1 or 2, and i've always wanted to learn it but have always just kind of scratched my head, so i broke down and bought 1 book, and i just trust adobe. whenever i buy a dumb down book like i did once for lightroom, i end up disliking how condescending and self-promoting the author tends to be. the point of a book like this is to create the software coherent. it is not about the author. i trust adobe to obtain that right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Illustrator CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-2-1 12:51

    The needed textbook for my graphic design class is Versus the Clock Professional Portfolio series, but that book is really geared for more advanced users. I am seriously considering dropping that course because the book is incomprehensible. However, in efforts to learn the program on my own, I purchased this. I can truly say that I am learning so much more using Classroom in a Book than the needed text. It's very step-by-step and hands on, which is great. However, I want there were instruction explaining the "why" behind things; at times it feels a bit robotic. I also want there were videos that supplement the lessons, but it is a goldmine compared Versus the Clock. I do, however, like the fact that it is very step by step, with lots of illustrations, so I know exactly what to do and how to do it. The book is geared for the absolute newbie, which is amazing for me. When I finish working through all the projects in the book, I expect that I'll have a amazing working knowledge about Illustrator, but to become more of an expert I'd need a second book. I love how chapter one allows you to experience different tools at a very primary level, and then later chapters would go more in depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    The e-book from Kindle contains a link to download the lesson files that the book is based around. The link in the e-book downloads a file that is unzippable. Waiting for PeachPit to return an e-mail requesting information/instructions to begin the file or download another one. The book is really useless without the lesson files. Really need to fix this if they continue to sell the electronic version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-10-10 19:25

    I've used the classroom in a book series since CS4. This series (not just for Image but any Adobe product) is the most direct approach to learning Adobe products. The books always comes with supporting files (and sometimes videos) to support tutorial you through using the product. You make projects with pre-created elements so you can focus on learning the software without having to worry so much about being too creative.I recommend this product to anyone who wants to know the ins and outs of Adobe Image starting from the very basic. I think anyone with patience to teach themselves fresh software will do fine making their method through this book. I do not recommend this book for beginning computer users. Adobe has a steep learning curve, so it's best if you begin with a amazing understanding of primary computer skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    I don't think you ever work though a complete project. It's very disorganized and jumps around. Like the author was going "oh, allow me present you this. oh allow me present you that." You begin a project then its confusing because the next section doesn't pick up where you left off, you just abandon it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    This was a amazing 101 introduction to After Effects. It's full of primary guides and some resource full hints for fresh updates and shortcuts included in the 2018 version. However, there were a few misprints and missing info in some guides that I had to google find and ask a pro about. However, if you wish to start the steps of learning after effects...this is the method to go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    I've used a few classroom in a book textbooks for my graphic design courses at Arizona is book is just not good compared to the books for InDesign, Photo, and Illustrator. This book is full of typos, little dark pictures, and unclear instruction. I would not suggest getting this if you're a complete newbie to After Effects. If you've managed to mess around with the program and have a amazing feel for it, I would suggest this book as a tutorial at best. However you would probably be better off saving your cash and following along with a guide found on Google or Pinterest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    This was a amazing 101 introduction to After Effects. It's full of primary guides and some resource full hints for fresh updates and shortcuts included in the 2018 version. However, there were a few misprints and missing info in some guides that I had to google find and ask a pro about. However, if you wish to start the steps of learning after effects...this is the method to go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    My fiance & myself are freelance designers currently working for several companies & organizations. I cannot overstate how necessary understanding & performing in the motion graphics department is. So we got this book and neither of us can place it down so far lol. We are already beautiful amazing with After Effects so we went ahead and read through the first couple of chapters beautiful quickly. However, nothing beats learning the formality of how it all works and really understanding your tools and exactly how capable this software actually is. This book is amazing for a beginner and an amazing reference for the experienced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    There are 2 authors on this book and one of them is very good. The other, not so much. If you are using Ae 2019 or later, I'd look for a more current edition or be prepared to debug the lessons. It might be worth your while as extra learning, but it was frustrating thinking I was doing something wrong without considering the lesson was flawed. They aren't all poor but lesson 13 in particular is bad. I was using Windows and the instructions I assume are for Mac and they didn't verify the lesson for Windows 10. Additionally there are some variables in the other lessons that aren't always l of that being said it is a nice introduction to primary and and advanced features of Ae. I wouldn't pay more than 5 bucks for a ver since the release of Ae 2019.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    I've used a few classroom in a book textbooks for my graphic design courses at Arizona is book is just not good compared to the books for InDesign, Photo, and Illustrator. This book is full of typos, little dark pictures, and unclear instruction. I would not suggest getting this if you're a complete newbie to After Effects. If you've managed to mess around with the program and have a amazing feel for it, I would suggest this book as a tutorial at best. However you would probably be better off saving your cash and following along with a guide found on Google or Pinterest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    There are 2 authors on this book and one of them is very good. The other, not so much. If you are using Ae 2019 or later, I'd look for a more current edition or be prepared to debug the lessons. It might be worth your while as extra learning, but it was frustrating thinking I was doing something wrong without considering the lesson was flawed. They aren't all poor but lesson 13 in particular is bad. I was using Windows and the instructions I assume are for Mac and they didn't verify the lesson for Windows 10. Additionally there are some variables in the other lessons that aren't always l of that being said it is a nice introduction to primary and and advanced features of Ae. I wouldn't pay more than 5 bucks for a ver since the release of Ae 2019.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    I've used a few classroom in a book textbooks for my graphic design courses at Arizona is book is just not good compared to the books for InDesign, Photo, and Illustrator. This book is full of typos, little dark pictures, and unclear instruction. I would not suggest getting this if you're a complete newbie to After Effects. If you've managed to mess around with the program and have a amazing feel for it, I would suggest this book as a tutorial at best. However you would probably be better off saving your cash and following along with a guide found on Google or Pinterest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    i've paid tuitiion fe es for multiple college level graphic design courses that simply teach from these books. The adobe textbooks take the "long way" to explain everything, but its detailed. and it works. ... been very successful with other Adobe Suite Applications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects Classroom in a Book (2020 release) []  2020-5-20 18:29

    This is the 2nd book I bought on After Effects. My first purchase (different book) was a disappointment because the writing style was difficult to follow. This book is laid out well and the writing is clear. I just finished chapter 5 and I have already learned a ton. I went through a lot of of the official Adobe AE guides and didn't learn a fraction of what this book has taught me in the first 5 chapters. AE is now a tool in my repertoire and I look forward to finishing the rest of the book by the end of next week.Edit April 10, 2020 - After finishing the book it is still a firm 5 stars. There were 2 exercises in the book where I got confused, but the completed versions of the projects were a amazing help. The book did exactly what I needed: provided me with a amazing understanding of the fundamentals of AE. Now I can go forth into the Youtube jungle of AE guides and create better sense of them. If you are brand fresh to AE, this is a amazing book to obtain started with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    I don't think you ever work though a complete project. It's very disorganized and jumps around. Like the author was going "oh, allow me present you this. oh allow me present you that." You begin a project then its confusing because the next section doesn't pick up where you left off, you just abandon it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    I really want I had taken the poor reviews to heart. It's extremely frustrating, what with the mistakes in the book combined with very tedious and complicated instruction. It became too much to tolerate, even for a patient person, by the fifth chapter and I have, for now, given up on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    Is this a poor book? No. But is it good? Is it complete? Is it comprehensive? Can you easily search specific information? Well... that's where the issues come rst of all, allow me say this, so that anybody reading the review has some idea of where the reviewer is coming from. I used to use AE quite a bit several years ago, but I basically haven't touched it since at least 2014. So there's a LOT I don't remember too clearly about exactly how everything works, and it's a complex program, obviously. And just as obviously, there have been a lot of updates (even though the basics are the same.) I always used the Trish and Chris Meyer books in the past, but the latest published edition was in 2010. So, as far as books... there aren't a lot of choices. There are a lot of random videos out there, and there's also (more about that later), but there are just not a lot of selections at all for the old school og rst, the good: This book is well-written, and the examples are clear. The guides are fun and well-paced, also well-explained. The basics are... well, KIND OF basically covered (shape, text, animation, layers, masks, puppet tools, rotobrush, color correction, 3D features included the camera tracker, advanced editing, rendering.) The issue came in when I started thinking about how well this would all work for someone who was a REAL beginner rather than a past user who just hadn't picked up the fresh edition for a few years. Because the truth is, the basics aren't really covered, and here's the proof.Look at an old copy of the latest Trish and Chris Meyer 2010 book, *Creating Motion Graphics With After Effects.* I have a copy on the desk right now. It's 752 pages. The Classroom in a Book is 399 pages. Yep-- 752 pages to cover the OLDER version, and 388 pages to cover the NEWER version, with all the added features. Lots and lots and lots of the essentials have been chop out. Look for a list of keyboard shortcuts-- it's not there. Look for the older, much longer chapters going into detail about fundamental concepts like layers and keyframes and editing-- not there. Look for xyzabc etc etc etc... not there. In 388 pages, it CAN'T be why not just go to a source like lynda . com, you ask? I've had that membership for a long time, and I think I might even renew it again. THAT is where Trish and Chris Meyer went, and their instructional videos are there. But here's the issue with a video lesson format: you're tied to the pace and teaching methods decided on by the people who *made* the videos. There is no reference manual. And that's what the Classroom in a Book desperately required to be. I do not have a lot of patience for going through videos and spending literally ten or twenty times the amount of time I would spend to look up something in a real reference book. Sometimes, we need specific pieces of info easily and quickly accessible and place together in an understandable method rather than having to sit through several twenty min videos to test to figure out something very specific that we wish to do. (The Adobe support and user forums are absolutely not a solution either, which is too bad.) What really required to happen is for Trish and Chris Meyer to hold coming out with books, whether in print or online format. That's really what they should do-- online editions of updated AE books-- instead of 100% sticking to videos That is the strongest aspect of the Classroom book, btw-- when you buy it, you can go online to peachpit press and use the online version. But I don't think it's enough. I haven't decided yet if I'll be returning this book, but that might happen, even though it isn't exactly bad... it's just not amazing S:Does have some amazing infoTutorials are well writtenDoes cover some of what you need to knowOnline ver included with the purchase is very NSDoes not cover the basics very wellDoes not include comprehensive info about the nuts and bolts of AE in the method that the Trish and Chris Meyer books didNot a reference book, which it required to beNot long enoughEmphasis on guides rather than constructing the "building blocks" of the primary knowledge you need to use AE as a tool.WAY too expensive for what it is.Overall, this isn't a poor book to have in your library... but I would seriously also buy Creating Motion Graphics with After Effects, 5th Edition. Even though it doesn't have information on the most latest updates, it comprehensively covers the basics, and the fresh CiaB does not. For $56.50, the fresh book needs to offer more than it does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    i've paid tuitiion fe es for multiple college level graphic design courses that simply teach from these books. The adobe textbooks take the "long way" to explain everything, but its detailed. and it works. ... been very successful with other Adobe Suite Applications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    You can learn more from a five min youtube n’t waste your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    So far I've gotten through chapter nine in the book. It is well laid out and very extensive so far. The lessons on the CD are very helpful but I'm beginning to wish to see the entire film with the sorcerer. Looks interesting.I only have one complaint but it's not enough to reduce the rating. The screen shots are TEENY making it hard to see what's in them. I'm constantly using a magnifying glass. My recommendation to Adobe is to contain the screenshots on the DVD so a person can pull them up if they need to see more detail.I've never used Premier pro before and search this book explains things very well. I've used other products in the Adobe suite and am happy that some shortcut keys and icons for tools remain consistent throughout. Adobe is very amazing with that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    My three star rating is mostly due to the constant file link problems contained in the DVD-ROM. I use Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 on a MAC using the Mountain Lion OS. As an Adobe Creative Cloud member, I have the recent updates as well, so should be ready to handle the files that are important to work through the lessons in the book. The lessons themselves are well laid out, and while I had a couple of moments where I went: "What??? Where is that button???", for the most part, everything was very simple to follow. Unfortunately, some of the files just would not work. Not only were these not linked to the project, but the files themselves seemed unavailable (i.e. no MOV files, instead, grayed out PEK files). While this may all be due to codecs missing and such (I am still in back and forth with Adobe Press about what is going on), the fact is we do not wish to be spending hours trying to create the files work when we're already spending hours learning the program. Adobe Press offered the usual solution: search the files in the Lessons Asset folder and link them. Uh...yeah, been there, tried that. I also downloaded the lessons Asset files from their website as well, just to create sure I was up to date, as the DVD-ROM files were giving me problems. When it came time to choose another 'Classroom in a Book' book for another software, I created the choice to go with something else because I just do not wish to have to work around unusable files. And, of course, without the important files, trying to work through the lessons was a bit hellish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    My fiance & myself are freelance designers currently working for several companies & organizations. I cannot overstate how necessary understanding & performing in the motion graphics department is. So we got this book and neither of us can place it down so far lol. We are already beautiful amazing with After Effects so we went ahead and read through the first couple of chapters beautiful quickly. However, nothing beats learning the formality of how it all works and really understanding your tools and exactly how capable this software actually is. This book is amazing for a beginner and an amazing reference for the experienced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    Kindle version: Lots of typos. Long captions unnecessarily describe everything in each screenshot. I wonder if a draft copy mistakenly created it into the Kindle distribution. Otherwise, the content seems fine - a amazing refresher/update for someone like me who has been away from AE for several years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    Is this a poor book? No. But is it good? Is it complete? Is it comprehensive? Can you easily search specific information? Well... that's where the issues come rst of all, allow me say this, so that anybody reading the review has some idea of where the reviewer is coming from. I used to use AE quite a bit several years ago, but I basically haven't touched it since at least 2014. So there's a LOT I don't remember too clearly about exactly how everything works, and it's a complex program, obviously. And just as obviously, there have been a lot of updates (even though the basics are the same.) I always used the Trish and Chris Meyer books in the past, but the latest published edition was in 2010. So, as far as books... there aren't a lot of choices. There are a lot of random videos out there, and there's also (more about that later), but there are just not a lot of selections at all for the old school og rst, the good: This book is well-written, and the examples are clear. The guides are fun and well-paced, also well-explained. The basics are... well, KIND OF basically covered (shape, text, animation, layers, masks, puppet tools, rotobrush, color correction, 3D features included the camera tracker, advanced editing, rendering.) The issue came in when I started thinking about how well this would all work for someone who was a REAL beginner rather than a past user who just hadn't picked up the fresh edition for a few years. Because the truth is, the basics aren't really covered, and here's the proof.Look at an old copy of the latest Trish and Chris Meyer 2010 book, *Creating Motion Graphics With After Effects.* I have a copy on the desk right now. It's 752 pages. The Classroom in a Book is 399 pages. Yep-- 752 pages to cover the OLDER version, and 388 pages to cover the NEWER version, with all the added features. Lots and lots and lots of the essentials have been chop out. Look for a list of keyboard shortcuts-- it's not there. Look for the older, much longer chapters going into detail about fundamental concepts like layers and keyframes and editing-- not there. Look for xyzabc etc etc etc... not there. In 388 pages, it CAN'T be why not just go to a source like lynda . com, you ask? I've had that membership for a long time, and I think I might even renew it again. THAT is where Trish and Chris Meyer went, and their instructional videos are there. But here's the issue with a video lesson format: you're tied to the pace and teaching methods decided on by the people who *made* the videos. There is no reference manual. And that's what the Classroom in a Book desperately required to be. I do not have a lot of patience for going through videos and spending literally ten or twenty times the amount of time I would spend to look up something in a real reference book. Sometimes, we need specific pieces of info easily and quickly accessible and place together in an understandable method rather than having to sit through several twenty min videos to test to figure out something very specific that we wish to do. (The Adobe support and user forums are absolutely not a solution either, which is too bad.) What really required to happen is for Trish and Chris Meyer to hold coming out with books, whether in print or online format. That's really what they should do-- online editions of updated AE books-- instead of 100% sticking to videos That is the strongest aspect of the Classroom book, btw-- when you buy it, you can go online to peachpit press and use the online version. But I don't think it's enough. I haven't decided yet if I'll be returning this book, but that might happen, even though it isn't exactly bad... it's just not amazing S:Does have some amazing infoTutorials are well writtenDoes cover some of what you need to knowOnline ver included with the purchase is very NSDoes not cover the basics very wellDoes not include comprehensive info about the nuts and bolts of AE in the method that the Trish and Chris Meyer books didNot a reference book, which it required to beNot long enoughEmphasis on guides rather than constructing the "building blocks" of the primary knowledge you need to use AE as a tool.WAY too expensive for what it is.Overall, this isn't a poor book to have in your library... but I would seriously also buy Creating Motion Graphics with After Effects, 5th Edition. Even though it doesn't have information on the most latest updates, it comprehensively covers the basics, and the fresh CiaB does not. For $56.50, the fresh book needs to offer more than it does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    i've paid tuitiion fe es for multiple college level graphic design courses that simply teach from these books. The adobe textbooks take the "long way" to explain everything, but its detailed. and it works. ... been very successful with other Adobe Suite Applications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    I really want I had taken the poor reviews to heart. It's extremely frustrating, what with the mistakes in the book combined with very tedious and complicated instruction. It became too much to tolerate, even for a patient person, by the fifth chapter and I have, for now, given up on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    You can learn more from a five min youtube n’t waste your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    Is this a poor book? No. But is it good? Is it complete? Is it comprehensive? Can you easily search specific information? Well... that's where the issues come rst of all, allow me say this, so that anybody reading the review has some idea of where the reviewer is coming from. I used to use AE quite a bit several years ago, but I basically haven't touched it since at least 2014. So there's a LOT I don't remember too clearly about exactly how everything works, and it's a complex program, obviously. And just as obviously, there have been a lot of updates (even though the basics are the same.) I always used the Trish and Chris Meyer books in the past, but the latest published edition was in 2010. So, as far as books... there aren't a lot of choices. There are a lot of random videos out there, and there's also (more about that later), but there are just not a lot of selections at all for the old school og rst, the good: This book is well-written, and the examples are clear. The guides are fun and well-paced, also well-explained. The basics are... well, KIND OF basically covered (shape, text, animation, layers, masks, puppet tools, rotobrush, color correction, 3D features included the camera tracker, advanced editing, rendering.) The issue came in when I started thinking about how well this would all work for someone who was a REAL beginner rather than a past user who just hadn't picked up the fresh edition for a few years. Because the truth is, the basics aren't really covered, and here's the proof.Look at an old copy of the latest Trish and Chris Meyer 2010 book, *Creating Motion Graphics With After Effects.* I have a copy on the desk right now. It's 752 pages. The Classroom in a Book is 399 pages. Yep-- 752 pages to cover the OLDER version, and 388 pages to cover the NEWER version, with all the added features. Lots and lots and lots of the essentials have been chop out. Look for a list of keyboard shortcuts-- it's not there. Look for the older, much longer chapters going into detail about fundamental concepts like layers and keyframes and editing-- not there. Look for xyzabc etc etc etc... not there. In 388 pages, it CAN'T be why not just go to a source like lynda . com, you ask? I've had that membership for a long time, and I think I might even renew it again. THAT is where Trish and Chris Meyer went, and their instructional videos are there. But here's the issue with a video lesson format: you're tied to the pace and teaching methods decided on by the people who *made* the videos. There is no reference manual. And that's what the Classroom in a Book desperately required to be. I do not have a lot of patience for going through videos and spending literally ten or twenty times the amount of time I would spend to look up something in a real reference book. Sometimes, we need specific pieces of info easily and quickly accessible and place together in an understandable method rather than having to sit through several twenty min videos to test to figure out something very specific that we wish to do. (The Adobe support and user forums are absolutely not a solution either, which is too bad.) What really required to happen is for Trish and Chris Meyer to hold coming out with books, whether in print or online format. That's really what they should do-- online editions of updated AE books-- instead of 100% sticking to videos That is the strongest aspect of the Classroom book, btw-- when you buy it, you can go online to peachpit press and use the online version. But I don't think it's enough. I haven't decided yet if I'll be returning this book, but that might happen, even though it isn't exactly bad... it's just not amazing S:Does have some amazing infoTutorials are well writtenDoes cover some of what you need to knowOnline ver included with the purchase is very NSDoes not cover the basics very wellDoes not include comprehensive info about the nuts and bolts of AE in the method that the Trish and Chris Meyer books didNot a reference book, which it required to beNot long enoughEmphasis on guides rather than constructing the "building blocks" of the primary knowledge you need to use AE as a tool.WAY too expensive for what it is.Overall, this isn't a poor book to have in your library... but I would seriously also buy Creating Motion Graphics with After Effects, 5th Edition. Even though it doesn't have information on the most latest updates, it comprehensively covers the basics, and the fresh CiaB does not. For $56.50, the fresh book needs to offer more than it does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    I don't think you ever work though a complete project. It's very disorganized and jumps around. Like the author was going "oh, allow me present you this. oh allow me present you that." You begin a project then its confusing because the next section doesn't pick up where you left off, you just abandon it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    i've paid tuitiion fe es for multiple college level graphic design courses that simply teach from these books. The adobe textbooks take the "long way" to explain everything, but its detailed. and it works. ... been very successful with other Adobe Suite Applications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    I really want I had taken the poor reviews to heart. It's extremely frustrating, what with the mistakes in the book combined with very tedious and complicated instruction. It became too much to tolerate, even for a patient person, by the fifth chapter and I have, for now, given up on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    I don't think you ever work though a complete project. It's very disorganized and jumps around. Like the author was going "oh, allow me present you this. oh allow me present you that." You begin a project then its confusing because the next section doesn't pick up where you left off, you just abandon it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    Kindle version: Lots of typos. Long captions unnecessarily describe everything in each screenshot. I wonder if a draft copy mistakenly created it into the Kindle distribution. Otherwise, the content seems fine - a amazing refresher/update for someone like me who has been away from AE for several years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    I really want I had taken the poor reviews to heart. It's extremely frustrating, what with the mistakes in the book combined with very tedious and complicated instruction. It became too much to tolerate, even for a patient person, by the fifth chapter and I have, for now, given up on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    This was a amazing 101 introduction to After Effects. It's full of primary guides and some resource full hints for fresh updates and shortcuts included in the 2018 version. However, there were a few misprints and missing info in some guides that I had to google find and ask a pro about. However, if you wish to start the steps of learning after effects...this is the method to go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    There are 2 authors on this book and one of them is very good. The other, not so much. If you are using Ae 2019 or later, I'd look for a more current edition or be prepared to debug the lessons. It might be worth your while as extra learning, but it was frustrating thinking I was doing something wrong without considering the lesson was flawed. They aren't all poor but lesson 13 in particular is bad. I was using Windows and the instructions I assume are for Mac and they didn't verify the lesson for Windows 10. Additionally there are some variables in the other lessons that aren't always l of that being said it is a nice introduction to primary and and advanced features of Ae. I wouldn't pay more than 5 bucks for a ver since the release of Ae 2019.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    Is this a poor book? No. But is it good? Is it complete? Is it comprehensive? Can you easily search specific information? Well... that's where the issues come rst of all, allow me say this, so that anybody reading the review has some idea of where the reviewer is coming from. I used to use AE quite a bit several years ago, but I basically haven't touched it since at least 2014. So there's a LOT I don't remember too clearly about exactly how everything works, and it's a complex program, obviously. And just as obviously, there have been a lot of updates (even though the basics are the same.) I always used the Trish and Chris Meyer books in the past, but the latest published edition was in 2010. So, as far as books... there aren't a lot of choices. There are a lot of random videos out there, and there's also (more about that later), but there are just not a lot of selections at all for the old school og rst, the good: This book is well-written, and the examples are clear. The guides are fun and well-paced, also well-explained. The basics are... well, KIND OF basically covered (shape, text, animation, layers, masks, puppet tools, rotobrush, color correction, 3D features included the camera tracker, advanced editing, rendering.) The issue came in when I started thinking about how well this would all work for someone who was a REAL beginner rather than a past user who just hadn't picked up the fresh edition for a few years. Because the truth is, the basics aren't really covered, and here's the proof.Look at an old copy of the latest Trish and Chris Meyer 2010 book, *Creating Motion Graphics With After Effects.* I have a copy on the desk right now. It's 752 pages. The Classroom in a Book is 399 pages. Yep-- 752 pages to cover the OLDER version, and 388 pages to cover the NEWER version, with all the added features. Lots and lots and lots of the essentials have been chop out. Look for a list of keyboard shortcuts-- it's not there. Look for the older, much longer chapters going into detail about fundamental concepts like layers and keyframes and editing-- not there. Look for xyzabc etc etc etc... not there. In 388 pages, it CAN'T be why not just go to a source like lynda . com, you ask? I've had that membership for a long time, and I think I might even renew it again. THAT is where Trish and Chris Meyer went, and their instructional videos are there. But here's the issue with a video lesson format: you're tied to the pace and teaching methods decided on by the people who *made* the videos. There is no reference manual. And that's what the Classroom in a Book desperately required to be. I do not have a lot of patience for going through videos and spending literally ten or twenty times the amount of time I would spend to look up something in a real reference book. Sometimes, we need specific pieces of info easily and quickly accessible and place together in an understandable method rather than having to sit through several twenty min videos to test to figure out something very specific that we wish to do. (The Adobe support and user forums are absolutely not a solution either, which is too bad.) What really required to happen is for Trish and Chris Meyer to hold coming out with books, whether in print or online format. That's really what they should do-- online editions of updated AE books-- instead of 100% sticking to videos That is the strongest aspect of the Classroom book, btw-- when you buy it, you can go online to peachpit press and use the online version. But I don't think it's enough. I haven't decided yet if I'll be returning this book, but that might happen, even though it isn't exactly bad... it's just not amazing S:Does have some amazing infoTutorials are well writtenDoes cover some of what you need to knowOnline ver included with the purchase is very NSDoes not cover the basics very wellDoes not include comprehensive info about the nuts and bolts of AE in the method that the Trish and Chris Meyer books didNot a reference book, which it required to beNot long enoughEmphasis on guides rather than constructing the "building blocks" of the primary knowledge you need to use AE as a tool.WAY too expensive for what it is.Overall, this isn't a poor book to have in your library... but I would seriously also buy Creating Motion Graphics with After Effects, 5th Edition. Even though it doesn't have information on the most latest updates, it comprehensively covers the basics, and the fresh CiaB does not. For $56.50, the fresh book needs to offer more than it does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    You can learn more from a five min youtube n’t waste your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2019 Release) []  2020-1-23 2:23

    There are 2 authors on this book and one of them is very good. The other, not so much. If you are using Ae 2019 or later, I'd look for a more current edition or be prepared to debug the lessons. It might be worth your while as extra learning, but it was frustrating thinking I was doing something wrong without considering the lesson was flawed. They aren't all poor but lesson 13 in particular is bad. I was using Windows and the instructions I assume are for Mac and they didn't verify the lesson for Windows 10. Additionally there are some variables in the other lessons that aren't always l of that being said it is a nice introduction to primary and and advanced features of Ae. I wouldn't pay more than 5 bucks for a ver since the release of Ae 2019.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects Classroom in a Book (2020 release) []  2020-5-20 18:29

    Adobe Premiere Pro contains a lot of tools for creating motion graphics and visual effects in movie and video. However, if you really are trying to make something beyond standard fare, the Adobe Creative Cloud Suite contains the software After Effects that will let you to make jazzier stuff. There's small instinctive about After Effects, so a fresh user will require a primary is book will do the job, although it will be no simple task because of the complexity of the software. It provides a number of guides for the reader to work through that will familiarize you with After Effects' capabilities. Files can be downloaded from the publisher's www service that can then be used in each of the step-by-step tutorials. If you wish to have your titles race across the screen, or to change the background in your shot from your living room to the Grand Canyon or erase that annoying sign or change the name of that restaurant in your video, the authors walk you through the steps involved. They will even tell you how easily After Effects integrates with Premiere Pro.I complained in a review of a previous edition that the After Effects interface was so dense and complicated that when the authors told you to select a certain menu or button it was often difficult to even search the menu or button. That issue is solved because purchase of the dead trees ver of the book also gives you access to the electronic version. Each section of the electronic book starts with a video that covers the following material, almost word for word. (There are hints and notes included in the rest electronic ver that are not included either the video or the book; they are not essential to learning After Effects but might prove useful to some folks.) These videos present you a screen shot of what's in the guide so it's much easier to search an obscure button. I've become so enamored of the electronic ver that I opened both that ver and After Effects on my desktop and flipped back and forth by just pressing Alt-Tab on my PC keyboard. No more juggling the book on my lap. My only complaint was that sometimes two or three videos appeared in a section. If you opened the later videos full screen for ease of viewing, you were returned to the begin of the section when you minimized the video rather than tthe spot you were in before cently added features of After Effects are covered. The lessons covered in the 2019 edition of the book appear to be the same as those in the 2020 version. I'll beat my drum by saying some publisher should consider publishing a book that just covers the fresh and updated features of the software.Even with this book, it's hard to learn to use After Effects well, but this book provides a solid te: The publisher provided me with a review copy of this book at no charge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    My fiance & myself are freelance designers currently working for several companies & organizations. I cannot overstate how necessary understanding & performing in the motion graphics department is. So we got this book and neither of us can place it down so far lol. We are already beautiful amazing with After Effects so we went ahead and read through the first couple of chapters beautiful quickly. However, nothing beats learning the formality of how it all works and really understanding your tools and exactly how capable this software actually is. This book is amazing for a beginner and an amazing reference for the experienced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) []  2020-11-19 19:32

    Kindle version: Lots of typos. Long captions unnecessarily describe everything in each screenshot. I wonder if a draft copy mistakenly created it into the Kindle distribution. Otherwise, the content seems fine - a amazing refresher/update for someone like me who has been away from AE for several years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    I've used a few classroom in a book textbooks for my graphic design courses at Arizona is book is just not good compared to the books for InDesign, Photo, and Illustrator. This book is full of typos, little dark pictures, and unclear instruction. I would not suggest getting this if you're a complete newbie to After Effects. If you've managed to mess around with the program and have a amazing feel for it, I would suggest this book as a tutorial at best. However you would probably be better off saving your cash and following along with a guide found on Google or Pinterest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book []  2020-11-8 19:18

    This was a amazing 101 introduction to After Effects. It's full of primary guides and some resource full hints for fresh updates and shortcuts included in the 2018 version. However, there were a few misprints and missing info in some guides that I had to google find and ask a pro about. However, if you wish to start the steps of learning after effects...this is the method to go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    My fiance & myself are freelance designers currently working for several companies & organizations. I cannot overstate how necessary understanding & performing in the motion graphics department is. So we got this book and neither of us can place it down so far lol. We are already beautiful amazing with After Effects so we went ahead and read through the first couple of chapters beautiful quickly. However, nothing beats learning the formality of how it all works and really understanding your tools and exactly how capable this software actually is. This book is amazing for a beginner and an amazing reference for the experienced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    Kindle version: Lots of typos. Long captions unnecessarily describe everything in each screenshot. I wonder if a draft copy mistakenly created it into the Kindle distribution. Otherwise, the content seems fine - a amazing refresher/update for someone like me who has been away from AE for several years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CC Classroom in a Book (2017 release) []  2020-12-4 19:30

    If you are just getting started with After Effects, this is a amazing put to start, but I will say that some of the exercises are a bit complex to understand. If you have a amazing background in the Adobe Suite, you will understand this better, but if you are brand new, I would say to use this in conjunction with online beginner guides to support you learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    fails to present you how to do primary dissolves fades etc efficiently. method too much background info, it should present one how to do primary transitions quicker and with less background info. i have edited video for over twenty yrs on medial 100, and i like the premier program but am very practical and did not search the book to chop to the chase and had a slow time getting going. i understand how to import media and trim it, that was ok. but i spent a long time trying to figure out primary transitions via the index and reading extensively and had to seek support from a mate who was able to present me quickly. after learning these things, i felt the book was horrible at this. created things method too complicated as did youtube videos. it is utterly useless to me. it could be so much clearer and do a much better job at explaining basics faster and with less background information. it could have presented things sequentially in a much better manner. was hopeful and it failed me in this method huge time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    I have always found that the Adobe Classroom in a Book series, gets you through the basics but leaves things to be desired. I almost always order at least 2 various books by various publishers and authors on any one program. It always seems that the second book fills in what the first leaves out and vice versa. I'm not trying to hawk more book sales, but that has been my experience. This is a fine book, BUT I HATE THE FORMATTING of this and a lot of other like it. What do I mean? The norm these days is "LEAVE LOTS OF WHITE SPACE" which translates into YOU NEED A MAGNIFYING GLASS TO SEE THE SCREEN SHOTS OF THE PROGRAMS INTERFACE, ICONS, TIMELINES, ETC... EXTREMELY ANNOYING since there is plenty of UNUSED WHITE SPACE where they could have enlarged the GUI photo! That's common these days for so a lot of instructional books. Instructions in this book are fine, but I still say look for a second book by another publisher and you'll learn faster and with less frustration because you can cross reference topics not covered or that are a bit unclear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    Every book in the Adobe "Classroom in a Book" series requires either a DVD or online lesson files to go through the lessons. For the Image edition, I had no problems...they downloaded like a champ. For the Premiere edition, the book link doesn't work (it just hangs) and there is no other info online that says where to search the files. Until this issue is fixed, do NOT buy this kindle edition as you cannot do the lessons without these online files.Update (9 Feb 2014): It appears that Peachpit--the company that manages the kindle version--has got their www service back up and running, so you can download the files now. Thank you Amazon customer service who were absolutely amazing to work with!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    This is a horrible book and it's missing lessons on the disc. I contacted Pearson they said contact amazon, I contacted amazon and they said it's too late to return the item and I should have gone through the book before hand to see if there were issues. It's a series of lessons so how was I supposed to know which lessons later in the book didn't work on the disc. I contacted peachpit as well and they said that I had to contact amazon. I really love how no one is taking responsibility for a disc that is missing data even the companies that create the book and the disc. This is also the worst editing book overall. I would give it zero stars if I could. I am really disgusted in all three of these companies, it just shows you how companies don't care about the consumers anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    This is a solid book for a beginner with Adobe Premiere Pro CS6. The sequence of the book is amazing and the lessons are reasonably thorough. The few info that prevent me from giving it a 5-Star rating: 1) The screen shots are very dim and small, so it was sometimes difficult to follow along visually when looking for the right option, menu or button when referencing the picture. This may not be an problem with the e-book, but in print it was a challenge. 2) Some of the assets weren't linked when a lesson project was opened for the first time. Although the book covered how to relink files (anyone who's worked in other Adobe applications like Illustrator or InDesign can probably figure it out without much help), there was one lesson where the asset was completely missing and couldn't be linked. I wasn't able to obtain much out of that chapter's lesson as a result. 3) The latest chapter of the book about publishing and exporting was long on technical jargon, but short on practice work. I'd say all in all the book is still very good, but it seemed to fall a small short for the reasons I described here. I still recommend it, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    This review applies to the Kindle ver of the book, which I like a lot. I downloaded the book to my 10" Android device tablet, rather than my Kindle device, because the illustrations and diagrams are all in color. That works very well; I actually like it better than having the hard-copy book, because I can perform searches on the material when the index comes up e book itself is up to Adobe's usual standards. It is suitable for the novice to intermediate editor, although complete newbies may be confused and intimidated. If you consider yourself to fall in that category, I'd encourage you to obtain your feet wet with Premiere Elements. It's a surprisingly strong video editor, with just about all the features that Premiere Pro had a few years ago.I got the book because I've been away from video editing for about a decade, and I am now getting back into it. So, for me, the learning starts around Chapter 5. And that brings up my only frustration with the Kindle book. The lesson folders have project files for each chapter, in case one starts in the middle of the book, as I have. But when I opened the Chapter 5 lesson file, Premiere Pro gave me warnings that it couldn't search source files required for the project. I have resolved most, but not all of those issues. That problem prevents me from giving the book five suggestion for Kindle ver readers. Go to the publishers www service (the link is in the Kindle book) and download *everything* on the lesson files page, including the gift material. Media files aren't centralized, and to work through the Lesson 5 project, you will need the files for Lessons 1 - 4. In the next edition of this book, I would hope the publisher does a better job of organizing the media files to avoid this annoying glitch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    I must admit I was not excited to have to relearn an entirely fresh program but I was pleasantly surprised at how much I am beginning to like premiere over FCP 7. The book does a amazing job of showing you without overwhelming you. Anyone doing creative work with these programs knows that the knowledge of what to press and when to press it is extremely important. This is not a book on how to edit. If you wish that go read in the Blink of an Eye and study movie theory. That info is primary. But what then? You need to know how to achieve your is book breaks it down into several lessons that take self discipline. Unless you do this in a true class you need to deactivate yourself from email and social media while you focus on the lessons. This book sat on a bookshelf for about 6 months before I actually committed to it for that very reason. Create time for the lessons and it will definitely support you.I am coming from 8 years Final Chop Pro editing experience. Please take that into acc when reading this review. I honestly do not have a clue as to how I would like the book if I hadn't already been working in FCP for almost a decade.I feel well equipped to do things now that I could never even do with FCP such as easier multicam editing, better syncronization with other adobe programs, preview files, creating visual storyboards, making better sub clips, speech ysis, and manipulation of RED interpretation files. Oh and XMP metadata. This book is better than any youtube how-to's because it is focussed and directed.I have a kindle but opted to obtain the book ver due to the complaints about the kindle version. The disc has all the files I need for the lessons and is a amazing resource to contain in this yourself a favor, obtain yourself a nice package of highlighters, some pencils, premiere pro, this book and invest in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 Classroom in a Book []  2020-5-21 18:43

    I've recently received the Kindle edition of the book, so I've not had time to fully read the book. Therefore, this review is based solely on my thoughts about the Kindle presentation of the material, and not the material itself. My goal is to support people decide whether to purchase the Kindle or the paperback book, not whether the book itself rates 4 rst, the lack of a physical DVD that accompanies the paperback is not a problem. Inside the Kindle ver is a link to a www service to download about 5 gigs worth of media/project files. If you've got a broadband connection and an hour or two to wait, you're garding the layout of the content, it works beautiful well using a larger second monitor to display the pages while you perform the included lessons. (I use a 24-inch LCD at work.) Most of the screen captures are huge enough to read easily. However, there a few figures in the book that are too little to read on a standard kindle. I want the photos included in the kindle ver were a small higher quality. You don't message it often, but when you look closely to view smaller images, you can see .jpg 'mosquito noise' compression that makes it harder to read. Fortunately, these issue photos are beautiful e color reproduction on a monitor is good. Viewing the book on a standard size kindle, in greyscale and at a much smaller size, things obtain more difficult. The text of the book, and the larger photos are fine, but smaller, more detailed photos (like complete-screen captures) are hard to view at ven that at least 95% of the photos in the book are simple to read (at least on a 20+ inch monitor), and almost all of the really crucial photos are scaled up enough to read, I am not really disappointed. But I am deducting a star from the rating because of this limitation.On the plus side, I'd rather deal with the occasional muddy photo in exchange for not having to keep a thick paperback begin while performing the book's lessons. Having the info easily at hand, alongside a running copy of Premiere, is a much better tradeoff to me. And I still plan to read the book on my kindle, away from the computer, to obtain a feel for Premiere. Finally,the lower cost of the kindle edition (at the time of my purchase) factors in my evaluation, summary, I prefer the kindle edition, but might not feel this method if I were using a standard kindle or smartphone with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    This is for Adobe CS3, the older programming which still has a useful link function the more modern CS programs don't have. The value for me with this book is that it provides more detailed info about the specific CS3 function, and it is possibly of use with other CS programs that are updates of the CS3. It allows a user to work with their program and learn more with the book. The problem with this book is it's only for one aspect of the CS3 which means other info is required for learning and using the programs better, there are the other Adobe CS manuals also. The value for users is better with self teaching than just using the programs freehand. While that's still an option, often the info and alternatives which are shared in the manuals can help in progressing uses faster.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    This book is very well place together. The writing is clear and the instructions well doented. I'm very satisfied with the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    Phenomenal book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    Frankly you can and should go learn more from the internet. Youtube is a far better tutorial than this book which seems to have been written by someone who has never even used a computer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    Ok so before this book, I was like omg, what a difficult software! But now I'm like, omg, photo, you are nothing, I am your master, BOW DOWN TO LORD!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    I found the book hard to understand and somewhat disjointed unlike Adobe Premiere CS3 in a book which is excellent. But the author of this book leave much to be desired. Hard to follow and leaves out necessary info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    Each chapter of this book is supposed to teach the reader the concepts and work flow to complete an After Effects project using assets from the companion CD. I'm on the third chapter and so far I have not been able to reproduce any of the projects by simply following the given instructions because in each of them the authors have failed to contain critical information. This seems to be due to sloppiness rather than any planned teaching technique. Perhaps the software has changed due to updates but I've found that the screen shots in the book don't always match what I see on the monitor. The 80% to 90% of each project that does work as expected does provide a valuable learning experience and the other 10% to 20% is possible to figure out, but overall the experience is unnecessarily confusing and frustrating. This is my first experience with the Adobe Classroom in a Book series and it will be my last.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    I've used micro-computers, private computers, PCs, whatever you wish to call them, since 1984. I have Adobe Creative Suite CS3 Master Collection. I use it for my video production and photography. I teach video production and photography. The books are really amazing for how I work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    I had to buy this book for 's full of lessons you follow along with, using art and graphics provided on a CD. As far as reference or support with your own projects, forget it. Your better off googling your question. If following along is all you need then, it's a nice book. The puppet items is OK. That helped a bit in learing it.I had a question about nesting, they said it was pg 19. They just tell you what it is, not how to do it. ( had a video explaining it)I would not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    Classroom in a Book is superficial at best. It includes numerous errors that create the lessons difficult to follow.I would recommend Trish & Chris Meyers' "After Effects Apprentice", which is a much better book for beginniers to intermediate users. It is very detailed and the lessons were very simple to follow. These people know their stuff. I learned so much more in the Apprentice book than in the Classroom book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    Overall it's a amazing book for learning after effects, the lessons and included cd are very helpful. I've noticed a few typos and what seemed to be a missing picture, so possibly the editing wasn't up to par, but even with the mistakes it been beautiful amazing for learning the program.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    While I was beautiful familiar with NLE editing, the tools and effects of After Effects stumped me. Classroom in a Book lead me in and is opening up lots of doors. Well written and realistic projects. Amazing pace. I'm getting a lot out of it, at my own pace. And very importantly for a newbie, if it say's a screen looks like this, it does look like that and works just as described. This level of correlation between the text and true globe is very necessary when you're trying to do something complex. Builds confidence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional Classroom in a Book: The Official Training Workbook from Adobe Systems []  2021-1-10 20:4

    I have been using this book to learn After Effects and I search it has been very useful. The book came in amazing condition and I am very happy with this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    For school. Gives a amazing understanding of functions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    Forced to obtain this book for a class. I want they used Classroom in a Book instead (which you should buy instead if you're not mandated to obtain this one). The photo qualities are not good and the book is just confusing (and I know how to use Photo).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    Love this book and in illustrations. Sometime you need a book - Video training is sometime too fast. Got tired of pressing the pause. a Book with A LOT OF PICTURES is the only method to Go for CS training.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    Thank you! Amazing quality!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    This book covers the basics of photo. It gets you familiar with the tools, ui, and panels. It is not super indepth regarding mastering the tools. It is meant as a amazing method to obtain familiar with the basics of the software. It is a decent put to begin if you are not familiar with the software.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    I swear by these books as a self paced learning of the Adobe products. I have this book for Photo, InDesign, Illustrator and the Video Production Suite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Photo CS6 Revealed (Adobe CS6) []  2020-5-21 18:43

    I took this class over the summer to obtain some knowledge on collaging for my art projects and wow!!! I learned so much about image that I never dreamed was possible! I would so recommend this book and this type of class at to really obtain up to speed with the capabilities of this software.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Certification Prep Adobe Photo CS6 []  2020-12-9 19:32

    This is not a certification prep book for Image Certification.I cannot imagine what the author intended to convey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Adobe After Effects CC - Training DVD []  2020-11-30 20:51

    Perfect DVD. Very comprehensive, cheaper than too.Learned a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Adobe After Effects CC - Training DVD []  2020-11-30 20:51

    I paid $50 for this dvd so I was very disappointed when I place it in and there was nothing on the dvd except pictures...of people. No clue who they are. It looked like some bootleg dvd you buy off the streets. When I tried to contact Infinite Skills the main number was no longer in service and the backup number only gave an option to leave a message..that obviously was never returned. Complete and total scam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Adobe After Effects CC - Training DVD []  2020-11-30 20:51

    This is a DVD-ROM that you can play on your desktop computer, not a DVD to play in a DVD can create a DVD out of it if you have a DVD burning suite like Nero or some of the Mac software and a DVD burner in your desktop machine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Adobe After Effects CC - Training DVD []  2020-11-30 20:51

    Amazing course. Really gets you up and running fast!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learn Adobe After Effects CC for Visual Effects and Motion Graphics (Adobe Certified Associate (ACA)) []  2020-2-1 10:53

    Who knew there was something called an Adobe Certified Associate Exam, or that if you passed it, you could place a small label on a www service or resume? Equally unknown to me is the utility of this certification in finding work. In any event, I was more interested in learning more about Adobe After Effects than in any is book claims that it is preparation for such an exam and throughout there are references to lesson objectives and to the certification objectives, which I genially ignored. The chapters show a series of demonstrations and exercises using After Effects. To see the demonstration, you go to the publisher’s www service where you can watch a video referred to in the book. The book than repeats in writing the steps shown in the video, sometimes more sparingly and sometimes with a small more detail, than the video.Once I went to the www service to watch the video, I realized that everything shown in the book also appeared on the www service and I never returned to the paper copy. At the end of each subchapter there is usually a multiple choice question of amazing simplicity. One can also download materials so that you can follow along with the video. After downloading these materials, I accessed the video with my web browser and at the same time opened After Effects so that I could move back and forth between on-line and After Effects, when I didn’t completely understand the y books provide guides where one must follow instructions to load and manipulate materials step by step. In the case of this book, it was possible to watch the videos and never actually use After Effects. The quality of the initial videos seemed to be well designed, but as I reached the end of the book, the videos moved very quickly, as if it were essential to mention a point, but not spend time with so a lot of of the programs in the Adobe Creative Cloud, After Effects is applicable to both filmmakers and graphic artists. This book is aimed at graphic artists and a lot of of the techniques may never be used by the average filmmaker. Filmmakers would probably be better served by “Adobe After Effects…Classroom in a Book” from the same publisher. If you learn better with text and practical exercises “Classroom in a Book” will better serve you. If you wish to become an expert After Effects user read both books and then practice, practice, te: The publisher provided me with a review copy of this book at no charge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom []  2020-7-14 19:34

    I have worked with Adobe's software since Image 7 came out and the first Creative Suite was created. It has been 6 years since I have used the Creative Suite and I wanted to discover some of the fresh items in e book is amazing for anyone just getting into graphic design or if you did a small bit of graphics works and maybe you wish to expand your knowledge for other jobs, i.e. web design or maybe some phone apps. this book is amazing for introductory, because you obtain a taste of all the applications in the Web premium is book will not teach you in-depth design and round-tripping. it will support you obtain familiar with the panels and the shortcuts when working through projects at home or work. I did obtain some insight to the fresh web pack from this book and also the fresh protocols under the hood in CS6 so this book was amazing at informing me and being aware of fresh changes.I would reccommend this book to anyone looking to work in the design field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Digital Classroom []  2020-7-14 19:34

    Very good

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386