Read advanced design and implementation of virtual machines reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all advanced design and implementation of virtual machines reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design and Implementation of the MTX Operating System []  2020-2-1 12:8

    The author has the responsibility to provide the code in the book. The code is not available at the zone provided by the book.Edit: got the sources after consulting the author

    0  


    Add your opinion on advanced design and implementation of virtual machines or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design and Implementation of the MTX Operating System []  2020-2-1 12:8

    First easy multitasking program fails because the assembler has problem creating an object file. Mind you this is from the source files directly from the author. I'll modernize further as I continue..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, Analysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I teach computers to do math, so-- disclaimer-- I'm on the applied, not pure math side of NA. I came across this text while compiling a Body of Knowledge entry on Spectral, Fourier and Chebyshev methods for IEEE and the International Association of Bodies of Knowledge (The 9bok dot org people who certify math BoKs). The usual "track" for advanced undergrads is Calc up to PDE's, some linear algebra, a small computer arithmetic (and maybe some of my field, Computer Algebra), then on to Engineering or ong the way, most of us will touch Numerical Analysis. There are two distinct sides to NA-- pure, as a method of defining formal proofs with "results" as much as methods, and applied-- solving problems, especially using algorithms, via close approximation, guessing, brute force, iteration, and other "cheats." The issue with a lot of of the classic NA texts is that "applied" usually means, you guessed it, physics and engineering. Today, however, NA is as much at home with digital artists, android game programmers creating physics engines, animators, Maya programmers, etc. as with physicists!You'd think with that going on, there would be some rocking texts that are also fun. Not the case. Sadly, most of the "better" (read understandable) texts in NA date back to the late 1980s, when there was no internet (there were 50 www services in 1992 when Clinton took office). In fact, this author's book on Iterative Linear methods dates back to 1987, and John Boyd's classic on Fourier Spectrals to is text changes a lot of that! The authors use a LOT more current examples you're likely to search in a lot of other fields, from protein folding to NASCAR. Who uses computers to "guess" at difficult PDE solutions other than astrophysicists? Test Neurologists modeling cognition as Dynamic Systems! Yes, the applications today are method beyond what they were in 1987, and we finally have an NA text that covers not only the basics, but MANY cutting edge areas-- like fractals-- that weren't even taken seriously back be fair, some of the examples just give a "taste" of the field, and were filled in by experts, but not really used in the text, and apparently not really understood by the authors. For example, Dan Goldman was tapped to give some fun examples of collision detection for Yoda in Star Wars, but if you look up Inverse Kinematics or Kinematics in the Index, there is no mention. Lorentz transforms and dynamic analysis are not really covered, and when their NA engines are mentioned (Newton's Method, for example), they are in the context of Julia sets and fractals, not Kinematics.If you haven't taken linear algebra and aren't very familiar with matrices, there is "some" review here, but not enough to create this text fun and painless. You really need to brush up on LA before tackling this. Look at it this way: you can think of a lot of NA techniques as you would visual primary behind Excel. Your computer is using a lot of "spreadsheet" type crunching, only of functions, to "guesstimate" things like zeros/roots, parameters, etc. So what are these "spreadsheets" called by mathematicians? Right, Linear Algebra (on roids). Back in ancient times (the 90's) NA was considered the playground of mathematicians, engineers and physicists. Today, android game programmers, animators, digital artists and even programmers like yours truly need to understand it to know what's going on underneath the calculations-- namely, crunching, right down to the stacks and registers.Another group that will like this text are the embedded circuit folks-- instead of nail biting about on or off chip memory limits, a lot of of the newer memory limit "work arounds" are in NA functions, algorithms and shortcuts. Sure, we'll eventually have to SOLVE the memory issues, but for now, the true globe IS about working around with "close enough" solutions. You won't search any of these applications in most NA texts-- the show work is a gem, and special in being up to date on a lot of NOW applications, including several beyond the traditional physics and engineering examples. Oh, and yes, you do learn analysis here too, including the proofs and pure math sides if your track is math. I'm not qualified to opine in that "pure proof" track, but if you're on the applied side of NA, and wish to go deeper, you'll love this text.History note for a few emailers: Thanks for reminding me that 1987 is "recent" compared to a lot of NA techniques that adapt Euler to algorithmic form-- by "recent" I also mean that these authors use examples like web surfing and Google's (secret sauce) analytics. I'm talking examples too, not just the fact --which I'll gladly grant-- that much of NA stands on the shoulders of giants going back to the 1700s. I challenge anyone to present me an NA text that is this relevant to today's applications, however! If you're a student, you also won't feel like you're being forced to study items that will have no relevance to your future. If you're a prof-- don't you wish to orient your students via examples that are being used right now? They WILL thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, Analysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Speaking as an undergraduate, I simply hated this book. It was very confusing to read because the material would jump all over the place. I had to use notes that were uploaded by other schools to obtain through my class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, Analysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Amazing delivery, not simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, Analysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Perfect book! It's full of very useful and practical information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, Analysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    Smooth, quick transaction. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, Analysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    good, as advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, Analysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    This book is fine as a Matlab (or GNU Octave) guide but for numerical analysis I'd like to see some fairly rigorous proofs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods: Design, Analysis, and Computer Implementation of Algorithms []  2020-1-29 2:17

    I am an undergraduate student in Applied Mathematics who just used this text in a course on Numerical Analysis in one of the latest courses I'm taking before moving on to grad school for Computer a previous reviewer noted, this text really goes out of its method to motivate the reader with a bit of a firehose approach to introducing all the various ways in which this material can be applied to computing problems, from graphics processing to machining to airfoil simulation to web search. This field of study may have been developed centuries ago largely by astrophysicists, but the app goes method beyond that with the widespread availability of computers and their ability to implement algorithms that involve too a lot of steps to complete by e complete chapter list is1) Mathematical Modeling2) Primary Operations with MATLAB3) Monte Carlo Methods4) Solution of a Single Nonlinear Equation in One Unknown5) Floating-Point Arithmetic6) Conditioning of Problems; Stability of Algorithms7) Direct Methods for Solving Linear Systems and Least Squares Problems8) Polynomial and Piecewise Polynomial Interpolation9) Numerical Differentiation and Richardson Extrapolation10) Numerical Integration11) Numerical Solution of the Initial Value Issue for Ordinary Differential Equations12) More Numerical Linear Algebra: Eigenvalues and Iterative Methods for Solving Linear Systems13) Numerical Solution of Two-Point Boundary Value Problems14) Numerical Solution of Partial Differential EquationsAppendices:A) Review of Linear AlgebraB) Taylor's Theorem in MultidimensionsFirst off, the prerequisites review is not going to support you unless you already learned linear algebra and calculus (at least up to power series) in detail in the past. If you're purchasing this for a university course, they should be enforcing prerequisites anyway. If you're purchasing this for self-study, be aware that it's not teaching you much math. Finding polynomial roots, solving linear systems, solving least squares problems, differentiation, integration, and solving differential equations should be something you already know how to do. This text is simply showing you how to do it with a computer when an analytic solution is either not available or otherwise too difficult. Additionally, you'll probably be a small lost without a background in probability in the Monte Carlo chapter, but that chapter really does not tie in with the rest of the text and can be easily omitted (we covered it, but the professor didn't expect much and was clear in stating this is a non-traditional subject for a text in numerical analysis).The upside of this text is that it is extremely readable. Derivations, theorems, and proofs are integrated with narrative and are given a clear explanation. It came across a bit dense at first, but as the error analysis for each algorithm relies upon the of the remainder term in a Taylor series expansion, the proofs should eventually given the similarity from one to the next. For the most part, the algorithms themselves are not very complicated. Figuring out how to code some of the solvers for linear systems took me a few hours, though I think that had more to do with learning specific language features than anything about the algorithm itself. The harder part is the error analysis, and you really need to slow down, write it all down and figure out what's event before you move on. There isn't much complexity analysis, and what small there is should not be challenging if you have any background in more general algorithmic analysis/discrete a fast note for students who are not using MATLAB, beware some of the specific low-level features of the language you're using. Undergrad math departments like to use computer algebra systems, and these are very nice for symbolic computation, but they often don't work the same. We used Maple in my course, and by default, Maple uses floating-point numbers and performs much of the computation in memory, not in the processor ALU, and this changes the error analysis as floats don't adhere to the IEEE double-precision standard the text discusses and are not limited by machine precision. You can obtain identical results to those in the text, with identical error analysis, but only if you explicitly tell the to use hardware floating-point representations. You may need to dig into the documentation to figure out how to do wnsides: This may or may not be a downside depending upon what you're looking for, but this is very much a university textbook. It's teaching you how to think like a numerical analyst. The code snippets are nice, but this is not a reference or a cookbook. Much of the code is fragments. You can copy and paste it straight into a MATLAB script and it won't run. You're not going to pick up this book and instantly learn how to do something. You're going to struggle to learn something. But you will learn. There's a fair amount (arguably too much) of MATLAB-specific discussion: for instance, how to use chebfun to search Chebyshev nodes when interpolating high-degree polynomials. You're on your own figuring out how to do this if you don't have MATLAB or some comparable numerical computing software. Note that Octave and Numpy have much of the same functionality and are free, so if you can't obtain student MATLAB, you can still follow te that there is also no solution manual available yet and no answers to any of the exercises. This may or may not create a difference to you. If you're in a course being taught by a professor, the professor will grade and provide feedback and respond homework questions. If you're purchasing this for self-study, be aware. It's really simple if you have MATLAB or Maple or know how to use Numpy to use built-in functions to check for the real solution of a linear system or a least squares issue and then see if your code worked by comparison. If you don't have those tools or don't know how to use them, however, the text itself will not support e bottom line is I would not recommend this for self-study unless you already have a math, cs, or engineering background and simply never covered numerical analysis. You need to have the prerequisite background, which is at least a full year of calculus and a full term of linear algebra. Ideally, you've had calc III and some background in programming and algorithmic complexity analysis, but these are not completely necessary. The coverage of each subject is brief and you will not search it difficult if you have the background. You're not going to obtain very deep into how to search eigenvalues of huge matrices. This book is simply the next step when you've already learned calculus and linear algebra to start considering the engineering issues faced when you implement techniques on a computer and now have to worry about conditioning and stability and floating-point arithmetic. It gives you the tools to understand the sources of error and to properly weigh trade-offs using rigorous quantification.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design and Implementation of the MTX Operating System []  2020-2-1 12:8

    This book is not like any other book on operating systems that I have read. It covers every aspect of operating systems design and implementation including boot loaders which is lacking in other books. It tutorials you through the implementation of an operating system by using easy programs that eventually lead to the development of a complete operating system.I highly recommend this to any student of operating systems design and implementation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relational Database Design and Implementation []  2020-1-31 3:2

    The book tries to provide a foundation but gets it conceptually and fundamentaly wrong. Namely, its definition of the relational data model, at page 90, and everything around it, does not even obtain the nomenclature, much less the concepts, right. It essentially uses SQL instead of relational nomenclature and concepts, together with entity-relationship diagrams, and never explains correctly neither what are relations, and how they differ from SQL tables or ERD entities and relationships. Sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Relational Database Design and Implementation []  2020-1-31 3:2

    Simple to read, very amazing foundation on databases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    Amazing description of compilers without getting bogged down in theory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    This book is definitely _not_ for beginners, but compilers are not supposed to be written by novices -- if there is rocket science in computers, it is compiler development. Crystal clear style and language create this book simple reading, and LCC is the best non-optimizing compiler I've seen (and believe me, I've seen a lot of compiler sources): orthogonal, simple to follow design, well-thought data structures and overall architecture.I treat this book as a excellent collection of brilliant ideas, a lot of of which you will search implemented in most commercial compilers.Whether it helps to write your own compiler? -- sure. Are you thinking about IR (internal representation) that will be simple to make and, most important, walk through and manipulate? -- take a look how Fraser et al did it; they did it well. Think how to write a front end or code generator? -- it's all there. Sure, blind copying won't work -- optimizing compiler will call for method more sophisticated BURG-like technique (one of the best known code generation techniques by now), but, all in all, it'll be BURG-like, and it's in the book as , if you wish to present your students (or learn yourself) how compilers should be written, you cannot search anything better than LCC accompanied by this book. Fraser's squad did it right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Learner-Centered Curriculum: Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:19

    I learned that my idea of holding student's accountable for their learning is important! Kids need to learn "how" to learn independently as a teacher is the facilitator of the classroom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Learner-Centered Curriculum: Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:19

    This book misidentifies The University of Arizona as "Arizona University (AU)" in chapter 4.I can't Bear Down with this type of inaccuracy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Learner-Centered Curriculum: Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:19

    Valuable info provided in an simple to understand format.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Learner-Centered Curriculum: Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:19

    Excellent book for college. And A amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    I want all programmers created books like this one about their products. It would create life so much is book includes literally all the code that you just concatenate together and obtain a full, working LCC compiler which I think is beautiful cool. It's also the best form of commenting your code :v

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    First of all, this book is not for starters in the zone of compiler design. Starters in the zone of compiler design who are looking for a 'cookbook', I recommend to read 'Programming Language Processors in Java: Compilers and Interpreters' by David Watt.Why do I like this book? Because it is a cookbook for a 'full blown' C Compiler in C itself. Well actually it's a compiler for a subset of C, but it is still very comprehensive!It a lot of code snippets which are really well commented about what/where/how.A disadvantage of this book is that it doesn't cover advanced subjects such as code optimizations. This is the zone where the action is right now. All other parts (scanning/parsing/etc) can be bought of the shelf.But it remain a very nice text, to give you an valuable insight in how a compiler could be implemented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Learner-Centered Curriculum: Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:19

    this is a amazing book might also look at Learner-Centered Design by Reeves as similar and supportive thoughts....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    Got the pack today, the book is in very nice condition. Excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    This review is only regarding the physical quality of the book. It looks like a print-on-demand book. So if that would bother you, better look for a copy of the original printing. I did give it two stars instead of one, though, because I have seen much worse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Compiler Design: Virtual Machines []  2019-12-24 19:52

    Reads like a stream-of-consciousness musing from someone who has absolutely no idea of how to explain a concept or a process clearly and succinctly to a student. No attempt is created to clarify or build upon previous knowledge and subjects within the book. If you already know compilation - this is great. For a student, it is a complete nightmare and a ridiculous waste of considering the cost of this slim volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Compiler Design: Virtual Machines []  2019-12-24 19:52

    I've skimmed all the chapters and currently going through the first chapter in detail to implement the specified virtual machine. All the components of the virtual machine are explained in detail and there are plenty of examples to support along with the implementation. One thing I would have liked to have been spelled out more clearly is the exact specification of the subset of C that the virtual machine is designed for. As it stands you have to go through the chapter, look at the examples and tease out the grammar yourself. Then again the goal of the book isn't compiling a subset of C to the specified virtual machine instruction set so I'm being a bit more critical than necessary.Overall, I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to understand some of the underlying theory of programming languages in to implement them with the support of virtual machines.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Learner-Centered Curriculum: Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:19

    This book was very helpful in understanding the benefits of learner's accepting responsibility for their own learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    Sadly disappointing. Luckily it wasnt too much money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    This book lays out the compiler's source code in Web (think Knuth), in which instead of seeing an entire program, you see a little fragment, and notes to look up the rest on a various page. In my opinion, this makes the book nearly impossible to its defense, however, the book addresses a lot of of the engineering concerns with writing a compiler, such as data structures or memory management strategies. This is so lacking in this book is a amazing description of advanced optimization techniques and modern intermediate representations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Learner-Centered Curriculum: Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:19

    Perfect book if you are beginning to develop or design curriculum for learner-centered classes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    Amazing book, but when I 'new' I don't wish it damaged. This was the replacement order, and Amazon shipped in exactly the same way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Retargetable C Compiler: Design and Implementation []  2020-2-1 12:23

    I bought this book several years ago, and still haven't managed to create my method through it. The text is sometimes hard to follow, the code fragments even harder, requiring the reader to jump back several (sometimes tons of) pages to references made. This text seemed more suited to University level Computer Science students than to the average Joe Schmoe who just wants to write a C compiler. Overall, this is a amazing book that info the gory insides of a compiler very well, and the added of being able to obtain the source code is essential, as viewing the complete code while reading the book is almost a necessity, but it's not for the average/intermediate level coder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    Loved the first edition and so far this is not disappointing. The subject coverage contains a lot of fundamental info that might be useful for understanding any unix-like kernel, but most of the amazing items focuses on info that are FreeBSD-specific. I'm glad that this isn't just republishing material that is freely available in the FreeBSD handbook, which is also a unbelievable resource but you'll need this book to understand the motivations for different design s worth noting that this book is not a generic OS design book. The focus of the book relates to FreeBSD-specific details. This book is also not really an exploration of POSIX or any other attempt to standardize system interfaces. This book is definitely not a programming guide....for that, I recommend "Advanced Programming in the Unix Environment" (aka APUE) which has coverage of BSD apis (as well as linux)...which is an perfect companion for this work.I would like to see a perpetual electronic ver of this book...on the back cover there was only a reference to 45 day access. That is disappointing in 2014.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    I have only read a few chapters, but this is a amazing book, even for people not otherwise familiar with OS theory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    The content of the book is highly technical and is densein operating system concepts. It is written with an perfect academic d to others classic "Internals" books,it focuses more on the design and algorithmic concepts andless on the specific detailed structures of the FreeBSD e design and implementation of the FreeBSD operating system book fits perfectlyfor an advanced operating system course, due to the academic style of presentation andto the fact that it covers fresh contemporary topics, as for example the ZFS file system, andan elaborate presentation of the networking BSD is a rather technical and difficult to use operating system,but with its PC-BSD distribution, things radically change, it is as easy as e.g. Fedora Linux,OpenSuSE and Ubundu!Also it has an perfect pack installer (i.a. AppCafe) and it is simple to experiment with the begin source FreeBSDkernel, it seems that hacking with the FreeBSD kernel is easier than with the Linux kernel!However, even FreeBSD is a superb OS and supports a lot of applications, it still falls behind the help offered by e overall style of the book is related to the "Solaris Internals" book,but the presentation although it is very clear, it is rather more compact and it needsusually a small more effort to understand.I feel that the book is a "must have" for every Operating System designer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    Item as described, arrived in amazing condition. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    It's a reference book. Amazing for that purpose.Haven't read it cover to cover or anything like that, so who knows, maybe its a beautiful amazing read as ween this and the Stevens "TCP/IP Illustrated" series, you've got amazing material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    As a engineer who doesn't actually use FreeBSD, I used this book to obtain implementation ideas about how a kernel would solve some interesting issues and this book addressed this hunger for info quite well, with all its detailed explanations. For example, my favourite parts are where data structures and algorithms are described (eg. how to create thread scheduling constant time with its calendar queues) and other related ideas. If nothing else, this would support me during , some (hopefully constructive) criticism:The book visual text layout style looks very unappealing at first, like a wall of text from my "System Software" teacher back in the school days. I've seen the preview and bought the book despite the initial reaction, knowing that the content is actually great. Would be nice to increase the dozens of styling tools used (side notes such as when introducing a fresh word, interesting facts on the side, etc), related to what you'd see in other school e organization seems a bit hard to follow: a lot of times, a subject is introduced, covered, and I feel deeply unsatisfied. Then another chapter later in the book would cover it deeper or from a various angle. Same goes for definitions: the term "superblock" was used 16 times before it was finally defined in 9.10, though I guess I could refer to a glossary.A lot of figures are super hard to follow, and would need more explanation about what exactly is going on. For example, Figure 4.3 "Turnstile structures for blocked threads" created no sense to me no matter how hard I looked and how long I re-read the explanations. I loved the overall description on turnstiles though, thank you!The whole section on network protocols seems vaguely applicable to FreeBSD kernel, though I wouldn't complain since it's information. I happen to read a networking book in the past covering all the layers and I'm wondering there can be a balance in those chapters: introduce less info but hold enough of them so that the kernel operations still create sense to someone who doesn't have experience in networking. But then again, it's the first book that described Nagle algorithm in a method I could understand and I loved it. I don't know if any change is necessary, but that's the impression I e print quality control seems to be poor: a few pages in my book are badly printed (very pale) and are hard to read for that reason. Not sure if a common occurrence, and I didn't feel like returning the book because hey, most of the pages are fine and I don't wish to be wasteful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    This book is beautifully done! Bravo!The method I see it, the kernel has two faces- one close to the hardware, and the other close to the person writing an app using system calls. And a huge chunk in between. Here's the ? If FreeBSD and it's attractive sister PC-BSD boot up into zfs, zfs is in the kernel, it's the mounted filesystem, why only 30-something pages in this edition on zfs ? This is a kernel book. If someone is writing system calls to work on or with the file system, they're working on the face of the kernel close to them, isn't that the face zfs presents itself via system calls to a programmer? Or is zfs on the face closest to the hardware? Not clear on this myself.I am still trying to understand what is being said in Chapter 7, but do see that perfect kernel diagram at the begin of Chapter 7! I was hoping there would be more of a description of how zfs actually stitched into the kernel, on both faces and in the huge chunk in the middle. It's probably closer to the hardware than I imagine. As I posted on the PC-BSD forums, the on-disk specification of zfs is complex. I don't see how the system calls you create have anything to do with zfs, unless I guess you are writing extensions to it.I would appreciate someone clarifying this problem for me, someone that does that kind of programming.***It doesn't seem as if the entire chapter, Chapter 9 on the Quick File System, is applicable any more to the two current BSD's. Perhaps historically. Too poor they didn't add those pages to zfs explication.***Just as a postscript, the only two UNIX systems that ship with zfs in the kernel that I know of are FreeBSD/PCBSD and Oracle Solaris/ OpenIndie. I know you can build it from openzfs source, into a Steve, Linus, or probably even Bill machine. But the only two families that have it pre-built in are the ones I mentioned.I only use Solaris 11.2 and PC-BSD 10.0.3. I have FreeNas, Nexentastor, and I never run a virtual machine or jails. Don't believe in it. Also only build from DVD from anks for reading this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    I want there were a lot more than what’s in the freely distributed digital form from but it’s such a lovely and complete book, it’s worth buying in digital AND print form. If you like UNIX and BSDs just it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    I love the organization of this book! It feels like something you could really read cover to cover if you wanted to, but you can definitely skip around too.If you're thinking about doing FreeBSD development, this is a must-have resource! So glad it's been updated!If there's a kindle ver created available I'll that too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:28

    It took 10 years, but its finally here: Amazing modernize to the definitive text describing the internal workings of FreeBSD. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    Beautiful straight forward

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    Amazing conditions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    This book is awful, poorly written, uses incomprehensible language, ands is badly organized, Worst of all this book overcomplicates relatively easy concepts. It is an incredibly long winded book. I would rather read scientific research journal articles than this(I have). I can not stress how not good of a resource this book really is. If this text is needed by your instructor, bail out now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    Extremely dry read, even for a text book. Unnecessarily wordy and unable to make understandable connection on some otherwise easy topics. Book is very all-encompassing, however and suffices for learning graduate-level relational databases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    So, this is the same as the US ver with the exception of the cover. I unfortunately did NOT see that when I ordered it. I looked for ISBN 9780133058352 and it took me to this book. This seems to be a reprinted ver of that ISBN but this one is 9789332549951. Everything appears to be the exact same except it all looks like just ok image copies of the pages. No color and some of the print is slightly hard to read (though it can be read). After reviewing the sellers page, I don't blame them, it is exactly what it said it is and it is much cheaper than the "real" book. I just don't understand why my original ISBN brought me to this ver especially since it was full-filled by amazon, and I likely wouldn't have bought it had I been in such a hurry to obtain it here (my fault, class has started). To be fair, I believe this is out of print and costs much more when you do search it. Amazing shipping speed though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    If you purchased this book for a course, ensure you're getting the proper book -- check your ISBN number! The international edition (ISBN 973-93-325-4995-1) has questions which are various from the non-international edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    As a doctoral research student pursuing a qualitative research methodology, neither the phenomenological nor narrative designs fit my research question. Instead, Merriam & Tisdale (2016) share that this happens frequently and there's a sixth qualitative design that covers this gap, the Primary Qualitative Research Design. If you are already familiar with the other five designs, this book is a amazing supporting reference to further explore, compare, and contrast those designs. Amazing luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    I am writing my dissertation and my committee recommended (made clear that I required to read this book) in addition to Guba and Lincoln (2015). This book has been very helpful and I hightly recommend this book for qualitative research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    It's a thick book and some parts are beautiful dull and boring, but it definitely covers almost everything (about 90-95%) you need to know about qualitative research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    Absolutely the most comprehensively material presented for beginning researchers! Perfect examples with thorough descriptions. Highly recommend for novice learners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    The book came in excellent condition. The book was excellent for understanding databases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    It came with a bit more wear and tear than it seemed to have advertised (which is also a bit subjective I will admit) but all in all the pieces I need to read are in decent shape so that's all that matters. Based on what I've looked over with a glance this book seems beautiful in depth so I'm excited to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    I just opened my noon for the first time and the pages are literally falling out. I can’t believe the quality is so not good for the price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    ordered second hand ...but its amazing as new

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    The entire book is black and white, all of the PDF licensed copies of the first chapter were in color. The front looks various as well. I don't know if this is standard, but if it is suppose to be black and white, then this is a large disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    An perfect introductory, accessible text without too a lot of technical jargons. Those who are fresh to qualitative research will appreciate this well-written and famous text. More advanced researchers may still wish to retain a copy as a reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    When I required info from the book several months after I ordered it, I opened the book and discovered there was a printing issue. The first half of the book contains pages from 1-154, then repeats those same pages for the second half of the book. Unfortunately, the info I need to cite for a scholarly paper is in the second half of the book which is missing. Unfortunately, the return window is now closed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital System Design with FPGA: Implementation Using Verilog and VHDL []  2020-1-8 18:34

    I don't like the quality of the paper. It is really CHEAP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital System Design with FPGA: Implementation Using Verilog and VHDL []  2020-1-8 18:34

    This book covers a lot of amazing subjects form beginner to intermediate. If you've a basys3/vivado to test to learn FPGAs this is exactly what you need. There is a amazing amount of detail as to why things are done the method they are, and also a amazing number of advanced examples. There doesn't seem to be a lot of redundant material and this seems quite distilled to the most necessary stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital System Design with FPGA: Implementation Using Verilog and VHDL []  2020-1-8 18:34

    I found this to be a amazing introduction to FPGAs with both VHDL and Verilog. I attribute some my success to finding this book. It is definitely for beginners and you should expect to outgrow it quickly but useful for a starting point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    Figures could be better located. I believe the figures/tables should be as close to the first mention as possible. Sometimes, I've found references the next figure before the previous one is even presented in the I get, as shown in figure 3-1, .....several paragraphs.(new section)As in Figure 3-2..[Figure 3-1]That really makes no is especially annoying in the ebook where you can't easily flip pages back and forth between the text and the figure.But, regardless of hard copy or ebook, having Figure A presented after mention of Figure B is just odd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    God this book is horrible. Read Database Demystified for a better understanding of this subject. It's like the author tries to punish the reader for not starting out on a mainframe first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    Not too difficult to read as far as textbooks go. I've read worse. Pictures and examples support a lot. It was a needed textbook so it's not like I had a choice in getting it. Helpful in learning SQL and about databases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    From a couple of digital books I bought for my classes, this is the first that has annoying typographical errors, some referencing mistakes on figures, did the publishers proofread this for this 6th edition? Halfway reading it and just irritating that things like this pop out on random chapters. Anyone noticed if the paperback has the same issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    This item has two options, hard cover and paperback. By the description, one would think that they are the same book; only difference one is a hardcover. They are actually 2 various books and publishers! Various ISBN too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    There should be a better presentation of core concepts throughout the book. I had to sticky not a million things to remember where they all were. E-book would probably be a amazing if you're into ctrl+f

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    I’m currently writing my thesis for my second masters program in art education. Started this program for fun. Ha! It was up until I started to write my thesis. I found this book to be tremendously helpful! It’s simple to read which is what we all need, especially when we have a bazillion other things to read at the same time. I got so tired of reading qualitative research books I couldn’t understand. Not to mention the cost of buying the books you can’t read because you can’t understand them! Just tell me what I need to know so I can hold moving forward. Highly recommend! Affordable too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    This book was terribly bound! As a effect of that it came apart when it was read. The cover never COVERED the pages. The only reason it wasn't returned was that I required the book for a class that I was behind in because I had issues getting the book, and required to catch up on the reading. The book was crooked and twisted with edges of the pages showing. Very not good quality. It should never have left the shelves of the vendor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital System Design with FPGA: Implementation Using Verilog and VHDL []  2020-1-8 18:34

    Horrible! Confusing organizations and poorly structureed. It is just copy&paste from online materials.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    For a "Used-Good" book I expected much better quality. The inside is not much better. I can't speak on the content of the textbook yet but I'm an outraged at how not good this is for the price! I would be embarrassed to this in this quality!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    This was the needed textbook for a MS Predictive Analytics program. Allow me begin by saying this is not a "How to..." book, it is a comprehensive (yet shallow) overview of database systems from design to are my key concerns:1. Content: There is too much fluff in early chapters regarding the history of database development and the shortcomings of the various models. It is interesting, but not of much practical ditionally, I feel the chapters on SQL syntax and keywords lacked any kind of "Let's place this all together" development that was a positive aspect of the ER modeling chapters. As a coding book, it falls short of other texts on the market; but, that is likely not the book's intent.2. Usability: The book likes to show a case study and use that as the basis for subsequent chapter discussions. The problem with this, and this is my private pet peeve with a lot of textbooks, is that the book references figures and paragraphs from previous chapters in subsequent chapters. What this means is that you are continually searching previous chapters' info to understand the implementation being discussed in the current chapter (For example, a discussion on B-C Normal Form might reference the 2NF and 3NF tables from 40 pages before.). It makes for a lot of searching and bookmarking.Overall, the book is a amazing effort by the authors and you can see the time that was place into it. They have a commanding knowledge of the subject, without a doubt. But the book paints with too broad a [email protected]#$%!&? seems that some very useful info was omitted for the sake of page count. My recommendation is that the editors remove the historical aspects and contain more SQL implementation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    Seriously! Finally a text worthy of keeping. With this book and the added online materials, I really enjoyed my MIS407 class. The authors are amazing at explaining concepts and providing in-depth examples. The online materials contain pre-built databases for practice with the text. Appendix C was a large support in installing SQL software. This book is amazing enough to and not just rent... Want I had done that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    The topics in this book is organized in a amazing so that the reader progressively obtain familiar with database processing and design. The helpful features are the screen shots, "By the Way" tips/additional info on specfic topics, the end of chapter projects and the Appendics. The appendics discuss in detail the different database management systems (from MS Access to the huge players such as MySQL, SQL Server 2008 R2 Express, and Oracle Express 10g). You will learn how to install and guided through how to use them.I also must add info about the e-book. This is the best ebook text I have purchased. The page numbers are consistent with a true book. This means the hard copy of the text's page reference and e-book page reference is aligned. All the pages are bookedmarked so that you can see all headers and sub-headers in the table of content section, and searching for key words works appropriately. The only thing to warn about is that the licencing to use the ebook on various devices is limited. I have the Kindle Touch (purchased about 2 yrs ago), in which I perferred to read the ebook on but can not (incompatiable) and can not use on Android device Application (2nd choice of use) but can not use due to licensing issue.I purchased the e-book and am using the PC app. Life is really mobile for me and I required multiple options so that I can obtain some reading in when I can...on the bus or at lunch...etc....would have been nice to have the ebook work at least on the Android device Application but now I carry around my light-weight laptop.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    Arrived in amazing condition, no dog-eared pages or water damage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    I was having some problem really determining how to approach my research from a qualitative perspective. This book helped me a amazing to know how to approach my research. I necessity for your research library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation []  2019-12-18 20:33

    This book is written in a very simple to understand manner and at the same time conveys complicated information. The book is amazing for entry level and intermediate qualitative researchers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    This textbook is extremely thorough and covers very necessary topics from SQL to database design!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    Using this book for an introductory class on database design and anization info and the layout of the book is okay and formatting is consistent enough. Chapters are around 50 pages (too long) and appendices are published online (good)Material is presented in a traditional/standard text book format. It is dry to read and sentences are overly formal. When concepts are explained the writing gets so technical, relient on very specific syntax and versions or refences to figures on this page and the next page that it can be hard to follow at times. If you know a concept well enough you should be able to explain it in a lot of ways and in easy terms (so that a fifth grader could understand). There is better material out there to learn database processing; I've had better luck on Youtube/Udemy (look up Caleb Curry for example) and from searching Google for a amazing turorial.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (13th Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:28

    This book explains in depth about using sql, access, data model diagrams, and more. I bought this for my database class and am fresh to creating databases but this book really helped me understand the use of certain ways of naming the tables and efficient methods of creating tables as well. I still have much to learn from the book. But i would recommend it to anyone interested.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    well written and very useful to support me with my current data analyst job

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    The book was in amazing condition. Thanks so much for the quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Processing: Fundamentals, Design, and Implementation (Prentice-Hall Adult Education) []  2020-1-19 18:44

    Perfect database management textbook. Much cheaper than the US ver with the same content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    Its the book I required for my class and its nice to have it digitally rented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    Amazing book for my son's class!! Saved me $$$

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    I love this textbook and enjoying it so far!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    A WORD OF CAUTION: You must be enrolled in an instructor led class to obtain access to this book's appendices and data files from Cengage. This makes purchasing this textbook a poor idea for those who are self-study unless you are OK with not having these. Not having access to these files is a significant learning handicap. Apparently this is the case with all Cengage books when part of a book's contents are stored on their website. This is very unfortunate because this textbook looks like an perfect one otherwise. Limiting access to all the learning material seems like an idiotic business model, but that is how it is. If someone can correct me, please do. LESSON LEARNED: If you are not in an instructor led course do not a Cengage book unless you are OK with not having access to all the material required to learn from a book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    Perfect condition quick arrival! Thank you will definitely be back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    Am I the only one who has loved Cengage lately? Amazing book so far. If the later chapters are as detailed as the first few, then amazing!"Vocab" words are highlighted, and then a section on the side of the page has the definition too. "Large" words (eg. ubiquitous) have definitions. Amazing work Cengage!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    It was used for a college course. It was a kindle rental and worked for my course. I passed :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    It presents as "light" in content but is actually a very robust and accessible text for a first database class at almost any level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    The book is in excellent condition, as to be expected with a fresh book. There are no access codes for Cengage products included, but that is because all of those cost much more than this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    In some of the figures, the text is blurry so it's difficult to tell what is listed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Program Development in the 21st Century: An Evidence-Based Approach to Design, Implementation, and Evaluation (NULL) []  2020-2-6 21:51

    Very amazing book. Used it for a class and it was well written and interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Model Predictive Control System Design and Implementation Using MATLAB® (Advances in Industrial Control) []  2020-2-6 18:58

    If you are more comfortable in the State Zone domain and you don't have hardcore controls background yet you would like to build sufficient background in MPC for immediate application, then this is the book for you. The first three chapters cover the basics. The book has plenty of very amazing MATLAB exercises showing exactly how different formulations and methods work. I found it very simple to follow and highly recommend to the people in industry interested in applying MPC but do not have extensive background in controls.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386