Read adventures in the oilfield reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all adventures in the oilfield reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oilfield Trash: Life and Labor in the Oil Patch (Kenneth E. Montague Series in Oil and Business History Book 22) []  2020-1-28 19:46

    Book was very good, if you're looking to search out were kelly or worm came from. It really only outlines the work that went on more of how and where us roughnecks came from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oilfield Trash: Life and Labor in the Oil Patch (Kenneth E. Montague Series in Oil and Business History Book 22) []  2020-1-28 19:46

    Amazing book for anyone interested in oil and gas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oilfield Trash: Life and Labor in the Oil Patch (Kenneth E. Montague Series in Oil and Business History Book 22) []  2020-1-28 19:46

    Lots of footnotes and doentation. Well-researched and well-written. The author, Weaver, approaches from an academic standpoint. Amazing book, I enjoyed it.

    0  


    Add your opinion on adventures in the oilfield or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oilfield Trash: Life and Labor in the Oil Patch (Kenneth E. Montague Series in Oil and Business History Book 22) []  2020-1-28 19:46

    This is a very interesting book, as I was raised in a company oil camp

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oilfield Trash: Life and Labor in the Oil Patch (Kenneth E. Montague Series in Oil and Business History Book 22) []  2020-1-28 19:46

    My husband adores this book. He works on the rigs so he enjoys reading about old stories that happened. Amazing Choice!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Oilfield Trash: Life and Labor in the Oil Patch (Kenneth E. Montague Series in Oil and Business History Book 22) []  2020-1-28 19:46

    Although I didn't work that far back, a lot of things were still done the same method as when I worked during the 60s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:32

    Lots of typos, which author even mentions he never reads his work again after he writes it. Maybe not amazing advice! While overall a amazing look into making films and writing films (which I’ve done as well, so I know a lot about what he says), he has occasional lapses that just aren’t accurate like assuming in 1982 people were sick of Star Battles and over it. Hahahaha couldn’t be further off than that! Or the implication that people who don’t have children are , basically. Maybe that was real 100 years ago I don’t know but a lot of people don’t ever wish kids. I found his Hollywood insights amazing and had no interest in any of his other opinions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:32

    This book is written with a warm, private and conversational style that makes you forgot you are reading. It offers the priceless opportunity to spend a lot of hours one-on-one with a amazing writer, whose list of screen and literary credits is long and without match.His screen credits span almost five deceased, starting with Masquerade (with Michael Relph; 1965), Harper (1966), Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Child (1969; Academy Award), The Hot Rock (1972), The Stepford Wives (1975), The Amazing Waldo Pepper (1975), Marathon Man (1976) - based on his novel, All the President's Men (1976; Academy Award), A Bridge Too Far (1977), Magic (1978; Edgar Award) - based on his novel, Heat (1986) - based on his novel, The Princess Bride (1987) - based on his novel, Twins (1988; uncredited), Misery (1990), A Few Amazing Men (1992; consultant), Memoirs of an Invisible Man (1992), Year of the Comet (1992), Chaplin (1992), Indecent Proposal (1993; uncredited), Latest Action Character (1993; uncredited), Malice (1993; consultant), Maverick (1994),Dolores Claiborne (1995; consultant), The Chamber (1996) - based on the novel by John Grisham, Extreme Measures (1996; consultant), The Ghost and the Darkness (1996), Amazing Will Hunting (1997; consultant), Absolute Power (1997), The General's Daughter (1999), Hearts in Atlantis (2001), Dreamcatcher (2003), Wild Card (2014) - based on his this book, Goldman tells us how his life and craft took him on a lifelong adventure in the creative globe of novels and movies (and much more!). And he tells it like it is (or was) with grande modesty, cutting humor, and cynical yet heartfelt sincerity -- and without reservations.I would recommend this book not only to those who love novels and movies, but also to anyone interested in biographies of people who accomplished wonderful achievements in their chosen trade while overcoming modest beginnings, economic hardships, private weaknesses, vicious naysayers, and outright impassable barriers on the path to an unlikely yet breathtaking is is a unbelievable book about an wonderful life in the true globe of create belief. Highly recommended!Avraham Azrieli writes books and screenplays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:33

    William Goldman is a 2 time Oscar winning screenwriter. Goldman is also the author of several nonfiction and fiction books. “Adventures “ is an enjoyable read. I learned some things about the writing process especially on “All the Presidents Men”.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:32

    If you love the Princess Bride, you love his work. He wrote the book and the screenplay. Both are excellent, although fewer people have read the book. Seeing how he consolidated the story is fascinating. He chop out the fat and created it a various story. He candidly tells the audience about his mistakes and the times he was fired. He had far from a excellent career, and he's a better man for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:32

    Amazing book that reflects Goldman's experience as a screenwriter. The book is padded though with material that isn't really needed. Presently the book is out of date and reflects a context that has changed in Hollywood and the movies of this age.I did learn that you had to be very politic to be a successful screenwriter. I'm sure this is still a skill that screenwriters must have in spades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:32

    William Goldman has written a must read for anyone who is interested in what goes up on the silver screen. As the author of some amazing screen plays and a repair person for a lot of that weren't he knows whereof he writes. He also contains the full screenplay for Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Child as a bonus. I have just about worn this copy out because with every reading it gives me some fresh ideas for my next or show projects. Amazing book by a amazing man who understood the inner workings of the screen trade and knew how to translate it for those of us in the popcorn gallery. Sadly he recently passed away but left the stamp of his amazing talent for us all to have fun and profit from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:32

    This is not a text book, but it should be needed reading for anyone who wants a career in the motion picture industry - or anyone who loves movie in general. Why is it not a textbook? Because it is one heck of an entertaining read. The book runs almost six-hundred pages and I devoured it in just a couple of days.William Goldman is one of most respected screenwriters alive; he knows as much about it as anyone. What he gives us is a picture of Hollywood (the business and who does what), the art of writing a screenplay, the process of working on a film, and his own private anecdotes. One of the chief pleasures of the book is how cheerfully gossipy it is. "PART ONE: HOLLYWOOD REALITIES" is full of stories of the excesses of Hollywood that people out there consider normal. A lot of the time he doesn't supply names, but sometimes he does. (Dustin Hoffman, while a brilliant actor, is notorious for being a bit eccentric.) He also gives us an idea of how the studio works and how pictures obtain e latest third of the book will primarily interest serious movie students. Goldman contains his entire script for Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, and uses it as a teaching tool. Then he presents a short story he wrote and uses that as a teaching tool regarding adapting previously written is book was written in 1982 and reading it is a stroll down memory lane. That was a dark time in motion picture history. Most of the movies he references from that period have been forgotten. In other words, it is just like today. We need to read this book again more than ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:32

    William Goldman is a screenwriting legend, and for amazing reason. He has written a number of enduring classics, scripts that keep up even decades later. But the true value of this book lays in his candor. He doesn't mince words. He gives his honest appraisal of his career and Hollywood in general throughout. And from someone who works in an industry that is renowned for being egotistical and self-involved, Goldman's voice is absolutely refreshing. And remarkably, his observations from the movie industry of almost 35 years ago are still relevant today. It makes you wonder, does Hollywood ever change? In any event, if you are an aspiring screenwriter or no, Adventures in the Screen Trade will entertain and inspire you. Thanks William Goldman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:32

    William Goldman was deservedly called the Dean of American Screenwriters. I had first read this book shortly after its release in 1984. Goldman's latest death has led me to reflect on his career by rereading several of his books. Reading it 35 years later only served to present me how wise and prescient Goldman was. His fearless exploration of "The Powers That Be," "Elements,"and his commentary on some of his movies greatly enriched my understanding of the film industry. But the absolutely invaluable portion of the book started at Chapter 18, in which he takes an old short story of his and goes through the steps of turning it into a screenplay, followed by incisive commentary by the best in the business: Tony Walton (design), Gordon Willis (cinematography), Dede Allen (film editing), Dave Grusin (music), and George Roy Hill (direction). If you have fun films and care about how they are made, do yourself a favor and read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Screen Trade []  2019-12-23 20:32

    For a long time I've been looking for a book that explains the business of making movies. I wasn't looking too hard, but I came across books that didn't do the topic justice either.I like Friedkin's book (his autobiography) more than Goldman's book, but they are equally educational. Goldman is prone to clichés in his writing, but at least it isn't pretentious or difficult. (Full disclosure: I am a technical writer.)Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in the Bahamas: Adventures in Paradise []  2020-6-30 19:19

    Fun read ! I dove the Islands/area for 15 years & had my own very various experiences, however not living there this book opened my eyes to not ever wanting Island life full time. Fun fast read ... & yes now I'm craving cracked conch :^)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in the Bahamas: Adventures in Paradise []  2020-6-30 19:19

    Not exactly what I expected, but it's ok.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in the Bahamas: Adventures in Paradise []  2020-6-30 19:19

    This book was a joke. Glad I didn't pay for it!The author takes much artistic license and spins a few "fish tales" to create the book more exciting. Much of his calamities are of his own making or lack of local knowledge, so it's hard to have much sympathy.While he may have played at living in the Bahamas, I actually do live in the Bahamas. I'm not sure what Bahamas he lived in, but he clearly didn't learn much while he was here, as he makes very silly errors in names, locations and people. I really didn't obtain much from this book, except maybe a sense of why so a lot of people come to the Bahamas with unrealistic expectations and leave disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in the Bahamas: Adventures in Paradise []  2020-6-30 19:19

    Very interesting book. Gives amazing insight into life in the tropics. Amazing story, enjoyable read. Though it does remove the glamour of retiring on an island.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in the Bahamas: Adventures in Paradise []  2020-6-30 19:19

    First, I must admit that I know Gordon and Annie England personally. I knew that he had written a slew of books and thought this one looked interesting. Well, it is! I learned so much about their experiences in the Bahamas as expats. I still cannot believe Annie place up with as much as she did. It is a amazing read; I really wanted to know what happened to them. The descriptions of the scenery and the amazing seafood created me wish to visit The Bahamas again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    The description and the two reviews I've read say it all very well. How neat to be able to visit these remote islands--without the inconvenience of travel, bugs, snakes, diseases and enervating tropical heat! The film "PT-109" showed these attractive locations and the gorgeous pacific. And a long time ago I read a book by Charis Crockett, an anthropologist in Fresh Guinea, called "The House in the Rain Forest". She typed much of her book with a tree kangaroo on her shoulder. Fascinating locations with an awesome dozens of flora and fauna. I highly recommend both only complaint is the shortage of photos! How I'd love to see the coral and colourful fish, the birds, more flowers, and views of the rain forests! The native people are interesting, the bats and rats are cute (I suspect that it would take a zoologist to call them attractive as he does) and I'm glad he included the pictures. But five or ten times that a lot of would have created a really superior book. I bought this thru Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    I very amazing read. I like history and exploration of remote areas, so it is right up my alley. A small funny, along with amazing info. Recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    Tim Flannery is among the latest of the amazing naturalists/scientists/explorers. This quite readable book tells of his exploration of islands in the Pacific for fresh and/or rare mammals. I have to confess the are more mammal species on these islands than I had known before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    Flannery, an Australian naturalist, is a amazing writer, his classic being "Throwim Method Leg." If this book doesn't measure up, it's because of its limited scope - not a review of the Pacific Islands, as the title suggests, but a limited zone (New Guinea/Solomon Islands) visited by the writer a lot of years ago to collect specimens. The reader would have to, first, understand how naturalists can obtain thrilled over things may people wouldn't, such as subtle gradations in birds' wings. I suspect you wouldn't be reading this review if you didn't have some idea. But don't expect a wacky travelogue like you might obtain from Redmond O'Hanlon, or the dyspeptic musings of Paul Theroux, just an informative if occasionally lighthearted acc of a remote corner of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    This is the memoir of an Australian naturalist who, twenty years ago, created the effort to search and study mammals on remote Pacific islands before they became extinct. If he could explore them, then they could be protected. The man has a sense of humor - - -and he required it to deal with the native peoples who still live traditional lives among the coconut trees... . but he also had to deal with environmental disruption and exploitation of the forests, which created the finding of obscure species almost impossible. He also had a brush with a cannibal culture of not too long ago - - in Fiji. Not for the squeamish to read the acc of a missionary of 100 years ago. This is a lively read.....Australians are almost always entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    A once in a lifetime look at the hunt and identification of endangered animals that live in remote islands in the pacific islands. A ripper of a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    Required more images of what he was describing and the locales where the research was done. The author's wit helped create a rather dry read more interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    I have a number of Flannery's books in my collection and generally consider him one of the best environmental writers. This book, mostly reminiscences of his early explorations, is a very enjoyable read but not as challenging as some of his others. Read this if you wish to know more about his scientific background and share some amazing stories. It won't give you a lot of insights into his current work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    A unbelievable book which gives so a lot of charming anecdotes and so much fascinating historical info that I plan to reread it very soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Among the Islands: Adventures in the Pacific []  2020-11-9 18:58

    Perfect book an understanding of how unique islands are for our environment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rip the Page!: Adventures in Creative Writing []  2020-2-1 4:12

    Be sure to hold a pad of Post-its with you as you read this book. You'll wish to tag page after page of these playful exercises. Author Benke encourages creative writers to:-be "curious about everything around you for a few minutes" each day (p. 24). This segues into a wonderful, meditation-like exercise in transforming the "awful, terrible, no-good" of the globe with a breath.-wonder "how things began"by writing a "favorite number, letter, punctuation mark...on a page and...imagining what it looks like, what or who it used to be, where it likes to hide, fly, build sand castles....maybe even how it moves and what it has to climb to obtain a better view of the sea or sky. You can also contain what your number, letter punctuation tag isn't, never was, never will be." (p.26) This is a fun twist on an exercise I've used with my students on personification of abstract nouns.-create a easy "list" poem with a dozen or so ideas to begin with (p.111).The exercises can be used to begin the creative process or take it to a finished piece. Benke's delightful book is sparkling with new ideas and fun ways to use them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    Today is October 20, and it was 60 degrees in SW Wisconsin...... Well, that's MY story. In Bill Streever's book, he opens each chapter with a certain location, usually where he is at the time, and tells what the current temperature is at that location.I really loved this book! I like to read fiction, histories, and non-fiction. I like a healthy mixture of those genres, and with "Cold" I got a amazing dose of reality and also some hilarity. Streever not only tells us about the world's coldest places; he also delves into geology, biology, history, and anthropology, showing us how each of these sciences relates to cold temperatures. His writing style is informative, fluid, sometimes lyrical and sometimes r example, when discussing the damselfish and the effects of temperatures on enzymes he says, "........ It is not so much an problem of cold taking a single enzyme out of commission as one of cold disturbing the synchronous behavior of an orchestra of enzymes, leaving one playing too slowly, another too fast, and another barely playing at all, and in the end reducing the symphony of metabolism to the cacophony of malaise and death."When discussing Joseph Fourier, a learned Frenchman during the early 1800s, who knew a amazing deal about the chemistry and behavior of cold, he said, "Fourier harbored a powerful aversion to cold. He believed that wrapping up in blankets would improve his health. In 1830, wrapped in blankets, he tripped down a flight of steps. The fall killed him." There were a lot of other "deadpan" observations such as this.When discussing various ways in which people learned how to hold warm, he discussed angora rabbits, sheep's wool, and cotton. But he not only tells us how and when people started using these fibers, he also adds unbelievable tidbits about when the people in India first started using the spinning wheel, how wool is actually turned into a thread of yarn, and WHY certain fabrics are better insulators than ween the covers of this book we learn about permafrost, wooly mammoths, polar expeditions, inventors, the Ice Man found in the Alps in 1991, the not good US blizzard in the 1800's, often called the School Children's Blizzard because of the a lot of young kids killed by it, how certain monsters withstand the cold and how others sucb, plus much, much more. The scope of this book is amazing! I could not even start to list the varied and interesting subjects he covered on a world-wide basis. While reading it, I often wondered how this author's mind worked. Including so a lot of various topics on so a lot of various continents! Surely, he must hold notes or reminders to himself every time he hears of or learns something interesting, then researches it and adds it to his book notes.I am not a scientist. I am a retired history and Spanish teacher, so I really have no technical training in sciences, but I found this book very appealing and interesting. It was not written in a method that only scientists would understand. It was written in a method to appeal to the masses, although it was backed by solid only irritation, and it was minor, was bringing Al Gore and man-made global warming into the story, albeit briefly. I hold reading conflicting reports about the polar ice caps. They are shrinking or they are expanding. It all depends on which report or satellite photograph you see, I suppose. As far as man causing global warming, or the fact that the earth constantly goes through climate change, is, I imagine, going to be contested for years to come. The author is entitled to his opinion and if he worships at the altar of Al Gore and I don't, I can obtain over it. As I said, Al Gore was only very briefly mentioned, and the book was so amazing that I was able to easily obtain over my grumpiness about ch an interesting and well-written book! I will be reading his next one, "Heat: Adventures in the World's Fiery Places" very soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    Despite only 3 stars, I found this book overall enjoyable. The info about hibernation and animal adaptations was interesting. The tales of cold climate exploration also were vivid. But at times I felt this book became repetitive. Some of the same stories kept being repeated. At other times I suffered from info overload. Too much too quickly to fully appreciate everything. Yet I have to say that I learned much about climate that I had never considered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    I really enjoyed reading the book. I will admit that some of it comes across disjointed at times and the author does not go into as amazing a depth as my curiosity would have liked, but the subject of Cold is really quite vast and in order to hold the book moving and from turning into a 1,000 page dissertation, I think it was important to hold subjects brief.Overall, I give this book perhaps a star better rating because there are not a lot of books written on Cold as a whole and stand-alone subject that I am aware of and I think it deserves some credit for tackling the subject.I look at this book as a starting point for further exploration of the cold. Kind of a Primer on Cold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heat: Adventures in the World's Fiery Places []  2020-1-19 20:12

    I enjoyed the first two chapters, and was interested in the progression to higher temperatures. Unfortunately the author sprinkled in a few references about the carbon emissions his visit to a website created. From there, the references to human-caused climate change became more and more a part of the book, and more a distraction from the subjects I was interested in reading about. A lot of of the mentions of climate change did not fit in the sections in which they occurred, resulting in a disjointed jarring result as I the end of the book it became clear what the true notice was intended to be. This was disappointing, since the book could have been much more entertaining and informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heat: Adventures in the World's Fiery Places []  2020-1-19 20:12

    "Heat" is not as compelling as "Cold" but how could it be? "Cold" was soooo good. If you liked "Cold", you will have fun "Heat". Smart items for people who like their facts interspersed with humor and telling anecdotes. The narrative voice is dry but comfortable. Kind of like drinking "Arrogant @#$%!&? Ale". Not for everyone but really enjoyed by a select few.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ia: Adventures in the Queer East []  2020-1-19 21:23

    I found this book to be insightful, hilarious, and I think Benjamin Law is a very witty writer. I couldn't place this book down! It is a book that deals with truth, and tragedy, that GLBT people face in Asian countries. But it deals with these tragedies, because the truth is, there IS a lot of tragedy that GLBT people face in Asian countries. Unlike GLBT in America, parts of Europe, and Canada, who have fun a lot of rights, regardless of the people who are homophobic and don't like them, GLBT in Asian countries face a lot of discrimination, ignorance, and challenges, just because they are GLBT. They have no rights. Primary rights that all people should I am not sure how this book could have been written without talking about these tragedies, unless the book was to make a fairytale-like existence for the GLBT in Asia. And then it would have been a fictional book about GLBT in Asia (not the purpose of this book). This book opened my eyes. It created me not only realize how fortunate I am to live in a "free-er" country like the USA, but it also created me ask my self, "What can I do to support my GLBT brothers and sisters" who are still discriminated against"? It created me realize that while I sit here all comfortable as a man, there are a lot of people who don't even know about HIV, how to obtain it, prevent it, or avoid it. That to me is a very sad, archaic reality that GLBT in Asian countries still face today.I love his candid insights, the sharing of his honest feelings, and his willingness to share his feelings about each country he eat job Benjamin, and I hope you hold writing more books like this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ia: Adventures in the Queer East []  2020-1-19 21:23

    Fun collection of what are essentially short single-country essays about culture in Asia. In some places, is ok but in others it's a horrible shame on your family. As an Australian man of Asian heritage, Law has a special ability to jump right in to Asian cultures but has a distinctly Western point of view. It's an interesting put to be and I love how Law explains his thoughts and ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ia: Adventures in the Queer East []  2020-1-19 21:23

    ia: Adventures In The Queer East is a fully fascinating book, right from the get-go I was hooked by Law's voice and his journey around Asia would be fascinating without the queer aspect. Being serious here, man should write a travel book. But learning about how these different countries tackle homoity, and learning about these features is wonderful, and well worth a read. The characters he interviews throughout are intriguing and there was no boring sections to the novel. Law's an perfect writer, and I'm excited for his next work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Land of Music []  2020-1-23 3:31

    Sounds amazing thanks....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Land of Music []  2020-1-23 3:31

    Brings the funk to the trunk! The rhythms and melodies in their songs should not be overlooked. I think this group needs to share the respect amidst the likes of Shalamar, Heatwave and Kool and the Gang in terms of the quality of their style of music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nerve: Adventures in the Science of Fear []  2020-5-21 18:35

    A unbelievable read - Holland combines engaging, enjoyable reading with accessible and well-researched science. As a clinical psychologist, I felt like I was getting away with something - either my work reading was a lot more fun than usual, or my fun reading had the added gift of being really relevant to my work. I can’t wait to encourage students interested in both psychology and amazing writing to pick this one up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nerve: Adventures in the Science of Fear []  2020-5-21 18:35

    My largest fear is failure, and letting people down. I was really hoping this book would support me through some of those struggles and give me some exercises to support me. Instead, and please forgive me for being insensitive, but it really felt like the author was just complaining about their life and the results of fear that took put because of the occurrences in her life. Perhaps I misunderstood what the book was to be about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nerve: Adventures in the Science of Fear []  2020-5-21 18:35

    Nerve is an interesting book which is something of a hybrid between non-fiction science and memoir by Eva Holland. Released 14th April 2020 by The Experiment, it's 256 pages and available in hardcover, audio, and ebook e book is split into three interwoven and similar parts. The first part is a moving private acc of the author's experiences with situational phobias in her own life and how it was inextricably tied to emotional trauma. She has a sure and deft voice and she expresses it with a touching vulnerability and strength. The second part of the book is an acc of her journey toward grabbing her own fear of falling, of heights, of loss of physical control, and taking control of it and learning to minimize its effects on her life by doing the exact things of which she was most afraid. The third part of the book (and the one which completely sucked me in) is the layman accessible examination of the physiological science behind fear and fear reactions. I learnt quite a lot from these chapters about the body's response to fear (both rational and irrational) and the emotional responses to the physiological ere are some parts of the book which I found almost excruciating to read. The author is quite gifted at realistically depicting the terror of a full blown panic attack and it makes for both enlightening and difficult reading. The author has provided a superb bibliography and reading list with annotations for each chapter for readers who are interested in further exploration of the is is not a how-to-fix-your-fears handbook; the author has not provided medical advice. It is, however, a compelling and interesting look at the author's experiences with her own phobia in her own ur stars.Disclosure: I received an ARC at no cost from the author/publisher for review purposes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nerve: Adventures in the Science of Fear []  2020-5-21 18:35

    I've always really enjoyed Eva Holland's writing in Outside Magazine, so knew I had to pick this up when I saw it!I am also an adventurous person who also deals with a fear of heights that feels at times unrelenting and ridiculous - like Holland, I have had hiking partners need to practically peel me off of a ridge line. Holland's ability to combine her private narrative with well-researched scientific theories has not only left me with comfort regarding my own phobia, but with a deeper understanding of the psychological triggers lurking behind it. There were definitely a few times during the narrative where I was like "Other people feel like this too?!"Highly recommended not only for those interested in the outdoors, but for those who have fun a balanced narrative that combines both a private journey with clear-eyed scientific perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly [Book]  2019-11-21 18:0

    The first time I read 'Kitchen Confidential,' I was a student at my alma mater, learning Culinary Arts to become a chef. At first read, I was intrigued, shocked, and in wonderment all at the same time. Bourdain's vivid and colourful info of his culinary adventures and misadventures scared me a bit. It created me slightly wonder if I truly knew of the potential fallout that could come from a career in this field. In addition, even though I believed him to be truthful, I also thought he was perhaps exaggerating a bit on some of the debauched and seemingly unreal goings on in the kitchens he had worked , after having been a chef myself, having worked in multiple kitchens of all caliber in all four coasts of the United States, having worked with multitudes of kitchen associates and a lot of other chefs, I know first hand of Bourdain's perspective and insight. I can tell you with certainty that it's all true. Yes, all true: every sordid, scandalous, wonderful, funny, creative, and awesome bit of it. This book is the culinary life. It's the life we chose, the life we love, and it's also the life that leaves us with literal and figurative scars that will never heal. We love the kitchen and although it loves us back, it also instilled in us some painful, loaded, duplicitous lessons. Lessons which I myself is still finding useful to this ter learning of Bourdain's shocking suicide three weeks ago on June 8th, I decided to obtain a fresh copy of 'Kitchen Confidential.' It had been some fifteen years since I latest read it, and I wanted to remember him for the unbelievable voice he gave to us certifiable crazy kitchen fighters and culinary ninjas. Us fighters who love food, and us ninjas who have accepted our punishing, culinary fates. I also decided to read it again because I had the pleasure of meeting Anthony Bourdain twice in my life - on the second occasion, I had the honor of cooking for him. Both times, he was as funny, charming, and brilliant as a lot of know him to be from his culinary travel TV shows. Reading the book this second time around created me remember and reminisce how unbelievable both of my encounters with him had been.If you're a chef, or a culinary student, I have a feeling I don't need to convince you to buy and read this book. Bourdain's acc of his time in the kitchen is our reality, and you know it first hand so you'll relate. If you're a "foodie" (I truly despise this word) or someone who genuinely admires the art of culinary, you'll obtain a kick out of this book, because you'll feel the sweat, blood, and tears we suffer to creatively feed you and the masses. If you're an ordinary person who simply eats to live, or perhaps you once caught an episode of one of Anthony Bourdain's four tv shows over the years, but you don’t really see the reason for all the fuss, you need this book more than anyone else. Unless you're squeamish, a prude, snobbish, or a pretentious person, you'll love 'Kitchen Confidential.' If you are indeed within the third category of people I described, and you begin your mind, I guarantee you that you'll fall in love with Anthony Bourdain like we all have and see what all the fuss is that we hold lamenting edless to say, I highly recommend this book. Read it once, read it twice, read it multiple times. You'll be wiser for it. Yes of course, some of the info such as the use of Fax machines to send resumes, the meal ordering processes, hiring practices, meal safety guidelines, and a couple other things are outdated and no longer relevant by today's Culinary Arts standards. Nevertheless, what remains, remains valid and rings real to this day. This memoir is a solid one. 5-Stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly [Book]  2019-11-21 18:0

    I have worked in the restaurant industry my entire life, and I have to say that even if you've only waited tables for a month, or never worked in the industry at all, this is a must read. When people go out to dinner, they have a pleasant time, or they don't. They like their waiter, or they don't. They have powerful opinions on the food, the smells, the décor, or they don't. Regardless of peoples experience in a dining room, there is a circus act going on continuously long before these people ever arrived, and it was in full result when their order was placed, and it will continue after they have paid their bill and left. If you've ever wondered what the circus in the back of the house is like, then pick up this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pokémon: Adventures in the Orange Islands []  2020-6-18 20:51

    I LOVE POKEMON !!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pokémon: Adventures in the Orange Islands []  2020-6-18 20:51

    I love Pokémon so much 😍👍🤩

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arrivals, Departures and the Adventures In-Between []  2020-7-5 19:2

    Unbelievable book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arrivals, Departures and the Adventures In-Between []  2020-7-5 19:2

    Being rather fresh to the globe of TCKs and CCKs, Chris' take on life and adventure is simultaneously engaging, fun and educational. A must-read, really, for everyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Adventures in the 50 States []  2020-12-1 20:29

    The author of this children’s book beguilingly invites her readers to come and have some adventures. Starting with letter “A,” readers are invited to climb a giant boulder in Alabama, to walk on a glacier in Alaska, to horseback ride in Arizona and to kayak in Arkansas. From there it goes on to all of the states.I found this to be an interesting and appealing title. Readers, whether or adults or children, will learn a lot as they have fun both the text and illustrations in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Adventures in the 50 States []  2020-12-1 20:29

    A very neat illustrated book to inspire young adventures and their parents to travel! Attractive illustrations accompany a special activity featured for each state. Some examples include: visiting an active volcano in Hawaii, exploring a shipwreck in North Carolina, and climbing up a frozen waterfall in Colorado. Descriptions for each activity/state are brief and give background to the activity and local area. My only complaint is that I want this gave more background to the a lot of wonders/sights in each US state. This book features bucket list types of adventures, some more physically challenging than others. This would be a unbelievable starting point to decide on a vacation destination or simply pore over in fascination!Thank you NetGalley and the publisher for providing this ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Lily Huckleberry in Scandinavia []  2020-10-20 18:49

    I wanted to like this book. I purchased it for a young girl named Lily who was turning 6. The art is gorgeous and the story started off well. However, right at the end there was a paragraph that just ruined the entire book. The story follows Lily on a magical adventure to reclaim strawberries (stolen by vikings) for a Scandinavian festival. Right at the end Lily is trying to teach the vikings to be nice so they can be forgiven and attend the festival and she instructs them to say:"I will not burn any houses down.I will not cut off anyone's head."No thanks. I don't need my kids asking me "Why were they burning people's houses and chopping off their heads?!" I asked several mom mates to see if their reaction was the same and it was. We didn't understand why this had to be added.If you're writing a children's book I suggest you actually focus on your audience. This language is uncalled for in a book marketed as young as me children are watching PG-13 films at age 5 and I'm sure their moms are rolling their eyes at this review, but some children are not comfortable with death and horror at this age. 4 is around the age when kids actually start to understand the finality of death, they don't need to be adding decapitation to their nightmares.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Lily Huckleberry in Scandinavia []  2020-10-20 18:49

    Such a beautifully written and illustrated book, my kids love it and are looking forward to Lily’s next adventure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Princess in Black: Three Smashing Adventures []  2020-11-23 19:23

    I bought these for my 7 year old daughter and She loves these, she reads them all the time. This series is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    Streever is a very informative writer without being bookish. I learned a lot of things about cold temperatures, hypothermia, chill blains, frost bite, frost nip, absolute zero, the Bose-Einstein condensate, hibernation, the raw power of cold temperatures, the state of Alaska, the ALCan Highway etc. etc. etc. A really awesome and amazing book that was educational without being boring! It kept my complete attention all the while I was reading it. I even created notes based on the info from the book. To my delight, all the info panned out when I cross referenced it on BING and GOOGLE. I bought Streever's book on "HEAT", which is next on my reading list. I've read his book on wind, "AND SOON I HEARD A ROARING WIND".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    Bill Streever is masterful in the method he presents his material in an accessible and entertaining fashion. Cold is an amazingly fun book to read and you'll learn awesome things, such as the fact that there are 4 species of frogs that FREEZE during winter! I strongly recommend this book to anyone curious about nature, animals, human endurance, or who just wants to learn more about the globe we inhabit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly [Book]  2019-11-21 18:0

    GREAT book! I couldn't place it down. Having been in meal service most of my life, I'm only 26yrs old and feel like I've already been exposed to it all. After reading this...not even close. Anthony never goes far beyond the truth of spending his time in a kitchen. Explaining each and every detail about his experiences from culinary school all the method to executive chef running his own restaurant. There's definitely some evil out there, but also a lot of rewards. He tells it how it is. There's plenty of spoilers in this book including talk about what kinds of knives to use, kitchen equipment and about how to improve upon your own skills as a chef, restaurant employee or even an owner. However, this is really a story--not business for dummies. He's done a amazing job here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly [Book]  2019-11-21 18:0

    I guess God required amazing chef for his kitchen today. Rest in peace, Anthony.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Land of Music []  2020-1-23 3:31

    This was a treasured album from my high school days. Some 30 years on, it still pleases the ears and feet. I really appreciate how amazing I had it back then when this melody was common place. Dynasty and the Solar galaxy rocked the summers with their sweet and funky jams. This takes me back to basement parties and park jams. One note the cd reissue is more generous then credited - there are 3 extra live tracks which are as amazing as the studio versions and a single edit of I just begun to love you. A bargain!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Land of Music []  2020-1-23 3:31

    Amazing cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heat: Adventures in the World's Fiery Places []  2020-1-19 20:12

    "A quarter cord of cedar weighs seven hundred pounds as wood but only four pounds as ash. The lesson: if you have to haul firewood, burn it first." - from HEAT"I flew home to Alaska, propelled by jet fuel. Another name for jet fuel: kerosene. My seat, propelled by burning kerosene, releases 1,537 pounds of carbon emissions." - from HEAT"I place my hand deep into a crack, and a sudden burp gives me a near scalding. I decide that I will no longer reach into the darkness of steaming cracks." - from HEAT, the author doing something ill-advised at the bottom of Kilauea Iki crater on the island of Hawai'i.Having previously read and enjoyed Bill Streever's Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places, I expected huge things from HEAT. Then, in the "Preface", the author holds the palm of his hand in a candle flame for five seconds, an action that seemed to me to lack common sense. But, it's his book and his hand, so what do I know? I have to say, though, that it might have been more entertaining for the reader and instructional for Streever if he'd immersed his hand in a deep fryer. You think?In his own words, Bill describes HEAT as:"... about all things hot ...it allow me tell the story of something that is with us all the time but taken so much for granted that it is all but ignored."Well, I'm not sure the book encompasses ALL things hot, but this rambling narrative of famous science does contain the desert and dehydration thirst, wildfires and burn injuries, cooking, the evolution of fuel (peat, coal, oil), volcanoes and lava, nuclear weapons, the Sun and stars, supercolliders, and with COLD, Streever goes off on tangents, some of which are only barely similar to the topic. For instance, when discussing the transition from peat to coal as a household fuel, he digresses into the working conditions in coal mines, the use of kids as miners, and mine flooding. At such a point, the reader might well either appreciate the additional material as a gift or wonder why text zone is being wasted. Either way, it indicates the author's apparent reluctance to employ an garding climate change, in COLD Streever states that geologists tend to be naysayers, but climatologists and biologists "tended to camp with the climate change kooks."Streever himself is a biologist, and it's more apparent than ever in HEAT in which camp the author pitches his tent. He takes every opportunity to remark on the amount of carbon emissions when travelling by vehicle or air. Yet, he jets to locations far and wide from his home in Alaska to research the book and blithely adds to the issue he decries. Mind you, I don't disagree with the potential for hurt caused by carbon emissions, but I've been hearing about it ever since Al Gore started cudgeling the topic years ago, and I'm a small tired of being preached to, especially if such pronouncements from the pulpit seem a tad hypocritical. I obtain it, Bill!At the end of the day, my regard for HEAT, especially when compared to COLD, is just lukewarm. The latter contained more of substance on its topic. The former seemed like a project simply undertaken to provide symmetry to his survey of temperature. So, speaking of lukewarm, if his next book is entitled TEPID, I think I'll pass.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heat: Adventures in the World's Fiery Places []  2020-1-19 20:12

    Bill Streever did it again. I didn't think he could top "Cold," but he absolutely matched it with "Heat." I recommend giving it to 11-plus year old kids as a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ia: Adventures in the Queer East []  2020-1-19 21:23

    I wanted more depth/length to the stories and perhaps some updating to the text. Still, it gives some insight into how people are viewed, and behave, in the "Queer East" (to quote the author). I realize this is Mr. Law's experiences on his travels but it would have been nice to have the situations in the various countries filled out by more objective sources.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nerve: Adventures in the Science of Fear []  2020-5-21 18:35

    Which comes first, the feeling of fear or the physical expression of it? Surprisingly, in Nerve: Adventures in the Science of Fear, the author presents scientific studies showing that the physical symptoms are interpreted by our brain into the feelings—rather than the other method e author of this book uses current neurological and psychological theories to attempt to quiet her own phobias. Phobias are the “feared that need not be feared” or irrational fears. The author’s phobias are of heights, driving (after a series of vehicle accidents), and losing her loved ones (after her mother’s latest death).For heights, she tries skydiving to shock herself out of her fear. When that doesn’t work, she tries rock climbing to do some do-it-herself exposure therapy with slightly better results. However, the best success story is how she completely removes her fear of driving using the most modern of r anyone who has phobias, fears, or past traumas, Nerve: Adventures in the Science of Fear is an engrossing and informative look into both past and modern treatment options. The section on Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) treatment for Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) was particularly enlightening. 4.5 stars rounded up to 5 stars!Thanks to The Experiment and NetGalley for a copy in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nerve: Adventures in the Science of Fear []  2020-5-21 18:35

    Nerve by Eva Holland is a free NetGalley ebook that I read in mid-March.Fear as feeling, a state of mind from a cognitive standpoint, mere moments from panic; as anticipation and aversion, manifested inhibitions; confronting and coping with fear as it happens and in the past tense, then forms of treatment and therapy. Holland steps back to search the source of their own fears (mainly heights and PTSD after vehicle crashes) and how they affect her life today, sort of in a Celestine Prophecy kind of way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Princess in Black: Three Smashing Adventures []  2020-11-23 19:23

    The girls liked these three books, but as the reader and parent I search them woefully lacking. The stories are annoyingly random and repetitious in terms of storyline. There are so few amazing books for girls about empowerment and are actually well written it's infuriating. So far the star has been Rose Revere Engineer. Looking for longer books to read at bedtime, but not finding anything nearly as good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Princess in Black: Three Smashing Adventures []  2020-11-23 19:23

    My first grade daughter loves these books. She can read them by herself and only needs minimal support. They are simplistic but enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Adventures in the 50 States []  2020-12-1 20:29

    Naturally upon receiving this I first turned to my home state of Indiana to see what adventure would be highlighted. I was at first a small disappointed to search it was "Catch Your Own Dinner" but then when I read through the rest of the book I felt better about it.I think the idea of this book was to feature a dozens of *types* of adventures, and then the author went through and place them in the context of individual states. I don't feel that the task of the book was to come up with the one BEST adventurous thing in each state, if that makes sense. Kate Siber already did that book: National Parks of the U.S.A. (which is a must-own!)I think the intent here, again, was to feature the idea of outdoor adventuring in a dozens of ways--sure, glacier-hiking and rock-climbing are included, but an outdoor adventure need not be so extreme or what same may feel is inaccessible. Simply ice skate or bike or bird watch or go fishing. Adventures can be in remote areas or in the middle of an urban park. Overall I love the inspiration. I love learning a small bit about each state I didn't know of before. The illustration style is lovely and engaging. A lovely and fun book!Note: I was given a copy of this book by Quarto Children in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Adventures in the 50 States []  2020-12-1 20:29

    I got this for my children who are studying the 50 states. The illustrations are attractive and the descriptions for each state are fun but also lacking a bit. Each state has a thing that they're popular for: Idaho potatoes, Georgia peaches, Florida oranges...etc. and the book seems to skip over those and focus on only 1 thing the state has, ie: Alaska's glaciers, Alabama hiking, Maine skiing. It really only focuses on that 1 thing and gives a lot of a lot of facts, but just about that 1 particular thing. I would have loved for my children to learn a small history about each state rather than where they could go fishing. I would also have loved for the capitals to be included since we are using this for education. I would be prepared that you may not learn too a lot of fresh facts about states you've never been too. It's beautiful and informative but also lacking a bit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Lily Huckleberry in Scandinavia []  2020-10-20 18:49

    This book is beautiful. The story, the illustration, the binding, All beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Lily Huckleberry in Scandinavia []  2020-10-20 18:49

    This book is so fun and creative! I love the adventure and special style of the writer. Please do yourself a favor and obtain this adorable book for the child in your life! It’s not just for girls!! My boys love it too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Lily Huckleberry in Scandinavia []  2020-10-20 18:49

    What a cute book! Unbelievable for small thinkers and showing children the world. My children love this book. It has sparked questions of Scandinavian countries and travel. My oldest wrote Lily Huckleberry a letter and she wrote right back! That additional time that this unbelievable writer and illustrator place in earned her fans for life! Can’t wait for the next adventure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rip the Page!: Adventures in Creative Writing []  2020-2-1 4:12

    After reading a negative one-star review that warned of Buddhism (gasp, oh no!) principles generously sprinkled through this book, along with the possibility that it might encourage my kid to be a rebel (heavens no, say it isn't so!) I HAD TO HAVE THIS BOOK.I mean, seriously, is that not the best recommendation clothed in a one-star review one could possibly find?Buddhism and outside of the box thinking. The horror of it all!I waited eagerly for this book to arrive.I've paged through it and have to say, I'm not disappointed. In fact, I can't wait for our fall homeschooling to obtain started! Writing was never this fun in school when I was growing up. Which is ironic because eventually I became a writer and blogger. That said, I think I would have been writing more, and at a younger age, if I had this seriously, if you have a kiddo you wish to encourage to write more, obtain this book. You won't be sorry!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rip the Page!: Adventures in Creative Writing []  2020-2-1 4:12

    I taught a short Creative Writing class this semester, and I used that as an excuse to order this fun book that's been on my wishlist for ages. It was definitely helpful in planning my lessons for the kids, but I had a lot of fun with it as well. I plan to hold on playing with the prompts and android games found within its pages. Sometimes, I have to quit writing what I'm supposed to be writing and allow my brain play freely.I would highly recommend this book if you are a child who loves to write, a child who thinks you don't love to write, a grown-up who still has fun with words, a grown up who thinks he is too old to have fun with words, or really if you are just about anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pokémon: Adventures in the Orange Islands []  2020-6-18 20:51

    Amazing season

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pokémon: Adventures in the Orange Islands []  2020-6-18 20:51

    I did message that episode 10 is an incorrect episode as it shows Ash have a Charmander and by this point it was a Charizard.Other than that it has been fantastic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arrivals, Departures and the Adventures In-Between []  2020-7-5 19:2

    A fun and inspiring look into the life of a TCK living the third culture lifestyle, into adulthood!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arrivals, Departures and the Adventures In-Between []  2020-7-5 19:2

    The privilege of writing a review of Mr. O'Shaughnessy's book is the highlight of my life. I can now retire to a monastery in the high Himalayas and lead a quiet life of contemplation to seek something more excellent that his book.I have had the distinct joy of living in the same country as O'Shaughnessy several times and have even had him over for dinner. My family all have bright memories of Chris entertaining us with his lost in America stories and his narration as a tour tutorial in Italy must be heard. I hope we all that possibility in our lifetimes.When I heard that he was writing about living as a third culture person (although grown up, I still claim my right to be a kid), I knew I had to read this book. Excerpts and second hand servings would not be enough. I had to have the true stuff, for myself and to fill a bookcase with. The suggestion that we each purchase a bookshelf worth of his books, in order to have enough to share, seems sensible and well thought out. I encourage you to buy enough so that when your copy at hand is stolen, you can return to your library for a is book may change your life, it will certainly change your perspective on people raised across the cultures of our world. We are no longer alone, we have found our home. We are at home everywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly [Book]  2019-11-21 18:0

    Anthony Bourdain tells us early in the book that he is going to tell the truth - and he does. The good, the poor and the beautiful. It was poignant to read this the day he died by suicide. I felt like I had him here in my room as he talked to me. He writes the same method that he talks, so it is simple to hear his voice in your ear as you read. If you have ever worked in restaurants, as I have, you will recognize a lot of what he talks about. But some of it is just Bourdain's restaurants. He tends to gather his squads from a pool of sociopaths, junkies, inveterate alcoholics and just marginally sane people. They are never late, never call in sick and are loyal to him to the end. I learned about lots of unbelievable meal I had never tasted. I was constantly looking up these exotic stuff in the dictionary. He teaches as he tells his story. What's not to like about this book?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nerve: Adventures in the Science of Fear []  2020-5-21 18:35

    This is a fast-paced and well-written exploration of what fear is and some of the ways we experience it. Holland provides a look at both the science and her own struggles to address fear in ways that are clear, intriguing and frequently funny. A amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Land of Music []  2020-1-23 3:31

    I purchased this album when I was in the 10th grade and lost it because of my Aunt leaving it in the SUN. 30 years later ive found it and i thought id never search it. Enjoying the melody the grooves of DYNASTY brings back the days when soul melody was very amazing and changing. The hit single 'I've just begun to Love You' is a amazing song with small bits of CHIC influence and with them being label friends of SHALAMAR there would related sounds coming through the entire album. Stand out tunes such as 'GROOVE CONTROL, Day and Night and Do me right. create this a amazing album to listen to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Land of Music []  2020-1-23 3:31

    So glad this finally came out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in the Land of Music []  2020-1-23 3:31

    Old school! Nice!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rip the Page!: Adventures in Creative Writing []  2020-2-1 4:12

    I have discovered a grand book for coaxing the muses out of hiding. It is titled "Rip the Page" and can be found on That is where yours truly found it. I am so glad that I decided to by this awesome book. It is awesome because it can coax all sorts of muses out from their hiding places. Silly ones, sad ones, satisfied ones, serious ones. and all the other sort of muses one can dream up. This book was designed for children, but I feel those who write for kids can also benefit from what is found within its ank you Ms. Benke for creating and publishing this awesome assortment of muse creators.(Here is something I wrote that was inspired by the activity located on page four.I can write with the soul that is summer.I can write with the blood of my people.I can write with the light of a firefly.I can write with the sent of lavender.I can write with the dust of broken shells.I can write with the memory of childhood.I can write with the bones of fish.I can write with the sea of life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rip the Page!: Adventures in Creative Writing []  2020-2-1 4:12

    I have given this as a bonus twice to youth if varying ages. One was for a teenager who is an aspiring writer. She raved about enough to recommend it for the other person I told her about. That other person is a young boy who struggled with writing and actually required encouragement in an interest and issue with writing. His mother who has a degree in English Lit was excited for how he responded to the use of the a professional writer I am thrilled to have a resource to encourage writing skills in a fun method for youth and maybe adults too. That is my next try for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arrivals, Departures and the Adventures In-Between []  2020-7-5 19:2

    Chris's book had me laughing at page one and continued to the very end. What was really nice about it is how you can easily see how global nomads can take some of his words of wisdom and apply it into their own lives. Chris's simple to read style makes this a book that is amazing for different ages. I can see how some international schools will buy copies for their students and yet, it can be helpful for a seasoned expat like me. I shared this with some mates recently and they were unable to place it down until they completely read the book cover to cover - to me that is a amazing sign on a book that the author hit the nail on the head and delivered a book that needs to be read. Enjoy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arrivals, Departures and the Adventures In-Between []  2020-7-5 19:2

    Chris writes like he talks -- humorous and genuine. His book will certainly benefit and bless most cross-cultural and third-culture students (and their parents/teachers) as he sheds light on subjects such as, making, keeping, and letting go of friends; conflict resolution and communication; restlessness, rootlessness, and preparing for the future; family, national identity, and grief.If laughter is amazing medicine, then this book should have to be approved by the FDA . . . and will likely cure whatever ails you. What kid (cross cultural, third culture, or home grown) at some point in his or her life doesn't feel unusual, unique, or out-of-place? What kid doesn't imagine being a robot or monster from some other planet who has superpowers or special abilities? What TCK hasn't felt sheer panic at the thought of saying or doing something so totally out-of-place with those around them?Every TCK who is a junior or senior in high school should read this book prior to going off to college or life on their own. For the rest of my review, see my post "Adventures In-Between" on The Education Cafe.--Delana H. StewartAuthor of:Nine Year Pregnancy: Waiting on God-Our Journey of AdoptionMy Paper Pregnancy Journal: A put for you to tell your adoption story with insights to tutorial you on your ree Days at Sea: Soul floatation when the waves are pulling you under

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    Streever offers a huge slice of polar exploration and generous helpings of biology and ecology. He also provides garnishes from low-temperature physics and even a taste of e organization is a bit too discursive. For example, when discussing polar expeditions, Streever doesn't offer a timeline of unsuccessful and successful attempts, and he doesn't tell the story of any one expedition from beginning to end. He usually starts with somebody freezing and then spins a story from there.On the plus side, the bibliographical references are first-rate, and a lot of of the older books referenced are now available for free on Kindle.Overall, this work is both tasty and filling. Best served ... cold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heat: Adventures in the World's Fiery Places []  2020-1-19 20:12

    If you love non-fiction famous science books, this is an perfect choice. Also, if you have read his book "Cold" you will have to read this one, e author has a writing style which is very ADD (attention-deficit) in that he hops around from whatever he is thinking at THIS moment to whatever he is thinking NEXT, but it really works. He has taken on a HUGE topic, that covers everything from campfires and deserts to the history of fossil fuels and volcanoes and even firewalking. This was especially fascinating because I actually walked on fire back in the 1980's, so I was interested to see his take on the phenomenon.Go along with him in his travels around the globe to discover the entire subject of "The Science of Hot Things and the History of the People Who Create Them."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heat: Adventures in the World's Fiery Places []  2020-1-19 20:12

    A fascinating journey told in the first person, which draws the reader into becoming that person, Heat teaches without pontificating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heat: Adventures in the World's Fiery Places []  2020-1-19 20:12

    Amazing shipping time! As an avid fan of Streever's first book "Cold", I highly recommend readers to follow up with this one. Not only are his witty humor and copious amounts of varied facts present, but again readers feel the warmth of a scientist who honestly cares about humanity and its impact upon our planet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ia: Adventures in the Queer East []  2020-1-19 21:23

    This was certainly an eye opening intro into LGBTQ in Asia. It was a fun read and Benjamin kept it mostly light with a few massive moments. I was dismayed he did not visit South Korea for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Lily Huckleberry in Scandinavia []  2020-10-20 18:49

    I have read over 1,000 various books to my children in the latest year and Lily Huckleberry is definitely in our top 10 favorite books. My small girl is 5. The story is fun and the illustration Is amazing!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Lily Huckleberry in Scandinavia []  2020-10-20 18:49

    I bought this for my granddaughter. She is in first grade, and loves to read and look at pictures. The story is special and the pictures are lovely. Attractive book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Princess in Black: Three Smashing Adventures []  2020-11-23 19:23

    One of the other parents in my circle highly recommended this series for my very girly but karate loving daughter. It's a HUGE hit with her! She absolutely loves the Princess In Black books and comments really often how amazing she thinks it is that there's a super character series about girls like her (ultra feminine, ultra tough)! The characters and and the situational humor are really a victory for her! After buying the first book, we went ahead and purchased the rest of the series. We highly recommend that you do the same for the princesses (or princes) in your life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Princess in Black: Three Smashing Adventures []  2020-11-23 19:23

    Gave this to my daughter for christmas. She is in nursery school and learning to read books. She absolutely loves them!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Adventures in the 50 States []  2020-12-1 20:29

    Firstly. this book is gorgeous! Secondly, its fun to read as its not laid out in traditional page turning format, but you can discover the drawings to search fun facts in bite size pieces. There is always something more to see and search in the pages. the words are easy enough for early readers and the tone encourages them to look and see and discover their globe rather than be a passive observer. I've been to all 50 states but now I clearly need to go again, there are so a lot of more adventures to be had, even in my home state.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386