Read ahead of the curve reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all ahead of the curve reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


    Add your opinion on ahead of the curve or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    list of canada online pharmacies zjqw [cialis canadian pharmacy czdz]  2020-10-17 6:50
    [email protected]

    cialis canadian pharmacies canadian overnight pharmacy canadian online pharmacy cialis cialis from canadian pharmacies brand online canada pharmacy canadian online pharmacy reviews cialis pharmacy canadian-pharmacy-online scam online canadian pharmacies canada pharmacies online prescriptions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the dentist []  2020-11-21 20:54
    [email protected]

    Thank you Moses. Thanks to the entire staff. Reminds me of my appointments. Explain in detail what's going on. Patient and kind. Office is very clean and inviting. Satisfied Thanksgiving. Please stay safe. Thank you. Janice L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canada pharmacy csmp [canadian pharcharmy online reviews fply]  2020-10-15 13:43
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy cialis cialis canada online pharmacy scam canadian pharmacies for cialis pharmacy online pharmacies without prescription cvs pharmacy canada pharmacy cialis canadian pharmacy - cialis india pharmacy canadian pharmacy canadian pharcharmy cialis in canadian pharmacies

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canadian pharmacy qlsr [canada rx pharmacy deoo]  2020-10-19 20:18
    [email protected]

    canada online pharmacy cialis from us pharmacy generic pharmacy canada online pharmacies canadian rx pharmacy canadian pharmacies without prescriptions ed canadian pharmacy the canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy cialis for everyday use brand online canada pharmacy cialis canada online pharmacy canadian pharmacy online generic pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    price of viagra tablets in india [viagra without seeing a doctor]  2020-12-4 10:13
    [email protected]

    osta 100mg discount online cialis discount Cooff fes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    erectile pills over the counter []  2020-10-25 17:54
    [email protected]

    erectile medicine fresh zealand silvasta fresh ed drugs erectile tissue in the nose [url= [url= dysfunction injections[/url] [url= [url= booster way book[/url] [url= function returns as copper decreases[/url] [url= [url= medication over counter[/url] [url= [url= dysfunction icd 10[/url] [url=

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    This book is a bit self serving with a few inaccuracies, but is still a tremendous book for baseball lovers. I was also at the Pedro android game seven versus the Yankees. No question Grady Liddle should have taken him out earlier. However, the key batter, Posada, hit a blooper that just fell in. Pure luck. The very next year, the fresh manager was in a related situation in the playoffs versus the yanks and left his pitcher in versus Matsui, who hit a rocket to right, right at the right fielder for the out. That manager was a hero. This doesn't create Kenny's points any less valid, but he should have pointed that out. Luck still matters a lot. All of us fans have to adjust to the fresh statistical reality in to really understand the android game and evaluate the players. One thing I wonder is whether the number of pitches per at bat has gone up over the past 30-40 years as walks become more recognized. His ability to track the grudging acceptance of Sabermath was interesting and very telling; there is no question that the android game will be managed differently in the future, and a fan owes it to him/herself to understand why and not shout at the television set. Parts were too long; the Williams/DiMaggio segment got too long and technical, so its only a 4 star in terms or readability and accuracy, but deserves a FIVE because of the true value added it creates for the reader. Tremendous value added here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    With the exception of several annoying typos (not the author’s fault but the editors), this book is the most accessible treatment of the so-called “stats or sabermetric revolution” in Major League baseball. The book really hooks you and is an actual (cliche alert), page turner. While I didn’t search much new, as I’m already in the SABR choir so to speak, the book IS heavily laden with stats, insights, evaluations, analyses and wisdom. The thing is, this book is really for those who are still on the “outside” or “traditionalist”. Kenny informs with skill, and some acerbic wit but never so powerful as to be a turn off, I think, to a inquiring reader. Anyway, I’m recommending Ahead of the Curve to several of my buds who aren’t for or versus sabermetrics but would just search it a fascinating read, given we all grew up learning and playing the android game the “old school” method when Batting Average, Pitcher Wins, Errors, RBI, Batting Titles and Gold Gloves and Triple Crowns, etc. meant something. Or so we thought. Kenny isn’t a founder father of sabermetric evaluation of our amazing national pastime, nor does he claim to be. He gives amazing tributes in this book to those founding fathers and some of that writing was the most enjoyable to me. At any rate, Kenny is clearly one of the most prominent and effective acolytes or standard bearers of the truly smartest ways to watch and evaluate baseball.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    I've been a fan of Bill James since the late 70's. He changed the method I look at baseball. Brian's book further enlightened me, not only in evaluating tactic and players, but he explained why baseball adopted tactics and how they have outlived their usefulness. I learned so much, I've sent copies to friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    A definite 5 star book which, for Baseball, is extremely hard to do these is where I'm coming from to support you decide whether to this book. I watch and read a lot of baseball plus I used to play What If Sports but now I play Imagine Sports/Diamond Mind. Everyone uses the web now, Baseball-Reference & Fangraphs, but as far as books go I always thought the best were Bill James Historical Abstract, The Book by Tango et al, and the 2 statistical books by Michael Schell. For passing the time I like the 2 Dead Ball Biographical books by SABR and The Amazing American Baseball Squad Book by nny's “Ahead of the Curve” belongs in this group and anyone who enjoys baseball, especially the chess part of the game, will have fun this book. It's the best baseball book in several years. I need to add that I'm a huge Brian Kenny fan. I was addicted to Clubhouse Confidential and broke a few windows when it ended but the current MLB Now is just as good.What's amazing about it?The info is copious, well presented, well 's hard to place down which says a lot for a baseball book because the sport has been covered in depth from A to e style is great, you almost feel like you're watching the show.Every chapter is amazing (except I skipped the “Kill the Win” chapter which Kenny has beat to death on TV, sorry BK).I really enjoyed the private insights like the Epilogue on page 50, the subway ride on page 85, the insight into Bill James on page 100 among others, nice. The “Blame Game” on page 5 is true good. The stats on Mickey Lolich created a believer out of me.If you're able to watch and have fun an entire 9 inning android game which not a lot of do anymore you'll really like this book. If you once loved baseball but have given up because of the method it's currently played this book might support cure your disease.I'll close with my “if I were King of Baseball for 1 day” suggestion:The outfield fences need to moved back a minimum of 30 feet. This fixes baseball....The ball is in play more and in better reduces the most boring play in baseball – the HR which stops the android game and has become increases the most exciting play in baseball – the Triple and reintroduces the inside the will increase the value of contact hitters and lessen strikeout prone demands a return of the fast, in shape, and super skilled outfielder; one with a amazing favors the speedy hitter and lessens the slow, over the hill, pot belly player of brings more tactic and speed into the lessens the current advantage that pitchers n you hear the owners screaming about loss of revenue?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    This is a really amazing book for people who love their baseball. He explains how the use of statistics and analytics is changing the game. A lot of perfect examples. A feast for the fan. And of course, all of these lessons (particularly resistance to change) can be expanded to apply to virtually any human endeavor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    If you follow Sabermetrics and know the lingo, you would like this book but search it to be too elementary. If are anti-Sabermetrics, there are one of two probable outcomes: your opinion won't change and thus not view the book positively; or you'll have a better appreciation of analytics, especially in baseball. One warning, if you have a relative or mate who covers baseball, ask that person her/his position on analytics. If the writer is opposed and believes numbers take the fun out of the game, don't this book. BK is quite tough on most baseball writers (and anyone who disagrees with him).For me, I liked the book and MLB NOW is my favorite sports' show. If you can, watch it a few times (MLB Network 4:00 pm eastern most week days).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    This is perhaps the definitive book on SABRmetrics of the 21st Century. Brilliant analysis by a true pro. I go back to the original Bill James Baseball Abstracts, beginning in the late 1970s when he was still self-publishing, and Brian Kenny's book is simply the BEST BOOK on the fresh baseball metrics that I have read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    Kenny comes off as pompous. Talks as if everyone else is dumb and he’s a genious. The book doesn’t really insight that most fans don’t already know. I was bored easily with the book. Gave it 2 stars instead of 1 since I’m a baseball fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    I have been watching Brian Kenny's shows(clubhouse confidential and MLB now) for several years. I won't miss a show(DVR-ing is a blessing). Okay, so he is a bit cocky and condescending. Sometimes he's even rude; namely referring to baseball writers as fools, stupid, or having a herd mentality. In fact the book's title may in fact have been intended to homage to himself for his own acuity in baseball analytical thinking. So be it. The end effect is a book that is eminently readable and understandable for all baseball fans. Kenny's style is acerbic and unrelenting, but in my view he is fascinating and innovative. True, much of the sabermetric thinking had been well documented by Bill James decades ago. But Kenny has offered a book that explains how long it has taken for the "herd mentality" in baseball to change. The "lag time" between recognition of phenomena and their adoption has been astounding.(Think the defensive shift-first used in 1946 but not really adopted until very recently).Kenny questions the ground rules and thinks differently. He isn't afraid to go versus the herd.He has been championing his causes for 16 years or more. His book is filled with chapters devoted to proving how and why custom and habit have failed the android game and teams: blame avoidance is partially to blame, but an unwillingness to allow go of emotion in favor of analytical thinking is the core reason. Well baseball has been changing as a effect of critical thinking and young GM talent who embrace it. The android game is a lot richer because of these changes. Kenny has some very thought provoking ideas that may be adopted in the future such as : bullpenning, a managerial staff, the end of starting pitchers per se, a de-emphasis of wins, batting average, killing the save by using your best relief pitcher for leverage, an emphasis on OBP and walks etc. For me, the book is fascinating and an extension of what I hear regularly on his show, but it is a unbelievable read and backed up with facts-not emotion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: Inside the Baseball Revolution []  2020-1-18 19:15

    With current post-season, it's awesome to see Brian's view on pitchers literally "play out!" The closer in baseball....why wait for the 9th inning? If he's your best, but him in for the highest-leverage situations!! Now just waiting for the sac bunt to become passé! And I've argued forever that W/L record for pitchers is about the most meaningless stat in baseball. Agree or disagree with Brian's views, they are all amazing for consideration or argument. A amazing book for baseball wonks! "Only" 4 stars because he does go on a bit too long on some of his ideas!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    common sence approach and the dashboard works very well on 's amazing to sit and ponder the future and use the tools taught.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    Amazing book, well written and simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    Ahead of the Curve: A Tutorial to Applied Strategic Thinking (Hardcover)Are you an active force in shaping your future or simply being on the receiving side of the inevitable "jolt" of change? Stowell and Mead suggest a practical approach to becoming a strategic force in an organization's future. The strategic leader lays the groundwork for future opportunities. Examples of strong questions set the context for establishing a cultural of reflective and analytical thinking. This starts by "stepping back" from everyday activity and discovering what strategic thinking means to each individual and member of any leadership, management or natural work team: how are you adding value to your organization in the long term.A practical model is presented to support us visualize our work environment from a strategic perspective. Of the four zones described (Operator, Planner, Inventor, Strategist) on a horizontal axis of time and a vertical axis of imagination, the Strategist operates in environment of strategic opportunity, thinking both broad and long term. The Strategist has an uncanny ability to anticipate, recognize and convert changes into opportunities. Tactic is about improving your position to create a difference in the organization. The secret is recognizing how to apply this method of thinking on a everyday basis to the most mundane of activities in to uncover fresh ideas, proving value and moving ahead of the curve.What can we do to create this applied approach work? We must search a method to mentally step back and have a conversation about the future with a mentor, squad member, supervisor or trusted advisor. Observe how the organization and its parts fit together, gain a perspective of perspicacity. Develop habits that will strengthen the strategic mind: Seek out knowledge and information; be curious; be self-motivated; be collaborative; be playful with ideas; go on a learning journey.A C.L.E.A.R. target provides a primary rule: Nothing about strategic thinking is all that complex. A amazing target that is well defined has a certain profile. Controllable, Linked, Energizing, Actionable, Result-Oriented. The importance of this goal model to me is the focus on the energizing and action focus of the entire book. The initiative must be exciting, fun and rewarding, but must at all costs lead to reasonable implementation or you gain nothing. If not result-oriented, then you have wasted finite resources and are simply marking time. Finally, the future is not as far away as you think - so obtain ahead of the curve and avoid the jolt of running into the wall of change you did not anticipate. This book is worth having at your desk and reviewing in a reflective intentional nnis Rogers, Director of Strategic Learning, Division of Strategic Development, Social and Rehabilitation Services, State of Kansas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    The uniqueness of the book is that the authors take you beyond the steps of developing a tactic (either private or organizational) to providing hints on how to become a strategic thinker. Organizations need strategic thinkers---lots of them. The complexity of today’s globe makes counting on only those at the top to think strategically very limiting and not e book describes seven skills of strategic thinking: 1) Creating time to reflect, 2) acquire the target, 3) acquire intelligence from a continuous stream of reconnaissance, 4) analyze the forces at play in your situation, 5) define scenarios and a plan of attack, 6) chart a course, and 7) mobilize and sustain.Examples are provided to create these skills come to life and easily applicable to situations you may currently be aying ahead of the curve is a excellent title for this book. Even if you have read other books on strategy, this one is special in that it takes you beyond the steps into the thinking behind them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    This book was simple read, but the info was old and out dated. They were long winded and could have stopped at ch. 4.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    Amazing book for those wanting to learn why it is necessary to think strategically. It is simple to read and full of amazing insights. Your life is likely to change once you use the concepts and skills that are described in this book. It doesn't come with a laundry list of steps for you to do but it does provide e time to create change work for you is now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    "Ahead of the Curve; A Tutorial to Applied Strategic Thinking" by Steven J. Stowell and Stephanie S. Mead is a book that provides perfect tools for squad members and leaders at all levels and in any size organization to become more effective strategic thinkers. The authors bring in examples of people who have utilized strategic thinking effectively, which helps increase my ability to apply what I'm reading, making it real. The book reminds (or educates) us that strategic thinkers aren't, or shouldn't be, found only in company boardrooms but throughout every organization, squad or group. The model shared in this book has been extremely helpful to me as I strive to create effective decisions in both the private and professional locations of my life. The "strategic dashboard" element in one section of the model is a highlight and can provide guidance in one of the more challenging but highly impactful locations of thinking strategically, that being the ability to work on the right things or effectively "acquiring the target" thereby increasing the ability to be successful. Having had the opportunity to experience a more in-depth look at the contents of this book through participation in the workshop conducted by the authors as well as having facilitated said workshop, I can enthusiastically state that I have become a much more effective strategic thinker. Leaders I've talked with about the model and the info found in this book have expressed how helpful this has been to them and to their efforts to stay ahead of the a lot of curves that come rushing at all of us in our lives. The future is rushing at us at what seems to be an ever increasing speed. With the support of the authors' applied strategic thinking model and guidance found in this book, we can stay in control and turn the steering wheel well before we're at risk of sliding off the street through the curves life brings our way. While we won't be able to tell the future, the model and guidance in this book can support us be more adept at making decisions that effect in bigger and better results. After all, including the word "applied" in the book's title and model isn't an accident; it's all about applying those things that can increase our effectiveness and our efficiency. I highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    Amazing read, this book is filled with amazing yet easy insights on how to think strategically. It is written in a very easy manner and with amazing examples on how to prepare yourself for whatever lies ahead. The strategic dashboard is a amazing tutorial as well as a reminder of what we should not overlook if we wish to remain competitive in the global economy. This is a needed textbook for a class I am taking and one that I will hold close by from now on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    What we have in this book (published in 2005) is a solid introduction to the fundamentals of strategic thinking but also, according to co-authors Steven Stowell and Stephanie Mead, "how to become a strategic force in [one's] own work, career, team, or life - how to truly ignite change for the better." In other words, how to create better decisions that have greater impact now, soon, or in weeks and months to come. Moreover, the material that Stowell and Mead provide can prepare their reader to support others to do support organize their information, insights, and counsel, they have devised what they characterize as a "Strategic Landscape" overview (see Page 11) that has four quadrants or zones in which one type of thinker is dominant:Zone I: The Operator who produces, reacts, and expeditesZone II: The Inventor who discovers, improves, and refinesZone III: The Planner who anticipates, prepares, and preemptsZone IV: The Strategist who innovates, designs, and risksStowell and Mead realize that various skills must be mastered to achieve success in each of the four, and, that the nature and extent of an respond to a question or a solution to a issue will vary but believe, nonetheless, that the strategic thinking can create that determination. The defining characteristics of the thought process are practical, personalized, future focused, aligned, and emerging. "In essence, applied strategic thinking will support you find for future solutions that are more productive and enjoyable."There are no head-snapping revelations in this book, nor do Steven Stowell and Stephanie Mead create any such claim. The process they introduced eight years ago remains as sound now as it was then. In any organization, a capability for firefighting is highly desirable but one of effectively applied strategic thinking is that it can support prevent "fires" or at least lessen their final point. Years ago, Michael Porter observed, "The essence of tactic is choosing what not to do." It is imperative, therefore, that the focus of applied strategic thinking be on the right question to answer, the right issue to solve, or the right opportunity to evaluate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: A Guide to Applied Strategic Thinking []  2019-12-18 20:36

    In the marketplace, there isn't much amazing books written from the private strategic thinking standpoint. I can only recall one really amazing one, & that is, Choosing the Future: The Power of Strategic Thinking by Stuart is particular one by the founders of Center for Management Organisation Effectiveness is one I have just recently come across. (The book is apparently based on their Applied Strategic Thinking workshop.) After perusing it, I search it to be an perfect guide/resource, which any interested reader can add to their Strategic Thinking st strategic thinking books focus at the corporate planning &/or boardroom level. Huge strategy. The grand plan. Nothing wrong with that. This particular one brings the concept & philosophy of strategic thinking down to the individually applied level, as well as the immediate team, at the front lines. The authors an interesting app model which combines 'strategic landscape' with 'strategic dashboard.' This one model is definitely worth exploring.Unlike most strategic thinking books, the authors don't waste time dwelling into the historical perspectives.I also like their contextual premise: Effective strategic thinkers focus not on what can't be done, but finding a method to do what must be done.I really appreciate the authors' strategic method of interpersing the chapters with appropriate graphic icons & provoking quotations as they share real-life experiences, illustrated examples & straigh-forward ctivities & practical tools. These create the reading a fast & simple breeze!In a nutshell, these are the chapters:- Introduction to Strategic Thinking;- Strategic Landscape;- Strategic Thinking: An Overview of the Fin Art of Practical;- Tame the Beast;- Acquire the Target;- Gather Intelligence;- Analyse Forces;- Define Scenarios;- Chart Course;- Mobilise & Sustain;- The Future;Surprisingly, the authors did not contain a bibliography or references at the end of the book. However, they did mention a few other pertinent books in the different chapters.If you like this book, please feel to discover the principal author's other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    This was a needed text for school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    Book came in fast and brand new

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    Item was as described and arrived quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    Ahead of the curve is massive on theory and light on practical would think a book about "Transforming teaching and learning through assessment." would have some examples of schools who have done just that.I wonder what a teacher's gradebook would look like under this "Transformed System"? Can't see from this book. No examples. What gradebook system would a transformed school use? I'm none the wiser.I wonder how the schools that have done this have transformed their results? No schools mentioned or used as an e chapter I found most frustrating was the one that suggested we should not use a 100 point scale, we should use a 4 or 5 point scale we create up ourselves. We'd then define all achievement on standards versus this scale that we created up rather than use %. This will transform assessment!!!Show me how.Disappointed as I love the format of "Raising the Bar and Closing the Gap" and "Learning by Doing" which were by the same publisher. These had the right blend of theory and practical examples from true schools that had actually "transformed" their results.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    This is a must read for teachers to understand the depth of info on assessments. This book covers how to use formative, authentic, summative assessments and more to increase the power of learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    Purchased for a class. Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    Satisfied with product. Looks as stated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    It's fine.IF you are using this book for a class, DO NOT obtain the kindle version!!!! Kindle does not present the true page number, therefore, when the teacher asks you to read a certain page range, you will be up a creek without a paddle. Also, it will be impossible to do references as you won't know the page number to refer to!!!!I had ordered the Kindle ver because I was latest min ordering my book and with Kindle, I had it instantly. Now, I have no idea which passages I am supposed to read!!!Someone found a complicated formula, but I'm not sure how accurate it is: # of Kindle pages divided by actual # of pages in the true book. That gives you "X". Then, write the page number your Kindle is telling you and divide that by "X". It should tell you which page you really are on in the true is is ridiculous!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahead of the Curve: The Power of Assessment to Transform Teaching and Learning (Leading Edge (Solution Tree)) []  2020-1-17 19:14

    Amazing quality and amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    A very interesting book in several regards. The concept of time curve was minor to the story but a twist to telling the story that was thought provoking . Combining the experience of 15 years of family cruises into one story line that could easily have been assumed to be one voyage was well done. This moved the story along rapidly and smoothly. For those with knowledge of, or an interest in, the Canadian gulf islands, desolation sound, and adjoining waters, this book provides a view into the historic experience of cruising this area, and the culture of First Nation peoples of this zone and the early European nautical explorers. A highly engaging book, leading to a fast read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    A woman and her little kids spending their summers exploring the coast of BC in a little boat. Wonder, beauty, mishaps and adventures all in a simply but elegantly told series of stories. Enchanting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    Absolutely lovely! I discovered this book on a trip to British Columbia and fell in love with the endearing stories. Blanche writes about her summers with her kids traveling up and down the coast of British Columbia in their little trawler. She writes of a time gone by when life was abit more easy even if complex. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    I read this book while cruising on a boat in the same waters Ms. Blanchet writes about. In a lot of ways and places, only the years have changed and the landscapes and history remain relatively untouched by today's rapid t only are the stories of her travels with her kids on her late husband's boat interesting, but her writing and her perspective for the times are as new and current as if written just recently.I have gifted this book a lot of times. It was gifted to me. This is a volume which sticks with you from the day you read it. When you bonus it, you need to go back and read all or part again, just to take you a woman filled with wanderlust and independence, Muriel Wylie Blanchet is one of my heros.I recommend this book highly to anyone who not only loves the outdoors, the waters of Vancouver and BC, but to any person who loves the spirit of adventure based on true life experience--not a created for TV event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    This is a fabulous book!! I have first read it years back, and recently took a freighter cruise in the same area. This was one brave and amazing mother for her kids who accompanied her on the adventures. I decided to a copy of this book so I could re-read it every now and then.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    I gave this book 5 stars because it is a book full of stories, illustrated with lovely descriptions about the travels of a special woman who chose to spend her summers exploring the shores of Vancouver island, the mainland and the a lot of islands in between. Her writing is vivid, insightful and riveting. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    This is an old book. But the info were boring. This would've been much more interesting if you were sailing amongst the Vancouver Island zone and all the inlets and rivers. Rather a depressing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    Perfect book read it 20 years ago and still love it today. Story of a strong, independent woman in time when woman were not typically independent. The descriptions of the scenery were amazingly vivid you feel like you are there (and that you wish to go there).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    An interesting read if you are familiar with the islands located within the inside passage of Vancouver Island and mainland B.C.. I've been to a lot of of the areas the author covers in her book. At time a bit on the "folksy" side but still an interesting read about one tough lady who take herself and four young kids on several on summer boating adventures in the waters off the B.C. Coast. .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Curve of Time []  2020-7-2 19:8

    This small book is a amazing story. An awesome Mother and Human being I want I led such a fearless and adventurous life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    Such a unbelievable book. Savoring one chapter at a time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    This was a book club read as a follow up to the M Wylie Blanchet book "The Curve of Time". It was poorly written and devoid of content that held any interest for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    After reading the Curve of Time several times, I always wondered about Capi and her family. This book starts out on the main land with her parents and ends describing her life and the children well after Capi's book ends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    A unique tag in time for the history of coastal British Columbia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    Fills in the gaps about what could have happened to her husband. It was also nice to read about what the children have accomplished. It got a bit tedious with all the genology and who was similar to who. Worth a read if you read the Curve of Time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    Amazing depth on the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    "The Curve of Time" written by M. Wylie Blanchet is one of my favorite books so I am very happy that Cathy Converse has written a terrific biography about "Capi" Blanchet--captain of the Caprice, adventurer, mother and special individual. "Following the Curve of Time" is well written and researched by an author who has also explored by boat the inside passage waterways of British Columbia. Having done some boating myself around the Gulf Islands and Desolation Sound I am very impressed that Capi and her kids overcame the challenges of having spent the whole summer cruising aboard a 25 foot motor boat with 1 adult, 5 kids and a dog. It is a testament to the beauty of the B.C. coastal waters and the spirit of Capi and her kids that they returned to go cruising every summner for 12 years. Capi's love and memory for those summers resulted in the classic "The Curve of Time". Cathy Converse's book is a unbelievable biography of Capi Blanchet and I think would be enjoyed by anyone who appreciates the beauty of the B.C. coastal waters. I enjoyed the pictures (some taken by Capi herself) and the First Nations information. There is also navigational info that boater's will have fun including the extreme tide and currents in some locations that require precise navigation. Capi had to contend with these as do boaters in the zone today. Thanks to "Following the Curve of Time" there is now a biogrphy about the author of "The Curve of Time". Now if only a film could be made. Katharine Hepburn would have created a unbelievable onscreen Capi. Gosh, how about Cate Blanchett in the starring role. Blanchett playing the role of Blanchet! That's a film I would like to see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    Wasn't as amazing as I thought it would be. Really have fun "The Curve of Time". I have read this book quite often over the years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    This biography of Muriel Wylie Blanchet typifies what F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote about life, ... that "the invented parts are best." The biographer did a amazing job of filling in the facts of Blanchet's life and of sharing visits to milestone areas from "The Curve of Time," comparing those areas and how they've changed over time, but Blanchet's obvious talent for invention and the reasons for it, which are the source of a reader's fascination, perhaps should have been explored more thoroughly. I was grateful that someone had taken on this biography and I fully expected that the facts of Blanchet's life would not match the myterious charm that leaps from the page of her classic book; how could this be, after all? She made art to sustain her family through of her writing to magazines, but also I suspect to express her life's experiences in a method that recreated herself and her memories as she wanted them to be understood. She had a flair for drama and mystery, which was probably both a blessing and a curse. I'll bet she felt misunderstood and convinced herself she did not care if she was.I was not surprised that she was regarded as eccentric and difficult or that her kids were not all reliably enamored of their childhood adventures as the reader who chooses this book becomes. Far from being disappointed, however, that all was not rosey in Ms. Blanchet's globe and that her life did not replicate the contained charm of her book, I was again reminded how much of a person's life, especially to their interior selves, is an invention to sustain a dream. A dream of connection somehow with where one truly belongs and the expression of that constant interior dialogue brings writers and artists and inventors to leave behind a bonus to us ank you, Ms. Converse, for all your hard work and for your love for the sea and little boats that you so obviously share with your subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet []  2020-7-3 19:18

    An enjoyable read a small bit long describing the various coastal villages

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Curve-Fitting: The Science and Art of Approximation []  2020-7-14 19:31

    Liked this book, on a topic that gets included in a lot of statistical books, This book a amazing look at curve fitting with out going to deep into the topic thus making it readable for students or general public alike, and you don't need a P.H.D. to understand it. Well layed out with nice diagrams. I give it a thumbs up :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Curve-Fitting: The Science and Art of Approximation []  2020-7-14 19:31

    Amazing info and effects to place together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Curve-Fitting: The Science and Art of Approximation []  2020-7-14 19:31

    Approximately 30 pages throughout have no content. It looks like it would be helpful if all the pages were there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:45

    The average Joe is not paying attention to this critical transformation of our world. It’s event right now! We are converting into a jobless society because of automation and robotics. The scale of this is overwhelming. It’s estimated that within the next thirty years, depending on the scalability of quantum computing, we’ll lose 40% of the current jobs that are out s, this fresh globe will make fresh jobs, but not to the extent that will help our current population allow alone our larger population. The jobs lost are white collar jobs, blue collar, and service jobs. I’m not sure we can help a 10% decrease in jobs allow alone 40%. This means that our kids will have to adjust quickly to this threat allow alone our is book outlines the challenges and locations that need to be addressed but doesn’t important outline a solution. It gets you thinking about what’s involved and what’s at risk. We need to change our whole educational process and focus. We need to act now and prepare for this life changing dilemma.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:45

    amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:46

    This is a must-have book for any one who would like to understand contemporary problems around him. It is an perfect thought provoking piece of literary work by Charles Handy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:45

    A very enjoyable series of essays. I've always enjoyed Charles Handy's outlook on life, society and work. The author adopts a common sense approach to outlining his views on the globe of work and it's impact on society not unlike the tip you'd obtain from a grandfather who's been around the block a few times (he has!) and this I mean this as a compliment. The author takes a top level view of the globe covering a wide dozens of areas. What I identified with was that there is hope for those in the workforce in their late 40's plus who might feel that job hunting is futile based on the widely (and wrongly) held attitude that workers in this age bracket have small to offer. A lot of Charles Handy's ideas are revolutionary and may search difficulty gaining acceptance in certain quarters of government and conservative boardrooms. However, this should not place people off reading his ideas and at least trying to place them into practice. He is one of those people who have tried to create a difference in improving the lot of others.Well worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:45

    A amazing book which makes you think about the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:45

    Have been a fan of Handy's thinking and writing for a lot of years. He is able to obtain to the profound center of things while remaining very true and practical. He has a special bonus to sense the human condition in our time and to obtain that condition articulated. Always worth reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:45

    I love the writing of Charles Handy! It is innovative and stimulating. I was particularly interested in the Second Curve or Sigmoid curve at it relates to healthcare in moving from fee for service to value. Absolute correlation and Demonstrates the challenge of jumping the curve!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:45

    This book is full of interesting observations and thoughts about aspects of the economy, modern corporate governance, the workplace, technology and politics. The author ideas and proposals about how these things could be improved and how they will probably need to adapt and change to better serve show and future needs of society. The author does not hesitate, where he deems it appropriate, to challenge conventional/traditional wisdom e.g. concerning the stakeholders of firms/corporations. The central premise of this book, which constitutes a series of short essays, is the argument that often around the peak in the cycle is the optimal time to move to the next thing, hence 'the second curve', since we are often inclined or forced to create changes towards the end (decline) scene in the cycle when it is probably too late. Overall, I found this book fascinating and stimulating to read, offering plenty of 'food for thought'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:45

    Charles Handy has been an oil executive, an economist, a professor at the London Business School, the Warden of St. George’s House, and chairman of the Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufacture and Commerce. He is a social philosopher who has provocative views on the globe of work, and every book he writes is a treasure trove of insights.I think we all agree that society is not working as it should, and that living is getting harder for most people. The gap between the rich and the not good is widening, and wealth is not trickling down as we were told it would. More concerning is that much of the advances we see, favour the few and not the e globe is changing rapidly and it is our private lives that are going to change the most. Consider that “anything that is based on information, be it books, melody or entertainment, will effectively be free, but a globe of goods few paying jobs,” Handy notes.Handy suggests that we need “Second-Curve” thinking in most parts of our lives.An “S” curve first drops somewhat, then rises, only to drop again. The “second curve” is a fresh “S” that starts a fresh wave of events, is a challenge for orthodoxy, a call to “dream a little, think unreasonably and dare the impossible”, so that the future can be better for all of is Second Curve is an opportunity to correct the failures of the first curve, and to learn from that experience so that we make a better future. As a philosopher, Handy identifies and clarifies the issues and suggest possibilities, rather than posits has always been a force for change. When Gutenberg discovered how to create and use movable type in a printing press he was able to produce 3,600 pages a day, instead of just a few that were copied by hand. The consequences of Gutenberg’s invention undermined the authority of the Catholic Church, began the Protestant Reformation, advanced science, made fresh social classes and e changes were neither intended nor foreseen. Neither are the changes caused by more latest technological e computer has relieved a lot of people of routine tasks and “taken the guts out of a lot of organisations,” Handy observes.Oxford University researchers estimate that 47% our jobs will be replaced by computers within the next two decades, and McKinsey Global Institute estimates that about 250 million jobs will disappear in the next decade.“What will replace those 250 million jobs?” Handy asks. Defunct Kodak used to employ 145,000 people, whereas Fb only employs 6,000, and their $1b of Ig comes with only 13 employees. WhatsApp, purchased by Fb for $19b adds only 55 response, we might have to become a DIY (do-it-yourself) economy. We will not have to leave home to go to university, and we can use our homes for income generation. Airbnb allows people to rent their spare rooms safely, resulting in a business valued in 2014 at $10b, bigger than Hyatt or the Intercontinental hotel groups. At that time, homeowners were earning an average of $7,530 a year renting their unused space.eBay creates hundreds of thousands of virtual traders, who can now and using this site. Similarly, people can now a seat in their car, a food in their home, or a parking zone outside their house. You can now a large array of other services in this fresh “sharing is DIY economy also comes in less obvious forms. Airlines encourage passengers to print their own boarding pass, using their own ink and e Airedale General Hospital serves 200,000 people, a lot of living in remote areas. This achieved by providing instant, all-hours, medical support via webcams and iPads, installed in the homes of those with heart or breathing problems. Patients self-monitor without leaving the ere will still be and other outlets in our shopping malls, Handy surmises, but mainly because web sellers realise that a physical outlet is a valuable add-on to their websites. People will still like to test on clothing or see appliances operate before will still be manufactured, oil wells drilled, crops grown and harvested, and medicines produced, Handy reminds us, but the IT component will create the difference. These activities will only require brains and fingers, not the muscle power of the e Second Curve will bring its own fresh learning processes. We will have to learn to live with the r example, “It has always struck me as odd to watch all those streams of people pouring out of railway stations in to sit in their box-like cubicles communicating with related folk in other boxes by email, telephone or messaging.” All this could have been accomplished as well from home, and by people who work as independents, rather than employees of a huge e 16 stand-alone essays that create up this book cover a wide range of necessary issues. For illustration, I share this r some the pursuit of more is a particularly risky snare, with no end to it. There will always be someone more prosperous than ourselves.“In our private lives,” Handy responds, “my wife and I set our own targets for the that we need to earn each year and the time that we need to allocate to it. We have found that the lower we set the targets the more we are… to use the time we have released. Since the targets are created by us, for us, there is no envy of those who earn more or achieve more.”The Second Curve has already started in so a lot of locations of our lives. Where it will lead us to, is both worrying and challenging. Doing nothing is not an ability Light --+-- SeriousInsights High +---- LowPractical High ----+ Low*Ian Mann of Gateways consults internationally on leadership and tactic and is the author of Tactic that Works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Second Curve []  2020-1-30 19:45

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    This is it, folks. This is a compilation of the wizard, the real star's best items and it will not disappoint. For folks not familiar with Todd, this set fully expecting to be blown away with the very best that pop melody ever had to offer. The mega hits are complimented by songs that will be brand fresh to a lot of casual listeners. My private favorites are Fade Away, Sometimes I Don't Know What to Feel, Useless Begging, Compassion, Dream Goes on forever, along with the always lovely "Can We Still Be Friends" (featured at the climax of Vanilla Sky) and "Wailing Wall" - both of these are absolute perfection. Do not waste time on single c/d compilations - even with two discs any compilation will miss a lot of favorites (e.g. Boat on the Charles, Dust in the Wind,etc) but this review is about what IS here and there is much to love with a total of 41 songs compiled by Todd himself (I think). Amazing liner notes, discology, poster, etc. I seldom obtain through a week, create that a day, without listening to some of Todd's melody - When I was young I'd listen to Beatles albums until I had created them my own, knowing every note by heart - this melody is just that good. After you this album you will just have to go back and Runt, S/A, AWAST, etc.,but that's o.k. - go ahead - become a Todd-head. No musician/composer so mastered both keyboards (check out the "Meaning of the Verb to Love")and guitar (check out "Love of the Common Man") as Todd has(and on some tracks, such as I Saw the Light" he does every instrument AND backgound vocals). This melody is too amazing to be...ignored.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    Todd Rundgren chose the tracks included here. What else do you need to know? Amazing songs from a fabulously durable artist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    This is a best of compilation and it really is that! Just a nice collection of Todd's greatest solo songs!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    If you think the above isn't true, all I can say is this cd and if you don't think this ranks with john, paul, and brian then I'll personally examine your ears with a very huge flashlight. THIS IS THE ONE TODD RUNDGREN CD TO BUY. It's worth the additional bucks for THIS best-of. Even contains a little copy of the "todd" poster with everyone's name on it (I found mine).The first cd is PERFECT, starting with "believe in me" and ending with "the latest ride". In between: the best pop never heard!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    Of all the Todd anthologies, this one with 41 tracks is most worth buying (used for under $10). If you really wish to the "best" of Todd, you have to Something/Anything, Wizard, a Real Star, & Todd. Those 3 (plus maybe Another Live & Faithful).What makes this 2 CD collection powerful is Todd picked from his best period, 1972 - 1978, with only 5 songs from later than is collection stresses his ballads and his pop-rock songs. I subtracted a star because what it lacks are his amazing guitar rock songs.I recommend getting this collection, then buying iTunes or mp3's of "Devil's Bite" from Runt, "Black Mariah" from Something/Anything, "Number One Lowest Common Denominator" from Todd, "Black & White" from Faithful, & "Love in Action" from Oops, Wrong Planet. They seriously rock & give you more of a complete picture of his scope..Though Todd selected a lot of his best tunes (30), he included at least 10 weak choices. But it is unbelievable to listen to his early glory when his songs were piano based. Before he overdosed on synths, drum machines, & other cheesy technology. The first 6 songs on CD 1 come from Runt & Ballad Of. These do not sound Beatles influenced, but more like Carole King from "Tapestry", which is a major compliment. They both wanted to write romantic ballads that were soulfull. And did. "Hope I'm Around" is a you can't go wrong buying Todd items from his golden period of 1972 - '78. I think he created 10 albums then, two of them double! Just avoid "Initiation" and "Ra", unless you like to eat PCP and listen to super-long, prog-rock concept albums with cheesy synthesizers and half-baked concepts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    Amazing CD!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    If you wanted to turn someone onto Todd Rundgren's melody -- lets say someone openminded who really values both subtlety and wide dozens of expression in their musical artists -- then this would be an perfect one-stop bonus to accomplish that goal. Rundgren's terrific songwriting skills are shown liberally here, as are his pure pop melody sensibilities. Unquestionably one of the amazing "undiscovered" musical giants of our time -- here's hoping this multi-talented gentleman receives one-tenth the appreciation he deserves while he's still around for providing (already) two lifetimes worth of wonderful music. A treat for any musician worth his salt! FINAL NOTE - This would be an perfect primer as a Rundgren introduction before going to see TR play live. Like one of his classic records, after you see TR play live, you simply won't be able to obtain enough. Period!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    Amazing selection of his greatest hits!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    A vastly various lineup than the Rhino Anthology Americans have lavished over for awhile, but Todd proves to be his own best archiver by throwing in catchy non-hits like "Izzat Love" and "Does Anybody Love You?" None of the necessary items or huge hits is omitted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go Ahead Ignore Me: The Best of Todd Rundgren []  2020-1-18 22:56

    This is an outstanding collection which contains a lot of of Todds best songs from his first solo album, through to the Tortured artist album. It's classic Todd at his best. It's really hard to place all of Todd's best on only 2 cd's as he has so a lot of amazing songs during this period. I love most of the songs on this collection, which is so much more than a greatest hits collection. Yes all the hits are included, but what really caught my attention were all the amazing album cuts such as: Believe in me, Wailing wall, Cold morining light, torch song, Does anybody love you, izzat love, etc. I guess like everyone else, I would've like to seen several other favorites of mine: You don't have to camp around, pulse, I'm so proudo/what's goin' on/ohh baby baby, breathless and especially Hideaway (one of my very favorite Todd songs).Still, a lot of of Todds best are packed into this double cd. If you like intelligent, creative and original music, this collection, you won't be dissappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    Thank goodness for two golden retrievers named Winston and Dorothy...and my sense of humor. (Not bragging, it just helped hold me from stopping the torture several times. Why? Because if you can't laugh at preposterous things, then this isn't the book for you. (And the spoilers begin.)I'm going to begin by saying what I seem to always say...I don't like to give less than 3 stars to ANY author. Whether first time or award winning. It just goes versus every one of my "At least they tried" fibers.But ~ This:The odds of the drivers of two vehicles which collide on a highway, at night, in the rain, knowing each other is beautiful slim. Right? So when the drivers end up not only knowing one another but being married to each other...ratchet up those odds because it happens within the first 3 chapters. It gets better...the drunk driver of the vehicle that crossed the highway was the husband...and a well-respected cardiologist. The driver of the vehicle which was struck on a rear quarter panel and sent spinning then flipping off into a ravine was the wife...and a well-respected general surgeon.He goes to the hospital first. She follows after having to be chop out of the vehicle with the jaws of this point she has NO idea who hit her. Not until someone brings her a box of private effects found near the car. When she has her mother (whose house she'd just left) call her husband, she hears his phone ringing in the box they brought her and she figures out who's in the bay next to member, her legs were trapped, she has cuts and contusions all over her head and face (partially caused from debris and partially caused by her 90 lb. golden retriever who, not seat belted in, became a flailing missile of paws, claws and solid muscle). She jumps to her feet and rushes to the other bay to see her husband with everything but a amazing possibility of survival. THEN...he codes and she, the surgeon, goes into doctor mode and begins compressions. -O_o- Really?It just gets better (or worse) as each chapter goes by. Not only does she have to come to terms with the fact that her husband dies before her eyes but he was dying anyway and hadn't told her. NO, I am NOT kidding. Terminal cancer and she hadn't known. And he was drunk when the accident occurred, and he was driving away from their house and into the city where her mom lives? Oh, there's more. Especially two very pivotal other secrets (I'm not giving up all of the dirt for you).Coincidentally, the vet who takes care of Winston the dog, is a widower and simple on the eyes. And he soon becomes her closest confidante. Wha????? She never met him before then. Texting the vet. Not texting the vet. "This has to stop." "No, I have to tell you."What if her son sees the riously???Password Protect, e's talking to the vet on the phone at one point...very clandestine...in a room in her mom's house, with the door shut, so her son and mom can't hear. And..."I crossed my legs at the ankle." What? What? That's necessary why???Someone else mentioned the book's in first person. I usually don't mind that. Usually.But I swear if she thought (to herself) that "she would shoulder this burden alone" one. more. pecially given she's confided in the vet and her MOM e's shouldering nothing alone. excruciating as 95% of the book was, I have to admit there was promise at the beginning...and the latest chapter wrapped it all up nicely. So...four chapters were good. The rest...not so ould you read it? I can't create that decision for I glad I read it? This will sound mean but yes, because I required the laughs I got.And I loved the dogs.If I could bonus it to you, I would.(Again, to the author, I'm so very sorry.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    Extremely well written book that describes a series of situations that could happen to any of us. I just pray if it had happened to me I would have handled it as well. As a dog lover I appreciate the use of Winston, the Golden Retriever, as a clever plot device to move the story along. I will remember this book for ...a while....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    Abbie is leaving her Mom's to go back to Halifax when she has a feeling of impending doom. As she is driving on the highway a vehicle crosses the center line and hits Annie's SUV which sends her into a ravine. Her dog Winston is with her and he is thrown from the vehicle. Using the Jaws of Life the fireman obtain her out of her vehicle. Going in the ambulance she finds out that the other driver is drunk while ie is ok except for a gash in her head so she is being kept at the hospital overnight. She goes to check on the other driver and finds it is her husband. They are both doctors at a huge hospital in crazy stage leads to another and the agony of losing your husband on top of all the secrets Annie finds out about her husband. This story makes you think a lot about grieving and you create yourself move on with your life. A very heartfelt tale from a amazing author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    Not good hero development, unrealistic dialogue, not believable portrayals of how medical and veterinary fields work. Never resolved the basic question about why her husband was driving drunk. Only reason I finished it was because I don't like not finishing books once I begin them. But ended up skimming through a lot once I realized the predictable ending

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    I have read the reviews on this book and understand why some people were disappointed. This book does not have vehicle chases, scenes, violence or anything else that shows up these days in books. What it does have is a woman coming to terms with several major losses in her life and how she struggles through them. She’s in a vehicle wreck. She’s a surgeon who can a longer practice her medicine. She loses her husband. There is a lot more to this story than I just wrote and this woman has to wade through all of this without having any method out. I think it is a very amazing study of how people manage when they are blindsided. There is a very light touch when it comes to romance because that is not what this book focuses on. It focuses on how you create decisions to go on with your life once you have had not one, not two, not three, but more life altering things happen in a short period of time. The woman does meet a man that she becomes interested in him and he shows interest in her and there there is hope that these two will search a future together. I consider this book women’s fiction. It is not a romance. That said it is a very amazing book. Also I used to my Google earth to look at the towns she discussed because I know nothing about Nova Scotia and search it is a attractive put and I can see why it becomes part of the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    I bought this book after reading a sample. The beginning describes a very interesting, mysterious premise...all downhill from thereon in. Writing immature, not imaginative at all. Story predictable, especially after a high school acquaintance unexpectedly shows up at a funeral. Why I felt compelled to [email protected]#$%! is beyond me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bell Curve Wars: Race, Intelligence, and the Future of America (New Republic Book) []  2020-6-24 18:39

    "The Bell Curve Wars" (BCW) is a collection of short essays that argue versus Murray and Herrnstein's controversial book "The Bell Curve" (TBC). I think that if you read TBC you should read some of the criticism, and BCW has contributions from mostly eminent people. BCW makes several amazing points, though if you read TBC carefully Murray and Herrnstein conceded a lot of of those points too. BCW also makes some unfair accusations. I particularly did NOT like the accusation that TBC was hateful and racist. This is not only inaccurate but dishonest since it amounts to using scare strategies to argue a point. There is also a somewhat absurd argument that intelligence is unmeasureable. Well, we measure it all the time. I've sat on committees to hire people in high-tech jobs, and we can normally arrive at a consensus of the relative IQs of the applicants, though this isn't always the decisive factor.While TBC was only partially about race, this is the hot button problem and the focal point of criticism. BCW makes the amazing point that we cannot tell for sure what causes the observed average IQ differences, so environment might cause most of it. It is also plausible that hundreds of years of slavery and subsequent discrimination has some residual effect. Therefore it is reasonable to seek cost-effective methods to correct this. This is ultimately a political judgement and the gamble is acceptably little if the programs are sufficiently cheap.With all the discussion in TBC and BCW, the main outcome has to be: What do we do about social issues ? What are the appropriate government policies and social lessons ? At least TBC presents some ideas, some of which are beautiful good, e.g. fathers should stay home with their kids until they are grown up. That is a cultural problem, and solving it will create a huge impact. The most disappointing aspect of BCW is that it proposes hardly any fresh ideas of its own. It is basically anti-TBC, hence nothing fresh and not very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bell Curve Wars: Race, Intelligence, and the Future of America (New Republic Book) []  2020-6-24 18:39

    The measurement of IQ itself is not as easily mathematical as what Murray and Herrnstein would have you to believe and it is with this starting assumption that the book is is book was not as mathematical as Meritocracy and Economic Inequality (published years later), but did have some high points:1. The article discussing the fact that the mean IQ for whites is merely an amalgamation of averages of various subgroups of whites.2. The article discussing some points about how the Bell Curve created because it had such a huge audience that WANTED to see it written.If this book is taken in the spirit in which it was meant (which was not necessarily a series of mathematical, rigorous articles as opposed to some discussions of the social aspects of the measurement of IQ), then an smart reader can understand that the research into IQ is not totally disinterested and without a social component as r those desiring an elegant mathematical analysis of the issue, read Meritocracy and Economic Inequality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Koufax Throws a Curve: The Los Angeles Dodgers at the End of an Era, 1964-1966 []  2020-11-9 18:45

    amazing reading on the dodger pitcher

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    I ordered this book because the premise sounded promising. Unfortunately, the book failed to deliver on that promise. It was boring and the conclusion predictable by the first meeting between Abbie and Nathan. But that was not the worst of it. The book featured one implausible and ridiculous scenario after another and I only finished it to see if it ever got any better. It never the first place, we are asked to believe the wildly improbable happening that started the whole story: a vehicle accident between our heroine and her husband in the middle of nowhere. But that might have been acceptable to jumpstart the narrative if the rest of the story had been plausible.But, rst, we are asked to believe that a devoted wife would be clueless about a long-term affair between her husband and a woman he met at a hardware store. SERIOUSLY?Then, we are asked to believe that a physician would not message that her husband had signs of terminal cancer. SERIOUSLY?Next, we are asked to believe that 6 months after her diagnosis, our heroine had become a world-renowned expert on narcolepsy. SERIOUSLY?And finally, we are asked to accept that Abbie only came to a degree of forgiveness when she found that her husband has also fathered a love child. SERIOUSLY?The number of five-star ratings for this book is the only thing sillier than the book itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    This book has it all but not in a amazing way. It’s really over the top. Drunk husband crashes into wife who miraculously survives the accident with not much more than a scratch. Wife uses her “spider sense” to uncover her died husband’s mistress who is pregnant with his baby. Dog injured in crash is taken to widowed vet who becomes wife’s love interest. It seemed that the most of the dialogue was useless and only added words to the book. The reflecting backward was supposed to explain why the wife subconsciously knew her marriage wasn’t as excellent as she pretended but it didn’t hit the mark. I admit I only read/skimmed the first half and then skipped to the latest chapter where I knew what I’d search - the vet and the wife.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bell Curve Wars: Race, Intelligence, and the Future of America (New Republic Book) []  2020-6-24 18:39

    This 1995 collection includes essays by persons such as Henry Louis Gates Jr., Nathan Glazer, Stephen Jay Gould, Thomas Sowell, etc. Editor Steven Fraser notes in his Introduction that The Bell Curve "is clearly the most incendiary piece of social science to appear in the latest decade or more... Its premises, its purported findings, its prescriptive tip for what ails American society are... shocking... Yet alongside this air of fatalistic resignation, [the authors] convey an equally astonishing sense of activism and missionary purpose... Not since the eugenics craze of the 1920s has this line of thought occupied a serious put on the national agenda."Stephen Jay Gould states in his essay, "Nothing in The Bell Curve angered me more than the author's failure to supply any justification for their central claim... that the number known as g, the celebrated `general factor' of intelligence... captures a true property in the head... The authors even admit that there are three major schools of psychometric interpretation and that only one supports their view of g and IQ." (Pg. 16)Another essayist notes, "Indeed, even a sizable portion of the data reported or alluded to in The Bell Curve runs directly counter to the story that the authors apparently want to tell. They note that IQ has gone up consistently around the globe during this century---15 points, as amazing as the difference between blacks and whites. Certainly this spurt cannot be explained by genes!" (Pg. 27)Thomas Sowell notes, "Perhaps the strongest evidence versus a genetic basis for intergroup differences in IQ is that the average level of mental try performance has changed very significantly for whole populations over time and, moreover, particular ethnic groups within the population have changed their relative positions during a period when there was very small intermarriage to change the genetic makeup of these groups." (Pg. 73-75) He adds, "A remarkable phenomenon ... goes unnoticed in The Bell Curve---the prevalence of females among blacks who score high on mental tests... Since black males and black females have the same genetic inheritance, this substantial disparity must have some other roots..." (Pg. 76-77)Andrew Hacker wrote, "What I found curious about their analysis is that they treat this extremely huge catchment [whites]... as a singular genetic group. Yet it would seem self-evident that so conspicuous a conglomerate will include vital variations. Much more might have been learned had they divided the white population into several sub-races... then surveyed the average intelligence of these cohorts..." (Pg. 104) Another essayist notes, "Whites in Tennessee and rural Georgia score significantly lower than whites in the Northeast, and, on average, live in far worse conditions than their northern counterparts. No one, however, has ever chosen to call the nation's attention to these differences..." (Pg. 201)This book is one of the best commentaries on The Bell Curve, along with The Bell Curve Debate,Measured Lies: The Bell Curve Examined, and Intelligence, Genes, and Success: Scientists Answer to The Bell Curve (Statistics for Social Science and Public Policy).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    Abbie McIntyre is a successful surgeon, happily married to a cardiologist, and mother to one son, an outstanding student in his final year of high school.On the method home from visiting her mother for the day, Abbie [email protected]#$%! by a drunk driver. Her injuries turn out to not be life threatening, but the driver of the other vehicle is not so lucky. When she learns the person in the other vehicle was her husband Alan, suddenly her excellent life has changed forever.Annie is very confused. Alan seldom drank, and certainly never to the point of inebriation. He was supposed to be doing his hospital rounds, miles away from the city where Abbie's mother lived and where the accident occurred. What was he doing there, and why was he behind the wheel drunk? Soon Abbie learns her unbelievable husband of twenty years had secrets, and the "perfect life" she thought she had was never perfect.I thought the book was going to be better than it turned out to be. The characters were cardboard cutouts, not believable at all. Alan's dad and brother were unbelievably crude and obnoxious. Abbie's son Zach, the "perfect son" was unbelievably perfect. And when a perfectly handsome and gallant man enters the picture, it's obvious where this story is going...I found this book rather boring and predictable. It had the feel of a romance novel, although it wasn't labeled as such. (Nothing again romance novels, just not my favorite cup of tea.) And then I discovered that Julianne MacLean is primarily known as a romance writer. Go early Julianne MacLean has an avid fan base, as indicated by the scads of five star ratings. I'm certainly not disparaging their opinions. (Different strokes for various folks.) I found the story mildly entertaining. A solid three stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Curve in the Road []  2021-1-7 20:9

    A Curve in the Street By Julianne MacLeanWoW! Who hasn’t had a feeling of dread or promotionbefore? As this book begins, it shows the feelings of awoman who felt like something was off kilter. This feelingher briefly pondering how things were going at home.Jump to the next stage where her life goes into atailspin quite literally. The next days shows what a stronglady she was actually. The months of trauma and painAffects not only herself but also her sonLife as they once knew it will never be the same. ReadA Curve in the Street by Julianne MacLean to see theunraveling of a life and the piecing together of a future.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386