Read an evening with lynn fontanne reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all an evening with lynn fontanne reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    From that unbelievable brief salutation, this concert album was one of the best live performances ever released. Indeed, this album is a precious bonus that John Denver left for all of us to remember him by, giving us all such a sweet glimpse into not only his spectacular musical prowess but also his warm and charismatic charm. Anyone who was lucky enough to have either seen him live in concert or to watch perform on TV are aware of how unique he was, and what a unbelievable show he has left us to remember him by. This is a unbelievable compilation of John Denver's greatest hits performed live even as he was continuing to create them. There is a collection of amazing hits albums, but this terrific representation features a lot of of the creature hits that propelled him into awesome popularity and superstardom in the early 1970s. In his heyday no one was outselling his albums or out-booking John for concert appearances, and considering the wonderful talents on the stage at the time, that is a beautiful amazing indication of just how famous he was, and just how universal John Denver's appeal was. No one else sang of the wide-open possibilities and seemingly limitless prospects for a amazing life awaiting those who would free themselves from the bonds that confined them and just dare to soar along with him in the wild begin l the tracks here are absolutely terrific, from the stirring opening number, "Farewell Andromeda" to a later "Take Me Home, Country Roads", the breakthrough country-pop hit that launched him onto the public stage, from a nice ver of "Rocky Mountain High", his paean to appreciating the beauties of nature and the natural life to a stirring rendition of his "Rocky Mountain Suite". He, more than any of his contemporaries, actively caught the public's imagination regarding the wonders of the natural environment, and in a time when environmental concerns were splashed all over the headlines and the evening news, John's vision of famous concern for and stewardship of the natural globe was immensely important. I love all the songs here, including "Annie's Song", "Rhymes And Reasons ", "Thank God I'm A Country Boy", " The Eagle And The Hawk", and my own unique favorites, "Poems, Prayers, And Promises" and "Matthew". This album represents a unbelievable overview of the early work of John as he thrilled a whole generation with his own perspective of a meaningful life lived in the natural splendor of nature. Far Out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    When I first heard "An Evening With John Denver" I was a fresh fan and immediately fell in love with this Album. Therefore my first time hearing songs such as "Rhymes and Reasons," "Today," and "Boy From the Country" were from this recording. Just listen to the heart-felt conviction with which he sings "Boy From the Country." When he soflty pauses at the end and then gently punctuates the piece with a touching high note, I think you'll understand a small more of what John Denver was all is album captures the essence of what created John Denver a star. It was 1975 when it came out and John was at the pinacle of his career. He was singing amazing and his personality (another reason he was so well loved) came shining through. John Denver was a person you had to see live. His studio albums are very well done, yet there was something magical and personable when John sang live. He wasn't just a amazing singer and guitarist, and a magnificant song writer, he was a polished and unbelievable performer. This album "An Eveing With John Denver" captures those qualities and demonstrates what a superior performer he really was."Thank God I'm A Country Boy" came out of this recording and went to Number One. Songs like "Matthew" and "Farewell Andromeda" are superior to their studio versions. And as John Denver closes with "This Old Guitar," you can hear the love and compassion he expressed, along with the utter joy he had while e gift songs on this album are a true treat. It is amazing to have a unbelievable live recording of "I'd Rather Be A Cowboy" and the "Follow Me/Leaving on a Jet Plane" medly. Makes me wonder if there are any other earlier live concerts in the vault just waiting to be released?In my review of the album "Rocky Mountain High" I stated that I viewed that album as John's artistic masterpiece. But this album is pure pleasure and my all-time favorite to listen to. If you love John Denver then this will be a important addition to your collection. But if you're looking for just one album to listen to then this one is your choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    The reason I am so attached to this album is that I was working up in the mountains during the summer when "Rocky Mountain High" first came out. I miss the mountains (I live in Iowa)and I listen to the album to bring back the amazing times of my youth. I think my wife keeps "losing" this album and after a couple of years I buy it again. I lost it again during our latest move. The latest few months, my wife knew had a hankering to hear "Rocky Mountain High" so she bought me a various album with the song on it. The album was okay, but I ended up buying this album is album is amazing because it is live. Denver interacts well with his audience. Denver is in amazing voice and he seems to be enjoying the time. The audience definitely responds to him. The arrangements of songs with the orchestra is fantastic. The selection of songs is good. I particularly like "Matthew" and "This Old Guitar." The album has a lot songs about life in the mountains, which I enjoy. I've heard other Denver albums, but I think this album has the best Denver has to offer.

    0  


    Add your opinion on an evening with lynn fontanne or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    I have not received this CD in the mail yet; however, I have this album on vinyl, and know what a treat it is. The melody on this CD is so soft and beautiful, and rich in tones; both from Mr. Belafonte, and Ms. Makeba. Some of the lyrics are very moving, as well, about life in Johannasburg(sp?). It's one of those CDs one could play over and over again, and not tire of listening. It warms up a room, if you know what I mean... it's just wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    If you appreciate the unmatched talent of Nana and Belafonte at all, you will love this album. They create the beautiful, emotional Greek melody even more so!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    Just what. I expected..beautiful and nostalgic..a true jewel and a rare finding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    Harry Belafonte is one of the most successful African-American pop stars in history. The "King of Calypso" popularized the Caribbean musical style with an international audience in the 1950s. His breakthrough album Calypso (1956) is the first to sell over 1 million copies within a year by a single artist in the US and England. It spent 31 weeks at number 1, 58 weeks in the top ten, and 99 weeks on the U.S. charts. The album introduced American audiences to Calypso melody (which had originated in Trinidad & Tobago in the early 20th century).Belafonte was the first African American to victory an Emmy, for Tonight with Belafonte (1959). During the 1960s he introduced several artists to American audiences, most notably South African singer Miriam Makeba and the first-ever record appearance by a young harmonica player named Bob e Grammy Award-winning An Evening with Belafonte and Makeba 1965 album by Harry Belafonte and Miriam Makeba delt with the political plight of Black South Africans under Apartheid. It was the second outcome of the long lasting collaboration between Belafonte and Makeba, the first being the appearance of Makeba in the song "Just One More Dance" on Belafonte's 1960 album, Belafonte Returns to Carnegie spite the title, the album is not a collection of live duet performances by Harry Belafonte and Makeba. It is a studio album of 12 tracks, five by Belafonte, five by Makeba, and two duets. The songs are all South African traditional tunes sung in tribal languages such as Xhosa and the mid-1960s, Belafonte was very active in supporting emerging African artists as well as making African melody known worldwide, and this album is an example of this activity. It contains classical African songs such as Malaika (with the English title My Angel) as well as songs in African languages such as Zulu, Sotho and Swahili.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    Absolutely loved this. I have loved he since I was 8 or 10, you’ll have to guess how long ago that was!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    I had this record album years ago and just loved it, but gave it away since I no longer use a record player. It's one of the few albums I've repurchased on CD. The African songs and voices are simply beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    I should have checked. Didn't realize the songs were not in English. They are a talented pair nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    to listen to of course. The singing is wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    I got this record--an original 1970s print--for less than $15. (It was used, but still!) It plays beautifully, and has beautiful much all of the songs that John Denver is best known for. The sound quality is great. The fact that it is a recording of a live present is also really cool. This record was created when my father was 11, and John Denver has always been his favorite singer, so I got it for him as a Christmas show latest year. He's listened to it several times a month since then, and it's stood up very well to repeated playings. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who is a fan of John Denver or amazing music, or who just enjoys collecting original vinyls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    I bought this back in the old days (the 80s) I bought the huge cassette tape that always broke. When I found it on Prime and had the opportunity to listen to it again I had to by the CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    I love Harry's melody very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    I first heard Harry Belafonte when I was a child. I love his mellow baritone and he can sing just about any type of melody and it will be soothing. Love this with Makeba. She's not poor herself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    Harry Belafonte singing in flawless Greek? This pairing of voices doesn't seem that it would work but surprisingly it comes together in a beautifully complimentary way. Short, only 29 mins but you will play this one over and over

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    I am a loyal fan of Nana; she can sing anything, in any language! I also love Harry's voice. Amazing to hear the melody that launched her outstanding world-wide fame, what a unbelievable thing that Mr. Belafonte brought her to perform in the USA. Melody from so long ago still seems crisp and fresh. and still brings amazing happiness!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    If you're reading this you are probably a Denver fan as I am. I have most of his albums and have fun them all. JD was an awesome singer songwriter and his catalogue of songs speaks for itself. That he is so comfortable in front of an audience is a bonus. His band is tight and the recording is solid. He sings most of [email protected]#$%!s that he had written by the tine of this recording, Rocky Mt High, Country Streets etc. All very well done. Worth picking up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    I used to have the cassette of this album, and used it to learn a lot of songs I still play and perform on the guitar today. It has been years since I lost the tape, and latest heard this album. This took me right back to the latest couple years of high school, and unbelievable memories of singing and playing guitar with my friends. I smiled just like John Denver does on the cover!The only thing I didn't like was the addition of fresh material from another "live concert" recorded a year earlier. A couple of the songs detracted from the charming feeling the album had in its original form. I guess the producers wanted to create it into "two full" CD's, since the original (concert) album would not fit on just one is album was my first exposure to "Grandma's Feather Bed," which as a melody teacher, I taught my students for 16 years. I have loved once again singing along, and pulling out "this old guitar" to play along, as I had done during a time long passed, in which my life had much less stress and worry.I guess this is one time you really can go back home!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    Fabulous African melody album!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    I thought it would have been in English but it's in Greek!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    A excellent rendition of the original. Song selection and style are not part of this review. Art appreciation is highly personal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    This is the John Denver CD to buy. I bought this album as an 8-track in high school in 1975/76 time frame and my mates and I played and sang to this tape until we literally wore it out. My wife has tried to create me a mix tape of John Denver songs because I couldn't rember the name of the album, but the songs didn't sound the same as this live version. Finding this CD and getting it really transported me back to a simpler time in my life. The melody is of a very high quality. Most of his best songs are on here. As others have said, I like the versions of these songs to other studio versions. The richness of the orchastra accompanyment is full and his voice is in rare form. He may not have been what a lot of others my age were listening to in the day or is not very famous today, but as I got older and married and had kids and life experiences, I better understood the words and meaning and feeling to his lyrics. The first time I played this CD after I bought it was the first time I had heard some of these songs for over 30 years. I was moved to tears on some to where I couldn't sing along without a catch in my throat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    Amazing re-engineered tracks .. John Denver at his best before FAME, Drinking and Divorce created him bitter .. Joyous celebration set of his best hits before his Muppet/ Pop phase!A bit corny but for the closing of the 70's decade it is a amazing for those times

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    I first bought this album in 1965. This is an wonderful piece by two wonderful artist. Harry Belafonte had been around for years, but it was when he brought Miriam Makeba back from South Africa around 63 or 64, did we start appreicate the musical messages these people gave to the world. In this CD Harry and Miriam come together and form a musical duo that explores the joys, woes, and turmoil going on in South Africa back at that time. The very first song, back in 65, captivated my mind, which was kids seeing a moving train for the first time and emanating the sound. Attractive sound, or the one where the kids are warning their mother of the police coming and telling her to hide; don't allow them catch you. I didn't know what was going on in South Africa back then, but the melody had an impact and still does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    I got this album and read all the finer info then decided to purchase cd.Terrific! I am satisfied that I was able to obtain the cd at such a fair price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte\Makeba []  2020-2-2 21:15

    They fit vocally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    I purchased this CD for my niece, because I already had a copy. I had seen Nana and Belafonte in person back in the '60's when they appeared together in Washington, D.C. at the Carter Barron Amphitheater. It was a amazing show, and at the time, I thought Belafonte did a amazing job with Greek pronunciation (as he is so well-known for singing in various languages). Of course, I love Nana's voice, and am fascinated with her singing in about six various languages (on other CD's, which I also have).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Belafonte/Mouskouri []  2020-7-28 21:28

    Two attractive voices,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver []  2020-8-31 19:14

    This has always been, and remains, my favorite John Denver live album. He always sounded much better in a live concert than in the studio, because you could feel his excitement from his voice. He was always excited by having an audience to sing to. I think this is the best live album because he covers all the old songs that created him become popular, and he and his band performed them so much better than the stock songs you hear on the radio.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    Holy heck! ...so speak. The amazing Harry Belafonte, whose melody I have loved since hearing my (very) late father play an album or 2 of his earliest LP on his old wooden floor model one huge speaker record player.Harry's songs don't preach about misery and hatred, but about love and other humorous things. He is able to make heavenly sensitive elegant melody and a lovely sweet globe for us all to retreat to whenever e musical magic is awesome in this DVD and you can't possibly support getting up to dance around at least a small during this concert. Yes, it's that great! Go! Do! Buy! Enjoy! Hurry!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    Very good. I wished for a small more of his calypso type music. It wasn't quite what I remembered or expected but I still enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    This man has always been a favorite with me, not only his music, but what he stands for as a man. His life is exemplary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    I got this record--an original 1970s print--for less than $15. (It was used, but still!) It plays beautifully, and has beautiful much all of the songs that John Denver is best known for. The sound quality is great. The fact that it is a recording of a live present is also really cool. This record was created when my father was 11, and John Denver has always been his favorite singer, so I got it for him as a Christmas show latest year. He's listened to it several times a month since then, and it's stood up very well to repeated playings. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who is a fan of John Denver or amazing music, or who just enjoys collecting original vinyls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    I used to have the cassette of this album, and used it to learn a lot of songs I still play and perform on the guitar today. It has been years since I lost the tape, and latest heard this album. This took me right back to the latest couple years of high school, and unbelievable memories of singing and playing guitar with my friends. I smiled just like John Denver does on the cover!The only thing I didn't like was the addition of fresh material from another "live concert" recorded a year earlier. A couple of the songs detracted from the charming feeling the album had in its original form. I guess the producers wanted to create it into "two full" CD's, since the original (concert) album would not fit on just one is album was my first exposure to "Grandma's Feather Bed," which as a melody teacher, I taught my students for 16 years. I have loved once again singing along, and pulling out "this old guitar" to play along, as I had done during a time long passed, in which my life had much less stress and worry.I guess this is one time you really can go back home!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    I like this a lot. ey and Warren flat lay it down. Gregg sounds fine and with this being the ABB you already know the rhythm section is on fire. Rock On...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    I was into the Allman Brothers ages ago and didn't think they had a lot of fresh songs after the Brother and Sisters album. I recently read the Allman Brothers bio (Midnight Rider) and found out they did have some worthwhile tunes later on. Itunes had the 'Evening with the ABB' album but you couldn't purchase the ones I wanted (too long I guess). Those would be 'Nobody Knows' and 'Dreams'. So I bought the CD. Worth the price of admission!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    Harry Belafonte is one of the amazing performers of latest century. He is also a defender of human rights, and he supported Nelson Mandela's war versus Apartheid early on, when most people still looked away. What I admire most is the method he conveys his convictions and how he blends his public performances with a amazing deal of humor. An Evening with Harry Belafonte & Mates is the latest recorded concert I know of. Harry Belafonte remains for me a major figurehead in the remarkable and exclusive circle of meaningful entertainers. In France, Hugues Aufray holds for me the same values and position.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    From that unbelievable brief salutation, this concert album was one of the best live performances ever released. Indeed, this album is a precious bonus that John Denver left for all of us to remember him by, giving us all such a sweet glimpse into not only his spectacular musical prowess but also his warm and charismatic charm. Anyone who was lucky enough to have either seen him live in concert or to watch perform on TV are aware of how unique he was, and what a unbelievable show he has left us to remember him by. This is a unbelievable compilation of John Denver's greatest hits performed live even as he was continuing to create them. There is a collection of amazing hits albums, but this terrific representation features a lot of of the creature hits that propelled him into awesome popularity and superstardom in the early 1970s. In his heyday no one was outselling his albums or out-booking John for concert appearances, and considering the wonderful talents on the stage at the time, that is a beautiful amazing indication of just how famous he was, and just how universal John Denver's appeal was. No one else sang of the wide-open possibilities and seemingly limitless prospects for a amazing life awaiting those who would free themselves from the bonds that confined them and just dare to soar along with him in the wild begin l the tracks here are absolutely terrific, from the stirring opening number, "Farewell Andromeda" to a later "Take Me Home, Country Roads", the breakthrough country-pop hit that launched him onto the public stage, from a nice ver of "Rocky Mountain High", his paean to appreciating the beauties of nature and the natural life to a stirring rendition of his "Rocky Mountain Suite". He, more than any of his contemporaries, actively caught the public's imagination regarding the wonders of the natural environment, and in a time when environmental concerns were splashed all over the headlines and the evening news, John's vision of famous concern for and stewardship of the natural globe was immensely important. I love all the songs here, including "Annie's Song", "Rhymes And Reasons ", "Thank God I'm A Country Boy", " The Eagle And The Hawk", and my own unique favorites, "Poems, Prayers, And Promises" and "Matthew". This album represents a unbelievable overview of the early work of John as he thrilled a whole generation with his own perspective of a meaningful life lived in the natural splendor of nature. Far Out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    The reason I am so attached to this album is that I was working up in the mountains during the summer when "Rocky Mountain High" first came out. I miss the mountains (I live in Iowa)and I listen to the album to bring back the amazing times of my youth. I think my wife keeps "losing" this album and after a couple of years I buy it again. I lost it again during our latest move. The latest few months, my wife knew had a hankering to hear "Rocky Mountain High" so she bought me a various album with the song on it. The album was okay, but I ended up buying this album is album is amazing because it is live. Denver interacts well with his audience. Denver is in amazing voice and he seems to be enjoying the time. The audience definitely responds to him. The arrangements of songs with the orchestra is fantastic. The selection of songs is good. I particularly like "Matthew" and "This Old Guitar." The album has a lot songs about life in the mountains, which I enjoy. I've heard other Denver albums, but I think this album has the best Denver has to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    They were the first and they still are the best. ey Betts and Warren Hayes are tremendous together and the song "Nobody Knows" is an wonderful jam. The bass of Alan Woody and the percussion section cook. Gregg sounds as amazing as ever. You can hear the cigarettes and the Pabst Blue Ribbons in the mans voice. What a amazing blues singer. On "Melissa" you can see why and the acoustic guitar is a blues lovers treat. "Dreams" is one of my favorite Allmans tunes and this ver is top notch. If Duanne was listening, somewhere he was smiling. "Revival" is a amazing ending to the show.If your an Allman Brothers fan, you know that their live items is always better and they just don't produce note for note the studio stuff. If your like me and stopped listening to the band in the seventies, well after you hear this you will wonder why. If you like jam bands and are looking for something new, the price is right. I just got mine, what are you waiting for? 4 stars for the best blues jam band ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    Love rock & blues allman brothers do it better than anyone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    What’s not 2 love......

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    Amazing MUSIC CLASSIC

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    Amazing quality DVD. I bought this because of Richard Bona on bass. And it's really amazing footage, too, of the entire concert. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    I was lucky enough to see Belafonte live at least a dozen times and I think he was one of the greatest performers I've ever seen. He really knows how to place on a present and has a amazing voice. He also has such amazing people backing him up that the present is unbelievable top to bottom. This DVD is first rate and even though Harry is starting to present his age he nails it. If you count yourself a fan you need to have this in your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    This is the John Denver CD to buy. I bought this album as an 8-track in high school in 1975/76 time frame and my mates and I played and sang to this tape until we literally wore it out. My wife has tried to create me a mix tape of John Denver songs because I couldn't rember the name of the album, but the songs didn't sound the same as this live version. Finding this CD and getting it really transported me back to a simpler time in my life. The melody is of a very high quality. Most of his best songs are on here. As others have said, I like the versions of these songs to other studio versions. The richness of the orchastra accompanyment is full and his voice is in rare form. He may not have been what a lot of others my age were listening to in the day or is not very famous today, but as I got older and married and had kids and life experiences, I better understood the words and meaning and feeling to his lyrics. The first time I played this CD after I bought it was the first time I had heard some of these songs for over 30 years. I was moved to tears on some to where I couldn't sing along without a catch in my throat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    This has always been, and remains, my favorite John Denver live album. He always sounded much better in a live concert than in the studio, because you could feel his excitement from his voice. He was always excited by having an audience to sing to. I think this is the best live album because he covers all the old songs that created him become popular, and he and his band performed them so much better than the stock songs you hear on the radio.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    allman brothers best, I've played a lot of allman thru my 59 years of playing southern rock, this is some of their best, the best I've heard from ie betts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    I first saw the video at one of my favorite Carribean restaurants. It was playing for the patrons as we munched on our fish orders. I instantly fell in love with it and when I found out the particulars, I ordered it from It was very simple to order. It got here when they told me it would and I have really enjoyed it. The quality of the DVD is first rate. The programing of the present was outstanding and I have played it over and over again. I am very happy with for having the DVD in stock, getting it out to me quickly and without incident. Harry Belefonte is exceptional in the video and the selection of songs will have you humming them for weeks. My favorite is Matilda. You will not be disappointed if you order this video.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    If you're reading this you are probably a Denver fan as I am. I have most of his albums and have fun them all. JD was an awesome singer songwriter and his catalogue of songs speaks for itself. That he is so comfortable in front of an audience is a bonus. His band is tight and the recording is solid. He sings most of [email protected]#$%!s that he had written by the tine of this recording, Rocky Mt High, Country Streets etc. All very well done. Worth picking up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    I bought this back in the old days (the 80s) I bought the huge cassette tape that always broke. When I found it on Prime and had the opportunity to listen to it again I had to by the CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    This is one of my all time favorites along with 2nd Set. It was during this incarnation of the Brothers that i discovered them and of course went on to learn about Duane. So basically this changed my life and how i view guitar playing and musicianship. All real ABB fans already know. If for some reason you are fresh to the ABB this is a amazing starting point but be sure to use this as a springboard to the previous and subsequent incarnations of the all time greatest blues/jazz/rock band ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    I love Harry Belafonte, but when I decided to buy a DVD of him in concert, I was disappointed to explore I couldn't search one from a few decades ago. I wasn't sure I'd have fun him in concert as an older man and singing a lot of songs I didn't recognize.But I needn't have worried. I loved his present so much, I watched it two nights in a row. The songs are sung from the heart, with passion and with his amazing voice. He has awesome back up in both the musicians and the 4 singers on scene with him. There were enough of the familiar songs to satisfy seems like everything had expert attention; the choice of songs, the lights, the set, the arrangements, the costumes, etc. Fabulous!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Harry Belafonte & Friends []  2020-1-18 23:12

    Vintage Harry Belafonte, in other words, wonderful. It's a 1997 PBS unique that shows him at his peak. I recommend it highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    When I first heard "An Evening With John Denver" I was a fresh fan and immediately fell in love with this Album. Therefore my first time hearing songs such as "Rhymes and Reasons," "Today," and "Boy From the Country" were from this recording. Just listen to the heart-felt conviction with which he sings "Boy From the Country." When he soflty pauses at the end and then gently punctuates the piece with a touching high note, I think you'll understand a small more of what John Denver was all is album captures the essence of what created John Denver a star. It was 1975 when it came out and John was at the pinacle of his career. He was singing amazing and his personality (another reason he was so well loved) came shining through. John Denver was a person you had to see live. His studio albums are very well done, yet there was something magical and personable when John sang live. He wasn't just a amazing singer and guitarist, and a magnificant song writer, he was a polished and unbelievable performer. This album "An Eveing With John Denver" captures those qualities and demonstrates what a superior performer he really was."Thank God I'm A Country Boy" came out of this recording and went to Number One. Songs like "Matthew" and "Farewell Andromeda" are superior to their studio versions. And as John Denver closes with "This Old Guitar," you can hear the love and compassion he expressed, along with the utter joy he had while e gift songs on this album are a true treat. It is amazing to have a unbelievable live recording of "I'd Rather Be A Cowboy" and the "Follow Me/Leaving on a Jet Plane" medly. Makes me wonder if there are any other earlier live concerts in the vault just waiting to be released?In my review of the album "Rocky Mountain High" I stated that I viewed that album as John's artistic masterpiece. But this album is pure pleasure and my all-time favorite to listen to. If you love John Denver then this will be a important addition to your collection. But if you're looking for just one album to listen to then this one is your choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With John Denver (2CD) []  2020-12-24 21:27

    Amazing re-engineered tracks .. John Denver at his best before FAME, Drinking and Divorce created him bitter .. Joyous celebration set of his best hits before his Muppet/ Pop phase!A bit corny but for the closing of the 70's decade it is a amazing for those times

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    Really amazing and very reasonably priced. @#$%y Betts and the band at their peak in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With The Allman Brothers []  2021-3-16 19:52

    Amazing CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    Prompt delivery and CD is in perfect condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    If you wish to deal with me, from now on it must be done through land based or sea based and air is will be in result till the end of the year, 2018.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    They were both at the top of their form, and the intro to "After The Waltz Is Over" is worth the price of admission all by itself!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    A

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    A amazing disc - perfect service

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    Very enjoyable CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    Shearing at his best. Torme's "scat" is great. The "Velvet Fog" was never better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With George Shearing And Mel Torme' []  2020-10-16 18:47

    It's Mel! What's not to like?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Attractive songs and amazing stories. And fine music. What more is there?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Goes well with a cup of Bewley's or a tumbler of Baileys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Chieftains, what more ya need to know?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Amazing CD. I liked the artists like nanci griffith with the Chieftains in a live performance

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Really Enjoying this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Amazing CD by fine musicians.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Amazing for anyone who enjoys amazing traditional Irish music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    I love their melody & I also have fun a amazing dozens of music. On this cd, roger daltrey sings an Irish tune, and surprise he has a nice voice that you do not ever hear when singing in the group The Who, there it is just loud screaming.Anyway I was surprised when I first listened to this cd, Originally I had a cassette and required to purchase the cd so that I would be able to contain the Chieftains melody on my pc. Sometimes when not doing so well I will play the chieftains melody along with a couple of others and shortly I am feeling so much better, satisfied music, feel amazing music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    I purchased this album a lot of years ago. When I saw that one of my favorite CD's was selling for just 3.99, I bought 10 copies and gave them to my delighted friends. The musicianship is on a par with the finest classical and jazz musicians. I have just discovered that there is a DVD video of this performance that I just ordered. I can hardly wait to see the dancing alluded to on the CD. Whether you're Irish or not, begin a Guinness, listen to this charming performance and celebrate the a lot of contributions our Irish brethren have created from staying with Washington at Valley Forge, to building the transcontinental railroad, to ....If you listen closely, you will hear the roots of American famous music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Irish Evening []  2020-1-22 2:10

    I first listened to this when my kids were young and really enjoyed it. You cannot listen to the Chieftains melody and hold from tapping your foot. My first ver was cassette and I wore out the tape anyway, now I can have fun it all over agin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Jerry Herman, Lee Roy Reams and Karen Morrow []  2020-7-5 19:46

    RAINBOW & STARS;AN EVENING WITH JERRY HERMAN is a unbelievable musical recording which allows fans of the broadway musical to spend an hour or so with one of Broadway's greatest composers Jerry Herman and two of his close,very talented collegues Karen Morrow and Lee Roy Reams. This is basically a musical autobiography,therefore Mr. Herman does obtain a possibility to give brief background narration about some of the songs that are ing this,I feel, makes the listener feel like he or she is actually at The Rainbow Room. Broadway fans this recording is a must!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Jerry Herman, Lee Roy Reams and Karen Morrow []  2020-7-5 19:46

    As a museum piece this is worthwhile, but as a showcase for Karen Morrow's awesome talent it is iffy. The sound quality is mediocre; when I mixed a song in with other recordings it came out like a whisper -- And Morrow is NO whisperer. Her rendition of "If He Walked Into My Life" is transfixing, easily the most satisfying ver of the song ever recorded. I don't regret this purchase, but it isn't something I'd listen to in its entirety more than once every twenty years. If you can obtain it cheap, obtain it; but otherwise, just download Karen's one amazing number (and crank up the volume -- sheesh).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Jerry Herman, Lee Roy Reams and Karen Morrow []  2020-7-5 19:46

    If you like listening to Jerry Herman chatting inanely and have fun applause that lasts longer than the numbers this item is for you. Almost enough to place you off him!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Jerry Herman, Lee Roy Reams and Karen Morrow []  2020-7-5 19:46

    As a songwriter who's done theater myself perhaps I'm biased but I found that Herman's narration, solo piano accompaniment and occasional singing (mediocre chops but amazing verve) enriched the experience. Morrow and Reams split most of the singing evenly. Reams sings well and is quite funny. Morrow is consistently excellent. A fine and entertaining overview of Herman's career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Jerry Herman, Lee Roy Reams and Karen Morrow []  2020-7-5 19:46

    This is nice to have as Karen Morrow and Lee Roy Reams are not available on a lot of recordings. The CD is in very amazing shape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Jerry Herman, Lee Roy Reams and Karen Morrow []  2020-7-5 19:46

    Jerry Herman tells stories--it is so poorly recorded that you have to turn the volumn up to hear his bland tales. Then Karen Morrow (a top notch talented lady) and Lee Roy Reams (talented as well) scream out Herman's songs and you have to turn down the volumn!It's not well recorded, but also Herman has no singing chops and should stick to composing. His rendition of Mame is just about the worst ever recorded!I have always admired Miss Morrow, but she tries too hard on this live recording. Mr Reams was a standout in 42nd Road on Broadway, but here he over ybe if you were in the audience this is a keepsake. Rainbow & Stars was a amazing performance room and the acoustics were terrific. But not on this recording!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Evening With Jerry Herman, Lee Roy Reams and Karen Morrow []  2020-7-5 19:46

    Allow me begin by saying that I am a Karen Morrow fan and therefore may be a small biased. I think that Ms. Morrow has one of the most unbelievable "belt" voices this century. However, most of the women songs that she would be unbelievable singing (like "Dolly") are performed by Lee Roy Reems. (I am sorry but I think that he is a self-obsessed queen.) If you like Jerry Herman, Karen Morrow, or are a Reems fan (since he does sing most of the melody on this disc) buy it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    Amazing recording of classic Ragas. A amazing introduction to Sitar music. Only gets four stars because it was recorded in the 1960's and the recording technology was not as clear then as modern recordings. Still, a amazing recording for the time and amazing to listen to in the morning as one contemplates the day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    Best items I own of this artist. He has a lot of a lot of products, but I am just starting to listen to him and so this was a guess purchase, but I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    bought this just so i could leave and be transported to another place....a cheap trip to a far away land

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    I agree with one of the other reviewers who stated bluntly, "if you don't like sitar music, run the other way," but if you do; I can assure you that you are in for a treat. This album is a excellent showcase of the sitar virtuoso in prime form... I have always had a deep appreciation for musical pieces framed around a time of day, especially for deep and mindful listening. This morning I was not disappointed with the "morning raga," which begins with a slow and winding glow and reaches a crescendo that has left me ready to charge headlong into the day. I am going ahead with "evening raga" even though it is asynchronistic with the time of day and it is already shaping up to be a fitting mystical treat. I look forward to getting this place on a cd and enjoying many, a lot of more listens. If you like sitar, Ravi, or have an open, exploratory musical vista you will not be disappointed by this gem!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    Not one of his super recordings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    Another amazing raga album from Shankar. His melody is not for everyone, but if you like complex Indian melodies, this is a amazing album, and since it is so cheap you can't go wrong.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    Ravi Shankar was an awesome musician and these ragas demonstrate that. They are a amazing introduction to this form of the melody of India.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    My dad told me about this album, I really wish to obtain it on a timer so I can have it play when I'm supposed to wake up, and when it's bed time... but I haven't done that yet!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Morning Raga / An Evening Raga []  2020-12-11 19:37

    I love Ravi Shankar and this CD offers one of his best performances where his playing is filled with passion and gratitude for life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Evening With Hollywood Bowl Orchestra []  2020-1-23 2:56

    There is much amazing melody on this five CD set and the Hollywood Bowl Symphony Orchestra performs well. The set is a bit pricy but well worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Evening With Hollywood Bowl Orchestra []  2020-1-23 2:56

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Evening With Hollywood Bowl Orchestra []  2020-1-23 2:56

    I had owned an LP titled "I like Tchaikovsky" circa 1959, and were selections by the Hollywood Bowl Symphony Orchestra, Carmen Dragon and Felix Slatkin conducting, and another LP with Felix Slatkin, Dragon, etc., and the Hollywood Bowl Orch., "Strings by Starlight". I thought I'd never hear this unbelievable melody again, but lo and behold, after losing the original LP's some time ago, along comes EMI to produce most of those unbelievable recordings via a CD box set, with the added attractions of MORE! There's really too much melody to comment on individually, except to say that the "Capriccio Italien" finale by Tchaikovsky and with Carmen Dragon conducting, is THE MOST exciting finale in all of Classical recorded music, IMHO that is. But, there is much more in here. A tad pricey, agreed, but, well worth it for unbelievable music.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386