Read an introduction to metamorphic petrology reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all an introduction to metamorphic petrology reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-1-22 20:54

    I use this book for self-study of petrology in Hokkaido University. Suggest the book for everyone as a fundamental comprehensive overview of modern petrology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essentials of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-5-14 18:11

    Nice quality, received the book method ahead of when I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-1-22 20:54

    This book covers all aspects of igneous and metamorphic petrology from a more quantitative perspective. It emphasizes the key physical and chemical principles important not only for understanding igneous and metamorphic rocks, but also the mechanism and processes accompanying their formation, using primary mathematical tools. What makes it even better is that this book is surprisingly simple to follow as much as it is pleasant to read, considering that I am a geophysicist (with only some knowledge about general petrology) and not a dedicated geologist/petrologist. I would recommend this book not only as a textbook for undergraduate students in igneous and metamorphic petrology course, but also as a reference for earth scientists with different backgrounds.

    0  


    Add your opinion on an introduction to metamorphic petrology or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essentials of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-5-14 18:11

    i chose this rating because this book is very informative and useful. I would recommend this textbook to any undergraduate geology student.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essentials of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-5-14 18:11

    Disappointed at lack of color images or figures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-1-22 20:54

    This textbook provides an accessible introduction to the principles that govern the formation of igneous and metamorphic rocks. The derivations of equations and the explanations of their applicability are some of the best I've seen in a serious geology textbook. The questions at the end of each chapter are also well-designed. I've learned a lot from this book and plan on taking it with me to graduate school!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-1-22 20:54

    As described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-1-22 20:54

    This book was needed for our Petrology class. Apparently it's a grad-level book and this was an undergrad class. I rented it off chegg but ended up just buying it. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who's planning on going into Petrology/Geochem in grad school. It was a small challenging at times to read but overall very, very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-1-22 20:54

    This is a British publication so expect pics and discussions based on European situations. The content of the descriptions and discussions are very helpful. There is a www service on the back cover, that allows you to access more content mentioned in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-1-22 20:54

    I bought this book by mistake for a course that needed a various "Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology." I found that the book I had was much better, and had a lot of more insightful info and geographic specificities that the other did not have. Overall, I think I did better in the course because I had the better book, and you can really learn anything from this book without having to be enrolled in the class!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-1-22 20:54

    This text covers both physical and chemical aspects of igneous and metamorphic rocks in the clearest, best organized, and most succinct book on the topic. Examples are given, but not large volumes of extraneous or trivial detail. A serious book that bears close reading, but covers the subjects in a logical progression from the most primary ideas to sound conclusions. Perfect issues at the end of each chapter enlarge your understanding. Some more latest texts cover more ground but become unreadably long for students. I taught a one semester course from this book several times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essentials of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology []  2020-5-14 18:11

    I had to obtain this for mineralogy, and this book was assigned for no other reason than one of the authors is a private mate of my instructor. This book has a number of typos. It has practice activities but no answers in the back to quiz yourself with. The book is oversimplified at some points barely scratching the surface of the material making not good practice for any sort of test, while other parts will take nose dive into convoluted complicated material leaving you confused assuming the reader has already had higher up mineralogy classes. I had to look elsewhere for help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Materials 2nd Edition: Introduction to Mineralogy and Petrology []  2020-1-15 23:53

    I bought it for my preteen daughter, she loves studying rocks. She loves the book and all the detailed info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Materials 2nd Edition: Introduction to Mineralogy and Petrology []  2020-1-15 23:53

    This book exceeded my expectations in being eminently readable and clear. The authors create a relatively complex topic matter very understandable to a college-educated person. What is remarkable about this is that the authors did not dumb down the topic matter in any way. Subjects like zone groups, thermodynamics, hydrology, etc. are all covered in sufficient detail, so that the reader can actually understand the subject and is not just relegated to looking at charts and pictures. I highly recommend this text. The authors are masters of their domain! The price is amazing too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Materials 2nd Edition: Introduction to Mineralogy and Petrology []  2020-1-15 23:53

    Used for definitions and examples in a federal appellate legal dispute.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Materials 2nd Edition: Introduction to Mineralogy and Petrology []  2020-1-15 23:53

    Very amazing textbook for an intermediate mineralogy coarse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Materials 2nd Edition: Introduction to Mineralogy and Petrology []  2020-1-15 23:53

    A amazing book from Professors Klein and Philpotts. This book is a departure from the old-style mineralogy books in which mineral descriptions were not written in complete sentences. Nice. In creating a single book that contains rocks, minerals and other earth materials the detail of the content was condensed. It is a amazing book for courses that combine the content of mineralogy and petrology. Simple to read, you don't have to already be a geologist to understand it. I purchased the hard copy and the kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Materials 2nd Edition: Introduction to Mineralogy and Petrology []  2020-1-15 23:53

    Is very ry complete in minerals. That is less complete in petrology

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Materials 2nd Edition: Introduction to Mineralogy and Petrology []  2020-1-15 23:53

    Amazing textbook, softcover very susceptible to creasing hurt in backpack. Price very reasonable though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    el producto llegó a grandes rasgos en la condición señalada como aceptable (a mi parecer), ya que presentaba algunas de las caracteristicas señaladas como cubierta o contracubierta algo doblada, algunas torceduras menores de las paginas y pequeñas manchas que no alteraban la lectura. lo unico que me parecio algo negativo fue el hecho de que un pequeño pedazo de pagina fue arrancado lo que impedia leer un pequeño extracto de informacion. esto aparece ilustrado en una de las fotos. de todas maneras, terminé arreglando yo mismo este pequeño incoveniente pegando la information faltante. todo lo demas en el libro esta en un estado aceptable para la lectura. le daria 4 estrellas y media por esta pequeña omision, pero como no se puede y aun asi el libro esta muy bueno le doy las 5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    If you are interested in petrology, this is a amazing intro / intermediate level book. I bought this as a reference book, it was not a needed book for any of my classes. This has a better lay out and overview than the needed text ( Blatt et al) for my petrology class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    I have several advanced books on this subject, and I have to congratulate the author for thoroughly covering the subject, avoiding biases or digressions, and providing clear explanations. In general the few latest books on this topic ARE well written, but tend to have minor flaws of this nature, spending too much time on the intricacies of texture while shorting the chemistry (or vice versa), skipping a category of rock the author is not familiar with, and so on. It is clear the author worked hard to avoid this, as is evident by embedded editorial comments (for example a reference to a plethora of rock names to be skipped in order to summarize necessary points). The best books on igneous, metamorphic, or sedimentary petrology (or any text book for that matter) provide cogent explanations, BUT also contain summary tables or diagrams that the author spent a lot of time producing, summaries that span rock types, environments, or mineralogies. This book contains several such, and I search myself pulling it off the shelf when I need to look up something. This contrasts, for example, with the volumes of the Rock Forming Minerals which are meticulously detailed, thorough, and focused, but utterly 'narrow-beam' and lacking in summary, spanning, or associational content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    The picture shown is of the American copy, I was sent the international copy. The price I paid was expensive for an international copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    I was eager to purchase this text, given the substantial number of pages and lengthy table of contents. Unfortunately the text was not written to a suitable standard of prose. Not only are there a distracting number of obvious typos (for example, the word 'or' instead of the word 'of') but a lot of sentences are poorly phrased.A particularly confusing example is in section 1.7.2, discussing geothermal gradients. In one put the text tries to explain "...the shallow geothermal gradient is correspondingly high". After puzzling over this section for a day, I realized that by 'shallow' the author meant the depth in the earth's crust, not the steepness or shallowness of the actual temperature gradient. Further complicating the reader's understanding is that figure 1.9 draws a steep temperature gradient as having the shallower another example, take the following sentence from section 9.7.2 "Isotopic ratios of elements that contain radioactive isotopes reflect losses of the unstable isotopes due to decay." This sentence is not clearly written. Elements radioactive isotopes, they don't 'include' them. The sentence should be reworded: "The isotopic ratios of elements that radioactive isotopes losses of the unstable isotopes due to decay." If the author thinks his sentence is somehow grammatically correct in a technical sense, he should at least acknowledge his awkward phrasing and improve ere are at least some mistakes or misleading statements of a technical nature. Just one page away from the example above, section 9.7 begins "Most elements have more than one isotope. That's why the atomic weight of an element is not a whole number..." In fact, the reason the atomic weight of elements is not a whole number is due as much to the as to the averaging of isotopes. In fact carbon-12 is the isotope of any element whose atomic weight is a whole number. This throwaway line about atomic weights is another example of text lacking in t another type of clutter is the obsessive inline figure credits such as "(c) American Geophysical Union with permission" in practically every figure caption, sometimes multiple times. Usually textbook writers or publishers move these statements to the fine print at the end of the book. Typically it is only journal articles which use inline figure e text is riddled with sentences which grate on the ears and bog down the eyes while the train of thought is frequently derailed by the awkward phrasing and typographical errors. After having slogged through hundreds of pages of syntactical clunkers I search myself disappointed. This review is written in the hope that the book's author or publishers will improve it. Readers, buy this book if you must. I'm not sure if there are any better options.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    This is an perfect resource book, but is not up to par for learning fresh material as a student. It is worded heavily with jargon and fails to create or connect points on occasion. The material is amazing though and simple to reference so only one star is lost for ease of learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    I used this for a class and then it was the needed text for the Ig/Met lab I taught. Overall, the info is fantastic. The one problem that I think is necessary to note is that at least one of my students was missing an entire section in his copy. I would probably survey the text upon receipt to create sure you have the whole book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    My first class in petrology. This text covers some really primary items right at the begin and gets indepth later. So far it is readable and most of all understandable. It seems that a lot of fresh text today are written like the student already has a amazing deal of knowledge on the topic, and overwhelms the reader with unfamiliar vocabulary and theory. Of course a student is expected to know something when he gets to a course like this but review and reinforcement are a plus. This text, so far, does just that. One thing I would like to see in it are some color pictures. I would recommend that anyone taking a class like this for the first time also purchase a amazing Geological Dictionary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    As described. This book features the same content as the hardcover. This book costs less cash than the hardcover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (2-downloads) []  2021-1-4 18:37

    Very descriptive, an in depth look at the inner mechanisms of our planet. I enjoyed this text as I anxiously awaited the midterms that would inevitably destroy my future. Winter does a phenomenal job and the figures and models have amazing figure and model well.5/5 10/10 a very amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Policing []  2020-2-1 22:53

    Amazing condition, amazing price. Simple to return

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to ysis []  2020-1-21 21:38

    Not a lot of motivation, graphs or historical interest. Bam bam bam, theory practice theory practice. It got the job done, but it was sort of brutally efficient at it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    Simple to read and to the point. Non-biased info that presents different views/concerns with a logical approach. I want all school books were like this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    the best mechanic text book ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    Amazing textbook for an second time through mechanics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    Informative read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    Lots of info to gain and apply.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    This is a amazing synopsis of Buddhism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to ysis []  2020-1-21 21:38

    Amazing condition. Other than that, I have no opinion. I'm just a student and I don't feel like I could give a valuable opinion about the books contents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Policing []  2020-2-1 22:53

    it was the excellent book for my law enforcement class but they have charged me for the book twice, i sent it out a small late but within the dateline cause they extended it I could've a brand fresh one for what the rental cost in the end which was extremely unfortunate and disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Policing []  2020-2-1 22:53

    Awesome!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    kleppner killed my latest brain cell

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    Amazing condition but when I read towards the end pages were frágil and half method falling out the book. What I mean is the glue that connects the pages was unsticking. had to be careful so the whole page wouldn’t come out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    Review a book? Ok, it's a amazing book. I got an A in the class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    This book surprised me as it is not a survey of the ABCs of Buddhism which so a lot of intros test to provide yet often fall flat while doing so. Rather, this is a look at the very heart of Buddhism through some of the Dalai Lama's favorite teachings and texts. I think someone fresh to the topic will have so much more of a *feeling* about how Buddhism can transform the mind in such a positive and attractive e four noble truths here come alive, not a flat depressing list but as a framework where things like karma and "dependent arising" come into focus in a very clear way. The next section, on one of the amazing short texts on training to generate the "mind of enlightenment" and the insight that sees what reality really is, is one of my favorite teachings. And the final section is based on Atisha's work that illustrates the essential points and stages of attaining Buddhahood.I have read lots on these subjects before, but somehow the clarity of this presentation really hit s was also nice to have a book that I could obtain through in a weekend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Policing []  2020-2-1 22:53

    Amazing book to rent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    This is a physics textbook. It doesn't come with the gimmicks and not good online learning resources that plague a lot of a Pearson or Wiley text. And even better, it explains physics! Now that is not to say this book is perfect. The text often relies too heavily on math which ends up obfuscating the beauty of the mechanical universe. For that reason, I would suggest other Professors consider The Mechanical Universe: Mechanics and Heat for their advanced introductory mechanics course. It clearly explains physical intuition while giving students the mathematical tools they need to actually do physics. This textbook is a classic for a reason. The structure of the book lends to a powerful mathematical foundation for any future physics work, but it isn't the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    When I read the first pages of this book, I thought: "This book is going to be excellent", but now, I've changed my mind: I arrived at page 34, and I don't understand anything. I read it at least, three times, and I still don't understand it. So, two stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    Amazing as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    The book is falling apart. As I turn each page it pulls away at the seam of the book. The pages are literally breaking off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Biostatistics []  2020-8-16 18:41

    amazing book and the speed is quick

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Policing []  2020-2-1 22:53

    Its a amazing book, with everything you need for a policing course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    My teenage son wanted to discover Buddhism, a path I followed for a lot of years, and asked me to recommend some core Buddhist texts. Instead of going directly to classic Tibetan Buddhist spiritual works in translation, I decided on this Introduction by H.H. the Dalai Lama. It's not too long, which is amazing for someone who wants to check out this path without committing to a large tome, and it's definitely not dry. It covers the basics in a conversational style, but also contains a discussion (with excerpts) of some classic Buddhist texts that give my son a taste of what Buddhist literature is like. A amazing put to begin for an overview of Tibetan Buddhism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    Definitely not an simple or light read, but for those interested in the basics of buddhism, this is a must have. A short book, but one that you need to take your time with. Great, clear explanations and necessary concepts one needs to consider if serious about the Buddhist path.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    Excellent: Very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to ysis []  2020-1-21 21:38

    Book was in amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to ysis []  2020-1-21 21:38

    I should preface by saying that I'm an undergrad and so far have used this book in a first quarter of true ysis. So please take this review with a grain of salt. I will modernize it as we go along the book in class.Overall this is a amazing book with challenging problems. I think the author did a amazing job giving the most primary definitions and building the proofs on those definitions. Of course, more definitions are added as you go along. He also goes deeper into the material than other books. For instance, other books on true ysis state the Bolzano Weierstrass theorem for sequences. That is, every bounded sequence includes a convergent subsequence. Kirkwood, on the other hand, first proves that every bounded set has at least one limit point, and then proves that every bounded sequence has a convergent subsequence. I think that this kind of approach gives a beginner in the topic a broader and better understanding of it. Another example would be his definition of closed sets. He defines a closed set as a set whose complement is open. Other books I've seen define a closed set as a set that includes its limit points. The latter is proved in Kirkwood as a corollary. Again, it's the idea of starting with primary definitions or theorems of a certain concept, and then developing "sharper" or more focused theorems out of it. I like this rkwood also doesn't hide the theorems and ideas in the problems. For instance, I saw some books (two, so far) that introduce lim sup and lim inf in the issue sections. The only theorem that I saw hidden in the issue section was the Cauchy-Schwarz identity, but this one comes up so a lot of times in mathematics that you're bound to run into soon and prove it.Having said that, I don't think this is the book for self studying, although for that matter, I think that if true ysis is someone's first encounter with higher mathematics, then they should take a class in it. I'll elaborate on why this isn't a amazing book for self studying: First, the proofs can be a small too succinct. There are gaps for the reader to fill in, and those gaps aren't always acknowledged by the author (i.e. no "this should be filled in by the reader"). This means that anyone reading this book needs to go carefully through the theorems and reason out why this one thing works or why it concludes the proof. Besides this, the burden of explaining "why do we need to go through true ysis?" seems to be left to someone who's more versed in mathematics, i.e. a mathematician teaching the class. Of course, if you like math then you like true ysis for its beautify and the fun in solving problems. You also know that the theorems and definitions in the book are required to solve the issues at the end of every section. In addition to that, the examples in the book aren't provided to support in solving the homework problems. They're usually there to support solidify the understanding of a concept. Most examples are in the vein of "The sequence {a_n} = {1,2,3,...} diverges to infinity". This isn't going to support you prove any of the issues at the end of the section. Also, some of the issues can be too difficult for students to solve on their own. The proof of the uncountability of the reals is left as an exercise. You must either be Cantor or very talented and creative to figure out a proof for that on your own. However, you also shouldn't skip it, because it is very important. There must be someone who could either tell you how to do it or give you some tips on how to do it. Lastly, there are some errors in the book that would go undetected by a student and would only confuse him or her. Again, this is a put where the assistance of a professor is needed. However, this isn't to say that the book is riddled with errors. In the first three chapters I only found two errors (with the assistance of my professor) - one was in the statement of a theorem, and the other was in a tip at the back of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Orthodontics []  2020-7-5 19:37

    Amazing book but kind of superficial

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    I bought this book as an overview for my medical school interviews.And I think it does a amazing job of covering most subjects in bioethics than can come up. The book also does it in a very neutral way. So if you obtain a question about bioethics, you can cover both sides of the argument and look like you know what you're talking 's not a particularly exciting read, but amazing for general knowledge as well. They also have additional questions at the end of each chapter so you can practice talking about the topics.I would recommend this to just about anyone who is interested in healthcare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    Would not recommend. Binded very poorly. Pages ripped down the middle of the spine making it very difficult to read the book properly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    I love it. I am able to highlight using various colors, to take notes, to use the find button and search quickly where a term or a sentence is being use in the entire book. If copy and paste a sentence it will provide the reference source which is great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    the condition was good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    Perfect explanations and problems

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    Really amazing textbook! Amazing practice issues and examples in every single chapter, very wide verity of problems

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    excelent a useful approach to mechanics

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to ysis []  2020-1-21 21:38

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to ysis []  2020-1-21 21:38

    I have taught this course for a lot of years from different texts. I picked this text this year because it seemed concise and I liked the problems, which seemed important. However, the homework in Chapter 2 (on sequences, the first non-review chapter) is causing serious difficulties I did not anticipate. In math, theorems are proved using prior results. The results are stated in a certain order so that the important prior results are available when the theorem is stated and proved. This text sometimes violates that traditional organization and often confuses the students about the order of the results. In a lot of texts you can use the theorems in the current section to prove that section's homework. But, in this one, there are issues which request proofs of of results without being clear that those results are steps toward the proof of, say, Theorem X, and you are not supposed to cite Theorem X or higher-numbered effect to prove those steps. The order of results is unclear--not just once, but often. Usually there is nothing in the homework issue that indicates where it belongs in the order and which theorem it is proving. Why not cross-index them? Theorem 2-9 needs theorems from two sections later in order to be proved, and it is only in the homework. When the steps are requested in the homework two sections later, it is very hard to be sure which results were "prior." The students are confused, and it makes marking homework much harder because I have to pause to explain that the effect in the text the student used was not actually prior to the effect we are proving. Some major results, such as "Cauchy sequences converge," are stated but not proved in the text. The proof is left to the homework with some key stages described only in the homework. But this necessary proof is clever enough that I think students should see it done well by the author. Leaving it to students means some will never figure out how it works (some won't even be assigned those problems). The necessary homework issues that caused me to pick the text are too numerous; the exposition is missing too much. I know from experience that the students cannot fill in those gaps by themselves, so I am needing to cover too much in class. A text at this level will always have a lot of results the instructor needs to clarify. That is a given. However, some necessary results could have been stated in the exposition with a comment that the proof is issue X, rather than entirely omitting reference to the fact that the statement in issue X is an necessary thought in the flow of the results. Maybe later chapters are better organized, but I will look for a various text next year in spite of its desirable conciseness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Policing []  2020-2-1 22:53

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Orthodontics []  2020-7-5 19:37

    It's amazing quality book ,and I realy liked 😍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Orthodontics []  2020-7-5 19:37

    A amazing textbook. Thank you very much. There was a issue with shipping but the seller solved it quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Mechanics []  2020-7-26 19:28

    Amazing condition, so much better than reading the pdf

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    Is brand new

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Bioethics []  2020-7-29 19:46

    Have this book for sale if you need it...... Cheap too

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    I can't recommend this enough. I've been studying and practicing for decades, and His Holiness cuts through obscurations with the finest knife. This is not an simple read. Each sentence is very dense and powerful, and each requires reading, rereading, and meditation. The amazing clarity that results from reading His Holiness' teachings, however, is beyond value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Buddhism []  2020-3-29 19:39

    Another amazing book for those interested in Buddhism. If you are a current practitioner, this is a amazing book to have on hand for reference but really amazing for anyone interested in Buddhism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Barrel Racing []  2020-1-11 18:54

    Amazing information. Simple to read. I would recommend this book to anyone, even experienced riders can obtain some amazing info from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Genetic Engineering []  2020-1-29 1:49

    Perfect product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Hamiltonian Optics []  2020-1-29 2:35

    This is another amazing book in the Dover series of Classics. All of the books in this series are well worth the cost and have been for at least 30 years. Guess that is why they are classics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Abstract Mathematics []  2020-1-30 19:30

    Amazing book, amazing price and quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Abstract Mathematics []  2020-1-30 19:30

    While this book does a decent job of covering all the material a student would need to create a smooth transition into abstract mathematics, I whole-heartedly agree with the reviewer below me when he described Bond and Keanne's coverage as being imperfect. However, when I say the coverage is imperfect I am referring to the methods in which the authors show the material rather than skipping over is critical to distinguish between what's covered and how the material is presented. So far as coverage is concerned, the authors obtain a 5 out of 5 in my book. Subjects covered include: Mathematical Reasoning, Sets, Functions, Binary Operations and Relations, The Integers, Infinite Sets, True and Complex Numbers, and latest but not least, Polynomials. This in my opinion is enough to prepare any student for higher level mathematics such as abstract alegbra, topology, number theory, and basically any other math course that emphasizes theory.When I first opened this book I knew I was going to have problems. All the examples in the book are jumbled together with propositions, corollaries, and theorems, which create them hard to stand out. Usually, books use various colors to point out examples from from the rest of the section, but for some reason this book does not do that. I really got the feeling that I was reading a story everytime I sat down to read through a section rather than reading a math condly, the examples themselves aren't even that great. While there is an abundance of examples in every section, most examples just state theorems or properties of functions. For example, on page 140 in chapter 4 on Binary Operations and Relations, Example 7 states "Let S be the set of all finite subsets of Z. Define R on S by ARB if |A| = |B|." That's it; no explination of what ARB means, no ere are two other gripes I have with the exmaples in this book. The largest of which is the fact that all throughout the book in every section of every chapter, the authors will just decide not to finish the examples and "leave it as an exercise" as if they were trying to create us suffer even more. In other words, they'll state a fact about something, and then decide that we should prove the claim they created on our so, the authors will oftentimes create references to former examples and propositions to contain in their examples which create it both confusing and irritating to have to look back at former examples just to be able to understand what they're talking about. Here's one final example to illustrate what I mean (no pun intended)Example 13 of chapter 4 on Binary Operations and Relations states as follows: "Let A be a set. The binary operation on P(A) defined in example 6 is both associative and commutative. This fact follows from parts 2 and 4 of Proposition 2.2.2 (a proposition stated in chapter 2)". What amazing does it do the student to know that if you don't have a photographic memory and are able to recall vividly what example/proposition they're referring to?All in all, this book had amazing intentions but a fresh edition is DESPERATELY needed. I would NOT recommend this book to a beginner of abstract mathematics unless this book is needed for class - and even then I'd be praying for you. If you wish a amazing introductory book, I would highly recommend "An Introduction to Mathematical Thinking" by Gilbert and Vanstone. That book does a really amazing job of presenting the method to approach theory and proofs and gives really good, thorough examples. In conclusion, the bottom line would be to stay far away from this book and obtain a various one. Satisfied hunting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Legal Reasoning []  2020-1-24 21:21

    Perfect primer for understanding common-law judging. Unfortunately also an apologetic tract for tyrannical kritarchy. Worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Composite Materials []  2020-1-19 19:6

    I just purchased this book and will modernize this review once the semester is over. I will be using this book with Mathematica for a graduate is was a amazing book for my composites class. I read 90 percent of this book for my class and it helped to understand the subjects of composite materials. This book was not very useful for the mathematics of composites and I had to reference several other books to obtain better understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Data Science []  2020-1-22 20:23

    I've read four Data Science books this year, and this is my favorite so far. I particularly have fun that each chapter starts with a brief philosophical lesson, story and then ties them together thematically with the lesson (Saltz may have invented the Harold of technical writing).R is a bit of a mixed bag. If you're not a programmer, you'll probably love it. If you are, well my internal dialog went something like, "@*#(&*[email protected]!!!! Another 'language' to learn!" Luckily, R is more of an overgrown statistical pack than an actual is book is short, precise and to the point, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Community Development []  2020-1-17 23:27

    This was a textbook needed for an elective in my MPA program. By far my favorite book I've ever had to read for a course. Worth buying and owning!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Music Technology []  2020-1-16 6:3

    I was thrown into teaching a melody technology class at my school and this book has been so useful. I use it all the time to review certain aspects and to comprise lesson plans around the content. It goes into interesting detail and makes things simple to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Music Technology []  2020-1-16 6:3

    Solid course book but a small too wordy at times. [email protected]#$%! was more technically written..personal preference. It seemed more geared toward the fine arts student than than the technical major.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Digital Photomicrography []  2020-1-4 20:40

    A gentle introduction, a nice starting put for those wishing to learn. It is simple to read and does' t presume any particular background.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Sustainable Development []  2020-2-2 19:49

    Top quality hard cover! Quick shipping with prime!Good book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Medical Statistics []  2020-2-6 21:4

    One of the best reviews of Medical Statistics available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Category Theory []  2020-7-26 19:25

    Perfect introduction to the theory. Some of the terms the author uses are unfamiliar to me but maybe that's my fault.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Category Theory []  2020-7-26 19:25

    An perfect introductory text. Its layout is comfortable, notably the technique of writing dual definitions side by side. Examples and issues abound, but never too many.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Catholic Ethics []  2020-7-26 21:25

    Amazing gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Catholic Ethics []  2020-7-26 21:25

    Just the book I needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Parallel Programming []  2020-8-2 19:22

    This book isn't relevant to today's multi-threaded programming. It doesn't follow international C and C++ standards for multithreading, and instead relies on things like pthreads and openmp. Pthreads, while still widely used, should be avoided in favor of the standard C and C++ threading libraries. OpenMP, while unique, is disfavored by experts and doesn't have performance advantages over the C++ standard library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Parallel Programming []  2020-8-2 19:22

    Looks useful for getting started the the pthreads method, after I obtain started with a compatible C++ compiler.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Parallel Programming []  2020-8-2 19:22

    Item was delivered on time. Was as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fire Dynamics []  2020-8-4 18:29

    It is a very amazing review about principles of fire phenomena told from a critical perspective. You will search all you need in order to understand the most general concepts and how they were experimented and yzed. However, sometimes you will feel that there are not enough examples of calculation. But it is very useful as a guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Water Gilding []  2020-8-18 20:19

    This book, or manual (37 8 1/2 x 11 pages), is about as close to observing first hand the process of gilding picture frames with gold leaf you can obtain without actually attending a watergilding course which are few and far between and expensive. I still would have preferred more detail, even if it risked some repetition. I have several books and manuals on the process, but this addresses necessary locations in the process more effectively. The book also contains metal leaf gilding in a separate section.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Labor Law []  2020-8-20 19:49

    great. informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Labor Law []  2020-8-20 19:49

    Answered some of the questions I had but not all of them

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386