an introduction to transnational criminal law Reviews & Opinions


Submit an introduction to transnational criminal law review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law Vocabulary In Use: Master 400+ Essential Criminal Law Terms And Phrases Explained With Examples In 10 Minutes A Day review []  2020-1-22 1:49

    This book is clearly intended for the beginner; not for an experienced criminal lawyer or paralegal, who would likely be familiar with most of the terms contained in this publication.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law Vocabulary In Use: Master 400+ Essential Criminal Law Terms And Phrases Explained With Examples In 10 Minutes A Day review []  2020-1-22 1:49

    It met my expectations and more. I would recommend it to other individuals.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law Vocabulary In Use: Master 400+ Essential Criminal Law Terms And Phrases Explained With Examples In 10 Minutes A Day review []  2020-1-22 1:49

    This is an perfect handbook for students of criminal law, as well as those who in any method wish to know the legal themes and phrases. This manual includes perfect explanations of the phrases and terms used in criminal law. A very well-made book, simple to follow.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on an introduction to transnational criminal law or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch an introduction to transnational criminal law video reviews and related movies:

    See S2: What is transnational crime? on youtube.

     related image

    See What are Transnational Crimes on youtube.

     related image

    See CLEBC | Transnational Criminal Law Preview on youtube.

     related image

    See International and Transnational Criminal Law on youtube.

     related image

    See International Criminal Law Fall 2018 Transnational Crimes on youtube.

     related image

    See Video Presentation on Transnational Crime on youtube.

     related image

    See PANEL IV: Transnational Criminal Law in Africa on youtube.

     related image

    See International Law on Human Trafficking on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law Vocabulary In Use: Master 400+ Essential Criminal Law Terms And Phrases Explained With Examples In 10 Minutes A Day review []  2020-1-22 1:49

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law Vocabulary In Use: Master 400+ Essential Criminal Law Terms And Phrases Explained With Examples In 10 Minutes A Day review []  2020-1-22 1:49

    THIS BOOK SUCKS WRITING TOO SMALL & ISN'T AS DESCRIBED

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law Vocabulary In Use: Master 400+ Essential Criminal Law Terms And Phrases Explained With Examples In 10 Minutes A Day review []  2020-1-22 1:49

    This book was not written by a native English speaker. Plagued by unclear definitions and ludicrous example sentences. A lot of the words in this book I would not even call law terms. Very unprofessional work, do not waste your money. It's not worth it even if you obtain it for $0 via Kindle Unlimited like I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law Vocabulary In Use: Master 400+ Essential Criminal Law Terms And Phrases Explained With Examples In 10 Minutes A Day review []  2020-1-22 1:49

    This booked helped my niece a lot for her research and studies... A very amazing and simple read...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-24 21:56

    Mr Wacks did a unbelievable job by being comprehensive yet concise in covering not only the scope of where the law is globally but also by giving a historical context of the law's evolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    This book aims to give a fast overview of fundamental concepts in thermodynamics. It achieves that less than 50% ...The selection of content is good, however the author did not apply adequate effort to show it in a readable method with clear details. The exact same material is covered in "Elements of Physical Chemistry" by Atkins and Julio de Paula. The language there is much more readable (probably due to the second author) with more expanded info and pictures. However it is still more focused on chemistry than physics and you still won't see the Clausius derivation of are the main issues of the "Very Short Introduction":- the Clausius definition of entropy is dumped on the reader without derivation. If you are curious how entropy appears in thermodynamics, you are out of lack, and this is typical for most chemistry books.- the energy diagrams of two connected heat engines are best illustrated with numerical values, as a lot of amazing physics books do, not with generic "Heat" which have various values for the two engines. The author completely forgets to mention that the energy flow is conserved on such a diagram so his first explanation of equivalence between Kelvin and Clausius statements will be lost on a lot of readers that see these diagrams for the first time.- at a lot of locations the text is unpleasant to read and hard to understand due to pretentious dictionary words and several thoughts crammed into a single convoluted sentence:"Whereas lesser minds might view the heat source as the crucial component, or perhaps the vigorously reciprocating piston, Kelvin - as we shall anachronistically call him - saw otherwise: he identified the invisible as indispensible, seeing that the cold sink - often just the undersigned surroundings - is essential".- some examples in the book are missing little info vital to their understanding. For example, the book fails to mention that when a chemical reaction "releases energy", the change of internal energy from the initial products to the final products at the same temperature is negative, and even cites it as positive: "When 1L of gasoline is burned it produces carbon dioxide and water vapour. The change in internal energy is 33 MJ ....". A lot of beginners will be lost by such a flip of sign in the First Law and will not be able to follow the explanation, which renders it useless. Another example was not explaining why the entropy change of a heat engine is not taken into acc when the total entropy change of the universe is calculated. Answer: a cyclic engine returns to the initial state of the same entropy.- the book is historically inaccurate on a few occasions. The formula for the efficiency of Carnot's engine was derived by Kelvin, not by Carnot as the book claims. Kelvin wrote a whole 40-50 page article on Carnot's book and was not "largely oblivious of Carnot's work" as Atkins claims.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    This is an perfect introduction to the topic. As one other reviewer says (more or less), the laws of thermodynamics are going to hang in there right to the end, in the pantheon of our undertsandings of nature. They are so important, and as Sir Arthur Eddington said so long ago, the second law the most necessary in all of science. So they are well worth knowing about, for lay readers and thinkers even.I love to read a writer who comes across as obviously loving his subject. Peter Atkins does just this. He is so amazing to read, to learn from, so crystal clear, so logical, so plain in his uncluttered expression, so helpful. No wonder so a lot of university students around the globe have benefited from this man, as their lecturer, their st of all I loved the explanation of entropy increase as increasing disorder, particles expanding into shelf-like locations of a box-like space. In this easy diagram and accompanying notes (pp.52-3) he gives the best metaphor for microstates and diversity I have seen.I presume he realises that his statement of the second law as the entropy of the universe increasing in the course of spontaneous change (p.49), when coupled with his defintion of spontaneous change as being when the entropy of the universe increases (p.51), together imply that the second law (as he states it) can be re-stated as: the entropy of the universe increases in the course of changes in which the entropy of the universe increases.I've given the book 5 stars because I can't search a method to award 4.5 and it's worth more than 4. My detracting quibbles, so minor, are i) shared with an earlier reviewer, that we couldn't obtain more on implication subjects like info theory and diversity; and ii) that particularly for entropy and the second law, there wasn't just a smidgen more mathematical background. But I already know the responses to these: you've only got so much zone in a very short intro, and you have to hold to topic. Secondly, if you wish maths, he gives references at the end to his chemistry textbooks and other volumes. So while I quibble, I understand the reasoning.A top read. Hugely informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction by Peter W. Atkins"The Laws of Thermodynamics" is a very solid and practical book that covers the core concepts of thermodynamics. Accomplished author of a lot of science books and Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oxford, does the unbelievable A Very Short Introduction series justice by providing readers with an accessible acc of the four laws of thermodynamics. This well-written 144 page-book is composed of the following five chapters: 1. The zeroth law: The concept of temperature, 2. The first law: The conservation of energy, 3. The second law: The increase in entropy, 4. Free energy: The availability of work and 5. The third law: The unattainability of zero.Positives:1. A professionally written book. Amazing science writing.2. The book is sound and concise.3. Does a amazing job of summarizing the properties of energy and its transformation from one form to another.4. Though intended for the masses this book does not short change the reader.5. Goes over every one of the four laws of thermodynamics in adequate detail.6. Effective use of charts and illustrations.7. The difference between dynamics and thermodynamics.8. Terms are well defined: temperature, gas, work, heat, enthalpy, entropy, etc...9. Name dropping...the scientific greats.10. Entropy and disorder.11. The importance of Gibbs energy in chemistry and in the field of bioenergetics.12. The process of sublimation.13. Absolute zero...cool.14. The Boltzmann distribution.15. The process of adiabatic demagnetization.16. A further reading gatives:1. This is not as primary as the introductory series implies. Create no bones about it, thermodynamics is complex and even at its most primary it can be difficult.2. You must grasp the terms early on to progress effectively through the book.3. More quantitative than expected.4. No links to further reading summary, this is a very amazing science book. The "A Very Short Introduction" series is a really amazing one intended for those who wish to gain a primary understanding of a given subject in a concise manner. Professor Atkins succeeds in providing the reader the core concepts of thermodynamics. Thermodynamics is a complex subject so even at its primary it will try the resolve of some to obtain through it. It's amazing concise science writing on a challenging topic. If you are looking to obtain a primary understanding of the laws of thermodynamics, this is a amazing book to start. I recommend it.Further suggestions: "Galileo's Finger: The Ten Amazing Ideas of Science" by the same author, "Thermodynamics For Dummies" by Mike Pauken, "Science Matters: Achieving Scientific Literacy" by Robert M. Hazen, "Why Does E=mc2? (And Why Should We Care?)" by Brian Cox, "Entropy Demystified: The Second Law Reduced to Plain Common Sense" by Arieh Ben-Naim, and "For the Love of Physics: From the End of the Rainbow to the Edge of Time - A Journey Through the Wonders of Physics" by Walter Lewin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    As an individual that tends more to the side of the "soft" sciences, the necessary theorems that are foundational to the "hard" sciences can be extremely difficult to grasp or intimidating to even attempt to test to learn at the least, a freshman level of understanding of these laws. Needless to say, it is always amazing to at least try. Peter Atkins and his Very Short Introduction proved to be an perfect resource to support me to develop at the minimum, a clearer and foundational understanding of the Laws of e best thing about this book is that Peter Atkins was asked to write it. He does quite an awesome job as far as taking the esoteric and making it as understandable and the least intimidating that it can possibly be. He writes clearly and speaks about the concepts behind the laws in a method that translates the material into common true life scenarios. Another amazing thing about the book is that he always makes sure to remind the reader of the topics previously discussed as he moves on to the next topic. In other words, when starting a fresh topic or sub part of an overall subject, he reminds us of what was previously talked about and gives a very fast recap of the basics of that ere is one drawback though. This drawback probably has more to do with the reader than anything Dr. Atkins has done though. It is in the latest two chapters that things start to obtain more technical than the first part of the book. This may require some additional reading and backtracking through the book to create sure that you understand everything clearly enough to obtain out of the book and its descriptions everything that Dr. Atkins is trying to teach. This means then, that for the beginner, this part is slightly more difficult than the earlier parts. It is not anything that Dr. Atkins does, it is just that the material gets a small heavier.Another plus of the book is that Atkins provides his reader with an perfect small text that will provide you with the basics and a small more. The further reading section at the end of the book will also give the person wanting to know more the capability to search other books that Dr. Atkins has given his seal of approval is was truly a well thought out, clear, and actually approachable book considering the subject and my own background. This should be a amazing book for a person wanting to know about the Laws of Thermodynamics or a person especially looking for a fast refresher on things that they learned previously. It should also prove especially helpful to a student of chemistry, physics or biology to use as a fast resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    Peter Atkins promises at the outset that this will not be a light read, and it isn't, at least not if you wish to really take it all in and much of it is fresh to you. Gibbs energy and Helmholtz energy are discussed, as are negative (below absolute zero) temperatures. For a very short introduction to the subject, it goes into considerable would need no more than an average grasp of High School math and science to follow the arguments completely, and not even that if you are just seeking a flavor of what the topic is about and are willing to settle for less than a thorough kins writes very well, with clarity, elegance and an infectious enthusiasm. There is certainly no lack of the latter - he describes these laws as 'a mighty handful' that drives the Universe, and claims that 'no other scientific law has contributed more to the liberation of the human spirit than the second law of Thermodynamics'. I'm not sure about that, but I do now appreciate the fundamental importance of these laws and how they are crucial to understanding how Nature works.[PeterReeve]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    They say it is impossible to break the thermodynamics laws in this universe, everything else is uncertain; give it a try. You can see and feel thermodynamics making a cup of tea while reading this book. Hell of fun, right? Wait for it because this Atkins guy push the whole thing to another level of fun. Damn amazing teacher! For example, he started comparing work and heat at the molecular level to end the discussion making a connection with our civilization development. You will never forget the laws, never!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    Having worked my method through most of this very short introduction to thermodynamics (I confess to having given up about halfway through its discussion of the Second Law) I conclude that thermodynamics does not lend itself to a very short introduction. The book clearly tries to give a simple, popularized explanation; those without much of a background in science, mathematics, or engineering, though, may quickly search it somewhat mystifying. There are a few principles that I think it managed to teach even me. But to obtain much more out of it apparently requires suitable prerequisites.I cannot blame the author for his book's inability to reduce a complex scientific topic to the level of a mere lawyer. Your mileage may vary. But be prepared for a fair amount of mathematics, often accompanied by the suggestion -- common in works of science but not, I would have thought, entirely appropriate for a "very short introduction" -- that, based on the equations you're presented, coming up with different other equations and understanding their import is a trifling thing that requires no explanation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    Professor Atkins comes across as an intellectual with a large command of the English language and I betting most of his communication is with his intellectual peers. However, from my poorly educated point of view his use of language is difficult to follow. I bought this book thinking it was written to people that wish a small more than a primary over view; and the book gives me that. I rate the books content and order in which the instruction is presented at five stars but the long sentences that have to be read and re-read are tough for me to follow. Is the book worth it - yes it is, and I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    It will give you a excellent understanding of thermodynamic functions and entropy. You will feel those functions, lots of other books search it hard to draw an analogy for the complicated scientific laws, but the author adds a lucid explanation to every concept.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Laws of Thermodynamics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-19 20:12

    Thermodynamics does not keep the attention it deserves in introductory science classes. This little book introduces the three laws of thermodynamics in detail and in order. Not only does it explain each one with traditional examples but it also gives a history of how they came to be. I recommend this book for the beginning Biology, Chemistry and Physics student before they begin their core classes. The books is on the little side literally I want they would print it slightly larger with a larger font.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    I was surprised that the book was physically small. I know that it would be a short book but I assumed that the book size was that of the typical Oxford/Rutledge university publications. The print is a size or two smaller than usual (14 point) so it is somewhat physically difficult to read. The material is presented very well and covers a lot of locations of the philosophy of law. I would gladly pay $2-3 more if the book size were to be slightly larger so the font is a typical university printing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    Met my expectations exactly. Easier read, you don't have to work hard to understand it. Wacks is a amazing writer, fun to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    Highly recommended! The only possible flaw are the few paragraphs of each chapter that is sort of hard to understand, but those don’t hurt, just skip them. Overall, it’s a unbelievable work of jurisprudence.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    Very good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    interesting book for law philosophers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    A classical case of :"... it is all there in a nutshell". I do know a bit about law and ethics and I do not believe that a better primer has ever been written. Perfect choice for anyone with no time for the full 600 pages of John Rawls "Theory of Justice" or related textbooks but who never the less needs a top notch quality introduction to the subject

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    A really amazing book to introduce students to the fundamental problems of Phlisophy of Law.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    This is a amazing primary primer of a complicated field.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    The text of the book can be shortened in order to justify being called "a very short introduction :) The text is repetitions with some of the repeated paragraphs being almost identical. Apart from that the book presents a amazing summary of existing legal theories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Philosophy of Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    Very good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Law: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-27 0:38

    I was happy with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Very satisfied with my rental purchase! Book is brand fresh & in excellent shape. This book is a amazing reference for criminal law class, has a amazing index of cases, amazing explanations of types of laws. Couldn’t search an explanation of court systems though. Since I live in TX, some laws are various so I may need an added source for specifics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Amazing writing, but written like journalistic reporting - on every topic its presents both sides, i.e. "balanced" point of view. For a student studying criminal law, it's difficult to discern which method to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Outstanding!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Was surprised at how quick it shipped and how amazing quality was

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    This book came in amazing condition, no issues at all

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    amazing price!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Very helpful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    The book is in amazing condition. But the pages are out of order and upside down :/

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    I was curious about this book and wanted to learn about the primary rules of Islam in a manner that didn’t contain prejudice. Sadly, when you read the preface, you’ll come across judgmental opinions which give the book an unprofessional outlook. Maybe the author included such sharp words in the beginning to invite readers who otherwise would not ever read about the educational aspects of Islam. Or maybe it was to promote his other ever, once you obtain past the first few pages, a surprisingly more neutral reflection of the Sharia law is revealed. You will learn about the rules of what is lawful and what is not, marriage, legal and even the rules of non-Muslims whom live in a Muslim country which implements e author makes a powerful notion to differentiate between non-extremists and extremists. He writes how the majority of Muslims wish a modernized approach to life, though without abandoning key aspects of their faith. I also like how he talks about charity and how in Islam, one must give to the poor, or in Arabic, (zakat).I must note that the author does have a clear bias versus “all religions,” yet does remain neutral in certain locations of this book which do not impede on its educational intent. I would have given a higher rating, if the author omitted his bias on religion and instead focused solely on learning purposes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    An interesting snapshot of the risky globe of the Muslim Sharia Law. There is a history of Islam and the trials and death of Muhammad. The author writes with passion and powerful opinions versus the existing religions and Christianity and the Catholic Church. Props for that as a lot of book authors will sugarcoat their words so as not to offend readers. There has been evil since the creation of the globe and unfortunately seeped into supposedly amazing institutions. I still feel that not all of religion is poor as there are a lot of who support others out there in the name of God. The book was beautiful short but interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    The highlights of Islamic life is looked into; when residing under a Sharia law society. Islam is a political control system, no religion. Read this book and you will know what to expect when...? But also read books on the Quoran, the Hadiths and the Sunnah. All 4 books create up Islamic life in an Islamic society.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    A ranting versus all "religion" - amazing or bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    Very amazing and very informative, I recommend that other people read it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    I was looking for a book that contained the law. This book only explained the orgin and how the Law was enforced without the info of the law it self.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    In familiarizing myself with with globe culture and how it intersects with religion, I happened on this book. It's clearly written from a strongly editorial perspective with a definite point of view, which created it ideal in getting the gist of how various people see Sharia Law and some of the darker sides of this religion. I recommend the reader add this to a healthy, wide-ranging catalog of books coming from various perspectives in order to obtain as complete a picture as possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    I was extremely disappointed in this work. Islam and Terrorism is by far a better book for the discerning Christian reader who seeks after truth and applies it diligently to biblical Christianity. Sharia Law provides an understanding of the vile practices of Sharia Law but loses any appeal when its writer waxes on about gods and goddesses and is clearly deceived by the evil one and confused about the real dictates of Christianity and that is we are saved through God's grace by faith in 1 Corinthians 15:1-4 plus nothing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    It's an eye opener.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sharia Law: A Grisly Work of Islam, Muslim, and Criminal Law review []  2020-1-18 21:4

    This book was very, very informative. I learned a lot about Sharia Law, and more non-Muslins need to read this book. Being more informed about any religion is very helpful in understanding how another culture was raised from childhood and what they were taught to ere is zero fluff or opinion in this book. It is incredibly simple to read and serves as an perfect resource for educating others on this topic. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand the greatest threat facing America and the civilized nations of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    Serves it purpose

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    It was a much s print every page in the left has a strip that’s missing letter top to bottom

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    This is an perfect introduction to law. Although it was overpriced, in my opinion, there is a substantial amount of knowledge to be learned within its pages. I thought about selling it, but it's too amazing to allow go.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    Amazing quality for a rental book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    Perfect condition, very useful for my class and is a book that will be useful throughout my law career. Worth the cost

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    Still has some uncorrected typo/mistakes left over from 5th edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    This is a very simple read and is full of useful information. I had read other reviews before purchasing it and agree that this is a amazing reference book to hold handy, especially for the rest of my law classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    Most of this textbook is filler - page after page of court opinions and sample statutes not directly relevant to the text. Another issue is spelling and grammar, as the book includes alarmingly frequent misspellings. While providing a generally decent overview of the locations of law, the book is at times diminished by an anti-American and social justice agenda. Chapters with less editorialization by the author, such as the chapter on Estates and Probate, are quite informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    Thank you! I received the book before I began classes. I was able to preview it before hand. Thank you again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Law review []  2020-2-4 5:24

    While taking my class I was able to find for keywords while using my kindle. It helped me when I didn't have time to read an entire chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    This book is awesome I have learned so much from it. Am outstanding investment for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    I hate text books; but this one is amazing especially for ADHD students. It's reader friendly; nice glossy pages; not a lot of citation interruptions; straight to the point; and interesting criminal legal cases

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    The book arrived on the delivery date and it was brand new.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    This is a amazing book!!!! Worth the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    A massive and cumbersome text to sift through, but very insightful to the history of violence and criminology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    This book is kind of dry but includes a lot of very helpful information. Anyone who is going or thinking about going to be a cop I would recommend reading this learning more about the psychology part of the job.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    This book really helps in the class

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    BOOK was separate from binding

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture: A Textbook and Practical Reference Guide for Students and Working Professionals in the Fields of Law Enforcement, Criminal J review []  2020-1-20 0:41

    Book Review:Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Cultureby Laurence Miller, Ph.D. (Springfield, IL: Charles C. Thomas, 2012)Every so often an author appears with an uncanny knack for making difficult, higher order concepts easily translatable to simple, comprehensible information. This rare talent takes wonderful skill, a keen understanding of both the topic matter and knowledge of how to convey it in a manner making it an effortless and extremely interesting read. Such is the case with Dr. Laurence Miller and his recent book, Criminal Psychology: Nature, Nurture, Culture, (2012, Charles C. Thomas, Publisher). Dr. Miller is the author of a lot of well-received, peer-reviewed, scholarly articles as well as books on his work with police psychology, human relations, and other applied aspects of clinical and forensic psychology. He is also affiliated with different police agencies as a psychologist, and teaches psychology at the university graduate and undergraduate levels. This time, his Criminal Psychology breaks fresh ground by weaving together the fields of law enforcement, criminal justice, mental health, and forensic psychology. Dr. Miller's tome (588 pages) is an embarrassment of riches on these topics, and they are each carefully delineated and presented with simple, pragmatic language resulting in a book that should be viewed as "The Bible" for those interested in the field of criminal psychology. Criminal Psychology is divided into five major parts. In Part I, Dr. Miller thoroughly covers the nature and origins of criminal behavior and contains theoretical perspectives, empirical support, and his own clinical acumen in discussing the biological and psychosocial theories of criminal behavior. There is an excellent, comprehensive discussion, in particular, of the different parts of the criminal justice system and the interplay of clinical and forensic psychology within Part II, Dr. Miller focuses on personality, psychopathology, and crime, and provides critical info on brain syndromes and substance abuse, schizophrenia and psychotic disorders, anxiety and mood disorders, personality disorders, and antisocial personality disorder and the psychopath. Here, in particular, Dr. Miller is particularly adept at explaining the interplay between brain and behavior relationships, and relates how brain disease and/or traumatic injury can evolve into violent, criminal, and unstable behavior which may be causative in an individual's involvement with unlawful activities. Especially interesting for example, are Dr. Miller's discussions of the relationships between types of epilepsy and different clinical syndromes resulting in criminal behavior. In this section, there are also necessary discussions of traumatic brain injury, sleep disorders, and developmental disorders and how brain syndromes may be associated with criminal III, IV, and V, in particular, seem most relevant in today's world. In Part III, Dr. Miller discusses homicide, serial homicide, and mass homicides and violence in the workplace, schools, and terrorism and political violence. There is an perfect delineation of the various subtypes of homicides, including prosecutable and nonprosecutable homicides, with further discussions elaborating serial killers, spree killers, and mass murderers. Demographics of homicides, including biological, neuropsychological, and sociocultural theories are presented via empirically-based support. Dr. Miller then astutely weaves his professional experience and learned clinical and forensic psychological background with how mental disorders, personality disorders, and brain syndromes may have causative roles when a homicide occurs. Of particular interest and a "hot topic" in schools today is bullying, and Dr. Miller's discussion of bullying and peer victimization contains types of bullies as well as types of victims, and factors that contribute to bullying as well as theoretical considerations are well thought out and should be considered mandatory reading by school personnel such as principals and assistant principals, school psychologists, school social workers, and school rt IV of Criminal Psychology concerns sex crimes and family crimes. Rape and sexual assault are discussed with emphasis on the psychology and psychopathology of rapists, their psychological dynamics, and subjects such as sexual sadism and the perversions or paraphilias. The influence of substance abuse on sexual crimes and theoretical perspectives such as neuropsychological, psychodynamic, behavioral, feminist, and evolutionary theories create for an interesting and informative discussion. With respect to family crimes (i.e., kid abuse and domestic violence), Dr. Miller again is timely with discussions on kid sexual abuse by clergy, pedophile typologies, kid battery and murder, and eloquent discussions on the psychology of parents, caregivers, and guardians who murder children. There is a section on "Parricide," the killing of parents by their kids with extensive background coverage of the family dynamics as well as the psychosocial contributory factors leading kids to commit such Part V of Criminal Psychology, Dr. Miller discusses stalking and harassment and provides us once again with an perfect discussion of stalker typologies, behaviors, commonalities, and then reviews how the psychology of stalking fits with specific clinical syndromes. Particularly necessary are stalker violence, effects of stalking on victims as well as cyberstalking. Part V also includes sections on juvenile offenders and their crimes, hate crimes, arson and pyromania, and mentally ill offenders and whether or not the intervention of psychological treatments may be effective. Overall, we have here a "must read," or the "Gold Standard" of criminal psychology, and this book will be used and referred to again and again by federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies, clinical and forensic psychologist-specialists in psychology and social work, undergraduate and graduate students with an interest in criminal psychology, and in university and public libraries for public consumption. The Bibliography, alone, is a valuable, 200 page reference tutorial for those studying criminal, forensic, clinical, and school psychology. Dr. Miller's Criminal Psychology presents a wealth of info that is up-to-date, less hypothetical and mostly empirical, and will be used for years to come as an extraordinary clinical reference tool in understanding human ed by:Richard L. Levenson, Jr., Psy.D., CTSLicensed PsychologistAssociate Editor, International Journal of Emergency Mental Health

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    Best dictionary for a Spanish legal interpreter. I have both editions and use them frequently. This was for a mate who is about to take try for certification. Mr. Tomasi definitely knows the topic matter and has created his dictionaries very user friendly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    Well explained vocabulary for a legal interpreter. You can search terminology used in various countries and the reasoning behind the suggest translation into English. Very educational and professional.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    perfect dictionary!! everyone in this awesome business should have one handy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    It is a very useful dictionary, specifically, for court terms in Fresh York. Mr. Tomasi obviously did his research and he does an outstanding job at providing amazing legal equivalents that stray from the anglicisms that are often used by less experienced interpreters and attorneys that do not have a complete grasp of the language. I would recommend it for those wanting to create more sense for the Spanish speakers within the US legal system.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    An awesome compilation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    Love it! Very helpfull.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    Nice book. Helped me a lot!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An English-Spanish Dictionary of Criminal Law and Procedure (Tomasi's Law Dictionary). Second Edition (Bilingual Edition) (Spanish Edition) (Spanish and English Edition) review []  2020-2-7 20:35

    I really never got a possibility to use it. My mistake, because it is very focused on criminal procedure in the U.S. courts, and not what I needed, since I work more the business/corporate/civil side of the law. This is not meant to reflect on the dictionary, which is first-rate for criminal law language, it just was an ill-informed purchase. Again, my mistake. However, Sandro Tomasi was nice enough to contact me personally and offer a treasure trove of suggestions on some other choices more akin to what I need, which I will of course review carefully and act upon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Allow me clear things up, the stars imply I love this textbook. I do not. I would very much like to set this book on fire and send it back to the hell from whence it came. However, this book came in a very fast timely manner and there was absolutely nothing wrong with the book upon arrival. Despite me wanting to set the book on fire, I feel it is unfair to punish the seller with a poor review simply because I didn't like the content. The seller is great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Wow, this book was so interesting!! I had never taken anything in criminal justice before, and this book was a amazing intro to go with the class. It was full of information, exposed me to a lot of various parts of the criminal justice system, and it was both up-to-date and comprehensive historically. You won't obtain too much of an in-depth look at any subject, but it's well done for an intro to criminal justice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Book is what i needed, will work fine enough to obtain the job done for my class. It came in an “acceptable” condition but it was kind of gross. Rented, which was extremely helpful and convenient instead of having to purchase for $200+ at school. But i found what looks like rice stuck to the book & other things. The book rim from the inside looks delicate and like it could break down if i’m not careful this semester.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Typical overpriced textbook. College sucks man. It's a amazing thing they had a renting option. No gripes on the seller since it's understood for them, but the production company needs to chill.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    amazing stuff

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Book was damn near excellent condition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Amazing condition and is very useful!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Got to me sooner than expected !! Amazing condition I didn’t have any problem at all amazing deal I would recommend this rental

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    Same as the college bookstore only cheaper.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Criminal Justice review []  2019-12-24 19:20

    I returned both of my books in May. And you all charged me full price for them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    This book explains in depth the various aspects of the law.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    I was at first skeptical about the "loose leaf" vs a hard back text book. However once received it fit in a binder along with my course notes. Nice having just one item to carry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Perfect book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Thanks! Using this for college at CSU! Just as described and arrived quickly. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Amazing book to rent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    This book was excellent for the class I was taking

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Aside from the fact that this was a needed reading text for class, the book is very informative and something anyone could benefit from.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Book in amazing condition as described

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Really? for $92.00 I expected better quality wil be sending it back..😤

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Law and Procedure review []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Excellent, brand fresh textbook I saved $130 off of college bookstore prices by ordering off of Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Introduction to Business Law review []  2020-1-22 1:48

    The chapters are simple to follow and the cases are really interesting. Professor Samuelson is also the best.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter