and still Reviews & Opinions


Submit and still review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    Amazing music! I'm 52 and my son introduced me to this band. I'm tired of "classic rock" and wish amazing fresh music. Head and the Heart is a fabulous band. They remind me of 70's folk but have a current sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    I was sort of prepared to be disappointed by this as I loved the debut so much, I wasn't sure that it was possible to place together a follow up that would satisfy me. On the first listen, though, I knew we had a winner. It was different, but it was familiar - and it was beautiful. A few more listens and I was sure, powerful throughout but songs like "Another Story", "Let's Be Still", and "Gone" guarantee this a spot in massive rotation for a very long time. It's been a while since I've been so enamored by a band like I am with The Head and the Heart. Already eagerly anticipating the next album.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    Sometimes change is good; this album is an example of this. The Head And The Heart introduce a fresh and riveting sound that envelops the time and energy that they have spent together since their debut album. Away with the old acoustic three piece songs, and in with a fresh sound that channels the energy of all 5 artists in the ensemble. Songs like "Shake" that present the ability for the band to make soulful fun and groovy creations, as well as songs older songs by the artists like "Fire/Fear" that shows the ability to hold the synergy that they had in their debut album as well as introduce a amazing fresh take on the me argue that this change is a negative one because of the sound they had established, but on a latest IamA via , singer Josiah remarked that,"I've never envisioned a sound for this band. I've envisioned writing amazing songs and then arranging them with the other five people in the band. For me, this album feels like a much more genuine reflection of what we sound like when we play live than it would have been to create another record that sounds like the first one. As to the phrase "genuine backwoods", none of us live in the woods, we live in a city. Making an album that sounded backwoods would be very not genuine. Which is why we didn't create that album."While a lot of fans may be deterred by this fact, this only encourages me to listen on and appreciate whatever the band has in store. This album not only brings what the artists established on, but a fresh take on what could be the future of this band. I highly recommend this album.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on and still or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch and still video reviews and related movies:

    See Reba McEntire - And Still on youtube.

     related image

    See Roy Jones Jr. - And Still on youtube.

     related image

    See Malow Mac - And Still (Official Music Video) on youtube.

     related image

    See And Still on youtube.

     related image

    See And Still by Reba McEntire Lyric Video on youtube.

     related image

    See Roy Jones - Mr. Unbeatable... and still! on youtube.

     related image

    See AND STILL ! on youtube.

     related image

    See Reba McEntire - And Still[Live] on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    I was a huge fan of the first album, having bought it on a whim and listened to it non-stop for a week. I bought this on day one, and while I can still listen to it and not obtain tired of it, I must say the gang has lost a small bit of steam.I obtain the vibe they're going for. The cover, along with the title track, really do a amazing job to grasp the sentiment of capturing those small moments that we want would latest forever. A small depressing, sure, but that's how time is. The lyrics, while not quite as rich as in the previous album, are sweet, catchy, and meaningful. As a whole, _Let's Be Still_ is a very enjoyable listen, albeit more laid back than we would hope for. Songs like "Homecoming Heroes," "Shake," and "Gone" stick out with some considerable strength.What hurts this album is, again, the degree to which they toned it down. The piano is nice but will not obtain you going like it did in, say, "Couer d'Alene" and "Ghosts." However, I think as long as you're expecting a more relaxing album, you won't be too disappointed. I've got to say that "Springtime" and "Summertime" are just plain awful, and risk throwing off the album's entire groove. These tracks are musical misfits, incongruous with any of its neighboring tracks. Think poor 80s pop with vocals that create you think of a cartoonified squirrel being... pleasured. Yikes. Thankfully, I purchased the mp3 ver and was able to simply delete these tracks from my device, so the album is not interrupted by this unpleasant l in all, a amazing album in its own right. A definite slump, but I believe The Head and the Heart still have what it takes to crank out a powerful comeback if they refocus their sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    I really enjoyed their first album, but did not have high expectations for this one (yet another indie folk rock band doing their thing, come on). But, I was pleasantly surprised by this album. THATH seems like they took the next step by adding a few fresh layers and elements to their sound. I also feel like they did a amazing job once again of sharing the lead singing roles. I think anyone who like the first album or is interested in the band should check this one out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    The latest Head and the Heart CD was such a surprise. I first heard them on XM Spectrum with the song Lost in My Mind and purchased the CD and listned to it beautiful much non stop for two years. Though Let's Be Still lacks a song like Rivers and Streets which was just massive, this CD is great. Another Story is just amazingly moving song. The whole CD is amazing and its amazing to hear the amazing harmonies and vocals of this terrific group. Well worth buying the whole CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    I love this album. I'm so glad I just "discovered" them at the beginning of this year and therefore, didn't have to wait long for a fresh album to come out!! I love their first album, but think I may love this one even more. It's just so enjoyable to listen to. Some of my favorites are Another Story (although it has a sad background), Summertime, Shake, Let's Be Still, and Gone. My children love this too. No scary child melody in my car! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    I bought The Head and the Heart's first album about a year ago. I enjoyed it so much that when I heard they were coming out with a fresh album I bought it as soon as it came out without really sampling any of the songs. The Head and the Heart have not disappointed with this album. The band's sound has changed quite a bit from their first album, which while I miss some of the things they did on their original album, at the same time I appreciated them doing knew things. This album has a more spunk to it, they seem quite a bit happier than all of the songs of longing in their first album. The groups earthy folk, americano song with their rich and vibrant harmonies create amazing melody no matter what they sing. I would recommend this song to people who appreciate this genre because really this band is quite amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    I loved their first album, but wasn't sure this one would live up to my expectations. It was related enough that it still sounds like the same band, but it's not a duplicate of their first album. I think they discover with fuller sounds and also simpler instrumentation in some songs. I like a band that can have a solid song with only a couple instruments and voices. I also appreciate their clean and poetic lyrics. I'm excited to see where The Head and the Heart take their melody in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Let's Be Still review []  2020-1-10 19:58

    Amazing 70's nostalgic feel, like listening to Gordon Lightfoot's brother-in-law jam with the bass player for Jackson Browne. Then that chick from Blondie's college roommate drops by. Not quite as amazing as the debut, but they consistently write songs that can create me weep instantly. The first album created me wish to drink pints in a pub full of friends, this one makes me wish to drink bourbon in the quite confines of my home.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    I first heard David Kauffman's melody at my annual Labor Day/2016 retreat at the Jesuit Retreat House at Lake Demontreville in Lake Elmo, MN. This is a 3-day silent retreat for men, and I have been attending this for over twenty years. When I've told people about it, some of them search it hard to believe that it is possible to literally be silent for three days. Believe me, this is one of the most unbelievable things you can do for yourself, and for your family. You obtain off the merry-go-round, you shut off your devices, you rest, you meditate, you pray, you commune with nature, you seek God in the silence. And if you are able to properly dispose yourself and "Be Still"....you WILL hear God's this modern world, sadly, it is becoming unfashionable to even believe in a Creator. Most of the men who attend these retreats are older men; I search it discouraging that there are not more young fellows who feel God's gentle call. Perhaps when they are closer to death, as I am now, in my sixties, their priorities will have sorted themselves out. We need to be right with God....but it's totally up to us. God wants us to follow Him, but He will not force us. The choice is ours.....The melody from this album was played at our meals. I found the songs to be so wonderfully calming, inspirational and moving. Some of them literally brought tears to my eyes. The instrumentation is minimal, typically just guitar and piano, but it is....just enough....just perfectly complimentary to the devotional lyrics. This will not be a Billboard Top 100 LP; quiet, understated, humble songs praising Jesus and God are not the items of best-seller lists. But of course, the things that we often consider to be so noteworthy and necessary in this life are so inconsequential and meaningless when viewed through the prism of faith and heaven and eternity.David has a very pleasing voice with just a tip of dust in it, which gives him an irresistible appeal, a vulnerable humility and humanity. But his tunes and lyrics are the real strength here. They point us toward God, which at this time in my life, is something I really need.I plan to acquire more of his recordings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    Wonderful, soothing, inspiring. I purchased this for the song that begins with the words "I've watched you child, trying to keep on to what you think will save you..." From the song, "You Cannot Go Beneath My Resting Arms." It's amazing for that time in your life when you know you need to move onto something fresh that God has waiting for you, but you just can't quite allow go of the familiar. I've played it so a lot of times, downloaded to iTunes. My Mother wanted this CD ver with more of David Kaufman's music.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    I got this as a birthday bonus for a mate who was THRILLED! I’ve not heard it but she is ecstatic!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    After hearing one song from this CD at a retreat, I ordered the CD and couldn't wait to hear the rest of the songs. I was not disappointed. David Kauffman's lyrics and melody are very soothing and touching. My favorite song on this CD is the one I heard at the retreat, "I Will Create This Day My Prayer". I recommend this CD for anyone. It is very unique indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    David Kaufmann's melody is so uplifting. They are like attractive prayers. My heart is full and my spirit is light.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    Love this Cd. I heard the melody at a retreat and fell in love with it. You can download it but very hard to fine original.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    This album is so relaxing and soothing as I continue my process of working through my 12 Step program.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    This is a very soothing, comforting CD. David Kauffman is gifted. I have bought this as bonuses and recommended it to friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    OMG - Words taken from the bible and place into such attractive melody - Love it - Shared it - and it was loved. Spread the word

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Be Still review []  2020-1-18 23:56

    Be Still has helped us in our prayer time with God. The melody calms us into contemplation! Thank rgaret Caire rscj

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    I was worried that this book wouldn't have enough text and would be mostly art, but I was wrong. There is a cute small intro from Rowan and there are small stories and messages throughout the entire book. Every word means something and every image tells a story. It's a truly awesome book, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of hers or just enjoys looking at very private art.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    this book is so amazing. i recommend it to any person who wants an aesthetic-ly pleasing book but a book that also is super inspirational and amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    This is one of those books that really makes you think about life. This is a very inspirational and empowering book that captures the essence of what it means to grow up as a teenager in today's world. This is a really amazing book to give to all of your friends. Amazing book Rowan!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    I would highly recommend Rowan Blanchard's book 'Still Here' to everyone. The book gives you a look into the thoughts of a teenager in today's society along with poems and images to create 'Still Here' an perfect read for people of all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    Parents beware! This book targets young pre-teen and teen girls with sexual deviancy and curse words. It is not suitable for kids under 18 years of age. The author is clearly part of the deviant movement in this country that influences our youth to accept and help lifestyles that are unnatural and unsafe. If melody recordings are needed to label the contents if they include adult language, then books now need to have the same. I do NOT recommend buying this book for your children!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    Sometimes I forget the author’s as young as she is. She provides amazing insight on the state of the globe and also just her private feelings. I’m in college now but I want something like this had come out when I was in high school, or even middle school. This book forces you to really think for yourself. It shows you that it’s okay to have an opinion and you’re allowed to speak on it. You’re allowed to hate the method things are. You’re allowed to have feelings. You’re never too young to know how you feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    It is an awesome journal, but a bit dark, deep, ... for my 13 year old. Rowan is a very intelligent, emotional, and sensitive young woman with a bonus in writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    I love this book as much I love Rowan. What a lovely soul of hers. This is basically how is a live of a teenager and what we feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    This is one of those books that makes you think what kind of person you wanna beThe pictures and poetry are beautiful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Here review []  2020-1-20 19:32

    This book is really amazing and Rowan is an awesome author and actress. I may not agree with some of her beliefs but I at least respect them

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Now the problem is with flash, thr application should provide flash for better capturing capabilities. Even when using front camera, the photo is very dark even though there is sufficient light in the room( tested on 3 phones with various specs). #Only problem is with deleting the file. Tha application crashes at that time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Works amazing for a nice primary animated gif. Stabilizer option works really well and the fresh back and forth loop if grrat. Would be amazing if you could implement the Samsung Galaxy camera feature of painting locations that you wish animated or frozen as there is quite a bit of noise in certain scenarios. Needs an option to have extended capture time as it doesn't record long enough. Maybe just allow you record as much as you wish and then have the ability to do a easy trim during edit

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Nice and easy once you work out what the buttons do. Crashes quite a lot, could do with some guidance and needs to transition between light and shade rather better. Otherwise a amazing begin and amazing to see regular updates!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    I think the gif creator is great... But the option to change the length would be the clincher. Three seconds isn't enough. Also, the front camera comes out really dark.. in low lighting, it's almost black!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Why create this if you can't delete or shop your photos? Primary items missing. Lots of crashing on Nexus 6p

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Amazing app. One problem I'm having is the application not being able to actually perform the loop back and forth feature ... When enabled the video stops in preview and if i test to export the operation stops midway and never continue. Please fix and update.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Crashes on deletion, can't export gifs or videos because it gets stuck at 52% Edit: Delete crash fixed. Looping still freezes exports but without it, it works fine

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Nine times out of ten the capture button does nothing. When it *does* capture, most of the time the circle fills up, and nothing happens. No error messages are ever displayed. The 1% of the time when you actually obtain a clip, the quality is great, though so I guess that's something.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    you need to add social to this... vine couldnt monetize and die, google wouldn't even need to monetize, it's just added value to the android device experience as the product scales up. have a cross-platform share capability with embedded gifs/webm and it's gold. too poor google is such a large machine that this will never happen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Disapointed, I love the images it takes and was super satisfied to see this on droid finally. Cant post gifs to Tumblr from this application or any images for that matter. Everytime I test when I obtain to the attach step an old image that Ive deleted comes up like Im trying to post that one. Now to post gifs on the blog I have to use gif taker in tumblr or use another application where the quality is nowhere near that of motionstills. Ill be waiting for an modernize to come out to see if it gets fixed. Boohoo.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Overall beautiful good, take a 2 second video and turn it into an 80 frame gif. Only complaint is front facing camera is very dark, at least on a Google pixel phone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    While capturing GIF, the screen blinks a lot of times. This problem happens for 2/8 GIF captured. But once problem happens then hold on repeating until we exit the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    the photo quality is excellent. the gallery is a bit difficult to navigate with only up/down scrolling--REALLY needs integration with Google Images for backup. would be amazing to integrate with Google Camera.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    I'm glad to see the application to come to Android device but it is not as nice as the iPhone version. A huge difference would be to allow us import Gifs taken with the regular phone camera from the gallery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    It does not present anything that I see in the screenshots. On my Samsung it doesn't appear to do anything; nothing happens with I tap the screen or swipe anywhere. For my HTC, it is incompatible and won't install

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    The loop function is not working for my oneplus 3 device. The clip hangs and does not even render. Rest it works fine if the loop is not turned on

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Edit: Latest modernize fixed the crash on delete, thanks devs. Sidenote: ffwd cat gifs are the future of the internet ! Old: Crashes on deleting clips from gallery, off to create some gifs of cats :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Needs a Lot of Improvement Every captures of picture the Doesnt respond. And it will Close again and again... Thats so Irritating Uninstalling it immediately

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    That's weird. I can't save any file on my HTC u11. I'm beautiful sure I've granted the permission, but I can't save to devices. Please fix it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    OnePlus 3. Still won't loop with the recent update. Sharing videos stops at about 50-90%. Also the loop doesn't work at all. Video just stops at the end instead of looping back.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    It is interesting to play with this creative idea. It still has some upgrading to do but I enjoyed creating little movies. A cool thing would be if it was possible to upload them to Google Photos.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    The application produces broken sound and photo captures which effect in very crappy motion stills. The application is just not satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Too poor it crashes a lot it's a amazing concept but not very stable on a Samsung S5 don't take it seriously if you're looking for the right shot don't use this application it's nothing more than a novelty right now with it being so unstable hopefully they'll fix the issue

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Guys, please fix export to the gallery feature. No matter how a lot of times I tap on it it exports something in like 1 out of 10. And sometime after this struggle I end up with a few duplicates which makes me think that the footage needs to be processed and the application does it in the background but lacks a loader screen or something.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    The application is not working well only the stills are playing but NO other thing like loop back and forth is working and it hold on getting stuck

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    "Delete crash" allegedly fixed in recent ver but I've just downloaded it on my Pixel and I can confirm it still crashes on deletion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    The fresh back and forth feature doesn't work for me, the video freezes mid-way, unable to save. OnePlus 3T

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Loop does not work on OnePlus 3T. Please fix it goes one method then stops the video. Cannot share loop also as gif or video.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    I wish it to expose its storage directory to Google Photos, so that I can save all the images/animations to Photos. As it is the only method to back them up to save to Google Images is by exporting/sharing a video into the "upload to photos" share action. Just doesn't create sense for an application by Google... I shouldn't have to do that manually every time, it should be automatic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Front camera exposure is broken on my Pixel XL with September 21 update.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Getting there... Now my folder is getting huge would love to archive off to Google drive or select in Google images for archiving

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Its awesome. Test to increase gif quality to HD and contain flash toggle sometime in future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    This application is really nice. Needs to be implemented in Google camera and Google photos.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Higher quality GIFs would be great. They also seem to be a small too long, maybe a setting to change the duration?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    The gif quality is really amazing, best even. But there should be an option to create an animated gif from videos in the gallery. I would really love to use this with old videos...hoping to see this feature soon...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Exporting without loop works fine. With loop, it gets stuck on 52% . OnePlus 3T

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Please add option to save video in HD and time limit for capturing is more than 3 sec, at least one min . I will give 5 stars for that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Cool small app. Makes it ez to do pans & fast GIFs. It would be amazing if it could be accessed directly from the Google camera via a shortcut or gesture, especially for pans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    Keeps crashing on pressing record button. Nexus 7 2013 on Android device 6.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Motion Stills review [App]  2017-11-4 13:11

    It keeps crashing always. Fix it and I'll change my rating

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    This was absolutely perfect. I am so not ready to say bye to Lou! I hope there’s more one day, but if not, this was a amazing end!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    This book was an absolute joy to read & Oh how I loved having Lou Clarke back in my life! She is so upbeat and original and never looses sight of herself regardless the circumstances She finds herself in.“Still Me” is a story of secrets, lies & misunderstandings, friendships, and forgiveness. It’s another true rollercoaster full of laughs, tears, frustrations, determination and this, the 3rd in the series, Louisa has landed a job in Fresh York and her arrival at the airport is plenty eventful; we begin off with Lou babbling at an immigration officer... Lou has moved to the huge apple to take up a job with the wealthy Agnes well as adjusting to being away from home, Lou is trying to juggle a long distance relationship when she meets someone who fosters feelings from the past...Jojo's work never fails to bring a smile to my face with her honesty & humour. This book has its hilarious moments but it also has deeply moving ones also. I loved it, just excellent from beginning to end!You could easily read this as as standalone but to really obtain to know Lou and understand her circumstances, I’d recommend reading the whole trilogy in order... Jojo Moyes’ writing is unbelievable and ‘Still Me’ is a worthy addition to the Me Before You trilogy.I am a verified purchaser in Australia

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    As an avid fan of the Me Before You series, I was SO excited to see that there was going to be another book in this series! I wasn't expecting there to be another book in this series, but I was more than excited to be reunited with Lou. This book was hilarious, charming, and heart-warming. Fans of this series will not be disappointed by this book!What I loved about this book was that it truly focused on Lou and her hero development. She was thrown into a lot of fresh situations in this book, and it was so much fun to watch her navigate those situations. Will would have been proud of Lou and her dedication to living her life to the fullest.Lou has always been one of my favorite fictional characters. She makes a lot of mistakes and makes a lot of poor decisions, but that was always what created her so relatable. Lou tried a lot of fresh things in this book and I loved watching her explore more about herself. She was just as quirky and hilarious as ever in this book! It was so much fun being reunited with her again and watching her go on another l of JoJo Moyes' books create me wish to go on adventures by myself and treat myself. JoJo's characters are always inspiring and the journeys they go on are always heart-warming and satisfying. I just love the method JoJo writes and how effortlessly her words flow from the pages. The witty and hilarious dialogue of this book kept me glued to the pages.Overall, this was an entertaining and unbelievable addition to this series. This book created me laugh, tear up, and wish to jump for joy.4 / 5 Fangs*This ebook was given to me in exchange for an honest review. *MrsLeif's Two Fangs About It Book Reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    “You only obtain one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”Still Me by Jojo Moyes follows Louisa “Lou” Clark whom we love from the famous Me Before You and the second installment, After You. Jojo has graced our homes and our minds with the kind, caring female who we love to adventure with and luckily this time around we obtain to journey with her to Fresh York.Louisa had taken the leap and ventured to the huge apple for a fresh chapter in life. Right off the bat, thanks to her fresh employment she’ thrown into the high society extravaganza. She is taking a fresh approach to life thanks to Will, love of her life plus previous employer and finding who “Lou” is by embracing the word ‘yes’ in all ists and turns arise in Fresh York for Louisa in which she must learn to grasp and straighten out for herself. From fresh found friendship, long distance relationship with Sam and leaving dear ones back home… she learns to embrace life in all real Jojo writing style her story flows effortlessly with emotional and humor advances. The method the writing is set up, you become one within the story and I think that is what makes these stories excel. In addition, Jojo’s enlightening growth of her characters from one book to the next was a highlight. It was a delight to witness Louisa’s development as a woman and how she comes into her own throughout the books.If you approach this third book as a standalone but with the same lead character, then I believe you will have a various outlook by the end. Jojo crafted another well written journey in Louisa’s a lot of adventures and I for one was happy to be a part of it.5 Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    I’ll begin this off by saying that I thought this series could have ended with Me Before You and I would have been OK. With that being said, it didn’t end and we obtain to learn more about Louisa Clarke and how she is moving forward with her life. I’m satisfied where this went and feel like I can finally close the book on Still Me, Louisa has moved to Fresh York Town to embrace a fresh part of her life. She’s thrown into the life of the elite, donned with upscale happenings and a lot of elaborate things. It’s simple to see that she is changing a bit. Being in a various country for any amount of time could do that to anyone. But she has Sam back in England and the two of them are finding out just how hard long distance relationships ere’s a bit of angst in this story, which I always enjoy. My heart was constantly conflicted because all I wanted was for her to be happy. My favorite part, however, was watching Louisa finally explore who she is and who she’s always meant to be. It’s taken a long time for her to obtain to this point and it was much ill Me provides the closure we required along with some laughs, heartache and healing. There are also several interesting characters in this story that really support create it. I’m very satisfied I read it and I urge anyone that has read this series to create sure they don’t miss this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    Still Me by Jojo Moyes a firm five-star read. This is the third book in the Me before you series and its gone from strength to strength, Lou is like an old mate that you run into and have coffee and gossip with, I felt in this book she was the one asking for the tip and wondering what she was doing rather than being the one to support like she was in the earlier instalment. Jojo Moyes doesn’t disappoint, but I am wondering if she can hold it up, there is only one method down after a height this high. This series as a whole is one that deals with such tragedy and heart-wrenching tales that it will have you crying and laughing and on an emotional rollercoaster you won’t wish to obtain off, this instalment shows that we have lots of choices in life and sometimes even when we think we may or may not have created the right one, we don’t always know until it’s too is is a book you need in your life, I know some people have avoided it as its very well known, but pick up the books and give them all a go you won’t be disappointed, and if you read the first two you need to read this one to search out what happened next, will Lou like America in the end? Or will leaving her heart in the UK be too much? Secrets have a method of coming out no matter how hard you test to hide them, even if they aren’t your secrets they still have a method of breaking you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    I thoroughly enjoyed the first chapter of Still Me. Louisa's chatty nervousness with the immigration officer reminds you of the first book in the series, Me Before You, and you begin to hope for a happier outcome for her in this book. I read Me Before You and did not have fun it, I thought it was very well written, but I cried from beginning to end!The journey from the airport into Manhattan in the luxurious Mercedes limousine indicates that Louisa will be working for wealthy people, and her delight at the iconic view of Manhattan across the Brooklyn Bridge sets the stage for her fresh life. The descriptions of the Lavery Building on Fifth Avenue, very grand and expensive looking but a tad old-fashioned, where she will be living, albeit in the servants quarters, create you realise that her fresh employers are seriously wealthy, in the upper echelons of Fresh York society. A whole fresh globe for Louisa!When she goes out the next morning to buy milk, the buzz and excitement of Fresh York spills off the page, you are almost experiencing it for yourself. An perfect beginning. Louisa has rebooted her life since Will died. She has a boyfriend, Sam, a paramedic who lives in a railway carriage while he builds a house. He has encouraged her to take the job in Fresh York as he thinks it will be amazing for her, and has promised to visit regularly.Louisa's fresh employer is Agnes Gopnik. Mr Gopnik fell in love with her and divorced his first wife to marry her. But the shadow of his first wife is never far away; Agnes has to attend a lot of functions, either with her husband or alone and the first wife is always there. The other women at the functions cold-shoulder her and talk about her, and soon grab their husbands away if they dare talk to her; it is a hostile, lonely life, and she needs Louisa's bravery to support her obtain through. Mr Gopnik's daughter Tabitha sometimes stays in the apartment and she is totally venomous to Agnes. Louisa finds her job to be quite stressful.Louisa gets very excited when Sam is due for his first visit for a long weekend, but it all falls rather flat. He has booked a hotel room for them to stay in, and it is rather dire. They go for a sightseeing walk, and Sam buys a stacked burrito from a meal truck in the road - and suffers from meal poisoning for the rest of the weekend, he only starts feeling better on Monday morning, when Louisa has to be at work by 07:30, and he has to go back to the airport. They both have insecurities about each other, on his next visit he finds out that she has a friend, Josh, and gets jealous, and thinks that Lou has changed because she is now used to living a wealthy life. She is jealous of his fresh work partner Katie, who she feels is trying to hook Sam, so this visit too is spoiled for both of themLouisa's job gets more difficult, Agnes makes demands of her that Louisa is uncomfortable with. Ultimately Mr. Gopnik finds out and demands answers. Louisa expects that Agnes will own up, but she doesn't, she lets Louisa be accused of theft, and obtain instantly dismissed, and thrown out of the apartment. Louisa soon finds somewhere to live, and another lady to assist, and her Fresh York life continues. Sadly her relationship with Sam deteriorates further, and they split up. She begins a relationship with Josh, but soon finds that it will not work. Then Sam starts writing to her, proper letters, coming in the mail. And she writes back. At latest they are really talking to each other as they should, smoothing out all their issues and really communicating. The letters are lovely! Louisa decides she wants to continue living in Fresh York for the time being, and problems an ultimatum to Sam, to meet her at a put that is necessary to him at 7pm on 25th July. When the day comes, reaching the put she suggested is very difficult, large queues and more than one viewing platform, she is twenty three mins late! Is he still there? Did he come at all?The book is filled with lovely characters and situations. Louisa is a joyous person who always finds the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. There is a lot of sadness in this book, but also a amazing deal of hope, and joy. Louisa is amazing at making thing right for other people, and you search yourself cheering her on every step of the way. Read it, this is a book to savour!I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher, and I am delighted to provide an honest review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    Still Me by Jojo Moyes is the third book in her series, Me Before You .We pick up Louisa's story after she has accepted the Fresh York job offer. Louisa and Sam have agreed to work on their relationship long distance. They have plans to email and video-chat. Visits planned for long weekends. They can do this. They both promised to try.Louisa's life working for the Gopnik family is busy, complicated, she must help the fresh Mrs. Gopnik out in society as best she can while maintaining a distance of employee/employer nfident that everything at home is worked out, Lily is with Mrs. Traynor, Treena and Thom are living in her flat in London, Sam is just a phone call or text away. She can do this!We follow Lou through her introduction to Fresh York high society (as the help), see her compassion reach out and work it's magic on those around her, and . see her create the absolute most of what life has to offer isn't long before things take a downward turn but in real Lou Clark fashion we watch ehr handle it with a British stiff(~ish) upper lip and search the best solution for all involved.I couldn't place this down, and absolutely devoured this third installment of Lou's story. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    This is the third book in a series that started with Me Before You and then After You. Louisa is the heroine in all three books starting with her ill-fated romance with quadriplegic Will Treynor and then finding love with Sam the Ambulance man and in this book she throws herself into the NYC stage by taking a job as an assistant to a very wealthy NY socialite. She is finding it difficult to maintain her own identity when there are so a lot of forces that seem to wish her to reinvent herself. Through the ups and downs can her love affair with Sam survive?Another page turner from Jojo Moyes. Louisa is every woman who has suffered tragedy and the determination to move forward. You will laugh and cry at the curves life throws at her but you will admire her fortitude. I highly recommend this standalone book but you will have fun it more if you read the previous two books first.I received this book free for review from the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Me: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:0

    Be careful what you say yes to. Better tip is seldom given. This book starts out with Louisa on her journey to America. A fresh life. A fresh job. Leaving her boyfriend, her home, her family. As the story progresses, we are reunited with our favorite characters as well as invested in a fresh batch. Louisa is typical meddling Louisa, with her fashion sense and her begin heart. Much like the other two books in this series, we follow her ups and downs, her victories and her losses and we wonder “now what has she gotten herself into?” All in all, an awesome book that once it got going, was extremely hard to place down. I would recommend this book to anyone who would like a reminder to have fun life to its fullest and be thankful for the small things.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Author Lisa Genova explores the dementia landscape through this work of fiction using the hero of Alice Howland, a cognitive psychology professor at Harvard, as our guide. She and her family are disbelieving when she is diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s at age 50, at the peak of both her professional and private life. The small mishaps written off to stress, fatigue, and carelessness now seem ominous harbingers of an eventual decay of her st dementia-related books are memoirs written by family caregivers since the diagnosed generally lack the stamina, organized thinking, self reflection and awareness to narrate their story. Their literary voice is silenced even before the disease literally destroys it. Genova’s approach, getting inside of Alice’s head as she goes about her day, while also describing non-afflicted peoples’ reaction to her increasingly bizarre and unsettling behavior, gives this book its intimate power. The reader sees the duality of the disease: who Alice thinks she is while others see who she is writing fiction in the third person, Genova, who is a neurologist as well as an author, gives us a realistic and first-hand insight into the thinking of the diagnosed and those who love them. The author describes medical testing, help groups, the loss of brain and body function, and the impact of the disease on individual and collective interests. Through a fictional character, Genova gives voice to the real-life sufferers of dementia.“Still Alice” is an astonishing and loving work of perspective and one of the best books about memory loss that I have read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    This haunting and special novel chronicles one woman's life as she slowly loses her identity to Alzheimer's. It's good. Some sections are very good. But it's also extremely ice's hero is beautifully drawn and the info of her medical condition are scary, fascinating and created me highly sympathetic. The novel's structure--each chapter taking put about a month apart over two years--is an effective method to present how the disease eats her alive over time.But so often the easy rules of amazing fiction writing aren't followed here, to the point where I wanted to leap in and begin making editorial notes in the margin. ("Show don't tell." "Make your info mirror your themes.")For starters, each hero says exactly what they feel and no descriptions carry any nuance or complexity. This means the book wears its themes on its proverbial sleeve, leaving readers with a lot of emotion but no meaning to tease condly, the writing itself is devoid of any rhythm or sense of beauty. The Alzheimer's itself does the massive lifting, as if Lisa Genova had pointed a camera at Alice and her family and allow them talk. She's reporting, not ly, there were times when Alice's functioning seemed almost normal and then a few pages later, she couldn't complete a primary task. If that's how Alzheimer's affects people it should have been mentioned, because otherwise it's not believable. Interestingly, the film, which I loved, didn't have this ere is so much to like in this novel, and with a year of writing classes under her belt Genova could be absolutely great. Here's hoping she signs up for a amazing fiction workshop.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Due to the topic matter hitting too close to home, I had to delay reading this wonderful book until I was ready to handle the topic matter. My father was diagnosed with dementia (not Alzheimer's) and was gradually going downhill cognitively while his body stayed healthy and fit. A WWII combat veteran, he had gone to college on the GI Bill, earned a degree in Mechanical Engineering, and worked in the field for over 50 years. In the early stages, watching his confusion over trying to comprehend instructions on how to install a water faucet (which was the type of task that came easily to him) was heartbreaking. After a heavy stroke, which significantly affected his communication skills and further decreased his brain function, his globe shrunk and he could no longer read a newspaper or follow a football android game on is book was an wonderful read and, written by a neuroscientist, gave an insight into what goes on in the mind of a patient with Alzheimer's. When you are on the outside, looking in, it's difficult to understand what happens inside the head of someone facing these diseases that strip people of their cognitive function. It is obvious from the story that the author not only has a large talent for writing, she did her research in trying to share the experience of the patient. She also shows how these diseases impact everyone around them and people react in very various ways. That was how it unfolded in my own family and was tough on everyone is is one of those novels that I would recommend to just about anyone. If you have no experience with the disease it will be enlightening. If you know someone who is touched by this, it will give you a window into the mind of your mate or loved one. A tough, difficult read at times but well worth it as it is a brilliant novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    A thoughtful, intimate look into the life of a remarkable woman who is diagnosed at the age of 50 with early-onset Alzheimer's. The form of her particular type of the disease is extremely rare and also may result the lives of her 3 adult children. Each has the option for genetic testing to search out if they have inherited the mutated gene which causes the disease and carries a 100% possibility that the person will suffer the same fate as their mother. Powerful hero development, an perfect plot, and rich medical detail are just some of the things that I liked about this book. Due to its topic matter, the reader may expect sorrow, despair, frustration, anguish. Alice's family is emotionally torn apart as they deal with the mental decline of a woman they know as wife, mother, teacher, and research scientist. Yet, the overall feeling is one of hope for the future with continued research perhaps one day leading to a definitive cure and/or fresh treatments to stop the disease from e book offers a Q & A with the author, plus some book-club ideas for discussion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    ***Audible Version********5 BIG SHINY, TEAR FILLED STARS!*****What a beautifully written book! This one definitely pulled at the heart strings and I loved the POV being from the hero suffering from the disability.I started listening to the audible ver of Still Alice one the method back from Virginia Tech to Nashville. The 6 hour drive - I probably cried no less than 4 times. I also purchased it in paperback and rented the film before e book is superb! The movie? It's amazing on its own - but doesn't keep a candle to the book! I would suggest watching the movie, and then reading the book (that's normally how I do it anyways). The book divulges so much deeper into the mindset of Alice and expands so much more on her struggles. The amazing thing about seeing the cover of the film before reading the book - I had a mental picture of Julianne Moore as the main hero - and Julianne Moore gave a amazing performance in the film as well!There were a couple of parts in the book where it mentioned "Alice's curly black hair" and I would just erase that from my brain and insert "Alice's straight red hair".Fantastic! I can't gush about it enough... and will probably never look at Alzheimer's Disease the same ever again. Easily going into my top favorites!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    I read this book because I have symptoms of early onset dementia. I don't wish to have it. I don't obtain to choose. I live in Podunk USA. So, it is difficult to be seen and/or to be taken seriously, by anyone. We certainly do not have the cream of the crop doctors to rely on. A lot of could and would say Alice is just getting older, menopausal, or under too much stress. Luckily, her daughter saw something that worried her which led to the beginning of her diagnosis. It is heartbreaking how quickly she declined. I will read this again to learn more about diagnosis process, and treatment. This book grabs you and you have to hold reading. Alice is a attractive person, so you cheer for her and are always in her corner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    This book has a amazing concept—Alzheimer's from the patient’s perspective, and it offers up some amazing clinical information. Unfortunately, it's the writing that is a major sticking point. The third person voice is awkward, particularly when focused on Alice’s inner journey and feelings. The writing has a disassociated feel where it reads more like a report than a private drama. I was hoping for an intense emotional connection, but instead found a static and shallow delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Even though I had already seen and loved the film which won the Best Actress Academy Award for Julianne Moore, the book was even better!!! I hated to see it end. The book is written from the perspective of Alice and everything she was feeling as the disease progressed. It begins with her being a 50-year-old professor of linguistics and psychology at Harvard University with a successful husband and three grown children. As the disease progresses and she forgets more and more necessary things, including being unable to search her method home from Harvard Square when she takes a run that she's taken a lot of times before. She even forgets to go to the airport for a conference in Chicago and misses her flight. She was fifty years old and felt like she might be losing her mind.I learned a lot about Alzheimers. My mother had the disease but she was older when she got it. Only ten percent of people with Alzheimer's have the early-onset form and are under sixty-five years old. The only method it's various from the older form is its cause usually has a powerful genetic linkage and it begins earlier. There's a couple of drugs for treating it, Aricept (which is what my mother took) and a newer one called Namenda. Neither is a cure but they slow the progression. Alice has a mutation that has a 50% possibility for each of her kids to inherit. That mutation has a 100% possibility of causing the disease. Pre-symptomatic genetic testing is available if they choose to know.I immediately found another book by Lisa Genova that I also loved because she is such an perfect writer! I wasn't at all disappointed with it either (Inside the O'Briens)! I'm sure I'll continue to read more of her books!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    What makes this book special is that Genova tells the story of early onset Alzheimer's from the vantage point of the patient, Alice. Like a lot of who are struck with Alzheimer's, Alice has a amazing mind at the onset. By her fifties, Alice had accomplished far beyond what most people hope to achieve academically in their life. Being menopausal she experiences symptoms that most women her age start to experience, but is troubled when she gets lost in a familiar place. Rather than brushing off her symptoms, she seeks medical stead of dwelling on the problems the caregiver's face such as cleaning up the mess after Alice destroys the kitchen or empties every drawer in her bedroom, Alice relates what she is doing. Cordova contains narrative such as the notes that saner Alice left for incapacitated Alice. We experience the later Alice trying to process and follow instructions she no longer understands. We see the frustration and compassion of family through Alice's increasingly blurry understanding of what is going ough the diagnosis is devastating, Alice faces it and opens up the globe of the patient. Readers experience vicariously what it must be like to lose one's awareness and identity. Like a lot of readers, I read the book because I have had experience with loved ones who suffered from dementia or Alzheimer's.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Still Alice review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    I read this book because I was curious to experience the source material for the fresh film with Julianne Moore. Being involved in healthcare marketing, I have written professionally about Alzheimer's care. In addition, some family members of mine, while I am not sure they had Alzheimer's per se, exhibited some sort of dementia toward the end of their lives, so the topic matter was particularly compelling to me. Initially I was place off by the rather pedestrian writing--no method would anyone consider this a "literary" novel. In fact, the book seemed so flat-footed in style that I almost did not obtain past the sample chapters on my Kindle. But I was curious enough to go ahead and take the possibility and purchase it. I must say that it ended up being fairly involving, and, strangely, the style that initially seemed so uninspired fit better and better as Alice's mental powers declined. And there was one moment when you realized that Alice was clearly becoming impaired that actually gave me chills, it was so neatly done--the reader is inside her mind as it happens, and it is a strong evocation of that strange disconnect and emptiness that must begin to take hold. Ultimately, the very simplicity of the prose had a strange and melancholy resonance and really seemed to convey her diminished cognitive abilities vividly and heartbreakingly. No one not in that situation can really know what it is like to be inside of the mind of someone with Alzheimer's, but the author's powers of empathy and imagination created this very sad story compelling and realistic. One could almost feel the crazy logic of clearly illogical behaviors of Alice and others with Alzheimer's--personality changes, chaotic actions with no clear rationale. I liked the fact that all of the characters were mixed bags--Alice's husband and kids were not always patient or noble, but that also seemed like true life, and the shared love of the family was believable. While, as other readers have noted, it probably wasn't strictly important to create the family quite so fabulously accomplished or sophisticated to have this be a compelling story, overall the book ended up being a worthwhile and moving read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    This is my first book by Ryan Holiday, and I must say, I'm not overly impressed. The book wavers back and forth between insightful and inane. There is some useful advice, to be sure, including the benefits of being fully present, limiting inputs to prevent info overload, cultivating silence, turning off your cell-phone, and embracing the Stoic virtues of optimism, honesty, courage, justice, toleration, gratitude, and wisdom. This is all amazing advice, if not necessarily original or better covered by other Stoic philosophers.But it is into the second part of the book where it all starts to fall apart, leading up to the cliche-fest that is the chapter titled “Accepting a Higher Power.” I obtain the unfortunate impression that Holiday doesn’t understand the difference between religion and philosophy. For someone supposedly well-versed in the practice of Stoicism, talk of “surrendering to a higher power” is entirely antithetical to the philosophy. Stoicism teaches us that the greatest goods are reason and virtue, and that the cultivation of virtue is entirely independent of anything external to ourselves and the people around writes, “There is no stillness to the mind that thinks of nothing but itself.” This is supposed to imply that some sort of religious faith in a higher power is important for a meaningful life, as if a sense of awe cannot be achieved by, for example, looking through the Hubble Zone Telescope, or that actually helping other people isn’t a better method to be selfless than praying. I’ll admit that I’m growing tired of reading authors projecting their own psychology into the text and assuming that those lacking religious faith are selfish and miserable. Science and humanism are enough for me, and for a lot of other Stoics, humanists, atheists, and agnostics, thank also betrays his lack of training as a professional philosopher when he insists, more than once, that if a lot of various people believed something in the past, it must be true. This “appeal to the bandwagon” fallacy is constantly repeated, with the implication that because belief in a deity was widespread in the past that it must be true. As Holiday writes, “That was the story with Lincoln. Like a lot of intelligent young people, he was an atheist early in life, but the trials of adulthood, especially the loss of his son and the horrors of the Civil War, turned him into a believer.” It’s interesting to note that Holiday doesn’t mention David Hume, Bertrand Russell, Jeremey Bentham, John Stuart Mill, Denis Diderot, John Dewey, and most contemporary philosophers and scientists that were or are atheists. (Diderot and Russell didn’t have simple lives, both being imprisoned for their beliefs. But neither “smart young person” recanted their atheism later in life.)And here’s some condescension for you: Holiday writes, in the chapter on accepting a higher power, “Perhaps you’re not ready to do that, to allow anything into your heart. That’s okay. There’s no rush. Just know that this step is begin to you. It’s waiting. And it will support restore you to sanity when you’re ready.”If you have fun being talked down to like this, you’ll love the book!The structure of the book is also somewhat redundant. It’s broken up into three parts: mind, spirit, and body. However, the chapters titled “Say No” and “Seek Solitude” in the body section are largely a repeat of the chapters titled “Limit Your Inputs” and “Cultivate Silence” in the mind section. There is, in fact, a lot of redundancy found throughout the book, along with a huge dose of empty phrases with small ere are, to be fair, some redeeming qualities. The numerous biographical info are interesting, and, again, there is some genuinely amazing advice, particularly when Holiday sticks closest to Stoicism. However, this is not something I could recommend. I think you’d be better off reading the classics of Stoicism or contemporary philosophers specializing in Stoicism like Massimo Pigliucci.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    Ryan Holiday is one of my absolute favorite writers. I thoroughly enjoyed The Obstacle Is the Way. Then Ego Is the Enemy. Then The Everyday Stoic. Then Perennial .. When Penguin Random House sent me an advance copy of this book (Thanks, guys!), I couldn't wait to read fact, one of the testimonials in the front of the book perfectly captures my sentiment. Screenwriter and director Brian Koppelman (Rounders, Ocean’s Thirteen and Billions) puts it this way: “I don’t have a lot of rules in life, but one I never break is: If Ryan Holiday writes a book, I read it as soon as I can obtain my hands on it.”

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    And Ryan's books are full of them! Even though I'm just digging in... I can confidently give a 5-star review because I've read virtually every book the author has ever published, and each one has had somekind of positive result on my life (or the life of those closest to me - especially The Obstacle Is The Way).With that said, I will provide a more detailed review as soon as I'm done reading in the coming days!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    Allow me begin this off by saying that I rarely write amazon book reviews, but in this case I feel compelled to because this is such a _Fabulous_ book. I've never taken so a lot of notes, and I'm not even through Part most everything Ryan writes in this book is Profound.With Ryan's specific direction and insight, and with your own discipline, you can EASILY become a better ver of yourself.Highly Recommended! I'd give it 6 stars if I could. Cheers!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    I have been waiting for this book to come out and was so excited when I got home from work Tuesday and found it on my doorstep. Ryan Holiday never disappoints. I have read all his books and have thoroughly enjoyed them all. I have only started this one. After reading the chapter on desire I decided not to buy copies for my family. This isn't a book for people who already practice mindfulness it is for those wrapped up in the world's stresses and busy lifestyles. It has a lot of amazing meaty history and philosophy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    Ryan's books are always amazing reads, and this one is no exception. I'm about 50 pages in, and I've already found a lot of material for my commonplace book. I think I'll be devouring the rest of this book very quickly!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    Preorder arrived today -- wet from pack being left in the rain -- but I decided to take a fast look anyway and then could not place it down. With excellently crafted stories of challenges faced on the paths to stillness, the book is never boring or too wordy. Never proselytizing. Really solid writing and thoughtful work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    Holiday never disappoints! From the very first word, this book pulls you in. Stillness is the Key entices you to reexamine your life and meditate on what stillness really means, how to use it, and most importantly why you need it. The 3 sections "Spirit, Mind, and Body" illustrate the three main pieces of your being, and the key to using stillness to concur them. Stillness is the Key is a must read for anyone who wishes to live a successful, fulfilling, tranquil life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    Extremely t the quality of thought as previous work. This one seems contrived, and shallow.Writing rambles on and is not clear and concise as the reader has come to expect.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Stillness Is the Key review [Book]  2019-11-27 18:0

    One of the staff asked for copies of this book to share with staff and I quickly glanced through it and approved the purchase. When I finally got around to reading it, realized it's just preachy, has no true substance and repeats the same mantra over and over again using "quotes and sayings" by other authors or e whole book is a regurgitation of what others basically said and there is no fresh or original thoughts presented. Lots of examples that will no resonate with a lot of people who are not familiar with sports or athletes as author uses examples from sports events.I would have returned the additional copies purchased by they had already been handed out to staff and none seemed impressed with the bonus lol I generally like this author but this was a lazy piece of work

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter