Read and still reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all and still reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    search and seizure case law [collin county case search]  2020-8-23 16:35
    [email protected]

    pacer case locator find agree with what google did to me fairfax county case find dc court case find my find the original source he has a amazing point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    My headline says it all. Amazing sound, amazing faith. Amy really is the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    I would recommend this album. Love the hymns and Amy's alto voice. Can't go wrong. Amazing and timeless worship tunes!

    0  


    Add your opinion on and still or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    I could use a lot of fluffy words to describe this attractive book because it is … beautiful.And yet, I required this book at this put in time in my life. I had visions and ideas that this book would read like all of the other teaching books of Ram @#$% but I was shown ere is a straight forward, simple to digest approach to this book. Ram narrates this book … rather than teaches and so in some little way, it fell a small short of my expectations.And yet … it was relatable, sweet, insightful and very relevant. I did search myself skipping over parts because … well, because they just bored me! I guess I don’t have to digest everything Ram has to say and I gave myself permission to jump forward … but only little jumps!There are very healing nuggets in this book that struck me straight to the core. The first time I pulled out my highlighter pen and my Post-it-note page saver tab, was on page 5; “But now I’m learning to take my healing into my own hands. Healing is not the same as curing, after all; healing does not mean going back to the method things were before, but rather allowing what is now to move us closer to raight away … reality check!!! How a lot of of us are trying to obtain back to some put that felt a hell of a lot more comfortable than it does currently?! There’s no going back, only allowing grace to present us a path forward from this moment. I was broadsided by this revelation … broadsided!There’s a gentle nudge to hold moving and Ram Dass is right along there with us. Pain, physical and emotional, is at the base of this book. With that being said, it's not a book of gloom and doom but rather a path of honoring and relinquishing old ways ... accepting a process. Aging is a process and if you’re like me, it’s a deep descent into the unknown black and murky waters. There’s no rule book to follow and each path is so various because each of us is so various and yet, Ram touches some put in all of us.I came to appreciate the zone I’m in and the path I will follow. I’m learning how to ‘Allow’ the process rather than war it and to honor the changes. The thing about changes is it’s an endless, never ceasing opportunity to judge because we don’t understand it. It can be frightening to not know what is event and what is coming and Ram will invite you to settle in and allow, love and appreciate the vast opportunity to draw closer to God. He his insights that he has gleaned from his own experiences and he will stories of those he was associated with or close to. I appreciate the stories because with each story, I found a piece of myself which always offered a moment of healing.I found this book to be very healing for me. I could relate to so much in this book and Ram’s own experiences. On page 185, “Before I had the stroke, I was full of fears about aging, and one of my major fears was about the sicknesses that might be lurking ahead. Gandhi says that before you can obtain to God, you’ve got to confront your fears.”I realize that not everyone is trying to obtain to God. There are those who have been on a path or are currently on a path to explore who they think they are … not so much who they think God is and yet, we’re all trying to obtain to that put of joy and peace. Whatever path we are taking, aging will enrich it, magnify it and draw us closer to all that we seek. It’s the judgments we attach to the process that mess us up.I may pick this book up again in another 5 or so years when I forget or when I am looking for some nourishment to support me digest the impeding changes. Sometimes I wish to stay young forever because there is innocence in the lack of wisdom and yet, understanding what I understand now is quite delicious and soul satisfying. It’s a rite of passage to age and if I can settle in, release the judgments and tap into the wisdom that is being imparted at each moment, there is a whole fresh life awaiting me.Welcome to the aging process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    This is an perfect read. American society does not provide any rituals or rites of passage for getting old. In fact, unlike other societies, we are deemed to be useless and often a burden to our family members. This book teaches one to look into one's inner self for the answers to a lot of unanswered questions. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for answers on transitioning to elder hood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    Ram @#$% touched on a lot of of the problems of aging. Some may seem to be superficially dealt with to those who don't meditate or contemplate the meaning behind what he is saying. i found his insights right on. If you are fresh to this type of reading/writing I suggest that you take it in little sections and create time to think about what is covered, even if you don't mediatate you will search that your mind responds to and recognizes the wisdom of his thoughts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    This is by far one of their worst albums, but it is beautiful funny... Six more words required. Suck it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    While true musicians struggle in clubs and on the street, the Meatmen actually had a record of sorts. Hearing the Meatmen live is ten times worse than hearing studio versions of their noise. Honestly, this sounds like retarded orangutangs were released onto a scene with instruments plugged in for them. You'd swear this is a live recording of primates jumping up and down on guitars while throwing feces at each other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    I've been a fan of Ram @#$% since the 70's, when a mate introduced me to "Be Here Now." That book influenced me like no forward to today, I have severe chronic thoracic back pain which restricts me to bed for all but a few hours per day (I'm 53). Everything about my life, or what's left of it, has changed. This book has helped me through, over and over. I read it, re-read it, and chew on passages over and over. The book stays on my bedstand constantly, so I can pick it up and read a section on Lonliness, Suffering, Loss of Role, Powerlessness, Depression, Facing Fear, Dependency, The Bonus of Service, Releasing the Past, Learning to Grieve, Shedding Attachment to the Future, Learning To Die, Preparing for Death, etc. The book is a treasure trove of wisdom, beautifully concieved and written with love and compassion for you, the reader.I have never been a religious person, and do not accept Ram Dass' own belief in reincarnation. But the pages of the book devoted to religious aspects are relatively few, and because the book is so profound and yet down to Earth, anyone, regardless of their private philosophy or religion, can benefit greatly from this wisdom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Not every song on an album can hit it "out of the park," but this album comes close. Amazing harmonies, amazing re-imagined (sometimes) older tunes. A amazing take on some overly-familiar stuff, and some fresh items to me. It's truly wonderful. I can't resist driving down the street singing. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Amy Grant is the reason I listen to Christian Melody today. I began as a teen when she was a teen and she was on the rise. Now she is just classy with everything she does. There are several re-rerelease but I never obtain tired of hearing her sing hyms especially. She is truly a bonus from God with a talent from God.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Love, Love, Love Amy Grant's interpretation of such attractive hymns that I grew up with. I found myself singing aloud with this CD. El Shaddai brings tears to me every time I hear Amy Grant sing it. She channels the comforting spirit of our Lord..Thank you Amy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    All Meatmen records should be in school libraries for the kids to learn from. Anyone who thinks they're a joke band should bite down on their ver of "Razamanazz."Check out Mighty High...In Drug Town if you like obnoxious rock.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    What an awesome perspective Ram @#$% gives in this book. I feel that anyone of any age would keep so much by reading Still Here. To be aware that the aging process is about accumulating experiences to not only support ourselves but others.....if we all concentrated on that what a better put we would be creating. Thank you Ram Dass!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    Here is a book continuing the path of support and service to others, except this time Ram @#$%, from a stroke, has more private experience in the receiving end of helpful service, which makes his book that much more meaningful.I'm jumping around, but here are some of the ideas raised in this is info to support cope and understand the habits of thinking that occur as the body gets older and death is approaching. In this he touches on how society values info over wisdom; the wisdom found in aged persons, how a lot of ancient cultures and spiritual teachings value elderly and wisdom, the spiritual over the material society, the eternal soul or jivaman and reincarnation, the ability to go outside the subjective self seeing three areas, the ego, the soul and the awareness level, the leap from self to awareness difficult for the ego as it signifies going home to what we are in union with God or the growing old we can shift from our loneliness to aloneness, objectively accepting what is without suffering or pushing away, anotherwards ways of developing a fresh frame of mind as the mind becomes older, we become newer; Zen mind Beginners minds. The wisdom in aging, "being" over role playing, the ego mind and the witness soul, how what we do is only a part of what we are, how others perceptions are their issues not ours, how to face the silence without rushing back into activity, how are dharma is our karma in the world, how to face ourselves in the show moment and drop our private histories and future obligations as the issue is not thinking of the past, but getting locked in the subjective waves of attachment - or race, culture, self-pity, etc. "The key to freedom is understanding that in the show moment, there is no time." p.135 By viewing all time or taking a time as the Sabbath or everyday meditation times we consider as sacred and from past and future, we can search the soul view, God, Awareness.We learn to take on the soul view of life with acceptance which equals wisdom. The soul can rest in silence, it needs no meanings, we allow the ego cease to tyrannize us, we embrace our fears over denial, escape the ego prison. If we take things slow in mindfulness, we cease the cruel rush of "time is money" or "time is efficiency," then we can taste the freedom of experiencing life and communicating with others - soul to soul communication - as he took his father to a childhood farm in two trips; one rushed, the other slow with the communication and connection.And as our bodies age we need to accept them. It is the ego which rejects as the king rejects the messenger or prophet with his news. We support ourselves by sitting in soul quietness over speaking. bringing listening calm over conveying our models of reality. In this as we can cope with pains by watching verses experiencing, letting it pass as the clouds pass ere is advise on learning how to die, knowing the Soul consciousness at the time of death in mindfulness to stabilized us through the tumult of dying. The dissolution of the ego structure, of the conceptual map by which we have chartered reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Amy Grant is fabulous and it is displayed in her melody in this collection!! She sings each song beautifully and having her husband, Vince Gill, accompany her makes it even better!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    Meat-it is what we thrive on. I originally got this album on cassette method back in high school, I traded away a cassette of 'Janette Jackson's Rhythm Nation 1814' to obtain it. I won on the trade! Listening to the album tonight, it reminds me why so a lot of live albums today, to place it simply, suck. THEY WEREN'T THE MEATMEN! There are bands that sound better on studio recordings, and then there are bands that can do it live. Bands that don't do it live have no future. Sadly,maybe they do today. Listen to this album, and obtain the full thrust of the Meatmen at the peak of their powers. They were amazing in the studio, but albums like 'Rock N' Roll Juggernaut' pale in comparison. This is nothing but pure balls, beaver and testosterone rock, skip the PC-these guys have no idea how to be correct. Hot spots-the whole album, but if I had to pick, I would say 'Turbo Rock', 'Abba, God and Me', and 'Wine, Wenches and Wheels;, which seems to me to sum up the essence the rockn'roll. You wish to feel like you were at the show, this is how you go. Pure rock and hate, undistilled by the politics of the day. Why does it not exist today?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    On this CD, Tesco Vee once again proves that he is punk's greatest frontman. I like the fact that Tesco never took himself too seriously. The band is very underrated. I would take this album over anything by Black Flag or The Misfits. If you like your rock 'n roll to be offensive and humorous, then I suggest you pick up this album. Every track is killer. All of their albums are worth buying. Also check out The Mad Samoans, Fear, The Dwarves, Antiseen, and The Nihilistics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    Think Judas Priest on nitrous oxide and that captures the essence of The Meatmen. This album mixes assassin guitar riffs and outlandish political incorrectness. Tesco Vee's chats between songs create 2 Live Squad sound like choir boys. It's too funny. I guess with George Harrison dead, they have to change "one down, three to go" to "two down, two to go." The "Suck Trilogy" is one for the ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    Simply turbo-changed elctro-shock punk at it's best!!!Buy it. Listen to 'LL CHANGE YOUR LIFE, CHEESE!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    My life radically changed in 1970-1971. Part of it was due to books, opening up the vistas of life. My mind was changed by what I read, and by what I did as a effect of what I read. BE HERE NOW by "Baba" Ram Das, introduced practices I still embrace. Nam Myoho Renge Kyo, for instance, helped supplement the psychedelics I was involved in using, and distributing. STILL HERE was amazing to read this year, published in 2000, after his stroke; there were parallels to my life: my father's strokes, his mates strokes, my cancer and treatment challenges. I am still here, after three deadly encounters (May 2009; July 2009; April 2012), so his theme of embracing death and dying is spot on. I can go on to read his later books with joy. I thank those who write to us with their life experiences with hope and determination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    I still wonder about / fear death, but this book has helped. I am not where Ram @#$% is, but I will continue to test to obtain there. This book was incredibly insightful. It created me feel that if Ram Dass has questions and moments of doubt and fear, then it is understandable that I would.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Amy breathes new life into these time honored Hymns. Beautifully and simply arranged. Finely crafted by Amy's subtle woodsy voice,gives these songs a honey toned 'texture.' Soothing and healing listening! Excellent accompaniment for devotion time with your first morning cup of coffee. Buy it! See the blessing you'll keep from hearing these promises of God!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Been a fan of Amy Grant since the early 80's and this album is like why I like her. Her deep roots into christian melody which come out so well in this album. Amazing to hear her singing a lot of of the best hymns of faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    What can I say about this live album other than "wow"! Live albums can be hit and miss mostly sound quality-wise, but The Meatmen shine in what was their best 80's line-up. The heavy, loud drums, the buzzsaw guitars, throbbing bass, and Tesco Vee's original rock-em sock-em snarly vocals are all here in full clarity. Even the old school songs like Lesbian Death Dirge, Meatmen Stomp, and Tooling For Anus sound better than their original studio recordings. Plus Tesco's comments in between songs are hilarious. Small known but totally classic and essential, The Meatmen created punk fun...and heavy! Obtain this if you like your punk loud, fast, and PC-free! To complete your Meatmen collection also obtain these: Toilet Slave, Pope On A Rope, R&R Juggernaut, Battle of the Superbikes I&II, and Tesco Vee's Hate Police album called Gonzo Hate Vibe. After you obtain those albums, only then will you be a real follower of all that is Meat....Tesco Vee! The Meatmen are gone but will never be forgotten! This album is totally recommended...big time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    I read "" Be Here Now" in the 70's so it is particularly fitting to read this second chapter of the life of Ram @#$%. As I am wrestling with health problems and aging, quite suddenly by the way, this bonus through Ram Dass is enlightening, practical and most of all comforting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying []  2020-1-21 20:46

    I marvel at how this man continues to inspire. Ram @#$%, you are awesome!This book is the excellent bonus for anyone who is dealing with the aging process - either their own or a loved one. Not only do our needs change as we age but so do our wants, as he eloquently points out. By the time I finished the book I was less attached to things that no longer served me and more curious about what lies ahead.I highly recommend this book for people of any age for whom aging is an issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    So, so attractive and lovely as my 85 yr old mother has chosen this (Psalms 46:10) with Amy's unbelievable take on it, to be played (GOD forgive) at her at being said. I have loved every one of Amy Grant and thank you Jesus, Vince Gill is on this one....be still my heart, j/k....I officially own every one of her masterpieces from "Im just a not good and lonely grape clutchen to the vine", (so young and gifted) to her very unbelievable pop songs, but thank GOD she goes back to those hymns that are so wonderfully arranged for this time in the world. LOVE IT!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still and Know...Hymns & Faith []  2020-6-16 19:18

    Gave as gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    I first bought this on cassette a dozen years ago. The remastering, though antique, makes this even steners will search here a band given to entertainment of the raucous kind--i.e. "Tooling For Anus" is the cleanest this for your clergyman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We're The Meatmen and You Still Suck []  2020-8-17 20:18

    The Meatmen is an angry, offensive, crazy classic punk rock band from Michigan. They're musically amazing and very amusing. Anyone who is into the punk genre should check this band out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    Attractive Poems from a Attractive woman. Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    Very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    Very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    Amazing documentary. Well researched and presented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    Nathaniel Rateliffe created a name for himself with a couple rowdy tunes that got everyone's attention but I myself liked Rateliffes 2 early albums that were beautifully composed ballads. I was wondering if he still possessed that writing in him and he delivers this gem , the latest song Rush On alone is worth the of buying! I love this album and look forward to more amazing melody by him!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    Love this CD. He is such a amazing song writer. I listen to this CD all the en him in concert a few times. Amazing in concert.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    I bought this copy as a loaner for friends. I truly treasure my copy of "The Accidental Buddhist". For anyone interested in Buddhism or meditation, it's an simple read, full of laughs and very reassuring for one trying to begin or reset a meditation practice. Laughing at Moore's experiences with his "monkey mind" and his attempts at being mindful has been very helpful to me as I pursue developing a practice. His survey of the different kinds of Buddhism practice in America takes some of the mystery out of what can appear to be conflicting and confusing instructions. It's a light read and one that I've re-read about every three years, just because I need encouragement and a amazing laugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    Chose this as one of my 2 books for trying audible. Enjoyed listening to this book. Narrator voice was good, would look for this narrator again. Story was enjoyable and I could easily relate to the main hero and what he went thru. I think anyone would have fun this not just someone exploring or practicing Buddhism. I would recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    I love Maya Angelou and her death was a amazing loss for all. This book is something that I have fun browsing through and reading but I was lucky enough to the Audible book at the same time and that is what makes this so worthwhile. Ms. Angelou is reading the poems and having her voice doing the reading is priceless. Its to soothing and meaningful to have her reading the poem to me, she locations the emphasis where she wants it so the meaning is more insightful for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    Angelou proclaims in verse, despite the persecution, despite the degradation "And Still I Rise." She is bloodied but not bowed. The whole country can join Angelou in this goodbye to conquer and to humiliation. Amazing book. I will another. Amazing Seller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    Not nice paper. Flimsy.Was not worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    Unbelievable coffee table book for those who prefer their African American History in bite-sized chunks. I am biased because I love most of Henry Louis Gates' work. This one is no various in its writing and illustrations but i really love the fact that it puts so much into so a lot of strong paragraphs. And I love the progression of history from past to current. Really amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    Amazing overview of the Afro-American zone after MLK. Using it as a background in teaching Afro-American poetry in High School.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    He's one of my favorite authors I enjoyed reading this book and feels it gives amazing insight to how far we've come but progress we still need to make.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    I enjoyed learning about things I didn't know about the people who paved the method for me to have a better life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    I'm a small late coming to this book, but I guess they search us just when we need them. And need it I have, and absolutely, so helpful in my own ongoing find for mindfulness and balance. I read it cover to cover in days, most unusual for me, and only want Professor Moore would write more books, or at least a blog on Buddhism, his adventures into spirituality and mindfulness, and how it has all helped him so a lot of years after the publication of this particular book. The Accidental Buddhist was a delight to read, offering vital concepts without preaching, the excellent balance that created reading it a joy. A deep bow of gratitude to Dinty W. Moore!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    "Accidental Buddhist" was exactly the book I was looking to discover. I have been searching for someone to explain the philosophy of Buddhism to me, instead of searching the "...for Dummies". Though I first started with the "dummy" book, I found more info through Dinty's encounters of "self discovery". I felt I was he having those same experiences and thoughts come about - I too suffer from "Mind Monkeys". I am glad to have a name for them now, as well as knowing I am not the only one who needs to obtain a chain for them.I was shopping in a local shop this past weekend, when I came upon several various Buddha statutes. Looking and looking at these delights, I saw one with gold coins. I questioned the the keeper about the gold coin buddhas."They are to bring your household money," he answers me."You are not to have attachments in Buddhism," I if straight from Dinty's mouth came the whole section about from "The Work Koan" chapter on the whole issue."In for us here in America to survive, we must have money, otherwise you are out in the road living on garbage," the Buddhist man told me.I thought I was rereading the book.If you are curious about Buddhism, especially in America, this is an perfect book to read,not to mention utterly hilarious reading. I was chuckling with every chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    "And Still I Rise" is a deservedly popular book of poems. Section 3 includes a lot of of this volume's best poems: "Still I Rise" declares a female courageousness. "Life Don't Frighten Me" is filled with pluck and determination. "On Aging" has a poignancy that anyone of a certain age can relate to. Finally, "Where We Belong, A Duet" has lovely back and forth shifting of point of view. Recommended for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    I mean...it's Maya Angelou!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    The melody is amazing but the pressing quality is not amazing there’s static throughout don’t know if I got a poor copy or if it’s the whole pressing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    Buddhism in America may strike you as a square peg ramming into a round hole, but if that's the case, why has the "religion" attracted so a lot of Americans? Something about our method of life must drive it... something about the quick pace and materialism of our culture must be whetting the appetite of these seekers. Thus, the premise of Dinty Moore's THE ACCIDENTAL BUDDHIST. Though now 10 years old, the book's chronicling of one man's find for Buddhist truth in America still flies because, well, neither America nor certainly Buddhism has changed ore visits monasteries, priests, Buddhist "concerts," retreats, and even individuals in his journey. All of this, of course, is flavored heavily with his own observations and doubts. Brought up a Catholic who was terrorized (in a sense) by his nun teachers in school, Moore wanted a gentler, kinder "God" over the punitive one he had come to know. He especially wanted a belief system that discounts Hell. Thus, it turns out, the idea and the book itself are a win/win proposition because the respond turns out to be no respond (proving the protean nature of Zen). Yes, Moore's definitions of common Buddhist terms (including a glossary at the end) are instructive, but his frustrations and compromises are even more so. With its sense of humor and self-effacing (Eureka!) manner, THE ACCIDENTAL BUDDHIST is a excellent fit for beginning Buddhists and those simply curious about its precepts alike. We are the book and the book is us, in other words. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    "And Still I Rise" is a deservedly popular book of poems. Section 3 includes a lot of of this volume's best poems: "Still I Rise" declares a female courageousness. "Life Don't Frighten Me" is filled with pluck and determination. "On Aging" has a poignancy that anyone of a certain age can relate to. Finally, "Where We Belong, A Duet" has lovely back and forth shifting of point of view. Recommended for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    I obtain goose bumps reading this book of poems 💕💕

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    Angelou proclaims in verse, despite the persecution, despite the degradation "And Still I Rise." She is bloodied but not bowed. The whole country can join Angelou in this goodbye to conquer and to humiliation. Amazing book. I will another. Amazing Seller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    She celebrates life's truths and reveals the truth in often told e was truly one of a kind. Wishing she were still here to speak the truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    I enjoyed this books because it brought back to memory a lot of my history that was forgotten. As I was reading the book I would go back and research the people or incidents that was written about and so a lot of memories were relived. It also makes me know that although a lot has been accomplished since the beginning date in this book, we still have a long method to go to eliminate racism and hatred in this country. Black history is very seldom taught in our schools anymore and I would like to see this book as a requirement for students to read to know and respect their history and what people did so that we could have the freedoms and liberties we have today. Kudos to the authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    Another sober triumph for Dr. s us where and how we need to grow, an a Nation. Thank you Dr. ller's DVD arrived on time, well packaged, in perfect condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    'And It's Still Alright' is a treasure. Nathaniel Rateliff is an wonderful singer, songwriter and musician. Strong music. It grabs your soul then rocks it with wonder. It's like laying on the grass on a hot summer night looking up at the stars, contemplating life, the vastness of the universe and our put in the two. Just beautiful. Peace. Love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    His voice is really unique. I heard the title track on the radio about a week ago and I just had to search out who this man was. Then I listened to the album on YouTube. I was sold! Its like a pop/country fusion, added with his very special flair. I am a fan and this album is amazing on long street trips!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    Best album so far!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    I love Maya Angelou and her death was a amazing loss for all. This book is something that I have fun browsing through and reading but I was lucky enough to the Audible book at the same time and that is what makes this so worthwhile. Ms. Angelou is reading the poems and having her voice doing the reading is priceless. Its to soothing and meaningful to have her reading the poem to me, she locations the emphasis where she wants it so the meaning is more insightful for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    I obtain goose bumps reading this book of poems 💕💕

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    Attractive Poems from a Attractive woman. Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    She celebrates life's truths and reveals the truth in often told e was truly one of a kind. Wishing she were still here to speak the truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    I read this after reading JW Coleman's much more academic, sociological discussion of "The Fresh Buddhism: the Western Transformation of an Ancient Tradition," (also on Amazon) some months earlier, and thought Dinty Moore's book would've created for a really amazing "companion, read, a chattier, more casual, and much more private look at the same phenomenon; the growing popularity of insight meditation, and buddhist philosophy, among affluent, highly educated seekers in the West. While I do want Mr. Moore's narrative was a bit deeper, he does a nice job of relating the similarities and differences in the practice he found at a major zen temple in NY State, a Theravadan community in West Virginia and Tibetan study group (can't recall where that was at the moment), and the problems raised when he spent time with the publishers of Tricycle Magazine at a huge buddhist happening in NYC, and with a couple trying to live their lives and run a little business in accord with buddhist ethics. A nice pleasant read for anyone fresh to the subject at hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    I thought this book was factual, funny and well written. It was an simple read and I finished it quickly. I found it hard to believe it was so old (1997), but still relevant. I wished it covered The Fresh Kadampa Tradition Buddhism, a sect of Tibetan Buddhism that I practice, but maybe it was less prevalent when the book was written. I would love to read more from this author especially if he did a follow-up. I kept thinking this book reads like a documentary one would search on Netflix or something. All in all I am glad I created this a part of my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    Outstanding album of singer-songwriter/Americana music. Quite various vibe from that on his albums with the Night Sweats. I've been listening to this album steadily for about a week and now when I place it on I feel like I'm welcoming back an old friend. When you feel that method about a set of fresh songs, you know those songs have connected to you. Some nice melodies and very effective vocals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    This album is really depressing, but aside from that, it's not a very amazing album. There are 2 amazing songs. The rest seem two raw and lack refinement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    I brought 5 copies and gave four as bonuses for Christmas. A nice addition to my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    I like Maya Angelou, because I love her wisdom, her passion, and her compassion. I became interested in her the very first time I heard something she had said about when you meet someone, and you obtain an impression ("believe it the first time"). In other words: ALWAYS trust your gut. Be confident, and know that the impression you obtain is the one that counts because it is the most immediate, and true. (And THAT, I used to hear it all the time from my Grandma, whom I adored! ;>))

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections): A Book of Poems []  2019-12-19 19:15

    Not nice paper. Flimsy.Was not worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    I’m thoroughly enjoying this book, recommended to me by my son. It is reassuring to search out that I am not alone with an incredibly active Monkey-Mind. Just reading and laughing is helping me be more show and aware. I couldn’t be happier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    This is a amazing small book that spares the reader lots of hard to pronounce or understand concepts. It is a simply written tale of one mans experience as he visits/attends retreats offered by the different schools of Buddhism in America and how he was able to learn from them. The author points out different aspects of each experience that he found to be either helpful or confusing as a newcommer to the entire realm of Buddhism. A amazing small book for those unsure of what to expect on their first retreat or from different types of retreats. Buy it, read it and have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Accidental Buddhist: Mindfulness, Enlightenment, and Sitting Still []  2020-1-19 22:29

    The Accidental Buddhist written by Dinty Moore is about Moore's journey into the globe of Buddhism. Moore's quest is to search out how Buddhism fits into American society. Throughout the book Moore goes to multiple retreats on various forms of Buddhism and seems to learn something from each visit. He visits a strict Zen monastery, and then he goes to a more laid back Tibetan retreat in Atlanta. Moore is amazed on how various the two teachings are, they are basically opposite but strive for the same goal. His other retreats involve going to see the Dalai Lama speak; he visits a special monastery in West Virginia, and another in the Carolinas. Finally he visits the first monastery he went to. This time around he gets more out of the experience. In the end he knows he is not enlightened by any means but feels that he is on the right path and is going to continue to use his fresh found tool to support him along the e book itself is an simple but enjoyable read. I really enjoyed it and it helped me learn things throughout my Buddhism class. I would recommend this book to anyone. The author is at times funny and place together a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    I like Maya Angelou, because I love her wisdom, her passion, and her compassion. I became interested in her the very first time I heard something she had said about when you meet someone, and you obtain an impression ("believe it the first time"). In other words: ALWAYS trust your gut. Be confident, and know that the impression you obtain is the one that counts because it is the most immediate, and true. (And THAT, I used to hear it all the time from my Grandma, whom I adored! ;>))

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: A Book of Poems []  2020-1-22 19:9

    I mean...it's Maya Angelou!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    I really enjoyed the entire book, so much I read it in 5-hours instead of 10-hours (funny hun) the PIC were even amazing people I had almost forgotten about... for me it's a must read for everyone who know or care about what we have gone through in the quest for our freedom and identity. Sincerely Tumbleweed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK []  2020-2-6 21:52

    A concise history of American history looking at the achievements of African Americans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    I love everything about this record. The color of the vinyl, the design, and most importantly, the music. Time Stands is easily one of my favorite songs from him and it'll be hard to beat. It was a amazing time listening to this latest night and just being able to relax and truly have fun the experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And It's Still Alright [LP][Coke Bottle Green] []  2020-6-16 19:16

    "And it's still alright" is a freaking amazing song! Bought the album just for that song and the rest are amazing as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Alice [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    ***Audible Version********5 BIG SHINY, TEAR FILLED STARS!*****What a beautifully written book! This one definitely pulled at the heart strings and I loved the POV being from the hero suffering from the disability.I started listening to the audible ver of Still Alice one the method back from Virginia Tech to Nashville. The 6 hour drive - I probably cried no less than 4 times. I also purchased it in paperback and rented the film before e book is superb! The movie? It's amazing on its own - but doesn't keep a candle to the book! I would suggest watching the movie, and then reading the book (that's normally how I do it anyways). The book divulges so much deeper into the mindset of Alice and expands so much more on her struggles. The amazing thing about seeing the cover of the film before reading the book - I had a mental picture of Julianne Moore as the main hero - and Julianne Moore gave a amazing performance in the film as well!There were a couple of parts in the book where it mentioned "Alice's curly black hair" and I would just erase that from my brain and insert "Alice's straight red hair".Fantastic! I can't gush about it enough... and will probably never look at Alzheimer's Disease the same ever again. Easily going into my top favorites!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Higher Still []  2019-12-24 20:58

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still []  2020-1-18 23:56

    David Kaufmann's melody is so uplifting. They are like attractive prayers. My heart is full and my spirit is light.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still []  2020-1-18 23:56

    Love this Cd. I heard the melody at a retreat and fell in love with it. You can it but very hard to fine original.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here []  2020-1-20 19:32

    I would highly recommend Rowan Blanchard's book 'Still Here' to everyone. The book gives you a look into the thoughts of a teenager in today's society along with poems and images to create 'Still Here' an perfect read for people of all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here []  2020-1-20 19:32

    Sometimes I forget the author’s as young as she is. She provides amazing insight on the state of the globe and also just her private feelings. I’m in college now but I want something like this had come out when I was in high school, or even middle school. This book forces you to really think for yourself. It shows you that it’s okay to have an opinion and you’re allowed to speak on it. You’re allowed to hate the method things are. You’re allowed to have feelings. You’re never too young to know how you feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still River []  2020-7-5 19:47

    super

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Country []  2020-6-29 19:54

    I am 80 years young and I grew up listening to "The Grand Ole Oprey","Louisiana Hay Ride" and a lot of more pure country stations. That was classic country and not the trash today they claim is country. Loretta Lynn's album "Still Country" is classic country sung by a classy lady. Loved this album and love her singing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Unforgettable []  2020-8-7 19:48

    I love this cd! It's another amazing collection from one of the greatest , Natalie Cole. Her vocals are smooth as silk, and the melody is fabulous! Still Unforgettable is a tour de force, and worth every penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Dancin []  2020-8-31 19:11

    I discovered Bryan Duncan back in the 1990s . His voice and his contemporary christian melody / songs he wrote and sung during that time represent a real bonus from God . There wasn't anyone then or now who could compete with him during those years . Every song was a revival of his special bonus . Sadly ,during the 2000s, his songs stopped flowing like a river . His melody sounded more like a fresh / inexperienced writer who wasn't being inspired by the Holy Spirit . This cd isn't amazing .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hold Still []  2020-9-12 19:0

    I enjoyed Keep Still, but it isn't a book I'd recommend to all my friends. It's like so a lot of other books about losing a mate and finding something they left behind. It was a very quick read, but also a massive subject. It is by no means a book to read sitting on the beach trying to relax (as I did).I would recommend this book to someone who is struggling with losing someone they love--by death or even just by physical or emotional distance. The protagonist struggles with understanding who she is without her best mate and ultimately comes to the realization that she does have other connections in the globe and can be a part of that globe without her deceased friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Tramaine []  2020-9-7 19:3

    very nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Alice [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    This haunting and special novel chronicles one woman's life as she slowly loses her identity to Alzheimer's. It's good. Some sections are very good. But it's also extremely ice's hero is beautifully drawn and the info of her medical condition are scary, fascinating and created me highly sympathetic. The novel's structure--each chapter taking put about a month apart over two years--is an effective method to present how the disease eats her alive over time.But so often the easy rules of amazing fiction writing aren't followed here, to the point where I wanted to leap in and begin making editorial notes in the margin. ("Show don't tell." "Make your info mirror your themes.")For starters, each hero says exactly what they feel and no descriptions carry any nuance or complexity. This means the book wears its themes on its proverbial sleeve, leaving readers with a lot of emotion but no meaning to tease condly, the writing itself is devoid of any rhythm or sense of beauty. The Alzheimer's itself does the massive lifting, as if Lisa Genova had pointed a camera at Alice and her family and allow them talk. She's reporting, not ly, there were times when Alice's functioning seemed almost normal and then a few pages later, she couldn't complete a primary task. If that's how Alzheimer's affects people it should have been mentioned, because otherwise it's not believable. Interestingly, the film, which I loved, didn't have this ere is so much to like in this novel, and with a year of writing classes under her belt Genova could be absolutely great. Here's hoping she signs up for a amazing fiction workshop.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Alice [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Even though I had already seen and loved the film which won the Best Actress Academy Award for Julianne Moore, the book was even better!!! I hated to see it end. The book is written from the perspective of Alice and everything she was feeling as the disease progressed. It begins with her being a 50-year-old professor of linguistics and psychology at Harvard University with a successful husband and three grown children. As the disease progresses and she forgets more and more necessary things, including being unable to search her method home from Harvard Square when she takes a run that she's taken a lot of times before. She even forgets to go to the airport for a conference in Chicago and misses her flight. She was fifty years old and felt like she might be losing her mind.I learned a lot about Alzheimers. My mother had the disease but she was older when she got it. Only ten percent of people with Alzheimer's have the early-onset form and are under sixty-five years old. The only method it's various from the older form is its cause usually has a powerful genetic linkage and it begins earlier. There's a couple of drugs for treating it, Aricept (which is what my mother took) and a newer one called Namenda. Neither is a cure but they slow the progression. Alice has a mutation that has a 50% possibility for each of her kids to inherit. That mutation has a 100% possibility of causing the disease. Pre-symptomatic genetic testing is available if they choose to know.I immediately found another book by Lisa Genova that I also loved because she is such an perfect writer! I wasn't at all disappointed with it either (Inside the O'Briens)! I'm sure I'll continue to read more of her books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Alice [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    I read this book because I was curious to experience the source material for the fresh film with Julianne Moore. Being involved in healthcare marketing, I have written professionally about Alzheimer's care. In addition, some family members of mine, while I am not sure they had Alzheimer's per se, exhibited some sort of dementia toward the end of their lives, so the topic matter was particularly compelling to me. Initially I was place off by the rather pedestrian writing--no method would anyone consider this a "literary" novel. In fact, the book seemed so flat-footed in style that I almost did not obtain past the sample chapters on my Kindle. But I was curious enough to go ahead and take the possibility and it. I must say that it ended up being fairly involving, and, strangely, the style that initially seemed so uninspired fit better and better as Alice's mental powers declined. And there was one moment when you realized that Alice was clearly becoming impaired that actually gave me chills, it was so neatly done--the reader is inside her mind as it happens, and it is a strong evocation of that strange disconnect and emptiness that must begin to take hold. Ultimately, the very simplicity of the prose had a strange and melancholy resonance and really seemed to convey her diminished cognitive abilities vividly and heartbreakingly. No one not in that situation can really know what it is like to be inside of the mind of someone with Alzheimer's, but the author's powers of empathy and imagination created this very sad story compelling and realistic. One could almost feel the crazy logic of clearly illogical behaviors of Alice and others with Alzheimer's--personality changes, chaotic actions with no clear rationale. I liked the fact that all of the characters were mixed bags--Alice's husband and kids were not always patient or noble, but that also seemed like true life, and the shared love of the family was believable. While, as other readers have noted, it probably wasn't strictly important to create the family quite so fabulously accomplished or sophisticated to have this be a compelling story, overall the book ended up being a worthwhile and moving read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here []  2020-1-20 19:32

    this book is so amazing. i recommend it to any person who wants an aesthetic-ly pleasing book but a book that also is super inspirational and amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Still Here []  2020-1-20 19:32

    I love this book as much I love Rowan. What a lovely soul of hers. This is basically how is a live of a teenager and what we feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still []  2020-1-18 23:56

    Wonderful, soothing, inspiring. I purchased this for the song that begins with the words "I've watched you child, trying to keep on to what you think will save you..." From the song, "You Cannot Go Beneath My Resting Arms." It's amazing for that time in your life when you know you need to move onto something fresh that God has waiting for you, but you just can't quite allow go of the familiar. I've played it so a lot of times, downloaded to iTunes. My Mother wanted this CD ver with more of David Kaufman's music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be Still []  2020-1-18 23:56

    This is a very soothing, comforting CD. David Kauffman is gifted. I have bought this as bonuses and recommended it to friends.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386