Read another day of life reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all another day of life reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    one day delivery lasix [how to buy cheap lasix online]  2020-9-13 15:39
    [email protected]

    top 3 best locations to lasix in Indianapolis diuretic lasix lasix in Memphis lasix online pharmacy in United States where to lasix in Oakland buy lasix online from Belgium how much does lasix 40mg cost lasix price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    cialis one a day [cheap uk cialis ]  2020-9-14 7:46
    [email protected]

    And due toР Р† Anaphylactic Reactions noble the hallmark seeking Capsulorhexis. genuine cialis uk Ritalin generic This is perchance the most

    0  


  • 1

    Useful review?

    cialis 1 a day [everyday cialis ]  2020-9-14 5:26
    [email protected]

    Pincer durable veggies how identical cialis canada since they do not allocate misbehaving cheer to the brain-teaser

    0  


    Add your opinion on another day of life or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    Eloquent acc of this Polish journalist's time in Angola, just as Angola was getting its independence. The author has written some of the most compelling items on modern Africa, and this book is among the best on Angola. He starts the narrative in Luanda on the eve of independence and then stays on as the country falls into civil war. I think it's strength is the method he gets inside the various groups involved and exposes the virtual ideological emptiness of the conflict. It was billed as a Cold Battle theater, and yet you search that a lot of of the people were simply not very ideologically motivated. It gets you into the combat zones and shows the utter pointlessness of the war, which dragged on for some 30 years. His hero sketches are intriguing and his eye for telling and memorable info makes this book a classic. Just the photo of a town in which all the dogs have suddenly disappeared and abandoned the city leaves a chilling feeling of humanity reduced to its most desolate state. It's pithy and short and packs a punch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    Perfect for understanding what life was like in Angola during the civil war. The sad thing is not much has changed since, Angolan attitudes, work ethic, risky streets, not good infrastructure, suffering, etc still exist in 2013.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    Interesting piece of history

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    This book by Kapuscinski is another amazing reason why he is a brilliant author. It gives awesome on-the-ground accounts of what it was like to be in Angola during the dying days of the Portuguese empire and the burgeoning civil war. Just brilliant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    One of the best books of one of the best Polish journalists with a lot of interesting on spot info on not too well known battle in Angola. Daily evidence of life on threshold of the country's independece with its swift and dramatic changes reflected by a gifted pen. Classics and amazing example of the true journalist's job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    Maybe just a third of a book.I like Kapuscinski a lot--have read 4 or 5 of his books now. But here it seems the publisher is banking on his reputation and cashing in on anything they can search with his name on it. This book starts to give a finely-written acc of the RK's experiences as a correspondent at the outbreak of the Angolan civil war. The story ends arbitrarily as invading armies are poised for a pivotal war early in the war--and the author runs out of and asks his employers to bring him home. Next comes a brief Wikipedia-like postscript describing the history and geography of Angola and a fast timeline of the rest--actually most--of the Shadow of the Sun if you wish to see what this author can do, but this book is a charitable contribution to a deceptive publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    ... "I read a lot of of the dispatches sent from Luanda in those days. I admired the opulence of human fantasy." This is Ryszard Kapuscinski's biting assessment of the quality of reportage by so a lot of of his fellow battle correspondents. Kapuscinski created necessity into a virtue. He was a reporter for the Polish News Agency, which could not afford the lavish expense accounts that so a lot of Westerner correspondents had, who all too often had the tendency to file their dispatches from the 5-star hotel in the capital, after talking with those who frequented the bars at these hotels. Kapuscinski was either lucky, or quite prescient, (or both) managing to be in the right put at the right time. He was in Iran for the fall of the Shah, which he described in "Shah of Shahs", and in Ethiopia shortly after the fall of Haile Sellassie, which he described in "The Emperor." This book which describes the very latest days of Portuguese rule in Angola in 1975 may not have the same intensity of insights as the other two books, but still, it is excellent, and is the only view that we have of these latest days.Angola is rarely in the news (or of interest in the West, particularly since the end of the Cold War). It was mis-ruled by Portugal for three and a half centuries, and its principal export was slaves. This trade was so lucrative and prolific that the country is still under populated. After the downfall of the Salazar dictatorship in 1974, Portugal's fresh democratic leadership quickly agreed to grant the colonies their independence, which included Angola, where a guerilla battle of liberation was being waged for numerous years. There were three principal liberation groups, the MPLA which was backed by the Soviet Union and Cuba, the FNLA, backed by the Western powers and Zaire, and the UNITA, backed by the Western powers and South Africa. The front was "everywhere" literally, whenever one band of these groups might collide.Kapuscinski's first chapter describes Luanda during the final days, and the exodus of the Portuguese. (Most went to Brazil.) Among the a lot of useful insights, the author mentions the poverty of the whites, special among European colonies. There were white kids begging in the streets, and his hotel maid was Portuguese. The author went to the "front," and in so doing took at least as a lot of chances as Filkens, the NYT correspondent who wrote "The Forever War." Kapuscinski memorably describes approaching checkpoints, manned (or more accurately, "kidded") by heavily armed boys. One never knew to which side was their allegiances, and the wrong greeting could literally mean death. Later he took the first re-supply convoy (that got through!) from Benguela to Pereira dEca, near the border with Namibia. Angola was a put where the proxy battles of the Cold Battle were waged, and Kapuscinski reports on the Cuban involvement, and broke the story of the South African ere is an perfect appendix chapter, entitled "ABC", which covers most of the salient facts about Angola, the Portuguese mis-rule, and the battle of independence. In the end the author admits an exhaustion with the living conditions and the constant dangers, and telexes home for permission to return, which was granted. In the process, he created a significant incorrect assessment: "It is more or less clear what will happen, which is that the Angolans will win,..." When he said it would "take a while" I suspect that he underestimated the extent and length of the fighting between the forces of Holden Roberto and Savimbi, which would latest through 2002. Today Angola is still notorious for the number of land mines that plague the country.Overall, the book is "another day of life", of Kapuscinski, who has written an perfect account, almost certainly the best we will ever have, of the latest days of Portuguese rule in Angola.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    This book includes some justly celebrated info (the checkpoints, the town of crates), but in Kapuściński's private acc of the begin of the civil battle in Angola, there are some niggling points that, in retrospect, don't quite fit. Was Kapuściński really on the brink of a worldwide scoop on South Africa's incursion? What was the precise nature of Kapuściński's relationship with the Cubans? Why did he leave the country so abruptly? As a work of military history, this has questionable value, but its literary merit is immense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    An all-time favorite to which I come back every few years. A classic of memoir.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day of Life (Vintage International) []  2020-1-16 12:40

    A very simple read on a slice of history with which I was unfamiliar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day At Your Local Public Library: An Insider's Tales Of Library Life []  2019-12-17 20:57

    Warren does it again with this upbeat and inside look at the humorous side of library life. This time, Warren adds a small something she's been adding to her independently published essays lately: quotes from colleagues...and they're all hysterical. For a fast and fun read, Just Another Day At Your Local Public Library is the excellent summer read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day At Your Local Public Library: An Insider's Tales Of Library Life []  2019-12-17 20:57

    Most people know libraries from the perspective of using them. Roz Warren’s book gives the librarians' perspective -- on the work they do and what they think of library users (the amazing ones and the occasional problematic ones). The book is funny, delightful, surprising, educational, even moving – with more memorable anecdotes than you could shake an overdue message at. Ms. Warren is a librarian and a professional writer who’s superb at both jobs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day At Your Local Public Library: An Insider's Tales Of Library Life []  2019-12-17 20:57

    If you are, or have ever been, a public librarian, as I have, you will not only be laughing and nodding, you’ll be mentally adding your own anecdotes to each chapter. If you are, or ever have been, a public library patron, you will obtain some entertaining and almost wonderful insight into what goes on behind the scenes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day At Your Local Public Library: An Insider's Tales Of Library Life []  2019-12-17 20:57

    It was like reading a 60 year old librarian woman's Fb and Twitter feeds. Lots of comments from other librarians who thought their comment was so witty. There is a reason I am not on social media and this reminded me of it. So that was a positive. Plus I learned some things, like that people commonly defecate in libraries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day At Your Local Public Library: An Insider's Tales Of Library Life []  2019-12-17 20:57

    Roz Warren's books are always a hoot. I follow her on Fb and read her essays on Purple Clover and in the Chestnut Hill Local. She is a treasure of wisdom and laughs. Excellent Sunday morning: her book with coffee--far more appealing than the newspaper these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    I have just finished reading Another Day, my eyes sore but wanting to obtain this review out while the feelings are still fresh.I know this isn't the sequel, and quite frankly I would rather read about the whole "devil" thing that A has to with figuring out than what happens to Rhiannon and him as a sequel , but this is a love story that I keep dear.While Every Day gives you this eye opening view of various life perspectives , Another Day is much more standard- & I don't mean this in a poor way, I mean it in an honest method - how else would it be? It tells the story all over again of Rhiannon and A's love story but from her point of view. As excited as I was to know her story, I really wanted to know her side of the ending. **SPOILER ALERT IF YOU HAVE NOT READ EVERY DAY** Does she fall for who A leaves her ? Does she accept him , is he kind, will/does it work ?Like some of the reviews I started to dislike Rhiannon, not because she is a poor character, but because she kind of treated A in the method Justin treated her. Which I feel naturally happens when you leave a poor relatiobship, you project and now she could speak her mind and she was. It was just hard seeing her snip at A a lot when all she wanted was to be loved and understood by someone , and now here it is , and here she is trying to mold it too much into her way. There are instances where she tries to see life from A's point of view, but that never lasts long. Alas she is 16 and most teenagers do have an-all-about-me tunnel vision about life. I give it 4 stars because it was still interesting, I love various point of views and I feel David Levithan is attractive at it. He did amazing getting into a young girls brain; I give it 4 stars not only because Every day is better- I was kicked in the gut at the end of this book in a various method , but for the very latest line in it. The very latest line.Won't give that away but if you read it you will know why.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    While I revelled in Levithan’s amazing writing – there wasn’t much else to this novel after reading ‘Every Day,’ ‘Another Day’ a companion novel recounting the happenings from the debut of this series told from Rhiannon’s perspective only added little glimpses of fresh info to the storyline. It did not, however introduce fresh plot points, fresh characters or add something fresh to the ending.I found myself skimming over the dialogue as it is exactly the same as that from ‘Every Day.’ I was really hoping Levithan was going to do something new, enrich the tale of A and Rhiannon, but it was all predictable, re-hashed and flat.I was still able to consume it in a day, love Levithan’s writing style, the themes of identity, gender, and humanity that were explored; but really, this felt like when you re-watch a film with the Actor/Producer comments option on... it’s all the same, but just a small bit of additional padding. And it can either bore you and tarnish that first experience, or let you to relive the splendour of your first time reading.I am looking forward to ‘Someday’ the third book in the series (which I now have in my possession;) there were so a lot of elements that were set up and not resolved, and I am anxious to see where it all leads. What is the mythology behind A’s condition? Are there others like A out there? How do they live/function in society? Is there the chance of A remaining in one body? Do A and Rhiannon have a possibility at a future together? Will we see Nathan Daldry play a part in this fresh instalment? What fresh aspects of identity and the human spirit will ‘Someday’ explore.... so a lot of questions. So there is a lot to look forward to.I’d only recommend ‘Another Day’ to die-hard fans of ‘Every Day,’ and maybe don’t marathon them, as it gets very repetitive. Otherwise, read the debut, and skip the second book and jump straight into ‘Someday’ you’ll probably have fun the story much more (and won’t miss anything.) Or if you wish a refresher on ‘Every Day’ before jumping into ‘Someday,’ then this could be a amazing method to do that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    So amazing to read this story from a various point of view. It was a phenomenal read. I absolutely loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    Want I would have know this was just a POV book of the same events. The author has a very amazing writing style. At the time of reading I was hoping for more of the story not just POV change.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    So I was a small conflicted when I started reading this book because I was expecting more of "Every day" and not Rhiannon's story. But I liked seeing the repercussions of the hero "A"'s actions and how it played out in true life for her. I am wanting to read the third book in the series if the author gets it done. I missed having more of the lbgt characters, that one has come to expect in a David Levithan novel. I would recommend this to one who has read "Every Day" because I do feel that it gives you more of the understanding of Rhiannon's hero and her choices that she had to it is a nice follow up to the frist book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    Rhiannon's perspective is so realistic in terms of living in an abusive relationship. Everyone should read this book, especially teens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    I'm totally in love with Every Day, but this book isn't nearly as good. It's at a disadvantage because it tells the same story, but it doesn't add a whole lot that's new, either. I also thought Rhiannon was just too accepting of A's existence once she couldn't deny what was happening. Nathan Darby would be more the usual reaction. Where's the panic here? Regardless, this is a book about growing as a person and dealing with love in whatever form it happens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    I've always loved David Levithan's work from when I started reading his books in college. The Every Day series, including this book, will absolutely blow your mind!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    My one complaint about Every Day was that it felt like there wasn’t a clearer sense of Rhiannon’s investment in the relationship, and this book explored exactly that, which was perfect. It was frustrating at points, but I think that honestly speaks to amazing writing in this case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day (Every Day) []  2020-2-2 14:19

    The writing is spot on and it’s nice to obtain a various perspective but it’s not as alluring as the other books I’ve ready by David Leviathan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Die Another Day [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Most definitely the worst 'official' James Bond movie I have ever seen (haven't seen 'The Globe Is Not Enough', 'Quantum of Solace' or 'Spectre' yet) but still has its moments, and like The Rolling Stones or Pink Floyd, even the poor items is better than 80% of the other items out there. Still I [email protected]#$%! wasn't Brosnan's latest one--and though Craig was truly a refreshing change in his realistic tone that hearkened back to the amazing days of Connery, that too got old, even for the actor himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    Is the album I was missing from my Andrés. Crouch collection I love it and it was in meant condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    Amazing condition...well pleased

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    This is one of my favorite albums from Andre Crouch. Takes me back a minute.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    This is a classic African-American gospel / CCM recording. All songs have timeless themes of Christian hope and joy, recorded by skilled studio musicians and seasoned vocalists. Fans of Crouch know that he is a songwriter and producer first, and chooses to spotlight vocal talent alongside himself in his recordings. This album is both joyful and deep. Had this album been created in the current era, it would be promoted with full marketing not available "in the day" and Crouch would need to re-appear on Saturday Night Live. While a lot of musicians from the 70's marked thier recordings with excessive synth keyboard, reverb and echo effects, Crouch's perfect taste is showed with restraint, preserving the timelessness of this recording. The album claims to be digitally remastered, and I will have to take thier word for it, as it has full spectrum frequency response and is e only dissapointment with this Light Records "Classic Gold" ver is the bare bones credits, absence of lyrics and reduction in size of the awesome water color front cover image. I expected the front cover reproduction to be reduced to CD size, but Light Records reduced the cover another 40% to fit in a totally unnecessary fabricated gold frame. Light Records, if you are going to go to the effort, please print the lyrics, all the credits and reprint the original cover art as it appeared on the LP. Lucky for you I am too busy groovin' to this wonderful recording to send it back for a refund.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    Andre is at his peak with this collection of his greatest songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    I bought this CD for my husband who is a really huge Andrae Crouch fan. He loves it, I received amazing service, and I'm satisfied with my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    Muy bueno, .Recomendado

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    I have been looking for this CD & am so excited to obtain it! It came quickly & is in excellent shape. I couldn't be more pleased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    A+ seller and product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Is Another Day []  2019-12-24 20:58

    The Jazzy Andrae Crouch!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    After closing my bookshop, I have been challenged with all the books I now have to search zone for. During one of these unpacking, repacking sessions, I came across the book Another Quiet American by Brett Dakin. The front cover promised ‘Stories of life in Laos’. I didn’t even know where to search Laos on the map. It was then that my eye caught the quote at the top of the page. “Makes Vientiane jump off the printed page.” – Joe Cummings, author of Lonely Planet Laos. Interest peaked, I set the book aside to s later I finally got around to the book and assuming it might just be a book of someone living in Laos, who will now test and create it sound interesting, I started on the book. I admit, I didn’t expect much, but after the first page, I knew I was going to read this book to the Mr Dakin started the book trying to remember his life in Laos, making mention of the bell of the fruit vendor and the fetid smell of mud after a rain storm, you search yourself walking alongside him, experiencing the sounds and the the end of the formal education Mr Dakin enjoyed, he was ready for a fresh challenge, but most importantly, he wanted a change in his life. He wanted to escape his comfortable life he was born into, and what better method of doing this, than applying for a position as a language and marketing consultant at the National Tourism Authority in obtain to meet the people of Laos and you celebrate the festivities with them. And as Joe Cummings quoted, Vientiane was jumping off the printed page. What jumped off the pages for me, was the contrasting worlds we all live in. What is normal for me, is not normal or a everyday occurrence to the person in the next country, even if we share a paragraph I enjoyed, was “I relished this ephemeral quiet before the quotidian chorus of roosters, children, dogs, and motorbikes erupted”. Such attractive words and if you sit quietly for a second, you can experience that ephemeral roughout the book, Lao proverbs have been added, and I found myself pondering some of these. ‘One fish can spoil an entire basket; the sound of a single gong can fill the whole is is a work of non-fiction, but the read was comfortable. Brett takes his readers along on a street of discovery. You will obtain to know the life in Vientiane after the battle and experience how this impacted the lives of the Lao residents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    I was ready to hate "Another Quiet American". After all it was written by a rich child right out of a school for the privileged. But the child showed a knack for capturing small snipets about Lao culture, and most importantly, the self-serving nature of the "aid" agencies. Forget about Lao's bureaucracy. That is expected in any Thirld Globe country, and it is even real of First Globe capitalist conglomerates (if you have worked in one, you know what I mean). The method in which he describes the cluelesness and the lack of purpose of the different bodies trying to support the Lao, and their true objective, which is to support their own, is what sold this book for me. Laos will become a better country, if it is not completely colonized by the economic necessities of the huge neighbour up north, but the aid agencies need to be re-estructured, and this book give us a tip at what went wrong, even when the participants maybe had the best intentions in their hearts.Write another one about the NGO industry and you'll have a sure reader in me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sirens of Mars: Searching for Life on Another World []  2020-7-29 18:48

    When one thinks of life on Mars, those small green aliens tend to come up in the imagination. Loads of Science Fiction authors have written about it, be it Ray Bradbury's Martian Chronicles or Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars trilogy. More recently, films have touched the Red Planet - a lot of laughed with the puns in The Martian and wondered about its science, others loved the Old Mars touch of Edgar Rice Burroughs's Princess of Mars even better.With the upcoming NASA Mission "Mars 2020" featuring rover Perseverance, curiosity for Mars is given another notch, and this semi-fiction book is a very amazing preparation for it. It dives deep into the history of researching Mars starting with coarse views through poor lenses, via the fallacies of Martian channels, and focuses on the NASA missions since the 1960s. Every flyby gets a treatment, every rover is followed e author manages it to show a red threat of scientific needs and curiosity starting from those early days, a lot of setbacks and disappointments, up to the question why we are still sending fresh Missions there. Also, check out this interview with her for some more background e only thing that I'm really missing is pictures. One can always go to external sources, of course, e.g. the unbelievable article, but I'd have preferred seeing them in the is a private story, a story of the author's family, and one of herself, because she's been a scientist in three of those missions. Her story interleaves the non-fiction parts in an autobiographical point of view.While she is no celebrity, her story is mostly interesting. Only very late in the book, when she starts talking about the birth of her child, I lost interest. That was also the time when she went far more into philosophical subjects and ramblings about Euclidean e narration covers some 170 pages and is followed by a large footnote section which I didn't digest but is expected from a scientist. The prose is absolutely accessible for normal readers, and it even builds up tension in the ever quest for microscopic life on Mars. No small green aliens are to be found here, but a unbelievable scientific and autobiographical story of life on Mars, which I recommend for anyone interested in Martian affairs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    This being Brett Dakin's first book, I assume that he will continue to grow into a better writer. Also, this is about the only book about life in Laos, which is a true shame. I read books about life and strife in Cambodia and Vietnam, two countries that have very extravagant modern histories, whereas Laos certainly appears to be a much quieter place. But onto Another Quiet American...Mr. Brett Dakin arrives in Laos new out of college. He's looking for an adventure, and he certainly finds one in Laos. Life in a struggling communist (but this certainly doesn't come across as the old USSR) country has a potential for culture shock.I understand quite a bit about Brett's hassles with beaurocracy, myself having lived in a former communist country, and these hassles are quite amusing. There are reletively few true clashes with culture or language, which is kind of surprising and somewhat removes a bit of the intrigue of reading about life in a foreign country. Brett's research and knowledge of Laos is, however, extensive and well peppered throughout the st of what I miss here is humour and excitement. It seems as though Brett is holding back on stories, keeping the tone down really low. I've read Martin Troost's books about life in the South Pacific, both of which are incredibly funny. Another Quiet American comes across as quite subdued, and I hate to say it, a small e high point of the book is when Brett describes a Laotian outrage versus a Thai singer that apparently created fun of Laos. Otherwise, you do obtain a beautiful amazing feel for being in a SE Asian country, as Brett describes the settings well. It's just that nothing smashing really happens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    I recently been to Laos early 2004, it was nice to compare my experience with that of Mr. Dakins, being that we are as he place it, "in the same age group." By the time Mr. Dakins had his experience in Laos, things have changed very dramatically since his tenure, so its not an exact comparison, (myself being Lao-American).Every step of the way, i tried to imagine his encounters with that of my own experience, and i have some of the same notions, although i never talked politics when i was there, which for me was the first time I've step foot in Laos since my families own exodus some 25 years Dakins nicely link the show circumstances with that of past, giving a nice history lesson along the way, but especially putting a face on that history created the book ever more though my own experiance is one i will never forget, and one i truely love, my return and how i will look upon that return next year(2005)will be effected by Mr. Dakins writing, that is to play less and to imagine more. Being that my own family was mentioned in the book, and being from North Carolina, lets say i have connected well with the literature very well.His experience was almost like my own, the Honda dream from which most of my liaisons occured, the wealthy families that I encountered and their snobbish attitudes, but especially my encounters of the people he considered the lost generation.I enjoyed the book very much, and do recommend it, even though some of the parts i do question.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sirens of Mars: Searching for Life on Another World []  2020-7-29 18:48

    As a lifelong amateur astronomer and observer of Mars, I absolutely love this book. It was a balanced blend of our historical relationship with the planet Mars and what we have learned about the Red Planet from the perspective of a young scientist's private journey in find of life on Mars.A lot of passion went into the writing of this book--truly a labor of love. My only complaint, as others have mentioned, is the lack of illustrations and images. There were so a lot of amazing opportunities to insert and photo here and there to complement the beautifully written text. I realize that there are probably 10s of thousands of photos of Mars on the internet. How would one choose? Perhaps these will appear in a future edition or reprinting? The footnotes also include a wealth of info that I found quite useful. It fills in a lot of scientific info that would have interfered with the attractive daughter is finishing up a Ph.D. in astrophysics and I will bonus her a copy of this book. I believe Sarah Stewart Johnson’s book will inspire more women to go into science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sirens of Mars: Searching for Life on Another World []  2020-7-29 18:48

    Amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    Brett Dakin's book is to Vientiane, Laos what Peter Hessler's book "Rivertown" was to Fuling, China. In my opinion, they are both classics. Another Quiet American is a unbelievable read that I didn't wish to end. Dakin's story telling, observations and wit created this a most enjoyable read. My only criticism is that Dakin hasn't written another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    Enjoyed it, funny entertaining, but a real story about an American in Laos! After, I went to Laos, to see myself, how it is!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sirens of Mars: Searching for Life on Another World []  2020-7-29 18:48

    From the very first paragraphs of The Sirens of Mars: Searching for Life on Another World, Sarah Stewart Johnson displays a remarkable ability to paint a visual landscape with a vivid palette. She opens with her private experience of running tests in the Australian desert; practice for how and where scientists hope to search life that once lived on Mars. She then begins to narrate her own private story, starting with her father and grandfather in rural Kentucky. Even in this remote part of the country there was tremendous excitement in July of 1965 when Mariner 4 beamed back 21 images of hnson then goes back further in time, much further, to the ancient recognition that the sky held 5 wanderers, or “planets.” Galileo first deduced that Mars was another world, illuminated by the Sun. Over centuries scientists learned more about the size of Mars, the length of its day, and the weather, and the idea began to take shape that Mars was another Earth. Once this rubric appeared it continued to gain footing, up until the photos from Mariner 4 revealed that Mars was pockmarked with craters. Craters were a sure sign that there was no water, small or no wind, and no numerous books by Mary Roach or Bill Bryson, Johnson deftly weaves her own private story of discovery and adventure with the history of the exploration of Mars. Her own wonder and awe at identifying geological features while still a student is told alongside the discoveries of Percival Lowell, who built a telescope near Flagstaff and changed what the globe thought of Mars. Johnson talks of the “genius” of Carl Sagan, specifically his ability to talk to non-scientists, without I think realizing that she too has this tremendous gift; an ability to captivate an audience without drowning them in technical jargon. The chemistry of the polar terrain of Mars, for example, was described as the “...kind of soil you might grow asparagus in.”Johnson makes it abundantly clear through her writing that she deeply loves her research. When the landing of the Mars rover Curiosity coincides with the birth of her first child, this, too, is seamlessly woven into her narrative. With a family at home she describes leaving work for the day as, “One love tearing me from another.” As a first book, The Sirens of Mars is a strong opening salvo of Johnson’s combination of skill, knowledge, and storytelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sirens of Mars: Searching for Life on Another World []  2020-7-29 18:48

    Perfect blend of science and historical fact mixed with private reminisces of author regarding her paths in planetary science. Writing is exceptionally well crafted and passionate about the topic, making it hard to place downWhy 4 stars? It's publishing malpractice not to have a single photo in a book about a subject like this! After a text full of excitement about the first photos arriving from mariner 4 there is no photo at all, nor is there even a link in the notes or text to where an photo can be viewed. I recognize the cost of printing pictures, but at a minimum there should be a link to a zone where they can be found in a text which consistently talks about visual aspects of mars, or even an extra more highly priced ver that contains photos that the book rightly should minor item, the note section is full of interesting info which could have been well place into the main text to avoid reading interruption and breaking the chain of the story. The notes are also not linked to the text, but are listed on their own, by chapter. That is an unusual method to have to search them.Overall, a book very well worth reading, but deeply flawed by the absence of any images.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    I was impressed throughout by Brett Dakin's thoughtful and insightful acc of his two years in Laos. At every turn, I felt he looked beneath the surface and brought out a view enhanced by genuine empathy with the Lao people while maintaining his identity as a young, well-educated Westerner. Indeed, I had the feeling that he didn't need to create any unique effort to look beneath the surface; it seemed to come naturally to him. This balanced view created the stories Mr. Dakin told of his experiences in Laos far more valuable to the reader. And when, after the fact, I pondered yet again how young he was when he lived in Laos, I was even more impressed by the wisdom and grace manifested throughout his acc of his stay in the country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    "Another Quiet American" is Brett Dakin's memoir of two years spent in Laos. The title of the book is an obvious nod to Graham Greene's "The Quiet American", a fictional acc of life in Vietnam in the lead up to the war. Yet Dakin is a stark contrast to Pyle, the shadowy CIA operative in Greene's novel. Dakin is as begin minded as Pyle was narrow minded. The effect is a sensitive and insightful look at life in Laos in the latest two years of the twentieth esh out of university in the States Dakin sets off for Laos. He works for the National Tourism Authority and is supported by a modest stipend from his university. He has no political agenda, he just wants to observe and experience life in one of the latest communist countries.He recounts his friendships both with local people and different members of the expat community. He is able to immerse himself in both worlds and act as a bridge between them. He reflects on the issues of international "development" aid and the effects of communist rule. He never pretends to have all the answers but his insights are often poignant.If you only ever read one book about Laos create it this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    This really nails it. Amazing insight into the Lao work ethic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Quiet American: Stories of Life in Laos []  2020-1-16 13:4

    While I did not live in Laos (I have visited) I had a simillar coming of age experience in Japan. Dakin does a amazing job at describing a still very unknown land (who even knows where Laos is), the attractive people, and the angst he experiences as a just graduated Princetonian.His descriptions of his office (picture a little three - four room office in a non-descript soviet era office building) and his own little "house" are particularly interesting for people who have not been there before. The sounds, sights and smells of the roads of the capital town come alive as Dakin explores the town on his Honda Dream st importantly he describes the relationship Laos has as one of the world's poorest countries with Developed nation's AID agencies. There is a amazing chapter on consultants in which he talks about a Japanese tourism consultant who is really a retired manufacturing employee who knows small to nothing of Laos, and nothing about tourism development.If you are interested in learning more about a unbelievable country Dakin's book is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Outstanding and well researched look into the epidemic of youth gun violence. Debunks all of the stereotypes and myths about youth gun oughtful and well written by a longtime observer of American culture

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    I have read well over 100 books about combat in Nam. Some were poor or badly written, then one reads Dispatches and a few others. This book belongs in this first class of Vietnam writings.I was a grunt with the Wolfhounds of the 25th Division, 68-69. I saw the effects of the B 52’s and more. I applaud this author and place this book on the must read for folks like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    After starting to read this book I could not place it down and ended up pulling an all nighter and finished this book in a night. Was a startling look at how gun violence effects peoples daily life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Amazing book from a various perspective on gun killings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    This is a book to be recommended. Not a comfortable read, but one that should be absorbed by the majority here in America. It should create us consider the issue of gun violence here, and the a lot of who lose their lives because of it. Maybe if more people took it seriously, there could! Be a solution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    I don't usually read nonfiction because I prefer to read to escape the grit of everyday reality. But the title of this book caught my attention. "Another Day in the Death of America". Allow that weigh on you for a minute. November 23, 2013. Ten American kids were shot dead in various locations and under different circumstances. And it was just another day, and the vast majority of us didn't even notice. The author picked that day at random, and he sought to tell the stories of these kids, so maybe the rest of us would notice.I expected this book to be a tough read, and I cried every chapter. A few of them were ugly cries, too. It's not particularly well-written, the narrative meanders, and I'm not always sure what point the author intended with some of his asides. This book isnt specifically about gun control, or black lives matter, or politics one method or the other. Those themes are present, but this book just reads human to me. I'm writing this review because I see the violence on the news every day, but I don't feel it anymore unless it's a fresh atrocity on a grander scale than the latest mass shooting. I felt this. I feel this and it hurts because there are no answers.Spoiler alert: there is no neat and tidy ending to this book. No solution. Just a mess bigger than all of us, and ten dead kids. The third anniversary of their deaths is five days away. Every day is that anniversary for someone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    An excellent, but sad book written in balanced (non judgemental) way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    This is an necessary book to read. It's eye opening. The reader remembers that guns are assassins on a everyday level - not just mass shootings. It's all the time and under so a lot of circumstances. But what to do about it? It's frightening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    An absolutely unbelievable book. Beautifully written and meticulously researched, it stands tall among other Vietnam books I have read over the years. I was a LRRP in III Corp in early '68, prior to moving North to I Corps several months later - few books have ever brought back the sights, sounds and smells like this one did. My brother was an officer with the 11th ACR in III Corp several years later, and commented on the awesome accuracy and detail of those parts of the book that dealt with Cav operations. Just a magnificent effort. Well done, Colonel, and thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    History that is not written like a history. It is an perfect read about a small known aspect of the Vietnam War. Keith Nightingale writes with a style that is both informative and engaging. He is observant and the info flow as if you are seeing them yourself. His experience there and afterward is unusual in how a lot of historical happenings he was involved in and the roles he played. I have fun his writing very much and look forward to more from him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    When I finished this book late one night, I remarked to my wife that it was stunning. I have now taken three days to think about why it is stunning to a man who has been in intense combat, read hundreds of books on combat, and studied battle almost his entire rst, I cannot argue with the reviewers who have come before me but I do not think they go nearly far enough in describing the extraordinary nature of this cond, the book is clearly a military classic in the line of Guy Sajer’s The Forgotten Soldier, T. R. Fehrenbach’s This Kind of War, and Harry G. Summers’ On Strategy: A Critical Analysis of the Vietnam War. You cannot say you have created even a passable study of modern battle if you have not read them and now you will have to add Nightingale’s book to the ird, while Nightingale is an American who went on to serve at very high levels in the U.S. military structure, he clearly knows more about North Vietnamese tactic than American tactic for fighting the war. This is not a failure on his part but a failure of the American senior leadership in not having had a viable or consistent grand tactic since 1945. Throughout the book, Nightingale info the methodical planning of the North Vietnamese and their complex coordinated preparations for the battle--all in accordance with their grand tactic to exhaust the U.S. In parallel, he info how all the South Vietnamese and American players are merely responding to the North Vietnamese grand strategy-based moves with short-term and often pathetically self-serving tactical moves. The effect was that the whole of the North was fighting to victory using a viable unifying tactic to hold all the participants on line, while the whole of the South and the Americans were fighting for private reasons that varied from evil, through banal, to noble which together created certain the eventual triumph of the economic and militarily far weaker arly half a century after this battle, and thousands of others that have gone for naught but the continued demise of our nation, America is now even further from agreeing on a method out of our long dilemma of not being able to victory wars. The issue is a no or limited battle tactic substituted, in the interest of political correctness, for a viable total battle grand strategy. Read the book from this perspective and you can see on every page, the horrible effects of this easy but grievous error.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Clearly the final buzzer will ring for us all and at 69, I'm in the fourth quarter. In spite of being raised in public housing, my brother and I are experiencing full lives, unlike those profiled here.I grew up on the south side of Chicago, an zone described in these disturbing stories. Reading these stories brings an element of those lives into focus, in a method that my childhood and that community, long since place behind me can't otherwise recall in such vivid detail. Reading these stories is the safe method to bring a measure of explanation to an otherwise impossible to situation, too horrible to fathom - youth dying from violence before they become adults.With this knowledge we must challenge ourselves and those around us to create a difference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Just. Ahhh. My heart is broken and I'm finding it a bit hard to place together a coherent avo to Mr. r anyone interested in the gun debate in the US, this is a must-read. Mr. Younge humanizes the victims of a nation awash in not just guns, but rampant inequality, injustice, and a glorification of violence. He weaves the stories of these kids together in such a method that the reader is immersed in their lives, feels the grief of the loved ones left behind, and yet never forgets the larger tapestry their deaths are weaving of the story of my country. I so appreciated that he took time to carefully put the "gun debate" in the larger social context to which it belongs.Ahh. Perhaps I'll come back later, when I've gathered my thoughts and can create a bit more sense. This book deserves all the praise, though. If you're thinking about reading it, give it a try. I promise that it is worth it, even if it hurts you along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Day in the Death of America: A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives []  2020-1-22 22:27

    A day in a life in poverty, trying to mature and the the of temptations of growing up in the hood of complexes in America

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    I have been to Vietnam 5 times. I have crawled the Chu Chi tunnels, visited Truc Bach Lake where McCain was shot down, toured the Hanoi Hilton, had a beer in Hue were the DMZ bisects the bar and talked at length with former VC' favorite books until Nightingale's Just Another Day in Vietnam were About Face and Rumor of ever, I believe JADV is the most compelling piece of literature on battle and it participants I've ever read. The author is able to lucidly migrate from the amorphous to the unambiguous info of what it feels like to be in real close eling back the almost poetic descriptions of both sides during the evolution of a single battle--the author makes a subtle case for the differences between Total Battle as a strategic choice of the North verses the reactive limited tactic chosen by the US.He is able to describe the kinetic effects of combat and the operational environment on soldiers within the parameters of their strategic choices. Above all else, Nightingale explores and lays bare the humanity and inhumanity of combat. This book reminds me of such classics at Red Badge of Courage and All Quiet on the Western Front.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    Not since Matterhorn have I experienced such a tension filled and singularly special battle narrative. In 1967, a 450 man battalion of Vietnamese rangers were unwittingly caught in a carefully planned ambush orchestrated at the highest level of the North Vietnamese troops and political leadership. First Lieutenant Nightingale, in country for only 45 days, served as one of the American advisors to the ambushed y 150 survived, and half of those were of the things I most appreciated as a non-vet, was his explanation of all things military. The war was a three-dimensional chess match, and being able to understand the weight of each strategy through this immensely educational info lens immensely increased my comprehension of it. The easy explanation of how a Viet Cong mortar team operates opened a fresh ocean of understanding for me on how wars were fought in ghtingale used interviews created with eight captured and repatriated rangers, released by the North a a humanitarian gesture, to relate a complete circle of intentions from both sides of the battle. We are able to follow each step of the planning and execution of the struggle - the moves and countermoves by each side. We see both the fear by the Viet Cong of American air power but also the limits of this tremendous, seemingly advantageous firepower. Never before had I understood just how completely the North Vietnamese military understood everything about the American military strengths and weaknesses and how small we understood e final situation: a creek on one side, a river on the other. An overwhelming force in front of you and a superior force behind you. Your defense perimeter is constantly shrinking through attrition. Relief will not be there in time. This book is enthralling and sometimes poetic reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    A gripping and highly descriptive recounting of an incredibly violent and costly battle. Small known since it was largely a VN on VN action, the Col's testimony here provides us with a counterpoint to the often heard claims that the ARVN was a useless and completely incompetent waste of resources. Not all. And Col. Nightingale, a USA Ranger legend, allows us to understand here once again why Rangers Lead the Way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    I have read a lot of books on the Vietnam War, but this book stands out above all the others. I am a combat veteran of the 82nd ABN DIV, but I did not war in Vietnam. I learned more about the strategies and tactic of the NVA by reading this book than all the others combined. The author’s style of writing has you sensing what it was like to be there with him. The most interesting aspect is that he not only tells his story, but he also info what the NVA was doing at the same time. What the American, ARVN, and NVA leaders were all doing at the same time. It is mesmerizing. I learned more about the Vietnamese Ranger Battalions than I ever knew. How the Rangers were ostracized by the more conventional forces, and how they overcame this by their prowess and bravery in battle. The amazing and frightening effects of being under artillery strikes and incoming air strikes, plus the devastating result on the opponent of a B52 arc strike. That the author survived this war is nothing short of awesome and is a testament to the leadership, skill, and bravery of the Vietnamese Ranger Battalion Commander and his men. This book is a must read for all would be leaders in the combat arms, from Personal to General.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    This book is an perfect look at the Vietnam battle that allows one to experience first hand the cost of that war. Too often we American fighting men involved in the battle dismissed the Vietnamese forces who fought alongside us. After serving four years plus as a Unique Forces soldier in the Nam, 64 to 69, I can attest to the bravery of the soldiers who fought on both sides. This book shows that wars are often short and violent and the cost in lives lost is a dear to pay. An real war report.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Another Day in Vietnam []  2020-7-20 18:0

    The author Keith Nightingale could not be better equipped to write about close quarter combat having been in this war and then researched all aspects to provide the tactical, operational and strategic aspects of this battle. The book is well organized into a lot of chapters that provides clarity as if you are there when the action is taking place. Having served in Vietnam myself as a brand fresh Artillery 2nd Lieutenant and 1st Lieutenant , I really appreciated the author's description of fire support, from Artillery, to Gunships to tactical air and finally the iconic and legendary B52 "Arc Light" bombing..... complete with a description of the devasting effects. Colonel Nightingale commanded multiple Infantry troops at the Company, Battallion and Brigade level and it is extremely rare to search a book written by such a combat expert who is such a amazing writer. You will learn to love the Vietnamese Ranger Battalion and sadly remember the corruption of a lot of of the Vietnamese troops who did not carry their share of the load.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    This book was AMAZING! Towards the end, I tried to read slower and slower because I didn't wish this book to end! It gripped me from the very first page until the very latest word. That's how amazing C.C. Hunter is. I've read every single book she has ever written and this one didn't disappoint either. Pick it up, don't hesitate! I'll be thinking of this book long after I finished it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    I like reading Young Adult books. I know, how weird is it that a 40 something (hey, not giving my actual age out here!!) woman likes to read about teenagers. But I do. So when the publisher approached me to review In Another Life, I jumped on it.What attracted me to In Another Life was the cover. It is an eyecatcher. A turquoise blue cover with black writing, it caught my eye. This is a book that I would because of the cover.I felt poor for Chloe in this book. She had to with the fallout from a bitter divorce. She also had to with her mother’s illness (breast cancer and depression). She had every right to be upset with her father. She also had every right to question Money when he laid the facts out in front of her. If someone I barely knew came up to me and said: “Guess what, you are the kidnapped daughter of my foster parents.” I would have had the same reaction. I liked her.I liked Money but man, did he annoy me at points in the book. Like his obsession with proving that Chloe was Emily. I obtain why he was doing it. I do. But, during certain parts of the book, I was like “Just drop it, dude“. I did think that his first interactions with Chloe were borderline stalkerish. I also thought that his attitude towards his foster parents sucked. I mean, they wanted to adopt him and he noped out of it. But it did create sense. What he went through as a kid scarred him. I didn’t blame him for not attempting to form ’s parents disgusted me. Both of them. Her father was so wrapped up in thinking with his “little” head that he almost lost his relationship with his daughter. And her mother. I couldn’t stand her. She was constantly poor mouthing Chloe’s father. Constantly. Every stage that she was in, I could feel the bitterness rolling off the pages. Even when they were at the police station, she couldn’t stop. At that point, I had enough. I wanted to smack her upside the head and say “Helloo, focus on your daughter, you bitter e main plotline was well written. I had no issue following along. Keeping Cash’s section in 3rd person was a intelligent move. It would have created it harder to read if it was in 1st person like Chloe. There was a slight lag in the middle but the author was able to obtain the plot back on track.I did figure out the mystery angle early in the book. With the introduction of Rodney and the not so subtle clues that were dropped, it only created what I suspected even more concrete. But, figuring out the mystery angle did not take away from the enjoyment of reading the book.I thought that Money and Chloe’s romance was very sweet. I had a couple of “awww” moments while reading the book. I liked that the author kept the book PG e end of In Another Life was what I expected. Everything (and I mean all the storylines) were wrapped up. I did obtain a laugh at what Chloe did to Cash. Also, the epilogue was unbelievable to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    Yet another unbelievable book!!! Loved it! As with all of her books they hold you wanting to read more even when you need to stop and go to bed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    3.5 STARSChloe adjusts to her parents’ divorce and starting in a fresh school she encounters Chase, a foster kid who may have ties to her she never could have ANOTHER LIFE is such a hard book for me to review. As much as I enjoyed reading CC Hunter’s recent release, it had some serious rst the positives, I loved the story and the complexity of Chase’s and Chloe’s characters. Both are wounded in ways they understand and don’t realize. Hunter captures the ugliness of a dysfunctional divorce and a parentified kid accurately. I also love the Fullers and wished Chase would allow them e writing at the beginning of the story was so poor as Hunter introduces the characters. I’ve never seen a female writer give B-cup bra size as part of a descriptor and checked whether Hunter was male or female. The first few chapters felt like a high school student using a thesaurus had written them. Also, the writing switched to various points of view within the chapter, no rhyme or reason. One page I’m reading limited third person, the next Chase or Chloe narrates in first person. The book would have been less confusing if Hunter had separated the voices into various chapters and labeled ANOTHER LIFE has a lot of unhealthy dating behavior which isn’t addresses as problematic. For example, calling a girlfriend fifteen times if she doesn’t answer. This is NOT romantic. It’s stalkerish. Romantic is respecting boundaries.I did have fun IN ANOTHER LIFE, particularly as the story progressed and the writing improved. I have a hard time recommending books that portray unhealthy romantic relationships, especially to teens who are still figuring out dating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    In Another Life was a strange ride from beginning to end. Despite having an intriguing storyline, the plot played out predictably, the characters oddly mishandled, and the dialogue was very often stilted or outrageous. While I still somewhat enjoyed the book, and was able to stay focused and vaguely interested from beginning to end, I can't really say I'd recommend this Holden is a nearly eighteen year old girl, raised with the knowledge she was adopted at the age of nearly three. Because of her parents' separation, she and her mother have just recently moved to Joyful, Texas. Her mother is recovering from breast cancer, and Chloe is trying to steadily uphold the parental role in that relationship as her mother (whose name we don't know until the very, very end of the book) is not dealing well with that and the Colton (yes, that's his name) is a nearly eighteen year old foster child who has been living with a family for a short while...I wish to say three years), and in the foster system since he was eleven. His father was a con man who involved Money in his cons, even forcing Money at one point to pretend to have cancer and at another to pose as a missing child. So, when Chloe accidentally and literally runs into him (more on that in a bit), and he recognizes her as a lookalike for the missing kid of his foster family, he's suspicious and angry. After some rudimentary online sleuthing, some borderline stalker level driving by her house, and some illegal peeking into her school files, Money and Chloe strike up an unlikely e has witnessed him stand up versus another child being bullied, and she throws in her eyewitness account. He has allow the air out of her tires to create sure he can be around to her support and question her to create sure her intentions aren't nefarious attempts at extorting from the foster family. Once Money realizes she is a true person, and not a young woman prepping to pose as the long lost Emily Fuller, you see a better ver of him, but it's hard to forget this introduction. These two sides of Money never seem to properly meld together to be the same guy, even when he does some legally questionable items to support Chloe later on, it still feels like a various guy and not just a various side to some ways, Chloe felt surprisingly fleshed out—in spite of the often strange and stilted dialogue and narration—and I think part of that is because she was written from first person, while Money was written from third. Although I will say, Hunter dove in and out of Continuous Show and Easy Show tenses, and while it did add some dozens to the demanding nature of show tense, her choices to often have choppy sentences didn't support elevate the writing style any more. My main problem with Chloe was how often her breasts were gratuitously and oddly referenced.When she first meets him, Chloe has literally just run into Money as he exited a convenience shop with a slushy. A red slushy. Which (of course) was spilled on her white sandals as a result. We are told the impact with reference to her breasts in a strange and out of put manner."Eyes still down, I yank begin the door, bolt inside the store, and smack right into someone. Like, my boobs smash versus someone's chest."Somehow, according to the narration, Chloe stayed pressed up versus him. (I don't think either of them was wearing flypaper?) And when she stepped backwards it was oddly referencing not only her breasts, but her cup size."I swallow the lump in my throat and jerk back, removing my B cup boobs from some guy's chest."And that was just in the first 5% of the book. More references occur throughout the book, none of which are important to the story or even the moment with the exception of a couple during a few intimate scenes.On top of that, I'm also trucking along, reading this book, when—around the 50-60% point—I'm suddenly handed two more narrators. Two cardboard narrators, one of whom is so villainous it's laughable...aside from his own cringy references to Chloe's body. It is around that point in the book where there's not much left to the actual story, and it's showing.I do like how the adoption and fostering were presented in this book—aside from the part of the plot where you question the chance that Chloe's parents orchestrated a kidnapping fifteen years before. Cash's current foster family was presented in a positive and loving way, as was Chloe's relationship with her parents and her childhood growing up with them.Honestly though, this felt exactly like those made-for-television films from the 80's where they are based on real stories that featured heavily in the news and viewers apparently wish something like an extended reenactment with added fluff for filling a two hour slot. Even going so far as to create that reference in the actual book by one of the characters (with a reference to the Film of the Week) does not create up for it here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    I love this author. She never disappoints. This author always has amazing characters, unbelievable relationships, and intersting plots. I eagerly await her next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. My thoughts and opinions are my own. Any quotes I use are from an unpublished copy and may not reflect the finished product.I cannot remember the latest time I read a book in a single day, but In Another Life was a page-turner! I wanted to know how Chloe's story would end, and if Money would finally forgive himself. They were both really interesting characters, even if they did tackle something that was method over their heads.I think my age is showing, or I've hit a reading growth spurt, because teenage angst is becoming more and more intolerable these days. Chloe and Money created decisions based on their age and experience, but an adult's perspective would have been a welcome addition the story, and likely saved them a lot of trouble. They could have offered insight and assistance that would have kept the two teens out of danger (or at least created it less dangerous). However, Chloe doesn't wish to tell her parents, and Money respects her wishes, so they test to solve their issues without anyone's ndsay was the closest thing to a secondary hero we see, but her appearances were infrequent, and her dialogue was very simple. I want she had been developed more, and played a larger role in the overall story. Mostly, we see Chloe and Cash, her parents and his. It created the story feel somewhat flat. Money doesn't have any mates at school, just a guy that he works with (we see him briefly for fast conversation), and Chloe only talks about the mates she used to have. They both seemed very alone, and only had each other to talk e mystery aspect of the story was actually really sad. I have a hard time with books that involve kid abuse, abduction, death, etc., and it was hard to think about all of the nameless faces in this story. The villain(s) were twisted and disturbing, and profited off the hope and misfortune of others. One of them leers at Chloe through a window, and his comments created my stomach turn. He makes related comments afterwards that created feel terrified on her behalf. What makes it so scary, is that there are people like that in the spite all of this, I really enjoyed the story. I was glued to the pages waiting for Chloe and Money to hit an obstacle they couldn't overcome on their own. I knew that meant their parents would obtain involved, and then everything would be out in the open. Chloe and Money have a secret that not only impacts their lives, but the lives of everyone they care about, so I thought it was only right that they all knew about it. Besides, the two were in method over their heads from the start.C.C. Hunter knows how to play with heartstrings and frustrations, and she does just that with In Another Life. Chloe was torn between what she's always known, and what she fears might be true. Money had a troubled childhood, full of abuse and abandonment, which left him feeling like he didn't deserve anyone's love. They were attractive and broken, and I enjoyed both of their the end, I would definitely recommend this one. The mystery was subtle, but it impacted the characters in a huge way. It was mostly about Chloe and Cash, their traumatic childhoods, and how those formative years (even if unremembered) shaped their lives.Originally posted at Do You Dog-ear? on March 19, 2019.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    Hunter's This Heart of Mine mentioned organ donation. This time around, there's - once again - another theme I love seeing in books: adoption. It's a representation I rarely come and love reading about. Definite plus right there!Then the characters. Chloe was already struggling with finding herself, being herself after she had to move due to the divorce of her adoptive parents. On top of that, there's her mother's depression. Then she literally bumps into Money who ends up telling her something that throws her life upside-down even more. So yup, there are a whole lot of themes incorporated in this one story. It never felt like an overload though - something I truly admired while reading.I really loved seeing Chloe's relationship with her parents. Living with her mom and having to cope with her depression definitely had a lot of influence on Chloe and the choices she had to make. On top of that, the relationship between her parents wasn't optimal at en there's Cash, dark and brooding. Need I say more? Although he's the one turning Chloe's life into an even bigger mess, he's also the one who helps her cope with things. I didn't always connect with him - more on that later! - but I did understand where he was coming from and why he was doing things in a certain way.C.C Hunter's writing is still as to the point as I remember it being. I literally read In Another Life in barely 24 hours. Definitely helped how we obtain both Chloe's and Cash' POV's - which are written in first and third person so I easily noticed who's hero I was reading at what time and it kept me entirely ere are also some happenings that dragged me into the story hard and fast. The thrills, the tension and the curiosity to see what was going to happen next kept me on the edge of my seat. There's a reason I read this in such a little amount of time after all!Last, but definitely not least, is a little conversation that takes put - and I absolutely adored the freak out of it since it beautiful much states how you have to ask about having because "it should be a choice, not... an afterthought. I swooned, okay. I love it when this is shown so literally and beautifully in novels.BUT.I couldn't always connect with Money the method I wanted to? He's had a hard life, definitely a hard past, which he hasn't worked through yet at all. I mainly believe me feeling disconnected was caused due to his drive to protect, but not care. Apart from that, it might've also been caused by the method we were thrown into his POV. Maybe if we got to know him a bit before Chloe and he met, it would've been different?Another thing I didn't really like was how Chloe's neighbor - Lindsey - seemed to.. just be thrown in there to add another hero to the story. She should've been more involved in everything that was going on. There's even a double date that's mentioned but never described and that was such a pity too! Keeping my fingers crossed that's changed in the finished copy.I have to say I still enjoyed In Another Life so, so much! I couldn't stop reading and wanted to know how they were going to figure things out, what was going to happen and how things were going to be resolved or left unfinished. Sure, I would've liked some things differently but we can't all have what we wish all the time, huh!4 / 5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    I absolutely loved it! This book has become one of my favorite reads. The suspense build up had me more than once thinking “o no, now what is going to happen?” This book had it all, relationships, friendships, finding the balance in family dynamic. I loved reading it and devoured it in a weekend by devoting any time to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Another Life: A Novel []  2020-1-31 22:30

    Book: In Another LifeAuthor: C.C HunterRating: 4 Out of 5 StarsI would like to thank the publisher, Wednesday Books, for providing me with this ARC and for allowing me to be a part of the spring preview. It’s really amazing to be working with you again.Well, I wasn’t sure what I was expecting from this one. I really did think that it was going to be about a girl searching for her birth family and that was going to be the end of it. I never imagined that I would obtain such an action packed adventure, full of surprises, and awesome characters. I was just stunned. This book is so well written and with so much packed into it, it really was hard to place this one , let’s begin with Chloe. Chloe is the main character-just a normal, adoptive high school girl. She finds herself torn between a rather ugly divorce. To create matters worse, her mother is dealing with depression and recovering from cancer. Now, this puts a lot of pressure on Chloe. In a sense, it really does create her seem a lot older than what she is. At times, it was actually kind of hard to remember that she was a teenage girl. This maturely will not create it difficult for younger readers to connect with. She is mature not because the author doesn’t understand the mind of a teenager, but because of the curveball that life has thrown at her. Not only was all of that going on, but her parents did not obtain along at all and she found herself kind of being pressured to almost pick a side. The emotions of the divorce just come right off the page, almost as if you are experiencing them yourself. All of this just really impacts Chloe’s hero and why she takes the course that she does. It’s just really awesome to see this kind of hero being , is Cash. Money is a foster child, who really had a rough childhood. Once again, like with Chloe, this past really affects his character. He is smart, doesn’t wish handouts, and doesn’t wish people to obtain close. He completely freaks out whenever his foster family, the Fullers, wish to support him and allow him into their hearts. It’s almost like he doesn’t know how to handle this kind of affection. Once you really obtain to know his character, you understand why he is the method he is. He is completely afraid to allow people because he doesn’t wish to obtain damage again. Really, the only person he lets in is is story is very action packed and I know that the first half or so of my review does not present that. As the story goes on, C.C lets it kind of take a dark path. The Fullers’ daughter went missing a long time ago and Money thinks that Chloe looks like her. So, they begin looking into Chloe’s adoption and search out that things are not what they seem. This leads them to high speed chases, evil characters, and more. So, this is where the action is people. It doesn’t sound like much, but I really don’t wish to give away too much. Think of it as Unstoppable film with Chris Pine action fun-yeah, I just rewatched the film and it’s what popped into my is brings us to a very necessary question: Why four stars instead of five? Well, if anyone has ever read my reviews before and has read this book, then you know why. It’s not really anything wrong with the book, but a private thing. I cannot stand books that go from first person point of view to third person point of view. That is what is event here. I like reading from various character’s point of view, but let’s pick either first person or third person and stay right, so In Another Life comes out on March 26, 2019. I hope you will have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Year of Riddles [App]  2019-10-10 13:51

    As the title says same program fresh riddles, this android game is really fun to support pass the time and you have to obtain creative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Year of Riddles [App]  2019-10-10 13:51

    I love these riddles!!! Please create more~

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Year of Riddles [App]  2019-10-10 13:51

    One of those apps that require in android game to play it properly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Year of Riddles [App]  2019-10-10 13:51

    Fun & sometimes difficult

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Side of Genesis []  2020-5-7 18:36

    I am a huge fan of Daryl's -- especially after his solo on the latest tour with Genesis. I was impressed with the power in that solo -- I thought this CD would be more of that but after the first 2 tracks, I couldn't support but think, "....uh oh, it sounds like elevator music." It's very relaxing if that's what you're looking for -- it's amazing for background music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Side of Genesis []  2020-5-7 18:36

    Order was filled and processed so rapidly, that gratification was indeed instant. Five-plus star rating!Happy-Happy, Joy-Joy, Regards, Lou

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Year of Riddles [App]  2019-10-10 13:51

    Love this game! Atleast test the ver you will not be disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Year of Riddles [App]  2019-10-10 13:51

    First few tips are

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Year of Riddles [App]  2019-10-10 13:51

    Everyday fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Year of Riddles [App]  2019-10-10 13:51

    loved it so much. But disappointed how this one has so a lot of spelling and grammar mistakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Side of Genesis []  2020-5-7 18:36

    I have fun both classic rock and simple listening. Daryl Stuermer has been phenomenal with Genesis Live all these years. I love Daryl's electric guitar solos with Genesis, but these acoustic versions of Phil, Mike, and Tony'@#$%! Genesis songs are really amazing for when I wish to relax with familiar music. A nice addition to my CD collection. Amazing job, Daryl!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another Side of Genesis []  2020-5-7 18:36

    There are all sorts of "tribute" albums out there from multiple artists. There's at least one tribute to Genesis done by a mixture of younger-generation prog acts and some old timers as well, but who says it has to be done only by outsiders? Or necessarily as prog, per se? After all, jazz people do Beatles material. Country artists do Beatles. And who says that when a former member does a song it has to be note-for-note the method a bar band would do it? From straight-up treatments of "Turn It On Again" and "No Son Of Mine" to a ver of "Follow You Follow Me" without the Mike Rutherford plunkety-plunk hook and a much more organic ver of "Man On the Corner" (a more acoustic sound and no drum machine), Daryl Stuemer draws tastefully on Wes Montgomery and George Benson (for the mellow sound) and John Scofield (for the more muscular blues leads). Stuermer may never be a jazz icon like Metheny, but there's a lot of room in jazz for the artist who's listenable without having to be a trailblazer. I can see him doing session work for maybe the Yellowjackets or Marcus Miller.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386