Read antarctic wildlife guide reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all antarctic wildlife guide reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife Guide [App]  2019-11-9 13:36

    Can you please tell me how I can the species specifications? Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    Photos are very clear, comments very helpful. Especially helpful for species identification. And a very enjoyable read as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    Simple to use, nice pictures, and a amazing method to ID critters by either organism type (bird, whale, etc.) or by travel region (Shetland Islands, Upper Peninsula, etc.). As a non-birder, I appreciated that the bird IDs included clear pictures of birds of various sexes/color variants in flight, swimming, etc. This book created it simple to ID what we were seeing on our trip to Antarctica.

    0  


    Add your opinion on antarctic wildlife guide or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    This book is a must have if you're planning on visiting Antarctica. It has amazing pictures and diagrams on how to spot whales and tell them apart. I found myself referencing it every day to identify the animals that we saw during our journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    Frankly, a lot of of the books I've read on Antarctic Wildlife has been disappointing. I'm interested in wildlife identification so I know what I'm looking at, and to search out info about the animals to understand what I'm seeing. I also wish to be able to know, in advance, what I can expect to see as I travel through Antarctica. This book is very amazing in the attributes I want, and its photographs are perfect for adult animal identification. I [email protected]#$%! had just a bit more detail, especially about the animal's life cycle and more images of the animals to see more differences between juveniles and sexes. It's talks about these subjects, but I would have liked even more. I'm a beautiful tough critic when it comes to books on wildlife.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    I bought this book so I could identify wildlife on my latest Antarctic expedition cruise, and it was very helpful. The organization and images created animal recognition easy, and I used this book almost every day. It opens with a brief history and discussion of the regions included on a typical Antarctic cruise, which was also interesting and helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    Exceptionally well written and documented book. Images are excellent. Table top quality and will be out for display in our home for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    BASICS: flexcover; focuses on the birds and mammals of the Antarctic Peninsula and its waters adjacent to South America; very amazing color images of 83 species of birds, 8 seals, and 24 cetaceans; most plates composed of multiple individuals digitally inserted together over a common background; text on each species is dedicated primarily to identificationThis book joins a short list of amazing quality tutorials - of either birds or mammals - that concentrates on the Antarctic region. More specifically, this book addresses just those species found in three particular regions which are (1) the Beagle Channel, (2) the Drake Passage, and (3) the Antarctic Peninsula.With hundreds of superb photographs, 83 species of birds, 8 seals, and 24 whales/dolphins are presented. The selection of images is to be commended with their sharp colors, huge size, and overall r the birds, 44 plates present an amalgamation of individuals that are skillfully, digitally superimposed over a single background. Most of the pelagic birds are shown with 2-3 images each and with both dorsal and ventral views in flight. They are also arranged so the more related species are compared on the same plate, which can be very handy. Another 78 individual images of equal quality provide extra views of the birds. In a separate 24-page section, 44 of these images are dedicated to just the penguins. Presented here is a nice selection showing adults, young, nests, feeding, fighting, swimming, and other behaviors. In a image too amazing to be real (it's a digital collage), all eight of the region's penguin species are arranged together in a line-up, showing their size differences.Each species is reviewed in its own acc which may be up to a half page in length. Nearly all the info focuses on describing and identifying the bird. Besides describing the plumage, this material provides valuable insight into particular flight nuances or behaviors that would prove helpful in identifying the bird at sea. It was nice to see amazing effort was place into distinguishing the birds from other related species.With a lot of birds, an extra 2-3 lines clues on "Where to Look". This info provides general descriptions of where (e.g., near cliffs, Drake Passage, exit of the Beagle Channel) the birds may be seen. And, with some of the birds, a brief side-box gives "Talking Points." These cover different bits of trivia such as populations, name origin, flight, r the cetaceans (17 plates) and seals (8 plates), the same amazing quality of photographs are used. As one would expect, the whale and dolphins are typically shown only breaching the water which is how they'd be seen at sea. A unbelievable small feature that might at first escape your attention is found along the bottom border of a lot of of the whales' accounts. These dark blue strips are composed of small, narrated silhouettes of the whale at the surface of the water. These silhouettes present the distinctive shapes, movements, and profiles you'd witness as the animal progresses through its sequence of surfacing and diving. The shape of the head is shown as it first breaks the surface, the arch, angle, and shape of the back in mid-dive, and, the tail at the conclusion of the dive. These will prove to be very useful for identifying the fast moving swimmers.Enhancing the usefulness of those small silhouettes are behavioral descriptions found in the acc for each species. Besides a visual description of the whale/dolphin, the author has included extra hints on how the animal may move, roll, or jump, helping to identify the particular e first 76 pages of the book will be of interest to the Antarctic naturalist and traveler. This info gives a general overview of the region, its conservation, hints on tourism and when to go, a fast review of the key bird and mammal families, and a checklist for each of 7distinct locations of the aspect of this book should be mentioned. The birds, seals, and whales are grouped (i.e., divided) into three sections (Beagle Channel, Drake Passage, Peninsula). This tactic has its pros and cons. It can be handy for the sea farer to focus on just those species expected in that particular region - assuming there is small or no overlap. But, it also requires the reader to flip through the book to examine a particular family of species. As an example, if you wish to compare the three species of terns, you must go to pages 186 and 206. To compare the seals, you must look at two sections beginning on pages 78 and on 160. The cetaceans are the most scattered with various multi-page sections beginning on pages 80, 144, and a latest few tidbits, the names of all species are provided in English, German, Spanish, and scientific. Lastly, no range maps are provided.If you are headed far, far south, you will certainly wish to have this attractive, informative, and handy book with you because it is amazing and, because there are few alternatives. This book has much better photographs and more info than Todd's "Birds & Mammals of the Antarctic, Subantarctic & Falkland Islands". Another book, "The Complete Tutorial to the Antarctic Wildlife" by Shirihai is perfect and is superior to anything else; but, it covers the entire south polar region which may be excessive depending on your destination. And, the book is somewhat large, making it slightly cumbersome for travel. - (written by Jack, shown with sample pages at Avian Review, May 2011)I've listed several similar books below...1) A Visitor's Tutorial to South Georgia by Poncet/Crosbie2) The Complete Tutorial to Antarctic Wildlife by Shirihai3) Birds And Mammals of the Antarctic, Subantartic and Falkland Islands by Todd4) Birds of Patagonia, Tierra Del Fuego and Antarctic Peninsula by couve/Vidal5) Aves de Patagonia y Antartida by Narosky6) Birds of Southern South America and Antarctica by Pena

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    Amazing content. Loads of amazing photos. It is the only tutorial I will take to Antartica.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    When I pulled out this book (on our ship in Antarctica) to do some wildlife identification, one of the staff's resident naturalists said, "That's the best book to have here." By the end of our trip, at one of the landings at a research station, our program director bought this book, since he had been find for the best to and was convinced this is it. It's durable yet compact enough to hold handy for reference in a little package or carry-on luggage. There are multiple images of most species, greatly assisting in identifying and verifying. Most images are very clear. It has a amazing 2-page spread showing all 8 varieties of penguins, giving the reader a clear perspective of their relative sizes and appearance. Most tours will not encounter all 8 varieties (we saw 4), but seeing them all is still a benefit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctic Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Princeton University Press (Wildguides)) []  2020-1-31 1:2

    Little and light enough to be carried into the field easily. Very amazing coverage of wildlife with accompanying photographs and text that is short and to the point. Other books may have more detailed accounts, but this reference is amazing for a quality fast look and comparison.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Montana Wildlife Viewing Guide, rev. (Wildlife Viewing Guides Series) []  2020-2-1 7:38

    If you're just visiting Glacier and/or Yellowstone National Park, you're better off finding books geared specifically to those areas, or just talking to the rangers when you obtain there. However, if you're spending a amazing of time in other parts of Montana, this book could be quite splits the state up into eight regions and info 109 various areas in to see wildlife. 90 of these are NOT in Glacier or Yellowstone National Park. The areas vary from walks on paved paths in town parks to middle-of-nowhere spots that likely need a 4WD vehicle. Each zone has a short description of what there is to see, and which month/season provides the optimal viewing time. There are also directions, what agency owns the land and if there are any permits/fees needed (most are free), the name of the closest town, and what activities are available i.e. camping, boating, etc.I went on a two week street trip through Idaho, Montana and Wyoming, the focus of which were Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks. I stopped at a couple of locations listed in this book along the route, but most were just too far out of the way. If you have a lot of time and are focused on seeing wildlife and visiting somewhat remote areas, this book could be quite useful; however, if you're just a casual tourist or short on time, this is probably not the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Montana Wildlife Viewing Guide, rev. (Wildlife Viewing Guides Series) []  2020-2-1 7:38

    This is one in a series of books we search very informative as we travel. We use them all the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropical Mexico: The Ecotravellers' Wildlife Guide (Ecotravellers Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-31 1:0

    Simply, a terrific wildlife tutorial and the best of its kind for Mexico. Chapters provided detailed info (with photos!) of amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals found in southern Mexico. Recommeneded for any serious student of biology or dedicated eco traveler.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    I am going on a wildlife tour to Madagascar in Oct. I have read the entire book and belive it will be helpful.I can better judge the book after I obtain back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Utah Wildlife Viewing Guide (Wildlife Viewing Guides Series) []  2020-1-16 14:21

    I love the wildlife in Utah, and the environments. There's plenty of that here. This is quite a nice book for any nature enthusiast to have. I seriously recommend this one to all those people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    It is very descritive about the different animals and retiles. It is strictly a reference tutorial to the different special things living in Madagascar. Lovely photographs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Montana Wildlife Viewing Guide, rev. (Wildlife Viewing Guides Series) []  2020-2-1 7:38

    Love these books and use them often and can hardly wait to use this one next spring on a trip out there

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropical Mexico: The Ecotravellers' Wildlife Guide (Ecotravellers Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-31 1:0

    I used this book as a field tutorial while in Mexico recently. It is a bit massive for a backpack but worth the additional effort. I especially have fun the sections on the natural history of the species.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    The book gives a amazing overview of the birds and other wildlife one might be able to see in this fascinating country. I think it will be very helpful for an upcoming trip to Madagascar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    I like the scope of this book. I am satisfied with my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropical Mexico: The Ecotravellers' Wildlife Guide (Ecotravellers Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-31 1:0

    I can appreciate the author's intent - to make a more comprehensive tutorial to the wildlife of a region that is sorely lacking in accesible information. It is a pioneering effort, and I am grateful that such tutorials are being attempted. But after reviewing the bird plates I became quite upset - this tutorial will lead to a lot of misidentifications due to innacurate portrayals and information, as well as omissions. While I can understand the impossibility of covering all the living species in a huge and diverse region, it would be nice if the ones chosen were depicted accurately, and reference was created to related species occuring within other parts of the covered range. For just one example, plate 45 shows four species of Motmot as being the ame size and shape, when the Tody Motmot is HALF the size (and a very various shape) of the others. While this is indicated (in little print), anyone relying on the pictures could easily become confused. Beletsky list Howell's perfect "Guide to the Birds of Mexico and Northern Central America" in his references, but he clearly should have been paying more attention! As to omissions, if an abbreviated list is desired in the interest of keeping this book accesible for the more casual enthusiast, it would have been far better to at least focus on the species most likely to be encountered. While some rarely seen species are included, a lot of quite visible and common birds are left out! And how could Beletsky leave out the Boat-billed Heron? Not only is this species an icon amongst Mexican birds, but it is a favorite species for boat tour operators on both coasts to search for visitors! After seeing what the bird plates are like, how could I ever feel positive about identifying other wildlife using this book?On the positive side, I will reiterate that I am glad that such books are being written. There is often no info available (in practical form) on tropical reptiles, amphibians, invertebrates, etc. But I hope tutorials like this will obtain a whole lot better! Skimping on info for portability is not the answer. Accuracy should be far more important. In Beletsky's favor are the habitat photos, and coverage of ecotourism and conservation issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Montana Wildlife Viewing Guide, rev. (Wildlife Viewing Guides Series) []  2020-2-1 7:38

    Will be using this in conjunction with regional outdoor tutorials to plan trips in the area. Some material created be dated but that's easily checked online.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Dakota Wildlife Viewing Guide (Wildlife Viewing Guides Series) []  2020-1-23 1:16

    The book is in amazing condition and is very informative with helpful maps and charts. In fact, I ordered 2 of this same book, one for a mate and one for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropical Mexico: The Ecotravellers' Wildlife Guide (Ecotravellers Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-31 1:0

    unbelievable book if you live in or travel to tropical Mexico

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropical Mexico: The Ecotravellers' Wildlife Guide (Ecotravellers Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-31 1:0

    This book has disucssions and attractive color illustrations of not just birds, but frogs, snakes, fish, mammals and even some plants. There are discussions of various ecosystmes and what one might expect to encounter in each of them. There are notes on local bird lore. I took this on a guided boat tour run by one of the local people. It was extremely helpful to have the names of the birds in English AND Spanish, as the other people in the boat spoke only Spanish and the tutorial used mostly Spanish. The book is written from the standpoint of the Eco-Tourist. The author discusses some of the necessary conservation efforts in progress to preserve these attractive and special ecosystems.Of course the book is not exhaustive, but fortunate is the traveller who sees all the species discussed here. In addition the book is actually quite readable and while in Yucatan, this was the tutorial that I frequently picked to review what I had seen or what I might be seeing on my next excursion. There are a lot of various habitats in this part of Mexico, each with its own inhabitants. The book includes a wealth of info presented in an entertaining manner. I checked in several local bookstores, and could search nothing comperable, in English or Spanish. Although it may not satisfy the ardent birder, the book helps one feel at home when he is encountering so a lot of fresh species.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Dakota Wildlife Viewing Guide (Wildlife Viewing Guides Series) []  2020-1-23 1:16

    Amazing copy. Fast service. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    It was fairly helpful although woefully incomplete considering the vast number of wildlife we observed that were not represented in this book. We eagerly await Ken Behrens book on the subject, which is due to be released soon. If you are considering the Bradt Guide, I recommend you check to see if Ken's book is out and obtain that instead. Ken's "Seawatching" is such a fabulous book, I know his fresh Tutorial to Madagascar Wildlife will be indispensable. I only [email protected]#$%! had been available for our trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    I didn't think the book lived up to my expectations when I received it, and using it in the field was not really an option. I did use it a small in the hotel room at night, but even then I found it to be of small value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    A nice feature of this book that it tells you what to look for in certain regions. I felt that the bird section was rather weak plus other subjects like reptiles You need to separate books for each specific topics. When it comes to packing and you need to bring one book, this fits the bill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    Overall good, but it would have helped to have a grid (letters and numbers) on the map and then have the grid coordinates listed for the locations such as the parks or wildlife areas. Loved the pictures. Hope I have the opportunity to see a lot of of the fauna when I visit later this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    Purchased this book for upcoming trip to Madagascar and to be used as a reference book. There are unbelievable color pictures and maps included in the book and it is little enough to carry in luggage without adding too much weight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 2:41

    Outstanding book, awesome delivery time and reasonable cost for book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Utah Wildlife Viewing Guide (Wildlife Viewing Guides Series) []  2020-1-16 14:21

    This is one in a series of books we search very informative as we travel. We use them all the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Montana Wildlife Viewing Guide, rev. (Wildlife Viewing Guides Series) []  2020-2-1 7:38

    Amazing and informative book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropical Mexico: The Ecotravellers' Wildlife Guide (Ecotravellers Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-31 1:0

    The book is in amazing quality, thankfully. Very happy with this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    I’ll be honest: I tried reading Wildlife once earlier this year and had to set it down because it just was not reading well for me at the time. But after seeing Hannah’s review, I knew I wanted to give it another is is not a book for every reader. Wildlife has elements that create it sound universally appealing: a school that students a semester in the wilderness, a girl who with troubled friendships and romance, and another girl who is reeling with grief over a loss. Bear in mind, these things are certainly in the novel – but the method they are written might not work for most readers. The characters are really complicated individuals, each with their own personalities and problems. The plot meanders about, chronicling a journey through grief (Lou’s perspective) and the pleasures and pitfalls of being a teen (Sib’s perspective). There’s a whole lot of drama, some not good life choices and so a lot of relationships that felt inauthentic.And yet, I liked Wildlife. It’s not the type of story I’d return to repeatedly, nor are the characters particular favorites. But it was simple enough to identify with parts of each girl’s experience – Lou’s grief over her loss, Sib’s simple slide into a relationship led mostly by physical attraction and a friend’s coaxing, Lou’s retreat into herself as she tries to figure out how to hold going, Sib’s learning what friendship should really be like and both girls learning how to stand up again on their own two feet. This private connection is why I was so invested, in spite of the fact that there were certain characters I truly disliked and plots that created me wish to smack someone in the face (multiple times).While I enjoyed the entire concept of a semester in the wilderness overall, connecting with Sib and Lou is what really created Wildlife a amazing reading experience in the end. Without that private connection, I’m fairly certain I would have set it down a second time, unable to stomach all the drama that ensues. But understanding their motivations and their choices - it definitely helped create this story incredibly compelling on a private level. If you’re at all intrigued, you should give Wildlife a shot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    Fiona Wood writes of sixteen year old girls with a shrewd eye. Their questioning of themselves, whispered conformity, awkwardness and assuredness alternating; their package behaviour; their belief that only now matters.Wood builds a picture of teenagers as complex beings. In Wildlife, Lou is dealing with a very personal pain and we watch her path through grief while she is growing into womanhood. Her loss is finely wrought (and then juxtaposed with the never-ending pimples of adolescence). Sex and love, acceptance and betrayal are all covered with a sympathetic touch and her plot is compelling. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    Wildlife is Fiona Wood's companion novel to her famous young adult contemporary debut, Six Impossible bylla is used to people looking past her, around her, through her even, but that all changes the day her face appears on a 20-metre billboard and Ben Capaldi, the most famous boy in year 10, kisses her."So the Earth must be spinning of it's axis by now, plummeting headlong towards a fresh universe, oceans sloshing and spilling, icecaps sliding, trees uprooted. Because somehow I've stepped over the line to stand with the famous girls. Only I haven't. The line must have moved without me realising."Coping with her shift in status is disorientating for Sibylla, despite her best friend's coaching, especially as year 10 have to spend the next nine weeks camping together at their Grammar school's outdoor education camp in the highlands of Victoria."Now all I have to do is blend in, location out and begin crossing off the days on my cell wall"Lou (from Six Impossible Things), fresh to Crowthorne Grammar, couldn't care less about Sibylla, Ben or the whole social milieu. Still grieving the accidental death of her boyfriend, Fred, she aims only to endure the term bunking with five strange ntrasting Sibylla's tentative negotiation of love, sexuality and friendship with Lou's grief and hard earned self awareness, Wildlife is a thoughtful coming of age explores the dynamics of self photo and self esteem, highlighting how vulnerable teens can be to the perceptions of others. Sibylla in particular struggles with her desire to fit in and be considered as worthy of Ben's interest. Woods captures Sib's conflicted thoughts and behaviour wonderfully and it is this insightful comment from Lou that articulates the lesson Sib needs to learn."Sometimes I think I see you, Sibylla, but then you obtain all blurry about what people think about you, how you should act, what everyone expects of you, who you are pleasing, or not... The only person you should be is yourself. You can't control perception. All you can control is how you treat someone else."The complexities of teen relationships also comes under scrutiny in Wildlife. Holly's fickle friendship and Michael's devotion highlights the extremes of loyalty. Again it is Lou's wisdom that helps Sibylla recognise the value of friendship."A mate brave enough to be truthful-very various from Holly's "honesty"."The budding relationship between Sibylla and Ben is treated with refreshing candour. While Sib agonises over boyfriend/girlfriend etiquette and tries to reconcile lust with love, Ben maintains a casual attitude to the relationship which is realistic (and frighteningly familiar). I like that Wood chooses to recognise this common dynamic with equanimity and confronts desire and with candid honesty.While Sibylla is experiencing a slew of firsts, Lou is mourning the memory of hers. Wood lays bare Lou's grief, anger and fears in poignant diary entries as Lou tries to reconcile her loss with the ordinary task of living. Though she tries to keep herself apart from everyone, sheer proximity eventually forces Lou to engage with her fellow students. Her strongest connection is with Michael, Sib's genius childhood friend, whose complete lack of artifice suits her, but she also becomes embroiled in the relationships between Sibylla, Holly, Michael and Ben despite herself. Unexpectedly, the muddled situation leads Lou to explore she can move forward with her life, without leaving Fred behind."You will always be a part of me, and how I see the world."Wildlife is unbelievable and easily one of the best contemporary young adult novels I have read. It's authentic, honest and teens will be able to relate to the characters and their circumstances.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    'No matter how much you tell yourself nothing has changed, it has.'An utterly attractive novel, Fiona Wood threw me around in circles of emotions. Combining every possible element of a YA contemporary to make this seemingly impervious novel. The resplendent prose and imagery do not even start to cover how magnificent this book was. For this was yet another successful read from a powerful Aussie author, fleshing out reality to the barest bone of the ternating in the POVs of two exclusive teen voices, in which the only similarity is that they are both lost in their special ways, messages of loss and love break through the outdoor education camp. As well as grief and happiness. Sex, photo and social hierarchy. While not falling into a cliché story, Wildlife is a book of wilderness and finding yourself after you loose yourself. This book created me go on tolls of emotions. While not awfully severe; I got frustrated, @#$%ed off even. Crazed and lost. On the brink of sad tears, or even satisfied tears. What stood out to me most of this was that I was feeling exactly what Sibylla or Lou were going through. I similar with them in the most wholly method anyone could possible get. They were true and real to themselves, feeding me their words like I was their beloved bylla accomplished two things in the holidays that were out of the norm. She kissed Ben Capaldi- famous and everyone loved guy- and her picture appeared on the school billboard. Now, going for a school term in the wilderness at a outdoor education camp, Sib finds herself in a drama of fresh opportunities, romance and hidden secrets. And also maybe, learns that her closest mates may not me that close at all. It's a wild adventure of betrayal and reality. The method Sib tackled these situations eventually, as they smashed into her face was highly authentic, exposed and spectacularly outspoken. By utilising the backdrop of this novel- the Australian outback- Sib is placed in a location with no put to hide from, as her complications follow her twenty-four en we have a related yet unambiguously divergent hero as our secondary voice, also known from Fiona Wood's debut, Six Impossible Things, Lou. They are related in the essence that both Sibylla and Lou are confused, exposed and naked. Their external emotions are absolutely in contrast to what is hidden under their unwavering masks. What worried me here was because of these similarities in character, how would I manage to alternate between the POVs that were in first person? Answer: I could separate the two after reading just two sentences. Fiona Wood's intelligence of illustrating two broken teens in two thoroughly detectable tones that were authoritative to the core amazed me. While Sib was experiencing the hardships of assorts of relationships, Lou endeavoured through the latest loss of her e simplistic backstory of a school outdoor camp borders possibilities to the sky. Entwined in here we have numerous strategically addressed harsh and subjects that most authors shuffle stealthily away from. Classic high school occurrences are renewed and introduced, such as (like aforementioned) unrestrained desire, jealousy and the portrayal of social hierarchies that are determined by visual-image and to place candidly, sass.Wildlife just took YA contemporaries to the next level with a broad spectrum of complexities, bittersweet romance that is new and wavering as well as a raw story about coming of age. Living in the wilderness could be a hidden doorway to fresh possibilities, fresh beginnings and about finding and loosing what's right. Fiona Wood's writing is something not to be overseen- it is analogical in a sense- and emotively shorter words: Wildlife is a pulchritudinous novel that has take a put in my heart from the moment I finished it. If a book were to be hyped for it's gorgeousness, this would be so hyped that every living thing that could read would have read this.I will now go and search myself as I have lost myself somewhere between the latest few pages of Wildlife.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    "The only person you should be is yourself. You can't control perception. All you can control if how you treat someone else."Just before her term at her school's outdoor education campus, Sibylla unexpectedly winds up on a billboard advertisement near her school. She also kisses the super famous and super cute longtime crush Ben Capaldi.Lou is the unexpected fresh girl at school when the fresh term begins. She isn't at the school to create mates or to fit in. Mostly she just wants to be left alone and obtain by without having to think about her old friends, her old school, or the fact that her boyfriend Fred is b thought going through a term of outdoor education at her school would be upheaval enough. But adding the billboard, the kiss, and her often rocky and now definitely changing relationship with her best mate Holly makes everything even more complicated. Lou thought a term in the wilderness would give her a possibility to hide and grieve. Instead, she slowly finds herself drawn into the dramas of the girls around her like Sib and finds that she doesn't wish to stay quiet as she sees a betrayal unfolding in Wildlife (2014) by Fiona Wood.Widlife is Wood's second novel. It is a companion set in the same globe as Six Impossible Things and Cloudwish although it does function as a standalone and can be read without knowledge of the other titles. (For the most impact I do recommend reading these in though.)Wildlife's narration alternates between Sib and Lou. Sib relates her story to readers in conversational prose while Lou's story is written in journal form--a coping mechanism suggested by her therapist as she transitions to a fresh school and out of therapy.While Sib spends a lot of the novel trying to create sense of her confusing relationship with Ben and Lou is mourning Fred, the crux of Wildlife is really the growing friendship between these two girls. Sib and Lou are unlikely mates and both are reluctant to take a possibility on adding a fresh person to their lives. But in the wilderness where most of their coursework is about building strength and stepping outside of their comfort zones, both Sib and Lou realize it might be worth the risk to trust someone new.Wildlife is a thoughtful story about friendship, first love, and all of the complicated moments in between. Recommended for readers of contemporary novels, fans of humorous narratives with a lot of heart, and anyone who loves the amazing outdoors.Possible Pairings: Love and Other Perishable Stuff by Laura Buzo, Nothing But the Truth (And a Few White Lies) by Justina Chen, Fly on the Wall by E. Lockhart, I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, Lucy and Linh by Alice Pung, Kissing in America by Margo Rabb, The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider, The Edge of Falling by Rebecca Serle, Girl Versus the Universe by Paula Stokes, The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner, Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    Wildlife is Fiona Wood's second book, but the first one published here in the U.S. Set during a tumultuous term at their school's wilderness campus, this story follows two very various girls who are both somewhat lost, confused, and searching for their real selves. Sibylla has never been the center of attention, but in a strange twist of fate she ends up as the one-time model for a famous ad-campaign, fanning the flames of her best mate Holly's long-held jealousy. Lou is the mysterious, quiet fresh girl who's not interested in fitting in or being liked. Tensions, rivalries, and emotions run high as the wilderness term tests everyone's limits.Wildlife trades perspective between Sib and Lou, who are two very various narrators. They barely know each other at the beginning of the novel, and at first it seems like a semester in the woods is the only thing that they share in common. Lou is still reeling from the death of her boyfriend and first love, and her chapters are meandering, occasionally short and abrupt with her grief. Sib is more relaxed and cheerful, and her worries don't seem to be any heavier than wondering where she stands with the cute boy she kissed at a party, but she's struggling to understand and define herself and lets other people influence her in the meanwhile. On their own, each of the voices might become exhausting, but Wood balances them out brilliantly. Lou's quiet observations complement Sib's social interactions, and the two characters slowly begin to come together via Michael, who is very much (secretly) in love with Sib, and as a effect of Holly's increasingly cruel manipulations.Wood's writing submerges the reader into the minutiae of the girls' everyday lives and their social circles, and even though the plot isn't terribly dramatic, the shifting relationships are all fascinating. The inner lives of Lou and Sib and how they slowly begin up to the globe are what drive this book, and their experiences and revelations create for a beautiful, deceptively complex novel about the nature of friendship, loss, and the importance of honesty. Fiona Wood is now officially on my Author Watch List, which sounds method creepier than it really is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    The writing is so cleaver I felt I was amongst the characters. The attention to detail made a believable environment. As the characters evolved, I felt myself taking sides, and wanting them to be my friends.A very engaging read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    This review originally published in[...] Rated 4.0 of 5According to the Goodreads page for this book, this is the second book in a series, but the amazing news is that as far as this reader is concerned, there is nothing 'missing' or nothing to suggest that one really needs to read another book prior to reading e author, Fiona Wood, is Australian. This is necessary only because it explains why the reader might come across a passage in which the characters message a wallaby is is a YA book - teens versus the globe with the globe here represented by wilderness. The students are at an outdoor school or a camp, but the lessons they learn are not so much about the wilderness, but about themselves and how they currently do and must learn to fit into the world. And the world, a teen discovers, is not as easy as the globe of a child. Friendships, betrayals, first love, and first sex. These are the experiences of these young adults in of the things that sets this apart from so a lot of YA books is how true the characters appear to be drawn. In a lot of books aimed at this target demographic, the characters represent a raw emotion, but not necessarily a true person. These people are very real. I felt as though I could walk through the halls of my nearby high school and pick these people out.And part of what has created them true is their dialog that rings true, and their reactions to situations. I was especially caught up with the young lady losing her virginity and the method the whole thing is handled:Deciding to do it is less momentous and certainly less rational than it should be; I can’t even say it is a decision; it’s more like a switch has llowed shortly thereafter by:Did we really just do that? I wish to hide my face. I wish to look into a mirror in private, to check if I’m still me.And the really observant:I walk into the house an unvirgin, and no one is struggle to understand herself as a being, and the relationship with the boy, combined with reactions from friends, is so much a part of a lot of teens' lives. And the best part is ... it is not a commentary or a persuasion for or versus teen sex. It addresses it in such an honest way.But the book is about more than just teen sex. It is all the aspects of moving from kid to adult and all of it is addressed equally honestly (and not always with answers, as life typically is). And if that isn't enough to create you wish to read this book, perhaps Fiona Wood's method with words will help. When you read a book and come across descriptions like thisI need to package the swoon back into the wrong end of the telescope before I drown in the distraction of can you not be impressed?Looking for a amazing book? Wildlife, by Fiona Wood, is a beautiful, honest book of Young Adult struggles.I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher, through Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    Amazing book with zero teen love triangles. Characters are complex. You really see love of all kinds and from various angles. Wood doesn't paint the typical shallow teen characters that run rampant in most YA. Her characters are as thoughtful as she must be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife []  2020-1-11 19:27

    Thank you to Little, Brown Books via Netgalley for the review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.Did I like this book?Something about this book got me right in the gut! I don't know if it was the characters, the writing, the Australian camp setting, or what, but yeah, Wood had me in her grip nearly from the first page. (I say "nearly" because it took a bit for me to figure out the style and the fact that there were two various narrators - at first I thought there was only one and I was totally confused!).There's kind of a lot going on in this book, so I won't bore you with a synopsis or descriptions of all the interpersonal relationships, but I will say this: the characters here feel real. The more YA books I read, the more I think that writing authentic characters must be extremely difficult, because hardly anyone can do it right. After reading "Wildlife", I'm convinced that Fiona Wood does it right! Even though Sibylla frustrated me at times, I still loved her. She reminded me a lot of one of my mates in junior high. Lou was fabulous - it was so cool to be able to see the group dynamics from an impartial bystander, and it was also amazing to see her eventually begin up a bit and obtain more invested with some of her classmates. I hated Holly with a passion, and I wanted to kick Ben'[email protected]#$%! And Michael? I just wanted to give him a huge hug and hold him safe. But my point is that I don't always feel such intense feelings about characters when I'm reading, and it takes a beautiful unique book to create me obtain so emotionally involved.Will you like this book?Anybody looking for a more realistic Contemporary YA read should love this book!Will I read more by this author?Absolutely! I've heard amazing things about "Six Impossible Things", so I've already added that to my list of books to be read in the near future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kruger Park map and wildlife field guide [App]  2019-12-13 21:38

    Very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kruger Park map and wildlife field guide [App]  2019-12-13 21:38

    Very helpful if you wish to visit the Kruger National Park or even just to obtain more familiar with Animals, Birds, Insects, Plants etc. Perfect and user friendly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kruger Park map and wildlife field guide [App]  2019-12-13 21:38

    I apologize it is better than I said !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kruger Park map and wildlife field guide [App]  2019-12-13 21:38

    Application does not connect with GPS. Uber does so GPS is on but application says GPS is off. Spoilt my Kruger experience

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    This has got to be the single best tutorial to Antarctica's unusual wildlife. Everything is covered here, from Gentoo Penguins to Crab-Eater Seals (which don't actually eat crabs). Attractive illustrations create it simple to identify birds & other animals while your out on the ice. If you're going to the White Continent, you'll wish to stash this small book in your daypack. This book was useful when my husband & I visited the Antarctic peninsula, which we chronicle in our DVD "T&T's True Travels in Antarctica" (also available on ).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    The book doesn't display properly on Kindle Oasis. The pages are displayed on landscape layout only, it's not possible to enlarge the fonts and every second page the images overlap the text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    Hopefully, you are looking for this book because you are headed to Antarctica! If not, and you just wish to learn about Antarctic wildlife, this is a amazing book to use either way. There's amazing info and amazing drawings to use in identifying animals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    This book is not formatted for Kindle. It is merely a scan of the hardcover edition. This means no ability to adjust font, no bookmarks, no searching and no links from the table of contents or the index.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    I bought this book in preparation for a trip 'South' in December 1999/January 2000 and it was an extremely useful tutorial to wildlife in general but especially amazing for penguin information. The drawings by an ancestor of Robert F. Scott's are lifelike, and engaging art as well. The brief summaries of natural and exploration history are accessible and informative. If you are looking for a portable tutorial to peninsular wildlife obtain the book--you won't regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    This an amazing book! Superlative text and artwork. I learned so much about Antarctic wildlife before and during my trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    We will take this with us to Antarctica as a reference .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    Amazing primary reference. Not an encyclopedia of antarctic fauna, but nice to have in hand when trying to identify seabirds you're likely to see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    I used this in Antarctica and found it excellent for wildlife viewing. It has size comparison charts for each animal, and useful, detailed text. It is also little and light enough to carry around in the freezing weather in Antarctica. Both this book and a trip to the white continent are highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:43

    I haven't thoroughly used it yet, but will be in about 10 months, when I travel to Antarctica. It will be simple to package in the carry-on, and absorb on the plane.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galapagos Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:21

    I am currently watching a documentary on the Galápagos Islands and bought this small tutorial to see what it is the back is a stylised map with the various islands and where you are likely to see what wild life-- I liked the map and its e tutorial is a number of illustrations per page of mainly Reptiles and Birds. The illustrations are in colour and are told the name of the monster and its length or pointer for identification may be e birds are males ,usually in breeding plumageSome will like this small work, others not.I personally liked it ( I wouldn't use it as my only tutorial to the Galápagos Wildlife )For me it filled a need for fast identification.I think it is worth the money

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galapagos Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:21

    This laminated, folded reference for the species you are likely to encounter in a trip to the Galapagos Islands is excellent. The pictures are very realistic, plus it contains the Latin names so that you can cross-reference the animal to a detailed guidebook or reference later. There are even short notes, such as "The related Santa Fe land iguana is found only on Santa Fe Island" (if you are lucky enough to obtain to Santa Fe Island!).As our latest trip to the Galapagos included snorkeling (and yours might too), I greatly appreciated the page on Nearshore Fishes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife of Ecuador: A Photographic Field Guide to Birds, Mammals, Reptiles, and Amphibians (Wildlife Explorer Guides) []  2020-2-6 23:3

    The premier tutorial on birds in Ecuador, with other wildlife also included as a bonus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-2-1 5:16

    Had a lot of representative identifications for my trip to Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-2-1 5:16

    This is a handy lightweight reference tutorial to the wildlife. I obtain one for each put we visit. Definitely required for Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amazon Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 1:8

    Small, lightweight so simple to carry if you’re traveling, and because it’s laminated it stays clean. Provides a little glimpse of animals and insects you might encounter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amazon Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 1:8

    Very handy but missed some common birds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Australia Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-25 17:51

    Very informative. Purchase for a trip to Australia and contained much useful information! Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Costa Rica Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-12 18:47

    My wife and I were traveling to Costa Rica for a week and planned on spending some time in the rain forest as well as at the beach. We saw several exhaustive books on the flora and fauna of the country priced at over $30, but our interest was mostly in identifying the various critters we saw as we were relaxing, strolling in the woods, or driving between our is pocket tutorial covers just a fraction of what you'll see in Costa Rica. If you plan on doing any amount of birding, this tutorial will not suffice. If, like us, you just wish to know what that furry monster is that's crept up to your door, (probably a coatamundi)this works just fine. If we return to Costa Rica for an extended trip, I'd wish a better guide.But, for seven bucks, you obtain what you for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 0:57

    Amazing primary reference. Not an encyclopedia of antarctic fauna, but nice to have in hand when trying to identify seabirds you're likely to see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 0:57

    I used this in Antarctica and found it excellent for wildlife viewing. It has size comparison charts for each animal, and useful, detailed text. It is also little and light enough to carry around in the freezing weather in Antarctica. Both this book and a trip to the white continent are highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 0:57

    This is an perfect tutorial to the wildlife in Antarctica. Amazing drawings of the animals and descriptions. It only with wildlife south of the Antarctic convergence, so if you are looking for a book which covers all species of penguin, this isn't it. It has a map on the inside cover and maps for each species and where it can be found. It also has a brief history of the wildlife after discovery and the hunting which took place. My only gripe is that I would have liked the maps for each species to be more e book is little and not very thick, so very simple to carry around on the boat or in your is book created me even more excited about going to Antarctica, if that's at all possible!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Zealand Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:45

    These are amazing for use when traveling. So much better then carrying around a bulky book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pantanal Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide To Brazil's Great Wetland (Bradt Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-18 22:17

    Perfect primer--well-worth the price, especially for a first-time visitor. I found it most helpful for my first time Patanal visit, including helping to identify a lot of species of birds and animals. It is not meant to be a comprehensive deskbook, but a tutorial to have with you "on the road".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pantanal Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide To Brazil's Great Wetland (Bradt Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-18 22:17

    Amazing overview of what you will see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pantanal Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide To Brazil's Great Wetland (Bradt Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-18 22:17

    For a little packable book to take the Pantanal this book is perfect. It provides a high level coverage of the basic wildlife one can expect to encounter. I have thick and massive books on the birds of the Pantanal but it is difficult to search books on the mammals or reptiles and this book does a very amazing job of providing the info I wanted before heading off to Brazil.I liked that there are not a lot of worthless filler pages to bulk up the book as is often done to justify the being charged by other publishers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pantanal Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide To Brazil's Great Wetland (Bradt Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-18 22:17

    We actually bought this book after our trip to the Pantanal. I really thought the book was right on in a lot of ways. As I was reading the book, it was like reliving our experiences that we just had a month ago in June 2017. Depictions of the animals were nearly perfect, and the listings of attractions, POIs and other man-made stops was very accurate. I just want I had bought the book before we had left on the trip!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pantanal Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide To Brazil's Great Wetland (Bradt Wildlife Guides) []  2020-1-18 22:17

    Loved all the info this book provided on the different wildlife of the Pantanal. And the images in the book were amazing. Would recommend this book to anyone who plans to visit this area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    East African Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide ([WD] Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-12 18:24

    Fabulous book. I was going to leave it in Tanzania at the end of my trip. But I liked it so much I decided to hold it. Images are amazing and the narrative is very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Costa Rica Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-12 18:47

    I originally got this thinking it would be a novelty for my daughter on our trip. However, she really enjoyed having this with her whenever we went on hikes in to identify anything we saw. The fact that it combined a dozens of wildlife into one compact tutorial was a bonus. We did end up buying a related tutorial for butterflies of Costa Rica during our trip. I do want we had purchased something about the plants/trees as well, though with the amount of plant life that might end up not being so is was a amazing method for my daughter to "study" up on the wildlife and have fun verifying what she saw. I would recommend this for kids (and grown-ups) looking for something compact, sturdy and waterproof.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Costa Rica Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-12 18:47

    I admit I must not have read the information on this closely enough, but I did NOT realize it was just a flat fold-out like a map. I think the 'border' they place on the left deliberately makes it look like a little book and I am embarrassed to admit I felt for it. For that reason I don't really believe it is worth the money. However, it might be okay for a brief introduction to 'whet' your appetite, share with children, and take with you on a shore excursion from a cruise ship or other situation where zone and/or time is limited and you are only likely to see the most common species anyway. If you are seriously interested in ID'ing birds or wildlife, spend a small more and obtain one of the newer field guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 0:57

    I bought this book in preparation for a trip 'South' in December 1999/January 2000 and it was an extremely useful tutorial to wildlife in general but especially amazing for penguin information. The drawings by an ancestor of Robert F. Scott's are lifelike, and engaging art as well. The brief summaries of natural and exploration history are accessible and informative. If you are looking for a portable tutorial to peninsular wildlife obtain the book--you won't regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 0:57

    Hopefully, you are looking for this book because you are headed to Antarctica! If not, and you just wish to learn about Antarctic wildlife, this is a amazing book to use either way. There's amazing info and amazing drawings to use in identifying animals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galapagos Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Amazing pictures, but only one per. Needs differentiation with species that differ male, female, juvenile, etc. Odd mixture of species; would have created more sense focusing on the more common with the above differentiations. Laminated, but not especially well; not waterproof, started to deteriorate before 2 weeks after only being in a backpack.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galapagos Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:21

    laminated and a nice size for traveling. Contains land animals and sea animals. Pictures are amazing and the map in the back shows where you can search specific animals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    New Zealand Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-23 0:45

    Amazing quality, weatherproof tutorial you can stick in your pocket at all times. We'll search out, how it covers the most common animals on the southern hint of Fresh Zealand once we obtain there!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-2-1 5:16

    Am taking this on an upcoming trip to southern Africa instead of a massive wildlife guide. Seems to cover everything I think I will need. Tutorials always have a amazing wildlife book, so think this is all I will need. Took a wildlife tutorial on my first trip and basically only used it to tag off the animals and birds I saw.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Species (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-2-1 5:16

    While on a safari in Kenya, we referred often to this pamphlet, which provides a lot of info in a little format. We had a amazing guide, but this was helpful for comparing/contrasting animals (with pictures that do not move!) to support us improve our powers of identification.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amazon Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 1:8

    Only the most primary info - does not support identify birds. Sibley's pocket tutorial is far superior

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amazon Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-31 1:8

    This will be amazing for my trip into the Amazon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Australia Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-25 17:51

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Australia Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-25 17:51

    A amazing summary pocket reference. Doesn't contain everything "Australian" (e.g. not all species of snakes are listed) but it does provide a fast reference to the diversity of special wildlife found in Australia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife of Ecuador: A Photographic Field Guide to Birds, Mammals, Reptiles, and Amphibians (Wildlife Explorer Guides) []  2020-2-6 23:3

    Amazing images but publisher needs to fix pps150 and 212 where pictures do not match the birds description(there maybe others). I search images to be more useful in helping remember critters and birds and so I found this little book very helpful in preparation for traveling to Ecuador

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife of Ecuador: A Photographic Field Guide to Birds, Mammals, Reptiles, and Amphibians (Wildlife Explorer Guides) []  2020-2-6 23:3

    Pictures of a lot of birds and animals. I bought for a birding trip. I'm not a birder. It does not contain everything but most things I saw were in here. Amazing for price. High quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildlife of Ecuador: A Photographic Field Guide to Birds, Mammals, Reptiles, and Amphibians (Wildlife Explorer Guides) []  2020-2-6 23:3

    Amazing for what it is, incomplete but it has to be to remain small. The cover is on backwards, which is annoying. Some of the figures are mislabeled.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Costa Rica Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-12 18:47

    The tutorial is intended to be a fast reference tutorial to some of the more common and most interesting monsters of Costa Rica, as indicated on the back summary above the UPC symbol. This waterproof pamplet accomplishes this goal just fine. Pamphlet is VERY sturdy (no worries in ALL weather) and pictures 1 inch square. Captions list Latin name, size in inches and centimeters and, for some, a short phrase describing an interesting feature. Opens to be 8 1/4 inches by 24 inches, double-sided.I can only think of a couple minor things it doesn't list but should:1. Region where animal is found2. Indicator to tag rare species (so you won't expect to see them)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Costa Rica Wildlife: A Folding Pocket Guide to Familiar Animals (Wildlife and Nature Identification) []  2020-1-12 18:47

    Just returned from a trip to Costa Rica. This was a useful and accurate tutorial to the most frequently seen wildlife, and it was simple to package and take along.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 0:57

    This book is not formatted for Kindle. It is merely a scan of the hardcover edition. This means no ability to adjust font, no bookmarks, no searching and no links from the table of contents or the index.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 0:57

    We will take this with us to Antarctica as a reference .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antarctica: A Guide to the Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) []  2020-1-16 0:57

    The pictures and descriptions are extremely well done. This gives a very detailed description of wildlife in the Antaractica.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386