Read aran afghans reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all aran afghans reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    Like all of Starmore's books, this one is invaluable for designing knitwear. Starmore's books are the only knitting books comparable to Elizabeth Zimmerman's books, but the style is very different. I would say EZ's books are written in a casual, chatty style and leads the beginning knitter into understanding the construction of a knitted garment. Starmore's books take that primary knowledge to the next level. The style is not as chatty as EZ's but conveys a friendly, helpful and confident tone. Starmore has done so much of the work in designing the sweaters in this book that you could easily copy them step for step, if you can obtain the yarn, but more importantly, you can design your own sweaters with any suitable yarn you have ere is a fresh preface to the book, and the first chapter deals with the history of Aran knitting. The second chapter describes Aran knitting patterns in general terms, how to read the charts, and goes into specific cables, patterns etc. The third chapter shows Starmore's design approach to the older-style Aran patterns and the fourth chapter has "Celtic" patterns, which are those patterns Starmore has designed based on the Aran style, but with her own apter five is the most necessary chapter in this book. It shows how to design your own Aran sweater, using the body measurements you plug in, the yarn you choose, etc. If you've ever had the experience of knitting a sweater by the pattern and then being frustrated because it doesn't fit, you need to learn to design the sweater to fit before you start knitting. Like sewing patterns, knitting patterns are designed to fit a particular model, which probably doesn't have the same shape as you. If you are big-busted, very tall, very short, have wide hips, etc., you need to design the sweater for your body and don't just go by a bust more does tout her own yarns in her books and I don't blame her at all for it, but... as far as I know, you either have to order the yarn directly from her or substitute something more readily available.I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to knit an Aran sweater. It is so much more than a set of patterns. The photographs are attractive and the only drawback I see to buying the book is that it is created in paperback. Even that is better than the current hardback bindings, though. I take all my fave softbound books to one of the office supply stores and have them remove the binding and insert a spiral is is one of the best knitting books for the money. I actually own a first edition of this book which is hardback, but chose to buy this book again when it was reprinted. Starmore's books retain their value for a lot of years, because the patterns are so classical and beautiful, which is so appropriate, because a well-made and well cared for Aran sweater is going to latest for a lot of years, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    Ah, the original! Commands breath-taking prices on Amazon and other sites. Knitters everywhere cheered when they heard this precious volume would be reprinted. Not just re-printed, republished in a fresh edition. A lot of if not most of the sweaters were re-photographed- and once again, the images are gorgeous. The beginning part on the history of Aran knitting has a retrospective that may, or may not, add to your knitting experience. The one extra project is a decidedly non-Aran cardigan with set-in sleeves and waist shaping. It is lovely and I may create it for at's not to say the book is perfect. What I didn't like about it (why I gave it 4 in put of 5) stars:1) the fresh introduction is a bit too smug for me. Not only that, the author lays claim to an anchor cable pattern- and criticizes others for using it. Yet I found the same cable pattern in a much older (predating the first edition of Aran Knitting) stitch dictionary.2) the format is smaller than the original, so the charts are smaller too. The binding makes me afraid to lay it flat enough to enlarge the charts. The hard-bound book with sewn pages can lie flat enough to scan or photocopy.3) the most attractive sweater, the fresh one, comes in the most limited sizes. The biggest size would fit my size 4 daughter. Most knitters will look, sigh, and knit mmary: if you are a knitter, you need this book on your shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    After drooling over the original Aran Knitting (and moaning over the price) for years, I now have the Fresh and Expanded Edition happily in my clutches! The patterns are absolutely lovely!About forty pages are dedicated to the history of aran knitting, and the next 50 pages to aran designs that acts almost like a stitch dictionary or design work, with thorough explanations and stitch manipulation hints and clear diagrams (very important!). The pattern collection follows: fifteen absolutely breathtaking designs. The patterns are by nature somewhat boxy in shape (but a clever knitter could easily add shaping to nip in the waist, if desired) and suitable for men and women, some are designed for children. There are also a pair of wraps. The cables themselves appear are complex, but her work really demystifies them and makes them less e pattern section is followed by a six-page "how-to" section on making your own design. This portion was perhaps a bit brief compared with the other sections, but with all of the sweaters incorporating these techniques, it is more of a tool to support us step back and recognize the info that create an aran sweater just only grump about the book is very minor: the sweaters are all knit in the Alice Starmore yarn collection. I'd prefer to see some l in all, I am still holding the book on my lap and keeping it near my chair to peruse to my hearts content. This is the first book in some time to really create my day. I'm not sure if it will ever create my knitting shelf, as it will likely stay next to my chair. Amazing job, Alice Starmore! And, thank you very much!

    0  


    Add your opinion on aran afghans or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    Need I say more? This woman has an eye for patterns, for color, for incorporating historical examples into modern clothing that you wish to wear. That said, her patterns are not for the faint of heart. Sure, knitting is two primary stitches - knit and purl - and what Alice Starmore can do with those two stitches will leave you with a gorgeous piece of clothing and feeling like a wet rag. Mind you, these patterns are easier than those of her Tudors, in the sense that you're not changing colors every two stitches. But, you are dealing with complex cables in some instances and you're dealing with what is really multiple patterns with their own timing in each garment and on each line. So, have multiple stitch markers and multiple row markers and multiple highlighters and create multiple copies of each pattern - and then have a amazing time. I love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    First, it's gorgeous. Not having an original edition to look at, I can't tell you how a lot of of the pictures are original and how a lot of are new, but the images are all en, it's informative. There is a amazing history of Aran knitting here, interestingly told. Not to mention detailed instructions on how to actually knit them, how to do the cables and bobbles and all the other bits that you need to know.And, the patterns? Oh yeah. There are patterns. Gorgeous, cabled, intricate patterns that create me wish to knit almost every one of them. Some are downright popular by riously-do you really need me to be telling you any of this? Of COURSE you wish this book. It's one of Alice Starmore's outright masterpieces, reissued at a price that people can actually afford.And, to sweeten the pot? There's even a brand-new sweater pattern. It's a lovely, fitted ladies' cardigan, and is just I say, I don't have an original copy to compare this to, but according to the copyright page, this edition has a fresh forward from the author, the fresh pattern (Eala Bhan), and a couple pages at the back which mention where the images were taken.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    The patterns are so lovely, I can hardly wait to knit some of them. There are several problems, though. The first is the huge one, that of the amounts of yarn required. No yardage or yarn size per pattern is given. The only yarns used are the author's own, with ounces needed per pattern being the only measurement. I had to go to her www service and hunt to search yards per ounce. Of course, if her yarns were not so expensive, this wouldn't be a problem, as everybody could just use her yarns. The www service refers to the prices as "affordable" and competitive with other yarns of equal quality, but they are neither. I use good-to-very-good-quality wool yarns, but can't afford to pay over $100 for the yarn for one sweater. Besides which, her skeins are small, so it would take 16 of them for one sweater, for example - that's a lot of yarn junctions to deal with! I really think it would be helpful if the yarn yardages needed were listed in the book. She might not wish her sweaters created with any other yarn, but realistically, people will do that, and she could be more helpful. She could contain a disclaimer, if she felt she required to. Another issue is that none of the patterns in this book are appropriate for someone who is not already a competent cables knitter. She gives all the instructions needed, but the idea of the pattern on the front cover being suitable for a cables beginner (as stated in the book) is absurd. I will practice on other stuff until I think I am competent enough to do her patterns, but it won't be soon. I would not recommend this book to anybody who isn't already an experienced cables knitter. I'd have preferred more patterns and less history (50 pages!), also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    Very interesting history of Aran knitting and helpful tutorial on developing own cables. I was disappointed that she only included flat Aran pullover (gansey) sweater patterns since I was looking forward to detailed instructions on Aran sweaters knit on circular needles (especially after she noted that the original ganseys were knit seamlessly). A cardigan pattern would also have been nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    An perfect book of patterns. I love these classic sweater knits. They really give the knitter a workout and are so fun tomake. You don't need to live in a cold climate to have fun the style...make it out of cotton yarn, linen or hemp. Small tops or button upsweaters can provide heat escape. Alice Starmore is a knitter's knitter and so accomplished. I would buy any of her books formy library. This is the kind of book you dream over and obtain inspired with. A amazing bonus idea for you mate who loves this type ofcable knitting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    Outstanding Book for Authentic Aran Sweater Knitting! Yes, I did buy her yarns, both in Bainin and her Hebrides 3-Ply. I hate to say this to any naysayers on her yarn, BUT! Her yarns are exquisite! The Hebrides 3-Ply color choices are beautiful. A lot of actually change overall colors due to ambiant lighting. They keep the cable designs perfectly. I have fallen in love with the yarns and free shipping to US via Royal Mail. I live in Alaska! To obtain yarns so quickly! I keep the yarns within 2 weeks beautifully wrapped. I am working on two sweaters right now: " Na Craga", her cover sweater in the color she chose- Selkie. The other sweater, knit in Baini yarn color Culmor, a purple, pattern is "St Kilda", from her book, "In the Hebrides" that is also chock full of stunning designs! I have the original hardbound book of Aran Knitting that was released in the 90s. For me, to have an exact sweater created of her outstanding special yarns from the Hebrides is a priceless feeling. Her yarns are hand dyed and dried outdoors. Her www service goes into the process. Waiting for a particular shade that is out of stock IS worth waiting for. It is another reason I search her yarn so precious. This book is a attractive educational book that shares so much history and technique. Some reviewers have stated she is smug or full of herself. She might be. BUT.....she IS a legend and history will be kind to her with her body of exceptional work in knitting, needlepoint and more. For anyone who doubts buying her yarn....just test it. I showed my husband swatches of her yarns latest night. For a man who has seen me knitting for decades and has been blasé about looking at yarns in the past, this time he took time feeling and looking at the choices. In the past with other yarns, he could care less. His reaction latest night confirmed my suspicions. To even a novice, her designs and sweaters ARE exceptional. Buy the book. Order some swatches. Watch the magic from your needles. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aran Knitting, Expanded Edition []  2020-2-7 20:24

    This book is really for intermediate to advanced knitters. I love the styles, however most sweaters are S, M and L sizing. I would have liked to see what the sizing scale really means, as well as see options for XL sizing. I wear a U.S. Misses 16 and it seems that the patterns are on the bubble for me. I'm not advanced enough to upsize on my own, and I don't wish to begin something that won't fit. Too a lot of hours of work not to wear them. But unbelievable to look at and some of the Aran cable patterns could be integrated on sweaters that are sized comfortably for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    The afghan on the cover was my very first crochet project. It was easier than it looks. I did have a few questions while doing a couple of the stitches but was able to search amazing examples on youtube. Lovely afghan, I obtain a lot of complements on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    Ebook not the best for patterns but too expensive in hardcopy since it's out of print.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    This is a amazing source for crocheters of all levels! Lots of attractive afghans to choose from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    Again, I have projects ahead of this book that I need to finish first, but I am very eager to obtain into these patterns!! Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    I am always looking for various crochet is is a nice collection. simple but unusual patternsthat are not pieced together. Winter projects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    I haven't actually created any from this book yet. I mostly crochet during the late fall and winter months. But the pictures are beautiful. I do look forward to trying them out in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    Attractive patterns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    I purchased this book specifically for the Warm Welcome afghan pineapple pattern afghan. The instructions are incomplete! No indication of number of stitches for beginning chain or multiple chain numbers required to complete the pineapple pattern for increasing or decreasing the size of the afghan. I have been crocheting for well over 60 years and have crocheted the pineapple pattern a lot of times in past years so I'm not a novice. Since it has been a few years since I completed my latest pineapple project, I wanted to create sure that my memory was correct concerning the number of stitches required for the pineapple pattern. Needless to say, I am very disappointed. The instructions are not complete. I'm sure that I will be able to figure it out, but when I shell out cash for a specific book, I expect the instructions to be complete. If I wanted to figure it out on my own, I would not have bought the book, I would have gone online and simply printed off an enlarged picture which I now want I had done. I doubt very much that I will ever purchase another Luxurious Afghans book even though I had considered buying more of them that I found with some attractive patterns while I was looking for this pattern. I do not recommend this book for seasoned, advanced, beginning, or any other crocheters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    Booklet came in Perfect Condition!!! Four fun patterns!!! I am anxious to begin the one on the cover!!! Although I will create all the patterns in this booklet!!! They're to beautiful not too!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Luxurious Afghans []  2020-2-6 23:14

    Very lovely afghans! They take a bit of yarn, so watch the sales.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    I ordered the book for one pattern.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    Amazing book. Simple crochet patterns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    Lovely patterns. Hard to choose which one to begin with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    This book has been my constant companion for 3 years. All my nieces and nephews have been bringing more babies into the family and all of them obtain at least 2 blankets from Aunt Betsy. My daughter has started making blankets for her co-workers. The book is full of attractive patterns that are simple to create and loved by the recipients.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    Not a lot of patterns but the ones included are very nice and the one I was looking for is here plus I found a few more. Amazing pattern book to have on hand . I would buy again. Quick shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    Lots of beautiful choices. I've created several of the one on the cover, and they work up quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    Attractive Blankets, simple to follow instructions. Have had people offer to pay me very well for one of these blankets they saw after I created one for a gift. These blankets are so simple and fast. There are endless color combo's you can do. I only want I had found this pattern book a lot sooner and it sure was worth every cent. I recommend this book for everyone from beginners to experienced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    Perfect, like brand new!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    Can only use half the patterns as I don't knit. But I have created one of the crocheted patterns and it turned out beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snuggle-Up Baby Afghans []  2020-11-25 22:4

    like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    A look at a by gone era by a amazing playwright.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    Very nice . Here is a picture of what I am making with it . I am fresh at crocheting so I think it looks beautiful good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    Synge’s books were recommended to me by the Irish poet, Alan Cooke. I am forever changed after beginning the book just prior to visiting Inis Oírr and finishing it 6 weeks later. Why so long? I read everything around Synge to better understand this rich history. This book is a treasure. I am grateful to this prose and playwright who died so young.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    A look at a by gone era by a amazing playwright.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    To correct the info written in the product description, this is not a "Jumbo", but it is a slightly oversized "Super Saver". The skein weighs 10 oz. (not 14), which is 482 yds. of yarn (not 744). So, for those of you with multi-skein projects, order more :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    Unbelievable travelogue that helped me understand 19th/20th century Ireland. I haven't been to Ireland since 2004, and I didn't know anything about the country at the time, but now I wish to go back to Inishman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    IT'S BEAUTIFULLY PRODUCED

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    People have often said to me that they search Synge's acc of his time spent honing his Irish and collecting folklore on the Aran Islands to be one of the slowest and most boring reads they've ever encountered. I must heartily disagree.While the work doesn't exactly "swing like the pendulum do", the rhythms of his narration are very much like that of the changing tide and the rolling of the waves to which the islanders have grown accustomed. Synge's narration-- like time on Inishmaan-- moves slowly and steadily, washing over the reader if one will allow member above all that this work is essentially a series of journal entries, meant to doent the people Synge met, the conversations he had, the stories he heard, etc. Perhaps the book's greatest contribution to the globe is as a doent of a method of life no longer in existence. This book is also a doent of the the Irish Literary Renaissance, and-- for its occassional pretensions-- should be ! considered as such. This text might also support to give greater understanding to any reading of Synge's plays, as he alleged that the story for such works as "Playboy of the Western World" were derived from tales he heard in the Arans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    Despite Synge's nostalgia filtered look at the islands for the saving put of all things Irish, his interactions with the local people are interesting enough to hold reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    People have often said to me that they search Synge's acc of his time spent honing his Irish and collecting folklore on the Aran Islands to be one of the slowest and most boring reads they've ever encountered. I must heartily disagree.While the work doesn't exactly "swing like the pendulum do", the rhythms of his narration are very much like that of the changing tide and the rolling of the waves to which the islanders have grown accustomed. Synge's narration-- like time on Inishmaan-- moves slowly and steadily, washing over the reader if one will allow member above all that this work is essentially a series of journal entries, meant to doent the people Synge met, the conversations he had, the stories he heard, etc. Perhaps the book's greatest contribution to the globe is as a doent of a method of life no longer in existence. This book is also a doent of the the Irish Literary Renaissance, and-- for its occassional pretensions-- should be ! considered as such. This text might also support to give greater understanding to any reading of Synge's plays, as he alleged that the story for such works as "Playboy of the Western World" were derived from tales he heard in the Arans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    A amazing portrait or the Aran islands, even though mostly Inishmaan. This book is a amazing approach of the isle people's life in the early 20th century Ireland. These times are gone but remain well doented in Synge's writings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    All good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    Arrived on time and in excellent condition.I'm going to tell you a story about Red Heart yarn :) My mom used it a lot. She created matching sweaters for my 2 younger brothers from what was then their (early 1970s) "economy" yarn. My brothers wore the sweaters until they grew out of them. My middle brother somehow managed to save his, and gave it to me for my son to wear. My son wore it until he grew out of it. Now my oldest grandson is wearing it. Yes, i'm not kidding. The sweater is 30-some years old - and it hasn't faded, stretched, ed, or anything else - it looks as amazing as the day my mom finished it. It has been machine washed and dried. no unique care at all. It used to be called "Coats & Clark Red Heart" yarn. Both my grandmother and mother used their yarn, embroidery floss, crochet thread, etc. If you look on the label it's still created by Coats & NO attention to any reviews. This yarn is fine for any daily items- hats, scarves, mittens, afghans. children clothes, shawls, blankets and yes, baby stuff. It's soft and yet it wears like iron. You simply cannot go wrong with Red Heart yarn. So yes i will undoubtedly buy more for fresh projects, and yes i would heartily recommend to a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    I crochet a lot and although a lot of colors are essential to me, black and white yarn are a must to have on hand at all times. Red heart is excellent for me because most of the things that I crochet are amigurumi and they use a dozens of colors so sometimes it's best to stick to one brand for that project so it doesn't look weird in the end. But, overall, Red heart is simple to work with, and getting the jumbo saves money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    I just received this in the mail today and it seems like it has been used. The string was actually sealed into the plastic wrapping. And then when I opened it up, the strings are all loose and kind of pulled out everywhere. When I keep it, it is super floppy. I've had a lot of of these large rolls from Red Heart and they are NOT floppy and flimsy like this! I honestly think that this is not a full roll. If my project wasn't time sensitive, I would send it back!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    Red Heart Worsted Weight White - we all need it at some point. It does not split and washes well. Some people may say Hobby Lobby Brand ‘I Love This Yarn’ is softer - BUT boy does that brand obtain fuzzy and balled up Heart softens with washing. If you are making a baby blanket, once you are finished making it, run it under a little drizzle of water. Just obtain a handful of spots on the blanket slightly damp. Then bounce it in the drier on your lowest heat setting with clean towels. About 10 mins works great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    Despite Synge's nostalgia filtered look at the islands for the saving put of all things Irish, his interactions with the local people are interesting enough to hold reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    This was bought for my nephew and he liked it! I was so glad he was satisfied with the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    Unbelievable travelogue that helped me understand 19th/20th century Ireland. I haven't been to Ireland since 2004, and I didn't know anything about the country at the time, but now I wish to go back to Inishman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    IT'S BEAUTIFULLY PRODUCED

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands (Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin) []  2020-2-7 19:34

    Perfect history of Aran Islands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    BUYER BEWARE!!!! I ordered this thinking I would obtain the Jumbo sized Red Heart, and what I got instead was the little sized Super Saver Yarn. I was charged double the price for a little sized yarn. I am NOT satisfied about this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    I will definitely return and not purchase from this seller again. I ordered black super saver jump yarn (744 yards). This is soft navy super saver (364 yards). There's a various sticker over the original sticker. Very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    This is a fairly amazing quality yarn but I'm not entirely happy with the purchase. I ordered two coordinating colors from the list for use on the same project but when they arrived I was disappointed to explore that they are two various types of yarn. One, Mirage, is a regular 4-ply yarn (recommended crochet hook size J) but the other, Navy, is a heavy, very coarse chenille (recommend hook size M).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver Jumbo Yarn, Aran []  2020-4-1 18:23

    Red Heart super saver is a amazing primary yarn for things like granny squares, amigurumi, etc. It doesn't split easily as you are knitting or crocheting with it. I have used it in afghans and little blankets but it's not as soft as some other acrylics. However, for the price, you really can't beat it if you wish a good, solid acrylic that washes beautiful well and doesn't smell like oil. (Yes, some acrylics have a slightly oily smell). No discernible "squeaking" when working with this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    My mother left Donegal about the time that Synge was writing his plays. His visits to the Aran Islands inspired his works, as one can see scenes from his plays in scenes he described here. The primitive life on a Donegal farm was not too different. Synge learned then...taught me now...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    A amazing portrait or the Aran islands, even though mostly Inishmaan. This book is a amazing approach of the isle people's life in the early 20th century Ireland. These times are gone but remain well doented in Synge's writings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands [with Biographical Introduction] []  2020-11-25 19:51

    All good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Afghans for Swedish Weaving []  2020-1-31 6:56

    I'm a long-time and proficient weaver, but I didn't search this book utilitarian.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Afghans for Swedish Weaving []  2020-1-31 6:56

    The patterns are amazing but I have not started one yet. I’m still working on and finishing up my latest project!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    I've been burned a few times purchasing crochet pattern books online (You really can't judge a book by its cover!), but this one was a definite treasure to add to my collection. It has lots of special patterns for attractive afghans unlike any I've seen elsewhere, and the instructions are beautiful simple to follow. As another review mentioned, I too was surprised and happy to search that the yarns used are ones that are commonly found at your local Michaels, Hobby Lobby, or even Walmart, as opposed to the other books that specify yarn brands I've never heard of and would never search in my area. I have already completed one pattern from the book, the "Trip Around the Globe Granny", and I believe it is the prettiest one I've ever made! I have several more picked out that I wish to make. Anyone is sure to search an afghan here that will look amazing with their own home decor. Amazing book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    Attractive patterns!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Afghans for Swedish Weaving []  2020-1-31 6:56

    I liked the different designs and colors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    I just received this book and I have already started on the Stained Glass Window Afghan. I saw pictures of one another crocheter had completed and it was so gorgeous I just had to create one for myself. The other projects in the book look attractive too, so I will probably be making some of them later on. The window afghan is coming along just fine. There are a few printing mistakes in the pattern, but nothing to really confuse you too much. I was able to interpret the designer's intent with no problem. Enjoy, and you'll have some really fine creations using this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Afghans for Swedish Weaving []  2020-1-31 6:56

    the patterns are amazing! The book is filled with Afghan size patterns and provide really amazing directions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    I down rated this otherwise attractive book to 4 stars for the pattern mistakes (see other reviews on this).What I like about the book is the fact that unlike so a lot of a lot of crochet and knit patterns and books that have only one "arty" image of the project that's either out of focus or has the afghan so folded up or otherwise obscured by objects place in for "atmosphere" that the picture is unhelpful.I am amazed at how a lot of commercial afghan patterns do one of the following:Have only one picture showing the WRONG side of the afghan;Don't present both ends, or all sides, (and inspection of the pattern reveals that either the beginning edge or the ending one is rather weird and poorly thought out);Give few or no clues as to how to actually assemble the thing so that it lies flat and looks decent on both sides.Have a picture of a sample afghan that has obvious MISTAKES (sometimes this goes with mistakes in the pattern.)This book however often has a image of the entire afghan laid out fully in view, and enough close-ups that one can actually see the stitches and assembly way well enough to resolve issues with the patterns, a huge support that is second only to having diagrams as well as text directions (sadly, most afghan patterns have only text).I also personally have fun the imaginative if somewhat wild use of colors in most of these patterns. I might not actually be able to fit one into my old fashioned house with its Late Victorian through 1950s "decor", but I found most of the patterns inspiring, and will probably obtain this book out when cooking up my next "from scratch" afghan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    21 afghans in first section: classics updated. 8 in I'll take romance, 10 in huge hook, 11 for babies. Designers contain Music MacDuffee's cover afghan. Back cover has 3 on the corners which are very interesting. Lots of grannies, motifs, ripples, aran type and lace. There's a very nice circular baby afghan. EAch afghan has difficulty rating, and several color photos. All instructions written out, no charts. No unusual methods such as Tunisian. Recommended to all crocheters (no knitting, ok).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tunisian Baby Afghans to Crochet []  2020-7-15 19:18

    Attractive patterns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    I have so a lot of crochet afghan books I don't possibly know what to do with them all. I've been crocheting for nearly 30 years, and in that time, I have found that a lot of of the patterns in my collection of books and assorted patterns are very much like each other in a lot of ways. Crochet is beautiful, but like fashion, some looks are dated, others are timeless.When beginning a fresh project, I tend to go online and look for something different. My books seem to consist of rehashed related patterns. While classic, the adventurous side of me likes to take on something completely new. I was drawn to the pattern on the front of the is book takes a lot of classic patterns and updates them in special and awesome ways. When I received it, I was excited to see the different color combinations and various stitch combinations. With gorgeous patterns ranging from simple to experienced, there's something in here for everyone on your bonus giving list. There are four categories: Classics Updated; I'll Take Romance; Huge Hook, Huge Style; and Cuddle-Up Cuties. There really is something in here for hope was to search patterns to use to clear out my overflowing stash of yarn, and this book will create that happen for me this year. It's been a long time since I've been excited about an afghan pattern book, and this one delivers beyond.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    Bought the whole book just for the pattern of the stained glass looking afghan on the cover, but it's filled with really beautiful stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Afghans for Swedish Weaving []  2020-1-31 6:56

    I have created several of her patterns. They are a @#$%!&allenging, but that was why I loved them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tunisian Baby Afghans to Crochet []  2020-7-15 19:18

    Perfect condition of booklet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Afghans for Swedish Weaving []  2020-1-31 6:56

    Love every pattern!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    I bought this for the stained glass pattern and there's an error in the pattern and I can't search anyone to help. I am not the only person to say there's an error.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    I just received this book so I have not done any of the afghans yet but the patterns are really amazing. There are a lot of various types of patterns from vintage to modern and from easy to lavish designs with varying skills levels so any crocheter can search a project. The instructions seem simple to follow. The patterns use a lot of various types of yarn and ribbon to create special works of art. There is even a kids/baby section. I want I had time to create them all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Sensational Crochet Afghans & Throws []  2020-1-20 1:7

    Lots of amazing patterns in this one! I've created a few of them (though I changed the color schemes on all of them to give them what I perceive to be an updated look) and have received nothing but positive feedback from others as well. The blankets are attractive and the patterns are simple to read. Definitely recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver 3-Pack yarn, ARAN 3 Pack []  2020-7-15 18:19

    Yarn is nice but not all the same size. Started all three at the same time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver 3-Pack yarn, ARAN 3 Pack []  2020-7-15 18:19

    Amazing yarn for blankets and tote bags. Soft but very sturdy. Goes well with almost any color.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    I don't think I've ever left a review before. I'm a 20 year knitter with a bookcase full of knitting books. When I purchase a knitting book, I hope to search 3 patterns that I'll knit. I love EVERY pattern in this book. I wish to sell my stash so I can buy the excellent yarn for each pattern and spend the next year knitting each one. While each pattern has a huge sizing range, these patterns create me wish to lose weight so the finished stuff will be even more flattering! Obviously, I highly recommend this book - there are lots of pictures of each item from various angles and the patterns and charts are well thought out - Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    I had knit one of Jennifer's other patterns (Evelyn Swing Jacket) prior to receiving this book, it turned out beautifully and I plan on making another one! Everyone that has seen me wearing it immediately wants to know what the pattern is and complements me.I am so impressed both with her pattern writing and with her style. I don't buy pattern books unless I know I will knit at least 50% of the patterns and I will probably create every item in this one at some point. In fact, I already have the yarn to knit 3 of them.I also have to note that Jennifer's pattern help on Ravelry is top-notch. She answers questions within a day or two, sometimes in the same day!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    My wife got this book recently, and as an avid knitter she reads absolutely every knitting book that is published. She's admired Jennifer Wood for a LONG time and this book is exciting to see. The patterns here are simply awesome and she's now working on her first project from the book. What follows is a review based largely on what she thinks of this book, but I've added a few points as I also really admire the rst, a bit of background on Jennifer Wood who runs Wood House Knits. She has been designing since 2011 -- a lot of of her patterns are on Ravelry. (Note that there is a group on Ravelry for the book. I love this as it tends to be a amazing put to obtain help. You can even see pictures of the objects in this book on Ravelry, which is great. I'm guessing that as time goes on, a lot of will post variations of these patterns.) She's also published patterns in Interweave, so she has a amazing name for herself.✔ What's Special Here? 'The most interesting thing about this book is that she combines cables and lace. You typically see textured stitching and lace as separate things, but she does a amazing job of bringing those two domains together in some really elegant objects. Elegant is the word here, as these are very attractive patterns. The nice thing about combining lace and cables is that you obtain more structure (from the cables) and yet still have drape (from the lace).'✔ Inspiration? 'A cool part of this book is that Wood mentions that some of her ideas and innovations here actually come from Japanese stitch guides/dictionaries that she modifies. We don't know much about this knitting heritage, but the combo of cables and lace is certainly special (in term of look and structure), so this origin is nice to have Wood acknowledge.'✔ Books Sections? 'The book is broken into three main sections: 1) cables, 2) lace, and 3) the combo of the two -- she calls this "Aran Lace." Overall, we'd classify this knit book as a pattern book. However, there is a stitch glossary in the back and you can learn a lot from reading this book (and her pattern logic).✔' Knitting Level? 'With a lot of advanced techniques such as short rows, cabling, set-in sleeves, compound raglan construction, and lace work, we'd say this is a book for moderate to advanced knitters. The sweaters are top-down. With that said, there are a few things here for beginners. Even if you're a beginner cabler or fresh to lace knitting, there are projects in this book that let you to obtain into this kind of hybrid knitting. For instance, the "Elodie" and "Louisa" designs are more for beginners.✔' Book Quality Itself? 'This book is from Interweave press, and is a really nice object (as a book itself). The pictures are well lit, the pages feel good, and the printing is high-quality. This is not a cheapo on-demand book or anything like that. It's really beautiful to keep and flip through.✔' Pattern Legibility? 'This is a book with charted patterns. This means that you need to be able to read charts to obtain through the patterns. The cables and lace sections are not written out, so you have to follow the charts. As for pattern legibility, we'd say that that these patterns are simple to follow and accurate. We mention this because it's a pet peeve of mine when knit books.✔' Sizes? 'She also contains really clear diagrams with measurements, which is something I like: in her patterns she goes from 33" bust to 54-and-1/4" bust cirference. We're sure experienced could go beyond her sizes and modify these patterns. She covers cardigans and pullovers, shawls, and other accessories (cowls, mittens, a hat). As I said, the sweaters are all top-down.✔' Any Critiques? 'The images and/or modeling of the objects looks a small bit dated. We're not saying the actual knit wear is dated, just the images and modeling. It almost looks like it could be from the 1980s at some times. This is not a critique of the knits, just some of the art direction.Overall, we'd say that this is one of the more exciting latest knitting books. Mixing lace and cable in this book is really beautiful, and Wood really takes that up a notch in this pattern.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    I don't buy hard copies of knitting books very often because I can usually search what I wish in a download. I came across this book and had to have it.I wanted to create all but 1 item in this book. The patterns are exquisite, but not hard. I already have the yarn for my first sweater from this book on the spinning ese are also patterns that will stand the try of time as they are elegant, classic pieces that will not go out of fashion. Attractive book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    Jennifer Wood's book, Refined Knits, has some lovely shawl patterns that are on my short list for knitting. I never create a lace pattern that doesn't have plain knit or plain purl on the wrong side. I need the break from the lace knitting. I've checked out some of hers and they fill the bill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver 3-Pack yarn, ARAN 3 Pack []  2020-7-15 18:19

    best price for this yarn.. love the colors when a gold yarn was added it created the yarn pop... Love working with RED HEART yarns simple to search the middle begin end..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver 3-Pack yarn, ARAN 3 Pack []  2020-7-15 18:19

    Red Heart has amazing yarn. The colours are attractive and the yarn itself is simple to work with whether for knitting or crocheting. LOVE IT. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver 3-Pack yarn, ARAN 3 Pack []  2020-7-15 18:19

    I was a small disappointed. Only because, I keep the smaller yarn instead of the huge one.. I paid for the bid one and got the little one. I kept the yarn because I required to finishes what i was working on. Buy the yarn it is the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    The book is beautifully photographed and laid out. Care has been taken in the production and it shows up as quality always does.I am knitting the pattern called Victoria and it's complicated and easy at the same time. Her explanations are very clear and that helps. The designs are outstanding. Not too far out, but they are definitely stand outs, if that makes sense. Her section on knitting techniques is one of the best short courses I have seen in a pattern book. In short, well worth the money.(and I am tough on knitting books....see my reviews of other knitting books).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    This is a beautiful inspirational book. Attractive projects and photography. I met the author and got to see some of the finished garments at Rhinebeck NY sheep and wool festival in 2016, and holy cow.....these projects are even more stunning in true life. I liked the book to start with but now I really appreciate the art and creativity that went into these projects. I have not knit any patterns yet so I can't comment on that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    This book is full of pretty, feminine designs. Not that they are necessarily delicate, just that they have lacy patterns or other sweet info like draped necklines or tailored body shaping. Very interesting, and not for the faint of heart. I look forward to knitting some of these designs!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    I used to buy knitting books galore, but have stopped doing that in the past few years because they tend to take up a lot of zone and I decided I required to clarify why I would need to buy a book, especially considering there are so a lot of now also available electronically. I now will only buy a hard copy book if there are sufficient patterns that I will likely make, some more than once. This is one of those books. The preview gives a reasonable review of what's inside. I am particularly happy with the lovely dozens of feminine sweaters that are both modern and classic. I envision myself gifting quite a few of the sweaters from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver 3-Pack yarn, ARAN 3 Pack []  2020-7-15 18:19

    The price was absolutely most ridiculous. If I had not required this yarn to finish a project, I would never have paid that price. Price gouging is a word I would use for the seller. I would up not using even one whole skein, but bought 3 just in case, seeing as how I miscalculated when I had bought the initial amount.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver 3-Pack yarn, ARAN 3 Pack []  2020-7-15 18:19

    The color is my fave blend! People rave over it when I wear my scarf created from it in public. I will be making mittens and hats for children in need with these skeins.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver 3-Pack yarn, ARAN 3 Pack []  2020-7-15 18:19

    This yarn is simple to work with and the color changes are attractive and gradual. I have created several things with this yarn and have loved every piece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Burren & The Aran Islands – A Walking Guide []  2020-8-18 19:25

    This is just what I needed. How forward of the publisher to place this out as an ebook. Excellent maps, illustrations, and descriptions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands: At the Edge of the World []  2020-12-7 19:12

    A fascinating and thoughtful read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Aran Islands: At the Edge of the World []  2020-12-7 19:12

    Love the book my parents were from Inishmaan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Refined Knits: Sophisticated Lace, Cable, and Aran Lace Knitwear []  2020-2-9 19:14

    This is not only one of those "eye candy" books but also includes patterns and images for stunning designs as well. I'm about 1/2 method through the shawl on the cover, Anwen, and am loving it. The directions (on this pattern) are very clear. I am not an advanced knitter but find, as I proceed row by row, this is not only doable but relatively simple, if you use markers. I plan to knit other patterns in this attractive book. I highly recommend "Refined Knits" if you have fun lace knitting...or even if you don't!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RED HEART Super Saver 3-Pack yarn, ARAN 3 Pack []  2020-7-15 18:19

    I was out of white yarn. So I could go to the store. So again I should have been bad. So I order from you. Lol I really like the super saver size. 4 ply . I create prayer shawls. 2 to 3 a month. So thank you being for me

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386