Read at the circus reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all at the circus reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    If this is not simply the greatest bonus from god himself to you then you can't call yourself a real Sublime fan. Raw and uncut epicness (Bradley forgets lyrics "439-0111 whatever" ends up improvising with the most raw talent ever)... its like entering a time warp back to the golden days. If you're even remotely debating getting it... BUY IT! I assure you that you will not be dissapointed in the slighest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    Best dvd I own!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    As advertised. Amazing DVD, every song is great, Love these guys!

    0  


    Add your opinion on at the circus or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    Not their best concert, nor in their prime but live sublime is rare so I'd obtain it again. The sound quality is beautiful decent and the video not poor - and it is Sublime live ! The close-out song while the credits roll is a tear jerker (tribute to Bradley and Lou-dog)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    Amazing sound

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    Well, either you like them or really like them. I really like them. It was and is a loss for us all. Take it for what it is. I never saw them live. Love their music. But, trust me, this video is worth owning! GREG P.S.-"Just take it for what it is! It will be even more unique then."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    Amazing dvd. Arrived very promptly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    Ive been a Sublime fan since the mid-90's and never had the opportunity to see them before Bradley passed so this was a excellent dvd for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    Bradley, Eric and Bud are at their best at this amazing venue in Hollywood with the Mosh Pit in full effect! The video and sound quality are amazing as well...you will love this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    3 Ring Circus - Live At The Palace []  2020-7-14 19:58

    I love Sublime's Behind The Music, but this is bad

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    When I'm faced with challenges in my life, I am somewhat heartened by something I learned as a child, that an oyster has to be irritated by a grain of sand in order to eventually create a pearl. That knowledge always created the load I was carrying seem less significant, and helped me to see the light at the end of the tunnel, so to speak. Cinematically speaking, at least in the fine age of silent movies, one of the most difficult gestation periods for the birth of a amazing movie was the highly traumatic 11 months of production for one of Sir Charles Chaplin's masterpieces, 'The Circus'. I love both silent cinema and early filmic comedies, and though I prefer Buster Keaton to Chaplin, I always have fun his amazing works, up to and including 'The Amazing Dictator'. Particularly close to my heart is 'The Circus'. Considering all of the brutal disasters Sir Charles Chaplin was facing during the movie's elongated production (ruined movie negative, studio burning down, Lita Grey's divorce papers [and the similar [email protected]#$%!&ing the papers], nervous breakdown, mother dying, IRS demanding a million in back taxes, one of the circus wagons being stolen, just to mention a few), it's miraculous that a movie was released at all, allow alone one as gracefully hilarious yet contemplatively mature as 'The Circus', and that he was able to both recover and rebound from this poor spell to have a superlative career as one of the greatest actor/directors ever to grace cinema. His life was basically a three-ring circus, and he was still able to retain his dignity and escape virtually unscathed. Because of the aforementioned trials and tribulations he endured in those eleven months of the film's making (which IMHO would be worthy of a fine movie itself, in its doentation and chronicling), though it may not be as side-splitting in its hilarity as 'The Gold Rush' or 'Modern Times', it will probably keep the closest put to my heart of Chaplin's films.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    I love Chris van Dusen's illustrations. I am an artist myself and i so appreciate a well illustrated child's book. I grew up with some really special, old and beautifully illustrated books myself and I would spend hours looking at the pictures. Van Dusen doesn't fail to contain unique info and lots of depth to his work. I like his rhymes and flow of his books, this one is no exception. Though it isn't about Mr. Magee, my kids and I really loved the circus ship because of his unique attention to every inch of a page and his colourful arrangements. I have 7 of the books he has illustrated, six he also wrote. I am an addict. I would love some of his original artwork, it's so fanciful and appealing.I started with "a camping spree with Mr. Magee." When I was 20, I bought it thinking I would one day have kids...which I did, and then we got a vintage trailer too. It was truly an inspiration. We read Van Dusen's books on every vacation we take in our trailer or when we fly, our kids look forward to story time when we travel thanks to his work. The books are light weight and the Mr. Magee books are very compact, so these create for perfect travel books.R reading these weekly will not obtain e circus ship book, I have read three times, I create sure to not hold the book begin to the same page long so I can see fresh things each time I read. There are a lot of things to see I. This book in particular. It's almost an I spy book. My four year old is just getting to be able to point out all the animals in the final pictures, some are so well disguised.We look forward to more from Van Dusen and applaud his skill both in story telling and illustration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    One word to describe this: Enchanting! What a beautifully written story, with such vivid imagery that you can practically see the scenes and smell the smells as it's being told to you. Having loved Caraval, by Stephanie Garber, the idea of a love story in a magical, mysterious circus that only appears at night was super intriguing to me, and combined with the thrilling blurb, I couldn't wait to sink my teeth into this. Some of the best worldbuilding I've read about, that didn't bore you. There were a lot of times where I found myself bringing this quite literally everywhere, wanting to know what happened next. Honestly, that is what kept me turning the pages.I also liked Marco and Celia as a couple, even if their relationship wasn't fleshed out much. Usually, insta-love turns me off a romance immediately, but in this sense, it kind of worked since three years passed before they were professing their love for each other. Bailey and Poppet were cute, too, but there wasn't enough written about their relationship. And, I did have fun that the story was told throughout a long period of time, so you obtain to see the characters (albeit sometimes, briefly), when they're kids, and again as teenagers/adults.Unfortunately, that's where it ends. Again, the imagery and prose are wonderful, but at the expense of plot and characterization. Lots of characters introduced, but I never felt a connection to any of them, even though (of course), you learn a small more about our two (three?) lead characters. 3rd person Omni POV meant that you never really obtain into any particular character's head. They all sounded the same when they spoke, and at times, I found myself having to re-read a particular paragraph or page to search out who exactly was speaking or being talked about. Also, lots of time jumps. And reading on the Kindle meant it was harder to flip back and forth to obtain how old the characters at being said, our leads' relationship also felt very under-developed, because you never obtain to actually see how they fall in love, and are just told that they are after a 3-year time jump. Which brings me to my other issue, too much telling and not enough showing. The blurb promised an exciting storyline, but in that sense, didn't obtain what was promised. I never felt any sense of urgency, or any fear that one of the MCs might actually die as a result, and I found myself scratching my head at points wondering "Wait, where is this duel that this book is supposed to be about??" Lastly, no rules for the magic. It seemed like magic could be used anytime, at any point it was needed. Minor gripe in the grand scheme of things, e resolution comes quickly after a very slow begin and middle, comprised of only several chapters, and quite frankly, it felt rushed, almost as if the author realized she had too a lot of loose ends to tie up and not enough time to do it. On the bright side, our characters do obtain a HEA (or in some cases, a sort-of HEA).The book is written in 3rd person Omni (so you read about the thoughts of everyone in the scene, even if they're not major players or major supporting players), with a few chapters woven in written in second person. I liked this book a lot, but didn't love it, as I was left wanting at the end, with a feeling of "what happened? That's it?" Ms. Morgenstern is obviously an incredibly talented writer, so I was disappointed that there wasn't more of an actual story. I would definitely see the film when it's released, to see all the scenes and quirky characters brought to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    I love this piece for all the extras. The concert videos, melody videos. Even a video from the singers solo project.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    I read this years ago while Rickenbacker still lived. This race vehicle driver turned warrior pilot wrote this when he was still a young man just back from the first air battle in 1919. In reading it again as an adult I was surprised to search that he was quite honest and self efacing. When he created a mistake he was forthcoming about it. In a lot of incidents contained in this book it is obvious that luck played an enormous part in survival of pilots in those days, as the training and equipment by today's standards was to place it bluntly, inadequate. I imagine that this book is still a amazing one for warrior jocks of today because there are still lessons here that apply to today's combat environment. It is always easier to learn from someone else's experiences than to repeat them yourself. If you wish to learn what it was like to war in the air in the First Globe Battle this is your book. It is on a par with James McCudden's book "Flying Fury," and that is high praise nce reading this book I have read Rickenbacker's autobiography and was not nearly as impressed as I was with this book. By the 1960's Rickenbacker had mellowed and his words were carefully chosen and not nearly as spontaneous as in this book. After all, by then he had been a CEO of Eastern Airlines, and seemed more guarded about his e Kindle price of this fine book works for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    Very amazing doentary. Enjoyed when I saw it on tv,so I knew what I was getting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    Engrossing story of a nearly forgotten American institution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    amazing footage

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    I just finished reading this story to my son for the hundredth time and I have to weigh in. We read- a LOT in our house- and honestly, it's hard to search really GOOD childrens books. I've purchased more than a few "5 star" books from Amazon that were frankly disappointing. Having said that- Chris Van Dusen is a bright light in a sea of mediocrity. His stories are always interesting, and written with a unbelievable rhyming cadence that perfectly matches his colorful, fascinating illustrations. In my opinion, he is probably the most talented child's author currently writing books- and "The Circus Ship" is his BEST work. Now, I don't wish to obtain too overwrought. Some people obtain scared away by amazing reviews... words like "modern classic"... don't! Please! It's just SO damn good, it's a book parents and children will love- you won't regret buying it (unless, maybe, you're my sister- I gave to her and her son created her read it to him *5* times in a row the first time he read it!)5 stars are not enough, should be 6 or 7. BUY IT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    A delightful book for readers young and old! Author and illustrator Chris van Dusen’s tale (loosely based on a real story of a circus ship wreck) draws you in with an impressive combination of lyrical rhyme and stunning illustrations full of ers should know that this book tells the tale of a circus ship steered by a kind-hearted captain but lead by the villainous circus owner. When left to fend for themselves after their ship crashes, the animals create their method to a nearby village, and what happens next is heart-warming. Be sure to look for the animals hidden on a lot of pages throughout the book, but especially message the full spread where the townspeople have hidden the animals from the circus owner. While the circus owner is indeed cold-hearted, van Dusen’s over-the-top depictions of the owner led our girls (ages 2.5 and 5) to laugh rather than lishers target this for ages 4-8. Our younger kids have asked for this again and again, and every adult in our extended family truly enjoyed reading it over and over. It was a hit for all ages!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    This book is so bad. I really wanted to like it. It had a seemingly compelling plot and the reviews are great. But I hated it. I couldn't even [email protected]#$%!. There haven't been too a lot of books I couldn't finish but this is one of them. I don't really have the energy to write in detail everything I didn't like but I'll test to create a few felt empty, like a made-for-TV movie. Absolutely no depth or meaningful hero e writing style was terrible. It seemed like it was written by a prodigious kid just learning about descriptive language and trying too hard to use their vocabulary words. I can't believe an adult has gotten so much praise for e suspense is not suspenseful. Even a casual reader should have no issue seeing things before they happen. That's not inherently a poor thing. I read books all the time that are not suspenseful, but your enjoyment of this particular story will almost certainly be determined by how suspenseful you search it because it was obviously written in a method to hold you glued to the page. It just fails miserably.I might have liked this story when I was a child or pre-teen but I'm genuinely astounded that so a lot of adults are fans of this book.Edit:I wrote an edit a couple of days ago defending myself versus the commenters, but I deleted it and will just say this: If you haven't read the book, read the comments on this review and see the kind of arrogant, rude, presumptuous people who are fans of this novel (with the exception of Dan S. Tong, who was civil). They seem to think that's a amazing method to show themselves to the globe and promote this book which they love. One person even "perused" my profile and assumed I'm uncultured, ignorant, and not well-read because I don't review every single book I read. If that's the crowd you relate to, by all means, buy this book. I, however, am glad I am not part of that crowd.I wrote an honest review from my perspective. If you disagree, that's fine. Write a positive review and leave it at that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    I couldn't obtain past page 78. Here's why. There is a complete and utter lack of development on anything; setting, characters, or plot. I have no idea how these characters feel or think about anything. Celia has a dead mother and a crappy father, she doesn't mention it at all. The same with Marco. Apparently, he's okay with being locked in a house for years, for no apparent reason, being accompanied, at all times, by a man whose name he doesn't e occasionally second point of view is annoying and unnecessary as it takes away from the book and can easily be woven into the story.Right now they are learning magic, but why? They don't know, outside of some obscure challenge, and they don't seem all that interested in finding out. They seem absolutely content in where they are and what they are doing. You can't create a story out of that!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    This is an older album of BTBAM so it lacks the progressive sound found in their later albums. This album has more of a straight metalcore sound to it, but that may be due to this album having a various line up then its following album Alaska. The Silent Circus is still an interesting album with more of an edge to it then their later albums. I recommend purchasing this album and any album by this band honestly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    I think this isn't as amazing as their fresh stuff, but it's still better than most metal you'll search today

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this book but was immediately engaged when I began reading. It's the first book I've read containing first-hand accounts of aerial combat in Globe Battle I and very informative. As horrific we now understand that battle to have been, it's fascinating to read about the fatalistic and seemingly care-free attitude a lot of aviators had. The combat narratives read almost like play-by-play accounts of sporting happenings with a related attitude displayed. Indeed, the author says on more than one occasion that air combat was so fresh that the globe was eager to hear about "contests" between aviators on opposing sides. To be fair, there are portions that address the horrific fate of those hit in the air and set afire only to slowly burn to death during a 2-minute plunge to earth. Parachutes weren't worn by most pilots back then. The planes were small more than motorized kites with guns. Instrumentation was minimal in the pit and navigation by sight was all most had. I wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone as an introductory read on the topic of First Globe Battle air combat after America's entry into the conflict.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    I can not say enough about both the book and the man. Eddie Rickenbacker is a real patriot,and a forgotten American hero. If you wish to see how far this country has fallen, compare Rickenbacker with any American currently being idolized in the mainstream press. This book seems to have been lifted directly from his complete autobiography so I would strongly urge you to locate the long out of print book anywhere you can.Eddie Rickenbacker was a racing driver, a WW1 ace and a capitalist. He went on to found an airline and throughout his book talks openly about conservatism, capitalism and patriotism. It is no wonder he no longer is mentioned in schools across the country. His notice is in direct opposition with the liberal agenda. Begin by reading " Fighting The Flying Circus" and then locate and read his entire autobiography

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    The First Disc would not play on any device. Second disc worked fine. This was supposed to be a Fathers Day gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    As soon as I finished the Night Circus two things happened; first, it shot to the top of my favorites list and second, I simply had to reread it. I couldn't allow the globe go so quickly. This is the book I turn to when I wish to be encompassed and surrounded by a luscious and unbelievable globe that is better than mine. I adore the characters, but the descriptions of the circus itself leave marks. When I think of wonder and magic, this globe and it's circus are what define those qualities. I've never read anything quite like this, and I'm afraid that I might not ever search something as unbelievable as it again, but I keep out hope.If you like Harry Potter, you'll probably like this, though it is very different.If you, like me, adore this book and are looking for something else to read, go test Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith, and it's sequel Court Duel.If you wish another unbelievable method to experience this book: listen to the audiobook. It's read by Jim Dale, and it is magic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    Before I begin, I just wish to say that the Amazon product itself came on time. The book, though it didn’t suit me at all, had lovely writing and I could tell the author was passionate about it. Others might have enjoyed it but I certainly did begin off, it was terribly slow. I don't mind slow-moving stories, if they have a payoff. ”The Night Circus” did not have a notable payoff. I kept reading and reading, forcing myself to test to like it, but there was not one redeeming portion of the story that rewarded my patience and constant thinking that ”okay, something is about to happen, just one more chapter.”Also, the romance aspect of the story was completely unrealistic to me. Celia and Marco, the protagonists, only met like what, three times? Suddenly they have this inexplicable desire for each other? Come on! I wanted to help their love but it was just too fake for me to do so. I'm all down for a love story, but this had to much malarkey in it to be ever, as far as the writing itself goes, 10/10. It was absolutely breathtaking. I enjoyed reading the descriptions of the circus--everything seemed to come alive in my head, everything was clear and unbelievable and spectacular. The story just wasn't compelling to me. It was too predictable, unbelievable, and had no payoff whatsoever. I found my head soaring when I finished it because it felt trapped while I was reading it.But hey, that's just my opinion. Someone might have a completely various opinion on this book. But I just despised it. I couldn't handle it at all. I really wanted to like it but I didn't. ank you for reading my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    1. Short review: :-) (Amazon rating: 4 out of 5 stars -- I like it.)2. Long review:2.1. What I liked: The pictures. The first-hand ller-coaster or walk-in-the-park? Should be a roller coaster but it reads more like a walk in the park.2.2. What I did not like: Lack of detail for September and October 1918.2.3. Who I think is the audience: Air combat buffs. History buffs.2.4. Is the book appropriate for kids to read? Yes. No worries.2.5. On the basis of reading this book, will I buy the author's next book? Yes.2.6. The plot in a nutshell: There is no plot. Fighting the Flying Circus is an edited memoir. It was pieced together from Rickenbacker's (EVR) battle diary and his letters. EVR's story mirrors the story of the United States Air Service in WW1. He wrote of flying Nieuport 28s on patrol without guns; then with one gun to a plane because they had not enough to equip every plane with two; of a lot of pilots shredding their top planes in dives. EVR spent June, July, and August in the hospital recovering from an ear operation. He returned in September to search that his group had not downed a lot of Boche during his absence and that the Nieuports had been replaced with Spad XIIIs. EVR wrote of Frank Luke's comet-like fighting career. He ended with Luke's disappearance. When Fighting the Flying Circus was first printed in 1919, the USAS had not received the story of Luke's latest war nor the zone of his grave. Fighting the Flying Circus includes info about guns jamming and using incendiary ammunition to ignite German balloons. I was happy with the images in Fighting the Flying Circus. These included images of EVR, his squadron mates, observation balloons, and the Hannover CLII that EVR brought down. About a quarter method through the book, I said to myself, "I think this was ghostwritten." It was. The ghostwriter of Fighting the Flying Circus was Laurence La Tourette Driggs. The Aerodrome has a short piece about him. Find for the write-up by Ira Silverman. In the appendices at the end of the book, there is a table of Rickenbacker's confirmed kills. The list in Wikipedia echoes this list. I found it better than EVR's list at the Aerodrome. Together, the two lists seem comprehensive. YMMV. 2.7. Other: This is a later edition. It contains appendices that detail EVR's accomplishments after the war, such as the fact that he was presented the CMoH by President Herbert Hoover in 1931.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    One of the amazing classics about aerial combat in the Amazing st of the high scoring aces didn't live to write a history of warrior operations in the First Globe War, so first hand info is is is a must-read for those interested in what it was y flying techniques are described in terms no longer used or understood these days, but since the book was written in 1919 that excusable.Rickenbacker was America's top ace of the battle and survived to lead a charmed life for the rest of his days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    A must for any fan of The Circus, or someone who likes History in general. Very informative, and rare pictures to boot!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    The best example of US enterprise in our short national history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    We really enjoyed this !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    CD plays amazing thx u

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    We purchased this book for our boys several years ago... after first coming across If I Built a Car. Really all of his books are fantastic. I allow my children choose which books to read every night and inevitably it is a Van Dusen book. We love the Circus Ship mostly for the animals!! The illustrations are magnificent but in this book you must also search the animals - which is really not as simple as it sounds. When you finally do search the animals, I message the children study how they were "hidden" in the first place. Mind you, we've been reading this book for YEARS now and they never tire of it. I personally love the cadence of the story, and I love how the poor guy is depicted. Hold in mind that the artwork is such that you can not just blow through this book - I read each page slowly and with care, and the children will still insist on studying each page for just a small bit more time. It truly is a amazing book with a sweet message, and I highly recommend it. Check out his other books too - they are all very well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    Mr Van Dusen's books are wonderful- we have time all! Fun, lyrical rhymes with amazing inventive stories and cheerful hilarious art. Actually fun for the adult to read. My children 2- 4 love his books. This circus one has an especially fun page where the townspeople are trying to hide the circus animals so the mean ringmaster can't force them back to work for him...the animals are all cleverly camouflaged and our preschooler's had amazing fun finding them all. This is an author that never seems to obtain lazy with his stories. Randy Riley's really huge hit, and If I built a vehicle are two of our favorites, but they are all great. King Hugo's really huge ego is amazing too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    This is the sort of book that non-fantasy readers who fancy the “literary” will enjoy, loaded with stage descriptions, adjectives and elaborate prose. On the other hand, if one is used to well-constructed fantasy (or fiction for that matter) the book is slow-moving and the source of the “conflict” that is purportedly central to the book is so obscured as to create the reader totally indifferent to it. The world-crafting that one expects in fantasy is rudimentary at best, and the characters are one-dimensional stereotypes. The attempts to make drama and mystery with the central characters and plot are attempted via obscure dialog, and the writing device employed, placing chapters out of order in terms of date, is simply annoying and only adds to the sloth-like plot development. I rarely place down a book, but this is one I want I could return.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    At the urging of a friend, I decided to give this book a read through, especially considering it's now become a best seller, with a film deal in the works. I read a few reviews of this ahead of time, and it seems a lot of people tend to be torn on certain aspects of the book, and after having read it myself, I can agree to some of these points (but more on that in a moment).Around the turn of the century, a mysterious circus begins making appearances around the world. It only opens at night, and a lot of of the acts straddle the line between fantasy and reality; making it hard to tell if the acts are complex illusions or actual magic. In the center of all this are our two main characters. Ceila is the daughter of a magician named Prospero...a man who can perform REAL magic, and Marco was once an orphan who was taken in by a mysterious man (sometimes called "Alexander", but is mostly referred to as "the man in the grey suit"), and also taught the ways of true magic. Prospero and the Man in the Grey Suit decide to keep a contest, with Ceila and Marco acting as their champions, and the "Circus of Dreams" being used as the playing field. What the two magicians don't count on is their two students falling in love, and both Ceila and Marco must search a method to escape the contest they've been forced into, while also protecting the circus folk that've become unknowingly tangled up in their predicament--the most notable being Bailey, an enthusiastic fan of the circus, and a pair of clairvoyant twins named Poppet and Widget.***POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD***Let's begin off with the bad. This is something that a lot of reviewers have pointed out, and it's something I strongly agree with. The two main characters, Ceila and Marco, are so incredibly flat, I found it really hard to sympathize with them at all. It's a shame, because the beginning chapters with them as kids started off really promising, but once they come into adulthood, they become really boring. They've become so wrapped up in their contest (and later romance) that they don't really seem to have any sort of lives or hopes and dreams beyond just what they've been bred/trained to do. We learn next to nothing about what their likes/dislikes are, and their reactions to things are so wooden, it's like they're robots. Both of them have been abused by their parents/teachers, but neither exhibit any sort of trauma or repercussions of it. At one point, Ceila talks about her father slicing her fingers with a knife, and she talks about it as if this is perfectly normal. Later, she stabs her own hand, to which Marco just raises an eyebrow. Whether said person can magically heal themselves afterward or not, such an act should STILL elicit SOME kind of grossed out and/or horrified response. I obtain that these people aren't exactly normal (being magic and all), but a small more emotion would be nice. Their "romance" is even more forced. Supposedly, the two hang out with each other for a number of years (the book does ALOT of time skips), but we barely obtain to see those interactions. Any little talk that would've developed them and their relationship more is glossed over in favor of them just building fresh circus tents as bonuses to each other and saying "I love you" a lot (without really knowing WHY they do).Bailey and the twins, on the other hand, were MUCH more developed and likeable. Bailey is torn between his responsibilities to his family farm, and wanting to go on an adventure, and his eventual budding friendship with Poppet and Widget is adorable. And the twins' clairvoyance (one can see a person's past, the other can see the future), proves to be a mixed blessing, as sometimes, their abilities support them avoid trouble, while other times, they can see danger coming, yet have no power to stop it, and struggle to hold their home at the circus alive, even when they realize there's much more strong forces at work around them. It really makes me want that these three were the main characters instead, or we would've had a much more interesting story on our hands.Which brings me to the plot. If you're careful to read the dates at the beginning of each chapter, you'll quickly figure out that the story jumps around in time a lot. We see certain happenings out of order, so as not to spoil other plot points later on, and a lot of of the happenings take put from different viewpoints. While that style didn't bother me at all, the plot itself is more than confusing. From what I could figure out (or assume), Prospero and the Man in the Grey Suit are, in reality, two ancient wizards who are constantly trying to one-up each other, but rather than duke it out themselves, they hire/convince/trick other people into representing them, and apparently, these "contests" have been going on for centuries. But none the less, everything is left extremely vague. The two people who have all the answers tell the audience next to nothing, but rather than create the book more mysterious, it just makes it that much harder to understand (at least for me). The rules of the contest, or even WHY they're even doing all this is never fully or properly explained. We never search out just who they are exactly, and the magic system is never given much detail to how it works. Even in a fantasy, you have to establish certain ground rules, with how the magic works and what the limitations are, and no definite info is presented here. The characters discuss hypnotism, illusions, levitation, mind reading, and other magic items as if the audience knows what they're talking about, and we don't. (Or at least, I don't.) Their "training montages" as kids info how they grew up under the iron fist of their teachers, when this could've been used as a method to explain the base rules of the magic system and how these people do what they do. (The closest we obtain to a solid explanation is a fairy tale that Widget tells at one point.) Keeping all the most necessary info a mystery doesn't create the plot suspenseful, it just makes it confusing. (Or maybe I'm just some uncultured heathen who can't see the bigger picture here. If you guys can figure out/explain this plot better, feel free to comment and clue me in.)**END OF SPOILERS**However, the one really amazing bright spot in all this is the setting itself. The circus is so well described and developed, I want that it existed in true life. From ice gardens, to cloud mazes, to stargazing trolley rides, each tent and act is part illusion, part magical, with a grand atmosphere that makes use of all the senses, including smell (a sense that's very underutilized, as one of the characters points out). Much like Bailey, it's a put I'd love to run away to if I could.And that's what makes me very torn on the overall rating of this book. I'd actually rank this at 2 1/2 stars, but since Amazon can't do half stars, I rounded it to three. I think the author got so wrapped up in the globe building that the main characters and the story were left to suffer. I love the circus setting itself, as well as the idea of two magicians duking it out and disguising their true magic powers as average illusions....but the idea could've been executed better. As it stands, it's a confusing plot with either wooden characters that obtain too much focus, or enjoyable characters that keep too small focus. If you're into steampunk and/or magic/fantasy, feel free to give this one a shot, but this is one book I probably won't pick up again. If nothing else, the magical circus is the best part.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    When I was a young boy, besides my Father, Eddie Rickenbacker was my hero. I wrote him a letter and he sent me a copy of this book autographed, along with a picture of him in front of his S.P.A.D. XIII, also autographed, That began a friendship that continued until his death. Up until then, he called on my birthdays, sent cards, and created sure we could meet when he came to my city. He inspired me to ultimately pursue a career in aviation, which has led me to meet professionally hundreds of former Eastern Airline pilots who also knew "Cap'n Eddie" and also held him in high esteem.He was not well liked by everyone, however, but he created a monumental difference in my life.I may be a small biased, but I loved this book, even knowing he had a "ghost writer" for much of it. It was high adventure that caught the spirit and honor of the men serving in the U.S. Air Service during WW-I.If you like military aviation, then you'll have fun this book.Godspeed, Captain Eddie, you are missed...Patrick Connell

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    100 years later, this book crackles with the sting and smoke of war amid the sounds of propellers in the early age of flying. Rick was one of our first hero's in the air, and went on to become a legend and a proponent for air power. It's a private story of his dog fighting skills and his leadership of men in wartime. It's also an necessary historical milestone that helped the Air Corps to eventually become the Air Force and the leader of all Air Forces in the 21st Century. Thank God for Capt. Rick and his comrades in the Amazing War!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    Rickenbacker was the leading ace of the American flying service in France during WWI. He uses diary entries and his recollections to tell the story of American fighting in the air during WWI. Very interesting. He is also the author of another book, Ten Came Through, describing the time his B17 crashed in the Pacific during WWII. Both books are highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    I really enjoyed the second album from BTBAM The Silent Circus brings forth amazing truly genius songs like Shevt Take 2,Mordecai,Camilla Rhodes,Reaction,Ad a Dlgmut & Aesthetic are amazing. I love Destructo Spin,Lost Perfection a)Coulrophobia & b)Anablephobia Mordecai,Camilla Rhodes,& Ad a Dglmut are there most brutally heavy,fast-paced breakneck riffa and blastbeats. Then you obtain the more mellow shifty songs that go from massive to melodic and then go into attractive solos of instrumental bliss. The mellower zone songs are Reaction,Shevt Take 2,Aesthetic & The Need for Repetition those are spacy,in vein of their Colors and Amazing Misdirect. The vocals are intense and the lyrics are great,i love how the album is a story from the first song to the latest it is an experience. The band improves from each album becoming more and more technical. They pull these songs off with ease. I got the unique edition re-issue with gift dvd,that has a live set of Lost Perfection A&B in order,then Destructo Spin& Mordecai. Then on the obtain 3 s from forthcoming album Alaska(my private favorite) and they are Roboturner,All Bodies & Alaska then you obtain the videos for Mordecai & Alaska and also a video for the singers solo project called Giles,Tommy Giles Rogers has the song Slumberparty and i liked it. You also obtain a 10 minite interview with the band interviewed by Metal Injection. The interview is ok but the live 7 song set is amazing they really execute everything well and with amazing pleasure they have a blast. The amazing part is that this band gives a dvd for almost each album. Colors Live sounds jizt as amazing as the regular album(altho i have both) and i have this with a dvd. Also the Amazing Misdirect with a dvd & Parallax:Future Sequence live dvd. I want their first album & Alaska came with dvds. Anyway the band kills. There are so a lot of changes in song structure it is insane i The guitar work is attractive and the bass is massive thick and audible. Drums are always on point and are intense. Lyrically and vocally the dude is on point and i love the added electronics and keyboards. I test to incorporate that items into my melody so there influential. The album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    I just recently began listening to BTBAM, nut they quickly became my favorite band. The band is full of so much talent that it makes other bands look bad. The melody ranges from insanely brutal and technical one min to slow attractive the next. Tommy Rogers' voice goes from deathy brutality to some of the most inspirational singing I've ever heard in seconds. I recommend for anyone who likes metal and progressive metal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    Amazing older album by BTBAM. Proggy without the songs being 10 mins a piece. I like them either method though. Amazing band and The Silent Circus is a amazing listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    Perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    the best!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus Ship []  2020-1-29 8:58

    A

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    “What kind of circus is only begin at night?” (Morgenstern, 3)The Night Circus is enchanting and mysterious. Prepare yourself for a magical story of intrigue and whimsy. Erin Morgenstern will create you feel like you are a part of the circus. Welcome to Le Cirque des Rêves.“Trespasser Will Be Exsanguinated.” (Morgenstern, 51).The Plot: The Night Circus begins in 1873 as Prospero the Enchanter learns that he has a daughter to be left in his care; a daughter with a unique magical ability. It is this ability that brings about a mysterious meeting and the beginning of a game. As the years go by, Prospero meticulously trains his daughter Celia in the art of illusion, while the man in the grey suit, from the mysterious meeting, trains his student Marco. Both are bound together to play an unknown android game with unknown rules until a champion is judged. The Night Circus becomes the arena for this game, and the moves created by Celia and Marco affect everyone involved in the circus. As the years go by, the two start to fall in love, finding it more difficult to hold playing the game. A choice has to be made, to finish the android game at all costs, or to give in to love and allow the circus end.Let me just begin out by saying that The Night Circus is definitely one that you have to pay attention to the chapter titles and timelines. With that being said, I LOVED this book. I really took my time reading it and soaking it all in and I was astounded by the immense imagery and story building found in this book! Every single piece of information, and person you meet, has some sort of result on, or part to play in, the circus. There are so a lot of parts to the whole, and even going backward and forward in time with the chapters helps you to understand what is going on within the circus and the android game that Celia and Marco are bound to. Between some of the chapters you can also search pieces of a 2nd person point of view story line that makes you FEEL like you are walking through The Night Circus! The plot, the circus detail, and the characters are amazingly written in this one!The first hero we are introduced to is Prospero, or Hector Bowen. He is ultimately the reason behind the circus and the plot because of his choice to begin the android game with his daughter Celia. Though he is an integral part of the story, I found him greedy and cruel and felt that he cared more about the android game and it’s outcome then he did his own the beginning of the story we are also introduced to Mr. A. H. in the grey suit. He is also an integral part of the story, as he is the mentor of Marco, Celia’s opponent. Mr. A. H. is mysterious, quiet, and quite possibly a murderer.Our main character, Celia is definitely a favorite hero of mine. She is strong, beautiful, and talented in her abilities. She also captures my heart because she is a major bookworm, and holds very high morals. It is no wonder that Marco falls in love with her!Celia’s enemy Marco is a man of mystery. He was taken from an orphanage by Mr. A. H., so his background and origin are unknown. In his first encounter with Celia, he seems mildly intimidated and nervous. He becomes very restless in his training, and has slightly devious aspects in his android game moves, but he plays the role of a co-main hero ough we are introduced to a lot of other characters, with them all being integral parts of the story and the circus, we have one other main hero to consider. Bailey is introduced to us further in the story, and further in the future, and starts off as a circus spectator. He begins to build a relationship with the twins, Poppet and Widget (whom were born in the circus on opening night, thus being endowed with magical abilities), and in time, becomes a very necessary piece to the story. It is Bailey’s childish innocence and ability to dream that ties things together and ultimately offers a resolution to the game.“When you were five years old you turned a laundry tub into a pirate ship and launched an attack versus my hydrangeas in my garden.” (Morgenstern, 87).I recommend reading this one slowly so you can take it all in. You will truly feel like part of the circus. Pay close attention to the dates in front of the chapters and allow yourself be immersed into the imagery of The Night Circus.“You think, as you walk away from Le Cirque des Rêves and into the creeping dawn, that you felt more awake within the confines of the circus.: (Morgenstern, 387).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    This book was like a amazing idea, that didn't quite create it to the beginning, I was very intrigued. As the story progressed though, I became a bit bored by it e "game" played by Bowen and the "man in the grey suit" wasn't really that e binding didn't create much sense and in order to victory and be superior, your enemy has to die. What for? A death doesn't create someone better than the other. You're just dead. The android game didnt work and was confusing.While morbid, it lacked important substance. This is a android game that takes put over decades. Probably part of the reason much of this fell short. Info weren't cemented together, or well thought felt like the author played this out better in her head, than on paper. You could tell she wanted us to know how unbelievable and enchanting that circus was. We felt it alright. Issue is, that's not what the story was about. More was done describing the circus then the real reason for the book: A love story between two enemies in a macabre so, it was drawn out method too long. This should have been condensed some. Several chapters were gic came from nowhere, but it was expected to be believed as something anyone could do, with some showing more talent for it than others. Why did magic users live so long? Wasn't explained and that's just one question out of a lot of you search yourself asking. Method too a lot of holes; too a lot of problems.While fiction of course, it was still a bit weird.When I first started reading this, I thought this would be a book I wouldn't be able to place down.Once the circus had been around for a while though, I lost interest in the story...mething about this entire thing didn't wish to knit itself uld have been fantastic. Awesome wasn'e descriptions were exquisite. Characters? Not so much. Readers have to feel as if they know them.I felt nothing. Didn't care at all.If a amazing Hollywood writer took this, filled in what's missing and created the changes needed, this would create an perfect manuscript for a istic license needs to step in and fix what Morgenstern couldn't do.If done right, it could do very well.I don't know why they remake films no one wants, when this small gem sits untouched.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Night Circus []  2020-1-16 10:28

    I have to obtain this written before the illusion fades and my memory of it disappears… all strange occurrences in "The Night Circus", an eerily amazing gothic read without the macabre, by Erin Morgenstern.A huge lot three doors down from my childhood home was called “The War Field” because a Civil Battle skirmish was fought there. It was where I played baseball and touch football with the neighborhood gang and where, each spring, the circus would pitch a red and grey striped huge top and myriad smaller tents. “The circus arrived…” as in the opening line of this most interesting and gripping novel, “…without warning”. And, after five or six days, it would silently disappear. As a young girl, I, of course, thought it all mystically magical… A feeling of awe that I haven’t felt in a long time until I read "The Night Circus". Déjà vu not withstanding and all that…Celia and Marcos, each with strange magical abilities, are raised by adversarial fathers to be enemies in a contest for and of life. Their arena is a mysterious circus made by ageless Chandresh Lefèvre who, with a cadre of the most interesting characters I’ve met in a long time, are foils, seconds, and participants in the twisted, entwined lives of Celia and Marcos. The miasma of who is “in on the secret” and which part each plays is as convoluted as the complex array of tents, the décor of which is stark black and stripes – amazing alongside evil – with only smatterings of color. Unlike the circus of my childhood, this seemingly bizarre venue is opened at dusk; its exhibits close just before dawn. What occurs inside in the middle of the night is the substance of what dreams, nightmares, and amazing novels are rgenstern deftly juxtaposes harsh realities of human nature with the elusive illusionary vagaries of love in all its forms. Besides the two main protagonists, who is attached to whom – and why – forms an intricate framework upon which this young, talented author hangs her stories that are about and occur within the black and white stripes of the circus walls. And perhaps what the author is telling is that, in reality, folks, most of life is a circus…and it is very difficult to tell who are the audience and who are the performers… Not to mention trying to figure out on which side of the fence the dream actually is…"The Night Circus" is, by far, one of the most uniquely creative and interesting mainstream novels that I’ve read in the past few years. Morgenstern is a lyrically terse writer, whose choice, often clipped phraseology transcends ornate descriptions. There is an economy of the literary spirit here, akin to Ernest Hemingway at this best. She minces no words, yet conveys a vastly rich alternative globe that mirrors – and often distorts – the careful reader’s realities. Like the circus that is meant to be enjoyed at night, this novel is best savored in the evenings, when the starlit literary abilities of the author touch and brighten the darkest, deepest recesses of your heart.Enjoy the read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    The Germans were generally considered to be the best airplane designers of WWI. The unquestioned most popular plane built was flown by the German air ace Baron Manfred Von Richthofen. Richthofen's craft was an all red Tri Plane, the only all red air craft in the German Command. Throughout the battle leading up to April 21, 1918, when he was downed by Capt. Roy Brown of the Royal Air Force ( RAF), Richthofen was officially credited with 80 kills of Allied air craft. No other airman from either side was credited with that number of downed air thofen's squadron was named The Flying Circus. It was this squadron that gave the Allies the most problem in aerial combat.Eddie Rickenbacker commanded the Allied "94th Hat in the Ring" squadron. His squadron garnered amazing fame versus the German air command in number of kills. This book is a chronology of the a lot of aerial combats narrated by "Rick" as he was known by his fellow airmen.What struck me in the telling of his exploits was less the number of times Rickenbacker's guns jammed while in combat with his enemy, of which there were a lot of instances, than how he kept his cool and continued the war with superior cunning and control of his plane to out fox the enemy.WWI air planes were frail in construction. They were easily shot down by bullets into their control wires and/or gas tanks. If an enemy's plane was set afire, the pilot had literally no opportunity to escape total immolation. The Hobson's choice, therefore, was to bail out to certain death. Neither German nor Allied flyers had parachutes. Germany only provided parachutes to observers stationed in baskets that hung below huge balloons, positioned some 2000 feet in the air, used to survey the locale of opponent ground ong the ground units on either side, was the consensus that pilots led a glorified life. But as this book points out, the pilots, on either side, were topic to death at any time while in the air. If the pilot was lucky enough to land his shot up craft, he may well have already sustained serious bodily injury, never mind, capture by the e book gives amazing insight into the trials and tribulations that besought all the airmen, whether German, British, French or American. To be sure there was a camaraderie among the airmen from both sides. But in the latest ysis, it was slay or be killed. It was a "gentleman's" battle of sorts unlike any other conflict. It was very private to all who conducted combat in the air. Rickenbacker points this out quite well in his e book was a amazing follow up to a prior read: "The Red Knight of Germany: The Story of Baron von Richthofen, Germany's Amazing Battle Bird"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus []  2020-8-8 19:0

    If you like historical biographies this one will hold you interest. Aviation warfare from 100 years ago was far various than even in WW I I. These men would fly up to altitudes of 18 to 20K feet where the oxygen was as low or lower than the air temperature in an begin pit bi-wing aeroplane. The aircraft they flew was not as reliable as the ones today with engines that failed and machine guns that would jam in the middle of a dogfight. Captain Eddie tells these tales of heroism with passion and honest conjecture of the men in his squadron that flew the risky missions in the early days of aviation warfare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    Plays beautiful. Love this BTBAM album because I would consider this a more math inspired album related to The Dillinger Escape Plan's Calculating Infinity. Of course still has classic progressive/death metal BTBAM sprinkled throughout

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Silent Circus []  2020-8-3 19:43

    Very very sad but this record just doesn't play well. The first tracks on all four sides skips a bit before it gets going. I returned the first one because of skipping and was hoping the second one would be better but it wasn't. Amazing band, amazing album, amazing service.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    Bought this because it looked like a fun video and because I have such fond memories of the circus as a youngster. Exactly what you would expect of PBS/American Experience, as far as a quality program. Learned a lot and will watch this again. If you enjoyed the circus, you will like this video. Engaging, informative and fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Circus: Part One []  2020-9-6 19:23

    Amazing look back at the circus industry

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shared at the circus: Reverse harem erotica (Shared by strangers in public) []  2021-4-6 22:57

    When Charlie’s mate makes her go to the circus she doesn’t wish to since she hates clowns. Before she can leave she finds out it’s a lot steamier then your normal circus. This author never misses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shared at the circus: Reverse harem erotica (Shared by strangers in public) []  2021-4-6 22:57

    I absolutely loved reading Shared at the circus by Stella Rogue. This is a very hot and y read. There is a decent plot and characters, and lots of .I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shared at the circus: Reverse harem erotica (Shared by strangers in public) []  2021-4-6 22:57

    A quick paced but fun small read. Nicely written with amazing characters. A whole various method to see the circus.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shared at the circus: Reverse harem erotica (Shared by strangers in public) []  2021-4-6 22:57

    The fear of clowns is real. Even though it is Tatiana's birthday, Charli wants to be anywhere but the circus. That is until the main happening is revealed. It's hot, stimulating, and sticky with no stones left unturned. Seconds? Yes, please! I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shared at the circus: Reverse harem erotica (Shared by strangers in public) []  2021-4-6 22:57

    Shared at the circus: reverse harem erotica Was an interesting various circus romance story with entertaining charactersI received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shared at the circus: Reverse harem erotica (Shared by strangers in public) []  2021-4-6 22:57

    What a method to obtain over a breakup! Charli's mate Tatiana surprises her with a girls' night to the circus? Charli is skeptical of circuses and clowns. I know the fear..it is real. Thank the heavens when she has some fun with the circus carnies the makeup is off the clowns faces. A fast read of a unbelievable night at an erotic circus.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circus [App]  2019-1-27 13:53

    I love very much android game in my childhood 💕💞💋

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circus [App]  2019-1-27 13:53

    controls are not working

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    I grew up on Humongous Entertainment games!! I love Putt Putt. Amazing childhood flashback haha. I just want they had an option to skip through all the talking like the original android game used to. Takes forever when you have to listen to everyone and you can't obtain the android game played as quickly as the original. This would be a unbelievable feature to add!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Not sure but hell yeah

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Being young again I don't care if I'm 18 I grew up with putt-putt. Glad he's on my mobile device

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Won't allow me refund!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    I read this years ago while Rickenbacker still lived. This race vehicle driver turned warrior pilot wrote this when he was still a young man just back from the first air battle in 1919. In reading it again as an adult I was surprised to search that he was quite honest and self efacing. When he created a mistake he was forthcoming about it. In a lot of incidents contained in this book it is obvious that luck played an enormous part in survival of pilots in those days, as the training and equipment by today's standards was to place it bluntly, inadequate. I imagine that this book is still a amazing one for warrior jocks of today because there are still lessons here that apply to today's combat environment. It is always easier to learn from someone else's experiences than to repeat them yourself. If you wish to learn what it was like to war in the air in the First Globe Battle this is your book. It is on a par with James McCudden's book "Flying Fury," and that is high praise nce reading this book I have read Rickenbacker's autobiography and was not nearly as impressed as I was with this book. By the 1960's Rickenbacker had mellowed and his words were carefully chosen and not nearly as spontaneous as in this book. After all, by then he had been a CEO of Eastern Airlines, and seemed more guarded about his e Kindle price of this fine book works for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    1. Short review: :-) (Amazon rating: 4 out of 5 stars -- I like it.)2. Long review:2.1. What I liked: The pictures. The first-hand ller-coaster or walk-in-the-park? Should be a roller coaster but it reads more like a walk in the park.2.2. What I did not like: Lack of detail for September and October 1918.2.3. Who I think is the audience: Air combat buffs. History buffs.2.4. Is the book appropriate for kids to read? Yes. No worries.2.5. On the basis of reading this book, will I buy the author's next book? Yes.2.6. The plot in a nutshell: There is no plot. Fighting the Flying Circus is an edited memoir. It was pieced together from Rickenbacker's (EVR) battle diary and his letters. EVR's story mirrors the story of the United States Air Service in WW1. He wrote of flying Nieuport 28s on patrol without guns; then with one gun to a plane because they had not enough to equip every plane with two; of a lot of pilots shredding their top planes in dives. EVR spent June, July, and August in the hospital recovering from an ear operation. He returned in September to search that his group had not downed a lot of Boche during his absence and that the Nieuports had been replaced with Spad XIIIs. EVR wrote of Frank Luke's comet-like fighting career. He ended with Luke's disappearance. When Fighting the Flying Circus was first printed in 1919, the USAS had not received the story of Luke's latest war nor the zone of his grave. Fighting the Flying Circus includes info about guns jamming and using incendiary ammunition to ignite German balloons. I was happy with the images in Fighting the Flying Circus. These included images of EVR, his squadron mates, observation balloons, and the Hannover CLII that EVR brought down. About a quarter method through the book, I said to myself, "I think this was ghostwritten." It was. The ghostwriter of Fighting the Flying Circus was Laurence La Tourette Driggs. The Aerodrome has a short piece about him. Find for the write-up by Ira Silverman. In the appendices at the end of the book, there is a table of Rickenbacker's confirmed kills. The list in Wikipedia echoes this list. I found it better than EVR's list at the Aerodrome. Together, the two lists seem comprehensive. YMMV. 2.7. Other: This is a later edition. It contains appendices that detail EVR's accomplishments after the war, such as the fact that he was presented the CMoH by President Herbert Hoover in 1931.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Won't load So I have been trying for two hours to obtain it to load. Keeps saying checking license. My son is impatient. He loves putt putt as much as I did when I was kid. I don't wish to refund and have it charge my card again just to obtain it to work. And it's on wifi. Only thing on wireless connection so it shouldn't take 2 hours to load. Other putt putt android games didn't take this long to load. Very not pleased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    I love this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Does not begin I hate wasting cash on items that doesn't work at all

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Doesnt work I bought this android game for my son and it does not work! The demo worked but not this. I would love to have the game, but atleast give me my cash back

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    The Germans were generally considered to be the best airplane designers of WWI. The unquestioned most popular plane built was flown by the German air ace Baron Manfred Von Richthofen. Richthofen's craft was an all red Tri Plane, the only all red air craft in the German Command. Throughout the battle leading up to April 21, 1918, when he was downed by Capt. Roy Brown of the Royal Air Force ( RAF), Richthofen was officially credited with 80 kills of Allied air craft. No other airman from either side was credited with that number of downed air thofen's squadron was named The Flying Circus. It was this squadron that gave the Allies the most problem in aerial combat.Eddie Rickenbacker commanded the Allied "94th Hat in the Ring" squadron. His squadron garnered amazing fame versus the German air command in number of kills. This book is a chronology of the a lot of aerial combats narrated by "Rick" as he was known by his fellow airmen.What struck me in the telling of his exploits was less the number of times Rickenbacker's guns jammed while in combat with his enemy, of which there were a lot of instances, than how he kept his cool and continued the war with superior cunning and control of his plane to out fox the enemy.WWI air planes were frail in construction. They were easily shot down by bullets into their control wires and/or gas tanks. If an enemy's plane was set afire, the pilot had literally no opportunity to escape total immolation. The Hobson's choice, therefore, was to bail out to certain death. Neither German nor Allied flyers had parachutes. Germany only provided parachutes to observers stationed in baskets that hung below huge balloons, positioned some 2000 feet in the air, used to survey the locale of opponent ground ong the ground units on either side, was the consensus that pilots led a glorified life. But as this book points out, the pilots, on either side, were topic to death at any time while in the air. If the pilot was lucky enough to land his shot up craft, he may well have already sustained serious bodily injury, never mind, capture by the e book gives amazing insight into the trials and tribulations that besought all the airmen, whether German, British, French or American. To be sure there was a camaraderie among the airmen from both sides. But in the latest ysis, it was slay or be killed. It was a "gentleman's" battle of sorts unlike any other conflict. It was very private to all who conducted combat in the air. Rickenbacker points this out quite well in his e book was a amazing follow up to a prior read: "The Red Knight of Germany: The Story of Baron von Richthofen, Germany's Amazing Battle Bird"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    One of the amazing classics about aerial combat in the Amazing st of the high scoring aces didn't live to write a history of warrior operations in the First Globe War, so first hand info is is is a must-read for those interested in what it was y flying techniques are described in terms no longer used or understood these days, but since the book was written in 1919 that excusable.Rickenbacker was America's top ace of the battle and survived to lead a charmed life for the rest of his days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    When I was a young boy, besides my Father, Eddie Rickenbacker was my hero. I wrote him a letter and he sent me a copy of this book autographed, along with a picture of him in front of his S.P.A.D. XIII, also autographed, That began a friendship that continued until his death. Up until then, he called on my birthdays, sent cards, and created sure we could meet when he came to my city. He inspired me to ultimately pursue a career in aviation, which has led me to meet professionally hundreds of former Eastern Airline pilots who also knew "Cap'n Eddie" and also held him in high esteem.He was not well liked by everyone, however, but he created a monumental difference in my life.I may be a small biased, but I loved this book, even knowing he had a "ghost writer" for much of it. It was high adventure that caught the spirit and honor of the men serving in the U.S. Air Service during WW-I.If you like military aviation, then you'll have fun this book.Godspeed, Captain Eddie, you are missed...Patrick Connell

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    I can not say enough about both the book and the man. Eddie Rickenbacker is a real patriot,and a forgotten American hero. If you wish to see how far this country has fallen, compare Rickenbacker with any American currently being idolized in the mainstream press. This book seems to have been lifted directly from his complete autobiography so I would strongly urge you to locate the long out of print book anywhere you can.Eddie Rickenbacker was a racing driver, a WW1 ace and a capitalist. He went on to found an airline and throughout his book talks openly about conservatism, capitalism and patriotism. It is no wonder he no longer is mentioned in schools across the country. His notice is in direct opposition with the liberal agenda. Begin by reading " Fighting The Flying Circus" and then locate and read his entire autobiography

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Amazing Android games This android games is amazing and I have no problems for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Terrific android game in the series. Simple controls teach comprehensive issue solving for young minds. Cute, colorful, musical; everything children enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Freezes I love putt putt android games but this one keeps freezing and then when I reset my phone it shows up in tripple vision. I wish a functional ver or my cash back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Glich on the songs Android game runs fine but if you pick a small song like the speakers or radio it freezes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Not too satisfied with the mobile game. The dialog and melody seems sped up. Definitely not the same melody tone as my desktop games. Other than that it's still the amazing old video test I remember playing as a child

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    OMG ITS PUTT PUTT!! I HAD to buy both putt putt android games I saw! Not just cause I knew my 5 year old daughter would love it, but because I wish to play it, too! And im 26 haha! This was the very first computer android game I ever played in Kindergarten. Brings back so a lot of amazing memories!! (:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    None of your android games have opened! I was really looking forward to playing them. And i cant even obtain my cash back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Love Love love!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this book but was immediately engaged when I began reading. It's the first book I've read containing first-hand accounts of aerial combat in Globe Battle I and very informative. As horrific we now understand that battle to have been, it's fascinating to read about the fatalistic and seemingly care-free attitude a lot of aviators had. The combat narratives read almost like play-by-play accounts of sporting happenings with a related attitude displayed. Indeed, the author says on more than one occasion that air combat was so fresh that the globe was eager to hear about "contests" between aviators on opposing sides. To be fair, there are portions that address the horrific fate of those hit in the air and set afire only to slowly burn to death during a 2-minute plunge to earth. Parachutes weren't worn by most pilots back then. The planes were small more than motorized kites with guns. Instrumentation was minimal in the pit and navigation by sight was all most had. I wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone as an introductory read on the topic of First Globe Battle air combat after America's entry into the conflict.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    If you like historical biographies this one will hold you interest. Aviation warfare from 100 years ago was far various than even in WW I I. These men would fly up to altitudes of 18 to 20K feet where the oxygen was as low or lower than the air temperature in an begin pit bi-wing aeroplane. The aircraft they flew was not as reliable as the ones today with engines that failed and machine guns that would jam in the middle of a dogfight. Captain Eddie tells these tales of heroism with passion and honest conjecture of the men in his squadron that flew the risky missions in the early days of aviation warfare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Cant obtain it to open. It always saus that its checking the license

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    It worked amazing for my S3 but got it again for my htc one and it won't even begin up. It's fun but a waste of cash if my children can't play it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Putt-Putt® Joins the Circus [App]  2019-4-17 13:46

    Love the humongous android games Unfortunately, none of these unbelievable android games will begin on my galaxy 5. So disappointing! I hope they fix the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    100 years later, this book crackles with the sting and smoke of war amid the sounds of propellers in the early age of flying. Rick was one of our first hero's in the air, and went on to become a legend and a proponent for air power. It's a private story of his dog fighting skills and his leadership of men in wartime. It's also an necessary historical milestone that helped the Air Corps to eventually become the Air Force and the leader of all Air Forces in the 21st Century. Thank God for Capt. Rick and his comrades in the Amazing War!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fighting the Flying Circus (1919) []  2020-7-20 18:36

    Rickenbacker was the leading ace of the American flying service in France during WWI. He uses diary entries and his recollections to tell the story of American fighting in the air during WWI. Very interesting. He is also the author of another book, Ten Came Through, describing the time his B17 crashed in the Pacific during WWII. Both books are highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Twittering from the Circus of the Dead []  2020-2-4 17:22

    I am a large Joe Hill fan and I like when authors take chances with a format for a short e main character, bored on a street trip with her family, takes out her frustration on Twitter. Her parents decide to stop at The Circus of the Dead. What starts as a goth themed circus turns suddenly violent. Since its a short story I can't give anymore of the plot away.But I will say it's a amazing story. The sparse wording, told all in Twitter speak, adds to the tension. The ending is satisfying with a twist that is almost funny.I wouldn't recommend it as a first foray into Hill' s mind since its in Twitter speak you can't obtain a full impact of Hill' s style. But I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386