Read at your most beautiful reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all at your most beautiful reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    At Your Most Beautiful []  2021-4-6 23:7

    What a heartwarming tale about getting over preconceived notions and follow your heart! This age gap romance is between Maya and Quinn that starts with a one night stand and continues 10 years later. The characters were interesting and kept me wanting to read more. Fast and simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    At Your Most Beautiful []  2021-4-6 23:7

    At Your Most Attractive was a sizzling age gap romance between Maya who was in her mid forties when the story began and her next door neighbor's daughter, Quinn, who was twenty-four. Quinn's parents are away for the weekend and Quinn invites herself over to Maya's house to use the pool. Maya is divorced and has a son about Quinn's age. Quinn likes older women and is immediately attracted to Maya who surprisingly is also attracted to Quinn. They have a one night stand and then don't see each other again for ten years. The story picks up in Fresh York Town where Maya has moved to be closer to her son and grandchild.I enjoyed both characters, the writing, and the premise that love doesn't have to be defined by any boundaries for it to work for two people. 4 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    At Your Most Beautiful []  2021-4-6 23:7

    Bravo! A courageous and heart warming age gap tale of finding yourself and falling in love later in life. Loved the characters and the reality of their lives. Well done!

    0  


    Add your opinion on at your most beautiful or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    At Your Most Beautiful []  2021-4-6 23:7

    I’m obsessed with this absolute masterful, y-will-blow-your-bra-right-off age-gap romance. I was immediately intrigued with Maya & Quinn, the playful banger, the y barely-there bikinis and hot summer days - their chemistry was immediate and OH MY HOLY JESUS the y times. I loved them - but where was this going?!? And then it went - and my goodness the progression was absolutely perfect. What I loved most was that the entire book was unexpected. It kept me on my toes. I had no idea where she was going exactly with Maya & Quinn and that created what was an extremely hot and y book also totally captivating. I read it in a day because I absolutely could not place it down. And I can’t wait to read it again. I’ve read all of Harper’s novels and this is now easily in my top 3 favorites of all time. Exceptional. I know I will read again and again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    to begin, this isn't the book for self proclaimed "skincare addicts" that dedicate an extreme amount of time scouring the markets online and locally eager to buy any and all products on their quest for adobe photo-esque excellent Saeki's philosophy on beauty and skin care is to embrace minimalism & quality when it comes to the cosmetics and to dismiss the neurotic chase for perfection. an emphasis on making use of the hands to enhance cosmetics & the health of the skin (e.g. warming up products before app & everyday lymphatic massaging of the skin to accelerate blood circulation & wake up the complexion), a amazing diet & ultimate gratitude (good attitude) in the arsenal of a well rounded skin care is is completely antithetical to the american philosophy on beauty which breeds consumerism & a sick addiction to cosmetics that we see today. the pictorials in the book don't do much for me & the practical tip doesn't go beyond what we don't already know (cleanse well, moisturize & protect versus UV rays) but just for the general wisdom that I can apply to my everyday life, this book is golden. thank you Ms. Saeki for this pleasure to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    I really love her skincare routine, it's a small time-consuming but that is what you need to do to have a amazing skin.I've learned that we should pay attention to taking care of our skin rather than paying too much on buying expensive make-up products to cover it up. Amazing & healthy bare skin is the real beauty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    Amazing book. Lots of cash saving tips. Some of the methods are time consuming but worth it. Nothing she suggests is expensive. Really knowledgable writer who I understand has been very well known in Japan for decades. This is her first book in English

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    I purchased this book as part of a Fresh Year's resolution, to do something about my appearance every month... and this book was February's project. Beginning March now, and...- To start with, there were some additional costs associated with it: for the first month's adventures, I decided to go with an organic non-alcohol based lotion and serum, some fancy cotton pads, and some shower caps, amounting to roughly $40. Not too poor as they seem that they will latest for a while. And I did feel empowered after reading that it's not so much the product, as the method you apply it (anybody else having left a brand-name stand at the mall half depressed after hearing the prices?)- I am slowly adapting her techniques to my schedule. I found the amount of info to be overwhelming for someone not as versed or previously interested in skincare... so one little step at a time.- My main complaint about the book: I am not as amazing at learning from photos, I fully prefer videos! I would have gladly paid for a DVD demonstrating her massage technique (yes, I can follow from the book, but I don't know for how long to keep a stretch for example). And that's the reason I deducted a star (but maybe it's my own stupidity there).- What has changed in my morning routine: I gave up on her massage routine, but I found a video on youtube about Tanaka face massage, which seems to be closely related. It's a 10 min lymphatic (sort-of) facial massage. Following that, some minor exercising - rebounding to clear the rest of the lymphatic system, and then, after showering and facial cleansing, place on the serum, do something else for 5 mins to allow it obtain absorbed, and then prepare her lotion mask... place a shower cap on top, and hold it on for the duration of my morning meditation practice (before you ask, I obtain up at 5:30 am, so all this, including my everyday yoga practice is finished before 7 am).The results: one month into this practice, my forehead wrinkles have almost disappeared, the fine lines underneath the eyes are getting better and the couple that were on my neck are improving at a rapid pace. To place things in perspective, I'll be 42 in a couple of s, it takes effort and time. But then, so does working out, or dieting - no magic there. I think the cost (of the additional products, so no direct criticism on the book here) is very reasonable for the results that I am seeing, no complaints there. I think that the info in the book is totally worth it for someone that is not a skincare expert, and would highly recommend this book. And I would certainly buy a DVD if it ever came out :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    I absolutely adore this book. I've had to go back and reread so much of it just to create sure I remember it all. Wonderful! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    Really enjoyed it, highly informative. Followed tip about Japanese lotion and it is awesome. Added this one step to my skin care and it is making a true difference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    Love it, lots of amazing skin care information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    VERY BASIC. This is a waste of money. Look on the internet or youtube for primary face massage and save your money!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    There is nothing either specifically Japanese or revolutionary about this book. The writing has spent plenty of time in America, so her recommendations can be found in any American skin care book. Her use of the "lotion" may not be what we are familiar with. We think of massive creams and lighter lotions. What she calls lotion is generally considered toner.I was looking for something specifically Japanese. Her recommendations contain Dior, Este Lauder and Clinique. Well, all of those include toxins, and endocrine disruptors - which I'd rather avoid. They also try on animals, which I'd rather avoid.While the book claims her aim is to chop back on product usage, she recommends anywhere from 5 to 7 products twice per day. Depending on your kind of skin. Cleanser, scrub, toner, moisture, sunscreen and foundation. With the addition of masks, massage, solitude and meditation. I wish to simplify. Not complicate.I do admit, I am have used solitude and meditation for ages. Both do bring a youthfulness overall. That is one nugget you won't search in standard skin care books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Japanese Skincare Revolution: How to Have the Most Beautiful Skin of Your Life#At Any Age []  2020-11-18 20:40

    She is simply the best. Results are true and its part of my daily pampering me routine!! How you say I love you Chizy Saeki forever in Japanese? Xoxo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I'm giving this two stars because the first disk of the set is defective. This is no knock on the music, its just disappointing to keep a damaged product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    It was delivered defective two times. Disc 1 has no melody on it other than the song names. I was not the only buyer to have this problem. The amazon representative said they would remove the product until the issue was resolved. I would check to see if it was resolved before buying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    This is a amazing selection of well known arias and duets. Unfortunately several have been truncated to fit a 4-5 min track.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I waited a long time to obtain keep of this. The artists and the arias ARE attractive - heavenly in fact BUT the recording on Disc 1 is poor. Listening to it on a disc player/stereo unit you realise it is just not quite as clear as it should be. I wanted to place these on my ipod so I copied them to the computer. When I play Disc one on the ipod or the computer there is a crackley noise right through the vocals. It is not possible to listen to it this way. I recopied it in case there was some interference somewhere and same thing happened. Disc 2 is fine. I would have returned it except I'm not sure if anyone merely listening on a player would agree with me there was a defect. I ordered this product in from the ABC outlet in Australia and weeks later they told me it was unavailable. I was delighted when I found it on Amazon. Now I'm wondering if it disappeared from Australian outlets because of the not good recording. A amazing shame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I have a little Sony boom box (which I also just purchased from Amazon). I am so thrilled with the quality of the sound. Needless to say, the arias are magnificent!!! A fresh favorite addition to my melody collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    Arias is mostly the signature piece performed solo by the main hero in an is usually what people love and is collection is simply beautiful, mesmerizing. It captures a lot of memorable operatic keeps me satisfied and calm surrounded by these operatic sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    The first of these two CD's is magnificent. I'm the daughter of an operatic tenor and hearing the favorite selections was awe-inspiring The second CD is not as good--but perhaps because the selections are one's with which I am not as e quality of the CD is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I bought this collection earlier this year. Both CDs were mislabeled and one did not play at all (plus the jewel case was smashed). Rather than go though the process of returning it I bought another. This one has an intact jewel case and the CDs seem to be labeled correctly, but CD1 won't play (or import to iTunes - the very reason I bought the CD). So, out of 4 CDs only 2 work (the same 2) I got 20 of the 40 most attractive arias. One on a mislabeled CD and one on a correctly labeled CD. I'm writing this here because I can't figure out how to lodge a complaint with Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    This quality CD contains 2 disks with 20 operatic arias on each disk. It seems reasonable to call them all beautiful, but I bought this hoping for something inspiring beyond beautiful. I have listened to so much inspiring melody in my life I am dulled by much melody that inspired me in the past. I am satisfied I bought these CDs. I feel lucky if I buy a disk with a lot of nice melody on it but only one or two that inspire me. I was thrilled to search 7 inspiring arias on CD1 and 8 equally inspiring arias on CD2, both method above average for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    This CD is exceptional. It's a stunning compilation of some of our greatest artists of the latest several decades singing absolutely gorgeous selections, well-chosen and brilliantly delivered. I'm ordering more to share the thrill!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Most Beautiful Melodies []  2020-1-13 19:48

    Everyone needs a CD or two of holiday melody to place on in the background over dinner or during a party. This one has lots of the classics- Jingle Bells, O Christmas Tree etc, but it also starts and ends with some truly superb huge band remixes of The Nutcracker Suite, by the Les Brown Orchestra (a long track that sumarizes most of the entire thing) and, shorter and hotter, the Dance of the Sugar Plum Faries by the Larry Clinton Orchestra.If you like Benny Goodman, Charlie Christian, Jango Rheinhardt, this will be the best cash you've ever spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-31 1:18

    I've hiked around Louisville for years, and yet I somehow missed several of this area's finest trails. Well-written and carefully edited.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Raleigh and Durham: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-23 1:15

    Amazing book to obtain a feel for what's nearby in the area, though some are not really trails (Duke Gardens? Come on.) In addition, most are child friendly and very famous trails so this is not the book for someone looking for more "off the map" challenging and isolated hiking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    Tucson is surrounded by three mountain ranges and all are intersected by hiking trails. This book rates the trails on five various aspects so the prospective hiker can select the trails that are most appealing. By no means are all the trails listed in this guide, just the very best ones. Each hike is described in detail so the hiker is alerted to landmarks and picture opportunities. For the vacationer to Tucson, this book helps the tourist pick out the best hikes for the limited time available. 5 stars all the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    See my review for the Levengood book - this is the one we actually used the most out of the hiking tutorials we bought for our Tucson vacation. It had a amazing mix of short and long trails, and decently-useable info on difficulty and reason thereof, which was beautiful necessary for us as a family with a young child and elderly folks. The book had a few flaws and minor inaccuracies (what hiking tutorial doesn't?), and I would definitely recommend supplementing with maps and info from the specific areas you plan to hike (Saguaro NP, for instance), but if you can only afford one hiking tutorial this would be a amazing one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    Amazing book before our trip to the Tucson trip

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    Took this on a weeklong trip heading from South to North. I am a lifelong hiker so I've gone through more guidebooks than I care to remember. It's hard to create a amazing guidebook and I really wish to give this one 4.5 stars as it exceled where a lot of others fail. No one book is going to do it for all aspects but this one comes close. I found it gave a amazing dozens of hikes that were easy, moderate, but if you are really looking for difficult, look elsewhere as there aren't too many. We wanted simple to moderate so I was happy. I like the setup, that the hike numbers are on the inside of the front cover - not some random hidden page and overall the descriptions were accurate. A nice added feature was it added in nearby items not to be missed. Sucks when you leave an zone and realize later you were a mile a method from a virgin stand of forest on a nature trail. Or a random waterfall. Just nice touches and sometimes we liked these more than the hike. Multiple overviews of each hike were appreciated. There really was a lot the Author did why 4 stars? Two reasons. The huge one. The lack of hikes in the middle. You would think there were only a smattering of trails there when in fact the zone is rich and ended up being our favorite. It sucked not having more trail info as they were everywhere and we saw some beautiful awesome items that I can't imagine was a one off. The book is rich in hikes for the more famous Glades and North sections, just kind of mute on the middle. The second reason, was the child rating. We don't have children but plenty of nieces and nephews so we had some laughs with trails having a 4/5 while there's boulders, mud, cliffs, root tangles, etc. I hike with children so I know they can often do more than you think but if you are a parent, take the ratings with a grain of salt, particularly if children are under 5. This was the only rating we found method off and took into acc varying conditions.We used this book constantly and it looks worse than us after a week with no shower. Maybe even smells worse. I'd highly recommend it to anyone trying to familiarize themselves with this amazing, diverse gem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    I visit this zone of WV every year, and I am always looking for fresh locations to explore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    Seemed to be comprehensive. Color illistrations would be more appealing but would probably increase the cost. Have not been able to use it yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cottage Gardens: A Celebration of Britain's Most Beautiful Cottage Gardens, with Advice on Making Your Own []  2020-8-17 19:57

    It was a gift. The recipient LOVED it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    This book provided information about the hikes and images so I knew what I'd be seeing and that helped me decide which of hikes to chose. I narrowed it down from about a dozen to two and had a amazing hike to Seneca Rocks. My second hike was chop short because I ran into a deer hunter dressed in bright orange (it was the first week of rifle deer season, in Nov) and he thought I was crazy to be out in the woods wearing green. Something to hold in mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    I've been reading this since I got it, trying to decide which trail would be most fun to test first. The descriptions of the trails seems fairly detailed. My local outdoor shop also had another of his books on the shelf for sale and they don't really carry any books or maps that are not totally useful for hiking, so clearly they think well of his books too. I think he has another book with overnight hikes in the zone that I should be gotten instead of this one (Maybe it's just a various edition. I didn't look closely enough) but this one will do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-31 1:18

    Amazing trail descriptions; contains lots of small info that I've never seen anywhere else (where did she learn all this stuff?).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-31 1:18

    Amazing book! This book leads you to very attractive locations to hike. Gives the hiker all neccessarry info and directions for a safe adventure. I would recommend this book to all hikers that wish to hike this area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    I travel throughout the U.S., and globally. I mountain bike, hike, back package and kayak in addition to prowling through urban areas. I have a lot of tutorial books. This is the best overall tutorial I have purchased. The maps and descriptions are consistently accurate. I hiked about ten of the hikes in various areas. I loved the organization by geographical locations in Tucson, and the amazing overall map in the cover that had a numbered key to all of the trails which created it easy to narrow down choices according to your upcoming location. Maps and elevation graphs were very accurate. The descriptions really come through when you come to a spot in the trail and your not certain of the right path; as there was almost always commentary on the quandary. Directions to the trail heads were also accurate the majority of the time. I really appreciated the solitude ratings; as that is really necessary to me. I think if he does a revision, he should add an additional rating in the difficulty span. I prefer trails on the more strenuous side of things. Sometimes, there didn't seem to be much of a correlation between grueling and moderate rating across trails, but I guess we all have various perspectives on what makes moderate, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    This trail book created selecting hikes for our week stay in Tucson much easier. Without this guide, it would have been hours of research to explore and sort through the a lot of options. The map on the inside cover shows where the listed hikes are, which created pairing a hike with a nearby museum visit much easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    These trail descriptions present elevation,have gps coordinates, and best of all, are rated on a number of criteria including the extent to which the trail is workable for children. As a family traveling with a 7 year old, it's an perfect resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    Amazing book. Invaluable in choosing, locating, and navigating our hikes in the Monongahela National Forest for our first visit there. Like having notes from an experienced friend.I just want there had been a small more extra non-hike information - like I guess I expected landmarks like nature centers and ranger stations to be on the maps. They aren’t, and there’s no cell phone service within the bounds of the forest, so be sure to look it up before you leave home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    Was hoping for more detail, i.e. access to points from various routs instead of only one. Still a well place together guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Raleigh and Durham: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-23 1:15

    To begin my walking adventures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    I love this tutorial series. The method each trail is rated for difficulty, solitude, views, etc. is very helpful, as is the elevation map that shows just how steep that climb is going to be. Simple size to tuck in your daypack.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    Followed this tutorial on a lot of trails for a trip to the Mon in April - it's accurate and helpful for finding amazing trails.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    As a visitor during the Gem and Mineral show, I spent a week's worth of my mornings treking around Tucson. The tutorial was a amazing read, however I am of the belief that the geology is the basic reason for being there. As such, only two trails were listed as best for geology (really? All the trails have spectacular geologic features), and those two were absent of any geologic discriptions. So, not discussing even the huge picture geology of an zone was sad and it detracted from my overall enjoyment of the guide. I did like the topic headings for the recomended hikes section and focused much of my time on the ridge trails and mountain sumits. BTW - the books binding separated and pages started falling out after the first half hour of use on the trail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    Very amazing book. Would be better if there were pictures of the trails and a better explanation of the distance (whether or not the distance is round trip). I would recommend this book for someone who is looking for a amazing starter book on hiking. The maps could also be a small more detailed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-31 1:18

    A lot of hiking books, though informative and accurate, are dry and uninspiring. Askren's book, on the other hand, is a true treat. Though Askren is obviously an authority on Louisville zone hiking, there aren't a lot of guidebooks that are as entertaining as this one. She whets your appetite for exploration with her varied trail selections, and keeps your interest with saucy commentary, sprinkled with a dab of history and topped with suggested side trips. Whether you're on the trail stretching your legs or stretched out on the couch planning your next trek, Askren's book is an perfect companion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Tucson: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-17 23:55

    We purchased this tutorial for a mate who is an avid hiker and she found it to be very informative. She selected a couple of trails to hike during her visit and found the descriptions to be accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-1-31 1:18

    Very amazing travel info if you wish nature paths and locations to hike. Had lots of detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    Really useful tutorial book with amazing directions to trail heads. Used this on a latest week long trip with a lot of day hikes in West Virginia, and it was very helpful. Combine with the appropriate Purple Lizard map, and you will be all set.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Five-Star Trails: West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes []  2020-6-30 18:30

    Got this as a bonus for my father-in-law who is an avid hiker. He loved it and has been hiking in the Monongahela every day since he got the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Love Themes []  2020-2-1 23:33

    I love this album. Includes some of my favorites and has introduce a few selections that have become fresh favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    This quality CD contains 2 disks with 20 operatic arias on each disk. It seems reasonable to call them all beautiful, but I bought this hoping for something inspiring beyond beautiful. I have listened to so much inspiring melody in my life I am dulled by much melody that inspired me in the past. I am satisfied I bought these CDs. I feel lucky if I buy a disk with a lot of nice melody on it but only one or two that inspire me. I was thrilled to search 7 inspiring arias on CD1 and 8 equally inspiring arias on CD2, both method above average for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    A lot of unusual arrangements and wording in the carolsI do NOT recommend this as Christmas classics

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    For the price amazing book for college student

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    I'm an intermediate piano player, and the level of difficulty seems excellent for me. It has a amazing selection of Christmas songs, both traditional and more modern.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    Bought this for my son and we both love it! there is a mixer of various levels of simple which is nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    What can I say? I love traditional Christmas music. Won't search "Jingle Bell Rock" on this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    prompt delivery, perfect listening

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    Amazing selection of songs. Would say it is between beginner/intermediate. Also has acoustic. No problems with pages staying turned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    Why would I invest cash to buy a book with seeing a sample of a page of music? Levels of playing never are defined the same. Always frustrating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    I have a little Sony boom box (which I also just purchased from Amazon). I am so thrilled with the quality of the sound. Needless to say, the arias are magnificent!!! A fresh favorite addition to my melody collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    I'm giving this two stars because the first disk of the set is defective. This is no knock on the music, its just disappointing to keep a damaged product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    This is a amazing selection of well known arias and duets. Unfortunately several have been truncated to fit a 4-5 min track.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    I read the collection of essays in "The Ten Most Attractive Experiments" while flying in the US, and this lightweight and interesting book makes a convenient choice for travelers who like to read about the history of science. The separate essays were concise and each focused more on an experiment than on the experimenter, although key facts about people also rounded out each piece. Regarding choice of subjects, a key concept was that the experiment should have been done by only one or a few persons rather than a huge group (so the Human Genome Project could not qualify), and this choice was fine with me. I have a powerful science background and I found the essays interesting and simple to read. I had not heard previously the evidence from 17th century scribbled notes that appears to present that Galileo's "rolling balls" experiment was truly performed by him and was not just a "thought experiment." The book compares favorably with Rom Harre's perfect work, "Great Scientific Experiments," another book that would be of interest to readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    Very well written book with amazing perspective on some of the key scientific experiments in our history. I love that not only does the author explain the experiments in detail, but also how the opinions of the scientific community before the tests were done affected the experimenter, and how the results of the experimented in-turn affected the rest of the world. It's much more than just a description of just what the experiment performed, as the added context provides insight into the researchers impacts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    The book presents an interesting selection of experiments, some of which may not be widely known, and provides amazing historical context and background about scientists. But it is short, and about half of it is taken by footnotes, references and an index that may be useless in the ebook ver (legacy publishers may not know that most ebook reading devices have full text find capabilities). Also, the descriptions of some experiments are confusing and lack detail. At times the illustrations of apparatus taken from contemporary historical works confuse things even e Kindle ver is poorly formatted. Several illustrations are displayed as completely black rectangles, there is a newline after the very first letter of each chapter's text, the embedded table of contents is missing and there is no cover image. These problems are exhibited on both an actual Kindle 3 device and the Kindle for Android device app. This means whoever formatted the ebook never bothered to check the effect even once. l in all, the book is overpriced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    Exquisite collection. I played my first copy of this so often (both on my own and for my programs on WMNR Fine Arts Radio) that I wore it out. It may not be literally the "... 40 Most Attractive Christmas Classics" , but it's definitely a contender. Don't know that I'd place this at the top of the "If you're only going to have one Christmas CD, choose this..." list but I'd definitely place it in the top ten.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    Unbelievable Christmas Classics! Appears some low raters were expecting "Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer" or "Jingle Bell Rock"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    Perfect sound quality and song selection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    It was delivered defective two times. Disc 1 has no melody on it other than the song names. I was not the only buyer to have this problem. The amazon representative said they would remove the product until the issue was resolved. I would check to see if it was resolved before buying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Love Themes []  2020-2-1 23:33

    Nice melody you will have fun it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Love Themes []  2020-2-1 23:33

    Amazing product!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    If one asked a group of scientists to list the most significant scientific experiments of all time, a number of the experiments in this book would no doubt create the list. But that's not what the author is saying here. He might have as easily titled his book "The Ten Most Elegant Scientific Experiments," and that's how I see it. Today, when a lot of of the most necessary scientific questions are being investigated via apparatus that costs millions or even billions of dollars ($2.5+ Billion for the Hubble, and $9 billion for the Huge Hadron collider, for example) it is both instructive and fascinating to see how some of the most puzzling questions of the past were answered through the use of very easy apparatus. Gallileo used nothing more than (it is conjectured) a slanted track and a little ball to derive the primary equations of gravity: Distance traveled equals the square of the time elapsed multiplied by a constant. Newton solved the issue of the composition of light using a pair of t all of the experiments described here were that simple. Michelson and Morley's investigation into the ether needed the construction of a precise optical apparatus requiring the skills of a machinist and an optician, though it certainly cost far less than a zone telescope. What underlies all the experiments Johnson describes is a certain simplicity, an elegance in the method the question was asked or tested. Michelson's interferometer experiment started with the realization that if we are in fact traveling through the "luminiferous ether", then light should travel faster when measured in one direction than in another. While his actual experimental trials were painstakingly precise and numerous, they amounted to something very simple: Look at the interference patterns, rotate the device, and look again. EIther you see a change- or you don't. He didn't, and that sealed the end of the ether iken's experiment- which also needed a bit of laboratory apparatus- was deceptively simple: Measure the electrostatic charge required to help a little drop of oil versus the force of gravity. You had no method of actually knowing the number of atoms in an oil drop, and while the size of a drop could be measured, and the number of atoms estimated, Miliken had an insight: The charge would always be a multiple of the charge required to suspend one atom, and form that, he could take a huge number of trials and search the lowest common multiplier, as it were. SImple. Elegant. And, if you like, Johnson is one of the best famous science writers on the modern era, a man who can show some of the most cutting edge ideas- quantum computing, for example- in a method that goes beyond the metaphors used by most famous science writers- the "gravity is like a BB on a rubber sheet" school of science writing Part of that is his ability to bring the reader along on the same line of reasoning and insight that led him to understand a topic, and I think he's done an perfect job of that here. Each experiment is discussed both in the context of the history of the idea, and how the scientist in question came to design his experiment. The effect is clear, thought-rpovoking reading for anyone with a primary understanding of some reviewers, I would have liked to see more contemporary illustrations, in addition to the contemporary illustrations that accompany each experiment. The reader familiar with interference patterns might not have problem understanding the discussion of the Michelson interferometer, but someone less well read in physics might benefit from a clearer diagram of what's going on. Still, this is a very enjoyable and informative book, and even those who are familiar with all the experiments discussed will, like this reader, learn quite a bit more about each of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    Here's a surprisingly compelling read, a lively blend of history and science filled with interesting real tidbits about the people involved. Author George Johnson's mission is to list and describe the top 10 most "beautiful" experiments that have explored the mysteries of science. By "beautiful," he means an experiment that has a straightforward elegance, where "confusion and ambiguity are momentarily swept aside and something fresh about nature leaps into view."Each chapter covers one experiment or series of experiments. It explains the back story, the theory, the procedures the scientist used and any conclusion he or she drew. Included is a drawing or photograph of the scientist, quotes, diagrams and e most unforgettable chapter for me concerned how Ivan Pavlov trained dogs to salivate to various stimuli. Pavlov loved his animals, and gave them names such as Buddy and Gypsy and Spot. He tried to spare his dogs pain, unlike a lot of other animal researchers. The author describes an ornate fountain topped by a huge dog that graces the grounds of Pavlov's institute still today, complete with busts of eight canines around the top, "water pouring from their mouths as they salute in salivation."Here's the chapter list:1. Galileo: The method things really move2. William Harvey: Mysteries of the heart3. Isaac Newton: What a color is4. Antoine-Laurent Lavoisier: The farmer's daughter5. Luigi Galvani: Animal electricity6. Michael Faraday: Something deeply hidden7. James Joule: How the globe works8. A.A. Michelson: Lost in space9. Ivan Pavlov: Measuring the immeasurable10. Robert Millikan: In the borderlandAfterword: The eleventh most attractive experiment

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    This carol book is great! It contains a number of modern Christian Christmas songs that I haven't found included in other collections, as well as the usual secular choices. The arrangements are playable by the average moderately-skilled pianist for the most part - there are a few with some dubious key choices (but anything with more than 2 sharps is a dubious key choice in my consideration, so take that into account).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    Exactly as advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    Just whet I required , intermediate level

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    I bought this collection earlier this year. Both CDs were mislabeled and one did not play at all (plus the jewel case was smashed). Rather than go though the process of returning it I bought another. This one has an intact jewel case and the CDs seem to be labeled correctly, but CD1 won't play (or import to iTunes - the very reason I bought the CD). So, out of 4 CDs only 2 work (the same 2) I got 20 of the 40 most attractive arias. One on a mislabeled CD and one on a correctly labeled CD. I'm writing this here because I can't figure out how to lodge a complaint with Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    Arias is mostly the signature piece performed solo by the main hero in an is usually what people love and is collection is simply beautiful, mesmerizing. It captures a lot of memorable operatic keeps me satisfied and calm surrounded by these operatic sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    The first of these two CD's is magnificent. I'm the daughter of an operatic tenor and hearing the favorite selections was awe-inspiring The second CD is not as good--but perhaps because the selections are one's with which I am not as e quality of the CD is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Love Themes []  2020-2-1 23:33

    This is the melody that delights me when I'm starting to wonder where all the beauty in my life went.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    Attractive cd! Traditional Christmas carols beautifully done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    George Johnson chose experiments that "...were those rare moments when, using the materials at hand, a curious soul figured out a method to pose a question to the universe and persisted until it replied." Most of the experiments Johnson chose are familiar to science enthusiast but usually we haven't thought about them in years; this book is a delightful reminder. The ten experiments range from Galileo's determining that objects fall at the same speed no matter their weight to Robert Millikan's oil drop experiment. Except for William Harvey and Ivan Pavlov, the experiments are about physics. Johnson is interested in the equipment and methods as well as the results so he contains drawings that often came from the scientists' journals or published articles. The notes for each chapter provide a useful bibliography. It was amazing fun to revisit these interesting times in science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    In this beautifully written book, Johnson brings together some of the most necessary scientific experiments in history. The thing about experiments, however, is that rarely are they famous. Boring, repetitious, and often failures, Johnson sheds fresh light on some of history's most necessary experiments and how they shaped our globe in ways that we never have imagined.While he does invoke some rather huge names (Newton and Faraday, for example) he also gives insight on lesser known scientists who performed lives of such extraordinary discipline to their craft that our globe has forever been shaped by their methods. What is most interesting about this book, however, is Johnson's steadfast focus on the beauty of the journey and how that journey shaped the life of the scientist, not the benefit towards some ephemeral scientific canon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    I [email protected]#$%! had a various binding that allowed you to turn the pages. Very hard to hold the book open.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    I loved that it had all my favorite Christmas songs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    This book is a fun and fast read. For anyone interested in the experimental side of the physical sciences, this book presents an interesting famous presentation of the structure and context of the experiments selected by the author. As stated in the preface, the author used his own discretion to determine the 10 "most beautiful" experiments, and anyone is free to come up with their own list. That being said, the only thing I want for with regards to this book is that it were longer; both longer in each individual segment, and longer in the reach of experiments covered (20, 30+ most beautiful, anyone?).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ten Most Beautiful Experiments []  2020-2-4 3:25

    Anyone involved in any scientific discipline should read this book. It is so necessary to understand the history of scientific exploration and where we fit in today. I have chosen to give descriptions of two of the experiments from this book in hopes to convey the atmosphere of the book. I think it is a really neat method to introduce some of the most necessary scientific discoveries in history as well as praise the genius it took to explore them."The Ten Most Attractive Experiments", by George Johnson, is a novel written to energize readers about the intricacy and beauty of classic experiments. The author finds it important, in a day in which science has become industrialized and over-run with technology, that his readers are reminded of how some of the greatest discoveries in history came to be. The experiments were simple, often the work of one or two men, yet so elegant and genius that they continue to inspire generation after generation of thinkers. Johnsons begins with Galileo in the 17th century and ends with Robert Millikan in the 20th century, but also recreates a lot of of the experiments himself. Johnson's experiences with the experimental methods and equipment provide a special contrast which allows the reader to appreciate the skill the original discoverers must have ileo:We now know that force = mass x acceleration. But Johnson reveals that the laws of motion confused men for centuries. While Aristotle created sensible observations, he had small grasp on the topics of acceleration, force, friction, air resistance, etc. Galileo disproved Aristotle's "rules," but Aristotle is not forgotten because his "rules" laid the foundation upon which Galileo, and a lot of others, fore religion burdened his curiosity, Galileo experimented with motion and showed that, in controlled conditions, "the speed at which an object falls is independent of its weight." But he still wondered why the falling objects gained speed as they dropped. Limitations in photography (they had watercolors) forced him to slow the motion of the drop for observation by erecting a smooth plane for the ball to travel through; during its fall, the ball would trip bells at various points on the track. The bells stood at increments of 1/4, 2/3, and 3/4 of the plane and the balls' descent to each point was timed (allegedly) by water clock. The measurements were taken again at various slopes of the e water clock worked by drips of water which were weighed after each run of the ball--the more drips of water to fall meant more time had passed and the compared weights gave ratios to the distances the ball traveled during the allotted time. The idea of this experiment was highly scrutinized; some shamed it for its lack of precision while others believed it never actually took place, that Galileo staged it after deducing acceleration mathematically. Stillman Drake, in the early 1970s, pieced together missing pages of Galileo's experiment which had been discarded as scribbles. Whatever medium had been used to time the ball's intervals of movement was irrelevant as long as the time was constant, and Galileo's measurements showed that with each interval, the ball picked up more distance during the same amount of time. Because he noted next to these distances whether they seemed high or low, it is fair to assume Galileo had determined an equation for the increasing speed of the ball. On the manuscript, Galileo had written sequential squares: 4, 9, 16, 25, .... The distance the ball traveled was increasing with the square of the interval multiplied by the distance traveled in the first interval. This finding allowed Galileo to debunk his critics centuries after his death and demonstrated that steeper slopes meant more speed, but by a predictable ratio.Drake did wonder how Galileo kept track of the intervals which occurred in fractions of seconds, a feat too difficult for a water clock. By recognizing the idea that musicians are able to time themselves in divisions of seconds, Galileo's experiment was repeating using a 2-beat tune to tag the intervals. The way succeeded, and is widely believed to have been Galileo's actual timing vlov:Ivan Pavlov is quoted in the beginning of the chapter saying that the domestic canine is a creation of man and a frequent participant in man's experiments. The dog's loyalty to man is evident in its willingness to topic itself to man's evolution of knowledge. Pavlov, though willing to expend his dogs to science, had enough of a relationship with each to name them. One of his firsts, a setter-collie mix named Druzhok (Buddy), was believed to be his favorite. Studying the mammalian digestive system, Pavlov described the "acute" animal experiments gruesomely and preferred the "chronic" approach where bodily fluids were collected while the dogs were under anesthesia. He was a first-class surgeon; once the dogs recovered from their trips under his knife, Pavlov could start his vlov began researching the nervous system in the early 1900s. Though he detested doing so, he would occasionally perform acute experiments which were fatal to his animals, but ultimately justified by the benefit to mankind. The dogs' sacrifices were great, but they are immortalized by the knowledge Pavlov extracted from each death which has provided awesome insight into the one time, Pavlov was on the route to priesthood. But when Darwin and his On the Origin of Species, as well as other evolutionary and anatomical manuscripts, came into Pavlov's reach, he became addicted to the scientific readings. In "Reflexes of the Brain", Ivan Sechinov attributed every single human action to reflexes--muscular movements dictated by the brain. He believed reflexes were responsible for even spontaneous ideas as a effect of subconscious cues. He foresaw a time when knowledge of the brain would be as keen as any other science and that these "reflexes" would become entirely rigued by such notions, the young Ivan Pavlov redirected his study of the church to that of science. In Saint Petersburg in 1870, he studied chemistry under Mendeleyev. Ivan gravitated toward physiology and earned his doctorate through research on the nervous system of canines and its control over cardiovascular processes. By 1891 he was the head of the physiology department of the Institute for Experimental Medicine. It was there that his surgical skill allowed him to map the cascade of reactions which occur in the gastrointestinal e saliva, a mix of water and mucin, was show to lubricate the passage meal took to the stomach. The stomach held "appetite juice" as well as nervous sensors, also show in the duodenum, which signaled for the preparation of gastric juices specific to whatever meal required to be digested. But Pavlov was curious about the saliva; it was still show even when the dog tasted something unappetizing, just in a form free of gastric secretions. Perhaps this watery saliva functioned purely to cleanse the palate of the unpotable substance, but how did the body sense the difference?Pavlov sought to measure the amount and composition of the saliva by first surgically relocating the ductile opening of one of the dog's salivary glands to the outside chin or cheek. Upon recovery, he collected fluid to be yzed. No saliva was released for pebbles of quartz. Water was elicited by white sand to [email protected]#$%! out. Dry bread called for a lot of drool to lubricate it adequately. And a savory chunk of meat needed drool as well, but in a smaller quantity. It seemed that evolution had dictated specific salivary responses based on the animals' vlov believed that the animals' reflexes allowed for different responses to balance different stimuli. For his studies on the physiology of digestion, Pavlov was awarded a Nobel Prize in 1904. Soon after, his work was ridiculed for its exclusion of the role of hormones. With that, Pavlov moved on from digestion to study a topic he deemed more important--the nervous e meal did not actually have to be ingested to cause the dogs' salivation. Learned responses to cues for mealtime and smells were capable of inciting these "psychic secretions". The learned responses were not entirely instinctual, so Pavlov found he could modify them. It isn't hard to imagine Pavlov thinking of creating specific learned responses, or adaptations, as his own brand of the beginning of his "inhibition" of reflexes, when the animal ceased to drool after repeatedly being shown meat, Pavlov might have thought the responses to be psychological--a sort of frustration by the dog, if you will. But he would have been quickly corrected by the fact that a taste of acid would cause the salivation to return. Were the responses products of the dogs' thoughts, this would not be the case. And just as humans lack ESP, trying to read the thoughts of a dog would be a futile venture at vlov was becoming confused between mental and physical physiology. His previous research had been in the form of mechanical action-reaction observations where gray locations were few and far between. In order to study the central nervous system, he would need to separate his subjective self from the animals' internal state; he could no longer "measure" his results because the psychological ideas were immeasurable. He started with what he knew to be fact: environmental factors (which cued the firing of receptors somewhere) were responsible for the salivary glands' physiological the 17th century, Descartes philosophized about organisms' existences as biological machines bound to the universal laws of physics. But like a lot of amazing thinkers to come, he acknowledged that the human brain defied the boundaries of any other organism; the human mind was on a whole fresh level of intelligence. The idea was a quid pro quo because with Darwin's theory of natural selection also came the skepticism of how the mind could be naturally selected. William James simplified the dilemma as though the atoms of matter which form the brain somehow, over eons, oriented themselves in greater and greater conformations. The understanding of the brain and its functions was also described by Thomas Henry Huxley as one half of a team; for every chemical bodily action there is a mental counterpart. Basically, a body part does not move without the brain first directing it to do so. James, however, felt the mind to be a more romantic idea and that beings are not simply organic machines but something science could not vlov didn't care to debate such things he could not help by fact. He preferred to learn about his subjects' minds from the outside, leaving no room for speculation. When a dog salivated at the smell of meat, it was natural, yet also a learned response to its experiences. He could modify the response by employing a second stimulus along with the meat which, by itself, would eventually cause salivation on its own.Even though pairing meat with a stimulus would naturally peak a dog's interest (food is inherent to survival), Pavlov learned he could also modify this learned behavior with unsavory tastes, such as when the dogs tasted dilute acid which had been dyed black. The acid promoted salivation, and once the dog associated its response with the sight of black liquid, the sight of such alone provoked the drooling. The response could also be undone; once the dog learned the black water was without acid, the drooling response would 's almost sadistic to cause and reverse neural connections so repeatedly, but Pavlov became well practiced in the art, knowing it was for the amazing of science. He was even able to change the timing of the dogs' salivations by varying the time of the stimulus. He went on to turn time itself into a stimulus; he could feed a dog at fixed intervals and when an interval hit with no food, the salivation would still occur. In order to discriminate between such innocuous stimuli like the direction of an object's rotation, the dogs, Pavlov thought, must possess keen neural machinery. They were able to distinguish between musical notes, shades of gray, and could even e experiments had to occur with strict integrity to produce meaningful data. There had to be no distractions or changes which could compromise the dogs' entrainment, so Pavlov ordered the construction of a "Tower of Silence". It was completely protected from external sound and vibrations; the observations were taken through periscopes to avoid contact with the specimen. Countless hypotheses were tested in the facility and they produced a conglomeration of attractive experiments; one stood apart from the vlov could already elicit salivation musically. And if a dog learned to drool to a specific chord, it would also drool (though to a lesser extent) to the individual notes which comprised the chord. The researchers progressed to melodies. After playing four notes in ascension, meal was given. When the notes were played in reverse, no meal was given. The dogs could distinguish between the two, but then they were exposed to 22 other combinations of notes. Collecting saliva to gauge the responses, the researchers found the dogs had categorized the melodies based on whether the scales rose or fell. The dogs' brains held potential, just like humans'.Debate continued over the matters of psychology. Some though the process entirely predictable while others believed each response was unique. Even now we are torn between nature and nurture, but perhaps our time is better spent on the things we do known and the appreciation of such. Our debt to the canines who agreeably permitted their lives to be used for the advancement of science may never be paid, but like the a lot of pieces of knowledge they provided, maybe we can all spend a small more time with our furry pals and it will add up to one big, attractive thank-you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Love Themes []  2020-2-1 23:33

    We had this cd in the past. It became damaged and so this is a replacement for a cd that is one of our favorites - and it works fine. It is one of our favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    Whether this collection represents the 40 most attractive Christmas Classics or not is a matter of taste and opinion. In my books it is one the best Christmas albums I have. I have tons of Christmas albums. This one created it to the top 5 of my favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    QUALITY AND QUANTITY COMBINE IN THIS VERY FINE COMPILATION!This is indeed one of the most tasty group of Christmas songs that I have come across in my a lot of years of listening. It leans toward sacred, but there are tunes such 'White Christmas' sung beautifully by Thomas Hampson and a Brass Choir plays a Medley of songs such as Sleigh ride, Have Yourself a Merry Small Christmas etc. In addition to the a lot of choirs there are instrumental groups that not only accompany, but solo e Participants Include: Michael George Choirs of Coventry & Litchfield Cathedrals (three selections)-Choir of Fresh College Oxford (seven selections)-Heinrich Schutz Choir(one selection)-Will Glahe's Children's Choir (one selection)- Brown University Chorus with Boston Camerata (one selection)-Concentus Weien (3 selections)-Monteverdi Choir(one selection)-Sumi Jo(three selections)-Dawn Upshaw & Chanticleer (seven selections)-Jose Carreras (one selection)-Placido Domingo (one selection)-Kiri Te Kanawa (one selection). Instrumental groups: London Brass-Boston Camerata-Bolshoi me of the carols are: 'O come, come Emmanuel'-'Once in 'Royal David's City'-'The Shepherd's Farewell'-'Agnus Dei'-The Holly and the Ivy'-'Panis Angelicus'-'O Holy Night'-'Jauchzet, frohlocket'-'Hallelujah Chorus'. TAKE NOTE THAT THE SELECTIONS ARE LISTED UNDER THE cd you can see there is dozens and it's all up-scale musical works rendered by first class musicians. How can you go wrong? And it's so amazing to obtain away from 'mall music'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Christmas Classics []  2020-1-18 0:24

    Really place me in the mood for Christmas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    I waited a long time to obtain keep of this. The artists and the arias ARE attractive - heavenly in fact BUT the recording on Disc 1 is poor. Listening to it on a disc player/stereo unit you realise it is just not quite as clear as it should be. I wanted to place these on my ipod so I copied them to the computer. When I play Disc one on the ipod or the computer there is a crackley noise right through the vocals. It is not possible to listen to it this way. I recopied it in case there was some interference somewhere and same thing happened. Disc 2 is fine. I would have returned it except I'm not sure if anyone merely listening on a player would agree with me there was a defect. I ordered this product in from the ABC outlet in Australia and weeks later they told me it was unavailable. I was delighted when I found it on Amazon. Now I'm wondering if it disappeared from Australian outlets because of the not good recording. A amazing shame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    This CD is exceptional. It's a stunning compilation of some of our greatest artists of the latest several decades singing absolutely gorgeous selections, well-chosen and brilliantly delivered. I'm ordering more to share the thrill!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Most Beautiful Christmas Songs []  2020-12-1 19:50

    This is an intermediate to advanced Christmas book in my opinion. It's amazing if you're an experienced piano player, has the true music, with the easy music and guitar chords as 'd have to be beautiful advanced to sight read this. Its not for people who played piano years ago to just pick up and play each year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    sneak a peek at this web-site. [this guy]  2020-9-7 16:0
    [email protected]

    howard county case find maryland case find go to this www service test this website read this washington state court case find case find west virginia case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to get the most out of your one day at the Disneyland Resort []  2020-6-22 18:26

    This is a amazing book for park hopping. Short simple read, the title is an exact description of this guide

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386