Read barely missing everything reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all barely missing everything reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    My initial reaction: Not entirely sure how I feel. I think I would have to re-read it again and see if I can really take it in. When I picked up this book, I was not quite sure what I was going to expect. I thought it was going to be related to The Hate U Give, hitting on racial tensions, racism, and discrimination. The plot of the novel was really up in the the air, so I was prepare for whatever was to come. I will say that the novel was not what i was expecting. To me, it seemed as though there was not one major subject that was the focus. There were a lot of complications in the life of the characters, but I actually quite enjoyed that. I found it quite interesting that the novel did not narrow in on one major problems as The Hate U Give did for me. Barely Missing Everything rather focuses on the struggles of the characters, all of those struggles, and how those issues affect their lives. It was more realistic in the sense that the major plot and conflicts did not seem overdone or overdone as is the case in a lot of books. I very much enjoyed the idea of portraying the issues the characters have in a realistic method and having the reader walk with the characters through those issues. I will add that I do want the ending could have been different. I was not a large fan of the ending. In my mind, I was imagining the story going in a completely various direction then the novel actually took. However, the ending was not a breaker for me. I still quite enjoyed the story altogether.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Juan, JD, Danny, and all the characters in this true to life story will capture your heart. The book develops, flows, and ends in such a true life way; it does not sugar coat life but explores the reality of it. I cannot pretend to know what life is like for those in Juan or JD's position (or Fabi, Grandpa, etc), but the author (Matt) paints a realistic portrait that gives a glimpse into the struggles and little glimmers of hope they with. I would recommend this book to any reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This book is a tragic, necessary read for high school students and older. Necessary because it is based on an underrepresented, much required voice in YA literature, the Hispanic male. Tragic because it so clearly shows the cycle of abandonment , the rise of hope giving method to disappointment. This is not just parental abandonment but also systematic. Who do these children have to believe in them...barely even their basketball coach does. Most of the adults believe they are drug dealers and violent teens just because they are Latino and poor. It feels like even when the children war versus it they hold getting knocked down. It's a push and pull story. You feel the ups & downs with the characters. Amazing book discussion. Amazing hero development -some reviews say slow but I say invest your time in these characters, it just makes you feel their story more.

    0  


    Add your opinion on barely missing everything or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Expect realistic and beautifully drawn portraits of flawed young people and adults trying tomake lives for themselves in globe where the cards are stacked versus them. The narrative 'ringstrue' as the story avoids clichéd characters and instead gives us humans of depth and dimension.While the hard realities found in these pages don't give us easily drawn heroes we do obtain a perspectiveinto lives rarely explored with such nuance and compassion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Thank you NetGalley for the Advanced Readers Copy of Barely Missing Everything by Matt Mendez. This book moved very slowly for a while. The story is about brown lives and the issues they face. The main hero is poor, has grown up without a father and fears his future. He has hope at various times in the book and fear at other times. This story provides a voice for hispanic males who may be going through related challenges.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Barely Missing Everything is a heart wrenching and thought-provoking story about a young man in high school, Juan. In this book Matt Mendez crafts lovable and frightfully true characters stuck in a less than desirable social and economic situation. They struggle versus racism, death, unlucky catastrophes, effects of not good decisions created long past, and financial problems, just trying to fulfill their plans or just obtain by. This book really played to my emotions to the point of tearing up as I read the story of Juan, his friends, and their families. It also conveys a strong notice about racism and about how sometimes things just don’t go to planMendez jumps between various points of view allowing us to learn about the lives of everyone involved quite naturally as well as effectively communicate the emotions of the various characters. This is done very well and isn’t jarring nor did I search myself annoyed when the point of view skipped to another as I have while reading other books that do the mething I really liked about the book was how true it was. It felt like an honest story, not some predictable fairy tale story that bores and makes you regret the time you wasted reading it. I’ve always had a spot for sad stories, stories where not everything goes just right and it was all the more strong as it described a globe that is very much apart of our reality. All in all, I would recommend Barely Missing Everything to anyone who wants to read a book with memorable characters and meaningful lessons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    In Barely Missing Everything, Matt Mendez tells the heartbreaking but hopeful tale of tough and tender boys making their method in a globe that doesn’t wish to see them succeed. El Paso is shown vividly and we root for Juan and JD as they roam its streets, navigating the threats of violence, with hope still in their hearts. They are fully realized characters with dreams and we see ourselves in them. Well done, Matt Mendez!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This book had perfect hero development and vivid descriptions of the conflicting thoughts constantly going through the heads of the main characters. The author was effective in creating characters with inner conflicts and complex relationships in such a method that place the reader smack-dab in the story. This is well-written and superbly edited piece of YA literature that I believe readers will search particularly relevant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Matt Mendez’s emotionally demanding Barely Missing Everything (2019) explores the lives of working-class Mexican Americans living in El Paso, TX. A teenage boy named Juan anchors the text, which focalizes his experiences as well as those of his mother, Fabi, and his best friend, JD.Juan and JD are high school seniors planning life after high school, but just barely. They both have hazy visions of the future. JD, a movie enthusiast, aspires to create films and carries a camera wherever he goes. Juan, a high school basketball star on a mediocre team, doesn’t imagine himself doing anything else. Additionally, Fabi, a teen mom turned 30-something mom of a teenager, tends bar to create ends dez brings his characters to life slowly. It’s as if you don’t message them taking shape until you’re a few chapters in and can feel them beside you. He lays them bare: the self-consciousness about a crooked smile, ambivalence about religion, sheer exhaustion from poorly compensated labor. He builds them into multidimensional beings that can’t support but remind readers of human complexity and ere is a painful and relentless “stuckness” to the characters that challenges the US myth of meritocracy and reveals the reality of structural inequality and cyclical poverty. It puts the careful reader into a position like the characters themselves; we have no reason to suspect things will obtain better. Intergenerational and intersectional pain fuels the sense of futility enveloping the at’s not to say there is no hope to be found. There is, but it’s precarious and bitter-sweet. It’s hard to recognize as hope through the pain that twists around is is a attractive book. It’s full of lines that read like poetry and chop so close to the truth it feels like the page will is is a deep book. It tells so a lot of stories even the minor characters will haunt is is a important book. At a historical moment marked by a crisis in empathy this book will create you is is an uncomfortable book. It will remind you art is important. It can do the work of revealing the world, in this case through perfectly chosen words.I recommend this book for school and public libraries. It is a teachable text sure to prompt thoughtful discussions. Mendez doesn’t shy away from exploring gender dynamics, shame, and double standards through Fabi as well as other characters. Other socially significant themes contain police brutality, social mobility, racism, and the normalization of anti-immigrant rhetoric (as well as its material effects). It is the excellent novel for high school and university classrooms. I certainly plan on teaching it in future classes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Missing Everything []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Juan is in his senior year of high school and trying to earn a basketball scholarship. Through a series of a couple of impulsive decisions, Juan ends up spraining his ankle and possibly losing any possibility of escaping his poverty torn neighborhood. Through alternating points of view, we learn how his mother (whom Juan's embarrassed by), has sacrificed for years trying to bring him up after she was left as a single parent at a very young age. The story involves family secrets, gang violence, racism, and a side story of a death row inmate. There is a surprising and impactful ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Blue []  2020-1-18 22:57

    For some reason she reminds me of Julie Andrews without an english accent. Has attractive phrasing, voice quality, and renditions of classic songs that you will enjoy. I have over 5,000 CD's and I know a champion when I hear it. All 3 of her CD's are fabulous

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Blue []  2020-1-18 22:57

    Another phenomenal CD by Suede!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Blue []  2020-1-18 22:57

    I ordered Suede believing this the British band called Suede , ,I am not much into jazz, really amazing sound to a jazz listener Im not one but being a collector of a lot of genres , something now fresh in my collection , it might not be Dream Pop or Shoe-razing genre which I am trying to build up. , I do love mixing melody so this might work in my quiet Storm genre collection , now I must reoder Suede(London Suede ) , now that I have all four of her CDs, enough jazz for me .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Blue []  2020-1-18 22:57

    I SAW SUEDE LIVE IN PTOWN YEARS AGO.....MOVE OVER STREISAND......!!!! CD IS AMAZING....!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Buzzed (1 pound) []  2020-1-28 2:4

    This is a special cheese that goes really well with an old vine Zinfandel. I'm sure there are other wine pairings to be explored.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Buzzed (1 pound) []  2020-1-28 2:4

    This cheese is delicious! It arrived vacuum sealed and fresh. I checked and found it here at a very reasonable price! It's flavor is creamy and delicious. One of my favorite cheeses of all time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Buzzed (1 pound) []  2020-1-28 2:4

    As a long time cheese lover, I never expected to encounter a cheese so special and so addictive. Delicious!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    BARELY BREATHING, part two of the BREATHING trilogy picks up six months after Emma's attempted murder. She's living with Sara's family, but inexplicably decides to move I with her (allegedly) recently sober, estranged mother and still dating Evan. While Sara's parents still have custody, they agree to allow Emma move without contacting her social worker--which is a crime and had the writer done five mins of research, she'd know this and know that as a foster child, Emma can't quit therapy either. Still, overlooking the obvious regulation manipulation, this could have been a decent novel about Emma's recovery. Instead this is a story of teen angst. A narrator who, despite having no bond with her mother, chooses to stay with her drunk, emotionally abusive mother (who remembers nothing when sober) although she has a safe, loving home with Sara's parents. IF Emma was written to seek her mom's approval, and wish that, I could understand, but Em is written almost without that need.Oh Rebecca Donovan-why must you ruin a potentially decent story with such massive handed writing. Please, please take some writing classes and obtain a professional editor and publisher. You have do much potential, and then you ruin it with over telling, over use of adverbs and adjectives, and length.I will read the final book in the trilogy, since I already purchased it and I have hope Donovan's writing or the editing improved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    This is one of Davies’ best books in the latest couple of years. I don’t think I’ve read another of his books that features kink, as he generally sticks to light contemporary. I’m not in the lifestyle, but I feel like he did an erotic yet respectful job with it. I do like BDSM, but he keeps it relatively light. I don’t care for the “Daddy” term, but it is common and the blurb explicitly states that the book is going to use it, so I can’t complain. I like the dynamic of a Dom that takes care of his sub in all ways, not just in a relationship, and that’s what we obtain here. There’s a small angst along the method to place a bit of excitement into Thom and Wren’s lives, but where would their relationship be without some drama! This is one of the best of the Rosavia series. All in all, this is a very powerful series; only one book fell really short of expectations. If you have fun feel-good, low-angst stories, this whole series is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    This is the fifth novel is the Rosavia Royals series. It may be read as a standalone (but I highly recommend reading all of them!). This novel features the daddy-boy trope and some royal hi-jinks between 5 princes searching for their ince Renford (Wren) is 19 and is the 5th of the Rosavia brothers and therefore the latest in line to the throne. Due to being the youngest he was never given much responsibility and instead bids his time as a snarky and sassy brat. And when he sets his sights on something or someone he intends to obtain what he wants. As part of the royal family, each of the members has their own valet to cater and carry out their needs and wants. Thomas (Thom) is Wren's valet and is 16 years older then him. Thom is a Daddy and decides to take it upon himself to support teach Wren about responsibilities and duty. But what started out as innocent lessons on maturity and adulthood turns into something more; and both men realize that this connection they have stems beyond their duty but maybe to the feelings they have for each other.I think that Wren is by far my favorite Prince; only because I found that he created the most appearances in all of the other books and he was just sassy and always had my laughing. I mean blueberry lube; need I say anything else. It was so attractive to finally see Wren though with someone who has that gentle but firm hand to support hold him in line but also give him the love he deserves. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend reading it!I received an advanced copy of this book for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marcelo Rios: The Man We Barely Knew []  2020-7-20 18:50

    Lots of surprises about a amazing tennis player. Everyone should read about Marcelo Rios to observe and reflect as to what it takes to be a amazing tennis player and still remain humble. A Amazing Book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marcelo Rios: The Man We Barely Knew []  2020-7-20 18:50

    A book even stranger and more dissatisfying than its subject. Maybe just barely worth the publishing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    I really enjoyed the first book. It was jaw dropping, the suspense was perfectly balanced and the story we'll place together. I struggled with this book wanting to begin it through a window on more than one occasion. I read some of the harsh reviews before buying it and went ahead anyway because I just had to search out what happened. I don't think some of the reviews are fair and I think on more than one occasion I wasn't fair to the main character. Here this girl has been abused for 5 years when we meet her. She's not wanted by anyone and just doesn't fit in. She's basically dead at the end of book 1 and she's barely 17. There are people criticizing that she had all these amazing people around her and she wouldn't accept their help. The reality is that the author does a unbelievable job not giving into the fantasy of it all and tells the truth. The truth is, Emily should be one messed up person. And that's what we are reading. I also give her kudos by not having Emily's life REVOLVE around Evans or his around hers. Im a sucker for romance like the next person but it's really sweet to see Sara and Emily maintain a friendship and balance the boyfriends without being consumed by the romance. I hope Book 3 brings us the satisfied resolution we so desperately wish for her but it may not. I gave the book 4 stars because I felt like some of the scenes were monotonous and redundant. Some of the dialogue with the mother was unnecessary and though i enjoyed Emily's independence, I wanted to see more of her and Evan. It's a worthy read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    Crying. That's how I finished this book. As I just finished I am unable to place into words how I feel about this book.3 stars? 5 stars? Maybe 4 just to search a balance...Yes. This is a rambleI DO NOT know if I'll finish this series. I don't think I can handle anymore and I'm definitely not the type to leave any series unfinished (even the ones that suck I finish) BUT this one doesn't suck.. Not even a ybe I'll just QUIT reading indefinitelyI love angst! I really do but I'm beginning to think there's a thin line between angsty and just plane mental. Idk. One thing I can say is this is definitely a page turner.I don't like Emma!I love Evan!*update* ofcourse I finished the series.A must read series and No, I DIDN'T QUIT READING ❤ LOL.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    SPOILER ALERT, READERS! :)When I read the first book of this series a couple of months ago, I decided to not read the second one till the third is close for release because in my mind, if the second book will be as riveting as the first one, then I am done for. And I was wrong... this is more intense and I am glad I only have to wait a week till the 2nd of July.Ah...where do I start?Emily/Emma survived the household of hell of her uncle and aunt. Carol, the horrible aunt is now languishing in prison and Emma is living peacefully with her best mate Sara and her parents. Her relationship with Evan is en here comes Rachel, Emma's long, lost mother, trying to restore her life. By mutual decision, they agreed to have Emma move in with Rachel with the hope of rebuilding their nathan is her mother's much younger boyfriend. He is another broken soul, beautiful and oozing with appeal. Him and Emma, their pain, their fears, their nightmares; they understand, they bond, they connect emotionally. Much to my dismay, Emma is relying more and more to Jonathan when circumstances arise to rescue her mom. And boy, did it happen often! What a sorry excuse of a mother, Rachel is!Though it is clear that Evan is the one that Emma loves, I've seen how the author created him less and less involved in Emma's life while she was staying with her unstable mother. Emma didn't wish him to see the ugliness of fixing Rachel. She was living the delusion that her mother will change for her. No sane man (not a guy of his age, IMO) would stick it up with a gal with so much baggage like Emma. Her yoke is heavy, suffocating and downright horrible. But he was suffering from Hero's Syndrome, if I diagnose him myself. He is devoted to Emma. His love radiates through the pages of this book. I am enamored. I am captivated by him. **sigh**The confrontation of Jonathan and Evan was absolutely gripping. Jonathan, deliberately pushed Evan's buttons, striking a nerve when Emma's protection was place into light. I hated Jonathan for hurting Evan. I was ever so glad that Emma damage him right back with her words and created it clear to him that she loves Evan, not him.Having said that, I would like to read more of Jonathan. I hope Rebecca Donovan is considering writing his own story, so he can redeem himself, experience rebirth and have his own HEA. I refuse to believe that "no one could ever love him". I wish to read about this girl who will create his heart sing, the one who can mend his broken heart, ease his torment, pacify his for Emma,burdened by the thought that she is hurting everyone who loves her, ran away - away to California, leaving Evan in the East Coast with a battered, beaten and shattered heart - and this is how it ended... so please, please, on to the final I'm breathing barely here...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    I didn't feel a lot of chemistry or romance with this Daddy/boy, May/December offering from E. Davies. The author chose to spend a lot of time justifying the relationship instead of presenting it. Almost all of the relationship development was skimmed over or recapped in telling fashion instead of being shown on page. The first 50% was promising, but it never really went anywhere interesting because of the author's choice to justify the relationship throughout the whole book. I can understand why they did so, as the one MC had worked for the other MC since he was 9 years old and the potential for readers to be creeped out by that was high. But I feel the book would have been far better for just having the valet be a fresh employee instead of an old one so all that unsexy/boring exposition could have just been skipped. I skimmed most of the back half and was overall left feeling unsatisfied by the whole tom line: I liked a few of the books in this series but none felt quite finished. If you're looking for something fast and simple that doesn't leave you with a book hangover, by all means give this series a try. All the books in this series stand alone and don't have to be read in any particular (or at all).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    This book is about Prince Renford who is fifth in line to the throne Rosavia, Wren is just nineteenth y/o. and He being the youngest never had much responsibility so spends his time basically being bratt. He knows that whatever He wants he obtain it so now He wants Thomas who is his valet. Thom is sixteen years older that Wren and has spends all his time trying to teach Wren to be responsible and all that he needs to know. Wren always had know that He need Thom to be his tutorial and to be firm with Him, And then their interactions started to change until they realize that what they feel for each other is so much more necessary than lessons. This is a Daddy/Boy book and I love the chemistry between Wren and Thom, Wren became more responsible and confident in himself and Thom learned to trust is is a very sweet and hot book, some dom/sub discipline. I like naughty Wren! This is the latest book of the Rosavia Royals series and you will appreciate better this books if you read them in order, each brother have is HEA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marcelo Rios: The Man We Barely Knew []  2020-7-20 18:50

    Fascinating vignettes from those who knew him and interacted with him during his time on the tour...very various sort of cat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marcelo Rios: The Man We Barely Knew []  2020-7-20 18:50

    a great, insightful read from beginning to end. It left me wanting to know more about Rios and to read other works by the writer!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    I can’t even think straight right now!!! If you think it was a lot to with in the first book, then you better obtain ready, because this is a whole other level of... of... I don’t even know. It’s just that intense as the first l I can say is....1st my head is a mess, and I can’t stop thinking about the book since I’ve finished it.2nd WTF why, just why did it have to end the method it did. It has me so upset and such a mess. And it’s just a book, a book!3rd and latest I’m going to guess I’ll be up method later than I should be again, with this latest book because, I can’t wait another min to read it.“Not to sound too deep, but I’ve been considering how just one small thing can drastically affect so a lot of various things. Cause and effect. Choices and consequences. Is there a reason behind it, or is it just chance?I can’t even give a review on this because it’s just to hard and I don’t even know what to say without giving anything away except that.... Gosh I feel like my chest is getting tight, and I hold saying no, no, no again with Emma, but for various reasons this time. What is she thinking. Gahhhh!-One I still love Sara, she is the best and really like a sister more than anything to Emma. Her parents are also the best. They truly care for her like she’s just one of there own and it’s nice that they are there for her, fighting for her and taking her in. I really loved how Anna, Sara’s mom just sat with Emma and hugged her, letting her know it was going to be ok.“I’m so tired,” I told her, the ache in my chest sucking the will out of me. “I don’t wish to do this anymore.” “Do what?” Sara whispered, helping me up so she could pull back the covers. “Hurt,” I muttered, tears seeping between my quivering lips. “You don’t have to,” Sara soothed, guiding me down on the bed.“Emma, it’s going to obtain better. You don’t have to do this alone. I’m here, okay?”“Sometimes people damage more than they can handle,” she soothed, observing me. I had a hard time meeting her eyes. “And sometimes they don’t know how to ask for help. They’re so caught up in their own pain, they end up hurting everyone around them. I want you didn’t hold getting hurt.”-Evan also as always is the best. I feel poor for what he must be going through himself after reveling what he doesn’t to Emma about that poor night at home. I also feel poor for him and Sara for going through what they have gone through themselves, seeing things from the outside looking in when it came to Emma. Knowing everything was not ok!-Surprisingly I also love Vivian, Evans mom she actually is a truly nice lady who loves Emma and is satisfied that Evan and her are together. I wasn’t sure what to think of her in the beginning or what she really felt or thought of Emma, and I’m glad she is the method she is. I just can’t say the same for Evans father. He’s not exactly accepting as his mother and isn’t as welcoming. Of course I’m sure he cares for his son, he’s just that typical kind of “we have kinda person,” thinking things should only be a certain way.-Then there’s Emma’s mother. I feel poor for Emma, I don’t wish to really say I hate her mother but I don’t like her either. I feel like sadly, she truly has a mental disorder that is the reason for why she is they method she is, and is what truly causes her to do and say the things she does. I think she really needs professional support and that she wouldn’t be as poor as she is if she had it. And for Emma she shouldn’t blame herself for any of it, because none of it’s her fault. I know she wishes things would change and be various but sadly I don’t think it will ever obtain better with her mother.-And latest there is Johnathan, Rachael’s (Emma’s mother) boyfriend. In the beginning he truly seems like a nice person and I didn’t wish to dislike him, but as time went on, boy was I squirming and thinking no, no, no just like in the first book. Except for various reasons. What I really don’t like the most is how you can plainly see he’s really feeling more than just a mate for Emma. And the worst part to me is that, he knows she’s WITH EVAN! Seriously he makes me wish to scream. All he’s doing is just confusing Emma, when she’s already got enough going and to with. Why can’t he just be a truly caring mate and that’s it, leave it to that. Seriously sheesh.“I knew how much Evan loved me. And I knew I didn’t deserve it. But I also knew he was the only one I loved. The only one I would ever love.”Well again for me this book, just like the first one, if I could would be a review with infinity stars. It truly is that amazing and a must read. I can’t even wait another second to begin the latest book, and I really have a feeling that I’m going to be method up past a decent bedtime hour again, because I’m unable to place it down. Lol. I’m also starting to think after reading this series that Rebecca Donovan is now my fresh favorite author. I’m really going to have to check her other book now, after this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    4.5 stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟+ for this second book in The Breathing Series, which was various from the first book and not quite what I expected. It picks up six months after the end of book 1 and gives the reader the answers to the cliffhanger. Although the first half was drawn out a bit, it really picked up and took turns I never anticipated. Without giving anything away, I'll just say that it still with aspects of abuse, but Emma's situation has changed and her life is very different. . .different, difficult, and can one young girl endure so much and emerge unscathed? Is she broken beyond repair? Read this and see, but you will also need to move on to the final book in this trilogy to obtain the full story. And I, for one, can't wait to search out what happens to Emma!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    This book was a small bit all over the put & I could tell it would be filled with drama. Emma should have a fresh outlook on life after her aunt is charged with almost killing her. Emma is living with her BF Sara & of course Evan is the most loving boy ever, firmly by her side. Evan has a small groupie, a fresh girl following him around everywhere. And even that doesn't phase him - he only has eyes for Emma. It is funny actually that this girl confronts Emma to create sure she realizes what an amazing boyfriend Evan is & to appreciate just how lucky she is. Especially since Emma is always depressed & gloomy & withdrawn! Amazing point! Of course we'd love it if Emma's troubles would be over but she hasn't dealt with her mother yet. Her alcoholic mother asks Emma to live with her & Emma, with her huge heart & lots of forgiveness, moves in. Not good mistake which leads to some poor decisions, and a small bit of a love triangle. Emma's mother is dating a younger man who has some things in common with Emma's tragic past so they swap horror stories & grow closer as Emma struggles with her mother's abuse of alcohol. I agree with Emma that there are things she'd like to hold from Evan, maybe he won't realize what a complete mess her life is. Emma's memory of her past is very repressed & throughout the story there are circumstances which bring it back, bit by bit. It is overwhelming to have to with. All this time Emma & Evan were preparing to move forward in their relationship physically (yay!) & making plans to move to California together after high school. The ending is a cliffhanger, we are left with a little amount of hope that Evan hasn't completely given up on Emma yet - I really hope some time apart will create the heart grow fonder?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    I love this author and while this book is various than his usual books I could hardly place the book down!!! I love it!!! I’m already planning on reading books 1-4 in the series now and then re reading this book again! Wren and Thom are so excellent for each other! There is very small angst; which is one of the things I really liked about the story. My favorite line is where Wren is talking about how Thom treats him as “unbreakable unlike everyone else in his life.” I loved Wren’s brattiness and how Thom doesn’t even bat an eye over it. I highly recommend this book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    Wow! I love all Ed Davies books, but this is my favorite by far. It was impossible not to immediately fall in love with Wren, and I loved seeing how he grew through the story. The writing kept me captivated so much that I didn't place the book is was the first book I read in the fresh Rosavia Royal series, since they can be read in any order, and I'm excited to read the others. Most of the authors of this series have written the Men of Hidden Creek series together, and they did a phenomenal job with that, so I know this will be unbelievable as well. I love the idea that all 5 books take put at the sane time, and I'm looking forward to seeing familiar characters and happenings throughout each book in the A after reading all 5 books: I really loved how all 5 authors had bits & pieces from each other's books without giving anything away. I also love how they each kept the other brother's personality & quirks when they wrote them into their books. If you didn't know each book was written by a various author you wouldn't be able to tell, they all flowed that well together.I received an advanced copy and voluntarily gave my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marcelo Rios: The Man We Barely Knew []  2020-7-20 18:50

    Be forewarned, this is kind of a rant but one that maybe others recognise as well in terms of the tennis probably a lot of people wonder here already, and as Michael Chang is quoting as saying in this book: Why a book on Marcelo Rios? Well... I have posted maybe one or two reviews here on Amazon total but I think this deserves one. If not just because of the book itself but also the topic matter. And believe me I realise this will also seem probably like some form of a lot of the reviewers here I was a large admirer of Rios. Much has been written & said about him and I can only thank Scoop for writing this book. I remember watching Rios demolish Agassi at the Miami tourney in '98. There was definitely something magical about his game. And again you'll have to forgive me as I will probably go on and on not just on the book's merits, which I think are many, but I wanted to call out the U.S. tennis media in general as Luke Jensen did (if indirectly). He has some of the most poignant comments amongst a lot of in the book. I mean, if you were only connected to tennis through ESPN via Cliff Drysdale & pals and Bud Collins you probably would never have any attention to Rios because both of them told the general public he is a jerk/not worthy/fill-in-the-blank. Don't obtain me wrong; Bud Collins' talent as a commentator, tennis historian as well as a writer is unparalleled. As I am sure much could be said about a lot of other reporters there is something to be said that just because you guys are slighted by someone (Cliff and Bud) doesn't mean he sucks. As a journalist I would think it's part of your job to wish to understand your topics better however hard that may be. Getting to know someone is always difficult. Sometimes we never know how someone ticks. If it turns out to be too much of a pain to delve don't assume anything and just write that person off, which is what both of the two aforementioned journalists did. I would much rather read or hear that as a reporter you don't know what he/she is like or what he thinks, as Mary Carillo and McEnroe amongst a lot of others, did in the book. I think by assuming certain things as C. Drysdale and B. Collins did they are performing a disservice to their profession and in some form or another failed in that facet as a journalist. And sadly you still hear it to this day as they will never give any to Rios. You can love him or hate him but you cannot deny Rios' mastery. He is a very intriguing subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    I just... I just don't know. I didn't know what to expect with this book. I don't know how an author can rip my heart out over and over again. I didn't expect such another emotional ride that would create me question my sanity.Oh Emma. Emma, Emma, Emma. My heart continues to bleed and weep for you. I just wish you to obtain your happily ever after, no matter what that may be. Your story is gut wrenching and never ending. When will the pain stop? When will the punches stop coming?This book. I thought Rebecca had already shredded me and couldn't possibly throw any more at me. However, she did it... again. This book is just as emotionally raw and gut piercing as Reason to Breathe.I definitely need the next book to pick me up off of the ground and give me hope again. I need to seethe light at the end of the tunnel... please!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    So, I'll admit that this is the 1st Rosavia Royal book that I wrote, because E. Davies is one of my favorite authors, and the Daddy/boy theme is so much fun to read. I know that each of these books can be read as a standalone, but now I wish to obtain all the books and read about all the brothers and their real loves! Wren, excuse me Prince Renford, is such a brat, and he's almost excellent and I giggled a lot while reading about his antics. I figured that it would take a unique Daddy such as Thom to create him see how unique he was, and how much more they each could be together. I loved this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    This was such a amazing story. Wren was in desperate need of a “daddy” and Thom fit the bill perfectly. Prince Renford was the baby and could turn on the charm to obtain his way, essentially, he was a brat. Thom was retired Troops and knew a thing or two about what Wren needed. I loved the Daddy/Boy kink dynamics of the story. This story gave me all the feels. I felt so much of Wrens needs and emotions, and Thom’s angst. Learnings Thom’s backstory was essential to the storyline and E. Davies did a unbelievable job telling that. A Unbelievable story!!! I am voluntarily leaving a review form an ARC that I received. My reviews are solely based on my thoughts and opinions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marcelo Rios: The Man We Barely Knew []  2020-7-20 18:50

    Trash

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    In this 2nd of The Breathing Series, the saga in Emma’s senior year of high school continues. As a reader who has 3 kids Emma’s age I search it hard to relate to her being only seventeen. Yes, the soap opera like tragedies that Emma encounters are twisted and unfortunate but a lot of of the actions are the effect of not thinking and continually hiding the truth. Not qualities of the future Stanford student Emma is portrayed to be. The lack of parental or authority (school/police/social work) involvement is evident especially in light of the crimes that do take place. It’s an simple read and you search yourself curious and liking the main characters but overall the story is predictable and lacks suspense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, Book 2) []  2020-1-16 1:53

    I enjoyed the first book and liked how the author developed the characters of Evan, Sara, and Emma. I usually have fun series, so I purchased the second book immediately after finishing the first. The second book was a complete allow down. There is absolutely no hero development in this book at all. Emma, Evan, and Sara are completely the same and the introduction of other characters is done sloppily at best. The dialogue is boring, predictable, and at times, frustrating. I grew bored of reading, "I'll explain it later," or one of the characters mentioning a moment that goes unexplained for another ninety pages. There is absolutely no plot to the book until the latest six or seven chapters. I will not be reading the third book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    I am absolutely in love with daddy/boy kink and E. Davies has done a unbelievable job with this book. There’s even a bit of D/s play there.Wren is so tired of being treated as a “kid” instead of as an adult. Ever since he turned 19, he’s been trying to take a more serious approach to life and Thom has taken notice.Wren has been unashamedly flirting with Thom, hoping for something more. It turns out he’s just the bratty boy that Thom needs, and Thom is the absolute excellent Daddy that Wren needs. Of course with Wren being a prince, they have to be careful. And an incident in Thom’s past comes to the front e take a possibility and read their story, see how things progress to an HEA for them along with the roses, and blueberry lube!! 😱Laughter, tears, angst, romance and let’s not forget the smoking hot scenes all are waiting for you! ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barely Regal (Rosavia Royals Book 5) []  2020-6-20 18:55

    4 ½ StarsBarely Regal is a sweet and sexy read that allows two very various men to come together in ways neither of them expects.I enjoyed watching Wren learn and grow emotionally and intellectually as the pages turned. His hero has an innocence that is lovely to om is steadfast and real but has been stifled by the life he has accepted as his lot. I enjoyed seeing him take back the control that had been wrested from ese two together fit like pieces of a puzzle, snug and secure and stronger together than they ever would be this point, I am satisfied with the HEA but would love to see them in a few years to create sure it stayed real.I have never read Daddy kink before. I decided to dip my toe into that particular water with Barely Regal since this author has never led me astray. Thankfully, that is the case once more. I was not overwhelmed with an overabundance of kink scenes, and the scenes depicted are sexy and fun. I won't say that I will read this type of kink again, I probably won't, but I do have a better understanding of it and feel better for having tested my limits with this author. Barely Regal is romantic and sexy, and if not for the term Daddy being used from time to time, I would have thought it was a light BDSM read. So, the bottom line of my private preference; the sexy times were amazing even with the kink, but I preferred the romantic cuddle times.I look forward to more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marcelo Rios: The Man We Barely Knew []  2020-7-20 18:50

    I really admired Marcelo Rios' tennis when he played in the 1990s. He was a unbelievable talent and is often called the most talented player never to victory a grand slam. He was also a bit of an enigma, with a so-called `bad boy' reputation. This is an insightful and fascinating book by Scoop Malinowski who is a respected tennis journalist. It's not a straight-forward biography of Marcelo Rios - it's a selection of interviews and quotes from tennis greats such as Mats Wilander and Thomas Johannson, players who played alongside Rios such as Michael Joyce, M Gambil, Luke Jensen, Michael Chang, respected coaches such as Nick Bollitieri and Bob Brett, and competition officials, workers and those involved in the commercial side of the game. There are also interviews/quotes from fans and their encounters with Rios. It's a fascinating read, discussing the technical side of the Rios android game as well as trying to search out what created him tick - was he a social misfit? Shy? Misunderstood? Or did he really not just care? A definite must for tennis fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Actual rating 3.5 stars.I did the novel when it was first released, but ended putting it to the side due to all the hype – I like to go into a read with a clear head so I can form my own opinions without any ere were plenty of small symbolic references from the text which I liked and felt added depth and meaning to the characters and their interactions. As too did the illustrations. We really obtain a sense of our protagonist Maddy's mental state and exploration of the globe outside, despite being trapped inside her hermetically sealed house suffering NCID. The small things, hero quirks helped flesh out their personality. Like how love interest Olly was interested in parkour and could never sit or stand still, how it was a symptom of how uncomfortable and how much he wanted to escape life with his abusive father.Another aspect, this time going versus the novel, were the plethora of inaccuracies. Both in the realistic treatment of NCID and having a germ-free house. Maddy's symptoms. Maddy's mother's behaviour... I just felt like there was something off. Granted the reveal could shed a whole various light on these things, but I was just so frustrated when reading I nearly place the book down because I felt the author had not done enough research into what life is really like in that created the novel feel very implausible.With having said that the writing is lovely, though some of the chapters extremely short - like soundbites of info or snippets of chatroom dialogue, it felt a bit jarring for me. Definitely a fast read though and more for the younger end of the YA demographic.I enjoyed reading 'Everything Everything' but it's not something I would rave over. Though in comparison to the treatment they gave to the movie, the novel is method better. Recommended only for lovers of YA contemporaries who like uncomplicated fast reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Can you imagine what life would be like if you ever tried to leave your house you could die? This is the situation Madeline Whittier is in. She has a rare illness called Severe Combined Immunodeficiency which forces her is be in an intensely clean and controlled environment. She does not remember ever being outside of her house, and the only people she comes in contact with are her mother and her nurse, Carly. While her home is pleasant and she is very well taken care of, Maddie never leaves her home. She seems resigned to this life until a boy named Olly moves next e characters in this book are interesting, realistic, and you can support rooting for each and every one. Olly is by far my favorite. He is truly the character of the story- brilliant and kind, yet human with his faults. This book tackles some massive problems such as loss, alcoholism, and domestic abuse. All are done in an appropriate and tasteful way. While I had the ending figured out about three-fourths of the method through the book, there were enough twists and turns to create me wish to hold reading. This is truly a book where when you finish, you wish to grab a mate and discuss it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I will be honest, I read this book begin to finish in one day. There were parts where I just couldn’t stop reading because I wanted to know what would happen. I really enjoyed reading the storyline and getting to know Olly and Maddy. I definitely want that when I was 18 years old I knew a boy like Olly! Although I have to say that is one criticism that I have of this book, I don’t believe that boy’s like Olly actually exist at the age of 18 years old! He was so sweet, thoughtful, sure of himself and his love for Maddy, and very mature. So I struggled to read the book and relate to a globe in which a hero like Olly would exist.Other than that I loved the storyline and the author’s writing. Maddy was funny and quirky and relatable. I did wonder which direction the story would go, I wouldn’t say it was predictable, but I wasn’t sure whether it would have a satisfied or sad ending. There seemed to be only two ways for the book to end. And I will say that when I read the latest part of the book I was actually disappointed there wasn’t more to the story of Olly and Maddy. I was left wanting more!Definitely worth reading if you like sweet YA love stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I LOVED this book. LOVED it. I read it in one day and immediately watched the film the following day because I required more of Maddy and Olly! I just want I'd read this book years ago.I am honestly a bit disappointed by the negative reviews, specifically the reviews that question Maddy's behavior and choices. Unpopular opinion: I often want adults weren't allowed to review teen fiction. So often I search that they have forgotten what it is like to be a teen. Sometimes I wish to ask reviewers if they've ever even MET a teen.But, I am not going to dive down that rabbit hole, so instead I will say this:Maddy was not the average teen girl due to the circumstances surrounding her health, but she was completely relatable because, regardless of her limitations, she had the very common desires for love and companionship and touch and and FEELING and experience and every other thing that teen girls long for. She based decisions on feelings and desires, rather than logic and risk--which, if you've ever been a teen or met a teen, or ARE a teen, you'll know this is par for the course. She created a rash decision, yes, but is it really so far-fetched to think that somewhere in this vast globe there's a person (teen or otherwise) who would actively choose a moment of freedom/LIVING over a lifetime of isolation? No matter the cost? I don't feel that this concept is that far-fetched, especially when we're talking about a teenager who--like most teenagers--takes risks. They act now and think later. They live for instant gratification, not because they are inherently selfish or stupid or lack the ability to think, but because this is the bonus of being a teenager.Anyway, to finish my review (rant?) EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING was a attractive first love story with an upsetting twist--that yes, you'll probably see coming--and a bittersweet ending. I loved everything about it, and I will continue to read anything Nicola Yoon puts into the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I have read a lot of books in my 23 years of life. And I am those type of people who fall head over heels in love with certain books. This is one of them. The writing is beautiful, you fall in love with the characters in this book and honestly, I just could not place this book down. Throughout my day I could not wait until I reunited with this story,You have to read this book, it will definitely change the method you see and appreciate things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Okay, where do I start....Well, this is certainly an idea I haven't thought of! The author went through a lot of research, so it was very informative about the protagonist's condition. The protagonist herself is fairly relatable, as well. I liked the book for the most part. However....I thought it was strange how she had so much problem forgiving her mom, at the end of the book. Of course I didn't expect her to forgive her mother right away, and of course her feelings are justified. She was, after all, kept in her house her entire life, hardly any mates to speak of, and only the occasional visit from anybody but her mother and nurse. That said, that's why I search it hard to believe. Her mother was in the wrong here, but she was also delusional. I figured the protagonist would be slightly more understand when she realized that her mother was having problem coming to terms with life, and that she was trying to protect her daughter. I figured that the protagonist, only knowing a handful of people in her life, would eventually have forgiven her mother for the sheer fact that her mother is one of the only people she could rely on until she met her boyfriend. Honestly, the fact that it ended how it did, with her feeling how she does about her mother, was disappointing.And why wasn't she angrier at her nurse? The nurse specifically stated that she did not know for certain if the protagonist had SCID or not, that occasionally she had doubts about it and about the mother. Why wasn't the protagonist angrier at her for not trying to search out more? Or at least for not telling her?Overall, the book was okay. I might read it again, but it won't be for a while yet, because for some reason it just bothers me for the above two reasons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)Everything, Everything is related to Recovery Street in terms of format. It is setup like a diary, though unlike Recovery Street it has pictures, and each would be chapter is short. However, with a film coming up this August, starring Amandla Stenberg and Anika Noni Rose, you know I couldn’t resist. Though, allow me tell you, this is by no means the best YA novel I’ve ever aracters & StorylineSince she was a baby, Madeline hasn’t left her house. Her mother, a doctor, has diagnosed her with SCIDs (Severe Combined Immunodeficiency) after her getting gravely ill as a baby. What this basically does is turn her into a bubble kid (Think Jake Gyllenhaal’s Bubby Boy). Which, if you saw the movie, you’ll remember means a lot of remodeling of the family home in to accommodate the disease. So, with some Maddy’s mom came into, she is able to redo the house to hold Maddy us leading to, for more than 15 some odd years, the only people Maddy interacting with being her mom and nurse Carla. However, then comes Olly, a boy who moves in next door. His curiosity, his being fresh to the area, draws him to the cute girl who just watches people from the window. So, thanks to a bit of perseverance, and Maddy’s own curiosity, they become mates and so blooms the desire to become something more. But is that possible when Maddy can’t do things normal girls do? Will Olly, considering his family situation, as well as the ability to meet dozens of girls at school, really give him the time to with the frustration which is having to adjust his life to meet the requirements of what he needs to do just to see Maddy? Well…HighlightsMaddy and Olly’s Relationship Is AdorableNo matter what the YA novel is, beautiful much it is the relationships and/or the friendships, that hold you interested. Especially in books like these which don’t have their lead with some serious sort of affliction which can give the reader a fast shock or scare. So, it makes it where as you read Maddy meeting and getting to know Olly, it is very cute. After all, once you take into acc how isolated Maddy has been, and this is probably one of the few boys her age she has had the possibility to interact with, it makes you a bit is is, of course, assuming you are my age, nearly a decade away from Maddy’s, and reading her talk about the butterflies and how being within a couple of feet from someone you are into makes the hairs on your arms stand. All of it, truly, reminds you of what it was like to be young and have a full-fledged, it could happen, type of crush. The kind you dream about and so much ’s Not Too Massive or SensationalizedI think I’m not alone in saying that the YA novel genre has become saturated with drug addiction, accidental deaths, different kinds of abuse, and with that it makes books which don’t contain that seem tame. Heck, they seem boring in comparison. For, after all, books are about escapism, going into someone else’s world, usually more interesting than yours, and getting away. Yet, at the same time, books are also about finding someone, or something, to relate to, despite your ddy’s life is bare. She has her mom, Carla, and a computer she strangely only does school work on. Even when Olly enters her life, there is nothing sensationalized about their relationship. He isn’t some poor boy she is trying to save nor is he just some curious dude who is a lot of ways, Everything, Everything reminds you that storytelling, and coming of age, isn’t just about having for the first time, your first drink, your first smoke, or what often are considered things that adults do. It’s about experiencing life with the only influence your parents having is how they live by example and you deciding what to, or not to, take from that. Which contains how you handle being offered sex, drugs, and etc., as well as how you handle tragedy, how you are as a mate or partner when that other person is hurting and more.Overall: Mixed (Borrow)While I really have nothing but praise for Everything, Everything here is the thing. It’s not for everyone. This book isn’t about escapism but providing perhaps a hero to relate to. Hence why Maddy is Black and Asian, just like Nicola Yoon’s kids will be. This book, in a way, is about breaking the mold, not giving in to the need for sudden shocks and the usual beliefs of what teens obtain themselves, and each other, into. This book is for those who may have problems with their parents, maybe never been kissed, but nonetheless are completely normal. With that, as much as the book has quotable lines up the ying yang, it doesn’t really bring me to say you should it nor can I strongly recommend it. It’s a fast read which won’t be taxing on your time and emotions but with it just being cute, even with Maddy’s diagnosis, it doesn’t come up with ways to create you wanna read this over and over again. As much as we obtain to know Maddy and Olly, as well as their mates and family, they don’t leave a powerful impression for they are so normal that, minus or plus one or two things, you probably already know someone like them.Hence the Mixed (Borrow) label for while those prepping for the film I think may have fun the insight, and surely will look forward to certain moments in the movie, I think on its own Everything, Everything may do things differently, but not in such a method it becomes exemplary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Madeline F. Whittier is a kind and loving person who is willing to do anything possible to create her mother happy. Madeline lost her father and older brother when she was just a baby. Madeline and her mother are very close. She just celebrated her eighteenth birthday and she has never walked out of her front door. Madeline suffers from a rare disease; she can become severely ill if she inhales non- purified air. She always likes to imagine what it would be like to step outside of her front door and see the world. Eventually a fresh family moves next door and she soon meets the sweet boy, Olly.I truly enjoyed reading Everything Everything. My sister and I read it together and we could not place it down. My favorite hero would have to be Maddy. She is so smart, attractive and determined to accomplish anything she sets her mind to. She enjoys architecture and is a genius at constructing little utopias. I love that she cares for mother and caregiver so much. She is so powerful and loving although her circumstance keeps her away from the things that she most desires. I hope everyone gets to read this novel as well as Nicola Yoon’s other novel- The Sun Os Also A Star. I cannot wait to read that book and anything else that Nicola Yoon may release. Satisfied Reading.-Rebeca

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I ate this book up. I’m not sure how I can describe how amazing this book was for me. I definitely wasn’t expecting on reading it in a day. It was that ddy was an awesome main character. I love her positive outlook on life, despite her illness and the fact that she’s never been outside of her house. She’s so intelligent and witty. One of my favorite things that she does is every time she gets a fresh book, she writes a list of rewards if found. My favorite: Snorkel with me (Madeline) off Molokini to spot the Hawaiian state fish — the humuhumunukunukuapuaa.I enjoyed her relationship with all of the characters. Olly is the cutest and smartest love interest I’ve seen in a while. I like that he wasn’t just a cute boy-toy figure in the book, but was given a very necessary story to tell. It was something I could relate to at some points and it helped Olly become an even more relatable hero for me. He cared for Maddy and her well-being so much. You could say there was insta-love, but given their age and Maddy’s circumstance, I really believe that they were really in love with each other…or at least what they thought was love. So for me, their romance didn’t bother me. I really enjoyed it and at times want I had an Olly. 😉Though I am clearly a large fan of Olly, my favorite hero relationship was Maddy and Carla, her nurse. Carla seemed more of a mother figure to Maddy to me than Maddy’s own mother. She understands that Maddy is an eighteen-year old girl who wants to do things that other people her age are doing. Some of my favorite parts of the novel were their scenes together. She was such a unbelievable contribution to the e only problem that I have with this book is the latest third of it felt extremely rushed. I wouldn’t have mind having the book be 50 or so pages longer so the finale could develop and play out more. Though I figured out the ending half method through reading, I still would have liked to see more.With that said, I still very much enjoyed it. Yoon’s writing is so attractive and intoxicating. She knows how to suck you into a story and never wish to leave. I can’t wait to obtain my hands on her next novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything, Everything []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I received an arc copy of this book from Random House Children in exchange for an honest review.I dare you to pick up this book and not [email protected]#$%! in one sitting. It’s practically impossible. And if I hadn’t had to work all week, I would definitely have finished it in one sitting. This book is beautiful, funny heartbreaking, and shocking. Did I mention BEAUTIFUL, because it is. I know I’m gushing, but I absolutely adored Madeline and Olly, and their impossible love story. I just wish to hug this book to my chest and never allow it go. I absolutely adored this book! But the ending kills me, I was so not prepared for it! Gah, plot twists!Madeline has this Severe combined immunodeficiency disease (SCID), which makes her the girl in the plastic bubble, basically. She has never been outside, or had any friends. She spends her days with her nurse and her mom. One day, a family moves in next door, and we are introduced to Olly, this absolutely adorably hot child (in my mind anyway) who is into Parkour and very obviously has a tough family life (trigger warning for suggestions of abuse). Their story just sort of explodes from there. It is attractive to read, honestly. It’s a story of first love, and real love, as well as of yourself a favor and go and pre-order this book! You will not regret it, I promise you! One of my favorite books this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Missing Course: Everything They Never Taught You about College Teaching []  2019-12-18 20:35

    The academy is filled with educators trained in their niche expertise but not in the art and craft of teaching. Thankfully, Gooblar steps into the void with a ‘missing course’ in college teaching. This book is both warm and empirically-based, comprehensive but accessible, student-centered and also scientific. We’re so lucky to have Gooblar as a guide, as he generously shares both a careful, thorough evaluation of the pedagogical literature and a host of practical teaching hints amassed over a career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Missing Course: Everything They Never Taught You about College Teaching []  2019-12-18 20:35

    I enjoyed this book very much. I am early on in my college teaching career, and the book provides a lot of amazing examples and suggestions to enhance your teaching. The author is primarily a writing instructor, but makes it a point to extend all examples to other disciplines as well. Although I didn't agree with all the author wrote about (if I followed some suggestions at my huge university, my students would walk all over me!), I still appreciated the suggestions and it left me with loads to think about. I do want that there was an actual course about college teaching that they offered me in grad school, but this book is a amazing kick-start to thinking about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Missing Course: Everything They Never Taught You about College Teaching []  2019-12-18 20:35

    This book is a handy compilation of ways of being in the college classroom. I am certainly satisfied I added it to my shelf of “how-to’s” for teaching. I started teaching around the time Gooblar started writing for Vitae, and his tip has always been useful. This tidy book, however, ties it all together. If you’re looking for the recent on pedagogy, this revives some old forgotten favorites but also teaches fresh ways to think about your role in higher education with the aim of making you better at what you do. Though this will also suit the fresh college instructor, I happen to think those with experience may obtain more from this because Gooblar reminds you about perception, yours and your students’, while also encouraging you to hold evolving and trying fresh things. He begins by suggesting the students are the subject, no matter what you teach, and gives you examples and practical activities to start structuring a course with that in mind. The takeaways for me are innumerable, from letting the students support me build my syllabus to suggestions for in-class activities that spark genuine participation. At this point, we all know about the values of active-learning, but Gooblar gives you the practical here, not simply theory. He’s even got some stellar tip on revision, which I plan to use next quarter. As with the guidance in “The Pocket Instructor” and “Teaching with Classroom Response Systems,” the tip in “The Missing Course” makes me feel more adequate in the classroom, and maybe even makes it so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    This case sucks. What they don’t present you in the picture or mention, is that there’s zero coverage for the top or bottom of your phone. No protection offered at all. Complete waste of your money. I returned it the day I got it. When you remove it from the box it’s so flimsy you can hear it shaking like a broken toy. Avoid at all costs! Not good form from case-mate, an otherwise amazing company :/

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    Exactly what I wanted. Minimalist and slim while protecting well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    TERRIBLE case do not buy. Even had a screen protector purchased from apple on the front and the glass was cracked through that

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    Perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    Amazing case. Have dropped a few times and no problems. Only problem as someone with no nails, it can be hard to obtain to the silent button.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Black []  2020-6-3 18:4

    Smooth feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    So slim, but protects the phone that you can see clearly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    The case is sturdy and doesn’t feel cheap. My one issue is that the case is very slick and slips out of my hands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    I like that it gives me the slim feel and still allows the color to present while being protective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Black []  2020-6-3 18:4

    It’s actually really nice and unfortunately I’ve dropped my phone a couple of times with this case on it and I have no hurt to my iPhone 11. It’s very thin and feels amazing to the touch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    Flimsy, not like the Case Friends I’ve used in the past. Returned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Clear []  2020-5-1 18:4

    This case broke, as soon as I opened it. Would not recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Case-Mate - iPhone 11 Slim Case - Barely There - 6.1 - Black []  2020-6-3 18:4

    Slim and strong

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Explain Everything™ [App]  2018-4-26 21:8

    Best For youtuber to explain

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Explain Everything™ [App]  2018-4-26 21:8

    This is a amazing APP for teachers who TEACH online or use a flip classroom model. I appreciate how simple it syncs with Google Drive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Explain Everything™ [App]  2018-4-26 21:8

    I use it for teaching maths at a high school. It is so simple to prepare examples. Take snapshots of questions from old papers or from the text book to work on as a class. I can stand anywhere in the class and teach or give a student the smartphone to do a problem. Complicated Geometry diagrams can be enlarged to the size of my wall and all the colours create it simple to see the angles. And if they don't it, ts simple to erase and begin again!! Children notebooks are more colorful as my notes /explanations are colourful!! My only problems with the application are that it needs a redo option not just an undo option and the eraser only erases current work - sometimes you need to erase older work if you pick up a mistake!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Explain Everything™ [App]  2018-4-26 21:8

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Explain Everything™ [App]  2018-4-26 21:8

    Amazing but I need it for school and my expired

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Explain Everything™ [App]  2018-4-26 21:8

    I love this application so much it brings out my imagination and even more! You can post your videos on youtube thanks so much to the inventors of explain everything i have so muchto do

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Explain Everything™ [App]  2018-4-26 21:8

    Best! I was searching a application like this. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Explain Everything™ [App]  2018-4-26 21:8

    Awesome and effective once you obtain past the learning curve.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Islam [App]  2018-5-18 21:8

    This Application is amazing! Where was it 8 years ago when I converted? I could have saved so much time, research, sorrow, frustration, confusion, misunderstanding, etc. Sadly, because of all of my past confusion, I'm still badly in need of it, so I'm very satisfied to have discovered it. Now almost everything I've ever wanted or required to know, or understand better, is right here at my fingertips. Alhamdulillah -- I'm very grateful! May Allah bless those who made this application with an abundance of followers, fresh Muslims, and barakat. Jazak'Allah khayr for all your hard work. Insha'Allah I will never feel so behind in our religion again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Islam [App]  2018-5-18 21:8

    Has all the necessary aspects regarding the religion of Islam. Perfectly compiled and simple to use. Glad I found such app; Inshallah through reading the stories it includes our imaan will strengthen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Islam [App]  2018-5-18 21:8

    It's an AWESOME APP I'm in the process of taking my shahada thanks for all the knowledge

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Islam [App]  2018-5-18 21:8

    This is one of the best application I have seen,I love it and learn alot from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Islam [App]  2018-5-18 21:8

    Ladies & gentlemen the application is malfunctioning huge time! Please fix it! !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Islam [App]  2018-5-18 21:8

    It's very amazing application you can learn more from this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Islam [App]  2018-5-18 21:8

    This is honestly an EXCELLENT app!! Thank you so much much to the creator's of this app. May Allah shower you with blessings insha'allah! Allahu akbaar! Ameen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Islam [App]  2018-5-18 21:8

    This application is awesome !! I can't obtain off it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nothing & Everything []  2019-12-20 18:34

    This book hits all the points I had about Nihilism that I was looking to be answered. I'd highly recommend it for anybody curious in this subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    Better than the other editor with the same name but still rather basic, and no SD access. Uninstalled

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    Sync is still a problem. I am using samsung note 2, android device 4.4.2 and Galaxy s4, android device 5.1 and Xiaomi android device 7.1.1. If syncing is ok, I will definitely go for Premium.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    Too a lot of ads, ads on every page

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    AUTO SYNC IS STILL THE PROBLEM. It worked once at the first sign in and stopped on Android device 4.2, 4.4 and 5.0. And there is no copy and paste. Thanks for your effort so far, work more on it and it will be OK. Amazing luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    The best thanks for the application note

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    Very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    I love this app, it had all the function that I need. But if there is a function that able to remove the ad that will be perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    Nice app... Like to writing and it's one of the best application where i can storage here...Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    Synchronization is not working. Gays you must to ripair is good,but without synchronization is nothing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    Instantly trust this apps because of the reviews, and looks so great. After installed it, I used it for my work. Wrote a really looong task including the calculation, idea n etc. Suddenly the apps crashed and all my data were GONE. No backup or auto save. It traumatize me to use this apps again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    A copy of Google hold

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Note Everything [App]  2019-12-27 21:40

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yahoo! Everything [App]  2019-7-23 13:11

    Best yahoo app!!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386