barely missing everything Reviews & Opinions


Submit barely missing everything review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Expect realistic and beautifully drawn portraits of flawed young people and adults trying tomake lives for themselves in globe where the cards are stacked versus them. The narrative 'ringstrue' as the story avoids clichéd characters and instead gives us humans of depth and dimension.While the hard realities found in these pages don't give us easily drawn heroes we do obtain a perspectiveinto lives rarely explored with such nuance and compassion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    In Barely Missing Everything, Matt Mendez tells the heartbreaking but hopeful tale of tough and tender boys making their method in a globe that doesn’t wish to see them succeed. El Paso is shown vividly and we root for Juan and JD as they roam its streets, navigating the threats of violence, with hope still in their hearts. They are fully realized characters with dreams and we see ourselves in them. Well done, Matt Mendez!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Matt Mendez’s emotionally demanding Barely Missing Everything (2019) explores the lives of working-class Mexican Americans living in El Paso, TX. A teenage boy named Juan anchors the text, which focalizes his experiences as well as those of his mother, Fabi, and his best friend, JD.Juan and JD are high school seniors planning life after high school, but just barely. They both have hazy visions of the future. JD, a movie enthusiast, aspires to create films and carries a camera wherever he goes. Juan, a high school basketball star on a mediocre team, doesn’t imagine himself doing anything else. Additionally, Fabi, a teen mom turned 30-something mom of a teenager, tends bar to create ends dez brings his characters to life slowly. It’s as if you don’t message them taking shape until you’re a few chapters in and can feel them beside you. He lays them bare: the self-consciousness about a crooked smile, ambivalence about religion, sheer exhaustion from poorly compensated labor. He builds them into multidimensional beings that can’t support but remind readers of human complexity and ere is a painful and relentless “stuckness” to the characters that challenges the US myth of meritocracy and reveals the reality of structural inequality and cyclical poverty. It puts the careful reader into a position like the characters themselves; we have no reason to suspect things will obtain better. Intergenerational and intersectional pain fuels the sense of futility enveloping the at’s not to say there is no hope to be found. There is, but it’s precarious and bitter-sweet. It’s hard to recognize as hope through the pain that twists around is is a attractive book. It’s full of lines that read like poetry and chop so close to the truth it feels like the page will is is a deep book. It tells so a lot of stories even the minor characters will haunt is is a important book. At a historical moment marked by a crisis in empathy this book will create you is is an uncomfortable book. It will remind you art is important. It can do the work of revealing the world, in this case through perfectly chosen words.I recommend this book for school and public libraries. It is a teachable text sure to prompt thoughtful discussions. Mendez doesn’t shy away from exploring gender dynamics, sexual shame, and double standards through Fabi as well as other characters. Other socially significant themes contain police brutality, social mobility, racism, and the normalization of anti-immigrant rhetoric (as well as its material effects). It is the excellent novel for high school and university classrooms. I certainly plan on teaching it in future classes!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on barely missing everything or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch barely missing everything video reviews and related movies:

    See 4 Reasons to be Riveted by BARELY MISSING EVERYTHING from Matt Mendez on youtube.

     related image

    See Woman describes barely missing being involved in crash that killed 7 on I-85 on youtube.

     related image

    See March Reading Vlog | Part Two on youtube.

     related image

    See i BARELY CAUGHT HER!! on youtube.

     related image

    See Why You Fall For Someone You Barely Know And/Or Never Met on youtube.

     related image

    See Brian McFadden - Everything But You on youtube.

     related image

    See WazHack Winner's Circle "Bare Bard in the Buff 1.5- Barely Missing Episode" on youtube.

     related image

    See SUV Crashes Into Fence Pole In Woburn, Barely Missing Driver on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    My initial reaction: Not entirely sure how I feel. I think I would have to re-read it again and see if I can really take it in. When I picked up this book, I was not quite sure what I was going to expect. I thought it was going to be related to The Hate U Give, hitting on racial tensions, racism, and discrimination. The plot of the novel was really up in the the air, so I was prepare for whatever was to come. I will say that the novel was not what i was expecting. To me, it seemed as though there was not one major subject that was the focus. There were a lot of complications in the life of the characters, but I actually quite enjoyed that. I found it quite interesting that the novel did not narrow in on one major problems as The Hate U Give did for me. Barely Missing Everything rather focuses on the struggles of the characters, all of those struggles, and how those issues affect their lives. It was more realistic in the sense that the major plot and conflicts did not seem overdone or overdone as is the case in a lot of books. I very much enjoyed the idea of portraying the issues the characters have in a realistic method and having the reader walk with the characters through those issues. I will add that I do want the ending could have been different. I was not a large fan of the ending. In my mind, I was imagining the story going in a completely various direction then the novel actually took. However, the ending was not a deal breaker for me. I still quite enjoyed the story altogether.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This book is a tragic, necessary read for high school students and older. Necessary because it is based on an underrepresented, much required voice in YA literature, the Hispanic male. Tragic because it so clearly shows the cycle of abandonment , the rise of hope giving method to disappointment. This is not just parental abandonment but also systematic. Who do these children have to believe in them...barely even their basketball coach does. Most of the adults believe they are drug dealers and violent teens just because they are Latino and poor. It feels like even when the children war versus it they hold getting knocked down. It's a push and pull story. You feel the ups & downs with the characters. Amazing book discussion. Amazing hero development -some reviews say slow but I say invest your time in these characters, it just makes you feel their story more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Thank you NetGalley for the Advanced Readers Copy of Barely Missing Everything by Matt Mendez. This book moved very slowly for a while. The story is about brown lives and the issues they face. The main hero is poor, has grown up without a father and fears his future. He has hope at various times in the book and fear at other times. This story provides a voice for hispanic males who may be going through related challenges.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Barely Missing Everything is a heart wrenching and thought-provoking story about a young man in high school, Juan. In this book Matt Mendez crafts lovable and frightfully true characters stuck in a less than desirable social and economic situation. They struggle versus racism, death, unlucky catastrophes, effects of not good decisions created long past, and financial problems, just trying to fulfill their plans or just obtain by. This book really played to my emotions to the point of tearing up as I read the story of Juan, his friends, and their families. It also conveys a strong notice about racism and about how sometimes things just don’t go to planMendez jumps between various points of view allowing us to learn about the lives of everyone involved quite naturally as well as effectively communicate the emotions of the various characters. This is done very well and isn’t jarring nor did I search myself annoyed when the point of view skipped to another as I have while reading other books that do the mething I really liked about the book was how true it was. It felt like an honest story, not some predictable fairy tale story that bores and makes you regret the time you wasted reading it. I’ve always had a soft spot for sad stories, stories where not everything goes just right and it was all the more strong as it described a globe that is very much apart of our reality. All in all, I would recommend Barely Missing Everything to anyone who wants to read a book with memorable characters and meaningful lessons.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This book had perfect hero development and vivid descriptions of the conflicting thoughts constantly going through the heads of the main characters. The author was effective in creating characters with inner conflicts and complex relationships in such a method that place the reader smack-dab in the story. This is well-written and superbly edited piece of YA literature that I believe readers will search particularly relevant.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Juan is in his senior year of high school and trying to earn a basketball scholarship. Through a series of a couple of impulsive decisions, Juan ends up spraining his ankle and possibly losing any possibility of escaping his poverty torn neighborhood. Through alternating points of view, we learn how his mother (whom Juan's embarrassed by), has sacrificed for years trying to bring him up after she was left as a single parent at a very young age. The story involves family secrets, gang violence, racism, and a side story of a death row inmate. There is a surprising and impactful ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Barely Missing Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Juan, JD, Danny, and all the characters in this true to life story will capture your heart. The book develops, flows, and ends in such a true life way; it does not sugar coat life but explores the reality of it. I cannot pretend to know what life is like for those in Juan or JD's position (or Fabi, Grandpa, etc), but the author (Matt) paints a realistic portrait that gives a glimpse into the struggles and little glimmers of hope they deal with. I would recommend this book to any reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)Everything, Everything is related to Recovery Street in terms of format. It is setup like a diary, though unlike Recovery Street it has pictures, and each would be chapter is short. However, with a film coming up this August, starring Amandla Stenberg and Anika Noni Rose, you know I couldn’t resist. Though, allow me tell you, this is by no means the best YA novel I’ve ever aracters & StorylineSince she was a baby, Madeline hasn’t left her house. Her mother, a doctor, has diagnosed her with SCIDs (Severe Combined Immunodeficiency) after her getting gravely ill as a baby. What this basically does is turn her into a bubble kid (Think Jake Gyllenhaal’s Bubby Boy). Which, if you saw the movie, you’ll remember means a lot of remodeling of the family home in order to accommodate the disease. So, with some cash Maddy’s mom came into, she is able to redo the house to hold Maddy us leading to, for more than 15 some odd years, the only people Maddy interacting with being her mom and nurse Carla. However, then comes Olly, a boy who moves in next door. His curiosity, his being fresh to the area, draws him to the cute girl who just watches people from the window. So, thanks to a bit of perseverance, and Maddy’s own curiosity, they become mates and so blooms the desire to become something more. But is that possible when Maddy can’t do things normal girls do? Will Olly, considering his family situation, as well as the ability to meet dozens of girls at school, really give him the time to deal with the frustration which is having to adjust his life to meet the requirements of what he needs to do just to see Maddy? Well…HighlightsMaddy and Olly’s Relationship Is AdorableNo matter what the YA novel is, beautiful much it is the relationships and/or the friendships, that hold you interested. Especially in books like these which don’t have their lead with some serious sort of affliction which can give the reader a fast shock or scare. So, it makes it where as you read Maddy meeting and getting to know Olly, it is very cute. After all, once you take into acc how isolated Maddy has been, and this is probably one of the few boys her age she has had the possibility to interact with, it makes you a bit is is, of course, assuming you are my age, nearly a decade away from Maddy’s, and reading her talk about the butterflies and how being within a couple of feet from someone you are into makes the hairs on your arms stand. All of it, truly, reminds you of what it was like to be young and have a full-fledged, it could happen, type of crush. The kind you dream about and so much ’s Not Too Massive or SensationalizedI think I’m not alone in saying that the YA novel genre has become saturated with drug addiction, accidental deaths, different kinds of abuse, and with that it makes books which don’t contain that seem tame. Heck, they seem boring in comparison. For, after all, books are about escapism, going into someone else’s world, usually more interesting than yours, and getting away. Yet, at the same time, books are also about finding someone, or something, to relate to, despite your ddy’s life is bare. She has her mom, Carla, and a computer she strangely only does school work on. Even when Olly enters her life, there is nothing sensationalized about their relationship. He isn’t some poor boy she is trying to save nor is he just some curious dude who is a lot of ways, Everything, Everything reminds you that storytelling, and coming of age, isn’t just about having sex for the first time, your first drink, your first smoke, or what often are considered things that adults do. It’s about experiencing life with the only influence your parents having is how they live by example and you deciding what to, or not to, take from that. Which contains how you handle being offered sex, drugs, and etc., as well as how you handle tragedy, how you are as a mate or partner when that other person is hurting and more.Overall: Mixed (Borrow)While I really have nothing but praise for Everything, Everything here is the thing. It’s not for everyone. This book isn’t about escapism but providing perhaps a hero to relate to. Hence why Maddy is Black and Asian, just like Nicola Yoon’s kids will be. This book, in a way, is about breaking the mold, not giving in to the need for sudden shocks and the usual beliefs of what teens obtain themselves, and each other, into. This book is for those who may have problems with their parents, maybe never been kissed, but nonetheless are completely normal. With that, as much as the book has quotable lines up the ying yang, it doesn’t really bring me to say you should buy it nor can I strongly recommend it. It’s a fast read which won’t be taxing on your time and emotions but with it just being cute, even with Maddy’s diagnosis, it doesn’t come up with ways to create you wanna read this over and over again. As much as we obtain to know Maddy and Olly, as well as their mates and family, they don’t leave a powerful impression for they are so normal that, minus or plus one or two things, you probably already know someone like them.Hence the Mixed (Borrow) label for while those prepping for the film I think may have fun the insight, and surely will look forward to certain moments in the movie, I think on its own Everything, Everything may do things differently, but not in such a method it becomes exemplary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I will be honest, I read this book begin to finish in one day. There were parts where I just couldn’t stop reading because I wanted to know what would happen. I really enjoyed reading the storyline and getting to know Olly and Maddy. I definitely want that when I was 18 years old I knew a boy like Olly! Although I have to say that is one criticism that I have of this book, I don’t believe that boy’s like Olly actually exist at the age of 18 years old! He was so sweet, thoughtful, sure of himself and his love for Maddy, and very mature. So I struggled to read the book and relate to a globe in which a hero like Olly would exist.Other than that I loved the storyline and the author’s writing. Maddy was funny and quirky and relatable. I did wonder which direction the story would go, I wouldn’t say it was predictable, but I wasn’t sure whether it would have a satisfied or sad ending. There seemed to be only two ways for the book to end. And I will say that when I read the latest part of the book I was actually disappointed there wasn’t more to the story of Olly and Maddy. I was left wanting more!Definitely worth reading if you like sweet YA love stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I have read a lot of books in my 23 years of life. And I am those type of people who fall head over heels in love with certain books. This is one of them. The writing is beautiful, you fall in love with the characters in this book and honestly, I just could not place this book down. Throughout my day I could not wait until I reunited with this story,You have to read this book, it will definitely change the method you see and appreciate things.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Actual rating 3.5 stars.I did purchase the novel when it was first released, but ended putting it to the side due to all the hype – I like to go into a read with a clear head so I can form my own opinions without any ere were plenty of small symbolic references from the text which I liked and felt added depth and meaning to the characters and their interactions. As too did the illustrations. We really obtain a sense of our protagonist Maddy's mental state and exploration of the globe outside, despite being trapped inside her hermetically sealed house suffering NCID. The small things, hero quirks helped flesh out their personality. Like how love interest Olly was interested in parkour and could never sit or stand still, how it was a symptom of how uncomfortable and how much he wanted to escape life with his abusive father.Another aspect, this time going versus the novel, were the plethora of inaccuracies. Both in the realistic treatment of NCID and having a germ-free house. Maddy's symptoms. Maddy's mother's behaviour... I just felt like there was something off. Granted the reveal could shed a whole various light on these things, but I was just so frustrated when reading I nearly place the book down because I felt the author had not done enough research into what life is really like in that created the novel feel very implausible.With having said that the writing is lovely, though some of the chapters extremely short - like soundbites of info or snippets of chatroom dialogue, it felt a bit jarring for me. Definitely a fast read though and more for the younger end of the YA demographic.I enjoyed reading 'Everything Everything' but it's not something I would rave over. Though in comparison to the treatment they gave to the movie, the novel is method better. Recommended only for lovers of YA contemporaries who like uncomplicated fast reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Okay, where do I start....Well, this is certainly an idea I haven't thought of! The author went through a lot of research, so it was very informative about the protagonist's condition. The protagonist herself is fairly relatable, as well. I liked the book for the most part. However....I thought it was strange how she had so much problem forgiving her mom, at the end of the book. Of course I didn't expect her to forgive her mother right away, and of course her feelings are justified. She was, after all, kept in her house her entire life, hardly any mates to speak of, and only the occasional visit from anybody but her mother and nurse. That said, that's why I search it hard to believe. Her mother was in the wrong here, but she was also delusional. I figured the protagonist would be slightly more understand when she realized that her mother was having problem coming to terms with life, and that she was trying to protect her daughter. I figured that the protagonist, only knowing a handful of people in her life, would eventually have forgiven her mother for the sheer fact that her mother is one of the only people she could rely on until she met her boyfriend. Honestly, the fact that it ended how it did, with her feeling how she does about her mother, was disappointing.And why wasn't she angrier at her nurse? The nurse specifically stated that she did not know for certain if the protagonist had SCID or not, that occasionally she had doubts about it and about the mother. Why wasn't the protagonist angrier at her for not trying to search out more? Or at least for not telling her?Overall, the book was okay. I might read it again, but it won't be for a while yet, because for some reason it just bothers me for the above two reasons.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Can you imagine what life would be like if you ever tried to leave your house you could die? This is the situation Madeline Whittier is in. She has a rare illness called Severe Combined Immunodeficiency which forces her is be in an intensely clean and controlled environment. She does not remember ever being outside of her house, and the only people she comes in contact with are her mother and her nurse, Carly. While her home is pleasant and she is very well taken care of, Maddie never leaves her home. She seems resigned to this life until a boy named Olly moves next e characters in this book are interesting, realistic, and you can support rooting for each and every one. Olly is by far my favorite. He is truly the character of the story- brilliant and kind, yet human with his faults. This book tackles some massive problems such as loss, alcoholism, and domestic abuse. All are done in an appropriate and tasteful way. While I had the ending figured out about three-fourths of the method through the book, there were enough twists and turns to create me wish to hold reading. This is truly a book where when you finish, you wish to grab a mate and discuss it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I ate this book up. I’m not sure how I can describe how amazing this book was for me. I definitely wasn’t expecting on reading it in a day. It was that ddy was an awesome main character. I love her positive outlook on life, despite her illness and the fact that she’s never been outside of her house. She’s so intelligent and witty. One of my favorite things that she does is every time she gets a fresh book, she writes a list of rewards if found. My favorite: Snorkel with me (Madeline) off Molokini to spot the Hawaiian state fish — the humuhumunukunukuapuaa.I enjoyed her relationship with all of the characters. Olly is the cutest and smartest love interest I’ve seen in a while. I like that he wasn’t just a cute boy-toy figure in the book, but was given a very necessary story to tell. It was something I could relate to at some points and it helped Olly become an even more relatable hero for me. He cared for Maddy and her well-being so much. You could say there was insta-love, but given their age and Maddy’s circumstance, I really believe that they were really in love with each other…or at least what they thought was love. So for me, their romance didn’t bother me. I really enjoyed it and at times want I had an Olly. 😉Though I am clearly a large fan of Olly, my favorite hero relationship was Maddy and Carla, her nurse. Carla seemed more of a mother figure to Maddy to me than Maddy’s own mother. She understands that Maddy is an eighteen-year old girl who wants to do things that other people her age are doing. Some of my favorite parts of the novel were their scenes together. She was such a unbelievable contribution to the e only problem that I have with this book is the latest third of it felt extremely rushed. I wouldn’t have mind having the book be 50 or so pages longer so the finale could develop and play out more. Though I figured out the ending half method through reading, I still would have liked to see more.With that said, I still very much enjoyed it. Yoon’s writing is so attractive and intoxicating. She knows how to suck you into a story and never wish to leave. I can’t wait to obtain my hands on her next novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Madeline F. Whittier is a kind and loving person who is willing to do anything possible to create her mother happy. Madeline lost her father and older brother when she was just a baby. Madeline and her mother are very close. She just celebrated her eighteenth birthday and she has never walked out of her front door. Madeline suffers from a rare disease; she can become severely ill if she inhales non- purified air. She always likes to imagine what it would be like to step outside of her front door and see the world. Eventually a fresh family moves next door and she soon meets the sweet boy, Olly.I truly enjoyed reading Everything Everything. My sister and I read it together and we could not place it down. My favorite hero would have to be Maddy. She is so smart, attractive and determined to accomplish anything she sets her mind to. She enjoys architecture and is a genius at constructing little utopias. I love that she cares for mother and caregiver so much. She is so powerful and loving although her circumstance keeps her away from the things that she most desires. I hope everyone gets to read this novel as well as Nicola Yoon’s other novel- The Sun Os Also A Star. I cannot wait to read that book and anything else that Nicola Yoon may release. Satisfied Reading.-Rebeca

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I LOVED this book. LOVED it. I read it in one day and immediately watched the film the following day because I required more of Maddy and Olly! I just want I'd read this book years ago.I am honestly a bit disappointed by the negative reviews, specifically the reviews that question Maddy's behavior and choices. Unpopular opinion: I often want adults weren't allowed to review teen fiction. So often I search that they have forgotten what it is like to be a teen. Sometimes I wish to ask reviewers if they've ever even MET a teen.But, I am not going to dive down that rabbit hole, so instead I will say this:Maddy was not the average teen girl due to the circumstances surrounding her health, but she was completely relatable because, regardless of her limitations, she had the very common desires for love and companionship and touch and sex and FEELING and experience and every other thing that teen girls long for. She based decisions on feelings and desires, rather than logic and risk--which, if you've ever been a teen or met a teen, or ARE a teen, you'll know this is par for the course. She created a rash decision, yes, but is it really so far-fetched to think that somewhere in this vast globe there's a person (teen or otherwise) who would actively choose a moment of freedom/LIVING over a lifetime of isolation? No matter the cost? I don't feel that this concept is that far-fetched, especially when we're talking about a teenager who--like most teenagers--takes risks. They act now and think later. They live for instant gratification, not because they are inherently selfish or stupid or lack the ability to think, but because this is the bonus of being a teenager.Anyway, to finish my review (rant?) EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING was a attractive first love story with an upsetting twist--that yes, you'll probably see coming--and a bittersweet ending. I loved everything about it, and I will continue to read anything Nicola Yoon puts into the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything, Everything review []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I received an arc copy of this book from Random House Children in exchange for an honest review.I dare you to pick up this book and not [email protected]#$%! in one sitting. It’s practically impossible. And if I hadn’t had to work all week, I would definitely have finished it in one sitting. This book is beautiful, funny heartbreaking, and shocking. Did I mention BEAUTIFUL, because it is. I know I’m gushing, but I absolutely adored Madeline and Olly, and their impossible love story. I just wish to hug this book to my chest and never allow it go. I absolutely adored this book! But the ending kills me, I was so not prepared for it! Gah, plot twists!Madeline has this Severe combined immunodeficiency disease (SCID), which makes her the girl in the plastic bubble, basically. She has never been outside, or had any friends. She spends her days with her nurse and her mom. One day, a family moves in next door, and we are introduced to Olly, this absolutely adorably hot child (in my mind anyway) who is into Parkour and very obviously has a tough family life (trigger warning for suggestions of abuse). Their story just sort of explodes from there. It is attractive to read, honestly. It’s a story of first love, and real love, as well as of yourself a favor and go and pre-order this book! You will not regret it, I promise you! One of my favorite books this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Missing Course: Everything They Never Taught You about College Teaching review []  2019-12-18 20:35

    This book is a handy compilation of ways of being in the college classroom. I am certainly satisfied I added it to my shelf of “how-to’s” for teaching. I started teaching around the time Gooblar started writing for Vitae, and his tip has always been useful. This tidy book, however, ties it all together. If you’re looking for the recent on pedagogy, this revives some old forgotten favorites but also teaches fresh ways to think about your role in higher education with the aim of making you better at what you do. Though this will also suit the fresh college instructor, I happen to think those with experience may obtain more from this because Gooblar reminds you about perception, yours and your students’, while also encouraging you to hold evolving and trying fresh things. He begins by suggesting the students are the subject, no matter what you teach, and gives you examples and practical activities to start structuring a course with that in mind. The takeaways for me are innumerable, from letting the students support me build my syllabus to suggestions for in-class activities that spark genuine participation. At this point, we all know about the values of active-learning, but Gooblar gives you the practical here, not simply theory. He’s even got some stellar tip on revision, which I plan to use next quarter. As with the guidance in “The Pocket Instructor” and “Teaching with Classroom Response Systems,” the tip in “The Missing Course” makes me feel more adequate in the classroom, and maybe even makes it so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Missing Course: Everything They Never Taught You about College Teaching review []  2019-12-18 20:35

    I enjoyed this book very much. I am early on in my college teaching career, and the book provides a lot of amazing examples and suggestions to enhance your teaching. The author is primarily a writing instructor, but makes it a point to extend all examples to other disciplines as well. Although I didn't agree with all the author wrote about (if I followed some suggestions at my huge university, my students would walk all over me!), I still appreciated the suggestions and it left me with loads to think about. I do want that there was an actual course about college teaching that they offered me in grad school, but this book is a amazing kick-start to thinking about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Missing Course: Everything They Never Taught You about College Teaching review []  2019-12-18 20:35

    The academy is filled with educators trained in their niche expertise but not in the art and craft of teaching. Thankfully, Gooblar steps into the void with a ‘missing course’ in college teaching. This book is both warm and empirically-based, comprehensive but accessible, student-centered and also scientific. We’re so lucky to have Gooblar as a guide, as he generously shares both a careful, thorough evaluation of the pedagogical literature and a host of practical teaching hints amassed over a career.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bare review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:0

    As a fan of Deborah Bladon I was satisfied to to begin reading this fresh book. Just finished it & loved it! If you've already read her books this one also involves characters from her other stories. Piper & Grant are the main characters in Bare & you obtain caught up in their story & hope for the best for them. Looking forward to what Ms. Bladon has in shop for us next!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bare review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:0

    I LOVE Deborah's books!! I always read and have to finish them in one day!! I love Piper and Griffith's story!! I cannot ever obtain enough of these stories!! It is a definite MUST read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bare review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:0

    If you are looking for a amazing read you wish to read this. It's unlike anything I have read before

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bare review [Book]  2018-3-31 18:0

    It all starts with a one-night stand, a theft, and a case of mistaken identity. That’s what brings two people, Piper and Griffin, together by circumstance. The result? A case of instant lust —or was it love?The plot lines are absolute masterpieces, carefully woven together, in Ms. Bladon’s latest. Characters are fully developed and authentic. A gift is revisiting beloved characters from previous books, while meeting Griffin and Piper who are both laid bare in this compelling tale. You’re going to love this one.I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advance Reader Copy provided by the author in order to give an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss you images - miss you photo frame review [App]  2018-7-30 21:8

    Super nice frames

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Missing review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    There's always the next something, Maggie. And that will take a man away. The Missing is directed by Ron Howard and adapted by Ken Kaufman from the novel The Latest Ride written by Thomas Eidson. It stars Tommy Lee Jones, Cate Blanchet, Eric Schweig, Evan Rachel Wood, Jenna Boyd, Ray McKinnon, Val Kilmer & Aaron Eckhart. James Horner scores the melody and Salvatore Totino is the cinematographer. New Mexico 1885 and frontier doctor Maggie Gilkeson (Blanchet) has to seek support from her estranged father Samuel Jones/Chaa-duu-ba-its-iidan (Lee Jones), when her eldest daughter is kidnapped by Pesh-Chidin/El Brujo (Schweig) an Apache Warlock who sells girls into prostitution. An obvious variation on John Ford's The Searchers, The Missing slipped under the radar some what of Western fans who were greatly served by Kevin Costner's Begin Range released the same year. It was a box office flop; which in a genre that has rarely hit amazing heights in modern times is hardly surprising, but to dismiss Howard's movie as a fop is just wrong. Real enough it's hardly original on the page, but it manages to not sacrifice hero depth as it crams in the Western staples. While there is plenty enough here for none Western fans to enjoy; from the a lot of colorful characters on present (including a amazing horror film like villain in Schweig), to the panoramic scenery, and the number of action sequences that flit in and out of the narrative. There's a small something for most film loving fans. The cast, too, are value for money. Blanchet gives it guts and layers as Maggie, emotionally cold, is forced to place family dissension to one side and take up arms as a Western heroine, and Wood equally holds court with her transference from irksome waif to bold babe. Tommy Jones enjoys himself as he finds a cowboy role to suit his craggy features, features that impressively dovetail with Salvatore's stark photography of the landscapes. Along with the plucky and endearing young Jenna Boyd's performance it obviously only really mounts up to a broken family coming together under duress. But as a quartet, and with Schweig's vile turn as the "monster" of the piece in amongst them, they function so well, thus all hero arcs are acted skilfully and please the senses. Also to be applauded is the use of genuine Apache language from some of the actors, a nice touch that shows a director taking his material seriously. There's a few endings available to view via DVD etc, but the one that Howard chose for its general release is the right one. It perhaps doesn't keep any amazing surprise, given the directors reputation and output thus far, but it works well in the context of the story and the period tone set throughout. A safe film, then, one that is very well created and tells its story efficiently in structure and verse. If only the script had dared to take a few more risks then this surely wouldn't have been the monetary flop it was. Still, give it a go and you may search as much to like as I did. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    I have just purchased a Panini press machine. And I have enjoyed beginning to create these delicious sandwiches with this instrument. What else is needed? A decent Panini cookbook! Ant this volume works just fine for is divided into a number of chapters. The first, not surprisingly, discusses the basics of Panini. Hints of the trade. Buying a Panini press. Type of bread. Et ter that:Breakfast Panini;Pressed deli sandwiches;Burgers;Grilled cheese;Chicken and turkey Panini;Fish and seafood Panini;Salad Panini;Vegetarian Panini;Italian favorites;Not your daily Panini;Dunk that Panini;Cocktail party Panini;Panini for kids;Leftover sandwiches;Pressed dessertsPanini wontons;Beyond sandwiches;Sauces, condiments, and spreads for Here are some nice ones: Ham, egg and cheese Panini (very tasty, I might add!); Western cheddar omelet Panini (I wish to test this); Roast beef and provolone Panini; Cuban sandwich (I have has one of these at Panera's and enjoyed it and I wish to test this recipe); Buffalo chicken burger; Mushroom gruyere Panini; Dijon swordfish Panini; Fried baloney and cheese on corn bread (odd sounding but tasty); Garlic shrimp; Lemon grilled l in all, a nice introduction to Panini recipes. I look forward to trying extra recipes over time. . .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    This cookbook has so a lot of various recipes for my panini press. I actually ordered a paperback copy for myself. I place post it notes on all recipes that I test and then create notations on the pages if it was amazing or poor and also if I changed it in any way. I also add the date I created it. This book also gives amazing descriptions of the breads to use for sandwiches. It also gives a amazing description of the various types of panini grills. This book is perfect fora fresh user of the panini grills.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    I love this cookbook! I figured that there were all various types of paninis but I don't think I realized just how a lot of you could make, dessert paninis included! I plan on cooking my method through this book and I'm very excited. Everything we've had so far has been amazing and the recipes are simple, simple to follow, and delicious.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    Just want I had bought the book before I got the Panini Press. I learned I could have used my George Forman Grill as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    Terrific book. Would be even better with pictures, but the recipe ideas are amazing and very clear. So glad I got this book to go with our Hamilton Beach Panini Press, which I LOVE.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    I just bought a Panini press but the booklet with it wasn't enough for doing other things besides paninis. This book has lots of recipes plus lots of tips on how to use the press. The additional cookbook from HSN @#$%!16.95 & this one was only $12.95 & has dozens of amazing ideas. I would definitely recommend this item. Another bonus....got it in 2 days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    Nice, simple recipes and fun book to own. You will see why so a lot of people like this D

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    This book has plenty of panini sandwich recipes. It is very comprehensive and gives you swell ideas on how to use your panini grill (mine is a Bella) in other ways as well. A amazing example is to create a quesadilla. Spreads and condiments are a swell addition too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    amazing book, amazing recipes for my fresh Panini maker

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Everything Panini Press Cookbook (Everything Series) review [Book]  2018-7-7 18:0

    Just what I was looking for as a gift. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Finally have the time to review this book properly. If you wish the short version, this is awesome fiction with so a lot of twists and turns you'll never see the huge ones coming. I actually tweeted the author while I was reading, "every time I think I know where this book is going, you pull the rug out!" This results in an usually fast-paced story (at least for women's fiction) of a woman struggling to overcome the grief of losing her childhood sweetheart - who was meant to be her husband - and figure out who she is in the wake of such not good tragedy. But the kicker is all may not be as it seems. Everything We Hold is also a bit of a mystery novel, and it's one particularly huge looming question that keeps the characters and the readers guessing.Speaking of characters, Kerry's cast is incredibly well-developed and they feel like true people with virtues, weaknesses and plausible back story. She even created me fall in love with two men at the same time...which I knew wasn't going to end well for me! Add to that settings so vivid I wish to package up and live there and you've got an awesome story.I also wish to say something about the epilogue because so a lot of people have cited it as a reason for giving the book a low rating. No spoilers, don't worry. A) No matter what happens in the epilogue, that alone shouldn't be a reason to trash and book if you otherwise enjoyed it. B) This is the first book in a series, so you can't expect everything to be neatly tied up. C) Women's fiction is various from romance in that it doesn't require a happily ever after. You may still obtain one, but life is complex, and so fiction should be as well.Kudos to Kerry for an wonderful debut that has created me a life-long fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    This review is written by Bob Boze on behalf of Truth About BooksI’m always happy to give a amazing review: Especially when it comes on the heels of two, not so good, reviews. In this case, my review rating is not good; it’s absolutely outstanding. If I could, I’d give Everything We Hold a 7 out of 5 rating. 5 for being very good, 6 for outstanding writing and, 7 because it’s the authors first s, not only am I in love with this book, I’ve added it to my top three books mee Tierney is madly in love with her childhood sweetheart, James. They grew up together, he protected her at every turn and they became engaged. Just before the wedding, James must go on a business trip to Mexico. A trip that only his body returns from. So, instead of saying their vows, Aimee ends up burying James on their planned wedding astated, Aimee spends over a year refusing to accept James death and move on with her life. Adding to this are the strange messages from a physic telling her that James is not dead.Pushed by her mates to at least begin working on a life without James, she opens a specialty café. They also drag her kicking and screaming back into life beyond her home and the café. Here, she meets Ian, a photographer that she immediately develops feelings for. Feelings that are certainly mirrored by Ian.But the feelings and messages that James is not dead, persist. Feelings and verification of his death that she must resolve if she is ever to move on. So, two years after his purported death, Ian joins her, as she travels to Mexico to search her fiancée, who she is now certain is not she and Ian find for James, and the truth; secrets from their past and James’ family surface, along with her feelings for Ian and realization of what her life with James was really like.Everything We Hold not only has a special plot, it is full of twists and turns that will hold you guessing, especially toward the end as she and Ian seek the truth in Mexico. It is also exceptionally well written with small to no errors (I think I found one), unbelievable hero development and an author who has mastered show, don’t tell.An perfect novel that kept me up until 2:30 AM to search out how it the way, several people with poor reviews due to a lot of errors, not good editing and a love story with no mystery, must have read a various book than I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    What an enjoyable story! A few plot twists I didn't see coming and an ending you won't forget. Well developed secondary characters create me wish to read their stories too. I give it 4 stars out of 5 because the women are potty-mouths and the number of f-bombs increased as the story moved forward. By the latest few chapters I was tired of it and wondered why this gifted author couldn't be more imaginative with their speech. That's really my only complaint, and anyone sensitive about this problem may want to know before reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Wait. This is the worst book ever! Why does it obtain so a lot of high star reviews? It can't possibly be because everyone loves cliched writing (tell me again about her Caribbean-blue eyes), super boring lead characters who create really weird life choices, or not good plot resolutions that create zero sense. It's @#$%ing me off just remembering these things.What I wish to focus on, though, is the fact that Aimee is RAPED by her boyfriends cousin/brother, and then said boyfriend is baskcally like "here, allow me fix your makeup because you have to forget how he just raped you in order to support me set things straight with my family business." Cool. Oh, and then he refuses to take a painting of the zone of the assault down off their wall. Amazing ere wasn't a single hero that wasn't diminished to a whining idiot at some point or another. Usually it was just a lot of people going out of their method to appease Aimee, the lamest douche on is book sucks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    This book is totally different. A young man supposedly dies and is buried on what should have been his wedding day. The bride to be is heartbroken and for a while falls apart. The young couple had been mates since childhood and every memory of the past and every dream for the future included both of them. Aimee must go on but how can she when clues that James is not dead hold appearing. This is a definite page turner and I will look for more books by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    A lighter mystery than most of the well-known thrillers. The author builds her characters, sharing their thoughts and dreams, yet holding back enough info to keep your interest and continue reading. Nice to read a mystery without all the blood and gore of other novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Ms Longsdale has it all right (write? :) )! Her characters, plot, and pace are near perfect; a triumph for a first-novel artist. My only criticism would be her " I'll cliff-hang to the next book" epilogue (as so a lot of authors do today, and I hate it); that is redeemed by the fact that the novel itself has a tight ending. I'd definitely place this book on the "to read" list.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    I was hooked from the very first sentence, a funeral on a wedding day. It is all about lost love, found love and fresh love. There were twists and turns, intrigue, mystery, and cover-ups. Wow, this was a amazing story from begin to [email protected]#$%!&horoughly enjoyed the ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Very well written with lots of unexpected twists and turns. The ending was quite a surprise and of course now I wish a sequel, but I don't believe it was written with that in mind. Oh well! I will definitely be looking for more from this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Keep: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 1) review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    This book had me hooked from that very first line. What? The guys comes to his wedding in a casket? I just had to hold reading to search out more. And then, as I kept reading, I became emotionally involved in these character's lives. This was the excellent book to binge read over the mee tries to obtain on with her life, tries to carry on after the devastating news of her fiancé's death. Somethings just don't feel right to her and she has a hard time letting go and moving on. And then the secrets begin surfacing, lots of secrets.I loved Everything We Hold and I'm jumping right into the sequel, Everything We Left Behind. Kerry Lonsdale is going on my list of must-read authors after this series—I love them!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    I loved the first two books in this trilogy and have been waiting patiently (not too patiently) for the final book. WOW - what a unbelievable book. To obtain the absolute most enjoyment out of this book, you really need to read all three books in order.Everything we Hold was mainly Aimee's story, Everything we Left Behind was James' story and Everything we Give is Ian's story - and what a story it is! Even though Ian is a successful photographer with a wife that he loves and a daughter he adores, he is haunted by his younger years and a mistake that he he created that drove his mother away and destroyed his family. With James back in the picture and a major photography trip for National Geographic, Ian has to decide whether to ignore his past or test to fix his past mistakes at the possibility of ruining his future.Everything we Give totally wraps up all of the problems from the first two books plus gives us a close-up view of Ian's life. This was a unbelievable book and the excellent ending to the trilogy.I read an advance copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    MY REVIEW OF “EVERYTHING WE GIVE” BY KERRY LONSDALE LAKE UNION PUBLISHING JULY 3, 2018“Everything We Give” by Kerry Lonsdale is a captivating, intense, and intriguing novel. This is the third of a series, but can be read alone. The Genres for this story are Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, and Romance. The story is told in the show and goes to the past only when it pertains to the characters or e author describes her characters as complex and complicated. . Ian Collins is an award-winning photographer. He is married to the love of his love, Aimee and has an adorable young daughter Cathy. Ian has two necessary goals, one is to photograph for National Geographic and the other is to search out what has happened to his missing mother. There are deep secrets and twists and turns.Ian gets an opportunity to photograph what he loves for National Geographic, but certain situations can cause major issues for Ian and his family. Ian knows that he has to search his mother, and create peace with his estranged father. This find could be risky and cause Ian issues with his me of the characters from the past are in this story. We see a visit from Aimee’s ex-fiance and Ian’s ex- significant other.I highly recommend this story for those readers who have fun a suspenseful, mysterious story with tense twists and turns. I received an ARC from NetGalley for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    Everything We Give is the final book in the Everything trilogy; it’s bittersweet to have the series end...I feel like these characters are friends...people I truly care about.. people with whom I’ve shared their joys, their triumphs, their tragedies, their sadness, and, mostly, their love. This book is a fast-paced romantic suspense story, filled with emotional highs and lows, and the twists and turns of the mystery of Ian’s traumatic childhood. Ian is a loving husband and father, but can’t move forward until he can confront and come to a resolution with his past. We’ve really watched the hero of Aimee grow in this series, from being a naive young lady whose globe is torn apart, to a woman who has become confident and secure. There were some surprises in this book as we follow along with Ian on his journey to restore his love and his life, and the scenes told in flashbacks are harrowing and painful. This book kept me up until the wee hours of the night, a minor sacrifice with such a unbelievable story! If you have not read the first two books in this series, stop everything and read them before you dive into this one...you will thank me later!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    Everything We Give, Book 3 in the Everything Series is super intense! This book may be read as a stand-alone but it really needs to be read in chronological order as part of the series to fully understand its significance its significance. This is Ian’s story and what a story it is! Lonsdale takes you on a journey starting with his childhood to the show and her vivid descriptions have you feeling as though you are a silent witness to it all. It isn’t an simple story but it certainly is the one that puts the entire series in perspective. When you read the latest sentence, you will search yourself sitting and reflecting a few moments on this whole journey. It’s one of those “WOW!” moments! This story is overrun with such deep, emotional meaning that it will leave you thinking about your own family and relationships and how much we often take our normal lives for granted. I was provided an ARC of this book by the author. The opinions expressed here are completely my own and without influence. I have preordered a copy of this book for my own private collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    A hurricane of emotions stir you through unbearable tragedies, heartbreaking struggles of mental illness, the never ending sacrifices of real love, family secrets and the crazy journey of 2 fated soulmates. Finally we obtain all the info about Ian and it was worth the wait! Everything if finally revealed and I hope you have your tissues ready. We learn about Sarah and her Dissociative Identity Disorder and the various characters that Ian dealt with growing up before she disappeared and the not good tragedies they both suffered and the secrets that were kept including how Lacy knows Ian. Ian finally has the opportunity of a lifetime to do an assignment for National Geographic in Spain. Ian is contacted by Aimee’s ex fiancé James and given Lacy’s business card. Ian knows what has to be done to heal his relationship with Aimee he has to search his Mother! So he rushes off to Spain to complete his assignment leaving a confused Aimee behind. Ian arrives in Spain only to search out the journalist he is working with is his ex Reese that walked out on him years ago and broke his heart. Ian is wrapped up in the history of the villagers and the Rapa with the Galician horses in Spain and it was so detailed that I could almost imagine being there! Aimee spies Lacy’s business card and follows Ian to Spain to stand by her husband on his journey to search his mother. I didn’t think this series could obtain any better but I am blown away with the depth of emotions this story has created me feel. This is a must read series I am recommending to everyone I know! The depth of the research and attention to detail is exquisite! This wasn’t just a story to me. It was an emotional journey and experience that will stay with me for quite awhile! Kerry Lonsdale is an artist at taking her readers to various areas and experiences and if you ever need any visuals check out her Pinterest inspirations that go with each book. I am truly in awe of this author and can’t wait for her next work of art!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    I read this because I got absorbed in the first book, and then the second. While I did have fun reading the first two, I can't say the same for the third and final book. I don't know if it was just me but the overuse of similes, metaphors, and comparisons was too much. It distracted me from the actual happenings that were occurring. I also didn't message this in the first two books but the writing style in show tense created certain sentences strange. Some might argue that show tense is required because the flashbacks were in past tense, but that doesn't mean both current and flashback chapters could not have been written in past tense. The story itself was okay.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    Even though Ian is happily married, he struggles with being estranged from his parents, Sarah and Stu. Are the reasons they no longer speak still relevant 16 years later? Should he create one latest effort to search them? And, if he does, can their relationship be mended?I've very much enjoyed the first two books in this series, Everything We Hold (4 stars) and Everything We Left Behind (4 stars), but this one. Wow. This one outdid them all! I've loved seeing how the author's writing style has grown and matured throughout the series. Her words drew me in from the very first paragraph and never allow go. I flew through this one because (1) I've been waiting impatiently for the final book in this series and (2) I required to know more about Ian's childhood.Everything We Give alternated between Ian's show with his wife, Aimee, and their 4 year old daughter, Caty, and his past growing up with a mentally ill mother and a father who frequently traveled while working as a sports photographer. Ian followed in his footsteps becoming a well known photographer in his own right. Ian, however, learned from his father's mistakes and always place his family first. He was an awesome husband and father and yes, I had a crush on him heehee. Like with any marriage, there were struggles and misunderstandings which created Ian wonder how a lot of of his problems stemmed from his difficult childhood. Could finding his mother support heal old wounds and create him feel whole?I would definitely recommend reading this series in order, and back-to-back, so you don't forget any of the info like I did. The finale to this trilogy was absolute perfection, bringing tears to my eyes several times. Don't miss this sweet, suspenseful, and romantic trilogy!I received an advance copy of this book. All opinions are my own.Location: California and Galicia Spain (Rapa das bestas)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    Everything We Give is the third novel in Kerry Lonsdale’s Everything Series. Although each one of these books, can be read as a standalone, they are much more enjoyable, clearer, and richer, if they are read in order. Each novel builds upon the one prior. The first book is Aimee’s story, the second, James’s, and the third, Ian’s. I loved every book in this series, but I think book three is my mee was content. She had a unbelievable husband, Ian, a successful business, and a attractive daughter. Aimee thought she had moved on from her ex-fiancee, James, the man she thought was dead, but found out, was alive; living in Mexico, under the name of Carlos. When James showed up in her life again, Aimee’s unresolved buried emotions, surfaced.Ian is a professional photographer, and one of his dreams was about to come true. National Geographic was interested in his work. Ian wanted his wife, Aimee, to be the first to know about it. Aimee, however, was nowhere to be found. She was with James. Ian was afraid of losing his wife; every woman he’s ever loved has left him, including his own mother. His mother didn’t wish him in her life anymore, or at least, that’s what his father told him. But, circumstances and people aren’t always what they first appear to be.Ian’s childhood was lonely and heartbreaking. He was an only kid of a mentally ill mother and a traveling workaholic father. Ian’s mother suffered from Dissociative Identity Disorder. Ian felt responsible for his mother’s safety versus her most risky alter personality, Jackie. When Jackie’s behavior finally landed Ian’s mom in jail, Ian blamed himself. He was led to believe that he was the cause of his mother’s worsening mental illness. Ian lived under a massive weight of guilt for a lot of years until he finally discovered the three, Everything We Give is an engaging well-written novel, with developed and colourful characters, natural dialogue and an emotional but satisfying ending to the series. I read the book in one day because I couldn’t place it down. I absolutely loved this book. It’s bittersweet, heart-wrenching, touching, and ank you, Lake Union Publishing and NetGalley, for my advanced review copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    This has been a unbelievable series to read. Starting with the first book and up till now each story has been astounding.Everything We Give is a unbelievable story with deeper meaning, this story has given me insight into true life problems of mental health, (The whole series has really done this wonderfully).I very much enjoyed reading about true life festivals that I had never heard of before, they are quite interesting.But of course the best part about this series is the characters, I have loved reading about these characters from the beginning with Everything we Hold to Everything we Left Behind and now Everything We Give. To watch these characters from when they have been broken to see them heal and to see them search love, it has been a unbelievable journey.I can not wait to see what Kerry Lonsdale writes up is series is best read in order.I received this book through NetGalley.#NetGalley #EverythingWeGive:anovel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Give: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 3) review [Book]  2018-7-4 18:0

    This is the 3rd and final book in the Everything series. You can read it as a stand alone but trust me you wish to read the first 2 before reading Ian's story. Aimee, Ian, and James's story is intertwined and the entire story is honest, true, and simply amazing. I completely lost myself in Ian's story. As you learn about Ian's past, it makes you realize it's what makes Ian the man he is today. His love for Aimee and Caty comes through with every page. My favorite stage in the book is the tea party between Ian and Caty. This awesome book created me laugh out loud, ugly cry, and simply immerse myself in the attractive story. This was the excellent ending to this series. I received an advanced readers copy from the author and NetGalley. All opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Worst application ever downloaded It's boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Worst application no effects

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    No g

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Application very poor Data loss

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    madarsud application not download fs...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Yes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Ñice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    It's kk not much amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    thos application is vry boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    It looks awesome I like it..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Gand mar loo tum log tow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Ye aap bahut aacha ha

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Babu kumar yadav

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Akash Kumar you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    That's fine click

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Verry poor application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    I hate this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Atul Parmar

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    NYC application ha

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Hz yoyo itdh

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Shubham Jaiswal Bhimapar

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Raj Yadav

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Niraj Raj

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Wah ji

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Mast application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    #Wonderful_Application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Sahil raj

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    dalpatkumar

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Sunny jk I Love you seema

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Time waste

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    so beutifull apps

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Fb 3G

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Tikul Patar

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    I like this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    It Is amazing for change background

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    Amazing job and easy application camera

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Miss You Photo Editor - Miss You Photo Frames 2018 review [App]  2018-8-12 21:9

    KARAN raj

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Everything We Left Behind: A Novel (The Everything Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-12-18 18:0

    After reading mixed reviews on this book, I decided to purchase it. I enjoyed it. I have liked the style of this book and its predecessor, in that each chapter jumps time periods. I have fun keeping on my toes. I found this to be an interesting method to tell the story. After reading this, I purchased Kerry's third book and hope to start reading soon.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter