Read baroque collection reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all baroque collection reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    This is a unbelievable cd and a amazing introduction to Baroque. Even our teenagers have fun listening to it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    I have listened to this album so a lot of times that it is embarrassing. Any time I wish to listen to something quiet and contemplative it is my first choice. The quality of the soloists are superb. Heinz Holliger is the oboist and his wife Ursula are in a number of the pieces. Andras Scholl, the counter tenor, is also fabulous. It is an perfect choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    THE BAROQUE RENDITION IS GREAT. IT IS THE QUALITY OF THE CD THAT IS LACKING. THE FIRST TRACK, PACHEBEL'S CANON IN D, IS A POOR QUALITY RECORDING. AT TIMES THE AUDIO IS SO POOR THAT IT IS INAUDIBLE. IF I WANT TO HEAR IT, I MUST TURN IT UP TO 35 THEN DOWN TO 20 DURING THE AUDIBLE PARTS OF THE TRACK.

    0  


    Add your opinion on baroque collection or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque HD [App]  2019-12-18 13:22

    Amazing app, especially for inspiration and art history lovers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque HD [App]  2019-12-18 13:22

    Amazing for the historian the art lover, or anyone looking for inspiration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    We have been playing this and a collection of Barogue Adagio to our organic veggie garden. The garden is thriving!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    Melody is unbelievable ... CD (which was properly packaged) has numerous damaged, sticking points. Very disappointing !!! Would send back - but that always ends up costing me more $, which is also frustrating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    Listeners to a more broad range of offerings from Pachelbel, is recommended as a treat from this talented composer; Yes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    unbelievable baroque!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    Thanks its a amazing cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    The occasional changes in solo instruments (differing from the original compositions) shaded my otherwise deep enjoyment of this recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Adagios []  2020-1-17 1:51

    It's nice to have such an assortment of unbelievable melody to listen to. However, I found there was a long period of successive pieces that were quite somber. A better mixture would have been nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Italian Baroque Favourites []  2020-1-18 0:32

    This is a really attractive cd and the baroque orchestra is excellent. A really nice CD to listen to with headphone. Various composers but lovely music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Italian Baroque Favourites []  2020-1-18 0:32

    Like many, I was not familiar with the works of a lot of of the composers featured on this CD, but I loved this melody from the very first time I heard it. The pieces are beautiful, nuanced and quite accessible to both the connoisseur or novice. Mates that I've allow borrow this CD have had a related experience. If you like classical music, baroque melody or even just GOOD music, I challenge you to test this lovely compilation. You won't be disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concerti & Baroque Trumpet Music []  2020-1-16 22:32

    Top-quality recording of amazing music. Unbelievable trumpet playing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    Really amazing sampling of classical trumpet music. Purchased this because I enjoyed a related compilation from brother Brandford. I'm not a musician or melody critic, but I have a hard time believing anyone wouldn't have fun this disk. I gave it to my son who is a trumpet major in college and he thinks it is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    What can I say other than, perfection, utter perfection! Every note, every phrasing, every harmony - spot on, crystal clear. Stunning, amazing. Wynton is the greatest trumpeter I think that God has created to date! Thank you, Wynton for sharing your your attractive soul in your melody with your fellow humans!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mad About Baroque []  2020-1-23 2:59

    It was exactly what I asked for, it came without hurt and earlyer than promissed. I expect son to create another purchase. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    Attractive music!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    Unbelievable music! I love it. Anyone who enjoys the Baroque era music, will search this one a amazing listen. Product arrived quickly. The seller is A#1.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    An absolutely stellar collection of traditional and more obscure traditional hymns and pieces. Full of amazing performances. A must have and a amazing deal.Had to add more.. year after year the more I listen to this marvelous collection.. the more I love it!!! It's truly stellar!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Best Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:37

    Well-developed composite of famous works of different necessary d introduction to classical works, well performed among master musicians. Worth the reasonable cost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concerti & Baroque Trumpet Music []  2020-1-16 22:32

    the sound and musical talent in this cd was excellent. Perfect trumpet players and interpretation of the music. this one is a must for examples of baroque trumpet of the period..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Best Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:37

    "100 Best Baroque" is what it seems - a compilation of the 100 definitive Baroque compositions. For a very low you obtain a complete overview of the Baroque style, and while the sound quality of the recordings will not satisfy a serious student or fan of classical music, they are more than enough for a classical neophyte such as e compilation breaks down the songs into six categories on six separate CDs:1. England and the Baroque - Handel's Zadok the Priest and Messiah, Purcell's O Solitude, Byrd's With Lillies White, etc.2. The Best of Italian Baroque - Handel's Alcina and others, Albinoni's Adagio, Gabrielli's Sonata Pian e forte, Vivaldi's "Summer," etc.3. Treasures of the Mediterranean Baroque - Vivaldi's Gloria, Boccherini's Guitar Quintet in E, Soler's Fandango, etc.4. The Glory of French Baroque - Philidor, Lully, De Lalande, etc.5. Bach and His Time - Pachelbel's Canon in D, J.S. Bach's Cantanta, Telemann, etc.6. The Genius of Bach - all Bach e sound recordings are of secondary quality as one could expect for such a low-budget item as this. Still, this collection is excellent for the casual listener or for background music. That does not mean that the quality is not good - far from it - it's just not as amazing as what you can expect from some higher-priced l in all, a unbelievable value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    I was first introduced to the work of Wynton Marsalis a few years ago. His classical and baroque efforts are very pleasing for me. This particular CD represents his superb skill. I do not claim to be an expert, but I feel that this is a selection that will be enjoyable for any listener.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    Unbelievable melody superbly performed. If you like chamber melody obtain this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    Fantastic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mad About Baroque []  2020-1-23 2:59

    Somewhere I read that baroque melody stimulates brain activity. Maybe it's the melodic patterns, maybe the subtle interactions between instruments in the arrangements. Don't know. But I have often found that putting on a small Handel or Bach helps me break through whatever seems to be blocking up my mental processes, which beautiful much at any time can use all the support they can get. Here is a fine collection from the master composers of the era and style, with perfect performances all around. I am thoroughly enjoying these tracks, and expect to victory a Nobel of some sort at any time now. Although a Genius Grant would also do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mad About Baroque []  2020-1-23 2:59

    Not as amazing as I'd hoped. Perhaps I ordered the wrong "Mad About Baroque".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    I have listened to this CD over and over and over at work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    If you are a fan of Baroque melody then this is a lovely Christmas cd you should consider buying. The selections on it are amazing and it's an enjoyable cd to listen to. The songs aren't so Christmas like that you couldn't play the cd other times through the year. It will be one of my favorites I think. Item arrived within alloted time frame and was well packaged. Ellen P.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Italian Baroque Favourites []  2020-1-18 0:32

    When I first got this CD I didn't know very much about Italian baroque music. However, after listening to this CD, I discovered composers that I had not heard of before, that as it turns out are as talented as Vivaldi. For example, the Sinfonia by Sammartini is just spectacular. The melody by Geminiani is fantastic, as is the melody by Locatelli and Manfredini. Also, I have listened to a lot of melody by Albinoni, but none so amazing as his Opus 2, Number 6 which can be found on this CD. Also, I found that the speed of Albinoni's Opus 2, Number 6 on this CD was excellent (as compared to other versions of this I have heard, which in my opinion are played slightly too slowly). I have mentioned a few of my private favorites, however, the entire CD is great. Often the Naxos label puts out perfect baroque melody very cheaply, and it is often melody that is difficult to search elsewhere. Quite seriously, if you are a fan of amazing baroque melody then this is a CD that you should not be without.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Italian Baroque Favourites []  2020-1-18 0:32

    I own about 20 CDs of Baroque music. This one is the best. Capella Istropolitana is the best orchestra in the globe for baroque music. Buy any Naxos label with Capella Istropolitana playing the music. This CD allows you to sample a lot of various baroque composers. Then you can go CDs of the composers you like best. The Geminiani tracks on this CD are the best I have ever heard, and I own 3 other Geminiani CDs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Italian Baroque Favourites []  2020-1-18 0:32

    The opening three tracks of this recording, Sammartini's Sinfonia in A Major, will delight any melody lover. Listen to the sample online; you'll likely be delighted enough to listen to the other samples and be compelled this suite of Baroque favorites. Most all the masters of the period are well represented here: Geminiani, Locatelli, Torelli, Corelli, Manfredini, and Albinoni. A better sample of this period of melody is not to be had. 37 tracks of lovely music, and an perfect introduction to the a lot of composers who've written so much attractive music!My Amazon books about money: A Return to Abundance, Book 1: Cash and happiness, abundance and prosperity, and the unconscious mind: a mythological, psychological, historical, and family of origin look at & its power

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Best Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:37

    Allow me begin by saying that I am definitely not a Baroque melody expert by any means, so my thinking about how poorly organized the melody selection is might be off-base. If so, please correct me, because I really wish to know!Upon receiving this set, I noticed beautiful immediately that the "Treasures Of Mediterranean Baroque" contained a lot of composers that I always just thought of as Italian, such as Vivaldi and Tartini, which should have been a part of the set's "The Best of Italian Baroque" Disk -- and actually, there are also Vivaldi pieces on "The Best of Italian Baroque", and I don't understand what factors are considered in deciding which pieces went on which ere are also several Handel pieces on "The Best of Italian Baroque", which should actually belong on a German Baroque Disk (which the set does not contain), or on the set's "England & The Baroque" disk -- and actually, there are also Handel pieces on the "England & The Baroque" disk.I enjoyed the music, and especially appreciated the Bach selections for the two Bach disks. However, I was hoping I would be able to learn more about regional Baroque sounds, and because of the confusing method the set is organized, that won't be part of my listening experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    SUPER!! I am not a huge fan of baroque music. this however hits the spot nicely! Really very cool with tremendous talent displayed by Mr. Marsalis. Very good, if you like this sort of thing, go for it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    A very solid recording although could've benefited from a greater diversity in piece selection. Several albums have subsequently been produced. This CD - it's excellent for when your travelling or rather not moving in a modern traffic jam these compositions from a prior century will enable you cope and focus. The Opera collaboration is also worth a listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mad About Baroque []  2020-1-23 2:59

    For anyone who enjoys Baroque music, this is one you'll have fun immensely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mad About Baroque []  2020-1-23 2:59

    I love this CD and am so happy to have purchased it. I place it on almost everyday at work -- it is the excellent length equipt with the excellent choice music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    Has anyone else purchased the MP3 ver of this? As I was listening through it I came to track 16 which is listed as Alessandro Marcello's Oboe Concerto in D minor. However, that is not what I listened to on this album. The audio that is coming through on my MP3 album for this track is an Opera. The track still says Oboe Concerto in D minor. Is anyone else experiencing this??Besides this one incorrect track, I love this album by Helmut Muller-Bruhl and the Cologne Chamber Orchestra. I feel they really capture the authentic sound of the Baroque period by using the historical instruments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    Attractive recording and compilation!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    Purchased as bonus for a musician, and she loves it. She listens to it at her "day job" and says it relaxes her thru stressful days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    I just wanted the melody not singing.I had a unbelievable baroque Christmas cd several years back that I cannot find. I wasn't aware that there would be a choir involved. disappointing. I just wanted a Baroque Christmas instrumental. thanks for asking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    There is nothing like the real classics for Christmas melody . . . there is no silly grandmother getting run down by reindeer. This album focuses on the real meaning of Christmas during the Baroque era and is one of my favorites!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    Out of many, mostly classical Christmas CD's I have, this Baroque Album is the best one I have, and most memorable! Really high quality in every way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    A very tasteful and reverent method to observe and celebrate Christmas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    Bella y erudita interpretación

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    Wynton is amazing and so mellow. I love relaxing by this music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mad About Baroque []  2020-1-23 2:59

    I search the melody enjoyable, but nothing special. There is no loss buying this CD, but I'm sure there are others, perhaps, that are better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    I like the and the recording is of amazing quality. I play it for my baby when it's time to sleep and it helps her relax.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    Amazing CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    I couldn't wait to listen to this CD, even though it's only mid September! It's sooooo beautiful. If you love attractive melody of the baroque period, and Christmas melody at that, then you will truly appreciate this music. Very glad to have found it here on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Best Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:37

    Fabuolus music...these CD's never move out of my player. It was a tremendous age for music. Brillant recordings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Concerti & Baroque Trumpet Music []  2020-1-16 22:32

    Very nice collection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Italian Baroque Favourites []  2020-1-18 0:32

    This is a very fine recording. I was very happy with it. As a former professional violinist I was happy with the sound of the recording & the interesting musical renditions. I am not familiar with this group, but after hearing this recording I would recommend Capella Istropolitana highly. I would recommend this recording to Baroque lovers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Trumpets []  2020-1-23 2:55

    This is a amazing collection of baroque music. As usual, Wynton Marsalis performs flawlessly. Every fan of classical/baroque melody should give this a listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mad About Baroque []  2020-1-23 2:59

    I thouroughly have fun this CD! The melody is attractive enough to listen to all by itself, but also quiet and peaceful enough to listen to while studying for exams or doing homework. Angry about Baroque has been in my discman for a lot of weeks and accompanied to the library a lot of times. This is a amazing CD!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    A very nice selection of Baroque pieces combined with an excellent, well recorded, performance. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of Baroque Music []  2020-1-23 3:3

    There is something about baroque melody that touches my musical soul. I can't obtain enough of it whether played by European or American groups.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    Not jinglebells, thank the amazing Lord in heaven!!You can really listen to this, even on repeat without wanting to slay your entire family as they squabble over who's getting what for the consumerist hell we claim is Christmas giving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    I like to listen to Baroque Christmas melody and I like to play them at Christmas time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Baroque Christmas Album []  2020-1-23 3:6

    This is an perfect compilation of baroque sacred and secular melody to have fun the holidays. If you are a fan of Bach or Corelli, this CD is perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Italian Baroque Favourites []  2020-1-18 0:32

    OK !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    100 Best Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:37

    I sent this to my daughter as a gift. It is a very not good quality disc. She tried to play it on two home players, and neither one would play it. She had place another thin disc like this one in her vehicle CD player and it got stuck and broke the player. This product should be taken off the market.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    I love brass choirs and Baroque. This recording set is beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    A joyful noise in the grandest manner. Bigger-than-life melody written for the largest occasions, gorgeously played. Even the young teen brass-player it was bought to "instruct" loved it, right off, without the sign of an argument. A fine, rare success.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music of the Mexican Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:36

    I work in Mexico, and have been to the cathedral where Padilla first transferred his notes into a vocal symphony. The context of the late colonial / early historic period in Mexico was a tearful time in the history of this country, and Padilla seems to have captured the beauty and depth of religious passion that prevailed at this time. This modern recording brings back to life the times of colonial Mexico, that have literally not been heard for hundreds of years. Ruttenburg did a supurb job with his vocalists, and with the high fidelity recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music of the Mexican Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:36

    To the uninitiated, the quality of choral melody composed and performed in Mexico during the first half of the 18th century is astounding. Spanish-born composer Juan Gutierrez de Padilla was thoroughly versed in the "a cappella" style of the High Renaissance before moving to Mexico. Once there he may have felt like Haydn during his years in Eisentadt: voluntarily exiled to musical backwaters where he was to experiment and nurture his special musical personality. Careful listenings to this perfect recording reveal some exquisite compositional characteristics of the nascent Baroque, but the overall impression is late Renaissance, in all its glory. Conductor/producer Peter Rutenberg has shaped Padilla's melody -- much of it for double choir -- beautifully. Phrases are finely modulated and dynamics enhance their direction. The straight-tone intonation of the Los Angeles Chamber Singers' Cappella is spot on: you could drive a truck through some of their final chords. And the rhythmic interplay between duple and triple -- so necessary in any performance of Renaissance polyphony -- is carefully interpreted throughout. In all, this fine recording is a welcome introduction, to quote Rutenberg's well-written liner notes, to "the first flowering of Mexico's Golden Age in a garden that was to reach full bloom with the melody of Manuel de Zumaya and Ignacio de Jerusalem 100 years later."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    After finding Frederick Fennell and his Cleveland (and others) Wind Ensemble, I became an confirmed brass lover. Since I was already a large admirer of the king of instruments, I naturally ventured out to brass + organ, surely the pinnacle of huge sound music. This is one of the finest albums of such for baroque music. It has several attributes that guarantee immense satisfaction. First, the brass ensemble is the Empire Brass Quintet, the leading brass ensemble since the demise of the Phillip Jones Brass Ensemble. Second, William Kuhlman is acknowledged as one of the leading organists in the world. Third, Telarc recorded the album, and they had the highest reputation for vivid recordings. The albums success was a no-brainer!The individual pieces played here all originate from the Baroque period of classical music, with such names as Bach, Telemann, and Handel. Lesser known by his name than by his popular Trumpet Voluntary is Jeremiah Clarke, the piece long attributed incorrectly to Purcell. Over the latest few decades, this piece has probably been played at more weddings than anything else other than the Wedding March from Mendelssohn's Midsummer Night's Dream. Almost as well-known is Clarke's Prince of Denmark's March given a superb is vividly recorded disc from heaven receives my highest recommendation. Buy it and listen to it with someone you love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    it is what we hoped it would be

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    I am a trombonist and this is a amazing collection of baroque music. The sound quality is great, and the organ sounds amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music of the Mexican Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:36

    The CD was exactly what I wanted. I've been enjoying the melody every day in my car. The choir performing it is awesome. I never realized Mexican Baroque melody was so beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    We bought "The Glory of Gabrieli" a few weeks ago and loved it. It has some organ, but the predominant playing is by the brass. So we ordered this one, hoping for more of the same, and were very disappointed. It should be titled "Baroque Melody for Organ, with some Brass". The melody is fine and the playing is excellent, but it's more organ music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    I'm a sucker for brass music, so my taste may not be yours. However, this lived up to my expectations. I expect to play it frequently.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    This Telarc recording is, once again, real to their reputation for sound quality. You'll love the rich tones of the brass in solo and in harmony, allow alone in company with organ. (Especially if you can listen to them in SACD!) My only "con" is one of private taste: I prefer to hear the brass in help of the organ; a lot of of the pieces here feature the brass with organ accompaniment. But the opening with Purcell's "Rondeau" and some others like the arrangement of Clarke's popular "Trumpet Voluntary" pushed my 4 stars up to 5. Typical of the Barogue, the selections here can be melodious and smooth, or exciting and grand - but always in motion. The Empire Brass and William Kuhlman demonstrate their musicianship and fully display the glorious sounds of the Baroque masters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel's Canon & Other Baroque Favorites []  2020-1-23 2:59

    Sweet melody - amazing listening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music of the Mexican Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:36

    I could only listen to this melody in academic libraries, even in Mexico it is not well known. It combines the European sounds with tips of Mesoamerican music. I highly recommend to history and Latin American studies teachers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music of the Mexican Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:36

    a superior quality cd. i love the baroque era, and this is a amazing representation of the time period. A+

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music of the Mexican Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:36

    Awesome music. Wonderfully performed. Additional fine musicality and taste

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    A excellent collection of perfectly performed compositions of Pachelbel, ch, Charpentier, Purcell and Telemann. There are also two unexpected gems; the very missed Rolf Smedvig's magical arrangement of Handel's dance-like Violin Sonata in F minor, Op 1, No 12, and Rigaudon, the processional of Fr. Andre Campra, Maitre de Musique au Cathedral de Notre Dame. To hear the latter, sadly even without the Empire Brass Quintet, during a canonization ceremony in St. Peters in Roma would add immeasurably to the spirituality of that sanctuary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Baroque Music for Brass & Organ []  2020-1-23 2:55

    A various interpretation of the best loved Baroque melody and it's very well ce to listen to during dinner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel's Canon & Other Baroque Favorites []  2020-1-23 2:59

    The 1980's saw a large upswing in the popularity of the period-instruments movement, and conductor Andrew Parrott and his Taverner Players and Chorus were right there in the forefront of the action. Today, we tend to take period instruments for granted, even if with the downturn in classical melody recording in the 1990's and beyond, we don't hear about them so often anymore. One effect of that situation is this 2004, two-disc, budget rerelease of Baroque favorites by Parrott and his players, plus a few by him and the Boston Early Melody Festival Orchestra.EMI originally issued all of the pieces on the discs in the late Eighties and early Nineties, the company recording all of them digitally. In 2004 they assembled the current program and issued them under the Virgin label. Frankly, there isn't a weak link among e Pachelbel Canon of the album's title is among the best I've heard (and there must be 800 recordings available). Like the other works in the collection, the interpretation sounds a small brisk, but it never sounds rushed, never breathless as some period-instrument ensembles play early wise, Parrott presents the other works in the set with a vigorous refinement: Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 2; excerpts from his Orchestral Suites Nos. 2 and 3; Vivaldi's "Spring" and "Summer" concertos from The Four Seasons; Purcell's Funeral Melody for Queen Mary; and others by Gabrieli, Allegri, and Monteverde. Perhaps my private favorite, however, is Parrott and company's rendering of Handel's Harp Concerto in B-flat major, with Andrew Lawrence-King on harp. It's simply e sound is also remarkably amazing throughout most of the music, perhaps a tad less vibrant in the two selections with the Boston orchestra than with the Taverner Players. Still, nothing is ever overly bright or edgy, so one need not worry about any period-instrument fatigue setting in, a condition common to such recordings early on, especially those recorded digitally. At a fresh of only a few bucks or so for the two-disc set, it's a bargain, hn J. PuccioClassical Candor

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music of the Mexican Baroque []  2020-1-20 21:36

    Utterly unbelievable & sublime. However, the edition I just received does not have any liner notes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collection []  2020-1-17 0:50

    Ordered this CD and am thrilled. CD in excellent condition (as described) and quick shipping and anks Leigh, amazing job

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collection []  2020-1-17 0:50

    Shangoya fans will love how the band's energy and soul makes it to "vinyl" in this "take me back to those amazing old days" collection of their finest. Minnesota fans will tear up with memories, and fresh listeners will become dedicated fans. PLAY ON!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpieces of Ukranian Baroque Choral Music []  2020-1-23 2:55

    Twenty years ago there was an enormous renaissance in Russian church melody as a effect of three events: The millenium of the Russian Orthodox church in 1988; the fall of the Berlin Wall in '89 or '90; and the collapse of the Soviet Union on Christmas Day 1991. A lot of amazing recordings were produced shortly after these events. I own about twenty of is is one of the three or four best. The recording zone has perhaps a bit too much reverberation, but the performance is excellent. And the repertoire is outstanding. I will never again write "Bortnianski stands alone (in the history of Russian church music)" because the melody of Berezovski, ten years his senior, (tracks 3-5), while not as inventive, is so incredibly beautiful.I can see Wisconsin from my house. But for the decade I lived in Washington Grove, I performed with Choral Arts Society, the Oratorio Society of Washington (two Grammy awards), and a professional choir at the Russian Orthodox Cathedral Of St Nicholas on Massachusetts Ave.Other recommendations: "Ancient Echoes" "Russian Orthodox Chant of the 17th and 18th Centuries" by Paul Hillier. The Liturgy of St John Chysostom (Rachmaninoff) by the Kansas Town Chorale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpieces of Ukranian Baroque Choral Music []  2020-1-23 2:55

    A glorious rendering of choral excellence! Not to be missed! Superb!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel Canon and Other Baroque Hits []  2020-1-23 2:59

    This is another fine album in the RCA VICTOR e sound is amazing nice & is is another relaxing album to hear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel Canon and Other Baroque Hits []  2020-1-23 2:59

    It would be hard to imagine a better "starter" CD for someone fresh to Baroque melody than this one. Real to the title the very "greatest hits" of the Baroque are here, along with a couple of less obvious pieces; my favorite of these is the overture to Handel's MESSIAH, not as frequently excerpted as some of the other selections. The performances, taken from different "complete recordings" by esteemed conductors and ensembles, are all first-class, and as a there is that delightful Al Hirschfield caricature of Bach on the CD cover! I can honestly say this CD is one of my favorites in my extensive CD collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Baroque Album in the World Ever []  2020-1-28 1:22

    I have never written a review like this before. This may be a amazing CD - but it is difficult to know because the first CD (2 CD pack) will not load or play. The menu on the second CD comes up for the first CD so that one loads with the wrong information. This is my second attempt. Both the one I originally purchased (and returned) and the replacment both have this defect. DON'T BUY THIS!! I purchased 3 other CD's at the same time and they work fine so its not my player.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Baroque Album in the World Ever []  2020-1-28 1:22

    To title the album "The Best..." is arrogant and boastfull, however, this is the best fuggin' Baroque ALBUM EVER!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kathleen Battle & Wynton Marsalis: Baroque Duet []  2020-2-1 23:18

    I have loved this CD for years. I had a several year absence of listening to it because the original belonged to an Ex and I could never search it in stores or anks to Amazon I now have my own copy and it is glorious. Soaring, celebratory and wonderful. A classical melody lovers dream and maybe a few other melody fans too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kathleen Battle & Wynton Marsalis: Baroque Duet []  2020-2-1 23:18

    Five stars do not do this CD justice. How can anyone rank perfection?Everyone with any appreciation if Baroque melody should have this recording...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go For Baroque! - The Canadian Brass []  2020-2-1 23:41

    I am never disappointed when I and listen to their eir melody takes me back to my church at Christmas and Easter..I also can envision sitting in an old castle dressed with the times and listening to theirsongs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go For Baroque! - The Canadian Brass []  2020-2-1 23:41

    I have been a fan of the Candaian Brass for a lot of years and this recording rates as high as the rest of them that I have. I have everything from Bach to Basin Road and a lot of in between and I look forward to fresh CDs throughout the year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Go For Baroque! - The Canadian Brass []  2020-2-1 23:41

    Item is exactly as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpieces of Ukranian Baroque Choral Music []  2020-1-23 2:55

    If you like classical melody & gorgeous choral arrangements, this is for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Masterpieces of Ukranian Baroque Choral Music []  2020-1-23 2:55

    This is something different. If you like choral music, you should like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel Canon and Other Baroque Hits []  2020-1-23 2:59

    This CD includes a amazing sampling of Baroque music. Some of the best known songs of the period are included. Listeners will likely instantly recognize a lot of of the songs (you've likely heard them before, you just didn't know their names). An perfect rendition of Pachelbel's Canon starts off the CD. Then plenty of melody from huge names such as Bach, Handel, and Vivaldi fill out the disc's 72 and a half mins of e demographics of this disc point to an intended mainstream audience. For example, the track listing contains references to which songs served as themes for tv shows. For example, Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 contains the byline "Theme from 'Firing Line'" and Mouret's Rondeau says "Theme from 'Masterpiece Theater'". So this collection does represent a famous collection of Baroque songs. And it plays that role very well.Other standout tracks include: 2 movements from Vivaldi's justifiably popular "The Four Seasons", Bach's awesome "Air on the G String" and Handel's "Xerxes". The disc contains no vocal tracks. "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring" from Bach's Cantata No. 147 gets performed on a solo organ (the original has vocals and a string arrangement). So those uneasy with "classical style singing" will search no issues l in all, this disc serves as a amazing introduction to a amazing period of melody history. It could also serve as a starting point for selecting a favorite composer or as a tutorial for building a classical melody collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pachelbel Canon and Other Baroque Hits []  2020-1-23 2:59

    We have all heard the infinitely moving Canon in D by Pachelbel hundreds of times - it is not surprising that it has appeared, in one form or another, in commercials, movies (most notably Ordinary People, which used the main theme as the underscoring for the entire film) - it is perfect, easy and incredibly, undeniably moving. But you are in for more treats on this primary Baroque sampler, which features a lot of famous themes you may know, despite the fact that you may not be a hard-core classical melody buff. The joy of each and every one of these cuts lies in their simple, enduring melodies and the gorgeous musical settings provided here. They sound fresh, fresh and as contemporary as anything you might hear on the radio. This album has a holiday after-effect as well; the fanfares, hymns and exciting instrumentation (horns, harps, strings galore) create you feel as if it is Christmas every day.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386