beal birdie Reviews & Opinions


Submit beal birdie review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    曾有多次在 互助免稅店 放物件售賣,離開再立即入免稅店,之後物件連錢消失了,亦沒有已售字眼,直接給我一個空格。剛剛也是這樣。而且遊戲時常都在晚上受不住高流量壓力之下崩潰入不到遊戲。哈哈,大家都係同一行業搞 Apps,不知道是否要輪到我出馬呢?唉,真可憐,加油吧!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    可以考慮退出版面時,不要重新啟動遊戲 (例如只是去覆個訊息,一回來就要重新啟動了)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    個games有bugs 啊 再install過吾我得

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on beal birdie or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch beal birdie video reviews and related movies:

    See Beal Birdie...A GriGri Killer? | Climbing Daily Ep.1489 on youtube.

     related image

    See Beal BIRDIE Belay Device on youtube.

     related image

    See Beal Birdie and Orient Express on youtube.

     related image

    See Beal Birdie, Wild Country Revo, ... on youtube.

     related image

    See Test Matos: Beal Birdie, mieux que le Grigri? | Matos Vertical #27 on youtube.

     related image

    See GriGri, Vergo und Birdie - welcher Halbautomat macht das Rennen? on youtube.

     related image

    See BIRDIE OFFICIAL on youtube.

     related image

    See Beal Birdie... il Killer del Gri Gri | Spazio Verticale189 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    襟了home制再入番去要再load過隻game,襟錯back制入番去又重頭load過隻game, 好慢呀,請改善

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    互助店唔覺意一 touch 就買了,可以加確定嗎?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    幾好玩 不過有時莫名其妙入唔到 成日話loading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    Earn data if you are birdie user. Give you at least some purpose for a normal farming game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    so funny!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    好食電

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    It is fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    Amazing and simple to play👍👍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    點解只是關了螢幕或用下其他app,返來都要Loading. 能否改善下?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    真係純為數據,因為好多bug,多到好似啲bug係一個feature。update完好似仲upgrade左隻bug,經常無限輪迴 - 種野落黑洞田俾佢食哂,收割完發現冇收割,做完張單唔見左,再開連錢都唔見埋。其實就係每日生活既縮影,又有乜好怕喎 :(

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    Idea幾好,可以做得再好啲。主要都係為data玩,但都會想同其他玩家有多啲互動。

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    not a poor android game to slay time xD

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    太多千奇百怪嘅bug!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    勁多bug囉

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    android game never loads. just stays on the login screen saying loading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    A fun game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    bugged. sometimes leave you with both empty fields and consumed resources which means you have to either search someone who sells them or purchase with diamonds.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    3月6 down 左new modernize file, 今曰突然間話有new updates 要我去google shop down, 但入到store 又冇得down, 入唔到game lor 3月7及8日每日都要重新安裝先入到game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    bug好多...之前save唔到,重新裝過先搞掂 依家載入唔到,卡係90%完全入唔到 重新開機,重裝左幾次app都冇用

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    今日晏晝開始入唔到game喎

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    數據獎勵經常無故消失

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    load 唔到 !!!! 點玩?!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    Android game does not save progress properly at times. Things would revert back to previous state quite frequently, with coins used, and orders lost.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    香港式廣東話令我哋超投入,數據p2p成為一個誘因,開機已成為生活一部份,最犀利係已不停免費幫佢哋宣傳。恐怖的滲透力,真。香港人的精神! innovative, the p2p data made a fresh currency and a reason to spend time on a easy game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    有大bug 收割完,出貨,跟住用500 買隻腦師 跟住熄mon 隔幾分鐘著返 d 田reset 左去幾分鐘前 收割前(多左農作物) 但係隻腦師冇左,500都冇左

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    Android game doesnt load. Tells me theres an update, but there isnt

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    luv the building community idea. five stars experience. those birdie characters are awesome. it's a vegan android game too😍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    隔左2日再開進度冇晒 小提示要建既野要lv 2 而家kick住又收割唔到又起唔到新建築物

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    always disconnected. dislike

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Farm review [App]  2019-4-9 13:46

    Android game is not saving the progress

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fourth & Beale review []  2020-1-16 23:26

    This was a recording, that took put in Furry Lewis' bedroom in 1969. The quality could have been cleaner, but still a bit of history from a amazing blues slide guitarist. I feel this is a must for any blues collection. The recording is by far a much better that your typical home recording. Volume varies from song to song somewhat. Also there are not a bunch of musicians on this CD with the exception of Bucca White, easy and clean slide work for the most part. Order and enjoy!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fourth & Beale review []  2020-1-16 23:26

    The recording was made, I understand, in 1969, some of which was recorded in Furry Lewis's home as he lay in bed. I plan to add more to my opinions, but I give it 5 stars because it's a rare treat to be treated to such an album. These days, you search that the recording industry in general wants to hold things polished to the point that I feel melody sounds "sanitized." Furry talks about the pieces he's about to play sometimes, and the stereo (where his acoustic guitar originates on the left channel while his voice comes from the right) sometimes either mixes or even switches effect, you feel as though you're sitting right at his foot (he lost a leg in a mishap), enjoying a window into the history of blues, of the early 1900's. . . in effect, the history of modern music. This is the kind of expressionism that has helped influence all the amazing musicians. Artists like Furry Lewis are the forefathers who helped shape melody of all types. If you want, also find for blues harp musician Peg Leg Sam. Furry makes guitar sound as though it's actually singing, related to how Peg Leg Sam mastered the is is the CD to purchase; another CD out there has only 9 tracks or so, but this one has 15. And, it's only Furry and his guitar, unpowered. No other melody or instruments were played, which is what I like, because that style makes me feel like I'm in an era where melody was pure and raw. No electric guitars, no fluff. It's all substance, spirit and soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fourth & Beale review []  2020-1-16 23:26

    There are very few recordings as heartfelt and intimate as Fourth & Beale. It's recorded in 1969 in Furry's home, with apparently only two other people in audience. Listening to him sing and play brings to mind Joni Mitchell's song about Furry, as if you're hearing her inspiration. His emotions are displayed vividly throughout, most especially in "When The Saints Go Marchin' Home" where Furry is so choked, obviously signing about his own death, that he can hardly obtain the words out. This is a small known gem, and a must have for any acoustic blues fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alias Nick Beal review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Old Nick - Crafty Devil. Alias Nick Beal (AKA: A few other titles...) is directed by John Farrow and adapted to screenplay by Jonathan Latimer from the Mindret Lord story. It stars Ray Milland, Audrey Totter, Thomas Mitchell and George Macready. Melody is by Franz Waxman and cinematography by Lionel Lindon. It's the Faustian legend filmed through movie noir filters as Thomas Mitchell's politician unwittingly makes a deal with Ray Milland's suspicious Nick Beal. Nicholas Beal - Agent. It's all fogs, smogs and smoky pubs here, it's 1949 and John Farrow and his squad are having a amazing time of things blending Faust with politico machinations. Narrative thrust comes by method of corruption and hero disintegration, sprinkled naturally with your amazing old cinematic staple of amazing vs evil in bold type. Don't touch him! He doesn't like it! Milland is superb here, his Nick Beal is the ultimate Machiavellian Mannipulator, and the chief movie makers really bring these traits to the fore. Beal is a bundle of smug grins and glinting eyes, he just appears in scenes, Farrow cunningly using different props and persons to suddenly unleash his small old devil when he is least expected. Around Nicky there are subtle changes of clothes and snatches of dialogue that hit the requisite devilish notes, Totter is our darling who is caught in Old Nick's trap, Mitchell (great) even more so. The latest time I was here was quite exciting. Town was on fire. Picked up quite a lot of recruits that night. Created quite a transportation problem. Lionel Lindon and Franz Waxman are also key components to what makes the pic work. Waxman (Sunset Blvd.) deftly shifts between huge bass drums for thunder clap effects, to delicate swirls that give off other worldly - eerie - effects. Lindon (I Wish to Live!) does amazing work isolating the eyes in light, while his fog and shadows work wouldn't be amiss in a Val Lewton picture. This is a criminally under seen movie, it's far from excellent because the collage of genre influences give it a very unbalanced feel, but there's so much fun, spookiness and technical craft on present to create it a must see film for fans of the stars, noir and supernatural tinged pictures. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    This is my favourite novel from my childhood. I read it so much I had to buy another copy because the first fell apart. I love Catherine. She wars to be herself in a put where she is expected to be a certain way. She learns to work around the limitations she's been given. She never stops trying. And she lands herself in some hilarious situations along the way. She showed me what it was to be independent at an age where I wasn't sure what that meant. This book also inspired my love for medieval England and British history. Highly recommend, especially to anyone with a young daughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    A amazing close-up look at life in the 13th Century. Birdy's father is trying to marry her off now that she has reached 14 years old. Other fathers hold arriving with their sons to discuss weddings and dowry. Birdy has no intention of being bargained off like a cow and does her best to sabotage the negotiations. She sets the privy on fire while one fat slob is in it! The book has timely descriptions of the mud, filth, horse poop, etc., in the streets and the fleas infesting everyone. I would not wish to live then! Does her father obtain his method or will some miracle save Birdy from marriage to an old, fat, greasy slob? Read this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    Birdy is a girl ahead of her time. Trapped in well-to-do medieval manorial life, she tries to invent ways to escape both the put and the people surrounding her. Birdy is funny, sarcastic, wry, observant, sensitive toward folks she respects and merciless toward those she disdains. The story, written as a diary, moves smoothly through Birdy's trials and schemes and reactions. She's someone the reader would like to know personally, if only for the fun of hearing what she'd say next. But probably no reader would wish to switch locations with Birdy and feel caged for life as Birdy does. In the end she does escape, though not in the method she expects or to the extent she'd choose. There were serious limits on women then, even for those who had money. The one element of the story that I found difficult to believe was Birdy's acceptance of her father's physical brutality. I would think she'd suffer more inside herself because of it. But that's my only caveat about this book, which I definitely enjoyed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    Allow me say that I read this book in one sitting, I enjoyed it that much. Catherine, the 14-year-old daughter of a Knight and Lady, has an arranged marriage in her future: that's how things were done. We the reader are privy to Catherine's journal, which is an absolute delight to read because it shows us how people behaved at the time, what they believed, what they ate, wore, how they cleaned themselves and their homes, and so on. Religion in the form of the Catholic Church is ever-present in the life of the herine has some of the sensibilities of a modern young woman: though not so much that the story was unbelievable. As one reviewer on Amazon pointed out, she uses precious paper and ink in a very modern way, to write down her thoughts and curses ("Corpus bones, what a torture."). It seems highly, highly unlikely for a young woman of that time to do something like this, and most likely even if she had a journal, her mother would have supervised what was written in it, or checked up on it.On the other hand, if the author hadn't presented Catherine this way, she (the character) wouldn't be very interesting. And so I'm willing to suspend belief for a while to have fun this story about a young woman trying in her own method to assert her identity, to rebel versus the narrow role that society has dictated for her. The ending is realistic and therefore satisfying. This is a very amazing book that is very deserving of its Newbury Honor Medal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    Whoever came up with the idea of Kate Maberly performing this was a genius. Kate's clear voice, sometimes sweet, sometimes impish, is simply excellent for this young heroine. Her British English is an added plus to bring a touch of reality to the fictional character. Kate and crew, well done! well done!In addition to enjoying this clever audio book, American children especially might have fun trying to pick up a small of Kate's crystal clear accent (for instance, the word "adventure" comes out something like "ad-vench-a" with a powerful "ch" like in "church" or "itch", and with no "r" sound at all). It might surprise some children to know that Kate can speak a typically American dialect is audio version, which won a well-deserved Audie award, needs to stay in a hard-format print for a long long time to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    This is another gem that I discovered in a graduate class. Catherine, Called Birdy is a historical novel set in Medieval England in the year 1290, and is written in the form of diary entries. Catherine, who is fourteen-years-old, is the daughter of Lord Rollo and Lady Aislinn, and sister to Thomas, Edward, and Robert. She lives in a manor house, and begins the diary upon the prompting of her favorite brother Edward, who is a monk at an e diary includes Catherine's entries of a year in her life which is filled with rich info of life in medieval England. It begins on the 19th of September, 1290 and Catherine writes on the leftover skins from the household accounts. She writes that she is the daughter of a country knight with ten servants and seventy villagers. Catherine's intense dislike of her father is evidenced throughout the diary. She also laments her situation as a girl with limited prospects. All she does on a everyday basis is sew, hem, brew, nurse, and count linen, activities which she does not care for. Instead, she daydreams about going off to war in the Crusades and lead an adventurous life, like some of her brothers and uncle Robert. She also finds herself in a predicament as her father keeps trying to marry her off to a series of incompatible suitors, finally betrothing her to a vile old man whom she calls Shaggy herine is a complex and multi-dimensional hero who is well-delineated. Contrary to the times she lived in, where women were considered no more than chattel to be bartered at will, Catherine is presented as a strong-willed and opinionated young woman. The feelings that Catherine expresses through her diary entries are typical for an adolescent dealing with difficult issues, and though the setting of the story is medieval England, these feelings are relevant in today's context and are feelings a lot of adolescents will identify e author's writing style is witty and engaging with the main hero using interesting and often funny phrases to convey how she is feeling, such as "Corpus Bones!" as an expression of frustration. Catherine is a young woman ahead of her time and a hero a lot of adolescents will relate to.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    Fans of diaries will take to Karen Cushman's CATHERINE, CALLED BIRDY, wherein a 14-year-old girl in 13th-century England spills her innermost thoughts on matters medieval. Chief among Birdy's troubles is her dad (a.k.a. "the Beast") who chooses to marry her off to the disgusting "Shaggy Beard" (a man old enough to be her father). Birdy has used wit and guile to fend off Dad's previous choices, but this time it appears she's stuck.What works well: the tone and characterization of Birdy. We come to have fun her humor, stubbornness, and intelligence as she plays "color man" to the action playing out around her. Thus is the late 13th century created palatable to even history-phobic readers, and Cushman has done her homework, accurately protraying family dynamics, village life, and social mores from mating to medicine.What doesn't work as well: Each entry starts with an italicized bullet about that day's saint (Birdy gets a copy of LIVES OF THE SAINTS early on). Some of these are funny, but most are straightforward and drab. With the number of entries in the diary, readers may be tempted to jump over the saint-of-the-day bits without losing much in the narrative. Finally, the book ends with a bit of deus ex machina. In that sense, Birdy's life becomes a Miracle Play in itself. I guess it's a private call on each reader's part, but I dislike that type of vertheless, a spirited, smart read that should satisfy most readers willing to appreciate not only history, but how the human heart never changes, no matter what the century.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    I love children's books, especially those that can be read by anyone from pre-teen through adult, and read more than once with increasing sophistication over the years. To give you a baseline, my favorites are probably "The Witch of Blackbird Pond," "The Once and Future King," and almost anything by Rosemary Sutcliff. And yes, I re-read books, and some, though not all, keep up. "Birdy" will."Catherine, called Birdy" introduces us to the lives of burgher-class, not royal, English women in the Middle ages. It brings the ugly, grimy, day-to-day reality of the period to life. The setting provides vivid touchstones to enrich anyone's reading of history or novels about the period. Birdy is a stubborn, rebellious delight. The book takes the form of Birdy's notes for Saints' Days--Birdy, taught by one brother, a monk, would rather write than sew, so this is her sometime tradeoff. Over the next few years I'll test to read everything by Karen Cushman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    This short novel, set in medieval times, is listed as a YA book, but adults will love it just as much as their teenage daughters.I've read this several times over the years. I've also read the author's other medieval stories, but this one is the 's realistic, heartwarming, and laugh out loud hilarious.Absolutely highly recommended for anyone interested in medieval life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine Called Birdy review []  2020-1-12 18:31

    Very funny and very descriptive of life in medieval England such as dung along with herbalist in some of the medicinal preparations, the out house, I loved Buddy she takes on life with such energy and the Saints and their feasts days are quite imaginative and some gross. Buddy can both read and write very unusual for her day also in her method of getting rid of the sisters her father (the beast) has tried to Mary her of too at the age of fourteen. It's not all fun and mischief there are is the fear of losing her mother in childbirth and being the one to doctor the wounds and ills not only of the household but the village as well. If you love stories set in medieval England you'll love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mr. Birdy's Fryday review []  2020-1-18 22:55

    Well...interesting.... The CD starts out with a track that grooves a lot like something off their first album ("Songs from the Smoking Section"). Things begin to go awry about 1:45 into track 2, when they switch from a pleasant--if vacuous--rhythm featuring Dara into a chaotic frenzy that could be out of a punk alien horror flick. Just plain weird. They switch back to the original tune, and then back to the sound effects (which obtain stranger and stranger) for a couple of ack 3 introduces Mr. Birdy, in a short piece repleat with actual bird noises, from Dara, I think. Cool keyboard effects along with a dissonant tune, but where's the actual music? Ah, on track 4. Yes! Finally. Nice and mellow, nothing controversial here until the latest 15 seconds when the zone aliens return. Track 5 is pure RTC jazz, very nice, again on the mellow side. Don't obtain too excited, though, because Mr. Birdy is back in the next track, and there is nothing positive to say about him or his accompanying music--program your CD player to skip this track entirely. Next, we obtain a top-40 beat and a nice bit of bass playing along with synthesized drums, just a small spaceship noise thrown into the '70s groove for amazing measure. Head for the hills, the aliens are among us again in track 8, very bizarre. Oh wow, dude, we're fully in orbit for most of track 9, with just enough bass and drums to hold things somewhat interesting. Track 10 would have been an perfect finale to the CD, with some truly rockin' jazz and amazing playing, but, unfortunately, they threw in track 11, which sounds mostly like filler.Well, anyway, too bizarre for words. If you wish actual music, go straight from "Songs from the Smoking Section" to "6/4 Getaway".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    This is my favourite novel from my childhood. I read it so much I had to buy another copy because the first fell apart. I love Catherine. She wars to be herself in a put where she is expected to be a certain way. She learns to work around the limitations she's been given. She never stops trying. And she lands herself in some hilarious situations along the way. She showed me what it was to be independent at an age where I wasn't sure what that meant. This book also inspired my love for medieval England and British history. Highly recommend, especially to anyone with a young daughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    A amazing close-up look at life in the 13th Century. Birdy's father is trying to marry her off now that she has reached 14 years old. Other fathers hold arriving with their sons to discuss weddings and dowry. Birdy has no intention of being bargained off like a cow and does her best to sabotage the negotiations. She sets the privy on fire while one fat slob is in it! The book has timely descriptions of the mud, filth, horse poop, etc., in the streets and the fleas infesting everyone. I would not wish to live then! Does her father obtain his method or will some miracle save Birdy from marriage to an old, fat, greasy slob? Read this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    Birdy is a girl ahead of her time. Trapped in well-to-do medieval manorial life, she tries to invent ways to escape both the put and the people surrounding her. Birdy is funny, sarcastic, wry, observant, sensitive toward folks she respects and merciless toward those she disdains. The story, written as a diary, moves smoothly through Birdy's trials and schemes and reactions. She's someone the reader would like to know personally, if only for the fun of hearing what she'd say next. But probably no reader would wish to switch locations with Birdy and feel caged for life as Birdy does. In the end she does escape, though not in the method she expects or to the extent she'd choose. There were serious limits on women then, even for those who had money. The one element of the story that I found difficult to believe was Birdy's acceptance of her father's physical brutality. I would think she'd suffer more inside herself because of it. But that's my only caveat about this book, which I definitely enjoyed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    Allow me say that I read this book in one sitting, I enjoyed it that much. Catherine, the 14-year-old daughter of a Knight and Lady, has an arranged marriage in her future: that's how things were done. We the reader are privy to Catherine's journal, which is an absolute delight to read because it shows us how people behaved at the time, what they believed, what they ate, wore, how they cleaned themselves and their homes, and so on. Religion in the form of the Catholic Church is ever-present in the life of the herine has some of the sensibilities of a modern young woman: though not so much that the story was unbelievable. As one reviewer on Amazon pointed out, she uses precious paper and ink in a very modern way, to write down her thoughts and curses ("Corpus bones, what a torture."). It seems highly, highly unlikely for a young woman of that time to do something like this, and most likely even if she had a journal, her mother would have supervised what was written in it, or checked up on it.On the other hand, if the author hadn't presented Catherine this way, she (the character) wouldn't be very interesting. And so I'm willing to suspend belief for a while to have fun this story about a young woman trying in her own method to assert her identity, to rebel versus the narrow role that society has dictated for her. The ending is realistic and therefore satisfying. This is a very amazing book that is very deserving of its Newbury Honor Medal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    Whoever came up with the idea of Kate Maberly performing this was a genius. Kate's clear voice, sometimes sweet, sometimes impish, is simply excellent for this young heroine. Her British English is an added plus to bring a touch of reality to the fictional character. Kate and crew, well done! well done!In addition to enjoying this clever audio book, American children especially might have fun trying to pick up a small of Kate's crystal clear accent (for instance, the word "adventure" comes out something like "ad-vench-a" with a powerful "ch" like in "church" or "itch", and with no "r" sound at all). It might surprise some children to know that Kate can speak a typically American dialect is audio version, which won a well-deserved Audie award, needs to stay in a hard-format print for a long long time to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    This is another gem that I discovered in a graduate class. Catherine, Called Birdy is a historical novel set in Medieval England in the year 1290, and is written in the form of diary entries. Catherine, who is fourteen-years-old, is the daughter of Lord Rollo and Lady Aislinn, and sister to Thomas, Edward, and Robert. She lives in a manor house, and begins the diary upon the prompting of her favorite brother Edward, who is a monk at an e diary includes Catherine's entries of a year in her life which is filled with rich info of life in medieval England. It begins on the 19th of September, 1290 and Catherine writes on the leftover skins from the household accounts. She writes that she is the daughter of a country knight with ten servants and seventy villagers. Catherine's intense dislike of her father is evidenced throughout the diary. She also laments her situation as a girl with limited prospects. All she does on a everyday basis is sew, hem, brew, nurse, and count linen, activities which she does not care for. Instead, she daydreams about going off to war in the Crusades and lead an adventurous life, like some of her brothers and uncle Robert. She also finds herself in a predicament as her father keeps trying to marry her off to a series of incompatible suitors, finally betrothing her to a vile old man whom she calls Shaggy herine is a complex and multi-dimensional hero who is well-delineated. Contrary to the times she lived in, where women were considered no more than chattel to be bartered at will, Catherine is presented as a strong-willed and opinionated young woman. The feelings that Catherine expresses through her diary entries are typical for an adolescent dealing with difficult issues, and though the setting of the story is medieval England, these feelings are relevant in today's context and are feelings a lot of adolescents will identify e author's writing style is witty and engaging with the main hero using interesting and often funny phrases to convey how she is feeling, such as "Corpus Bones!" as an expression of frustration. Catherine is a young woman ahead of her time and a hero a lot of adolescents will relate to.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    Fans of diaries will take to Karen Cushman's CATHERINE, CALLED BIRDY, wherein a 14-year-old girl in 13th-century England spills her innermost thoughts on matters medieval. Chief among Birdy's troubles is her dad (a.k.a. "the Beast") who chooses to marry her off to the disgusting "Shaggy Beard" (a man old enough to be her father). Birdy has used wit and guile to fend off Dad's previous choices, but this time it appears she's stuck.What works well: the tone and characterization of Birdy. We come to have fun her humor, stubbornness, and intelligence as she plays "color man" to the action playing out around her. Thus is the late 13th century created palatable to even history-phobic readers, and Cushman has done her homework, accurately protraying family dynamics, village life, and social mores from mating to medicine.What doesn't work as well: Each entry starts with an italicized bullet about that day's saint (Birdy gets a copy of LIVES OF THE SAINTS early on). Some of these are funny, but most are straightforward and drab. With the number of entries in the diary, readers may be tempted to jump over the saint-of-the-day bits without losing much in the narrative. Finally, the book ends with a bit of deus ex machina. In that sense, Birdy's life becomes a Miracle Play in itself. I guess it's a private call on each reader's part, but I dislike that type of vertheless, a spirited, smart read that should satisfy most readers willing to appreciate not only history, but how the human heart never changes, no matter what the century.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    I love children's books, especially those that can be read by anyone from pre-teen through adult, and read more than once with increasing sophistication over the years. To give you a baseline, my favorites are probably "The Witch of Blackbird Pond," "The Once and Future King," and almost anything by Rosemary Sutcliff. And yes, I re-read books, and some, though not all, keep up. "Birdy" will."Catherine, called Birdy" introduces us to the lives of burgher-class, not royal, English women in the Middle ages. It brings the ugly, grimy, day-to-day reality of the period to life. The setting provides vivid touchstones to enrich anyone's reading of history or novels about the period. Birdy is a stubborn, rebellious delight. The book takes the form of Birdy's notes for Saints' Days--Birdy, taught by one brother, a monk, would rather write than sew, so this is her sometime tradeoff. Over the next few years I'll test to read everything by Karen Cushman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    This short novel, set in medieval times, is listed as a YA book, but adults will love it just as much as their teenage daughters.I've read this several times over the years. I've also read the author's other medieval stories, but this one is the 's realistic, heartwarming, and laugh out loud hilarious.Absolutely highly recommended for anyone interested in medieval life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catherine, Called Birdy review []  2020-1-19 20:45

    Very funny and very descriptive of life in medieval England such as dung along with herbalist in some of the medicinal preparations, the out house, I loved Buddy she takes on life with such energy and the Saints and their feasts days are quite imaginative and some gross. Buddy can both read and write very unusual for her day also in her method of getting rid of the sisters her father (the beast) has tried to Mary her of too at the age of fourteen. It's not all fun and mischief there are is the fear of losing her mother in childbirth and being the one to doctor the wounds and ills not only of the household but the village as well. If you love stories set in medieval England you'll love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beale Street Music Festival review [App]  2019-4-4 13:39

    When using this application in years past, the notifications were spotty. Not "receiving" the notifications, that worked fine, but the Festival organizers using it. While we got notifications for weather similar incidents, there were no notifications about artist schedule changes. Isn't that the purpose for having an app? Also, in non-app similar comments, I hope they have hay/straw and plywood on this year to deal with mud. It's insane when it rains and they seemed ill-equipped to handle it, despite the fact that it happens yearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beale Street Music Festival review [App]  2019-4-4 13:39

    Did everything I wanted it to do!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beale Street Music Festival review [App]  2019-4-4 13:39

    What does this application do? I feel this application missed the tag as to capabilities. Clumsy interface and no true purpose created it uninstallable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beale Street Music Festival review [App]  2019-4-4 13:39

    Doesn't work Doesn't work at all during the actual festival

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beale Street Music Festival review [App]  2019-4-4 13:39

    Did its job I was able to see the shows I wanted to quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beale Street Music Festival review [App]  2019-4-4 13:39

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Bam Classic American Mah Jongg review [App]  2019-10-1 14:2

    I'm not sure what technical problem Andrew had, but it works amazing on my phone. Very elegant Mahjong game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birdie Bam Classic American Mah Jongg review [App]  2019-10-1 14:2

    It will not stop rotating and heats up my tablet!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    This collaboration by husband and wife writing team, Charlotte and Aaron Elkins is a fun read, even if you have no interest in golf. If you like or love the android game this series is definitely for you.Lee Ofsted is a 41st placed golf pro on the Women's Golf circuit. She is, for the first time in her three or 4 year career, steadily "in the money." She takes a break from working steadily all year, and has some quality time with her much neglected fiance` when she receives a totally unexpected invitation to the prestigious Stewart Cup Golf Competition in South Carolina as the one randomly picked women golfer to join the huge names of the game, by the largest name in the field.Terrified she won't measure up to the best in the sport, she is still greatly honored to be chosen. The man who invited her is the best golfer in the country--usually--but has been on a definit slump this year and she must, to her surprise, help him and correct his continuous errors the first android games of he e murder of his caddy doesn't support his game, intrigues Lee's fiance`, a security consultant that is a former homicide policeman, and her best friend, Peg, who has come to South Carolina just to cheer on Lee's game.An attempt on Lee's life, the confusion of why the pro's android game is off, the growing friendship between the sheriff and Lee's fiance` due to the ongoing murder investigation and the involvement (or not) of Lee's faithful caddy, all enliven the story and hold one turning the ages. Do read it--I believe you will have fun it as much as I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    The talented Elkins family produced a series of books starring a very junior professional golfer. This is a most entertaining and congenial entry. I doubt if anyone is less informed than I or less interested in golf as a participant or viewer; nevertheless I never felt myself an outsider. The book is written for anyone who can read, golfers at reminds me!In fact, one need not know how to read, since it is a latest book whose publisher did not restrain robotic reading on the Kindle. Robotic reading does not achieve the dramatic effects produced by the trained actors who, so often, magnify the impact of the prose they are reading. The male robotic voice on Kindle (there is also a female one which can be chosen) is understandable and, in general, creates a straightforward reading. It does take time, however, for the average person with no previous experience to develop the mind-set that allows one instantaneously to translate the mechanical reproduction into an acceptable text. I imagine that Amazon's electronics consultants (or staff) can easily tweak the process so as to produce better pronunciation of common words and better recognition of sentence modifiers. I have been beautiful well happy with the kindle on this own enjoyment of the book centered on an appealing central character, the lady golfer, and the straightforward hero of the text which does not linger lovingly on intricate info of no interest. So for a quick, easily read, light detective story, I can commend this book to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    Aaron Elkins has written books with several, very various characters. This protagonist, a young woman golfer, is different, but Aaron's writing is first class, with everything that he does, so I enjoyed the story as well as the plot, subplots, the method the story resolves, and the anticipation of reading the next book to see what happens to this young woman and her friends. I found the surrounding characters to be as realistic as possible. I'm not sure why the suburban housewife-club golf champ likes the fresh fledgling golf pro so much but otherwise, it is a fun, quick read, and I need the next book in the series the method you need more peanuts or potato chips when you are on a binge. Lee is a first class character.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    This taught me a lot about golf. Finally realizing the difficulties in the android game and what the pros go through. With that piece in put and the amazing story line am totally hooked (no pun intended) on this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    An entertaining book, marred by some formatting problems. There are multiple instances of strikeovers from the editing process that have left in the book. There are left-hand margin problems, also. The book was apparently taken from the British version, as it uses single-quotes all the method through (very distracting). It doesn't look as though anyone proofed this work as an is is the fourth (?) volume of the adventures of Lee Olmstead, golf pro. I've enjoyed them all. I'm knock off one star for formatting problems that should have been caught.Edit: Added one star, as the formatting problems have been addressed. A three-star review is Liked/OK.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    I always love the Elkins' mysteries. They are light-hearted murder mysteries, fun and simple to read.If you are going to delve into the globe of Lee Ofsted, don't begin with this one. Begin with the first in the series -A Wicked Slice and read them in order so that you can love the hero development too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    Enjoyed this second Lee Ofsted mystery even more than the first one I read.Certainly will obtain my Kindle supplied with some of the other mysteries in the n recommend them as a pleasant read for everybody who loves lighthearted mysteries and the wonderfully mysterious android game of ructure, pace and insight in the android game in equal measure part of this entertaining story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    I read all five Lee Ofsted mysteries in a row and found them all enjoyable.I hope that there will be more. It insight into the Pro golfer globe was very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    Boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Have All the Birdies Gone? (Lee Ofsted Mysteries Book 4) review []  2020-1-8 18:56

    I have read all the Lee Ofsted books and this book did not disappoint me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    W.C. Handy's Beale Street: Where The Blues Began review []  2020-1-17 5:15

    I created the mistake of thinking a tribute band could somehow capture the magic of an original artist-at least to some is is the most slicked-down drool anyone can has all the spirit of a barbershop s a completely safe re-creation of W.C Handy's original songs.If the Mills brothers were your thing,maybe this would work for you.If you wish a pack that best captures the soulful snap of the master himself,get an original package.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    W.C. Handy's Beale Street: Where The Blues Began review []  2020-1-17 5:15

    Not quite what I expected

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    W.C. Handy's Beale Street: Where The Blues Began review []  2020-1-17 5:15

    W.C. Handy was a amazing composer/bandleader at the beginning of the 20th century. He initially sold sheet melody of his compositions and later created phonograph records of his famed tunes with his own band, under his own name. If you're looking for vintage recordings by Handy & his band - steer clear of this piece of tourist tripe. This CD was manufactured to be sold to tourists in shops on Beale Road - not to serious record ne of these recordings are by Handy & his band - or by anybody that anybody else even knows. It sounds like your brother-in-law and his back-room boys. It's pathetic! It's deceiving! There is nothing in the packaging that indicates that the band in anything other than Handy, himself. I got burned - save your money!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    W.C. Handy's Beale Street: Where The Blues Began review []  2020-1-17 5:15

    thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    W.C. Handy's Beale Street: Where The Blues Began review []  2020-1-17 5:15

    Nice to listen to.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    W.C. Handy's Beale Street: Where The Blues Began review []  2020-1-17 5:15

    These recordings show opportunities to hear Handy's work - but I doubt they will inspire others to perform those lesser known tunes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    W.C. Handy's Beale Street: Where The Blues Began review []  2020-1-17 5:15

    What created me purchase this CD was from a film I saw on Television called "St. Louis Blues" starring Nat King Cole. 1944b/ was of coarse the life story of W.C. Handy from Memphis Tennessee, who came from a strick religious background and developed the love for Jazz and the Blues. I watched this film as I was trying to understand the nature of his dad who was a preacher in Memphis and wanted his son to follow in his footsteps to spread the word of the Lord.But he didn't and went in another direction and his pursuit of Jazz.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    Very impressed with the story and the author is very adept in his storytelling and impressive in his descriptive storytelling. I have no issue awarding the five stars to this story, as I was glued to book from page one.I will definitely be reading any story by this author, as he has a very exceptionally well motivated thought train. I have found very few books that just reaches out and grabs my full attention immediately, but both of these two stories did just that.I, without hesitation, recommend both of these novels, but, please, read them in order. I will have to reread the second book again just to clarify all the facts. Do not miss the opportunity to read these books, as you will be the loser!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    I gave up at about 36%. There was nothing in the story or the storytelling to convince me to hold ere were so a lot of errors:formattingpunctuationfactuallay versus lieinconsistent errors (Bar-back then bar back)misplaced modifiersrun-on sentencesnon-sentencesplot holes (You can hear someone yell "Ya!" at a horse but not hear a gunshot?)confusing plural & possessiveMorriss'sThe final straw was when the tense changed multiple times in the same paragraph."Ellie's lip quivered and eyes glossed over, but she blinks it away and her face hardens as she wrestles with her emotion. She is always so powerful and fiesty. Frank was surprised to see such raw emotion cross her face. He liked that Ellie had a soft compassionate side to her, even if she does not like to present it."The book just wasn't remotely interesting enough to wade through items like that. I'm so glad I got it for free.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    As a rule, I never read Westerns and hope I'm never stranded on a desert island with nothing but a trunkful of Westerns, although under those circumstances, I would read every ever, this series caught my eye with The Servant Girl Murders. I started reading Fresh Orleans Lynchings and decided I required to go back and read the first book, The Beale arently these stories are based on true events, and the author has turned those bits of history into interesting and entertaining stories about a bounty hunter called Frank Vito.If you like learning a small history while being entertained, you ought to give this series a shot.31

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    Nice clean read and being male, I appreciate you letting the ladies victory occasionally.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    Frank Vito is a bounty hunter. He heads to Lynchberg due to an urgent notice from his partner to search out he has been murdered. Bushwacked. Ambushed. Their target is is town. Vito also also meets Ellie, as attractive and as tough as they come. A cowgirl who can outdraw almost any man. She is looking for a long lost treasure. She and Frank form a partner ship and she turns out to be quite an asset. Terrific historical western!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    I have lived in Lynchburg, VA all my life and heard of the Beale treasure all my life. There was a latest expedition searching for the treasure, so this is still a viable idea. I don't believe it is still there, but the book certainly has a lot of info about the letters that Beale sent to family telling about part of the map. This book deals with two murderous brothers who are looking for the treasure and will slay anyone in their way. Following them is a bounty hunter and a woman also searching for gold.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    Well written, very believable. I read a lot of western s and this is a ten. Buy it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    I love the independence and strength of Frank's lady partner! Not afraid to speak her mind to Frank. Very capable lady. This Lady kept me from my yardwork, couldn't obtain anything done , had to obtain a Coffee and hold reading! Frank listened to her and did what he wanted to anyway ! Captivating Read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    I had read about the Beale Treasure before. This further explained the story. Amazing luck to those who look for it. Remember, the government will take most, if not all of it. Best to hold the search private.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Beale Treasure: A Frank Vito Bounty Hunter Series (Historical Western Mystery) Book 1 review []  2020-1-16 1:58

    What a amazing book. It has such a amazing story line and you can read it in just a few hours, which is amazing because you can't place it down once you begin reading. It is very well written. Excited to read this series!!!

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter