Read before i go reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all before i go reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    Amazing book. Daughter enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    Thank you Sourcebooks for the arc via Edelweiss. I really did not know how this was going to end. I enjoyed the characters and the theme of death and conquering fear. At times i felt like i was watching a scary movie. I look forward to reading other works of the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    The short chapters create this book simple to fly through. I have read better thrillers but this book kept my attention and that is not something I can say about all thrillers. I would recommend if you wish a fast read.

    0  


    Add your opinion on before i go or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    Before I Allow Go is a dark novel about one city that beautiful much loses its collective mind. Fitting then that the city happens to be called Lost. What Corey finds upon her return to this remote Alaskan community is anything but normal and difficult to believe. Set during early spring in northern Alaska, when the sun returns but only briefly, the entire tone of the novel is disturbing as the answers Corey seeks prove to be risky to takes a lot to rattle me, but rattle me Before I Allow Go did. The townspeople's actions towards Corey are not just discomforting but downright sinister. It is difficult to envision an entire city ganging up on one of their own, making threats, and going out of their method to cause as a lot of issues for the returnee as possible, and yet this is what happens to Corey. The unbelievability of it all as well as the sinister undertones create for damn uncomfortable rey adds to your discomfiture by being a rather whiny character. She is completely unable to accept the truth until it is almost too late, long after you have already figured out what happened. Her unwillingness to see what is right in front of her is frustrating, especially as it causes her to create some not good choices. She also spends a lot of time contemplating her friendship and what it means to be a friend. We do obtain some amazing insight out of this, especially as it pertains to someone with a mental illness. However, the rest of the novel does not fit with this more internalized story. It is as if in Corey, the author tried to make a story within a story even though the two clash more than overall issue with Before I Allow Go is that I have no idea what it is meant to be. Is it a cautionary tale about friendship? Is it a thriller? Is it supposed to be realistic? Is it just supposed to be entertaining? Throwing me off even more is the introspection Corey does as she tries to learn more about what happened to Kyra. Does this create it a coming-of-age story? I just do not know, and this bothers me. I usually have fun stories that cross multiple genres at once, but this leaves me perplexed. The two stories - why/how did Kyra die and how Corey is handling it - are not tightly woven together but appear as separate and distinct. Add in the creepy and highly unrealistic city transformation and you have a novel that is as confusing as it is e townspeople and their actions are so creepy and the story is so dark that I finished Before I Allow Go with a sigh of relief and thankful to be able to place it behind me. This is not because the story is shocking. The answers, when you finally get them, are not much of a surprise even if they are as odd as you suspect they will be. I suspect my relief was more due to the fact that I was done with this weirdly unrealistic novel masking as contemporary fiction and could move on to more pleasant reading, which is not how you should ever wish to feel finishing any story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go []  2021-4-8 18:0

    For the person who has procrastinated planning for the final disposition of his/her tangible or intangible assets, this is a must. It is well written, simple to understand, and comprehensive. I highly recommend it along with its companion workbook.DDR

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go []  2021-4-8 18:0

    Perfect summary of what everyone needs to do as part of their estate planning ople believe that they have completed their estate plans when they have a will or trust prepared by an attorney. Nothing could be further from the truth. The info people need when a spouse dies often dies with fore I Go begins with a review of Advance Directives, moves on to funeral planning and then gets into the financial problems that people face after the death of a loved anning for ones own demise is no one's idea of a amazing time, but avoidance of the problem does not stop the inevitable. It is wisdom and kindness to ones family to prepare.Korving is best known as an investment adviser specializing in retirement planning. He uses his experience developed over 25 years helping people deal with the emotional and financial problems surrounding the death of a spouse. The tip he gives in Before I Go is invaluable and the accompanying workbook allows both the husband and wife to provide the info that one or the other will need when that time comes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    "Before I Allow Go" was a beautiful special piece of YA fiction- I'm not sure how to categorize it, maybe as a psychological thriller. We follow Corey from the time she found out her BFF, Kyra, has died over the course of her short trip to Lost Creek, Alaska, the put she used to know as home. Corey left city several months ago to attend a boarding school, when her mother moved away. She was really sad to leave Kyra behind, but they promised to stay in touch and wait for each other- and they were almost there. This is why Corey is shocked to hear that Kyra's death is considered suicidal (it is believed she looked for a crack in the ice and drowned).The story is told in pieces- we have the show events, happenings from the past few years of Kyra/Corey together, and letters which Kyra had written but not sent to Corey (plus some stylistic writing as if a screenplay). Together, it makes for an incredibly engaging story. We obtain to place together the pieces of Kyra and Corey separately and together through their friendship. There is a huge disconnect between the city Corey left and the one she returns to. The whole story is shrouded in mystery and grief- and it had the feel of a thriller at times. The city and the people in it had a very surreal feel, almost like Stepford, where you know there has to be more to the story and it's really creepy and you're dying to figure out why. This book ended up being a fast read for me, primarily for that reason- I absolutely had to figure out what happened to Kyra and what would happen to e pace of this book is absolutely perfect, and the descriptions of Kyra really brought her to life. Corey was less well-developed, despite being the basic character. It was a really interesting format, where although being told from Corey's point-of-view, the hero we obtain to know best and understand the most is Kyra. I also thought the depiction of bipolar disorder in this book was well done- it goes through examples of both her highs and her lows, plus some of her coping mechanisms and thoughts about the disease. It felt beautiful genuine. The rest of the story felt more surreal, and considering that Kyra loved stories and fables, it almost felt like the book was it's own story (maybe enhanced in the retelling). I'm not saying that as a poor thing- it gave the overall tone an interesting quality that created it all a bit more of a mystery.Overall, I think this was a really intriguing and special story along the lines of a psychological thriller. Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    The concept is really good, though the back & forth structure of the storytelling gets annoying. There’s a nice depth to the characters of Corey and Kyra. None of the other characters are given enough attention to be very believable. The mental illness storyline is very interesting, but the ever-present supernatural, other-worldly backdrop detracts from that. As an older, more experienced reader, I’m looking for more. However, I do think this would be an appealing read to a lot of of today’s teen girls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    Creepy amazing book! Enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go []  2021-4-8 18:0

    Every husband, wife or significant other needs to read this book and follow through with the workbook. What a unbelievable bonus to leave behind when you leave this earth. Everyone who has ever had to deal with the estate of a loved one knows how necessary it is to leave amazing records .....it can be mind boggling trying to locate important, accounts numbers, insurance policies, etc. Korving gives each one of us the put not only to record financial info but also our own wishes regarding our own funeral. As a financial adviser, he also clears up the differences between wills, trusts, titling of assets etc. that can support you have your "ducks in a row" when your time comes. A must purchase...both the booklet and workbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    The setting is one of the best parts of this book. The physical locations -- natural and human-made -- really come through, and they're important. They're sometimes beautiful, sometimes peaceful, sometimes terrifying, sometimes rey and Kyra's friendship felt so true and necessary and somehow both powerful and fragile, like a Prince Rupert's drop. I've had a friendship like that (though it looked different), so I appreciated seeing that tension on page.I really appreciated Eileen, Roshan, Sam, and Aaron as side characters. And of all the other people in Lost, I found Piper in particular to be the creepiest.I do want we knew more about Corey. I feel like I know her voice really well as a reader, and her relationship with Kyra over the past few years, but I only know a few other facts or stories about her. But ultimately, this feels like a book about Kyra and Corey-and-Kyra more than one about Corey, so maybe that's okay.I liked the a representation, but I wished Corey's questioning about her romantic orientation came through more clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    At times sad, at others creepy. I can imagine an isolated city losing its collective sanity like what happens in this book. No winners here, only survivors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let Go []  2020-1-31 22:28

    When Corey moved away from her home city of snow covered Lost Creek, Alaska she promised her best friend, Kyra, that she would always stay in touch and always be there for her. As with most teens though Corey’s fresh life and fresh mates she created after her move kept her busy so she wasn’t the best with keeping in touch with Kyra. Corey did have plans for returning to Lost Creek very soon though and finally seeing Kyra again.Unfortunately Corey receives a phone call that Kyra has passed away, she was found under the ice in the lake that should have been frozen solid this time of year. Some think that Kyra purposely went looking for a weak spot in the ice and a method to end her own life after battling mental illness for years. Corey knows she needs to return to Lost Creek and obtain some answers on just what happened to her best fore I Allow Go by Marieke Nijkamp is a young adult mystery read. After finishing this book I’m beginning to think that perhaps Marieke Nijkamp is just not an author for me. Latest year I read This Is Where It Ends and while the idea behind the story was one that I was really taken in with the execution of the book left a lot to be desired for me and unfortunately now I can say the same with Before I Allow Go.I think really my largest problem with this book came with the hero development which was beautiful non-existent. Corey is really the only hero that felt developed and I search myself hard pressed to say even that as all that is repeated is she and Kyra had been close so now instead of owning up to her own mistakes she is determined to search who is at fault for Kyra’s death which should be touching and emotional but instead I just disliked Corey and found myself not caring if other’s were at fault or as far as the mystery is concerned in this one it is buried within the repetitive nature of Corey blaming the city and eventually does come to light. It’s one that I might have been really taken with as there was a creepy and disturbing vibe but if I blinked while reading I would have missed it as that part of the story wasn’t developed very well in my opinion. So as sad as I am to say this one just wasn’t for me and as much as the ideas behind Ms. Nijkamp’s stories appeal to me I think this may be my latest attempt.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go []  2021-4-8 18:0

    Arie Korving's fresh book "Before I Go" is a unbelievable preparatory book for any one who is serious about leaving the right financial legacy for your loved ones. I highly recommend this book, and its accompanying syllabus for corporations, groups, churches or any organization that strives for amazing education. "Real planning, from a true planner." Amazing job, Mr. Korving!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    This book has so a lot of amazing reviews. I wasn't quite as enthusiastic. There were plenty of inconsistencies. The story centered around two sisters, Lexi, who is a doctor, and Annie, a once promising writer, who is now a heroin addict. Their lives are ripped apart as young teens when their firefighter father dies and they move with their mother to a strict religious community. The book was set in Alabama, yet that wasn't quite believable, the language was off. 'Class A ', 'booked an abortion', 'fall pregnant', using the word 'partner' instead of boyfriend......etc., people in the South don't talk that way. I then saw that the author was from Australia, so the language inconsistencies created more sense,This was a tragic story, filled with loss, pain and regret. The religious cult storyline was a bit wonderful for me. I also found Sam, Lexi's doctor fiance impossibly one dimensional. He was storybook perfect, sappy and unrealistic. Not sure if I would read another book by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    This story was both a heartbreaking and heartwarming tale of the love between two sisters. Annie is a addict facing the largest issue of her life. She is strung out, pregnant and in premature labor. Not knowing what else to do she calls her huge sister, Lexie, for help. Lexie has always been more of a mother than a sister to Annie. She has always stepped in to support her small sister throughout the trials of her life, with unwavering love and compassion.Annie's addiction was fueled by her childhood. The early loss of her father and the traumatic years that followed led her down a dark path where offered her the only escape she felt worthy of having. Now, she is faced with jail time and the possible loss of her daughter if she doesn't complete a rehab program and remain e story is told in alternating voices between Lexie's perspective as she struggles to take care of her newborn niece and Annie's journal entries. The journal entries offer insight into how Annie ended up the method she did and they are heartbreaking in their ide from the obvious bond between the sisters another aspect I really enjoyed from the book was Lexie's fiance, Sam. What an awesome man! Honestly, I know he was fictional but he seriously created me swoon. He was so patient, loving and compassionate.On the other hand, I was so infuriated by Lexie & Annie's mother. I just wanted to shake her to knock some sense into her!Though I knew what the ending would keep it still broke my heart. There were no surprises in the plot but the story was well told. It was thought-provoking regarding the problem of addicted pregnant women & mothers. It was also an honest look at addiction, family, loss, secrets, love and forgiveness. This story definitely has triggers so go into it aware but I feel that Kelly Rimmer handled these tough subjects with compassion, hope and honesty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    an engrossing story about sisters hard to place down until the end--Lyn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    Recommend this book very highly. Thought provoking subject. I don’t wish to give anything away about this book, however for the first time ever, I wrote down all of my answers for the book club questions at the end of the book. I wanted to be sure to remember how I felt after finishing the book. I have loved all of Kelly Rimmer’s books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    I was literally up all night reading Before I Allow You Go, because once I started reading it, I couldn’t stop. It starts out as a conventional romance – Lexie and @#$%!&?th doctors, are settling into the fresh home they’re remodeling – but almost immediately Lexie gets a call from her younger sister Annie, begging for help. Annie, it turns out, is a addict. She’s also pregnant, and being on while pregnant is, because of a badly written law, criminal behavior in e book then tells the story from the parallel points of view of Lexie and Annie, though Lexie’s chapters are in the present, and Annie’s, which are dominated by journal entries addressed to Luke (we learn who he is mid-way through the novel) mostly detail the roughout it all, Sam is there, being the supportive fiance, insisting to Lexie that they’re a team, and ensuring that she takes care of herself, even when she’s trying to take care of m is one of the best-written male characters I’ve seen in latest “women’s fiction” (I hate that term). He’s his own person, but he’s also a key help for Lexie, and in a lot of ways, I felt that he was the heart of this story. Still, it’s really about Lexie and Annie, and eventually their mother, and Annie’s daughter, Daisy, and as a portrait of sisters who both love each other fiercely and frustrate each other completely, it’s a brilliantly crafted piece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    This book was such an emotional ride. I didn't wish to place it down because I could relate to so a lot of things going on in this story. So a lot of people have dealt with these problems and have given their life's blood to support the ones they love. What more can we do?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    I haven't read a story that so captured me from the first chapter. So relevant in this current globe we live in. Should be a must read for all to have a better understanding of addiction and it's tentacles. Although I'm sure a lot of have lived this. A disease so horrific that won't allow go even when the addicted is so...ready with every reason and hope. I don't think I've cried so hard, feeling every pain and gained a better understanding of this disease that is infiltrating our humanity. A Must Read...!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    An honest and heartfelt story about addiction. More people need to realize it is a disease, and as a country we need to change how we deal with addiction. It destroys families and lives!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    This is heart wrenching family drama / contemporary fiction earned four stars from MMARYWith a rewarding medical career and a fabulous fiancee, Lexie's life is going extremely well up until she gets the late night phone call she has been dreading for the past two years. Her younger sister is on the other end of the phone and desperately needs her o years ago Lexie chop her sister, Annie, out of her life after years of dealing with Annie's heroine addiction. Now Annie desperately needs her and Lexie comes running.WHAT I LOVEDThis was a amazing story, so sad and frustrating yet beautiful, well told.WHAT I DIDN'T LOVESam was a small too amazing to be true. He seemed like a romance novel character.OVERALLGreat book. Totally worth reading. Don't take the length of this review as a statement on the quality of the story, take it as a statement on the fact that my life is crazy busy at the moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go [Book]  2018-7-10 18:0

    “Addiction is... just like love -in the early moments, you don’t see the potential for it to bring you pain- it’s something you slide into between laughs and smiles and moments of bliss. It’s something that feels like a shield, until you realize it’s actually a warhead, and it’s pointed right at you.”This is a story of two sisters. Lexie finally has her life together when her addicted sister calls her in the middle of the night needing help... she’s pregnant and can’t go to the hospital because she’ll be arrested for kid endangerment. Lexie wants to support because the baby is in danger, but she’s tired of constantly bailing Annie out.I am utterly amazed by how well written this book was. You will begin this book with your preconceived ideas and judgments of addiction, and you will close the book thinking about human compassion, mental health, and an aching is book packs the emotional punch of some of my most beloved novels by Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah. It was powerful, it was moving, but it was also so authentic and gut wrenching. If you’re looking for a book to take you on an emotional roller coaster, then I highly recommend you pick this one up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    Best psychological thriller that I have read in a long time. I could not guess the ending. The author does a amazing job in keeping you in suspense. Could not place the book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    I love this book! I couldn’t place it down but also wanted it to latest longer. It’s true and emotional, personal; yet relatable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    I was literally up all night reading Before I Allow You Go, because once I started reading it, I couldn’t stop. It starts out as a conventional romance – Lexie and @#$%!&?th doctors, are settling into the fresh home they’re remodeling – but almost immediately Lexie gets a call from her younger sister Annie, begging for help. Annie, it turns out, is a addict. She’s also pregnant, and being on while pregnant is, because of a badly written law, criminal behavior in e book then tells the story from the parallel points of view of Lexie and Annie, though Lexie’s chapters are in the present, and Annie’s, which are dominated by journal entries addressed to Luke (we learn who he is mid-way through the novel) mostly detail the roughout it all, Sam is there, being the supportive fiance, insisting to Lexie that they’re a team, and ensuring that she takes care of herself, even when she’s trying to take care of m is one of the best-written male characters I’ve seen in latest “women’s fiction” (I hate that term). He’s his own person, but he’s also a key help for Lexie, and in a lot of ways, I felt that he was the heart of this story. Still, it’s really about Lexie and Annie, and eventually their mother, and Annie’s daughter, Daisy, and as a portrait of sisters who both love each other fiercely and frustrate each other completely, it’s a brilliantly crafted piece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    This is heart wrenching family drama / contemporary fiction earned four stars from MMARYWith a rewarding medical career and a fabulous fiancee, Lexie's life is going extremely well up until she gets the late night phone call she has been dreading for the past two years. Her younger sister is on the other end of the phone and desperately needs her o years ago Lexie chop her sister, Annie, out of her life after years of dealing with Annie's heroine addiction. Now Annie desperately needs her and Lexie comes running.WHAT I LOVEDThis was a amazing story, so sad and frustrating yet beautiful, well told.WHAT I DIDN'T LOVESam was a small too amazing to be true. He seemed like a romance novel character.OVERALLGreat book. Totally worth reading. Don't take the length of this review as a statement on the quality of the story, take it as a statement on the fact that my life is crazy busy at the moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    I recommend the book to all e only characters I liked in this book were Dr. Sam and Daisy. Dr. Lexi stayed on an emotional roller coaster that did not mesh with her vocation or her relationships. Annie and her mother were throw away characters. Yes, you read that correctly. Annie was a throw away. Then there was Robert. Did what he did to Annie cause her to turn to ? If Lexi and Annie's father had not died, would Annie have not become an addict? The author, I think, assumes so to both questions. I think I wish to blame some hero and some happening for Annie's tortured life, and that is a faulty obtain out of jail that I have beautiful much trashed the author, allow me say that I stayed with this book night and day. It is an extraordinary read. The author's writing mechanics were ank you, Ms. Rimmer, for a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    Write it down quick, or tomorrow you won't remember either. Epic story of a tragic incident. One she tries everyday to recall. How do you cope with not knowing anything about your current life-every single day?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    I was excited to read this book when I first saw it on here, I hadn't read anything by Kuhn but some people had said that if you liked Kaur you'd like her. But they are so various in their styles and their writing is impactful in various ways, that I think its a bit difficult to compare the two. This book focuses on mental health and how our mental health can not only affect us but our relationships. Some reviews I saw were annoyed because of the small journal entries slipped throughout the book but I enjoyed them. They were raw and vulnerable and I think there's something to be said about that. I quite enjoyed the journal entries along with the poetry. There wasn't a lot of hidden meanings which I know can have some people stay away from poetry. I've returned back to this book multiple times after my first read-throughs. I couldn't reccomend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    Just like her first book, Eighteen Years, Kuhn is able to capture the weird and emotional moments of being in your early 20s. When I first received the book, I read it from 11 pm to 1 am. I couldn’t place it down. She has not disappointed me at all and I don’t think I will ever not buy something of hers. I love her poetry so much, and she is by far my most favorite poet. ♥️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    I wanted to say “If you’re feeling/ have felt lost, confused, lonely, unlovable...etc.” but every emotion and feeling relates to this book. It is, hands down, a book you should have in your house/bedroom, so you know you are never alone. I felt the presence of the author. her ability to phrase everything i’ve felt and am currently feeling. To have someone actually be able to write down words you’ve had a struggle to speak and comprehend, because the feeling of feeling everything is so hard to express, is so comforting. i’m so very thankful for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    Lexie and Annie are sisters who shared a tough upbringing in a closed fundamentalist sect after their father died and their mother remarried an elder in the sect. Plucked out of a normal, satisfied childhood they were created to wear long modest skirts and headscarves they were not allowed outside of the community, forbidden any media or famous books and harshly beaten by their stepfather for any little misdeamour. Lexie bowed down to this regime, gritted her teeth and ran away when she turned 16 and wasn't allowed any further education. Annie, on the other hand, rebelled versus being disciplined and although Lexie did her best to look out for her, life got even worse for Annie when Lexie both adults and living outside the community in Alabama, their lives have taken very various paths. Lexie studied hard, became a doctor and is engaged to Sam, a surgeon and a wonderful, understanding man. Annie struggled after she left the community and eventually turned to and alcohol to relieve her pain and frustration. Although Lexie tried to support Annie through several courses of rehab, nothing worked and they eventually lost touch. But now Annie is pregnant and sick and contacts Lexie as a latest resort. She's still using heroin and under Alabama laws she could keep a jail sentence and have the baby taken from her for being an is was a very emotionally draining book. I had no idea that some states in the U.S had such draconian laws that don't seem to be in the best interests of the baby or the mother. Withdrawal from addiction is very hard for the baby and the people caring for it and the author pulls no punches in describing that process. However, the mother gets one shot at rehab and if that fails she is sent to jail regardless of her cirtances. Although Annie was lucky to have Lexie and Sam's support, no one really understood why she became addicted and why it was so hard for her to stick with rehab. In alternating the current happenings with Annie's entries in a journal she starts writing at the clinic, the author shows us how Annie's past led to her slow spiral into dependence. This was a very thoughtful and insightful look into the problems of addiction, religious sects, childhood abuse and the struggles that families have helping those with addictions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    “Addiction is... just like love -in the early moments, you don’t see the potential for it to bring you pain- it’s something you slide into between laughs and smiles and moments of bliss. It’s something that feels like a shield, until you realize it’s actually a warhead, and it’s pointed right at you.”This is a story of two sisters. Lexie finally has her life together when her addicted sister calls her in the middle of the night needing help... she’s pregnant and can’t go to the hospital because she’ll be arrested for kid endangerment. Lexie wants to support because the baby is in danger, but she’s tired of constantly bailing Annie out.I am utterly amazed by how well written this book was. You will begin this book with your preconceived ideas and judgments of addiction, and you will close the book thinking about human compassion, mental health, and an aching is book packs the emotional punch of some of my most beloved novels by Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah. It was powerful, it was moving, but it was also so authentic and gut wrenching. If you’re looking for a book to take you on an emotional roller coaster, then I highly recommend you pick this one up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    in her first book, madisen laid her claim in the globe of modern poetry. with her second, she has set herself on a pedastal among the best of the best. she truly has a method with words that not a lot of other poets of this time have. she writes with so much honesty, yet keeps it eloquent and sophisticated. her poems capture the raw, gritty emotions that people face with no filter. rather than an attractive, empty sentence, madisen knows how to string words together in such a method that the reader is left chewing and digesting, reading again and again to catch what they missed. her poems create you think, discover, and leave you breathless. this book is truly awesome and i recommend it to all who are interested. you will not be disappointed, and you will search a poem or twenty that resonate with you so much so that you plaster the words on your journal pages, and your heart, for future reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    This is M.K.'s second book, and it is awesome to see how much she has grown; Both in her writing and private experience. I have been following her since the tumblr days, and watching her fall more in love with her passion, poetry, self and C has felt like a fairytale. Do yourself and buy yourself this book, this is REAL modern poetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    Ever since picking up Madisens first book “eighteen” I’ve been completely infatuated and in love with her as a writer. This book has become not only my fresh go to for a amazing read, but my fresh favorite of all my collection. She has outdone herself with this one. It’s inspiring, heart wrenching yet heart warming. I want I could read it for the first time again, so lovely. I recommend if you’re a looking for a poetry book that will create you feel with every word

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    Madisen's sophomore book speaks volumes in her growth. Please Don't Go Before I Obtain Better will take you on the journey of growing up even in the most difficult times. Presents the struggles of mental health, but overcoming them in magical ways. It's about taking risks and having to distance yourself from those you love, only then will you really search each other again. This book is suited for readers of any age and I HIGHLY recommend to bask in the wisdom this work offers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    Perfect book ! I couldn't stop reading. The plot dances across the pages keeping you engaged in the characters and the story. Its not a book you have all figured out, it keeps you ensnared in the mystery and suspense to the very end. Don't miss this unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    This book moved a small slowly in the beginning, but once it got going, I couldn't place it down. The ending was clever and fulfilling. Too often, authors seem to obtain so caught up in creating a 'twist' ending that the reader is left saying, "Wait, what? Where did that come from?" The best novels unravel in a method that culminates with a feeling of "Ah yes, I see it now!" This is one of those novels. Perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    I haven't read a story that so captured me from the first chapter. So relevant in this current globe we live in. Should be a must read for all to have a better understanding of addiction and it's tentacles. Although I'm sure a lot of have lived this. A disease so horrific that won't allow go even when the addicted is so...ready with every reason and hope. I don't think I've cried so hard, feeling every pain and gained a better understanding of this disease that is infiltrating our humanity. A Must Read...!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    The author’s intent to draw attention to a very necessary problem is commendable, but the story and it’s telling just seemed contrived to me. One example being Lexie’s boss gives her only a week or two to settle her family issues or quit. The FMLA ensures that you obtain at least 12 weeks of unpaid leave for family similar hardships. I also found Lexie’s angst got irritating after a while. Her narration/thoughts were very repetitious and Sam was definitely too amazing to be true. The subject of this book is necessary but it just didn’t quite hit the mark. I was bored and could not wait for the book to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    This is an awesome book. I think it was on one of the amazon kindle everyday deals or something, and I was trying to save those that I'd randomly bought for when I go to Spain in August, but i mistook this one for a book I thought i took out of the library and began reading it and couldn't stop. Have you ever seen the film Memento? If you haven't, go see it, I saw it in the theatre all those years ago, but it's on netflix on demand right now. He has no memory and is trying to uncover his life and mystery. Well our main hero here wakes up every single day, not remembering anything from her adult life, or any of the days before. Whatever she learns that day, she forgets when she falls asleep. She begins keeping a journal, and trying to piece together the mystery that is her life. Throughout the book we're trying to decide who to trust - her husband, her therapist, can she even trust herself? What is real and what is not? Your mind is thinking the entire time, until the very end, although by then i'd beautiful much figured it out. It's just the whole thing is so interesting coming from the point of view of an unreliable narrator. Every single thing could be wrong. I highly recommend this book. It's thoughtful and engaging at the same time. It could obtain bogged down with being smart, but it's not. It's a definite page-turner, and I appreciated reading it on my fresh kindle because i can read so much faster when i don't have to physically turn a page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys this type of story. It keeps the reader in suspense from the beginning to the final page. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    'Please Don't Go Before I Obtain Better' is a testament to us twenty-somethings trying search ourselves and the heart ache we experience along with way. I've been a fan of Madisen's since before 'eighteen years' and her writing, while more mature, hits home, drawing tears from my eyes. Buy this book. You will not regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    This book has so a lot of amazing reviews. I wasn't quite as enthusiastic. There were plenty of inconsistencies. The story centered around two sisters, Lexi, who is a doctor, and Annie, a once promising writer, who is now a heroin addict. Their lives are ripped apart as young teens when their firefighter father dies and they move with their mother to a strict religious community. The book was set in Alabama, yet that wasn't quite believable, the language was off. 'Class A ', 'booked an abortion', 'fall pregnant', using the word 'partner' instead of boyfriend......etc., people in the South don't talk that way. I then saw that the author was from Australia, so the language inconsistencies created more sense,This was a tragic story, filled with loss, pain and regret. The religious cult storyline was a bit wonderful for me. I also found Sam, Lexi's doctor fiance impossibly one dimensional. He was storybook perfect, sappy and unrealistic. Not sure if I would read another book by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    This story was both a heartbreaking and heartwarming tale of the love between two sisters. Annie is a addict facing the largest issue of her life. She is strung out, pregnant and in premature labor. Not knowing what else to do she calls her huge sister, Lexie, for help. Lexie has always been more of a mother than a sister to Annie. She has always stepped in to support her small sister throughout the trials of her life, with unwavering love and compassion.Annie's addiction was fueled by her childhood. The early loss of her father and the traumatic years that followed led her down a dark path where offered her the only escape she felt worthy of having. Now, she is faced with jail time and the possible loss of her daughter if she doesn't complete a rehab program and remain e story is told in alternating voices between Lexie's perspective as she struggles to take care of her newborn niece and Annie's journal entries. The journal entries offer insight into how Annie ended up the method she did and they are heartbreaking in their ide from the obvious bond between the sisters another aspect I really enjoyed from the book was Lexie's fiance, Sam. What an awesome man! Honestly, I know he was fictional but he seriously created me swoon. He was so patient, loving and compassionate.On the other hand, I was so infuriated by Lexie & Annie's mother. I just wanted to shake her to knock some sense into her!Though I knew what the ending would keep it still broke my heart. There were no surprises in the plot but the story was well told. It was thought-provoking regarding the problem of addicted pregnant women & mothers. It was also an honest look at addiction, family, loss, secrets, love and forgiveness. This story definitely has triggers so go into it aware but I feel that Kelly Rimmer handled these tough subjects with compassion, hope and honesty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    This was a very interesting, special story. I enjoyed it very much, though I felt it dragged quite a bit about 3/4 of the method into the tale. I also felt the ending was slightly unfinished. But I liked it nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    Definitely a page turner. Did not see the movie, but kept imagining Nicole Kidman and Colin Firth. I think probably the characters would have been much more....unglamorous. Much has been written in other reviews, so I won't repeat. I will say that the scenes of violence were effectively written, so that I read every word without needing to skip through them, which I normally do. I had a mate who experienced the same violent treatment from an ex-husband, and I usually just close books and leave them when these scenes come up. However the ones in this book were especially well-handled. Kudos, S.J. Watson.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    On the one hand, this story completely sucked me in - I finished it in three days straight, and almost entirely place off reading any other books during that time (I'm usually reading at least 3 or 4 books at a time).On the other hand, about halfway through, I felt like I was reading less because I was enjoying the ride, and more because I was anxious to search out how it ended. Kudos to S. J. Watson to making a story that drives the reader to wish to know the ending so badly, I guess, but I like to have fun the journey as much as the destination, and that just wasn't event for me after a certain point. As other reviewers have mentioned, the ending also left something to be desired. I felt the ending created sense, but it wrapped up a small too quickly, and didn't leave me feeling particularly l the same, I do think that the author does a fair job at holding together tricky details, and that the conceit was interesting. It was a quick and (mostly) enjoyable read - a amazing airplane read, maybe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-31 18:0

    The was one of the most confusing books I've ever read. Each time I picked it up again I had to read back a few pages to test to figure out what was going on. Just too far fetched and disconnected for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Please Don't Go Before I Get Better []  2020-2-6 20:51

    Madisen is one of my favorite authors on Earth. Her writing is so relatable and I would sit and read her grocery list if I could. PDGBIGB is such a amazing book for my current state in life as I’m in that awkward in between teenager - adult phase where I feel like I have no place. This book makes me feel like I have a place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Let You Go: A Novel []  2021-1-31 18:0

    I gave this four stars because the writing and story was good. But I am not sure how I feel about this book. It is very a sad situation.I blame the mother (Deborah) 100%. She received a pension and her home mortgage was paid off after her husband dies. All she required to do was obtain off [email protected]#$% and obtain some type of job. She was not educated, but she could of gone to work at a grocery shop where they obtain a pension, pay raises and are in union. At least here in NJ they do. Maybe in Alabama they do not. Then obtain two jobs, do what it takes to take care of her two girls. Going back to that sect was insane. What kind of mother allows some man to beat and degrade her girls? No excuses sorry. To me she was lazy and took the simple method out for her.I was not so sure about Sam either. He seemed a small controlling. If I read one more time about how Alexis required to ask him for help, I was going to scream. Most men run from that kind of baggage. He seemed a small unbelievable. To me he was annoying.I just did not connect with this book for some reason. But I do recommend it because I think some women would relate to this story. Plus, the author is making a powerful point regarding addiction, abuse and how women are viewed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    Another of CS&N's greatest tracks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    Gotta love the harmonies of CSN.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    This is a amazing song, very moody, and full of harmony. The quality is excellent. I used to listen to this song as a child and it still sounds just like it did then.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    GOOD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    Love the old songs. It takes me back to my high school and college days. And no they didn't play harpsichord back then. But I got to say I don't listen to much melody that came out after the 90's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    If you drove or rode in a hot rod from the late 60's-early 70's as I recall on a very long street trip...an 8 track player was the magic carpet into the soaring melodies of these smooth sounding stars . How these three artisans could be together and managing to place so much praiseworthy melody for even one single is difficult for me to fathom , I know this groups history , now , which really causes me to be amazed that they could sing together at all , but I am convinced that my street trip would not have seemed too short if not for this song and this 8 track tape. As poor as those players were I am still surprised at how this song/album/group continues to astonish me with their skill . Thank You Stills & Nash for putting yourselves with Crosby again so that several more generations can appreciate what has always sounded like Southern Rock to me , but that was a trip from Texas to Alabama so I may be influenced by I-20 .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    When you think harmony, CSN is at the apex. This song exemplifies their characteristic harmonizing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    If you love 60's melody this is a must have for your collection. CSN had a lot of amazing hits and this is just one of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    Good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just a Song Before I Go (2018 Remaster) []  2020-12-5 21:8

    Unbelievable original song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    I have been in turmoil over my pending divorce for months, making poor decisions. not understanding how heartless my wife could be by pushing me to just sign the divorce papers when I told her I am depressed over everything. This book helped me see why my actions weren't winning her back, why she was acting the method she was and is helping me allow go when just days earlier i was holding on with an iron grip. I have read several books and they all pale in comparison to the support i've gotten with this one. If you are hurting and struggling to create sense of things and or allow go, obtain this book. It might just be the thing you need to support you obtain to a healthier place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    I have never gone through a divorce, my spouse has twice. I had no idea what to expect and after reading this book, it helped me search peace and clarity. To quit focusing on losing her and to focus on gaining a fresh life. She may or may not come back, we are separated right now but I am empowered to move forward and live again either way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    Amazing book, amazing condition! Just like I expected. Quick shipping. I highly recommend this seller..👌🏻

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    When i would feel grief and hopelessness this book would support me obtain back to a realistic point of view. It created me view my situation from outside the box. It taught me to distinguish my sorrows from my pain to bring the suffering down to a tolerance i could manage. Though it is not a solve my issues fixer upper it helps me to see everything from an intellectual point of view rather than an emotional point of view. I am working through my situation and i hope to one day achieve what the book tells me i can achieve so long I accept my pain

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    I have read countless books while going through a trial separation. This was such an simple read, but created such a huge impact for me. The authors do a really amazing job breaking down what’s in your control and what can support you through this difficult time. I think it’s a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    I bought this book after I was already divorced, but still found it to be immensely helpful, as my divorce was not wanted by me. I have read it through 2 or 3 times. I cried alot the first time I read it. I return to it a couple times a month and read a chapter or two. I search it very comforting. In my opinion, the authors did an awesome job of balancing grace and truth, which is no simple task. If you are separated, going through a divorce, or already divorced, I can't recommend this book highly enough. I think the principles in it, in a lot of ways, apply to all relationships, romantic or not. It's also helped me in my relationship with an out of control teenage daughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    If your looking for a book to stop your divorce this is not it. My anxiety was at an all time high I even got fired from my job due to it. No matter what I tried books, individual therapy, one sided marriage counseling, online courses. I thought I could save my marriage single handily and change my wife's mind, Not a chance!!!!! This book took me down streets I didn't wish to go down, however I required to. Easy yet packed with ideas and suggestions that create even ending marriage seem reachable. If your stuck wondering what to do next buy this book I read mine through kindle unlimited and it has saved my sanity and I think I am ok no matter which method my divorce goes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    This is an unusual divorce book in that it does not take sides. Maybe your divorce will effect in seperation, maybe it will effect you getting back together. The idea behind the book is to give people going through one of life's most traumatic, painful experiences the tools to be able to clamber up the hill from the battleground and see the terrain - see the earth - from a various place. With this fresh viewpoint, this fresh take on affairs, perhaps their own issues might be examined from a various persepective.I Want I Knew This Before My Divorce uses the recent advances in cognitive behavioral treatment to break the struggle between holding on and letting go. In this East-meets-West approach to finding serenity, the authors dissect the causes of breakups, the myths that block paths to happiness and the steps required to be taken to end your -author Elaine Foster, who, like her husband, has experienced divorce first hand, is an expert in the fields of Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), mood regulating medicines and the treatment of post-traumatic stress disorder. Through her work using the “third-wave” of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) she has designed a revolutionary tactic for achieving Radical Acceptance during one of the most devastating happenings in life. Her husband Joe, meanwhile, brings the Eastern viewpoint to is this dual technique which makes this book worth looking out for. It is well-produced, authoritative and doubtless very useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    Anyone going through a divorce should read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Knew This Before My Divorce: Ending the Battle Between Holding On and Letting Go []  2019-12-30 18:50

    The book, I Want I Knew This Before My Divorce, is very effective in helping to navigate safe passage through the ferocious thoughts and emotions that assail one in the time of loss and transition. The author bypasses questions such as who is ‘right and who is wrong’, what is ‘fair and what is unequal’ to focus, instead, how each one of us has the capacity to grow through loss, separation, and divorce. This book reaches out on a thoughtful level and in an emotional way. By participating in very meaningful exercises, the reader gains insight in a fresh set of equanimity about the e book is special in its creative approach and creative writing. Most importantly, the techniques learned regarding coping with divorce can be very helpful in other aspects of life in which one faces loss. I recommend this book highly as one who has faced loss and as a psychologist who has attempted to support a lot of through the pain of divorce. I recommend this book highly to all who wish to live life to the fullest, even through the most difficult times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Fall []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I TORE THROUGH THIS ONE! Not kidding, picked it up Friday night, finished Saturday night. I loved this story, I was worried it'd be the typical teenage drama items but no, this is very complex and jaw-dropping. With every page I'd be more and more interested in what happens next. Plus! The ending, holy crap the ending had me in tears but also amazed and proud at the same time. A private emotional roller coaster for me. 100% recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Fall []  2020-1-14 19:27

    Well...that wasn't the ending I expected. And, unfortunately, I can't say why because it would be a spoiler. And, I consider spoilers or over-reviewing b/c "you're the expert on YA novels" , to be a loathsome trait.Worth reading? Yes.Engaging? ought provoking? Yes.Will it entice YAs to run with the wrong crowd or be idiots? Nope. (They do that without a book.) (And so did we.)Plausible ending? Nnnnnnnawwwwt so e ending frustrated me. I didn't agree with one without the other. (That, isn't a spoiler.)But I'm just one cide for yourself!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Wake []  2020-1-22 22:49

    Glad I took a possibility on this after reading some of the "hater" reviews. The mystery kept me invested, and I didn't feel "let down" by the ending. I guess some readers like everything tied up neatly in a bow. I accepted the ending as I felt like it was more "real" as far as the crime being "solved." I would have preferred more romance, and a solid choice from Rae as to who she preferred - Nathan or Bruce. That part was a bit creepy, but I will just tell myself she chose Bruce and move on. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Wake []  2020-1-22 22:49

    Characters were interesting. Mystery was good, but I felt the end was just left up in the air.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Self Destruct []  2020-9-7 19:19

    This film will not play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Self Destruct []  2020-9-7 19:19

    Probably 50's best movie!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Forget []  2020-12-3 20:56

    Amazing song!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Wake []  2020-1-22 22:49

    While I enjoyed the structure of the book and the introduction of the characters I felt it required to extend a few more chapters to respond some questions that were left unanswered. If this is to be a series then I will agree with others who say it was a amazing cliff hanger. I don't imagine it to be so as this one was written 5 yrs ago with no mention of continuing. If that is the case then I am truly disappointed in the method Ms. Henderson chose to end this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Wake []  2020-1-22 22:49

    I love Dee Henderson's books. However, this one was a disappointment. It moved too slowly compared to other books. Also, the ending left me wanting more. Will there be a sequel? If so, I hope it moves faster than this one did. Who is the chemist making the ? What house will Rae decide one? Will she end up marrying Bruce? Too a lot of unanswered questions!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Fall []  2020-1-14 19:27

    Actual rating 3.25 stars.I started reading this book a few times, abandoning it and returning before making any head way. All the immaturity, the teen girl snarkiness and bullying was just so tiresome. Plus the Groundhog styled repetition of the same day lagged the pacing.I didn't particularly like our protagonist Sam for most of the novel. She wears the moniker '@#$%!' unapologetically and seems to pinball from one social stage to the next swaying under the banner of peer pressure and grasping to remain at the precipice of the social hierarchy. Then about halfway through the novel things changed. Sam became much more interesting, her choices became more altruistic. I laughed so hard in her 'rebellious' day it added a much required punch to a novel I was starting to search e supporting cast felt all very teen - wrapped up in their own dramas and self-importance. So the characterization was bang on, though I had small patience for their carry on. Sheesh I felt so old reading this was a beautiful simple writing style, a plain simple beat once the pace picked up, I flew through the second half of the novel. Though I did like the tone ‘Before I Fall’ set: it glances at repercussions of behaviour, atonement, bullying, suicide, depression, compassion, and acceptance. For such a wishy-washy teen babbling premise, it alludes to some much more serious issues.I'd recommend the novel to lovers of YA who don't mind a slow developing story. Plenty of drama and hijinks. Weird in some places, but the cyclical structure of the story resolves everything nicely. And like the proverbial light in the opening scene, you see it coming and there is nothing you can do to avoid ’s a fairly chunky and clunky book, it manages to redeem itself. The cover art captures an air of mystery with just a portion of the face lying on the ground… though I would have liked to see it in cooler colours with some snow to reflect the pivotal stage in the novel. The font was on the smaller side and there seemed to be a lot of italicised lines, but it captured the ambience really well and helped hold the page count down from a massive wrist-aching book.I watched the film shortly after completing the novel, and have to say I slightly enjoyed the cinematic ver of this story more…

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Fall []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I took a possibility on this book, it's not something I would usually read but the film trailers led me to it. I was curious to know what all the hype over the film was about.We all know the books are always better and I'm not heading to the film theater anytime soon.I was a bit disappointed with this one. The story is amazing but it felt like it dragged a little, it was too descriptive and I didn't need to waste the time to read the same exact words over again on Sam's second day of waking up dead. I hate to use the statement "too descriptive" when describing a book, but it was wordy.I think the relationship between Sam and Rob required a small more time. It would have been a tad more heartwrenching when they finally call it off for me, it just felt choppy. Plus I believe Sam's hero could have been saved, at least during one of her "do-overs".However, the premise was sweet and the idea of making things right is much required in today's society, so if the film follows the same line, I think it will be a the book before you see the film and allow me know what you think! I can't wait to hear your thoughts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Self Destruct []  2020-9-7 19:19

    I enjoyed the film. It's gritty and action packed. I give it four because I didn't have fun the ending. Short but to the point film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Self Destruct []  2020-9-7 19:19

    Totally enjoyed this movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Forget []  2020-12-3 20:56

    Corey Taylor's metal vocals are always brutal sounding along with drums pounding out the energy of the strong. Instrumentation makes the song stand out in the album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Forget []  2020-12-3 20:56

    Required some melody to add to my videos I do with the Steam group MW3 Mission Incredible. This one does the job !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Forget []  2020-12-3 20:56

    Love this song. Live ver is amazing too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Fall []  2020-1-14 19:27

    Before I Fall was both hilarious in parts and painfully serious in others. I loved and hated this book at the same time. It was attractive and utterly heartbreaking all at once. I loved watching Sam's journey. She's not the most likable hero in the beginning, but her journey is wonderful and her relationships with the people around her are what create this book worth reading.I found myself comparing my own high school experiences to those in this book, both the times where I'd dealt with people like Sam's mean-girl friend, Lindsay, and times when I'd done things like Lindsay. Sam's perspective was incredibly true and usual, Lauren Oliver's writing was beautiful. She easily paint's a picture with words and perfectly captures the viewpoints of teenage girls, including their flawed perceptions and ability to be cruel. Sam goes on a journey throughout this book where she learns to see things from other perspectives. She learns to question things and to do the right e ending, however, is heart-wrenching. There are some books where I feel sad at the end but overall justified that things worked out the method they were supposed to. I don't know if I feel that method about this book. Maybe I'm just a sucker for satisfied endings, but it just seemed like this book didn't have to end with Sam's death. And, I actually felt a small like her death didn't really change anything. I wanted her death to have more meaning. Yes, she saves Juliet, but Lindsay is the same person and even if Juliet saw Sam give her life for her, what's to stop Juliet from trying to commit suicide tomorrow. I feel like if this book was going to end the method it did, then we should have gotten a stage from Juliet's POV to assure the reader that Sam's sacrifice created a difference. Otherwise, I don't see why both Sam and Juliet couldn't have lived. Mostly, I feel poor for Kent. He didn't deserve to lose her after all that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Fall []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I have to say, I didn't have very high hopes for this book after I got through the first chapter. I was suddenly thrust back into high school where these girls cussed, smoked, drank, skipped class, and only wanted to have because their mates had already done it. It took me days to obtain past those first 150 pages. The retelling of the same day over and over was getting to me. A famous girl turned angsty teen when forced to relive the latest day of her life over and over. Gah. Why did I pick this book out?Then something changed. She started to change. She started to see the globe in a various light. The days changed and the story actually progressed into something that I couldn't place is was one of those books that pulls on you. I felt for Sam at the very end. Felt sorry for her place proud that she found real value in life. In the beginning she drove me nuts but with each passing day I started to believe that she could change her fate like she believed ere is a lot more than meets the eye to the five girls featured in this book. Each of their stories takes turns being explained through Sams eyes and it flows beautifully.I almost gave up on this book as I'm sure a lot of others have but if someone asked me I would say read it. It's wonderful. But if you're a hopeless romantic, don't read the ending. Which in my opinion, that latest chapter was the best in the whole book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Fall []  2020-1-14 19:27

    One of the people I follow on here recommended this book, as a better book than "Thirteen Reasons Why". I bought the book without thinking I had already seen the movie, which I ings I didn't like: I don't see how Sam's final decision really changed anything for Juliet, other than helping her live. Since Sam's mates don't really evolve at all, now Sam is gone and Julie is alive, won't the mates just bully and condemn Juliet even more? They could say that Juliet killed Sam or Sam is dead because of Juliet? I don't see how that helps Juliet, when based on my take, the reason Juliet decides to end her life, is because of all the bullying and harassment? So while Sam has evolved, how does Sam deciding to take the hit, support the situation or support Juliet or Sam's mates evolve? How does Sam taking the hit, support Juliet evolve and not wish to slay herself the next day? Or the day after? Where is Juliet's growth/arc? That was a large error in the story's foundation, in my opinion. In contrast to the movie, "Groundhog Day", Bill Murray's hero not only evolved in a large way, but he helped so a lot of other people as might have been much more dramatic, if Sam had helped Juliet live, and almost died but not died, and called herself and her mates out right after, for all their mean and shallowness, and I dunno, become mates with Juliet right then and there and said, "This ends now! You spread any more rumors, you so much as write anything on the bathroom walls about anyone, and I will search out." or something!Things I liked: The book is WAY better than the movie. I'm always amazed/horrified at what the H-system (Hollywood system) decides to hold or chuck when they create a book into a movie. While you can't place everything from any book into a movie, there are some key things that need to create the transition from page to screen. The dozens characters, the dialogue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Wake []  2020-1-22 22:49

    The storyline was only okay and very bloated, the charactors were only mildly interesting, and, when the story ends, you don't know "whodunnit." I resent the time I spent reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Self Destruct []  2020-9-7 19:19

    1 of My favorite films 💯👌🏾

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Self Destruct []  2020-9-7 19:19

    I really like this film I have watched it about 4 or more times all ready

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Forget []  2020-12-3 20:56

    Beautiful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Forget []  2020-12-3 20:56

    How ironic. I bought this song like a year ago and forgot to write a review. Oops

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Fall []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I'm a huge fellow. 5'10", a few additional pounds. My students say I'm intimidating, which to me is a scream. My favorite genre is murder mysteries. As such, I have no idea what drew me to this book.I'll tell you a secret. I have moments where, for some reason, I am reminded of some mind numbingly stupid or embarrassing thing I did or said years--decades--ago, and the self-mortification paralyzes me. I squeeze my eyes shut and want I could go back in time, and with my adult perspective inside my youthful mind and body, fix things. I know I cannot, and maybe THAT is how I ended up downloading this book and reading it in my spare evenings over less than three 's about Sam (Samantha Emily) Kingston, one of a quartet of famous high school girls, each of them shallower than a puddle after a light drizzle. They attend a party on a rain-soaked, icy cold February Friday evening at the home of a classmate whose parents are away, they all obtain stinking drunk, and they are killed in a wreck on their method home.Except....Sam is certain she is dead, but she wakes up again on the Friday morning of the day of the party. At first, Sam believes the vehicle crash and her death must have been a dream. But she and her mates perish once again. And once again, she awakens on the morning of the very same Friday. With each awakening, Sam gets the feeling that there are wrongs that she must correct, but she is never sure of what those wrongs are. Something fresh and unexpected happens each time, giving Sam a glimpse of a much better self than she had ever aspired to e book's air of verisimilitude is astounding. I teach students new out of high school, and the author's re-creation of high-school sounding dialogue is spot on. Huge lug though I may be, I came away from this book caring about people whom I would have gone a long method out of my method to avoid when I was this age. I'll be damned, but this story was profoundly moving, a genuine balm to anyone who has ever wished for a possibility to set things right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Before I Fall []  2020-1-14 19:27

    This book was a lot better than I thought it would be. I went in with extremely low expectations, reading it only because it happened to be the book club pick in my reading group. Somehow though, it ended up being, so far anyway, one of my favorite reads of the m was an unlikable heroine at first but as we watched her relive the same day over and over, we also got to watch her grow. Her arc was honestly one of the best I've seen in a amazing while, transforming her from an arrogant, selfish person into someone who just wanted to love, someone hopeful yet unafraid of death.And while I don't think I'll ever relate immensely to the people in her mate group, I do appreciate how it shows just how flawed we all are. All of these characters are such true depictions of teenagers and remind me how it was to be in those shoes.I would recommend this book to anyone and have already told my sister to pick it up and I am definitely going to read more of what Lauren Oliver has to offer.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386