best of phil collins Reviews & Opinions


Submit best of phil collins review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Of Phil Collins review [App]  2019-5-9 13:16

    I love his melody

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    Where to begin...this CD is awesome! I will admit that I had forgotten how a lot of unbelievable songs Phil Collins created until I recently watched an interview on CBS. I immediately ordered this CD and have been enjoying it all afternoon. I am so glad to see that some of the amazing musical talents of my generation are still alive and that I'm able to appreciate their melody even more now that I'm older. This is a must buy for any Phil Collins fan!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    I resisted this for a long time because of what's missing but finally gave in and got it.* Missing, of course, are "I Missed Again", "Don't Lose My Number", and "Do You Remember?", among several lower-charting hits. But, at 74 minutes, there was probably only room for one more song. I feel that "I Missed Again" should have been that song: it was Collins' first solo hit and one of his best.Over time, "True Colors" pales even more in comparison to the other songs here. However, it was hardly unusual to contain a fresh song on a hits disc and it did become a sizable Adult Contemporary (and minor pop airplay) hit.What's here are the bulk of Collins' largest chart hits through 1998 ("You'll Be In My Heart" came after this was released), and they are great. This collects soundtrack hits from "Buster" ("A Groovy Kind of Love" and "Two Hearts") and "White Nights" ("Separate Lives", a duet with Marilyn Martin). It also contains "Easy Lover", the #2 duet with Philip Bailey, from Bailey's album "Chinese Wall".When these were hits, I was actually a bit resentful of Phil Collins' saturation airplay. I couldn't understand why other pop/AC icons I enjoyed, such as Barry Manilow, Neil Diamond, and James Taylor, could barely dent the chart while Collins and Lionel Richie were played constantly. Of course, this was a radio programming choice and had nothing to do with the artists. I have grown to appreciate these songs more over time. Phil Collins didn't look like your typical Top 40 beautiful boy, and pulled off this string of hits with humor, class, and taste. As of 2012, sadly, pop radio is as deaf to Phil as it was to the above stars back in the day. This should have been a 2-disc set, with all Phil's 28 chart hits plus some LP cuts like "Like China" from "Hello, I Must Be Going".*Now I see that there is an import 2-disc set that has most of the hits this is missing. With the exception, oddly, of "Take Me Home".

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on best of phil collins or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    Phil Collins is the best singer song writer of this or any other generation. A CD of his greatest hits should contain every song. But, even saying this Phil never should obtain less than 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    My c.d. player is in my car, so can't wait for my next drive to have fun these unbelievable songs by Phil Collins. I already know it will take me into another time in my memory of things long past and long missed. It's a unbelievable thing and then snap, you're where you were headed in your vehicle to do it all over again when you head back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    I bought this CD mainly for the song, In The Air Tonight, and per my use of CD's, I simply play the whole CD after I place in on. I have always liked this song, so it is a excellent method to begin working in my home store downstairs, and I obtain to add somevolume down there. Sometimes, after the whole CD has played, I will simply re-start it for another go. Really have fun this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    Love Phil collins melody and this is the best CD of [email protected]#$%!s in one CD, a timeless classic. If you are a fan or just getting a feel of his music, this is the CD to get, you won't regret it, worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    I'm a huge fan of Phil Colins and when I see Amazon had his whole album for $2.99 I had to buy it. The album didn't dissapoint at all, and it was well worth the $2.99 that I spend. I love every single song on this Phil Colins "Greatest Hits" album. I played them over and over on my Ipod because these songs are classic. All the songs on the album are hits and has reached number 1 or are in the top 20 on the billboard charts . The selection of songs are great. Althought I love all the songs on the album, I do have my favorites. My five favorite songs are "Take A Amazing Look At Me Now", "Another Day In Paridise", "Sussudio", "One More Night" and "Two Hearts". Overall this is a amazing album and if you are a large Phil Collins fan, you should obtain this album. I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    Phil Collins is a man who needs no introduction. He has been singing and recording music, with and without Genesis, for nearly thirty-five years. This is an perfect collection of some of his greatest singles as a solo artist including one fresh track, "True Colors".I became interested in Phil's melody shortly before I began high school. From the time I got my first Genesis album, I knew I had to own all of his recordings, those that created the pop charts and those that didn't. It took me five years worth of Christmases and birthdays to acquire them all. (I plan to obtain the Genesis Archive 2 boxed set sometime in 2001.)Needless to say, this album brings back a lot of memories. Phil was literally the soundtrack of my high school years. After I taught myself to play "In The Air Tonight" on the piano---and sing while I played it---completely out of the blue---I was so thrilled that I had to share it with my school choir. That same year, since I had a lot of mates in that choir who were graduating before I was, I told them: "Wouldn't you agree/baby, you & me/got A Groovy Kind of Love." "Sussudio" was the nickname I once gave to a girl I was madly in love with. Those are just a few examples.What I love most about the melody of Phil Collins is that he continues to surprise me. Just when you think you've got his android game all figured out, he turns around and does something entirely unexpected. Who would have thought that after the commercial failure of "Both Sides" (really a shame, since for the first time he sings every vocal line and plays every instrument) he would bounce back in 1996 with "Dance Into the Light"? Or that he would take the "Tarzan" soundtrack and turn out tremendous honors for "You'll Be In My Heart"?"Hits" is a must for every Phil Collins fan you know. Satisfied 50th Birthday in 2001, Phil!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    this cd was for my husband for his birthday. he LOVES it. dont know whats to love about him. but, my hubby does and he listens to this CD all the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil [email protected]#$%!&?s review []  2020-2-2 22:1

    CD got here in a timely manner and in amazing condition. Amazing songs and amazing memories. Recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vodacom Best of the Best review [App]  2019-11-12 13:48

    Bestment fait ! 🔥

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    This CD met my expectations and more! I bought it for my mom and myself because we both love Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons! I was a young kid when they first came out with their music. My older brothers liked them so I heard their melody at home. At the time, my favorite song was "Big Girls Don't Cry" and "Sherry." My mom took my brothers to see them in a concert but I had to stay home with my grandparents which didn't create me very happy! But,anyway, I grew up listening to Frankie Valli and loving his high vocals as he sang these amazing songs. So when The Jersey Boys film came out I bought it for my mom for Christmas (after I watched it on HBO). I knew that I had to search a CD of their melody and I searched for that excellent CD that combined all of my favorite songs of theirs until I finally found it on Amazon! So, thank you, so much for making this small piece of musical heaven of memories for me and my mom come alive for us again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    This is a amazing two disc collection of The Four Seasons' favorites. After we saw the play "Jersey Boys" we just had to search an album of their songs, and this one fit the bill and then some. Took us all the method back to our youth! We are very satisfied with this purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    Excellant 2-CD compilation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    This CD is a must for anyone who loved Jersey Boys as I did. The songs are from the Jersey Boys movie. Bob Gaudio produced this collection.. I think this is the best recording of any Jersey Boys Music! I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    Enjoyed listening to them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    If you knew this group a lot of years ago, you will love the double CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    I just love this CD. It takes me to the days when I was a child driving in the vehicle with my parents listening to the "oldies", which back then these songs were considered my parents music. Now not only do I listen to melody from back then, I listen to melody which would be considered "oldies" to my teenage boys!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    Amazing compilation. Two disc CD. I must admit I listen to the first one only as it has all the older songs. But it was a amazing buy for all that music. They were a legendary group. Unmistakable sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    This is a amazing cd with every song that I can remember.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jersey's Best / Very Best Of review []  2020-1-17 2:5

    my dad is a satisfied camper

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    This collection of short stories includes some amazing ones, sure. But they're all collected from 2002 through 2017 problems of the Year's Best, NOT from the entire duration of Gardner Dozois' unbelievable editorial career. The title is completely dishonest, and because of this fraud, the collection is disappointing at best. I would guess that Dozois had nothing to do with the publication of this book. Probably place together by the publisher after Gardner's death, when he couldn't object, it represents a dismal coda to a amazing sf editor's life and legacy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    Add "The Very Best of the Best" to his two retrospective anthologies published in 2005 and 2007. "The Best of the Best" was published in 2005. That volume includes short stories from the first 20 years (1984 on). "The Best of the Best, Volume 2" was published in 2007. That volume includes longer works from the same earlier period. The three volumes, when taken together, provide a little taste of the 35 years' of Dozois incomparable annual anthologies. Very highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    I expected what the title states, 35 years of the very best and got 15 years of the best instead. The title to be blunt is a BIG LIE! Very disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    Has anyone else noticed that “Mongoose” by Sarah Monette and Elizabeth Bear is NOT the story published in this anthology? The story included is “Boojum.” The table of contents, the title page of the story and the introduction are all incorrect. Maybe not so well edited as the professional reviewers have opined!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    I've read a LOT of science fiction, long, short and in-between. Most of these stories I haven't seen before. A few of the stories seemed odd choices for a 'best of the best' collection. Others, I created notes about so I can look for other work by the authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    A fine collection of short stories

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    The book is massive enough to be a doorstop. It will be uncomfortable to keep and read. Additionally, the title is misleading. The stories only go back 15 years. I thought I would obtain an overview of the development if the genre, going back 35 years. No such luck. Very disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    I own the 35-volume series of compilations, The Year's Best Science Fiction, so this volume is a welcome addition. Every story in it is a visit with old mates and overall the collection did not disappoint me. What a fitting memorial to Dozois' life and legacy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    The very first story appears to have been chosen for its politics rather than being a amazing story. Basically it's a feminist screed, dripping with contempt and hatred for men, and dressed up as a science fiction story. Based on this choice alone the book deserves the lowest rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Very Best of the Best: 35 Years of The Year's Best Science Fiction review []  2020-1-23 1:37

    These really are the best of the best sci fi short stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    I follow Phil Collins since "Selling England by a pound" when he and Genesis were pioneers in the rock progressive era.I was thirteen, and a week-end a amazing mate of mine brougth a strange record named only Jazz-Rock and another of a British band called Genesis ,the rest is history, Two years later I was in my first Jazz-rock Concert: Blood Sweat & Tears in Caracas. That night I heard for my very first time Spain from Chic Corea performed like a masterpiece by BS&T. Today I have to say that the emotion that I felt when I watched this Blu ray have brougth me back those moments when I was teenager .Phil I was in your concert in 2000 something in Puerto Rico and 20,000 plus of your fans, and The second best concert in my life ...The third best was Iron maiden en vivo in 2011Iron Maiden: En Vivo! [Blu-ray]Ok....If you buy this Blu ray you're getting 2 masterpieces, that's the reason of my intro . First 1996 concert is a refill of the 2004, but really is the best performance of both . It is extraordinary that a concert played in 480p resolution but with a soundtrack in DTS-hd master audio 5.1 has such excellent sound. This is a Extraordinary Huge Band jazz-rock concert that brings back a summary of almost the best of the best Phil's career .My favorite track: "los endos" has everything to be called a MASTERPIECE . Five Stars. Please don't skip any track, everything is perfect.I love the direction of Quincy Jones, David Sanbourn "special" sax, the Daryl's guitar, and Luis Conte percussion. Please somebody in Eagle vision : If this performance was recorded in HD, remake it in 1080 .it would be wonderful. "Merci beaucoup"...Now 2004 .....drums , drums and more drums a wonderful openning and the most impressive HD 1080p resolution and perfect DTS-HD master audio 5.1. everything else is almost perfect:The best "easy lover",separate lives","in the air tonight""true colors", You can't hurry love" & "two hearts"... Another 5 Stars.Update: about the sound failures or "engineering problems::Choice 1: test conecting your BD player direct to your receiver via hdmi, and to obtain video and sound in the Television a hdmi cable from receiver output to TV input, then in menu disc use the alternative DTS hd master audio .I tested and the quality is oice 2: Test conecting your BD player to you HDTV via HDMI and then from your television to your receiver via a fiber optic cable or t the option DTS HD master audio in the menu audio of the disc. the sound is r sound will depend in this Disc and any other concert from the quality of your receiver and speakers. My try was conducted in both Scenarios to be sure that I was ok to write my technical h tests were performed with an Onkyo 7.1 tx SR605, one Infinity video one center channel, 4 front & surround Jamo speakers, 2 rear Polk Audio bookshelf type, a 1 Parasound subwoofer and a "Ëpsilon" subwoofer powerwed by a Rotel sources used:choice 1Sony BDP-S590 3D Blu-ray Disc Player with Wi-Fi (Black)choice 2Samsung BD-D5500 3D Blu-ray Disc Player (Black) [2011 MODEL]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    Very amazing video quality- really the kind that is worth transferring to Blue Ray as opposed to the "OMG, this is awful". Sound quality- mediocre, despite the DTS-HD and all the other options. Could be the acoustics of the hall in Montreux. Sounds boxy, Madison Garden grade (one of the worst venues for melody concerts IMHO).Phil Collins- so/so. Not really at his best. Maybe it is the age or fatigue of the tour. As compared to what ? Say, mid '90's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    This Bluray is amazing value. I recommend it to any Phil Collins fans. I really love the band he threw together for this. A lot of songs are arranged a la his debut, numerous backup singers and a nice brass section. Songs are well-selected. The one drawback of the main set (2004) is Mr. Collins' vocals. They are just lacking some power and edge. They are very soft. He tries to execute some "mic technique" when singing higher, more intense notes, by pulling the mic away from his mouth, but he overdoes it. Those "notes" become barely discernible. I'm not a huge fan of Shure SM58 Betas anyway. He should have invested in Audix, but we is disc is worth it for the band, the setlist and especially the gift set (1996). Very, very cool. If you're a casual fan, maybe pass.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    Amazing singer with a lot of famous songs I love. I also bought a DVD with various title but turned out to be the same concert. The sound recording of this blu ray is not as amazing as the DVD version. I'd love the DVD ver more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    I order the multi format thinking I wouldn't have to use my Blu-ray player. It did not work then I message I had been given a Blu-ray format. was not charged additional but if I had not had a Blu- ray player I would have returned it. Also this is the same songs and present as " Finally- The First Farewell"Tour, so I wouldn't buy both if I were you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    For the long time fan of Phil Collins' solo work, this Blu-ray is a collection of his best melody from over thirty years. For the melody fan who happens to like some of his solo work, obtain this! Phil is at his best performance, opening with a drum solo that only he can obtain away with. The entire 2 hours, 16 min. of this concert took me back to seeing him perform live on this tour. Phil didn't rely on digital enhancements to his voice, what you hear is him, voice cracks and all. The backing band and vocals bring a full and rich sound to the music, compared to performances of his earlier tours. One case in point, In the Air Tonight would begin out with the drum machine; this concert, the buildup to that ever familiar drone of the drum machine was simply foreplay. Watching this, it's sad that the man will never tour again. Have fun your retirement, Phil. You've earned it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    I gave this DVD to my wife for Christmas being that his tickets are out of our price range. The DVD has two concerts from 2004 and 1996. Very enjoyable and Phil Collins sounded great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    We love Phil Collins, but the sound and mix quality of this concert is beautiful not good in comparison to Sting's Berlin concert on Blu Ray. We recommend skipping this and buying Sting's if you don't have it already! It's like going in person.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    Phil Collins is a talented performer and is confirmed with this performance. Although the years have caught up to him, you can see why his style influenced others over the years. Also a thumbs up to D Sturmer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] review []  2020-2-7 21:43

    Really amazing main performance at a medium sized venue. All the hits are here and Phil's vocals are strong. Some highlights from his performers including a sax player and solid backup vocalist. Just getting to the gift '96 footage now, but too poor it's in low-res standard def. Overall, amazing addition to my blue ray collection for the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    Amazing book to obtain you out to some amazing spots in Moab. Would love to see an update, as there are a lot of fresh routes. I would have liked to have an appendix of routes by type (i.e. sport, top-rope, trad) and an appendix by difficulty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    This is a amazing tutorial for Moab with rock climbs covered in locations that I never visit. This is more than you need for an extended street trip or a lot of weekend visits. I bought it just for the Wall Road rock climb section on Potash Road. The images are really nice and it is simple to search the right route. Eric Bjornstad has place out a number of tutorial books for the desert that offer more detail and more climbs than this book if you need that. This one is a keeper that should be in your climbing library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    This is an amazing book for those that, like me, are going to Moab for the first time. Or not for a long period of has the best of the best in every grade of climbing, from popular turret climbs like ancient art to crags like wall road or ice cream also covers the arches national park area.I went 9 days on a climbing trip and this book guided us the whole time. Amazing items for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    This is beautiful short for what is here but the information and topiary are good. High on Moab is much better and I would have missed so much if not reading items on blogs and summit post

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    Amazing little limited book with nice photos. There's a fresh book for about $33 that has a lot more routes. It's called high on moab.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    This book was amazing to locate routes on my recent trip to Moab. Amazing descriptions with amazing visuals to really support you search the routes. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    Amazing information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    An perfect tutorial to climbs around Moab. I value it because it includes a lot of routes in the 5.8-5.10 range, but it also lists harder routes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    If you are visiting for just a few days then obtain this book. Amazing overview, but it certainly only scratches the surface. I just went on a 4 day trip and it had plenty of routes to hold me busy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Climbs Moab: Over 150 Of The Best Routes In The Area (Best Climbs Series) review []  2020-1-16 13:58

    Nice and simple to use, visually appealing. Well laid out with amazing info for each climb with regards to number of fast draws required or what size pro to use. Amazing purchase for sure

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    I'm not connoisseur enough to address all that goes into these tracks, but after reading almost hyperbolic praise of Fela in the alternative press back in the 1980s, I bought a live double-LP set...and was disappointed. The tracks took a full side each (his concerts must have lasted hours) and were built on grooves I did not search especially interesting...at the time; I exchanged the set, but have broadened my taste since then. THESE tracks, at least, are edited down for more Western tastes (or contemporary short attention spans) yet still sprawl comfortably before, between, and after Fela and his singers serve up lyrics, which address social tensions, such as between Westernizing fashions/attitudes and "original African" traditions and identities; corruption; and religious and political conflict, such as his own long struggle versus a violent Nigerian government that kept trying to shut him up and shut him down.And the grooves, with his jazz-capable band (Africans taught Western drummers how far they lagged in polyrhythms) layering them up and back down and back up, are as compelling as his own rich, broad-spectrum vocal attack -- singing, shouting, scatting, swearing, humming, doing impressions, up and down his range; and his equally powerful sax-playing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    The "Afrobeat" melody of Fela Kuti is highly infectious and addicting. The lyrics frequently are full of anger and rage about political and racial injustices, and the melody is always both hard edged and hypnotic. Trust me, you can't listen to this melody passively--it's so engaging that you can support but rock your body to the groove. Fela Kuti was a giant in the history of African "world music" and as a lot of other reviewers have noted, his status is on par with the likes of Bob Marley, John Coltrane, and James Brown, in terms of how he pushed the envelope of his musical genre. It really is a crying shame that more people are not aware of this awesome artist. In my opinion "The Best Best of Fela Kuti," which, by the way, actually is the exact same CD as "The Best of the Black President," is the best of the Fela compilation CDs out there, with the Fela Kuti Anthology, Volume 2, being a close second. All of the songs are great. As others have noted, however, of the 13 songs on this double CD, 8 of them are presented in an edited or abridged form. This was necessitated by the fact that, in their original form, a lot of of the songs were over 25 mins long, which would have limited the number of songs on each disc to about three. None of the songs feels clipped, and since all but two of the songs run about 10 mins or more, you probably would not perceive them as having been shortened. This CD may not be for purists, but it is a amazing introduction to the Afrobeat melody of Fela Kuti, and I still listen to it periodically even though I subsequently have purchased a lot of of the original recordings, most of which have been reissued in a "twofer" format (i.e., two original albums place together on one disk). Be forewarned, after listening to the edited versions of some of the songs on this CD, you may search yourself feeling compelled to obtain the originals and hear the extended jamming that is not included here. Highly, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    I bought this CD at a brick-and-mortar record shop -- oddly, because someone had changed their mind on the method to the register and dumped it in the candy bin (ok, it doesn't take much to obtain me to buy a CD). I had heard one of Fela's records at a party 20 years ago and remembered liking it, so I thought I'd give it a try. This is a unbelievable record, and amazing introduction to Fela (I've now got another half dozen or so albums). A lot of of his best known songs are here, and while some are edited for length (the ones that are 25+ mins long in the original versions), the edits are well-done and the sound quality is quite good. The album is a chronological, and you obtain a amazing sampling of the various styles he played in over the years. The liner notes are also great, and clue you into the meaning of the pidgin English lyrics. I still listen to this CD even though I now have a lot of of the original albums the songs are drawn from -- the dozens is nice, the songs are well programmed, and it is, the "best best."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    This is an perfect compilation of Fela Kuti'@#$%!&s," lengthy reminders of what this musician and social activist could produce. With his saxaphone leading the way, and a dozen musicians behind him providing a rhythmic structure, Afropop was his method of reaching West Coast Africa. Over 50 albums have been produced and this is the cream of the amazing man himself. Recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    I like Fela Kuti. Unfortunately it is difficult to search any perfect compilation albums. While this is a amazing album, it does give up some of the quality of his melody to focus on quantity. As some have mentioned before, it is a amazing album to have to obtain a lot of of his tracks without having to figure which of his 100 or so albums to purchase. I think the latter is my next tomline: Buy it if you don't have already have this awesome musician in your collection. If you already do, you will be better served by sampling some of his releases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    Listening to this collection for the first few times, it was as if I'd discovered the almighty source for a lot of melody I've loved over the years (like Parliament-Funkadelic and "Remain-in-Light"-era Talking Heads). It rocks, and has a excellent balance of improvisation and tightly-structured grooves (and avant-gardish strangeness at times), garnished with Fela's sung chants and rants. Hypnotic, amazing, this is a amazing collection and I'm glad it's been my intro to this necessary Nigerian activist/musician.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    amazing sound

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    I was vaguely familiar with Fela Kuti before purchasing this; I really just wanted something fresh to listen to when I clean the house. This collection is beautiful. Every song is great, energetic, powerful and powerful. I definitely recommend it for a newbie who just may end up digging deeper in the creates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    This is the best of the best in African dance rhythm. Loaded with high intensity sub bass, horns,vocals and a song describing, one truly emancipated lady. The lyrics of the song Lady is ripe for the esteem of today's Women in Politics, the Military and on the domestic scene. I've searched for hard to search music, DVD's and priced right stuff and when all the other merchants tell me the item is out of distribution, has it in their golden vault. Now I go directly to

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Best of Fela Kuti review []  2020-1-18 23:10

    Doesn't need one you know what this is

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    Just okay

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    This book is nicely place together. The excerpts or stories really are the best of the best. Tristan Taormino is a amazing editor/writer and I have other editions from various years from him. A must by book for anyone looking for lesbian erotica.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    Boring to me. Too much discription in every encounter! Items that didn't need to be included. One star only out of five! :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    A bit extreme for someone wanting to check out lesbian erotic. There are a few stories that are tame enough. The rest are very hot and vivid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    Didn't think much of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    My girlfriend and I are a huge fan of all lesbian erotica books. Some times the imagination is much better then porn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    I found to a lot of male role plays or even ambiguous none sex characters for my taste. Some of the stores were okay is why am giving 3 stars. On the whole I would not buy this ebook again. Being female I search nothing wrong with being feminine and maybe this book was just not to my taste.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    I enjoyed the stories in this book. I have recamended it to a lot of of my friends. It has alittle for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    I got the Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica hoping for some really amazing short stories I could enjoy. I enjoyed some of them, but a lot of were method too twisted for me. Also, the stories are only from 1995-2000, which means that they are a small dated and really only the best from that five year span. When I say that they are dated, I only mean that most of the writers, characters, and happenings are not going to be relevant except as history to a reading audience that was underage when this was published. A lot has changed since then, especially in the lesbian world.When I say that some of theses stories are too twisted for me, what I mean is that one, Pumpkin Pie has some kind of possibly metephorical, possibly literal cannibalism in it. Also, some stories have non consent or coerced consent, such as Julio, Ghost Crab, and especially Angel at the Top of my Tree. There are stories with knife play including solo cutting, including Scrimshaw Butch, Small Macho Girl, and Nylon. I wasn't bothered by the bondage stories, of which there were several, such as The First Time, and Seduction.I was especially happy with Steam and Ariel for showing characters attracted to an unusual body type. There were a few stories dealing with trans characters, such as When he was Mary. Every Boy was interesting because it is the first I have seen with a specifically butch/butch pairing. My favorites were fairly sensual stories, including Water Marks, Just Drops, Virgin's Gift, And Salome Danced. I liked the gender play in some of these stories, as well, though this does create them slightly less “Lesbian,” as one might also think of the ones with trans characters.Overall, I would recommend this book, provided the reader is generally aware of the content and that it really is only the best of a five year span. It is unappologetically edgy and daring, as far as erotic stories go, which I commend in a writer, but think should come with a warning of some kind. There are also a few poems in here, a literature category I basically don't ever understand, and therefore won't comment on otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best of the Best Lesbian Erotica review []  2020-1-19 22:3

    I had to do a thesis in one of my physcology classes. My professor gave us three choices to pick from, lesbians, gay men or STD's. I choice lesbians and read a lot of books, saw several documentaries and even did some interviews. I learned so much about lesbians and started reading unbelievable books such as this is exquisite collection features some of the finest erotic writing around, and shows why the series has grown by leaps and bounds since its first edition was published in 1996. Every single story here is top notch, full of extremely sexy writing that also has something to say about life. Some are authors who are extremely well-known (and well-loved): Pat Califia, Joan Nestle, Cecilia Tan, Kate Bornstein, Jane DeLynn; others are newcomers or authors whose names may not be familiar yet, but whose work assures that they will e level of their work proves that this truly is the"best of the best." I'm talking about classic stories, like Cecilia Tan's "Penetration," stories that are just so brilliant, they deserve to be read over and over again. Tristan Taormino has culled from the previous year's collections those stories that are full of all the heat, spark and sizzle of lesbian sexuality. She has also gone beyond the bounds of what is traditionally known as "erotica" -- some of these stories don't feature naked flesh pressed up versus naked flesh, though most of them do. Some of these stories are sad, wistful, angry, confused. Some are subtle in their meaning, reaching for nuances far beyond the typical porn orgasm. Taormino also extends lesbian eroticism to encompass butch/femme, S/M, and transgender sexuality in a method that is truly remarkable.Heather Seggal's story, "When He Was Mary," is one of the sexiest and most moving examples of transgender erotica I've read, capturing the narrator's conflicting feelings over her lover's transformation from female to male as well as the love they still share. In Toni Amato's perfect entry, "A Girl Like That," a butch teaches a lesson to a hot femme who's been strutting her stuff.I reread some of these stories a lot of times, especially the ones I'd already fallen in love with in previous collections. They stand out as truly original, sexy, provocative writing. Who could not remember "Just Drops," where a bottom learns just how risky water can be? It's this creativity, the capturing of the ordinary and the extraordinary and turning each into sexual fodder, all with writing that truly takes the reader into the heart of the story, that sets this collection apart. This volume is an perfect introduction to the series or a welcome addition to a well-stocked erotica collection. I heartily recommend this it to any fan of erotica, lesbian or not. You will surely search something here that will turn you on and leave you hungry for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Of The Best - Volume 1 review []  2020-2-2 21:15

    Amazing CD delivered on time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Of The Best - Volume 1 review []  2020-2-2 21:15

    This cd included the Sweet Emily song heard towards the end of the movie, Wild Things, with Neve Campbell & Matt Dillon. I couldn't search it anywhere else!! Lots of other catchy island tunes, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    While I enjoyed this album a lot, for me there were not any stand-out tracks- ones I fell in love with instantly. still, it contains lots of intelligent and enjoyable songs, and makes a amazing e style is a blend of roots country and modern folk, as best I can describe it. The lyrics are smart, and I want the album had included them, as his "Picnic" album did.I don't regret buying this at all- but it's not an immediate favorite of mine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Amazing Texas country! Brings back a lot of memories

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Amazing cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    This is the best album I ever purchased in my entire life. I can't believe I was alive for twenty-five years before I knew and fell in love with all of Robert Earl Keen's music. If you, too, are fresh to REK, this is a amazing put to start. Do it now. You'll never experience regret.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Robert Earl Keen is one of my favorite singer/songwriters...he has an authentic, special and under-appreciated voice. If you like melody and lyrics that come from a country/rock/folk blend, you will love Best. Some of the songs on this album are a bit quirky (Merry Christmas from the Family, Mr. Wolf and Mamabear, Furnace fan); some are old west inspired (Willie, Allow the Melody Play, Whenever Kindness Fails); and some are just in the amazing old singer/songwriter tradition (Ride, Paint the City Beige,Gringo Honeymoon, and my private favorite, I'm Comin' Home). All-in-all a amazing album that contains a lot of of his best works. The album Gringo Honeymoon, however, remains my favorite Robert Earl Keen album to date.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Had not heard of this artist before. Amazing melody worth the purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    I'm not a stranger to REK's music, but I will admit that I'm a relative newcomer. I'd say that I have fun about half of this album, but the rest I can do without. Of course I love the standards, although the live ver of 'The Street Goes on Forever' left a small to be desired.On the other hand, 'For Love', which I'd never heard before, is an awesome song. Absolutely comers should beware, however--on some of his songs he sounds like Dale Gribble from 'King of the Hill' when he sings. Takes some getting used to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Unbelievable compilation from this TX songwriter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    Amazing collection of REK's best songs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEST review []  2020-1-16 23:30

    I bought this along with Picnic as a Christmas show for a mate who hadn't heard Robert Earl Keen. Of course, it doesn't contain ALL his best work... any collection that did would be REALLY huge :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best review []  2020-1-22 2:11

    This unfortunately to say but the CD inside the case was not the one showing on the art work. I was really disappointed but what save the purchase was that the CD I received Cheo Feliciano "Una Voz Mil Recuerdos" I did not have it on my collection. I made the art work from a picture I got from the internet in order to have the correct info for the CD just in case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best review []  2020-1-22 2:11

    Amazing Salsa music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best review []  2020-1-22 2:11

    Pure classics of Cheo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best review []  2020-1-22 2:11

    I have not heard Cheo Feliciano's melody since I left Puerto Rico in 1991. It brought back precious memories. Buy it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best review []  2020-1-22 2:11

    Cheo Feliciano is the king of boleros. His singing of this genre is extraordinary and unforgettable. This CD is a gem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best review []  2020-1-22 2:11

    Cheo at his finest! The whole album makes you wish to dance...even the slow songs. Singing with the Joe Cuba Sextette. Amazing music!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best review []  2020-1-22 2:11

    The song "Payaso" has been my favorite for so a lot of years. The others songs are also beautiful, especially the ballads. Attractive CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    365 Best Inspirational Quotes: Daily Motivation For Your Best Year Ever: (Best Inspirational Quotes) review []  2020-1-11 18:51

    Dear Mr. Kruse,My name is Erin and I am currently undergoing certification training to become a Life Coach under the tutelage of Mary Morrissey and the DreamBuilding Program through Lifemastery Institute. I am concurrently finishing the “student” side of the program and have begun it again from the “instructor” perspective. It has been a life changing experience thus far, and I look forward to a lifetime of growth and transformation on this path, for myself and those who want to accompany me.I write to you, something I have never done before, because I purchased your book from Amazon. One of the “lessons”, which is completely intuitive yet interestingly a required reminder, is to begin your day with inspiring thoughts, music, etc. It was in this vein that I found your book. I want to tell you that it has been an AMAZING source of strength and inspiration! I hold it next to my bed, read it in the morning as I obtain ready for work, carry it to work with me every day to sneak a peek every opportunity I obtain and have fun reading it at leisure during my 30-minute lunch. My vision is, among other things explicitly detailed, to become a highly successful Life Coach. I will be leaving my job of 5 years (I have been in my current state of residence for not quite 6 years) to pursue this dream with all my energies. As I move forward in this dream, I will be recruiting others to share in this strong transformation of self and will be their tutorial along the way. Having read your book, I have decided that once I start the recruitment process, for those who are decided in making the investment in their dreams and themselves I will be giving them a copy of your book. As you are appreciably aware, to truly identify, define and pursue a dream, to change your perception and the very method you think is no simple process, and I have found your book to be the excellent companion to hold the faith and motivation. It is a magnificent reminder that greatness has been achieved by those who felt the same emotions and thoughts that we must transgress, and strength is found in the knowledge that those who are just like us have achieved the things we have heretofore thought unattainable.I have not yet watched your video because just through the book of quotes you have simply yet elegantly shared, I have been moved to reach out to you. I look forward to every bit of wisdom and insight I can glean from the video, much as I have from your book.I offer a most heartfelt thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    365 Best Inspirational Quotes: Daily Motivation For Your Best Year Ever: (Best Inspirational Quotes) review []  2020-1-11 18:51

    Bought this book to obtain some motivation every day. Although there were some amazing quotes in there, I wish a small more than just quotes. A lot of of the quotes that I've seen in this book is very common quotes from popular people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    365 Best Inspirational Quotes: Daily Motivation For Your Best Year Ever: (Best Inspirational Quotes) review []  2020-1-11 18:51

    There is a severe lacking of representation in this book. You will only search 5 quotes attributed to women in the first 20 pages (50 quotes). That’s 5 out of 50 are given to women. The rest of the collection keeps about this pace. Besides the lack of gender representation, the collection as a whole is just meh. The author likes to quote himself in the book and that seems weird. It’s like citing yourself in your own disertation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    365 Best Inspirational Quotes: Daily Motivation For Your Best Year Ever: (Best Inspirational Quotes) review []  2020-1-11 18:51

    Motivational and uplifting everyday quotes. Or, you can just binge read it. I think it is a amazing bonus for the person who is hard to buy for. Then as they read it they will remember who bought it for them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    365 Best Inspirational Quotes: Daily Motivation For Your Best Year Ever: (Best Inspirational Quotes) review []  2020-1-11 18:51

    I absolutely love this handy small handbook of inspirational quotes! I was actually looking for inspirational quotes about dealing with death when I stumbled upon this gem. I took a possibility and bought it and I am so satisfied that I did. Reading these wise and insightful words makes me feel cheerful, optimistic, and happy. I will be rereading this book often.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    365 Best Inspirational Quotes: Daily Motivation For Your Best Year Ever: (Best Inspirational Quotes) review []  2020-1-11 18:51

    I like that this book is not as little as some of the other inspirational sayings books. It’s a decent size and has some amazing sayings. Some are typical sayings that are online but it’s nice having them all condensed and accessible. Using these for an office bonus for several people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    365 Best Inspirational Quotes: Daily Motivation For Your Best Year Ever: (Best Inspirational Quotes) review []  2020-1-11 18:51

    I bought to read a quote everyday to my yoga class. Not what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    365 Best Inspirational Quotes: Daily Motivation For Your Best Year Ever: (Best Inspirational Quotes) review []  2020-1-11 18:51

    This comes in very hand for our prayer group. Each week we take turns sharing a quote and listing any prayer needs for each other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    365 Best Inspirational Quotes: Daily Motivation For Your Best Year Ever: (Best Inspirational Quotes) review []  2020-1-11 18:51

    Amazing book and service.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our free reviews finder online and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews of brands, TV Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, movies, music, gadgets or household items. Would you like to rate recently purchased item? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Submit short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386