biostatistics for the biological and health sciences Reviews & Opinions


Submit biostatistics for the biological and health sciences review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences review []  2020-1-16 0:15

    Returned loss money

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences review []  2020-1-16 0:15

    It's in q amazing condition except there was no CD. I didn't expect one thou it would have been nice to have one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences review []  2020-1-16 0:15

    The book is nice. The class is not.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on biostatistics for the biological and health sciences or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch biostatistics for the biological and health sciences video reviews and related movies:

    See Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences on youtube.

     related image

    See Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences on youtube.

     related image

    See Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences on youtube.

     related image

    See Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences on youtube.

     related image

    See Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences on youtube.

     related image

    See Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences on youtube.

     related image

    See BIOSTATISTICS FOR THE BIOLOGICAL AND HEALTH SCIENCES 2ND TRIOLA TEST BANK & SOLUTION MANUAL on youtube.

     related image

    See Online Master's in Biostatistics: Faculty Testimonial & Program Overview on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences review []  2020-1-16 0:15

    Very amazing book in a super amazing condition and amazing price. Seller is super nice! She personally writes a thank you on the bottom of the receipt which I thought was cute!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences review []  2020-1-16 0:15

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences review []  2020-1-16 0:15

    Amazing textbook for biostatistics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences review []  2020-1-16 0:15

    Amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biostatistics for the Biological and Health Sciences review []  2020-1-16 0:15

    No issues, quick shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Overall a very excellent, broad yet detailed overview of regression and statistical methods for parsing meaning and substance from various epidemiologic and/or other health-related investigations. One caveat: the writing is extremely verbose and geared toward analytic, mathematical parsing of meaning in context of data graphical overlays. Can be understood by any functional graduate student with robust quantitative skills, but is still a bit awkward/stilted in how the info is conveyed with numbering of tables, graphs, etc., in reference to textual explanations. Other than that, kudos. Very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    One of the best books for beginners. The text has amazing examples and detailed explanations

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Vittinghoff is very verbose in explanations of the methods within, but this is very useful to newcomers in the field. The examples are robust and coded in a number of common statistical programming environments.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    You can actually read this book - which is surprising given the subject. I'm a grad student taking two Biostats courses for a master's degree. This book is amazing and conceptual.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    The Kindle ver struggles with the formatting of math equations and isn't much cheaper (albeit more convenient) than the hard copy. I would seriously consider ordering the actual book if I hadn't already purchased the Kindle version.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Love this book! provides lots of info and examples. Amazing refresher from the time i took courses in statistics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    This book is very readable, and an perfect resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Useful book, but hard to read. The writing often requires you to re-read passages before you can understand what the authors mean. This book is a bible, and necessary, but it would benefit from some editing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Whilst I have a library of StataPress books, this is the one I turn to test to understand what I should test to achieve

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Regression Methods in Biostatistics: Linear, Logistic, Survival, and Repeated Measures Models (Statistics for Biology and Health) review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    not for is very difficult

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    We had to use this textbook for my biostatistics class, and I was pleasantly surprised with it. I've taken a lot of science/statistics classes in the past, and do understand that a lot of times statistic books can be somewhat difficult to comprehend. However, this is not the case with this book. The book was very well written, and simple to understand as long as you spent sufficient time to study and comprehend the material. Don't be fooled, biostatistics can be a very difficult topic to grasp (I spent HOURS studying), but this book does a very amazing job of explaining it as best as it can. A lot of of the 3- star ratings will be from those who are grading their review of the book based upon the difficulty of the subject, not on the content within the e only chapter that I found to not be very helpful was a later chapter on multiple linear regression analysis. The online material here, helps you to understand much better and fill in the gaps that the physical textbook left out. Being in chapter 8, and having to refer back to the same example back in chapter 3 over and over again, can obtain kind of annoying as well, but aside from these two very minor problems (well, ok, 1 minor issue. I missed 4 questions on my final from the multiple linear regression analysis crahp. That needs to be fixed.) the textbook was very well written, gave clear examples, and was very fair in its review questions at the end of each chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    A lot of narrative examples with references to tables or examples several pages earlier create following the formula with the numerical definition difficult. I like the formula summaries and practice questions. I want the author had more clearly identified each calculation within the formula as sometimes it is not clear how the value is attained. The use of a lot of acronymes is also difficult to remember the full term for the fresh student. I learn best by reinforcement and it is time consuming to test to go back several pages to verify and recall what the abbreviation represents. I am using the text for an online only class so this could be a major culprit to difficulties in understanding elements within the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    Ok so at first I rented this book because I got tired of paying steep prices for textbooks. Then after I used it for my course I went back and bought it brand new! This book is amazing and I cannot express how simple it was to follow and support understand the challenging concept of Biostatistics. That course was allegedly one of the most challenging in my field but this book created it super easy. I even use it to complete later coursework because the text for those courses are so confusing. If you have it hold it, if you need it buy it, if you don't have it you are probably not a scientist:)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    This textbook is one of the few math similar books that I actually read through the whole semester and didn't dread the weekly readings. The formulas were explained and built on in ways I felt comfortable with and could follow. I also found the sample issues worked out in the textbook to be understandable in one read through (a phenomenon I don't usually experience with quantitative textbook examples) without having the process explained by someone else first.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    needed book for biostats class, found it to be thorough enough in explanations and provided amazing examples

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    I had a very hard time with the majority of this text - which is primarily computations. The chapters are poorly organized and create tracking the process of computations very difficult. Especially if you have small math or stats experience as I do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    This book assumes that you already know statistics.. it does not describe any of the equations and how to arrive at the correct answers. I continuously had to refer to youtube videos and other sources..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    This book is god poor when it comes to structure, variety, and explaining in a concise manner. Starting with structure, the book is very table and detail heavy. This makes for a frustrating combination because while info are typically appreciated especially in a statistics book, certain paragraphs will refer to tables that are sometimes a few pages over either because there is so much detail or so a lot of damn tables. This involves flipping back and forth constantly between pages so you can figure out what the author is talking about and that makes studying this material absolutely tedious. As for variety, there is not much of a wide breadth of studies that create the book interesting. It deals with the Framington Heart Study heavily and small else. This may have its advantages insofar as its consistency keeps readers from getting confused but it makes for one of the most monotonous reads I have ever had in a textbook or any book for that matter. Finally, though I previously mentioned that info can be amazing for statistics books there is a point where too much detail can confuse the reader because it gives them too much to hold track of. That is certainly the case here and no extra favors are granted to this by the not good structure either. The only thing that honestly makes this book worth it is the online workbook which gives you a helpful hand in learning functions and statistical analysis in excel. Be warned though, because they place about a year and half limit as to how long you can access the workbook. This also means that if you wish the most useful part of the textbook you beautiful much have to buy a fresh copy out of sheer necessity. If your professor assigns this book, create sure you have lots of time to read it because its trifecta of unnecessary frustrations will take you a while to drudge through. I would recommend supplemental reading as well like that of Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials by Norman and Streiner. They actually manage to add humor to Biostatistics while avoiding the aforementioned problems. Only poor thing is that they don't use excel so you would still have to buy Sullivan's loathsome book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health (Essential Public Health) review []  2020-1-16 15:58

    The book, although used, was in pristine condition and the online access code was unused! Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    I mistakenly ordered this book as part of a homeschooling curriculum, choosing between 2 self-teaching tutorials based on the comments. I received the 2nd edition, rather than the 3rd edition which I thought I'd ordered, and am presently regarding other reviews with amazing astonishment. Had I looked more closely, I would have realized this was not what I wanted. This book, listed to have 106 pages, has 66 pages of material with extra exerpted material from a physics book. The edition I received has NO photographs or illustrations beyond the cover. It certainly would not be appropriate to read to little children, as other reviewers stated they had done. The formatting of paragraph after paragraph justified to left and right without indentations or any other visual interest presents like a college paper. I did not search the topic matter presented in the order I would've expected from a textbook, which is how I'd planned to use this book. To the positive, the book is readable, the author enthusiastic and clearly well-informed, and there is a amazing deal of interesting material within. It is likely amazing material for an adult who would like to dip her toes back into a topic without taking a class on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Apparently this was a first draft, unedited, rough outline for something that never developed into its title. Publishing company did a amazing job with the front cover. Absolutely no substance on the inside to back it up.TERRIBLE. The author didn't even proofread. Just one example of a lot of glaring errors:"For example, humans have sex, thus giving the egg an opportunity to join with the egg and settle into the uterus to start the process of growing into a baby."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Unfortunately, I don't have much confidence in this book. I thought it was going to be a formal, used textbook on biology. Instead it is small, appears to be self published, short, definitely not a formal textbook, and the back cover has a major typing / wording error on it. I feel like reading it, and using it for home teaching, would be a waste of time because I feel it is too likely to include errors and misinformation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    I unfortunately purchased this book without previewing what was available to me. I bought this book to uses as a resource and fast reference when tutoring students. It is not only borderline too rudimentary, but the typos, lack of necessary info important to a amazing science lesson, and not good sentence structure are hard to ignore. While the content is primary biology, it lacks the info to successfully build upon the primary concepts of biology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    This is not a textbook and shouldn’t be considered a textbook. However, its a short read that but well-written so that anyone can understand the importance of the study of living organisms. I have a background and a PhD in biology and I recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand the basics. This is a amazing introductory read for anyone wanting to obtain into science.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    This is set up to look like a textbook but is not. Very primitive understanding by the writer of the science of biology with a lot of technical as well as grammatical errors. Don’t spend your cash if you are looking for a logical progression of biology education.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Heed the lowest ratings: The innumerable typos start on the very first page. The sentence structure would not pass muster in a fourth grade English class. I paid $2.99 for the Kindle edition, but I should have reviewed the material and reviews. 62 pages long with no illustrations, just not good writing. I question the author's mastery of the material. Could she have created it through an undergraduate curriculum with this degree of ignorance? I hope not.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    The copy I received was horrible. No images or illustrations. An wonderful amount of typos. This has an extremely primary explanation of biology. You’d be better off saving the cash and looking at articles or videos online.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Biology is a lively topic because it's a study on life. This books does helps us understand what's the biology beyond it's scientific meaning. How can we dwell our life here in earth on the long run. If we hold destroying our natural resources, how can we sustain the stability of living things. This book can change you point of view in life!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Very simple introductory book for non-science people. There are multiple typos so remove one star. Also, I can't believe this book does not have illustrations. This is a biology book so there should be lots of figures!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    After receiving the product, I discovered that it is for college level biology. My error. I do like the colourful and simple to read presentation of material, though. Will probably use it later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    This book was just the study aid my granddaughter required to support her understand the concepts for her biology class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    This is a amazing series! I looked over this and read some of this when I purchased it for my daughter, it really seems to explain biology in an easy, concise manner! If you have always struggled with traditional biology textbooks, this e-book is a much better choice for explaining biology principles in method that makes much more sense for the beginning biology student!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    This work is a amazing value. The author covers most of the main biology topics. The format is close to a modified outline. There are more diagrams here than in related works. However, learning biology very much requires visuals.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    If I could give this book zero stars I would. I began reading the book for my college bio class and found numerous errors in the first 3 pages.Unacceptable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    Loved it!Lots of info and contains pictures to understand better.Easy to read and very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    It is place into easy terms and helps when learning a fresh subject ! Could use better organization maybe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    Returning item

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    Gives amazing insight. Want I had it to begin the course.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    Nice book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences review []  2020-1-4 20:39

    Wonderfully written; simple to read and implement suggestions. Want there was one for chemistry!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences review []  2020-1-4 20:39

    This book includes all of the same info as the text, but without page numbers (only has areas in Kindle version) the index and references from professors is not available which is a huge aspect of it's uses. If you can't use the index (as it refers to pages not locations) it makes this much less useful. Satisfied to change this review if I can change the index to areas or the text to pages instead of locations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences review []  2020-1-4 20:39

    Value for the cash instead of buying a book . But it was hard to follow the pages with headlines .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences review []  2020-1-4 20:39

    Looks like it will be a very helpful book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences review []  2020-1-4 20:39

    It was beautiful okay for a used book, but the spiral is starting to fall apart. I will probably have to remind it by the end of the semester.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences review []  2020-1-4 20:39

    GREAT product

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences review []  2020-1-4 20:39

    It's the book that was required for my son's college biology class. He said it's a amazing book for biologists - no one else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences review []  2020-1-4 20:40

    Let's face it: poor writing is epidemic in the sciences (including but certainly not limited to the biological sciences). A lot of students entering scientific disciplines have had small training in writing and their inexperience often yields papers whose quality masks the otherwise interesting content. This book is meant to give undergraduate students in the biological sciences a concise tutorial to the preparation of a quality paper. Despite some shortcomings, it mostly succeeds in this start with, let's consider what this book is not. It is not a style guide. Though it does contain some stylistic hints and has a lengthy section on proper formatting, writers will still need to consult a complete style tutorial to ensure their work is presented properly. It is not a tutorial to the research process. While it does include some introductory chapters briefly describing the research process, no reader would be able to design even the simplest of research projects without consulting other materials. It is not a biology text. Its examples are from biology, but it is a text on proper writing, not on any scientific discipline per se. It is not a complete tutorial to proper grammar and usage in the English language. Sections regarding common mistakes are useful, but it's not sufficient to teach technical writing from the very stead, this book is a step-by-step tutorial to the process of writing a scientific paper. In particular, it focuses on the preparation of papers written as part of undergraduate coursework, though its tip also applies to scientific writing in general. Beginning with notes on the selection of subjects and research design, the book gently walks the reader through the entire process of writing a scientific paper from conception to apters concerning statistics and data visualization end up being among the weakest parts of the book. While these are undoubtedly essential elements of the scientific literature, the zone devoted to them here is insufficient to provide a detailed enough guide. The reader familiar with statistics will not learn anything fresh and the reader unfamiliar with statistics will not learn enough to be productive. Similarly, while the chapter on data visualization includes amazing hints regarding the proper use of tables, graphs, etc., it fails to acc for the all-too-common pitfalls of data visualization that could easily effect in misinterpreted data.Other chapters, however, devoted to the writing process itself, provide much-needed info for students. The book is full of carefully chosen sample passages and papers, illustrating both correct and erroneous technique across a wide dozens of subjects all the method from the paper's title to its bibliography. Particularly useful for a lot of beginning writers in the biological sciences (and certainly a godsend for their professors or editors) are collections of common mistakes and their corrections. While we ought to be able to expect that anyone pursuing undergraduate study has already learned the fundamentals of writing, we all know that this is not necessarily the case (and furthermore, that these deficiencies often extend into their professional careers, though that particular issue is beyond the scope of this book).Though focused on the biological sciences (and featuring examples exclusively from biology), the book would be equally useful for students in any scientific field. While the examples might not be of particular interest to them and a few conventions differ from discipline to discipline, the principles of quality technical writing are largely e experienced author of research papers won't search much in this book to add to his or her knowledge, but I highly recommend it for the beginning writer, particularly at the undergraduate level. Biology professors striving to improve their students' writing, particularly in introductory classes, would be well-advised to consider assigning this book to their classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    I'm using this for a grad class and it is a wonderfully written textbook. I'm a textbook reader to start with but this one is a very easy, yet informative, read. Definitely amazing for those starting out in EHS. Rented it but will most likely end up buying it outright to hold on the bookshelf for referencing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    This textbook has probably been one of my best ones. The concepts are communicated clearly but not so much that I fall asleep reading. The examples are also fairly relate-able and modern. If you're looking for a textbook to assign, this is a beautiful amazing one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    This is the third edition, I already had the second and I am. Disappointed that “environmental Justice “ was removed completely from the recent edition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    This is such a necessary and informative book. I'm not sure why it's so under appreciated.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    Well written, simple to read textbook.. not things I normally say about textbooks. One of my favorite textbooks by far. Very comprehensive introduction to environmental health science.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    ing for graduate ry informative and most latest edition. Published 2015 or expected. It's a text book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    The book is fine. Informative and fulfilled its purpose for class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    Rented the book for a college class, May end up liking. I'll admit I've never had a college textbook that I can sit and read. This one I may end up buying at the end of my rental. Amazing resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    I have learned so much from this book! Some of the info is difficult to understand, but most is presented in plain language.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Environmental Health: From Global to Local (Public Health/Environmental Health) review []  2019-12-25 18:19

    Used this for school. Came in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    This book does a amazing job of covering a very diverse field of public health. I actually decided to hold this book because I thought it such a amazing read (I am a medical student and public health student in infectious disease). Although this is clearly not a comprehensive tutorial of all things environmental and occupational health, it does manage to provide a satisfying level of knowledge a amazing a lot of topics, and it certainly leaves me with the desire to discover subjects further. The writing style is straightforward and informative and I never felt that the author was providing excessive minutia or was being at all tangential. A amazing read and a amazing addition to the collection of anybody interested in public health or even medicine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    While this textbook is full of necessary topics, its not as up to date as it could be, especially since even over ten years there are a lot of policy changes not reflected here .It seems to have been written over a long time span and not updated to even its 2006 publication date. It could use some editing for typos and grammar.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    I like that this book is small. It was easier to read and obtain through when the pages are smaller. It helps me to think I'm not reading a text book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    This book was cheaper than what my school's bookstore charged. Came in very amazing condition. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    The supplemental online chapter notes and quizzes are very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    Love this environmental book. Nice educated book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    Simple to read book. Amazing as an introduction to the field of Environmental health. Concepts are simple to understand and give an indepth view of the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    The book is very outdated and doesn't include anything from the 2000s. The online chapter summaries are very helpful. The book has a lot of info but not very pertinent to today. It might've been amazing in the early 90s but for today, purchase a newer, updated book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    it was ok for a class textbook. however, it was littered with typos which got very annoying after a while of reading this book. amazing overall information

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Living with the Earth: Concepts in Environmental Health Science review []  2019-12-24 20:3

    Quick and accurate! Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    I feel like this book could explain more and offer a lot more practice questions, and actually contain all of the answers. It only provides the respond for odd problems, what is this, high school? I'm paying for a college course and a college text book, I expect to obtain all of the info in it.I thought perhaps there would be more practice issues online, but the only thing you can do with the online access is download a pdf. for formulas and tables that are already in the book. The website describes this pdf as:"Students and instructors alike can benefit from this fast reference tutorial to exploring and describing data, which contains a hack sheet of need-to-know formulas, as well as several useful tables."and a SSPS or Excel doc of data sets, which the website describes as:"The data sets mentioned throughout the text are available for download in both SPSS (.sav) and Excel (.xls) formats, along with an index of all the sets and their corresponding references in the text."So again, it's exactly what's already in the book. It's completely unnecessary. I bought this book for the access code because I thought it would have more interactive issues and solutions for practice. Want I would've saved my money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    The chapters in the book are organized well topically and builds sequentially and the quality departs from there.1. Each chapter has copious examples however, key steps are missing and shortcuts are taken, which created some of the issues difficult to complete on your own.2. Every chapter concluded with about 20 issues for students to complete for practice on their own. However, the back of the textbook only listed solutions to the even numbered problems. I have no idea why the publisher would do this? Perhaps to leave stuff without answers so that some selected questions could be used for graded homework? They didn't feel like creating an instructors manual?3. In my person opinion this textbook lacked theory *not enough written explanation. There were so a lot of stat examples but it lacked in theory. As an educator I was able to follow the logic but the students taking the class with me were absolutely lost. The theory is more relevant anyway because most of the stats are available as SPSS functions.If you are assigned this textbook for a course and need a supplement or you are looking for a book with self study - these two are well done:Biostatistics the Bare Essentials - Norman and StreinerHigh Yield - Glaser

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    This is the needed textbook for a course, so it wasn't a choice per se. I have a previous background in biostatistics which I search is required for some of the content. It is a amazing primary intro text, however, there are times where it seems that it tries to be too primary and in distilling the concepts down, it overlooks the required links in the processes. I feel that if you don't have a background in biostats then you may need to discover another complimentary text so that you don't feel lost. The text seems to go between conceptual information and actual calculating problems. I would really like a companion exercise book. I am someone who learns best thru doing so it is helpful to know I can apply the concepts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    I used this book for a Biostatistical Graduate School course. This book is difficult to FOLLOW and the examples are difficult to follow. Instead of using the book for examples; my best resources were Khan Academy and You Tube. This book needs to be revised to create it easier to learn from.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    Don't buy the Kindle ver of this book! You're better off with the hard copy, especially if you will be doing the chapter homework issues for class. Most of the tables in this book (including the z table!) are chop off and don't contain all of the columns you need to do your homework correctly. Very disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    I end up learning more from YouTube than this book. I got this book because my class needed me to. It only introduces subjects and doesn't explain it well

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    Very confusing text book, was not user friendly. Did not communicate info in a method in which for a student to grasp the concepts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    I rented this book. It has some highlighting, but other than that, I am satisfied I was able to rent it for a decent price. I like how it includes illustrative examples inside to further explain how to work out problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    This helpful text book arrived on time to allow me study as soon as possble.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice review []  2020-1-3 23:43

    Poorly worded book. Thank goodness I’ve taken stats before because this book wouldn’t have helped me learn anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    The tone of this book is revealed early when the author describes his childhood fascination with what he considers science and science fiction. He wants a drink to give him superpowers, and his mate convinces him that he has everyone (yes, including me) has believe foolish things at times without thinking them through, what's significant is this is the author's starting point. I would have expected tales of building crystal radios and reading classic science fiction, sending up rockets, learning chemistry, observing nature; and of using observation and theory to come to deeper understanding of speculative stead, this book discusses almost all famous comic book and zone opera stories, rarely anything without pictures; the kind of thing that a lot of people call "science fiction." I happen to like comic books and well-made zone operas, but I never confuse them with serious science e issue with trying to explain the science behind, say, Spiderman or Guardians of the Galaxy, is there is no consistent fictional phenomena to explain. The writers of these entertainments created items up as they go along for the convenience of the plot, not within a coherent or even possible spite this problem, a competent scientist could extract some entertaining lessons from comic books and comic book movies. However, this author is not a scientists. He bases his explanations on famous science writing only a level or two above the comic book. Those explanations are often entertaining, if seldom enlightening, but the summaries in this book are stilted and boring.If you are looking for interesting science or speculation inspired by true science fiction, look elsewhere. If you wish your comic books explained to you by someone who reads Gizmodo but lacks its flair, be my guest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    Interestingly shelved by me as literary, nonfiction and sf, at the same time, this book looks at the history, progress and show of science fiction, affecting science in our civilisations. And perhaps at its future. We can't be sure. Things om ancients who looked at the moon and created up stories, to 2001 A Zone Odyssey, and different stops in between, we obtain a lot of namechecks and some revisiting of tales. They are somewhat jumbled, though, apparently random titles of books and movies on a particular topic, not necessarily in date order. I am also a bit peeved that every four or five page chapter has one or two pages of quotes at the start. A lot of of these quotes are from Stanley Kubrick or Joss mention that I saw of Arthur C Clarke's inventing telecommunication satellites in geosychronous orbits. For that the book loses a the chapter headed Jacking In, about The Matrix or Ready Player One immersion in an alternate reality, we begin with several quotes from Ready Player One (in which the character does not jack in). No quote from Neuromancer, which invented the term, and no description of what is physically involved in that book; it was namechecked in an earlier section on cyberpunk. This leads me to suspect that the author hasn't read Neuromancer. Nor Snow ofreaders, please correct the spelling of the woefully underused Ursula K Le Guin. Apart from herself and Mary Shelley, I just plain didn't see a lot of women authors. Anne [email protected]#$%!&y had genetically modified the native fire lizards of Pern into fire-breathing dragons to aid human partners as telepathic fighters; no mention. Nor is she in the section on cyborgs and bionics; The Ship Who Sang gave a person born with severe disability the possibility to live in control of a spacecraft, published in short stories 1961 - 1969 and as a book in 1969. While we are not there yet, zone travel gave us telemetrics, and the late Prof Stephen Hawking controlled far more from his wheelchair than people did in 1969. JK Rowling gets a glance with one quote about long life and her magic flying e author has assembled a lot of material on different SF and philosophical subjects including alternate reality, time travel, the world's end, zone travel. He sounds enthusiastic and leans more on philosophy than action. No Warlords of Mars, more about The Battle of the Worlds reflecting the barbarity of colonisation. SF fans will be interested; but then, they'll have read the books and seen the films. So I am not sure at whom this work is aimed. Maybe at a fresh generation turning away from the internet for a moment to explore how we got to e book is crying out for an index, and there may be one in the final version. Lacking this in my ARC, I was unable to count easily how a lot of women's names featured. I counted the quotes instead: 40 chapters, each prefaced by three to five quotes from anyone from HG Wells to Carl Sagan to Tim Goodman to Robert Oppenheimer to Kiera Knightley. Five women were quoted.I downloaded an e-ARC from Net Galley. This is an unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    This book grew on me. The reason I didn’t like it at first has to do with how the title sells the book in the wrong direction. When one sees the title “The Science of Science Fiction” one expects a book like those by Michio Kaku (e.g. “Physics of the Future” or “Physics of the Impossible” – or perhaps like Kakalios’s “The Physics of Superheroes.” In other words, one is expecting a book that teaches one about science through examples of science fiction, i.e. using science fiction to create science interesting and relatable. If you are expecting that kind of book, I suspect you’ll be e book doesn’t go into any depth on scientific issues. Instead of a book about the nexus of science and science fiction, one gets a book about the nexus of the history of science fiction, the history of science, trends in scientific progress, and trends in science fiction. (The confusing title is a small bit justified, therefore, given the broad location of the books “niche,” but it could lead to confusion.) If you are interested in questions such as which came first the fictional atomic bomb or the true one, you’ll be reading the right book. If you are interested in whether or not quantum entanglement can be used for an ansible (faster than light communication) or how quick Superman has to jump to orbit the planet, you’ll search this book a e book is divided into four parts and has a lot of brief chapters in each. Most of these chapters take as their lead a latest work of science fiction (usually a movie) though the book is at its strongest when it’s teaching the reader about the history of science fiction and how that history was influenced by – and influenced – true globe e first part is about space. It considers such questions as whether we will see alien visitor or invaders, the likelihood of parallel universes, and when we can expect to colonize other e second part is entitled “time” and it considers the a lot of ways time has been explored through science fiction. The time machine is considered from several dimensions and through films such as the “Terminator” series and “Looper.” However, other time-related plot devices are also given scrutiny, such as e third part is about machines and the interaction between man and machine. What can we expect from the rise of artificial intelligence (AI) and robots? The reader learns about the earliest use of the term robot and how historical science fiction compares to the realities coming to e fourth, and final, part is entitled “Monster” and it investigates the realm of biology. Can creatures or supermen be made through super-serums or genetic modification? What are the limits of the human body and mind? These are the type of questions that are ere are no graphics, notes, or back matter in this book. However, I did read a review copy, so your results may vary.If you are interested in the history of science fiction and how science fiction relates to scientific progress and the result of science on culture, then I recommend this book. As I said, if you’re wanting to learn about science through the lens of examples from science fiction, then this is probably not the book for you. As I said, the book is at its strongest when it explores the history of science fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    Tag Brake’s “The Science of Science Fiction” is a book chockful of thoughts and ideas. A lot of of the author’s chapter titles are in the form of questions, to which he responds with ideas based upon books and movies.While the discussions are interesting, this book feels more like the begin of a journey rather than a series of destinations. Just as each thought teetered on the edge of deep thinking, the chapter would end and I would be pulled onward, willing or not, into a various network of t that there is anything wrong with this. Mr. Brake approaches the topic from an smart viewpoint, and backs up his points with references to the aforementioned books and movies. I liked the splitting of this book into four parts: Space, Time, Machine, and Monster. This worked well in separating four major subjects and then breaking down each into manageable bites. I also enjoyed the multiple quotes that introduced each chapter, similar thoughts that opened the doors to a fresh tom line: This is an inventive book, filled with rational and at times humorous thinking. Recommended to sci-fi fans and to those who simply have a curiosity about the subject. The short chapters, while limiting deeper analysis, let the book’s pacing to flow easily (in other words, if one chapter isn’t your cup of tea, don’t worry, it will end soon). Satisfying, illuminating, and fun. Four thanks to NetGalley and Skyhorse Publishing for an advance complimentary ebook copy of this title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    Thank you NetGalley and Skyhorse Publishing for this ARC."The Science of Science Fiction is the story of how science fiction shaped our world. No longer a subculture, science fiction has moved into the mainstream with the advent of the info age it helped is book will begin your eyes to the method science fiction helped us dream of things to come, forced us to discover the nature and limits of our own reality, and aided us in building the future we now inhabit."I think this is mostly why I felt a bit allow down by the content. From the description I thought this would be about the progression of science through the influence of science fiction. It does have some of that in there, but a huge portion felt disorganized and off topic.I expected he would be bringing his professional training as a science professor and his passion for science fiction into a unbelievable mashup love story of how the two mediums connect and influence each ybe my own expectations hindered me in that respect.I think it was too vast a subject and may have been better served in a segmented series of smaller books by ere were a lot of interesting tidbits to be had in this book and I would still recommend it, I would just be advising them beforehand what the actual content is so they have the right mindset going fact:Sections of 2001: A Zone Odyssey were used in training NASA astronauts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    There are a lot of perfect books on the science of science fiction (and fantasy) such as “The Physics of the Buffyverse” by Jennifer Ouellette and “The Physics of Superheroes” by James Kakalios, which explain the science behind the stories. This book is different, in that it looks at how science and science fiction have influenced each other and how the science fiction of the past is the science of today. Tag Brake place together an interesting collection of stories about science, science fiction, and culture that was fun to read. There was even considerable history of SF. I recommend it for anyone who likes to read science fiction.Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book via Netgalley for review purposes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sutter Health My Health Online review [App]  2019-1-21 23:28

    I am so impressed with this app I can't believe it! Someone or group in IT knows what they are doing and did it well! I was in IT about all of my working life and today seldom search applications as straight forward as this one by Epic. Amazing Job!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sutter Health My Health Online review [App]  2019-1-21 23:28

    This application is not a game. It is medically important and is doing its job. Thank you Developers for doing a amazing job and studying hard in school so we can continue communicating with our doctors and their squad and I can have fun Better Health. And stay alive! Juliet Kustin

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sutter Health My Health Online review [App]  2019-1-21 23:28

    Can't sign in even using right pass word... frustrated

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sutter Health My Health Online review [App]  2019-1-21 23:28

    Amazing app. Much improved over the website.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sutter Health My Health Online review [App]  2019-1-21 23:28

    Very convenient application but eats my battery method too fast. Had to uninstall it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sutter Health My Health Online review [App]  2019-1-21 23:28

    what happened to fingerprint I sighned up for?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sutter Health My Health Online review [App]  2019-1-21 23:28

    Info at your fingertips. Fast turnaround from the doctor's office. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sutter Health My Health Online review [App]  2019-1-21 23:28

    Modernize provides more t more an I was expecting. Well done interface.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter